PDA

View Full Version : Getting M1 Mobile Broadband? Think THRICE!!!

XiaoDongDong
04-05-2008, 02:45 PM
Very good speed... 1.8mbps connection... no downloading.... direct connection with signal strength excellent

http://www.speedtest.net/result/267160924.png

can jump ship alrdy M1 sux lot

askh52
04-05-2008, 03:46 PM
Very good speed... 1.8mbps connection... no downloading.... direct connection with signal strength excellent

wow, you got fast speed
http://www.speedtest.net/result/267179492.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

tungsten2
04-05-2008, 04:30 PM

At which location ?

askh52
04-05-2008, 04:44 PM
At which location ?

west coast....:s16:

raijinshou
04-05-2008, 05:49 PM
Hmm... Now not 1.8 anymore, but has been upgrade to 2.0 Mbps.

The thread should not be "think thrice" but "dont think and just forget it".

This M1 broadband is getting sux. We should make campaign to let everyone knows how suck they are so nobody signed for their line. This is getting stupid...

http://www.speedtest.net/result/267203301.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
Speed Applied: 2 Mbps
Fact: less than 1/20!!!, not stable, disconnect minutely/hourly, damn high ping 5-10s ++, connect mostly to 3G (not HSDPA),

*damn wanna try speedtest take 10 minutes =.=

I would like to know about the same service from Singtel and Starhub. Anyone using theirs?

ahtea
04-05-2008, 06:05 PM
StarHub is just as bad or even worst.

Apex
04-05-2008, 06:50 PM
Well is a known fact that M1 is very slow for it BB. I think just a little faster then Dial up.

Apex
04-05-2008, 06:50 PM
Surfing i think starhub is ok!

WestGuy
04-05-2008, 09:17 PM

Any substantial evidence to back up your statements? :)

No complaints about Starhub Maxmobile so far. Works well for me in many areas.

The only mobile broadband operator with truly unlimited surfing.

Readings from 8 mths ago
http://www.speedtest.net/result/187620281.png

Readings now.
http://www.speedtest.net/result/267010895.png

Pretty consistent for me, as you can see.

I don't think either of the other 2 operators can offer such speeds

P.S. I'm normally a red umbrella guy, but in terms of mobile broadband, i have to side with the green umbrella. :)

raijinshou
05-05-2008, 04:04 AM
WestGuy, may I know ur location of online and check the speed?

As the location may vary the speed.

Though I would like to say I'm amaze to ur speed. I dont really care the ping, as long as my download goes in blast, I love it.

WestGuy
05-05-2008, 08:36 AM
WestGuy, may I know ur location of online and check the speed?

As the location may vary the speed.

Though I would like to say I'm amaze to ur speed. I dont really care the ping, as long as my download goes in blast, I love it.

Jurong West. No issues for me when travelling to other parts of the island as well(or at least those areas i go to).

haylui
05-05-2008, 09:31 AM
my friend in BoonLay MRT there also feeling M1 MobileBroadband sucks. during peak hour the ping is about 1000ms. (ping at speedtest.net)

raijinshou
05-05-2008, 10:40 AM
That means starhub rocks at jurong west. hehe...

Lord_Venus
05-05-2008, 10:46 AM
Hmm... Now not 1.8 anymore, but has been upgrade to 2.0 Mbps.

The thread should not be "think thrice" but "dont think and just forget it".

This M1 broadband is getting sux. We should make campaign to let everyone knows how suck they are so nobody signed for their line. This is getting stupid...

http://www.speedtest.net/result/267203301.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
Speed Applied: 2 Mbps
Fact: less than 1/20!!!, not stable, disconnect minutely/hourly, damn high ping 5-10s ++, connect mostly to 3G (not HSDPA),

*damn wanna try speedtest take 10 minutes =.=

I would like to know about the same service from Singtel and Starhub. Anyone using theirs?
Just do this; think long long, think hard hard. But don't sign up can already.

harvardsch
05-05-2008, 10:59 AM
i agree the connection is getting quite inconsistent.

layzibum22
05-05-2008, 11:40 AM
Wah... making me wanna jump ship...

tanjhj
05-05-2008, 11:54 AM
i have never heard m1 bb is good at all even when it started.. dun bother wif m1 lah.. they gone case liao

WestGuy
05-05-2008, 12:04 PM
my friend in BoonLay MRT there also feeling M1 MobileBroadband sucks. during peak hour the ping is about 1000ms. (ping at speedtest.net)

That's terrible. Am staying around that area. ;)
Suggest that your friend switch to Stathub then.

JetMan
16-05-2008, 11:13 PM
Ya, I live in yishun and the effing M1 connections always drop!!! I can't wait for 6 months over and return this crap junk. Don't buy :s27:

FireHobbit
17-05-2008, 01:28 AM
That's terrible. Am staying around that area. ;)
Suggest that your friend switch to Stathub then.

which blk or street u in?

me at central 1 not that good leh...

blues7
16-06-2008, 11:38 PM
i have never heard m1 bb is good at all even when it started.. dun bother wif m1 lah.. they gone case liao

so true, think PacNet

localbus
16-06-2008, 11:44 PM
actually... singnet bbom equally sxxk :)

FireHobbit
16-06-2008, 11:56 PM
haha.. now i feel starhub is no bad...

xiaosiong_29
15-03-2009, 11:00 AM
Hi, I just sign up M1 mob broadband latest 7.2MB and been cheated. I'm using M1 1MB promotion which left 4 month contract but few month ago it can't even surf normal website(dont even bother about download).
Friday saw M1 offer at IT show and told them whether it could help if I upgrade to faster speed. Promoter over there suggested me get the fastest speed and told me that M1 has upgrade their network last November. They also have increased volume customer to sign up on IT show.
Unfortunately, I found M1 network still same as my 1MB. Network always drop and when I surfing, always show connection problem which webpage not display.
And what I do? I call M1 polite CS of course. They replied this may be network capacity and large amount of usage. Also ask my PC model, try another website and try other computer. Anyway, My housemate using starhub 7.2 and he download happily. I told them I upgrade my plan, pay extra $$$ to M1 and cant even surf net. This is a cheat. They previously only provide 1MB and 2MB. Now they told consumer they have until 7.2MB but that all bull**** to get more cash on network band they cant even support. CS replied they take note of this problem and they actually have known abt this problem and try to upgrade to serve curtomer better. another PR response.
Customer already pay their monthly $$ but need to bear with M1 while they upgrade their system. this obvious money sucking company.
Do other have similar problem? May I know how can make this issue to CASE or any1 can teach me correct way to approach to CASE?
I live nearby Yio Chu Kang MRT, I can assure you a night it cant use at all. May be the network only good nearby M1 store only so customer cant simulate same problem to them.
I think we are the 1 wearing M1 orange shirt like IT show (pay whatever to make M1 happily)
Thank for reading

Guyver
15-03-2009, 11:03 AM
singtel and starhub fine for me . cuz i got both mobile broadband . starhub most stable speed. while singtel may get slow speed sometimes. heng i never go get m1 cuz of dell mini 9 . phew .

liuzg150181
15-03-2009, 12:14 PM
Should have read this b4 signing up for M1 mobile broadband.........:(

wangxiping
16-03-2009, 01:27 PM
Hi, I just sign up M1 mob broadband latest 7.2MB and been cheated. I'm using M1 1MB promotion which left 4 month contract but few month ago it can't even surf normal website(dont even bother about download).
Friday saw M1 offer at IT show and told them whether it could help if I upgrade to faster speed. Promoter over there suggested me get the fastest speed and told me that M1 has upgrade their network last November. They also have increased volume customer to sign up on IT show.
Unfortunately, I found M1 network still same as my 1MB. Network always drop and when I surfing, always show connection problem which webpage not display.
And what I do? I call M1 polite CS of course. They replied this may be network capacity and large amount of usage. Also ask my PC model, try another website and try other computer. Anyway, My housemate using starhub 7.2 and he download happily. I told them I upgrade my plan, pay extra $$$ to M1 and cant even surf net. This is a cheat. They previously only provide 1MB and 2MB. Now they told consumer they have until 7.2MB but that all bull**** to get more cash on network band they cant even support. CS replied they take note of this problem and they actually have known abt this problem and try to upgrade to serve curtomer better. another PR response.
Customer already pay their monthly $$ but need to bear with M1 while they upgrade their system. this obvious money sucking company.
Do other have similar problem? May I know how can make this issue to CASE or any1 can teach me correct way to approach to CASE?
I live nearby Yio Chu Kang MRT, I can assure you a night it cant use at all. May be the network only good nearby M1 store only so customer cant simulate same problem to them.
I think we are the 1 wearing M1 orange shirt like IT show (pay whatever to make M1 happily)
Thank for reading

Forget about M1. I signed a 4Mbps plan on Feb 22nd, in the evenings, the speeds keep at around 400K/100K of download/upload. Called the CS several times and once took the device to the M1 store for checking, finally get the plan terminated without penalty last Saturday, but can not get the regitration fee back. By the way, I stay at commonwealth drive, blk 9*.

liangtam
16-03-2009, 01:59 PM
Forget about M1. I signed a 4Mbps plan on Feb 22nd, in the evenings, the speeds keep at around 400K/100K of download/upload. Called the CS several times and once took the device to the M1 store for checking, finally get the plan terminated without penalty last Saturday, but can not get the regitration fee back. By the way, I stay at commonwealth drive, blk 9*.

everyone knows, ONLY sign the basic, lowest, cheapest plan.
you also another one no do homework before committing.

wherehouse
16-03-2009, 04:53 PM
everyone knows, ONLY sign the basic, lowest, cheapest plan.
you also another one no do homework before committing.
evil, pour salt on wound... lol

McGraw
14-09-2009, 06:06 PM
i have to up this thread, got a problem here.

I got m1 1mbps few days ago, the problem is that whenever i opened a new link out of 10 times, 6 time it displayed "server not found" error. I had to refresh to get it right.

getting me irratated, anyway to solve this problem ?

Else I just have to go M1 centre and bang their table :)

NWT1978
14-09-2009, 08:08 PM

I got m1 1mbps few days ago, the problem is that whenever i opened a new link out of 10 times, 6 time it displayed "server not found" error. I had to refresh to get it right.

just refresh often loh now the FBB got activated and i like the smoothness :D

McGraw
14-09-2009, 09:19 PM
Singtel Mbb does not have this problem :mad:

TheLunny
14-09-2009, 09:32 PM

same here.. getting the same problems.. i signed up for 2 new 1mbps lines.. always getting this server not found or connection timeout problem.. need to refresh a few times then can get it right.. arghh..

daniel_83
14-09-2009, 09:33 PM
hmm

my gf applied 1mbps on saturday

been using 2 to 3 days, no complains..

are u guys using BT while surfing?

NWT1978
14-09-2009, 09:36 PM
hmm

my gf applied 1mbps on saturday

been using 2 to 3 days, no complains..

are u guys using BT while surfing?

i do not BT since i dislike her =:p, sometimes refresh 3x or more and it still dont load properly meaning the pics are not loading just the words only

czheyuan
14-09-2009, 09:50 PM
If BT is simultaneously ongoing then your surfing will be affected lo. Or if many windows or tabs are opened concurrently, loading may be interrupted too. Surfing with 1-2 windows is suggested lo.. Then should be no prob liao..

xd3vilx
14-09-2009, 10:06 PM
i use m1 1mpbs okay leh. no pblm. everytime can usually reach 1mpbs. if page cannot found or what...usually refresh can le.

TheLunny
14-09-2009, 10:09 PM
nope.. no bittorrent.. no other processes utilizing bandwidth also.. just plain surfing..

i suspect its problem with their dns servers.. sometimes the page comes up but many parts of the page like (eg. images, scripts, etc) remains unrendered.. possibly due to a timeout when doing resolution with the nameservers when loading those parts.. tried it on 2 different laptops with 2 different devices/lines.. same thing.

download speed is quite ok.. getting near full 1mbps at several locations.. but latency is abit high.. around 250ms++ to the speedtest.net local server..

TheLunny
14-09-2009, 10:34 PM
speedtest results..

http://www.speedtest.net/result/564865669.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

dns resolutions with nslookup.. noticed that there're alot of timeouts before finally getting in resolved.. anyone facing same issues?

>nslookup singnet.com.sg
DNS request timed out.
timeout was 2 seconds.
Server: UnKnown
Address: 202.65.244.31
DNS request timed out.
timeout was 2 seconds.
DNS request timed out.
timeout was 2 seconds.
DNS request timed out.
timeout was 2 seconds.
DNS request timed out.
timeout was 2 seconds.
*** Request to UnKnown timed-out

>nslookup m1.com.sg
DNS request timed out.
timeout was 2 seconds.
Server: UnKnown
DNS request timed out.
timeout was 2 seconds.
DNS request timed out.
timeout was 2 seconds.
DNS request timed out.
timeout was 2 seconds.
*** Request to UnKnown timed-out

>nslookup m1.com.sg
Server: coredns3.mnc003.mcc525.gprs
Non-authoritative answer:
Name: m1.com.sg
Address: 203.116.153.59

czheyuan
14-09-2009, 10:40 PM
n
download speed is quite ok.. getting near full 1mbps at several locations.. but latency is abit high.. around 250ms++ to the speedtest.net local server..

Oh latency for mobile BB usually ard 200+ms de it seems... Regardless of operator..

mun_hoe
15-09-2009, 11:39 PM

bro, i was in ur situation with M1 MBB, same bullsheet experienced, connection time out error, page loads half farked. modem slow in initialising 3G network. tried both at night and daytime at home and office. surfed HWZ and found out M1 quite jialat. finally after 24hrs i called M1 CSO and insisted to terminate and refused their PR tactics to get their engineer to solve the prob with me and the CSO was trying to scare me with all those termination penalty bullsheets. i insisted to terminate right away and challenged to get lawyer letter to sue me. today i received their bill amounting $500+ for the termination charges, called their billing side. got their CSO to get the manager to speak to me, in the end they waived off the penalties. i was even kind enough to remind him that shall i return the USB modem. and he arranged for me to return it a cust svc centre.

and on side note, right after i terminate my M1 MBB, next day i was contemplating shall i get SH MBB or ST, thought shall not take the risk for SH and in the end i signed up ST BBOM 2000 plan, yeah no doubt they have the 50gb data limit but heck i reckon it will be a miracle for me to hit over 20gb. i can tolerate moderately slow speeds, but getting me to refresh the damned page for so many times is unacceptable, well luckily i have NEVER encountered the above mentioned bullsheets with ST. happy ST BBOM customer here ;)

saggydog
16-09-2009, 02:23 AM
bro, i was in ur situation with M1 MBB, same bullsheet experienced, connection time out error, page loads half farked. modem slow in initialising 3G network. tried both at night and daytime at home and office. surfed HWZ and found out M1 quite jialat. finally after 24hrs i called M1 CSO and insisted to terminate and refused their PR tactics to get their engineer to solve the prob with me and the CSO was trying to scare me with all those termination penalty bullsheets. i insisted to terminate right away and challenged to get lawyer letter to sue me. today i received their bill amounting $500+ for the termination charges, called their billing side. got their CSO to get the manager to speak to me, in the end they waived off the penalties. i was even kind enough to remind him that shall i return the USB modem. and he arranged for me to return it a cust svc centre.

and on side note, right after i terminate my M1 MBB, next day i was contemplating shall i get SH MBB or ST, thought shall not take the risk for SH and in the end i signed up ST BBOM 2000 plan, yeah no doubt they have the 50gb data limit but heck i reckon it will be a miracle for me to hit over 20gb. i can tolerate moderately slow speeds, but getting me to refresh the damned page for so many times is unacceptable, well luckily i have NEVER encountered the above mentioned bullsheets with ST. happy ST BBOM customer here ;)

You are lucky to get them to waived off the penalties.
I just jump ship for SH to M1 now regaled 4m connection only able to get 2m + connection and keep getting disconnection.

limjunch
16-09-2009, 02:27 AM
a lot of factors affect the speed. sometimes its the location. In my office (jurong east), singtel sucks, but M1 is good.

Having problems increasing your website traffic? Read here (http://www.dofirstpaylater.com/seo-in-general/high-traffic-website-growth/)to find out more about targeting the right visitors (http://www.dofirstpaylater.com/seo-in-general/high-traffic-website-growth/)to your website.

Yat
16-09-2009, 10:01 AM
(NOTE: I posted this in a thread under Comex but did not get much response. Hope you can shed some light on the issues. thanks!)

Hi all,

for those who is on M1 BBom 1Mbps plan, have you tried downloading from sites such as Megaupload or Rapidshare? I tried many times, and each time, the download would last between 5 to 15min and then terminated w/o finishing the download.

Any idea how to rectify this problem?

Also, do you have to ocassionally refresh a page as it fails to load? I tested using speedtest and my area is usually around 1Mbps. so why am I frequently (like 40% of the time) hitting page not loaded error and have to refresh again? I'm not loading a lot of pages concurrently or downloading files during that time.

Yat
16-09-2009, 10:06 AM
hi,

apologise for these newbie questions.

I juz slot my M1 BBom 1Mbps SIM card into my Nokia slide phone to test the internet connection.

the icon "3G" appears. Surfing speed on phone is slower compared to surfing on laptop. Is it because phone can only use 3G while the Huawei USB modem can use HSDPA which is faster? My phone setting does not seem to have the option to select HSDPA.

Also, any additional charges if I use my phone to surf net with the BBom SIM? I know if i send SMS and make calls with it, extra charges apply.

whacker
16-09-2009, 10:40 AM
Yeah! Speedtest....

http://www.speedtest.net/result/566339416.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

czheyuan
16-09-2009, 11:09 AM
Also, any additional charges if I use my phone to surf net with the BBom SIM? I know if i send SMS and make calls with it, extra charges apply.[/B]

Nope no additional charge if surf net using the mobile BB sim on hp...

McGraw
16-09-2009, 09:08 PM
what nonsense !
call them up tell me to delete some huawei modem profile in control panel and shoo me off ! :mad:

Tio pwn3d ! Call them up and it closed for the day :mad:

mun_hoe
16-09-2009, 09:16 PM
what nonsense !
call them up tell me to delete some huawei modem profile in control panel and shoo me off ! :mad:

Tio pwn3d ! Call them up and it closed for the day :mad:

their technical support should be 24hrs...what time u called?

McGraw
16-09-2009, 10:11 PM
their technical support should be 24hrs...what time u called?
the first call was 8.30PM then a second call was made @ 9.08PM

daniel_83
17-09-2009, 07:28 PM
still no complains for gf on the M1 1mbps

she uses it in Jurong and CCK

$11.xx a month is really a good price

ks2005
17-09-2009, 09:29 PM
still no complains for gf on the M1 1mbps

she uses it in Jurong and CCK

$11.xx a month is really a good price

so far happy with M1 1mbps in Jurong West and Raflles City area.

For $11.21 a month it is value for money.

When my ADSL plan is expired, but still got long way to go, will sign up M1 1mbps for $11.21 + Aztech HW550 3G router. A lot cheaper than the 1mps ADSL line in the market now.

Competition is good for consumer.

maumu
17-09-2009, 10:25 PM
yup, it's pretty good... been using it for a week liao... in (moving) mRT will lag a bit but still reasonable... it's 'mobile' anyway, confirmed won't be as good as static broadband.

czheyuan
17-09-2009, 10:47 PM
yeah lo gd enuff for decent surfing and video stream... Furthermore, I'm paying even lower than the $11.21/mth... Only $7/mth after multi-line saver. Lols... :s13: Really cannot complain sia..

TheLunny
18-09-2009, 01:33 AM
u guys dun have problems with pages getting timeout frequently?

KingOfHell
18-09-2009, 11:23 AM
u guys dun have problems with pages getting timeout frequently?

have, and there's no known solution yet.

lancelot77
18-09-2009, 11:37 AM
Is it normal tat sometimes dc after 1 to 2 hrs of usage?

KingOfHell
18-09-2009, 01:27 PM
Is it normal tat sometimes dc after 1 to 2 hrs of usage?
it shouldn't happen. for my case, the internet connection is extremely unstable...

can't dl anything larger than 10MB, have to keep refreshing a lot of websites. sucks

PsyNidE
18-09-2009, 03:41 PM
M1 BB Mobile is not known to be stable and reliable in all areas. My company ever did a test and we finally deciced on Starhub for our mobile users.

However on a personal note, M1's cable broadband is alright and faster as compared to Starhub's

WestGuy
18-09-2009, 04:12 PM
M1 BB Mobile is not known to be stable and reliable in all areas. My company ever did a test and we finally deciced on Starhub for our mobile users.

However on a personal note, M1's cable broadband is alright and faster as compared to Starhub's

Fully agreed. Not stable and reliable are the words to describe it perfectly.

Pages need constant refreshing. Even Facebook where items are not dispayed properly!
Downloads from fileshare websites like rapidshare etc are usually cancelled halfway.

The above 2 problems never happened to me on Starhub.(Was a Starhub MaxMobile user before switching to M1 during Comex 09)

PsyNidE
18-09-2009, 04:15 PM
Fully agreed. Not stable and reliable are the words to describe it perfectly.

Pages need constant refreshing. Even Facebook where items are not dispayed properly!
Downloads from fileshare websites like rapidshare etc are usually cancelled halfway.

The above 2 problems never happened to me on Starhub.(Was a Starhub MaxMobile user before switching to M1 during Comex 09)
For mobile broadband, I've always preferred Starhub over any other ISPs even for personal use.

KingOfHell
18-09-2009, 06:49 PM
For mobile broadband, I've always preferred Starhub over any other ISPs even for personal use.
for singtel bbom it was great in amk but sucked in woodlands. since i travel between these two places, i thought that m1 could be better. it seems to be a huge mistake that i made

daniel_83
18-09-2009, 11:43 PM
i din know that MBB (that uses USB power) depletes power faster compared to Wifi

now i know..

i always thot wifi is more power-consuming

lifeisaplay
18-09-2009, 11:59 PM
M1 seem good

PsyNidE
21-09-2009, 10:57 PM
for singtel bbom it was great in amk but sucked in woodlands. since i travel between these two places, i thought that m1 could be better. it seems to be a huge mistake that i made
I seem to be getting stable signal for these areas that I have been using them at with Starhub Maxmobile : AMK,Woodlands,Marsiling,Bugis, Bedok, Chai Chee, Toh Guan, Jurong East, Teban Gdns, West Coast