PDA

View Full Version : Singnet MIO vs Starhub Maxoline Pros and cons

itsme220
31-05-2008, 03:38 PM
Singnet MIO:
Pros:

Very good speed to all international websites. Stable speed during peak hours and non peak hours. I can get constant 2000Kbs download speed during peak hours and non peak hours to international location.

I save $10 per month. (Residencial tel line, Mobile plan and Broadband MIO 3000 Kbs)

Cons:

So far 4 times broke down with in 9 months. Tech. visited all the 4 times to my home and I took 4 (1/2 days) leave to fix.

Customer support really bad.

Inflexible Support.

Technician will not visit your house after evening 6.0 PM.

Accessing certain webservices will not work. (In my case if I have a application which usesWebservices to download some information it will not work)

Currenly VPN (Virtual private network to access your office network from home) stopped working.

Starhub Maxonline

Pros:

Stable. Really very stable. I used this service for 4 years before switching to Singnet. I never encounter any issues.

Friendly and understanding customer service.

Very flexible customer support. five star *

All webservice, VPN works perfectly.

Quick response.

Cons

Poor download speed to international location during peak hours.

Slightly expensive (Maxonline express) + Telephone + Free Digital voice. (Need to spend additional $10 per month)

Please share your experience.:s12:

MarineX
31-05-2008, 05:08 PM
Singnet MIO:
Pros:

Very good speed to all international websites. Stable speed during peak hours and non peak hours. I can get constant 2000Kbs download speed during peak hours and non peak hours to international location.

I save $10 per month. (Residencial tel line, Mobile plan and Broadband MIO 3000 Kbs)

Cons:

So far 4 times broke down with in 9 months. Tech. visited all the 4 times to my home and I took 4 (1/2 days) leave to fix.

Customer support really bad.

Inflexible Support.

Technician will not visit your house after evening 6.0 PM.

Accessing certain webservices will not work. (In my case if I have a application which usesWebservices to download some information it will not work)

Currenly VPN (Virtual private network to access your office network from home) stopped working.

Starhub Maxonline

Pros:

Stable. Really very stable. I used this service for 4 years before switching to Singnet. I never encounter any issues.

Friendly and understanding customer service.

Very flexible customer support. five star *

All webservice, VPN works perfectly.

Quick response.

Cons

Poor download speed to international location during peak hours.

Slightly expensive (Maxonline express) + Telephone + Free Digital voice. (Need to spend additional $10 per month)

Please share your experience.:s12:

that's why i am using Starhub and not SINGNET - so many problems.

not configuration problem but hardware issues.

DSL forever blinking(either line or modem failure)..

have to remember login ID and pw in case hardware failure

alot of sites cannot accessed, especially china sites(test with a number of modem still it doesnt work - i believe its the ISP that banned it)

the bundled 2WIRE modem doesn't works with tons of applications despite opening up ports, dmz and etc.

even when bridging it.. it solves a number of issues yet tons still left running problematically.

CSO forever asking me to hit the reset button(din they know the reset button merely set the bloody firmware in it back to factory settings only?) yet doesn't solve my pain..

Outlook eXpress having problems at times.
VPN crazy problem forever cannot login..
Yahoo Messenger ain't possible to login with via MAC book.

what else? too many things to listed out.. have to spend cash to get a different modem.. what the.

whereas other modem does the job pretty well - still there are certain applications/sites ain't able to boot pretty well..

divasion
31-05-2008, 05:33 PM
What happend if we forget our user and id,is there anyway we can prove the the person this connection is ours?or is there anyway to gt back the user and id?

haylui
31-05-2008, 06:12 PM
so far all broke down can fix on my own
singnet user here
experienced dc for 3 times last week so far. else connection very stable.

silthfire
31-05-2008, 06:47 PM
singnet user since jan 08...nvr encounter any dc

liangtam
31-05-2008, 06:55 PM
odd excuses reh... if u can remember ur email password, u could have done it for ur singnet account as well

kivine
31-05-2008, 07:30 PM
starhub is the best for stability. i nv care much for speed anyway. Imagine when ur internet breaks down it would **** bricks for me.

aaur4man
31-05-2008, 07:33 PM
my experience with adsl and cable:

ADSL NON MIO on 3rd party modem, not 2wire
1) Good international speeds anytime of the day. BT downloads fast, but cant set too many peers if not will start to dc other apps. I believe it is hardware/settings problem, still playing around with them. 95% of advertised download speed not a problem.

Sites that cant be accessed normally can be done through singnet web proxy. My opera browser uses web proxy while IE 7 is normal.

2) Never DC after the 1st week unless i change router settings. Internet is always on 24/7.

3) Upload speed much higher compared to cable, less the ultimate plan.

4) No more lag when hosting dota, can do BT at the same time. My friends mocked at my new com last year when i hosted them with cable 8 mbps. i'll never forget that.

5) unique IP, no problem with google or rapidshare or whatever share.

Cable

Before all these below, I have called the hotline many times throughout the 4++yrs of usage. Technician came to my place. inspected the whole setup and optimized it. Checked with his tester that signal is at least good, if not excellent with no noise interference.

1) 100% dialup speed from 9pm-1am which also affects local sites. on the whole the bandwidth is pretty much screwed up. 9am-2pm can get up to 70% of advertised speed, then slowly drops throughout the day. BT is can forget about it. I have never gotten 90% download speed on any medium except local sg/partnered sites, since after 1.5mbps got a free upgrade to 2mbps, all the way till 8mbps.

2) VERY STABLE connection, rarely dc. Once on, just surf. back then adsl still had to manually sign in iirc.

3) My 8mbps max upload can go 30k/s, but after 15k/s download speed drops drastically, laggy experience throughout. thus upload capped at 15k/s 24/7.

4) gave up on online games.

5) try again, says google and rapidshare.

my friends on cable @ other parts of sg(potong pasir,bedok,tampines) getting decent speeds, other friends including me staying west cannot tahan the mossy pipe.

ultimately the choice of ISP is still subject to area and dsl line quality. its up to the user to find out which isp works better for his residence.

ohmygod1986
31-05-2008, 07:39 PM
Singnet users with no dc problem should be the happiest user :yawn::yawn::yawn:

chunxi
31-05-2008, 07:46 PM
back then have to remember userid and password bcos singnet is only using usb modem and windows login process
nowaday, all these userid/password is stored in the modem/router, no need to remember even power failure.

MarineX
31-05-2008, 09:00 PM
back then have to remember userid and password bcos singnet is only using usb modem and windows login process
nowaday, all these userid/password is stored in the modem/router, no need to remember even power failure.

agree, if hardware failure how? yawnz.

email password and login password is different.

i changed email pw budden my login pw w not follow suit - fyi in my case thou.

gaming with mol(dota) with 3 accounts login in at once hv got no latency problem.. despite having 1 as host 2 as client(all wireless somemore) bnet.

same goes for cs1.6.

other games did not try - yet.

Disincarnate
31-05-2008, 09:07 PM
my 24mth contract to premium ends soon....now in a vex , on whether to go to singnet or stay on starhub.?

MarineX
31-05-2008, 09:18 PM
my 24mth contract to premium ends soon....now in a vex , on whether to go to singnet or stay on starhub.?

change. so those loyal t shub will not be squeezing s badly with the bandwidth(mentioned by some singnet users w regards to the sharing of pipes) - lol!!!

liangtam
31-05-2008, 09:19 PM

right, by what you're saying, you would have probably forgotton ur email password as well, no?

congster2
31-05-2008, 09:48 PM
using starhub. the BT throttling is really *(@#&$

will switch back to singnet once my contract is up by the end of the year.

hwzone_sg
31-05-2008, 10:04 PM
singnet mio user since feb07. initial 1st month frequent d/c issue but discovered problem lies with the extension power point cable faulty, changed to a new one, no d/c ever since. p2p good speed and stable. overall good and no complains.

MarineX
01-06-2008, 12:09 AM
right, by what you're saying, you would have probably forgotton ur email password as well, no?

yes, i hardly use singnet email.

using starhub. the BT throttling is really *(@#&$

will switch back to singnet once my contract is up by the end of the year.

throttling? so far i am still receiving higher than SNBB downloads speed.

singnet mio user since feb07. initial 1st month frequent d/c issue but discovered problem lies with the extension power point cable faulty, changed to a new one, no d/c ever since. p2p good speed and stable. overall good and no complains.

tt means still got problem - i have 0 from starhub up till date and that's why i have not change isp. lol.

liangtam
01-06-2008, 12:26 AM
yes, i hardly use singnet email.

hwz forum login password?
You should have forgotton about this as well, don't you?

MarineX
01-06-2008, 01:29 AM

hmm.. nope as i use it on a daily basis.. the login id and pw u dun use it daily do u? as what it states - all you need is to config once and everything will be stored in the device itself... yawnz

chunxi
01-06-2008, 01:29 AM

i don't even think he got use singnet before or used it at least 5 years ago.
can see from all his reply in so many threads, all promoting starhub best this and best that.
let's hope starhub continue to provide him with all these excellent service and standard.

i dislike starhub bcos once my tv is spoil by the cable point bcos 240v flowing down thru it fried my tv, when i ask the technician to come, he still have the face to tell me it's normal. now i always ground that stupid antenna. maybe 1 day i will also pump 240v in to blow the whole block.

chunxi
01-06-2008, 01:37 AM
hmm.. nope as i use it on a daily basis.. the login id and pw u dun use it daily do u? as what it states - all you need is to config once and everything will be stored in the device itself... yawnz

so to repeat your own question to you, what happen if the device break down ? :s8:

erwinrommel
01-06-2008, 01:56 AM
Singnet users with no dc problem should be the happiest user :yawn::yawn::yawn:

Yup! Singtel 8Mbps Mio user here. My brother, brother-in-law and me have nothing but praise for its speed.

Currently staying in south Woodlands which is pretty new. In fact, my friends who stay in Toa Payoh, Bishan,AMK and Hougang don't complain about DCs.

MarineX
01-06-2008, 01:56 AM
i don't even think he got use singnet before or used it at least 5 years ago.
can see from all his reply in so many threads, all promoting starhub best this and best that.
let's hope starhub continue to provide him with all these excellent service and standard.

i dislike starhub bcos once my tv is spoil by the cable point bcos 240v flowing down thru it fried my tv, when i ask the technician to come, he still have the face to tell me it's normal. now i always ground that stupid antenna. maybe 1 day i will also pump 240v in to blow the whole block.

hahas, don't guess please. my company is using that 2pid singnet services thou. lol - i m not promoting just stating the facts that im receiving, honestly i want more people to go over to Singnet so i can attain rox speed from Starhub personally w/o having the need to worry about what some people say with regards to the bandwidth is being shared... LOL to this manz.

you too ain't you promoting Singnet?

furthermore i don't have an extremely pleasant experience with the great red pipe..

so to repeat your own question to you, what happen if the device break down ? :s8:

device breakdown, change device - re-key in your username and password again.

btw, im using SINGNET almost every day during work. LOL - fyi.

YAWNzzzzz

liangtam
01-06-2008, 02:02 AM
When more ppl ish switch away from MOL, they'll drop more upstream pipe, thereby ur connection will slow further, and u can only LL :)

MarineX
01-06-2008, 02:04 AM
When more ppl ish switch away from MOL, they'll drop more upstream pipe, thereby ur connection will slow further, and u can only LL :)

let's see ba - even my surrounding friends have got no problem. if what you say is true i will be switching then.. till then.

hwzone_sg
01-06-2008, 09:06 AM
@ MarineX

you are mistaken. i have 0 from singnet up till date too. i am saying is the power point, you know the power point where you plug in to on your microwave oven or fridge, it's the extension cable(you know those long long wires to extend from the wall socket to where ever kind) for the power point that was faulty.

eddy2099sg
01-06-2008, 09:19 AM
Let's be civil here. I don't think anyone here is wrong about their personal experiences. Most people would not have both SNBB and Starhub installed in the same location and testing simultaneously.

If one network is really problematic for everyone, no one would be using them anymore. As that is not happening, there would be people happy with both network and the experience would vary from location to location and from usage to usage.

I am personally happy with my Starhub Hubstation and do not experience the latency which others have experience with it.

tamashi1987
01-06-2008, 10:24 AM
my experience with adsl and cable:

ADSL NON MIO on 3rd party modem, not 2wire
1) Good international speeds anytime of the day. BT downloads fast, but cant set too many peers if not will start to dc other apps. I believe it is hardware/settings problem, still playing around with them. 95% of advertised download speed not a problem.

Sites that cant be accessed normally can be done through singnet web proxy. My opera browser uses web proxy while IE 7 is normal.

2) Never DC after the 1st week unless i change router settings. Internet is always on 24/7.

3) Upload speed much higher compared to cable, less the ultimate plan.

4) No more lag when hosting dota, can do BT at the same time. My friends mocked at my new com last year when i hosted them with cable 8 mbps. i'll never forget that.

5) unique IP, no problem with google or rapidshare or whatever share.

Cable

Before all these below, I have called the hotline many times throughout the 4++yrs of usage. Technician came to my place. inspected the whole setup and optimized it. Checked with his tester that signal is at least good, if not excellent with no noise interference.

1) 100% dialup speed from 9pm-1am which also affects local sites. on the whole the bandwidth is pretty much screwed up. 9am-2pm can get up to 70% of advertised speed, then slowly drops throughout the day. BT is can forget about it. I have never gotten 90% download speed on any medium except local sg/partnered sites, since after 1.5mbps got a free upgrade to 2mbps, all the way till 8mbps.

2) VERY STABLE connection, rarely dc. Once on, just surf. back then adsl still had to manually sign in iirc.

3) My 8mbps max upload can go 30k/s, but after 15k/s download speed drops drastically, laggy experience throughout. thus upload capped at 15k/s 24/7.

4) gave up on online games.

5) try again, says google and rapidshare.

my friends on cable @ other parts of sg(potong pasir,bedok,tampines) getting decent speeds, other friends including me staying west cannot tahan the mossy pipe.

ultimately the choice of ISP is still subject to area and dsl line quality. its up to the user to find out which isp works better for his residence.

hmm which modem do u use? 3rd party modem better than the SN 2wire?

playst
01-06-2008, 10:59 AM
Singtel download speed is much faster.

:)

SSnag
01-06-2008, 11:18 AM

gaming with mol(dota) with 3 accounts login in at once hv got no latency problem.. despite having 1 as host 2 as client(all wireless somemore) bnet.

same goes for cs1.6.

other games did not try - yet.

yr password can be changed via https://userweb.singnet.com.sg/ConsumerBroadbandMenu.shtml
do take note account pwd = login, email pwd = email

maybe can change it to yr internet banking pin, if u still remember ya?

richneo
01-06-2008, 11:46 AM
Im using StarHub since day 1.

Currently on MOL ultimate plan.

very very very satisfied with it.

Bloodlust
01-06-2008, 12:06 PM

For the price you are paying, you should be.

Ultimate users = VIP
Premium = Above average
Express = chopped liver?

:D

MarineX
01-06-2008, 12:12 PM

Ultimate users = VIP
Premium = Above average
Express = chopped liver?

im with Premium thou.. no complaints..

most complaints somehow or rather came from eXpress? lol

richneo
01-06-2008, 12:42 PM

Ultimate users = VIP
Premium = Above average
Express = chopped liver?

haha bro long time no see

LemonT
01-06-2008, 04:14 PM
The 1 thing that still baffles me with Singnet is their CS closes at 12am! :eek:

divasion
01-06-2008, 07:00 PM
I heard that starhub 100mbps speed is = singnet 10/8mbps or something.Is that true?

MarineX
01-06-2008, 07:07 PM
I heard that starhub 100mbps speed is = singnet 10/8mbps or something.Is that true?

no, that isnt true.

ohmygod1986
01-06-2008, 07:20 PM

Starhub offers 100mbps for partner sites ...

As for other sites ... Singnet FTW :s12::s12::s12:

itsme220
01-06-2008, 07:38 PM

If you are surfing local sites (hosted in Singapore data centre) I think Starhub is best.

If you are surfing international sites (Sites which are hosted in overseas) Singtel is best.

The verdict

You want to suffer daily using Starhub MOL (low download speed for overseas sites including Yourtube.com) or You want to suffer once in a while using Singnet MIO? Decide.=:p

richneo
01-06-2008, 08:29 PM
more like 100mbps on mol ultimate almost on par with singnet 25mbps

except that singnet suffers more down time and dc as compared to cable

itsme220
01-06-2008, 11:04 PM

From Starhub

try to compare your speed with overseas server during peak hours (singapore time 10.0 PM). You will know how bad starhub is performing. or download youtube video.

Note use direct wired connection not wireless connection.

If you have any friends/ good neighbor who has signet, do the same at same time. (with in 5 minutes of starhub test time)

You will see significant difference.

Then share your thoughts. I am sure you will appreciate singtel better in terms of speed.:s12:

kohlaiheng
02-06-2008, 10:05 AM
to me if you choose starhub or singnet ultimate plan makes sure you get the best freebies. the only consolation for you other than paying sky high prices! 100Mbps is just a name locally, in the evening time you can see that 100mbps will not performed as expected. be wise as two years is not a short period, you are paying thousands of dollars for it with the hefty penalty if you unable to complete the contract. Be happy! :s12:

FireHobbit
02-06-2008, 11:35 AM
starhub trottle alot...

wohouboy
02-06-2008, 11:45 AM
Singnet Always DC? My Linksys AM300 connected 15 days and going strong liao leh.

liangtam
02-06-2008, 11:54 AM
Singnet Always DC? My Linksys AM300 connected 15 days and going strong liao leh.

Can hit 30 days one :)

tglim7
02-06-2008, 02:35 PM
will starhub having promotions for pc show later esp on mol express plan?? thinking to wait or just sign up now..any suggestions?

ant3202
02-06-2008, 02:42 PM
my house is the best example...
last time alot of SH******** SSID
now alot of 2WIRE***
so ... the answer is obvious now

liangtam
02-06-2008, 05:01 PM
my house is the best example...
last time alot of SH******** SSID
now alot of 2WIRE***
so ... the answer is obvious now

SHxxx is not practised ma, if u do a search, most of the existing Linksys are probably still MOL users.

ant3202
02-06-2008, 11:53 PM
SHxxx is not practised ma, if u do a search, most of the existing Linksys are probably still MOL users.

true hahas....
sometimes i accidentally connect in and found in their ISP...
the SSID,
sh******* ...
is the starhub ppl set 1 ?

FireHobbit
03-06-2008, 12:55 AM
for the motorola modem lor

eddy2099sg
03-06-2008, 06:58 AM
will starhub having promotions for pc show later esp on mol express plan?? thinking to wait or just sign up now..any suggestions?

It is hard to say. Sometimes they just bring the same current offer to the show while other times they have something special. But you be sure that during the show, the line would usually be long. Not sure about this time though with all the bad publicity here at HWZ.

Anyways, if you do not need it now then wait since it is only about a week away.

tglim7
03-06-2008, 08:41 AM
It is hard to say. Sometimes they just bring the same current offer to the show while other times they have something special. But you be sure that during the show, the line would usually be long. Not sure about this time though with all the bad publicity here at HWZ.

Anyways, if you do not need it now then wait since it is only about a week away.

i think i wont wait already since i believe the q v long n pack. just curious, normally what promotion will they have, price discount or freebies??
if i sign up on weekends, will they have promotions compared on weekdays? thanks

eddy2099sg
03-06-2008, 08:57 AM
Last year at the Comex, the offer at the fair and in the store was the same. I cannot quite remember if during the fair timeframe if the offer also applies to the store.

If you like what they offer now, no harm getting it.

chunxi
03-06-2008, 09:13 AM

people at those queue don't read hwz one de:yawn:

lobo76
03-06-2008, 12:45 PM
singnet got some online storage service? I found it wasn't secure... someone gave me a link and I could see private photos... unfortunately, I couldn't find any 'exciting' photos. :P

cscs3
03-06-2008, 09:21 PM
SH mobile boardband is down whole day today. Connection is ok. But you cannot go to any website.

yx2000
04-06-2008, 05:06 PM
Qn to Singnet users!

Do you guys download a lot of stuff from BT? You know what stuff I meant.... :s8:

QingZi
05-06-2008, 01:18 PM
u cant compare singnet and starhub by posting on the forums. its really the area u r in that matters. i always see complains about singnet dcing every now and then.. starhub very stable.. but my frens always complain starhub slow like fug and i have never experienced a single dc from singnet since i sign up for it on year 2001.

purplewave
05-06-2008, 02:30 PM
i am thinking of switching to MIO after my starhub contract ends in 1 week's time

a1v1n4
06-06-2008, 11:31 AM
I'm with Singnet for close to 8 years and have experienced numerous times of DC.
more and more Frustrating each time.

always heard that Starhub has no DC problems...
erm, im confused .... is dl speed(BT) bad for starhub?

oyebto
06-06-2008, 11:38 AM
i am thinking of switching to MIO after my starhub contract ends in 1 week's time
i am using mio 3mbps at tampines. no disconnections since last year when i changed my 1st faulty mio modem to a second one. super reliable. no wifi dropouts too after a wifi upgrade on my laptop.

gt_5454
06-06-2008, 01:30 PM
Hi guys... I am a Singnet user whom contract is ending soon...
Am thinking of switching to MIO plan which consist of Home phone, Mobile and Broadband...
May I know how is the stability of the system now as I heard years ago it suffered from a lot of issues...Also heard that its recommended to retain my analogue hone phone instead of opting for the digital voice thingy... what is recommended? and any pros and cons?

MarineX
06-06-2008, 05:59 PM
Hi guys... I am a Singnet user whom contract is ending soon...
Am thinking of switching to MIO plan which consist of Home phone, Mobile and Broadband...
May I know how is the stability of the system now as I heard years ago it suffered from a lot of issues...Also heard that its recommended to retain my analogue hone phone instead of opting for the digital voice thingy... what is recommended? and any pros and cons?

nope. MIO only comes with digital line. you cant have 2 of best worlds.

MIO modem always down. at most last u 2 years(problem free)

ironman4672
06-06-2008, 06:07 PM
I'm with Singnet for close to 8 years and have experienced numerous times of DC.
more and more Frustrating each time.

always heard that Starhub has no DC problems...
erm, im confused .... is dl speed(BT) bad for starhub?

starhub has no dc prob... this is true... but their dl speed for bt sucks big time... u won't want to use it most of the time.. becos the speed is too bad already....;););)

liangtam
06-06-2008, 06:11 PM
starhub has no dc prob... this is true... but their dl speed for bt sucks big time... u won't want to use it most of the time.. becos the speed is too bad already....;););)

http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showthread.php?t=1986152

ironman4672
06-06-2008, 06:19 PM
http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showthread.php?t=1986152

obviously this is a isolated case, and not all ppl are subscribing to such high plan and using the modem... most ppl are using the black color modem + subscribing to the mol express only.... and so far 90% of the mol users are complaining slow... especially for bt... u must compare apple to apple pls....;);););)

a super lousy class also can have scholar one... but it does not every one will becos of the 1 scholar and become scholars too....

liangtam
06-06-2008, 06:24 PM
obviously this is a isolated case, and not all ppl are subscribing to such high plan and using the modem... most ppl are using the black color modem + subscribing to the mol express only.... and so far 90% of the mol users are complaining slow... especially for bt... u must compare apple to apple pls....;);););)
No, was saying must use secret formula...

Oops, said too much riao :o

a super lousy class also can have scholar one... but it does not every one will becos of the 1 scholar and become scholars too....

:s11::s11:

ironman4672
06-06-2008, 06:27 PM

yup, there may have setting to hit the speed... not many know and since there are so many selfish ppl like u... u are just demonstrating ur selfishness only by making all those comments while u alone are enjoying thru ur own secret formula... there is nothing to be proud of for being selfish.. that's what i can say....;)

ironman4672
06-06-2008, 06:29 PM

and for me i am happy with my 512kbps bbom, i am paying 5 times lesser that i am paying for my mol express last time... and i can get much higher speed than mol express, especially for bt, i can hit the max speed even without any secret formula, i am more than contented already...;)

liangtam
06-06-2008, 06:33 PM
yup, there may have setting to hit the speed... not many know and since there are so many selfish ppl like u... u are just demonstrating ur selfishness only by making all those comments while u alone are enjoying thru ur own secret formula... there is nothing to be proud of for being selfish.. that's what i can say....;)

its called secret formula for a reason reh :s22:

PS: Moi ish use PacMan, lets just say its not a fast plan - no nid apply formulas one :D

dk2000
08-06-2008, 02:11 AM
Q.Will upgrading to MaxOnline Premium from MaxOnline Express mean that my speed will be doubled?
A. Your connection or last mile speed is doubled. But your actual surfing speeds will not because there could be bottlenecks in different parts of the Internet, and not at your broadband line. In the past, the bottleneck was often the last mile connection but with falling business bandwidth prices and advancements in technology, this is no longer the case.

In fact, if you are doing only regular Internet surfing and checking ofe-mails, there will not be much difference in your user experience whether you are on MaxOnline Express or MaxOnline Premium because the data traffic is small. However, if you engage in a lot of video streaming, downloads, online games and other activities where a lot of data is flowing through in any second, migrating to a higher "speed" service will mean a significant increase in your actual user experience. Also, if you are sharing your line with multiple users in a household, having a bigger pipe will also mean that each user will have more bandwidth.

terasatu
11-12-2008, 05:13 PM
Seeking your advice. First:- What's DC? Second I've been refusing all these years to install cable, because i live in a bungalow & Starhub wants to charge $6,000/- to connect. Now they offer to connect free, if I sign-up with them at minimum $128.40 for 24 months for TV + Internet.( $3,081.60) The advantage to me is I can get to see. motor spot chanells on TV. I'm currently with Singnet 8Mbps & the youngsters are happy with the speed. However my daughter says stay with Singnet & don't change to Starhub, because her friends hsve experienced slow speeds. Anyone experienced using Starhub 100Mbps & how does it compare with Singnet
8Mbps or 10Mbps. Your valued comments& experiences are welcomed & appreciated........Terasatu

gilaboyfjs
11-12-2008, 05:55 PM
dc - disconnect

MrJacky
11-12-2008, 08:22 PM
Seeking your advice. First:- What's DC? Second I've been refusing all these years to install cable, because i live in a bungalow & Starhub wants to charge $6,000/- to connect. Now they offer to connect free, if I sign-up with them at minimum $128.40 for 24 months for TV + Internet.( $3,081.60) The advantage to me is I can get to see. motor spot chanells on TV. I'm currently with Singnet 8Mbps & the youngsters are happy with the speed. However my daughter says stay with Singnet & don't change to Starhub, because her friends hsve experienced slow speeds. Anyone experienced using Starhub 100Mbps & how does it compare with Singnet
8Mbps or 10Mbps. Your valued comments& experiences are welcomed & appreciated........Terasatu
Youngsters like to game. You should stick with SingNet for better latency.

For gaming latency is more important than the speed. StarHub can offer you high speed with their cable technology but you are getting a clogged connection with a very high latency. I won't be surprised if they start cussing and swearing when they use MaxOnline to game.

ohmygod1986
11-12-2008, 09:50 PM

Listen to your kids advice ... :yawn::yawn::yawn:

terasatu
14-12-2008, 09:48 AM
Many thanks for all your valued inputs.
Anyone have comparative results between Singnet's 8Mbps & Starhub's 8Mbps & 100Mbps broard band plans?

gilaboyfjs
14-12-2008, 12:01 PM
Anyone have comparative results between Singnet's 8Mbps & Starhub's 8Mbps & 100Mbps broard band plans?

i doubt anyone subscribes to both isp's.

liangtam
14-12-2008, 12:29 PM
i doubt anyone subscribes to both isp's.

Obviously have la, paging for phuque99 :)

Download choose green
Gaming choose red

Understand what your daughter needs first :)

bluesteo
15-12-2008, 08:11 PM
Hi, got a question here.
i am a current singnet subscriber whose contract had expired but is interested in subscribing to Starhub's Triple Freedom Pack (http://www.starhub.com/portal/site/HubVillage/menuitem.8314480120af77b7eaaf3b608324a5a0/?vgnextoid=e2fd1840a0e3c010VgnVCM10000038425a0aRCRD&vgnextfmt=ItemCMId%3A7d835e1ed5dbd110VgnVCM100000464114acRCRD).
Do i just go to any Starhub branch shops and register and they give us the set-top box and motorola modem and set up ourselves since they says it plug n play or they have to do the installation for us?

thanks

phuque99
15-12-2008, 08:19 PM
Hi, got a question here.
i am a current singnet subscriber whose contract had expired but is interested in subscribing to Starhub's Triple Freedom Pack (http://www.starhub.com/portal/site/HubVillage/menuitem.8314480120af77b7eaaf3b608324a5a0/?vgnextoid=e2fd1840a0e3c010VgnVCM10000038425a0aRCRD&vgnextfmt=ItemCMId%3A7d835e1ed5dbd110VgnVCM100000464114acRCRD).
Do i just go to any Starhub branch shops and register and they give us the set-top box and motorola modem and set up ourselves since they says it plug n play or they have to do the installation for us?

thanks

Call 1633, their answer will be fast, accurate and correct.

phuque99
15-12-2008, 08:25 PM
Obviously have la, paging for phuque99 :)

Download choose green
Gaming choose red

Understand what your daughter needs first :)

Only comment is peak period after dinner and weekend, Starhub is visibly slower. Otherwise, DSL disconnect problem or dunno what signal issue, depends if you heng suay home wiring problem.

jellyboy
15-12-2008, 10:58 PM
I'm using the miohome 3mbps and maxonline premium 12mbps at home, still on contract for starhub till april then gonna cut off. Like what most people say, during peak hours starhub makes you wanna kill someone if you are surfing the web or watching youtube. I have resigned myself during peak hours to just sending files to my friends with starhub's superior upload speed :s22: