View Full Version : Hull City one-season forum 2008/09 - Tiger, tiger burning bright....
mensan
25-05-2008, 07:02 AM
http://www.hullcityafc.premiumtv.co.uk/page/Welcome
Who the hull is this club :D ?
Rapid promotion from the fourth tier in 2004 to the first tier EPL in 2008... this is CM/FM stuff.
Can they avoid "improving" on the new EPL record set by Derby County?
Will they roar and set the EPL alight... or will the Paper Tigers go down in burning flames?
Update: Did just enough to crawl above 3 bigger clubs. The next season looks more likely to be a struggle to not do a Derby County :o...
ctstalin
25-05-2008, 07:43 AM
sry to disappoint, but i tink they're gonna end up like derby :s13:
StarSeeker
25-05-2008, 10:22 AM
Its hard to match Derby record, seriously. Onw win in 38 matches. Lost by 4 goals or more in don't know how many matches, even against lower tier teams in the BPL.
25-05-2008, 11:35 AM
hull is quite rich so dun be surprised they buy a lot of gd fringe players to help them
Arsenal85
25-05-2008, 11:40 AM
Hull city is good lor, always use them in FM.
They got a big stadium by coca cola league standards and debt-free :D
Ok that's game not realife lol
LittleFox
25-05-2008, 11:44 AM
potential derby county contender....=:p
o.o123
25-05-2008, 11:58 AM
fight 4th spot next season:o
vasilli07
25-05-2008, 12:18 PM
http://www.hullcityafc.premiumtv.co.uk/page/Welcome
Who the hull is this club :D ?
Rapid promotion from the fourth tier in 2004 to the first tier EPL in 2008... this is CM/FM stuff.
Can they avoid "improving" on the new EPL record set by Derby County?
Will they roar and set the EPL alight... or will the Paper Tigers go down in burning flames?
If u say rapid, bristol city would have been faster if they won last nite. From league 1 to championship to BPL in 3 seasons...too bad they failed to do it. But good for them, at least they can strengthen before they meet the BPL big boys.
Deunamist
25-05-2008, 02:28 PM
Hull City's only goal next season is to finish above relegation zone. and i hope that they manage to do so.
CanIsayNo
25-05-2008, 02:51 PM
welcome back barmby!
Integra.TypeR
25-05-2008, 03:18 PM
Sorry, Hull is 10x better than Derby.
AndreFLo
25-05-2008, 03:51 PM
Another free frag team to replace Derby? :D
StarSeeker
25-05-2008, 06:23 PM
Hull City's only goal next season is to finish above relegation zone. and i hope that they manage to do so.
Where you hear it from, for all we know, they may aim for BPL crown or even better, Carling Cup, FA Cup & BPL triple.
Oh, & CL crown the season after.
deathan9el
25-05-2008, 08:09 PM
im sure they'll be one hullabaloo of a team.
1920_me
27-05-2008, 02:24 PM
They are going to end up worst than derby, if they think dean windass and barmby can still perform at the EPL level.
Windass, even in his younger days, struggled to make any kind of impact in the premiership, i dont see his 39-year old legs going any better. The manager has got to get rid off sentiments and prepare the team well for the dog fight.
champ0708
27-05-2008, 03:08 PM
if they keep hold of frazer campbell
then strengthening their defence
very hard to do a derby
:D
et3rnity84
31-05-2008, 11:42 AM
nick and dean rather all right... shd try to sign some lao jiaos to help around see how =D get more loans from united since they feeder club =x
martinweng
04-06-2008, 07:56 AM
if this is FM, i would have sent in a team of youngsters to beat Hull while my 1st XI can relax the weekend.
et3rnity84
04-06-2008, 08:52 AM
hull if feeder team of united i send all players there :D
mensan
28-09-2008, 05:42 AM
if this is FM, i would have sent in a team of youngsters to beat Hull while my 1st XI can relax the weekend.
13 Sep 2008 St James' Park.... NUFC Pub XI 1 - Hull City 2 :o
also...for a far more impressive feat away to a top team...
Well done Hull for doing something that none of Europe's finest teams have never done at the Emirates!
Will Hull be able to do another magic trick in another London fortress by ending the Ceski run at SB this season? :o
o.o123
28-09-2008, 11:41 AM
surely hull is not paper tiger wor
1920_me
28-09-2008, 11:50 AM
They have more points than derby have had all of last season. Very impressed, they have over-hauled their teams with some very hard-working players.
Wryer
28-09-2008, 12:06 PM
They were FANTASTIC. Hull beat us fair and square, through sheer team work. Their ability to defend as a unit was remarkable. I don't see any dirty play or going into tackles recklessly.
They reminded me a lot of Wigan a few seasons before when they just got promoted.
hiei02
28-09-2008, 12:07 PM
very organised, and took their chances very well. arsenal had an off-day by their usual standards though.
faruk55
28-09-2008, 05:09 PM
It's surprising indeed that they have started well early in the season and beating Arsenal at home.
We have to see how they can consistently perform for the next few months.
Surprising. Surprising indeed.
othniel80
29-09-2008, 10:16 AM
It's a tad bit sad to see Arsenal lose at Emirates but I have to say Hull has managed to frustrate them with good defense. Very organise like many have mentioned here.
faruk55
29-09-2008, 10:45 AM
Hopefully they can cause some upset at the Stamford Bridge but not at Anfield... :)
Jian19
29-09-2008, 10:47 AM
They play counter attack against arsenal :s22:
Had a few players that are very impressive, like Geovanni and Cousin
i saw Cousin in a game against Celtic when he was still in Rangers, he was outstanding, constantly a thorn to the celtic def, big and strong in air
its still early, but hull shows that they can play football and win games. :o
othniel80
30-09-2008, 08:56 AM
Hopefully they can cause some upset at the Stamford Bridge but not at Anfield... :)
omg faruk that would be the biggest insult man. to break their record. yep and to add not at old trafford
lyfeforce
30-09-2008, 10:46 AM
I always had a soft spot for the underdogs. But what I'm worried is that they'll run out of steam halfway through the season.
mensan
06-10-2008, 04:45 PM
Hull love London... they've gone to the big city and eaten in turn Fulham, Arsenal and Spurs in their own homes... now left with just the Hammers and Ceski to makan :o... growwoar! :D
faruk55
06-10-2008, 05:07 PM
Nah.. Chelsea is way too strong for them..
et3rnity84
06-10-2008, 05:44 PM
they're effectively 10 points away from being relegated right? :s22:
firehippo
06-10-2008, 06:07 PM
hull is hekll
goodquestion
06-10-2008, 07:02 PM
they are 3rd on table now.
and wad is most commendable is they won the big teams away from home. ownage!
othniel80
07-10-2008, 09:56 AM
Hull love London... they've gone to the big city and eaten in turn Fulham, Arsenal and Spurs in their own homes... now left with just the Hammers and Ceski to makan :o... growwoar! :D
Hammers maybe, Cheski ah, even with some many injured, villa still cannot down them. I doubt Hull got chance, it will great just to nick a draw from them at Stamford Bridge.
Jian19
07-10-2008, 02:18 PM
another 30 points they are safe from relegation aready :s22:
usjag_18
07-10-2008, 04:23 PM
Every team from c'ship level deserves a chance to prove themselves. And if it's Hull City's year to prove themselves, then let them do the job... hahaha... as long as they dun do their job on Man UTd... hahahaha... jus kidding...
will like to see how well they can perform against utd.
hellfire190
07-10-2008, 07:13 PM
they did make a few signings n Geovanni has really helped them a lot!
faruk55
08-10-2008, 11:10 AM
But they will be facing the real challenges against Man utd and Chelsea... which they will be facing losses.. but then they have gain some good points early in the season..
Kiwi8
20-10-2008, 12:00 AM
They won again! Tonite 1-0 vs West Ham United. :eek:
mikehwz
20-10-2008, 12:16 AM
hull likely to be in the premier league next season as well....
if they can draw with chelsea....i will be impressed
Rappelz
20-10-2008, 12:17 AM
Quote for truth.....
Yazebe21
20-10-2008, 12:27 AM
they are just like wigan first season. After that drop drop drop! But i respect their football teamwork..
Jian19
20-10-2008, 11:04 AM
Hull sibei on form
win again sia
now at 3rd above arsenal and united :eek::eek:
faruk55
20-10-2008, 12:12 PM
They are on fire... Playing once a week is doing good for them. Whereas alot of other bigger teams are on heavy schedules..
It shows they are willing to fight against the Premiership boys and they ain't a pushover...
faruk55
20-10-2008, 12:16 PM
btw.. when and who is their next match against the other BIG 3??
Hua_Hui
20-10-2008, 12:17 PM
they play very well as a team.. at least they are playing "football", duno wtf west ham doing yest..
et3rnity84
20-10-2008, 12:19 PM
geovanni is my :love::love: livewire man him.
AndreFLo
20-10-2008, 05:01 PM
hull likely to be in the premier league next season as well....
if they can draw with chelsea....i will be impressed
QFT...but after next season they could go the way of Reading or Ipswich...
thisisanfield
25-10-2008, 11:11 PM
Hull City...!!! May go joint top at 20pts if they win tonite...
faruk55
25-10-2008, 11:36 PM
they already won... 20 points for them... Salute them...
Kiwi8
25-10-2008, 11:40 PM
The fairytale continues! :eek:
Wryer
25-10-2008, 11:41 PM
A potential top of the table clash with Chelsea next week?
Who would have thought? :)
faruk55
25-10-2008, 11:55 PM
oh.. next week?? oohh... must watch!!!!
ben0704
26-10-2008, 11:42 AM
glory~ glory~ hull city~! :crazy:
Litmuss
26-10-2008, 12:20 PM
Hull city against Chelsea in midweek, and against manu next weekend. :spin:
YouYongku
26-10-2008, 01:43 PM
They are going to end up worst than derby, if they think dean windass and barmby can still perform at the EPL level.
Windass, even in his younger days, struggled to make any kind of impact in the premiership, i dont see his 39-year old legs going any better. The manager has got to get rid off sentiments and prepare the team well for the dog fight.
aladdin
they're top........
Jackson Ng Ghim Pheng
26-10-2008, 02:50 PM
Hull are the only team this season that can break Chelsea Stamford Bridge record if they keep winning that is
poring24
26-10-2008, 03:03 PM
turner for england?
tyroe1
27-10-2008, 03:47 PM
Hull are the only team this season that can break Chelsea Stamford Bridge record if they keep winning that is
already broken by Liverpool =)
Jackson Ng Ghim Pheng
27-10-2008, 04:51 PM
already broken by Liverpool =)
didn't saw this coming scolari make all the wrong subs while liverpool defended well
Wryer
27-10-2008, 05:10 PM
I don't think Scolari have much choice.
This is the first time I'm seeing Chelsea's squad so stretched.
xavier4
27-10-2008, 05:35 PM
hull for champs league next season !
Jordan
27-10-2008, 05:53 PM
Hull to beat Chelsea and Man U next to maintain their momentum in the chase for CL spot. :D
YouYongku
27-10-2008, 07:45 PM
haha hull!
orange tigers!:D
Carnage
28-10-2008, 12:52 AM
Hull and Tottenham has swapped places on the league table.
Jackson Ng Ghim Pheng
31-10-2008, 05:09 PM
I don't think Scolari have much choice.
This is the first time I'm seeing Chelsea's squad so stretched.
Taking off Malouda and Kalou for Franco Di Santo and Belletti is really bad sub espcially for young Di Santo.
may as well bring on Scott Sinclair and Belletti.
Anyway Backing Hull to lose to man u by only a goal
Mayhem69
31-10-2008, 06:27 PM
Hull crest got a Tiger .. very Malaysia
usjag_18
01-11-2008, 01:35 AM
Younger days doesn't meant they cannot do well in their older days... Some people just simply are late bloomers.. For e.g., Mr David James - who will expect him to do so well for Pompey... Almost everyone that I know thought that his career is over when he's being kicked out of Pool...
Just like the saying, "Ball is Round, until the last minute, we never know what will happened"... So I still felt, should give Hull City a chance... At least, from the few games I watched, I felt they are really fired up... More determined than any of the clubs that are promoted recently... Felt that they might be the 2nd team doing so well in their first season after Reading FC...
aladdin
they're top........
I guess most of us are wrong about Hull City..., they really surprised w/their determination towards Arsenal...
faruk55
01-11-2008, 11:31 PM
Let us see how they perform at OT this time around. But I don't think they can pull off a surprise as they did as Emirates. Man U could be scoring another 3 goals against them.
Kiwi8
02-11-2008, 01:28 AM
They starting to lose steam already... 0 points out of the two games against Chelsea and Man U. :o
but credits to them for giving a spirted display. i tot their def and midfield was quite well organised. closing down quick and picking up loose ball fast. hope they will carry tis on and not lose steam.
Ronaldo_7
02-11-2008, 02:12 AM
Great Work there Hull City... keep it up :)
not that many teams come to Old Trafford to play attacking football...
anyway kiwi.. kindly use Man Utd or something else.. no Man U please.. thanks
wj1990
02-11-2008, 02:24 AM
gd job hull city, really impressed by ur performance in OT..good luck!!
Kiwi8
02-11-2008, 01:33 PM
Great Work there Hull City... keep it up :)
not that many teams come to Old Trafford to play attacking football...
anyway kiwi.. kindly use Man Utd or something else.. no Man U please.. thanks
I insist that the term 'Man U' is the best neutral unique shortest form to describe Manchester United. Not Man Utd (2 more letters), not United (there are so many other clubs with United behind them too). I dunno why they must link to the Munich disaster.
Anyway, for the debate of the usage of 'Man U', please continue in my thread. :s22:
Asakura
02-11-2008, 02:00 PM
lol omg not the manu debate again. seriously if the newspapers didn't bring that up. would ppl be mindful of this term relating to the munich crash?
nvm that. hull city is really making the league lifely this season. same goes to stoke city. with delap's throws.
emoGav
02-11-2008, 02:50 PM
They starting to lose steam already... 0 points out of the two games against Chelsea and Man U. :o
i dont believe so. they played well for a 1st season-er in bpl. this 2 games proved they can fight against the best in the league which will boost their morale even higher and better. meanwhile also giving them a reality check. im sure they didnt expect much from this 2 big games but i feel they went and gave a good fight. kudos to hull city.
hull suprise package, really give us a tough fight, why didn't they play like that against chelsea though, shame chelsea won it easy. :o
PuBorKia
25-05-2009, 07:23 PM
never expect Hull City also got a forum here
anyway this season they are just lucky to stay up and next season they can prepare to go back to the championship!
Yellowfin
25-05-2009, 08:01 PM
never expect Hull City also got a forum here
anyway this season they are just lucky to stay up and next season they can prepare to go back to the championship!
The league table never lie......etc....
25-05-2009, 09:47 PM
think the title of the thread can change already..
AndreFLo
25-05-2009, 09:58 PM
No offence to any Hull City fans here but I dun expect them to survive nxt season. And having Phil Brown as their manager doesn't help much, tat guy is seriously overrated and a liar as well, will never forget his outburst and fabrication of lies to get Wenger n Cesc into trouble :s8:
xiaoarc
25-05-2009, 10:37 PM
who can forget the scene at eastland where he give his team talks on the field infront of the crowd..
Wryer
25-05-2009, 10:40 PM
He's quite an attention seeker. Mourinho-wannabe.
Jian19
26-05-2009, 11:44 AM
change title to 2-season forum :crazy:
othniel80
26-05-2009, 11:49 AM
who can forget the scene at eastland where he give his team talks on the field infront of the crowd..
and the freefall in the league after that.
spykid
26-05-2009, 12:20 PM
I dun mind him actually
But the way he conducted himself after the match on Sunday and went to sing whatever song he sang definitely irks people a little lol
Maxxum
26-05-2009, 02:07 PM
Just a side joke....The title of this thread mentioned "One Season Forum".....Does that means this thread will be expiring soon? Heh
mensan
26-05-2009, 02:42 PM
Hull got found out after their great early start... but did just enough to tigercrawl over the line.... ahead of the mighty NUFC... :(
oohman
26-05-2009, 03:30 PM
A lot of Tiger fans lost interest in them after their wonder run ended in November...
Haiz, everyone is a glory hunter huh....
Next season hard to say. I see many clubs competing next year to try not get relegated.
Hull, Stroke, Wolves, Birmingham, Burnley, Sunderland are favorites to go down next season. Other probable candidates are Blackburn,Portsmouth,West Ham(if the Iceland guys sell all the players to pay debt), Fulham(seem to have overachieved like Reading in the past) and Wigan(key players has left and more might).
SpikyOyster
26-05-2009, 06:59 PM
A lot of Tiger fans lost interest in them after their wonder run ended in November...
Haiz, everyone is a glory hunter huh....
Footballer fans watching EPL games and following Hull progress does not mean that they are Hull football fans. :s13:
At this point of time, I am not sure if there are any Hull fan in Singapore. If there are any, I am keen to hear their story on how they became a Hull fan and I am almost certain they are unlikely to be glory hunter. :s13:
May be this is something a glory hunter fan would not be able to understand. :s13::s13:
++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
start of signature :s13:
Yah don't need to wonder all Manutd fans are glory-hunters. From Manchester (because City is the real Manchester club) to Singapore. You heard it here first..:(
Step by step in understanding Glory Hunter?
4. will overuse club mottos (which makes it more evident)
8. have limited merchandise before the successful years (most likely none)
13. will often be the most biased towards to compensate for the glory hunter status
14. will show more hate for other clubs to compensate for their glory hunter status
More info here:
Wiki definition of Glory Hunter:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Glory_hunter
http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=Glory+Hunter
end of signature :s13:
++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.