View Full Version : INTERESTING THINGS IN KL!
inanimate
02-06-2008, 02:29 PM
Hey people, i just planned a trip to KL together with a group of my friends. The last time i went there was quite a few years ago, don't really know the place too well. Please share all the nice and interesting places to shop and to get good food! :) cheers!
canornot
04-06-2008, 05:47 PM
u should go to The Curve shopping mall during nite time... then go grab some beers at Laundry bar.. one of the most happening places in kl now... if u r into football oso... laundry bar is perfect place to watch outdoor giant screen... location map of The Curve: http://mapdoo.com/?id=aab126679
more to come if u wanna know more :P
durkheimian
05-06-2008, 09:49 PM
my $0.02 worth
berjaya times square, window shopping/actual shopping.
jalan alor - supper/dinner
chinatown - night market/supper
sungei wang - shopping + hong kong restoran
opp. time sq - KL 'sim lim sq'
batu cave - if nothing better to do + local produce shop near batu cave
others
beanstalk6
08-06-2008, 11:16 PM
my $0.02 worth
berjaya times square, window shopping/actual shopping.
jalan alor - supper/dinner
chinatown - night market/supper
sungei wang - shopping + hong kong restoran
opp. time sq - KL 'sim lim sq'
batu cave - if nothing better to do + local produce shop near batu cave
others
Visit the Petronas Twin Towers. Still good for a free visit. Join the queue for the ticket in the morning, then return for the visit appointment. Little Penang Cafe in Suria serves good Penang food.
There are good live bands in the night spots in KL. Jalan P Ramlee.
inanimate
09-06-2008, 09:56 AM
haha mmm thank you guys for the info! haha, i tot the thread was dead. canornot, what other info do you have on KL? haha, care to share? :) thanks peeps anyways! have a great day ahead. cheers!
durkheimian
09-06-2008, 10:33 AM
if you are game for some childhood, you may go in to the indoor theme park at berjaya time square.
frankly speaking, i have been there before, got complimentary tix.. not bad lah.. quite fun
inanimate
09-06-2008, 12:30 PM
mm alrighty, what about like pubs? or clubs? thought of going to zouk, but some of us in the group are like under 23. heard tt at zouk the minimum age is like 23? any other famous and not too sleazy or far away kinda place to club or pub? and good supper place after tt? :) i'll be staying @ swiss garden. so prefably near the location. or short cabbing distance would be cool too. thanks a bunch guys! :)
durkheimian
09-06-2008, 07:43 PM
last time when i went, there is this club call thai club or something like that. but imo, it is sleazier than zoukclub lah. i think below 23 can enter zouk. in singapore you only need to be 23 to enter Velvet Underground, i guess its the same for msia. but if you want, there is hard rock cafe as well. i think hard rock is quite unsleazy.
southadam
09-06-2008, 10:11 PM
You can try Kg. Baru near Tune Hotel by AirAsia. Very good hang out place for clubbing.
canornot
10-06-2008, 01:44 PM
haha mmm thank you guys for the info! haha, i tot the thread was dead. canornot, what other info do you have on KL? haha, care to share? :) thanks peeps anyways! have a great day ahead. cheers!
hi inanimate... based on the hotel location... i would recommend Lunar Bar... it is a bar located at the rooftop of a hotel. the nite view of the KL city especially the twin towers is awesome... but of course i care more abt watching pretty gals... :D
Lunar bar location map: http://mapdoo.com/?id=aab126867
Swiss garden location map: http://mapdoo.com/?id=aab123946
hey.. euro08 is on... perfect time to go to some outdoor bars watching giant screen live... :s12:
canornot
10-06-2008, 01:48 PM
You can try Kg. Baru near Tune Hotel by AirAsia. Very good hang out place for clubbing.
hey perhaps next time u can even stay at Tune Hotels and book online.. it is a subsidiary of Airasia... and the price starts from RM9.99... hehe no-frills fashion ma..... there is only 1 tune hotel at the center of kl now... at jalan TAR... location map and info here: http://mapdoo.com/?id=tun999001
:s12:
inanimate
11-06-2008, 12:10 PM
haha thank you guys for all the advice! thanks a bunch guys! anyway, my friend was asking me whether we can actually bring in alcohol of our own? cos i'll be going to hongkong w my family, probably can buy back from dfs for the trip and bring there if its possible. thanks guys! pls help me with my silly question! :D thanks again!
revenant
12-06-2008, 04:13 PM
Nice information!
Might be going KL with gf (anniversary) early next month.
Things that probably interest us.
1) Great food/seafood at affordable price. (any street side seafood restaurant?)
2) Great drinking place at affordable price. (Laundry Room?)
3) Great shopping at affordable price. (The Curve?)
4) Great hotel at affordable price. (near to the above few locations?)
Anyone? lol... ai pi ai ci ai tua liap ni..
Thanks.
Wood4
13-06-2008, 10:13 PM
Go to Pavillion ('KL Paragon' ),near to Bukit Bintang Plaza.
Go MidValley Megamall and the new The Garden next to it.
You may find many familiar shops as in S'pore.
Time Square for indoor theme park but it is relatively quiet.
KL Monorail (Raja Chulan Station ) for Pavillion ,IMbi station for Times Square and KTM Kommuter (MidValley Station) for MidValley/Garden .
Watch a weekday show for RM 8. Kids pay RM 6.
happycat
18-06-2008, 03:20 PM
love the steak from The Ship at bintang walk! (:
XiaoMiMi
18-06-2008, 10:12 PM
Paviliion like boring place leh, all expensive boutiques, I go inside walk one round sian liao. If u are goin Midvalley, can oso take free shuttle bus from bangsar LRT, but I never try b4, only read about it and hear pple say. Usually take kommuter, haha, so cheap rm1 only
valcee
22-06-2008, 03:49 PM
hey guys
I'll be visiting my bf in KL. He works near KLCC so i guess i'm on my own during working hours. Is it safe for a girl to travel to Pavilion, Mid Valley, Times Square alone during working hours say 11 - 6pm? So The Kommuter is the MRT right? Is that safer than taking the bus?
maxmuzzer00
22-06-2008, 07:03 PM
hi. just to ask, are the converse products cheaper in malaysia?
XiaoMiMi
22-06-2008, 09:46 PM
hey guys
I'll be visiting my bf in KL. He works near KLCC so i guess i'm on my own during working hours. Is it safe for a girl to travel to Pavilion, Mid Valley, Times Square alone during working hours say 11 - 6pm? So The Kommuter is the MRT right? Is that safer than taking the bus?
those places alot of pple, just use normal precaution can liao. but alot of pple mean beware pickpockets esp in crowded trains, even the onboard annoucement oso warn u lol.
kommuter is actually train linking nearby towns to kl, works the same as the LRT, but frequency around 10minutes plus. peak hours both systems can be sardine packed :(
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.