View Full Version : How can Singaporean TV shows be as compelling as Korean drama series?
Zeltos
13-05-2008, 08:19 PM
The Top 5 Ways for Local TV Shows to develop the K-Factor
1. More complicated love relationship between the main lead characters. (Think a love affair between two biologically unrelated siblings.) The storyline of Singaporean shows normally revolve around triangle love, extra marital affairs, and the like. However, looking at the typical plot of Korean romance drama, the essence lies in its ability to conjure such complicated love relationships obstructed by their own social identities to create the anxiety and attention among the viewers.
Simple i-will-know-what-is-going-to -happen-without-watching plots are no longer enough to satisfy the ever changing taste and preferences of the dynamic viewers.
2. Make full use of the beautiful tourist attractions in Singapore, or better still develop more places as die-die-must-go tourist attractions with the power of the show. Sentosa, Mount Faber, or Esplanade can be potential filming spots for crucial scenes, or highlights of the show.
3. Match the aesthetically pleasing environment with equally pleasurable eye-candies. Although Singaporeans love to complain about the lack of on-screen hunks and babes as compared to those from Korea. Think carefully. Li Nan Xing, Edmund Chen may be a bore already but do you recall the last time you were drooling over cutie-pie Derrick from Project Superstar? Or the suave and charming Li Wei Lian who has filmed in Taiwanese drama Tian Guo De Jia Yi? They are our very own Singaporeans and we should be proud of them!
4. Complement the heart-wrenching storyline with melodies and songs that will tug at the viewers' heart. Music plays an important part in affecting the emotion of viewers, as such able to 'manipulate' their tears particularly in the tear-jerking scenes.
5. Discover a only-in-Singapore show. Judging at the popularity of Da Chang Jing in Singapore, it is undeniable that part of the reason why SIngaporeans are drawn to the show is the marvellous showcase of various royal delicacies. Singapore being a well-known food paradise, can similarly come out with drama shows displaying an array of our very popular dishes with a rich heritage such as the Chicken Rice, Hokkien Mee, Satay, etc. The producer may be interested to have Zoe Tay or Fann Wong acting as the local version of 'Chang Jing'.
Quote from Yahoo http://sg.answers.yahoo.com/question/index?qid=20060717075739AA3jd7f
Sadly, our TCS still cannot make it... we can see same person in the show ....:sad:
If someone ftom TCS see the above, please tell the production team!!!
Scirocco
13-05-2008, 08:21 PM
chen wei lian act as a blind guy will be a factor in a good show
The_Davis
13-05-2008, 08:22 PM
1. Rape
2. Incest
3. Indecent exposure (Accidental)
4. Xmm
5. Yandao guy
6. Good Plot
Geforce3
13-05-2008, 08:23 PM
prefer americunt tv series with excellent and sometimes querky dialouges and scripts
Zeltos
13-05-2008, 08:27 PM
1. Rape
2. Incest
3. Indecent exposure (Accidental)
4. Xmm
5. Yandao guy
6. Good Plot
Aiyo... we are not toking about XXX drama.!!!
boon_hou
1) do until so complicated will only get complained..
2) i think they do...its always sentosa and vivocity..
3) eye candies? very subjective leh this one... derrick? cutie-pie? my god...
4) maybe this part abit lacking in our dramas...
5) local version of chang jing? will only get complained for copying...
and...this person living in the past ah.. how come still got TCS ...
GetaBlue
i think its not the actors, its the script writer and director, u see spore invited other stars from HK and TW to come act but the show turn out like cr.ap also...then spore stars go TW to act, doing quite ok...so i think its the script writer and director fault...
The_Davis
13-05-2008, 08:29 PM
Aiyo... we are not toking about XXX drama.!!!
you never see recent 9pm drama meh? got at least one of these lor :s16: the recent one even show father and daughter naked in bed :s16: (zhu houren and joanne peh's sister)
metamorphosis got BDSM :s22:, wanrou jiejie got raped dunno how many times :s22:
SpeedingBullet
13-05-2008, 08:29 PM
K-dramas were never good to begin with
Deunamist
13-05-2008, 08:30 PM
project superstar kids as hunks? i beg to differ...
XuanZang
13-05-2008, 08:32 PM
First the actresses must do this:
1) Have plastic surgery.
2) Have boobs enhancement surgery.
JohnnySasaki
13-05-2008, 08:32 PM
Agrees man. Don't see the craze all about it. J-Dramas however, have really really strong plots.
SpeedingBullet
13-05-2008, 08:33 PM
Agrees man. Don't see the craze all about it. J-Dramas however, have really really strong plots.
HK triad shows are also fantastic. TW/K-shows are just cliched sh1t. Most of them borrowed storylines from mangas, BORING.
Zeltos
13-05-2008, 08:36 PM
First the actresses must do this:
1) Have plastic surgery.
2) Have boobs enhancement surgery.
Errr.... you mean Joa# Pe#.... she appear in almost every drama. Is Singapore gals all.... sad manz...
Arsenal85
13-05-2008, 08:36 PM
Boycott Mediacock !!!
radish
13-05-2008, 08:37 PM
sad to say even kdrama are very predictable
even jdrama ones are very formula driven
tw ones are plain dreadful
in our region the best drama comes from hk
mediacorpse drama copy a lot of elements from them
in fact if u are an avid tv person u will realize sg tv have NOTHING original
and dont even bother to repackage what they copy
1. More complicated love relationship between the main lead characters. (Think a love affair between two biologically unrelated siblings.) The storyline of Singaporean shows normally revolve around triangle love, extra marital affairs, and the like. However, looking at the typical plot of Korean romance drama, the essence lies in its ability to conjure such complicated love relationships obstructed by their own social identities to create the anxiety and attention among the viewers.
Simple i-will-know-what-is-going-to -happen-without-watching plots are no longer enough to satisfy the ever changing taste and preferences of the dynamic viewers.
2. Make full use of the beautiful tourist attractions in Singapore, or better still develop more places as die-die-must-go tourist attractions with the power of the show. Sentosa, Mount Faber, or Esplanade can be potential filming spots for crucial scenes, or highlights of the show.
3. Match the aesthetically pleasing environment with equally pleasurable eye-candies. Although Singaporeans love to complain about the lack of on-screen hunks and babes as compared to those from Korea. Think carefully. Li Nan Xing, Edmund Chen may be a bore already but do you recall the last time you were drooling over cutie-pie Derrick from Project Superstar? Or the suave and charming Li Wei Lian who has filmed in Taiwanese drama Tian Guo De Jia Yi? They are our very own Singaporeans and we should be proud of them!
4. Complement the heart-wrenching storyline with melodies and songs that will tug at the viewers' heart. Music plays an important part in affecting the emotion of viewers, as such able to 'manipulate' their tears particularly in the tear-jerking scenes.
5. Discover a only-in-Singapore show. Judging at the popularity of Da Chang Jing in Singapore, it is undeniable that part of the reason why SIngaporeans are drawn to the show is the marvellous showcase of various royal delicacies. Singapore being a well-known food paradise, can similarly come out with drama shows displaying an array of our very popular dishes with a rich heritage such as the Chicken Rice, Hokkien Mee, Satay, etc. The producer may be interested to have Zoe Tay or Fann Wong acting as the local version of 'Chang Jing'.
Quote from Yahoo http://sg.answers.yahoo.com/question/index?qid=20060717075739AA3jd7f
Sadly, our TCS still cannot make it... we can see same person in the show ....:sad:
If someone ftom TCS see the above, please tell the production team!!!
XuanZang
13-05-2008, 08:38 PM
Errr.... you mean Joa# Pe#.... she appear in almost every drama. Is Singapore gals all.... sad manz...
Nope. There're a few natural one. Examples: Zoe Tay, Ann Poh, Margaret Lee
cinderboy
13-05-2008, 08:40 PM
HK and Nippon dramas ftw !!!!
calvin826
13-05-2008, 08:41 PM
actually the love plots quite complicated liao.. cuz most of the time it's A love B who loves C who loves D who loves E and so on ..see liao also confused..
hlw8888
13-05-2008, 08:48 PM
even with all these suggestions, u think local TV shows can make it? most of the time, only a handful can make it. not only storylines, actors/actresses also play a major part in the shows. cannot happy/sad/excited/angry only got 1 facial expression mah.
calvin826
13-05-2008, 08:58 PM
even with all these suggestions, u think local TV shows can make it? most of the time, only a handful can make it. not only storylines, actors/actresses also play a major part in the shows. cannot happy/sad/excited/angry only got 1 facial expression mah.
lol.. u toking abt elvin ng eh ?
hlw8888
13-05-2008, 09:24 PM
lol.. u toking abt elvin ng eh ?
actually not juz him... :o
XiaoMiMi
13-05-2008, 09:52 PM
K-dramas sux and draggy lah, 90% all revolve same tired plot and they guys all buay handsome, look so wimpy, ladies all look so plastic.
XiaoMiMi
13-05-2008, 09:55 PM
locals are comedian hor, u see Julian Hee and Elvin Ng, no matter wat they act all so funny, natural comedians.
FeNgZhEnG
13-05-2008, 09:55 PM
this i agree 100%
typical boring soap dramas..
Archnemo
13-05-2008, 10:15 PM
they should import beauties from Vancouver like TVB. Quality locals are too hard to find, else offer free implants for them
scytheavatar
13-05-2008, 10:50 PM
You have just listed all the reasons why I hate K drama...........
Karmanok
13-05-2008, 10:55 PM
are chius still living in the 90s.. ish mediacork rah.. wad TCS -.-"
boreboor
11-06-2008, 12:21 AM
I prefer J dramas simply because they're short and sweet. Typically abt 11 eps, so story won't get too draggy. Production values are also pretty high.
heguhegu
11-06-2008, 01:09 AM
sg dramas are very budget-driven. they often resort in alternatives which are very unconvincing
Agreed. SG dramas have budgets that are miniscule, and scriptwriters can't make a living here.
and please... stop usign the same bloody characters! Like Gurmit... urgh.
jamescrisis
26-06-2008, 10:23 AM
chen wei lian act as a blind guy will be a factor in a good show
Been there, done that. (Super Hero somemore)
JasonX
02-07-2008, 04:27 PM
I personally prefer jdrama for their variety. TW drama feels immature (just not my type), while kdrama feels draggy. I hardly watch HK drama although I do like the ones I've watched in the past.
SG drama feels very very repetitive to me. Not only do I see almost the same faces every day, but they frequently play similar roles and the storyline isn't really much different. I don't really follow SG drama anymore. There aren't anything fresh that interest me in SG drama.
Personally, I would love it if our script writers will be more bold and write something fresh like:
1) Political shows (can involves SG Government too! but need to get approval or else will get sued)
2) Story about how a professional thief / criminal operates (we don't always want to watch how good guys catch the bad guys, let the roles reverse this time)
3) Write some smart scripts that actually gives us something to think about during the show
There are also many other types of shows that can be done. It doesn't always have to be the same old family oriented show about how this family cope with their lives...etc etc etc
P.S. Pardon me if I'm out of touch with SG drama and may have stated some facts wrong.
itslok
18-07-2008, 05:11 PM
Lacks darker storylines and good endings. It's always a happy one... no one dies... family reunion... marriage... COME ON!
Swordsman
21-07-2008, 05:20 PM
i only prefer hk drama. the most recent i rent is 原来爱上贼。 http://tvcity.tvb.com/drama/catchmenow/index.html
J and kdrama too emo for me. taiwanese drama same old ****.
colosher
14-03-2009, 07:41 PM
if its up to me i will revemp the whole of the past 20 years of local tv script wirting has been doing to the next level. that is creativeness and more freedom.
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.