View Full Version : Jonas Guttierez: What you guys think of him? Dark horse buy of the season?
Didjerama
18-08-2008, 03:56 PM
For those of you who watched the match against man utd, this guy was running like a madman on the pitch.
its been a long time since we saw someone who can run at such deafening speed during counter attacks.
the last time someone ran that length using the kick-and-run style was michael owen back in liverpool
it was very exciting to see him play.
heard his nickname is 'Spiderman'...rumours has it that he will shoot spider webs from his hands each time he scores...
cant wait for his first goal then:s13:
xiaoarc
18-08-2008, 04:12 PM
For those of you who watched the match against man utd, this guy was running like a madman on the pitch.
its been a long time since we saw someone who can run at such deafening speed during counter attacks.
the last time someone ran that length using the kick-and-run style was michael owen back in liverpool
it was very exciting to see him play.
heard his nickname is 'Spiderman'...[b]rumours has it that he will shoot spider webs from his hands each time he scores...[b]
cant wait for his first goal then:s13:
he wears a spiderman mask..
http://d.yimg.com/eur.yimg.com/ng/sp/eurosport/20070509/23/449887562.jpg
MrWeiWei
18-08-2008, 04:22 PM
1 game is hard to judge.... mid-season or end of the season den can give conclusion lol
silthfire
18-08-2008, 06:50 PM
he can shield the ball quite well and run at certain speed....not bad
ahgohgoh
18-08-2008, 07:54 PM
he looks like gattusso... and in some sense... plays like him but from the wing...
i like the way he tries to stay up... communicates with the referee in a fair way... sporting player...
zhaohan
18-08-2008, 08:36 PM
his speed shocked me at first
Ronaldo_7
18-08-2008, 08:39 PM
impressive so far.... cant judge by 1 game only.. but he has what it takes to succeed :)
vasilli07
18-08-2008, 08:52 PM
if he can be consistant, i guess he will be a good signing...pls don't be like elano...
1920_me
18-08-2008, 09:43 PM
They are calling him the new "Ginola".
Looked very good on his debut, will be a success
donald83
18-08-2008, 10:53 PM
Yup happy to see Jonas and Coloccini as they had quite an impressive debut! Encouraging to see Newcastle play like that against Man Utd. Willing to fight for the ball and resilient.
batman_888
19-08-2008, 02:20 AM
Yup happy to see Jonas and Coloccini as they had quite an impressive debut! Encouraging to see Newcastle play like that against Man Utd. Willing to fight for the ball and resilient.
yup.. they played well.....
rethaFrey
19-08-2008, 03:25 AM
newcastle should jus sell duff.
hes like... i rather see alan smith play.
Carnage
19-08-2008, 04:01 AM
1 thing that stands out for me is his temper. Very fair and even temperament, one can even say he's polite to the referee even.
I was impressed with his speed and tackling ability but 1 game is too soon to judge.
SecretZone
19-08-2008, 08:52 AM
newcastle should jus sell duff.
hes like... i rather see alan smith play.
Smith? He got more cards in 1 season than the number of goals he score in 3 :s22:
kopfowler
19-08-2008, 09:09 AM
If Newcatle play like the match against MAn U, they will be challenging for a place in UEFA cup,
I foresee.
raullim7
19-08-2008, 09:28 AM
no way should alan smith return la.. what can he contribute? ya duff was off colour and so was nzogbia.. but guttierez is excellent.. some signs of the great david ginola... of cos you will need a few more matches to prove that he is no flash in the pan, remember massimo taibi's great debut for manU against liverpool? steven taylor n fabricio coloccini looks to form a formiable partnership in the heart of defence..
Didjerama
19-08-2008, 10:08 AM
You know what was so nice to see...the fact that he actually smiled while playing football..he actually enjoyed playing the game?
now when was the last time i saw something like dat?
but his speed...OMG....he literally outran some of the central backs and he kept running up down up down to support the defence and attack...
my player of the week lah
Kapish
19-08-2008, 10:24 AM
elano also made a similar impact when he made his debut ... unfortunately faltered in the 2nd half of the season
navarro_t
19-08-2008, 10:36 AM
quite impressive....:P
raullim7
19-08-2008, 10:38 AM
You know what was so nice to see...the fact that he actually smiled while playing football..he actually enjoyed playing the game?
but his speed...OMG....he literally outran some of the central backs and he kept running up down up down to support the defence and attack...
maybe he was laughing at the pace of the defenders around him..
i'm impressed with him... esp when he skipped the tackle of rooney the thug down the left wing... put in a beautiful cross as well...
another 10 games of similiar standard and he will be one of the bargains of the season :D
SecretZone
19-08-2008, 02:19 PM
i'm impressed with him... esp when he skipped the tackle of rooney the thug down the left wing... put in a beautiful cross as well...
another 10 games of similiar standard and he will be one of the bargains of the season :D
best thing is he cost almost nothing when he sign for us :D
_dXter
19-08-2008, 05:08 PM
Maybe it was because he was playing against the Euro Champ League and BPL Champs. Cannot say a player will succeed based on one game.
Remember diouf vs. france in 2002?
xiaoarc
19-08-2008, 06:06 PM
can say he quite promising..
will be following his progress..
Krusty
20-08-2008, 12:52 AM
i think he should conserve more energy for attack lol
Remember diouf vs. france in 2002?
diouf? haha...
basically his career went downhill after he signed for Liverpool...
finally everyone realises he is a one trick pony, ie dribble down the right and stuck in the alley
:D:D:D
raullim7
20-08-2008, 12:44 PM
diouf? haha...
basically his career went downhill after he signed for Liverpool...
finally everyone realises he is a one trick pony, ie dribble down the right and stuck in the alley
:D:D:D
frankly speaking i cant remember how he fared in the WC.. didnt even manage to get a goal, did he? he was nicknamed the serial killer during the 2002 wc qualifier for his lethal finishing.. end up, liverpool fans found out that he is more lethal with his saliva..
batman_888
20-08-2008, 01:30 PM
frankly speaking i cant remember how he fared in the WC.. didnt even manage to get a goal, did he? he was nicknamed the serial killer during the 2002 wc qualifier for his lethal finishing.. end up, liverpool fans found out that he is more lethal with his saliva..
he actually good but he juz dun fit into pool set up...
Kenshin79
20-08-2008, 01:52 PM
how many good attacking players gone to liverpool and got better?
Morientes, Kewell, Kyut, Litmanen all seemed to become worse.
only torres have been good - but he has always been that good, just a matter of whether he will get better.
thisisanfield
20-08-2008, 02:07 PM
I was disappointed when Houllier bought the two Senegal players.
raullim7
20-08-2008, 02:15 PM
I was disappointed when Houllier bought the two Senegal players.
i am more disappointed when he dumped robbie fowler, nicky barmby, jamie redknapp, dominic matteo and christian ziege,,
o.o123
20-08-2008, 02:17 PM
this spiderman speed is amazing, hope he dun't go downhill from here:o
thisisanfield
20-08-2008, 02:18 PM
Ok, but this thread turning into Liverpool thread liao.
Back to topic, Jonas is a funny guy. Look forward to the new newcastle.
Carnage
21-08-2008, 03:55 AM
Ronaldinho smiles all the time.
ahwei86
10-05-2009, 10:57 AM
jonas like nth special... can dribble only..like last time timur ketsbia
ahgohgoh
10-05-2009, 12:09 PM
i don't fancy him.........
hanlsnx
10-05-2009, 02:57 PM
how many good attacking players gone to liverpool and got better?
Morientes, Kewell, Kyut, Litmanen all seemed to become worse.
only torres have been good - but he has always been that good, just a matter of whether he will get better.
Kewell was a fecking waste sia back in leeds he gave all full backs a hell of a time
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.