View Full Version : Starhub constant lose connection
uni_user
11-06-2008, 11:09 PM
I have this Wireless B setup at home with MOL12000
since about 2 months ago... my internet always suddenly lost connection, while still connected to router.
so all i did was, changed the modem and router ( which also old but working ) , problem still persist :s11:
my router model is Wireless-B Broadband Router BEFW11S4 with firmware Firmware Version: 1.50.11
is it my hardware issue or starhub itself ? :s22:
liangtam
11-06-2008, 11:20 PM
modem leh?
eddy2099sg
11-06-2008, 11:38 PM
Could be the router or network adapter at fault ? I supposed if it is wireless-b, it would have been a little old. What is your signal strength like and if the same problem persist if you used wired connection ?
cpuer
12-06-2008, 08:33 AM
Isolate the trouble by only using modem, see if the same problem still persist.
Flaky
12-06-2008, 11:57 AM
Are u using a cable splitter? Maybe cause by a faulty cable splitter. Cos i got the same problem. Juz do a direct connection to the cable point and try it out 1st b4 buying a new cable splitter if required.
uni_user
13-06-2008, 07:59 AM
Are u using a cable splitter? Maybe cause by a faulty cable splitter. Cos i got the same problem. Juz do a direct connection to the cable point and try it out 1st b4 buying a new cable splitter if required.
how much is it ? mine i think quite old liao :D maybe 1 day dun watch TV see how.
erm SH also ask me to connect direct from modem to PC. but if its router issue, I changed it , still the same wor :(
eddy2099sg
13-06-2008, 11:04 AM
A spiltter should probably cost you something over $10 and under $20. The one which is provided by SH is a 3db output, I got one from Challenger a while ago which comes with 4db output. Basically, the signal should not be spilt more than 2 times, anything more would greatly degrade the signal.
liangtam
13-06-2008, 12:03 PM
Actually can split few times. More dB not gd
eddy2099sg
13-06-2008, 01:03 PM
I know can spilt but the more you spilt the weaker the signal per device especially if you use a lot of bandwidth for your services.
liangtam
13-06-2008, 08:44 PM
Outside oso split many times one, generally split 3 times not an issue
i0ri86
14-05-2009, 06:35 PM
My connection keeps restarting by itself. It happened 2 days ago, dat day i called Starhub to reset my connection, it's back to normal. But the same thing happened last night, so this morning i called them again to reset my connection. It didn't work.
What could be the problem?
I'm using wireless connection,
D-link DIR300 Wireless G router
and
connected with a 3 way splitter(Made in Japan, only used about a month).
TV connected to 4db slot and modem connected to 8db slot,
the other one which is a 4db is not used.
Could any bros help me with this?
tromba
14-05-2009, 07:38 PM
connect your modem to the 4db slot instead..
it shld help
give it a try
LemonT
14-05-2009, 07:39 PM
My connection keeps restarting by itself. It happened 2 days ago, dat day i called Starhub to reset my connection, it's back to normal. But the same thing happened last night, so this morning i called them again to reset my connection. It didn't work.
What could be the problem?
I'm using wireless connection,
D-link DIR300 Wireless G router
and
connected with a 3 way splitter(Made in Japan, only used about a month).
TV connected to 4db slot and modem connected to 8db slot,
the other one which is a 4db is not used.
Could any bros help me with this?
use wired connection
use direct connection to modem
modem connected without any splitters
1st troubleshoot your own home connection first before calling CS. This way you will not get pissed off and learn something.
AT_HWZ
15-05-2009, 10:09 PM
WAH! StarHub tonight very lang gah! Kenna disconnected like three times liao in a period of two hours or less. Downloading trailers from Yahoo! and Apple slow like F. Sigh... can forget about YouTube for tonight.
LIN_JOEL
15-05-2009, 11:51 PM
Bro mine oso. I upgraded from mol premiun to ultimate, den kena this. keep dc for nothing and sometimes unable to online for 2hrs. i call them twice and they say they had monitior n nothing wrong.....last time premiun no problem de....
czheyuan
16-05-2009, 12:49 AM
Bro mine oso. I upgraded from mol premiun to ultimate, den kena this. keep dc for nothing and sometimes unable to online for 2hrs. i call them twice and they say they had monitior n nothing wrong.....last time premiun no problem de....
Hmm i think nothing to do wif the upgrade ba... More of SH network got problems I guess..
ruslandemon88
17-05-2009, 02:19 AM
hi
i am facing a similar problem. im currently using a linksys wireless-G router.There was no problem until recently when i changed my home telephone to starhub. they changed the motorola modem and now the wireless connection is very low and often, the internet cannot be found.previously the connection was always excellent.anyone knows wat could be the problem and how to fix it?
thks
lolwtff
17-05-2009, 03:05 AM
if u are using starhub and change your MODEM, you need to call 1633 to change your HFC MAC ID..
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.