PDA

View Full Version : The Official HDD Benchmark Thread

gameboyz
09-07-2008, 02:32 PM
Lai lai. Benchmark your hdd and post the screenshot here. A great way for ppl to compare different hdds before buying.

Download HD Tune 2.55 here (http://www.hdtune.com/hdtune_255.exe).

For a fair comparison please go to options and set (under benchmark tab):

Test Speed/Accuracy: Set it max towards Accurate
Block Size: 64 KB (should be default)

Latest benchmark:
http://i33.tinypic.com/rtn868.png

How to improve HDD performance:
Link 1 (http://www.pcguide.com/opt/opt/hdd-c.html)
Link 2 (http://www.informit.com/articles/article.aspx?p=1160391&seqNum=3)
Link 3 (http://windowshelp.microsoft.com/Windows/en-US/Help/bc7907e3-ee72-4771-bdac-54fdf74eeef21033.mspx)

Last updated: 10/7/08

jtchoy
09-07-2008, 02:56 PM
Around the same as my scores bah...

Your 12ms access time... AM off?

gameboyz
09-07-2008, 02:59 PM
wads that? :s11:

noob here pls dont scold :sad:

jtchoy
09-07-2008, 03:06 PM
wads that? :s11:

noob here pls dont scold :sad:
NOOB!!! :s13:

Wah, min speed drop to 1.5mb/s... Big plunge there...

gameboyz
09-07-2008, 03:08 PM
NOOB!!! :s13:

Wah, min speed drop to 1.5mb/s... Big plunge there...
ya lor... i run 2nd time then much better... lowest is 40+ mb/s

gameboyz
09-07-2008, 03:13 PM
Around the same as my scores bah...

Your 12ms access time... AM off?
can't find AM leh... simi lai de? :(

yukita
09-07-2008, 03:19 PM
can't find AM leh... simi lai de? :(
AM ? acoustic management

and i reserve 1 slot here to update

I share u my laptop one, both 7200rpm 2.5". model number look at the picture...
Below is Hitachi 7k200 120GB SATA
http://i189.photobucket.com/albums/z135/yukitayuki/Clip-2.jpg
Below is Seagate Momentus 7200.2 100GB
http://i189.photobucket.com/albums/z135/yukitayuki/Clip_4.jpg
Below is Seagate 7200.10 500GB IDE
http://i189.photobucket.com/albums/z135/yukitayuki/HDTune_Benchmark_ST3500830A.png
Below is Hitachi HDS721680PLA300 80GB SATA
http://i189.photobucket.com/albums/z135/yukitayuki/HDTune_Benchmark_.png

gameboyz
09-07-2008, 03:25 PM
AM ? acoustic management :)

and i reserve 1 slot here to update :)
oh ok.

automatic acoustic management is ON! :D good or nots ah? :)

bencheongcm
09-07-2008, 03:26 PM
anybody got SCSI 320 to test see how fast it run... or maybe SSD RAID 0 :D

gameboyz
09-07-2008, 03:28 PM
anybody got SCSI 320 to test see how fast it run... or maybe SSD RAID 0 :D
SSD RAID 0 IS :eek::D

stomper
09-07-2008, 03:28 PM
reserved...

gameboyz
09-07-2008, 03:31 PM
reserved...
wah raptor raid0... i tio pwned dips dips liao lah :D

saysuzu
09-07-2008, 03:33 PM
reserved...

coloumbiaGames
09-07-2008, 03:38 PM
reserved :D

gameboyz
09-07-2008, 03:51 PM
so many reserved :s13:

coloumbiaGames
09-07-2008, 04:09 PM
reserved :D

coming up now
http://i224.photobucket.com/albums/dd21/WoshiiExplorer/123333.jpg:D
SEAGATE HDD :)

gameboyz
09-07-2008, 04:40 PM
coming up now
http://i224.photobucket.com/albums/dd21/WoshiiExplorer/123333.jpg:D
um if dont mind can state ur hdd in the same post as the screenshot? easier to compare :D

ragnarok95
09-07-2008, 04:48 PM
This is a solid thread! :D

BHills
09-07-2008, 04:50 PM
um if dont mind can state ur hdd in the same post as the screenshot? easier to compare :D

His HDD model number ish already in the picture lah.

Seagate 80GB ..........

gameboyz
thank u! :D:s34:

gameboyz
His HDD model number ish already in the picture lah.

Seagate 80GB ..........
O_O

i cant tell brand from the model number paiseh :s34:

gameboyz
09-07-2008, 04:52 PM
Um u guys followed the red text right? :D no use comparing benchmarks when they ain't in the same settings :D

alpha1ma
09-07-2008, 04:53 PM
some benchies for F1 and Velociraptor..

Samsung Spinpoint F1 1TB

http://i223.photobucket.com/albums/dd111/alpha1ma/SamsungF1HDtach.jpg
http://i223.photobucket.com/albums/dd111/alpha1ma/SamsungF1HDtune.jpg

Western Digital VelociRaptor 300GB

http://i223.photobucket.com/albums/dd111/alpha1ma/VelociHDtach.jpg
http://i223.photobucket.com/albums/dd111/alpha1ma/VelociHDtune.jpg

gameboyz
09-07-2008, 04:55 PM
wow ur velociraptor is... :eek:

:D:D SUI!

noobiee
09-07-2008, 04:57 PM
WD 640gb
made in malaysia

http://i190.photobucket.com/albums/z139/noobieee/HDTune_Benchmark_WDC_WD6400AAKS-00A.png

gameboyz
09-07-2008, 04:58 PM
WD 640gb
made in malaysia

http://i190.photobucket.com/albums/z139/noobieee/HDTune_Benchmark_WDC_WD6400AAKS-00A.png
ot.. climb hill one or hoot one? :D

BHills
09-07-2008, 05:00 PM
As I've kept telling people that the HDD interface isn't important as far as transfer bottleneck is concerned............ SATA I or II or IDE.

The limitation is in the mechanical parts of the HDD.

Most HDDs have actual transfer rates well below the ATA 133 MB/s rate.

SATA I interface is 1.5GB/s which is well in excess of the transfer rate HDDs (not to mention the much slower optical drives) are capable of.

The main advantage of the SATA interface over ATA is that the cables are much thinner and therefore more manageable and they allow more ventilation of air in the casing.

Nicbots
09-07-2008, 05:02 PM
Test Speed/Accuracy: Max
Block Size: 64 KB
WD640AAKS

http://i10.photobucket.com/albums/a109/Paranoidprawn/640.jpg

WD Raptor 74gb 16mb

http://i10.photobucket.com/albums/a109/Paranoidprawn/Raptor.jpg

jtchoy
09-07-2008, 05:04 PM
One of the few useful threads gameboyz started... :s13:

gameboyz
09-07-2008, 05:05 PM
WD640AAKS

http://i10.photobucket.com/albums/a109/Paranoidprawn/640.jpg

WD Raptor 74gb 16mb

http://i10.photobucket.com/albums/a109/Paranoidprawn/Raptor.jpg
hmm samd hdd but urs scored better by a lil' bit :D

gameboyz
09-07-2008, 05:05 PM
One of the few useful threads gameboyz started... :s13:

AHEM! :s13:

alpha1ma
09-07-2008, 05:08 PM
As I've kept telling people that the HDD interface isn't important as far as transfer bottleneck is concerned............ SATA I or II or IDE.

SATA I interface is 1.5GB/s which is well in excess of the transfer rate HDDs (not to mention the much slower optical drives) are capable of.

The main advantage of the SATA interface over ATA is that the cables are much thinner and therefore more manageable and they allow more ventilation of air in the casing.

first..its gigabits per second..not gigabyte..

Nicbots
09-07-2008, 05:09 PM
hmm samd hdd but urs scored better by a lil' bit :D

How come your minimum so low?o.o

gameboyz
09-07-2008, 05:10 PM
How come your minimum so low?o.o
dunno... unlucky that it hit a "slow patch" maybe? :D

sjj1991
09-07-2008, 05:52 PM
this moi 500gb one...
http://i37.tinypic.com/2db1pfp.jpg

sjj1991
09-07-2008, 05:55 PM
this one 160gb one
http://i34.tinypic.com/spd5at.jpg

sjj1991
09-07-2008, 05:58 PM
wah this one access time pwn u all :D

http://i33.tinypic.com/2uszmld.jpg

silverstone
09-07-2008, 06:09 PM
erm guys, i've got a question...

besides da western digital velociraptor 300GB, does sls sell other lower capacity 1 ?

gameboyz
this one 160gb one
http://i34.tinypic.com/spd5at.jpg
really pcw sia :s13:

ur 3 posts can all put into 1... but u choose to seperate them :s22:

sjj1991
really pcw sia :s13:

ur 3 posts can all put into 1... but u choose to seperate them :s22:
do 1 then post ma... lidat then u all can see the results earlier

gameboyz
09-07-2008, 06:10 PM
erm guys, i've got a question...

besides da western digital velociraptor 300GB, does sls sell other lower capacity 1 ?
um... hdd coems in 80gb min iirc... thats 7.2k rpm...

or raptor 74gb 10000 rpm also very popular :D

gameboyz
09-07-2008, 06:10 PM
do 1 then post ma... lidat then u all can see the results earlier
lol donno u real or fake :s13:

silverstone
09-07-2008, 06:14 PM
um... hdd coems in 80gb min iirc... thats 7.2k rpm...

or raptor 74gb 10000 rpm also very popular :D

huh:s11:

i mean da western digital velociraptor got other capacity other than 300GB ?

noobiee
09-07-2008, 06:27 PM

Nope .

gameboyz

oh then no (according to wd website)..

i tot u means all hdd in general :D

noobiee
Older version of WD 320AAKS

http://i190.photobucket.com/albums/z139/noobieee/HDTune_Benchmark_WDC_WD3200AAKS-00Y.png

sjj1991
09-07-2008, 06:47 PM
Older version of WD 320AAKS

http://i190.photobucket.com/albums/z139/noobieee/HDTune_Benchmark_WDC_WD3200AAKS-00Y.png
lets say i have bo
as a b
someo
regist

gameboyz
09-07-2008, 07:10 PM
lets say i have bo
as a b
someo
regist
:s11:

SMLJ lai de?

silverstone
09-07-2008, 07:17 PM
Nope .

oh then no (according to wd website)..

i tot u means all hdd in general :D

i see... ok, thanks ;)

gameboyz
09-07-2008, 07:23 PM
those reserve at page 1 nvr update de :s13::(

Leaper_SG
09-07-2008, 07:34 PM
PC Spec (All stock):
Q6600 + MSI G33 (matx)
1GB Crucial Ballistix Ram PC-6400
Primary HDD was Raptor 150GB ADFD with Vista OS (Bloated)

Nvr format,install anything, juz plug in and tested it out

Quick Bench (8mb Zones) :
http://i196.photobucket.com/albums/aa279/Leaper_SG/HDD.jpg

Long Bench (32mb Zones) :
http://i196.photobucket.com/albums/aa279/Leaper_SG/HDD2.jpg

HD Tune :
http://i196.photobucket.com/albums/aa279/Leaper_SG/HDD3.jpg

shigure1982
09-07-2008, 07:34 PM
2x320GB Seagate 7200.10 Raid 0

http://i68.photobucket.com/albums/i9/SoifonKopi/640GB.jpg
http://i68.photobucket.com/albums/i9/SoifonKopi/640GBa.jpg

500GB Seagate 7200.10

http://i68.photobucket.com/albums/i9/SoifonKopi/500GB.jpg
http://i68.photobucket.com/albums/i9/SoifonKopi/500GBa.jpg

1TB Seagate 7200.11

http://i68.photobucket.com/albums/i9/SoifonKopi/1TB.jpg
http://i68.photobucket.com/albums/i9/SoifonKopi/1TBa.jpg

:)

gameboyz
09-07-2008, 07:54 PM
wah not bad

sjj1991
09-07-2008, 08:05 PM
wah not bad

u mean the wallpaper?? :s22:

ckling
09-07-2008, 08:14 PM
http://i50.photobucket.com/albums/f339/ckling83/hddbench.gif

my raid 0 seagate 7200.10 250gb sata2.
i think one wd640aaks also beat this liao...so shld i change?? :D

gameboyz
09-07-2008, 08:18 PM
u mean the wallpaper?? :s22:
both :D :love:

gameboyz
09-07-2008, 08:18 PM
http://i50.photobucket.com/albums/f339/ckling83/hddbench.gif

my raid 0 seagate 7200.10 250gb sata2.
i think one wd640aaks also beat this liao...so shld i change?? :D
ur budget can allow? :D

and if u dont find it laggy why change? unless u can feel lag or what lor :)

durandal70
10-07-2008, 02:20 AM
posted these in pa9797 thread liao:)
HDD Brand: Seagate
Model (Optional): 7200.10
Enterprise or Consumer Storage: Consumer
RAID 0/5 or Single: RAID 0
Capacity: 2X250
Cache: 16mb
SATA or SATA 2: SATA 2
RPM: 7200rpm

http://i16.photobucket.com/albums/b8/durandal70/raid0.jpg

http://i16.photobucket.com/albums/b8/durandal70/raid0A.jpg

HDD Brand: Western Digital
Model (Optional) 5000AAKS
RAID 0/5 or Single: Single
Capacity: 500GB

http://i16.photobucket.com/albums/b8/durandal70/single.jpg

http://i16.photobucket.com/albums/b8/durandal70/singleA.jpg

sp0rky
10-07-2008, 02:44 AM
i thought there was this thread last time lying aruond??

jtchoy
10-07-2008, 02:45 AM
Ya... Disappear somewhere liao...

sp0rky
10-07-2008, 03:33 AM

Also got advantage such as no need set jumper no need master and slave.

sp0rky
10-07-2008, 03:37 AM
MY hd tach

http://i17.photobucket.com/albums/b63/mervinpoh/untitled-6.jpg

my access time is slow..

sjj1991
10-07-2008, 08:29 AM

Ya... Disappear somewhere liao...
so this is a spoof threaD?? :s22:

yauchong
10-07-2008, 08:42 AM
yes... i think hwz cock up again... the old thread cannot find liao....

posted mine there.... :o

BHills
10-07-2008, 08:55 AM
posted these in pa9797 thread liao:)
HDD Brand: Seagate
Model (Optional): 7200.10
RAID 0/5 or Single: RAID 0
Capacity: 2X250

http://i16.photobucket.com/albums/b8/durandal70/raid0.jpg

http://i16.photobucket.com/albums/b8/durandal70/raid0A.jpg

HDD Brand: Western Digital
Model (Optional) 5000AAKS
RAID 0/5 or Single: Single
Capacity: 500GB

http://i16.photobucket.com/albums/b8/durandal70/single.jpg

http://i16.photobucket.com/albums/b8/durandal70/singleA.jpg

The first 2 above pictures above are crazy .............. look at the unbelievable burst rate.

Higher than the interface max. transfer rate. How is that possible even after taking into consideration of the RAID 0 arrangement?

techidiot
10-07-2008, 08:55 AM
http://img242.imageshack.us/img242/3742/seagategc7.jpg (http://imageshack.us)

nannan82
10-07-2008, 09:07 AM
mine access time alway 20ms and above.... sian....

tekman
10-07-2008, 11:41 AM
HDD: Seagate 7200.10 320GB AAK (Flashed to AAM Firmware due to some performance issue with AAK)

Reference link:
http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/showthread.php?t=177791&page=4

http://img55.imageshack.us/img55/729/clipboard01xe6.jpg

ragnarok95
10-07-2008, 11:45 AM
Using speedfan....

My WD 1TB greenpower is 34 degree now...POWER!

gameboyz
10-07-2008, 02:47 PM
i search for similar threads liao dont have ok!

gameboyz
10-07-2008, 02:47 PM
http://img242.imageshack.us/img242/3742/seagategc7.jpg (http://imageshack.us)
nvidia hdd? :eek:

paiseh... i really noob in hdd area =:p

bencheongcm
10-07-2008, 02:49 PM
nvidia hdd? :eek:

paiseh... i really noob in hdd area =:p

its nVidia onboard RAID controller ;)

bencheongcm
10-07-2008, 02:51 PM
The first 2 above pictures above are crazy .............. look at the unbelievable burst rate.

Higher than the interface max. transfer rate. How is that possible even after taking into consideration of the RAID 0 arrangement?

plz dun ever use burst speed to judge how fast the HDD is.... when burst speed occur, it would las only as fast the a blink of a eye. NOT CONSTANCE

I dunno why after so many years I am still saying this same thing over and over again...

gameboyz
10-07-2008, 03:00 PM
its nVidia onboard RAID controller ;)
ooh ok thanks! :D

gameboyz
10-07-2008, 03:00 PM
plz dun ever use burst speed to judge how fast the HDD is.... when burst speed occur, it would las only as fast the a blink of a eye. NOT CONSTANCE

I dunno why after so many years I am still saying this same thing over and over again...
the "burst" tells everything. burst as in just a short time... like a burst of speed... ;)

bencheongcm
10-07-2008, 03:05 PM
the "burst" tells everything. burst as in just a short time... like a burst of speed... ;)

same as the physics term... For those who learn them in sec sch or JC sure know that acceleration goes down once you get constance speed.

So moral of story is see transfer speed not burst speed. Last time my SCSI RAID 0 also can go 300mb/s does that mean super fast ? :s22:

gameboyz
10-07-2008, 05:33 PM
added HDD optimisations tips on #1. ;)

Sen
10-07-2008, 06:13 PM
Seagate 7200.11 640GB with 32MB buffer (Made in Thailand)

http://i30.tinypic.com/j0bmfs.png

http://i28.tinypic.com/2sb9448.png

gameboyz
10-07-2008, 06:21 PM
upz for more support :D

hope after reading this ppl can have a better idea on which hdd is good :)

yukita
10-07-2008, 06:28 PM
those reserve at page 1 nvr update de :s13::(
i got update de ....
check back... currently can find my laptop one... i believe this one good gauge if people want to get 7200prm disk for laptop ... quite fast imo....

FattyTW
10-07-2008, 06:37 PM
my 1 suck i dun rly know the model even when i buy, but details in pic le, i know mine totally suck

http://i230.photobucket.com/albums/ee65/FattyTW/hdd.png
http://i230.photobucket.com/albums/ee65/FattyTW/phdd.jpg
http://i230.photobucket.com/albums/ee65/FattyTW/fd.jpg

gameboyz
10-07-2008, 06:38 PM
my 1 suck i dun rly know the model even when i buy, but details in pic le, i know mine totally suck

http://i230.photobucket.com/albums/ee65/FattyTW/hdd.png
quite ok mah... similar to one on page 3/4? :D

FattyTW
10-07-2008, 06:42 PM
btw, got this hdd bench thread u know u are the crone of this thread lol.. haha, wait i go see now u go see ur blog ehcomment

FattyTW
10-07-2008, 06:43 PM
u see properly lor my max 5x mb nia lols..

gameboyz
10-07-2008, 07:02 PM
btw, got this hdd bench thread u know u are the crone of this thread lol.. haha, wait i go see now u go see ur blog ehcomment
i search for hdd benchmark hdtune etc... cant find any threads leh... :o

gameboyz
10-07-2008, 07:02 PM
u see properly lor my max 5x mb nia lols..
ooh nvr saw that =X

hmm still ok lah.. think positive :D

FattyTW
10-07-2008, 07:48 PM
its very jialat, iw an change pc liao

gameboyz
10-07-2008, 07:51 PM
http://i230.photobucket.com/albums/ee65/FattyTW/fd.jpg

so constant... :D but its a thumbdrive :s13:

FattyTW
10-07-2008, 08:04 PM
u know this thumbdrive actually very fast de, its a pro version, but i always throw on floor throw to sky pass to fren far far just throw n drop go in toilet bowl once, washing machine once survive so long.

jtchoy
10-07-2008, 08:12 PM
u know this thumbdrive actually very fast de, its a pro version, but i always throw on floor throw to sky pass to fren far far just throw n drop go in toilet bowl once, washing machine once survive so long.
You so fierce to your thumbdrive!!! :eek:

FattyTW
10-07-2008, 08:15 PM
lol, my phone also, i flip in the sky all these, just tat no go in water b4, haha, my fren dare me throw corner i oso throw, cos hor, phone old le, den this phone damm though, its the SE K750i@@ hehehe.

gameboyz
10-07-2008, 08:19 PM
You so fierce to your thumbdrive!!! :eek:
you so fierce to him! :eek:

FattyTW
10-07-2008, 08:20 PM
both of u, "Zzz". lol gameboyz add msn?

jtchoy
10-07-2008, 08:26 PM
you so fierce to him! :eek:

Where got... I fierce to you only... And sjj... :s27:

FattyTW
10-07-2008, 08:30 PM
lol choy why fierce to both of them xdd lol

gameboyz
10-07-2008, 08:32 PM
hannor why always bully me... :sad:

i nvr offend u right?!

Francis85
10-07-2008, 08:35 PM
Sianz gameboyz make me so gian to get WD 640GB now.....

FattyTW
10-07-2008, 08:39 PM
go hoot if u need a big space lor, i dun tink i can fill it up lor:s13::(

jtchoy
10-07-2008, 08:41 PM
lol choy why fierce to both of them xdd lol

hannor why always bully me... :sad:

i nvr offend u right?!
Both only know how to talk cock and WOB...

gameboyz
10-07-2008, 08:41 PM
:sad::sad::sad:

FattyTW
10-07-2008, 08:51 PM

diao? :s11:

BHills
10-07-2008, 09:12 PM

You're really noob and missed my point totally. :eek::D:s8:

The limit for burst rate is the max. of the interface through which the HDD is connected. If you connect by ATA 133, you can't get over 133 MB/s even if the data is read from the HDD cache (i.e. steady state kind of memory). Likewise, the limit for SATA I and II are 1.5 Gb/s (187 MB/s) and 3.0 Gb/s (375 MB/s) respectively. Even for SCSI Ultra 640, the max. is only 640 MB/s.

Basically, even when the data is from the HDD cache (i.e. the data already stored in the HDD memory without a need to seek and read the data from the platters), you cannot achieve a speed faster than the max. the interface is capable of carrying.

Modern HDDs have 4MB/8MB/16MB etc. for caches and so the burst rate reported is in most instances measured for data coming from their caches and not reading from the platters. As a result, Burst rates are usually a number not far below the max. speed of the interface used and a measure of the interface speed in practice for HDD with huge caches. (all the other burst rates numbers reported attest to this) .

Now, look at the burst rates reported : 1391 MB/s and 2378.6 MB/s.

So even if it's RAID 0, 2x SATA II would have a limit of 375 x2 = 750MB/s and even the fastest SCSI Ultra 640 interface would have 640 x 2 = 1280 MB/s for burst rates.

So my earlier point is that the 1391 MB/s and 2378.6 MB/s are crazy because it greatly surpasses the limit of the interfaces usually seen.

Got it now?

I dunno why after so many years I am still saying this same thing over and over again.. : many people don't think before they comment.

ragnarok95
10-07-2008, 09:18 PM

You're really noob and missed my point totally. :eek::D:s8:

The limit for burst rate is the max. of the interface through which the HDD is connected. If you connect by ATA 133, you can't get over 133 MB/s even if the data is read from the HDD cache (i.e. steady state kind of memory). Likewise, the limit for SATA I and II are 1.5 Gb/s (187 MB/s) and 3.0 Gb/s (375 MB/s) respectively. Even for SCSI Ultra 640, the max. is only 640 MB/s.

Basically, even when the data is from the HDD cache (i.e. the data already stored in the HDD memory without a need to seek and read the data from the platters), you cannot achieve a speed faster than the max. the interface is capable of carrying.

Modern HDDs have 4MB/8MB/16MB etc. for caches and so the burst rate reported is in most instances measured for data coming from their caches and not reading from the platters. As a result, Burst rates are usually a number not far below the max. speed of the interface used and a measure of the interface speed in practice for HDD with huge caches. (all the other burst rates numbers reported attest to this) .

Now, look at the burst rates reported : 1391 MB/s and 2378.6 MB/s.

So even if it's RAID 0, 2x SATA II would have a limit of 375 x2 = 750MB/s and even the fastest SCSI Ultra 640 interface would have 640 x 2 = 1280 MB/s for burst rates.

So my earlier point is that the 1391 MB/s and 2378.6 MB/s are crazy because it greatly surpasses the limit of the interfaces usually seen.

Got it now?

I dunno why after so many years I am still saying this same thing over and over again.. : many people don't think before they comment.

Ya ya ya...

One 2002 and one 2004...

sjj1991
10-07-2008, 09:27 PM
i got ur photo hor!! wan sexpose??

BHills
10-07-2008, 09:33 PM
Ya ya ya...

One 2002 and one 2004...

Hahahaha.

This is not my first HWZ account. :s8::D

BHills
10-07-2008, 09:34 PM

Motomodder, mai luan luan lai or others in edmw will expose your pic too.

ragnarok95
10-07-2008, 09:35 PM
Alert! ~

U ish a clone! ~ :mad: :mad:

BHills
10-07-2008, 09:37 PM
Alert! ~

U ish a clone! ~ :mad: :mad:

Benjamin was still a ginna (small kid) in 2002 when he first came to HWZ and asked many noob questions. hahahaha.

bencheongcm
10-07-2008, 10:00 PM
Benjamin was still a ginna (small kid) in 2002 when he first came to HWZ and asked many noob questions. hahahaha.

errrr..... :s11::s11:

noob question like ? is geforce 3 faster then gefore 2 ?

BHills
10-07-2008, 10:11 PM
errrr..... :s11::s11:

noob question like ? is geforce 3 faster then gefore 2 ?

Like : "What's ECC Rams?". :D:s13:

jtchoy
10-07-2008, 10:16 PM
Blackmail me ah?

Watch out for mata knocking on your door tonight...

A lot of people got your photo also hor...

bencheongcm
10-07-2008, 10:18 PM
Like : "What's ECC Rams?". :D:s13:

Lame I did not ask WHAT is ECC RAM ... I ask what does the ECC ram do ? dun believe go search back the thread and READ! I ask b4 disabling my ECC :s8:

bencheongcm
10-07-2008, 10:19 PM
Blackmail me ah?

Watch out for mata knocking on your door tonight...

A lot of people got your photo also hor...

jtboy you handsum or not :o

jtchoy
10-07-2008, 10:24 PM
:s34::s34:

bencheongcm
10-07-2008, 10:27 PM
:s34::s34:

Are you on my MSN or not lol I want see you handsum face

ER
10-07-2008, 10:34 PM

Greenboy got admirer. :eek:

jtchoy
10-07-2008, 10:35 PM
:s34:

My msn avatar got my face... Firefox lor... :s13:

ER
10-07-2008, 10:39 PM
:s34:

My msn avatar got my face... Firefox lor... :s13:

You mean this? :D

http://img142.imageshack.us/img142/1056/firefoxlogovu3.jpg

supergmail
10-07-2008, 10:40 PM
up for good thread

bencheongcm
10-07-2008, 10:44 PM
Greenboy got admirer. :eek:

hanor I hint hint say orealy he ma si dunno or act blur nia....

supergmail
10-07-2008, 10:46 PM
since we are on hard disk, does any know wht is the max number of io request that sata can get as compared to ultra ata

i understand that sata can handle only 70 - 100 number of IO requested but i am not able to find the data for ultra ata.

<< note that this question is only for expert. number of IO requested is not the 3.0G/s that is the interface speed.

alot of ppl mixed these two up.

jtchoy
10-07-2008, 11:24 PM
hanor I hint hint say orealy he ma si dunno or act blur nia....
Me ish straight hor! :mad:

ragnarok95
10-07-2008, 11:28 PM
Ben ish gay huh... :s34:

sjj1991
10-07-2008, 11:28 PM
ish welly handsum... :o wan see pic?? :o

jtchoy
10-07-2008, 11:37 PM
Ben ish gay huh... :s34:
Must be lor... :s34:

jtchoy
10-07-2008, 11:37 PM
ish welly handsum... :o wan see pic?? :o
SJJ you really watch out ah... Tonight you sleep better be careful... :s27:

ragnarok95
10-07-2008, 11:42 PM
jtchoy angry liao. :s34:

jtchoy
10-07-2008, 11:50 PM
jtchoy angry liao. :s34:
SJJ tonight cannot sleep liao... :mad:

ragnarok95
10-07-2008, 11:52 PM
U going to bang him????? :s34: :s34:

jtchoy
11-07-2008, 12:19 AM
U going to bang him????? :s34: :s34:
Me ish straight hor...

Ask ben to bang... :D

yauchong
11-07-2008, 02:36 AM
i think mods moved to wrong forum.... should be edmw.... not storage clinic.... :s39: :look:

zippy79
11-07-2008, 07:24 AM
http://img503.imageshack.us/img503/8638/hdtunebenchmarkst350032yg8.png

HD Tune Pro: ST3500320AS Benchmark

Read transfer rate
Transfer Rate Minimum : 41.4 MB/sec
Transfer Rate Maximum : 106.2 MB/sec
Transfer Rate Average : 77.4 MB/sec
Access Time : 13.9 ms
Burst Rate : 193.8 MB/sec
CPU Usage : 4.1%

ok? good? or bad?

gameboyz
11-07-2008, 12:54 PM
http://img503.imageshack.us/img503/8638/hdtunebenchmarkst350032yg8.png

HD Tune Pro: ST3500320AS Benchmark

Read transfer rate
Transfer Rate Minimum : 41.4 MB/sec
Transfer Rate Maximum : 106.2 MB/sec
Transfer Rate Average : 77.4 MB/sec
Access Time : 13.9 ms
Burst Rate : 193.8 MB/sec
CPU Usage : 4.1%

ok? good? or bad?
ok ok lah... but my access time wins by a little :D

SPEED
13-07-2008, 11:50 AM
My WD 640GB performance
Made in Thailand batch
End June 08 made.
Just bought yesterday from Bell.

http://i303.photobucket.com/albums/nn124/kelvint81/HDTune_Benchmark_WDC_WD6400AAKS-00A.png

takakotokiwa77
13-07-2008, 03:40 PM
just curious how much more gain performance is RAID 0 of a VelociRaptor like running this software or HDTach

Stripe Block/Size?

gameboyz
13-07-2008, 05:20 PM
just curious how much more gain performance is RAID 0 of a VelociRaptor like running this software or HDTach

Stripe Block/Size?
raid0 shd have quite a lot of improvement... :)

cowfart
20-07-2008, 05:57 PM
http://i33.tinypic.com/2f0fuc6.jpg

Ya, quite ****ty :(:(:(

hest_812
19-08-2008, 10:02 PM
How is this?

P5K PRO
3GB DDR-2 800
Q9450 @ 3.2GHZ
WD 640GB AAKS in RAID-0 Setup (128KB Stripe + Enabled Data Caching)

http://img301.imageshack.us/img301/2267/hdtachkt4.png

josesong
08-09-2008, 02:37 PM
Hi mine is good or bad or wat? haha noob here duno how to see=:p
thanks
http://resources.vr-zone.com/image_deposit/up/12208569966adecebc9a.jpg

silverstone
02-10-2008, 04:04 AM
this is my newly bought velociraptor's benchmark... :D

http://i264.photobucket.com/albums/ii168/Silverstone86/Misc%20Screenshot/velociraptor.jpg

lovegamegold003
20-11-2008, 11:13 AM
Shanghai municipal government will launch a 160-billion-yuan ($23.4 billion) economic stimulus package, adding to the 500-billion-yuan plan introduced last Friday to boost the slowing economy, officials have said.Related readings: Economist: Stimulus package better than buffer fund Economic stimulus package "right step at the right time" Macro Economy: China offers details on stimulus package China planner offers details on 4 trillion yuan stimulus package The plan, which Shanghai Mayor Han Zheng approved on Monday, will involve spending in the next two years on areas such as transportation, scientific innovation, industrial upgrading, environmental protection and projects related to the 2010 Shanghai World Expo. Last week, the city's urban construction and communications bureau announced plans to spend 500 billion yuan on a wide range of infrastructure projects, such as the improvement of affordable and low-rent housing, building projects in the suburbs, constructing an international shipping center and investment in urban transportation facilities.Also, the mayor announced a series of measures to expand financing for small and innovative companies."The measures, along with the billions of yuan being committed, are in response to the central government's latest moves to stimulate domestic demand," Sun Lijian, a professor of Fudan University, said.The 500-billion-yuan investment will accelerate reconstruction projects, which have seen costs spiking in the past few years, Chen Xian, a professor from Shanghai Jiao Tong University, said.Other long-awaited investment projects that have yet to launch due to shortages in capital funding may also be activated through the investment package, he said.Still, he said the criteria for the selection of projects will determine the real effects of the stimulus plan, he said."Given the current situation, the investments should be put into areas of development that need the money. Projects aiming to expand capacity should not be considered," Chen said.The city's growth rate fell 2.7 percentage points to 10.3 percent in the first half from the previous year.The next two months and the first half of 2009 will be "tough", and the primary economic task for the government will be to take every effective measure to sustain the city's smooth economic growth and improve the livelihood of residents, the mayor said.___________________________________from:2moons dil (http://www.fast-wowgold.com/2moons-dil.htm)Final fantasy xi gil (http://www.fast-wowgold.com)world of warcraft gold (http://www.fcsgame.com/)EVE ISK (http://www.just4gold.com/)Age of Conan Gold (http://www.fast-wowgold.com/age-of-conan-gold.htm)

daniel0ng
14-01-2009, 09:21 PM
http://i55.photobucket.com/albums/g139/daniel0ng/ATI%20SB600%20Benchmarking/WD640RAID1.png

Two WD 6400AASK in RAID 1 configuration.

Any idea why I can't see the HDD ID in the pull-down menu? It's using the onboard RAID on ATI SB600 chipset, maybe that's why it's "masked"?

s540201
22-01-2009, 05:55 PM
Anyone has any info on SSD?

PennzoiL
29-01-2009, 03:58 AM
http://img218.imageshack.us/img218/3208/hdtunebf5.jpg

http://img218.imageshack.us/img218/836/hdtachshorttest01wn0.jpg

zero7090
12-04-2009, 07:41 AM
mine

WD Blue Caviar

http://img24.imageshack.us/img24/7674/hdtunebenchmarkwdcwd640.png

WD Green Caviar

http://img12.imageshack.us/img12/9994/hdtunebenchmarkwdcwd10e.png

Hitachi Deskstar 7k1000

http://img23.imageshack.us/img23/3698/hdtunebenchmarkhitachih.png

Seagate External HDD PATA (i opened HDD case and put it inside my rig)

http://img13.imageshack.us/img13/7072/hdtunebenchmarkst316081.png

Sen
12-04-2009, 09:34 AM
Hitachi 7K1000.B 1TB

http://i41.tinypic.com/ao9xyb.png

http://i42.tinypic.com/14bqejl.png

THX RAW
25-04-2009, 08:30 AM
http://i646.photobucket.com/albums/uu185/THX_bucket/HDTune_Benchmark_WDC_WD5001AALS-00L.pnghttp://i646.photobucket.com/albums/uu185/THX_bucket/HDTune_Benchmark_ST3500320AS.png

baiyun
02-05-2009, 05:04 PM
Something seems to be wrong with my seagate os drive. how come burst speed so slow. time to change hdd? any advice?
http://baiyun.clubsnap.org/gallery/albums/album01/OSDrive.sized.jpg

http://baiyun.clubsnap.org/gallery/albums/album01/datadrive.sized.jpg

Sen
10-05-2009, 08:45 AM
WD 1TB Green

http://i39.tinypic.com/6y1keb.png

http://i41.tinypic.com/5xrtk.png

limster
10-05-2009, 12:11 PM
http://img218.imageshack.us/img218/3208/hdtunebf5.jpg

http://img218.imageshack.us/img218/836/hdtachshorttest01wn0.jpg

i didn't know it was possible for burst speed to exceed the SATA 2 specification? Looking briefly at the other posts on this page, they are all under 300Mb/s. The above is way too high? is there a software error?

Sen
10-05-2009, 02:51 PM
WD6400AAKS

http://i44.tinypic.com/4gol91.png

http://i40.tinypic.com/m79fgj.png

Sen
10-05-2009, 02:54 PM
Seagate 7200.11 640GB

http://i41.tinypic.com/kafbrc.png

http://i39.tinypic.com/wrnknm.png

Ferrari^^
10-05-2009, 05:06 PM
yeah HD tune is a good tool man....anyway processing speed is also dependent on alot of factors such as motherboard ram and cpu

Ferrari^^
10-05-2009, 05:25 PM
http://img151.imageshack.us/img151/3698/hdtunebenchmarkhitachih.th.png (http://img151.imageshack.us/my.php?image=hdtunebenchmarkhitachih.png)

lol i think mine should be the slowest around here....but its okay i do not need fast access time for programming and stuff....as this drive will be used as storage...also i do not need so much processing power to compile a few lines of code

and im like using IDE to SATA to USB....and one thing to note....do not ever install linux on yr hard drive...if not it will cause problems.....i mean yeah u can.....but once u are not able to access yr drive...thats it....so the best way to use Linux is to use it on a drive that u wish to expend...

monoblue
18-05-2009, 12:53 AM
http://i43.tinypic.com/2r3xtso.jpghttp://i39.tinypic.com/156uzbr.jpg

Sen
07-06-2009, 10:55 AM
Seagate 7200.12 1TB
http://i41.tinypic.com/2a0ap2u.jpg

http://i39.tinypic.com/155h0lj.jpg

cuntzbuster
16-06-2009, 08:13 AM
http://i10.photobucket.com/albums/a146/cuntzbuster/HDTune_Benchmark_ST31000528AS.png

Why_ar
02-07-2009, 09:05 PM
WD Blue 640GB :

http://i43.tinypic.com/2edmn0w.png

Why_ar
02-07-2009, 09:11 PM
WD6400AAKS-75A7B 640GB :

http://i40.tinypic.com/kdwllf.png

Why_ar
02-07-2009, 09:14 PM
Another WD6400AAKS 640GB :

http://i39.tinypic.com/1zapdw.png

Why_ar
02-07-2009, 09:19 PM
WD5000AAKS-75TMA 500GB :

http://i41.tinypic.com/2zxtwcn.png

vinpire
07-07-2009, 12:21 AM
Lai lai. Benchmark your hdd and post the screenshot here. A great way for ppl to compare different hdds before buying.

Download HD Tune 2.55 here (http://www.hdtune.com/hdtune_255.exe).

For a fair comparison please go to options and set (under benchmark tab):

Test Speed/Accuracy: Set it max towards Accurate
Block Size: 64 KB (should be default)

Latest benchmark:
http://i33.tinypic.com/rtn868.png

How to improve HDD performance:
Link 1 (http://www.pcguide.com/opt/opt/hdd-c.html)
Link 2 (http://www.informit.com/articles/article.aspx?p=1160391&seqNum=3)
Link 3 (http://windowshelp.microsoft.com/Windows/en-US/Help/bc7907e3-ee72-4771-bdac-54fdf74eeef21033.mspx)

Last updated: 10/7/08

here is my test :
http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/C:\Users\Jason\Desktop\HDTune_Benchmark_WDC_WD1500HLFS-01G6U0.png

awayaway
16-09-2009, 03:48 AM
slowest!

http://i28.tinypic.com/244y7vt.png

note at cpu load

FinalTidus
07-10-2009, 09:10 PM
slowest!

http://i28.tinypic.com/244y7vt.png

note at cpu load
Nice photoshop!!!

cuntzbuster
14-10-2009, 01:59 PM
http://i33.tinypic.com/2dk0oj7.png

re-certified WD 15EADS

cstanhwz
29-10-2009, 08:28 PM
WDC WD6400BEVT - 00A0RT0 (2.5" 640GB)

http://i66.photobucket.com/albums/h259/cs_tan/wdc640.jpg

Better performance than WD5000BEVT - 00ZAT0 (2.5" 500GB)

http://i66.photobucket.com/albums/h259/cs_tan/wdc500dec08.jpg

For reference:-

http://i66.photobucket.com/albums/h259/cs_tan/wdc500jul09.jpg

http://i66.photobucket.com/albums/h259/cs_tan/Samung.jpg

awayaway
31-10-2009, 05:46 AM
Seagate 320gb 7200.10 Raid 0

http://i35.tinypic.com/2i0c7cn.png

Seagate 250gb 7200.10

http://i36.tinypic.com/m82nx2.jpg

cstanhwz
04-11-2009, 07:54 PM
Funny... Bought another WD6400BEVT - 00A0RT0 and the benchmark is slower than the first I bought. The 2 HDDs is made on same day.

First WD6400BEVT - 00A0RT0

http://i66.photobucket.com/albums/h259/cs_tan/wdc640.jpg http://i66.photobucket.com/albums/h259/cs_tan/wdc64012.jpg

Second WD6400BEVT - 00A0RT0

http://i66.photobucket.com/albums/h259/cs_tan/wdc6402.jpg http://i66.photobucket.com/albums/h259/cs_tan/wdc64022.jpg