PDA

View Full Version : anybody use usenet here?

ablaze
02-06-2008, 08:15 PM
whats your max attainable speed? with multiple-downloads, my MOL premium can hit 3.6megabytes/s. pretty cool. anybody on singnet using newsgroups to download? care to share your speed?

liangtam
02-06-2008, 08:17 PM
how much u paid for usenet access?
u shld know most sporeans not willing to pay ma.

ablaze
02-06-2008, 08:30 PM
I've been playing with various free trials so still free. but if I sign up prob will be $15USD a month. but 3.6MB/s! thats crazy! thats like MOL 30000 speeds on a MOL 12000 connection! haha..

dk2000
03-06-2008, 01:58 AM
what sites?

ablaze
03-06-2008, 08:34 AM
giganews, astraweb, ngroups.net..

anybody else using??

rubicon
03-06-2008, 01:23 PM
I use giganews currently on SNBB on 10 mbps. I always get the full speed of 10 mpbs, usually more (towards 11 mbps).

aaur4man
03-06-2008, 02:44 PM
whats on offer there? i never knew how to use newsgroups.

liangtam
03-06-2008, 05:00 PM
Becareful, newsgroup is even more easy to throttle/block than P2P.

halocast
03-06-2008, 05:11 PM
newgroups? which is the best ?

i want to try out also

.. liangtam why issit easier? lol.. i tot its normal http?

lhahehal
03-06-2008, 06:34 PM
well there is one that i trial .. usenext
its extremely fast got max out speeds.

askh52
03-06-2008, 08:16 PM
giganews, astraweb, ngroups.net..

anybody else using??

astraweb u get 3.6!! :eek:
i only able to get my max(1.2)

steamywoks
03-06-2008, 08:54 PM
People still using p2p,torrents should try out newsgroup. No more p2p or torrents for me now, they are pathetically slow and not safe to use when there are cyber mattar out there.

ablaze
03-06-2008, 09:29 PM
askh52, I assume you're on SNBB 10Mbps too, like rubicon? 1.2Mb/s huh.. I'm a lil disappointed to hear that you guys can only "max out" your connection. I was all set to jump ship to SNBB already, but only now do I find the one redeeming factor Starhub still has. my MOL 12k theoretical max should be 1.5Mb/s but as I said it goes up to 3.6-3.7Mb/s! that's more than DOUBLE the theoretical max! ie. MOL 30K speeds with a MOL 12k connection!

for those that haven't tried this, you should. I'm glad I did after hearing about it for so long. go to www.giganews.com its the fastest. sign up for a free trial account and download away. 3.6Mb/s all day all night, off peak or peak hours. its crazy! :s22: such a far cry from the 30-50kb/s I get with torrents on the same connection. p2p vs newsgoups = 30kb/s vs 3700kb/s!!

liangtam
03-06-2008, 09:43 PM
its only temporary they give u more than what ur plan is ma...

furyoo
03-06-2008, 09:45 PM
xlned.com

Only $6 a month. How to beat?

Nichi
03-06-2008, 09:52 PM
askh52, I assume you're on SNBB 10Mbps too, like rubicon? 1.2Mb/s huh.. I'm a lil disappointed to hear that you guys can only "max out" your connection. I was all set to jump ship to SNBB already, but only now do I find the one redeeming factor Starhub still has. my MOL 12k theoretical max should be 1.5Mb/s but as I said it goes up to 3.6-3.7Mb/s! that's more than DOUBLE the theoretical max! ie. MOL 30K speeds with a MOL 12k connection!

for those that haven't tried this, you should. I'm glad I did after hearing about it for so long. go to www.giganews.com its the fastest. sign up for a free trial account and download away. 3.6Mb/s all day all night, off peak or peak hours. its crazy! :s22: such a far cry from the 30-50kb/s I get with torrents on the same connection. p2p vs newsgoups = 30kb/s vs 3700kb/s!!
wah need to use cc card when signing up for trial...

ablaze
03-06-2008, 10:05 PM
thats what I thought at first, but after signing up proper for a month's proper usage, its still that blistering fast!

can one of you MOL express users sign up for trial and see if you can get MOL 30k speeds too? don't worry la, its just for verification, won't charge if you cancel on time.

ablaze
04-06-2008, 08:57 AM
:s12::s12:

imacbie
04-06-2008, 09:41 AM
betta then rapidshare??

anch1ang
04-06-2008, 10:38 AM
What you can get from usenet?

have no idea bout it -_-!

Tuakong
04-06-2008, 11:30 AM
I seldom go bukit timah nowadays......newsdemon is my hangout:D

ablaze
04-06-2008, 04:40 PM
whatever you can get on p2p you can get from newsgroups.

can somebody on MOL EXPRESS please try and share your max download using 20 SSL connections from giganews? see if can also hit MOL 30000 speeds or not :look:

Nichi
04-06-2008, 04:46 PM

can somebody on MOL EXPRESS please try and share your max download using 20 SSL connections from giganews? see if can also hit MOL 30000 speeds or not :look:
chiu share yr account i go test :P

Ah-Pin-Kor
04-06-2008, 05:29 PM
I using easynews for a few years liao.
I like their web-based interface becos my office block nntp access.

ablaze
04-06-2008, 06:01 PM
chiu share yr account i go test :P

I don't have an account. go sign up for a trial account la. use your debit card if you don't have a credit card.

seowbin
04-06-2008, 06:38 PM

ya but dun have those tw/hk tv drama i think:s13:

if got, maybe i switching to it liao :D

seowbin
04-06-2008, 07:27 PM
i just try

like quite fast sia.. on my MOL sexpress connection
http://seowbin.com/hwz/giganews.png

but duno wanna sign up or not.. cause have limited content which i'm interested...

liangtam
04-06-2008, 07:48 PM
wa, huat chiu dling?

CyberMew
04-06-2008, 07:54 PM
i also try few weeks ago... i use 15 connections only and it is able to max out my connection, but for some files there are slowdowns, and especially evening liao my connection drop from 1.2mb/sec to like random 200-500kb/sec. i am using newsbin pro, i like it. newsleecher like not very good although the inteface VERY nice.. i might try it next time ba lol.

since i dont really know if I would want to use newsgroup, i got myself a block account from astraweb. paid with paypal... no nid cc! also, if you get from ngroups instead and you paid with paypal, they will restrict adult newsgroup.. just fyi. i tested and for me astraweb never restrict any newsgroup. somemore hor, the astraweb block accounts can go 50 connections, while permonth is 30 only i believe... i rather go block accounts if i dont download much since i have a rapidshare account already. maximum speed and autoextract fucntion ftw.. oh btw they do not charge you if you download just the headers if i am not wrong.. not to forget the 122 retention. however if you need a high rate of rentention, go for giganews ba wont go wrong. also astraweb got ssl connection too fyi.. with ssl i dont think isp can throttle right?

now i rarely use rapidshare/megashares liao... cos newsgroup downloads more reliable with par files. less risk of file corruption, imagine if you download 4.3gb and it corrupted can go bang head die le..

seowbin
04-06-2008, 08:06 PM
wa, huat chiu dling?
hk drama...

but really not much leh, i just happen to see one set nia.. compare to easily able to get from those bee tee webby, daily or wkly update immediately after screening in their country :(

i always watch those nia... so usenet not really useful to me, i can only take it "SLOWLY" ... fated

ablaze
04-06-2008, 08:14 PM
seowbin, so how fast is that in megabytes/s? at least MOL looks like can exceed the theretical max. SNBB 10mbps means 10-11mbps only, no more no less.. hmm.. hmm..

seowbin
04-06-2008, 08:32 PM
when i took the screenshot was around 2mb/s
now drop to 1+mb/s

ablaze
05-06-2008, 08:23 AM
now dilemma already. donno to jump ship to SNBB or not.
MOL - BT at 30-50kb/s. newsgroups at 3600-3700kb/s
SNBB - BT at ?200-400kb/s. newsgroups at 1200kb/s
hmmm... :s22:

tazzycorner
05-06-2008, 09:07 AM
bookmarked first ... haven't tried before

so which one is worth signing up for ?
is it charge by how much you d/l ?
can pay by paypal?

seowbin
05-06-2008, 09:52 AM
u can checkout the website, is pay by cc, quite ex i should say...

it's good for lazy people, just choose from what they have den dl directly, fast and good
but compare to bittorrent i will say limited content...... for example, some education content, a lot of private group have a lot but in newsgroup, it's not as much

i also thinking want to subscribe or not, i whack finish the free 10gb liao :s13:
inside for now, got something worth it... got ppl convert a currently showing hk hdtv drama into dvd ...

i'm a lazy person, so maybe i will subscribe just for that so that i can burn it and let my mum see :D

seowbin
05-06-2008, 09:56 AM
now dilemma already. donno to jump ship to SNBB or not.
MOL - BT at 30-50kb/s. newsgroups at 3600-3700kb/s
SNBB - BT at ?200-400kb/s. newsgroups at 1200kb/s
hmmm... :s22:
up to u liao, must put in other factor also , like pricing , etc mah

if you are just making decision base on this 2 factor, i would choose singnet ...
just wait a while for newsgroup won't die one mah :s13:
but wait a bit on bittorrent (MOL @ such low speed) really sian

CyberMew
05-06-2008, 12:15 PM
lol... seems like people like to ignore my post :D

seowbin
05-06-2008, 12:24 PM
now i rarely use rapidshare/megashares liao... cos newsgroup downloads more reliable with par files. less risk of file corruption, imagine if you download 4.3gb and it corrupted can go bang head die le..

IMO, BT ish the best (but our ISP throttle it) , most material

den next is rapidshare/megashare

lastly is newsgroup.... what newsgroup have, i'm sure BT have also unless for some self created content (if popular, it will still find it's way to BT after a few days)

therefore i suggest ppl just stick to BT and rapidshare/megashare unless you are lazy, just go into newsgroup, don't know what you want... go there browse, if you like it, get it...

for my case, i found this hk hdtv dvd created by someone (the tv rip already in bt all the time but this dvd created is unique) @ newsgroup... so duno want to continue subscribe due to that or not :(

regarding your corruption of content, it happen the most in newsgroup, i'm the ex user of it in the past... some of the par, after fixing, still missing a few blocks... so it's much poorer compare to BT or rapidshare, the worst case is it is useless after that... somemore so many incomplete files inside also

CyberMew
06-06-2008, 08:01 PM
yea bittorrent is the best, 101% no file corruption in getting all parts unless the file in question is faulty already. but sometimes its slow lol.. other than that the content is rather good too.

rapidshare/megashare/megaupload mostly angmoh content leh.. i cannot find any chinese dvd or stuff with them..

newsgroups so far i use no problems (problamtic ones repaired and auto extracted)..heng ar lol actually newsgroup is similar like rapidshare all those, except that now all often use NZB files, rarely browsing using headers liao. also newsgroups the speed is more "stable" for me at least, where rapidshare sometimes the speed will fluactuate/drop for me.. and so far i see all are scene releases not homemade ... lol. unless its some ulu group like magic, then homemade nvm no choice

btw got trick to use astraweb and the download counter wont drop one i think.. lol

edit: always use nzb more reliable instead of going into the group and browse yourself..also newer ones less risk of corruption, and if you browse the newsgroup, dont get those that is classified as incomplete

liangtam
06-06-2008, 09:54 PM
When more ppl use usenet, ISP oso will cap to save b/w nia. The only good thing now is, usenet users are rare.

ablaze
06-06-2008, 10:12 PM
btw got trick to use astraweb and the download counter wont drop one i think.. lol

oh pray tell, how is that achieved? share share :look:

seowbin
06-06-2008, 11:29 PM
astraweb how much arh??

download counter won't drop means what? means can cheat that no tx/rx is done?

just cancel the giganews trial liao as i hit 10gb liao :s13:

i only get hk, tw drama etc nia... think only bittorrent have

Vulpix
07-06-2008, 07:53 AM
Maybe I should leave easynews. Giganews speeds seems awesome.

FireHobbit
07-06-2008, 12:45 PM
what is usenet sia... me noob...

CyberMew
08-06-2008, 01:49 PM
oh pray tell, how is that achieved? share share :look:i not sure yet... you use paypal to pay for your block account or are you using your card to pay monthly? what is the servername you using, us.news or eu.news or just news? also, are you using the default port of 119?

astraweb how much arh??

download counter won't drop means what? means can cheat that no tx/rx is done?

just cancel the giganews trial liao as i hit 10gb liao :s13:

i only get hk, tw drama etc nia... think only bittorrent have
http://www.news.astraweb.com/

download counter is for those with block accounts. and what is tx/rx?

what is usenet sia... me noob...
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Usenet
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Newsgroup

BobaFett
17-06-2008, 03:02 PM
I am using MOL Premium which suppose to have up to 12Mbps download speed.

Here are my D/L speed. Anyone can post screen shots of if you are using the MOL
Ultimate plan with giganews?

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v431/bobafett2207/Giganews/GiganewsAccelerator.jpg

espenlind
17-06-2008, 03:09 PM
I am using usenet with alt.binz, speeds maximum up to 1300kb/s

halocast
17-06-2008, 03:26 PM
why yr accelerated speed slower then normal speed.. lol

BobaFett
17-06-2008, 04:06 PM
why yr accelerated speed slower then normal speed.. lol

Ask Starhub loh. :s13:

felali
21-06-2008, 08:12 AM
I using easynews for a few years liao.
I like their web-based interface becos my office block nntp access.
Wah, a few years liao ah? Which means now you have at least 2-3 free gigs if you're using the cheapest plan. (and its a whopping 12GB per loyalty year if you take the Big Gig Tier plan) Shiok leh! I really like their loyalty program.

Speed wise, i think they beat Giganews. Who else offers unlimited SSL connections? Even giganews has fluctuating connection speeds.

http://www.newsgroupservers.net/

simranjitsandhu
21-06-2008, 10:21 AM
Usenet is a discussion forums guys , don't try to confuse people. Its like a big bulletin board.

PennzoiL
11-01-2009, 01:53 PM
im using maxonline ultimate ... using giganews .. used to hit highest 5MBytes/s ..
but now i suspect MOL start to throttle my connection from thoses newsgroup already.. used for about 2 months and canceled the membership already.

coz recently im being getting like 300-400ish MByte/s.. without the SSL and some more 20 concurrent connection, pathetic slow.. i only able to get like max 2MBytes/s at around 5am onwards.. strange..

i even tried other newsgroup provider trial also getting this sort of speed too.

http://www.speedtest.net/result/387384210.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

checked my router setting.. also tried speedtest.net.. nothing wrong with my connection... they just throttle my ISP from those newsgroups perhaps :(

mask2011
13-01-2009, 11:07 AM
using astraweb here. cheap (around S$15/mth) and usually get the max out of my connection (1.5MB/sec)

Saline
13-01-2009, 03:44 PM
i'm using astraweb too.. so fast the speed is traffic! and i'm using BBOM to download.. Maxed out ^^;

ohmygod1986
13-01-2009, 04:39 PM
Is it different newsgroup / usenet got different content or exactly same content ??

Never use b4 :s22::s22::s22:

mask2011
13-01-2009, 05:50 PM
most usenet would offer the same content (as in, most usenet providers give you access to the same newsgroups (alt.binaries.*, alt.pictures.*), while some give you access to some newsgroups that are either premium or exclusive)). the thing where they greatly differ is the retention (how long back u can recover posts from) and things like ssl access, etc.

felali
20-01-2009, 02:05 AM
Usenet is a discussion forums guys , don't try to confuse people. Its like a big bulletin board.
HAHAHAHA!!!!

Yeah until they figured out a way to piggyback huge files as chunks of text

felali
20-01-2009, 02:07 AM
im using maxonline ultimate ... using giganews .. used to hit highest 5MBytes/s ..
but now i suspect MOL start to throttle my connection from thoses newsgroup already.. used for about 2 months and canceled the membership already.

coz recently im being getting like 300-400ish MByte/s.. without the SSL and some more 20 concurrent connection, pathetic slow.. i only able to get like max 2MBytes/s at around 5am onwards.. strange..

i even tried other newsgroup provider trial also getting this sort of speed too.

http://www.speedtest.net/result/387384210.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

checked my router setting.. also tried speedtest.net.. nothing wrong with my connection... they just throttle my ISP from those newsgroups perhaps :(
You may wish to experiment with the different ports available... They may have throttled the ports. The SSL port, however, is using an obscure port, and is much less likely to be throttled (at least it wasn't, with mine).

toshiro_sg
14-02-2009, 09:24 AM
i just want to confirm for MOL ultimate with giganews or astraweb, anyone can confirm their download speed from usenet?

i'm on premium now and max out at 1.5Mbps (SSL port),thinking of upgrading to MOL Ultimate and wondering will the download speed from usenet also increase significantly.

eyeburn
14-02-2009, 06:32 PM
I have been with ngroups for a year now. Using a US$29.99 for 3 months plan. 12 concurrent SSL connections as advertised. But I simultaneously connect to their EU and US server farm at the same time so I get 24 connections.

I constantly max out at 1000kps using MOL 8mps. I'm happy

toshiro_sg
14-02-2009, 09:53 PM
my 1.5MB/s connection suddenly drop to 300-400KB/s and never return tried all ports even SSL and even different provider like astraweb and giganews all return about the same speed. I guess my connection is throttle after i constantly download without stopping. : (

Wonder will my speed ever return. I'm on MOL Premium at the moment.

Eyeburn Does your connection ever reduce speed before at any point in time?

RyuShinEX
15-02-2009, 01:49 AM
wah usenet like very long ago liao leh.

but glad that ppl are still using it.

ohmygod1986
15-02-2009, 08:06 AM
throttle means llst liaozz ...

SNBB user got kanna throttle :s11:

invisible.hippo
15-02-2009, 10:00 AM
how come my speed always like **** one darn sian singnet suck la
3mb plan download always 3-40 kB/s fug sia portforwad liao also cannot, now i cant even use singnet proxy

eyeburn
15-02-2009, 12:14 PM
I just noticed that my speeds have been reduced. with 24 connections, I am only getting around 200kps. I think I'm being throttled.

I tried to overcome the throttling by using a VPN service. So all my traffic getting routed through the VPN and starhub only sees encrypted trafffic to one source. I still get 200kps. It might be a usenet server problem. Ngroups(which I use) and a lot of other service providers are just resellers. I know that the backbone of ngroups is usenetserver.com and the backbone of usenetserver.com is highwinds.com

toshiro_sg
15-02-2009, 12:23 PM
I just noticed that my speeds have been reduced. with 24 connections, I am only getting around 200kps. I think I'm being throttled.

I tried to overcome the throttling by using a VPN service. So all my traffic getting routed through the VPN and starhub only sees encrypted trafffic to one source. I still get 200kps. It might be a usenet server problem. Ngroups(which I use) and a lot of other service providers are just resellers. I know that the backbone of ngroups is usenetserver.com and the backbone of usenetserver.com is highwinds.com

the strange thing is yesterday i got like 300-400KB/s so i never download from 12am onwards and today 8am i tried again and it return to 1400MB/s but after like an hour of 1.5MB/s downloads it return to 300-400MB/s again. I wa suspecting maybe we are given a bandwidth limit after that our bandwidth speed will reduce to the minimum until we stop and the amount will go back up slowly, the longer you don't download the more bandwidth it will reclaim back something like credit card system whereas time is the money in this case, the more time you put in and don't download, the more bandwidth u will get back in the course of time.

Was hoping this is not the case, anyone got better idea what is the logical explanation beside my guess?

leonaheidern
15-02-2009, 12:27 PM
I'm on mol 8k

for me i notice i will get crappy speed after 7pm on weekday nights.
Weekend sure crappy speed 130k/b

Weekdays however if i remote in to my home pc from my laptop i notice i will get 1000 mbps.
Night time on weekdays and weekends its only at 2am i will get good speed.

i use giganews

toshiro_sg
15-02-2009, 03:03 PM
dropping to 1/5 (i get 300KB/s for Premium plan) of the speed we subscribe to seems pretty unfair i know its up to speed and not guarantee speed but if they can QOS us into what speed plan we subscribe to aren't
we been short-changed by getting 1/5 of the speed we paid for. Since MOL8K also getting crappy speed than whats the point to upgrade to MOL Ultimate if we will get same crappy speed as the lower plans by their QOS. :s27:

eyeburn
15-02-2009, 09:54 PM
I suspect starhub is doing bandwidth throttling too. Will try again on weekdays

simranjitsandhu
15-02-2009, 11:29 PM
You guy funny or what? complaining about usenet speed? you guy so hard pressed to participate in discussions on usenet ah? I say already usenet is a discussion board, where got things to download. Please stop fooling other people with this FUD.

eyeburn
15-02-2009, 11:59 PM
You guy funny or what? complaining about usenet speed? you guy so hard pressed to participate in discussions on usenet ah? I say already usenet is a discussion board, where got things to download. Please stop fooling other people with this FUD.

I am laughing at your ignorance.
http://www.slyck.com/Newsgroups_Guide_Intro

liangtam
16-02-2009, 12:31 AM

lol, u self pwned

toshiro_sg
16-02-2009, 08:54 AM

yeah we are hard pressed to participate in discussions on usenet at 1.5MB/s speed, you got a problem with that?

toshiro_sg
16-02-2009, 08:55 AM
I suspect starhub is doing bandwidth throttling too. Will try again on weekdays

True enough, weekdays come and my 1.5MB/s speed returns.....a pity they throttle the whole of weekends

alice8228
21-02-2009, 03:39 AM
:)i dont need usenet
:(i hate p2p
=:pwhatever i need i can get from topsite:s7:

bykte
21-02-2009, 12:23 PM

yeah i am so sure you created an account just to post that...:s22:

21-02-2009, 03:47 PM

Don't you have any better thing to post ? :s27:

Stop posting unrelated post, will you ? You're only making people feel annoyed ! :mad:

As for me, it's the limited content of Usenet that deter me from using their services, there are not many things to choose from...

If only they have more various contents...

simranjitsandhu
21-02-2009, 06:25 PM
Haha you guys are foolish , you guys got nothing better to do other than download 20 yr old discussions , get a life . Where got people download things from Usenet one , it's for discussion only period. End of discussion. You want to download things , use a BBS maybe cynosure or something .

liangtam
21-02-2009, 06:33 PM
Haha you guys are foolish , you guys got nothing better to do other than download 20 yr old discussions , get a life . Where got people download things from Usenet one , it's for discussion only period. End of discussion. You want to download things , use a BBS maybe cynosure or something .

more self pwn, lol :s13:
http://tinyurl.com/d6b77g

type in the additional word illegal if u haven come to your sense

adept1
23-02-2009, 10:03 PM
I'm on MaxOnline Ultimate and Easynews (https://secure.members.easynews.com). I used to get the maximum speed (I use a download manager), however for the past 2-3 months I can only get about 200 kB/s per file. I have not bothered to complain to Starhub because they are never helpful. I know they'll tell me to download some files in Singapore which of course will be blazing fast, and then tell me there's no problem.

Has anyone else noticed a usenet slowdown in the past 2-3 months?

simranjitsandhu
23-02-2009, 10:08 PM
more self pwn, lol :s13:
http://tinyurl.com/d6b77g

type in the additional word illegal if u haven come to your sense

How many times must repeat , usenet is for discussions, i've been using it for discussions since the late 80's and early 90's. Download thing go BBS la. Don't fool small kids here with your fake urls. This thread should be closed for the huge amount of disinformation. And please don't try to disguise your illegal activities by using the phrase "USENET".

Please do not forget , sharing is not caring , but illegal.

simranjitsandhu
23-02-2009, 10:10 PM
I'm on MaxOnline Ultimate and Easynews (https://secure.members.easynews.com). I used to get the maximum speed (I use a download manager), however for the past 2-3 months I can only get about 200 kB/s per file. I have not bothered to complain to Starhub because they are never helpful. I know they'll tell me to download some files in Singapore which of course will be blazing fast, and then tell me there's no problem.

Download simi file? you can only download article and headers from USENET. My headers still download same speed as last time.

eyeburn
23-02-2009, 10:13 PM

I notice starhub throttles download speeds during peak hours and weekends. I am still able to get 1MB/s during office hours. During peak hours I get 200kB/s too. I'm on Maxonline express

seowbin
23-02-2009, 10:13 PM
Download simi file? you can only download article and headers from USENET. My headers still download same speed as last time.
get a life man........

u still living in stoneage arh?

nowadays ppl got the ability to split up files and upload it as article to USENET

ppl will just use software and one short download all the articles which the similar headering like

"you are stupid [1/20]" to "you are stupid [20/20]"

phuque99
23-02-2009, 10:14 PM
How many times must repeat , usenet is for discussions, i've been using it for discussions since the late 80's and early 90's. Download thing go BBS la. Don't fool small kids here with your fake urls. This thread should be closed for the huge amount of disinformation. And please don't try to disguise your illegal activities by using the phrase "USENET".

usenet is for discussion, everyone knows, no need to keep spamming lah, damn annoying leh. there's binaries groups that spread and share pirated content lah, that's why people so interested to get pirated content via usenet binaries and speed is important there.

either that or you're using some usenet server that has never changed since police wore short pants, that why you're oblivious to alt.binaries.* groups, thus embarrassing yourself here.

liangtam
23-02-2009, 10:23 PM

errm, u make me feel like pwning you more, lol.

Click on the link, many articles tell you how to download (illegal) files off usenet. your self-denial is your problem.
Oh, PS: I don't usenet

Tuakong
14-04-2009, 12:59 PM
I use giganews currently on SNBB on 10 mbps. I always get the full speed of 10 mpbs, usually more (towards 11 mbps).

I have the same setup as yours but after I switch to Dlink router, my speed dropped to 6Mbps and recently to 4-5Mbps.
not sure if SN is throttling the bw or my router setup.
Anyway, lately SN quite slow...