View Full Version : Cristiano Ronaldo: Inconsistency to perform in big matches?
Kiwi8
20-06-2008, 01:51 PM
Cristiano Ronaldo: Inconsistency to perform in big matches?
What is your opinion regarding this? Let's debate.
MrWeiWei
20-06-2008, 02:05 PM
maybe u the TS should state ur opinion 1st lol
StarSeeker
20-06-2008, 02:18 PM
I have a feeling this thread is gonna get ugly....
Kiwi8
20-06-2008, 02:24 PM
My opinion is as what I stated as the title, namely that Cristiano Ronaldo does not have the consistency to perform in big matches. :o
AhHuat
20-06-2008, 02:26 PM
apparently , yes and no.
but i want to see how he will perform when he move to real madrid.
1920_me
20-06-2008, 02:35 PM
As opposed to deco and simao?? the whole portugal team had a bad game. Towards the end of the game, all were trying their shot at glory, without trying to build up like they did in the start of the game.
But, yes ronaldo had a bad game yesterday.
othniel80
20-06-2008, 02:41 PM
I have a feeling this thread is gonna get ugly....
Totally agreed, someone gonna come in with his half aXX comments.
ben0704
20-06-2008, 02:44 PM
moderator create flame bait thread :s22:
hiei02
20-06-2008, 02:45 PM
judging by last nite's match? or?
odyas
20-06-2008, 02:48 PM
Yes and no i guess, it depends on what's your definition of performance. Generally, I feel that this time round, he is less invisible compared to few years back where in big games, he is virtually non-existant. He tries hard to make his shots count and did some assist too, last time he too one man show. Still got room for improvement bah.
Kiwi8
20-06-2008, 02:54 PM
moderator create flame bait thread :s22:
It's not a flame bait thread. We can all discuss this rationally. Do not defend Cristiano Ronaldo as a ManU fan, or diss Cristiano Ronaldo as an anti-ManU fan, just focus on his performances and comment. If this is not followed by the users, u can't really say it's because of the thread being a flame bait thread. :o
Kiwi8
20-06-2008, 02:56 PM
judging by last nite's match? or?
Last nite: Not doing enough to overturn the tie thus losing the game (of course the whole Portuguese team have to be blamed too including Ronaldo)
UEFA Champions League final: Missing the penalty (even though in the end his miss was harmless and Man U still went on to win the penalties).
And a couple of other occasions, can't remember.
MrWeiWei
20-06-2008, 03:03 PM
i feel in yday nite's game...
the fault belongs to the whole of portugal team.... he is not only the big name there ^^
when he is playing for man utd, in big matches he tio marked but free up space for his teammates to take advantage.... but with portugal.... his teammates failed to do so
othniel80
20-06-2008, 03:07 PM
I'll pitch in my two cents, I agree with Kiwi. Despite the 40 odd goals, he can still be vulnerable and snuff out in a game.
othniel80
20-06-2008, 03:09 PM
Last nite: Not doing enough to overturn the tie thus losing the game (of course the whole Portuguese team have to be blamed too including Ronaldo)
UEFA Champions League final: Missing the penalty (even though in the end his miss was harmless and Man U still went on to win the penalties).
And a couple of other occasions, can't remember.
He also missed the penalty playing barca right? It juz shows that he is still human and without other exceptional players alongside him, the odds cannot be won on a tough day.
eddygames
20-06-2008, 04:00 PM
well.. no player can perform at the top level at every match or tournament.
sometimes u score, sometimes u dont..
can we say the same about kaka since since he didnt inspire brazil to win the wc2006? n he got a really bad season with ac milan.
how bt messi? same thing at wc06 and at his club.
he's not the only one who is poor last nite. the whole team especially the defence was very very poor..
in his defence.. he did score against the top 3 clubs in england. he even scored the opener in the ecl final. without his goal.. there wont be a shoot out..
like wat othniel80 said. he's only human.. missing penalties and not performing in matches are part of football
LiverpoolForeverChamps
20-06-2008, 04:07 PM
What i'm pretty sure of is when compared to messi and kaka, they have greater influence on big matches against better opponents compared to ronaldo. But i think ronaldo has a greater influence against lesser teams compared to those 2, well, i'm not sure, since they all 3 are of different leagues.
hiei02
20-06-2008, 04:08 PM
well actually i thought he did pretty well in the CL final, considering his past reputation of "disppearing" against good opponents. the penalty miss, was well, i don't suppose you can count that as inconsistency.
portugal on the whole was poor last night. if you're talking about ronaldo not being able to pull the team up and win the match single-handedly, that's true. but as a player, he did what he could, especially after such a rigorous season.
faruk55
20-06-2008, 04:22 PM
I wonder why put so much of pressure on him.. He is doin' what he could. After all he is just a kid. As what hiei02 mentioned, after a rigorous season in BPL, he is also playing games like every few days...
So, there can be ups and downs.
lazyaszzz
20-06-2008, 06:10 PM
its the media inflating his networth, every good player reqs gd team mates. its bcuz of him dat de other players dun seem to shine dat much, as compared to him. as an individual he is brilliant but he is not so much of a team player as yet, although he's constantly improving on dat aspect.
jus my two cents' worth. :D
cj4_elmo
21-06-2008, 12:53 AM
Honestly which big name players can consistently perform in every game?
eddygames
21-06-2008, 12:58 AM
well even the phenom Ronaldo (brazil one) can't score in every match
despite his success on the world stage..he didnt win the champions league before didnt he
1920_me
21-06-2008, 01:06 AM
Missing in the penalty shootout, is hardly a show of inconsistency. Some of you have gotten on the bandwagon that ronaldo bottles it in big games, although i thought this matter was settled after this wonderful showing,barring that miss in the CL final....
Ribery,Toni, Benzema all being touted as Euro stars have fallen away, ronaldo had a decent tournament, but portugal's poor team peformance against germany is not a true vindication of his performances in the tournament.
Jackson Ng Ghim Pheng
21-06-2008, 02:56 AM
He is not a big match player thus not a great player period
MrWeiWei
21-06-2008, 10:35 AM
thanks for ur comment.... can u go over to the cech thread and answer my question ? ^^
hiei02
21-06-2008, 11:11 AM
honestly lah, you're the last person on earth to judge whether he is or not. :s13:
Ronaldo played better in manu colours. He look out of sorts when playing for portugal.
Deunamist
21-06-2008, 01:20 PM
can we say the same about kaka since since he didnt inspire brazil to win the wc2006? n he got a really bad season with ac milan.
Kaka was the brightest spark for Brazil in 2006 but the rest of the team really CMI, like Ronaldo, Ronaldinho, Adriano, blah blah. all simply cannot make it then.
as for the bad season, i guess it was because he was struggling with his knee injury and was playing games every 3 days thanks to Club World Cup. the whole squad was screwed thanks to Japan. played much better when the season came towards the end after his recovery.
now that he has gone for the operation, no excuses for next season already.
Euro-wise, from the start i felt Portugal was simply overrated. they just don't have the team quality that the Netherlands possesses.
a lot of people going for Portugal to win but they just can't see that Portugal doesn't know how to play with Cristiano Ronaldo like Man Utd can.
Y_Shun
21-06-2008, 02:41 PM
He also missed the penalty playing barca right? It juz shows that he is still human and without other exceptional players alongside him, the odds cannot be won on a tough day.
He also missed during CL Final....of all ppl, he missed...:s22: - Althoug he scored the first goal.
Another evidence that he cannot perform in big matches??
Kiwi8
21-06-2008, 03:27 PM
Those of u who want to dispute the statement "inconsistency to perform in big matches", can u specify some of those incidents where he performed well in big matches? Then we can discuss those incidents.
poring24
21-06-2008, 03:53 PM
Thx for ur useless comments
hiei02
21-06-2008, 04:16 PM
Those of u who want to dispute the statement "inconsistency to perform in big matches", can u specify some of those incidents where he performed well in big matches? Then we can discuss those incidents.
CL final was 1 match where he stood out. kinda fizzled out in the second half when chelsea was coming back into the game, but 1st half, he was unstoppable.
honestly, i thought he did well, considering the situations in both barca ties as well. barca was overwhelming, and ronaldo was our only threat.
he still lacks the ability to win a match single-handedly, against more illustrious opponents. but saying he has the "inconsistency to perform in big matches" is kinda unfair to him. my 2 cents.
TitanSmall
21-06-2008, 04:26 PM
i think the expectation of him is too high already.... imo....
he is still young..
Pyro77
21-06-2008, 06:21 PM
To be fair, if he didn't score during the first half, there won't be penalties in the first place. So his goal makes up for his miss
spykid
21-06-2008, 09:33 PM
The one he scored against Roma with that header in Rome was brilliant. No one saw that coming, he wouldn't have scored that 2 years ago.
He has scored in the CL final, top scorer in Champions League, he has now scored against the other domestic big 3. A testament of rising to the occasion.
Penalties are a lottery, big players past and present have missed, doesn't mean they lack balls or temperament.
So how do you measure it? He has improve every season, goals and general play. Do you expect him to go on a 60m run, beat 6 defenders and scored with a deft chip in every big match before he can be considered a great player?
My 2 cents too. I assumed because Portugal stumbled out of Euro 08 then this thread comes up. Actually, i'm pretty bored of talking about Ronaldo already. But the boy is only 23, still has the world at his feet and can only perform what's in front of him after such a hectic season.
LiverpoolForeverChamps
21-06-2008, 11:49 PM
Do you expect him to go on a 60m run, beat 6 defenders and scored with a deft chip in every big match before he can be considered a great player?
Do you mean something like this?
Zrao0ROwpAM
JohnnySasaki
21-06-2008, 11:59 PM
Zrao0ROwpAM
probably.
hrOyedpeZnk
Its a Fa Cup semi-final against Arsenal. Can't get any bigger than that.
LiverpoolForeverChamps
22-06-2008, 12:26 AM
probably.
hrOyedpeZnk
Oh, really can't get any bigger than this? Let me introduce...messi's old friend...
-rW-lK9F6TU
World cup quarter final vs england
1920_me
22-06-2008, 01:22 AM
and he also scored with his hand...that's the mark of greatness:s8:
Jackson Ng Ghim Pheng
22-06-2008, 01:32 AM
Thx for ur useless comments
Welcome but it is a fact you can't argue that
spykid
22-06-2008, 04:20 AM
Zrao0ROwpAM
And just as i predicted, some idiot would take that selective comment, ignore the others and post that.
Doing that once in your career doesn't mean or prove you are a great and consistent player than the other. I could compile all of Ronaldo's 65 goals of every variety in the past 2 seasons in youtube and it would dwarf Lional Messi all over, no? Look at it generally.
ahgohgoh
22-06-2008, 08:42 AM
*warning: the first part is an off-topic post*
though i dislike ronaldo... i dislike ___ even more
no other great GREAT winger has scored 42 goals in a season on route to winning the BPL title and champions league
and i think this season he's scored against liverpool, arsenal, chelsea in all competition...
even ronaldinho at his peak need his teammates to lift him sometimes... ronaldo is no exception..
against germany, didn't he create the portugal goal?
i'd say he's not a great player yet because he hasn't reach the age for people to judge his whole career... many players have a good few seasons at the start then go missing in the end, i.e. ronaldo (fat)
i dont know why there's still this argument that ronaldo doesnt perform in big matches because this season... he's played against the best teams in europe (champions league) and scored regularly (top scorer) ... scored against big 4
TS wants proof and examples that ronaldo perform in big matches... maybe he should first prove that ronaldo doesnt perform in big matches instead of words like "And a couple of other occasions, can't remember."
vasilli07
22-06-2008, 09:33 AM
against germany, didn't he create the portugal goal?
He didn't create the portugal goal directly. It's his 1 on 1 miss tat create the rebound. :s22:
http://www.d1g.com/video/show/?id=2061001
MrWeiWei
22-06-2008, 10:33 AM
in this euro who is performing to expectations? the russia guy?
holland also got kicked out liao lol
eddygames
22-06-2008, 11:45 AM
the answer to ts's question is.. the 11 players who will win the euro08 becos they meet expections
the rest of the players from the 15 countries does not meet expection. cannot perform in big matches!
Wryer
22-06-2008, 11:48 AM
Replace the name with 'Theirry Henry' and it sounds all too similar.
These players are a victim of their own success. They are a class apart from the rest of the league and people always look to them for magic. Despite Henry's magical performances against Real, Roma, Juve, Man U, Spurs, he is still seen as 'gone missing in big matches' and Arsenal is a 'one man team'.
For me, Ronaldo is consistent enough, at least in the last 2 seasons.
w3nmin9
22-06-2008, 12:51 PM
probably.
hrOyedpeZnk
haha some moron will come out and say "oh he didnt win the world cup, euro cup, he is not a world class player =x
Ronaldo_7
22-06-2008, 01:30 PM
the arguement will never stop lah... there will be critics no matter how the player do..
take Maradona loh since he's being used as well.. all see him as GOD... then can blindly sweep his "Hand of God" under the mat? its a foul loh but why no one says that? instead all say what nonsense say what he's too good to be caught or whatever rubbish... to each his own lah zzzz
:s22: :s22:
ahgohgoh
22-06-2008, 04:12 PM
He didn't create the portugal goal directly. It's his 1 on 1 miss tat create the rebound. :s22:
http://www.d1g.com/video/show/?id=2061001
that's an assist...
23-06-2008, 09:49 AM
IMO,he still need a few yrs to really shine on big stage as in he can singly lift a team himself......mus remember he is still young...but deniably he is till inconsistent esp for portugal....
bwaysaibi
23-06-2008, 01:31 PM
guys simmer.... its a forum afterall, everyone have their own opinions :D
imho, he's good, shd be one of if not the best winger in the world, quick feet, dazzling technique, flair in abundance and deadly consistency , lets not forget he added a repetoire of insane dipping freekicks into his weaponry.... so he's complete player already aint he??
not quite yet...he stil lacking in the temperament factor, yes he improved vastly from his showboating days, he stil showboat, but nowadays he's much more direct, thats why he's got better goal and assist ratios .... what he lacks now is the mental aspect.... by this i mean, over coming the psychological barrier that'll make him an all time great,
he stil tend to disappear in games, too often for my liking,,,,,, if he is an impact player or flair player (someone who is inthe team to add that extra bit of class... and creativity, he could be forgiven) but being a key player, if not the most important player for his team... he needs to show a little more fight. even when he's marked very tightly or physically brutalised, he shd pick himself up and show some spirit, it'll rub off on the rest. he fizzles out and give up too easily.... when he is playing for portugal. when he's playing for man utd, it seems very much different. could be the mental factor..... cos at man utd, he stil have much more senior key players like giggs and scholes who can push him on....whereas n the portugal setup, not many are more experienced and capable than him , who he can look up to.... just my 2cents
its a forum afterall, lets have a healthy discussion :D
eddygames
23-06-2008, 01:52 PM
he alone can't do it all for portugal if their defence is so lousy
othniel80
23-06-2008, 03:55 PM
I just wish he quit whining :s13::D
Jackson Ng Ghim Pheng
23-06-2008, 10:35 PM
haha Man U fans can think that CR7 is a great player all they want but it doesn't deny the fact that he is still not @ that status yet.
If he is a great player he should have show that in the World Cup Or Euro08 which he never did afterall Portugal is rated even higher chances of winning the Euro08 than Germany before the match between them kick off
MrWeiWei
23-06-2008, 10:55 PM
haha Man U fans can think that CR7 is a great player all they want but it doesn't deny the fact that he is still not @ that status yet.
If he is a great player he should have show that in the World Cup Or Euro08 which he never did afterall Portugal is rated even higher chances of winning the Euro08 than Germany before the match between them kick off
like tat chelsea very luk seh leh...
all world class players and great players...
cannot even match a big match bottler.....
got a TREBLE of 2nd only .....
ahgohgoh
23-06-2008, 11:01 PM
george best and cantona and giggs never play at world cup
portugal is overrated
like some ppl said.. portugal has some good individual... but they dont have a good team like spain and italy...
hes only 23... hes got 10 more international yrs ahead of him... time is on his side...
how many players 23 yrs old can be considered great?
but the topic is about him being inconsistent in big matches... not whether he's "great" or not
JohnnySasaki
23-06-2008, 11:06 PM
lol sure.
http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showthread.php?t=1998730
http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showthread.php?t=1990846
Thats 2+1 threads on you ranting about Ronaldo. If he wasn't good in your opinion, why do you even bother keeping track of his movements?
I don't see you keeping track of other players... :o :o
Of course, with Ronaldo gone, you can hereby declare Chelsea champions of 08/09, which implies, you do think that he's THAT good. Good enough to win trophies.
23-06-2008, 11:40 PM
lol i see GP kanna flamed by Man U fans again....LOL
Jackson Ng Ghim Pheng
24-06-2008, 03:41 AM
As always just because I say that CR7 is not a great player doesn't mean that he is not a excellent player.
He is not great because he has big ege,dive / try to cheat too much and also failure to perform @ the big occasion / big matches.
Asakura
24-06-2008, 07:10 AM
its more of how you bring up ur point of the arguement that makes people wanna flame u i guess.
othniel80
24-06-2008, 08:17 AM
its quite the routine la :s13:
24-06-2008, 08:56 AM
As always just because I say that CR7 is not a great player doesn't mean that he is not a excellent player.
He is not great because he has big ege,dive / try to cheat too much and also failure to perform @ the big occasion / big matches.
ur argument is true la....jus that i tink the way u phrase ur words realli make the man u fans blood boils....lol...maybe try to phrase ur words in a better way??
Asakura
24-06-2008, 09:27 AM
With his ego and occasional play acting, and his inability to shine in most of the big matches, yea, CR7 is not that great afterall. Then again, he's only like 23? Some players are so good when they are in their 20s, and then later turns out to be rubbish in their latter years. Why judge him now? He's have ample time to prove a point. Great or Sudden gush of talent, time will tell..
Is he inconsistent or are expectations set too high for him?
othniel80
24-06-2008, 09:39 AM
ur argument is true la....jus that i tink the way u phrase ur words realli make the man u fans blood boils....lol...maybe try to phrase ur words in a better way??
no la won't blood boil la but one wonders if its a unbiased comment or just simply opposition bashing if you get the drift :s13::D
24-06-2008, 09:56 AM
With his ego and occasional play acting, and his inability to shine in most of the big matches, yea, CR7 is not that great afterall. Then again, he's only like 23? Some players are so good when they are in their 20s, and then later turns out to be rubbish in their latter years. Why judge him now? He's have ample time to prove a point. Great or Sudden gush of talent, time will tell..
Is he inconsistent or are expectations set too high for him?
i tink he his big match tempermant nt yet there la....as u say..mus wait a few more years....
faruk55
24-06-2008, 10:30 AM
a bloody rich .. over the top financed 23yrs old... how everyone wish they could be like him... even if he retires now, he still have so much money to feed hmself and his hometown for many years to come..
24-06-2008, 10:45 AM
a bloody rich .. over the top financed 23yrs old... how everyone wish they could be like him... even if he retires now, he still have so much money to feed hmself and his hometown for many years to come..
if he go real...he have even more $$
Jackson Ng Ghim Pheng
24-06-2008, 07:11 PM
its more of how you bring up ur point of the arguement that makes people wanna flame u i guess.
I am talking about Ronaldo / football and man u fans started flaming me."SOME" Of the Man U fans @ their best isn't it ? can't stick to football / player discussion.
24-06-2008, 07:22 PM
I am talking about Ronaldo / football and man u fans started flaming me."SOME" Of the Man U fans @ their best isn't it ? can't stick to football / player discussion.
here is he asking for flaming again...sigh....the thread gonna get locked soon if this continue
Wryer
24-06-2008, 10:31 PM
Dear users,
Once again, may I suggest participants to,
1) Ignore
2) Utilize the ignore function, where required.
Responding to flames merely fan on the flames. Please remember, the naughty and childish little kid that lights up a match always proclaims innocence because he is just curious of what comes out of a little flame. The guilty little kid often don't consider the possible fire he may start.
Thank You. Please return to topic.
humanc0w
24-06-2008, 11:38 PM
C.Ron is just another diver only & ManU is just a team who win throphies by "their" Refs scoring for them!
Nuff said! End of discussion...
Pyro77
24-06-2008, 11:51 PM
C.Ron is just another diver only & ManU is just a team who win throphies by "their" Refs scoring for them!
Nuff said! End of discussion...
Sore loser spotted. How's the silver medals?
Jackson Ng Ghim Pheng
25-06-2008, 04:34 AM
Dear users,
Once again, may I suggest participants to,
1) Ignore
2) Utilize the ignore function, where required.
Responding to flames merely fan on the flames. Please remember, the naughty and childish little kid that lights up a match always proclaims innocence because he is just curious of what comes out of a little flame. The guilty little kid often don't consider the possible fire he may start.
Thank You. Please return to topic.
Quite unfair for you to say that I only make a comment on CR7 is not a big match player thus not a great player period and they started targeting me and not any comments on some of the man u fans previously until now.
Asakura
25-06-2008, 06:59 AM
Quite unfair for you to say that I only make a comment on CR7 is not a big match player thus not a great player period and they started targeting me and not any comments on some of the man u fans previously until now.
In any case, he's making a general statement referring to those who starts posting like that mindless cow just did, but if you think you're the naughty and childish little kid in question, oh well.:s8:
Likewise for you, if anyone here says one of your Chelsea players aren't any good, you defend, you ask for reasons why.
Its not targeting. But if a certain person, like this cow, consistently making such comments on a particular team, one can't help but want to fire back at him in his every next comment.
And for that cow over there, topic is about CR and please don't even start the flame burning.
ahgohgoh
25-06-2008, 08:02 AM
i reply to your two posts ... talking football... but you choose to reply to others who aren't talking football...
i quit this thread!!!!!!!!!!
before it gets locked lol
Wryer
25-06-2008, 09:33 AM
Dear user,
Thank you for your feedback. Unfortunately, my post was not made in reference to anyone. Rather, it was meant for everyone.
Posts not relevant to topic from this post onwards will be deleted.
Thank you.
B0ssman
01-07-2008, 07:06 AM
He does not have an opinion.He is afraid of a good debate and always chicken out when it gets heated up.He is a moderator with no knowledge on the subject matter.:s8:
B0ssman
01-07-2008, 07:14 AM
Dun even bother have this discussion.Look at where he is playing.The Epl.A mickey mouse league where a player with good technical ability can shine.The fact is epl players especially defenders are not good at playing the ball at their feet.This is why Man U and the liverpool of the past can dominate because they play the ball at their feet.As for the record,Arsenal also shines because they play with the ball on the ground.
But once CR moves to Real, he will be avrage as all the players there are great with the ball on the ground.Can he trick them with his stepovers ? Nah....
Kiwi8
28-05-2009, 04:46 PM
Let me bump up this thread for discussion, for the current context.
Do u folks still think he doesn't have the consistency to perform in big matches, or has he improved on the consistency already? :s11:
1920_me
28-05-2009, 05:19 PM
He was the best player for United last night. Too bad, the players around him did not perform to his standards and that was the difference between him and messi last night.
Jian19
28-05-2009, 06:05 PM
ytd not his fault mah :o
babyblue
28-05-2009, 06:10 PM
this morning ronaldo is man utd best player. can't blame him. we have gd chances in first 5mins but can't convert. if we score if 1st 5mins outcome wil be different haiz. its just not our nite:(
Techadd
28-05-2009, 06:15 PM
Dun even bother have this discussion.Look at where he is playing.The Epl.A mickey mouse league where a player with good technical ability can shine.The fact is epl players especially defenders are not good at playing the ball at their feet.This is why Man U and the liverpool of the past can dominate because they play the ball at their feet.As for the record,Arsenal also shines because they play with the ball on the ground.
But once CR moves to Real, he will be avrage as all the players there are great with the ball on the ground.Can he trick them with his stepovers ? Nah....
Epl is a mickey mouse league?? :s13::s13: then why are you even posting in the EPL Forum?? :s11::s11:
Techadd
28-05-2009, 06:16 PM
scored a screamer in the quarter finals and the semi finals.. i think hes has enough consistency to warrant that :)
jordanskywalker
28-05-2009, 06:24 PM
He was the best player for United last night. Too bad, the players around him did not perform to his standards and that was the difference between him and messi last night.
ya, CR7 is the best man u player last night, and if i remember correctly, only his shot seems to be on target, i think the midfield let him down yesterday
Ferderico
28-05-2009, 07:31 PM
CR played alright.... could see that he really really wanted to win the cup....
best player for man u...
worst player is rooney.... He is my idol but ytd performances was like a school boy.... too kan chiong...
night87
28-05-2009, 07:38 PM
i agree, he always sort of dissappear when its big games,
and not a very good tema player,
putting 70 million and him i take the 70 million and sell him off, build my team ard players like rooney tevez etc.
StarSeeker
28-05-2009, 07:39 PM
IMHO, CR7 still not a big match player, & stuff out easily with quality defenders.
I have to say that my portugese friend has improve his performance in big matches this year. His free kick & long ball are one of the deadliest in the world.
But its damn irritating to see him keep whining & complaining like a baby every time he falls.
Anyway, Man United didn't win the league because they performance great against the big teams, but its against the poorer teams that CR7 & gang are so good at bullying that wins them the title.
Most club will be happy to have a player that can performance well against weaker opposition.
giggsy86
28-05-2009, 08:37 PM
Some of you lot are clue-less.
28-05-2009, 08:49 PM
Some of you lot are clue-less.
CR7 do perform in big matches,but when the stakes is the highest...he cant deliever...he seem to underperform in the most critical matches.
croc1977
28-05-2009, 08:58 PM
at least our players will not go in front of the camera and scold 4 letters words...in front our millions audience with children include...and scream like a gorilla....or wild DOG?...
That also facts...
FvANmxeiA5Y
lyfeforce
28-05-2009, 09:00 PM
I wouldn't say he doesn't perform in all the big matches, but as compared to last season, he's definitely more inconsistent this time around. It just happens to be a little more telling when Man Utd loses badly.
Why? Because everyone expects magic from him everytime. It's really difficult. Even the great Pele, Maradona and Cryuff have had their off days.
_dXter
28-05-2009, 09:01 PM
The guy already won all there's for a club player. Probably need a new challenge.
lyfeforce
28-05-2009, 09:01 PM
at least our players will not go in front of the camera and scold 4 letters words...in front our millions audience with children include...and scream like a gorilla....or wild DOG?...
That also facts...
We're talking about Ronaldo's performance. Stop bringing other unrelated issues into the discussion. Stick to the topic.
croc1977
28-05-2009, 09:08 PM
Doesn't Chelsea Players Do that also?
Names anyone? somemore some in the team open hand wide wide when defending cos he is national team captain ...seldom or i think neber get pk,yellow ,red...when ball hit his hand...
also u also saying chelsea players all Excellent players? Excellent Players got Scold Vulgar words in front of camera?
Ask Pele does he do that?
SpikyOyster
28-05-2009, 09:10 PM
In the champion league final game, Ronaldo is not Man U's problem for not winning. The problem lies elsewhere.
giggsy86
28-05-2009, 09:40 PM
In the champion league final game, Ronaldo is not Man U's problem for not winning. The problem lies elsewhere.
Well said. The problem were his team-mates and tactics.
xavier4
28-05-2009, 11:08 PM
imho.. no
he scored in the 2-2 at the emirates..
last sesaon champs league final..
and many others more.. even when the game might be against them and cr7
its just a game of low-performance.. dun think its fair to judge him based on this one game of low form so far.. lets see how next season goes before anything else can be said
Asakura
28-05-2009, 11:12 PM
We're talking about Ronaldo's performance. Stop bringing other unrelated issues into the discussion. Stick to the topic.
agree.
croc, u need to learn where your objective of the discussion is.
Asakura
28-05-2009, 11:15 PM
imho.. no
he scored in the 2-2 at the emirates..
last sesaon champs league final..
and many others more.. even when the game might be against them and cr7
its just a game of low-performance.. dun think its fair to judge him based on this one game of low form so far.. lets see how next season goes before anything else can be said
everyone has their ups and downs.
noone can perform every match.
but because he's a United player, and he's CR7, that's why the attention.:s13:
IMO, he has the ability to change a game, but he probably doesn't have the consistency.
only the best team wins football's biggest prize. and barca were the best team. so no arguments.
Kiwi8
28-05-2009, 11:33 PM
I think I need to redefine the meaning of consistency so that more of the debate can be more relevant.
Of course it is my opinion, but roughly I think consistency in big matches is around 8 to 9 good performances out of 10 big matches, while inconsistency is around 6 to 7 or less.
Jian19
28-05-2009, 11:47 PM
CR7 do perform in big matches,but when the stakes is the highest...he cant deliever...he seem to underperform in the most critical matches.
ytd is notch ronaldo fault
he might not shine but at his average best
the whole team notch goots enuff :o
Deunamist
29-05-2009, 12:02 AM
The guy already won all there's for a club player. Probably need a new challenge.
Time to quit football and start playing tennis perhaps?
humanc0w
29-05-2009, 01:44 AM
That also facts...
The fact is you just prove that you can act a retard or wild dog making wild assumptions just by actin like that when yr Fav team got beaten soundly in CL final.
I hate to see wat happen if you are put in Drogba's shoes.
IN FACT, Man Utd players Esp their star: CR7 had this to say.
"We have to give credit to Barcelona, but they were a bit lucky to be here because Chelsea did not deserve to lose and no-one has mentioned that.
"I have to congratulate Barcelona, they were better, but football is just like this: only the winners get talked about."
http://soccernet.espn.go.com/news/story?id=650373&sec=uefachampionsleague&cc=4716
croc1977
29-05-2009, 10:04 AM
u guys blame cr7 for just 1 game. he did in away leg in porto .a team he lead and score a screamer.in semi 2nd leg he score also.so those matches r not big big match? blame on 1 person? why not just say a better team win? even tot sometimes better team does win the team if opposition just take 1 shot n win.
I think blaming cr7 just 1 match is wrong
SpikyOyster
29-05-2009, 11:01 AM
I think I need to redefine the meaning of consistency so that more of the debate can be more relevant.
Of course it is my opinion, but roughly I think consistency in big matches is around 8 to 9 good performances out of 10 big matches, while inconsistency is around 6 to 7 or less.
I think your definition of consistency is too high. I think a good performance of 7 out of every 10 games is consistent. Good as in it makes an impact to the game.
Anything less than 5 good games out of 10 is inconsistent.
Kennedy
29-05-2009, 11:12 AM
I will have Ronaldo in my team ahead of any other AMC or Wingers in the world right now.
don't think Messi would get u as many goals over the course of the season. They play almost the same position.
_dXter
29-05-2009, 11:22 AM
Thought Messi scored 33 goals this season past??? Not too shabby.
Jian19
29-05-2009, 11:22 AM
messi this season got 38 goals..
i'll take both in my team :s22: :o
SpikyOyster
29-05-2009, 11:29 AM
I will have Ronaldo in my team ahead of any other AMC or Wingers in the world right now.
don't think Messi would get u as many goals over the course of the season. They play almost the same position.
Ronaldo is good but I like Messi as I think he is a better team player. He create opportunities as well as score goals for the team. The only area I think Messi could improve on is defence but it is not a priority for the moment.
Deunamist
29-05-2009, 12:52 PM
on a serious note, i was actually beginning to respect him for his performance in the CL final, prior to the second goal.
after the second goal, he just gave up and began his ****y behaviour and this is what threw me back to square one.
vasilli07
29-05-2009, 12:57 PM
23 goals in 31 league matches and 38 in all competitions(51 matches), not many goals? :eek::s8: He also provided 18 assists. In his short career, he has a ratio of a goal every 2 games, that's already like a striker goal rate.
I would like to see how many assists C.Ron had last season...is he only the scorer or creator/scorer?
Jian19
29-05-2009, 01:35 PM
i think ronaldo last season 5 assists nia
the 06/07 got 20 i think :o
oohman
29-05-2009, 02:08 PM
I think the TS talk cock lah... Ronaldo has made numerous contributions in the big games.. Remember the long range shots against Porto and Arsenal... Arent they big games....
Too numerous to state them all lah.....
Carnage
29-05-2009, 03:01 PM
Ronaldo scored against Liverpool at home as well in 07/08.
So it's not true he can't perform in big games. No player can perform well in every big game. Even Kaka, 2007 World Footballer of the Year has his off days as well.
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.