PDA

View Full Version : Its DURIAN SEASON!!

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7

Kaki369
09-06-2008, 11:47 PM
Its that time of the year again folks!!

LAI AH LAI AH!!!!!

Shall we SHARE where we just had our quick fix of some GOOD or just some blardy darn lousy Durians around?

Well speaking about durians yeah.. Sadly, I haven had any YET... but sniff sniff abit here and there.... waiting for my regular supplier to call though :) :) :)

Tsk tsk.. The last time i had durians was like a month back in KL, had Red Prawn. Pretty shiok with bitter+sweet taste but lacking in that strong after taste lingering or rather aroma. Just bitter+sweet taste for that moment nia... Nothing beats Mao Shan Wang and the good old D24.. though its hard to find some really good and original ones.. So i always resort to picking my own Durians!!

Satisfaction guaranteed! Taste wise and personal satisfaction while camping out there.. waiting for that POM sound! Ahhh thats when u can spot who are the "newbies" and "lao jiaos"

Newbies will just cheong out and start running around like a frantic sick patient on the loose... Shining torchlight all over da place like machiam ur're in a club..

but the lao jiao? cool and calm... already "studied" the tree above... where the durians are and all with his torchlight.. then studying the ground below the tree.. where's hard ground/shrubs so that when the durian drop, how the sound will be... Cause if drop on hard ground, it will be a very hard POM but whereas if on the shrubs, it will be leaves rustling sound...

After he heard da sound POM... he will slowly relax... compose himself and "feel" where the sound came from.. and walk towards it.. 80% of the time, he will emerge the champion with a durian..

Thats why u see normally people who camp for durian will "chop" all da bushes around the tree till BOTAK to facilitate ease of finding da durian.. OH MAN!!

Im so LOR SOR.. Durian means DURIAN lor... aiYO!!.. but well... just sharing mah... because Remember.. Caring is Sharing :)
heheheh :)

Cheers all!!

bumdssa
10-06-2008, 12:07 AM
good thread! i love durians too. have been some time since i last ate it. havent got the chance to try mao shan wang ):

Kaki369
10-06-2008, 12:17 AM
U love BITTER BITTER durians Bumdssa? If u do, MSW is calling u.. Lai ah Lai ah !! :)

chipsake
10-06-2008, 12:31 AM
Normally Where you people buy durians from?

Kaki369
10-06-2008, 12:51 AM
http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showthread.php?t=1962180&highlight=durians+balestier

Answers in there chipsake :)

Beta_Tester
10-06-2008, 06:28 AM
red prawns in my opinion are the best. :)

Kahlan
10-06-2008, 09:50 AM
really is MSW really bitter. I like bitter but i saw places selling it by kg. A bit fearful, not sure if worth it? Ok will give it a try. Anybody knows what is the pricing like, I saw at Bugis they were selling it at S$12 per kg.

Kaki369
10-06-2008, 03:50 PM
$12 per Kg is Alright in my opinion :)

MSW is REALLY BITTER!! haha Good for u Kahlan :) Jiak kao song song :) :)

Sometimes u gotta bite the bullet and try.. u never know when u might chance upon a gem mate :)

Beta_Tester.... Red prawns from Pahang aye? I no no how to attach pics.. if i know.. i sure attach my Red Prawn from Pahang to make u LAO NUA!

n2btg
10-06-2008, 06:02 PM
I went 717trading and they quote me $25 per kg for MSW, do you think they try to chop me carrot head?

End up I buy something else.

Kaki369
10-06-2008, 06:07 PM
Unless their MSW is GOLD PLATED then i`ll buy :)

Thats cut throat price.....

Beta_Tester
26-06-2008, 05:26 PM
Ur most welcome Kahlan.. Caring is Sharing :)

Beta Bro... I will only order for my Friends/Family when they want.. I dont normally order when i crave for Durian.. Me Jungle Man and believe in Self-Satisfaction over Economy of Scale :)

So i`d go pick liu lian :) U want.. i can coordinate.. we go :) And YEAH I totally agree with u.. Sam Pa Liu Lian Lumber ONE! HUAT AH!!

Anyway as per mentioned earlier, this aint my thread, i dont wish to hijack, anything, reply the other Durian Thread which i created ba :)

Thanks n Cheers!

ehh..If u wanna order.. help me order also leh.. I'll pay of coz. lol. Last time I have a source. This fellas deliver durian from Malaysia to place around here. Refuse to tell me where.. But he will see me 1-2 gunny sags of it.

Kaki369
26-06-2008, 07:25 PM
Sure thing Bro :)

When doing Order i will definitely inform HWZ-Makan Forum ppl...

limitation
26-06-2008, 10:47 PM
Sure thing Bro :)

When doing Order i will definitely inform HWZ-Makan Forum ppl...

wah bro, i'll be waiting for ur MO..i'll be ur supporter!

*starts queuing up*

Kaki369
26-06-2008, 11:25 PM
Hahaha... Lets not wait for MO... Lets go out to the jungle and wait for that Elusive POM!!!

Kahlan
26-06-2008, 11:26 PM
wah kaki369, you make me LAO NuA.

tekster
26-06-2008, 11:44 PM
MSW is really the best man. really shiok.

where's yr fav durian stalls? got one stall con me sia, in geylang called wonderland or something. served me some msw which i didn't know it was lousy until i went to 717 and tasted heavenly msw.

Kaki369
27-06-2008, 12:24 AM
Hi Tek,

Fav stalls:

Hougang682 :)
Mandai
PIE (Satelite Station)
Kranji
Chua Chu Kang

MSW is DAMN BLARDY BITTER!! hahaha..... I still prefer the good ol` Sultan Liu Lian and D24.. Bitter Sweet Variants are my cup of tea....

On a sidenote, with regards to ur experience, how much u paid for the football aka MSW? I am very sure the stall in geylang sold u a pretty heavy/big one eh?

Geylang's durian are overrated.. if im ever there and my friends have the itch.. i`d tell them.. Either settle for the 1 for $2, 3 for $10/$20 or nothing at all... oh ya.. 1 for $5 also can :) heheheh :)

Beta_Tester
27-06-2008, 12:36 AM
I dunno why I prefer Hong Xia more than Mao Shan Wang. lol

Kaki369
27-06-2008, 12:48 AM
Hong Xia from Pahang eh Beta Bro?

U like Sweet Sweet de as compared to Bitter mah...

Hong Xia is indeed Sweet and have creamy yummy flesh but it lacks the Ommph and after-taste factor.. Notice the smell/taste doesnt linger in ur mouth/throat after eating?

Too bad i not reli sure how to upload pix.. if not i upload for u one of my best tasting Hong Xia from Pahang :)

tekster
27-06-2008, 07:49 AM
Hi Tek,

Fav stalls:

Hougang682 :)
Mandai
PIE (Satelite Station)
Kranji
Chua Chu Kang

huh? mandai in the jungle ? heee... where's this mandai place?

PIE also got meh? where is it? wa, yr place all v ulu one, never hear before le.

Kaki369
27-06-2008, 09:14 AM
First spot is a STALL

The rest of the "STALLS" belong to Mother Nature.. LOL!

Along PIE/SLE have alot... Esp Woodlands Area and Bukit Panjang Area....

Beta_Tester
27-06-2008, 03:35 PM
Hong Xia from Pahang eh Beta Bro?

U like Sweet Sweet de as compared to Bitter mah...

Hong Xia is indeed Sweet and have creamy yummy flesh but it lacks the Ommph and after-taste factor.. Notice the smell/taste doesnt linger in ur mouth/throat after eating?

Too bad i not reli sure how to upload pix.. if not i upload for u one of my best tasting Hong Xia from Pahang :)

No have strong aftertaste lo.

Hmm.. But sometimes those 1 for 50cents or 1 dollar that kind also very nice. :)

Kaki369
27-06-2008, 06:06 PM
ahhh i see.... strong after taste don have true... but dont have the lingering aroma lah.. alamak... but well.. to each his own..

i agree man.. those liu lian ku (small durian) cheap n good!!

Beta_Tester
27-06-2008, 06:24 PM
lol.. Wats the rate u get for MO ar? lol..

Kaki369
27-06-2008, 06:36 PM
i dont MO u see... i just help my close friends/family order because i regular.. but its been a year + since i ordered from Mr Lee alot unlike the past when i was in NS.... but i do occasionally call him up to talk and chat about Durian.. LOL..

Beta_Tester
27-06-2008, 06:49 PM
i dont MO u see... i just help my close friends/family order because i regular.. but its been a year + since i ordered from Mr Lee alot unlike the past when i was in NS.... but i do occasionally call him up to talk and chat about Durian.. LOL..

if u ever wanna order can help bo? lol.. u seems to be the durian ong in hwz sia.lol.. Frankly I dunno how to choose liu lian.. Always is the fella choose.. I smell I look I touch not watery I taste if good I buy. :o

haha

Kaki369
27-06-2008, 08:16 PM
Well for a start. the price difference is just a $1-2 if i do the order for u.. but normally i just pay him full because he really deserved it Bro...

Cannot say im the Durian Ong please.. My knowledge is also from others.. like i always say... Caring is Sharing.. and this is a forum.. Purpose is to SHARE!! So.. im just doing my part and playing my part :)

Dont say u.. i myself also dont know how to choose well.. i think luck does play a part.. of course there's some SOP (Standard Operating Procedures) when choosing a durian... to me top most concern is FRESHNESS..

And how i tell is just by lookin at the Stem.. If its still Erect and Brown, look at the exposed tip.. isit still very white? Or dry/shrivelled? If its white.. touch it! if there's still sticky sap.. WAH damn fresh! If dry... but still white and Stem still firm and standing like a proud soldier... good!!

Pick it up.. squeeze 2 thorns together with ur fingers... if it compresses/closes in so easily.. its either too wet or not fresh.. the thorns should stand FIRM and be hard to press together with ur fingers... they should be SHARP and look all proud and confident in all their greenest glory!

Then.. hold it in ur hands and feel its weight.. for a MSW.. the heavier the better... for a Jin Feng? The lighter the better.. Older fruits from Older Trees normally Yield better durian and are normally smaller.. so the bigger ones are normally from younger trees.. but not for MSW's case.. as mentioned.. the heavier the better. but not too big lah... if so big and heavy... may probably be a Thai Mountain Durian rather than Cat Mountain King durian..

Give it a shake.. if u feel there's some movement in there.. most probably the meat is dry.. if no sound either its not ripe.. or the flesh is wet... how i know wet? well from experience and logic, the wet flesh hitting against the shell. how to produce sound? this is also an indicator of whether the durian is ripe anot yeah..

Lastly, SMELL.. some people like to smell the base/backside.. or the top of the durian.. for me.. i smell everywhere lah... cant really smell also due to block nose/sinus :( but well.. sure can get a rough whiff of the fruit lah... then from the smell u can roughly gauge whether its bitter/sweet/combination.. myself also not everytime hit jackpot but sometimes lah...

Oh yeah.. i think thats about all as far as my knowledge brings me.. last but not least.. i wanna share something... dont think those big big round round durians offer MORE seeds and ALOT of Flesh ya.. i used to think that way till after sometime i realized that ODD SHAPED durians are better!! Why?

When its odd shaped.. it has less seeds... but that doesnt mean no good.. as the sayin goes Quality over Quantity.. how Quality u might ask? Well.. if there's lesser fruit/seeds.. that means the meat/flesh on each seed is more! for the rounded ones... thin thin flesh on each seed.. not so shiok... i rather wack the one with odd shape.. thick/sufficient flesh to make my lips go OOOMMMMMFF....

Well dont talk about Thai durian to me lah.. flesh so thick.. i eat with rice better.. but after a few seeds... no more for me.. LOL...

Alright.. im wasting bandwidth.. type so much.. later u guys need EyeMo to wash eyes.. kekeke.... Thanks for takin time to read my banter :)

OH YA for Beta Bro,when buyin durian,dont be shy when they ask u to test.. take the whole seed and test...poke every seed exposed if possible.. sometimes they very smart..open the part where is good and show u.. other part bey sek(not ripe).. i call it POTaTO.. lol.. so remember.. when tasting.. don PINCH.. grab the whole seed.. if the whole seed taste even and uniform.. SHIOK.. WACK!! DEAL! if not.. NO DEAL :P

And uh.. Beta Bro, how to post pix leh? lolz... must put photos in photobucket then link here isit?

Thanks n Regards,
Ang Mo Kia

EastSider
27-06-2008, 08:32 PM
bro , u're not wasting the bandwidth.. , from what u explain so far , u make me and the rest of the people know more about durian(my favourite) :D ,
thanks for sharing! , but hor , really must MO la , very tempting liao =:p

Beta_Tester
27-06-2008, 08:36 PM
Go imageshack.. upload there and then they will give u a link.. Paste the link here and u get ur pix! :)

I read every word above! lol

ctan
27-06-2008, 09:44 PM
Hi All,

Shared a past link posted by HWZ bro:

http://ieatishootipost.sg/2008/03/717-trading-no-money-dont-learn-to-eat.html

Had tried both D24 and MSW, Both had different characteristics. Now wanting to try D100, any bro know where to get it?:D

Kaki369
27-06-2008, 10:42 PM
EastSider,

From my siggy: Caring is Sharing :) And thats what YOU and ME and the REST are here for :) Together we make a difference!! (Pre-NDP Mood)

And ur're most welcome, im just sharing my piece of durian, i mean my piece of knowledge and experienced attained from everybody i meet along the way... I dont deny ever since with the introduction of Google it sure helped me alot... But i never believe in words alone... I believe in TASTING the REAL THING!! LOL!!

Beta Bro,

I sponsor u EyeMo since u so Guai read my every word-wall of text as they call it.. LOL im still gettin used to the Lingo here... Thanks Beta bro for support and tips :)

Ctan,

Hey mate,

Thanks for sharing man! Indeed Caring is Sharing! So between D24 and MSW, which u prefer? May i please ask for u to share with us where u had ur Durian Quicky mate?

D100? isit Bitter Flesh? I understand its a Hybrid durian from some durian stallholders...

To All,

I thinking of organizing Eat all u want Durian Buffet to Malaysia lehz... Went with my buddy last time.. $50.. Fetch from Jurong East, Go somewhere in JB, drop off for breakfast, then head to Durian Plantation, EAT ALL YOU WANT! Mangosteen, Rambutan, Chempedak(Jackfruit), all!!! And best.. they sell fresh MSW at like if i remember correctly around SGD$5 per kg.. my buddy's uncle bought some, i bought abt 7kgs back, $35 for like 3 MSW? SIBEY SONG! After makan durian, went to Kulai i think, shopping at the mall there, then its Dinner time! WIld boar meat, steamed fish, vege, tofu, basically Zhi Char style.. dEn back to SG.. Drop off point depends on where the Tour group wants..

all for $50.. its damn shiok!!!! how? Can i have a show of hands who's keen? Im hoping to hit about 8ppl including myself.. Why 8? Lucky number 8!!! HUAT AH!!

In the meantime, i`d try searching for Durian Tour online and asking ppl i know, if response good, i`d try "bargain", i dont know if possible, never organize before ler

Thanks for reading!

Regards,
Ang Mo Kia

EastSider
27-06-2008, 10:49 PM
me!!
i think if i go there , will bring a lot of durian back.
but then .... later from jurong east , go back home... got problem riao cuz got Mrt!:o

Kaki369
27-06-2008, 10:57 PM
Okay Guys/Gals,

We have 2 Missions

#1 Go Malaysia for Durian Tour

Itinery is as per my above post, any qns pls let me know :)

#2 Durian Buffet here in SG

For Mission #2, it will just be DURIAN and only DURIAN's on the Itinery and only in ur Stomach as compared to Mission #1. Time wise also doesnt' take a whole day of ur time, but price wise and experience it will lose out to Mission #1 of course.

So Guys/Gals,

Its time for some action... Please pick ur choices...

I will tally up the total response by Next Wed :)

Thanks everybody :)

Goooner
27-06-2008, 11:00 PM
wah!! beri pro leh!! picked up some tips liao, shld make this thread sticky for all the durian lovers!!!

Kaki369
27-06-2008, 11:04 PM
http://www.organise4u.com.sg/travel.htm (Looks good, Seafood lunch plus dinner only $60 as compared to rest $40-$50 only have 1 dinner)

http://www.go4tour.com/tour-pck-my-duriantour.htm

http://tgkatong.nc.org.sg/upcomingevents.htm

http://www.maxpactravel.com/sub/book/book.htm

There u go.. Those who have more.. Please share :)

EastSider
27-06-2008, 11:06 PM
both also can!

Kaki369
27-06-2008, 11:07 PM
wah!! beri pro leh!! picked up some tips liao, shld make this thread sticky for all the durian lovers!!!

*Poke Poke*

Kaki369
27-06-2008, 11:08 PM
Choose one lah Brother....

Kaki369
27-06-2008, 11:34 PM
Dedicated to Beta bro and fellow Ang Hei/Red Prawn Lovers:

RM8 per KG! HUAT AH!

Picture of Uncle Chuan's Stall at Jalan Tun H.S Lee in KL (Near Puduraya)
http://i306.photobucket.com/albums/nn243/TrevorTY/GuMmY140.jpg

Opening Ceremony.. Kui ah!! HUAT AH!!
http://i306.photobucket.com/albums/nn243/TrevorTY/GuMmY130.jpg

Close up
http://i306.photobucket.com/albums/nn243/TrevorTY/GuMmY131.jpg

Trying to be artistic here?
http://i306.photobucket.com/albums/nn243/TrevorTY/GuMmY132.jpg

Kaki369
27-06-2008, 11:38 PM
Continued...

Ang Mo Kia with beloved Red Prawn Darling
http://i306.photobucket.com/albums/nn243/TrevorTY/GuMmY133.jpg

Ang Mo Kia's turn to wack.. Ommff... SoNG BO!!
http://i306.photobucket.com/albums/nn243/TrevorTY/GuMmY137.jpg

GOing... Going.. ALamak.. LEft 1 more.. How? Who take? Lom Chiam Pas? Nevermind bro, u younger, u take said Ang Mo Kia.. okay Thank u TT Korkor said Faizal
http://i306.photobucket.com/albums/nn243/TrevorTY/GuMmY129.jpg

Kaki369
27-06-2008, 11:41 PM
Faizal my classmate who's 1st time to KL and 1st time eating SHIOK Durians, at last i fulfilled my promise of letting him have his taste of SHIOK DURIAN! He SHiok.. I also SHiok!
http://i306.photobucket.com/albums/nn243/TrevorTY/GuMmY136.jpg

Gone faster than the speed of sound!!!
http://i306.photobucket.com/albums/nn243/TrevorTY/GuMmY139.jpg

Hehehe... thats all for My Short Little Story on Red Prawn and her 2 Princes in KL with Uncle Chuan!

Oh and not forgetting a long lost pic of some Kampung D24s picked in Chua Chu Kang some 3yrs ago :) The tree is still there and producing even better durians!!

3some D24 Family.. i got the Mama, Papa and Didi.. but where's Mei Mei? Hehehe.. Gave it to a Thai worker earlier on... and in return he gave us some really crunchy and sweet Rambutans!! AHHH!! It sure left me some great memories and a great ever-lasting SORE THROAT!!
HEck..it was good!!

Note: Look at how fresh the stems were! Time of picking is after my fishing.. around 8+am.. i reckon it dropped at around 6+am!!
http://i306.photobucket.com/albums/nn243/TrevorTY/Threesome.jpg

limitation
27-06-2008, 11:44 PM
wah..all the pics making me drool sia..lolz..

i personally prefer #1..go jb wack! lolz..as for packing of durians back to sg..dun worry..i think i will bring air-tight containers along..lolz..and get some newspapers to wrap around..should minimise the smell greatly ba..:D

Kaki369
27-06-2008, 11:50 PM
Okay let me start a list to faciliate easy monitoring:

Mission #1

1) Limitation
2)
3)
4)
5)
6)
7)
8)

Mission #2

1)
2)
3)
4)
5)
6)
7)
8)

Kaki369
27-06-2008, 11:54 PM
wah..all the pics making me drool sia..lolz..

i personally prefer #1..go jb wack! lolz..as for packing of durians back to sg..dun worry..i think i will bring air-tight containers along..lolz..and get some newspapers to wrap around..should minimise the smell greatly ba..:D

Hello Limitation Bro,

UR vote has been Cast for Mission #1, thank You :)

Hmmmm the durian buffet.. i ever saw Aunties.. bringing containers and TAPAO back.. WAH... very smart... very greedy... i felt they were very YAO GWEE.. but then again.. i look at myself in the mirror.. WHY I NEVER BRING!!?? hahah!! Kena Possess by the Yao Gwee Spirit liao..

So i really hope Mission #1 will materialize with everyone's support and participation here.... u guys can discreetly bring lah.. haha.. wait for somebody to start tapao then u guys tapao.. haha... Oh well..

Anyway hope the pictures didnt take long to load and so sorry for those if i made u lag :( Im sorry! Well... hope u guys like it!!

Dont have much photos as last time seldom go with my fishingkakis to pick durian... most of time pick alone and got a few times brought my NS buddies in my unit to go pick.. their 1st time... and we picked only ONE... but it was damn shIok.. haha... though i ate only 1 seed... but the expression on their faces... makes me feel good.. next day... 2 out of 5 report MC... their superior email me.. Eh Trev... ur durian from where? Make my Boy MC! hahahah.. ALamak.... Kena nickname Liu Lian Kia.. kekkekeke.. those were the days.... now old man lor... :P

CyberTron
28-06-2008, 02:51 AM
Hi! Just saw ya PM as I dun login to hwz that often. Wonder if you can share where are some places of picking durians here. Thinking it might be something interesting for couple of my friends to do on a weekend. Any advise on that?

limitation
28-06-2008, 11:04 AM
Hello Limitation Bro,

UR vote has been Cast for Mission #1, thank You :)

Hmmmm the durian buffet.. i ever saw Aunties.. bringing containers and TAPAO back.. WAH... very smart... very greedy... i felt they were very YAO GWEE.. but then again.. i look at myself in the mirror.. WHY I NEVER BRING!!?? hahah!! Kena Possess by the Yao Gwee Spirit liao..

So i really hope Mission #1 will materialize with everyone's support and participation here.... u guys can discreetly bring lah.. haha.. wait for somebody to start tapao then u guys tapao.. haha... Oh well..

Anyway hope the pictures didnt take long to load and so sorry for those if i made u lag :( Im sorry! Well... hope u guys like it!!

Dont have much photos as last time seldom go with my fishingkakis to pick durian... most of time pick alone and got a few times brought my NS buddies in my unit to go pick.. their 1st time... and we picked only ONE... but it was damn shIok.. haha... though i ate only 1 seed... but the expression on their faces... makes me feel good.. next day... 2 out of 5 report MC... their superior email me.. Eh Trev... ur durian from where? Make my Boy MC! hahahah.. ALamak.... Kena nickname Liu Lian Kia.. kekkekeke.. those were the days.... now old man lor... :P

no worries..the pics take very fast to load..lolz..think i will be the one to start the ball rolling..if not, dun know when we will start to pack the durians..:D

Kaki369
28-06-2008, 11:25 PM
Heya Boys and Girls.

I will reply the queries tomorrow after i`ve settled my day's activities if im not too tired ya? Im sick and tired of typing the same stuff 3 times and then HWZ just LAGs and CUTs me off.. My msg DISAPPEARS! Talk about Perserverance i typed 3times! ARGZ!! Funny why other threads no problem but come to here.. PROBLEM! I think they dont like me typing so much wasting bandwidth lah... Grrr!!~

Nontheless, Its now time for me to concentrate on my assignment(s)... Hope this msg pulls thru... Wish me LUCK..

And anyway the Durian Buffet Expedition is open to all... so u can ask ur friends along as well yeah :)

Cheers!!

Trevor

dreamer75
29-06-2008, 10:39 PM
my fren, who owns a durian farm in JB, told me that all the good durians are exported out of Malaysia. Not sure whether is it true?

dreamer75
29-06-2008, 10:56 PM
bro, u shld post in EDMW for better response?

or ask the mosmos club members? :o

Kaki369
01-07-2008, 02:29 PM
hello Lao Da Dreamer,

Thanks for the advise.. :)

And on a sidenote.. Generally the good/better durians are in fact exported out of Malaysia to places like Singapore :) Ur friend is right.... :)

Nice meeting you!! :)

Kaki369
01-07-2008, 02:35 PM
Hi! Just saw ya PM as I dun login to hwz that often. Wonder if you can share where are some places of picking durians here. Thinking it might be something interesting for couple of my friends to do on a weekend. Any advise on that?

hI Bro,

Thanks for ur patience and my sorrys for the delay... *bow*

Well... if u do drive, especially along PIE towards Stevens Rd/Lornie or SLE/Mandai Rd.. Take a good look on the both sides of our Forests.. u will notice some Durian trees just by the road side or some not very far from the road in...

If u are not sure on how a durian tree looks like, may i suggest u google it or take a look at these.. http://www.ghouse.com/daniel/durian/durian06_180.jpg and http://inlinethumb49.webshots.com/6128/2346753010101797828S500x500Q85.jpg

Notice they're very sparsely spread out, i mean the branches, one thing to note or rather something that gives me a very good tell tale sign of durian tree is by the leave... top side dark green, bottom side dustry brown/kaki.. sharp and elongated oval shaped..

places to pick.. Hmmm.. i can list a whole lot of places.. so may i suggest u provide me ur location, where u stay, and then i`ll point out to u the nearest point to pick liu lian :)

Cheers!!

Beta_Tester
01-07-2008, 02:36 PM
i stay near Yishun stadium ~ :)

carey
01-07-2008, 03:12 PM
I agree with you - the best durians are those eaten in the wild...hahah

It was during one of my army exercises - I was leaving my patrol through the "jungle" in Tekong during the wee hours of the night. I just halted my team as I smelt durian and instantly, "tacticalness" flew out the window and we on our torches to go searching for durians...we found about close to 10 durians and we stuffed them into our fullpacks and trekked almost to our end point before we had a durian fest...almost broke my bayonet opening those buggers but it was worth it :)

But these days, too old for this kind of sh!t liao...prefer to get them nicely opened and packed :p

So where can I get decent ones? We prefer sweet and creamy ones :D

Kaki369
01-07-2008, 03:17 PM
Hey Beta Bro... u know Khatib Sports Complex? i think thats the name.. im not sure.. but the sports complex opposite Lower Seletar Reservoir.. Directly opposite it.. near the Cross Junction.. there's jungles right.... There is a whole lot of POWER DURIANS at that jungle... hmmm to be more clear.. u know AVA? its on AVA side... so meaning when u alight frm Khatib station.. just walk TOWARDS YCK.... walk walk walk.. till u see Sports Complex on ur RIGHT and when u hit the road crossing... the jungle is on ur right...

BASH IN and erm.. be there early.. the ah peks there are very very territorial.. :) either that.... u know the satelite stations? When ur're travelling from Khatib to YCK.. on ur left side? YEaH.. that jungle has tons of durian trees... used to be a small little plantation according to one ah lau there.... the durians there not so nice.... but still.. good and easy jungle to trek due to the relative low bush or rather some areas no bush at all!!!

Kaki369
01-07-2008, 03:20 PM
I agree with you - the best durians are those eaten in the wild...hahah

It was during one of my army exercises - I was leaving my patrol through the "jungle" in Tekong during the wee hours of the night. I just halted my team as I smelt durian and instantly, "tacticalness" flew out the window and we on our torches to go searching for durians...we found about close to 10 durians and we stuffed them into our fullpacks and trekked almost to our end point before we had a durian fest...almost broke my bayonet opening those buggers but it was worth it :)

But these days, too old for this kind of sh!t liao...prefer to get them nicely opened and packed :p

So where can I get decent ones? We prefer sweet and creamy ones :D

Hello Carey :)

ORD how long ago already mate? Hmmm.... Tekong Durians are one of the best... second i would say Pulau Ubin followed by Mandai :)

Well... if i were u.. i would just simply step on the durians till they split at the backside then i just use my fingers or a wooden wedge to pry them open.. hahah.... since ur wearin combat boots.. might as well right? lolz.. spoil use credit buy nia mah.. if bayonet spoil... 1206 1st prize for u liao!! haha..

Hmmm where to buy decent ones huh? U read the 1st or 2nd page of this thread... i got post a contact from Mr Lee... he has quite reliable sources.. either that u can head down to Balestier Temple... u any idea about it mate? Another thing is u can check out the other Durian Thread.. i posted quite a bit of info over there :)

on a sidenote.. if u agree wild/sampa durian are the best.. lets go pick lah.. never too old for these man... :)

Cheers and Thanks :)

BossQ
01-07-2008, 04:27 PM
Anyone has the address of the durian farms in JB? Thinking of driving there to have a durain feast...

Kaki369
01-07-2008, 05:52 PM
BossQ... i think Google.com have some answers to satisfy ur crave for the time being... other than that... if u had noticed Dreamer mentioned he had a friend who owns a farm in JB.. maybe u can drop him a PM :)

zenvey
01-07-2008, 10:22 PM
Hey Beta Bro... u know Khatib Sports Complex? i think thats the name.. im not sure.. but the sports complex opposite Lower Seletar Reservoir.. Directly opposite it.. near the Cross Junction.. there's jungles right.... There is a whole lot of POWER DURIANS at that jungle... hmmm to be more clear.. u know AVA? its on AVA side... so meaning when u alight frm Khatib station.. just walk TOWARDS YCK.... walk walk walk.. till u see Sports Complex on ur RIGHT and when u hit the road crossing... the jungle is on ur right...

BASH IN and erm.. be there early.. the ah peks there are very very territorial.. :) either that.... u know the satelite stations? When ur're travelling from Khatib to YCK.. on ur left side? YEaH.. that jungle has tons of durian trees... used to be a small little plantation according to one ah lau there.... the durians there not so nice.... but still.. good and easy jungle to trek due to the relative low bush or rather some areas no bush at all!!!
i went to the satalite station there to fish before :s13: very exciting, gotta be prepared to run anytime

katarina
01-07-2008, 11:12 PM
ZENVEY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!:D

Kaki369
01-07-2008, 11:24 PM
WooT~ A fishing kaki in disguise? Satelitte Station PBs and TOMANs are GOOD fights are GOOD size.. but nothing beats Pandan Reservoir's PBs and Tomans (In a concrete enviroment). Toman fighters no.1 still belong to Murai/Poyan/LCK Area :) Thats what i call WILD FIGHTERS! :)

Hmmmm on a side note, with regards to the rangers and running etc pertaining to Spot Satelite Station. To me no kick lah as compared to other Highly Illegal spots :)

EHHH KAT!! I caught u reading my thread... Orh Hor!! Fine u 1 durian... $10, $5, $2, $0.50 also can.. Its the thought that counts.. In return, i will offer to open ur can drink AGAIN if ur're ever thirsty :)

BLEH BLEH :P :P

katarina
01-07-2008, 11:29 PM
EHHH KAT!! I caught u reading my thread... Orh Hor!! Fine u 1 durian... $10, $5, $2, $0.50 also can.. Its the thought that counts.. In return, i will offer to open ur can drink AGAIN if ur're ever thirsty :)

BLEH BLEH :P :P

must sapport your thread man!!~~ =p

u r thoughtful to help me open my can of drink....u can read my mind~~ >.<

zenvey
01-07-2008, 11:42 PM
murai and lck?! the saf training areas????? thats really highly illegal

Kaki369
01-07-2008, 11:43 PM
Thank You for ur genuine Sarpork! I also want to Thank my mama... papa.. didi... ah gong.. ah ma.. AIYO!!..

Thank u Thank u :) :)

Hmmm.... for ur last sentence... heheheh :) :) i understand how difficult it is for woman to open a can drink plus how much their manicured nails mean to them.. :) oh well.. next time if u wanna open can.. u know who to look for liao hor? :)

katarina
01-07-2008, 11:47 PM
Thank You for ur genuine Sarpork! I also want to Thank my mama... papa.. didi... ah gong.. ah ma.. AIYO!!..

Thank u Thank u

Hmmm.... for ur last sentence... heheheh :) :) i understand how difficult it is for woman to open a can drink plus how much their manicured nails mean to them.. :) oh well.. next time if u wanna open can.. u know who to look for liao hor? :)

machiam stars award~~:s22:

if i go out with you next time....I shall look for u to open my can~~!!=:p

Kaki369
02-07-2008, 12:12 AM
With pleasure :)

katarina
02-07-2008, 12:27 AM
With pleasure :)

thank you in advance !!!!

Kaki369
02-07-2008, 12:39 AM
thank you once is not enough lor.... i got charge interest de... i am bookie.. remember my style?

katarina
02-07-2008, 12:45 AM
oh nos....u showed your true colours.....:crazy:

dreamer75
02-07-2008, 01:33 AM
hello Lao Da Dreamer,

Thanks for the advise.. :)

And on a sidenote.. Generally the good/better durians are in fact exported out of Malaysia to places like Singapore :) Ur friend is right.... :)

Nice meeting you!! :)

nice meeting u too :D

when free to go massage in jb?

Kaki369
02-07-2008, 08:52 AM
must show in forum also mah... cos i show in person le.. so.. cannot double standard mah :P

katarina
02-07-2008, 09:52 AM
ma sa ji?????? u guys going to special de ma? :D:s22:

carey
02-07-2008, 01:54 PM
Hello Carey :)

ORD how long ago already mate? Hmmm.... Tekong Durians are one of the best... second i would say Pulau Ubin followed by Mandai :)

Well... if i were u.. i would just simply step on the durians till they split at the backside then i just use my fingers or a wooden wedge to pry them open.. hahah.... since ur wearin combat boots.. might as well right? lolz.. spoil use credit buy nia mah.. if bayonet spoil... 1206 1st prize for u liao!! haha..

Hmmm where to buy decent ones huh? U read the 1st or 2nd page of this thread... i got post a contact from Mr Lee... he has quite reliable sources.. either that u can head down to Balestier Temple... u any idea about it mate? Another thing is u can check out the other Durian Thread.. i posted quite a bit of info over there :)

on a sidenote.. if u agree wild/sampa durian are the best.. lets go pick lah.. never too old for these man... :)

Cheers and Thanks :)

I ORD a long time already - in fact, I already ROD liao...hahah

Yes, Tekong durians are fantastic - my former CSM will always chio me go and hunt for rambutans as well - two of us will hijack my OC's jeep for "recce" purposes...hahah

Erm, my combat boots is my own leh - Hi-Tec ones...spoil means pay my own...hahah

I also got my own jungle knife but that's my own property - bayonet spoil, my storeman will cover up for me and get me a new one :)

Hmm...this Mr Lee, is he the one in the Sunday papers recently?

Beta_Tester
02-07-2008, 04:40 PM
I went to recce opposite the sports hall.. Just outside or rather beside Khatib Bottle Tree park. I go there I saw 6-7 uncles/ah peks.. I think they hunting for durians.. I nv ask though.

CyberTron
02-07-2008, 05:16 PM
I dunno how to describe durian tree, but yeah.... I've seen them when I was in army, and tried them when I was doing topo I think around mandai area.

Got any GPS position of those locations so easier for those interested? :)

I've just shipped a GPS from US...if it come by this weekend, maybe I'll go recce and see can get some GPS position :)

Beta_Tester
02-07-2008, 10:12 PM
I dunno how to describe durian tree, but yeah.... I've seen them when I was in army, and tried them when I was doing topo I think around mandai area.

I've just shipped a GPS from US...if it come by this weekend, maybe I'll go recce and see can get some GPS position :)

wah thats nice of you man :)

CyberTron
02-07-2008, 11:26 PM
That's provided :

1. My gps arrive this week...
2. I can find the place... hahahaha

BTW, what is a good time to go durian picking?

Kaki369
02-07-2008, 11:52 PM
I ORD a long time already - in fact, I already ROD liao...hahah

Yes, Tekong durians are fantastic - my former CSM will always chio me go and hunt for rambutans as well - two of us will hijack my OC's jeep for "recce" purposes...hahah

Erm, my combat boots is my own leh - Hi-Tec ones...spoil means pay my own...hahah

I also got my own jungle knife but that's my own property - bayonet spoil, my storeman will cover up for me and get me a new one :)

Hmm...this Mr Lee, is he the one in the Sunday papers recently?

WAH ROD? Either u are OLD MAN or u are "Combat-Fit" ? So tell me Sir/Sarge/CPL... Which is it? hahah!!

Well... then the whole jeep at the back full of durians... lolz.. stilll can remember my BMT... my OC asked me to join them for Durians after nights out...because if other recruits were to know.. it wont look good on the OC/PC/PS etc.. then after wacking da POWER DURIANS (2nd time of my life eating Tekong Durians) when i went back bunk. sleep and all...

the next morning... everyone ask.. eh do u smell durian last nite? everybody YAR YAR! I dreamt i was eating durians.. WAH SMELL DAMN NICE!!.. in my heart.. i was like.. should i say? till now i feel bad.. hahha... damn nice lah! the durians were from Pigeon Hill.. im not sure u know that place.. My uncle brought me there once..way before my NS, and thats when i had my 1st taste of tekong durians :) AHH PURE HEAVEN!

well Mate.. u wore ur own boots? wah happenin da u!!

Anyway i didnt read papers recently leh? Online counted? And the only PAPER papers i`ve been reading of late are BizTimes and Financial Times.. no Durian Talk.. which day and what section? Must go chek it out...

IF its Mr Lee.. and the number is the same as the one i posted earlier in the thread....(thats if the papers published his numbers, which i doubt so) is da same.. then its the Mr Lee lor :)

Give him a try.... i assure that u wont regret.. maybe u willl regret alittle because nothing ever comes pretty close to a Tekong Durian from Pigeon's Hill :) and Pulau Ubin's Sampa Durian.. the taste of SELF-PICKED.. Satisfaction da!!

Cheers!

Kaki369
02-07-2008, 11:58 PM
I went to recce opposite the sports hall.. Just outside or rather beside Khatib Bottle Tree park. I go there I saw 6-7 uncles/ah peks.. I think they hunting for durians.. I nv ask though.

WAH BRO.. u are efficient indeed! Commando sibo? LOL...

There is a BIG and LONE Durian Tree.. that Tree if i remember correctly is a DARN OLD D24 durian tree... Been years since i went there... but when i was there.. i was lucky... hahaha... founded 3 durians :)

Well... since u live nearby... go buy breakfast... bring some plastic bags.. go hunt for durian lah... then update here :)

Kaki369
03-07-2008, 12:05 AM

Hmmmmm how to derive GPS position? If u can teach me.. i`ll do my best to help u.. at the same time.. i hope to learn how to derive GPS location too? So if possible, pls teach me?

On a sidenote: if u want to recce... we can fix up something.. got a few bros pmed me on this.. mebbe we can gather and go check it out... :) IF our words turn into action.. Drinks on me :) No alcohol pls.. im only 16...

Anyway.... speakin of ease of location.. with my explanations.. its pretty easy to get to the places mentioned :) as once u see ONE durian tree.. another will pop up somewhere.. nearby :) just liek snakes.... when u see 1... especially cobras... u will know the other is somewhere out there.. as they're always out in pairs :)

Cheers bro! and Thanks in advance for teaching me on the GPS location :)

Kaki369
03-07-2008, 12:22 AM
That's provided :

1. My gps arrive this week...
2. I can find the place... hahahaha

BTW, what is a good time to go durian picking?

Hmmmmmmmmmmm..... a good time to go durian picking eh?

Go ONCE in the day.... to recce where/which durian tree u wanna target... try to hang ard where a cluster of durian trees are around u.. so got more chance.. but if u go to mandai where its pretty political and territorial.. hmmm... basically KIASU is impt la.. :) gotta rem that..

ok ok...

go once in the day... look up in the durian tree that u had jus AIMED to harvest.. take note of the possibly ripe durians.. those with short stock... and are solitary.. loooks good sized... and its tellin u... im so gonna drop on ur head baby! jus watch it!... well gut feeling plays a part..

now.. photographic memory comes into play.. remember the durians locations above... so at night... say evening anytime 8pm onwards... or wee hrs... 12am onwards.. or... before first light... the durians drop ya... u know where they are... as u had made an imaginary line marking of where the durians are on top and where they might be located on the ground..

do note if ur're on a slope.. there is something called gravity... CG of the earth.. so they wont fall down straight lah.. hahah :) also remember to study the ground below the durian tree.. isit leaves? hard ground? tall grass? bla blabla? try to picture when a durian drops on the grass/leave/ground what sound it will make? not everywhere is hard ground or leaves mah.. so try to picture the durian on top.. fallin to the ground... what sound..

So this brings me to my next para...when u hear a POM! dont react instantly by standing up like in army.. ur duty comm shout TURN OUT TURN OUT TURN OUT! Relax.. ai zai.. i know its hard to control.. i myself also.. but remember.. keep ur ears peeled... try not to have any lights on... darkness is best... why? because if there's light.. ur eyes will be dependent on it... if its dark.. u auto channel ur senses to ur ears.. every single sound u can hear.. trust me..

i always pick durian.. sit alone there at a spot... in the dark..scary.. but fun.. lol... so ahh... hope my explanations were okay... and uhh... if u can afford the time... go after dinner.. sit it out till sunrise....

from experience.. different places.. the durian drop differently leh? hahah... like they have a fixed time... hahah... mostly is evening time.. 8pm-12midnite... some places/trees after midnight... weird lah.. hahah..

hope the above info is of great help to u and all those out there reading :)

Thanks for the time taken.. and remember.. Caring is Sharing :)

carey
03-07-2008, 09:36 AM
WAH ROD? Either u are OLD MAN or u are "Combat-Fit" ? So tell me Sir/Sarge/CPL... Which is it? hahah!!

Well... then the whole jeep at the back full of durians... lolz.. stilll can remember my BMT... my OC asked me to join them for Durians after nights out...because if other recruits were to know.. it wont look good on the OC/PC/PS etc.. then after wacking da POWER DURIANS (2nd time of my life eating Tekong Durians) when i went back bunk. sleep and all...

the next morning... everyone ask.. eh do u smell durian last nite? everybody YAR YAR! I dreamt i was eating durians.. WAH SMELL DAMN NICE!!.. in my heart.. i was like.. should i say? till now i feel bad.. hahha... damn nice lah! the durians were from Pigeon Hill.. im not sure u know that place.. My uncle brought me there once..way before my NS, and thats when i had my 1st taste of tekong durians :) AHH PURE HEAVEN!

well Mate.. u wore ur own boots? wah happenin da u!!

Anyway i didnt read papers recently leh? Online counted? And the only PAPER papers i`ve been reading of late are BizTimes and Financial Times.. no Durian Talk.. which day and what section? Must go chek it out...

IF its Mr Lee.. and the number is the same as the one i posted earlier in the thread....(thats if the papers published his numbers, which i doubt so) is da same.. then its the Mr Lee lor :)

Give him a try.... i assure that u wont regret.. maybe u willl regret alittle because nothing ever comes pretty close to a Tekong Durian from Pigeon's Hill :) and Pulau Ubin's Sampa Durian.. the taste of SELF-PICKED.. Satisfaction da!!

Cheers!

No need to call sir liao lah...me old man...hahah

I don't know where "pigeon hill" is - maybe my time don't have such nice nicknames...hahah

I only got the "treasure spots" marked on my personal Tekong map...shhh

If I remember correctly, me old man liao, the durian article was about buying durians online and it was previous Sunday Life section?

I recall another good durian I tried was on a kelong in Sibu - some people came by on sampan to sell segemat durians - small but very powderful the smell and taste :)

PS - on the GPS thingie - if you have one, go to the spot and then read off your GPS device - it should give off a 6-digit code (or something) of that position...

Some phones can also take picture with GPS information - just snap at the tree and it will log in the coordinates on the photo :)

DarK_AxE
04-07-2008, 03:16 PM
Whaoo... check this out:

www.717trading.com

they no longer just provide pastries but online purchasing of fruits and durians. Delivery at our doorstep man..yummy!

ttw123
04-07-2008, 04:00 PM
actually, you can buy the durians from the uncles who pick them from the jungles in spore. I bought from one uncle at $6 per kilo who stays in yishun. if interested, can pm me and I will give you the details. let those uncles earn some money and you dun have to go in the middle of the night to pick durians.

hammerhammer
04-07-2008, 05:09 PM
I saw some durian trees at the junction of Yishun Ave 1 and Lentor Ave while taking MRT towards YCK. got about 10++ fruits on the tree. Will be going there tomolo to check it out. Anyone want to go?:D

hammerhammer
04-07-2008, 05:16 PM
This is the exact location....If you take train you can see it. About 100-200m away from the track nia:D

http://img93.imageshack.us/img93/7813/61405541ef8.jpg (http://imageshack.us)

abstractthoughts
04-07-2008, 05:42 PM
I saw some durian trees at the junction of Yishun Ave 1 and Lentor Ave while taking MRT towards YCK. got about 10++ fruits on the tree. Will be going there tomolo to check it out. Anyone want to go?:D

wau lau, like that also can see? :D:D haha

CyberTron
04-07-2008, 06:01 PM
The day when google maps is detail till 1cm.... then we can zoom in on the map and count how many durian and see ripe or not.... hahahaha....

abstractthoughts
04-07-2008, 06:10 PM
The day when google maps is detail till 1cm.... then we can zoom in on the map and count how many durian and see ripe or not.... hahahaha....

HAHAHAHAAAA

Kaki369
05-07-2008, 12:52 AM
wah hammer san..finally see u in my thread! welcome!

for that spot... have a jolly good long walk man.. LOL.. dont get lost in there :)

DeadlyDivine
05-07-2008, 01:32 AM
OMG! I ate so much durian ... i think i smell like it, look like it.. in fact I'm ran a fever last week cause of it!

CyberTron
05-07-2008, 01:57 AM
damn...my GPS is still not here yet... though I might just have a walk over there either sat or sun :)

Kaki369
05-07-2008, 03:26 AM
No need to call sir liao lah...me old man...hahah

I don't know where "pigeon hill" is - maybe my time don't have such nice nicknames...hahah

I only got the "treasure spots" marked on my personal Tekong map...shhh

If I remember correctly, me old man liao, the durian article was about buying durians online and it was previous Sunday Life section?

I recall another good durian I tried was on a kelong in Sibu - some people came by on sampan to sell segemat durians - small but very powderful the smell and taste :)

PS - on the GPS thingie - if you have one, go to the spot and then read off your GPS device - it should give off a 6-digit code (or something) of that position...

Some phones can also take picture with GPS information - just snap at the tree and it will log in the coordinates on the photo :)

Orhz.... ur time in Tekong must be donkey years ago lah huh? Hmmmm.... Sibu Kelong eh? U fishing fanatic eh? Which Kelong? Ah Yew/Ah Ngan/Ah Fatt? Well.. whichever it is.. my friend said the Durians sold were by the baskets and DAMN SHIOK! hahah... Affordable as well!!

Hmmm.. must do some research on this GPS thinggy liao.. Thanks for the advise Uncle :)

Cheers!!

Kaki369
05-07-2008, 03:28 AM
OMG! I ate so much durian ... i think i smell like it, look like it.. in fact I'm ran a fever last week cause of it!

Tell us more lah.. where u wack the durians? And how much? What type?

Kaki369
05-07-2008, 03:30 AM
damn...my GPS is still not here yet... though I might just have a walk over there either sat or sun :)

relax baby... wait for durian drop also need patience.. lolz..

may i request when u go for ur nature walk.. do take some photos and post here? noticed ur food photography velly good ah!! but problematic to access the food review... heheh :)

Thanks in aDvance!

CyberTron
05-07-2008, 11:37 AM
thanks. I just use those simple dummy digital camera only. I might try make a trip down this weekend just to recce recce the place.

CyberTron
05-07-2008, 07:15 PM
Ok....decided to do some recce of the place today....hopefully the photos will give ya motivation to create an account in facebook, to read the reviews... :)

http://ieatclub.com/thumbnails/480x225/0000002154-aed2567e7f4ba4e092152a0843c5821d.JPG

http://ieatclub.com/thumbnails/480x225/0000002157-934ade5c2dae555ca38552857fb47305.JPG
(http://apps.facebook.com/ieatclub/menu_reviews.php?review_id=561)

More photos and mini review (http://apps.facebook.com/ieatclub/menu_reviews.php?review_id=561)

CyberTron
06-07-2008, 02:01 AM
When I was there, one of those who went there to pick said the durians there are not as good. He recommended a place supposedly near the army camp (i guess it should be Nee Soon camp), supposedly have 70 trees there. He went there earlier, and show us one. It was small, but the smell is damn strong and power! Any idea where is this place?

Kaki369
06-07-2008, 03:55 AM
Where's the place? and do u mind pasting all the photos over from ur Facebook a/c? im sure u took more than just 2 photos yar?

Cheers and Thanks in Advance!

CyberTron
06-07-2008, 12:46 PM
More photos (http://www.ieatclub.com/durian_picking_yishun/review.htm?review_id=561)

Kaki369
06-07-2008, 04:45 PM
YOU DA MAN!

Which part of Yishun is that? Near Chong Pang?

CyberTron
06-07-2008, 07:18 PM
Is at the road junction of yishun ave 1 and 2, the place shown on the google map posted by hammerhammer. Do you know if there's any place around nee soon camp which supposedly have like quite a lot of durian trees?

iEatClub - Food Lovers Club (http://ieatclub.com)

Kaki369
06-07-2008, 09:47 PM
Nee Soon Camp.. nearby is SLE ?? I think i know where.. but dont know how to describe.. Hmmm

CyberTron
06-07-2008, 09:51 PM
Yeah...exit upper thomson at SLE, cos my reservist is there. hmm...maybe can circle on the google map like hammerhammer, so I can go recce it this weekend :)

Kaki369
06-07-2008, 10:04 PM
Upper thomson there lor.. hehe.. there got alot of durian trees.. i know le :)

near the Range.... i think u shld know where im talking about huh?

there's a few trees there... small small durian.. but DAMN POWER!

CyberTron
06-07-2008, 10:53 PM
I dunno where cos I dun live around that area. Looking at google map...is it upper thomson turn into mandai rd track 3 there? or more towards bath rd?

ya ya...the durian is small, but the smell is damn strong...

Kaki369
06-07-2008, 11:29 PM
Near Bath Road... yeah :)

CyberTron
10-07-2008, 01:51 AM
Hi! Today I decided to just drive by to take a look...seems the bath rd is actually blocked. Where do we actually get in? From the private house there?

Kaki369
10-07-2008, 02:03 AM
No idea leh Uncle.. im not there... neither will i go there anytime soon..

Try picking liu lian else where larh... Mandai?

CyberTron
10-07-2008, 02:28 AM
Which part of mandai specifically? mandai veddy big leh

jeremywe
10-07-2008, 04:47 AM
This might be a stupid question...

If you guys always walk around areas where there are lots of durian trees, are you not afraid that the fruit might drop on you or your head? I know it sounds like a stupid question, but really, arent you afraid it happens?

In my old house, we used to have a 20 year old durian tree in our garden and every year when it bear fruits (yes, it was really really good and better then durians you buy outside) my dad will climb up the tree to tie them with strings such that it'll drop away from where people walk around.

BossQ
10-07-2008, 10:53 AM

If you guys always walk around areas where there are lots of durian trees, are you not afraid that the fruit might drop on you or your head? I know it sounds like a stupid question, but really, arent you afraid it happens?

In my old house, we used to have a 20 year old durian tree in our garden and every year when it bear fruits (yes, it was really really good and better then durians you buy outside) my dad will climb up the tree to tie them with strings such that it'll drop away from where people walk around.

What I understand is that durians will drop at night only but not sure if it is a myth. Maybe the others can help to confirm it.

CyberTron
10-07-2008, 04:35 PM
no risk...no gain :)

Anyway....maybe durians will drop more at night...but nope...I've seen durian drop during afternoon as well.

Kaki369
10-07-2008, 05:07 PM
Which part of mandai specifically? mandai veddy big leh

Answers can be found in my thread... If ur're lazy to search then im lazy to help u search and paste here too :)

U bring the best out of others when u give the best outta urself :)

Kaki369
10-07-2008, 05:23 PM

WAH.... what happened to ur old house? Do u happen to stay near the old turf club? I know of somebody's house with this big big durian tree :)

Anyway myth says Durian have eyes.. i don really think so..

Because ever a durian droppped and barely missed my friend's shoulder blade and luckily just kena scratched! If he walked 1 step slower, the whole durian might have smashed into his shoulder directly.

On a sidenote, my contacts plantation workers yah, they WEAR helmets when picking up the morning's harvest.

Play safe lah :)

j3ffr3y
10-07-2008, 05:27 PM
hey TS....... so when u organising trip to malaysia for durian FEAST ... i wan to SIGN UP !! or picking durian in SG.. i oso wan..........

j3ffr3y
10-07-2008, 05:28 PM
if in any case u ordering durian from uncle lee.. rope me along

my nos is 98736462 jeff stay in kallang..

takashi_82
10-07-2008, 06:10 PM
i just bought a packet of durian called "mao shang wan" inside got 4 pcs.. one pcs 6sg.. u think i kanna chop ? but one bite on it.. readi like xo heaven...

Cashcow
10-07-2008, 07:15 PM
Tagore lane oso got 2 durian trees. Near the liberty warehouse there.

Kaki369
10-07-2008, 10:41 PM
hey TS....... so when u organising trip to malaysia for durian FEAST ... i wan to SIGN UP !! or picking durian in SG.. i oso wan..........

Hey Jeff :)

When organizing Durian FEAST huh? Targetted at End July :) If ur're alright with paying between $60-80. Then Why not?

Picking durians in SG? Sure thing baby.... Where do ya stay?

Thanks,
Trevor

Kaki369
10-07-2008, 10:50 PM
i just bought a packet of durian called "mao shang wan" inside got 4 pcs.. one pcs 6sg.. u think i kanna chop ? but one bite on it.. readi like xo heaven...

Hmmm outside selling 1kg of Mao Shan Wang ranging from 1kg $8-$20....

For ur price... I think not justifiable... Try to bargain next time... or best.. dont even buy from those packaged wan...

LAO HONG liao... :)

Hmmmm XO? Mao Shan Wang shouldnt really exude much XO smell but damn blardy BITTERNESS.. LOL..

Glad u enjoyed it.. dont worry about the $.. u paid liao.. just enjoy.. and u enjoyed it!! SHIOK AH!

Next time post pix lah.. LOL

devilmaniac
11-07-2008, 02:11 AM
planning to jb to eat until kao kao.. hehe..4rm for one durian..

babyanjel
11-07-2008, 02:15 AM
just did an online durian order, delivered just now.. msw.. power siah!! damn good.

Kaki369
11-07-2008, 02:29 AM
planning to jb to eat until kao kao.. hehe..4rm for one durian..

Where sia? so cheap... lolz... very surprising...

Kaki369
11-07-2008, 02:30 AM
just did an online durian order, delivered just now.. msw.. power siah!! damn good.

Tell me about it!!!??

limitation
11-07-2008, 01:39 PM
Tell me about it!!!??

could it be this one (http://onlinedurianstore.blogspot.com/)?

Kaki369
11-07-2008, 02:25 PM
i must say the BLOG is really pushing their luck very far and spoiling the market for other durian sellers especially if it has to do with MSW

If im a millionaire i also wont buy from the blog as u had mentioned, too exorbitant, too vague and simply too expensive :)

If i can fork out that $ to buy from them, means i`ve got the spending power, which i`d rather head down to 717 or Durian Cafe at Joo Chiat, at least i know i am getting it FRESH on the spot and i can see/smell/touch and TASTE the durian before buying :)

Its too risky and too expensive in my honest opinion, guess they're targetting the LAZY ppl :) But then again, if there are people whom are keen to buy wholesale like 50kg and above, they can always head down to the reknown stalls and talk to them. Im 99% cocksure that the buyer will get a MUCH MUCH better price than that BLOG.

Thumbs Down for them...

If anybody begs to differ, pls cock ur weapons and standby to shoot at me ba :)

wind79
11-07-2008, 06:03 PM
i must say the BLOG is really pushing their luck very far and spoiling the market for other durian sellers especially if it has to do with MSW

If im a millionaire i also wont buy from the blog as u had mentioned, too exorbitant, too vague and simply too expensive :)

If i can fork out that $ to buy from them, means i`ve got the spending power, which i`d rather head down to 717 or Durian Cafe at Joo Chiat, at least i know i am getting it FRESH on the spot and i can see/smell/touch and TASTE the durian before buying :)

Its too risky and too expensive in my honest opinion, guess they're targetting the LAZY ppl :) But then again, if there are people whom are keen to buy wholesale like 50kg and above, they can always head down to the reknown stalls and talk to them. Im 99% cocksure that the buyer will get a MUCH MUCH better price than that BLOG.

Thumbs Down for them...

$15/kg for MSW is quite ok price.

Beta_Tester
11-07-2008, 07:28 PM
Got one food blog.. ieatishoot.. is organising one durian makan. 20bucks per head. think premium durians.

Kaki369
11-07-2008, 08:24 PM

Im not sure if u had read the other additional charges like Delivery etc for the Blog before u fired ur 1 liner comment. Seems like $ is everything to u, but not for me, i make my $ work for me and i make sure it lands in the correct hands which will hand me my delicious and yet justifiably priced durians ;)

U said Ok then OKAY lor :)

Anyway i said quite abit and i supported my statement on why paying if im not wrong $20 per kg is NOT justifiable. Mentioned quite a few points. So i think ur 1 liner comment abit out of place leh?

Cheers :)

Kaki369
11-07-2008, 08:26 PM
Got one food blog.. ieatishoot.. is organising one durian makan. 20bucks per head. think premium durians.

Yeah Doctor ieat goes to the Durian Cafe at Joo Chiat :)

CyberTron
11-07-2008, 09:03 PM
I live just walking distance from Durian Cafe, and my mum says the durian price there has been going up gradually since it started last month or something.

Kaki369
11-07-2008, 10:11 PM
I live just walking distance from Durian Cafe, and my mum says the durian price there has been going up gradually since it started last month or something.

Thats what i had noticed too :)

babyanjel
12-07-2008, 04:23 PM
Tell me about it!!!??

pretty good, me and my buddy eat until song song.

babyanjel
12-07-2008, 04:27 PM

quite ok to me too, cuz used to buy durians off balestier tpk, and one of the fruit stalls near the lighting shops, $16/kg, plus they sibeh hao lian see people no up till take out wallet full of cash.

if dont want delivery can pick up from stall straight. i ordered after good feedback from a few others, no regrets.

http://i327.photobucket.com/albums/k471/v55112/durian5.jpg

wanted to shoot more pictures, but everything was gone in like 60 seconds lol.

babyanjel
12-07-2008, 04:56 PM
YOU DA MAN!

Which part of Yishun is that? Near Chong Pang?

http://i186.photobucket.com/albums/x38/wshlyf/Khatibbongsu/70a8b707.jpg

hehe...

http://i153.photobucket.com/albums/s227/edmwbabyangel/ed1c1c57.jpg

but ish not v ripe :P

CyberTron
12-07-2008, 05:15 PM
Can share share the location?

babyanjel
12-07-2008, 07:00 PM
Can share share the location?
i just went to check, brb with FR

Kaki369
12-07-2008, 07:20 PM
wah lao.... see the stock so long and the thorns so green... must hv bn pretty heavy eh? lolz.... i bet u had a hard time opening it...

let it ripen in a dark n cool n dry place... most likely ripen but tasteless... except the super long stock one in ur pic..

waste ur energy carrying... if i were u i`d give them to the thai workers.. which is what i always do.. 1 or 2.. if good harvest.. give them more.. :)

the 2nd pic reminds me of my CCK spot.. haha... miss that place.. left and right also durian trees.. and a huge chempedak tree... fragrance can be smelt 1-2km away... ahhh....

babyanjel
12-07-2008, 07:35 PM
latest FR

http://i327.photobucket.com/albums/k471/v55112/dur1.jpg

http://i327.photobucket.com/albums/k471/v55112/dur2.jpg

http://i327.photobucket.com/albums/k471/v55112/dur3.jpg

http://i327.photobucket.com/albums/k471/v55112/dur4.jpg

babyanjel
12-07-2008, 07:36 PM
http://i327.photobucket.com/albums/k471/v55112/dur5.jpg

http://i327.photobucket.com/albums/k471/v55112/dur7.jpg

http://i327.photobucket.com/albums/k471/v55112/dur8.jpg

http://i327.photobucket.com/albums/k471/v55112/dur9.jpg

Kaki369
12-07-2008, 09:04 PM
Bukit Batok?

wahhh the last pix..all da yummy liu lian? u guys waited or went there pick liao?

awesome stuff!

THANKS for sharing!!!

babyanjel
12-07-2008, 09:43 PM
Bukit Batok?

wahhh the last pix..all da yummy liu lian? u guys waited or went there pick liao?

awesome stuff!

THANKS for sharing!!!
went there and get riaos :) but got many pple

all the durians today were v good, but typical of local durians, very fragrant, not very fleshy, but still good.

Kaki369
12-07-2008, 09:53 PM
icic... wah so got many ppl but they didnt managed to find? PHEW! hehehe :)

great great!!

CyberTron
12-07-2008, 09:55 PM
Can tell me where this place is so I can go there take a look tomorrow? :)

EastSider
12-07-2008, 09:57 PM
Im not sure if u had read the other additional charges like Delivery etc for the Blog before u fired ur 1 liner comment. Seems like $ is everything to u, but not for me, i make my $ work for me and i make sure it lands in the correct hands which will hand me my delicious and yet justifiably priced durians ;)

Anyway i said quite abit and i supported my statement on why paying if im not wrong $20 per kg is NOT justifiable. Mentioned quite a few points. So i think ur 1 liner comment abit out of place leh?

bro! , when u'll bring us go the singapore durian cafe to makan all the durians? :D
quite craving for it liao

Kaki369
12-07-2008, 10:28 PM
Hey EastSider bro... How's it going buddy?

Gather response 1st lor.. Then i will coordinate... swee bo?

Anyway End July there MAY be a Durian Buffet Mission up north.. Price tentatively 60-80 bucks.. Seafood lunch/dinner included ler.. If u keen, can let me know ya :)

EastSider
12-07-2008, 10:31 PM

Anyway End July there MAY be a Durian Buffet Mission up north.. Price tentatively 60-80 bucks.. Seafood lunch/dinner included ler.. If u keen, can let me know ya :)

goodwood hotel is it? :D

necten
13-07-2008, 12:03 AM
$12 per Kg is Alright in my opinion :)

MSW is REALLY BITTER!! haha Good for u Kahlan :) Jiak kao song song :) :)

Sometimes u gotta bite the bullet and try.. u never know when u might chance upon a gem mate :)

Beta_Tester.... Red prawns from Pahang aye? I no no how to attach pics.. if i know.. i sure attach my Red Prawn from Pahang to make u LAO NUA!

Gotta post them bro, let me lao nua =P

Kaki369
13-07-2008, 12:36 AM

up north = malaysia ler!!

limitation
13-07-2008, 12:38 AM

*starts queuing up, wif passport in hand (not forgetting the empty containers..)* :D

Kaki369
Gotta post them bro, let me lao nua =P

posted le :P its in page something something............

limitation

erm..is up north..meaning going in to jb..:)

Kaki369
13-07-2008, 12:58 AM
erm..is up north..meaning going in to jb..:)

:P Hey man!

Beta_Tester
13-07-2008, 01:09 AM
The one at Khatib. Like got many uncles stalking sia. They every day there. :x

Kaki369
13-07-2008, 01:25 AM
good durians mah :)

Beta_Tester
13-07-2008, 04:57 PM
i today go to bottletree they still there sia.lol.. i go look see nearer.. they look quite defensive. lol.

MBoI1986
13-07-2008, 05:41 PM
LOL ! I just ate free durians. Neighbour went to pluck free durians from trees. Haha

Kaki369
13-07-2008, 10:51 PM
i today go to bottletree they still there sia.lol.. i go look see nearer.. they look quite defensive. lol.

hahaha... told ya liao... anyway u machiam reporter sia.. haha.. got notice they wearin same clothes anot? wait smelly smelly.. LOL..

Beta_Tester
13-07-2008, 11:32 PM
haha.. i every day walk my dog there ma. just that last time nv realise got durians there.lol

Kaki369
13-07-2008, 11:34 PM
LOL ! I just ate free durians. Neighbour went to pluck free durians from trees. Haha

nice to eat bo? i think u meant PICK right?

Kaki369
13-07-2008, 11:45 PM
haha.. i every day walk my dog there ma. just that last time nv realise got durians there.lol

haha.. ur dog big anot? scare the ah laus away lah.. LOL

denizeny
14-07-2008, 12:39 AM
sianz, just had fake MSW and red prawn from stall in TPY lor8... the uncle who gave away free durians on 11 july..
friend bought so didn't check. come back MSW white colour one and red prawn is bitter...

btw what species has seeds that's gray white, longish, thin, and has very small seeds? XO? This was the fake MSW...

CyberTron
14-07-2008, 12:40 AM
On my way home today....saw the four seasons durian cafe is so packed today....

Kaki369
14-07-2008, 12:49 AM
Hi Deni,

Its pretty hard to tell from the seeds.. Could u describe the flesh characteristics like taste/color and the shell?

Well... a bad experience is a good thing.. makes us learn our lesson and our palette gets harder to please. which means more quality durians! :)

denizeny
14-07-2008, 01:26 AM
it's buttery sweet, mildly bitter only. it's not bad lah, just didn't like to be cheated.

CyberTron
14-07-2008, 01:32 AM
Today sunday plus got article tell ya the distinctive features of the mao shan wang

Kaki369
14-07-2008, 01:33 AM
what about the Shell?

Were there very very clear brown separation lines from the butt of the durian?

tekster
14-07-2008, 08:31 AM
how to tell whether MSW is real or fake? i tried a few times, sometimes it's good sometimes it's not. can't seem to differentiate man.

btw, who was at the TPY lor 8 giveaway? I was there and the durians I tasted was pretty good man.

tekster
14-07-2008, 08:35 AM

can share the online delivery details? i oso wanna order.

BossQ
14-07-2008, 02:02 PM
Today sunday plus got article tell ya the distinctive features of the mao shan wang

Can anyone scanned it and share please? Thanks

Kaki369
14-07-2008, 04:33 PM
Hello Fellas,

Will try to take a snap or get my friend to help me snap and then i`d post here for all to see.

As Im in school now. When i get home, i will post all the info that i can remember and find.. which have taught me alot over the years... geez sound so old.. hehe

And uhhh.. for those who PMed me on info of Durian in JB.. i was there yesterday and uhhh saw this Fruit Stall that is located in Merlin Tower selling Durian!!

Directions are:

It is directly opposite the Bus Terminal where ppl take to go home from JB and the name of the building is Merlin Tower...

This is the very first building u will see when u come out of the escalator/JB Customs... U will see a kopitiam and then Mobil... Just continue walking parallel to the road with mobil infront of u..

Keep walking... and u will notice infront of u will be a indian muslim restaurant selling prata etc... Now if u look to ur right.. u will see the Bus Terminal i mentioned above... Now u will see behind the indian restaurant there will be a building.. that is Merlin Tower..

Walk up the steps... u will see first thing a Coach/Bus Booking Agency.. Turn right and walk along the shops.. u will see a row of the Coach/Bus Booking Agency... to confirm ur bearings.. look directly to ur right/3pm direction.. the Bus Terminal WILL BE THERE!. Continue walking and u will past by a Pubilc Toilet.. 1 or 2 stalls down.. u will see this fruit stall selling cut fruits, agar agar and etc etc... THAT is the stall where i saw the owner selling his baskets of durian...

I didnt really notice the stall at first, but it was my NOSE that picked up a faint whiff... as i walked on.. i saw an Uncle eating durian by the sidewalk.. WAH LAO!! Turned to my left and look around. OHH So this stall sell durians!! hehe.... Perhaps takin advantage of the bumper crop!

Do take note.. NOW is the PEAK SEASON.. all durians are really really good :) Good price as well! Oh and for the JB shop.. i didnt check the price.. but heck.. its definitely cheaper and FRESh as i had noticed from the stock and the inner core of the durian that the uncle was eating..

SLURPZ!! Well.. i think this is not the only stall lah.. just take a walk around and use ur nose... im sure u will find some durians!!!

Alright thats about all.. Hope the above helps those who had PMed me and those who are interested in gettin Durians from JB.. Something to note is, dont expect GOOD durian, just know what ur're paying for and if its a bad experience.. learn from it :) End of day, we have bigger spending power, so its alright to pay tuition fees as i always call it. I think i`ve spent hundreds in tuition fees before roughly knowing how to make my money's worth of good durians.

Customer loyalty is also important... if u go to a stall and the durian is good.. keep goin back.. THe owner will notice and keep for u quality durians next time :)

Alrighty! Back to Tutorial!!

PS: Those who find my directions to JB unsure, pls call me at 81399102 i will be most glad to explain to u :)

Trev

imnuts-
14-07-2008, 05:49 PM
after eating msw, i still think D24 and D101 better

abstractthoughts
14-07-2008, 05:57 PM
Hello Fellas,

Will try to take a snap or get my friend to help me snap and then i`d post here for all to see.

As Im in school now. When i get home, i will post all the info that i can remember and find.. which have taught me alot over the years... geez sound so old.. hehe

And uhhh.. for those who PMed me on info of Durian in JB.. i was there yesterday and uhhh saw this Fruit Stall that is located in Merlin Tower selling Durian!!

Directions are:

It is directly opposite the Bus Terminal where ppl take to go home from JB and the name of the building is Merlin Tower...

This is the very first building u will see when u come out of the escalator/JB Customs... U will see a kopitiam and then Mobil... Just continue walking parallel to the road with mobil infront of u..

Keep walking... and u will notice infront of u will be a indian muslim restaurant selling prata etc... Now if u look to ur right.. u will see the Bus Terminal i mentioned above... Now u will see behind the indian restaurant there will be a building.. that is Merlin Tower..

Walk up the steps... u will see first thing a Coach/Bus Booking Agency.. Turn right and walk along the shops.. u will see a row of the Coach/Bus Booking Agency... to confirm ur bearings.. look directly to ur right/3pm direction.. the Bus Terminal WILL BE THERE!. Continue walking and u will past by a Pubilc Toilet.. 1 or 2 stalls down.. u will see this fruit stall selling cut fruits, agar agar and etc etc... THAT is the stall where i saw the owner selling his baskets of durian...

I didnt really notice the stall at first, but it was my NOSE that picked up a faint whiff... as i walked on.. i saw an Uncle eating durian by the sidewalk.. WAH LAO!! Turned to my left and look around. OHH So this stall sell durians!! hehe.... Perhaps takin advantage of the bumper crop!

Do take note.. NOW is the PEAK SEASON.. all durians are really really good :) Good price as well! Oh and for the JB shop.. i didnt check the price.. but heck.. its definitely cheaper and FRESh as i had noticed from the stock and the inner core of the durian that the uncle was eating..

SLURPZ!! Well.. i think this is not the only stall lah.. just take a walk around and use ur nose... im sure u will find some durians!!!

Alright thats about all.. Hope the above helps those who had PMed me and those who are interested in gettin Durians from JB.. Something to note is, dont expect GOOD durian, just know what ur're paying for and if its a bad experience.. learn from it :) End of day, we have bigger spending power, so its alright to pay tuition fees as i always call it. I think i`ve spent hundreds in tuition fees before roughly knowing how to make my money's worth of good durians.

Customer loyalty is also important... if u go to a stall and the durian is good.. keep goin back.. THe owner will notice and keep for u quality durians next time :)

Alrighty! Back to Tutorial!!

PS: Those who find my directions to JB unsure, pls call me at 81399102 i will be most glad to explain to u :)

Trev

I'm so gonna print this and check it out. (but JB is quite dangerous now leh)

abstractthoughts
14-07-2008, 05:59 PM
how to tell whether MSW is real or fake? i tried a few times, sometimes it's good sometimes it's not. can't seem to differentiate man.

btw, who was at the TPY lor 8 giveaway? I was there and the durians I tasted was pretty good man.

if you read sunday times (Lifestyle) durian special, it stated that at the thorns of MSW, there are some "thread-like" stuff protruding out. Dunno how to explain it without pictures, go read the papers.

Kaki369
14-07-2008, 11:39 PM
Hi Abstract,

If in doubt at any point of time. MY number is there for u to call :)

On a sidenote, MSW has very obvious Dark Brown lines showing the separation of each Shell. The lines originate from the base of the Durian itself. I thnk thats what u meant yeah?

Anyway JB is Safe or Unsafe it all depends on yourself. I always begins Safety beings with YOURSELF :)

Kaki369
14-07-2008, 11:41 PM
Hey All,

As promised. Some really good info in my opinion :)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SiB3zdvXgvg&feature=related

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=O6sjptFHNwg&feature=related

These links are Just Awesome :) Check it out :)

Kaki369
15-07-2008, 10:47 AM
Hello All,

Who's keen for a Durian Buffet + Seafood lunch/dinner + Shopping etc at end of the Month? Price we're looking at is roughly between $60-80.

The interested parties so far are:

1) Jeff
2) Jeff GF
3) Jeff Gal Fren
4) Myself
5) Limitation
6)
7)
8)
9)
10)

Trying to fill up at least 10 places if not 8.. Reason why 10 because i am quite confident we can secure a personal mini bus up and everything will be just US :) This is the advise given from a friend lah.. Hehe...

So.. By this Thursday 5pm i will decide to move on and coordinate if the response if good.. IF not, will "cancel" :)

Number provided if there's any queries :)

Thanks for reading :)

Trevor

dreamer75
15-07-2008, 01:56 PM
Hello All,

Who's keen for a Durian Buffet + Seafood lunch/dinner + Shopping etc at end of the Month? Price we're looking at is roughly between $60-80.

The interested parties so far are:

1) Jeff
2) Jeff GF
3) Jeff Gal Fren
4) Myself
5) Limitation
6)
7)
8)
9)
10)

Trying to fill up at least 10 places if not 8.. Reason why 10 because i am quite confident we can secure a personal mini bus up and everything will be just US :) This is the advise given from a friend lah.. Hehe...

So.. By this Thursday 5pm i will decide to move on and coordinate if the response if good.. IF not, will "cancel" :)

Number provided if there's any queries :)

Thanks for reading :)

Trevor

what's the itenery like?
interested.

blankies
15-07-2008, 02:15 PM
I interested. I can drive. If got more drivers, we can convoy.

Anyway, need to know exact date man

babyanjel
15-07-2008, 02:35 PM
can share the online delivery details? i oso wanna order.

not super worth it bah :P

i just tried something pretty good..

try balestier 319 durian.. bought liulian from them for more than 10years+

katarina
15-07-2008, 02:53 PM
not super worth it bah :P

i just tried something pretty good..

try balestier 319 durian.. bought liulian from them for more than 10years+

BBA!!! u going to the durian trip????:s11:

Kaki369
15-07-2008, 05:17 PM
Alright guys...

Itinery is pretty much fixed.... And i must emphasize that for the Exact date to be published, i cant do that right now, but i can assure u that it will be a weekend for the sake of all working adults and students alike, and hopefully End of July as mentioned IF not 1st wk of August. Exact date can only be published after finalizing how many PAX confirmed :) Yupz :)

7/8am Pick up (Location to be confirmed)
Head to JB
9/10am Breakfast at own cost (Kopitiam)
Head to Durian Farm
11-1pm Durian Lunch
Travel out to Shopping Center
Shop Shop Shop Shop
6-7pm Seafood Dinner
Home Sweet Home

So as u can see from the itinery above.. its pretty much similar for all agencies, some have additional stuff like Batik Workshops and other stuff..

Yupz.. so thats the itinery for everyone :)

So after looking thru, u think ur're keen to fork out between 60-80bucks and able to make it on a WEEKEND End of July.

Please put ur name list down:

1) Jeff
2) Jeff GF
3) Jeff Gal Fren
4) Myself
5) Limitation
6) My Fren
7) My Fren
8)
9)
10)

If we can hit more than 10pax by Thurs 5pm (The Deadline which i Set), all the better! More ppl means the price will be Lower!

And Blankies, we're going via a Tour Agency, the plantation owners i know are not in Johore area, but in Pahang/Penang area :)

So are u still keen? No need u to drive lah, i just need u to sit back and relax, enjoy the company and DURIAN!!! WOO!!!

Regards,
Trevor
81399102 (HP)

Kaki369
15-07-2008, 05:18 PM
*UPDATES*

1) Jeff
2) Jeff GF
3) Tricia
4) Myself
5) Dreamer
6) My Fren
7) My Fren
8) My Fren
9) Jeremywe
10) Jeremywe Partner

WOOHOO!!! More More More!!

My HP : 81399102

Feel free to call me if u`ve any enquiries!

dreamer75
15-07-2008, 05:24 PM
penang??......

end of july = 26/27 jul :)

Kaki369
15-07-2008, 06:26 PM
Yupz.. in the famous durian area called Balik Pulau... but of course we're not going there now lah :)

Anyway Dreamer bro.. U alright with the arrangement and stuff yeah?

runeruin
15-07-2008, 06:37 PM
expose:jurong west blk503(jurong CC there)
got few durian stalls at the carpark area

then theres another stall at the end think after some coffeeshop,at the 'main' road side their service is kns+jiak sai,you picky a bit they kpkb already

they also say buy $2 ea durian want so much quality then go and buy their 3 for $20 durian

and on the $2 durian they wrote they guaranteed bitter/sweetness and ripe durian

dreamer75
16-07-2008, 02:21 PM
Yupz.. in the famous durian area called Balik Pulau... but of course we're not going there now lah :)

Anyway Dreamer bro.. U alright with the arrangement and stuff yeah?

count me in.
hope the prices can be lower too as i saw other travel package charging like $55?

Kaki369
17-07-2008, 12:29 AM
harlow Luffy bro!!!

I didnt know u were LuffyMonkey that why i keep lookin high and low... Basket.. yuan lai shi LuffyMonkey! HaiYo! Early no say IF not i will deesiao u in every thread u post liao..

Anyway who u calling yandao lah... unless u gay then say me yandao lah.. then i will gay with u! Nice talking to u that day man! Its been a long time huh? HEHEHE!!

Well.. thanks for da support man!! Luffy Kor Kor..!! haha!!

Caring ish sharing... LOL!!

Kaki369
17-07-2008, 12:32 AM
count me in.
hope the prices can be lower too as i saw other travel package charging like $55?

Hi Dreamer Bro,

i will try my best to get the best price.. but $55 is abit HARd.. nevertheless i will try.. Because from what i understand the factors that contribute to a cost of $55 is:

1: 20 and above Pax trip

The Pros is u get good price, But the cons is u must share the bus with others, share durian with others and the worst part is share tables with others during the seafood lunch/dinner. Its like ur're dining with total strangers! Yes we can be friendly and ethical but sometimes, humans are brought up in such a way that. I paid $ So i should EAT my fill!! Well i personally SEEN that during my 1st durian trip which my buddy's uncle brought us... Lucky not my table.. Oh well..

2: Oil price increase

So perhaps that might be the agency's argument that the price cant be regulated any further

So in conclusion, i will do my best within my means to get a really good price, but i must inform all that be prepared to fork out minimum $60 as we're going on a 10pax trip or hopefully more :) Then the cost will be significantly lower :)

Yup Yup :)

Alright Dreamer bro, i added ur name to the list! YAY :)

jeremywe
17-07-2008, 12:48 AM
1) Jeff
2) Jeff GF
3) Jeff Gal Fren
4) Myself
5) Limitation
6) My Fren
7) My Fren
8) Jeremywe
9) Jeremywe partner
10)

Alright guys...

So after looking thru, u think ur're keen to fork out between 60-80bucks and able to make it on a WEEKEND End of July.

1) Jeff
2) Jeff GF
3) Jeff Gal Fren
4) Myself
5) Limitation
6) My Fren
7) My Fren
8) Jeremywe
9) Jeremywe partner
10)

Kaki369
17-07-2008, 12:56 AM
Thank You Jeremy,

I have swiftly replied ur PM :)

Cheers!
Trevor

Kaki369
17-07-2008, 01:34 AM
Ha ha ha!!! Really? I somehow thought that was YOU but i dont remember u telling me ur nick had a Monkey behind.. Sheesh!! *scratch big head*

Ahh well.. i am GAY mah.. u not GAY meh? LOL... Alright lah.. dont get crazy here. we get crazy in EDMW! Heheh! I not used to it because the response is damn fast and so many pages to read. Not forgetting new threads are created even faster than babies are being born every min in Chi*a man!!

Shameless advertising? OH YEAH.. Who cares? LOL!!

Caring is Sharing!!!

Kaki369
17-07-2008, 01:45 PM
Hey all..

Those in the CONFIRMED list.. Pls sms me ur nick.. So i can have ur number yeah..

dreamer75
17-07-2008, 02:42 PM
Hey all..

Those in the CONFIRMED list.. Pls sms me ur nick.. So i can have ur number yeah..

i need the confirmed date :)

Kaki369
17-07-2008, 04:11 PM
Confirmed date can only be processed after i confirm number of PAX..

So do u still want to be in the CONFIRMED list?

Because by stating "Count u in" and me stating the tenative date is END JULY which means Either 26th / 27th

So dreamer, whats ur decision?

dreamer75
17-07-2008, 04:42 PM
Confirmed date can only be processed after i confirm number of PAX..

So do u still want to be in the CONFIRMED list?

Because by stating "Count u in" and me stating the tenative date is END JULY which means Either 26th / 27th

So dreamer, whats ur decision?

ok, add me in confirmed list.
sorry for the list of queries. :)

Kaki369
17-07-2008, 05:23 PM
No problem. Please dont be sorry.. It takes 2 hands to clap :)

blankies
17-07-2008, 06:24 PM
Alright guys...

Itinery is pretty much fixed.... And i must emphasize that for the Exact date to be published, i cant do that right now, but i can assure u that it will be a weekend for the sake of all working adults and students alike, and hopefully End of July as mentioned IF not 1st wk of August. Exact date can only be published after finalizing how many PAX confirmed :) Yupz :)

7/8am Pick up (Location to be confirmed)
Head to JB
9/10am Breakfast at own cost (Kopitiam)
Head to Durian Farm
11-1pm Durian Lunch
Travel out to Shopping Center
Shop Shop Shop Shop
6-7pm Seafood Dinner
Home Sweet Home

So as u can see from the itinery above.. its pretty much similar for all agencies, some have additional stuff like Batik Workshops and other stuff..

Yupz.. so thats the itinery for everyone :)

1) Jeff
2) Jeff GF
3) Jeff Gal Fren
4) Myself
5) Limitation
6) My Fren
7) My Fren
8)
9)
10)

If we can hit more than 10pax by Thurs 5pm (The Deadline which i Set), all the better! More ppl means the price will be Lower!

And Blankies, we're going via a Tour Agency, the plantation owners i know are not in Johore area, but in Pahang/Penang area :)

So are u still keen? No need u to drive lah, i just need u to sit back and relax, enjoy the company and DURIAN!!! WOO!!!

Regards,
Trevor
81399102 (HP)

you want to check the place again? Penang is like 11hrs ride using CAR speed leh!

Kaki369
17-07-2008, 08:11 PM
you want to double check my posts again? LOL.. pls dont make my toes laugh Blankies

Kaki369
17-07-2008, 08:48 PM
Mission Details:

Date: 270708 Sunday
Pick up & Drop off point: Jurong East MRT
Pick up time: 0700hours
Estimated time of departure from JB: 1900hours

The itinery is not confirmed yet due to some minor hiccups according to my friend. And the most important thing is the cost is $60 per pax, that excludes tipping of the guide/driver and insurance. If u guys want insurance, gotta top up another $3. In my opinion, its redundant as im sure all of us are covered with global insurance yeah? No point letting this travel agencies earn our $. BUT if u really want Insurance, let me know :)

Mode of payment will be via ATM Transfer to my Account. When i`ve confirmed everything then i will make known to everyone to transfer. As payment has to be made after booking so please take note that money transferred and no show on that day is not refundable yah.

1) Jeff
2) Jeff GF
3) Tricia
4) Myself
5) Dreamer
6) My Fren
7) My Fren
8) My Fren
9) Jeremywe
10) Jeremywe Partner

To those whom are going:

Could u pls PM me the details as mentioned below asap ur:

1) Full Name
2) Passport number
3) Passport expiry date
4) Date of Birth

For those whom are not HWZ members (U know who u are) Drop me a sms will do :)

Thank U!

Trevor

dreamer75
17-07-2008, 10:45 PM
nice price....coach or van?

Kaki369
17-07-2008, 11:00 PM
yeah its nice price.. my navy junior works in the agency mah.. so.. got some discount even though we 10ppl nia.. other places all quote me 70+++++ and above man!!

wah.. for ur qn.. that one i didnt ask.. should be Mini Bus.. haha.. or Mini Coach..

dreamer75
17-07-2008, 11:18 PM
yeah its nice price.. my navy junior works in the agency mah.. so.. got some discount even though we 10ppl nia.. other places all quote me 70+++++ and above man!!

wah.. for ur qn.. that one i didnt ask.. should be Mini Bus.. haha.. or Mini Coach..

tips is std RM5 or S$2 rite?

btw, pm u alr.

Kaki369
18-07-2008, 12:04 AM
i would think so.. will check and cfm :)

thanks bro :)

StupidMe
18-07-2008, 12:42 AM
if still got free slots
Count me + 1 frd in :P
Thanks

Kaki369
18-07-2008, 05:53 PM
stupidMe.. give me a call at 81399102 asap. >Thank u :)

StupidMe
18-07-2008, 10:38 PM
info forwarded to your pm le :)

Kaki369
18-07-2008, 11:11 PM
received with thanks Thomas :)

OreO84
19-07-2008, 01:20 AM
the $60 includes everything, except breakfast which is at own cost? :o

celestial517
19-07-2008, 02:21 AM
anyway just to share share, toa payoh lor 8 market got sell durian, each at 10 cents. donnoe if still have but can try ur luck hehe

Kaki369
19-07-2008, 03:25 AM
Oreo san,

breakfast and hmm own shopping etc at own cost ya :) If ur keen.. drop me a CALL quick..

Celestial,

10cents? WOW!!POWER!! hahah!!
Thank for sharing buddy!!

StupidMe
19-07-2008, 02:32 PM
btw where is the bus pickup point & alight point ah ?

Kaki369
19-07-2008, 04:53 PM
Page 14.. Post #202..

Erwinlow
19-07-2008, 05:07 PM
I always buy from along Sims Avenue, got 1 stall, pretty big called Deluxe Sg. Red prawn, 3 for $12. MSW $8 per kg.

StupidMe
19-07-2008, 07:13 PM
I always buy from along Sims Avenue, got 1 stall, pretty big called Deluxe Sg. Red prawn, 3 for $12. MSW $8 per kg.

Wow , that is cheap :)

StupidMe
19-07-2008, 07:13 PM
Page 14.. Post #202..

haha , thanks

my eyes tio stamp :(

Kaki369
20-07-2008, 12:57 AM
No problemo!

and yeah i agree.. its DIRT CHEAP!

Anybody wanna go check it out? hahah

agentdurian
20-07-2008, 05:04 AM

Thumbs Down for them...

Hihi hmmmz... this is agent durian here from the online store.
would jus like to do some clarifications with regards to my online store.

in the first place, we are the plantation owners ourselves and being a major supplier from segamat, our plantation has been around for 16 years, supplying to many durian stores locally. my bf's parents have slogged for so many years painstakingly growing the durian trees and i feel that in their defence i have to leave some comments here.

durians are tricky business. i guess you have no idea how little bargaining power the farmers have unless they have an outlet to sell the durians direct to their customers. prices given to the farmers are usually not very favourable and very often, underpriced, heavily exploited by the middlemen.
this is one of the major reasons that the online store was set up.

you may definitely prefer your own method of purchasing durians which i totally respect but i jus do not think it is very fair for you to make judgements like that, especially when we are the very people who grow the trees, who fertilise the trees, who bear the risks of the weather.

with regards to price, we are definitely in sync with the market price. you can find MSWs ranging from $8 to $18 currently but what you pay is what you get as the durians are classified in grades. there are grade A, B & C and definitely we sell only grade As which for whatever price we charge are very reasonable, especially when our durian trees are majorly old trees.

with regards to freshness, we have the first pick of the durians for our customers and refunds are made fairly for any bad goods.

this comment is written without any malice but jus with an intention to be fairly heard.
anywaes durian season is ending and i wish everyone had a rockin' time! :)

agentdurian
20-07-2008, 05:32 AM

hmmm... oh yeah... hee jus to add on... prices are adjusted accordingly to market prices so when it was $20 you geylang was at $22, when it was $12, geylang was at $15 (for grade As)

and delivery costs are definitely chargeable because of fuel prices, and its a fair transaction as choices are given to pick up the durians yourselves from hougang. even 717 charges $20 for delivery too. its jus a convenient option offered to the customers...

i jus want fairness!! ;p

millionaires_club
20-07-2008, 01:00 PM
Bro Kaki369. You're Navy regular? Ever been to whiskey tower?

I just spent the past 2 hours searching for durian picking tips and locations, etc. I stay in Hougang so the nearest durian picking location should be Yishun/Khatib bah. Locations, as usual, like fishing spots, aren't being shared as freely as i would have hoped. :(

Anyways, have i missed the durain picking season? Thinking of organizing a durian picking trip with my fishing buddies. :)

lukold
20-07-2008, 02:48 PM
Brothers, please try not to entire the Military restricted areas in mandai to pick ur durians. My lieut actually saw some people squeezing past the gate to go pick durians, wait for them pick finish then approach them and asked them to surrender the durians, because its military area :S

XiaoMan
20-07-2008, 03:30 PM
hmmm... oh yeah... hee jus to add on... prices are adjusted accordingly to market prices so when it was $20 you geylang was at $22, when it was $12, geylang was at $15 (for grade As)

and delivery costs are definitely chargeable because of fuel prices, and its a fair transaction as choices are given to pick up the durians yourselves from hougang. even 717 charges $20 for delivery too. its jus a convenient option offered to the customers...

i jus want fairness!! ;p

u supply durian the whole year or only in season?

StupidMe
20-07-2008, 05:22 PM
Hi kaki369

sorry for any trouble cause ahh ,
have u charter the bus already ?
if you haven't yet , can please remove me & my frd from the confirm list first
as i might have some last min event on the next weekend

pai seh ahh :(

StupidMe
20-07-2008, 05:27 PM
Brothers, please try not to entire the Military restricted areas in mandai to pick ur durians. My lieut actually saw some people squeezing past the gate to go pick durians, wait for them pick finish then approach them and asked them to surrender the durians, because its military area :S

lol those people power, go in restricted areas to pick
but your lieut lagi best , ask them surrender the durians :P

Kaki369
20-07-2008, 08:56 PM
Hihi hmmmz... this is agent durian here from the online store.
would jus like to do some clarifications with regards to my online store.

in the first place, we are the plantation owners ourselves and being a major supplier from segamat, our plantation has been around for 16 years, supplying to many durian stores locally. my bf's parents have slogged for so many years painstakingly growing the durian trees and i feel that in their defence i have to leave some comments here.

durians are tricky business. i guess you have no idea how little bargaining power the farmers have unless they have an outlet to sell the durians direct to their customers. prices given to the farmers are usually not very favourable and very often, underpriced, heavily exploited by the middlemen.
this is one of the major reasons that the online store was set up.

you may definitely prefer your own method of purchasing durians which i totally respect but i jus do not think it is very fair for you to make judgements like that, especially when we are the very people who grow the trees, who fertilise the trees, who bear the risks of the weather.

with regards to price, we are definitely in sync with the market price. you can find MSWs ranging from $8 to $18 currently but what you pay is what you get as the durians are classified in grades. there are grade A, B & C and definitely we sell only grade As which for whatever price we charge are very reasonable, especially when our durian trees are majorly old trees.

with regards to freshness, we have the first pick of the durians for our customers and refunds are made fairly for any bad goods.

this comment is written without any malice but jus with an intention to be fairly heard.
anywaes durian season is ending and i wish everyone had a rockin' time! :)

Welcome to Singapore :) Where Harsh Reality Exists :) A Country where Democracy is "Inexistent".... But in the forums? It is The Virtual Reality.. FREE SPEECH RULES :)

U have ur opinion, i have mine, so pls dont impose yr opinion on me that i shouldnt pass such judgement. Otherwise u may seem as contradicting which can be easily seen from ur last sentence.

Anyway Thanks for the lengthy introduction of ur Plantation and yada yada... HWZ is a good place for advertising i must agree.. Hehehe :) And Uhh... ur reply is kinda irrelevant to my comments :) Hehehe.. And i think u must be a very busy person.. going to every corner of the Internet to help deal with the Un-Justice that has befalled upon or BF.. GOod GF!

Cheers! :)

Kaki369
20-07-2008, 09:00 PM

i jus want fairness!! ;p

Yeah Yeah :) Thanks for sharing :)

Kaki369
20-07-2008, 09:08 PM
Bro Kaki369. You're Navy regular? Ever been to whiskey tower?

I just spent the past 2 hours searching for durian picking tips and locations, etc. I stay in Hougang so the nearest durian picking location should be Yishun/Khatib bah. Locations, as usual, like fishing spots, aren't being shared as freely as i would have hoped. :(

Anyways, have i missed the durain picking season? Thinking of organizing a durian picking trip with my fishing buddies. :)

NAVY NSF... Whiskey Tower? Never go inside before.. Not authorized to either.. WHY? U went before? U must be CDS yeah? hehehe!!! i heard the fishing there is good! U must be one of the lucky few to try!!??

U mentioned Fishing? Well.. Durian Spots more easy to find then fishing spots lor.. Sometimes ur're standing at the spot itself, but just at the wrong tide and timing so u thought no fish.

Durian is so obvious, the tree so visible, the only catch is whether the tree produces GOOD Durians anot :) Well.. what kinda fishing ur into.. perhaps i may drop u a few fishing holes :)

Durian Season is coming to an end like our dear AgentDurian has said.. But in some places the Durian are still available, but not abundance, in my opinion, the Durians taste best this time.. ahaha :)

Since u like fishing and durian, i reckon u check out USR. The Tower... not sure u know that spot... used to hv mama tomans, haruans and giant turtles!!!

Kaki369
20-07-2008, 09:13 PM

WAH i like ur Sir alot! hahah! Did he share the durian with u all?

Anyway if i was in his shoes.. i mean boots.. i will do the same :) And uhh i understand why the ppl are so desperate.. The Durians are Lorong Asrama are so shiok balls!!

Cashcow
20-07-2008, 10:09 PM
I today just went my papa truly asia farm to pick durians and other fruits. So many durians, dun nid spend a single cent.

Kaki369
20-07-2008, 10:57 PM
Bo Jio Lah

agentdurian
21-07-2008, 12:58 AM
Welcome to Singapore :) Where Harsh Reality Exists :) A Country where Democracy is "Inexistent".... But in the forums? It is The Virtual Reality.. FREE SPEECH RULES :)

U have ur opinion, i have mine, so pls dont impose yr opinion on me that i shouldnt pass such judgement. Otherwise u may seem as contradicting which can be easily seen from ur last sentence.

Anyway Thanks for the lengthy introduction of ur Plantation and yada yada... HWZ is a good place for advertising i must agree.. Hehehe :) And Uhh... ur reply is kinda irrelevant to my comments :) Hehehe.. And i think u must be a very busy person.. going to every corner of the Internet to help deal with the Un-Justice that has befalled upon or BF.. GOod GF!

Cheers! :)

not tryin to impose my opinion on you la... doing free speech oso ma
hehe

babyanjel
21-07-2008, 03:38 PM
u supply durian the whole year or only in season?

only in season

Kaki369
21-07-2008, 04:15 PM
Oh pls.... Pls dont quote my words :)

Babyanjel also part of this scheme ah? Hmmm :)

babyanjel
21-07-2008, 05:11 PM
Oh pls.... Pls dont quote my words :)

Babyanjel also part of this scheme ah? Hmmm :)

you must be kidding me. i'm not affiliated to any businesses so far, apart of a couple of ventures which are not food related.

when it comes to durian i spare no expense, because i believe if you pay peanuts, you get monkey. i'm just sharing my durian experience from this first time online purchase.

onlinedurianstore was referred to me via mindfulness on siamamulet forums. http://www.siamamulets.com/showthread.php?t=9515

my opinion of the store's durian is that it is good, except quality may be irregular. out of 4 durians received, three were superbly good, that me and my ex-roommate finished both in 1 shot, the last one was characteristic of young durian trees, a slight greeny scent in the fragrance and veins were present in the flesh

i believe onlinedurianstore is an honest business, i wonder why people can get so uptight about it. the rates are close to the market rate, if not lower. 717 is more expensive, and quality is definitely subjective.

vic/agent durian actually called me two days after my purchase from them, to check if the durians i received were ok, and how they were.. told her half of a durian seemed a little "rotten" probably an insect but..its ok. could have gotten a refund from her if i insisted. never received such treatment/service from any fruit stall before.

if you go to geylang and say.. eh.. your durian that day not v ripe or not very good.. they will go "KNN.. le buay hiao jiak lah... or bo lui mai kong jiao whey lah.." :s8:

babyanjel
21-07-2008, 05:15 PM
btw.

local durian from another location. suah pah liew lian. fragrance lagi good. creamy, no veins, but flesh is thin
http://i327.photobucket.com/albums/k471/v55112/e98b504c.jpg

http://i327.photobucket.com/albums/k471/v55112/fae93662.jpg

Kaki369
21-07-2008, 05:29 PM
Taste like XO?

Kaki369
21-07-2008, 05:31 PM
you must be kidding me. i'm not affiliated to any businesses so far, apart of a couple of ventures which are not food related.

when it comes to durian i spare no expense, because i believe if you pay peanuts, you get monkey. i'm just sharing my durian experience from this first time online purchase.

onlinedurianstore was referred to me via mindfulness on siamamulet forums. http://www.siamamulets.com/showthread.php?t=9515

my opinion of the store's durian is that it is good, except quality may be irregular. out of 4 durians received, three were superbly good, that me and my ex-roommate finished both in 1 shot, the last one was characteristic of young durian trees, a slight greeny scent in the fragrance and veins were present in the flesh

i believe onlinedurianstore is an honest business, i wonder why people can get so uptight about it. the rates are close to the market rate, if not lower. 717 is more expensive, and quality is definitely subjective.

vic/agent durian actually called me two days after my purchase from them, to check if the durians i received were ok, and how they were.. told her half of a durian seemed a little "rotten" probably an insect but..its ok. could have gotten a refund from her if i insisted. never received such treatment/service from any fruit stall before.

if you go to geylang and say.. eh.. your durian that day not v ripe or not very good.. they will go "KNN.. le buay hiao jiak lah... or bo lui mai kong jiao whey lah.." :s8:

I must agree with ur 1st para.. Pay Peanuts and Get Monkeys :) Am glad that OnlineDurianStore has a happy customer/spokesperson to share some words out of goodwill!! Good on u mate! :)

babyanjel
21-07-2008, 05:40 PM
Taste like XO?

sua pah durian doesnt taste that strong.. the sweetness/bitterness is very much milder as compared to malaysian durians.. probably due to the lack of fertilizers etc. this is from the yishun/khatib region, but last check, almost drop finish already. used to have a lot of ahpeks camping there ready to grab any fruit that drops..

but funny thing is that it doesnt overwhelm you with "richness", neither does one feel bloated after eating 6-7 of them

Cashcow
21-07-2008, 07:13 PM
Bo Jio Lah

Sorli, it is private properties. Outsiders will be executed on the spot.

Kaki369
21-07-2008, 10:25 PM
sua pah durian doesnt taste that strong.. the sweetness/bitterness is very much milder as compared to malaysian durians.. probably due to the lack of fertilizers etc. this is from the yishun/khatib region, but last check, almost drop finish already. used to have a lot of ahpeks camping there ready to grab any fruit that drops..

but funny thing is that it doesnt overwhelm you with "richness", neither does one feel bloated after eating 6-7 of them

hahahaha.. im sorry for laughing to hard but seriously... almost ALL the durians i tasted in the wild of SG and Msia.... ahhh with regards to SG Sam Pah Liu Lian... the taste is so bitter and strong man!!

Especially the very one tree in Mandai and Khatib.. really like XO... damn shiok! but generally the rest of the durians i picked.... taste very strong... very sweeet.. or very bitter..and very rich...

weird huh? our comments and views are contrary.. lolz... i wonder what kinda durians u been eating... sam pah liu lians are the best and the taste cant be found anywhere else man.. hehehe

SLURPZ!!

Kaki369
21-07-2008, 10:31 PM
Sorli, it is private properties. Outsiders will be executed on the spot.

Bo xin means Bo xin lah... so u wont bring ur GF also lah?

babyanjel
21-07-2008, 11:52 PM
hahahaha.. im sorry for laughing to hard but seriously... almost ALL the durians i tasted in the wild of SG and Msia.... ahhh with regards to SG Sam Pah Liu Lian... the taste is so bitter and strong man!!

Especially the very one tree in Mandai and Khatib.. really like XO... damn shiok! but generally the rest of the durians i picked.... taste very strong... very sweeet.. or very bitter..and very rich...

weird huh? our comments and views are contrary.. lolz... i wonder what kinda durians u been eating... sam pah liu lians are the best and the taste cant be found anywhere else man.. hehehe

SLURPZ!!

got peekture show of the tree/durian to show boh? must be old tree. good stuff must share

so far i've shared some of the picks with others who brought home for their parents, all very thankful for helping them reminisce the taste which reminded them of their childhood in kampong.

http://i327.photobucket.com/albums/k471/v55112/75921aa1.jpg

Kaki369
22-07-2008, 12:43 AM
No lehz... that time no camera HP nor digital camera :)

hahhaa.. good stuff must share? Yalor... but how to share? Ans as above :)

wah u very kind leh.. share liu lian.. haha.. good good!!

and ur're right.. old old tree.. the young ones occasionally prove some good stuff too :)

Cashcow
22-07-2008, 07:11 PM
Bo xin means Bo xin lah... so u wont bring ur GF also lah?

Not I bo xin. I no gf but even if got, I oso won't bring her go. Jaybee plantations and farms are concentrated far far from central. Without own transport, one can't reach. Somemore, I used to play there when I was young so I have a clear picture of what the place is going to be like.

Sorli, until someday when I claim actual ownership of that place, I will decide what to do wif it.

millionaires_club
22-07-2008, 07:38 PM
NAVY NSF... Whiskey Tower? Never go inside before.. Not authorized to either.. WHY? U went before? U must be CDS yeah? hehehe!!! i heard the fishing there is good! U must be one of the lucky few to try!!??

U mentioned Fishing? Well.. Durian Spots more easy to find then fishing spots lor.. Sometimes ur're standing at the spot itself, but just at the wrong tide and timing so u thought no fish.

Durian is so obvious, the tree so visible, the only catch is whether the tree produces GOOD Durians anot :) Well.. what kinda fishing ur into.. perhaps i may drop u a few fishing holes :)

Durian Season is coming to an end like our dear AgentDurian has said.. But in some places the Durian are still available, but not abundance, in my opinion, the Durians taste best this time.. ahaha :)

Since u like fishing and durian, i reckon u check out USR. The Tower... not sure u know that spot... used to hv mama tomans, haruans and giant turtles!!!

Swee lah. Another pro to learn from. Yup, i'm CDS and i work at WT but i'm pretty sure i'm not what you think i am. :s22:

Where do you work?

Anyways, i'm more into saltwater fishing, never tried freshwater.

Never tried picking durians too! Everytime leave camp, try to look out for durian trees along the way to TM. Bo leh. Feel like eating some xo durians and planting the seeds near the canal after tmft. 10years later come back reservist, can pick durian and fish at the same time!

Kaki369
22-07-2008, 09:12 PM
Cashcow dear,

Alright, when u claim ownership, dont forget me :)

Kaki369
22-07-2008, 09:17 PM
Hey CDS dude,

Along the way to CNB bo durian tree lah... Dont waste ur time looking.. hahaha... Its surpisin that in the East there's really very little Durian trees! Unless ur're talking about Ubin then its a different story altogether!

Well... End of year season u can keep me in the loop when u wanna go pick lor... Or can organize one yeah :)

Anyway i have sort of ORD-ed... was frm 191 SQN - RSS Endurance (Mother Ship) then to RSS Persistence.. and after that suffered from Service Injury (Slip-disc) then posted to HQ RSN - NPD..

Whiskey Tower shiok anot huh? LOL.... U really should try fishing there!!! Lots of GAO!! But uhh i`ve never tried before though... Fishing from my Side door is good enough if ur comrades dont come bugging me.. hehehe!! I wonder how's the fishing now at LST Berth...

I heard the new Frigate Berth is happening!! Gaos by the KG and AngChors! WOO!! And i miss the mornings when i go up to my SAM Station and do Maintenance... always have a good view of the horizon and base... The occasional shiny flashes.. swooping on the poor schools of Assam/Tamban near the RHIB's Berth Slope.. WOOH!!!

ORD LORH.. LOL... ok la.. left 2wks.. i Disrupted.. KEkeke :P

Tango Papa over and out :)

jeremywe
23-07-2008, 02:47 PM

I told my durian seller that I didnt really like one of the durian that I bought from him few nights ago because it was sweet and not bitter sweet. Was just commenting.

He gave me a replacement, FOC, taking it off the price of the durians i bought that day, without me asking for it. I turned him down.

So... if you ask me, its not that there are no brick and mortar fruit stalls around in singapore that does that, its just that you guys haven found there.

Evolution86
23-07-2008, 03:28 PM
To Dear 369bro ,

last week my gf dad picked up some durians , he gave 2 to me , i tasted it , the after taste smell got those baby milk powder smell , you know the name of that durian ma? super sweet , super nice ! song~

Thanks
Regards
Gary

Kaki369
23-07-2008, 06:16 PM
I told my durian seller that I didnt really like one of the durian that I bought from him few nights ago because it was sweet and not bitter sweet. Was just commenting.

He gave me a replacement, FOC, taking it off the price of the durians i bought that day, without me asking for it. I turned him down.

So... if you ask me, its not that there are no brick and mortar fruit stalls around in singapore that does that, its just that you guys haven found there.

Well said Jeremy bro, i totally agree with u especially yr last sentence. Its just all out there and it aint wise to pin point and sterotype.. But well.. sometimes lady luck plays a part and perhaps the way we carry ourselves as customers. As i always believe in the Service industry its not about the Service Provider but the Consumer.

In short, takes 2 hands to clap :) Anyway on a sidenote, may i just ask out of curiousity why u rejected the durian?

Cheers!