PDA

View Full Version : Where to buy Samsung/Huawei HSDPA Mobile Broadband Modem [No Contract]?

Capt_Caveman
25-05-2008, 12:17 PM
Hi Experts,

Does anyone know where these Broadband Mobile Modems can be purchase without contract?

For example if I dropped my stupid USB Huawei/Samsung USB stick or kena stolen, is there anyway I can get a cheap replacement?

Thank you.

liangtam
25-05-2008, 12:50 PM
http://www.singtelshop.com/store/product/mobile_view.asp?productnm=Huawei+E220+HSDPA+USB+Data+Card+(3.5G)-+(Singtelshop)

abduls85
25-05-2008, 05:21 PM
You can buy it of the shelf from starhub shops. i guess the cost will be about $398 for the huawei modem

Desmond_
25-05-2008, 07:00 PM
You can buy it of the shelf from starhub shops. i guess the cost will be about $398 for the huawei modem

then you go sign a singtel 1 year plan cheaper... each month only $22 for 6 month... free 6 month :o

danong
25-05-2008, 09:46 PM
I'm selling mine:
http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showthread.php?t=1970791

abduls85
25-05-2008, 09:58 PM
You can add in a bit more $$$ and buy a 3.5 G phone, which you can use to act as a modem and also a phone. Kill 2 birds with one stone. E.g HTC diamond ( not out yet ) supports HSPDA up to 7.2 MBps. The highest i have seen for a mobile phone.

liangtam
25-05-2008, 11:00 PM
There are advantages in getting a standalone modem, which gives the benefit of stable connection/latency compared to a phone.
Upload is also a consideration which most phone does not advertise becos its not up to mark.

esmund
26-05-2008, 10:45 AM
You can add in a bit more $$$ and buy a 3.5 G phone, which you can use to act as a modem and also a phone. Kill 2 birds with one stone. E.g HTC diamond ( not out yet ) supports HSPDA up to 7.2 MBps. The highest i have seen for a mobile phone.

the imate and samsung i780 are 7.2mbps already... :)

abduls85
26-05-2008, 06:34 PM
I dun tink SS I780 supports up to 7.2 MBps
http://www.gsmarena.com/samsung_i780-2124.php

Imate is not listed as well
http://www.gsmarena.com/i_mate_ultimate_8502-2157.php

But HTC diamond ( very nice ) is 7.2 MBps
http://www.gsmarena.com/htc_touch_diamond-2368.php

ironman4672
26-05-2008, 07:16 PM
Hi Experts,

Does anyone know where these Broadband Mobile Modems can be purchase without contract?

For example if I dropped my stupid USB Huawei/Samsung USB stick or kena stolen, is there anyway I can get a cheap replacement?

Thank you.

just subscribing to a new 12 mths contract bbom can get one free liao la.....;););)

mosmos
26-05-2008, 07:28 PM
JB city square.:crazy:

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/scan0001-32.jpg

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii224/mosmos88/scan0002-18.jpg

kristene
28-05-2008, 12:24 AM
I need some help here.

My elder bro's in Perth now for training & he intends to get a mobile modem from Vodafone. However, it costs A$199 & will be bonded by a 2-year contract.

So, he called me this morning & asked if I could get a mobile modem here.

However, I'm wondering if the mobile modem here is usable in Perth (Australia)? :s11:

Also, how much would it cost to get one here? After converting A$199, it should be between S$250-S$260. So, he wants to understand which is more worth it, getting it in Perth or in SG?

Btw, he's a cadet pilot now, so only brings home a miserable S$960. ._.

Thanks in advance! ;)

ViperKnight
28-05-2008, 07:19 PM
Else you can check out mediapro. Saw them selling 3.5G USB Modem there.

ethanhua
20-02-2009, 05:09 PM

Do you know the price?

ivan_hwa
23-02-2009, 05:33 PM

read this.

http://i708.photobucket.com/albums/ww89/ivan_hwa/prolink.jpg

hastalavista
23-02-2009, 06:42 PM
True not not? $1 selling price. I WANT!!!

ethanhua
03-03-2009, 01:52 PM
read this.

http://i708.photobucket.com/albums/ww89/ivan_hwa/prolink.jpg

So Prolink usb modem can work with three telecom loh..... HUAWEI modem from M1 seems can not work with other two. M1 sales told me that.

liangtam
03-03-2009, 02:09 PM
Don't believe what they say.
In SG, phone equipment cannot be locked to specific carrier. Tho I got no idea for loaned sets.

$1 modem i dun mind oso

stussyking
04-03-2009, 01:47 AM
So Prolink usb modem can work with three telecom loh..... HUAWEI modem from M1 seems can not work with other two. M1 sales told me that.

lol.. is that suppose to be a price mistake ? anyone bought the set at $1 ?

CarteBlanche
04-03-2009, 10:23 AM
the actual price is $169. saw it from pHing website. The $1 is a marketing gimmick

liangtam
04-03-2009, 12:41 PM
hsdpa modem 169 still relatively cheap tho, hmm...

nickyng
05-03-2009, 01:46 PM
i m selling my samsung Z800 HSPDA data modem with the short USB cable...any1 interest PM me your offer :)

mrcpl08
19-10-2009, 09:54 AM
Hi Experts,

Thank you.

I have sell many brand unlock mobile broadband device
More information visit
ssmhome.web.officelive.com

Sp1der
19-10-2009, 08:50 PM
i have a samsung Z800 HSPDA lying around :D