PDA

View Full Version : Food at Johor

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11

xd3vilx
24-05-2008, 05:10 PM
Hi guys, anyone have any recommendation for any zi cha restaurant (seafood restaurant ) in johor that is near the woodland checkpoint? Travelling by taxi so if got road name provided would be better. I myself knw Taman Sentosa there got good food. But Taman Sentosa is quite a big area rite if not wrong, which part should I go ah? Thanks.

Condor
24-05-2008, 06:40 PM
define near. bangkok is near also if you compare to london.

johor is a state that is at the nearest boundary, >100km as a bird flies.

can easily name you gelang patah, kulai, pasir gudang, pengarang, etc. that are towns in johor.

pohu
24-05-2008, 06:44 PM
how abt Taman Tebrau (大马花园)?? there's a hawker center..

mosmos
24-05-2008, 11:35 PM
http://i110.photobucket.com/albums/n103/Luminrati/DSC01255.jpg

http://i110.photobucket.com/albums/n103/Luminrati/DSC01259.jpg

http://i110.photobucket.com/albums/n103/Luminrati/DSC01257.jpg

http://i110.photobucket.com/albums/n103/Luminrati/DSC01258.jpg

mosmos
24-05-2008, 11:36 PM
http://i110.photobucket.com/albums/n103/Luminrati/DSC01262.jpg

http://i110.photobucket.com/albums/n103/Luminrati/DSC01263.jpg

http://i110.photobucket.com/albums/n103/Luminrati/DSC01265.jpg

http://i110.photobucket.com/albums/n103/Luminrati/DSC01266.jpg

mosmos
24-05-2008, 11:37 PM
http://i110.photobucket.com/albums/n103/Luminrati/DSC01268.jpg

http://i110.photobucket.com/albums/n103/Luminrati/DSC01264.jpg

http://i110.photobucket.com/albums/n103/Luminrati/DSC01269.jpg

http://i110.photobucket.com/albums/n103/Luminrati/DSC01270.jpg

mosmos
24-05-2008, 11:38 PM
http://i110.photobucket.com/albums/n103/Luminrati/DSC01271.jpg

http://i110.photobucket.com/albums/n103/Luminrati/DSC01272.jpg

http://i110.photobucket.com/albums/n103/Luminrati/1.jpg

http://i110.photobucket.com/albums/n103/Luminrati/4.jpg

mosmos
24-05-2008, 11:41 PM
http://i110.photobucket.com/albums/n103/Luminrati/5-1.jpg

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/2008/080510/DSC00871.jpg

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/2008/080510/DSC00873.jpg

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/2008/080510/DSC00874.jpg

mosmos
24-05-2008, 11:42 PM
http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/2008/080510/DSC00875.jpg

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/2008/080510/DSC00876.jpg

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/2008/080510/DSC00877.jpg

mosmos
24-05-2008, 11:45 PM
Ch U recommended restaurant nearby taman sentosa (within walking distance).

http://i31.tinypic.com/2vmd2m8.jpg

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/2008/080405/DSC00836.jpg

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/2008/080405/DSC00833.jpg

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/2008/080405/DSC00832.jpg

Lancelot
24-05-2008, 11:47 PM
mosmos, whoa! Your pics are making me hungry :lick:

That is for how many persons?

Theatre_of_Dreams
25-05-2008, 12:48 AM
i vote for teman sri tebau..

always go there eat when go malaysia..

must order their butter crayfish !!!

mosmos
25-05-2008, 01:13 AM
mosmos, whoa! Your pics are making me hungry :lick:

That is for how many persons?

5-6 to a table. :o

actually those pics are 3 different weekend outing to jb.

http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showthread.php?t=1958232

http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showthread.php?t=1943410

http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showthread.php?t=1921600

mosmos
25-05-2008, 01:23 AM
mediacorp michelle chia fav stall, maybe will try next mth. :o

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/2008/080524/DSC00899.jpg

GetaBlue
25-05-2008, 07:07 PM
Mr mos Mos is our resident HWZ JB tour guide....he arrange tours for EDMW kahkis to go jb...haha

late4ever
25-05-2008, 10:26 PM
i was chatting with some malaysian over another forum, when asking them abt taman teburau, they say the place there very dirty.

but i always eat there...
=x

hwaa
26-05-2008, 11:03 AM
i vote for teman sri tebau..

always go there eat when go malaysia..

must order their butter crayfish !!!

yeah, once a while i'll go in to eat their butter crayfish.

damn nice. spore haf anot ah?

ssian84
26-05-2008, 11:22 AM
i was chatting with some malaysian over another forum, when asking them abt taman teburau, they say the place there very dirty.

=x

Dirty as in ?
I think almost all places are the same ?

jq75
26-05-2008, 12:30 PM
seems everywhere u go u take pics

majestic_guy79
26-05-2008, 12:41 PM

=x

there is a rumor...

the more dirty ... the more tasty :crazy:

GetaBlue
26-05-2008, 02:40 PM
u see in spore also, alot of stalls with C and D cleaniness ratings got good food one...

26-05-2008, 02:49 PM
erhm the oren tasi(i nt sure the malay spelling) seafood village nt bad oso...cheap seafood...my family order crab,fish,prawn + some other dishes for 4-5 persons,onli cost us less than 80 SGD

mosmos
26-05-2008, 02:54 PM
scans from food book bought in JB. :o

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/Food Book/scan0001-38.jpg

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/Food Book/scan0002-21.jpg

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/Food Book/scan0003-7.jpg

mosmos
http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/Food%20Book/scan0001.jpg

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/Food%20Book/scan0005.jpg

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/Food%20Book/scan0006.jpg

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/Food%20Book/scan0007.jpg

mosmos
http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/Food Book/scan0008.jpg

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/Food Book/scan0009.jpg

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/Food Book/scan0010.jpg

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/Food Book/scan0011.jpg

mosmos
26-05-2008, 02:55 PM
http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/Food Book/scan0012.jpg

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/Food Book/scan0013.jpg

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/Food Book/scan0014.jpg

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/Food Book/scan0015.jpg

mosmos
26-05-2008, 02:55 PM
http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/Food Book/scan0016.jpg

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/Food Book/scan0017.jpg

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/Food Book/scan0018.jpg

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/Food Book/scan0019.jpg

jq75
26-05-2008, 03:07 PM
wah seems u bought the book abt good food in Malaysia

mosmos
26-05-2008, 03:12 PM
wah seems u bought the book abt good food in Malaysia

yah, bought the foodbook abt johore food from harris bookshop. :o

still got a lot of pages, but i only scan those JB ones. :o

pepperthrow
26-05-2008, 05:59 PM
have personally tried the restoran ah kaw - 3th storey bee hoon

loveeeee it.... they oso got other zi char.. must order this bee hoon...i even tar bao despite i already very full :D:D

late4ever
26-05-2008, 09:37 PM
is there any place other then terbrau that i can find wild boar meat ?

only_lonely
27-05-2008, 08:44 AM
i tried the Tian shui xuan at taman pelangi
not bad the food n services

His Food Blog
27-05-2008, 10:10 PM
have personally tried the restoran ah kaw - 3th storey bee hoon

loveeeee it.... they oso got other zi char.. must order this bee hoon...i even tar bao despite i already very full :D:D

Are you talking about this (http://www.hisfoodblog.com/2006/07/san-low-seafood.html)? If it is, I second it. The beehoon is very nice. Comes charred and smokey. The black pepper crab is not too bad as well.

canornot
28-05-2008, 02:52 PM
yes.. i love the salted egg fried crabs there... we used to go there 2 persons and ate 3kg of them... :) let me contribute with the location map of San Low Restaurant: http://mapdoo.com/?id=aab126675

canornot
28-05-2008, 04:00 PM
i really like the paper wrapped chicken at the teck sing rest. listed... i've pinned it on map too for ur easy use... http://mapdoo.com/?id=aab126676

pepperthrow
29-05-2008, 06:36 PM
Are you talking about this (http://www.hisfoodblog.com/2006/07/san-low-seafood.html)? If it is, I second it. The beehoon is very nice. Comes charred and smokey. The black pepper crab is not too bad as well.

that's weird... the name of the restaurant and the bee hoon in the picture are the same that i encountered.. but how come the place looks so different? did they move away from the old location... my last visit was like less than a year ago... and they are at a shop under a building... at the end of the stretch, there is a bank and a carpark in front of the shop... nearby the area got one primary school...

are we talking the same bee hoon?? :s13:

charle
02-06-2008, 02:45 PM
i just visted this SAN LOW restaurant at Jalan Biru, This place is located near the Plaza Pelangi. The bee hoon is nice. remember to order the deep fried sotong too, is very crispy and tasty. Black pepper crab is nice too. Price is affordable too!

andyq
04-06-2008, 12:05 PM
I went to recce this san low yesterday noon time. seems like that place no proper parking lots? am i right or did i miss out on that?

charle
04-06-2008, 09:14 PM
yeah, i believe there are no proper parking spaces, this san low is located in the residential area.

mosmos
16-06-2008, 09:04 PM
rojak stall + sugar cane mobile stall outside pelangi plaza

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/2008/080614/DSC00046.jpg

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/2008/080614/DSC00031.jpg

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/2008/080614/DSC00032.jpg

mosmos
16-06-2008, 09:05 PM
bak kut teh at jalan maju, outside pelangi plaza

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/2008/080614/DSC00044-1.jpg

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/2008/080614/DSC00043-1.jpg

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/2008/080614/DSC00033.jpg

mosmos
16-06-2008, 09:07 PM
hk cafe at city sq

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/2008/080614/DSC00057-1.jpg

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/2008/080614/DSC00048-1.jpg

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/2008/080614/DSC00050.jpg

mosmos
16-06-2008, 09:07 PM
http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/2008/080614/DSC00053.jpg

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/2008/080614/DSC00052.jpg

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/2008/080614/DSC00051.jpg

mosmos
16-06-2008, 09:08 PM
http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/2008/080614/DSC00055-1.jpg

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/2008/080614/DSC00056.jpg

mosmos
16-06-2008, 09:09 PM
restoran huamui near kotaraya plaza, mediacorp michelle chia fav stall

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/2008/080614/DSC00080-1.jpg

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/2008/080614/DSC00079-1.jpg

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/2008/080614/DSC00061.jpg

mosmos
16-06-2008, 09:11 PM
http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/2008/080614/DSC00077.jpg

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/2008/080614/DSC00078.jpg

mosmos
16-06-2008, 09:12 PM
http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/2008/080614/DSC00063.jpg

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/2008/080614/DSC00070-1.jpg

lemon squash

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/2008/080614/DSC00064.jpg

mosmos
16-06-2008, 09:12 PM
famous chicken chop

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/2008/080614/DSC00073.jpg

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/2008/080614/DSC00074-1.jpg

mosmos
16-06-2008, 09:13 PM
mixed grill got prawns, lamb, beef, chicken, fish. :s22:

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/2008/080614/DSC00075-1.jpg

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/2008/080614/DSC00076.jpg

mosmos
16-06-2008, 09:15 PM
nearby huamui roti shop, very traditional roti, no butter used. :s22:

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/2008/080614/DSC00083.jpg

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/2008/080614/DSC00081-1.jpg

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/2008/080614/DSC00082.jpg

mosmos
16-06-2008, 09:17 PM
lastly city square robin's egg tart.

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/2008/080614/DSC00084.jpg

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/2008/080614/DSC00085.jpg

mosmos
16-06-2008, 09:18 PM
this weekend will be going to jalan wong ah fook area try the road side stalls. :o

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/2008/080614/DSC00054-1.jpg

Geforce3
16-06-2008, 09:34 PM
mos mos make me hungry :s34:

H4rzog
16-06-2008, 09:47 PM
jalan wong ah fook is a must try Fried Kway teow and also Orh luar

Kaki369
17-06-2008, 12:02 AM
this weekend will be going to jalan wong ah fook area try the road side stalls. :o

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/DSC00054-1.jpg

Meldrum Walk huh? not bad a place.. yummy!!! frequent there :)

Beta_Tester
17-06-2008, 12:22 AM

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/DSC00054-1.jpg

MOSMOS!! U must eat the famous curry fish head there!! :D

mosmos
17-06-2008, 11:05 AM
Meldrum Walk huh? not bad a place.. yummy!!! frequent there :)

any nice food to recommend?

mee rebus which stall got add special crispy? :o

mosmos
17-06-2008, 11:06 AM
MOSMOS!! U must eat the famous curry fish head there!! :D
maybe next time, fish head too big, a few of us maybe can't finish. :s22:

Kaki369
17-06-2008, 03:47 PM
i like the bbq stingray/sotong although some may argue it tastes common and like SG standard.. but i think i jus like the ambience lahz and the boss.. never fail to chit chat even though im there to talk talk :)

Hmmm... there's nothing much that is nice there mosmos... feel free to roam around though :) my personal favs there are the claypot rice/char siew rice/chicken rice/PORK PORRIDGE/fishball noodle soup/pork organ soup and somemore i cant remember lehz... very long nv go already.. always go JB then my JB GF will let me try her home cooked food.. hahhaha...

Anyway for mee rebus.. i donno leh.. but there is like erm.. 2 states.. 1 side is muslim/malay indian food.. the other is chinese....

i only had nasi padang n kambing soup there.... so so only.. though i mus admit the kambing soup very heaty... very gao hehehe..

bon appetit!!

mosmos
22-06-2008, 12:38 AM
today when to jalan wong ah fook backlane in search for dry mee rebus with crispy, but none available. :sad:

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/2008/080621/DSC00939.jpg

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/2008/080621/DSC00940.jpg

mosmos
22-06-2008, 12:38 AM
laska taste like curry noodles. :s22:

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/2008/080621/DSC00937.jpg

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/2008/080621/DSC00938.jpg

mosmos
22-06-2008, 12:41 AM
pig organ soup

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/2008/080621/DSC00941.jpg

mosmos
22-06-2008, 12:42 AM
sour plum + lime juice and sugar cane juice

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/2008/080621/DSC00942.jpg

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/2008/080621/DSC00950.jpg

mosmos
22-06-2008, 12:44 AM
sting ray only cost RM$15 each. :eek:

big meat + juicy + smooth, but chilli a bit less sambal.

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/2008/080621/DSC00943.jpg

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/2008/080621/DSC00944.jpg

mosmos
22-06-2008, 12:46 AM
叶子眉 bun, bread is very soft + fresh, chicken and pork meat is quite little with egg.

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/2008/080621/DSC00945.jpg

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/2008/080621/DSC00947.jpg

mosmos
22-06-2008, 12:50 AM
oyster egg, egg fried until crispy + flavourful with little corn flour, but oyster inside is icy cold. :s22:

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/2008/080621/DSC00946.jpg

Kaki369
22-06-2008, 12:50 AM
i wonder which stall u ate? for that price RM15.. i think abit ex.. for ur portion i can get RM12.. hahaha..

looks like u found the big pau... yummy!! anyway got such thing as dry mee rebus wan meh? I dont get it leh.. hahah

mosmos
22-06-2008, 12:51 AM
bbq chicken wings, meat is very smooth + tender + juciy, skin is very honey sweet.

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/2008/080621/DSC00951.jpg

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/2008/080621/DSC00954.jpg

mosmos
22-06-2008, 12:52 AM
just want to share with you some funny pic, plently of rice selling at UO supermarket, stack until roof top :s13:

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/2008/080621/DSC00958.jpg

pepperthrow
22-06-2008, 03:34 AM
mosmos check with u ah... where is this UO supermarket?

tekster
22-06-2008, 08:42 AM
mosmos, thanks for those scans of jb.

got anymore other scans? how much is the book? got english version or not?

mosmos
22-06-2008, 09:51 AM
mosmos check with u ah... where is this UO supermarket?5min walk from city square. :o

uo supermarket website: http://www.uo.com.my/index.php?id=9,0,0,1,0,0

you can apply for free member card, earn points for purchases, redeem vouchers.

http://www.streetdirectory.com/malaysia/johor/travel.php?star=1&x=1030439.18&y=161861.9200&level=6&xyfile=&frommap=1&travel_id=2628&travel_site=111124&travel_no=nline=#map

http://www.streetdirectory.com/jb_hotels.cgi?x=1030439.18&y=161861.9200&star=1&sizex=430&sizey=602&level=6

mosmos
22-06-2008, 10:01 AM
mosmos, thanks for those scans of jb.

got anymore other scans? how much is the book? got english version or not?

I bought this book from jb popular bookshop, cost RM$9.90. :o

went to 1 dim sum stall recomended in the book, but it is not there anymore. Not sure whether it has closed down or moved to other places. :(

Not sure whether it got english version. :o

tekster
22-06-2008, 11:33 AM
went to harris in jusco to buy one is it?

thanks man. may go have a look too. :)

btw mosmos, got pasar malam recommendations?

mosmos
22-06-2008, 11:36 AM
went to harris in jusco to buy one is it?

thanks man. may go have a look too. :)

btw mosmos, got pasar malam recommendations?

yah, i bought in harris jusco. There's a popular bookshop at city square also.

:o i never been to any real pasar malam in jb. Btw there's a very small pasar malam at kotaraya, selling kueh + mostly clothes.

pepperthrow
22-06-2008, 02:01 PM
[QUOTE=mosmos;30799350]5min walk from city square. :o

uo supermarket website: http://www.uo.com.my/index.php?id=9,0,0,1,0,0

you can apply for free member card, earn points for purchases, redeem vouchers.

thanks mos...

Salesmaster
23-06-2008, 12:04 PM

=x

i frequent there too, the food is very good for the money... er it's better if u dun think so much when u eat things lol, u'll enjoy the food better... although i've seen rats scuttering around =x

Kaki369
23-06-2008, 09:03 PM
Rats are common folk there lah.. LOL..

I miss the BIG BIG BIG glasses of sugarcane juice!

I remember my friend dare me to drink beer outta it.. so i ordered 4 bottles of beer.. and each mug can take about 1bottle of beer leh.. then we all BOTTOMS UP!.. lolz.... lucky when going home tat time no road block.. if not eat black bean rice

His Food Blog
23-06-2008, 09:23 PM
Restoran Hak Seng - The owner is a food nazi but the food is superb!!!

You basically just eat what he wants you to eat - You dun even have a choice - Hehe - Those who have been there will know what I am talking about.

mosmos
23-06-2008, 10:42 PM

You basically just eat what he wants you to eat - You dun even have a choice - Hehe - Those who have been there will know what I am talking about.

:s11: where is this restoran located?

Salesmaster
24-06-2008, 01:25 AM

wad da... dun have a choice!? wahaha share pls lol i wanna go visit

His Food Blog
24-06-2008, 03:23 PM
66, JALAN STULANG DARAT
80300 Johor Bahru
12.00pm-10.00pm

The boss, an old man in his 60s-70s will sit you down and take order... but its more like telling you what to eat. For e.g. You say you would like to eat fish, he will say cooked in chilli sauce - does not indicate what fish he will be dishing. I ate there a few times and each time he will served different fish cooked in different ways - you do not have a choice - but they all taste very good!!

Same for veggies, he will just ask you yes or no. No indication of what vegetables and how it would be done.

We tried asking him whether he served crabs - and he didn't hesitate to say no and tell you that you can go to San Low for it, which is just a road away.

Overall, I hasn't been disappointed with his food. Oh you should try the Orh Nee too!

I should be blogging about this place within a week or 2 so look out for it!

Kaki369
25-06-2008, 09:24 AM
Orh Nee!! MY FAVOURITE!!

Mosmos.. lets go.. HEHEHE :)

michael8330
25-06-2008, 02:44 PM
66, JALAN STULANG DARAT
80300 Johor Bahru
12.00pm-10.00pm

The boss, an old man in his 60s-70s will sit you down and take order... but its more like telling you what to eat. For e.g. You say you would like to eat fish, he will say cooked in chilli sauce - does not indicate what fish he will be dishing. I ate there a few times and each time he will served different fish cooked in different ways - you do not have a choice - but they all taste very good!!

Same for veggies, he will just ask you yes or no. No indication of what vegetables and how it would be done.

We tried asking him whether he served crabs - and he didn't hesitate to say no and tell you that you can go to San Low for it, which is just a road away.

Overall, I hasn't been disappointed with his food. Oh you should try the Orh Nee too!

can tell where it near to?
or how to go there?
if possible upload with map , alway go johore only know how to giant, city-square, seafood, but don't know the actual road name.

vainpot
25-06-2008, 06:15 PM
What's nice at city square? Everytime I go, will eat at the HK cafe and think its so-so only. Have also tried a bbq chicken one at the 1st/2nd level but not really nice.

mosmos
25-06-2008, 06:21 PM
i wonder which stall u ate? for that price RM15.. i think abit ex.. for ur portion i can get RM12.. hahaha..

looks like u found the big pau... yummy!! anyway got such thing as dry mee rebus wan meh? I dont get it leh.. hahah

wah i miss reply to this post. :o

the stall i ate is the one on picture lor. :o

dry mee rebus is gravy very thick + little and added special crispy on top.

used to be located on city sq land, then move to kotaraya foodcourt, now can'find liao. :(

heard stulang there got a famous one, but i saw the pics, it is not the same crispy, not so fine one. :(

Kaki369
25-06-2008, 08:12 PM
Orh... Stulang?

If u mean Stulang Laut there.. then yup.. ur're right.. got 1 very famous mee rebus stall... small and full of houseflies buzzing around when i FIRST ate there 4yrs ago... and never returned ever since.. only saw the mee rebus stall become more modernized with renovation etc... taste wise.. the locals there told me bo hor jiak liao... hahah.... lucky i nv go back eat.. but always go there say wanna try.. end up we eat the zhi char around there.... than after that check out the sports cars that roam the carpark and the occasional gangfight... before makan.. we will shop shop at EON the mall with duty free stuff!! hehehe!!

hmmm.. oh ya about the stulang laut meerebus... its not dry de... ahh now i know whats dry meerebus..thanks for the intro mosmos.. will keep a look out for u :)

hmmmm the stall in the picture huh? hmmm all the stalls look almost identical leh.. wAhaha... but nevermind lah.. u sHIOK can already.. but i must agree with u.. most of the stalls there.. the chilli not so POWER and SPICY de... :)

mosmos
25-06-2008, 08:38 PM
Orh... Stulang?

If u mean Stulang Laut there.. then yup.. ur're right.. got 1 very famous mee rebus stall... small and full of houseflies buzzing around when i FIRST ate there 4yrs ago... and never returned ever since.. only saw the mee rebus stall become more modernized with renovation etc... taste wise.. the locals there told me bo hor jiak liao... hahah.... lucky i nv go back eat.. but always go there say wanna try.. end up we eat the zhi char around there.... than after that check out the sports cars that roam the carpark and the occasional gangfight... before makan.. we will shop shop at EON the mall with duty free stuff!! hehehe!!

hmmm.. oh ya about the stulang laut meerebus... its not dry de... ahh now i know whats dry meerebus..thanks for the intro mosmos.. will keep a look out for u :)

hmmmm the stall in the picture huh? hmmm all the stalls look almost identical leh.. wAhaha... but nevermind lah.. u sHIOK can already.. but i must agree with u.. most of the stalls there.. the chilli not so POWER and SPICY de... :)

the grill seafood stall is almost at end section, can see the shell petrol station + polis station behind stall.

Kaki369
25-06-2008, 09:31 PM
Hmmm... i see... i know which one le... but never eat there before.. haha... :)

tingdong2
26-06-2008, 11:14 AM
any place near city square that sells kueh

mosmos
26-06-2008, 11:39 AM

not very sure, saw some selling at basement blue colour roti stall. :o

Beta_Tester
26-06-2008, 12:52 PM
City Square.. Got a shop named Season sell very nice bread. Otak bread n Tuna is hotseller!

mosmos
26-06-2008, 12:54 PM
City Square.. Got a shop named Season sell very nice bread. Otak bread n Tuna is hotseller!

ikan blis is the nicest, always almost soldout.

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/breakfast/DSC00525.jpg

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/breakfast/CIMG0385.jpg

Kaki369
26-06-2008, 04:34 PM

Savoury/Sweet ?

Malay/Chinese?

Beta_Tester
26-06-2008, 05:19 PM
ikan blis is the nicest, always almost soldout.

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/DSC00525.jpg

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/CIMG0385.jpg

wah raos.. i just ate this morning sia.. lol.

mosmos
26-06-2008, 06:27 PM
Savoury/Sweet ?

Malay/Chinese?

should be nonya type. :o

mosmos
26-06-2008, 06:28 PM
wah raos.. i just ate this morning sia.. lol.

tuna bread a bit non fluffy, i wonder if lavendar cakeshop is better?

Beta_Tester
26-06-2008, 06:30 PM
tuna bread a bit non fluffy, i wonder if lavendar cakeshop is better?

yea.. if too long will soggy.

tingdong2
01-07-2008, 02:22 PM
kueh can be sweet or savoury, where to find in city square or anywhere nearby?

kenzomaz
02-07-2008, 06:58 PM
Any guys knw the exact location for the famous herbal duck near city sq?

FireHobbit
02-07-2008, 07:20 PM
i love the food there..

mosmos
05-07-2008, 06:28 PM
went to eat curry fish head today. :o

taste is ok only, soup is watery with heavy coconut taste.

Order big pot inside got 2x head, but meat little, many vege. :(

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/2008/080705/DSC00598.jpg

mosmos
05-07-2008, 06:28 PM
http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/2008/080705/DSC00597.jpg

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/2008/080705/DSC00601.jpg

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/2008/080705/DSC00599.jpg

mosmos
05-07-2008, 06:30 PM
http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/2008/080705/DSC00600.jpg

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/2008/080705/DSC00603.jpg

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/2008/080705/DSC00607.jpg

mosmos
http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/2008/080705/DSC00606.jpg

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/2008/080705/DSC00604.jpg

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/2008/080705/DSC00605.jpg

mosmos
http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/2008/080705/DSC00608.jpg

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/2008/080705/DSC00609.jpg

mosmos
05-07-2008, 06:33 PM
marybrown selling noodles :s22:

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/2008/080705/DSC00623.jpg

mosmos
05-07-2008, 06:34 PM
anyone went to this hawker centre before?

it's outside pelangi leisure mall. :o

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/2008/080705/DSC00619.jpg

mosmos
05-07-2008, 06:35 PM
restoran japan buffet behinh pelangi leisure mall. :s22:

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/2008/080705/DSC00622.jpg

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/2008/080705/DSC00621.jpg

mosmos
05-07-2008, 06:59 PM

:s22: think my eyes got stamps, always buy roti from them no see.

seasons cakeshop on level 1 got sell nonya kueh.

FireHobbit
05-07-2008, 07:42 PM
i prefer LAvender's at city square

mosmos
05-07-2008, 08:24 PM
i prefer LAvender's at city square

yah, just eaten, roti more fluffy. but more expensive than season's one. :s22:

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/dinner/CIMG0470.jpg

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/dinner/CIMG0471.jpg

mosmos
05-07-2008, 08:25 PM
otak roti

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/dinner/CIMG0472.jpg

tuna fish roti

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/dinner/CIMG0473.jpg

mosmos
05-07-2008, 09:42 PM
season's cakeshop RM$1 roti.

cheap, filling little, roti sweet.

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/dinner/CIMG0474.jpg

mosmos
05-07-2008, 09:43 PM
sambal dry prawns roti

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/dinner/CIMG0475.jpg

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/dinner/CIMG0477.jpg

mosmos
05-07-2008, 09:43 PM
chilli sardine roti

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/dinner/CIMG0476.jpg

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/dinner/CIMG0478.jpg

devilmaniac
05-07-2008, 10:04 PM
wau.. see liao beh dahan.. too bad today hell jam at causeway if nt go in hoot d food liao..

mosmos
05-07-2008, 10:08 PM
wau.. see liao beh dahan.. too bad today hell jam at causeway if nt go in hoot d food liao..

:s22: I took bus in, no jam at either customs, from kranji mrt, 5mins reach sg customs, another 5mins reach m'sia custom.

same for coming back to sg. :s22:

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/2008/080705/DSC00591.jpg

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/2008/080705/DSC00589.jpg

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/2008/080705/DSC00595.jpg

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/2008/080705/DSC00629.jpg

Kaki369
06-07-2008, 04:04 AM
Hello Neighbour!! NICE LA!!!!! :) :)

katarina
06-07-2008, 04:17 AM
feel like going to JB !!!!!:s22:

Kaki369
06-07-2008, 04:19 AM
OK lets go now.. i drive over AMK now.. lolz...

Pls prepare RM400 and Passpork pls...

katarina
06-07-2008, 04:23 AM

I onz!!!!!!!!:s13::s22:

Kaki369
06-07-2008, 05:39 PM
wah so shag... Kat.. u really damn ONZ... i thot u joking.. LOL... u so shiok huh.. sit at passenger seat.... relac only.. while me drive..

HEEHHEHEHE :P :P

mosmos
06-07-2008, 05:47 PM
wah so shag... Kat.. u really damn ONZ... i thot u joking.. LOL... u so shiok huh.. sit at passenger seat.... relac only.. while me drive..

:eek: :eek:

katarina
06-07-2008, 06:17 PM

of course....just do it~~:D

:eek: :eek:

hihi mosmos~~~~

Kaki369
06-07-2008, 07:17 PM
hihi mosmos....

His Food Blog
08-07-2008, 01:05 AM
66, JALAN STULANG DARAT
80300 Johor Bahru
12.00pm-10.00pm

Finally, the long awaited review (http://www.hisfoodblog.com/2008/07/restoran-hak-seng-why-does-food-nazis.html) on Restoran Hak Seng - sorry to keep you guys waiting.

Here are some photos of what I eaten that night to whet your appetite.

http://bp3.blogger.com/_CLa1GsENXIk/SGuaZQAFDFI/AAAAAAAAB-c/jzNwbSlYWno/s400/DSCF2361.JPG

http://bp2.blogger.com/_CLa1GsENXIk/SGub8HMdc6I/AAAAAAAAB-s/xGLpmoyk918/s400/DSCF2365.JPG

http://bp1.blogger.com/_CLa1GsENXIk/SGub-Sq_QlI/AAAAAAAAB-0/rF8W6oQ3gM8/s400/DSCF2367.JPG

FrontierX
08-07-2008, 01:11 AM
great pics.... hope to go eat ther someday!

CyberTron
08-07-2008, 02:36 AM
Durians

http://www.ieatclub.com/thumbnails/480x225/0000002194-c89f2ab5ba6ae7adad68c5094910da8b

http://www.ieatclub.com/thumbnails/480x225/0000002193-8782ee91ea1eb0a88fa4f799c2e04172
(http://apps.facebook.com/ieatclub/menu_reviews.php?review_id=567)
More photos and review (http://apps.facebook.com/ieatclub/menu_reviews.php?review_id=567)

Soon Huat Bak Kut Teh

http://www.ieatclub.com/thumbnails/480x225/0000001158-3ec6ec2699aaf140ca91ff54dbd20fac

http://www.ieatclub.com/thumbnails/480x225/0000001159-b505999a8aa915dc504446c94265098b
(http://apps.facebook.com/ieatclub/menu_reviews.php?review_id=399)
More photos and review (http://apps.facebook.com/ieatclub/menu_reviews.php?review_id=399)

iEatClub - Food Lovers Club (http://ieatclub.com)

Beta_Tester
08-07-2008, 04:04 PM
MosMos: Nice bo the fish head curry? Next time best is order small one each person one. :)

mosmos
08-07-2008, 04:14 PM
MosMos: Nice bo the fish head curry? Next time best is order small one each person one. :):o taste ok only. Find the price kind of expensive compared to eating seafood in JB.

Soup is mild hot, watery and heavy in coconut taste, not sour like our sg nonya one. It is not laska soup also.

I am not sure why they put tau gee inside, it does not even absord the soup, taste bland.

I ordered RM$35 pot, inside have 2 small fish head + many vege. Vege more than fish meat. :s22:

I think order 2 small pot at $15 more worth.

Beta_Tester
08-07-2008, 04:25 PM
I once told the auntie sometimes no goods. She just smiled. But well.. ppl say.. the shop so many regulars and people. Surely bcoz they did something right.

fitzz82
09-07-2008, 09:58 AM
moi tinks the tau gee is damn nice lei. alot of ppl asked for extra. the fish also v fresh. only ting is.. the soup not spicy enu for mi. =[

fitzz82
09-07-2008, 10:02 AM
Any guys knw the exact location for the famous herbal duck near city sq?

i duno the one at city sq, bt i know there is 1 at taman sentosa. also v nice. roadside stall

Knightrider3K
09-07-2008, 11:32 AM
this thread is makin mi hungry!!!

shadow_warrior88
09-07-2008, 11:48 AM
that bak kut teh looks scrumptious....will drive over during lunch time for some....upload pics to share....:D

Beta_Tester
09-07-2008, 12:19 PM
moi tinks the tau gee is damn nice lei. alot of ppl asked for extra. the fish also v fresh. only ting is.. the soup not spicy enu for mi. =[

Me thinks the vegetable diluted the curry. lol..

fitzz82
09-07-2008, 01:16 PM
Me thinks the vegetable diluted the curry. lol..

nx time request no veges :s13:

mosmos
09-07-2008, 01:23 PM
nx time request no veges :s13:

:s22: later only see 1 small head in curry soup.

devilmaniac
09-07-2008, 01:40 PM

wau... y must prepare 400 to go jb ?? go special treatment??!!:s13:

fitzz82
09-07-2008, 02:25 PM
:s22: later only see 1 small head in curry soup.

can stil eat the tou gee mah. =p

jiak kor li si. :s13:

Kaki369
09-07-2008, 05:53 PM
Hmmmmmmmmmmmz :)

katarina
09-07-2008, 06:39 PM

HUH...........:s22::D

devilmaniac
09-07-2008, 11:52 PM
can stil eat the tou gee mah. =p

jiak kor li si. :s13:

wat mean by jiak kor li si ?

katarina ;p u gal ?

katarina
10-07-2008, 12:05 AM

katarina ;p u gal ?

yes I am~~~

u1c0l3
10-07-2008, 10:29 AM
i duno the one at city sq, bt i know there is 1 at taman sentosa. also v nice. roadside stall

nt sure if u say refering to 'hao bi'... is near the street @ the custom...

u1c0l3
10-07-2008, 10:56 AM
hihi

where the curry fish head store???? address pls...

Thanks alot...

mosmos
10-07-2008, 11:02 AM
hihi

where the curry fish head store???? address pls...

Thanks alot...

along jalan wong ah fook shophouses, before city square, only open in morning to early afternoon. :o

whole building is pianted yellow, upstairs is malaysia fishery association . :s22:

fitzz82
10-07-2008, 12:21 PM

dialect meaning "eat til u die" :s13:

nt sure if u say refering to 'hao bi'... is near the street @ the custom...

i hav not tried any duck rice near custom. but the pasar malam near city sq offers great food too. esp the orh qian. chinese stall de.

if u know where is the 'hao bi' pls giv directions hw to go. i go search for it, hehe.

goaheadbingostan
10-07-2008, 08:44 PM
This seafood restaurant in J.B. has a nice ambiance. Red wine is served too. Check it out.

http://i35.tinypic.com/6hnnv8.jpg

mosmos
10-07-2008, 09:06 PM
This seafood restaurant in J.B. has a nice ambiance. Red wine is served too. Check it out.

http://i35.tinypic.com/6hnnv8.jpg

:s11: where location?

Beta_Tester
10-07-2008, 09:32 PM
Just went to eat fish head with few EDMW ppl.

mosmos
10-07-2008, 09:37 PM
Just went to eat fish head with few EDMW ppl.

:o got any pics to share?

Beta_Tester
10-07-2008, 09:58 PM
:o got any pics to share?

with that songbo.. kns havent log in yet. :x

Jiak Robin's Portugese Cheekens

Kali pishh heads

Marry Brown cheekens

Watch 2 2 moobies (Hancocks and Hellboys)

goaheadbingostan
10-07-2008, 11:08 PM
:s11: where location?

http://www.grandstraitsgarden.com/

u1c0l3
11-07-2008, 08:48 AM
dialect meaning "eat til u die" :s13:

i hav not tried any duck rice near custom. but the pasar malam near city sq offers great food too. esp the orh qian. chinese stall de.

if u know where is the 'hao bi' pls giv directions hw to go. i go search for it, hehe.

from merlin tower u walk on the road inside towards the custom, the shop is beside bee cheng hiang....

His Food Blog
12-07-2008, 02:14 AM
This is probably the best Jap restaurant in JB.

The Sashimi Platter of Salmon (RM23), Uni (RM55) and Hotate (RM23) was so fresh and special mention goes to the Hotate that were plump and firm and it’s flesh - so sweet.

http://bp1.blogger.com/_CLa1GsENXIk/SHEJR5-ftwI/AAAAAAAAB_4/lZtuC_BXA8k/s400/DSCF1670.JPG

Another winner of the night belongs to Ebi Misoyaki (RM18). The salty and buttery texture from the miso, goes awesomely well with the juicy king prawns - HEAVENLY!!

http://bp3.blogger.com/_CLa1GsENXIk/SHEJSHecQII/AAAAAAAACAA/u-Layh-aevo/s400/DSCF1673.JPG

You can view more photos and read my full review here (http://www.hisfoodblog.com/2008/07/restaurant-nijyumaru-japanese-best-jap.html).

24, Jalan Permas 10/5
Taman Permas Jaya,
81750 Masai, Johor Bahru
Tel: 07-388-9818

Kaki369
12-07-2008, 02:49 AM
wah i really couldnt tell the last pic was a prawn..

sure looks great!!!

Thanks for sharing mate :)

GetaBlue
12-07-2008, 11:29 AM
anyone watched the new ep of hochak...finally come to jb...got that duck king, i think its near the customs.....looks good

Nitrile
12-07-2008, 11:47 PM
This is probably the best Jap restaurant in JB.

The Sashimi Platter of Salmon (RM23), Uni (RM55) and Hotate (RM23) was so fresh and special mention goes to the Hotate that were plump and firm and it’s flesh - so sweet.

http://bp1.blogger.com/_CLa1GsENXIk/SHEJR5-ftwI/AAAAAAAAB_4/lZtuC_BXA8k/s400/DSCF1670.JPG

Another winner of the night belongs to Ebi Misoyaki (RM18). The salty and buttery texture from the miso, goes awesomely well with the juicy king prawns - HEAVENLY!!

http://bp3.blogger.com/_CLa1GsENXIk/SHEJSHecQII/AAAAAAAACAA/u-Layh-aevo/s400/DSCF1673.JPG

You can view more photos and read my full review here (http://www.hisfoodblog.com/2008/07/restaurant-nijyumaru-japanese-best-jap.html).

24, Jalan Permas 10/5
Taman Permas Jaya,
81750 Masai, Johor Bahru
Tel: 07-388-9818
theres a reason why the jap food is so damn good there

cos there are hundreds of japanese staying at the straits view condo at permas jaya

FireHobbit
13-07-2008, 12:49 AM
i also eat at jb today.. will post picture when i get them ready... yummy

mosmos
13-07-2008, 02:00 AM
i also eat at jb today.. will post picture when i get them ready... yummy

:s22: i went there today also.

will post pics later, very messy.

mosmos
13-07-2008, 01:13 PM
ytd went jb for food again, was quite disappoint stalls at ZON there have not open at 5pm+. :(

then we went to usual meldrum walk there again, middle section to eat.

http://i298.photobucket.com/albums/mm260/toriqq/DSC02451.jpg

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/2008/080712/DSC00687.jpg

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/2008/080712/DSC00685.jpg

mosmos
13-07-2008, 01:14 PM
logan dessert

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/2008/080712/DSC00681.jpg

chendol

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/2008/080712/DSC00682.jpg

mosmos
13-07-2008, 01:17 PM
wanton mee

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/2008/080712/DSC00684.jpg

bbq stingray

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/2008/080712/DSC00688.jpg

mosmos
13-07-2008, 01:18 PM
oyster egg with no corn starch

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/2008/080712/DSC00690.jpg

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/2008/080712/DSC00691.jpg

mosmos
13-07-2008, 01:19 PM
fry prawn noodles very bland.

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/2008/080712/DSC00694.jpg

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/2008/080712/DSC00695.jpg

mosmos
13-07-2008, 01:19 PM
pork porridge.

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/2008/080712/DSC00697.jpg

mosmos
13-07-2008, 01:21 PM
bak kut teh

http://i24.photobucket.com/albums/c16/briangel/mmaf_19.jpg

salad spring roll

http://i24.photobucket.com/albums/c16/briangel/mmaf_24.jpg

ice kacang

http://i24.photobucket.com/albums/c16/briangel/mmaf_26.jpg

mosmos
13-07-2008, 01:22 PM
bought many cheap yakult ace from kotaraya supermarket, rm$3.90 each

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/2008/080727/DSC00703.jpg

mosmos
13-07-2008, 01:26 PM
marybrown special menu items :s22:

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/2008/080712/DSC00623.jpg

mee sup

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/2008/080712/DSC00658.jpg

ayam nasi lemak

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/2008/080712/DSC00661.jpg

mosmos
13-07-2008, 01:28 PM
bread stall recommend by chen liping Ch8 malaysia makan show

went there at 6pm, just close shop. :(

roti there nice or not? :s11:

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/2008/080712/DSC00678.jpg

mosmos
13-07-2008, 01:29 PM
local brand yeo's soy sauce selling in JB but not in sg? :s11:

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/2008/080712/DSC00677.jpg

milo ice cream cost much cheaper than our ntuc

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/2008/080712/DSC00676.jpg

FireHobbit
13-07-2008, 03:58 PM
look good pal.. when u went over to shop?

mosmos
13-07-2008, 04:22 PM
look good pal.. when u went over to shop?:o ytd at 2pm setoff from kranji mrt.

AlphaAV
15-07-2008, 01:50 AM
jaybee chendol ish teh Best :D

katarina
19-07-2008, 11:59 PM
Bak kut teh near The Store

http://i33.tinypic.com/4si72h.jpg

http://i35.tinypic.com/2jbo7cp.jpg

http://i36.tinypic.com/2moctfm.jpg

well....the taste is diff from our local ....local BKT taste more peppery

Kaki369
20-07-2008, 12:54 AM
Wah *jealous*

katarina
20-07-2008, 12:58 AM
u go next time lor~~~~:s22:

FireHobbit
20-07-2008, 01:35 AM
any nice hotel to recommend? not too expensive de..

LuffyMonkey
20-07-2008, 03:42 AM
noticed the JB bak kut teh is very unlike SG version...

they not only hv ribs, also hv mushrooms (wat are they called exactly?), fatty pork...
and maybe some pig livers and some veggies...

and the biggest diff is dat, there's no peppery taste... :s22:

but still is a nice dish nonetheless~ :lick:

btw, i ate it at meldrum walk...

dingdingdangdang
20-07-2008, 04:58 PM
the bkt store, Shun Fa, near The Store in my honest opinion isn't worth a try. Too over rated, too salty, too much msg and will make u very thirsty after drinking e soup.

katarina
20-07-2008, 06:34 PM
the bkt store, Shun Fa, near The Store in my honest opinion isn't worth a try. Too over rated, too salty, too much msg and will make u very thirsty after drinking e soup.

oh yes...u r rite....feel thirsty after eating that :crazy:

SecretAgent
20-07-2008, 08:01 PM
any good steamboat buffets in JB?? :s11:

sarlame_saucepack
20-07-2008, 08:58 PM
Mosmo ised an expert in J.B. So what can you tell to those who are concern about the law and order when visiting J.B. and do you visit the place with a large group of people as safety in numbers? Thank you.

mosmos
20-07-2008, 09:15 PM
Mosmo ised an expert in J.B. So what can you tell to those who are concern about the law and order when visiting J.B. and do you visit the place with a large group of people as safety in numbers? Thank you.

:s11:

so far never meet anything dangerous. Go in bigger number because wanted to eat seafood. :o

if eat fastfood, 2 person also can. :o

dreamer75
20-07-2008, 09:30 PM
Kim Gary @ City Sq is nice :o

sarlame_saucepack
20-07-2008, 10:38 PM

so far never meet anything dangerous. Go in bigger number because wanted to eat seafood. :o

if eat fastfood, 2 person also can. :o

I see. Thanks for the info.

dingdingdangdang
23-07-2008, 12:01 AM
Kim Gary @ City Sq is nice :o

is it expensive?

dreamer75
24-07-2008, 03:24 PM
is it expensive?

for me, no :)

dreamer75
24-07-2008, 03:25 PM
Ah Soon Bak Kut Teh @ JB

"Ah Soon is along the same road as Soon Huat Bak Kut Teh, on the other stretch of shophouses across the small bridge... compared to Soon Huat, the claypot Bak Kut Teh is cheaper, and they have only one kind of claypot chicken (think is ma you chicken)...the shop is hotter, nonetheless there is always a crowd...the soup is also less salty, pretty good.."

3/5 Jalan SUtera Satu, Taman Sentosa

flyinbear
24-07-2008, 03:52 PM
Ah Soon Bak Kut Teh @ JB

"Ah Soon is along the same road as Soon Huat Bak Kut Teh, on the other stretch of shophouses across the small bridge... compared to Soon Huat, the claypot Bak Kut Teh is cheaper, and they have only one kind of claypot chicken (think is ma you chicken)...the shop is hotter, nonetheless there is always a crowd...the soup is also less salty, pretty good.."

3/5 Jalan SUtera Satu, Taman Sentosa

ah soon bkt is one of my favourite... they r running a household family, 3 generations liao, and now is the 3rd generations doing the business for their father... u can add soup if u tink is not enuff... really worth gif it a try... is totally diff taste to sg one...

suangern
24-07-2008, 03:56 PM
any good steamboat buffets in JB?? :s11:
try around nusa bestari

dreamer75
24-07-2008, 03:59 PM
ah soon bkt is one of my favourite... they r running a household family, 3 generations liao, and now is the 3rd generations doing the business for their father... u can add soup if u tink is not enuff... really worth gif it a try... is totally diff taste to sg one...

wow thks! :)

calling for mosmos!!!

flyinbear
24-07-2008, 04:30 PM
try around nusa bestari
u can try the shop next to the store at pandan, in between the pandan camp and the store shopping mall... is along the tebrau highway... RM16++ free flow drinks... many varieties of food for u to choose... got live prawns some more...

suangern
24-07-2008, 07:03 PM
u can try the shop next to the store at pandan, in between the pandan camp and the store shopping mall... is along the tebrau highway... RM16++ free flow drinks... many varieties of food for u to choose... got live prawns some more...
yup, beside the store. :s12:

FireHobbit
25-07-2008, 08:30 PM
what it sellS? buffet? steamboat?

mosmos
27-07-2008, 03:08 PM
ytd went jb again :o

eat all nearby custom food. :o

city square dessert stall~

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/2008/080727/DSC00747.jpg

mosmos
27-07-2008, 03:10 PM
rojak sauce is thick + shrimp paste smelly :lick:

but 'you tiao' not freshly roasted, is chewy. :(

Price: rm$3.30

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/2008/080727/DSC00742.jpg

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/2008/080727/DSC00741.jpg

mosmos
27-07-2008, 03:11 PM
chendol is avg, brown coconut gula is not those thick + fragrant light brown type :(

Price: $3.80

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/2008/080727/DSC00744.jpg

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/2008/080727/DSC00745.jpg

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/2008/080727/DSC00746.jpg

mosmos
27-07-2008, 03:13 PM
after that went to heritage hotel eat stulang mee rebus.

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/2008/080727/DSC00758.jpg

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/2008/080727/DSC00762.jpg

mosmos
27-07-2008, 03:28 PM
mee rebus is avg taste quite disappointing. :(

taste nothing like dry + added crispy mee rebus that was eaten more than 10yrs ago on city sq land :(

rm$3 each

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/2008/080727/DSC00748.jpg

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/2008/080727/DSC00749.jpg

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/2008/080727/DSC00750.jpg

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/2008/080727/DSC00751.jpg

mosmos
27-07-2008, 03:29 PM
was given otak also, but never order. :s22:

otak was sweet + red, not spicy type. :s22:

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/2008/080727/DSC00752.jpg

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/2008/080727/DSC00757.jpg

mosmos
27-07-2008, 03:30 PM
lime juice more ice than juice. :s22:

total price is $15.10, not sure how they calculate.

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/2008/080727/DSC00754.jpg

mosmos
27-07-2008, 03:32 PM
after that walk along seaside to mobile roadside stalls opp skolah, near ZON. :o

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/2008/080727/DSC00764.jpg

rojak stall

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/2008/080727/DSC00768.jpg

mosmos
27-07-2008, 03:35 PM
lok lok stall, cheap + nice + fresh.

blue stick rm$1, no color stick rm$0.50

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/2008/080727/DSC00767.jpg

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/2008/080727/DSC00769.jpg

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/2008/080727/DSC00770.jpg

mosmos
27-07-2008, 03:38 PM
http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/2008/080727/DSC00775.jpg

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/2008/080727/DSC00776.jpg

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/2008/080727/DSC00777.jpg

red chilli bery bery spicy~

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/2008/080727/DSC00778.jpg

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/2008/080727/DSC00779.jpg

mosmos
27-07-2008, 03:39 PM
fry black carrot cake stall

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/2008/080727/DSC00783.jpg

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/2008/080727/DSC00784.jpg

rm$1 drink stall outside skolah gate. :o

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/2008/080727/DSC00785.jpg

mosmos
27-07-2008, 03:40 PM
rm$1 choklat fondue at ZON :s22:

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/2008/080727/DSC00789.jpg

mosmos
27-07-2008, 03:41 PM
after supermarket in kotaraya, went to meldrum walk and saw this. :crazy:

enjoying good food. :s22:

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/2008/080727/DSC00809.jpg

mosmos
27-07-2008, 03:42 PM
went to eat satay at malay side. :o

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/2008/080727/DSC00808.jpg

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/2008/080727/DSC00811.jpg

mosmos
27-07-2008, 03:46 PM
fresh coconut water at rm$2.50. :s22:

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/2008/080727/DSC00806.jpg

becareful of spoilt ones.

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/2008/080727/DSC00807.jpg

mosmos
27-07-2008, 03:49 PM
satay is rm$0.50 each, $1 rice.

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/2008/080727/DSC00812.jpg

mutton taste very good, chicken a bit disappointing, dry + rough. :o

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/2008/080727/DSC00813.jpg

sauce was sweet + slightly crunchy

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/2008/080727/DSC00814.jpg

sarlame_saucepack
27-07-2008, 03:49 PM
Nice. Think the ambiance and the skill of a cook make a difference.

Mosmos makes it like an ease to travel in and out of J.B.

No offence, I am still wary of J.B. for a makan trip . My last visit to J.B. was years ago.

mosmos
27-07-2008, 03:56 PM
Nice. Think the ambiance and the skill of a cook make a difference.

Mosmos makes it like an ease to travel in and out of J.B.

No offence, I am still wary of J.B. for a makan trip . My last visit to J.B. was years ago.

:o no worries, it prefectly quite safe now, don't be too flashy.

mosmos
27-07-2008, 04:00 PM
mosmos, ur price fluctuation is worse than the stock market leh~ :s22:

ytd said chendol is RM$3.30, now becum RM$3.80~ :crazy:

but hor, i seem to rmb it's RM$3.20~ :o

:o huh, wrong price ar?

no receipt forgot liao. :o

dreamer75
27-07-2008, 11:11 PM
mosmos can eat so many food in 1 day?? :o

mosmos
27-07-2008, 11:15 PM
mosmos can eat so many food in 1 day?? :o

:o all share ones

Kaki369
27-07-2008, 11:55 PM
yum yum!!!!!!!!!!

fitzz82
28-07-2008, 09:06 AM
took mi more den 2 hrs to go thru custom on sat... -.-"

mosmos
28-07-2008, 09:55 AM
took mi more den 2 hrs to go thru custom on sat... -.-"

:o I took bus, guess within 20mins from kranji to JB.

katarina
28-07-2008, 03:13 PM
if come back on a sun nite.....chaos in JB custom bus stop~~~~

kena twice le :crazy:

mosmos
28-07-2008, 03:31 PM
if come back on a sun nite.....chaos in JB custom bus stop~~~~

kena twice le :crazy:

saturday nite after 9pm got big traffic back back to sg + human jam at jb custom, but lucky we took bus. :s22:

fitzz82
28-07-2008, 05:20 PM
:o I took bus, guess within 20mins from kranji to JB.

i also took bus... :s16:

katarina
28-07-2008, 06:50 PM
saturday nite after 9pm got big traffic back back to sg + human jam at jb custom, but lucky we took bus. :s22:

the bus stop filled with ppl....cannot move freely.....mountain ppl mountain sea... :crazy:

mosmos
28-07-2008, 07:07 PM
the bus stop filled with ppl....cannot move freely.....mountain ppl mountain sea... :crazy:

after jb chop passport come down not much ppl taking bus. :s22:

katarina
29-07-2008, 12:44 AM

after jb chop passport come down not much ppl taking bus. :s22:

u try SUN....u will be shocked :o

Kaki369
29-07-2008, 12:57 AM

mountain PPL mountain SEA lah

Ren Shan Ren Hai

Not Shan Ren Shan Hai..

Hahha!!

katarina
29-07-2008, 01:06 AM
mountain PPL mountain SEA lah

Ren Shan Ren Hai

Not Shan Ren Shan Hai..

Hahha!!

aiyo.............typo!!!! :crazy:

Kaki369
29-07-2008, 01:08 AM
dont bruff!!!

katarina
29-07-2008, 01:08 AM
shld be ppl mountain ppl sea!!!! :o

smallie
29-07-2008, 08:15 AM
went JB on Sunday with a some friends as well.. we drove in.. =)

had dinner at san low

http://i36.tinypic.com/2zjgs3o.jpg

not bad.. that place got a traffic marshal to guide people to park closer, look after the cars, find parking lots for the patrons.

http://i34.tinypic.com/em1p3.jpg

the famous san low bee hoon

http://i37.tinypic.com/2ns4a6t.jpg

I think it's the better food that we ordered that night.. go there almost every table will order one. =)

smallie
29-07-2008, 08:17 AM
http://i38.tinypic.com/i4l72d.jpg

black pepper crab at RM 7/100g.

Total Bill about RM130 including the kailan that's not in the picture. :s34:

but then.. only the bee hoon there is worth eating.. the rest, seriously nothing to rave about.. The restaurant is at Jalan Biru, from Woodlands, Turn right before Plaza Palangi then go straight in.. San Low will be on your left hand side. Confirm can see one.. :crazy:

that day went Goh Zha Lang taiwanese porridge as well.. but forgot to take picture cuz we too hungry. :( but I love the place and the food.. should try going when you are free.. =)

mosmos
29-07-2008, 10:52 AM
went JB on Sunday with a some friends as well.. we drove in.. =)

had dinner at san low

http://i36.tinypic.com/2zjgs3o.jpg

from pelangi plaza, take how long to reach there? :s11:

intend to walk from pelangi plaza. :crazy:

smallie
29-07-2008, 11:12 AM

err.. take car quite fast lah.. walk there.. will be a distance.. cuz it is surrounded by housing estate.. try not to go there for crab.. not worth it.. we are the only table who ordered crabs..

AND.. cannot expect good service ah.. got this auntie very black face one.. like we owe her money like that.. order also like don't want to order for us like that.. :s22:

Kaki369
29-07-2008, 02:25 PM
the san low mai fan is wet wet de uhh? really shiok ah? does it have the wok hei flavour?

dreamer75
29-07-2008, 02:42 PM

san low quite remote...by car faster...
this sat go eat?? haha

mosmos
29-07-2008, 02:49 PM
san low quite remote...by car faster...
this sat go eat?? haha

:s22: you still say eat bak kut teh.

dreamer75
29-07-2008, 03:10 PM
:s22: you still say eat bak kut teh.

BKT for lunch mah :o

mosmos
29-07-2008, 03:24 PM

wah waste teksi fares leh, travel here and there.

Kaki369
29-07-2008, 03:49 PM

Drive past on sunday.. now u gian liao right.. kekekeke..

dreamer75
29-07-2008, 05:28 PM
wah waste teksi fares leh, travel here and there.

u r the boss, u decide :)
i just give suggestions.

dreamer75
29-07-2008, 05:29 PM
Drive past on sunday.. now u gian liao right.. kekekeke..

ya lor...Ah Soon BKT :o

Kaki369
29-07-2008, 05:52 PM
kekekeke... dont forget to try the ma you ji !!

mosmos
02-08-2008, 11:55 PM
today went to jb again. :o

went to eat ah soon bkt at taman sentosa. :lick:

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/2008/080802/DSC00893-1.jpg

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/2008/080802/DSC00890.jpg

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/2008/080802/DSC00906-1.jpg

mosmos
02-08-2008, 11:56 PM
http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/2008/080802/DSC00891-1.jpg

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/2008/080802/DSC00898-1.jpg

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/2008/080802/DSC00895-1.jpg

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/2008/080802/DSC00896-1.jpg

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/2008/080802/DSC00897-1.jpg

mosmos
02-08-2008, 11:57 PM
http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/2008/080802/DSC00899-1.jpg

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/2008/080802/DSC00902.jpg

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/2008/080802/DSC00900-1.jpg

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/2008/080802/DSC00901-1.jpg

mosmos
02-08-2008, 11:58 PM
http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/2008/080802/DSC00903-1.jpg

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/2008/080802/DSC00904-1.jpg

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/2008/080802/DSC00905.jpg

mosmos
03-08-2008, 12:00 AM
mobile stall sell bean products outside agsoon bkt.

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/2008/080802/DSC00911.jpg

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/2008/080802/DSC00908-1.jpg

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/2008/080802/DSC00907.jpg

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/2008/080802/DSC00910.jpg

mosmos
03-08-2008, 12:01 AM
went to kotaraya to eat some dessert.

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/2008/080802/DSC00923-1.jpg

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/2008/080802/DSC00924-1.jpg

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/2008/080802/DSC00925-1.jpg

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/2008/080802/DSC00927-1.jpg

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/JB/2008/080802/DSC00928-1.jpg