PDA

View Full Version : dividends yield stocks

foofam77
03-05-2008, 02:04 PM
anyone investing purely based on dividend plays such as Singtel, SingPOst, SPH?

Wat abt those non-blue chips but yet are good dividend plays?

any recommendations?

jarvis
03-05-2008, 03:41 PM
i hold some FSL share. at the current price of S$1.06 and the last dividend (quarterly) was USD0.0259 (approx S$0.035) it's about 13% dividend on an annualised basis. More attractive now that the share is listed in SGD whereas PST is still listed in USD (and then u bear the currency exchange).

Anyways, the share price hardly moves... so it's definitely not a capital gain counter.

trooper21
08-05-2008, 05:01 PM
you may consider REITs too...

yeokiwi
08-05-2008, 08:42 PM
You had to be careful with calculating the return for the shipping trust.
For FSL, all the money from the rental of ships are paid as dividend and none was used to pay for the loan.

The loan must be paid in 2014 in one lump sum.
Ultimately, they must raise the money from shareholders or sell away the ships to make the payment.

For more details..

http://www.wallstraits.com/community/viewthread.php?tid=6997&page=2

IIIUSION
08-05-2008, 08:55 PM
you may consider REITs too...

wat are REITs? :s11:

IIIUSION
08-05-2008, 08:57 PM
Any other blue chips worth looking at for dividend yield besides those mentioned above?

Raider04
08-05-2008, 10:34 PM
wat are REITs? :s11:

Real Estate Investment Trust :D

Alpha_Hippo
10-05-2008, 07:14 PM
Any other blue chips worth looking at for dividend yield besides those mentioned above?

SPH
Singtel
Starhub
M1
SMRT
Singapore Post

MikeDirnt78
11-05-2008, 12:02 PM
you might want to consider STI Mid cap (http://sti-stocksinfo.blogspot.com/2008/03/sti-mid-cap-snapshot.html) stocks as well. there are good dividend paying stocks there as well. you can see the list in the link i provide.

most of the blue chips are a bit at high valuation right now, so its good if you can pick up during dipping price.

hazecity
25-05-2008, 09:58 AM
SPH
Singtel
Starhub
M1
SMRT
Singapore Post

what would be the easiest way to see the past few dividend payouts for a given counter? any website or links? thanks.

yeokiwi
25-05-2008, 10:19 AM
Go to http://stquote.sgx.com/live/st/STTop20.asp

Search for the stock that u want.

Click on it. It will pop up another page

Click on
# Past Bonuses, Dividends, Interests, Offers, Rights and Other Entitlements

hazecity
02-06-2008, 08:50 PM
thanks. that's exactly what i am looking for.

another newbie question: what's the definition of:
Ex Date
Book Close
Paid/Payable

if i happen to buy the said shares after the Book Date but before the Payable date, am i still entitled to the dividend?

Paul Lee
03-06-2008, 12:22 PM
Ex-Date: The day when the share trade ex-dividends/rights/entitlement/bonus etc. So if you buy on this date, you dun get the goodies.

Book Close: The date when the company register will be closed to determine who get the goodies. Usually 2 days after the ex-date to allow people who bought on the last day of the cum-date to get the goodies.

Paid/Payable: The date where the goodies will be credited into your account - saving, cpf or cdp.

yyhwin
04-06-2008, 09:59 AM
erm...that means i need to buy at the book close date? Do u all know how to check the book close date?

tekster
04-06-2008, 10:22 AM
erm...that means i need to buy at the book close date? Do u all know how to check the book close date?

u need to buy 1 day before the ex-date la.

ex-date can probably be read as exercise date, the day the divideneds are being exercised. and it usually is being exercised very early before market opens.

usually dividends are announced way in advance one. it will always be listed on sgx.

book close date is for those who are eligible for the dividends. buying on or after the ex-date but before book close will not get you any dividends.

Paul Lee
04-06-2008, 12:53 PM
Actually I'm pretty sure that ex means 'exclude' which is why the remark 'XD' means Ex(cludes) Dividend whereas XR means Ex(cludes) Rights and so on.

The ex-date of all companies with dividend/rights/entitlment etc.. is listed on SGX. Just look under Listed Companies --> Corporate Actions

gundamz
08-06-2008, 11:09 AM
DIVIDEND

Announced on 2008-06-06

Particulars : SGD 0.069 ONE-TIER TAX

Ex-date : 6 Aug 2008

Buy-In Last Cum Date : 11 Aug 2008

Record Date : 8 Aug 2008

Date Paid/Payable : 28 Aug 2008

is SGD$0.069 consider good dividends?

MikeDirnt78
08-06-2008, 01:42 PM
DIVIDEND

Announced on 2008-06-06

it depends on the yield. so must look at the current trading price.

henrylbh
08-06-2008, 03:09 PM
DIVIDEND

Announced on 2008-06-06

You referring to Singtel?
Based on current price of $3.68 the yield is only 1.875%.
But if you had held it for 1 year to include the interim div of 5.6 cts, the yield is 3.4% pa.
So good or not depends on your expectation.

Past ex date and dividend -
6 Aug 2008 SGD 0.069 ONE-TIER TAX
17 Dec 2007 SGD 0.056 ONE-TIER TAX

7 Aug 2007 SGD 0.065 ONE-TIER TAX
7 Aug 2007 SGD 0.095 ONE-TIER TAX
19 Dec 2006 SGD 0.046 LESS TAX

gundamz
09-06-2008, 11:14 AM
ok..

limster
09-06-2008, 04:35 PM
yieldstocks.blogspot.com and reitdata.blogspot.com

I am not related to the owner of the above sites, but I find the above to be a very convenient source of information. I appreciate the effort of the author in creating those tables. Adds far more value than some 'financial blogs' I see where the writer just plagiarises/quotes wholesale from cnbc.com or bloomberg or whatever.

kelvinn
15-06-2008, 09:29 PM
hmmm butties,...then SingPost is 0.025 dividends...means at $1.09 now the yield is about 2.29%?

MikeDirnt78
15-06-2008, 09:55 PM
hmmm butties,...then SingPost is 0.025 dividends...means at $1.09 now the yield is about 2.29%?

you are right if you buy now. but if you are an existing shareholder, the yield is higher

3dfxplayer
16-06-2008, 11:27 AM

Singpost pays dividends on a quarterly basis, it adds up to about 6c for the full year, so the yield is actually around 5%.

jowy85
27-06-2008, 01:47 AM
Why u guys nv mention Wing Tai Holding ? the divdend yield is good ard 14%. ... PE ration is 2.99 as the price is cheap now...

anyone hav any idea ?

MikeDirnt78
27-06-2008, 03:23 AM
Why u guys nv mention Wing Tai Holding ? the divdend yield is good ard 14%. ... PE ration is 2.99 as the price is cheap now...

anyone hav any idea ?

i did not check wing tai. the higher yield is probably due to a one time payout. check whether is it historically and consistently high.

Nuttie
28-06-2008, 12:12 AM
wat abt SATSvcs? paying dividends too...

djchris
28-06-2008, 12:30 AM
most companies issue dividends...what u guys should analyse is how consistent is the dividend payout over the past few years, and whether the payout is high due to a one-off event like sale of property, etc. or whether is it due to continued performance...

La Papillion
28-06-2008, 12:33 AM
thanks. that's exactly what i am looking for.

another newbie question: what's the definition of:
Ex Date
Book Close
Paid/Payable

if i happen to buy the said shares after the Book Date but before the Payable date, am i still entitled to the dividend?

You can read the ans to this question and more on my newbie faq: http://pub11.bravenet.com/faq/show.php?usernum=910991976&catid=8630#q5

You might want to try searching for the ans there before asking, might give you the ans faster.

theoldman
06-07-2008, 12:41 PM
Macquarie International Infrastructure Fund. current price $0.78
so far they have been giving good consistent dividends

http://www.macquarie.com/miif/

Alpha_Hippo
06-07-2008, 12:56 PM
There are many things to consider before one plunge to dividend play. One is whether there is any lack of capital gain/appreciation over time.

henrylbh
06-07-2008, 06:04 PM
There are many things to consider before one plunge to dividend play. One is whether there is any lack of capital gain/appreciation over time.

My experience on dividend play is you can never lose in the long run. Of course the annual dividend yield and the company's performance must be consistent. Special/bonus dividend should not be taken into calculating the historical dividends.

mastermember
08-07-2008, 07:49 PM
Pondering over the right time to buy a dividend counter that is also a Blue chip.... Bank or Airline.... ?

Shadus
08-07-2008, 11:39 PM
my own take is that bank or airline is both bad time for now. if seriously must splash out the cash now, for bluechip dividend play, i suggest consider SPH

supergmail
13-08-2008, 09:57 PM
bookmark for reading later

foofam77
14-08-2008, 12:44 PM
starhub..anyone monitoring it?

Seems to be quite attractive now..

qinzheng
15-08-2008, 03:23 PM
u can try REITs. Suntec n CapitaMall, attractive
just my 2 cents

demongod
17-08-2008, 03:29 AM
interesting, i am also looking for some blue chips but i am still waiting for my trading account...

tortoise king
21-08-2008, 11:29 AM
hi i was wondering, whats exactly are

-1st tier dividend?

-interim dividend?

-any other kind of dividend?

matcel
01-09-2008, 05:56 PM
I have updated most of the SGX stocks dividend yield as of mid Aug 2008.

You can get it from my blog at dragonhomme at blogspot.

Cheers

Paul Lee
02-09-2008, 09:16 AM
hi i was wondering, whats exactly are

-1st tier dividend?

-interim dividend?

-any other kind of dividend?

1st tier dividend are dividends that are paid net of tax, which mean you do not need to pay tax on these dividends that you received from the companies.

Interim dividend are dividends that are declared before the full year result is audited and finalised. These are usually paid during the mid-year result. Some companies like Spore Post are so confident of paying a min dividend that they pay interim dividends on a quartely basis.

Other dividend I can think of includes 1st & Final and Final.

matcel
02-09-2008, 05:54 PM
1st tier dividend are dividends that are paid net of tax, which mean you do not need to pay tax on these dividends that you received from the companies.

Interim dividend are dividends that are declared before the full year result is audited and finalised. These are usually paid during the mid-year result. Some companies like Spore Post are so confident of paying a min dividend that they pay interim dividends on a quartely basis.

Other dividend I can think of includes 1st & Final and Final.

The best stock to buy in current market is dividend stocks!

pop
05-09-2008, 02:45 PM
The best stock to buy in current market is dividend stocks!

which stocks would u personally recommend?

Morozov
05-09-2008, 02:56 PM
good to buy capitaland and stock now for years to come? Approaching the 3+ mark liao. Dividend how much ah?

MikeDirnt78
05-09-2008, 08:47 PM
good to buy capitaland and stock now for years to come? Approaching the 3+ mark liao. Dividend how much ah?

take note that property market is very cyclical in nature. Capitaland is a good blue chip stock but you must be prepared to keep for very long as the property market may remain quiet in coming time.

foofam77
06-09-2008, 09:00 AM
just recently bought into kep corp at 9.92...and now crash like hell liao...sianz

NewGuy
06-09-2008, 10:14 AM
this big brother may continue lao sai further till $8. See the dbs report which came out yesterday - think the bb know beforehand so unload big time first then came out with this report only after it crashes so much.

matcel
09-09-2008, 02:06 PM
done a compilation of SGX stock dividend yield in my blog. feel free to check out!

ditchdoggy
09-09-2008, 02:45 PM
I shorted kep corp last week at 9.82.. am still holding the short...

Kep corp, sembmar, SPC, wilmar, noble, olam. one set. Damn. i think i am oversold on commodities and oil

hazecity
11-09-2008, 07:49 PM
You referring to Singtel?
Based on current price of $3.68 the yield is only 1.875%.
But if you had held it for 1 year to include the interim div of 5.6 cts, the yield is 3.4% pa.
So good or not depends on your expectation.

Past ex date and dividend -
6 Aug 2008 SGD 0.069 ONE-TIER TAX

I am sure i have seen the above dividend on SGX web site. but now it disappeared. Did Singtel eventually paid out or not?

6-Aug-08 8-Aug-08 28-Aug-08 SGD 0.069 ONE-TIER TAX

aircraft
12-09-2008, 08:53 AM
I am sure i have seen the above dividend on SGX web site. but now it disappeared. Did Singtel eventually paid out or not?

Yes , it's paid

WaYne900
12-09-2008, 09:26 AM

i got the money already too.. on the 28th

3dfxplayer
12-09-2008, 11:44 AM
Property counters and stocks like kepcorp are high beta plays, they are not defensive dividend paying stocks. A dividend paying stock is one that has a stable and predictable cashflow, of course they must also have a long history of paying dividends as well.

materick
14-09-2008, 09:21 PM
SMRT, capitamall, Sph, SGX.

Except SMRT just shot up to 2, could be a bit overpriced for now.

tanteeloong
17-09-2008, 01:52 PM
What's your investment strategy?

Personally I love invest in Dividend yield stocks. Basically it gives regular returns. Now market is diving down, might consider buying in now since price is low.

For example Singpost: $1.03 several days ago, now it's $0.98 i think. Or perhaps REITS? Cambridge: $0.63 last few weeks, then down to $0.59 for a while, now it's $0.54

3dfxplayer
18-09-2008, 07:21 PM
What's your investment strategy?

Personally I love invest in Dividend yield stocks. Basically it gives regular returns. Now market is diving down, might consider buying in now since price is low.

For example Singpost: $1.03 several days ago, now it's $0.98 i think. Or perhaps REITS? Cambridge: $0.63 last few weeks, then down to $0.59 for a while, now it's $0.54

I like singpost, they paid out 6.25c in 2007 (80% of net profits), so the yield at current price of $0.955 is 6.5%, thats pretty high for a low risk business that generates stable income.

I don't like reits, I think the economy will be pretty bad next year, and DPU will be reduced drastically.

aircraft
18-09-2008, 08:03 PM
now can get singpost shares for as low as $0.91 . Cheap is you wanna keep for dividend

dreamer75
18-09-2008, 08:15 PM
can bottom fish some reits.

Al-Jay
18-09-2008, 09:37 PM
I like singpost, they paid out 6.25c in 2007 (80% of net profits), so the yield at current price of $0.955 is 6.5%, thats pretty high for a low risk business that generates stable income.

I don't like reits, I think the economy will be pretty bad next year, and DPU will be reduced drastically.

Me eyeing SingPost for quite sometime now. It is a monopoly.

aircraft
19-09-2008, 12:10 PM
Me eyeing SingPost for quite sometime now. It is a monopoly.

ya, trying to stock up more now. $0.940 - $0.945

KhunNimzo
19-09-2008, 06:03 PM
bought 5 lot at 0.950 today..hopefully worth it..

aircraft
19-09-2008, 06:15 PM
Ya, me too, bought some at $0.94

dreamer75
19-09-2008, 06:41 PM
singpost still under selling pressure. can wait for lower price.

Morozov
20-09-2008, 08:59 PM
any dividend stocks having upcoming dividend payouts from now to end of year that I should consider investing? Keppel coming dividend in sept right?

dreamer75
20-09-2008, 09:49 PM
any dividend stocks having upcoming dividend payouts from now to end of year that I should consider investing? Keppel coming dividend in sept right?

i think SPH...

djchris
23-09-2008, 03:43 PM
Technically if you buy any stocks now, be prepared for it to tank further because it is afterall a bear market and defensive stocks will also get bashed, probably not as badly.

Just to share, Eu Yan Sang is also a consistent dividend defensive stock under my watchlist. Also tanked from 50 over cents to current price. :)

dreamer75
23-09-2008, 06:01 PM
Technically if you buy any stocks now, be prepared for it to tank further because it is afterall a bear market and defensive stocks will also get bashed, probably not as badly.

Just to share, Eu Yan Sang is also a consistent dividend defensive stock under my watchlist. Also tanked from 50 over cents to current price. :)

Thanks for sharing.What's the yield like?
Ever monitored Challenger? :o

henrylbh
24-09-2008, 12:30 AM

Can consider PCI now about S$0.235 which was the price in 2002 and was hovering around S$0.40 just last month. Coming dividend is S$0.015 around Nov giving a gross yield of 6.38%.

EPS US$0.0275 giving a PER of 6x only and NAV is US$0.296.

Chuan Hup recently bought 607 lots at significantly higher price.

Bought 50 lots today and hoping for capital gain more than dividend.

djchris
24-09-2008, 10:35 AM
Thanks for sharing.What's the yield like?
Ever monitored Challenger? :o
Challenger is the only stock in my portfolio at the moment. Received two dividends and a bonus warrant offering so far. Market downturn hasn't affected it much coz it's not a frequently traded stock. :)

It's dividend yield is around 8-10%

dreamer75
24-09-2008, 02:47 PM
Challenger is the only stock in my portfolio at the moment. Received two dividends and a bonus warrant offering so far. Market downturn hasn't affected it much coz it's not a frequently traded stock. :)

hehehe......

henrylbh
24-09-2008, 04:28 PM

V good yield if profit and dividend can be maintained in future years. Thanks for highlighting this counter. Previous high was 31cts and low 10cts. Even at 31cts yield is good.

djchris
25-09-2008, 11:08 AM
You're welcome.

What I think about Challenger is this:
1) Can't expect them to outperform because IT sales is very competitive in Singapore and there's not much incentive in buying from Challenger unless you are their member
2) In my previous employment, they were one of our distributors. My colleagues did highlight worries about them as they were opening new outlets in heartland malls way too quickly last year. No bad news so far so can't comment.
3) Dividend yield should be consistent, but I won't ask people to follow me because I bought it at around $0.19 and my average price on Challenger is near $0.15 after converting their warrants.
4) I believe that we can expect them to last long in the market and issue consistent dividends. I still have 666 warrants but not converting because I hate to hold odd lots.

djchris
25-09-2008, 11:10 AM
Another stock to look back again may be Second Chance...

Seemingly, all the stocks that are on my watchlist since a year ago, are all looking cheap now.

I'm so glad I've sold off other stocks like Pine Agritech (which tanked like crazy now) and HG Metal.

Singapore Reinsurance is another stock that gives very consistent dividend yield but I'm not knowledge in their business so I've sold off my shares.

27-09-2008, 06:38 PM
I got only one thing to say. Dun buy any stocks now...

henrylbh
27-09-2008, 07:09 PM
I got only one thing to say. Dun buy any stocks now...

Whether market up and down, there is always opportunity.

dreamer75
28-09-2008, 02:20 AM
2nd chance looks gd.

tortoise king
13-10-2008, 07:39 PM
can anyone explain what is :

"1st and final" dividend

special dividend

final dividend

thks!

RedSuns85
13-10-2008, 09:06 PM
anyone knows how dividents are calculated ? Any noob guide for me =p

Paul Lee
14-10-2008, 11:35 AM
can anyone explain what is :

"1st and final" dividend

special dividend

final dividend

thks!

No special meaning. They literally means what they say.

1st and Final: Means the dividend is the first one declared by the company for the financial year and also the final one ie. they will no be declaring any more dividend.

Special: means a dividend that is distributed following exceptional good result, disposal of assets etc.

Final: Same as first explanation. Dividend declared when the company makes its final full year result.

Paul Lee
14-10-2008, 11:37 AM
anyone knows how dividents are calculated ? Any noob guide for me =p

There is no calcualation involved now (as compared to previously when dividend are declared as a percentage of the par value).

Dividends are declared on a 'per share' basis. So if a company declared a dividend of 2cents ie. $0.02, it means they will pay you 2 cents for every share you have. So typically if you have 1 lot (1000 shares), you will be paid $20. If you have 10 lots, you will be paid $200 etc.

RedSuns85
14-10-2008, 04:53 PM
There is no calcualation involved now (as compared to previously when dividend are declared as a percentage of the par value).

Dividends are declared on a 'per share' basis. So if a company declared a dividend of 2cents ie. $0.02, it means they will pay you 2 cents for every share you have. So typically if you have 1 lot (1000 shares), you will be paid $20. If you have 10 lots, you will be paid $200 etc.

thanks a lot.. so Usually a company gave out how many dividend per year.
Issit better to put in safe stock like SPH, StarHub, Suntec Reit, Singpost and earn like interest and sell of in good times than better to put in Bank for small interest.

Will dividend pays better than the interest in bank? Of course, considering the risk involved.

monkeygototown
15-10-2008, 09:21 AM
thanks a lot.. so Usually a company gave out how many dividend per year.
Issit better to put in safe stock like SPH, StarHub, Suntec Reit, Singpost and earn like interest and sell of in good times than better to put in Bank for small interest.

Will dividend pays better than the interest in bank? Of course, considering the risk involved.
Dividend is subjective. If a company is able to reinvest the money well and grow the company at a break neck pace to become even bigger and better than before, I'd rather they not pay me the dividend and grow the company and capture the market. Else, if they dun know what to do with the money, I'd rather have them return to me so I can re-invest it elsewhere with better returns.

There are no safe stocks. Stocks are investments into a company. Start with companies you know and familiar. If you buy services and goods from them often, perhaps you should consider studying into them and be a business owner by caring their company stocks.

Why kill a golden goose? If a company pays good dividends, had capital gains, why sell it unless you have something else that is doing better? I may sell if it very over-priced, but will buy it back if it drops back to sane levels. But that is entirely up to your style of investing.

Do your homework. I recently studied the business fundamentals of Singpost[/URL] and think it is only attractive at the price I want to buy, and not just any price. SPH on the other hand had been suffering declining ROE and terrbile inconsistency with their cashflow. Knowing these information, would you still invest?

Lastly, dividends are better so far, that is why folks are investing instead of placing money into banks. Banks only give interests (very low), but stocks offer the following revenue streams[/URL].

RedSuns85
15-10-2008, 10:03 AM
thanks..
i am thinking with the bank interest on saving account so low now , I think it is better to put in good defensive stock like singpost.

WIth the stock market under-priced, it may be a good time to buy in and hold for dividend and sell it when it is over-priced as you said. And if I wanted cash for liquidity, I can sell the stock without incurring too much losses

Paul Lee
16-10-2008, 09:53 PM
thanks..
i am thinking with the bank interest on saving account so low now , I think it is better to put in good defensive stock like singpost.

WIth the stock market under-priced, it may be a good time to buy in and hold for dividend and sell it when it is over-priced as you said. And if I wanted cash for liquidity, I can sell the stock without incurring too much losses

I agree that this may be a good time to enter because a lot of stocks 'look' cheap compared to just 1 yr ago. But you need to look at things in the proper context. Cheap does not mean that it cannot becomes cheaper so I keep advocating patience. There is no need to rush cos I really dun think we see the bottom yet.

You need to be careful about your 'can sell without incurring too much losses' mentality. In a downturn, even the blue chip suffers. Singpost may be a good defensive stock but there is no guarantee that just because you buy it at this price now, the stock wont depreciate when you decide to sell it. I bought Singpost sometime back at $1.10 which I thought was a good price now. But look at it price now. :s31: Regardless I still regard Singpost highly and looks at the current weakness as opportunity for further accumulation.

There are risks when you invest in stock. Even relatively safer choice like notes and minibonds and unit trust have risk. So you need to decide on your risk appetite and act accordingly. Good luck!

monkeygototown
17-10-2008, 07:50 AM
Hey Paul.

Just out of curiosity, when did you calculate the fair value of Singpost? I did mine with FY 2007 data and found the value of the company to be very close to what you mentioned at S$1.10. However, being heavily influenced by some investment techniques of Phil Town and several others, I formulated a strategy to always buy at a discount to fair value. Usually approximately 30%. Hence my valuation recommendation was at S$0.75 for Singpost[/URL]. I waited for this price for some time and only yesterday managed to buy it at my ideal price.

To support my approach, take a look at the Straits Times article today on 17th Oct pag B28 (Back page). This article came out shortly after I posted my entry[/URL] on what was my ideal buy price.

So hang in there Paul! There is good news around the corner for this stock provided you have holding power of 5 years and beyond. If we think like Buffett, he says that a good stock is to be ideally held forever...

Lastly, I recommend the "buy and forget" technique. The reasoning is that once if I managed to buy a stock at a discount from fair value, I want to stay happy and review it years later. I still want to be sane! Let history be the judge of me!

Paul Lee
17-10-2008, 09:16 AM
Hi Ryan

To be brutally honest, when I bought Singpost at $1.10, I just figured that it was good value and that was the price I was comfortable to buy at that pt in time. This may sound shocking to you but I actually did not do a Fair Value analysis of Singpost when I bought. Nor do I really know how.

My average cost for Singpost is actually much lower than $1.10 because the last purchase was a top-up. I remain optimistic on Singpost prospects and considered one of the few stocks which I can buy into and sleep soundly at night - despite the recent brutal sell-down.

Frankly I never studied Buffet much so I won't know about what he says. But Singpost is one company that I do intend to hold 'forever'.

RedSuns85
17-10-2008, 10:19 AM

Thanks Paul.,

Just curious , if it is based on that caculation. isnt it easier to buy cheaper stock like for etc , Singtel which is around 2.80 rather than than DBS stock at 18.00.

If both company declared a dividend of 2cents , u will also get paid $20 per lot. But you can buy 9 lots for singtel instead of 1 lot for DBS for the same capital.

Paul Lee
17-10-2008, 04:40 PM
Thanks Paul.,

Just curious , if it is based on that caculation. isnt it easier to buy cheaper stock like for etc , Singtel which is around 2.80 rather than than DBS stock at 18.00.

If both company declared a dividend of 2cents , u will also get paid $20 per lot. But you can buy 9 lots for singtel instead of 1 lot for DBS for the same capital.

You are basically talking about yield. And of cos the higher the better. In your example. the yield for Singtel is 0.7% and for DBS 0.1%. But of cos DBS dividend is not so low.

Some pennies stock can give yield that are comparable to the blue chip but you need to be wary and not be so fixated with the yield unless you are sure the company can substain the dividend payout.

Given the current economic slowdown, its a given that dividends payouts for the coming year will reduce.

RedSuns85
17-10-2008, 11:01 PM
So basically ,

assuming that the yield is the same and the dividends payout is the same ..

Lets say yield is 5% and dividends payout of 2 cents

1 lots of singtel(etc 2.80) and 1 lot of DBS (16.00) , i am going to received the same payout(etc $20) ? stock price is not taken into account ?

dreamer75
18-10-2008, 08:29 AM
yield can come down when the economy is in recession. Take note. Do not based on past div yield.

Paul Lee
18-10-2008, 05:53 PM
So basically ,

1 lots of singtel(etc 2.80) and 1 lot of DBS (16.00) , i am going to received the same payout(etc $20) ? stock price is not taken into account ?

Stock price is never taken into consideration when dividend are declared.

Yields are different for people who buy at different price. eg. if you buy FSL now, I think the yield is roughly ard 30+% but if you have bought last yr, your yield would be closer to 10%.

So your example of yield of 5% is meaningless. Of cos if the dividend for both Singtel and DBS is the same, then it does not take a rocket scientist to buy Singtel instead of DBS. :s22:

monkeygototown
21-10-2008, 10:48 AM
Hi Ryan

To be brutally honest, when I bought Singpost at $1.10, I just figured that it was good value and that was the price I was comfortable to buy at that pt in time. This may sound shocking to you but I actually did not do a Fair Value analysis of Singpost when I bought. Nor do I really know how.

My average cost for Singpost is actually much lower than $1.10 because the last purchase was a top-up. I remain optimistic on Singpost prospects and considered one of the few stocks which I can buy into and sleep soundly at night - despite the recent brutal sell-down.

Frankly I never studied Buffet much so I won't know about what he says. But Singpost is one company that I do intend to hold 'forever'.
Hey, I have several folks asking on how to value stocks. I use several methods which I am trying to share over a period of time. I am using things which are more relevant to our stock markets instead of the US exchange. If you like, perhaps you can comment on the techniques I am blogging about on valuation.

hexsox
21-10-2008, 11:43 AM
is it a good time to buy keppel land?

henrylbh
21-10-2008, 01:24 PM
So basically ,

If yield the same and dividend in cents is the same, then market price must be the same. Yield is the last annual dividend divided by the current market price.

In your example, singtel at 2.80 and dbs at 16.00 will not have same yield if both pay 2c.

The yield also does not take into account the timing of dividend and the yield will vary from day to day according to the price of the stock.

RedSuns85
21-10-2008, 06:11 PM
ic thanks henry .

Then how does Yield affects the dividend payout ? or dividend payout is randomly declared by the company.

Thus , Big MNC company like DBS or SPH will declare more dividend payout than smaller company like singtel/star hub or Singpost ? supposingly both company are making money at same level etc net profit of 20%

I am trying to find a stock thats generate stable dividends in good and bad times and hold there

And to share my data with u guys, notice that:

http://img183.imageshack.us/img183/4711/60956930hg1.th.jpg (http://img183.imageshack.us/my.php?image=60956930hg1.jpg)http://img183.imageshack.us/images/thpix.gif (http://g.imageshack.us/thpix.php)

In the data above, if i got 3 lots in SIA and as said by Paul "Dividends are declared on a 'per share' basis" thus

3 lot(3000) X 1.0000 = I will be getting $3000 ?

Thanks for the patience as I am not in the finance field

henrylbh
21-10-2008, 08:47 PM
Based on your data, 3 lots of SIA will get $3000 dividend. It's dividend and price that affect yield. Annual dividend is not fixed and usually depends on the company's performance. In your data, creative made a loss yet declare dividend.

Paul Lee
21-10-2008, 11:05 PM
ic thanks henry .

I am trying to find a stock thats generate stable dividends in good and bad times and hold there

Let me share with you the stocks that have been paying me dividends every year since I own them. And I have own them for at least 5 yrs - many since IPO.

My constant dividend paying company as follows: SIA Engr, Singpost, Singtel, M1, SFI, Allgreen, Popular, Datapulse, Kingboard, Tan Chong Int.

There are many other companies in the SGX universe that I am sure pays dividend every yr: banks, telco, transport companies, SPH, SPC, ST Eng. You can also consider the REITs, the infrastructure funds and the shipping trusts.

RedSuns85
21-10-2008, 11:07 PM
thanks henry, I got the clearer picture now :)

btw, the data is not mine , I took from Reuters®. Dun want to get sue for copyright infringement from them haha

SPC and sembcorp seems to have quite good dividends, not sure will flunctuate how much on the next dividend payout since the plunge on oil prices.

Thanks Paul, how I wish I have 1/10 of the capital you have haha.

Like to ask if company pass dividends in a anuual or quaterly basis, like to know how most of the company practices ?
Does it matter if I buy 3 lots straight from a stock or 1 at a time till 3? Cause I know the only advantage from buying 3 lots straight is the brokerage fee as it is calculated per transactions. Will it affect dividends too?

henrylbh
21-10-2008, 11:31 PM
thanks henry, I got the clearer picture now :)

btw, the data is not mine , I took from Reuters®. Dun want to get sue for copyright infringement from them haha

SPC and sembcorp seems to have quite good dividends, not sure will flunctuate how much on the next dividend payout since the plunge on oil prices.

Like to ask if company pass dividends in a anuual or quaterly basis, like to know how most of the company practices ?
Does it matter if I buy 3 lots straight from a stock or 1 at a time till 3? Cause I know the only advantage from buying 3 lots straight is the brokerage fee as it is calculated per transactions. Will it affect dividends too?

Go sgx website and check the dividend history of the counter you are interested. Only a few are paying the same amount every year. Some company has policy of paying dividend based on profit, eg 60% of profit to be declared as dividend, many has no pattern.

Shadus
22-10-2008, 03:15 AM
I'm sure everyone knows this but just to remind ourselves once again when we calculate dividend yield. impt pt. to note is that dividend declared this yr may not be repeated for next yr. for eg. company A enjoy a fantastic 2008 and declare 5cents dividend, its stock price was $1. hence 5% yield. mkt crash, stock price now 50cents, dividend suddenly 10% it seems. pls rem tht mkt is fwd lookin, hence, it tries to price in business expectation for next yr. hence at 50cents, the real dividend yield may not be 10%. hence, just lookin at dividends over current price and conclude that this is its yield next yr is risky assumption.

Paul Lee
22-10-2008, 09:13 AM

I bought SPC last yr and has received >1K/lot in dividend. I think you are talking about Sembcorp Marine instead of Sembcorp (very different companies). The price of crude affects both SPC and Sembcorp Marine differently. The drop in crude oil price resulted in marked down in inventory and lower refinary margin. For Sembcorp Marine, if the price of crude continues to drop, then they may not be able to attract new rig order.

No lah. I just have 1 lot of many shares. For Singtel, I dun even have 1,000 shares. :s13:

Most bluechip companies pay half-yearly dividends. The smaller caps one usually only pays once a yr. Singpost is the only one I can think of that pays quarterly dividend.

Whether you buy 3 lots or 1 lots has no baring on the dividends. The most important thing is that you still have the shares when the stocks goes ex-dividend (ex-date)

normante
22-10-2008, 10:13 AM
Thanks Paul.,

GUY DOES ANY OF U KNOW WHERE I CAN GET ALL FINANCIAL REPORT?
I NEED T STUDY A BIT BEFORE REALLY BUYING,I NEED ATLEAST 10YRS RECORD OF ALL ALL THE COMPANY LISTED IN SGX FOR ROE,EPS,DPS,P/ERATIO, AND EARNING AND LIABILITY, ANY IDEA ? I HOPE NO SGX

monkeygototown
22-10-2008, 11:22 AM
GUY DOES ANY OF U KNOW WHERE I CAN GET ALL FINANCIAL REPORT?
I NEED T STUDY A BIT BEFORE REALLY BUYING,I NEED ATLEAST 10YRS RECORD OF ALL ALL THE COMPANY LISTED IN SGX FOR ROE,EPS,DPS,P/ERATIO, AND EARNING AND LIABILITY, ANY IDEA ? I HOPE NO SGX
Try the company of the sites you are interested in investing. Most of financial records on investor pages. Else use an online broker like POEMS or Reuters (http://www.reuters.com) under stock on the left navigation paneal. So far, for free info, Reuters is the best source. But they track only about 5 years history including all the ratios u are looking for.

By the way, it is usually quite offensive to write all in Upper Caps unless you mean to be "shouting" in cyber space...

monkeygototown
22-10-2008, 11:26 AM
My way of measuring dividend is a little different. Not sure if it is of use to those interested.

Most of the time, dividend is usually calculated based on the Earnings of the fiscal year. So a better yardstick may be to calculate the historical payout of their earnings. So if you know the earnings history, you may calculate the dividend quite accurately, provided all things remain the same.

Here is a sample (http://ryanbuffetlim.wordpress.com/2008/10/21/lets-look-for-treasure/) of how calculations was done based on a reported M1 earnings recently.

hexsox
22-10-2008, 10:41 PM
Hi, newbies here. I would like to know

a) 1lot = 100shares

or

b) 1lot = 1000 shares.

Thank you thank you.

MikeDirnt78
22-10-2008, 11:06 PM
Hi, newbies here. I would like to know

a) 1lot = 100shares

or

b) 1lot = 1000 shares.

Thank you thank you.
for SIA200, 1 lot = 200

for SIA, 1 lot = 1000

see the logic? unless there is a number behind, the standard board lot is at 1000

RedSuns85
23-10-2008, 12:09 PM
STI still dropping like waterfall... wonder when I shld wait till to go in

henrylbh
23-10-2008, 12:46 PM
STI still dropping like waterfall... wonder when I shld wait till to go in

Very temptiing and greedy and I try very to restrain myself from going in. I believe it will be bleak for the next 3 months. Many strong companies will be badly buised when their financial assets and properties are marked to market when closing accounts for Dec 2008. For example, even Temasek will have to mark down its investment in Keppel Corp by $2B and that's is only its direct interest in one counter.

RedSuns85
23-10-2008, 12:51 PM
yup, I think those companies will drop even further when they release their net profit/loss. Yesterday SPH drop 14% when they report a drop of net profit of 99% !!

henrylbh
23-10-2008, 01:04 PM
yup, I think those companies will drop even further when they release their net profit/loss. Yesterday SPH drop 14% when they report a drop of net profit of 99% !!

Where you get info that SPH profit dropped 99%. The drop for full year to Aug was only 12%. On 1 Oct, it increase the price of its print.

RedSuns85
23-10-2008, 01:17 PM
http://img161.imageshack.us/img161/9700/save1yn4.th.jpg (http://img161.imageshack.us/my.php?image=save1yn4.jpg)http://img161.imageshack.us/images/thpix.gif (http://g.imageshack.us/thpix.php)

FYI,Q3 net profit

littleprincey
23-10-2008, 01:35 PM
Where you get info that SPH profit dropped 99%. The drop for full year to Aug was only 12%. On 1 Oct, it increase the price of its print.

99% is SPC

RedSuns85
23-10-2008, 03:26 PM
opps sorry my mistake

Paul Lee
23-10-2008, 03:28 PM
A honet mistake but I wondered how much of SPH's drop yesterday (if any) can be atrributed to the fact that people mistook the two.

hexsox
23-10-2008, 04:52 PM
for SIA200, 1 lot = 200

for SIA, 1 lot = 1000

see the logic? unless there is a number behind, the standard board lot is at 1000

Thank you.

Btw, has SPC announce their dividend for this year?? Thank you in advance.

addict951
30-10-2008, 06:16 PM
Hallo
Asking expert
For the forthcoming sph 0.19 div
When we expect the div to be credited to our bank a/c? :D

Paul Lee
30-10-2008, 09:42 PM
Hallo
Asking expert
For the forthcoming sph 0.19 div
When we expect the div to be credited to our bank a/c? :D

Just in time for last minute Christmas shopping!! ;)

Payable and credited into bank account on 23 Dec 08.

Paul Lee
30-10-2008, 09:45 PM
Btw, has SPC announce their dividend for this year?? Thank you in advance.

SPC paid an interim dividend of 20cents back in Aug. Final dividend will be announced in Feb and paid in May 09. Still long way.

RedSuns85
30-10-2008, 10:37 PM
has the economy starting to revive ? or just another temporary upturn

IIIUSION
30-10-2008, 10:43 PM
Why SPH price still dropping?

littleprincey
31-10-2008, 01:09 AM
Why SPH price still dropping?

People are moving their money out of bluechips to buy bargin shares?

In periods of very fast growth in the stock market (bubble), these people put their bet on bluechip stocks. Now, they realised that they can make more value from those undervalue shares with high potential so they just transfer the money elsewhere.

hexsox
01-11-2008, 04:39 AM
SPC paid an interim dividend of 20cents back in Aug. Final dividend will be announced in Feb and paid in May 09. Still long way.

Thank you.

IIIUSION
03-11-2008, 11:25 PM
People are moving their money out of bluechips to buy bargin shares?

In periods of very fast growth in the stock market (bubble), these people put their bet on bluechip stocks. Now, they realised that they can make more value from those undervalue shares with high potential so they just transfer the money elsewhere.

Hmm true...thanks :)

sarubobo
06-11-2008, 12:27 PM
so is it a good time to buy SPH shares now? btw, where can i find the range of share price for the past 3 yrs of a company?

henrylbh
06-11-2008, 12:40 PM
so is it a good time to buy SPH shares now? btw, where can i find the range of share price for the past 3 yrs of a company?

Go sgx website's all in one info under listed companies.

IIIUSION
07-11-2008, 09:18 PM
If let say tomorrow is the XD date and I buy shares today(trade/order date today), do I still get the dividends? Or must the settlement(paid) date be before the XD?

:(

hexsox
07-11-2008, 10:53 PM
If let say tomorrow is the XD date and I buy shares today(trade/order date today), do I still get the dividends? Or must the settlement(paid) date be before the XD?

:(

Yes, you have to buy before ex-data to entitle for the dividend.

IIIUSION
07-11-2008, 11:05 PM
Yes, you have to buy before ex-data to entitle for the dividend.

So means if my case is the 1st scenario:

(If let say tomorrow is the XD date but I buy the shares today(trade/order date today) but pay 3days later T+3)

Any dividend for me?

Thanks again...

Paul Lee
08-11-2008, 02:55 PM
So means if my case is the 1st scenario:

(If let say tomorrow is the XD date but I buy the shares today(trade/order date today) but pay 3days later T+3)

Any dividend for me?

Thanks again...

Yes. As long as you settled your trade, you will get the dividend so dun worry. ;)

greenbeam1980
08-11-2008, 03:40 PM
Yes. As long as you settled your trade, you will get the dividend so dun worry. ;)

If I sell off the share b4 the dividend payout date, I won't be getting the dividend right?

direbmem
08-11-2008, 07:50 PM
If I sell off the share b4 the dividend payout date, I won't be getting the dividend right?
no you will still get it...

IIIUSION
09-11-2008, 09:05 PM

but the problem is the settlement date is 1 day after it turned XD......... Anyway if don't have treat it as a lesson learnt lor...newbie here :o

greenbeam1980
10-11-2008, 10:54 PM
Usually dividend will be straight-forward like how many cents etc but if the dividend given is stated in the following form

DIVIDEND : 200608-191208 4.2% PREFERENTIAL ONE-TIER TAX

Could someone explain how many cents is the dividend??

Thanks in advance.

MikeDirnt78
11-11-2008, 10:09 AM
but the problem is the settlement date is 1 day after it turned XD......... Anyway if don't have treat it as a lesson learnt lor...newbie here :o

as long you buy before XD, you are entitled. does not matter when is your settlement date

henrylbh
11-11-2008, 11:52 AM
Usually dividend will be straight-forward like how many cents etc but if the dividend given is stated in the following form

DIVIDEND : 200608-191208 4.2% PREFERENTIAL ONE-TIER TAX

Could someone explain how many cents is the dividend??

Thanks in advance.

It means that dividend of 4.2% pa is calculated on the period from 20 Jun 2008 to 19 Dec 2008.

IIIUSION
11-11-2008, 07:17 PM
as long you buy before XD, you are entitled. does not matter when is your settlement date

Thanks *phew* :yawn:

dacrib
05-12-2008, 11:24 AM
hi all, i was reading up tis post n learnt quite a bit.
i have a qn though..with reference to SPH..

if i were to buy in 1 lot now, would i b entitled to the special 1 tier tax(0.1)? or just the interim 1 tier tax(0.09) or both?

i believe its supposed to be both.. but i m not sure..ani clarification this?

thx in adv.

RedSuns85
05-12-2008, 01:38 PM
I just bought my first 1 lot of SPC today ~~ Any other good stock to recommend to buy now ? Or should I wait after the voting of bailout of the 3 AUTO carmakers

MikeDirnt78
06-12-2008, 12:22 AM
hi all, i was reading up tis post n learnt quite a bit.
i have a qn though..with reference to SPH..

if i were to buy in 1 lot now, would i b entitled to the special 1 tier tax(0.1)? or just the interim 1 tier tax(0.09) or both?

i believe its supposed to be both.. but i m not sure..ani clarification this?

thx in adv.

yes you are entitled

moneytalk.sg
06-12-2008, 10:13 PM
I just bought my first 1 lot of SPC today ~~ Any other good stock to recommend to buy now ? Or should I wait after the voting of bailout of the 3 AUTO carmakers

My advice would be not to buy on news. Buy a stock based on sound financial analysis instead. There will always be news coming in.

dacrib
09-12-2008, 11:55 AM
alrite man thx mike :)

addict951
09-12-2008, 12:46 PM
sian sial
solded my mother, ie. sph, last week, no div to take at X'mas liao :o

RedSuns85
10-12-2008, 04:18 PM
Stocks raise a lot sia.. shld have bought more last week.. is the bailout confirm already ?

addict951
10-12-2008, 05:27 PM
Stocks raise a lot sia.. shld have bought more last week.. is the bailout confirm already ?

Yes! Tonite or tomorrow!!! :s12:

moneytalk.sg
11-12-2008, 11:20 AM
Now if the bailout is confirmed, stocks would have rallied. Won't that make equities more expensive to buy in now ? :D

addict951
11-12-2008, 01:11 PM
Today's XD of my mother :o 3.26 at close midday

RedSuns85
11-12-2008, 01:12 PM
yes .. looks expensive now .. hope STI will drop back to 1650 levels , then I chip in some blue stocks again =D .. more bad news pls haha

henrylbh
11-12-2008, 05:23 PM
Today's XD of my mother :o 3.26 at close midday

Your mother lol - better off selling cd. I just bot xd at 3.24 and it closed at 3.19 :D

RedSuns85
12-12-2008, 11:25 AM
woohoo. US Senate fails to reach auto compromise deal. free falling starts now

RedSuns85
12-12-2008, 11:33 AM
double post opps

v3locity
12-12-2008, 02:05 PM
yes .. looks expensive now .. hope STI will drop back to 1650 levels , then I chip in some blue stocks again =D .. more bad news pls haha

looks like you intend to capitalise on some good value stock eh :D :P

newborn1000
14-12-2008, 03:35 PM
hope there wont be a free fall anymore, i just went long hahax........huat har!!!!:s13:

st0rm5cap3
02-02-2009, 07:06 PM
Hi, just want to understand what is the meaning of SCRIP DIV SCH SGD 0.01 ONE-TIER TAX.
Raffles Edu issued a SCRIP DIV SCH SGD 0.01 ONE-TIER TAX on 30 Jan 09.

How is a SCRIP DIV SCH different from a normal dividend issue? (eg. SGD 0.0125 ONE-TIER TAX)?

Paul Lee
02-02-2009, 10:54 PM
Simply put, a scrip dividend scheme allows shareholders to receive your dividends in the form of new shares instead of cash. The issue price of the new share is determined on the book closure date.

So if you have 10,000 raffles education shares, your dividends will be $100. If the issue price is $0.10, then you will be issued with 100 Raffles Education Shares.

In the case of Raffles Education, you will still have the option of receiving your dividends in cash.

More details can be found in the announcement (http://info.sgx.com/webcoranncatth.nsf/VwAttachments/Att_54B223D58CA97DCE482574F90035BD65/$file/DRIP.pdf?openelement) released by the company on 6 Nov 08.

donald83
08-02-2009, 05:07 PM
anyone holding onto any shipping trusts?

RedSuns85
08-02-2009, 05:58 PM
i am holding FSL . bough at 0.455 . now 0.415 ...

donald83
08-02-2009, 10:49 PM
i am holding FSL . bough at 0.455 . now 0.415 ...

how many lots u holding? What makes u choose FSL instead of Rickmers and Pacific?

Paul Lee
09-02-2009, 09:24 AM
I have FSL and Rickmers.

All 3 shipping trust has its own investment merits and potential risks.

The only reason why I choose not to invest in PST is because of personal bias. Objectively speaking, PST is as good a shipping trust to invest in as the others.

I like FSL because its ships is diversified and its operates on a bareboat charter ie. meaning charterer pays for mainteneance. But it does not have a sponsor and there are concerns about its debt structure.

Both Rickmers and PST has strong sponsor but their vessel portfolio are container vessels which will be the first to feel the blunt of the trade downturn. Conversely they will also be the first to recover compared to the breakbulk and the tankers.

I remain bullish on shipping trusts and will look for opportunity to increase my holdings.

donald83
09-02-2009, 02:40 PM
I have FSL and Rickmers.

All 3 shipping trust has its own investment merits and potential risks.

The only reason why I choose not to invest in PST is because of personal bias. Objectively speaking, PST is as good a shipping trust to invest in as the others.

I like FSL because its ships is diversified and its operates on a bareboat charter ie. meaning charterer pays for mainteneance. But it does not have a sponsor and there are concerns about its debt structure.

Both Rickmers and PST has strong sponsor but their vessel portfolio are container vessels which will be the first to feel the blunt of the trade downturn. Conversely they will also be the first to recover compared to the breakbulk and the tankers.

I remain bullish on shipping trusts and will look for opportunity to increase my holdings.

Hi Paul but the contract agreements are locked in for quite long right? So there should be stable income distributions. Rickers is releasing their 2008 FY results and their DPU for 4Q 08. Will be monitoring it closety..

Junior87
09-02-2009, 03:57 PM
how about reits anyone? is reits better or shipping trusts?

donald83
09-02-2009, 05:21 PM

Div Yield for Reits are lower than Shipping trusts but they are fairly decent as well. In my opinion better to go for retail reits

Paul Lee
10-02-2009, 10:17 AM
Hi Paul but the contract agreements are locked in for quite long right? So there should be stable income distributions. Rickers is releasing their 2008 FY results and their DPU for 4Q 08. Will be monitoring it closety..

Yes that's right. The whole idea behind shipping trust is basically income stability and as the charter rates are locked in for 5-7 yrs, it should smooth out the cyclical nature of the shipping industry. Or at least that the theory anyway.

The reality unfortunately is never so straight forward. Makes no mistakes that we are indeed in a dire economic circumstances. Shipping depends on economic activities and trades. A slow down will definitely impact the fortunes of shipping companies. So the key is how these companies ride out the storm so to speak.

A locked in of the charter rates is only meaningful if the shipping companies that chartered the ships can survive the turmoil and continue to pay the charter rates. If things deteriorated further, a lock-in rate is no assurance of a stable income for shipping trust. I am sure the agreement between the shipping companies and the shipping trust include a 'get out' clause (with a penalty of cos). And if the companies get out and the trust is unable to find charterer for the ships, then stable income is screwed.

The shipping trusts all have fairly big companies chartering the vessels but just because its big and has existed a long time means it won't fail. Just look at Leehman. So I would not bet my money and says the above scenario will not hit any of the shipping trusts.

Having said that, things are still *not* that dire at the moment. So I'm still bullish on shipping trusts.

Paul Lee
10-02-2009, 10:23 AM

Personally I would not say that REITs are better than shipping trusts. Just like I would not say that a retail REITs is better than Office REITs or Industrial REITs.

Picking one over the other is the same as investing in other stocks. It depends on your risk appetite, your investment horizon and investment objectives. Diversification is a strategy that applies to investing in REITs too.

But if I were to pick one particular sector now, I'm with Donald on the retail REITs. I have never seen such fantastic yield in all my years of investing in REITs so this is surely an opportunity not to be missed. As long as you have the stomach to ride with it for the long run. Good luck!

jarvis
11-02-2009, 06:42 AM
A locked in of the charter rates is only meaningful if the shipping companies that chartered the ships can survive the turmoil and continue to pay the charter rates. If things deteriorated further, a lock-in rate is no assurance of a stable income for shipping trust. I am sure the agreement between the shipping companies and the shipping trust include a 'get out' clause (with a penalty of cos). And if the companies get out and the trust is unable to find charterer for the ships, then stable income is screwed.

most, if not all, of these transactions are sale and leasebacks are done on "hell and high water" bareboat charters. that is to say come hell and high water, the charter still stands and charterhire remains payable. It is also almost impossible to off-hire the vessel or terminate the charter early. if there is repudiation of the bareboat charter, the charterer (i.e. borrower) will potentially be liable for the difference in the charter rate in the bareboat and the current market charter rate. caveat being that i have not reviewed the actual charters, just that it is usual in most of these sale and leaseback transactions (which is a form of financing and hence the financiers do not want to take the risk of people getting out). i'm quite sure if you look thru the prospectus, there would probably be a mention of this.

but yes, the locked in charter hire rates are only meaningful if the charterer/borrower is able to survive the current economic turmoil. if the charterer/borrower collapses then that is the end - so the shipping trust bears the financial risk of the charterers/borrowers.

so there is always risk, especially in this market where the freight rates have plummetted. the exposure can be quite substantial because of the huge fall in the freight rates.

RedSuns85
01-03-2009, 10:28 PM
FSL dividend yield at the current price on paper is now 50% O.o

ericwjt
02-03-2009, 11:30 AM
Good time to buy FSL now?

MikeDirnt78
04-03-2009, 11:57 PM
FSL dividend yield at the current price on paper is now 50% O.o

im vested with FSL at much higher price!

if its really 50%, then within 2 years you will get back your capital assuming they can maintain payout. so you can evaluate the risks ;)

RedSuns85
06-03-2009, 12:58 PM
haha most propably wun be 50% , they had decrease dividend payout recently to 77%. As long as they dun bankrupt or go delisted, I am happy with the dividend they are giving out haha. Just received their dividend, can say very attractive on paper =D
Its qutie an even risk/return tradeoff to me

32% '09 yield despite lower DPU

FSLT declared 4Q08 DPU of US¢3.08 (S¢4.63) or a quarterly yield of 10%. At the same time, the trust guided down 1Q09 DPU to US¢2.45 (S¢3.68) in a bid to conserve cash as it reduces payout ratio to about 77% of distributable cash from 100% previously. This will result in 32% dividend yield for 2009.

neoh168
14-03-2009, 08:10 PM
any website shows updates of dividend yields of stocks with sorting functions? or something close to it would be appreciated thanks!

IntelFlash
20-03-2009, 03:06 PM
is it a good time to buy divi stocks now?
FSL still giving dividend?

jarvis
21-03-2009, 06:56 AM
u can go to the SGX website and look under the announcements made by FSL. There was one on 4 March 09 regarding, amongst other things, a reaffirmation for the Q1 09 DPU guidance of USD2.45 cents.

Of course, how much trust you place in the annoucements made by the companies is up to you. The only time the dividend is really certain is when it is credited into your bank account...

unwanted
22-03-2009, 12:05 PM
Is there any reliable stock that can buy and forget about it with strong dividend?

addict951
22-03-2009, 02:14 PM
Is there any reliable stock that can buy and forget about it with strong dividend?

my mother :s12:

roy_li
22-03-2009, 06:32 PM
any website shows updates of dividend yields of stocks with sorting functions? or something close to it would be appreciated thanks!

i use ==> http://www.channelnewsasia.com/finance/stock/dividend.htm
but it does not seem to get update on a real time basis

Paul Lee
22-03-2009, 06:38 PM

That's just a listing of the current dividends declared by the company. There's no need for it to be updated in real time cos no yield is present. You will still need to calculate the yield on your own. Nonetheless, this is a convenient reference. Thanks for the list.

The_Davis
22-03-2009, 08:27 PM
my mother :s12:
simi stock? can don't use codewords?

chopra
22-03-2009, 09:36 PM
simi stock? can don't use codewords?

lol i ask addict about the code before.

my mother = ass pee h

MikeDirnt78
22-03-2009, 10:00 PM

businesstimes also provides this information. but this format is a better 1 page representation. thanks anyway

unwanted
22-03-2009, 10:16 PM
ya also lookin into sph. Lookin to diverse into reit. But with so many malls coming up and leasin expectin to fall. Wonder is it a good bet not.

s7460597
23-03-2009, 09:18 AM
ya also lookin into sph. Lookin to diverse into reit. But with so many malls coming up and leasin expectin to fall. Wonder is it a good bet not.

Am thinking of it but not at the moment the other important factor is the financing for the REIT. If they have loan facility coming due for refinancing, would need closer watch.

Cyriic
23-03-2009, 10:24 AM
I'm for kep corp .. if price can drop back down to $3.xx .. lagi best.

yellow_pen
27-03-2009, 08:04 PM
can someone translate the chinese?

remoir
27-03-2009, 10:05 PM
what does cum dividend means?

some stocks are listed with cd beside them?

cc2mss5
27-03-2009, 10:39 PM
can try yhi or lkh

hocky
28-03-2009, 08:55 PM

anyone? :s12::s12:

yellow_pen
28-03-2009, 09:10 PM

as quoted from investopedia:

"Cum dividend means "with dividend." A stock trades cum-dividend up until the ex-dividend date. On or after this point, the stock trades without its dividend rights."

moneytalk.sg
29-03-2009, 01:36 AM
You might want to check out this link (http://www.moneytalk.sg/2009/02/receiving-stock-dividend.html).

remoir
29-03-2009, 09:46 PM
thanks bro, i got a clearer picture now.

How about US Stocks? Do they have some sites like sgx.com which list the dividend payout history and ex dates ?

chensing
16-04-2009, 12:08 AM
Cosco ex date 28April S$77 per lot,Straits Asia resources USD 21.80 ex- date 7 May per lot not forgetting potential for capita gain:s12:

Jade can buy lah at 2cts won't die all...major sh holders or vested party got it at 6.5cts worth the punt:s12: