View Full Version : DNS-313: Single Bay Network Attached Storage
shadowandy
16-05-2008, 04:23 PM
http://img228.imageshack.us/img228/452/dns31304ra7.jpg (http://www.shadowandy.net/2008/05/dns-313-single-bay-nas.htm)
Just checking if any forumers are using this DNS-313? My arrived recently and started toying with it. Pretty much like the DNS-323 except that the filesystem is in NTFS now. It seems like fun_plug is working as well. Nonetheless, it satisfy my needs for additional storage as I as I am unwilling to spurge too much for another DNS-323. Got to test if I can load bittorrent on it then can bring over to my friend house to make use of his connection.
Some resources for your DNS-313
DNS-313's telnet username, password and unlock code (http://www.shadowandy.net/2008/05/dns-313s-telnet-username-password-unlock-code.htm)
Running fonz's fun_plug (0.5) on DNS-313 (http://www.shadowandy.net/2008/05/running-fonzs-fun_plug-05-on-dns-313.htm)
Transmission (bittorrent client) for DNS-313 (http://www.shadowandy.net/2008/05/transmission-for-dns-313-dns-323.htm)
Setting up Clutch (webui for transmission) (http://www.shadowandy.net/2008/05/setting-up-clutch-for-transmission-2.htm)
Password protecting your Clutch (http://www.shadowandy.net/2008/05/password-protected-clutch.htm)
shadowandy's DNS-313 stuffs (http://www.shadowandy.net/tag/dns-313)
DAREN771
16-05-2008, 06:50 PM
how much u buy it? from where?
shadowandy
16-05-2008, 07:25 PM
Approx $170 from Amazon!
richneo
16-05-2008, 10:29 PM
do more review leh
Approx $170 from Amazon!
Another $50 more and can get 323.
Any added features above 323?
shadowandy
17-05-2008, 11:33 AM
Another $50 more and can get 323.
Any added features above 323?
Well, it can act as a external USB enclosure. I guess that is the added feature. Good when you need faster transfer speed than LAN.
The filesystem is in NTFS this time round though. fun_plug works on it too so I guess it is a lower cost NAS provided we can get it cheaper than 170. Good thing is that the enclosure is still metal.
richneo
17-05-2008, 11:55 AM
can help me to order? Let me know about the rough price thou if you can bring it in for me. I read that you can do torrent on it too. Able to confirm? Thanks.
liangtam
17-05-2008, 04:45 PM
Wa, waiting for quite awhile riao. Anyone doing MO notch?? :D
Actually, if that's the case, does that mean that the 323 technically can support NTFS?
richneo
17-05-2008, 07:44 PM
Actually, if that's the case, does that mean that the 323 technically can support NTFS?
you are out of luck
NTFS is a good plus point. Assuming it does not impact performance. if anything goes wrong, you can just read it off as a USB drive, instead of hunting for a EXT2 reader.
Depends on the purpose. I am thinking of getting a 2nd DNS-323, this DNS-313 is making me rethink.
DNS-323 + 2X500GB HDD about same price as DNS-313 + 1TB HDD.
richneo
17-05-2008, 09:57 PM
hehehe1Tb hdd below $300 liaoz :D
liangtam
17-05-2008, 10:20 PM
You don't nid to hunt for a EXT2 reader, use a linux liveCD will do
Same lah, still more leh che than native NTFS.
DNS-313 will probably launched in next month's PC show. If price point is below $170, it'll be tempting. But 323 still save more space/power socket/NW points overall.
Thinking of getting 1TB to use 1 slot and another later in the year when prices of 1TB falls.
shadowandy
17-05-2008, 11:51 PM
Seems like fun_plug run flawlessly on the DNS-313! Have documented it down here (http://www.shadowandy.net/2008/05/running-fonzs-fun_plug-05-on-dns-313.htm)
shadowandy
17-05-2008, 11:55 PM
Same lah, still more leh che than native NTFS.
DNS-313 will probably launched in next month's PC show. If price point is below $170, it'll be tempting. But 323 still save more space/power socket/NW points overall.
Thinking of getting 1TB to use 1 slot and another later in the year when prices of 1TB falls.
Oh ya! PC Show is coming again. Should have held my purchase. I think would be below $170. If more than $170, I rather get a DNS-323 but lugging around will be a problem. Haha.
Anyway mine took quite some time to arrive. Perhaps I will do a bit more review on it then you all can judge if it fits your needs.
What other stuff you interested in finding out regarding the DNS-313?
hehehe1Tb hdd below $300 liaoz :D
:s12: which brand of 1Tb hdd below $300.:s12: got info share leh.I've been waiting for this to happen :s12:
richneo
18-05-2008, 12:27 AM
:s12: which brand of 1Tb hdd below $300.:s12: got info share leh.I've been waiting for this to happen :s12:
samsung F1, seagate and western digital :D
according to pc theme price list
hoot ah...thanks bro for the info :)
richneo
18-05-2008, 10:01 AM
hoot ah...thanks bro for the info :)
heheh price for the 1Tb i believe will be dropped lower..
im holding my hoot till the price of 1Tb is very veyr sweet :D
What other stuff you interested in finding out regarding the DNS-313?
I think the main issue is the performance under NAS and USB.
Noise of the fan, whether front panel is filmsy.
Also can have picture of the AC adapter? If it is meant to be more portable, doesn't make sense to lug a huge power brick.
I hate it when I buy something, the picture looks nice and slick, but the power brick is a monster. (Anyone with a Xbox360 will know)
pa9797
18-05-2008, 08:25 PM
TS care to comment on the noise of the fan? is it audible in the bed room. Also will it automatic shut down if there is no activity?
shadowandy
18-05-2008, 08:44 PM
I think the main issue is the performance under NAS and USB.
Noise of the fan, whether front panel is filmsy.
Also can have picture of the AC adapter? If it is meant to be more portable, doesn't make sense to lug a huge power brick.
I hate it when I buy something, the picture looks nice and slick, but the power brick is a monster. (Anyone with a Xbox360 will know)
http://img297.imageshack.us/img297/8341/dns31306ly4.jpg (http://www.shadowandy.net/2008/05/dns-313-single-bay-nas.htm)
The power brick isn't really slim. Another thing to note is that my DNS-313 is from overseas, hence the 2 round pins for the connector.
shadowandy
18-05-2008, 08:47 PM
TS care to comment on the noise of the fan? is it audible in the bed room. Also will it automatic shut down if there is no activity?
I don't really hear the noise of the fan. I placed it in the living room though so it is barely audible. I guess if you place it in the bed room, then it will be audible at night unless you got a noisy air-con.
It seems that there is only option to spin down (turn off) the hard disk when there are no activities.
richneo
18-05-2008, 09:42 PM
http://img297.imageshack.us/img297/8341/dns31306ly4.jpg (http://www.shadowandy.net/2008/05/dns-313-single-bay-nas.htm)
The power brick isn't really slim. Another thing to note is that my DNS-313 is from overseas, hence the 2 round pins for the connector.
hehe that head loks like its the same as the one used for my dir-655
dns-313 also using 12v rite? kekeke maybe i will try to use dir-655's power adaptor on dns-313 :s34:
richneo
18-05-2008, 09:43 PM
I don't really hear the noise of the fan. I placed it in the living room though so it is barely audible. I guess if you place it in the bed room, then it will be audible at night unless you got a noisy air-con.
It seems that there is only option to spin down (turn off) the hard disk when there are no activities.
from other forum i read that this is a thermal controlled fan
which runs at certain level at 47deg and dunno wat level at 52deg i think
from other forum i read that this is a thermal controlled fan
which runs at certain level at 47deg and dunno wat level at 52deg i think
DNS-323 also same mah. If warm, spin faster.
The power brick is big... :(
dns-313 also using 12v rite? kekeke maybe i will try to use dir-655's power adaptor on dns-313 :s34:
Good question, what is the Voltage and Ampere required? If can get alternative powerbrick, it is not a bad move.
Still incline to get a new DNS-323, but now that I have done house cleaning on my old DNS-323, I think can tahan another 6-9 months.
shadowandy
19-05-2008, 02:08 PM
Like mentioned earlier. I would like to set up bittorrent on the DNS-313 so I can bring over to my friend's house to make use of his fast Internet connection.
http://img337.imageshack.us/img337/6886/clutchbt02fw7.jpg (http://www.shadowandy.net/2008/05/clutch-for-transmission-screenshots.htm)
Setting up transmission is rather straight forward on fonz's fun_plug 0.5.
Setting up Transmission (http://www.shadowandy.net/2008/05/transmission-for-dns-313-dns-323.htm)
Setting up Clutch for Transmission (http://www.shadowandy.net/2008/05/setting-up-clutch-for-transmission-2.htm)
heheh price for the 1Tb i believe will be dropped lower..
im holding my hoot till the price of 1Tb is very veyr sweet :D
what's the sweet point :D
richneo
19-05-2008, 02:57 PM
what's the sweet point :D
price of 500gb times 2 :D
ok lah follow you :s12: wait to reach at least $250 then n hoot ah....:D
Quest
20-05-2008, 11:00 PM
Like mentioned earlier. I would like to set up bittorrent on the DNS-313 so I can bring over to my friend's house to make use of his fast Internet connection.
http://img337.imageshack.us/img337/6886/clutchbt02fw7.jpg (http://www.shadowandy.net/2008/05/clutch-for-transmission-screenshots.htm)
Setting up transmission is rather straight forward on fonz's fun_plug 0.5.
Setting up Transmission (http://www.shadowandy.net/2008/05/transmission-for-dns-313-dns-323.htm)
Setting up Clutch for Transmission (http://www.shadowandy.net/2008/05/setting-up-clutch-for-transmission-2.htm)
i followed yr guide to setup transmission on my DNS-323 but i wan to ask if transmission can que bt download?? like current active download is 2 slot...rest of will que till active download is finish??? :s12::s12::s12:
shadowandy
22-05-2008, 08:42 PM
i followed yr guide to setup transmission on my DNS-323 but i wan to ask if transmission can que bt download?? like current active download is 2 slot...rest of will que till active download is finish??? :s12::s12::s12:
transmission dun have the option of queuing downloads. :/
shadowandy
22-05-2008, 08:45 PM
http://img120.imageshack.us/img120/2561/dns313portableadaptor01qt3.jpg (http://www.shadowandy.net/2008/05/smaller-power-adaptor-for-dns-313.htm)
richneo is right! The slimmer power adaptor that comes with my router can be used on the DNS-313! I guess it just makes it more portable. Can change to a smaller bag when lugging it over to fren's house. lol
For those who use Clutch, you may be interested in Password protecting your Clutch (http://www.shadowandy.net/2008/05/password-protected-clutch.htm)
richneo
06-06-2008, 09:48 PM
DNS-313 coming to pc show leh
PC show preview coverage by HWZ got write.
say usual price is $159 dunno show price will sell how much
http://www.hardwarezone.com/articles/view.php?id=2570&cid=18&pg=4
Desmond_
06-06-2008, 10:55 PM
mM... below $100? :o
richneo
07-06-2008, 08:24 AM
i estimate the price should be half of dns-323 :s34:
halocast
07-06-2008, 11:46 AM
i estimate the price should be half of dns-323 :s34:
120? :s11:=:p
richneo
07-06-2008, 01:45 PM
120? :s11:=:p
dns-323 is $259 almost everywhere wor :D
shadowandy
07-06-2008, 09:05 PM
let me guess.. $130?
richneo
07-06-2008, 10:56 PM
i guess... $140 ?
miokawaii
08-06-2008, 06:58 PM
$159 buy 1 free 1 =:p
Desmond_
09-06-2008, 11:01 PM
$159 buy 1 free 1 =:p
:s22::s22:
albertlee
11-06-2008, 04:12 PM
$88 for the first 30 customers on day 1, $129 for the rest of PC Show.
Source: http://global.dlink.com.sg/site_pdtpdfs/events/pcshow_08.pdf
richneo
11-06-2008, 07:55 PM
wah... anyone going to queue for me? liangtam?
halocast
11-06-2008, 08:21 PM
88??
btw this one can support NTFS right.. but DNS 323 cannot right?
richneo
11-06-2008, 08:22 PM
http://www.dlink.com.sg/MassEmail/SG_HTML/PC_Show08/PCShow08.jpg
http://www.dlink.com.sg/MassEmail/SG_HTML/PC_Show08/PCShow08.htm
richneo
11-06-2008, 08:22 PM
88??
btw this one can support NTFS right.. but DNS 323 cannot right?
from the dataspec at their website seems so leh
belgarathc
12-06-2008, 08:41 PM
I just bought this from the PC show. Surprisingly, when my friend and I reached the booth at 1220+, we still managed to be among the first 30 to enjoy the $88 offer. DNS 313 not very popular har?
lvlaTr1X
12-06-2008, 09:22 PM
Hi guys, i dunno if this should be here or The network clinic but anyway, i'll post it at both area.
Today i just hooted DNS-313 from D-link and bought a 500GB hitachi HDD to pair with it. I tried setting up the FTP but met with a problem of not being able to accessed by my friend. I have no idea why.. I tried forwarding the port 21 and tweaking my router (speedtouch 585) but i guess i'm too noob to find out the problem. Anyone can guide me along?
richneo
12-06-2008, 10:12 PM
I just bought this from the PC show. Surprisingly, when my friend and I reached the booth at 1220+, we still managed to be among the first 30 to enjoy the $88 offer. DNS 313 not very popular har?
i think maybe because harvey norman at level 4 is conducting the same star buy for first 30 also
belgarathc
14-06-2008, 09:57 AM
I also bought a 500gb hitachi hdd to go with it. Tried watching videos from the network drive over a wifi network on my EEE PC, but the video lags quite badly. Is it because of my 'B' network or because the video's quality is too high (actually just a normal 600mb divx for a 2 hrs video)? Copying files over LAN is fine, but over WLAN is slightly slow.
Besides BTing and internet file access, what do you guys use this network drive for?
arsenal7
14-06-2008, 05:02 PM
By the time I got there at 1pm, no more $88...so too bad bought at normal price. Just wanna ask people...did anyone notice that the lights on the 313 is not as bright as the 323?
wherehouse
14-06-2008, 05:20 PM
I also bought a 500gb hitachi hdd to go with it. Tried watching videos from the network drive over a wifi network on my EEE PC, but the video lags quite badly. Is it because of my 'B' network or because the video's quality is too high (actually just a normal 600mb divx for a 2 hrs video)? Copying files over LAN is fine, but over WLAN is slightly slow.
Besides BTing and internet file access, what do you guys use this network drive for?
could be your eeepc cpu cant handle? tried with a desktop wifi or a normal laptop?
halocast
14-06-2008, 05:37 PM
B? that is 11mbps transfer but real world = about 1mbps+? not sure
u use that to stream? i think will lag le..:s22:
arsenal7
14-06-2008, 06:35 PM
U transfer file over wireless B is like using USB 1.1 but much much worse. Depending on how good or bad your wireless router signal is, it might be as bad as 1 or 2 mb only. Just transferring 300 mb will take you 30 mins. Your 600 mb will take 1 hr and that is provided the transfer rate is constant. Suggest that you do direct lan or USB connection. Either that or worst go with wireless G.
Your video streaming is dependent on how stable a stream your router can give. If it is very inconsistent, then confirm lag like crazy. One minute u have data the next minute nothing coming through. U dun feel it when u are surfing because data dun come in for a few second wont die. But streaming dun have means no picture. What router you using? It may not be your EEE PC. U try direct LAN connection...if still got problem then u know it is the EEE PC but if perfect than u know your wireless CMI or your NAS got problem...BTW...while u streaming dun do anything else with the NAS. I dun think u can watch video and copy files at the same time...This one is low end NAS...Just did some streaming via LAN...no issue...
richneo
14-06-2008, 10:49 PM
By the time I got there at 1pm, no more $88...so too bad bought at normal price. Just wanna ask people...did anyone notice that the lights on the 313 is not as bright as the 323?
they using different kind of led mah
belgarathc
15-06-2008, 12:16 AM
The EEE PC has no problem playing the video. Streaming over LAN is fine. From what you guys have said, I guess it's my slow 'B' WLAN then. My Wifi router is a five year old Compex Netpassage 16a. Used to be pretty popular here, I remember it cost me $299 with an additional WLAN PC card and WLAN USB receiver. I also remember the very helpful and knowledgeable WirelessDan. I wonder if he's still around.
arsenal7
15-06-2008, 12:33 AM
they using different kind of led mah
Is it? Looks the same to me leh. The brightness is like when the 323 is on standby and the led around the ON button dims down. But no issue lah. Just wanna make sure mine is not defective. If got defect, boring must send to service centre....
BTW...I read one comment from someone who was unhappy about the 313 saying that the power management is CMI and the HDD does not power down unlike the 323. I try to simulate and seems like it never power down. For the 323 u can hear the HDD coming on after it power downs but 313 I dun hear it. I go in and set power management to 10 mins idle but not sure if it helped. Can anyone comment about this? Thanks...
arsenal7
15-06-2008, 12:44 AM
The EEE PC has no problem playing the video. Streaming over LAN is fine. From what you guys have said, I guess it's my slow 'B' WLAN then. My Wifi router is a five year old Compex Netpassage 16a. Used to be pretty popular here, I remember it cost me $299 with an additional WLAN PC card and WLAN USB receiver. I also remember the very helpful and knowledgeable WirelessDan. I wonder if he's still around.
Yeah...I think if u want to do streaming from the NAS u need to ditch that router. Suggest u go PC show now and buy buffalo...Now they lelong their rounters and their wireless are the best for that price...Check out the forum feedback if u want to know more...
belgarathc
15-06-2008, 01:07 AM
Actually, I don't really have a need to do streaming. Just trying it out for fun. But thanks for the tip.
Just a quick question, does the set comes with any warranty card? I can't seem to find it.
singtel83
15-06-2008, 09:09 AM
Well anyway, at which booth can we get great bargains on internal hdd? Seems that most booth offering external... As some says, this is a "External Hdd PC Show 2008". Haha..
richneo
15-06-2008, 10:03 AM
Actually, I don't really have a need to do streaming. Just trying it out for fun. But thanks for the tip.
Just a quick question, does the set comes with any warranty card? I can't seem to find it.
register ur warranty online and keep ur receipt
so any one installed Transmission successfully followed the guide but not able to install..
just found out that in order for the telnet to work will need to enter unlock code "5784468" (without quotes)
but getting /: Permission denied when running the command :s22:
shadowandy
15-06-2008, 09:42 PM
just found out that in order for the telnet to work will need to enter unlock code "5784468" (without quotes)
but getting /: Permission denied when running the command :s22:
Set up fonz's fun_plug on the DNS-313 (http://www.shadowandy.net/2008/05/running-fonzs-fun_plug-05-on-dns-313.htm) first.
amoro123
15-06-2008, 11:43 PM
I juz brought this too.
Connected to 3 pc liao.
But how to do a FTP so tat i can access outside home huh?
Router already set a virtual server via FTP.
Wats my FTP webbie domain?
I tried ftp://<< IP given and found from router>>
Either its too busy/cannot connect
I set the DNS to static ip
Me using Dlink DGL 4300.
wats e fonz fun plug does huh?
see alot of this when i google it.
Set up fonz's fun_plug on the DNS-313 (http://www.shadowandy.net/2008/05/running-fonzs-fun_plug-05-on-dns-313.htm) first.
thank for the advise, managed to solve the issue.
did install fun_plug or at least i though i did..
edited the file in word that cause it to be in the wrong format, solved the issue by editing the fun_plug file with notepad++ in unix file format
amoro123
16-06-2008, 10:11 PM
hi. I brought the DNS 313 single bay NAS.
I tried to install fun_plug and fun_plug.tgz,
copy n paste in the harddisk, open fun_plug wif notepad ++
Replace
FFP_PATH=/mnt/HD_a2/ffp
with
FFP_PATH=/mnt/HD_a4/ffp
after tat everything seems went well. tat winrar file gone and a ffp test file appears. ( corrent install liao right?)
Now is the part me catch no ball. Telnet.
I go download putty. double click it n paste my ip address to it.
the command window opens...
and it din prompt me for password or userid.. is it normal?
sorry, noob on this.. searching infor for 2 days liao..
ixidus
17-06-2008, 02:14 AM
I have a question which sounds really trivial.
However i did a search online and couldn't find answers. After plugging in my 500gb hard disk, i am wondering whether i can partition it and share it as different partitions? (Default is one partition by D-Link)
Hope you guys can assist me.
i just use the Command Prompt to telnet to the DNS 313 and follow the guides posted before
just use the following command
# cd /mnt/HD_a2
instead of
/ # cd mnt/HD_a2
will save u all alot headache
command for using the vi editor
vi /ffp/start/transmission.sh
guide about how to use the vi editor
http://unixhelp.ed.ac.uk/vi/index.html
hope this will make it easier:)
hi. I brought the DNS 313 single bay NAS.
I tried to install fun_plug and fun_plug.tgz,
copy n paste in the harddisk, open fun_plug wif notepad ++
Replace
FFP_PATH=/mnt/HD_a2/ffp
with
FFP_PATH=/mnt/HD_a4/ffp
after tat everything seems went well. tat winrar file gone and a ffp test file appears. ( corrent install liao right?)
Now is the part me catch no ball. Telnet.
I go download putty. double click it n paste my ip address to it.
the command window opens...
and it din prompt me for password or userid.. is it normal?
sorry, noob on this.. searching infor for 2 days liao..
amoro123
17-06-2008, 11:33 PM
i just use the Command Prompt to telnet to the DNS 313 and follow the guides posted before
just use the following command
# cd /mnt/HD_a2
instead of
/ # cd mnt/HD_a2
will save u all alot headache
command for using the vi editor
vi /ffp/start/transmission.sh
guide about how to use the vi editor
http://unixhelp.ed.ac.uk/vi/index.html
hope this will make it easier:)
Wow.
thanks for ur help.
Finally got the thing working.
Thanks.
Any guide abt FTP thingy?
cant get it working leh..
richneo
17-06-2008, 11:58 PM
ftp need to have guide?
i tot is just go into the web admin of dns-323/313 and enable ftp only?
amoro123
18-06-2008, 12:29 AM
ftp need to have guide?
i tot is just go into the web admin of dns-323/313 and enable ftp only?
mine juz hang there. cant access using url.
nvm, me still trying..
at least the clutch working liao.. :D
chingkt
20-06-2008, 12:08 PM
Have bought 1 nas-313 and 2 500GB harddisk. After many days of backup, I finally finish. Need to know if I use ghost or acronis to clone the harddisk to another empty harddisk, will it be readable when I put the other harddisk into the nas box? :):):)
arsenal7
20-06-2008, 03:03 PM
Have bought 1 nas-313 and 2 500GB harddisk. After many days of backup, I finally finish. Need to know if I use ghost or acronis to clone the harddisk to another empty harddisk, will it be readable when I put the other harddisk into the nas box? :):):)
er...can you clone the linx part of the HDD that is installed the first time round when you format the HDD? I dunno how ghost or acronis work but not sure if it can copy that part. I think clone then maybe the 323 is better...
Megadark
20-06-2008, 08:40 PM
Do any of you guys have these problems? Doing a scan will yield "NTFS inconsistent" error that refuses to go away, and the power management doesn't work? How do I rectify these issues?
tsy111
21-06-2008, 11:39 PM
Do any of you guys have these problems? Doing a scan will yield "NTFS inconsistent" error that refuses to go away, and the power management doesn't work? How do I rectify these issues?
Hi for the owners of both the DNS 313 and 323. Which has a bigger footprint ( power brick included). I understand that the 323 has its power brick inside the machine so it may paradoxically be smaller and quieter?
quekky
22-06-2008, 12:14 AM
323 power is outside. so i guess 323 is bigger
shadowandy
22-06-2008, 12:21 AM
Hi for the owners of both the DNS 313 and 323. Which has a bigger footprint ( power brick included). I understand that the 323 has its power brick inside the machine so it may paradoxically be smaller and quieter?
I am using this (http://www.shadowandy.net/2008/05/smaller-power-adaptor-for-dns-313.htm)
tsy111
22-06-2008, 12:27 AM
I am using this (http://www.shadowandy.net/2008/05/smaller-power-adaptor-for-dns-313.htm)
Nice!. Is that a generic adaptor you can get from SLS? Does it get too hot. If not looks like I will try get a 313 + this adaptor. Thx.
albertlee
22-06-2008, 08:14 AM
@shadowandy, how's the performance of this NAS in terms of data transfer and running BT apps when compared to 323? Was wondering how expandable this NAS is given the small memory footprint?
shadowandy
22-06-2008, 01:03 PM
@shadowandy, how's the performance of this NAS in terms of data transfer and running BT apps when compared to 323? Was wondering how expandable this NAS is given the small memory footprint?
Hi albertlee,
The data transfer speed is pretty ok but of cos its performance isn't as good as the DNS-323 due to its memory. One important point is that its main partition is on NTFS and that has some impact on the read and write speed. IMHO, spending on a DNS-323 would be more worth it unless you are looking at portability.
tsy111,
It's one of my old d-link router power adaptor.
ixidus
24-06-2008, 03:00 PM
Try connecting via USB and using scandisk to solve it. It worked for me.
I am however having the solid green LED bug. Did a search online and it seem that alot of ppl have it too.
Hope a new firmware is released soon.
Megadark
24-06-2008, 04:50 PM
Try connecting via USB and using scandisk to solve it. It worked for me.
I am however having the solid green LED bug. Did a search online and it seem that alot of ppl have it too.
Hope a new firmware is released soon.
Are you referring to chkdsk? I've did a proper reformat via usb, reformated and resetup again in lan mode and scanned using chkdsk via usb again. chkdsk did not detect anything but the lan interface keep reflecting "NTFS inconsistent". If you are not referring to chkdsk, where can I get scandisk?
Did you have any luck with the auto shutdown?
What's the solid green LED bug?
Gracias.
kababoom
25-06-2008, 05:56 PM
Hi albertlee,
The data transfer speed is pretty ok but of cos its performance isn't as good as the DNS-323 due to its memory. One important point is that its main partition is on NTFS and that has some impact on the read and write speed. IMHO, spending on a DNS-323 would be more worth it unless you are looking at portability.
tsy111,
It's one of my old d-link router power adaptor.
Can the main partition be formatted to ext3 instead of NTFS this should resolve the slow access issue and sharing should not be an issue as samba can resolve this portion :)
centimeter
25-06-2008, 07:51 PM
My DNS313 fan stops after 2 min when it startup. i went to dlink service centre and they told me it my harddisk problem...seagate 320gb 7200.10.. i tried installing another harddisk seagate 250gb 7200.10 but also having the same problem. anyone having the same problem?
richneo
25-06-2008, 08:07 PM
i remembered reading in the 323/313 forum in foreign sites that the fan is activated at 45 or 47 degree and will spin at full speed upon reaching 49 degree or something like that
i tried digging for that thread but cant find it liaoz
centimeter
25-06-2008, 08:25 PM
oh... it is normal for the fan to stop after start up and only start moving again when it reaches 45 degree? how come the dlink service centre didn't tell me....and tell me that it is my harddisk problem...
richneo
25-06-2008, 08:29 PM
im not too sure in the temperate
u wanna monitor ur temperature and tell us? kekeke
centimeter
25-06-2008, 08:33 PM
47degree now and fan still not moving....but just now the fan starts moving again when it reaches 49degree and when it cool down to 44 degree, the fan stops again.
ixidus
26-06-2008, 12:49 AM
Are you referring to chkdsk? I've did a proper reformat via usb, reformated and resetup again in lan mode and scanned using chkdsk via usb again. chkdsk did not detect anything but the lan interface keep reflecting "NTFS inconsistent". If you are not referring to chkdsk, where can I get scandisk?
Did you have any luck with the auto shutdown?
What's the solid green LED bug?
Gracias.
Hey yes i think its the chkdsk i am refering to. I did the same method as you and the next time i used the lan interface i did not have the "NTFS inconsistent" error. It could be a bug.
The solid green LED bug is when the LED turns solid green(which is supposed to happen when the harddisk is low on space) when my harddisk is only half full.
I have searched online and yet to find an answer. I don't think calling dlink up will help either.
shadowandy
26-06-2008, 08:11 AM
Can the main partition be formatted to ext3 instead of NTFS this should resolve the slow access issue and sharing should not be an issue as samba can resolve this portion :)
Interesting question. I was posted with this question and my reply (http://www.shadowandy.net/2008/06/dns-313-specifications.htm).
"Well, we do know that sda2 (/mnt/HD_a2) and sda4 (/mnt/HD_a4) are in use and they are ntfs and ext2 respectively.
What we can possibly do is resize both partitions - sda2 to the smallest and expand sda4. Use fun_plug to unmount sda2 and mount sda4 as /mnt/HD_a2. This way your Volume_1 would be the ext2 partition instead. Let me try to get a harddisk to try it out."
Let me try to get an harddisk to try it out. :)
oyebto
27-06-2008, 09:59 AM
anione noes how much is this selling for now? thanks!
Saw it for $129/- at Challenger Vivocity
Desmond_
28-06-2008, 02:26 PM
mMM.... how do i install? i use their CD on my winxp & vista PC both alway stop at the preparing for installing part.... any idea? thank alot....
richneo
29-06-2008, 06:15 PM
mMM.... how do i install? i use their CD on my winxp & vista PC both alway stop at the preparing for installing part.... any idea? thank alot....
u recycling a harddisk?
connect dns-313 to ur computer via usb prot and delete all partitions in it and run the cd again
Desmond_
12-07-2008, 11:09 AM
u recycling a harddisk?
connect dns-313 to ur computer via usb prot and delete all partitions in it and run the cd again
i just try that.... the software still auto close on my vista... & for my window xp is will stop at the preparing for installation. could it be the HDD brand i use? i using samsung HDD :o Thank
richneo
12-07-2008, 12:26 PM
i just try that.... the software still auto close on my vista... & for my window xp is will stop at the preparing for installation. could it be the HDD brand i use? i using samsung HDD :o Thank
i read from the other forums that samsung spinpoint 750gb and 1tb cannot work
halocast
12-07-2008, 02:30 PM
wha.. desmond gor gor got vista :o
Desmond_
12-07-2008, 11:49 PM
i read from the other forums that samsung spinpoint 750gb and 1tb cannot work
mine is the 250GB.... very weird... can't find much information also.... guess maybe next week go hoot few HDD... anyway.... thank alot for your help...
nukieboy
03-12-2008, 01:32 AM
Hi guys,
I followed Shadowandy's method to install the funpkg into my DNS-313 but I after reboot and FTP into the NAS using the root user, I can't run the funpkg command. I issued command to install the CURL and TRANSMISSION package for BT use but this is the reply from the NAS.
Results:
# funpkg -i /mnt/HD_a2/curl-7181.tgz
funpkg: No such file or directory
What have i missed? I saw the FFP folder in my root folder but just can't get this funpkg working.
Here's my DNS-313 spec:
Processor : FA526id(wb) rev 1 (v4l)
BogoMIPS : 230.19
Features : swp half
CPU implementer : 0x66
CPU architecture: 4
CPU variant : 0x0
CPU part : 0x526
CPU revision : 1
Cache type : write-back
Cache clean : cp15 c7 ops
Cache lockdown : format B
Cache format : Harvard
I size : 16384
I assoc : 2
I line length : 16
I sets : 512
D size : 8192
D assoc : 2
D line length : 16
D sets : 256
Hardware : GeminiA
Revision : 0000
Serial : 0000000000000000
Any advice how to check the problem or what could I missed?
Thanks
shadowandy
03-12-2008, 12:00 PM
Hi guys,
I followed Shadowandy's method to install the funpkg into my DNS-313 but I after reboot and FTP into the NAS using the root user, I can't run the funpkg command. I issued command to install the CURL and TRANSMISSION package for BT use but this is the reply from the NAS.
Results:
# funpkg -i /mnt/HD_a2/curl-7181.tgz
funpkg: No such file or directory
What have i missed? I saw the FFP folder in my root folder but just can't get this funpkg working.
Here's my DNS-313 spec:
Processor : FA526id(wb) rev 1 (v4l)
BogoMIPS : 230.19
Features : swp half
CPU implementer : 0x66
CPU architecture: 4
CPU variant : 0x0
CPU part : 0x526
CPU revision : 1
Cache type : write-back
Cache clean : cp15 c7 ops
Cache lockdown : format B
Cache format : Harvard
I size : 16384
I assoc : 2
I line length : 16
I sets : 512
D size : 8192
D assoc : 2
D line length : 16
D sets : 256
Hardware : GeminiA
Revision : 0000
Serial : 0000000000000000
Any advice how to check the problem or what could I missed?
Thanks
cd to /mnt/HD_a2
then funpkg -i curl-7181.tgz
at least that is what is being written in the installation guide (http://www.shadowandy.net/2008/05/transmission-for-dns-313-dns-323.htm)
nukieboy
03-12-2008, 04:50 PM
cd to /mnt/HD_a2
at least that is what is being written in the installation guide (http://www.shadowandy.net/2008/05/transmission-for-dns-313-dns-323.htm)
Did the same thing but out of luck. Maybe the funpkg did not get installed properly... how to check? How to uninstall the funpkg and re-install again?
DNS-313 is now $99. Not a bad buy for those who wants a simply file server, thin client.
But it seem that US no longer sell them.
richneo
22-12-2008, 12:27 PM
DNS-313 is now $99. Not a bad buy for those who wants a simply file server, thin client.
if im not mistaken, usa does not sell it in the first place.
never spotted it in their dlinkshop.com at all
Godzila
22-12-2008, 08:44 PM
where is selling at $99??
thanks
Challenger Funan if you member. + $2 Carpark discount.
If not member, PK Computer also have.
if im not mistaken, usa does not sell it in the first place.
never spotted it in their dlinkshop.com at all
Shadowandy bought it from Amazon.com. It was about 100USD then.
That was only about 6 months ago.
richneo
23-12-2008, 10:56 AM
where is selling at $99??
thanks
http://www.hardwarezone.com.sg/img/data/priceguide/pgnews/2008/2846/Image/HWZ---298-DNS-313-(Offer---.jpg
richneo
23-12-2008, 10:56 AM
Shadowandy bought it from Amazon.com. It was about 100USD then.
That was only about 6 months ago.
hmmm perhaps amazon import from elsewhere :s34:
RoootZ
28-12-2008, 02:09 PM
hmm... i follow all the instruction .. but still couldn't be able to telnet into my DNS 313.. so issit my router blk it or smth else???? any1 help???:look::look::look::look::look:
wmsoon
29-12-2008, 10:13 PM
cd to /mnt/HD_a2
Hi shadowandy,
If the file system is NTFS does that mean the DNS-313 is running on a windows OS & not a Linux OS?
I thought Linux based systems can only run on EXT file system?
I am actually looking at getting a Zyxel NSA-220 instead of the DNS-323.
Does anyone have any experiences to share on this?
I understand that the Zyxel is on EXT3 wheras the DNS-323 is on EXT2.
All feedback welcome!
wonmoi
shadowandy
29-12-2008, 11:34 PM
Hi shadowandy,
If the file system is NTFS does that mean the DNS-313 is running on a windows OS & not a Linux OS?
I thought Linux based systems can only run on EXT file system?
I am actually looking at getting a Zyxel NSA-220 instead of the DNS-323.
Does anyone have any experiences to share on this?
I understand that the Zyxel is on EXT3 wheras the DNS-323 is on EXT2.
All feedback welcome!
wonmoi
DNS-313 is running a Linux OS. Linux OS can also write to NT File System. :)
The partition it boots on is on EXTFS while the data partition is in NTFS. Hope it helps.
wmsoon
30-12-2008, 07:09 AM
DNS-313 is running a Linux OS. Linux OS can also write to NT File System. :)
The partition it boots on is on EXTFS while the data partition is in NTFS. Hope it helps.
Thanks Shadowandy! Your response helped alot.
Given that the DNS-313 read/write speed is quite slow, it would probably be more suitable as a backup NAS instead of a primary NAS.
I was thinking of using it to backup my primary NAS which I am still sourcing preferable a dual bay with RAID 1 option.
Appreciate if you can provided some feedback on this proposed setup & which primary/front NAS is recommended(probably a combination of features & good read/write speed).
Thanks in advance.
wonmoi
A question for those using Transmission. How many concurrent download do you run? I tried running 3 and it seem to hang after a while.
Stopping Transmission by /ffp/start/Transmission.sh stop won't work.
kill -9 those transmission-daemon processes also cannot kill. ps -ef and it is still there.
In fact, when I tried to ls /mnt/HD_a2/ it even hang!
In the end must turn off and on again. Like to know whether this is normal?
SimplyEd
01-01-2009, 05:17 PM
Hi all,
This thread has been very helpful to start me on the right track. Thank you all who has contributed to this thread.
Just wanted to share my own experience of setting up the 313 from ground up for Bittorrent. I got the 313 for $99 from Challenger a few days ago (only 3 sets left when I arrived).
Here's a brief step-by-step guide on what I did [for a more detailed explanation, please refer
to the start of this thread].
1) Install CD and setup the NAS.
2) Flash the firmware to the latest firmware from D-Link. [will face alot of "why this cannot work even though the website says so" later if you do not flash it now]
http://www.dlink.com.sg/support/Support_download.asp?idsupport=413
3) Install Fonz's Fun Plug-in 0.5
a) Download the following files
http://www.inreto.de/dns323/fun-plug/0.5/fun_plug
http://www.inreto.de/dns323/fun-plug/0.5/fun_plug.tgz
b) Copy [drag and drop through explorer] the files to the root folder of your NAS [the folder should be something like \\<your NAS assigned IP>\Volume_1] if it's not saved there.
d) Edit the fun_plug file with a text editor that support Unix file [e.g. NotePad++, don't use NotePad or WordPad].
Change the following line:FFP_PATH=/mnt/HD_a2/ffp
To: FFP_PATH=/mnt/HD_a4/ffp
e) Restart the NAS through the admin page [or just press on/off button]
f) Check that the installation has been completed successfully by reading the ffp.log created at the root folder of your NAS [the root here refers to /mnt/HD_a2 if you telnet into the NAS].
It should something like the following
<<
tar: WARNING: Converting hard link to symlink
Thu Jan 1 14:01:17 CST 2009
ln -snf /mnt/HD_a4/ffp /ffp
* Running /ffp/etc/fun_plug.init ...
>>
4) Install Transmission 1.4.2
a) Download the following
http://kylek.is-a-geek.org:31337/files/curl-7.18.1.tgz
http://kylek.is-a-geek.org:31337/files/Transmission-1.42-1.tgz
b) Copy [drag and drop through explorer] the files to the root folder of your NAS [the folder should be something like \\<your NAS assigned IP>\Volume_1] if it's not saved there.
c) Telnet to your NAS [only possible if step 3 is completed successfully].
d) Switch to the directory /mnt/HD_a2
# cd /mnt/HD_a2
e) Type the following
# funpkg -i curl-7.18.1.tgz (only if you don't have it installed already)
# funpkg -i Transmission-1.42-1.tgz
# wget http://www.inreto.de/dns323/fun-plug/0.5/packages/uclibc-0.9.29-7.tgz
# funpkg -i uclibc-0.9.29-7.tgz
f) Edit /mnt/HD_a4/ffp/start/transmission.sh [using vi for .e.g],
Change the following lines:
TRANSMISSION_HOME=/mnt/HD_a2/.transmission-daemon
user=nobody
To:
TRANSMISSION_HOME=/mnt/HD_a4/.transmission-daemon
user=root
g) Change ownership config folder to root
#chmod -R root:root /mnt/HD_a4/.transmission-daemon
5) Allow remote Administration of Web GUI for Transmission/Clutch + Change default download directory
a) Edit /mnt/HD_a4/.transmission-daemon/settings.json
Change the following lines:
"download-dir": "\/mnt\/HD_a4\/ffp\/start
"rpc-whitelist": "127.0.0.1"
To:
"download-dir": "\/mnt\/HD_a2\/downloads
"rpc-whitelist": "127.0.0.1,<your LAN IP range, e.g. 192.168.0.*>"
Note the default listening port of the bittorrent is 51413, change as required.
b) Create subfolder "downloads" under \\<your NAS assigned IP>\Volume_1.
6) Start the service.
#/mnt/HD_a4/ffp/start/transmission.sh start
7) Goto Web GUI page to start downloading!!
http://192.168.1.6:9091/transmission/web
It has been about a month since I have the DNS-313. Gave up running Transmission on it liao. I think the HW spec is too low to support Transmission. 1 out of 2 download will stop halfway.
Performance is also on the slow side. The price of having NTFS shows, averaging 6MB/s on the DNS-313 compared to 14MB/s of the DNS-323.
Currently setting it up as a secondary backup / iTunes server. The use is pretty limited. But at $99, you get what you paid for.
hsadan
18-02-2009, 09:59 PM
I just got one of these. For the record, it works fine with a WD Caviar Green 1TB (can be detected and formatted properly).
However I've noticed that the fan comes on and the drive spins now and then, even when I'm not accessing it. I don't have any explorer windows open or any apps running that need files from there.
anyone have a similar experience and know what the problem is? I'm kinda irritated because part of the reason for getting it was to take advantage of the power management feature (which is currently set to turn disk off after 5 minutes).
mun_hoe
18-02-2009, 10:37 PM
I just got one of these. For the record, it works fine with a WD Caviar Green 1TB (can be detected and formatted properly).
However I've noticed that the fan comes on and the drive spins now and then, even when I'm not accessing it. I don't have any explorer windows open or any apps running that need files from there.
anyone have a similar experience and know what the problem is? I'm kinda irritated because part of the reason for getting it was to take advantage of the power management feature (which is currently set to turn disk off after 5 minutes).
i owned the DNS-323 2-bay drive enclosure with 2x 1tb WD caviar green. i also encountered this problem when the drives will wake up from hibernation even when i am not accessing it although i set it to 15mins of inactivity. i think it's more likely due to the router pinging LAN clients
IMO the power consumption won't be that huge anyway, what i'm more concerned is the constant "sleep" and unnecesary "wake" of the drive that might have an impact on the drive spindle motor and read heads....
hsadan
18-02-2009, 11:04 PM
yea the power consumption isn't that bad, but a little annoying that it's wasting unncessary power, especially since it's left on almost the whole day.
good point about the constant going to sleep, perhaps better to set it to power down after a longer period of time.
chaseral
20-02-2009, 12:44 AM
Even though I set the power management to turn off the HDD after 10 mins, I keep hearing the HDD moving even though I am not accessing it and the HDD never shut down. Is there a problem wrong with my DNS-313??
richneo
20-02-2009, 09:40 AM
Even though I set the power management to turn off the HDD after 10 mins, I keep hearing the HDD moving even though I am not accessing it and the HDD never shut down. Is there a problem wrong with my DNS-313??
is the square button litted up?
could the sound u hear the fan instead of the hdd?
chaseral
20-02-2009, 10:20 AM
Yes, the square button is lighted up in blue. I am worried that the harddisk will spoil.
fredtan
04-04-2009, 11:02 AM
Hi guys,
Just bought the DNS-313. First time using D-Link NAS product. Slotted in a WD 250GB for testing, all went well. Decided that I should use a 500GB instead. Now I have a problem. I'm not able to eject the HDD. The lever at the back is stuck.:s11::s11:
Is my unit faulty? Pls help. Thanks.
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.