PDA

View Full Version : Need VISA?

chuan
12-07-2008, 12:45 AM
Yo guys... This may be a stupid question... but i need some confirmation.

Is visa needed to go HK now? Since Hk is also part of China...

Thank you :s22:

Oricon83
12-07-2008, 02:23 AM
Hi, Im also in doubt of this also..
Do I need a visa to HK now as Im leaving for HK on 17 Jul....
Any1 can help?
Who got the contact for HK embassy?

Jataro
12-07-2008, 11:45 AM
Going HK and Macau NO NEED VISA I think for 1 week stay. 1 country 2 systems remember!
Happy Trip

purplewave
12-07-2008, 12:36 PM
going HK and Macau NO NEED VISA< only mainland china need

chuan
13-07-2008, 01:54 AM
CONFIRMED hor?
im going for 12days leh.. need or not? i very paranoid. thank you. love all of u.

10am- hahaha.. im so paranoid that I just emailed MFA... -_-"

valeon
13-07-2008, 10:22 AM
CONFIRMED hor?
im going for 12days leh.. need or not? i very paranoid. thank you. love all of u.

10am- hahaha.. im so paranoid that I just emailed MFA... -_-"

Mai kan jiong. Confirmed dun need. You can stay upto 90 days in HK. 12 days nia, sap sap sui lar....

chuan
13-07-2008, 10:29 AM
Mai kan jiong. Confirmed dun need. You can stay upto 90 days in HK. 12 days nia, sap sap sui lar....

Oh.. sorry.. i kan jiong king..
THANK YOU

<3 :s12:

lawla12
14-07-2008, 11:31 AM
yap yap yap...confirm dun need visa to hk n macau...

i'm going macau + zhuhai next week..applied the visa liao...so EXPENSIVE loh!!!!!!

i did double entry visa ....$55 from 5stars tour agency......

valeon
14-07-2008, 12:02 PM
yap yap yap...confirm dun need visa to hk n macau...

i'm going macau + zhuhai next week..applied the visa liao...so EXPENSIVE loh!!!!!!

i did double entry visa ....$55 from 5stars tour agency......

If I am not wrong, the double entry visa only valid for 1 month currently . That means, you can enter China twice within the month with that visa, after 1 month, that double entry visa no longer valid. Double entry visa cost higher than single entry visa.

vulkie
14-07-2008, 12:37 PM
Guys, i'll be going to hong kong for 2 weeks. And i intend to visit zuhai and shenzhen within that 2 weeks. So does that mean that i can apply a double entry visa for this month and i can enter china on any 2 days? Cos i heard now need to give specific dates of entry. Is that true?

bbqueenie
14-07-2008, 08:12 PM
hi lawla12

like to check with u do u have to book air tics or hotel with 5star before they can help u do the visa?

how much for single entry visa ah?

CharmanderWong
14-07-2008, 08:57 PM
hi lawla12

like to check with u do u have to book air tics or hotel with 5star before they can help u do the visa?

how much for single entry visa ah?
U can also apply for the visa at the chinese embassy at tanglin.

bbqueenie
15-07-2008, 03:44 PM
hi charmander

is it very crowded in the china embassy?

how much per entry visa? i gg in 31 aug , do i still need to apply for it?

CharmanderWong
15-07-2008, 07:22 PM
hi charmander

is it very crowded in the china embassy?

how much per entry visa? i gg in 31 aug , do i still need to apply for it?
hi bbqueenie,

i'm not sure if its crowded in the chinese embassy.
Its $25 for a single entry visa and $35 for a double entry visa. This will take 4 working days to process.

Remember that u will need the application form, hotel booking and airtickets for the application.

More info at the embassy's website: http://www.chinaembassy.org.sg/eng/lsqw/qz/default.htm

edit: yes u still need to get the visa until they decided to resume visa-free entry for singaporeans.

bbqueenie
16-07-2008, 12:01 PM
hi charmander

where can we get the application forms from for the visa application/

CharmanderWong
16-07-2008, 02:33 PM
Here: http://www.chinaembassy.org.sg/eng/lsqw/df/default.htm ;)

dsdoi
26-07-2008, 10:26 AM
Charmander, can advise if Singaporean need visa to enter Shenzhen for a day via Hongkong on 20 Aug 08? Will be back to Hongkong the next day. Its for a business trip. How much would it cost?

Thanks in advance.:look:

CharmanderWong
26-07-2008, 03:04 PM
Charmander, can advise if Singaporean need visa to enter Shenzhen for a day via Hongkong on 20 Aug 08? Will be back to Hongkong the next day. Its for a business trip. How much would it cost?

Thanks in advance.:look:
Hi dsdoi, yes u will still need the visa to enter Shenzhen for a day. The rule will apply until the chinese gov't decides to lift it. Its $25 for a single entry visa (invalid after one use) so i think that will be more appropriate for u.

dsdoi
27-07-2008, 09:37 PM
Hi CharmanderWong, do u know any travel agency who can do it at a good rate..

bbqueenie
15-08-2008, 10:33 AM
hi gals

anyone know if when we can go china without visa?

i contemplating applying cos my trip is on 1 sept.

how ah?

also for the visa form, do we have to type written on the form or can fill up manually?

CharmanderWong
15-08-2008, 01:56 PM
Hi CharmanderWong, do u know any travel agency who can do it at a good rate..

I'm sorry! Didnt see ur msg for so long, i think its the same, they will just pass it to the chinese embassy for processing. Regarding the prices at travel agency, i think u might have to call them to ask. The rates at chinese embassy is just a few post above.

hi gals

anyone know if when we can go china without visa?

i contemplating applying cos my trip is on 1 sept.

how ah?

also for the visa form, do we have to type written on the form or can fill up manually?

Not sure yet, this is quoted from their website: "We will resume the visa waiver programme at an appropriate date after the Beijing Olympics."

Maybe wait awhile more, see if they change it back after the closing ceremony on aug 24. But u must apply at least 1 week in advance just in case anything crops up.

U can choose to type in the particulars in adobe pdf and print or fill in manually, but typing will definitely make the embassy's staff eyes happier :s13:

bbqueenie
15-08-2008, 02:15 PM
hi charmander

thanks.....

i tink i better go apply earlier la...in case they dun resume the visa free so soon, then i not in time as it tk 4 days to apply.

by the way, heard paralympics is in china also ah.

do u know if i drive to china embassy , is there any parking lots nearby there?

beanstalk6
15-08-2008, 02:26 PM
hi charmander

Park at Tanglin Mall

krisflyermiles
15-08-2008, 02:42 PM
Park at Tanglin Mall

Most of them will park on top of the hill.
Turn in from the T junction near Rochalie Road (our PM house)

Or u can choose to park at Rochalie Road.
But hor, yr visa fee will increase by another S$70.
Summon from the TP for parking at double yellow line.
I kana once. No choice. Better than miss my flight to china.

apengrg
15-08-2008, 03:44 PM
yes, im also not sure shd apply visa or not snice im going to SZ on 29/08. can refund if visa is waved after 24th ? i be needing double entry for 3pax. can use that $ for more dim sum right?? :s13:

bbqueenie
15-08-2008, 04:15 PM
dont think they will waive lor, since they already issued, that piece of paper also cost $$ to them.

but if u don't apply sooner, then scared not enough time. too bad our departure date fall under such an awkard timing. sighz

CharmanderWong
15-08-2008, 06:31 PM
hi charmander

thanks.....

i tink i better go apply earlier la...in case they dun resume the visa free so soon, then i not in time as it tk 4 days to apply.

by the way, heard paralympics is in china also ah.

Wah. I only took bus 11 there leh... i rather spend my parking $ for a cup of starbucks :s13:

Anyway, as beanstalk mentioned, i believe the nearest parking is at tanglin mall.

Do make sure u have all your travel documents ready, and the photograph on the form. If not have to queue for phototaking and photocopying.

bbqueenie
15-08-2008, 11:55 PM
hi charmander

so if i help my family member apply, must i have another set of separate travel docs too>? or i can use one set since we are travelling together?

so things to bring:
passport, application form, travel bookings

so first thing when reach, is to queue outside the embassy or go straight in to get q number?

CharmanderWong
16-08-2008, 01:08 AM
hi charmander

so if i help my family member apply, must i have another set of separate travel docs too>? or i can use one set since we are travelling together?

so things to bring:
passport, application form, travel bookings

so first thing when reach, is to queue outside the embassy or go straight in to get q number?
I think the travel bookings can be the same ones as long as the name is there.

Just go straight in to get a queue number. A point to note, there's no security checks the previous time i went, something very very different from the other embassys in sg.

uvwx937
23-08-2008, 09:26 AM
Slovenian badminton player Maja Tvrdy said she knew her Olympic journey would not end with a medal, but she was still looking forward to taking home something unique.After losing in the second round of the singles event last Sunday,wow gold (http://www.fcsgame.com/) the 24-year-old found what she was looking for in a corner of the Olympic Village, known simply as the Chinese Learning Area.The tutors there helped Tvrdy find the Chinese equivalents of the names of a dozen of her Slovenian friends, then helped her draw them on colored paper using a brush pen."I think my friends will like these small presents from a different culture," the sportswoman, who spent nearly two hours making them, said.Since opening on July 27, the learning area has welcomed more thanFFXI Gil (http://www.fast-wowgold.com) 1,000 visitors from more than 60 countries and regions, Yao Yuan, its deputy chief, said.The majority of the guests have been keen to learn some simple Chinese such as ni hao (hello), xie xie (thanks) and zai jian (goodbye), get a Chinese name for themselves or for families and friends, andAge of Conan Gold (http://www.fast-wowgold.com/age-of-conan-gold.htm) try some traditional Chinese calligraphy, Yao said.Twenty-six people work at the learning area, which opens from 11 am to 9 pm every day, she said.As the Olympics goes on and more Dofus Kamas (http://www.fcsgame.com/dofus-kamas.htm)events end, so the number of visitors has increased, he said."We are always busy, and recently we've even been opening half an hour earlier," Yao said."But we're happy about that, as we want to see the Chinese language become more popular around the world."The learning area, which measures 30 sq m, is brightly world of warcraft gold (http://www.fcsgame.com/)decorated with Chinese scrolls, Peking opera masks and China knots - a traditional handicraft symbolizing good fortune - Yao said.But the best part is a wall filled with the brush pen works made by the foreign guests of either their Chinese names or blessings to the host city and nation, she said."There are very good, considering it was the first time most of them had ever tried it, Yao said."The Beijing Olympic Games has provided a great opportunity for us to help make the Chinese language more popular around the world and for China as a nation to be better understood by foreigners," she said."And it's a win-win situation, as our service is completely free, while learning Chinese outside the country could be quite costly."

apengrg
25-08-2008, 10:36 AM
visa shall be lifted for sg after the games???

Ask
06-12-2008, 11:34 PM
My friend is a Malaysian passport holder who will be going to Shenzhen from Hong Kong, is it possible for her to make a visa in Hong Kong or at certain train station in Shenzhen (e.g. Luo Hu) on the spot?

CharmanderWong
07-12-2008, 11:39 AM
My friend is a Malaysian passport holder who will be going to Shenzhen from Hong Kong, is it possible for her to make a visa in Hong Kong or at certain train station in Shenzhen (e.g. Luo Hu) on the spot?
It should be possible for her to make her visa at any CTS (China Travel Service) branches in hk, here's the locations of their offices: http://www.ctshk.com/english/aboutus/local.htm

But of course, it is always easier and safer to process the visa in malaysia/sg first before traveling.

mambofever
08-12-2008, 12:48 AM
Yo guys... This may be a stupid question... but i need some confirmation.

Is visa needed to go HK now? Since Hk is also part of China...

Thank you :s22:

no need visa for HK

wintercoal
09-12-2008, 12:11 AM
Hi

does anyone knw whether do i need a VIsa to travel to Shenzhen from Macau or HK? n aso.. hw much does it cost for the ferry tickets from Macau to HK?

thanks =)

krisflyermiles
09-12-2008, 12:56 PM
Hi

does anyone knw whether do i need a VIsa to travel to Shenzhen from Macau or HK? n aso.. hw much does it cost for the ferry tickets from Macau to HK?

thanks =)

Visa is not required if you are holding China Passport

Ask
09-12-2008, 05:11 PM
Visa is not required if you are holding China Passport

Do you mean Singapore passport holder now needs visa to go Shenzhen from Hong Kong?

krisflyermiles
09-12-2008, 05:18 PM
Do you mean Singapore passport holder now needs visa to go Shenzhen from Hong Kong?

at least you are asking a sensible question with nationality stated.
no visa is rquired for singapore passport holder to china.
maximum 15days stay. Calculated from the 1st day of entry.