PDA

View Full Version : Starhub MOL Promo free HP mini-note

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10

JuXn5566
12-06-2008, 12:27 AM
Starhub new MOL promo free HP 2133 mini-note
link here (http://www.starhub.com/portal/site/Online/menuitem.ae3b1bc0f1b2f876da055b608324a5a0/?vgnextoid=a84231f41b16c010VgnVCM10000038425a0aRCRD)

I think it is quite a good deals for me as want to recontract.

Important Info
There are 3 type of deals/promotions for this free HP 2133 mini-note.All available to both new sign up and re-contract with a 24-month contract period.
MaxOnline Express 8Mbps @ $59.92/month
MaxOnline Premium 12Mbps with 10% off monthly @ $73.19/month
MaxOnline Ultimate 100Mbps with 10% off monthly @ $111.71/month
MaxOnline Express 8Mbps Plus 1Mbps Mobile Broadband @ $59.92/month
MaxOnline Premium 12Mbps Plus 1Mbps Mobile Broadband @ $81.32/month
MaxOnline Ultimate 100Mbps Plus 7.2Mbps Mobile Broadband @ $124.12/monthPC Show Offer
Free Nokia 1208 Handset OR $50 Robinsons Voucher (first 200 customers daily)
Free Digital Camera with new sign-up (first 50 customers daily)
Free 120GB HDD with new MaxOnline Student plan sign-up (first 30 customers daily)
Waiver of MaxOnline activation fee and MaxMobile SIM activationNotes:
Free HP 2133 mini-note promotion not apply to MaxOnline Student plan and MaxOnline SurfLite.
MaxOnline Plus plans comes with a free DATA SIM,but a Mobile Broadband Stick is required at $398 from Starhub OR can buy from others.(some 3G/3.5G phone can also use as modem)
Redemption of HP 2133 mini-note is done at funan at a later date,not immediately at PC Show.(pls check with ur sales consultant for the date)HP 2133 mini-note Specifications
http://h40059.www4.hp.com/hp2133/img/image005.jpg

1.2 Ghz, 128KB L2 Cache, 800 MHz Front Side bus VIA C7-M ULV Processor
VIA Chrome 9 Graphics with up to 128 MB of shared system memory for Windows with 1 GB of system memory
1 GB 667 Mhz DDR2 RAM
120 GB 5400 rpm SATA Hard Drive
Broadcom 802.11 a/b/g wireless internet
Windows Vista Home Basic
3 Cell (55WHr) Lithium-Ion battery
10/100/1000 Ethernet NIC
8.9-inch WXGA LCD Screen
2 USB 2.0 Ports
VGA web cam
Stereo speakers
1 SD card slot
1 Express Card/54
1 External VGA monitor out
Mic and headphone jacks
ADI1984HD High Definition CODEC; 24-bit DAC; Integrated stereo speakers; Stereo headphone/line out; Stereo microphone in
Weight: 2.8lb (1.27 kg)
Dimensions (WxHxD): 10.04 x 6.5 x 1.05 in (255 x 165 x 27 mm)

Agent Shoots
12-06-2008, 12:32 AM
ooh i just saw it also but you posted this faster than i did haha
i'm quite interested also

hj_dragon
12-06-2008, 12:38 AM
Which version? KX872AA(linux) or FF009AA (Window Vista)?
http://h40059.www4.hp.com/hp2133/

JuXn5566
12-06-2008, 12:41 AM
Windows Vista Home Basic

hydrazine_
12-06-2008, 12:43 AM
Anybody interested in the laptop? I can sign the contract and sell you the laptop because i dont need the laptop.

inca
12-06-2008, 12:47 AM
Which version? KX872AA(linux) or FF009AA (Window Vista)?
http://h40059.www4.hp.com/hp2133/

Look like customised for SH. http://www.starhub.com/shop/promotions/promo_tncs_hpmini.html#specs

state22
12-06-2008, 12:50 AM
seems like its a KX872AA but with vista

i also goin to recontract and sell the laptop hahahhaha .. anyone know wats its retail pr ?

stheng
12-06-2008, 12:52 AM
Anybody interested in the laptop? I can sign the contract and sell you the laptop because i dont need the laptop.

i am interested. PM me your price :)

yeah82
12-06-2008, 01:00 AM
worth it or not?? like not bad leh.. better than the singnet desotp..

zheng
12-06-2008, 01:00 AM
i wan eeepc 1000

Melz00
12-06-2008, 01:02 AM
Mini-note got HSDPA???

croc1977
12-06-2008, 01:05 AM
Starhub new MOL promo free HP 2133 mini-note
link here (http://www.starhub.com/portal/site/Online/menuitem.ae3b1bc0f1b2f876da055b608324a5a0/?vgnextoid=a84231f41b16c010VgnVCM10000038425a0aRCRD)

I think it is quite a good deals for me as want to recontract.
knn...link cannot go in ...can post here...thks

Agent Shoots
12-06-2008, 01:07 AM
https://secure.starhub.com/shop/jfn?entry=PROMODETAIL&promotionId=86986

https://secure.starhub.com/shop/jfn?entry=PROMODETAIL&promotionId=86985

https://secure.starhub.com/shop/jfn?entry=PROMODETAIL&promotionId=86984

Fi3v3l
12-06-2008, 01:09 AM
looks like it dun provide cable modem and the e170 huawei modem

state22
12-06-2008, 01:11 AM
too many of us flodding the website.. must be crashed le hahahah:D

hmm looks like the hp mini note pricing is ard $800+

croc1977
12-06-2008, 01:12 AM
https://secure.starhub.com/shop/jfn?entry=PROMODETAIL&promotionId=86986

https://secure.starhub.com/shop/jfn?entry=PROMODETAIL&promotionId=86985

https://secure.starhub.com/shop/jfn?entry=PROMODETAIL&promotionId=86984
cannot leh...pls show sub price here pls...

croc1977
12-06-2008, 01:12 AM
cannot leh...pls show sub price here pls...
knn..

The page you have requested cannot be found.
You can take the following steps:

The URL may be inaccurately keyed in.
Please check your URL and try again

Agent Shoots
12-06-2008, 01:16 AM
aiyo how come ah
ok i try to summarise for you

Deal 1 + Free HP Mini-Note
* MaxOnline Express Plus
8Mbps Home Broadband + 1Mbps Mobile Broadband^^ @ $59.92/month

* MaxOnline Premium Plus
12Mbps Home Broadband + 1Mbps Mobile Broadband^^ @ $81.32/month

* MaxOnline Ultimate Plus
100Mbps Home Broadband + 7.2Mbps Mobile Broadband^^ @ $124.12/month

Deal 2 + FREE HP Mini-Note + 10% OFF Monthly Bill
* MaxOnline Premium
12Mbps plan @ $73.19/month (Usual: $81.32)

* MaxOnline Ultimate
100Mbps plan @ $111.71/month (Usual: $124.12)

Deal 3 + FREE HP Mini-Note
MaxOnline Express 8Mbps plan @ $59.92 per mth

state22
12-06-2008, 01:24 AM
aiyo how come ah

* MaxOnline Express Plus

* MaxOnline Premium Plus

* MaxOnline Premium

* MaxOnline Ultimate

Deal 2 sucks, 10% disc only ? cheh .. summore must sign hinger end plan

hmmm as for
* MaxOnline Express Plus
VS

deal 1 is better ? there must be a catch, it not every take the one free the mobile broadband ?

hjx
12-06-2008, 01:32 AM
i also thinking .. why Deal 3 and 1 diff is the mobile one .. but do they bundle with the mobile modem ??

tan
12-06-2008, 01:41 AM
Interesting, anyone want to sell the notebook to me. PM me your offer?

AS1
12-06-2008, 01:43 AM
nah....the massage chair is best.

hjx
12-06-2008, 01:48 AM
nah....the massage chair is best.

but that chair .. outside i think selling less then 1000

state22
12-06-2008, 01:49 AM
hmmm on 2nd tots, i think wun sign up .. offer is better then stingnet but still not that fantastic.. i will wait for LCD TV :s12:

D_Beckham
12-06-2008, 02:28 AM
deal 1 is for new signup only right.. where deal 3 is for those recontracting

Gabro
12-06-2008, 02:38 AM
i also thinking .. why Deal 3 and 1 diff is the mobile one .. but do they bundle with the mobile modem ??

the catch is:
# For new sign ups, customers are required to purchase their own cable modems and Mobile Broadband E170 USB Stick for this promotion
# For new sign ups of free Mobile Broadband service under the MaxOnline Express Plus Access Plan, MaxOnline Premium Plus Access Plan or MaxOnline Ultimate Plus plan, a SIM card charge of $37.45 applies.

n not to forget that u most prob have to buy the usb stick since they din say that they are giving it free
unlike this promo (https://secure.starhub.com/shop/jfn?cfunc=185&mfunc=53&octx=4c.a8.4c&jfnRC=5&currentPDTLine=MAXONLINE&promotionId=86592)

Calvin.Lee
12-06-2008, 02:57 AM
Wah kau!:frus:

I wanted the previous plan where they give free HP INTEL-based laptop when opt to sign the Ultimate plan with free mobile plan 7.2Mbps too! Where is it now?:s27:

If I know, I will not wait for the show to re-contract thinking that they will give the INTEL based laptop with better offers like extra free stuffs!:s27:

Sigh........

AS1
12-06-2008, 03:18 AM
but that chair .. outside i think selling less then 1000
but wont obsolete less than 6 months. Unless there is a tech race on massage chair that i should be aware of.

cscs3
12-06-2008, 06:03 AM

How much you want to sell?
I am interested in the Linux version.

ahkiat
12-06-2008, 07:09 AM
can take the notebook and sell lo... me thinking of selling too...

Lehnsherr
12-06-2008, 07:46 AM
might recontract. any ways to upgrade the ram? lol

MarineX
12-06-2008, 07:52 AM
sianz.. why starhub can't have more lappy offers like Singnet? arghz.. i want to upgrade with better lappy & not the mini note..

Adolez
12-06-2008, 08:09 AM
disappointing specs.

MoreGoodEars
12-06-2008, 08:34 AM
Note the collection period wah!!

iridiot
12-06-2008, 09:02 AM
deal 1 is for new signup only right.. where deal 3 is for those recontracting

Surf at home or on the go when you sign up to MaxOnline Express Plus, MaxOnline Premium Plus or MaxOnline Ultimate Plus! Sign up or re-contract now!

* MaxOnline Express Plus

iridiot
12-06-2008, 09:03 AM

when is it ?

bobwee
12-06-2008, 09:11 AM
Anyone who wan to sell their mini-note.
I m interested to buy to the mini-note
pls pm me or sms me at 97303883

thks

haylui
12-06-2008, 09:14 AM
battery life is shorter than Asus EEE

omega74
12-06-2008, 09:21 AM
recontract i still can get a laptop, not bad when i can even downgrade plan as i am no longer tied up.

but then again my hub station gives me free internet access.

will consider...

iridiot
12-06-2008, 09:33 AM
MaxOnline HP MINI-NOTE PC Promotion Terms and Conditions

1. MaxOnline HP 2133 MINI-NOTE PC Promotion is valid from 12 June 2008 to 24 July 2008 or while stocks last, whichever is earlier.
2. A minimum contractual subscription period of 24 continuous months to MaxOnline Express, MaxOnline Premium, MaxOnline Ultimate, MaxOnline Express Plus, MaxOnline Premium Plus and MaxOnline Ultimate Plus residential monthly access plan is required, otherwise an Early Termination Charge of $963.00 will be imposed. This Charge is also applicable in the event of any plan downgrade.
3. Promotion is not valid with other in-house offers or packages unless specified by StarHub.
4. Offer is only applicable to homes connected to StarHub's cable network.
5. Customer must be 18 years old and above.
6. The 10% promotion discount off the monthly subscription is only valid for MaxOnline Ultimate and MaxOnline Premium plans for 24 continuous months. Thereafter, prevailing rates apply.
7. An activation fee of $32.10 (w/GST) is chargeable for New MaxOnline or MaxOnline Plus customers for the activation of each new MaxOnline or MaxOnline Plus access plan under these promotions, unless otherwise stated.
8. For new sign ups, customers are required to purchase their own cable modems and Mobile Broadband E170 USB Stick for this promotion
9. For new sign ups of free Mobile Broadband service under the MaxOnline Express Plus Access Plan, MaxOnline Premium Plus Access Plan or MaxOnline Ultimate Plus plan, a SIM card charge of $37.45 applies.
10. A disconnection fee of $32.10 (w/GST) is applicable if the termination occurs within the first six months of subscription
11. Installation service is chargeable at $53.50 per computer connection and is limited to the installation of cable modems with USB connection only. Alternatively, delivery is available at $12.84 per trip.
12. Last day of installation is within 14 days from the date of sign-up.
13. MaxOnline subscription starts on the day of cash and carry or the date of installation, whichever is earlier.
14. Offer cannot be used to offset existing subscription charges or outstanding balances nor exchangeable for cash or kind and is non-refundable.
15. Promotion is not applicable for corporate customers on employer-paying schemes or master-account bulk paying arrangements or landed homeowners on the Landed Connection Fee Plan who are enjoying complimentary MaxOnline service.
16. Promotion is not applicable to landed homeowners on the Subscription Commitment Plan who are using MaxOnline subscription as the minimum subscription commitment.
17. MaxOnline Express Plus Access Plan, MaxOnline Premium Plus Access Plan or MaxOnline Ultimate Plus Access Plan and the free Mobile Broadband service is only available and must be registered under the same NRIC/FIN.
18. MaxOnline Express Plus Access Plan, MaxOnline Premium Plus Access Plan or MaxOnline Ultimate Plus Access Plan is available for new sign ups or recontract for existing MaxOnline Surflite Access Plan, MaxOnline Express Access Plan, MaxOnline Premium Access Plan or MaxOnline Ultimate Access Plan customers who are not on any promotional contracts.
19. A StarHub 3G SIM Card (USIM) is required in order to enjoy the Free Mobile Broadband service.
20. To enjoy free Mobile Broadband service, a Mobile Broadband E170 USB Stick is required. MaxOnline Express Plus Access Plan, MaxOnline Premium Plus Access Plan or MaxOnline Ultimate Plus Access Plan must be active to be eligible to enjoy the free Mobile Broadband service.
21. Free Mobile Broadband service will be registered under the same account if customer already has existing mobile line and may be affected by non payment of mobile line subscription charges.
22. Free Mobile Broadband service is not eligible for any handset upgrade or any promotional handset offers that Starhub may offer unless otherwise stated.
23. Unlimited usage for the free Mobile Broadband service is only applicable for local data charges.
24. In the event of a dispute, a customer's entitlement to participate and/or receive the offer is subject to the sole discretion and final determination of StarHub.
25. The free premium(s) is/are available on a first-come-first-serve basis and StarHub reserves the right to replace the brand and model of the premium(s) with other hardware(s) of equal or lower value.
26. StarHub will not be responsible for any defects in the free premium(s) or if applicable, any items which customers may have connected to the free premiums(s). The free premium(s) is/are covered under and subjected to the terms of warranty from the relevant manufacturers.
27. Other MaxOnline Terms and Conditions apply. For a complete list of Terms and Conditions, please refer to the General Terms and Conditions and the Service Specific Terms and Conditions available at www.starhub.com

iridiot
12-06-2008, 09:35 AM
Specifications of HP 2133 MINI-NOTE PC
Model HP 2133 MINI-NOTE PC
Processors VIA C7®-M ULV Processor 1.2GHz
Operating System Genuine Windows Vista Home Basic 32
Graphics VIA Chrome 9 with up to 128 MB of shared system memory for Windows with 1 GB of system memory
Display 8.9-inch diagonal WXGA (1280 x 768 pixels)
Camera VGA WebCam
Standard memory 1GB 667MHz DDR2 DRAM
HardDrives 120GB 5400prm HDD
Optical Drives N/A(sold separately)
Media Card SecureDigital (SD) slot
Networking Broadcom NetLink Gigabit Ethernet PCI Controller, 802.11b/g
I/O Ports USB 2x 2.0 ports, D-sub video out, power connector, RJ-45 Ethernet, stereo headphone/line out & microphone in, ExpressCard/54 slot
Audio High Definition Audio
Battery 3-cell Li-Ion battery

ahkiat
12-06-2008, 09:42 AM
too bad not for recontract... else i will hoot the chair instead... more useful to me...

ahkiat
12-06-2008, 09:48 AM
when is it?

Lehnsherr
12-06-2008, 09:52 AM
Yeah wanna know also when is the collection date.

SianzRong
12-06-2008, 09:54 AM
Looks like have to mass order 6 cells battery soon! lol

xiaolaohu
12-06-2008, 10:00 AM
hey guys, do u think on the last day of the show, they would change the promotion for snbb or shbb?

SianzRong
12-06-2008, 10:03 AM
maybe.... nothing is impossible. they might stop giving what they were giving in pc show and change to something else that you really want , or vise versa

Toturisc
12-06-2008, 10:05 AM
:eek: wah tis time round got quite good promo for mol express sia

xiaolaohu
12-06-2008, 10:08 AM
ya... but i dun wan do it on sun... cfm packed like siao.. but worried e deal change...

D9amite
12-06-2008, 10:09 AM
SELLING HP MINI NOTE (LAPTOP) FROM STARHUB. SMS 98189407 YOUR BEST PRICE. THANKS.

Lehnsherr
12-06-2008, 10:11 AM
hey guys, do u think on the last day of the show, they would change the promotion for snbb or shbb?

impossible. never seen before

kimura
12-06-2008, 10:12 AM
ya... but i dun wan do it on sun... cfm packed like siao.. but worried e deal change...
Can do at starhub centres, rite?

rvf79
wohhhhhhhhhhhh the deal 1 is the best.... don know need to buy my own mobile usb a not sia...
hope it's free

Lehnsherr
SELLING HP MINI NOTE (LAPTOP) FROM STARHUB. SMS 98189407 YOUR BEST PRICE. THANKS.

thats fast, u went and signed up already?

win_man
12-06-2008, 10:13 AM

you can do it online...

MarineX
12-06-2008, 10:14 AM
EEEPC from $399 from ASUS.. worth getting manz.. based on today's STimes~

rugal_einstein
12-06-2008, 10:27 AM
Will be selling off this mini notebk once i recontract today. Interested buyers please sms me at 98557203. Thank you.

rvf79
12-06-2008, 10:38 AM
but the speed of the lappy.... haiZzzz... i also saw the pcmark 05.... the points compared with the rest is like 300 points away.........

zeroisland
12-06-2008, 10:43 AM
i suggest someone open a "official HP Mini-Note PC sale thread", as there will be many WTB or WTS for this one lol...

anyway, sms me 97810176 if u wish to buy

mdhazrin
12-06-2008, 10:56 AM
Yeah wanna know also when is the collection date.
its one month from the date of signing. collection at funan.

WaYne900
12-06-2008, 10:56 AM
how much can this mini-note fetch?

Lehnsherr
12-06-2008, 11:01 AM
wa funan again...reminds me last time i collect my router and stuff

ben0704
12-06-2008, 11:05 AM
wohhhhhhhhhhhh the deal 1 is the best.... don know need to buy my own mobile usb a not sia...
hope it's free
my concern as well.. anyone know? how much does a brand new E170 cost?

y2j
12-06-2008, 11:07 AM
if its flooded all over the market, maybe 75% of its RRP

boonerite
12-06-2008, 11:13 AM
wa funan again...reminds me last time i collect my router and stuff

what happened?
I signing online now, for the maxonline express..

ahkiat
if its flooded all over the market, maybe 75% of its RRP
if can get 75% also happy, means 750 bucks?

maybe i might just get the student plan one...

ahkiat
what happened?
i collected before something.... waited for few hours...

WaYne900
12-06-2008, 11:14 AM
maxonline express??

now maxonline express plus?

Lehnsherr
12-06-2008, 11:16 AM
what happened?

the waiting time is long, besides now with this promo....probably worse :eek:

jujubean
12-06-2008, 11:23 AM
ji bais one leh.. so getting deal 1 still need to take own money to purchase the mobile stick? smlj

rvf79
12-06-2008, 11:24 AM
my concern as well.. anyone know? how much does a brand new E170 cost?

same feel,
but also i did a research on this lappy... like the speed and etc like CMI compared to even EEEPC 4gb 1 le....

supergmail
12-06-2008, 11:37 AM
how much is the E710?

mdhazrin
12-06-2008, 11:39 AM
The mobile stick costs additional of $398.

BTW, PC Show promo for the first 200 maxonline sign-up is free Nokia HP. but some cheapo model.

ahkiat
12-06-2008, 11:42 AM
is this offer better?

https://secure.starhub.com/shop/jfn?entry=PROMODETAIL&promotionId=86570

s330063
12-06-2008, 11:51 AM
Two years back i got the Ipaq 6818 from starhub, market price was about 1k plus. everybody was rushing to get this pocket pc and in the end less than 6 months the price dropped to half and eventually even shops also dont wanna take in this .

Lehnsherr
12-06-2008, 11:55 AM
is this offer better?

https://secure.starhub.com/shop/jfn?entry=PROMODETAIL&promotionId=86570

IMO it depends on u want the laptop or not. since laptop no change of price plan its a total bonus to just sign 24mths more, providing u wont want to change ISP.

the student plan savings is 17bucks, can say its not really very significant savings.

boonerite
12-06-2008, 12:06 PM
i tried to recontract online, but it wants to add a 13$ delivery charge
seems like no option to "self collect at funan" ?

btw, someone posted is collect at funan 1 mth later, where is this note? canot find leh

findtheriver79
12-06-2008, 12:15 PM
I just recontracted on the phone - just dial 1630. It was easy! No need to join the queue at the PC Show.

BTW, the free Nokia handset only applies to new sign-ups. Re-contracts are not entitled to this.

Starhub told me that they will be sending me a redemption letter within 2 weeks from now. The mini-note can only be collected after 9 July or something. And yes, collection is at Funan (Sianz).

Syaman
12-06-2008, 12:16 PM
It's pretty good...but only for students :p

s330063
12-06-2008, 12:26 PM
I just recontracted on the phone - just dial 1630. It was easy! No need to join the queue at the PC Show.

BTW, the free Nokia handset only applies to new sign-ups. Re-contracts are not entitled to this.

Starhub told me that they will be sending me a redemption letter within 2 weeks from now. The mini-note can only be collected after 9 July or something. And yes, collection is at Funan (Sianz).

can i cancelled then sign up again, still consider as recontract?

boonerite
12-06-2008, 12:28 PM

watime did you call? i called at 1030, they say will call me, until now no return call...

shangsiang
12-06-2008, 12:30 PM
" For new sign ups, customers are required to purchase their own cable modems and Mobile Broadband E170 USB Stick for this promotion "

Does it mean recontract get free usb stick?:s11:

bslong76
12-06-2008, 12:36 PM
anyone knows how much is the Mobile Broadband E170 USB Stick?

ahkiat
12-06-2008, 12:40 PM
Two years back i got the Ipaq 6818 from starhub, market price was about 1k plus. everybody was rushing to get this pocket pc and in the end less than 6 months the price dropped to half and eventually even shops also dont wanna take in this .
ya manz... i experienced that too...

worried abt this time round... sure many ppl hoot this...

those buyers for the notebook sure shiok...

Gaddy23
12-06-2008, 12:40 PM
heard its $398. omg!

findtheriver79
12-06-2008, 12:43 PM
can i cancelled then sign up again, still consider as recontract?
I think you will have to pay the cancellation penalty under your existing contact.

findtheriver79
12-06-2008, 12:44 PM
watime did you call? i called at 1030, they say will call me, until now no return call...
I called at around 11.30am. Didnt have much problem leh.

s330063
12-06-2008, 01:01 PM
I think you will have to pay the cancellation penalty under your existing contact.

i mean for those not under any tie in contract

merc
12-06-2008, 01:07 PM

1. MaxOnline HP 2133 MINI-NOTE PC Promotion is valid from 12 June 2008 to 24 July 2008 or while stocks last, whichever is earlier.
2. A minimum contractual subscription period of 24 continuous months to MaxOnline Express, MaxOnline Premium, MaxOnline Ultimate, MaxOnline Express Plus, MaxOnline Premium Plus and MaxOnline Ultimate Plus residential monthly access plan is required, otherwise an Early Termination Charge of $963.00 will be imposed. This Charge is also applicable in the event of any plan downgrade.
3. Promotion is not valid with other in-house offers or packages unless specified by StarHub.
6. The 10% promotion discount off the monthly subscription is only valid for MaxOnline Ultimate and MaxOnline Premium plans for 24 continuous months. Thereafter, prevailing rates apply.
7. An activation fee of $32.10 (w/GST) is chargeable for New MaxOnline or MaxOnline Plus customers for the activation of each new MaxOnline or MaxOnline Plus access plan under these promotions, unless otherwise stated.
8. For new sign ups, customers are required to purchase their own cable modems and Mobile Broadband E170 USB Stick for this promotion
9. For new sign ups of free Mobile Broadband service under the MaxOnline Express Plus Access Plan, MaxOnline Premium Plus Access Plan or MaxOnline Ultimate Plus plan, a SIM card charge of $37.45 applies.
10. A disconnection fee of $32.10 (w/GST) is applicable if the termination occurs within the first six months of subscription
11. Installation service is chargeable at $53.50 per computer connection and is limited to the installation of cable modems with USB connection only. Alternatively, delivery is available at $12.84 per trip.
13. MaxOnline subscription starts on the day of cash and carry or the date of installation, whichever is earlier.
14. Offer cannot be used to offset existing subscription charges or outstanding balances nor exchangeable for cash or kind and is non-refundable.
15. Promotion is not applicable for corporate customers on employer-paying schemes or master-account bulk paying arrangements or landed homeowners on the Landed Connection Fee Plan who are enjoying complimentary MaxOnline service.
16. Promotion is not applicable to landed homeowners on the Subscription Commitment Plan who are using MaxOnline subscription as the minimum subscription commitment.
17. MaxOnline Express Plus Access Plan, MaxOnline Premium Plus Access Plan or MaxOnline Ultimate Plus Access Plan and the free Mobile Broadband service is only available and must be registered under the same NRIC/FIN.
18. MaxOnline Express Plus Access Plan, MaxOnline Premium Plus Access Plan or MaxOnline Ultimate Plus Access Plan is available for new sign ups or recontract for existing MaxOnline Surflite Access Plan, MaxOnline Express Access Plan, MaxOnline Premium Access Plan or MaxOnline Ultimate Access Plan customers who are not on any promotional contracts.
19. A StarHub 3G SIM Card (USIM) is required in order to enjoy the Free Mobile Broadband service.
20. To enjoy free Mobile Broadband service, a Mobile Broadband E170 USB Stick is required. MaxOnline Express Plus Access Plan, MaxOnline Premium Plus Access Plan or MaxOnline Ultimate Plus Access Plan must be active to be eligible to enjoy the free Mobile Broadband service.
21. Free Mobile Broadband service will be registered under the same account if customer already has existing mobile line and may be affected by non payment of mobile line subscription charges.
22. Free Mobile Broadband service is not eligible for any handset upgrade or any promotional handset offers that Starhub may offer unless otherwise stated.
23. Unlimited usage for the free Mobile Broadband service is only applicable for local data charges.
24. In the event of a dispute, a customer's entitlement to participate and/or receive the offer is subject to the sole discretion and final determination of StarHub.
25. The free premium(s) is/are available on a first-come-first-serve basis and StarHub reserves the right to replace the brand and model of the premium(s) with other hardware(s) of equal or lower value.
26. StarHub will not be responsible for any defects in the free premium(s) or if applicable, any items which customers may have connected to the free premiums(s). The free premium(s) is/are covered under and subjected to the terms of warranty from the relevant manufacturers.
27. Other MaxOnline Terms and Conditions apply. For a complete list of Terms and Conditions, please refer to the General Terms and Conditions and the Service Specific Terms and Conditions available at www.starhub.com

The strait times got indicated the activation wavied when you apply at the pc show.

lxXXxl
12-06-2008, 01:07 PM
ya, also called earlier, thinking of re-contracting, but means i've to buy the modem at $398 if i want to use maxmobile.....

Lehnsherr
12-06-2008, 01:18 PM
funan is really sian....if pay 12 for delivery, sounds like a better option if can save like half of the day queuing for redemption

IntelFlash
12-06-2008, 01:19 PM
i got at least 6 5101 modem at home, all used for few months then throw one side.
who wan to buy?

haha

meijiaks009
12-06-2008, 01:20 PM
wats the meaning of unlimited usage of the mobile broadband is applicable to local data charges?
dun quite understand

Thks bros

ahkiat
12-06-2008, 01:43 PM
wats the meaning of unlimited usage of the mobile broadband is applicable to local data charges?
dun quite understand

Thks bros
i think they mean that if u use it locally in sg...

meijiaks009
12-06-2008, 01:45 PM
okie. Thks alot

Ray_stinger
12-06-2008, 01:56 PM
here is a mini review for those interested http://www.kennysia.com/archives/2008/06/new_laptop.php

meijiaks009
12-06-2008, 02:11 PM
looks like kenny luvs his mini veri much

marshy
12-06-2008, 02:31 PM
Just re-contract and awaiting to collect on 7 July.
Anyone knows if its possible to install WinXP Pro on the Mini-Note?

csoyzx
12-06-2008, 02:32 PM
anybody went down to suntec to recontract already? got any lucky draws or goodies if recontract @ pc show anot?

bunny_linz
12-06-2008, 02:40 PM
anybody went down to suntec to recontract already? got any lucky draws or goodies if recontract @ pc show anot?

Hi wonder hw u all recontact?
i called starhub 1603, and the customer service says that he cant re-contract for me. he will ask a salesman to call me back by tmr..

s330063
12-06-2008, 02:46 PM

they already given u the collection date?

tianxin
12-06-2008, 03:10 PM

yea i also wanna noe... recontract at show n thru outlets or phone got difference anot

WaYne900
12-06-2008, 03:12 PM
anyone can update up???

drift01
12-06-2008, 03:17 PM

i also want to know
cos i think XP will be faster than Vista

boob88
12-06-2008, 03:17 PM
wad are the requirements to be eligible for recontract?? at least 1 yr of contract fulfilled from ur previous contract??

fass74
12-06-2008, 03:33 PM
just re-contracted at the show
freebies applies - either phone or $50 robinsons voucher for 1st 200
friend that was new sign-up even got free digital camera (no idea what model/brand)
no charge for data sim as well
collection form states 7 July or 9 days after service installation

bloody inefficient, took me more than 2 hours to finish the process(queue for number/finish registration/queue at cashier) and i was in the first 100 i think. That's with 50 customer service booth

marshy
12-06-2008, 03:37 PM
Okey...

Seems its possible to install WinXP.

HP has the drivers available.

http://h20000.www2.hp.com/bizsupport/TechSupport/DriverDownload.jsp?lang=en&cc=sg&prodNameId=3687085&taskId=135&prodTypeId=321957&prodSeriesId=3687084&submit.y=0&submit.x=0&lang=en&cc=sg

yeeheng_teo
12-06-2008, 03:43 PM

For those who wanna recontract, if you still has an existing plan, you can only recontract if your contract left 3 mths or less.

meijiaks009
12-06-2008, 03:43 PM
wah, the freebies at the show will be gone by sunday I guess

meijiaks009
12-06-2008, 03:45 PM
where to get the E170 stick or only can get from starhub?

WaYne900
12-06-2008, 03:56 PM
anyone sign up for MOL Express plus?

I know you still need to pay for the USB modem which cost $398. like bo hua leh.

rahul49
12-06-2008, 04:03 PM
I want to recontract my Maxonline Express connection. Current out of contract.

When I went to their booth, one of their sales staff told me that the Mini Note offer is not available for recontract. Have to disconnect existing line first(3days) then apply for new connection.

But I read here that some people managed to recontract.:s22:
Whats the real deal ?? Can someone confirm

iridiot
12-06-2008, 04:10 PM

When I went to their booth, one of their sales staff told me that the Mini Note offer is not available for recontract. Have to disconnect existing line first(3days) then apply for new connection.

tell that guy to wake up his idea :D no need such thing one , the service would resume as per normal , just need to on and off if you change plans like from lite to express or others

meijiaks009
12-06-2008, 04:11 PM
must be a part timer @ work

pantherqin
12-06-2008, 04:11 PM
The specs listed at starhub website states that it's 1.2G CPU, 1G ram.

Is there a possibility to upgrade it to 1.6G? and 2G ram?

Anybody asked this at the booth? tks

wint3rz
12-06-2008, 04:14 PM
Hi wonder hw u all recontact?
i called starhub 1603, and the customer service says that he cant re-contract for me. he will ask a salesman to call me back by tmr..

that's strange...
probably he wasn't briefed for this promo.

cos my colleague called earlier in the morning and asked for the re-contract, they did it immediately over the phone and will email her the redemption slip (for hp mini) later.

s330063
12-06-2008, 04:15 PM

my friend working for starhub said can. anyway all these are parttimer their information may or may not be correct. best is to check with few of their sales staff.

iridiot

No lar

1st 200 customers (regardless of service) gets either $50 robinson voucher or nokia handphone

1st 50 new signups then get digi cam too

your convince made you forgo a $50 voucher :eek:

Lucky123
aiyo how come ah

* MaxOnline Express Plus

* MaxOnline Premium Plus

* MaxOnline Premium

* MaxOnline Ultimate

Those on Maxonline Premium please do not sign up Deal 1. If you need the both the free mini-note and the free mobile broadband, sign up both on different contract. See below :

Deal 1 : Maxonline Premium Plus (1 Mbps mobile broadband + hp mini-note)

24 months subscription : $1951.68
Cost of USB mobile modem : $398 (note : it is compulsory to buy the modem otherwise they will not issue you the Sim Card)
Total cost for 24 months : $2349.68

Deal 2 + MaxMobile Surflite : Maxonline Premium (10% off) + 2 Mbps MaxMobile + hp mini-note

24 months subscription : $1756.56
24 months MaxMobile sub : $464.64
Total cost for 24 months : $2221.20

Saving = $128.48 + Faster MaxMobile speed of 2 Mbps

After 24 months, cancel off MaxMobile subscription and upgrade Maxonline to Plus to carry on the free mobile broadband without need to re-contract because you already own the USB modem.

rahul49
12-06-2008, 04:18 PM
tell that guy to wake up his idea :D no need such thing one , the service would resume as per normal , just need to on and off if you change plans like from lite to express or others

haha. Yes the girl looked like a part timer.

Will go there again to check.

Good thing I work at Suntec :D

WaYne900
12-06-2008, 04:25 PM
Those on Maxonline Premium and above please do not sign up Deal 1. If you need the both the free mini-note and the free mobile broadband, sign up both on different contract. See below :

Deal 1 : Maxonline Premium Plus (1 Mbps mobile broadband + hp mini-note)

24 months subscription : $1951.68
Cost of USB mobile modem : $398 (note : it is compulsory to buy the modem otherwise they will not issue you the Sim Card)
Total cost for 24 months : $2349.68

Deal 2 + MaxMobile Surflite : Maxonline Premium (10% off) + 2 Mbps MaxMobile + hp mini-note

24 months subscription : $1756.56
24 months MaxMobile sub : $464.64
Total cost for 24 months : $2221.20

Saving = $128.48 + Faster MaxMobile speed of 2 Mbps

After 24 months, cancel off MaxMobile subscription and upgrade Maxonline to Plus to carry on the free mobile broadband without need to re-contract because you already own the USB modem.

good calculation.... Currently i'm on MOL express. dunno wanna upgrade and get the deal 2 or not leh.. mmmm

Syaman
12-06-2008, 04:26 PM
Yes you can definitely install Windows XP as the drivers are available on HP's website and by all accounts it seems you probably will want to for better responsiveness :p

It is also possible to upgrade the RAM http://www.hp2133guide.com/how-to-upgrade-the-ram-in-the-hp-2133-mini-note/

But unlikely for the processor..

WaYne900
12-06-2008, 04:31 PM
haha. Yes the girl looked like a part timer.

Will go there again to check.

Good thing I work at Suntec :D

most of them are part timer ba.. i also work suntec.. later going down.. but i heard a lot of pple queuing up now.. sianz

meijiaks009
12-06-2008, 04:32 PM
dunno will out of stock or not

jersey_21
12-06-2008, 04:43 PM
unlikely 1st day already no more notebook offer.Starhub not 1st time giving notebook as premium so i gather that they shld have already prepared quite a few hundred of these notebook... Then again,dun drag and wait until last day then u sign up for the notebook offer lah...1st day sign and last day sign is not goin to make any difference....rite?? Dun try your luck n wait...just go sign if u realli interested in the offer...wait they tell u no more notebook on the last day...wah...u LL..

Btw,for today only,Starhub also is giving out PSP Slim for cust signing for a mobile line plus a maxmobile data plan. For today only and 1st 150 cust... 2 yr contract...

Lehnsherr
12-06-2008, 04:45 PM
collection is 1 month later, most likely wont be out of stock

pantherqin
12-06-2008, 04:46 PM
tks Syaman:-)

WaYne900
12-06-2008, 05:11 PM
unlikely 1st day already no more notebook offer.Starhub not 1st time giving notebook as premium so i gather that they shld have already prepared quite a few hundred of these notebook... Then again,dun drag and wait until last day then u sign up for the notebook offer lah...1st day sign and last day sign is not goin to make any difference....rite?? Dun try your luck n wait...just go sign if u realli interested in the offer...wait they tell u no more notebook on the last day...wah...u LL..

Btw,for today only,Starhub also is giving out PSP Slim for cust signing for a mobile line plus a maxmobile data plan. For today only and 1st 150 cust... 2 yr contract...

seems like the PSP is all gone.

iridiot
12-06-2008, 05:11 PM
http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showthread.php?t=1993423

selling liao :D grab it while stocks last

ahkiat
12-06-2008, 05:23 PM
i think market rate is S$700 so far...

s330063
12-06-2008, 05:47 PM
anyone can confirmed it is compulsory to buy the maxmobile huawei modem otherwise they will not issue you the Sim Card? cant find it in the terms and conditions. cause i have my own modem previously from singtel thought of getting the sim card only. i'm referring to the maxonline plans with free maxmobile

win_man
12-06-2008, 05:57 PM
ordered the Mini note without the broadband. Dun wan so much hassle since i can get free 3G from office :D

Nonsense
12-06-2008, 05:58 PM
anyone can confirmed it is compulsory to buy the maxmobile huawei modem otherwise they will not issue you the Sim Card? cant find it in the terms and conditions. cause i have my own modem previously from singtel thought of getting the sim card only. i'm referring to the maxonline plans with free maxmobile

Not a compulsory to buy the huawei modem. Just back and recontracted. ^^

vtech2
12-06-2008, 06:02 PM
Was informed by starhub because of the small size of the laptop, only external optical drives can be installed. Was quoted $299 to purchase the additional external optical drive..

Would there be compatibility issues using any external dvd burners onto this like sony dru 840a?

s330063
12-06-2008, 06:05 PM

so if i subscribe to this plan and i already have my own huawei mobile modem i just need to apply for the mobile broadband sims card?

MaxOnline Express Plus
8Mbps Home Broadband + free 1Mbps Mobile Broadband^^ @ $59.92/month

s330063
12-06-2008, 06:08 PM
Was informed by starhub because of the small size of the laptop, only external optical drives can be installed. Was quoted $299 to purchase the additional external optical drive..

Would there be compatibility issues using any external dvd burners onto this like sony dru 840a?

Upgrade options

HP 65w smart Adapter - Retail $65 w/gst Now $45.79 b4 gst
HP2100 series 6-cell battery - Retail $259 w/gst Now $157.94 b4 gst
HP2133 mini texture skin - Retail $39.95 w/gst Now $22.43 b4 gst
9.5mm external usb 2.0 multibay cradle Retail $299 w/gst Now $205.61 b4 gst
9.5mm 4 x dvd + Rw Multibay - Retail $299 w/gst Now $205.61 b4 gst
Hp mini slip case - Retail $69 w/gst Now $37.38 b4 gst
2xxx mini note series 1/1/0 warranty - Retail $229 w/gst Now $167.29 b4 gst

win_man
12-06-2008, 06:08 PM

this time round got any wheel of fortune sure win lucky draw?

Nonsense
12-06-2008, 06:09 PM
so if i subscribe to this plan and i already have my own huawei mobile modem i just need to apply for the mobile broadband sims card?

MaxOnline Express Plus
8Mbps Home Broadband + free 1Mbps Mobile Broadband^^ @ $59.92/month

Just recontract it and they will give you the data sim card.

Just a note to every one, just ask them if you are eligible for the voucher or free nokia hp.

jujubean
12-06-2008, 06:17 PM
jibais one all so exp ar?

so now deal 1 is must purchase the run jiao maxmobile modem ar?

raj2677
12-06-2008, 06:24 PM
Just recontract it and they will give you the data sim card.

Just a note to every one, just ask them if you are eligible for the voucher or free nokia hp.

I was there earlier and got different versions from all of them. One even told me that the E170 USB stick was free. Really confused.

Anyway signed up for the Maxonline Premium Plan, 10% off. I was told that in order to get the data SIM card I woul have to subscribe to the Premium Plus Plan and no more 10% discount. Just have to pay for the registration of $10.70 and DATA SIM is free. Is this ture??? Really confused. Did not get it as I dun have a E170 USB Stick and have to pay $398 to get it...

meijiaks009
12-06-2008, 06:28 PM
howcum so many versions one>?

iridiot
12-06-2008, 06:43 PM
I was there earlier and got different versions from all of them. One even told me that the E170 USB stick was free. Really confused.

Anyway signed up for the Maxonline Premium Plan, 10% off. I was told that in order to get the data SIM card I woul have to subscribe to the Premium Plus Plan and no more 10% discount. Just have to pay for the registration of $10.70 and DATA SIM is free. Is this ture??? Really confused. Did not get it as I dun have a E170 USB Stick and have to pay $398 to get it...

if they say free , grab it from them :D

alphalai1981
12-06-2008, 06:45 PM
i just recontract with express plus.
Any one know how to get the mobile USB modem instead buy from starhub?
The stuff told me the modem can purchase from outside.
true or not? :s11::s11::s11:

boonerite
12-06-2008, 06:45 PM
Upgrade options

where did you see this?

raj2677
12-06-2008, 06:53 PM
if they say free , grab it from them :D

I give up talking to them. They look at me as if I don't understand things. What is stated in the terms and conditions differs from what is being told.

Nonsense
12-06-2008, 06:56 PM

Hmm? You are getting the MOL Premium as NEW sign up and not RECONTRACT right? Maybe that's why you have to pay for the registration.

Data sim is confirm free and no compulsory to purchase the E170 @ $398. Any way, if any 1 wans the E170, I have a BNIB E170 just got it today, might sell it if offers are good. ^^

derekliu
12-06-2008, 07:00 PM
err, 2 yrs ago im on MOL express, shortly after my contract for MOL express ends, i switch to MOL flexisurf cos im in NS then. Now abt 1 yr and 9mths later, ORDing soon, i wanna change back to MOL express again.

So now am i considered recontracting or signing up as new user?

Reason been why im concerned cos it might be affecting whether i will be getting the USB mobile stick for free or need to pay for it :D

raj2677
12-06-2008, 07:12 PM
Hmm? You are getting the MOL Premium as NEW sign up and not RECONTRACT right? Maybe that's why you have to pay for the registration.

Data sim is confirm free and no compulsory to purchase the E170 @ $398. Any way, if any 1 wans the E170, I have a BNIB E170 just got it today, might sell it if offers are good. ^^

Nope. I have all the while been on Maxonline Premium paying $81.32. They told me that DATA SIM is free but have to pay registration. Also told me that no 10% off for Premium Plus...

I am really confused. Getting a DATA SIM is good as I can use it on my PDA phone.

s330063
12-06-2008, 07:15 PM
i just recontract with express plus.
Any one know how to get the mobile USB modem instead buy from starhub?
The stuff told me the modem can purchase from outside.
true or not? :s11::s11::s11:

did they give u the sim card. is it free? modem can buy outside but not cheap

s330063
12-06-2008, 07:22 PM
where did you see this?

from my friend dont know where he got it from but he work for starhub

jujubean
12-06-2008, 07:24 PM
so how har? i quite blur now leh.. how come the run jiao starfug still so exp one?

btw stinknet got what promo har

s330063
12-06-2008, 07:28 PM
i just recontract to maxonline express plus online, think the only difference is i need to pay sim card $37, delivery fee $12 (i assume deliver the hp mininote), and also no chance to redeem the nokia hp or $50 robinson voucher for first 200 customer.

zeroisland
12-06-2008, 07:41 PM
the truth is somehow they also gives 10% discount for the maxonline plus... maybe it's their mistake, but that sales person did write the 10% for my friend's contract and it's the maxonline premium plus! i hope that contract cannot be changed. anyone has this experience?

anyway, the USB device is not compulsory. but the mac id for the rounter is compulsory if u r new sign up but u r using 2nd hand modem (not buy from them)

s330063
12-06-2008, 07:50 PM
the truth is somehow they also gives 10% discount for the maxonline plus... maybe it's their mistake, but that sales person did write the 10% for my friend's contract and it's the maxonline premium plus! i hope that contract cannot be changed. anyone has this experience?

anyway, the USB device is not compulsory. but the mac id for the rounter is compulsory if u r new sign up but u r using 2nd hand modem (not buy from them)

if i'm not wrong the 10% is not for the plus, means no mobile broadband. anyway they always make mistake, previously i was supposed to upgrade my handphone line to powerchat 300 from 100 for their offer, but in the end i'm still using the 100 plan

vtech2
12-06-2008, 08:16 PM
Upgrade options

Is the 9.5mm 4 x dvd + Rw Multibay - Retail $299 w/gst Now $205.61 b4 gst
an internal or external drive?

Are there any other internal/external dvd burners compatible with this model?

Thank you.

Stuffed
12-06-2008, 08:33 PM
Did anyone clarify the following clause:
**Free services are valid till 31 December 2008 and subscription to the respective plan must be maintained.

I think it refers to having to continue to subscribe to Digital Voice from Dec2008 till your contract expires.

win_man
12-06-2008, 08:50 PM
Did anyone clarify the following clause:
**Free services are valid till 31 December 2008 and subscription to the respective plan must be maintained.

I think it refers to having to continue to subscribe to Digital Voice from Dec2008 till your contract expires.

wont be surprised if DV extend to Dec 2009. if DV really have to pay then good lo, can finally cancel fixed line and besides i need a new modem :D

MENTHOLa
12-06-2008, 09:17 PM
does this mini note pc able to surf wireless ????

Stokes
12-06-2008, 09:23 PM
anyone know if the HP2100 series 6-cell battery - Retail $259 w/gst Now $157.94 b4 gst can be purchase separately with signing up with starhub?

Stokes
12-06-2008, 09:23 PM
does this mini note pc able to surf wireless ????
yes, u can

rugal_einstein
12-06-2008, 10:23 PM
WTS this mini notebook. Highest bid now $650. Anyone interested please sms me at 98557203. Thank you and sorry for posting this in this thread.

ah_bo0
12-06-2008, 10:39 PM
just to clarify a few things,

MOL Plus Plans - No 10% discount
MOL Plans - 10% discount off for PREMIUM & ULTIMATE Plans

Difference is that PLUS gives you FOC Mobile Broadband, as long as you maintain the PLUS plan. For the mobile broadband you will require a 3G USIM ($37.45) but i believe for this promo, it will be waived. You will also require a USB Modem, which cost $398 from starhub. It is NOT COMPULSORY to purchase it. you can still use the data sim on your HP to surf the internet FREE.

some phones are able to be used as a modem, meaning you can connect the phone to your PC/laptop and install the phone software/drivers so that your phone will act as a modem, therefore no need to purchase the huawei e170 modem.

If you have 24mths contract, you are able to recontract if it is over 21mths. Recontract the same plan or higher but cannot downgrade. (ie from premium to express) unless your contract(24mths) is over.

hope the info helps. =p

s330063
12-06-2008, 10:45 PM
WTS this mini notebook. Highest bid now $650. Anyone interested please sms me at 98557203. Thank you and sorry for posting this in this thread.

$650 very high already, wait for few more weeks u will see everybody sell at half price

psk290666
12-06-2008, 10:47 PM
You will also require a USB Modem, which cost $398 from starhub. It is NOT COMPULSORY to purchase it. you can still use the data sim on your HP to surf the internet FREE

I am confused. What's this "data sim" on the HP that i can surf the internet for free, without the use of the usb modem (which is really beyond reach at $398 - it can pay for at least 6 mths of the broadband subscription). What's the difference between surfing the net with the usb modem and surfing with teh data sim? Kindly enlighten cos this is one last hurdle before i switch from singnet. Many thanks.

s330063
12-06-2008, 10:52 PM

Difference is that PLUS gives you FOC Mobile Broadband, as long as you maintain the PLUS plan. For the mobile broadband you will require a 3G USIM ($37.45) but i believe for this promo, it will be waived. You will also require a USB Modem, which cost $398 from starhub. It is NOT COMPULSORY to purchase it. you can still use the data sim on your HP to surf the internet FREE.

some phones are able to be used as a modem, meaning you can connect the phone to your PC/laptop and install the phone software/drivers so that your phone will act as a modem, therefore no need to purchase the huawei e170 modem.

If you have 24mths contract, you are able to recontract if it is over 21mths. Recontract the same plan or higher but cannot downgrade. (ie from premium to express) unless your contract(24mths) is over.

hope the info helps. =p

very clear explaination, the sim card is only payable if u apply online. think this plan is more for those who already have the huawei modem. eg those that got it free from singtel and no more contract with singtel

haiz
12-06-2008, 11:01 PM

hope the info helps. =p

if i use the 3G usim in my n95, will i be able to surf the net for free?

so will it be having a phone number? ( no idea about how the 3g usim works so pardon this simple question)

win_man
12-06-2008, 11:06 PM
the internal.. taken from notebookreview.com

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v202/win_man/Workstation/32489.jpg

ah_bo0
12-06-2008, 11:18 PM
You will also require a USB Modem, which cost $398 from starhub. It is NOT COMPULSORY to purchase it. you can still use the data sim on your HP to surf the internet FREE

I am confused. What's this "data sim" on the HP that i can surf the internet for free, without the use of the usb modem (which is really beyond reach at $398 - it can pay for at least 6 mths of the broadband subscription). What's the difference between surfing the net with the usb modem and surfing with teh data sim? Kindly enlighten cos this is one last hurdle before i switch from singnet. Many thanks.

Mobile Broadband uses the 3.5G to surf the internet, the same one that is used on 3.5/3G mobile phones.

you can think of Huawei E170 modem as a mobile phone (but without the voice capability).

To summarize everything, mobile broadband uses a DATA SIM CARD. (its like a handphone sim card, but you cannot use to make voice calls, only surf the internet thru 3.5G/3g/2.5g)

you insert this DATA SIM into the huawei E170, you connect this e170 to laptop/desktop, it will connect to a 3.5G/3G/2.5G/2G signal and you will be able to surf internet.

alternatively you can take the DATA SIM n slot inside your handphone, you can use your handphone to surf the internet (small screen lah) thru GPRS or 3G if your phone is 3G but pls note you are NOT ABLE TO MAKE VOICE CALLS as you are using DATA SIM.

some phones allow you to connect to ur pc and enable it as a modem. if so den u r able to surf the internet on ur pc/laptop without the need for the E170 huawei.

Something to add, the FREE MOBILE BROADBAND has a 1 time activation fee of $10.70
it will be charged to your bill. Whether for this promo @ pc show, will they waive this charge, i dunno. any bro can advise on this?

ah_bo0
12-06-2008, 11:35 PM
@haiz

if i use the 3G usim in my n95, will i be able to surf the net for free?

yup you are able to surf the net in your n95 for free (locally). if you want to make phone calls, you will have to swop ur sim card (voice sim) back.

so will it be having a phone number? ( no idea about how the 3g usim works so pardon this simple question)

yes your data sim have a phone number. but this number is useless as you cannot make any voice calls. only surf the net.

kaffal
12-06-2008, 11:57 PM
i would like to ask regarding the student plan , ie for maxonline express, does a SIM student qualify to register for the student plan?

zenotic
13-06-2008, 12:21 AM
alternatively you can take the DATA SIM n slot inside your handphone, you can use your handphone to surf the internet (small screen lah) thru GPRS or 3G if your phone is 3G but pls note you are NOT ABLE TO MAKE VOICE CALLS as you are using DATA SIM.

some phones allow you to connect to ur pc and enable it as a modem. if so den u r able to surf the internet on ur pc/laptop without the need for the E170 huawei.

Wah, that means I can connect my N95 8GB as a modem to my HP Mini Note and use the mobile broadband ? Like that very ho sey leh ! I think my Nokia PC Suite have got a function call "Connecting to the Internet using your phone" Woo hoo !!!

ah_bo0
13-06-2008, 02:16 AM
i would like to ask regarding the student plan , ie for maxonline express, does a SIM student qualify to register for the student plan?

is the account under your name? if so, you are able to sign up for the student plan.
if under parents name den no, unless below 18yrs old.

ahkiat
13-06-2008, 06:07 AM
anyway... for those who wishes to have all the free modems and wireless plan...

go for this... 12 mths contract somemore...

https://secure.starhub.com/shop/jfn?entry=PROMODETAIL&promotionId=86592

Zeorymer
13-06-2008, 06:46 AM
Seems like a good deal for anyone who just wants the data SIM and a UMPC to surf anywhere. :o
I feel like re-contracting after more than a year's absence from Starhub's contracts since their promos suck before. =:p

Now gotta check whether the HP UMPC's able to use XP instead of Vista.:s22:

eric_koh25
13-06-2008, 08:57 AM
Wah Sien!! The sales person forgot to give the Mobile Broadband simcard. Need to go back and collect it. Bah.. hope no need to queue for a few hours again. Anyone encountered this problem?

aqf
13-06-2008, 09:05 AM
Wah Sien!! The sales person forgot to give the Mobile Broadband simcard. Need to go back and collect it. Bah.. hope no need to queue for a few hours again. Anyone encountered this problem?

Did u highlight tat u wanna switch to the plus plan?

ginnah
13-06-2008, 09:07 AM
signing this broadband, need to pay any service fee bo? like installation, setting up etc?

eric_koh25
13-06-2008, 09:08 AM
Did u highlight tat u wanna switch to the plus plan?

Yeah. The sales person even stick the serial code for the sim card on my subscription plan documents.

WaYne900
13-06-2008, 09:15 AM
funny leh.. my gf went down to re contract and they did not give her the data sim card leh..

so if u re contract, u will get the data sim card and the HP mini note? but modem need to buy right?

eric_koh25
13-06-2008, 09:16 AM
Hmm this is strange Are we suppose to collect it sometime later? Anyway if that is the case,I wasnt informed of such an arrangement.. hmm

WaYne900
13-06-2008, 09:22 AM
Hmm this is strange Are we suppose to collect it sometime later? Anyway if that is the case,I wasnt informed of such an arrangement.. hmm

i will go down and ask later. i'm going down to re contract too ba.. how long did u queue huh? i dunno my lunch time enough or not.

eric_koh25
13-06-2008, 09:26 AM
i will go down and ask later. i'm going down to re contract too ba.. how long did u queue huh? i dunno my lunch time enough or not.

Queued for half hour to get queue number and 3 hours to be served But i think the deal is quite worth it :D

WaYne900
13-06-2008, 09:28 AM
Queued for half hour to get queue number and 3 hours to be served But i think the deal is quite worth it :D

wah lan.. like tat lunch time no enough sia.. lol

eric_koh25
13-06-2008, 09:33 AM
wah lan.. like tat lunch time no enough sia.. lol

Take extended lunch hour loh.. :s7: Haha it will be more like a half day leave :D:D

jinkamaza
13-06-2008, 09:35 AM
Anyone will let go the Mini note! PM me price! Thanks

lxXXxl
13-06-2008, 09:38 AM
wanna check, so if re-contract the maxonline express plus, nid 2 pay $37 for the sim card? or waived?

rugal_einstein
13-06-2008, 09:46 AM
how much are you looking at jin?

zeroisland
13-06-2008, 10:03 AM
Upgrade options

where did you find the information about the ungrade and discount for mini-note PC?

player
13-06-2008, 10:38 AM
are we able to update the RAM to 2GB??? and can we use other cheaper portable DVD driver??? and are we able to change the OS to XP if not can those softwares that use in XP and be use in Vista???

alamin2
13-06-2008, 10:45 AM
what i know is that mininote can run in win xp, but gotta downgrade urself

aaatop
13-06-2008, 10:53 AM
Important Info for u all

No need to go down n QQQQQQQ so damn long....

I just call up to sign up and still get my HP notebook & $50 Robinson Voucher.

Collection is 7 July at Funan (monday).

Understand the notebook is while stock last, according to the sales over the phone.

I'm planning to sell mine note, pm me if interested.

lumce
13-06-2008, 11:13 AM
Hi All, I called Starhub and re-contracted my plan yesterday evening. Customer Service guy was very helpful. He says if you contract the Express Plus, you will have to pay for the USB Mobile Modem at $398 as the plan comes with free 1MB Mobile Broadband Plan.

BUT, if you just recontract Express plan, which is also the same price, S$59.92, AND THEN sign up the 2Mbps plan at S$19.36 (24 months contract), you get the USB Mobile Modem FOR FREE!

With this, you are getting a faster Mobile plan, 2Mbps against 1 Mbps, don't have to pay S$398 out front for the modem, and the difference you are paying is only S$66.64 (S$19.36 x 24 - S$398), and it is spread over 24 months!

GOOD DEAL!

bunny_linz
13-06-2008, 11:23 AM
Hi All, I called Starhub and re-contracted my plan yesterday evening. Customer Service guy was very helpful. He says if you contract the Express Plus, you will have to pay for the USB Mobile Modem at $398 as the plan comes with free 1MB Mobile Broadband Plan.

BUT, if you just recontract Express plan, which is also the same price, S$59.92, AND THEN sign up the 2Mbps plan at S$19.36 (24 months contract), you get the USB Mobile Modem FOR FREE!

With this, you are getting a faster Mobile plan, 2Mbps against 1 Mbps, don't have to pay S$398 out front for the modem, and the difference you are paying is only S$66.64 (S$19.36 x 24 - S$398), and it is spread over 24 months!

GOOD DEAL!

Hi, the customer service guy sayz that he will email u the redemption letter after re-contracting. Have u receive yet ? cos i didnt receive since yesterday.

HungryPillow
13-06-2008, 11:45 AM
Hmm, I can go for the Express Plus plan and not buy the USB modem or take the 3G SIM card right? I only want the broadband I don't care about the mobile. So I will just pay S$59.92 a month and no extra charges?

koosh17
13-06-2008, 11:48 AM
wanna check, so if re-contract the maxonline express plus, nid 2 pay $37 for the sim card? or waived?

No need, i did not pay anything at all

Lucky123
13-06-2008, 11:51 AM

GOOD DEAL!

Look here :

MaxOnline Express Plus :

24 months contract = $1438.08
Cost of USB modem = $398
Total cost = $1836.08

MaxOnline Express + MaxMobile Surflite :

24 months ME contract = $1438.08
24 months MM contract = $464.64
Total cost = $1902.72
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Maxonline Premium Plus

24 months subscription = $1951.68
Cost of USB mobile modem = $398
Total cost = $2349.68

MaxOnline Premium + MaxMobile Surflite :

24 months MP contract = $1756.56
24 months MM contract = $464.64
Total cost = $2221.20
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
MaxOnline Ultimate Plus :

24 months contract = $2978.88
Cost of USB modem = $398
Total Cost = $3376.88

MaxOnline Ultimate + MaxMobile Ultimate :

24 months MU contract = $2681.04
24 months MMU contract = $873.12
Total Cost = $3554.16

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

So you see only Maxonline Premium deal will have savings if you break into 2 contracts. For Express and Ultimate, you will pay more. So stick to Plus.

koosh17
13-06-2008, 11:53 AM
Hmm, I can go for the Express Plus plan and not buy the USB modem or take the 3G SIM card right? I only want the broadband I don't care about the mobile. So I will just pay S$59.92 a month and no extra charges?

You can sign for the Express Plus and not buy the modem.....but they will still give you the 3G Sim Card. That's what i got.

lxXXxl
13-06-2008, 12:00 PM
anyone can confirm whether u have 2 pay for the sim card? or is it waived?

psk290666
13-06-2008, 12:03 PM
Thanks for the comparison. However, i think the extras are for the faster Mobile Broadband speed (2G vs 1G). i'm struggling between the two now. Thanks again.

state22
13-06-2008, 12:50 PM
Lucky, if u sign up the 2 MBPS plan also then u would haf 2 MOL subscriptions ?

dgeralds
13-06-2008, 12:52 PM
Im planning to re-contract Maxonline Express Plus. I understand that I will get Maxonline + Mobile Broadband (free Data SIM, and if I want a USB modem I have to pay).

My question is:

Currently I hold a Starhub Mobile SIM (for calls). Can this SIM and the data SIM be combined into a single SIM both for calls and data; so that i can use in my PDA? Any charges involved?

Thk you.

meijiaks009
13-06-2008, 12:55 PM
Is there a student plan for this promo?

My son is below 10

Thks

state22
13-06-2008, 01:06 PM
Im planning to re-contract Maxonline Express Plus. I understand that I will get Maxonline + Mobile Broadband (free Data SIM, and if I want a USB modem I have to pay).

My question is:

Currently I hold a Starhub Mobile SIM (for calls). Can this SIM and the data SIM be combined into a single SIM both for calls and data; so that i can use in my PDA? Any charges involved?

Thk you.

u can haf both call and data on one sim, but the prob here is if for this offer does starhub allow u to do tat, normal over the counter or call in, no issue, just ask them to tag in the data plan into your existing mobile line that you wan .
then u can talk and surf on ur pda

Is there a student plan for this promo?

My son is below 10

Thks

not for this promo unfortunately, but i tink starhub do haf student MOL promos from time to time, but usually give away things like ipods and psps instead

psk290666
13-06-2008, 01:15 PM
yes but two broadband mobile plans with only one usb modem. sigh.

n95crazy
13-06-2008, 01:24 PM
willing to exchange asus eeepc 900 20gb withwinxp installed for a hp mini note
pm me for arrangements

great22
13-06-2008, 01:35 PM
Understand that if we sign up the plan at the PC Show booth, we can get a free nokia phone. So for those who had gone there to sign up, may I know which nokia phone model was given away?

13-06-2008, 01:44 PM
nokia 1203

meijiaks009
13-06-2008, 02:00 PM
thks state22

half_Life2
13-06-2008, 02:06 PM
just came back, SUPER LONG queue!

meijiaks009
13-06-2008, 02:09 PM
Half life, wat did u get ?

half_Life2
13-06-2008, 02:13 PM
The mini notebook, + Free Data SIM card

0$ deal is the best, thats what my invoice says

half_Life2
13-06-2008, 02:15 PM
crazy boh, the modem is costing 398$

no money to buy, any idea where can buy a similar USB modem and the cost

WaYne900
13-06-2008, 02:23 PM
anyone can confirm whether u have 2 pay for the sim card? or is it waived?

waived if u do it at the PC show. Outlet & online need to pay.

meijiaks009
13-06-2008, 02:24 PM
but if call to recontract, will I get the free data sim?

rahul49
13-06-2008, 02:43 PM
Can you recontract online also?

I see the option when I log in with my hub id.
But not very sure if I will miss out anything.
How will I get the redemption voucher?

Has anyone recontracted online?

So much easier than queuing 3 hours in Suntec

half_Life2
13-06-2008, 02:43 PM
:eek: wah tis time round got quite good promo for mol express sia

Yes after the xbox 360 promotion 2 years back this is the best deal i guess

half_Life2
13-06-2008, 02:49 PM

NOT TRUE - FREE NOKIA Phone

the free phone is applicable to all CUSTOMERS whether its re contract or NEW customer
cause i just re contract.

half_Life2

Yes you can re contract online also.

WaYne900
but if call to recontract, will I get the free data sim?

i only can say call and ask

WaYne900
13-06-2008, 02:50 PM

can.. only that the data sim card u need to pay instead at the show it is free..

meijiaks009
13-06-2008, 02:58 PM
by now all the free nokia hps shd be given out already?

aaatop
13-06-2008, 03:06 PM

I call to re-contract so as to make sure u get everything and ask any questions u might hv... also rem to ask for your free gifts...

meijiaks009
13-06-2008, 03:18 PM
aaatop, mind telling wats ur freebies?

prostcode
13-06-2008, 03:24 PM
what's the nokia phone model?

if new sign up need to pay 398 for modem.
if recontract, need to pay?

Cimarau
13-06-2008, 03:33 PM
Signed up for the MaxOnline Express Plus yesterday, and got a free Nokia 1208, Samsung NV3 digitial camera, data SIM and free cable modem. Collection date for the HP Mini PC is after 7 July.

aaatop
13-06-2008, 03:33 PM
aaatop, mind telling wats ur freebies?

Besides the mini-note n other accompanied stuffs, I also asked for the $50 Robinson voucher as the nokia phone is too below entry level..

Unortunately, the free digital camera dun apply even if u call early in the morning as they need a queue voucher from the hall in order to qualify (1st 50 per day).

aaatop
13-06-2008, 03:36 PM
Signed up for the MaxOnline Express Plus yesterday, and got a free Nokia 1208, Samsung NV3 digitial camera, data SIM and free cable modem. Collection date for the HP Mini PC is after 7 July.

bro... u sure u got all above items free!! think u made a mistake... its either one of the gifts within the numbered conditions.

meijiaks009
13-06-2008, 03:36 PM
that's means can get a queue voucher than drop out from the queue to call to contract

Like dat can get the free cam?

ben0704
13-06-2008, 03:53 PM
why so many freebie?!?!

meijiaks009
13-06-2008, 04:00 PM
maybe he is the 1st customer on Thursday

IntelFlash
13-06-2008, 04:24 PM
what a long collection time

Cimarau
13-06-2008, 04:26 PM
bro... u sure u got all above items free!! think u made a mistake... its either one of the gifts within the numbered conditions.

yup...yesterday got into the queue around 1230pm. Advertised that first 200 (any sign-up) get Nokia 1208, first 50 (new Maxonline sign-up) get digital camera and existing Starhub digital cable and mobile customer can enjoy hubber bonus of free cable modem or $88 off Maxonline subscription. As for the data sim, it's free for the above plan. All in the fine print.

Word of caution though for those planning to sign up this weekend, make sure u get a redemption tag (not clearly stated anywhere) to redeem for your free gift (in this case mine was the digital camera). It is advertised 1st 50 get the gift, but if you do not have the tag, you don't get the free gift. Some how this lady behind me in the queue got the tag and I didn't. I only found out in the end after I made all payment that I need a tag to redeem the free gift.

player
13-06-2008, 04:32 PM
is the free nokia phone and camera only available for the first few customers or for all customers

meijiaks009
13-06-2008, 04:32 PM
power siah.....

ureshiman
13-06-2008, 04:40 PM
intend to sign up for the express plus... juz called up sales hotline and confirmed that data sim does not come free.

can anyone advise if i get the data sim card, can i use it with some modem-capable phones e.g. n95? checked with the sales and seems mobile broadband can only be used with the dedicated usb device. have anyone ever tried with a phone?

thanks.

wiz
13-06-2008, 04:51 PM
Does the 2133 comes with bluetooth?

meijiaks009
13-06-2008, 04:55 PM
yes, it comes with Bluetooth

boonerite
13-06-2008, 04:56 PM
Upgrade options

hello,
anyone knows where this is copied from? I can't find it on the net

In anycase, any idea if the 3cell can be used together with 6 cell at same time?

raj2677
13-06-2008, 04:57 PM
well it's like that. Their staff not briefed on the promotions.

When I first went in, I asked abt the free maxmobile with the PLUS plans. Guess what the staff told me. USB stick is free. He was telling this to everyone. amazing. I alerted him n he insisted it was such. what to do, they just don't listen when u try to be helpful.

Then when I wanted to sign up premium plus plan, sales staff told me that it is compulsory to buy USB Stick for Plus plans.

Then on 10% off is only for premium n ultimate. premium plus & ultimate plus not eligible. but they were giving 10% regardless of plans <premium & ultimate>.

Lot's of mistakes. Dunno if they will retract the errors!!!

Nonsense
13-06-2008, 05:03 PM

There is no mistakes..

My gf recon her mobile and MOL, she got voucher, 1208, free 12 mths sports chnl, data sim. Out of that, she signed up for Maxmobile surflite and got psp, data sim and E170 free.

meijiaks009
13-06-2008, 05:05 PM
so do u collect the USB stick & data sim on the spot?

meijiaks009
13-06-2008, 05:14 PM
now just by subscribing to the mobile surflite got psp free?

Nonsense
13-06-2008, 05:25 PM
now just by subscribing to the mobile surflite got psp free?

Data sim and E170 on the spot, need to sign up mobile + surflite then got psp and E170.

Psp forgot is first how many already. 150 I tink or 50..

JuXn5566
13-06-2008, 05:31 PM
i found out they had removed the delivery option from their web
so i just call 1633 and ask...
the staff told me will send me a email and need to go funan to collect myself
there is no delivery option for this mini-note

in the end,i got recontract & wait for july to come

Xue
13-06-2008, 05:53 PM
Can't seem to find a re-contract option online .. is there such an option to do re-contract online in the first place?

SianzRong
13-06-2008, 06:14 PM
hello,
anyone knows where this is copied from? I can't find it on the net

In anycase, any idea if the 3cell can be used together with 6 cell at same time?

Yup! i also want to upgrade to 6 cell man anyone knows if this is available for user?

JuXn5566
13-06-2008, 06:24 PM
Can't seem to find a re-contract option online .. is there such an option to do re-contract online in the first place?

yes,you need to log in with hub id first.then go to the hp mini-note page and click select.

Yup! i also want to upgrade to 6 cell man anyone knows if this is available for user?

i think it is avilable to buy a 6 cell batt when u go to redeem the mini-note at funan.it just like the xbox promotion two year ago.

winderkent
13-06-2008, 06:28 PM
You think this 1 can play games like Maple / Counter-Strike ?

Getting a laptop for my bro, not sure about laptop specs. Kindly Advice.

Benzter
13-06-2008, 06:29 PM
crazy boh, the modem is costing 398$

no money to buy, any idea where can buy a similar USB modem and the cost

Anyone know other than this modem $398 from starhub, is there any other alternatives which can be bought outside?

mikeliew
13-06-2008, 06:37 PM
I'm interested in getting the HP mininote. PM me if you wanna let go your freebie unit. Thanks.