PDA

View Full Version : DNS-343 - 4 Bay Network Storage Enclosure

Pages : [1] 2

shadowandy
17-07-2008, 11:00 AM
http://img174.imageshack.us/img174/6949/dns34301ud7.jpg (http://www.shadowandy.net/tag/dns-343)
Size comparison with my favorite drink!

http://img174.imageshack.us/img174/5014/dns34305hb6.jpg (http://www.shadowandy.net/tag/dns-343)
4 horizontal loading bays

D-Link has done it again! They are releasing a 4 bay network attached storage which does RAID 5, successor to its very successful DNS-323. Well we know that both the DNS-323 and DNS-313 can be fun_plugged to make it a universal device that *almost* practically does anything (well you can't attached a LCD monitor to it). I'm glad that the DNS-343 can be fun_plugged as well. Hurray!

Some quick information about the DNS-343

Faster CPU than DNS-323
Double the RAM of the DNS-323
Supports up to 4 hard disks
Has Front panel OLED Display
Supports standard, JBOD, RAID 0, 1 and 5 modes
Comes with 10/100/1000 ethernet port with Jumbo Frame Support
Tool-less installation design

Was lucky to be able to play with the DNS-343 for a couple of nights. Took the chance to explore the set.

Some links:

NAS News on SmallNetBuilder (http://www.smallnetbuilder.com/content/view/30517/76/)
Speed transfer test on the DNS-343 (http://www.shadowandy.net/2008/07/humble-speed-test-on-the-dns-343.htm)
OLED Display on the DNS-343 (http://www.shadowandy.net/2008/07/dns-343s-oled-display.htm)
More photos of the DNS-343 (http://www.shadowandy.net/2008/07/dns-343-photos.htm)
Posts regarding D-Link DNS-343 (http://www.shadowandy.net/tag/dns-343)

Tips & Tricks

Fun_plug-ing the DNS-343 (http://www.shadowandy.net/2008/07/fun_plugging-the-dns-343.htm)
Fixing degraded RAID 5 array on DNS-343 (http://www.shadowandy.net/2008/07/fixing-degraded-raid-5-array-on-dns-343.htm)

halocast
17-07-2008, 12:30 PM
So avaliable in SG?

shadowandy
17-07-2008, 03:30 PM
This is a tough question. I guess that it might be offered soon? Perhaps by the next computer show (hopefully). Hope the price won't be way out of reach by home users.

icem4n
17-07-2008, 05:36 PM
Just a question from a newbie.

Can I plug directly the NAS into my laptop?

I know it's suppose to be NAS (NETWORK) but the reason is I need the RAID feature and it's easier if I can just plug it into my computer

halocast
17-07-2008, 06:54 PM
This is a tough question. I guess that it might be offered soon? Perhaps by the next computer show (hopefully). Hope the price won't be way out of reach by home users.

looks like a good day to launch this product

but i think it will launch at 500 :D

richneo
17-07-2008, 10:53 PM
Just a question from a newbie.

Can I plug directly the NAS into my laptop?

I know it's suppose to be NAS (NETWORK) but the reason is I need the RAID feature and it's easier if I can just plug it into my computer
connect directly to ur laptop's lan port lor

set static ip on both

sigh
17-07-2008, 11:30 PM
hm... Hard to justify if anything more than $500. But anyone who buys this is a bit higer end user liao.
RAID-5 will be the major pulling point, but it does not appear to be hot pluggable.
Lastly, it is all about performance.

misato
18-07-2008, 01:48 AM
performance wise, 200+ ~ 300mbps+ range is good.
loosely converted, it will give around a peak of under 40MB/s performance for read
and 15MB/s range for write. Official announced price is USD$388 ($523 est), SLS price should be under SG$500 if my guess is right

To compare,
Chart taken from http://www.smallnetbuilder.com/component/option,com_nas/Itemid,190/chart,13/
http://home.pacific.net.sg/~misatof/pics/4d-nas-chart.jpg

halocast
18-07-2008, 10:28 AM
very interesting.. under 500.

i check also.. wrong price i put :P

shadowandy
18-07-2008, 05:21 PM
very interesting.. under 500.

i check also.. wrong price i put :P

Wah... under $500. Must start saving up.

n0d3
18-07-2008, 05:47 PM
Any idea how customizable this NAS is when it comes to RAID? E.g. I want Volume 1 and 2 to be on one RAID array (RAID 1) and Volume 3 and 4 to be on another RAID 1 array, is it possible?

richneo
18-07-2008, 05:55 PM
hmm insert first 2 hdd create raid 1 den insert the next 2 hdd and create the second raid

halocast
18-07-2008, 06:56 PM
Wah... under $500. Must start saving up.

if its realli under 500 SGD

very interesting :D

misato
18-07-2008, 09:52 PM
maybe a MO for the interested few can bring the price to lesser then 500.
Wonder anyone got contact to D-Link a not, maybe TS can help?

richneo
19-07-2008, 01:28 AM
maybe a MO for the interested few can bring the price to lesser then 500.
Wonder anyone got contact to D-Link a not, maybe TS can help?
im interested

count me in...

then i can sell away my dns-323 and buy dns-343 :s34:

shadowandy
19-07-2008, 10:16 AM
wah... later i try contacting the person who passed me the set.

n0d3
19-07-2008, 10:25 AM
im interested

count me in...

then i can sell away my dns-323 and buy dns-343 :s34:

Same. :s34:

misato
19-07-2008, 11:03 AM
I'm looking to buy one as well.. was already budgeting for a DIY NAS already. Now is to see when will it be avaliable in singapore.

halocast
19-07-2008, 12:31 PM
interesting!! how much lower?!

Desmond_
19-07-2008, 02:03 PM
another posion for me :o

angy
19-07-2008, 03:01 PM
can be less than 500 lah

Here are the prices in the USA

http://computers.pricegrabber.com/enclosures/m/76867716/

more like 550-600

honami
20-07-2008, 06:19 PM
When will it avaliable for sale in Singapore?

misato
20-07-2008, 07:35 PM
i heard earilest is end year.

halocast
20-07-2008, 07:42 PM
whoa.. so late? :o

richneo
20-07-2008, 07:43 PM
mo mo mo mo mo mo :s34:

shadowandy
20-07-2008, 09:00 PM
i heard earilest is end year.

yeah, that is what the contact told me as well.

So even if MO, it would only come a few months later.

halocast
20-07-2008, 09:12 PM
wha lau...
few months later?

omg.. why the delay so long :o

shadowandy
25-07-2008, 11:58 AM
SmallNetBuilder started reviewing the DNS-343! Check it out here (http://www.smallnetbuilder.com/content/view/30527/75/)

shigure1982
25-07-2008, 01:15 PM
Will be good if reach here at the same time when 1.5TB harddisk is available here. =:p can make a 4 x 1.5TB Raid 5. :s13:

galeron
25-07-2008, 11:26 PM
@shadowandy: How's the ventilation? IIRC the ventilation fan on the 323 is quite wimpy right?

magixspeed
27-07-2008, 06:27 AM
seems like a good storage for home network!

Jack_Chen
08-08-2008, 12:37 PM
seems like a good storage for home network!

it's more than enough storage. Unless you are the type who like to rip Blu-Ray in full format.

octacon
08-08-2008, 12:52 PM
Thinking of selling my ReadyNAS DUO for this NAS liao :(

shadowandy
08-08-2008, 02:00 PM
Thinking of selling my ReadyNAS DUO for this NAS liao :(

Honestly, both NAS are quite good. :)

richneo
08-08-2008, 07:28 PM
Honestly, both NAS are quite good. :)
maybe the price between them is also quite good considering that some online stores in USA is selling DNS-343 at USD3XX.

who noes the price of ReadNas is same as DNS-343? :D

richneo
03-09-2008, 10:16 AM
anyone have news about this?

when will it arrive? did not see it in comex

hLsY
03-09-2008, 10:40 AM
don't know when it will arrive.. thought of getting from amazon..

http://www.amazon.com/D-Link-3-5-Inch-Gigabit-Ethernet-Enclosure/dp/B0019VSU88

jterry
05-09-2008, 09:49 PM
Any idea whether it can support 1T HD from Seagate 7200.11? from their Compatible List, it only shows 7200.11 750G, and the only 1T hD on the list is Hitachi :(

richneo
06-09-2008, 12:21 AM
saw from other forum it works

tentatively it works with all hdd atm

shadowandy
09-09-2008, 10:05 PM
For those bros who might wish to get DNS-343, check out this thread (http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showthread.php?p=32228365)

gutlink28
18-09-2008, 01:13 PM
Time to up this thread...

This Saturday is "THE DAY"!

richneo
18-09-2008, 02:16 PM
why dont u go meet andy this evening ehhehe

gutlink28
18-09-2008, 07:46 PM
why dont u go meet andy this evening ehhehe
Haha... This evening cannot ah... I just only saw your post now.

shadowandy
18-09-2008, 07:49 PM
The goods have arrived for the MO!

http://img225.imageshack.us/img225/751/dns34301sz3.jpg

chaicka
19-09-2008, 08:33 PM
Evaluation Posting #1:

Item: DNS-343
Firmware: 1.01

Feedbacks:
1. Hardware
a. Front Panel Design

- The front panel is kind of too loose, thus it's very easy to slide up and open out. The design of the way the front panel opens would pose as a risk for family with young children at home, as the child may accidentally just hold the front panel to lift it up.

- Improvement Suggestion - The front panel can be designed to slide down and open out. Thus, to open the front panel, the NAS would need to be tilt upwards at the front, slide the front panel down and lift it outwards. This design would be more children-friendly, thus giving the parent(s) ease of mind having it place anywhere in the home without worrying about their children accidentally mess around with it causing data loss.

2. Web GUI
a. Advanced menu

- RAID, the creation of new RAID volume does not allow customizations such as volume labeling.

- Improvement Suggestion - Reference to Intel Matrix Storage Manager/Console (with ICH9R chipset) version 8.5 on some of the basic RAID creation functions that should be included in the DNS-343 RAID creation. Examples: Volume Labeling, Write-Back Cache Enablement/Disablement.

(Without HDD installed)
- UPnP AV Server, the buttons - 'Save Settings', 'Don't Save Settings', 'Refresh' are grey out.
- iTunes Server, the buttons - 'Save Settings', 'Don't Save Settings', 'Refresh' are grey out.
(With HDD installed)
- UPnP AV Server, the buttons - 'Save Settings', 'Don't Save Settings', 'Refresh' are no longer grey out.

- Improvement Suggestion - If the UPnP AV Server & iTunes Server services are running in the background even without HDD installed, then the Web GUI should allow the user to disable it even without HDD installed, for security reasons such as reduce surface of attack.

b. Status menu
- Device Info, the System Temperature sometimes does not tally with the LCD panel. Difference: Web GUI displayed values are 6 degree F and 3 degree C lower than LCD panel displayed values.

chaicka
19-09-2008, 08:34 PM
Item: DNS-343
Firmware: 1.02

Feedbacks:
1. Web GUI
a. Setup menu

-

chaicka
b. Advanced menu

- Users/Groups - in firmware 1.02 (beta 10) the "USER AND GROUP CREATION" and "GROUP SETTINGS" sections will not appear once set to Active Directory mode. However, in the firmware 1.02 (final official released), these two sections appear, thus making the page very long and meaningless since all options in the two sections are grey-out.

- Improvement Suggestion - The "USER AND GROUP CREATION" and "GROUP SETTINGS" sections should not appear once set to Active Directory mode.

- Users/Groups - in firmware 1.02 (final) with Active Directory mode, the "USER LIST" and "GROUPS LIST" sections are inconsistently named.

- Improvement Suggestion - The "GROUPS LIST" should be named "GROUP LIST" or the "USER LIST" should be named "USERS LIST".

- Users/Groups - in firmware 1.02 (final) with Active Directory mode, the "USER LIST" and "GROUPS LIST" sections would intermittently not show all the users or groups in tier-2 or tier-3 domains.

- Users/Groups - in firmware 1.02 (final) with Active Directory mode, the user names and group names are displayed in a weird format that there is room for improvement.

Examples:
Users
1. OPENSOURCEHUB: OSH+guest
2. OPENSOURCEHUB: AP+guest
3. OPENSOURCEHUB: LSZ+guest
Groups
1. OPENSOURCEHUB: OSH+domain guests
2. OPENSOURCEHUB: AP+domain guests
3. OPENSOURCEHUB: LSZ+domain guests

- Improvement Suggestion - The web GUI display of "USER LIST" and "GROUPS LIST" should be designed to cater for multi-tiered domains active directory environment so that it can better represent the tier that the domain is in.

Example: In the domains above, both AP and LSZ are actually tier-2 domains while OSH is the tier-1 domain (parent of AP and LSZ).

chaicka
c. Maintenance menu

-

chaicka
22-09-2008, 11:33 AM
Others haven't collect their DNS-343 yet?

richneo
22-09-2008, 12:15 PM
Others haven't collect their DNS-343 yet?
everyone collected?

ck_siong
22-09-2008, 02:44 PM
Where can buy ?

gutlink28
22-09-2008, 06:06 PM
All collected... check the first post of the sales thread.

gutlink28
22-09-2008, 06:11 PM
"fun_plug" the set last Friday

Yesterday just finished setting up pure-ftpd via fun_plug (skipped the use of the ftp configuration in DNS-343 admin interface coz it only support ACTIVE mode FTP :( ).

Today just finished setting up lighttpd to run web server...:s13::s13:

gutlink28
23-09-2008, 09:55 AM
Question...

I'm currently running lighttpd and based on my understanding from http://wiki.dns323.info/howto:ffp (http://wiki.dns323.info/howto:ffp), I need to telnet and execute the command "sh /ffp/start/lighttpd.sh start" to start the service.

Once I do a hard-reset my DNS-343, I found that the lighttpd is not running anymore and I need to key in again the above command?

Where can I put the command such that every hard-reset the DNS-343, it will auto execute the command to start the lighttpd?

shadowandy
23-09-2008, 02:13 PM
Question...

I'm currently running lighttpd and based on my understanding from http://wiki.dns323.info/howto:ffp (http://wiki.dns323.info/howto:ffp), I need to telnet and execute the command "sh /ffp/start/lighttpd.sh start" to start the service.

Once I do a hard-reset my DNS-343, I found that the lighttpd is not running anymore and I need to key in again the above command?

Where can I put the command such that every hard-reset the DNS-343, it will auto execute the command to start the lighttpd?

chmod a+x /ffp/start/lighttpd.sh

;)

gutlink28
23-09-2008, 02:16 PM
chmod a+x /ffp/start/lighttpd.sh

;)
execute in telnet or put it in fun_plug file?

shadowandy
23-09-2008, 02:49 PM
execute in telnet or put it in fun_plug file?

execute in telnet

chaicka
23-09-2008, 10:40 PM
"fun_plug" the set last Friday

Yesterday just finished setting up pure-ftpd via fun_plug (skipped the use of the ftp configuration in DNS-343 admin interface coz it only support ACTIVE mode FTP :( ).

Today just finished setting up lighttpd to run web server...:s13::s13:
Yoz...I am rather new to 'fun_plug' thus would appreciate some guidance or redirect me to articles that I can read up on.

shadowandy
23-09-2008, 10:44 PM
Yoz...I am rather new to 'fun_plug' thus would appreciate some guidance or redirect me to articles that I can read up on.

Funplugging the DNS-343 is the same as fun plugging the DNS-323 (http://www.shadowandy.net/2008/05/running-fonzs-fun_plug-05-on-dns-323.htm)

gutlink28
24-09-2008, 08:43 AM
execute in telnet
Thanks! It works perfectly!

Just managed to set password authentication for my web-server directory access using your tutorial at your site.

Struggled with creating the htdigest file intitially which doesn't work. Later on, I just duplicate an existing .sh file and edit the contents and changed the filename and viola! Everything now is fine! :)

gutlink28
24-09-2008, 08:48 AM
Don't worry, I am also new to this fun_plug initially. But I think if you visit ShadowAndy's site and http://wiki.dns323.info/ to do some read up, You should be able to get through...

It's be a waste if you use this superb toy for network storage where it can do so much more~! ;)

shadowandy
26-09-2008, 03:54 PM
just realized DNS-343 cannot use the usb storage kernel module from DNS-323. :|

AHcoolie
27-09-2008, 02:47 PM
anyone selling their DNS323?? haha

wall
28-09-2008, 09:13 PM
firmware 1.0.2 is out :)

¤ Add ADS Support
¤ Add XBox 360 Support
¤ UPNP AV server now utilizing iNotify subsystem for media file changes
¤ FTP Server support SSL/TLS
¤ Fan now turns off when the system temperature reachs 43 degress Celcius : 43(OFF), 46(LOW), 49(HIGH)
¤ Add Auto Power Recovery. This can be enabled via the WebGUI
¤ Time Settings GUI redesign
¤ FTP Server support Unicode
¤ PnP-X support Vista 64-bits

chaicka
29-09-2008, 12:09 AM
Gosh... not sure what happened. The firmware 1.02 review I wrote got over-written by the review I wrote for v1.01. Damn HWZ... not sure what bug caused the post to mix up.

I wrote so much about the v1.02 Active Directory feature and what improvement can be done. Hope someone did captured my review posting.

chaicka
29-09-2008, 01:35 AM
Feature(s) Request:

1. Support for UPS Network Shutdown

- APC PowerChute Network Shutdown Agent (available for linux, version 2.2.3

shadowandy
29-09-2008, 12:56 PM
Gosh... not sure what happened. The firmware 1.02 review I wrote got over-written by the review I wrote for v1.01. Damn HWZ... not sure what bug caused the post to mix up.

I wrote so much about the v1.02 Active Directory feature and what improvement can be done. Hope someone did captured my review posting.

So these type of bugs also affects Deluxe members. Unfortunately, I didn't capture the AD stuffs.

gutlink28
29-09-2008, 09:07 PM
Dlink Singapore should be bringing in DNS-343 soon...

In the Dlink Singapore website ->Downloads/Support page, can find DNS-343 in the drop-down menu. The installation guide is available for download on 22 Sep...

MsWindowsVista
30-09-2008, 11:35 AM
hi

according to SmallNetBuilder review, seen like the failed recovery not so straightforward compared to others 4-bays nas. also keep having problem during the recovery process.

do anyone in here have comment on fail recovery for this nas?

i been looking for 4 or 5 bays nas for long time, one of the main reason is the price. this nas sound very competitive to others in term of price. the only draw back is the recovery during a hard drive failed.

shadowandy
30-09-2008, 12:43 PM
hi

according to SmallNetBuilder review, seen like the failed recovery not so straightforward compared to others 4-bays nas. also keep having problem during the recovery process.

do anyone in here have comment on fail recovery for this nas?

i been looking for 4 or 5 bays nas for long time, one of the main reason is the price. this nas sound very competitive to others in term of price. the only draw back is the recovery during a hard drive failed.

I actually had the chance to encounter the recovery and managed to fixed it. Documented the rough process in the post Fixing degraded RAID 5 array on DNS-343 (http://www.shadowandy.net/2008/07/fixing-degraded-raid-5-array-on-dns-343.htm).

Hope the next firmware release would actually automatically re add the newly added harddisk back into the array.

MsWindowsVista
30-09-2008, 02:13 PM
I actually had the chance to encounter the recovery and managed to fixed it. Documented the rough process in the post Fixing degraded RAID 5 array on DNS-343 (http://www.shadowandy.net/2008/07/fixing-degraded-raid-5-array-on-dns-343.htm).

Hope the next firmware release would actually automatically re add the newly added harddisk back into the array.

hi

thanks for the reply, guess this is a huge draw back for DNS-343, the solution is manual not auto.

sometime just wonder that why D-Link didn't discover this or they just ignore the problem. As their claim RAID 5 as one of the figure, why their didn't offer easy recovery. Because of price or?? :s7:

richneo
30-09-2008, 02:30 PM
i tot the firmware 1.02 already fixed it

MsWindowsVista
30-09-2008, 03:30 PM
hi guys

when searching for 4-bays NAS, suddenly found out this SMCNAS04 TigerStore from SMC. According to the specs, it sound pretty good and the price around S$700.

but it hard to find review for the product, so anyone have experience for this nas or SMC product in term of quality? thanks.

Nottingham123
30-09-2008, 06:36 PM
Hi!
I have DNS-343 with 3 1Tb HDD's: 1000,0 Gb HDD Western Digital (WD10EACS) GreenPower Caviar SE 16Mb SATAII-300, 2x1000,0 Gb HDD Hitachi (HDS721010KLA330) Deskstar 7K1000 7200rpm 32Mb SATA-300
The problem is after I shut down DNS-343 all the HDD's are still continue to rotate. After 1 hour of staying powered off the body of the DNS-343 become hot (±50 C). The only way to stop them is to disconnect power cable from the unit. Is that normal behavior or there is something wrong with my DNS-343?
Firmware 1.02
HDD's connected as Standard.

ck_siong
01-10-2008, 07:14 PM
Checked with DLink, only uses SATA I only ???

gutlink28
01-10-2008, 07:19 PM
Checked with DLink, only uses SATA I only ???
Nope... It should support both SATA types.

ck_siong
01-10-2008, 07:27 PM
Nope... It should support both SATA types.

Thanks ... the website brochure states SATA I ....
Since bro here used SATA II ..... should be ok.

OKK77
01-10-2008, 11:07 PM
*drools* I'm so gonna get this when it's locally available!

siao_gamer
02-10-2008, 11:36 AM
wow looks like money burning time!!I love my dns 323 and 343 is a gem!!!

richneo
02-10-2008, 12:29 PM
wow looks like money burning time!!I love my dns 323 and 343 is a gem!!!
hehe faster sell away ur dns-323 baz

chaicka
05-10-2008, 12:29 AM
So these type of bugs also affects Deluxe members. Unfortunately, I didn't capture the AD stuffs.

I hope I have managed to recall most of the review on AD portion of the testing of v1.02 firmware. I have also started posting on DLink Forums just in case this HWZ screws up again and I loose all my efforts due to corrupted posts or missing posts.

chaicka
05-10-2008, 12:31 AM
Hi!
I have DNS-343 with 3 1Tb HDD's: 1000,0 Gb HDD Western Digital (WD10EACS) GreenPower Caviar SE 16Mb SATAII-300, 2x1000,0 Gb HDD Hitachi (HDS721010KLA330) Deskstar 7K1000 7200rpm 32Mb SATA-300
The problem is after I shut down DNS-343 all the HDD's are still continue to rotate. After 1 hour of staying powered off the body of the DNS-343 become hot (±50 C). The only way to stop them is to disconnect power cable from the unit. Is that normal behavior or there is something wrong with my DNS-343?
Firmware 1.02
HDD's connected as Standard.

I have tried with the 250GB & 320GB HDDs I have but none displaying the symptoms you mentioned. Thus, not sure if it's 1TB HDDs that is affected. I do not have any 1TB HDDs to test right now.

One thing I do notice is that in firmware 1.02, the fans do not spin until the temperature is above 43 degree C.

richneo
05-10-2008, 08:46 AM
I have tried with the 250GB & 320GB HDDs I have but none displaying the symptoms you mentioned. Thus, not sure if it's 1TB HDDs that is affected. I do not have any 1TB HDDs to test right now.

One thing I do notice is that in firmware 1.02, the fans do not spin until the temperature is above 43 degree C.
Enhancements:
1. New fan control scheme: The fan speed will be High/Low/Off when the measured temperature is at 49C/46C/43C

gutlink28
05-10-2008, 10:16 AM
So far any major issues found in FW1.02?

I am comtemplating to upgrade mainly to due the fan control changes in this version. Just wondering what configurations are you guys having? Number of HDDs, HDD size and types? I am especially keen to know for those who used up all the 4 slots, what temps are you guys having?

I am only having 1 X1TB HDD (WD GP). With FW1.01, I am having temps around 38 to 40 degrees on average.

richneo
05-10-2008, 10:30 AM
im running 3 x 500gb Raid5 in DNS-343

i have 2 x samsung spinpoint and 1 x WDC aaks but their temperature runs at 46 deg

i have tried WD GP and it runs below 40 deg

gutlink28
05-10-2008, 10:35 AM
im running 3 x 500gb Raid5 in DNS-343

i have 2 x samsung spinpoint and 1 x WDC aaks but their temperature runs at 46 deg

i have tried WD GP and it runs below 40 deg
FW1.01 or FW1.02?

richneo
05-10-2008, 12:04 PM
Fw 1.01

richneo
05-10-2008, 12:07 PM
FW1.01 or FW1.02?
running 1.02 for about half an hour

temperature drops to around 43

http://img396.imageshack.us/img396/8758/102gh9.png

siao_gamer
05-10-2008, 05:05 PM
I hope I have managed to recall most of the review on AD portion of the testing of v1.02 firmware. I have also started posting on DLink Forums just in case this HWZ screws up again and I loose all my efforts due to corrupted posts or missing posts.

NO!! I want Both!!!:s22:

haha......

gutlink28
06-10-2008, 08:53 AM
Anyone saw DNS-343 on Singapore shelves already?

Dlink Singapore already officially put this in their products catalogue.
http://www.dlink.com.sg/products/?idproduct=311

Wonder how much it cost locally...

haloedwin
06-10-2008, 09:24 AM
comparing this 343 and the 323, is there any big difference?

cos newbie to this device

gutlink28
06-10-2008, 01:14 PM
comparing this 343 and the 323, is there any big difference?

cos newbie to this device
1. DNS-343 has 4 HDD slots compared to DNS-323 which has 2 HDD slots.
2. DNS-343 has OLED front panel display to show the device status (temp, disc space etc).
3. DNS-343 CPU is more efficient compared to DNS-323.
4. DNS-343 supports RAID-5.

Above are those which are of more noticable. Maybe other bros can add on... :)

haloedwin
07-10-2008, 12:31 PM
thanks for the info!

think will be getting the 323 to try out first ba

tm.chen
08-10-2008, 02:39 PM
Think I should get ready to let mine go. Does anyone here know if I transfer all my HDDs to the new NAS, do I need to reformat everything or will it set it up automatically for me w/o erasing all the data.

tm.chen
13-10-2008, 07:50 PM
no one? anyone?

shadowandy
13-10-2008, 09:04 PM
according to richneo's earlier post (somewhere), he ported his dns-323 hdd into the dns-343 successfully without formatting. Hope it helps.

shadowandy
15-10-2008, 11:06 PM
DNS-343 spotted at Funan! $500+

richneo
16-10-2008, 01:04 AM
which shop is selling it?

alanchia67
16-10-2008, 01:15 AM

without hdd i guess? is the price reasonable? a buffalo terastation live (the firmware includes media server just like dns-343) with 4x 250GB hdd is about 1K.

richneo
16-10-2008, 06:14 AM
DNS-343 with four pieces of 500gb hdd add up still less than $1k. Not to mention that the capacity is double.

shadowandy
16-10-2008, 08:25 AM
which shop is selling it?

South Asia Computers

MsWindowsVista
16-10-2008, 04:52 PM
Hi

the price for DNS-343 is S$539 at south asia computers, is it the best price? :s13:

Teaken
16-10-2008, 05:30 PM
Hi

the price for DNS-343 is S$539 at south asia computers, is it the best price? :s13:not the best compared to the MO conducted by shaw. Just pay more to make yourself feel better that there is warranty to fall back if anything happen? :)

MsWindowsVista
16-10-2008, 05:59 PM
hi

haha... no way to compared MO... just like to find out the price good enough compared to other who sale the item in SLS....

alanchia67
16-10-2008, 06:06 PM
ok, will visit SA tomorrow.

quekky
16-10-2008, 10:35 PM
saw chamoxa selling at $599 today...

coldboy
17-10-2008, 01:16 AM
ok, will visit SA tomorrow. so who has kangtao for 4x 500GB sata disks within S$500?

only spotted 1 set there.. be fast before it's gone..

alanchia67
17-10-2008, 01:26 AM
only spotted 1 set there.. be fast before it's gone..

yup i will. hope it's still in by friday afternoon.

etegration
17-10-2008, 06:05 AM
Hi

the price for DNS-343 is S$539 at south asia computers, is it the best price? :s13:

better than Chamoxa. :)

ck_siong
17-10-2008, 11:42 AM
Got 1 @ 539 at South Asia .... :)

alanchia67
17-10-2008, 02:49 PM
you bought the last pc. no more in sa.

ck_siong
17-10-2008, 03:33 PM
Know a vendor that sell at $549 but not at SL ....
Going to backup my drives and do a 1TB X 4 (RAID 5) this weekend ... :s12::s12::s12:

alanchia67
17-10-2008, 03:36 PM
pk is 559.

shadowandy
18-10-2008, 09:12 AM
Do update the rest on the location of the cheapest DNS-343!

alanchia67
18-10-2008, 07:58 PM
A question. On my Maxtor NAS, I have option to create folder with authorization r/rw/none. I noticed in the DNS-343 there's no 'none' option for private folder setup, just r/rw.

How do you overcome this?

quekky
18-10-2008, 11:54 PM
why you need none? it's as good as not sharing it

MsWindowsVista
19-10-2008, 01:10 AM
Hi

I have problem on mapping the drive using the easy search utility provided by D-Link. also try to map the drive manually (window explorer, map network drive) but still can not (btw, im using windows vista).

before setup the RAID, i updated the firmware to 1.02. After installed all the hard drive (4), managed to setup RAID 5 and the status also showed the volume is there.

the final step is mapping the drive, but i failed. checked from internet knew that the easy search utility came with the CD didn't work for firmware 1.02. then i go to D-Link website download new version of easy search utility, but still failed.

i can ping the drive, just can't managed to map it. so i have no way to copy file(s) to the NAS. so did you guy have this issue before, or how to resolve this? thanks.

MsWindowsVista
19-10-2008, 02:29 AM
Hi

just discovered that something very weird to the NAS...

after setup RAID 5, i restart my NAS couple times without any problem. the problem is when i restart my computer, the Volume_1 automatic disappeared. when go to status check on the drive, it showed total of 4 drive, and the RAID 5 gone. so i have to re configure to RAID 5 again. this happen couple times after restart my computer and the NAS still power on. sound like if my want to keep the NAS in good condition, i have to shutdown my NAS then i can shutdown my computer... weird right?

i have no idea is it related to the firmware or??

alanchia67
19-10-2008, 07:58 AM
why you need none? it's as good as not sharing it

yeah, the purpose is for private folders. thus these folders are not to be shared.

jaloon
19-10-2008, 03:32 PM
Arghh... missed out on this MO. Been looking for a cheap NAS with 4-5 bays with Raid5, but most are selling at 800++ for the bay alone (SS in SLS).

TS you got MO any more or not?:D $430+ is good value.:eek:

gutlink28
19-10-2008, 03:38 PM
Arghh... missed out on this MO. Been looking for a cheap NAS with 4-5 bays with Raid5, but most are selling at 800++ for the bay alone (SS in SLS).

I don't think so...

Especially when it has been officially launched in Singapore...

Come to think of it, the cheapest in Singapore is still about 100+ more exp then Shadowandy's MO...

Luckily I got one from him and until now it's running fine. :)

shadowandy
19-10-2008, 05:04 PM

Won't be doing any MO since it is available locally.

The last time round when I did the MO, I had such a hard time hitting the mass order quantity and people still PM tell me the price (S$428) is expensive. :|

Anyway, the local price isn't too expensive either, just $100++ more than the MO pricing and you get it immediately.

richneo
19-10-2008, 06:16 PM
yar lor...

made me take up 3 sets before the mo target can be met =(

then after that i also received so many pm asking me to let them have 1 set

alanchia67
20-10-2008, 06:21 PM
yar lor...

made me take up 3 sets before the mo target can be met =(

then after that i also received so many pm asking me to let them have 1 set

with multiple nas, you can do nas-to-nas backup. abit like enterprise class fail-over. haha

hijack abit, i notice after my 4 disks has spin-down (after the time limit), the temperature of the dns-343 is still about 45+-C. is this behaviour expected? other nas which i have, after spinning down, the box is cool enough to touch after awhile.

richneo
20-10-2008, 06:58 PM
with multiple nas, you can do nas-to-nas backup. abit like enterprise class fail-over. haha

hijack abit, i notice after my 4 disks has spin-down (after the time limit), the temperature of the dns-343 is still about 45+-C. is this behaviour expected? other nas which i have, after spinning down, the box is cool enough to touch after awhile.
bro what firmware are you using?

just curious

alanchia67
20-10-2008, 08:55 PM
bro what firmware are you using?

just curious

with 1.02. will monitor again later.

MsWindowsVista
21-10-2008, 10:45 AM
hi

sound like no one have a solution for my issues... but no problem, managed to settle myself.

the nas is up and run, the temp of the nas during copying files up to 49C... then after on the air con and remove the front cover drop to 44C.

now looking for better way to cool down the nas... since the nas have a USB Printer port, may use it for a USB fan.... see how effective is it...

alanchia67
21-10-2008, 12:49 PM
now looking for better way to cool down the nas... since the nas have a USB Printer port, may use it for a USB fan.... see how effective is it...

do let us know if this works.

ck_siong
21-10-2008, 02:43 PM
Mind is 45C at normal, 46 - 49C during writing .... been copying from 3 X TB HDD to this 4TB RAID 5 for 48 hours and still at 1/2 TB .... guess gonna take days before all been copied .....

MsWindowsVista
21-10-2008, 03:02 PM
hi

wow... i have 1.5TB of data need to move to the NAS from my ext usb hard drive.... :( guess time to go for gigabyte router or switch... asked the price around S$200 plus for router. :(

MsWindowsVista
21-10-2008, 09:27 PM
hi

copying 276GB of files to the NAS, temperature around 46-49C. after remove the front cover and added a USB fan infront, temperature drop to 43-45C. sound like is a good idea... :)

guess if get a good USB fan, sure the temperature will drop lower. :)

believe that keep temperature low will good for the NAS and the hard drive. so guys, do you have better idea to cool down the NAS... :s13:

alanchia67
22-10-2008, 01:07 AM
hi

wow... i have 1.5TB of data need to move to the NAS from my ext usb hard drive.... :( guess time to go for gigabyte router or switch... asked the price around S$200 plus for router. :(

switch or router for S$200? your pc already gigabit enabled?

andylee1986
22-10-2008, 05:46 PM
wonder anyone moving from 323 to 343 and wanna sell off their 323?
let me know!

MsWindowsVista
23-10-2008, 01:55 PM
switch or router for S$200? your pc already gigabit enabled?

hi

yes, my computer was a gigabyte port... quoted from SLS shop, D-Link gigabit router around S$200 plus.

i didn't really check on the price for gigabytes router yet, since i don't need it currently.

Teaken
01-11-2008, 12:29 AM
guys, any update on which shop is selling? :)

archish
01-11-2008, 06:44 PM
does this device support bittorrent?

alanchia67
01-11-2008, 08:38 PM
shops in sls and funan.

Teaken
01-11-2008, 11:47 PM
i got another brand instead. =:p

MsWindowsVista
03-11-2008, 02:18 PM
i got another brand instead. =:p

so what brand and model you brought? mind to share your experience on it??

Teaken
03-11-2008, 02:31 PM
so what brand and model you brought? mind to share your experience on it??i got synology CS407. Yet to fix it up, cos hdd yet to arrive. :D

ck_siong
03-11-2008, 04:41 PM
Got stock at South Asia ... just saw it....
Got my NAS running with all my files transferred complete. :)
Anyway writing speed 7 MB/s

richneo
03-11-2008, 04:46 PM
u not using gigabit?

alanchia67
03-11-2008, 10:27 PM

price at $569?

Teaken
03-11-2008, 11:12 PM
price at $569?yes. More ex den sls. Try to go sls and look ard. :yawn: I saw cheaper ones while looking for NAS.

MsWindowsVista
04-11-2008, 05:35 PM
Hi

wow... was in my list when searching for NAS, but go for DNS-343 deal to price. :)
interested to heard from you after fixed the machine.

i got synology CS407. Yet to fix it up, cos hdd yet to arrive. :D

i got it at $548 couple weeks ago in SLS, the last one from the store. lucky me....

price at $569?

yes, average writing speed around 7-8 MB/s. heard if using gigabit router, the speed will go up to 17 MB/s right?

PsyNidE
04-11-2008, 06:13 PM
i got synology CS407. Yet to fix it up, cos hdd yet to arrive. :D
how much did you get the synology CS407 for?

Teaken
04-11-2008, 06:15 PM
how much did you get the synology CS407 for?$848 fm Memory World.

ck_siong
07-11-2008, 08:35 AM
u not using gigabit?

Not using Gigabit switch/router .... cos not sure if invest will ready bring up the write speed ...

Anyone have tried using gigabit ?

ck_siong
07-11-2008, 08:37 AM
price at $569?

Yes, as someone say ... cheaper at SLS.
When i first saw 3 weeks ago, a shop have a few sets but at $599

Well, if u need one and only 1 set around at the shop with a little price difference ... u can visit a few times ,,,,, heehee

shadowandy
07-11-2008, 09:10 AM
Not using Gigabit switch/router .... cos not sure if invest will ready bring up the write speed ...

Anyone have tried using gigabit ?

I did a speed test on the DNS-343 back in July. I'm using a gigabit switch. Check out the results (http://www.shadowandy.net/2008/07/humble-speed-test-on-the-dns-343.htm).

jaloon
07-11-2008, 07:58 PM
I saw a few stores in SLS stocking it and was considering buying it.
$555 at Sky***
$559 at Fuw***
$529 at a lvl 5 store (on the inner rim, but not a branded shop)

The closest is the CS-407 for 800++ at SS. Anyone have better lobangs, preferably at $450 range?

blackie83
13-11-2008, 01:22 PM
Anyone knows where can i download the beta firmware?
For Active directory usage?

alanchia67
13-11-2008, 02:47 PM
active directory support is in 1.02. you can download from dlink US website.

blackie83
13-11-2008, 11:02 PM
Does the ACL function work in 1.02 ?

blurrblurr
16-12-2008, 09:35 PM
Intend to get one NAS 343 but I need to know something If now I am running mirror raid on 2 hdd. In future I going to buy 2 more hdd to run raid 5, can I just add two more HDD and change to raid 5 without any data lost?

dreamfire
16-12-2008, 10:20 PM
Intend to get one NAS 343 but I need to know something If now I am running mirror raid on 2 hdd. In future I going to buy 2 more hdd to run raid 5, can I just add two more HDD and change to raid 5 without any data lost?

you can't add on 2 more new hdds and change from RAID 1 to RAID 5 without any data loss. Its because RAID 5 will require you to format all the 4 hdds to create 3 x hdds space with 1 drive parity bit. So it is advise to copy your existing mirror datas to a temp storage space and then configure all your 4 hdds to run RAID 5.

Hope this helps :)

MsWindowsVista
17-12-2008, 03:35 PM
Hi

If DNS-343, guess is out of the question. If others professional NAS, yes you can migrate RAID 1 to RAID 5 by adding more hard drive. Some of the model for QNAP or Thecus support RAID Migration feature, but the price double compared to DLink DNS-343. :p

you can't add on 2 more new hdds and change from RAID 1 to RAID 5 without any data loss. Its because RAID 5 will require you to format all the 4 hdds to create 3 x hdds space with 1 drive parity bit. So it is advise to copy your existing mirror datas to a temp storage space and then configure all your 4 hdds to run RAID 5.

Hope this helps :)

Hi

You may consider WD ShareSpace, but functionality may be limited. NAS + 4TB hard drive only sell at S$999.00. also it only use WD hard drive, other hard drive not support and didn't work for the NAS.

I saw a few stores in SLS stocking it and was considering buying it.
$555 at Sky***
$559 at Fuw***
$529 at a lvl 5 store (on the inner rim, but not a branded shop)

The closest is the CS-407 for 800++ at SS. Anyone have better lobangs, preferably at $450 range?

just4while
18-12-2008, 01:48 PM
Does anyone know if any 4 bay NAS selling under $500 ??? This one is abit too expensive for me

shadowandy
18-12-2008, 02:05 PM
Does anyone know if any 4 bay NAS selling under $500 ??? This one is abit too expensive for me
I think the price would drop to below 500 once 5 bays and above drop in price or 4 bays become obselete.

richneo
18-12-2008, 02:47 PM
buy 2 bay if u do not have budget.

a 4-bay nas is not supposed to be in the range of around 500 in the first place.

some 2-bay nas is already 400 plus close to 500

gunpla143
19-12-2008, 10:55 AM
Would like check (those with same setup) how much free space after formatting in ext3 for 4 x I TB disks setup under raid 5, calculations should have 2793.96Gb free but only get around 2670+ GB. Is it due to the filesystem ext3 compared to ext2?:s11:

alanchia67
20-12-2008, 12:57 AM
should be, as ext3 has a internal journaling system. i left mine in ext2 for performance reasons.

MsWindowsVista
20-12-2008, 11:33 AM

Hi

you may consider S$999.00 WD ShareSpace, it came with 4TB (4X1 TB). you can do the math, after minus the hard drive price it fall into your budget. like i mention on my previously posted, the nas have limited function and ONLY use WD hard drive.

elt22
20-12-2008, 12:14 PM
Hi

you may consider S$999.00 WD ShareSpace, it came with 4TB (4X1 TB). you can do the math, after minus the hard drive price it fall into your budget. like i mention on my previously posted, the nas have limited function and ONLY use WD hard drive.

Which shops are selling the WD ShareSpace?

Thanks

zenkinz
02-01-2009, 01:07 PM
i assume this dlink has upnp media function. how's it support like for PS3, in terms of the video format that it supports? some media server only supports MPEG2 video, I have videos that are encoded either in XVID, DIVX or H.264/MP4 format, so I hope these are also supported.

richneo
02-01-2009, 02:55 PM
i assume this dlink has upnp media function. how's it support like for PS3, in terms of the video format that it supports? some media server only supports MPEG2 video, I have videos that are encoded either in XVID, DIVX or H.264/MP4 format, so I hope these are also supported.
i think this is dependant on ps3 rite?

alanchia67
02-01-2009, 10:21 PM
no, it depends on the media server on the file types it will parse.

http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=2707.0

zenkinz
05-01-2009, 04:28 PM
no, it depends on the media server on the file types it will parse.

http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=2707.0

yes, it depends on the media server on how it parse the media files to the client (although the client must also be able to play the desire unless the server performs some trans-encoding processes)

from the list you have given, it doesn't seem that they support XVID or DIVX container? Did you have problem playing videos capture by digital cams (usually saved in AVI container although I think the format is usually MPEG-2)

more information is appreciated before I plunge my $$ in my next NAS. The ismart is almost ideal except that the sales couldn't be more specific with the media server function (and it sounded like it will be very basic)

MsWindowsVista
06-01-2009, 02:49 PM
Which shops are selling the WD ShareSpace?

Thanks

hi

sorry for late reply, been busy with all the celebration. :)

I have no idea which shop selling the item, but it offer at the SITEC late year Nov... :p

alanchia67
06-01-2009, 03:02 PM
from the list you have given, it doesn't seem that they support XVID or DIVX container? Did you have problem playing videos capture by digital cams (usually saved in AVI container although I think the format is usually MPEG-2)

i dont have any media to test.

i belief dlink nas av upnp server is from mediabolic (maxtor also uses this product). thus develop would be with mediabolic and not dlink.

rich26me
09-01-2009, 06:51 AM
hi

My DNS323 is weird.
I have Gigabit network all round and using cat5E cabling. NAS refused to run at 1GB it try then fall back to 100Mb. The Cable is only 1.8M long. I took a chance to connect it with a 2M cat6 cable and voila! it is running at 1GB. It can work with the Desktop and Notebook in the same room but not with those in the other rooms:( Now I'm not sure if I change the 25M cabling to the other rooms to cat6 can work or not. It is too much work but maybe I'll just dangle on the floor to test first as cost of a cable is not too much. Can work is more important.

CyberTron
09-01-2009, 08:53 AM
Is ya cat 5e cable manufactured ones or self crimped? I use cat 5e cable and no problem running at gigabit speed. Could be ya cat 5e cable a bit crappy or ya switch.

zenkinz
12-01-2009, 04:38 PM
anybody knows how much is it retail now locally?

ebay/amazon price is $400 USD ... doesn't sound any cheaper than if I were to purchase locally.

travirjir
12-01-2009, 07:34 PM
yeah..anyone knows how much is it selling for in SLS, or anyone selling theirs or wanna exchange with dns 323? :D

jaloon
12-01-2009, 07:46 PM
I guess some shops will let go at $525++, but I got it even lower than that because of a pricing error (they are still earning quite a bit at $525).

zenkinz
13-01-2009, 01:46 AM
may I know how much you got yours?

CyberTron
17-01-2009, 09:45 AM
In case anyone is interested, a new beta firmware for the dns 343 is out that supports 1.5TB harddisks in raid mode...

yeah!! Finally can put my 4 x 1.5TB to action :)

http://support.dlink.com/products/view.asp?productid=DNS%2D343

hangyong
23-01-2009, 04:35 PM

just got the DNS343 and am trying to transfer the files over from the 323 to the 343.

However, in the scheduled download mode, I am note able to do so.

Method1:

In my 323, I have enabled ftp to root access.

in the 343, I entered the user name and password, then the ftp path of ftp://192.168.1.2/Volume_1/MP3, and tested ok. Files to be copied to Volume_1\from323 in 343.

saved the config, runs, and nothing gets copied. not even a directory is created in Volume_1\from323.

tried using "all users", same thing.

Methd 2:

Give Network Access to "all users" to root in 323.

in 343, I entered username and password, then use \\192.168.1.2\Volume_1\MP3, and tested ok. Files to be copied to Volume_1\from323 in 343.

saved teh config, runs, a directory "MP3" is created, and no files are copied. Almost immediately, the "downloading" icon changed to a "O" in the status column.

tried "all users" same thing.

Method 3:

Telnet into 343.

tried wget, it has to be individual files, cannot download by folders.

Am I doing something wrong here? Please help.

alanchia67
23-01-2009, 05:00 PM
woa i not so advanced. used a pc to do copy/paste from my previous nases into the 343. spent days.

hangyong
23-01-2009, 10:42 PM
woa i not so advanced. used a pc to do copy/paste from my previous nases into the 343. spent days.

that why I thinking of other faster solution... haha

hangyong
23-01-2009, 10:43 PM
I was following shadowandy's steps to set up transmission 1.42, and all went well.

However, how can I change the GUI to another port other than 9091?

Anyone any idea?

coldboy
23-01-2009, 11:03 PM
telnet in and type "transmission-daemon -p <port>"

hangyong
23-01-2009, 11:23 PM
telnet in and type "transmission-daemon -p <port>"

once done, would it be permanant or do I have to set ip everytime?

I believe I will have to kickweb as well, if I want it to run on port 80, right?

shadowandy
23-01-2009, 11:31 PM
once done, would it be permanant or do I have to set ip everytime?

I believe I will have to kickweb as well, if I want it to run on port 80, right?

Edit the transmission.sh located at /ffp/start . Yes, you are right on the kickweb part.

alanchia67
24-01-2009, 08:23 PM
anyone needs all versions of dns343 firmware? 1.00, 1.01, 1.02?

they are available here

http://tsd.dlink.com.tw/

AReality
31-01-2009, 10:28 PM
Hi all!

Got a problem with my new DNS-343.

I just got it a few hrs ago. I switched it on, and it displays "System is booting....", the dots count along but nothing else happens, even after an hour. With and without any HDDs.

I loaded the D-Link Easy Search utility software, it displays the device, but the configuration button is greyed out.

Anyone encountered this problem before?

Oh, the 343 is directly connected to my PC using the provided ethernet cable.

Thanks.

alanchia67
01-02-2009, 01:03 AM
something is wrong, it should finish booting with status page on oled. just try your luck - dont connect the nas to the ethernet cable at all, see does it work.

AReality
01-02-2009, 08:56 PM
something is wrong, it should finish booting with status page on oled. just try your luck - dont connect the nas to the ethernet cable at all, see does it work.
Thanks.

I reset the NAS to factory default and connected it to my wireless router, and now it's working; copied some files over at 50kBps. :-S

But when I connect to it directly to my Vista desktop, I can't access it. I know it has something to do with Vista, anyone know how to solve?

I tried the "Internet Connection Sharing", but then it disconnects me from my internet.

Thanks

butterbarter
01-02-2009, 11:07 PM
Thanks.

I reset the NAS to factory default and connected it to my wireless router, and now it's working; copied some files over at 50kBps. :-S

But when I connect to it directly to my Vista desktop, I can't access it. I know it has something to do with Vista, anyone know how to solve?

I tried the "Internet Connection Sharing", but then it disconnects me from my internet.

Thanks

The NAS is actually a computer (running Linux). So, to connect it to your laptop is the same as connecting 2 computers together : you'll need a ethernet CROSS cable, not a straight cable. The cross cable connects the DATA OUT lines of 1 computer to the DATA IN lines of the other computer. If you use a straight cable, then data out goes to data out and data in goes to data in, which does not make sense to the computers.

The fact that it works when you use a regular straight cable and connect it to your router shows that the DNS343 is actually OK.

I currently have a DNS-323 and I love it. It's hooked up to my wifi router and acts as my printer server as well. Fantastic. But I'm running out of space so I'm now considering either buying a DNS 343, or buying another DNS 323, or, buying a low power PC and using it as a file server. Not sure which route I will take yet. What do you guys think ?

gamma7sg
01-02-2009, 11:32 PM
The NAS is actually a computer (running Linux). So, to connect it to your laptop is the same as connecting 2 computers together : you'll need a ethernet CROSS cable, not a straight cable. The cross cable connects the DATA OUT lines of 1 computer to the DATA IN lines of the other computer. If you use a straight cable, then data out goes to data out and data in goes to data in, which does not make sense to the computers.

The fact that it works when you use a regular straight cable and connect it to your router shows that the DNS343 is actually OK.

I currently have a DNS-323 and I love it. It's hooked up to my wifi router and acts as my printer server as well. Fantastic. But I'm running out of space so I'm now considering either buying a DNS 343, or buying another DNS 323, or, buying a low power PC and using it as a file server. Not sure which route I will take yet. What do you guys think ?

how 'about buying a larger harddisk capacity for your 323?

zenkinz
05-02-2009, 11:10 PM
does anybody know if twonkmedia server will work on 343? There's a installation pack for 323, but I can't find the same for 343.

hangyong
11-02-2009, 09:38 AM
just wondering guys... am I able to have the following config on the 343?

Disk 0 (standard 1 disk)
Disk 1, 2, and 3 (RAID 5)

am thinking of it coz if I use it to BT, with all 4 disk in RAID 5, then all 4 disks will be powered up at the same time, wasting energy.

If the above config is possible, only disk 0 will be powered up, and when video or files is needed in the RAID array, then it will be powered up, thus saving energy.

richneo
11-02-2009, 10:22 AM
just wondering guys... am I able to have the following config on the 343?

Disk 0 (standard 1 disk)
Disk 1, 2, and 3 (RAID 5)

am thinking of it coz if I use it to BT, with all 4 disk in RAID 5, then all 4 disks will be powered up at the same time, wasting energy.

If the above config is possible, only disk 0 will be powered up, and when video or files is needed in the RAID array, then it will be powered up, thus saving energy.
when u add disk that time during formating u can choose rite?

insert first hdd and remaining 3 empty, format first hdd as standard

insert the remaining 3 hdd, format as raid 5 while first hdd is still intact

then u have standard in volume 1, raid 5 in volume 2

etegration
13-02-2009, 11:48 PM
if i run a 1 tera hdd to a 323 now as a JBOD than add another 1 tera at a later time to RAID 1, will i need to format the raid 1 array or i can build that array from the old 1 tera?

kennyg1969
14-02-2009, 12:16 AM
if i run a 1 tera hdd to a 323 now as a JBOD than add another 1 tera at a later time to RAID 1, will i need to format the raid 1 array or i can build that array from the old 1 tera?

u running a 343 or 323 becos if u are on 323, u have post it in a 343..

Btw, if u are running a 323 and have a single 1TB Hdd, why are u running on JBOD? JBOD is primary used for spanning 2 or more disk...

leonaheidern
14-02-2009, 04:11 PM
Hi all.

I'm interested in setting up an NAS

However my concern is the price I have to cough up.

Lets say I buy the DNS-343 and a Hard Disk the first time

Will I be able to RAID/ Replicate the data to a 2nd hard disk once I save up enough Money and so on until I have all 4 harddisks inside.

Or do I immediately need all 4 hard disks inside for replication to work?

Thanks

butterbarter
14-02-2009, 06:29 PM
If you start with 1 disk, the DNS-323/343 will only see it as a simple volume and format it as such. If you add more more disks later for RAID, it CANNOT simply convert ur 1st disk into part of the RAID. To do so, you will have to REFORMAT the first disk. You'll have to see if this is acceptable to you.

Hi all.

I'm interested in setting up an NAS

However my concern is the price I have to cough up.

Lets say I buy the DNS-343 and a Hard Disk the first time

Will I be able to RAID/ Replicate the data to a 2nd hard disk once I save up enough Money and so on until I have all 4 harddisks inside.

Or do I immediately need all 4 hard disks inside for replication to work?

Thanks

leonaheidern
15-02-2009, 12:17 PM
ah ok. so I'm looking at at least 2 hard disks for raiding capability before i purchase the set.

Guess I really have to save up first. Thanks

Visionaries
11-03-2009, 11:06 AM
I have a big problem with my DNS-343. My RAID 5 configuration is gone, and now the status page just show I got 4 drives, with no Volume_1.

Sequence of event:
1. Discover one of my drive failed.
2. Powered down, and Power up again. Drive is detected. Seems okie, so proceed to resync. Saw it need 400+ minutes, so I just left it running.
3. Discover next day, Volume_1 still accessable but all the folders in the NAS are empty. Directory structure still there.
4. Drive status shows RAID5 Degraded
5. Reboot the NAS, and now the NAS shows no RAID configured and Volume_1 is not accessable anymore from my computer.
6. I suspect I need to reconfigure the RAID5 from scratch, but that will destroy all data. So how?

Your advice is appreciated!

t3zuka
11-03-2009, 12:23 PM
your answer can be found in the first post "Fixing degraded RAID 5 array on DNS-343"

just4while
12-03-2009, 06:02 PM
Hello,

I am upgrading from my dlink 323 to 343. I have 2 HD with raid 1 on my 323. Will my new 343 recognize the raid 1 if i just plug the 2 HD into it?

Thanks in advance for the tips.

Rgds

alanchia67
13-03-2009, 01:58 AM
I have a big problem with my DNS-343. My RAID 5 configuration is gone, and now the status page just show I got 4 drives, with no Volume_1.

what is the firmware version? 1.02/1.02A?

BobaFett
13-03-2009, 06:17 PM
Just got 2 units of Dlink 343 at the IT Show for $349 each. :D

richneo
13-03-2009, 06:24 PM
...... 2 units....

albertlee
13-03-2009, 09:36 PM
Hello,

I am upgrading from my dlink 323 to 343. I have 2 HD with raid 1 on my 323. Will my new 343 recognize the raid 1 if i just plug the 2 HD into it?

Thanks in advance for the tips.

Rgds
According to the Dlink guy over at IT Show, the raid volume on 323 is not compatible with 343 and it will prompt to reformat.

BobaFett
14-03-2009, 07:07 PM
Anyone using 4x 1.5TB on the Dlink 343? If so, what firmware version?

alanchia67
14-03-2009, 07:32 PM
Just got 2 units of Dlink 343 at the IT Show for $349 each. :D

huh? i thought dns-343 is $549 each?

alanchia67
14-03-2009, 07:33 PM
According to the Dlink guy over at IT Show, the raid volume on 323 is not compatible with 343 and it will prompt to reformat.

calling richneo/shadowandy for comment..

larrylaw5
14-03-2009, 08:53 PM
friday .. first 30 customer at 1pm can buy it at $349 instead of $529

richneo
14-03-2009, 09:28 PM
calling richneo/shadowandy for comment..
yar officially need to reformat

MarineX
15-03-2009, 01:15 AM
If you start with 1 disk, the DNS-323/343 will only see it as a simple volume and format it as such. If you add more more disks later for RAID, it CANNOT simply convert ur 1st disk into part of the RAID. To do so, you will have to REFORMAT the first disk. You'll have to see if this is acceptable to you.

eh, my DNS-343 works fine... w/o any format. which alot of ppl says.

from single HDD to RAID 1.

techstuff
15-03-2009, 11:08 PM

Sequence of event:
1. Discover one of my drive failed.
2. Powered down, and Power up again. Drive is detected. Seems okie, so proceed to resync. Saw it need 400+ minutes, so I just left it running.
3. Discover next day, Volume_1 still accessable but all the folders in the NAS are empty. Directory structure still there.
4. Drive status shows RAID5 Degraded
5. Reboot the NAS, and now the NAS shows no RAID configured and Volume_1 is not accessable anymore from my computer.
6. I suspect I need to reconfigure the RAID5 from scratch, but that will destroy all data. So how?

Your advice is appreciated!

Did u manage to recover the data? let us know

turbocharged
16-03-2009, 10:36 AM
Hi guys,

I'm new to the DNS 343. Got it from ITS also together with the 885 router.
Set up was a breeze as I asked the staff at teh ITS to format and do RAID 5 for me.

Plugged and played after powering up with old router.
Then I setup the new router, also just plug and play without much playing around the configuration. Jus changed the Volume name, tried adding a test user and group but that's it. NO quota setting or anything.

Mapped the drive also to Z:

My laptop running Win XP no problem accessing internet.
My PC on XP Pro was unable to access and after playing around with the network setting, internet ok. But cannot access the NAS.

Reboot again same same. Now I reboot the NAS while it was at 40degC. After powering OFF, it did not turn on again but simply have the fans blowing.. I thought ok, maybe 343 cannot even handle 40degC (sucks!) so need to cool down before it will allow turning on again? Cannot even stop the fan by pushing the power button so hard OFF with removing the cable. ON it again and same, fan running, HDD spinning but no activity on the OLED.

Went to sleep.. Next morning, turn it ON and alive! Damn it. But still, cannot access the NAS from my PC or laptop or Mac..

How? The FW is 1.01. The configuration is grey out now. BUt it can detect the volume

alanchia67
16-03-2009, 02:09 PM
upgrade to firmware 1.02A.

turbocharged
16-03-2009, 10:09 PM
downloaded.. how to patch?

turbocharged
17-03-2009, 12:27 AM
Argh.. last resort, hit that reset button on the NAS and have all previous config erased, and restored to default. Finally able to see and run the configuration again where the update firmware option is there..

turbocharged
17-03-2009, 12:31 AM
gurus, ask you a qn. There is this web_page on NAS. Is it to host a web like a server? If it is not given public access, it will run like intranet?

MarineX
17-03-2009, 01:25 AM
my stupid DNS-343 delete my files when i switch from Standard to RAID 1... without informing a ****. dumb...

why cant it be like my DNS-323 where it auto prompt to change to RAID 1 without any formatting when i from Standard then increase another harddisk.

DNS-323: Standard with 1 harddisk... bought another harddisk DNS-323 prompt to use Standard or RAID 1... thus I've select RAID1 it format the new drive and reconfig to RAID 1 and rebuild.

DNS-343: Standard with 1 harddisk... insert my other harddisk, select RAID 1... mentioned "this will configure your harddisk to RAID1" did not state any thing about deleting of DATAs...! And I've been so careful not to select the wrong thing.

DUMB.

BobaFett
20-03-2009, 03:56 PM
upgrade to firmware 1.02A.

Can you provide the url to download firmware v1.02A? Thanks.

richneo
20-03-2009, 05:03 PM
Can you provide the url to download firmware v1.02A? Thanks.
http://support.dlink.com

CyberTron
21-03-2009, 01:18 AM
Anyone tot of overclocking their dns 343?

jjs_sg
30-03-2009, 04:19 PM
need some advise here.
if I can get two HD (meaning disk 1 and 2)and do a RAID 1 (so disk 2 will be mirrored) now then decide to buy another two (disk 3 and 4) to form a 3 disks RAID 5 later (disk 2,3 and 4), will I be able to keep my data on first disk ?

jaloon
30-03-2009, 07:48 PM
Raid-expansion is not supported (ie you cannot do so). Careful, if you attempt convert without backing up your data elsewhere it will be destroyed.

Godzila
31-03-2009, 07:10 PM
hi everyone,

have anyone use the 343 as a web server ?

if so , any heads up the process/steps needed ?

btw does StarHub allow such setup ?

thanks in advance

MarineX
31-03-2009, 07:30 PM
hi everyone,

have anyone use the 343 as a web server ?

if so , any heads up the process/steps needed ?

btw does StarHub allow such setup ?

thanks in advance

can, making use of DDNS.

jjs_sg
01-04-2009, 10:29 AM
has anyone tried configing disk 1 as normal storage for BT download and Disk 2,3 and 4 as raid 5 storage using this DNS-343 box ? I wonder if it works. i remember a pal here suggested this but no feedback if he is able to do that.

I called the DLINK support and they said they are not sure and wtill try it out. 1 week gone but no news from them.

aeng
01-04-2009, 12:18 PM
seems to be possible...

http://www.smallnetbuilder.com/content/view/30535/75/1/1/

RAID Options

The main thing that the 343 brings to the party is RAID 5 capability. Figure 4 shows that the 343 (along with the 321 and 323) allows you to create two volumes if you like using the Custom Configuration option. You just select the primary volume (RAID 0, 1 or 5), set its capacity and the remaining space will become a JBOD volume.

turbocharged
04-04-2009, 11:05 AM
can, making use of DDNS.

Bro, any free service to recommend? Want to avoid spams and unwanted stuff..

shadowandy
04-04-2009, 01:15 PM
Bro, any free service to recommend? Want to avoid spams and unwanted stuff..

dyndns.org ?

just4while
07-04-2009, 10:11 AM
Hi all,

Does anyone knows if 343 supports 1.5TB harddisk?

jjs_sg
07-04-2009, 10:34 AM
according to the tech support from Dlink, yes, DNS-343 support 1.5TB HD though firmware 1.02 is required.

just4while
07-04-2009, 10:49 AM
according to the tech support from Dlink, yes, DNS-343 support 1.5TB HD though firmware 1.02 is required.

tks for the info ! time to build my 6TB NAS !!

CyberTron
07-04-2009, 01:53 PM
Why stop at 6TB? Supposedly the firmware should work with 2TB hdd too

jjs_sg
07-04-2009, 02:06 PM

Haha... here comes the bone-deep virus.... :s22:

MarineX
07-04-2009, 03:19 PM

i tot u have 2TB HDD? test it and let us know ? hahahas. Wanted to buy from you but the price puts me away... not saying that yours is eX.. just that the amount is.. not suitable for me - period. hahas.

CyberTron
08-04-2009, 12:39 AM
nope...currently running 4 x seagate 1.5TB... have another spare dns-343 waiting to fill it up with 4 x 2TB when prices drop to around $300 a pc :)

.Mocca.
08-04-2009, 10:38 PM

Not true, I installed 2x seagate 1.5TB RAID 1 with no problem using default 1.01 firmware out of the box.

jjs_sg
08-04-2009, 11:39 PM
Not true, I installed 2x seagate 1.5TB RAID 1 with no problem using default 1.01 firmware out of the box.

Well, I am not sure though. That's what the tech support guy told me. I called previously to ask them if I could set disk 1 to normal and disk 2,3 and 4 later for Raid 5.They tried and the answer is yes. I asked them about the 1.5TB support since I am still considering 1TB or 1.5TB setup.

richneo
09-04-2009, 09:19 AM
it is not wrong to say 1.02 firmware is officially supported for 1.5tb

in usa forum some users experienced formatting failed while setting up new hard disk and thus 1.02 officially solves that issue to support 1.5tb and above

CyberTron
09-04-2009, 09:25 AM
Only the beta 1.02a firmware supports 1.5TB fully in the sense you can run 4 x 1.5TB in raid 5. I believe the previous 1.02 version can also detect 1.5TB but will have problem creating raid > 4TB. Pre-1.02a, people have workaround the limit using 4 x 1.5TB in raid 5, but only can use 4TB instead of 4.5TB.

just4while
10-04-2009, 04:10 PM
Now i have 2x 1TB . Can i just put those 2 in and configure a raid 1 and at a later time add another 2 in to configure another raid 1 ??

richneo
10-04-2009, 05:03 PM
Now i have 2x 1TB . Can i just put those 2 in and configure a raid 1 and at a later time add another 2 in to configure another raid 1 ??
yes

when u add another 2 new hdd, it will prompt u if u wan to set new raid 0, 1, 5 or jbod or standard

or redo raid for all 4 hdd

just4while
10-04-2009, 05:11 PM
tks for the reply !! But now i have another problem. When i insert my newly 1tb hitachi HD, the LED show number "1" and "2" flashing. When i go into the config page, it says 0 HD. Anyone encountered this issue before?

just4while
10-04-2009, 05:32 PM
by the way, i slot it in bay 1 and 2. though i do not know if it makes a diff

just4while
10-04-2009, 06:14 PM
by the way, i slot it in bay 1 and 2. though i do not know if it makes a diff

Ok. I solved the problem just by upgrading the firmware from 1.01 to 1.02.

larrylaw5
13-04-2009, 12:39 AM
Total Drive(s): 4
Volume Name: Volume_1
Volume Type: RAID 5
Sync Time Remaining: Completed
Total Hard Drive Capacity: 1883388 MB
Used Space: 33 MB
Unused Space: 1883355 MB

Volume Name: Volume_2
Volume Type: JBOD
Total Hard Drive Capacity: 2784 MB
Used Space: 33 MB
Unused Space: 2750 MB

Guys .. i running raid 5 for all my 4 640GB drives.. why do i get a volume 2 JBOD drive that uses near 3GB? is that normal ??

larrylaw5
13-04-2009, 07:22 PM
anyone????

just4while
16-04-2009, 11:26 PM
Ok. I solved the problem just by upgrading the firmware from 1.01 to 1.02.

After playing with it for a few days, i realise the problem is still there. I need to reboot the 343 from the config page before it can recognize my harddisk and i also discovered that this problem is specific to hitachi HDD. I have no problems with seagate HDD. Damn. should not have bought the hitachi.

Helpdesk gave me 1.03 beta to try but i doubt it will help.

just4while
16-04-2009, 11:28 PM
Hi guys,

got another question, may i know if RAID 1 is bay specific. Which means if i have a raid 1 on bay 1 and bay 2 (the top 2). When the 343 recognize the raid 1 if i move it to bay 3 and 4 (bottom 2)

kivine
17-05-2009, 06:21 PM
a qn, can i put in a file > 2GB? i heard that ext2fs as a file size limit and was wondering whether this applies too.