PDA

View Full Version : HP Pavilion dv5 Thread

Pages : [1] 2

MrJacky
13-08-2008, 02:55 PM
The HP Pavilion dv5 is one of the latest laptops for the Pavilion family.

Models available in Singapore: dv5-1034tx (student promotion), dv5-1035tx, dv5-1036tx

Specifications
HP Pavilion dv5-1034tx:
Genuine Windows Vista® Home Premium
Intel® Centrino® 2 Processor Technology – Intel® Core™2 Duo Processor P7350 (2.0GHz)
15.4" WXGA with BrightView
2048MB RAM (1Dimm)
250GB HDD
DVDRW with LightScribe
802.11agn with Bluetooth
NVIDIA GeForce 9600M GT with 512MB video memory
Integrated TV tuner
Integrated webcam
Carrying case and additional 2nd and 3rd year local pickup and return warranty
HP Pavilion dv5-1035tx
Processor, operating system and memory
Operating system installed
Genuine Windows Vista® Home Premium 32-bit
Processor type
Intel® Centrino® 2 processor technology
• Intel® Core™2 Duo Processor P8400
• 2.26 GHz , Level 2 cache 3 MB, 1066 MHz FSB
Standard memory
2048 MB
Memory type
DDR2 800 MHz
Memory layout
1 x 2048 MB
Maximum memory
Supports up to 8 GB DDR2 memory
System features
Internal drives
250 GB
Hard disk drive speed
5400 rpm
Optical drive type
Blu-Ray ROM with SuperMulti DVD±R/RW Double Layer
Display size
15.4" WXGA High-Definition AG Display
Display resolution
1280 x 800
Graphic subsystem name
NVIDIA GeForce 9600M GT
Video RAM
512 MB dedicated memory
External I/O ports
4 USB 2.0 (4th shared with eSATA port), 1 HDMI connector, 1 eSATA Combo, 1 VGA port, 1 RJ-11, 1 RJ45 ethernet connector, 2 headphones-out, 1 mic-in, 1 IEEE 1394, Expansion Port 3, Consumer IR, Integrated Fingerprint reader, AC Adapter
Expansion slots
One ExpressCard/54 slot (also supports ExpressCard/34)
Speakers and microphone
Altec Lansing® speakers
Webcam
HP Pavilion Webcam with Integrated Digital Microphone
Network interface
Integrated 10/100/1000 Gigabit Ethernet LAN
Modem
High speed 56K modem
Wireless technologies
Wireless LAN 802.11a/b/g/n
Dimensions / weight / warranty
Dimensions (W x D x H)
35.7 cm (W) x 25.9 cm (D) x 3.49 cm (min H) / 4.19 cm (max H)
Weight
2.65kg
Power supply type
90 W AC Power Adapter
Battery type
6-cell Lithium-Ion (Li-Ion) battery
Warranty
1 year, parts and labour
HP Pavilion dv5-1036tx
Processor, operating system and memory
Operating system installed
Genuine Windows Vista® Home Premium 32-bit
Processor type
Intel® Centrino® 2 processor technology
• Intel® Core™2 Duo Processor T9400
• 2.53 GHz , Level 2 cache 6 MB, 1066 MHz FSB
Standard memory
3072 MB
Memory type
DDR2 800 MHz
Memory layout
1 x 1024 MB + 1 x 2048 MB
Maximum memory
Supports up to 8 GB DDR2 memory
System features
Internal drives
320 GB
Hard disk drive speed
5400 rpm
Optical drive type
Blu-Ray ROM with SuperMulti DVD±R/RW Double Layer
Display size
15.4" WXGA High-Definition AG Display
Display resolution
1280 x 800
Graphic subsystem name
NVIDIA GeForce 9600M GT
Video RAM
512 MB dedicated memory
External I/O ports
4 USB 2.0 (4th shared with eSATA port), 1 HDMI connector, 1 eSATA Combo, 1 VGA port, 1 RJ-11, 1 RJ45 ethernet connector, 2 headphones-out, 1 mic-in, 1 IEEE 1394, Expansion Port 3, Consumer IR, Integrated Fingerprint reader, AC Adapter
Expansion slots
One ExpressCard/54 slot (also supports ExpressCard/34)
Speakers and microphone
Altec Lansing® speakers
Webcam
HP Pavilion Webcam with Integrated Digital Microphone
Network interface
Integrated 10/100/1000 Gigabit Ethernet LAN
Modem
High speed 56K modem
Wireless technologies
Wireless LAN 802.11a/b/g/n
Dimensions / weight / warranty
Dimensions (W x D x H)
35.7 cm (W) x 25.9 cm (D) x 3.49 cm (min H) / 4.19 cm (max H)
Weight
2.65kg
Power supply type
90 W AC Power Adapter
Battery type
6-cell Lithium-Ion (Li-Ion) battery
Warranty
1 year, parts and labour The specifications for dv5-1035tx and dv5-1036tx can also be found here (http://h10010.www1.hp.com/wwpc/sg/en/ho/WF06a/321957-321957-3329744-64354-64354-3744188.html).

Reviews
HP Pavilion dv5t (Intel version) - http://www.notebookreview.com/default.asp?newsID=4555
HP Pavilion dv5z (AMD version) - http://www.notebookreview.com/default.asp?newsID=4486

MrJacky
14-08-2008, 02:44 PM
Do feel free to share with us if you know:
What other shops are putting it on display already, and where
Where we can get cheap bargains
Experience with the notebook for those who already bought it. Reviews welcomed.
Online reviews

lmao000
14-08-2008, 02:59 PM
harvey norman@ suntec city!

zhehao
14-08-2008, 04:41 PM
Both reviews says its good.
Well the http://www.notebookreview.com/default.asp?newsID=4486 says that it doesnt include blueray.
Please note that it is not true as the singapore version has blue ray.
And the gfx card is 9600.
If i am not wrong it also comes with tv-tuner.(:

Hopefully hardwarezone would come up with a review on this too!

MrJacky
16-08-2008, 12:29 AM
Both reviews says its good.
Well the http://www.notebookreview.com/default.asp?newsID=4486 says that it doesnt include blueray.
Please note that it is not true as the singapore version has blue ray.
And the gfx card is 9600.
If i am not wrong it also comes with tv-tuner.(:

Hopefully hardwarezone would come up with a review on this too!
You should note that the dv5z is the AMD version, which is different from what is offered here in Singapore.

And it's Blu-ray, not blue ray.

MrJacky
16-08-2008, 12:30 AM
The dv5t review from NoteBookReview.com:

http://www.notebookreview.com/default.asp?newsID=4555

Finally!

MrJacky
16-08-2008, 09:40 AM
Anyone knows what the AG in "15.4" WXGA High-Definition AG Display" means?

Y_Shun
16-08-2008, 09:40 AM
wah! looks welly nice :eek:

http://www.notebookreview.com/assets/35740.jpg
cool~!

T82JH
16-08-2008, 10:34 AM
wah! looks welly nice :eek:

http://www.notebookreview.com/assets/35740.jpg
cool~!

if i nt wrong, nw all HP lappy logo ish will light up when on, it started with the dv3025 series

zhehao
16-08-2008, 03:15 PM
Thanks jacky!

Y_Shun
16-08-2008, 11:20 PM
hmm i never see it on dv6k leh

AHcoolie
17-08-2008, 12:13 AM
The HP Pavilion dv5 is one of the latest notebooks for the Pavilion family.

Specifications at HP Singapore website: http://h10010.www1.hp.com/wwpc/sg/en/ho/WF06a/321957-321957-3329744-64354-64354-3744188.html

Online reviews

It's up on display at Harvey Norman Funan, and it's absolutely stunning to me. Tried carrying it and it doesn't seems to be heavy. There's no latch to lock the lid, instead there's a hinge spring that snaps the lid closed.

A review of the AMD version dv5z: http://www.notebookreview.com/default.asp?newsID=4486

are you sure is not heavy??? see the spec from the website is 2.65kg. At harvey norman they normally dun put battery 1 lei.. tt why u feel light

eerational
18-08-2008, 01:30 AM
Looks like a very nice HP laptop.... My current laptop is an Asus, but I've always had a soft spot for HP stuff, so I might just save up for this one... Any idea how much this is going to be in Singapore?

AS1
18-08-2008, 06:02 AM
The HP Pavilion dv5 is one of the latest notebooks for the Pavilion family.

Specifications at HP Singapore website: http://h10010.www1.hp.com/wwpc/sg/en/ho/WF06a/321957-321957-3329744-64354-64354-3744188.html

Online reviews

It's up on display at Harvey Norman Funan, and it's absolutely stunning to me. Tried carrying it and it doesn't seems to be heavy. There's no latch to lock the lid, instead there's a hinge spring that snaps the lid closed.

A review of the AMD version dv5z: http://www.notebookreview.com/default.asp?newsID=4486
need to mention also that it is 1 year parts and labor only while the other competitors will simply come out with something similar but will usually throw in free 2-3 years warranty especially for users who have $2499 and above to spend.

MrJacky
18-08-2008, 07:12 AM
are you sure is not heavy??? see the spec from the website is 2.65kg. At harvey norman they normally dun put battery 1 lei.. tt why u feel light
I don't really remember now, but the display set should have a battery. I went to see the display set again but it was gone. I guess they went out of stock.

MrJacky
18-08-2008, 07:12 AM
Looks like a very nice HP laptop.... My current laptop is an Asus, but I've always had a soft spot for HP stuff, so I might just save up for this one... Any idea how much this is going to be in Singapore?
I saw the price at S$2599.

Expect the price to drop at Comex.

stpaul
19-08-2008, 04:33 PM
Yeah saw this notebook DV5-1036TX today @ Best Denki. Specswise its comparable to Sony Vaio's FZ series at 2k cheaper! Doing some research now but will most probably wait til next week's PC show and decide. best Denki offers 5yrs warranty at additional S$207.92. Anyone here using this currently? any comments? Customer service? Is HP as customer service comparable w Acer or Toshiba?

MrJacky
19-08-2008, 04:38 PM
Yeah saw this notebook DV5-1036TX today @ Best Denki. Specswise its comparable to Sony Vaio's FZ series at 2k cheaper! Doing some research now but will most probably wait til next week's PC show and decide. best Denki offers 5yrs warranty at additional S$207.92. Anyone here using this currently? any comments? Customer service? Is HP as customer service comparable w Acer or Toshiba?
Which Best Denki store did you see this?

HP's customer service is quite friendly, although their technicians are somewhat inefficient; you got to stress the problem to the counter staff so that they will make sure that specific defective part is fine before returning it to you.

I recommend you prolong your warranty with HP instead of Best Denki or other resellers. It's always better to go with the manufacturer, as they know it better.

Y_Shun
19-08-2008, 05:40 PM
Like what Mr Jacky say....their CS is friendly, got wifi, got sofa, got biskuits let you eat. And i think they just 'renovated' the place a little to sell the notebooks and the accessories (batteries) there.

and yes, technicians are inefficient and you really need to stress the problem so that they can do changes.

stpaul
20-08-2008, 10:46 AM
One question with regards to the LCD resolution it say's that its full HD but how come resolution is only 1280x800? Full HD is supposed to be 1920x1080 right? Can please advise. Thanks counting down the days to PC show. Anyone here want to get as a group? Can we get a better deal that way?

stpaul
21-08-2008, 05:07 PM
Best Denki Plaza Singapura.

slack
22-08-2008, 09:48 PM
I'm also considering this, wished there is a vers without blu-ray, don't need it as i seldom watch movies on laptop...

SEvsNK
22-08-2008, 09:53 PM
Courts was selling this model at a promo price of $1999 last week. Now promo over, too bad i din have the cash or i would have gotten 1

slack
22-08-2008, 10:12 PM
Courts was selling this model at a promo price of $1999 last week. Now promo over, too bad i din have the cash or i would have gotten 1

wow serious? but this model uses 9600mGT DDR2 memory, i was hoping its a 9600mGT with DDR3 memory. Still good, but if Zepto allows me to pay by installment, then i'll opt for the Nox or Mythos A15, it uses GDDR3 memory and its cheaper since it doesn't use Blu-ray.

SEvsNK
23-08-2008, 02:56 AM
Yep, the specs they gave me on the promo paper had 9600gt and blueray inclusive

MrJacky
23-08-2008, 06:47 PM
It is 9600M GT, but it is using DDR2 memory.

It's Blu-ray, not blueray. You don't get rays coloured in blue for your optical drive.

SEvsNK
24-08-2008, 12:19 AM
It is 9600M GT, but it is using DDR2 memory.

It's Blu-ray, not blueray. You don't get rays coloured in blue for your optical drive.

Ok thx Smarty for ur geek tok, U go around doing this :s22:

MrJacky
24-08-2008, 02:13 PM
Ok thx Smarty for ur geek tok, U go around doing this :s22:
I don't go around doing this.

That is no "geek tok". Anyone with no IT knowledge knows it as a Blu-ray drive. I'm not talking about how fast the disc spins, and how to dismantle it. Besides if you got one it's clearly marked there.

noinimod
24-08-2008, 04:52 PM
You don't have to be so anal about it, correction is one thing, adding a huge dose of sarcasm to it becomes another.

MrJacky
27-08-2008, 01:46 AM
You don't have to be so anal about it, correction is one thing, adding a huge dose of sarcasm to it becomes another.
I'm not being sarcastic, and that's what I can tell you.

MrJacky
27-08-2008, 01:53 PM
Hey I emailed a HP sales rep and I got some of my questions answered.

1. What does the AG display mean on the HP specification page? Is BrightView or BrightView Infinity configured with the dv5?
1. AG is Antiglare. No Brightview for the dv-1035tx. To get Brightview must get a diff dv5 model

2. Is the NVIDIA graphic card DDR2 or GDDR3? With the ongoing NVIDIA issue about defective chipsets right now, will the 9600M GT available on the dv5 affected? If so, are there any support provided by HP Singapore
2. DDR2, so far we have not have any official word on the defective chipsets.

3. What battery options are available? Can they be purchased separately from an authorised HP reseller?
The product willlaunch ion the next few month

KS524AA 6 Cell Corlab Battery
KS526AA 12 Cell Corlab Battery

4. Is the Wireless LAN card on the dv5 an Intel one or a Broadcom?
Intel.

I'm surprised they didn't offer BrightView on the dv5 for the pre-configured models, considering they have been offering that for quite some time on their home consumer laptops.

Any other questions just post here, I will try to get in touch with the sales rep.

MrJacky
28-08-2008, 05:42 AM
1. What does the AG display mean on the HP specification page? Is BrightView or BrightView Infinity configured with the dv5?
1. AG is Antiglare using the flush glass or Brightview Infinity glass which is layed on top of it. It still give the appearance of a Brightview, but if customer really want a Brightview, they should go for the non Brightview Inifinity glass.

This is the revised answer from the sales rep. It will be BrightView Infinity with Anti-Glare.

azul123
28-08-2008, 05:12 PM
Bought the dv5-1034TX model at Comex today, $1,699 w/gst, hope it is a good price.

MrJacky
28-08-2008, 05:45 PM
Bought the dv5-1034TX model at Comex today, $1,699 w/gst, hope it is a good price.
The dv5-1034tx? That is available in Singapore?

Which floor and which booth?

noinimod
28-08-2008, 08:04 PM
Deh... that's ultra cheap leh. even cheaper than staff price

MrJacky
28-08-2008, 08:17 PM
We need to know the specs first.

azul123
28-08-2008, 09:01 PM
At HP booth where else? 4th. Level at Comex. For specs lookup hardware product number FQ349PA.
It's a DVD RW drive only with Lightscribe
2G RAM on a single slot
Processor P7350 not sure if that is a good one
Windows Vista Home Premium
802.11 agn with Bluetooth
NVIDIA GeForce 9600 GT with 512MB Video memory
Integrated TV tuner
Integrated Webcam
Additional 2nd & 3rd year local pickup and return warranty

MrJacky
29-08-2008, 12:16 AM
At HP booth where else? 4th. Level at Comex. For specs lookup hardware product number FQ349PA.
It's a DVD RW drive only with Lightscribe
2G RAM on a single slot
Processor P7350 not sure if that is a good one
Windows Vista Home Premium
802.11 agn with Bluetooth
NVIDIA GeForce 9600 GT with 512MB Video memory
Integrated TV tuner
Integrated Webcam
Additional 2nd & 3rd year local pickup and return warranty
There are some booths which also sell HP laptops, and are situated at level 6.

You hooked yourself up with a good deal, but the Intel P series are power-saving processors, which mean it may not perform as well as the T series, but they won't matter much.

The specs for the dv5-1034tx are not listed on HP.com.sg.

gallagher
29-08-2008, 01:27 AM
power saving means laptops using P and U processors normally can last LONGER than T processors is it

MrJacky
29-08-2008, 02:59 PM
power saving means laptops using P and U processors normally can last LONGER than T processors is it
I don't really know how to explain, but the P series use less watt than the T series.

madfish
29-08-2008, 04:09 PM
I am also thinking of buying this HP DV5-1034TX for basic/intermediate gaming use... are the specs enough to play say for eg Halo?

ryuzaki_L
29-08-2008, 04:54 PM
is the AG infinity screen a LED display or CCFL?why the 1034tx so cheap?and is the 1034tx using infinity screen?

ChickenRiceCrews
30-08-2008, 09:20 PM
Bought this laptop at pc show. This thread is for discussing the dv5 and problems/ stuff so that we can help each other :)

aldrick7
30-08-2008, 11:50 PM
lol i thought you so fast got problem wanna complain liao
mine is charging now lets wait and see how it performs later on haha
hows your set now?

yobobs
31-08-2008, 01:21 AM
let's start with which store you got your dv5, how much and what sort of freebies you got. doing battery drain on my newly charged dv5 now. 1hr, battery is down 2 60%. seems new battery only last 2hrs leh... mc2 claims can last 4hrs? how about your experience?

ryuzaki_L
31-08-2008, 01:29 AM
is 1034tx using bright view infinity??is the screen good?there are some ppl said its screen is horrible

ChickenRiceCrews
31-08-2008, 03:07 AM
err 70$ to uopgrade to 4gb nia lol.

ChickenRiceCrews
31-08-2008, 03:07 AM
let's start with which store you got your dv5, how much and what sort of freebies you got. doing battery drain on my newly charged dv5 now. 1hr, battery is down 2 60%. seems new battery only last 2hrs leh... mc2 claims can last 4hrs? how about your experience?
normal app runs 3-4 hrs

ChickenRiceCrews
31-08-2008, 03:08 AM
wad u mean the screen good or not good. its looks like same to me

MrJacky
31-08-2008, 08:59 AM
We already got a thread for the dv5 here. :P

http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showthread.php?t=2057018

MrJacky
31-08-2008, 09:00 AM
Does the dv5-1034tx come with an ExpressCard slot? I saw it at COMEX and it seems to be "sealed".

ryuzaki_L
31-08-2008, 09:44 AM
wad u mean the screen good or not good. its looks like same to me
some said the contrast ratio not good,so are u using infinity bright view screen?

Tionged
31-08-2008, 10:00 AM
Does the dv5-1034tx come with an ExpressCard slot? I saw it at COMEX and it seems to be "sealed".

It does, the thing that seals up the slot is supposed to simulate the remote control(given inside the package, no extra cost)

Tionged
31-08-2008, 10:04 AM
Any one have any idea how I can upgrade the ram by myself, purchase what kind of ram, roughly how much?

azul123
31-08-2008, 10:13 AM
yes, comes with an ExpressCard/54 slot.

MrJacky
31-08-2008, 10:28 AM
It does, the thing that seals up the slot is supposed to simulate the remote control(given inside the package, no extra cost)
But how do you push that thing out? I don't really get what you mean when you say it "simulates the remote control" (I understand it comes with one).

My laptop also has an ExpressCard slot, and there's something you can press to eject the card out.

And even funnier is, the salesman told me that was a "LAN card"...

azul123
31-08-2008, 10:35 AM
But how do you push that thing out? I don't really get what you mean when you say it "simulates the remote control" (I understand it comes with one).

My laptop also has an ExpressCard slot, and there's something you can press to eject the card out.

And even funnier is, the salesman told me that was a "LAN card"...
I have no problem pressing it out, in fact I placed the remote control in it's place. No issue with mine leh.

mildrawde
31-08-2008, 12:58 PM
who can tell me the dv5t webcam performance? how many Mp?

rugal_einstein
31-08-2008, 01:32 PM
Hi guys. I bought the HP laptop. However, my charger adapter has a hissing sound which is quite loud. Is it normal or up lorry already? If uplorry I need to go down to change it.

azul123
31-08-2008, 01:43 PM
Hi guys. I bought the HP laptop. However, my charger adapter has a hissing sound which is quite loud. Is it normal or up lorry already? If uplorry I need to go down to change it.
Mine no hissing sound, go change it.

Tionged
31-08-2008, 02:32 PM
QUOTE=Tionged;32082007]It does, the thing that seals up the slot is supposed to simulate the remote control(given inside the package, no extra cost)

And even funnier is, the salesman told me that was a "LAN card"...[/QUOTE]

I think it was the wrong use of words.

What I tried to say was it fits there to pretend to be the remote, the size, shape,so that you know how the remote will fit it.

My bad sorry.

yobobs
31-08-2008, 03:13 PM
Anyone bought a DV5 at COMEX? Have you tried fully charging it and discharging (disconnect from wall outlet) the battery? How long was your battery life? Mine was only about 2.5hrs on normal usage? The girl at mc.2 claims it to be 4hrs. Care to share your experience here? Thanks.

EazTerence
31-08-2008, 03:55 PM
First Problem: Hissing/Sqweaking Sound From Power Adaptor.
Haha.. Thats mine and I realise that its quite common.. Other than that, SWEE.

noinimod
31-08-2008, 04:48 PM
hmmm mine no hissing sound sia. Only during the initial plug in then have.
Any bros out there downgraded to winxp? I have some problems downgrading.. seems like the BIOS is apparently hard-locked to support vista only.. keep getting BSOD when trying to install xp. Sian

EazTerence
31-08-2008, 04:53 PM
Oh ya, one more.. I think HP's standard, heat issue.. Needa get a cooler already.. Lolz...

mildrawde
31-08-2008, 06:18 PM
Oh ya, one more.. I think HP's standard, heat issue.. Needa get a cooler already.. Lolz...

bro can tell which laptop better than hp for heat issue?

coz i'm thinking to buy hp dv5-1036tx....and i nvr own a laptop before this....

anyone know the dv5t 's webcam spec?

noinimod
31-08-2008, 06:36 PM
eh.. the 'heat' issue is ok.. in fact if you do some reading in notebookreview it's not known as having problematic heat issues. Alot of other notebooks feel much hotter

ChickenRiceCrews
31-08-2008, 06:52 PM
the heat isssue so far is ok.not very hot.

ChickenRiceCrews
31-08-2008, 06:53 PM
the heat issue is ok. the webcam is quite clear oso

EazTerence
31-08-2008, 06:53 PM
Ya.. No problem with the heat, but just that its hotter than my dell.. Thats why.. lolz.. But, serioudly, whats wrong with the power adaptor!?

ChickenRiceCrews
31-08-2008, 08:24 PM
err any knows how to adjust the brightness of the moniter?

gallagher
31-08-2008, 08:46 PM

ya my compaq 6 cell battery also

fully charge last 2hrs only

but it is on Balanced mode

maybe u can try to set to power saving mode, should be able to last 3 hrs

and adjust the screen to dinner [fn] [f7]

EazTerence
31-08-2008, 09:26 PM
brightness? (fn) and f7 ot f8 lor? Lolz...

Anybody know where to get HP docking stations? Next qns, if i normally use it for desktop only. Do i keep my battery or just connect it to my laptop?

EazTerence
31-08-2008, 09:27 PM
anybody know where to get docking station for pavilion?

yobobs
31-08-2008, 09:44 PM
ya my compaq 6 cell battery also
fully charge last 2hrs only
but it is on Balanced mode
maybe u can try to set to power saving mode, should be able to last 3 hrs
and adjust the screen to dinner [fn] [f7]

Thanks Gallagher. Thought I need to run back to mc2 and exchange. So, that is expected w/ balance mode. Now, not worried anymore. Will try power saving mode soon...

ChickenRiceCrews
31-08-2008, 10:51 PM
urs is easy usuage surf net nia or pia game?

ChickenRiceCrews
31-08-2008, 10:51 PM
normally people will just attach to dock. btw why u nid a dock for?

napalmdog
31-08-2008, 11:53 PM
my hp dv is having the 3 beeps + blank screen problem. i replaced the memory with good ones but still wont boot up. a day before this happened it was unusually hot when i left it and i fear it overheated

now my laptop is out of warranty, anybody know how much it usually costs to repair form HP? or if there are other alternative repair shops that offer cheaper service?

thanks!

clock_ED
01-09-2008, 12:13 AM

Can anyone help me with the tv tuner? Cuz i dont seem to be able to receive any signal during channel scanning, and, ive tried every setting thou.

Currently, i am connecting the external antenna to my laptop so which setting should i apply?

clock_ED
01-09-2008, 12:21 AM

Can anyone help me with the tv tuner? Cuz i dont seem to be able to receive any signal during channel scanning, and, ive tried every setting thou.

Currently, i am connecting the external antenna to my laptop so which setting should i apply?

MrJacky
01-09-2008, 12:26 AM
my hp dv is having the 3 beeps + blank screen problem. i replaced the memory with good ones but still wont boot up. a day before this happened it was unusually hot when i left it and i fear it overheated

now my laptop is out of warranty, anybody know how much it usually costs to repair form HP? or if there are other alternative repair shops that offer cheaper service?

thanks!
Please, READ THE TOPIC TITLE. THIS IS FOR DV5.

ChickenRiceCrews
01-09-2008, 02:10 AM

u set to D-TVB singapore. then press SCAN FOR VIDEO b4 u press next. try that. remb nid plug in ur antenna oso=:p

Tionged
01-09-2008, 08:21 AM
Damn, I already got a stuck pixel in my screen.

EazTerence
01-09-2008, 08:34 AM

External antenna for me also no go.. But I've tested other tuners with antenna, my area (woodlands) cant recieve. maybe wanna try out the wall socket type?

EazTerence
01-09-2008, 08:36 AM
normally people will just attach to dock. btw why u nid a dock for?

I prefer just one dock plug connected to my lappy compared to so many usb's, so many other stuff to it.. Lolz...

MrJacky
01-09-2008, 08:45 AM
Now that Comex is over, anyone has sighted the dv5 anywhere else?

chuan
01-09-2008, 09:33 AM
Lets talk about accessories like bags, protectorsss or maintainance for this laptop leh. wahaha

I considering getting a nice and clean looking backpack for this laptop bcos it is too heavy to sling on the shoulder...

And where to get good screen protector?

chuan
01-09-2008, 09:36 AM
External antenna for me also no go.. But I've tested other tuners with antenna, my area (woodlands) cant recieve. maybe wanna try out the wall socket type?

the best Channel i can recieve is.... TV MOBILE... sad sad... all the analog almost cannot make it...

My friends said just ask any signal army men to help do the extension for the antanna can liao. :D

xDraVenx
01-09-2008, 10:51 AM
mine was attacked by the blue scrren last night, when i was transfering files. then it just said starting to dunp memory, something like that. and the whole thing hang. did a hard restart, but nothing came on. no screen, onli the power light and panel lights came on. but morning try again can on liao. then when i try to transfer file again, the same thing happens. any idea whats going on??
and how do you guys charge the batteries? use up the pre charged power and charge? or just charge it straight? charge for how long?

chuan
01-09-2008, 12:11 PM
mine was attacked by the blue scrren last night, when i was transfering files. then it just said starting to dunp memory, something like that. and the whole thing hang. did a hard restart, but nothing came on. no screen, onli the power light and panel lights came on. but morning try again can on liao. then when i try to transfer file again, the same thing happens. any idea whats going on??
and how do you guys charge the batteries? use up the pre charged power and charge? or just charge it straight? charge for how long?

I charged it for 8hrs (or more.. haha) then remove it and use AC power only. I always remove the battery when using AC. Have been doing this for my 3yrs+ laptop too and the battery still can last, although now dont last as long as it used to. :s22:

For the Dump memory thing. Try to transfer little by little... Or you want to scan your portable HDD on another computer and scan your laptop HDD too.. maybe got sector problem? My 3yrs old laptop got this problem if i run too many things in the backgorund while playing WoW...

xDraVenx
01-09-2008, 12:18 PM
I charged it for 8hrs (or more.. haha) then remove it and use AC power only. I always remove the battery when using AC. Have been doing this for my 3yrs+ laptop too and the battery still can last, although now dont last as long as it used to. :s22:

so do i need to run my com on the batt till it's flat 1st, then charge it to 8?

For the Dump memory thing. Try to transfer little by little... Or you want to scan your portable HDD on another computer and scan your laptop HDD too.. maybe got sector problem? My 3yrs old laptop got this problem if i run too many things in the backgorund while playing WoW...

how do i scan the hdd? and why is that my com can't on after i restart

sporesam
01-09-2008, 12:54 PM
brought the HP Pavilion dv5-1034TX Entertainment Notebook PC at comex and upgraded to 3 G ram, only brought this cos the sales person told me that Intel Core 2 Duo Processor P7350 is newer and better than my current dell lappy Core 2 Duo T7700, true ??? can anyone enlighten me :s7:

ChickenRiceCrews
01-09-2008, 07:08 PM
yeah the P series is centrino 2 using a P series

chuan
01-09-2008, 08:11 PM
Its a newer processor which runs cooler but.... lower speed and L2 cache compare other version.

yobobs
02-09-2008, 09:45 AM
u set to D-TVB singapore. then press SCAN FOR VIDEO b4 u press next. try that. remb nid plug in ur antenna oso=:p

When you set D-TVB Singapore, did you select Analog TV tuner or Digital TV tuner. Played with it last night but gave up when I also can't get signal. I was using the dongle antenna that comes with it. Did not try connecting to the starhub cable point on the wall. Will try some other time.

Did anyone try the Internet TV also? What channel will you be able to watch there?

yobobs
02-09-2008, 10:13 AM
so do i need to run my com on the batt till it's flat 1st, then charge it to 8?how do i scan the hdd? and why is that my com can't on after i restart

that's my practice, ran the battery flat before recharge. if possible don't ran a full battery on AC power. battery life will degrade faster. proven that for the last 4 years. HP battery still holds 2hrs after 4 years on XP and NC8000.

what type of scan you like? virus scan (symantec/kapersky) or disk scan for bad sector (chkdsk)?

frizee
02-09-2008, 11:01 AM
Not bad, this dv5 laptop doesnt feel hot after hours of usage...

Do you all have good recommendations for screen protector for this laptop?
Also, where can i buy the laptop shield/casing(whatever they call it)?

Thanks!!!

Up for good laptop!

ckoonyin
02-09-2008, 12:29 PM
Not bad, this dv5 laptop doesnt feel hot after hours of usage...

Do you all have good recommendations for screen protector for this laptop?
Also, where can i buy the laptop shield/casing(whatever they call it)?

Thanks!!!

Up for good laptop!

Not hot? wat progs were u running? :s11:

Cause me surfing the net here and there den got some heat......not those v hot type but got heat lor..........wonder if mine is ok..........

Same also, where can i get the screen protector and the skin for the laptop cover? hehehe shiny shiny wan to protect la :)

Andrew4
02-09-2008, 12:42 PM
Not hot? wat progs were u running? :s11:

Cause me surfing the net here and there den got some heat......not those v hot type but got heat lor..........wonder if mine is ok..........

Same also, where can i get the screen protector and the skin for the laptop cover? hehehe shiny shiny wan to protect la :)

ya me too wanna protect my lappy too, where can get it arh? does HP sell it?

ckoonyin
02-09-2008, 12:48 PM
ya me too wanna protect my lappy too, where can get it arh? does HP sell it?

i think there is a brand called Garskin which is does skins for PSP. But kinda ex but quality is good

Anyone know where i can get it for the lappy? :)

frizee
02-09-2008, 02:01 PM
to yobobs: I set to satellite digital and able to rec' tv mobile. analog, no luck haha...

to ckoonyin: yeah, shiny so wanna protect. btw, as for programs, im playin combat arm, avg, movies and tv tuner and surprisingly not hot... i mean there is ofcuz heat but it really doesnt feel hot at all... just some slight warm. dont think hp sell screen protector

Garskin damn ex haha... But... Dont think hp sell screen protector thou... anyone?

ckoonyin
02-09-2008, 02:36 PM
to yobobs: I set to satellite digital and able to rec' tv mobile. analog, no luck haha...

to ckoonyin: yeah, shiny so wanna protect. btw, as for programs, im playin combat arm, avg, movies and tv tuner and surprisingly not hot... i mean there is ofcuz heat but it really doesnt feel hot at all... just some slight warm. dont think hp sell screen protector

Garskin damn ex haha... But... Dont think hp sell screen protector thou... anyone?

ooooooo so mine also normal hehehee

EazTerence
03-09-2008, 09:42 AM
Hey, what are the temps of your dv5? Mine running 36'C (CPU) and 46-C (GPU) on idle and Load are just 8'c more for CPU and 10'C more for GPU. haha.. Anywa, can I use a dell 70W power adaptor to power up my dv5? Cuz if I not carrying it, it'll be on my DIY docking station which I plan to hook up my dell adaptor to it. Lolz.

EazTerence
03-09-2008, 09:44 AM
One more.. I tried TV using the drive by wire method. Can recieve. ut the graphics very very noisy.. LOL..

xDraVenx
03-09-2008, 10:20 AM
what type of scan you like? virus scan (symantec/kapersky) or disk scan for bad sector (chkdsk)?

how do i get to the chkdsk option?

Anyway i went back to the retailer regarding my 'blue screen of death' already. they told me is the ram problem. they changed it out and so far no more problem. hope it stays problem free from now on

and i'm also trying to look for slip case for the lap. something like those socks for the hp. hoping to find something thick and cushion-y so that it can absorb impacts on the lap. any1 know where i can find these?

ckoonyin
03-09-2008, 10:33 AM
Hey, what are the temps of your dv5? Mine running 36'C (CPU) and 46-C (GPU) on idle and Load are just 8'c more for CPU and 10'C more for GPU. haha.. Anywa, can I use a dell 70W power adaptor to power up my dv5? Cuz if I not carrying it, it'll be on my DIY docking station which I plan to hook up my dell adaptor to it. Lolz.

eh....how do u check the temperature ah?

ryuzaki_L
03-09-2008, 12:52 PM
hi..can some one tell me whether dv5 1034 is using INFINITY bright view screen???thanks

EazTerence
03-09-2008, 07:37 PM
CPU temp can go to CoreTemp, GPU can use GPUID. Aiya, alot of problem out there got such functions de.. Lol..

derrickgoh
03-09-2008, 08:58 PM
Thinking of getting HP Pavilion dv5-1036tx. Think its going for $2599. Anyone know of any place with a better price or more freebies?

I suck at applying screen protectors as seen from my phones so I think I'll leave my notebook's screen alone. Say, do any of you use silicone keyboard protectors? I heard they make the notebook hot 'cos the heat can't escape. Anyone encountered that?

Also, do those notebook coolers really work or are they a waste of money?

anson_chia
04-09-2008, 12:38 AM
din anyone having problem with the charger adapter that has a hissing sound which is quite loud, is it normal? did anyone go for a 1 for 1 exchange?

shiahzy
04-09-2008, 12:44 AM
Thinking of getting HP Pavilion dv5-1036tx. Think its going for $2599. Anyone know of any place with a better price or more freebies?

I suck at applying screen protectors as seen from my phones so I think I'll leave my notebook's screen alone. Say, do any of you use silicone keyboard protectors? I heard they make the notebook hot 'cos the heat can't escape. Anyone encountered that?

Also, do those notebook coolers really work or are they a waste of money?

Where you getting it from?

Any places to get HP laptops for good bargain? Funan? SLS?

hkingx
04-09-2008, 12:50 AM
din anyone having problem with the charger adapter that has a hissing sound which is quite loud, is it normal? did anyone go for a 1 for 1 exchange?

:)mine having it too. when its too hot. it's normal

hkingx
04-09-2008, 12:55 AM
anyone HP laptop user having this problem too? when listenning song, the speaker got some ji ji ji noise sometime. ??

hkingx
04-09-2008, 01:03 AM
btw, here are some info abt my laptop, realtek high definition audio here, VISta OS.. player WMP

ChickenRiceCrews
04-09-2008, 03:57 AM
can some1 help me check if ur battery there beside the remote control place is there a fully join metal or a 2 seperate metal. knn mine one liek crack for nth ccb i going change soon

EazTerence
04-09-2008, 06:42 PM
dun get where you refering to..

derrickgoh
04-09-2008, 08:17 PM
Where you getting it from?

Any places to get HP laptops for good bargain? Funan? SLS?
I'm new to the notebook world. I'm guessing Funan? If the price and offering is the same at most places then I'll probably get from Best Denki. Got Linkpoints there.

EazTerence
04-09-2008, 10:27 PM

Ya.. i call HP Care, asking them how and what to do. Was ask to wait at home and they deliver a new one to my door step for one to one exchange. not bad i must say.

azul123
05-09-2008, 04:50 AM
can some1 help me check if ur battery there beside the remote control place is there a fully join metal or a 2 seperate metal. knn mine one liek crack for nth ccb i going change soon

A photo will help greatly, so I can check on miine as well, thanks.

SoundSurround
05-09-2008, 04:39 PM
anyone knows how to use the memory card slot? The area whereby the remote control can be placed in is solely only for that usage?

lmao000
05-09-2008, 11:29 PM
Anyone interested to get DV5? I may give you a better deal. pm me.

Stupid Idiot
05-09-2008, 11:39 PM
How good is your deal~? :crazy:

Anyone interested to get DV5? I may give you a better deal. pm me.

lmao000
05-09-2008, 11:54 PM
$2499 or $2599 + free upgrade 4gb ram + free 3 in 1 printer + mouse + 1 year anti virus.

Stupid Idiot
06-09-2008, 12:01 AM
No more $1,699 deals~? :( :sad: :crazy:

$2499 or $2599 + free upgrade 4gb ram + free 3 in 1 printer + mouse + 1 year anti virus.

lmao000
06-09-2008, 12:03 AM
1699 is not DV5-1036TX. Different processor. that student model is using P7350, the retail model is using T9500.

shock
06-09-2008, 12:06 AM
Wiill get from you if your screen resolution is 1680x1050 and with intel 5100AGN card. But email hp and that model is not sold in singapore.

azul123
06-09-2008, 10:43 AM
Those who got dv5-1034TX Student with Windows Office 2007 package, how is the software being delivered to you? mine still no delivery from HP, have yours arrived?

Tionged
06-09-2008, 01:12 PM
Those who got dv5-1034TX Student with Windows Office 2007 package, how is the software being delivered to you? mine still no delivery from HP, have yours arrived?

I bought it from AceCom.

I called them yesterday and this friendly guy helped me with it, he said most of the staff have left and they will probably get back to me on Monday.

aldrick7
06-09-2008, 01:14 PM
just wondering issit possible to upgrade the processor for the student dv5?

rugal_einstein
06-09-2008, 03:50 PM
Anyone received the Microsoft 07 package yet?? I bought from AceCom too.. Not yet received the package..

mingky
06-09-2008, 04:58 PM
Just wanna say hello to fellow dv5 users out there. Feel like sharing my feedback on this laptop. I have used Samsung Q35 previously, light and easy to carry for business trip. dv5 is definitely heavier but pack more stuffs. I was lured by laptopmag.com review and also the new processor, blue ray etc. But to be frank I have yet to make use of the bluray dvd as the DVDs still too expensive. I bought this laptop 1 week before Dell announce the new Latitue 6400/6500, and sometimes i wondered whether i should have gotten that one instead. The left palm rest also warm up considerably, not too hot but definitely caused some discomfort. i wondered why this fact was only mentioned in 1 brief sentence on laptopmag review.
Now for my business trip i still bring my Samsung Q35. Anyway, below is the plus and minuses from mho

Good things:
+ Powerful laptop for gaming or adobe photoshop like programs
+ Clear bright screen
+ great HD size and video card

Bad:
+ heavy for business trips
+ warm up especially on left palm rest

azul123
06-09-2008, 06:48 PM
Anyone received the Microsoft 07 package yet?? I bought from AceCom too.. Not yet received the package..
I bought from MC2, also not received any call from HP. Heeyaa!

derrickgoh
08-09-2008, 08:55 PM
Just wanna say hello to fellow dv5 users out there. Feel like sharing my feedback on this laptop. I have used Samsung Q35 previously, light and easy to carry for business trip. dv5 is definitely heavier but pack more stuffs. I was lured by laptopmag.com review and also the new processor, blue ray etc. But to be frank I have yet to make use of the bluray dvd as the DVDs still too expensive. I bought this laptop 1 week before Dell announce the new Latitue 6400/6500, and sometimes i wondered whether i should have gotten that one instead. The left palm rest also warm up considerably, not too hot but definitely caused some discomfort. i wondered why this fact was only mentioned in 1 brief sentence on laptopmag review.
Now for my business trip i still bring my Samsung Q35. Anyway, below is the plus and minuses from mho

Good things:
+ Powerful laptop for gaming or adobe photoshop like programs
+ Clear bright screen
+ great HD size and video card

Bad:
+ heavy for business trips
+ warm up especially on left palm rest
But Latitude is Dell's business line. I don't think Pavilion DV5 is meant for businesses so not really a fair comparison.

I think Dell XPS M1530 is a better model to compare against. Similar price and both are for home users. As far as that goes, the M1530 costs a bit more and has 1GB RAM less, smaller HDD and less graphics chip memory.

So weight aside, I think dv5 is still better value than M1530.

aldrick7
08-09-2008, 10:00 PM
But Latitude is Dell's business line. I don't think Pavilion DV5 is meant for businesses so not really a fair comparison.

I think Dell XPS M1530 is a better model to compare against. Similar price and both are for home users. As far as that goes, the M1530 costs a bit more and has 1GB RAM less, smaller HDD and less graphics chip memory.

So weight aside, I think dv5 is still better value than M1530.

xps m1530 is more pleasing to the eyes as well haha... but than again its cost quite a large sum more than the dv5 and runs on the older centrino chips and costs more when customized to the same config as the dv5

yobobs
08-09-2008, 11:41 PM
I bought from MC2, also not received any call from HP. Heeyaa!

Same here. Still waiting for the HP package that should come with my dv5. Guess they will just send the MSOffice 07 after60days FULL MSOffice trial version is OVER. So, enjoy the trial version first. Lets check the mailbox 60days later. Please update this thread, too... Or is this Out-of-TOPIC already?

azul123
09-09-2008, 07:41 AM
Same here. Still waiting for the HP package that should come with my dv5. Guess they will just send the MSOffice 07 after60days FULL MSOffice trial version is OVER. So, enjoy the trial version first. Lets check the mailbox 60days later. Please update this thread, too... Or is this Out-of-TOPIC already?
It's not 60 days trail right? but 25 times you open the software, mine is almost over already.

rugal_einstein
09-09-2008, 07:09 PM
The student/teacher edition comes with 3 license keys? Anyone wanna share them at a price?? I'm looking for one key for my laptop =(

iduncheckmail
11-09-2008, 05:37 PM
is it still possible to get the comex student deal ? 15-inch HP Pavilion dv5 at S$1,699 ?
wasted i missed it............

leoric
11-09-2008, 10:39 PM
is it still possible to get the comex student deal ? 15-inch HP Pavilion dv5 at S$1,699 ?
wasted i missed it............

To all guys who still wished to buy @ Comex price...... It back again!

http://h20424.www2.hp.com/resources/sg/en/Student_Booth_Flyer_FAv2.pdf

shiahzy
12-09-2008, 01:27 AM
Now, that's tempting. How does the P7350 compare to the T9xxx. I know the latter is faster, but is the P7350 good enough already?

And the palmrest attracts lots of fingerprints right?

Sparky_galz@hotmail.com
12-09-2008, 10:45 AM
i also buy from acecom still waiting for the office anione has received it yet?
btw does this com have blue ray?
can anione clarify this?

techieboon
12-09-2008, 11:30 AM
I bought DV5-1034TX during Comex08, paid $49 for the microsoft office, the show promotor told me they will mail the item to me within 2 wks ,until now still haven't receive the item.
Any one facing the same problem as me?

Sparky_galz@hotmail.com
12-09-2008, 11:34 AM
I bought DV5-1034TX during Comex08, paid $49 for the microsoft office, the show promotor told me they will mail the item to me within 2 wks ,until now still haven't receive the item.
Any one facing the same problem as me?

me too. Has anione recived it yet? Btw does this labtop has blue-ray i nt sure how to chk
:(

xyzabcxx
12-09-2008, 11:55 AM
I bought mine from MC2 at Comex. Called them yesterday and they told me the Office Student shipment delayed. Probably will only get it next 2-3 weeks :(

rugal_einstein
12-09-2008, 03:27 PM
post gone...............

SNAPEle
12-09-2008, 05:17 PM
seems the hp protectsmart function doesn't work on 1036tx, because when I test it, the last thing I didn't do is drop the laptop on the floor. Whatever how I shake the lappy, the protectsmart function didn't give me any response.

anyone know what's going on?

MrJacky
12-09-2008, 06:17 PM
The microsoft office comes with 3 license key rite? Anyone wanna sell 1 license key for 20bucks?
I hope you know that doing this on the forum is illegal.

rugal_einstein
12-09-2008, 07:00 PM
izzit? i dunno wor.. sry i shall remove it =)

killer bun
16-09-2008, 12:25 PM
Hahaha.. after so long of wait finally persuade my mum to buy one notebook for me for my uni next year!!! :s12:

we couldn't find any better deal liao so settle down with mc2 instead. they gif us a couple of notebook accessories and also extended warranty to 3 years which i need it. and the best part is $49 can buy office le so cheap! my friend bought 6 mths back at $199 from sim lim :s22:

anyway overall experience of buying my 1st notebook with them are very pleasant. thanks for the recommendation from the forummers here! i'm enjoying and typing now with my NEW DV-5!~~~

:s13: :s13: :s13:

noinimod
16-09-2008, 07:57 PM
hey guys, how's the battery life doing for u? i barely manage 2 hrs on it, not even running intense applications/videos

Da_Vinci
17-09-2008, 12:41 AM
with the dedicated GPU and 15 inches screen, battery life would tend to be mediocre, cant really expect much.

ckoonyin
17-09-2008, 02:46 PM
Hahaha.. after so long of wait finally persuade my mum to buy one notebook for me for my uni next year!!! :s12:

we couldn't find any better deal liao so settle down with mc2 instead. they gif us a couple of notebook accessories and also extended warranty to 3 years which i need it. and the best part is $49 can buy office le so cheap! my friend bought 6 mths back at $199 from sim lim :s22:

anyway overall experience of buying my 1st notebook with them are very pleasant. thanks for the recommendation from the forummers here! i'm enjoying and typing now with my NEW DV-5!~~~

:s13: :s13: :s13:

MC2 is still having the $1699 promo? Until when ah any idea?

ckoonyin
17-09-2008, 02:48 PM
with the dedicated GPU and 15 inches screen, battery life would tend to be mediocre, cant really expect much.

yea i guess so..........mine is also bordering about 2 hrs

SNAPEle
17-09-2008, 09:09 PM
No one want to share the experience with the "ProtectSmart" function?

oddbasket
18-09-2008, 08:21 AM
MC2 is still having the $1699 promo? Until when ah any idea?
Dunno now still have anot, but I bought from MC2 after comex :X

Anyway. the offer is still on from HP directly via hotline or online cos got the mailer on yesterday.

ckoonyin
18-09-2008, 09:04 AM
Dunno now still have anot, but I bought from MC2 after comex :X

Anyway. the offer is still on from HP directly via hotline or online cos got the mailer on yesterday.

plus u still got freebies right? haha if so, den waste my time go COMEX that time liao

leoric
19-09-2008, 12:31 AM
Just got my office 2007 earlier. Any guys got too?

ckoonyin
19-09-2008, 11:44 AM
very tempted to get the office for $49 leh
but i also got my old MS Office 2003..........hmmm

sword28
19-09-2008, 12:43 PM
Just got my office 2007 earlier. Any guys got too?

I also just got the Office 2007 delievered to my doorstep last evening.
I was surprised with the delievery as I expected them to call first, luckily I was at home.
It comes with an empty envelope with my name and address on it. Not sure what is that for. :s11::s11:

or did the delivery man drop the content inside the envelope cos it is not sealed? :s31:

leoric
19-09-2008, 12:51 PM
I was surprised with the delievery as I expected them to call first, luckily I was at home.
It comes with an empty envelope with my name and address on it. Not sure what is that for. :s11::s11:

or did the delivery man drop the content inside the envelope cos it is not sealed? :s31:

Yup mine too.. think there's noting in it.

noinimod
20-09-2008, 11:49 AM
wth man.. i have such a weird problem. my office cdkey seems to be invalid?!?!

azul123
21-09-2008, 06:42 PM
I haven't received mine yet.

Spikyguy85
21-09-2008, 08:08 PM
hi there i am considering on getting this model. but can anyone tell me wads the difference between the student promotion one and the normal?
cos i am still schling in uni and they just happen to have this promotion.
any comments is greatly appreciated. : >
thanks

MrJacky
21-09-2008, 11:03 PM
The student offer should be over already.

I was told that HP has ended the promotion when I sent them an email asking about the specs.

linliansen
22-09-2008, 09:56 AM
The student offer should be over already.

I was told that HP has ended the promotion when I sent them an email asking about the specs.

Maybe can consider getting the Benq S42 instead now that the HP offer is over. Better specs, same price.

ckoonyin
22-09-2008, 11:40 AM
no leh the promo is still on

check out this webby => http://h20424.www2.hp.com/product/notebooks/sg/en/hp-pavilion-notebook-pc.asp

Promo is right on top

http://h20424.www2.hp.com/resources/sg/en/Student_Booth_Flyer_FAv2.pdf

oddbasket
22-09-2008, 12:46 PM
Maybe can consider getting the Benq S42 instead now that the HP offer is over. Better specs, same price.
Not really, only cpu slightly faster 2.26ghz vs 2.00ghz and more ram, 4gb vs 2gb. Features dv5 much better, 15.4" vs Benq 14.1", e-sata, IFP biometrics, internal tv tuner, 9600M GT 512mb vs Benq 256mb, touch controls, lightscribe.

linliansen
22-09-2008, 12:53 PM
Not really, only cpu slightly faster 2.26ghz vs 2.00ghz and more ram, 4gb vs 2gb. Features dv5 much better, 15.4" vs Benq 14.1", e-sata, IFP biometrics, internal tv tuner, 9600M GT 512mb vs Benq 256mb, touch controls, lightscribe.

Although the memory is lower at 256MB, the performance of GDDR3 over GDDR2 is more than 20% gain.

S42 has the Hybrid Power function that allows you to switch to the onboard graphics for nearly 4.5 hours battery life. Of cos, comparing features, HP is better like what you have mentioned above, but it boils down to whether an individual needs those. Personally, I will prefer longer battery life over sum of those features.

Plus, the S42 uses LED-backlit screen.

Btw, it's just an option to offer to users cos I saw that the offer from HP is over. Not trying to push or argue over the specs or something. Hope some users will find it useful that's all. =)

aldrick7
22-09-2008, 08:57 PM
hey anyone knows how to use the motorola handwrite thing?

oddbasket
23-09-2008, 11:57 AM
Although the memory is lower at 256MB, the performance of GDDR3 over GDDR2 is more than 20% gain.

S42 has the Hybrid Power function that allows you to switch to the onboard graphics for nearly 4.5 hours battery life. Of cos, comparing features, HP is better like what you have mentioned above, but it boils down to whether an individual needs those. Personally, I will prefer longer battery life over sum of those features.

Plus, the S42 uses LED-backlit screen.

Btw, it's just an option to offer to users cos I saw that the offer from HP is over. Not trying to push or argue over the specs or something. Hope some users will find it useful that's all. =)
Point taken, though the percentage gain in 3dmark is totally arbitrary and because of the low score to begin with doesn't translate as well into fps where it counts and where the gain is more modest. eg. 10% on an alienware's 10k+ will likely trounce that 20%. Besides with a 128bit mem bus limit, gddr3 loses it's advantage at higher quality settings, it makes the most difference at lower settings in this case.

So it really boils down the types of users, one who need the battery life who is always on the go, else the other who is primarily on the laptop at home or at work (AC power) where more/better features is a big boon. Remember, dv5 is more of a desktop replacement.

fat3df3rlub3
23-09-2008, 06:20 PM
hey the maximum resolution screen size supported by HP dv5 is?

i know that benq graphics card only support up to 1280 x 800 which is quite big and not very nice. Is this due to the graphics card of 256 and 512mb diff?

oddbasket
23-09-2008, 06:37 PM
hey the maximum resolution screen size supported by HP dv5 is?

i know that benq graphics card only support up to 1280 x 800 which is quite big and not very nice. Is this due to the graphics card of 256 and 512mb diff?
Nothing to do with the memory, the card itself can support much higher resolutions, unfortunately the native resolution of both machines is 1280x800 so that's how far they can go.

azul123
24-09-2008, 08:35 PM

Mine delivered today, it came with sealed envelop and inside the the original Office box, CD and everything. I am happy, this Office version allows me to load upto 3 pc's. :)

yobobs
25-09-2008, 12:26 AM
how does microsoft tracks that you have loaded into 3pc's?

my office2007 arrived today from HP. thinking of selling it at ebay coz i already have a copy given by a friend who didn't need the 3 license.

MrJacky
25-09-2008, 04:29 PM
how does microsoft tracks that you have loaded into 3pc's?

my office2007 arrived today from HP. thinking of selling it at ebay coz i already have a copy given by a friend who didn't need the 3 license.
You cannot sell the licence on eBay. It's considered piracy if you do so.

pixelresolute
27-09-2008, 11:56 AM
hi all, can give give advise should i get the HP Pavilion dv5-1034t @ 1748(incl. of $49 ms office, vista oem, extended 2nd n 3rd yr warranty plus a casing(but i doubt the design) @ 0% installment on credit card for 12mths. Promo whilst stock last, through online, saw it on member enewsletter. Said will delliver within 14 working days after the bank checkd that he credit card is OK. but i scared delayed..i need it within like 10working days.

OR shd i get Acer 6920G-833? Sorry, i know this is a dv5 thread. juz wanna ask the experts for their personal opinion. The specs wise seems better than dv5-1034, but it's more expensive.. this acer has resolution of 1080, unlike 1034tx only 800. Cos higher resolution better for me cos i'm using design softwares n stuff. the only thing of acer, is 695pm express chipset ok? anw, it's selling at plaza ing bestdenki @ 2198 (if extend 4 more yrs i think 100plus more), Promo till 30th Sept only. if i get this i'll begoing for 24 months installment at 0% interest by credit card liao..instead of HP 1748 @ 12mths.

guys, what do you suggest? can give me some advise?

linliansen
29-09-2008, 12:06 PM
Refer to my post above: http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showpost.php?p=32521020&postcount=168

You might wanna consider that as an alternative.

coolfire
30-09-2008, 11:52 PM
Sorry for being OT here...

But anyone bought a dv7?

xyzabcxx
06-10-2008, 02:49 PM
For those DV5 owners, my notebook is equipped with 4GB RAM and the rest standard.
One thing that puzzled me is the almost "non-stop" disk activities (HDD light keep blinking) whenever the notebook is turned on.
Anyone else having the same problem?

MrJacky
06-10-2008, 08:26 PM
For those DV5 owners, my notebook is equipped with 4GB RAM and the rest standard.
One thing that puzzled me is the almost "non-stop" disk activities (HDD light keep blinking) whenever the notebook is turned on.
Anyone else having the same problem?
How did you even get 4GB RAM?

Even the dv5-1036tx which has the highest specs has only 3GB installed.

xDraVenx
06-10-2008, 08:36 PM
How did you even get 4GB RAM?

Even the dv5-1036tx which has the highest specs has only 3GB installed.

i supposed he upgraded it? mine is also 4gig. but funny thing is that the task manager only reflects 3gig. but the welcome thingy whenever lap has started up shows 4gig. any1 seeing the same thing?

MrJacky
06-10-2008, 08:44 PM
i supposed he upgraded it? mine is also 4gig. but funny thing is that the task manager only reflects 3gig. but the welcome thingy whenever lap has started up shows 4gig. any1 seeing the same thing?
That's because of a 32-bit limitation.

32-bit OS cannot fully utilise all 4GB of RAM.

MrJacky
06-10-2008, 08:44 PM
Here are the specs I got for the dv5-1034tx, which is the one offered with the student promotion.

HP Pavilion dv5-1034Tx Entertainment Notebook PC with FREE case & warranty
• Genuine Windows Vista® Home Premium
• Intel® Centrino® 2 Processor Technology – Intel® Core™2 Duo Processor P7350
• 15.4" WXGA with BrightView
• 2048MB RAM (1Dimm)
• 250G HDD
• DVDRW with LightScribe
• 802.11agn with Bluetooth
• NVIDIA GeForce 9600M GT with 512MB video memory
• Integrated TV tuner
• Integrated Webcam
• Carrying Case and Additional 2nd and 3rd year local pickup and return warranty

MrJacky
07-10-2008, 11:16 AM
I just enquired HP about the battery options, and I was told that 6-cell is included when you buy your dv5.

A 12-cell extended battery is available through HP (call them at 1800 278 0182) or HP resellers.

Part Numbers
6-cell Li-Ion battery: PF723A
12-cell Li-Ion battery: PB995A

xyzabcxx
07-10-2008, 02:53 PM
Here are the specs I got for the dv5-1034tx, which is the one offered with the student promotion.

HP Pavilion dv5-1034Tx Entertainment Notebook PC with FREE case & warranty
• Genuine Windows Vista® Home Premium
• Intel® Centrino® 2 Processor Technology – Intel® Core™2 Duo Processor P7350
• 15.4" WXGA with BrightView
• 2048MB RAM (1Dimm)
• 250G HDD
• DVDRW with LightScribe
• 802.11agn with Bluetooth
• NVIDIA GeForce 9600M GT with 512MB video memory
• Integrated TV tuner
• Integrated Webcam
• Carrying Case and Additional 2nd and 3rd year local pickup and return warranty

Jacky, standard is 2GB RAM. I added another 2GB.
Another can comment on the "non-stop" blinking HDD light ?

MrJacky
07-10-2008, 04:19 PM
I just enquired HP about the battery options, and I was told that 6-cell is included when you buy your dv5.

A 12-cell extended battery is available through HP (call them at 1800 278 0182) or HP resellers.

Part Numbers
I saw the 12-cell extended battery on sale at a store called Solutions@HP (#03-23 at Funan), at $259.00.

But the dv5 was not stated on the package, rather, the dv5000, which is another series itself.

I'm enquiring with HP on this.

MrJacky
07-10-2008, 10:09 PM
Can someone do me a favour?

Whoever has a dv5-1036tx, go to Device Manager, maximize the window, and take a full-screen screenshot.

Then post it here.

Thanks.

coolfire
07-10-2008, 10:50 PM

Whoever has a dv5-1036tx, go to Device Manager, maximize the window, and take a full-screen screenshot.

Then post it here.

Thanks.

Congrats on your dv5-1036tx purchase!

My apologies, but i do not (yet) own one. I am considering a dv7, only because of the screen, but can't seem to justify to myself paying that much more just for the screen.

May i ask how your dv5 is doing?

Cheers! :D

MrJacky
08-10-2008, 11:31 AM
I haven't bought the dv5 yet. I may plan to buy it, but depends on the amount of cash I have.

I need the screenshot so that I can prepare the drivers for a XP dual-boot.

MrJacky
08-10-2008, 02:00 PM

Part Numbers
The rep which attended to my enquires made a mistake.

I'm gonna confirm everything first before posting it here.

coolfire
08-10-2008, 11:46 PM
I haven't bought the dv5 yet. I may plan to buy it, but depends on the amount of cash I have.

I need the screenshot so that I can prepare the drivers for a XP dual-boot.

my apologies, MrJacky...

good luck on your purchase... i can't seem to decide on the dv7 or dv5-1036tx...

MrJacky
09-10-2008, 01:02 AM
The dv7 is a desktop replacement. Comes with a subwoofer (at the bottom of the laptop), but it's really heavy.

HeartsFinale
09-10-2008, 11:19 AM
my apologies, MrJacky...

good luck on your purchase... i can't seem to decide on the dv7 or dv5-1036tx...If you have the extra cash and can accept the weight of dv7, I recommend you to get the dv7 because as known to many, the dv5 has a slight heat issue with the graphic card which can go as high as 90 degree when under full load. As dv7 is of a bigger-sized notebook, the heat dissipation ability is increased and thus eliminating the minor heat issue which is present in dv5.

So for the extra cash, not only you pay for the bigger screen, you are also paying for a cooler notebook as well as an increased capability in overclocking*. If you got a good 9600M GT chip, you can overclock it to the spec similar to a 9700M GT, which itself is a big plus if you are playing graphic demanding games like Crysis.

Note:
- I used the word minor because it might be minor to some but major to others
- Overclocking is a risky process as there's a chance that your graphic processor may fail you and failure of product via overclocking is not supported by warranty if you are found out overclocking your processor by the technician. But with some precaution and skill, the risk can be negated. As a guideline, overclock your GPU by about 20% of the original spec and stress test it. dv5 user are recommended not to overclock because of the heat issue.

MrJacky
09-10-2008, 12:38 PM
I have thought of getting the dv7, but the weight made me choose the dv5 instead. I would still prefer a portable laptop over a desktop replacement.

The dv5 proved to be quite popular, being the most popular laptop at NotebookReview.com for the second month now, and it's selling quite well locally too.

UniqueHeart
09-10-2008, 01:22 PM
I have problems with my dv5's graphics card. When I run mmorpgs like pristontale, it will lag like mad. Even for warcraft 3 also. After 30mins of dota, the graphics will start to lag. I ran it on high performance and low res with everything set to min, but it still lags!

Another problem is the msn. During chat, the screen will freeze and "hangs" for a few seconds. My friend who got the same dv5 as me faces the same problem.

Anyone else have this same problem? Any solutions?

HeartsFinale
09-10-2008, 04:06 PM
I have problems with my dv5's graphics card. When I run mmorpgs like pristontale, it will lag like mad. Even for warcraft 3 also. After 30mins of dota, the graphics will start to lag. I ran it on high performance and low res with everything set to min, but it still lags!

Another problem is the msn. During chat, the screen will freeze and "hangs" for a few seconds. My friend who got the same dv5 as me faces the same problem.

Anyone else have this same problem? Any solutions?Does your laptop feels warm when this happen? And by lag, do you mean stuttering?

coolfire
09-10-2008, 09:15 PM
If you have the extra cash and can accept the weight of dv7, I recommend you to get the dv7 because as known to many, the dv5 has a slight heat issue with the graphic card which can go as high as 90 degree when under full load. As dv7 is of a bigger-sized notebook, the heat dissipation ability is increased and thus eliminating the minor heat issue which is present in dv5.

So for the extra cash, not only you pay for the bigger screen, you are also paying for a cooler notebook as well as an increased capability in overclocking*. If you got a good 9600M GT chip, you can overclock it to the spec similar to a 9700M GT, which itself is a big plus if you are playing graphic demanding games like Crysis.

Note:
- I used the word minor because it might be minor to some but major to others
- Overclocking is a risky process as there's a chance that your graphic processor may fail you and failure of product via overclocking is not supported by warranty if you are found out overclocking your processor by the technician. But with some precaution and skill, the risk can be negated. As a guideline, overclock your GPU by about 20% of the original spec and stress test it. dv5 user are recommended not to overclock because of the heat issue.

Thank you very much for your time & great advice, dude. Appreciate it alot.

After reading all of the info, I think I am inclined towards the dv7 now... =:p It is partly due to the fact that I am also looking for a desktop replacement. I just hope that HP's products are much better nowadays...

MrJacky
09-10-2008, 10:02 PM
The dv7 is also quite nice. Features a subwoofer (at the bottom) and a large screen.

coolfire
09-10-2008, 11:52 PM
The dv7 is also quite nice. Features a subwoofer (at the bottom) and a large screen.

But quality not really there right?

MrJacky
10-10-2008, 10:50 AM
But quality not really there right?
Better than nothing. :)

coolfire
10-10-2008, 11:32 PM
Better than nothing. :)

yup, true...

btw, is the difference in DDR2 & DDR3 gfx ram alot? I'm not really an avid gamer though...

MrJacky
11-10-2008, 12:59 AM
yup, true...

btw, is the difference in DDR2 & DDR3 gfx ram alot? I'm not really an avid gamer though...
You meant GDDR3?

I'm not sure about this.

MrJacky
11-10-2008, 05:19 PM
These are the batteries available for the HP Pavilion dv5.

Part Numbers:
HP 6-Cell Notebook Battery - KS524AA
HP 12-Cell Multi-Charge Extended Battery - KS526AA

I have not seen them around in stores, so try asking around.

coolfire
12-10-2008, 02:33 PM
You meant GDDR3?

I'm not sure about this.

Erm.. Got my facts wrong.. Yes, GDDR3... =:p

HeartsFinale
12-10-2008, 05:08 PM
yup, true...

btw, is the difference in DDR2 & DDR3 gfx ram alot? I'm not really an avid gamer though...The difference in performance is about 20%. The part bolded actually have to depends. If you are playing games like CSS which is not that graphic intensive and using the GDDR3 verion of a GPU gave you about 100fps, the DDR2 variant will perform at about 80fps. But since human eye percieves movements at about 70fps, the difference is actually not visible, unless you have a pair of 'Ninja Eye'.

On the other hand, If you are playing games which are graphic intensive games such as cnc3, crysis etc which are graphic intensive games and let says the GDDR3 variant gave you about 30fps, the DDR2 variant give you about 24fps. In a video playback, on average, human eye will be able to percieve at a refresh rate at the minimum of 24fps, anything below that and we will percieve that as 'lag'. For game, it's a completely different story, somehow, this minimum threshold is pushed up to 30fps, meaning to say anything below 30fps, we will percieve the game graphics movements as not 'fluid', lag or stuttering.

So all in all, it depends on what game you're playing.

Hope you get what I mean.

coolfire
12-10-2008, 10:02 PM
The difference in performance is about 20%. The part bolded actually have to depends. If you are playing games like CSS which is not that graphic intensive and using the GDDR3 verion of a GPU gave you about 100fps, the DDR2 variant will perform at about 80fps. But since human eye percieves movements at about 70fps, the difference is actually not visible, unless you have a pair of 'Ninja Eye'.

On the other hand, If you are playing games which are graphic intensive games such as cnc3, crysis etc which are graphic intensive games and let says the GDDR3 variant gave you about 30fps, the DDR2 variant give you about 24fps. In a video playback, on average, human eye will be able to percieve at a refresh rate at the minimum of 24fps, anything below that and we will percieve that as 'lag'. For game, it's a completely different story, somehow, this minimum threshold is pushed up to 30fps, meaning to say anything below 30fps, we will percieve the game graphics movements as not 'fluid', lag or stuttering.

WOW...
great appreciation for your concise analogy & advice, dude! Guess DDR2 or DDR3 will not make any difference for me... :D

MrJacky
12-10-2008, 10:04 PM
The difference in performance is about 20%. The part bolded actually have to depends. If you are playing games like CSS which is not that graphic intensive and using the GDDR3 verion of a GPU gave you about 100fps, the DDR2 variant will perform at about 80fps. But since human eye percieves movements at about 70fps, the difference is actually not visible, unless you have a pair of 'Ninja Eye'.

In simpler words, the difference is quite minimal, unless you are a geek who wants it perfect.

azul123
13-10-2008, 05:52 PM
edit** found the right cable.

MrJacky
13-10-2008, 07:45 PM

Then post it here.

Thanks.
Anyone? I still need this.

UniqueHeart
13-10-2008, 10:45 PM
Does your laptop feels warm when this happen? And by lag, do you mean stuttering?

My dv5 is always hot and yes the graphics will stutter. I tried on my ViewSonic screen and the same thing happens so its got nothing to do with refresh rate or screen. And the stupid msn always lag, no matter what i do. Im going to call HP care and ask them :(

MrJacky
13-10-2008, 11:11 PM
My dv5 is always hot and yes the graphics will stutter. I tried on my ViewSonic screen and the same thing happens so its got nothing to do with refresh rate or screen. And the stupid msn always lag, no matter what i do. Im going to call HP care and ask them :(
Which model?

leoric
14-10-2008, 11:29 AM
Hey guys are u able to find the Motorola Softstylus™ Finger Writing Recognition Software in ur dv5-1034tx or 1036tx? Cos from their website it stated have.

http://h20424.www2.hp.com/product/notebooks/sg/en/hp-pavilion-notebook-pc-features.asp

" Or, use the Motorola Softstylus™ Finger Writing Recognition Software to simplify communicating in Chinese by writing characters with your finger on a built-in touchpad."

shiahzy
14-10-2008, 12:41 PM

My MSN lags as well and I am trying to find ways to fix the problem as well. When I type, I get a slight delay. Does yours have the same problem?

Anyway, have you tried updating your video driver? Looks like a gfx card problem to me.

noinimod
14-10-2008, 12:54 PM
hmm i got no problems. Maybe it's cos i did alot of tweaking and removed all the hp bloatware also lol

techieboon
14-10-2008, 11:52 PM
hmm i got no problems. Maybe it's cos i did alot of tweaking and removed all the hp bloatware also lol

can elaborate more on the tweaking ... .. really interested...:)

HeartsFinale
15-10-2008, 09:25 AM
My MSN lags as well and I am trying to find ways to fix the problem as well. When I type, I get a slight delay. Does yours have the same problem?
Anyway, have you tried updating your video driver? Looks like a gfx card problem to me.
Try update your BIOS and drivers here; http://h20180.www2.hp.com/apps/Nav?h_pagetype=s-002&h_lang=en&h_cc=us&h_product=3744187&h_client=S-A-R163-1&h_page=hpcom&lang=en&cc=usMy dv5 is always hot and yes the graphics will stutter. I tried on my ViewSonic screen and the same thing happens so its got nothing to do with refresh rate or screen. And the stupid msn always lag, no matter what i do. Im going to call HP care and ask them :(As I pointed out in another thread, the dv5 has a heat issue when under full load and after you played a 3D intensive game for quite sometime, the graphic card will start to downclock and overclock as the temperature has reached 97 degree, which is considered 'hot'. When this happen, the game will stutter or to others, it will be percieve as 'lag'. Follow the following steps to resolve this and allow the temperature to go beyond 97 degree, which is the danger zone;
-Install Nvidia Forceware 177.85 (Can be found here ---> http://www.laptopvideo2go.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=20203)
-When you switched on your notebook, put your notebook to sleep mode
-Upon entering sleep mode, immediately log in to window again

Upon following these few steps, you should be able to play your game without any lag/freezes (The only time your game will freeze you is when your graphic card goes beyond 110 degree which activates the thermal throttle to prevent damage to the card).

unchecked
15-10-2008, 11:00 AM
Got a few questions, earlier in the thread I see pple seeing 2+ odd hours running off the batt. That true now still? And anyone tried running WoW on the dv5? Any heat batt issues?

UniqueHeart
15-10-2008, 03:02 PM
MrJacky : My DV5 is 1034-tx
Shiahzy : Yes I have the same problem as u! During chat, it will always hang and my words cant be seen then after 5secs or so it will appear >.< I just update my graphics card, trying out now :)
HeartsFinale : Thank you for your help, Ill try it out :) But there are no bios to update at your HP site...

UniqueHeart
15-10-2008, 03:54 PM
Ok, Ive just had a talk with a HP consultant for 40mins. I was told to update my chipset and graphics driver. However, my 3d game still lags after installing the new driver. As for the MSN lag, he advised me to reinstall it. It is a software problem. He will get back to me tomorrow to see how he can help. Ill update you guys :)

Hp care is very professional :)

ckoonyin
15-10-2008, 04:19 PM
that's nice to hear.....

MrJacky
15-10-2008, 04:25 PM

Then post it here.

Thanks.
Anyone?

If you have a dv5-1034tx you can also do it.

UniqueHeart
15-10-2008, 09:11 PM
Anyone?

If you have a dv5-1034tx you can also do it.

I hope this helps

http://img139.imageshack.us/img139/4053/hpvd0.th.jpg (http://img139.imageshack.us/my.php?image=hpvd0.jpg)http://img139.imageshack.us/images/thpix.gif (http://g.imageshack.us/thpix.php)

UniqueHeart
15-10-2008, 09:16 PM

I did what the HP technician told me to do - Reinstall MSN, but the same thing still happens. I dont think its the programs fault. I have 2 other lappys at home, both dual core vista sp1, but no problem with msn or with the games. My other coms uses integrated intel graphics, but could play 3d mmorpg way smoother then my dv5 nvdia 9600m gt 512mb dedicated! Grrrr!!!

shiahzy
15-10-2008, 11:47 PM
Same. I tried reinstalling MSN too and that didn't solve the problem.

Weird problem. Cos only typing in MSN is affected, not in Words or Firefox.

MrJacky
16-10-2008, 02:39 AM
I hope this helps

http://img139.imageshack.us/img139/4053/hpvd0.th.jpg (http://img139.imageshack.us/my.php?image=hpvd0.jpg)http://img139.imageshack.us/images/thpix.gif (http://g.imageshack.us/thpix.php)
Hi, sorry to bother you again.

Can you expand the following and take a screenshot?

IDE ATA/ATAPI controllers
IEEE 1394 Bus host controllers
Imaging devices
Memory technology driver
Network adapters
Personal identification devices
Storage controllers

Thanks.

shiahzy
17-10-2008, 12:18 AM
I did what the HP technician told me to do - Reinstall MSN, but the same thing still happens. I dont think its the programs fault. I have 2 other lappys at home, both dual core vista sp1, but no problem with msn or with the games. My other coms uses integrated intel graphics, but could play 3d mmorpg way smoother then my dv5 nvdia 9600m gt 512mb dedicated! Grrrr!!!

Hey bro, you may want to try updating your synaptics driver or disabling it to see if you get any lag on your MSN.

I went to task manager to set the priority of SynTPEnh.exe and SynTPHelper.exe to Normal ~ low and I haven't have the problem yet. Still testing though.

Btw, only typing lags in MSN right, not in other programs right?

ckoonyin
17-10-2008, 01:10 AM
hey peeps, i got the DV5-1034tx Student Promo during the recent IT fair @ Suntec.

But i got some enquiries about the 2nd and 3rd yr warranty promo.

It states in the invoice that it includes the 2nd and 3rd yr warranty promo but do we need to register or anything?

Reason why am i asking is that i went with my friend to buy the same laptop for the student promo at suntec today and they gave him a booklet for the 2nd and 3rd yr warranty promo which contains a product key that he will needs to register online with HP in order to get the 2nd and 3rd yr warranty promo.

I did not receive this during the recent IT fair and when i ask the guy, he said that it will be mailed to me. I said ok and left without any doubts.

But now thinking about it, how will they know about my address??? And how will they be able to mail to me?!

Without the booklet, will i still get the 2nd and 3rd yr warranty??

Anyone having the same predicament? Or you all receive the booklet already?

Who should i chase? HP or the shop which i bought from?

UniqueHeart
17-10-2008, 11:41 PM
hey peeps, i got the DV5-1034tx Student Promo during the recent IT fair @ Suntec.

But i got some enquiries about the 2nd and 3rd yr warranty promo.

It states in the invoice that it includes the 2nd and 3rd yr warranty promo but do we need to register or anything?

Reason why am i asking is that i went with my friend to buy the same laptop for the student promo at suntec today and they gave him a booklet for the 2nd and 3rd yr warranty promo which contains a product key that he will needs to register online with HP in order to get the 2nd and 3rd yr warranty promo.

I did not receive this during the recent IT fair and when i ask the guy, he said that it will be mailed to me. I said ok and left without any doubts.

But now thinking about it, how will they know about my address??? And how will they be able to mail to me?!

Without the booklet, will i still get the 2nd and 3rd yr warranty??

Anyone having the same predicament? Or you all receive the booklet already?

Who should i chase? HP or the shop which i bought from?

1) YES! You need to register your HP 2nd and 3rd year warranty, or else you will have only 1 year of warranty.

2)You will need a HP Total Care booklet which will contain a Serial Number. Then u go to https://h20366.www2.hp.com/apac/flowPage/registration/index.do?cc=SG&lang=en and register your HP Total Care.

3)Without the booklet you WONT have 2nd or 3rd year warranty

4)Chase from the shop. Not HP.

UniqueHeart
17-10-2008, 11:44 PM
Hey bro, you may want to try updating your synaptics driver or disabling it to see if you get any lag on your MSN.

I went to task manager to set the priority of SynTPEnh.exe and SynTPHelper.exe to Normal ~ low and I haven't have the problem yet. Still testing though.

Btw, only typing lags in MSN right, not in other programs right?

Yes the typing only lags in MSN. All other progs like words are ok. Ok ill give it a try. HP hasnt got back to me yet haha 2 days already.

UniqueHeart
17-10-2008, 11:50 PM
Hi, sorry to bother you again.

Can you expand the following and take a screenshot?

IDE ATA/ATAPI controllers
IEEE 1394 Bus host controllers
Imaging devices
Memory technology driver
Network adapters
Personal identification devices
Storage controllers

Thanks.

http://img413.imageshack.us/img413/9403/60717799uj5.jpg (http://imageshack.us)
http://img413.imageshack.us/img413/60717799uj5.jpg/1/w486.png (http://g.imageshack.us/img413/60717799uj5.jpg/1/)

Hope this helps :)

MrJacky
18-10-2008, 06:48 AM
Thanks for the image.

Anyone getting the latency problem with other models of dv5 (dv5-1035tx, dv5-1036tx)?

I'm planning to get the dv5-1036tx (although I can also buy the dv5-1034tx).

SyraLeo
18-10-2008, 05:44 PM
Is the dv5 a good choice for the occasional games (wow , cs , hl2 , around that gfx type , nothing intensive like crysis) and movies as well as project work (ms word and excel mainly).

I'm deciding between the dv5 1034tx (student offer) or something from fujitsu. I was in a pc replacement project and had to work with a couple of fujitsu laptops before and they are all pretty reliable even after 5yrs of usage. getting HP mainly cause it's on offer , but the specs seem to be good value for money.

any suggestions?

MrJacky
18-10-2008, 10:01 PM
Is the dv5 a good choice for the occasional games (wow , cs , hl2 , around that gfx type , nothing intensive like crysis) and movies as well as project work (ms word and excel mainly).

I'm deciding between the dv5 1034tx (student offer) or something from fujitsu. I was in a pc replacement project and had to work with a couple of fujitsu laptops before and they are all pretty reliable even after 5yrs of usage. getting HP mainly cause it's on offer , but the specs seem to be good value for money.

any suggestions?
The dv5's NVIDIA GeForce 9600M GT can even handle Crysis at medium settings with a decent framerate, so anything lighter than that should be fine.

The dv5 is NOT a desktop replacement. If you are looking for one it's the dv7.

coolfire
19-10-2008, 12:42 AM
The dv5's NVIDIA GeForce 9600M GT can even handle Crysis at medium settings with a decent framerate, so anything lighter than that should be fine.

The dv5 is NOT a desktop replacement. If you are looking for one it's the dv7.

How true...

So dude, if you're getting the dv5-1036tx, where will you be buying it from? :)

ckoonyin
19-10-2008, 02:08 AM
1) YES! You need to register your HP 2nd and 3rd year warranty, or else you will have only 1 year of warranty.

2)You will need a HP Total Care booklet which will contain a Serial Number. Then u go to https://h20366.www2.hp.com/apac/flowPage/registration/index.do?cc=SG&lang=en and register your HP Total Care.

3)Without the booklet you WONT have 2nd or 3rd year warranty

4)Chase from the shop. Not HP.

Anyone else in the same situation? Or everyone who bought it from Comex got the HP Total Care Booklet except me? :(

Anyone please help?

MrJacky
19-10-2008, 02:36 AM
How true...

So dude, if you're getting the dv5-1036tx, where will you be buying it from? :)
I haven't decided yet, but I have asked around and it seems like many stores are offering Microsoft Office Home and Student Edition 2007 (Retail) as free gift, and that will save me from having to spend another $143 on it.

MrJacky
19-10-2008, 02:36 AM
Anyone else in the same situation? Or everyone who bought it from Comex got the HP Total Care Booklet except me? :(

Anyone please help?
Do you still remember the store?

And most importantly, do you have any proof of purchase (receipt, etc.)?

ckoonyin
19-10-2008, 02:41 AM
Do you still remember the store?

And most importantly, do you have any proof of purchase (receipt, etc.)?

I got it from Comex and i got the receipt. It does state the 2nd and 3rd yr wrrantyfor it but i only gotto know about the HP Total Care booklet yesterday.

:(

Tionged
19-10-2008, 09:32 AM
I don't think I received the HP total care booklet.

Which store did you purchase your dv5 from?
I purchased mine from the AceCom booth.

ckoonyin
19-10-2008, 10:37 AM
I don't think I received the HP total care booklet.

Which store did you purchase your dv5 from?
I purchased mine from the AceCom booth.

Mine was from MC2. U also didn't receive the booklet?.............hmmmmm............so what happens to our warranty?:(

zHEnRoNg
19-10-2008, 11:23 AM
Anyone know the type of RAM this uses? I am getting the 1034 model. But feel like adding another piece of 2 gb ram, since RAM so cheap nowadays - yea although only 3.2GB will be used for its 32bit machine.

Also, this will void all warranty that it comes along with right?

ANd, I saw the 1036 in Courts. It came with a remote control. Does the 1034 comes with one also?

MrJacky
19-10-2008, 12:05 PM
Mine was from MC2. U also didn't receive the booklet?.............hmmmmm............so what happens to our warranty?:(
You might want to try going to MC2 at Funan and ask them what's going on.

Go to the one at #03-15, since HP has held their roadshow there before.

MrJacky
19-10-2008, 12:05 PM
Anyone know the type of RAM this uses? I am getting the 1034 model. But feel like adding another piece of 2 gb ram, since RAM so cheap nowadays - yea although only 3.2GB will be used for its 32bit machine.

ANd, I saw the 1036 in Courts. It came with a remote control. Does the 1034 comes with one also?
Adding RAM won't void your warranty.

coolfire
19-10-2008, 01:28 PM

Please excuse my limited knowledge, but i thought that 4GB ram will be recognised when running vista sp1?=:p

Which Courts did you see this available, dude?

MrJacky
19-10-2008, 03:50 PM
Please excuse my limited knowledge, but i thought that 4GB ram will be recognised when running vista sp1?=:p

Which Courts did you see this available, dude?
For the 4GB RAM, he already made it clear. Read again.

Aimevous
19-10-2008, 05:51 PM

You guys mentioned that the dv5-1034 tx is still for sale? The same one that is sold at Comex 2008? Is the price the same? I've got a friend looking to buy a laptop.. checking for him.

Some of you mentioned 1036? hmm where do you see the specs? Navigating through the HP website is confusing.. anyone can advise?

Just to check if anyone is having heat and insensitive volume control issues. My gf got this laptop but she doesn't play any games (wasted!) but there seems to be a problem with the touch sensitive volume control. It randomly "detects" movement and changes the volume without us even touching it. My gf's solution thus far is to put a moist tissue paper on it to cool it then the random jumping of volume will disappear. Anyone getting this?

Thanks!

coolfire
19-10-2008, 08:37 PM
Sorry lor... I missed out on the 3.2gb part... Me still noob when it comes to lappies & 32bit/64bit vista... :p

MrJacky
19-10-2008, 09:13 PM

You guys mentioned that the dv5-1034 tx is still for sale? The same one that is sold at Comex 2008? Is the price the same? I've got a friend looking to buy a laptop.. checking for him.

Some of you mentioned 1036? hmm where do you see the specs? Navigating through the HP website is confusing.. anyone can advise?

Just to check if anyone is having heat and insensitive volume control issues. My gf got this laptop but she doesn't play any games (wasted!) but there seems to be a problem with the touch sensitive volume control. It randomly "detects" movement and changes the volume without us even touching it. My gf's solution thus far is to put a moist tissue paper on it to cool it then the random jumping of volume will disappear. Anyone getting this?

Thanks!
The dv5-1034tx student offer is still available at $1699.

ckoonyin
19-10-2008, 09:31 PM

Thanks!

I had the same problem also. Well wat i did was to disable the touch controls.............it still allows me to use the touch controls but without the problems.

Hmmm, btw did u receive the your HP care pack?

guitarstrings
20-10-2008, 12:54 PM
EDIT: Nvm, I found the answer myself. :)