PDA

View Full Version : Gaming Laptop: Hp dv5-1036 against Acer Aspire 5930

HelloWorld123
11-08-2008, 01:32 PM
Hi everyone,

Like to have your view on the mentioned 2 models (especially from proud owners of these models)

Basically, looking for a gaming and multi-media laptop. The 2 model’s specifications are the same for CPU, Graphics Card and Hard disk space (T9400, Nvidia 9600GT, 320GB),
Acer has 1 additional GB RAM compare with HP. But HP model come with integrated TV (digital/analogue) tuner

Acer’s weight is about 3.1 kg compare with Hp’s weight of 2.7kg. Hp’s model is also smaller in size compare with Acer

The prices (without any special promotion) are: Hp - $2599, Acer $2898.

It seems that specification and price-wise Hp model is the better choice.

However it seems that the left palm rest area of Hp’s model is really much more warmer than the Acer model. (Both displaying some advertising video). (I have personally check, see and feel both product at Funan),

Hence is quite uncertain whether to go ahead to buy the hp model. As I do play 3D game and will be resting my left palm on the laptop for the WSAD keys.

Have also been looking through the internet on feedback for these 2 HP and Acer models, however, views are scarce as both are just newly launch products.

In other countries, HP and Acer launch the models with different specifications hence I dun really value the oversea’s reviews.

Hope to hear your views so that I can decide what to buy. Thanks!!!!

By the way, am avoiding all laptops with graphics from the Nvidia 8400, 8600 series as Nvidia has acknowledged that they have delivered faulty cards (that will fail due to overheating) to various laptop producers.

Also heard horror stories of Acer products in terms of quality and maintenance. However recently it seems that HP is no better, and they have their share of problem products and lousy customer care.

scytheavatar
11-08-2008, 01:58 PM
Hi everyone,

Like to have your view on the mentioned 2 models (especially from proud owners of these models)

Basically, looking for a gaming and multi-media laptop. The 2 model’s specifications are the same for CPU, Graphics Card and Hard disk space (T9400, Nvidia 9600GT, 320GB),
Acer has 1 additional GB RAM compare with HP. But HP model come with integrated TV (digital/analogue) tuner

Acer’s weight is about 3.1 kg compare with Hp’s weight of 2.7kg. Hp’s model is also smaller in size compare with Acer

The prices (without any special promotion) are: Hp - $2599, Acer $2898.

It seems that specification and price-wise Hp model is the better choice.

However it seems that the left palm rest area of Hp’s model is really much more warmer than the Acer model. (Both displaying some advertising video). (I have personally check, see and feel both product at Funan),

Hence is quite uncertain whether to go ahead to buy the hp model. As I do play 3D game and will be resting my left palm on the laptop for the WSAD keys.

Have also been looking through the internet on feedback for these 2 HP and Acer models, however, views are scarce as both are just newly launch products.

In other countries, HP and Acer launch the models with different specifications hence I dun really value the oversea’s reviews.

Hope to hear your views so that I can decide what to buy. Thanks!!!!

By the way, am avoiding all laptops with graphics from the Nvidia 8400, 8600 series as Nvidia has acknowledged that they have delivered faulty cards (that will fail due to overheating) to various laptop producers.

Also heard horror stories of Acer products in terms of quality and maintenance. However recently it seems that HP is no better, and they have their share of problem products and lousy customer care.

The only lousy HP service I have heard of is for their printers, which is really CMI. I have heard of nothing but good experiences with HP laptop service.

SomeFormOFhuman
11-08-2008, 03:34 PM
Hi I am having a quick break now, and I love to help you out on choosing the right gaming laptop and what you should really consider before buying. I got alot to explain about.

I'm now in a quick mode, and I'm running late at the moment, so could you provide the specifications thoroughly of HP's and Acer and list em' down here?

There are alot that I wish to explain to you later in the day.

HelloWorld123
11-08-2008, 04:01 PM

The specs for the Hp dv5-1036 model is as follows:

Processor type
dv5-1036tx: Intel® Centrino® 2 processor technology
• Intel® Core™2 Duo Processor T9400
• 2.53 GHz , Level 2 cache 6 MB, 1066 MHz FSB
• Wireless LAN 802.11a/b/g/n

Operating system installed
Genuine Windows Vista® Home Premium 32-bit

Standard memory
dv5-1036tx: 3072 MB

Memory type
DDR2 800 MHz

Memory layout
dv5-1036tx: (1 x 1024 MB + 1 x 2048 MB)

Maximum memory
Supports up to 8 GB DDR2 memory

Internal drives
Internal hard disk drive
dv5-1036tx: 320 GB

Hard disk controller
SATA Hard Disk Drive

Hard disk drive speed
5400 rpm

Optical drive type
Blu-Ray ROM with SuperMulti DVD±R/RW Double Layer

System features
Memory card device
5-in-1 integrated Digital Media Reader for Secure Digital cards, MultiMedia cards, Memory Stick, Memory Stick Pro, or xD Picture cards

Modem
High speed 56K modem

Network interface
Integrated 10/100/1000 Gigabit Ethernet LAN

Wireless technologies
Wireless LAN 802.11a/b/g/n

Wireless capability
Bluetooth® wireless networking

External I/O ports
4 USB 2.0 (4th shared with eSATA port), 1 HDMI connector, 1 eSATA Combo, 1 VGA port, 1 RJ-11, 1 RJ45 ethernet connector, 2 headphones-out, 1 mic-in, 1 IEEE 1394, Expansion Port 3, Consumer IR, Integrated Fingerprint reader, AC Adapter

Video capture interface
IEEE 1394 FireWire® Interface

Expansion slots
One ExpressCard/54 slot (also supports ExpressCard/34)

Display size
15.4" WXGA High-Definition AG Display

Display resolution
1280 x 800

Video adapter
NVIDIA GeForce 9600M GT

Video RAM
512 MB dedicated memory

TV tuner
HP Integrated DVB-T/Analog TV Tuner

Speakers and microphone
Altec Lansing® speakers

Keyboard
101 key compatible keyboard

Pointing device
Touch Pad with On/Off button and dedicated vertical Scroll Up/Down pad, 1 Quick Launch Button

Webcam
HP Pavilion Webcam with Integrated Digital Microphone

Power supply type
90 W AC Power Adapter

Dimensions / weight / warranty
Weight
2.65kg

Dimensions (W x D x H)
35.7 cm (W) x 25.9 cm (D) x 3.49 cm (min H) / 4.19 cm (max H)

Package dimensions (W x D x H)
415 x 160 x345 mm

Warranty statement
1 year, parts and labour

===============================================

The Acer Aspire 5930 model specifications are as follows:

Operating System Genuine Microsoft® Windows Vista® Home Premium

Processor and Core Logic Intel® Centrino® 2 processor technology
Intel® Core™2 Duo processor P9400 (2.53GHz Processor), supporting Intel® 64 architecture
Intel® PM45 Express Chipset

System Memory 4GB DDR II RAM, Dual-channel DDR II SDRAM support, upgradeable to 4GB using dual soDIMM modules

Display/Graphics 15.4" WXGA Acer CrystalBrite™ TFT LCD, 1280 x 800 pixel resolution, 16.7 million colours, 16:10 viewing ratio, supporting simultaneous multi-window viewing on dual displays via Acer GridVista™
nVidia® GeForce® 9600M GT with up to 2303MB of TurboCache™ (512MB of dedicated GDDR III VRAM), up to 1791 MB of shared system memory), supporting nVidia® PureVideo™ HD technology, OpenEXR High Dynamic-Range (HDR) technology, Shader Model 4.0, Microsoft® DirectX® 10
Dual independent display support
MPEG-2/DVD decoding
WMV9 (VC-1) and H.264 (AVC) decoding
HDMI™ (High-Definition Multimedia Interface) with HDCP (High-bandwidth Digital Content Protection) support
Acer Arcade™, featuring Acer CinemaVision™ and Acer ClearVision™ technologies

Storage Subsystem 320GB hard disc drive
5-in-1 card reader, supporting Secure Digital (SD), MultiMediaCard (MMC), Memory Stick® (MS), Memory Stick PRO™ (MS PRO), xD-Picture Card™ (xD)

Media Drive DVD-Super Multi Double-Layer drive (DVD+/-RW)

Dimensions & Weight 366 (W) x 274 (D) x 30/43 (H) mm
3.0 kg

Power Subsystem ACPI 3.0 CPU power management standard: supports Standby and Hibernation power-saving modes
71 W 4800 mAh 8-cell Li-ion battery pack:
- 3-hour battery life1
Acer QuicCharge™ technology:
- 80% charge in 1 hour
- 2-hour rapid charge system-off
- 3-hour charge-in-use
3-pin 90 W AC adapter
Energy Star 4.0

Keyboard and Pointing Device 88-/89-key keyboard with inverted "T" cursor layout, 2.5 mm (minimum) key travel
Touchpad pointing device with Acer Bio-Protection fingerprint reader1, featuring Acer FingerNav 4-way control function
12 function keys, four cursor keys, two Windows® keys, hotkey controls, embedded numeric keypad, international language support, independent US dollar and Euro symbol keys
Empowering Key
Easy-launch buttons: WLAN, Internet, email, Bluetooth®, Acer Arcade™
Acer MediaTouch keys: play/pause, stop, previous, next
Volume wheel

Audio Dolby®-optimized surround sound system with two built-in stereo speakers
Optimized 2nd Generation Dolby Home Theater®10 audio enhancement, featuring Dolby® Digital, Dolby® Digital Live, Dolby® Pro Logic® IIx, Dolby® Headphone, Dolby® Natural Bass, Dolby® Sound Space Expander technologies
True5.1-channel surround sound output
High Definition Audio support
S/PDIF (Sony/Philips Digital Interface) support for digital speakers
MS-Sound compatible
Acer PureZone technology with two built-in stereo microphones, featuring beam forming, echo cancellation, noise suppression technologies

Communication Interface Acer Video Conference, featuring:
- Integrated Acer Crystal Eye webcam, supporting enhanced Acer PrimaLite™ technology - Acer Video Conference Manager software, featuring Video Quality Enhancement (VQE) technology with H.264 video compression, supporting 640 x 480 resolution online video calls with drag-and-drop Picture-in-Picture (PIP) interactivity
- Acer PureZone technology
Modem: 56K ITU V.92 with PTT approval, Wake-on-Ring ready
LAN: Gigabit Ethernet, Wake-on-LAN ready
WLAN: Intel® Wireless WiFi Link 5300 (dual-band quad-mode 802.11a/b/g/Draft-N) Wi-Fi CERTIFIED® network connection, featuring MIMO technology, supporting Acer SignalUp™ with Nplify™2 wireless technology
WPAN: Bluetooth® 2.0+EDR (Enhanced Data Rate)

Privacy Control Acer Bio-Protection fingerprint solution, featuring Windows® logon, computer protection, Acer FingerLaunch, ProfileLaunch, MusicLaunch, Password Bank, MyLaunch, FingerNav
BIOS user, supervisor, HDD passwords
Kensington lock slot

I/O Interface 3 x USB 2.0 ports
1 x Acer EasyPort IV connector
1 x ExpressCard™/54 slot
1 x 5-in-1 card reader (SD™, MMC, MS, MS PRO, xD)
1 x HDMI™ port with HDCP support
1 x eSATA port
1 x Consumer infrared (CIR) port
1 x External display (VGA) port
1 x Headphone/speaker/line-out jack with S/PDIF support
1 x Microphone-in jack
1 x Line-in jack
1 x Ethernet (RJ-45) port
1 x Modem (RJ-11) port
1 x DC-in jack for AC adapter

Software Acer Empowering Technology (Acer eAudio, ePower, eDataSecurity, eRecovery, eSettings Management)
Acer Arcade™ Deluxe featuring Cinema, Album, Music, HomeMedia
Acer InstantOn Arcade
Acer Bio-Protection
Acer Crystal Eye
Acer GridVista™
Acer Launch Manager
Acer GameZone
Acer Video Conference Manager, featuring Video Quality Enhancement (VQE)
Adobe® Reader®
McAfee® Internet Security Suite
NTI Media Maker™

Optional Items2 8-cell Li-ion battery pack
3-pin 90 W AC adapter

Warranty 1-year limited local and international Traveller's (carry-in) warranty

================================

To me, both models are equipped with all the necessary "bell and whistle" for a gaming machines and at quite a reasonable price.

My main concern (Hope to hear from actual user) is the heat issue and whether pro-long gaming will cause unease on the palm rest and force me to buy an external keyboard which defeat my purpose of moving the laptop around my house easily so that I can use it as and when and where I like.

By the way, I am also impress that the Hp model comes with a blue ray drive although the screen resolution is capble of full HD.

By the way, the HP model is so popular that it is out of stock at Harvey norman and there is a waiting time of about 2 weeks before the next batch come.

1st hand experience from owner are most appreciated. Thanks!!!!

SomeFormOFhuman
11-08-2008, 07:12 PM
It doesn't matter if a first user has or not. One with many years of computer and hardware knowledge and extensive testing of the laptops will be able to guage whether if the specifications given really live up to what is advertised for and whether if they're supposed to be, what they're supposed to be.

Both of the described here are absolutely good models. However the only drawback, or concern is whether HP's 9600M GT GFX is equipped with a GDDR3 memory. Because that will make all the viable differences of your games in terms of frame rate & quality performance, energy consumption and heat emission. The Acer Aspire seem to offer a GDDR3 GFX memory in it. You might want to give HP a call or find out if that particular model uses a GDDR3, in which I doubt as I know a Blu-Ray drive + a GDDR3 GFX memory the price tag would be astronomical.

To be honest, most laptops especially 15.4s tend to heat gradually overtime as you game continually for hours. It's a normal process. It's only whether if the heat design is well suited for the components inside to vent heat is sufficient. HPs tend to heat up a long time as well to be honest. Even Dell.

Acer has been notorious of heat and built quality issues for a long time which I strongly agree and in which I can spit on it. Fortunately in our extensive product testing they have proven to be much better than what they were the last time in terms of the qualities described above in the newer releases the last few months. The 5930G is way much better than what they offered the last time especially build quality. Heat emissions has not been tested yet, so its hard to tell.

HelloWorld123
11-08-2008, 09:50 PM
Hi SomeFormOFhuman,

Thanks for the comments.

Still undecided on which model to buy. Actually was quite certain to buy the Hp dv5-1036 model until I see and feel the HP model at Funan over the National Day weekend .

The left palm rest area is really warm and the laptop is only just playing video. Shiver to think how hot the left palm area can be once fully into 3D gaming mode. Any idea how the laptop can be cooled further or is it advisable to put some silicon pad at the left palm area to rest my wrist.

Was never impress with Acer products of the past few years as like what you say, the heat will really shorten the lifespan of the Acer laptop so am still quite worried about the build and heat issue of the Acer 5930 laptop. Maybe you can elaborate further why you think that the recent series of Acer laptop have improve in terms of build and heat dissipation.

Thanks!

Any one else like to share their gaming laptop experience.

Softcore
11-08-2008, 10:11 PM
IMO, get the HP one.

Question: Max 8GB ram on the HP model???

HelloWorld123
11-08-2008, 10:24 PM
Yes, max 8GB on the Hp model.

Hp dv5 seems to be more future proof. But guess SomeFormOFhuman is right that HP graphics chip should be the DDR2 model (this is what HP offers in other countries configuration).

any idea DDR2 vs DDR3 what is the performance gain and which will give out more heat?

Porkey Ham
11-08-2008, 10:47 PM
i think it depends on the game you play on and how you define it as "good" and sufficient for your gaming needs bah... hp can also be good liao if you play lighter games. 9600 gt is a good mid-range card.

all of our comments are right in soem way, someformofhuman has his own thinking and so do we. Im an acer 5920g user for more than a year, the heat is quite tolerable. thank god i never even send to service center or get a single BSOD - yet. :s13:

the idea of ddr2 and GDDR3 will also depend on the design of the notebook as well as what he mentioned. gddr3 generally uses less power, hence less voltage, leading to less heat emission. gdd3 has alot alot of performance gain from a ddr2. alot.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/GDDR3#Advantages_of_GDDR3

quite true also. the new acers are way much better than last time acer make one. liek ****. eg, built q. and heat control for acer 6920 is better.
http://www.notebookcheck.net/Review-Acer-Aspire-6920G-Notebook.8783.0.html (see pro and con)
and
http://www.notebookreview.com/default.asp?newsID=4541&review=Acer+Aspire+6920-6422+-+Core+2+Duo+T9300+2.5+GHz+-+16

zhehao
11-08-2008, 11:21 PM
I think for a 15incher getting hot is normal.
I am sure for acer too it is also hot.
A 9600 gfx card somemore.

scytheavatar
12-08-2008, 04:50 PM
The heat really so bad that you can't tahan?

deadbench
13-08-2008, 01:26 AM
i tink acer new aspire series all got good heat emission...
i using 6920g.. whole day gaming with mp3 on and palm rest is still cool...
yes cool... maybe slight warm..due to my own hand pressing against for long hrs...however mine got ventilation everywhere...so hard to compare also...

Assault
13-08-2008, 06:46 PM
Never ever buy an Acer, the after-sales service is absolutely the worst I have ever experienced!

ballastic90
13-08-2008, 08:29 PM
Never ever buy an Acer, the after-sales service is absolutely the worst I have ever experienced!

really true
heat issues and so on

MrJacky
13-08-2008, 10:48 PM
The 9600M GT is quite a high-end card already, especially when it offers 512MB of dedicated RAM.

The main topic here is whether it's GDDR3 or DDR2. HP specifications should be quite accurate, but no harm giving them a call.

HelloWorld123
14-08-2008, 10:05 AM
Confirmed that the HP model come with 9600M GT DDR2 while Acer model come with the DD3.

Although DD3 will faster and also generate less heat but comparing the prices of the 2 models, it seems that Hp dv5-1036 is still the better buy.

Actually also thinking of getting the 17" model ie Hp dv7-1022tx. But called Hp and they say this model can order online/phone but it is still not available in Singapore for a 1st hand experience. It seems that Hp dv7 will come in later this month or early next month.

The other thing is that people on the web is say that dv7 is definetly much cooler than dv5 and the battery last longer.

The dv7 is priced at S$3099 compared with dv5 S$2599 which is a delta of S$500 just for incresaing to 17" and with a second hard disk of 250GB.

lbcben
14-08-2008, 10:43 AM
I bought 6920 1 month ago, I let the laptop run for 12 hrs, on a table...no heat at all....too much fan system inside..

ZeptoSG
14-08-2008, 02:54 PM
The 9600M GT is quite a high-end card already, especially when it offers 512MB of dedicated RAM.

The main topic here is whether it's GDDR3 or DDR2. HP specifications should be quite accurate, but no harm giving them a call.

You can compare GDDR2 vs GDDR3 now

According to the user/pro review, 9600m GT GDDR2 for the HP:

http://forum.notebookreview.com/showthread.php?t=285618

3DMark06@1280x1024=3910

According to a brief end-user review here for the Zepto Nox A15 with the 9600m GT GDDR3:

http://forum.notebookreview.com/showthread.php?t=285330&page=2

3DMark06@1280x1024=4826

CPU/RAM might play a small part in 3DMark06 scores, probably add 50-100 more.

This means performance is around 20-25% more with the 9600m GT GDDR3 inside the Nox A15 and Acer 5930.

The Acer supports up to 4GB RAM only, which is the same as our more budget-friendly Nexus A15 model.

stpaul
19-08-2008, 04:50 PM
Wah this thread really very helpful me also deciding if this hp dv5-1036tx is good as advertised. As the price compare w/ sony vaio fz series is quite a lot. one question why is the resolution 1280x800 but they say it's full HD?

MrJacky
19-08-2008, 05:04 PM
You can compare GDDR2 vs GDDR3 now

According to the user/pro review, 9600m GT GDDR2 for the HP:

http://forum.notebookreview.com/showthread.php?t=285618

3DMark06@1280x1024=3910

According to a brief end-user review here for the Zepto Nox A15 with the 9600m GT GDDR3:

http://forum.notebookreview.com/showthread.php?t=285330&page=2

3DMark06@1280x1024=4826

CPU/RAM might play a small part in 3DMark06 scores, probably add 50-100 more.

This means performance is around 20-25% more with the 9600m GT GDDR3 inside the Nox A15 and Acer 5930.

The Acer supports up to 4GB RAM only, which is the same as our more budget-friendly Nexus A15 model.
Already saw the dv5t review, I will check out the Nox one.

ryuzaki_L
24-08-2008, 12:45 PM
is there any other model for dv5 other than 1036tx and 1035tx???

MrJacky
24-08-2008, 02:18 PM
is there any other model for dv5 other than 1036tx and 1035tx???
Currently in Singapore, no.

If you want you can choose to purchase from US. They have more choices.

ryuzaki_L
24-08-2008, 05:10 PM
Currently in Singapore, no.

If you want you can choose to purchase from US. They have more choices.

wouldn't it be more expensive???i mean for the cost of shipping...

ryuzaki_L
25-08-2008, 05:20 PM
hey,is the ram given from HP 800 MHz???

MrJacky
25-08-2008, 05:56 PM
hey,is the ram given from HP 800 MHz???
Yes it is.

slack
26-08-2008, 11:57 PM
fyi, i'm now in hk for a holiday. I went to a local computer chain and they have the dv5 model without blu-ray at about S$2k with 1 year international warranty plus it comes with 4gb ram. Only thing holding me back is its gddr2

slack
27-08-2008, 12:03 AM
so i'm now more inclined towards the nox or mythos A15. Just waiting for installment plans for it to materialise. Between what is the price of acer 5930G in sg?