PDA

View Full Version : Sony 350 versus Canon 450D versus D60

IronPenguin
08-05-2008, 03:25 PM
Hi DSLRers

I am moving from a pro-sumer (Nikon 8700) to a DSLR and wonder if you shutterbuffs can assist in my eventual choice.

Having read reviews online, and with a budget of $1500, any views on the following:

Sony A350 approx $1399
Canon 450D approx $1499
Nikon D60 approx $1099

The Sony seems to have more bells and whistles but not sure about picture quality. Nikon D60 is cheapest but has positive reviews but has the least features. Canon 450D seems be the best bet, at least on paper.

I suppose I could increase my budget to accomodate Nikon D80 or Canon D50, if anyone thinks there is justification.

Thanks folks. I recognise a should go down to muck around in a shop but there's only so much you can do in front of a salesguy within the confines of a shop.

majestic_guy79
13-05-2008, 05:50 PM
since when canon has D50?
you mean 40D or 5D?
40D with lousy lens is about 1700-1800 (17-55)
imo ... your picture is as good as your lens... you will have to get a better lens
e.g. you zeng your vios to go at 200km per hr... body vibrate...
but if you drive your BMW at 90km per hr ... no point

consider 17-85 or 24-105L lens :D

majestic_guy79
13-05-2008, 05:51 PM
oh one more thing.... if i were you ... i wont consider D80 Nikon... too old model liao ... it will be replace sooner or later one

chesterqw
14-05-2008, 09:19 PM
i will choose canon 450D bah...

kit I comes with an IS lens liao...

chesterqw
17-05-2008, 12:14 PM
or IIRC a nikon D60 kit with a VR lens.. i think includes AF also...

i deciding between 450D and D60...

dun really shoot much... but wants a better camera :)

then some more D60 is much cheaper sia...

but 450D got so many thing more :(

sin77
18-05-2008, 10:48 AM
i have D60.
But i would say go for 450D

simon_84
24-06-2008, 04:59 PM
got money go for canon, since they are more packed with features.
no money then go with nikon.
either way you wont regret 1, cant go wrong with both.

sony is ccd chip on 14mp...should be quite hard to control noise on high ISO but do look out for upcoming reviews in dpreview.com just so you can be sure.

EJB
25-06-2008, 09:43 AM
TS tried reading the FAQ on getting a DSLR?

xyse247
05-08-2008, 09:50 AM
40D with lousy lens is about 1700-1800 (17-55)

what the **** are you talking about? 17-55 is a 1.4k lense leh, since when 40D cost $400?

furyoo
05-08-2008, 10:27 AM
Ha, the fella probably mixed it up with a 18-55mm.

Bapenigo
06-08-2008, 03:16 AM
oh one more thing.... if i were you ... i wont consider D80 Nikon... too old model liao ... it will be replace sooner or later one
you're just superficial. sigh!

Ethanity
13-08-2008, 09:43 AM
just go for EOS450D

Poker
13-08-2008, 10:01 AM
i going for a300 cheap and not bad

Mobilefan2004
13-08-2008, 11:17 AM
I'll wait till payday (end of month) and official announcement from Nikon (27th August)... rumor flying that D90 with new lens kit will be priced close to D80's price.

http://www.nikonguides.com/d90.htm

andies
18-08-2008, 08:50 PM
I bought Sony A350 (body only) + Tamron 18-250mm lens + 8gb CF card + 2nd Hand Minolta 50mm F1.7
Paid a total of $1645. Think this combo beats any whatever Nikon or Canon packages have to offer in terms of price and versatility.

Shortcomings = SLow focusing for the 18-250 lens and noise at high ISO
Shioknesses: The zoom range is addictive.. the 50mm F1.7's big aperture amazes you with well exposed pictures even in the darkest of lightings. Live view IS WONDERFUL.. some shots just arent possible without live view/breaking ur back/neck.

I was deciding between either A350 or Nikon's D80 but in the end i chose the former because:

-Nikon D80 is good but it's really outdated. No dust removal/live view/VR on its kit lens (18-135) and it's only 10.2mp (not that mp is that impt but why pay so much for technology that's going to be phased out in a couple of months?)

EJB
24-08-2008, 03:17 PM
Once again, comparing only the camera bodies alone will prove to be a fatal error as a SLR system is not compared by the bodies alone.

Try reading the stickies.

simon_84
26-08-2008, 02:38 AM
so far most entry-lvl cams have problems with iso 800 especially for those 12mp cams.

andies
05-09-2008, 05:56 PM
$, IQ and versatility all depends a lot on the lens

kaiser76
15-09-2008, 07:57 PM
Is the E1000D much cheaper than the E450D? If so, should it not be considered as an entry level DSLR? Pardon me as I'm a newbie in photography. Currently playing with both these Canon DSLRs which I borrowed from my friends. The E1000D seems very similar to the 450D, except for the smaller screen and view finder.

alvinsiow
26-11-2008, 08:51 AM
Nikon Deals!

http://www.gadget3.com/index.php/200808271295/MyBlog/Nikon-s-great-deals-at-Comex-2008/menu-id-99999999.html

gnohzwd
26-11-2008, 06:00 PM
I have D60 I find it good enough if you're looking for an entry level model and trying DSLR for the first time. I'm satisfied with it...but i don't think for long, cos i'm thinking of getting a new lens :p

You can check out some photo samples here.