View Full Version : Flag Day: Mission fail?
The_Davis
23-06-2008, 08:09 PM
Do you guys think that nowadays, flag day conducted by schools are just for the sake of doing it? going through motion, look charitable and meet "minimum quota"?
From the other thread, people change coins and "donate" themselves, others dun bother and duan one corner, go queue for donuts instead..
Is there a real objective in flag day, or is it just something gone wrong?
Ferolare
23-06-2008, 08:11 PM
my sec sch used to auto volun me for flag day but i ish play truant that time wor :o
XusioN
23-06-2008, 08:13 PM
TS, I agree with you strongly.
AnTzX_
23-06-2008, 08:15 PM
actualli they shldnt make tis compulsary... like tat ppl sure sian 1/2 spendin sat mornin doin tis kinda thing... :(
b0neclinkz
23-06-2008, 08:16 PM
last time poly all freshman need do flagday. den clock 5hours of CIP for a module.
i pon that i go IMH and library do volunteer work and clock 10hours.
den i heard my classmates who go ownself put 5dollar, den go arcade play.
till time to go back.
The_Davis
23-06-2008, 08:17 PM
actualli they shldnt make tis compulsary... like tat ppl sure sian 1/2 spendin sat mornin doin tis kinda thing... :(
ya.. and they just hang around either:
1. being nuisance (while in uniform)/or being easily identifiable from which institution
2. doing nothing.. just standing around
3. half f*** attitude towards the entire thing, collecting minimal and no effort at all.
Of course, I'm not saying that ALL are like this, but it's becoming irritating to see flag days end up with such situation/cases
The_Davis
23-06-2008, 08:18 PM
last time poly all freshman need do flagday. den clock 5hours of CIP for a module.
i pon that i go IMH and library do volunteer work and clock 10hours.
den i heard my classmates who go ownself put 5dollar, den go arcade play.
till time to go back.
sometimes the go to library do CIP also can tuan one corner.. but lesser lah.. at least that one they don't throw school face
omnisilent
23-06-2008, 08:20 PM
NUS oso got flag day wor...
AnTzX_
23-06-2008, 08:23 PM
ya.. and they just hang around either:
1. being nuisance (while in uniform)/or being easily identifiable from which institution
2. doing nothing.. just standing around
3. half f*** attitude towards the entire thing, collecting minimal and no effort at all.
Of course, I'm not saying that ALL are like this, but it's becoming irritating to see flag days end up with such situation/cases
yah lah... i ish got 1 time c ppl ghost buy donuts wif the cans... :s22:
Karmanok
ish sth gone wrong.. ppl dun rike to donate riaos.. after the *ahem* incident... sometimes oso depends on the students attitude.. rike ai mai ai mai. who see riaos oso sian where will donate...
Ev0d3vil
Last time i do flag day at orchard road. teacher ask me station at this place, but no one donate, so i zhao to somewhere else ask people donate. Then kenna scolded for leaving my post=/ I have no interest in flag day anymore. And somemore its NKF.
The_Davis
NUS oso got flag day wor...
people pon tang that day just because got flag day.. go out flag day, only put in 1-2 hours max?? I think only the hall will be serious coz they got competition.. some OGL even encourage the freshman to skip the entire thing and turn in empty cans :s22:
suakukia
23-06-2008, 08:24 PM
should make it optional mah...
but my school never organize before :D
omnisilent
23-06-2008, 08:25 PM
so good... not for my course wor...
we full strength except for those going rag..
The_Davis
23-06-2008, 08:26 PM
so good... not for my course wor...
we full strength except for those going rag..
??? don't get you
omnisilent
23-06-2008, 08:27 PM
There are lots of nasty Singaporeans.. But there are also alot of very nice Singaporeans around.
The nicest are really those older ones de.. They will really donate de...
Last time I do flag day, got a few aunties double back to donate, cuz they see me stand in the sun, very kelian.
the worst are the dressed up very nicely de... Like very highly educated, earn much better, pui..
omnisilent
23-06-2008, 08:29 PM
??? don't get you
i mean for my course, all the freshies went for flag day, except for those involved in Rag performance.
The_Davis
23-06-2008, 08:29 PM
i mean for my course, all the freshies went for flag day, except for those involved in Rag performance.
oh hehe, ya, flag day if you do seriously will have people donate one~~ but usually it's no effort put in then no money~
XusioN
23-06-2008, 08:30 PM
Donate for what? In the end I don't even know where is the money going.
Are they truly "corrupt-free" after recent cases?
victorian07
23-06-2008, 08:31 PM
seriously, doing flag day is quite tiring if you really put 100% to it.
omnisilent
23-06-2008, 08:32 PM
do u think the world is all black and white as it seems?
There are lots of things we dunno...
The_Davis
Donate for what? In the end I don't even know where is the money going.
Are they truly "corrupt-free" after recent cases?
ya lor.. some students don't even know where or why got flag day.. only know donate for some org/school... don't even know/or wasn't brief on the purpose of the flag day :s22:
Cro-Magnon
Chiu all got receive those donation cards??? Donation cards are the most scary kind of charity work... :s13:
Sometimes even got minimum amount to collect one wor... :s13:
The_Davis
seriously, doing flag day is quite tiring if you really put 100% to it.
of course, not saying cannot have break lah~~ :)
XusioN
23-06-2008, 08:34 PM
I would suggest they change it to voluntary for students.
The_Davis
23-06-2008, 08:36 PM
yeah man... i really wonder why there is a need to force students to do something they are not interested in (of course in this context, not talking about other things).
omnisilent
23-06-2008, 08:38 PM
and it's seriously getting irritating for some.
every sat when u go out, cfm will meet them de..
Cro-Magnon
23-06-2008, 08:43 PM
Then there will be no flag day liao...
The_Davis
23-06-2008, 09:01 PM
Then there will be no flag day liao...
if that's the case, then so be it? seriously if want to have flag day must educate the participants on the purpose, how the money will be used, and what to do/what not to do.. and enforce it! without enforcement, students will only see it as something that is not serious..
durkheimian
23-06-2008, 09:05 PM
not only in school leh..
army half marathon dunno-what-donation also like that..
NSF one week book out 2 days nia expect them to go and solicit for money..
end up also everybody chut the money themselves.. pui
saysuzu
23-06-2008, 09:06 PM
i didn't donate ever since the NKF sh!t
The_Davis
23-06-2008, 09:07 PM
not only in school leh..
army half marathon dunno-what-donation also like that..
NSF one week book out 2 days nia expect them to go and solicit for money..
end up also everybody chut the money themselves.. pui
last time stupid stupid cough up with the minimal amount.. now.... :mad: seeing how SAF cannot even come up with $500 for the pre-screening of pre-enlistees
Cro-Magnon
23-06-2008, 09:08 PM
if that's the case, then so be it? seriously if want to have flag day must educate the participants on the purpose, how the money will be used, and what to do/what not to do.. and enforce it! without enforcement, students will only see it as something that is not serious..
I think it is not about the students, never. It is about the school's contribution to the society, the institutional's answer to the community. There appears some kind of numerical goals, e.g. number of students participated, amount of money collected, to be achieved by the school. That may explain for the compulsory attendance, and sometimes, minimum amount of money to collect.
Zeroplus1
23-06-2008, 09:09 PM
i think they shud just make the student go pcik up rubbish in the neighbourhood since some rubbish are contributed by them....
They shld juz send all the chiobus out every Saturday to do collection with tin can.
All Boys can go pick rubbish in the neighbourhood. All Ah Puis go pick litter at beach.
End of story.
The_Davis
23-06-2008, 09:12 PM
I think it is not about the students, never. It is about the school's contribution to the society, the institutional's answer to the community. There appears some kind of numerical goals, e.g. number of students participated, amount of money collected, to be achieved by the school. That may explain for the compulsory attendance, and sometimes, minimum amount of money to collect.
seriously i think this kind of things cannot be measured numerically... if people want to donate they will donate. If people want to put in effort they will, but if people don't want to donate, don't want to put in effort, how to control??
Really, doing things just for show to the higher ups is stupid and waste of resources.. doesn't inculcate good values into the students anyway
So troublesome bro.
No nit Wall of Text damage, juz say, "Statistics" gao dim
The_Davis
23-06-2008, 09:13 PM
i think they shud just make the student go pcik up rubbish in the neighbourhood since some rubbish are contributed by them....
i did that last time~~ clear rubbish around school and go east coast pick rubbish :crazy:
The_Davis
23-06-2008, 09:13 PM
They shld juz send all the chiobus out every Saturday to do collection with tin can.
All Boys can go pick rubbish in the neighbourhood. All Ah Puis go pick litter at beach.
End of story.
lol lidat the charity shows you call when the girls perform?
xaiver0510
23-06-2008, 09:17 PM
for secondary schs, it is to clock CIP hours nia.
seriously, if this is to install some charity spirits, it iwll nvr work.
for NUS, it is actually for Flag and Rag day. the faculties / halls will get pts for how much they got in donations which wil contribute for the rag competition.
iirc, the various faculty clubs will get a budget from NUSSU which is partially based on how much donations are received for each faculty on flag day. Note that all donations still go to charity. the funds for each faculty club still comes from NUSSU.
correct me if i am wrong
durkheimian
23-06-2008, 09:18 PM
End of story.
:s13: :s13: :s13: :s13:
Rathcycle
23-06-2008, 09:20 PM
last time back in sec sch days
flag day, i take full day wan.. 9 hours.
ish go collect can in the moaning.
then go home sleep.
then around evening take $5 change into coins put inside the can then give back.:s13::s13:
The_Davis
23-06-2008, 09:21 PM
for secondary schs, it is to clock CIP hours nia.
seriously, if this is to install some charity spirits, it iwll nvr work.
for NUS, it is actually for Flag and Rag day. the faculties / halls will get pts for how much they got in donations which wil contribute for the rag competition.
iirc, the various faculty clubs will get a budget from NUSSU which is partially based on how much donations are received for each faculty on flag day. Note that all donations still go to charity. the funds for each faculty club still comes from NUSSU.
correct me if i am wrong
i know the NUS flag day goes towards sponsoring the bursaries/scholarships/etc for students and some other beneficiaries.
IMO CIP for secondary (JC/ITE have?) should be made into part of CME curriculum, not a figure based purely on hours done.
The_Davis
23-06-2008, 09:22 PM
last time back in sec sch days
flag day, i take full day wan.. 9 hours.
ish go collect can in the moaning.
then go home sleep.
then around evening take $5 change into coins put inside the can then give back.:s13::s13:
lol :s13: power~~ go back the teacher never say anything? No one do spot check?
GamerZ
23-06-2008, 09:23 PM
when i was a freshman in nus 2 years ago, I pon flag day. lol Waste of my time. Anyway, I always make donations to the temple whenever I am there.
The_Davis
23-06-2008, 09:24 PM
when i was a freshman in nus 2 years ago, I pon flag day. lol Waste of my time. Anyway, I always make donations to the temple whenever I am there.
computing 0 week sux anyway:P
GamerZ
23-06-2008, 09:25 PM
computing 0 week sux anyway:Pyea, but i went because to know more friends, easier when grouping to do project in year 1.
The_Davis
23-06-2008, 09:27 PM
yea, but i went because to know more friends, easier when grouping to do project in year 1.
erm maybe.. but then again depends? hehe :)
Zeroplus1
23-06-2008, 09:31 PM
i did that last time~~ clear rubbish around school and go east coast pick rubbish :crazy:
i think it's more beneficial to the society than getting pple to donate $$
PowerTrip
23-06-2008, 09:33 PM
End of story.
:s13::s13::s13::s13::s13:
The_Davis
23-06-2008, 09:33 PM
i think it's more beneficial to the society than getting pple to donate $$
yeah, i agree so~~
Cro-Magnon
23-06-2008, 09:39 PM
But then hor, I never kanna a flag day, not once during sec, jc or uni... dunno how i siamz one... :s13:
The_Davis
23-06-2008, 09:45 PM
hmm.. depends ba.
PiKa buttie, depends on what?
the objective, the attitude, the urgency.. many many factors..
as this thread is meant for flag days by school, im not too sure wor~
but i can say, for others mostly wont be the case ba~
hope_n_pray
23-06-2008, 10:31 PM
flag day isn't exactly the best way to get donations imo..
Ferolare
23-06-2008, 10:33 PM
flag day isn't exactly the best way to get donations imo..
and it's a waste of the students' weekend.
each and every small contributions of even loose change counts....
The_Davis
23-06-2008, 10:37 PM
each and every small contributions of even loose change counts....
but if money don't end up with beneficiaries :s22:
or students end up being the one donating (out of own pocket)... what's the point?
tamashi1987
23-06-2008, 10:38 PM
flag day ish losing ish meaning:s13:
but if money don't end up with beneficiaries :s22:
or students end up being the one donating (out of own pocket)... what's the point?
point one, i no comments.
point two, for this, as u and some stated in the thread, it has lost the meaning on the student's part.
im sure, the are many flag days that are worthwhile and contributing to those in need.
turtle tamer
23-06-2008, 10:51 PM
i can only say i always give my best effort when i selling flags.. :)
The_Davis
23-06-2008, 11:19 PM
point one, i no comments.
point two, for this, as u and some stated in the thread, it has lost the meaning on the student's part.
im sure, the are many flag days that are worthwhile and contributing to those in need.
kk, but i'm refering specifically to schools :)
turtle tamer
23-06-2008, 11:25 PM
even not schools also are just kind-hearted volunteers, won't received enough info and training one as logistically too huge.
that time i selling flag for half-way house, then got someone ask: why should i donate to druggies? will they take drugs again? it's none of my business etc...
then sell flag for divorce/single-family thingy (can't remember) also get sacarstic remarks
the most often asked qn is how is the money going to help xxx? [so actually there should be briefing about this to flag sellers, at least i'll do it if i were the organiser] can you ensure tat etc... but my skin ish thick when doing such things, so in the end those that talk with my at length will donate. :)
The_Davis
23-06-2008, 11:59 PM
even not schools also are just kind-hearted volunteers, won't received enough info and training one as logistically too huge.
that time i selling flag for half-way house, then got someone ask: why should i donate to druggies? will they take drugs again? it's none of my business etc...
then sell flag for divorce/single-family thingy (can't remember) also get sacarstic remarks
the most often asked qn is how is the money going to help xxx? [so actually there should be briefing about this to flag sellers, at least i'll do it if i were the organiser] can you ensure tat etc... but my skin ish thick when doing such things, so in the end those that talk with my at length will donate. :)
most probably now, people won't even bother to listen... either they give you money to shoo you away, or just walk away without even acknowledging you
turtle tamer
24-06-2008, 12:03 AM
most probably now, people won't even bother to listen... either they give you money to shoo you away, or just walk away without even acknowledging you
believe, now still really got ppl who ask one.. :s22:
i lub u dip dip! :love:
edit: wah, EDMW -> CAL. :s22:
turtle tamer
24-06-2008, 01:08 AM
i lub u dip dip! :love:
edit: wah, EDMW -> CAL. :s22:heng mee ish noses when to spreak rike dis and when to speak like this. :o
_bEar_
24-06-2008, 05:31 AM
lol... i just had this image of ch8 drama where last time flag days the students from chinese sch go abt selling flags for war against japan
_bEar_
24-06-2008, 05:58 AM
i know the NUS flag day goes towards sponsoring the bursaries/scholarships/etc for students and some other beneficiaries.
IMO CIP for secondary (JC/ITE have?) should be made into part of CME curriculum, not a figure based purely on hours done.
last time we complete CIP auto 60/60 for CME leh. the final exam 40 marks only
The_Davis
24-06-2009, 03:41 PM
sorry for the dig, but nowadays notice a lot less people doing flag day.... have they changed the avenue of raising funds? :s11:
lucifer
24-06-2009, 03:57 PM
nowadays they pay people to wear nice nice and ask for long term donations le
reimina
24-06-2009, 04:31 PM
sorry for the dig, but nowadays notice a lot less people doing flag day.... have they changed the avenue of raising funds? :s11:
You haven't being paying attention, aren't you? =:p
lobo76
24-06-2009, 04:39 PM
how come every Saturday that I go out (which is seldom), ALWAYS kena one flag day or another?
zeroex
24-06-2009, 04:42 PM
Chiu all got receive those donation cards??? Donation cards are the most scary kind of charity work... :s13:
Sometimes even got minimum amount to collect one wor... :s13:
Got minimum sum one is notch donation card liao, is Extortion card....
SAF every year also got Army halfmarathon extortion card one, dunno the money go where siah.
Last time primary/sec sch everytime ask us to go flag day, the first time i went i very garang, mrt station la, hawker center la, get until the bag full full, the 2nd and subsequent time i put $2 worth of coin inside and go play arcade liao. :s22:
The_Davis
24-06-2009, 05:18 PM
nowadays they pay people to wear nice nice and ask for long term donations le
oh no wonder....
anyway, not that i blind lah... maybe i never frequent the areas they hang out :P
WindowToThePast
24-06-2009, 09:06 PM
yup, some really smile and go all the way standing there for hours
but i am more worried about the minimum quota that some flag days set, which result in students just putting in 5 or 10 bucks and playing for the rest of the day.
why the quota?
lucifer
24-06-2009, 11:48 PM
Got minimum sum one is notch donation card liao, is Extortion card....
SAF every year also got Army halfmarathon extortion card one, dunno the money go where siah.
Last time primary/sec sch everytime ask us to go flag day, the first time i went i very garang, mrt station la, hawker center la, get until the bag full full, the 2nd and subsequent time i put $2 worth of coin inside and go play arcade liao. :s22:
LOL two weeks back, the PTIs at Maju were asking for our help in filling those donations as well.
But since they are nice to us, I donated a bit for the boys there.
The_Davis
25-06-2009, 10:34 AM
LOL two weeks back, the PTIs at Maju were asking for our help in filling those donations as well.
But since they are nice to us, I donated a bit for the boys there.
actually i think PTIs conducting RT should be able to get $12/$20 easily hehe. More and more people doing RT
_bEar_
29-06-2009, 12:17 AM
shld get all SAF units to go out in uniforms and ask for donation, watever they get will be their unit fund,then everybody will cut down on wastage
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.