PDA

View Full Version : LG KC910

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7

lunasonata
24-08-2008, 01:32 AM
http://i.gsmarena.com/vv/newsimg/08/08/lg-kc910/gsmarena_002.jpg

Today LG announced their latest touch-based all-in-one phone - the LG KC910. Coming as a successor of the widely popular LG KU990 Viewty, the KC910 is a real multimedia powerhouse, packing a whole load of extras.
Equipped with an 8 megapixel auto focus camera the LG KC910 (http://www.gsmarena.com/lg_kc910-2495.php) is the first feature phone of the company to sport Wi-Fi connectivity. In addition it extends the functionality of the Viewty with GPS, which allows geo-tagging of the photos.

LG KC910
The camera of theKC910 uses Schneider-Kreuznach optics and has a protective cover. The sweet VGA videos at 30 fps and slow motion 120 fps QVGA videos are also there. A xenon flash is also on board to facilitate photography in low-light conditions. The display of the new LG will be a 3" 262K color one with a resolution of 240 x 400 pixels.
Connectivity is also duly covered in the LG KC910, which has support for all the four GSM bands. 3G with HSDPA is also available and so are Bluetooth and USB. The final extras of the KC910 include microSD card slot, TV-out support, Xvid and DivX video playback and Dolby sound for the music.
All in all, the LG KC910 is rather similar to the other recently announced 8 megapixel phones as far as the specs sheets are concerned. The Samsung i8510 INNOV8 (http://www.gsmarena.com/samsung_i8510_innov8-2471.php) and the Sony Ericsson C905 (http://www.gsmarena.com/sony_ericsson_c905-2427.php) are on par with the KC910, except for the lack of touchscreen functionality and the fact that the Samsung packs Symbian OS. Also, LG KC910 is only 14mm thick as opposed to 17.2mm of the INNOV8 and 19.5mm of the C905.
LG KC910 is expected to hit the shelves as early as October this year. Unfortunately, there is no information regarding its pricing yet.

http://www.gsmarena.com/lg_kc910-2495.php

Computeron
24-08-2008, 12:39 PM
i like the design but donno wat interface its gonna get.. hope its WM6. which i doubt it.

lunasonata
24-08-2008, 12:58 PM
possible..cause lgks20 was wm too rite

Chan_ryu
24-08-2008, 03:48 PM
any idea of the estimated price?

theory_87
24-08-2008, 04:39 PM
i think it the improve OS of KU990... looking foward to it... it either innov8 or KC910

lunasonata
24-08-2008, 05:56 PM
woot..but it releases slow..in oct..zzz

Computeron
31-08-2008, 12:21 PM
http://www.gsmarena.com/lg_kc910-2495.php

amberi0
04-09-2008, 09:05 PM
woot..but it releases slow..in oct..zzz

ahahaha.. lunasonata, you're eyeing on this too, eh?? =:p
just saw your post here after reading the other one at innov8.

i'm so gonna get this! but... when it says "early oct", doesn't it mean nov for SG? =.="

lunasonata
04-09-2008, 11:35 PM
ahahaha.. lunasonata, you're eyeing on this too, eh?? =:p
just saw your post here after reading the other one at innov8.

i'm so gonna get this! but... when it says "early oct", doesn't it mean nov for SG? =.="

woot..tink i'll go for samsung..LG not very good i tink =x

theory_87
05-09-2008, 10:48 AM
LG is quite good now... I think now it quite even between LG and Samsung product. It more about branding

lunasonata
05-09-2008, 11:49 PM
LG is quite good now... I think now it quite even between LG and Samsung product. It more about branding

haha both r korean brands rite

theory_87
06-09-2008, 01:53 AM
yup... both korean brand

hj_dragon
06-09-2008, 05:47 AM
http://www.newlaunches.com/entry_images/0909/04/lg_kc910-2.jpg

http://www.newlaunches.com/entry_images/0909/04/lg_kc910-3.jpg

http://www.newlaunches.com/entry_images/0909/04/lg_kc910-thumb-450x421.jpg

Seems coming this October, will the camera be protected this time or will come out another "R" verison.

http://www.newlaunches.com/archives/lg_kc910_the_viewty_successor.php

theory_87
06-09-2008, 09:39 AM
the shuttle door should be same as K850i type...

amberi0
07-09-2008, 05:40 PM
"coming in Oct" usually means SG will get it in Nov, right??

lunasonata
07-09-2008, 08:33 PM
"coming in Oct" usually means SG will get it in Nov, right??

yup..unless they special case like samsung innov8 ba

undeniable
09-09-2008, 03:06 AM
hope it will run on wm6.1 ....

amberi0
09-09-2008, 05:58 PM
what about on Android? interface seems nice.

ostralek
09-09-2008, 09:50 PM
Actually, for such a good phone like this, you can find the extra features in the Feature portion of the user manual, but I guess most people don't make an effort to read the manual in depth, and hence lose out in terms of not knowing some of these features.

If you lost your manual, then go try and download the manual free from http://www.lostmymanual.org

Cheers.

amberi0
11-09-2008, 09:30 PM
sigh.. no reviews on the phone's camera quality yet??

lunasonata
12-09-2008, 12:28 AM
woot..long time i guess..innov8's coming out 1stttt :s13:

kovanuser
12-09-2008, 10:31 AM
I wonder what OS this phone is using?

lunasonata
12-09-2008, 11:11 AM
shld be windows mobile ba

amberi0
12-09-2008, 11:21 PM
can't bear to part my cash without experiencing the LG KC910 leh...

worse, without even reading the review for its camera quality! T_T

shaheenjamal
12-09-2008, 11:29 PM
I wonder what OS this phone is using?

from pics i saw it runs same ui as viewty but has a white colour theme option

amberi0
21-09-2008, 07:36 PM
it doesn't support word doc?? but gsmarena says it has document viewer...

http://www.gsmhelpdesk.nl/en/specs.php?id=2617

otacon
25-09-2008, 09:43 AM
LG is good but i heard the sms part cos the screen dun know too sensitive or not sensitive.

i missed my viewty... hope the new owner take good care of it... :(

sky10v3s
04-10-2008, 08:07 PM
LG launches the Renoir in Europe

http://i278.photobucket.com/albums/kk88/nightkidz9/sc001.jpg

LG unveiled its latest touch-screen phone this Thursday, dubbed the Renoir. Also known by its model name KC910, the Renoir is a touch-screen phone with a whopping 8-megapixel camera as well as camera features that LG claims rivals that of even standalone digital cameras.

It's equipped with Schneider-Kreuznach optics, a Xenon flash, auto and manual focus, up to ISO 1,600 sensitivity, and geotagging. The Renoir also has a feature called Touch Shot that lets you focus on an object by tapping it on the screen, and then automatically taking a photo of it when the finger is removed. Another unique feature is Beauty Shot, which removes spots and imperfections from people's faces--like a digital face-lift, if you will. Finally, there's Art Shot, which consists of a number of preset effects like black and white to color tones.

Other features of the Renoir include text and multimedia messaging, Wi-Fi, A-GPS, 3G HSDPA, a music player, a camcorder with the ability to capture 120 fps slow-motion video and to compress events to 5 fps time lapse recording, built-in support for DivX and Xvid, and more. It is also the first handset to have Dolby Mobile, which promises richer bass sound to the music player.

The Renoir is LG's successor to the Viewty, and much like its predecessor, the Renoir is not slated to debut in the US. It will come out in Europe in October, Asia, Latin America and CIS in November, the Middle East and Africa in December, and China in January 2009.

Though we did not see too many specs on this, LG also announced that it will launch another 8-megapixel cell phone dubbed the LG KC780 in October.

Via CNET Crave

sky10v3s
05-10-2008, 12:18 PM
i think this is one real great phone from LG, gonna get it.! =) great camera features too.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ebVDFJVl5J4 - LG KC910 Renoir: First Look Review
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=I5C-qgpUSTQ - LG-KC910 Renoir Video Clips 1 - Camera Features 1
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=50kxfDVzYA4&feature=related - LG-KC910 Renoir Video Clips 2 - Camera Features 2
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Z7R3XZCbc3g&feature=related - LG-KC910 Renoir Video Clips 3 - Multimedia Features
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PxNT1PvfHIw&feature=related - LG-KC910 Renoir VIdeo Clips 4 - UI Features

ISellstuff
05-10-2008, 10:57 PM
when is it out..

gee so many gd phones out now

N96, M85, Innov8 or Omnia and now this..

how to choose

which is best camera!11

Spongy
06-10-2008, 02:12 PM
The videos looks good but I can't find what OS does it use. Anyone knows ?

ISellstuff
06-10-2008, 04:28 PM
think its LG own OS?

wasted no have 3.5mm adapter

Spongy
06-10-2008, 05:24 PM
think its LG own OS?

wasted no have 3.5mm adapter

Proprietary OS ? That is sad............ After my K850i, I will not try another proprietary OS for a while........ This phone looks so promising.....

ISellstuff
06-10-2008, 06:34 PM
yea like the camera features.

but like innov8, to me mre mp still think not best.

i like optical zoom and better camera censor.

wally_world
09-10-2008, 06:29 PM
kinda stuck between whether to get this phone when it comes out or getting an exotic phone then buy one more camera... =/

anw hope this phone with doulby surround speakers will be louder than the Viewty... in normal conversion then the Viewty full blast is cannot hear one...

ISellstuff
10-10-2008, 02:49 AM
sometimes i wonder maybe i can get an N82 and a rather gd camera.

about similar price

kovanuser
13-10-2008, 11:01 AM
When this phone coming out?

wally_world
13-10-2008, 05:37 PM
should be within this month or the next... since innov8 alr out...

sky10v3s
22-10-2008, 08:04 PM
cnetasia.com finally reviewed about this phone.!

Taking the Viewty touchscreen concept to the next level, the LG Renoir is a serious 8-megapixel camera-phone with ambitions of replacing your standalone digital snapper. We took it out for a spin to see if this phone lives up to its (rather silly) artistic name and whether or not it's LG's best touchscreen phone yet.

Design
The LG Renoir definitely progresses on from the design of the LG Viewty and has a smoother, more refined feel to it. Its touchscreen lies behind a plastic casing that doesn't have the same quality feel as the iPhone's glass housing, but it results in a lighter overall feel. As with any touchscreen phone, be prepared to deal with fingerprints and other marks.

The Renoir's touchscreen is more responsive than the Viewty's, but less so than the iPhone's. Combined with a finger-friendly interface, similar to the Viewty's, we found the Renoir's touchscreen straightforward to use and the physical shortcut key at the bottom makes it easy to open apps quickly.

Another way to access apps is via a widgets bar on the screen, which you can then drag apps out of and put them on your home screen, similar to the Samsung Omnia or T-Mobile G1. The widgets give you quick access to info such as the time via an analogue or digital clock, or a memo pad for quick notes, for example.

One of the features you're likely to use often is the Renoir's camera. Housed at the back of the phone behind a substantial lens cover, it juts out somewhat unceremoniously--it's large but well-designed. To take a picture, you can hold the Renoir sideways and use the large shutter button to snap a quick pic.

Aside from the camera, LG is also proud of the Renoir's music capabilities, particularly since it teamed up with Dolby. While we can say that the Dolby Mobile software does add something extra to playback, the lack of a built-in 3.5mm headphone jack is really disappointing--you can use an adapter, but we'd much prefer a built-in jack.

Features
Starting with the Renoir's most exciting feature, the 8-megapixel camera, it's definitely a step up from the days of the LG Chocolate's 1.3-megapixel camera. While it's fair to say that megapixels aren't everything, the Renoir's camera performed well for the most part, taking sharp pictures in daylight and providing a variety of fun modes.

There's a face-detection mode, smile detection that only takes a picture when your subject is grinning, and even blink detection, to avoid taking pictures when someone has their eyes shut--all of which work well. A beauty mode claims to smooth out imperfections and it works to some extent, but it's no magic wand. You may prefer the harshness of reality anyway.

You can adjust the exposure and ISO, up to 1,600. There's also a panorama mode, but it doesn't compare with the Samsung i8510's automatic panorama, which we were extremely impressed with. As if all of that weren't enough, the camera also records video at up to 120 frames per second, so that you can play it back in slow motion.

Our only disappointment with the Renoir's camera is its performance in low light, which we thought would be good considering there's a Xenon flash. The flash provided less illumination than we expected when we tested it out in our dark room. We also found that at close range there was a bluish hue to pictures.

Back to the rest of the Renoir's tricks--there's plenty more left to play with. As with the Viewty, the Renoir supports DivX and Xvid files, so you can view films and video clips, stored on microSDHC cards up to 8GB. If your digital media isn't formatted in a compatible codec, the software in the box lets you encode video files into DivX.

The Renoir is packing HSDPA for fast mobile Internet, and built-in GPS that can be used alongside Google Maps for navigation purposes or to geo-tag your pics, so that later on you can plot them on a map. There's also a jogging app that tracks how far you've run and how long it took you, similar to the Nike + or Nokia's Sports Tracker.

If you're curious about what it's like to text on the Renoir's touchscreen, we can report that although it's not perfect, it is pretty good. Whether it's an SMS or a Web page you're writing on, the Renoir pops up a traditional mobile keypad with predictive text or a full QWERTY keypad, depending on which way you hold it up.

Performance
Video looked good on the Renoir's screen and it's definitely large enough to enjoy sitting through a film. The audio quality during music playback definitely benefits from Dolby Mobile, which adds width and bass to otherwise flat-sounding tracks--it's not just an equaliser. Call quality was loud and clear.

LG rates its battery life at 350 hours standby and 220 minutes talk time. We'll update this section when we've completed our real-world battery-use testing.

Conclusion
As interfaces go, the Renoir's is usable but lacks the openness of other platforms, such as Android or Symbian. As a camera-phone it performs well in daylight, but we think it could do better in the evening. The music player sounds good, but we wish there was a built-in 3.5mm headphone jack.

Overall, we found the Renoir to be a competent camera-phone, but we're not convinced it's LG's best touchscreen phone to date. It's a logical upgrade from the Viewty, but compared to when the Viewty came out, we're not as impressed with it relative to the current competition.

With a few tweaks, such as a slightly more responsive screen, a 3.5mm headphone jack and an open platform such as Android, we think LG could really shake the market up. Fingers crossed we'll see this push forward from LG soon.

kentchua
30-10-2008, 01:37 AM
Some countries already launched KC910...but why is it so quiet here in Singapore??? I was wondering when will it be launch here....Mid Nov or Dec???? Hopefully will be ard the time Sitex fair...

And also.....will there be only the black version????

amberi0
30-10-2008, 09:53 AM
i read on Digital Life that Renoir will be out this week! :s12:

now am deciding to get Renoir or Nokia's 5800 XpressMusic...

kentchua
30-10-2008, 09:10 PM
i read on Digital Life that Renoir will be out this week! :s12:

now am deciding to get Renoir or Nokia's 5800 XpressMusic...

Wow!!!!!I'm so into it now!!!!!!!!Looking forward to touch it..:P hhehehe

ISellstuff
31-10-2008, 12:34 AM
N85 vs Renoir Vs Nokia 5800 vs Innov8

sky10v3s
31-10-2008, 06:13 PM
maybe someone should make a official thread for this phone already? hahas.

penguin1
01-11-2008, 03:30 AM
it's either this phone or the Innov8.

any solid date as to when it will be released??

and roughly how much??? how much did viewty cost when it 1st came out? i highly suspect around the same pricing as Viewty then.

kentchua
02-11-2008, 06:13 AM
Wow!!!!!I'm so into it now!!!!!!!!Looking forward to touch it..:P hhehehe

Well.....its still not out yet in SG...sigh....

muhstik
02-11-2008, 12:02 PM
I'm waiting for this phone also. Hehe

zekai
02-11-2008, 12:27 PM
tried the prototype,
picture quality, af is very good n fast.

scrolling also better than omnia.

looking forward to the release model.

~jayia
02-11-2008, 01:20 PM
the back dont look as sleek as the front :(

amberi0
04-11-2008, 11:01 PM
guys! guys! guys!!!! :s12::s12::s12:

played with the prototype just now and asked about its release date and price.

the guy told me it'll be releasing by starhub this (or next) week. (paiseh, was too engrossed with the phone, so didn't catch exactly what he said) singtel after that. followed by M1...

set without contract would be $888. for singtel's contract (sorry that i didn't ask for specific contract), will be retailing for $388.

ya, agree with someone earlier on. the AF and photoshoot is fast. feels light though. doesn't feel as "solid" as it looks. my E71 feels more solid in hand.

Arbalest
04-11-2008, 11:26 PM
From the front, if you cover the LG logo and bottom 3 buttons.. look exactly like Omnia .. lol!

kovanuser
05-11-2008, 02:02 AM
guys! guys! guys!!!! :s12::s12::s12:

played with the prototype just now and asked about its release date and price.

the guy told me it'll be releasing by starhub this (or next) week. (paiseh, was too engrossed with the phone, so didn't catch exactly what he said) singtel after that. followed by M1...

set without contract would be $888. for singtel's contract (sorry that i didn't ask for specific contract), will be retailing for $388.

ya, agree with someone earlier on. the AF and photoshoot is fast. feels light though. doesn't feel as "solid" as it looks. my E71 feels more solid in hand.

Erm may I know where u get to play with the prototype?

Globe
05-11-2008, 09:03 PM
very interesting phone .. can't wait for it to come out

amberi0
06-11-2008, 09:35 AM
Hi Kovanuser

it was at the kallang indoor stadium where i played with the prototype.
LG was one of the sponsors for K-Pop concert. hence, they had a booth there.

but i think their store at vivo might have it too.

kovanuser
07-11-2008, 09:06 AM
Hi Kovanuser

it was at the kallang indoor stadium where i played with the prototype.
LG was one of the sponsors for K-Pop concert. hence, they had a booth there.

but i think their store at vivo might have it too.

I supposed there is no more trying out since its at indoor stadium...........

SweetObscurity
07-11-2008, 09:43 AM
i like this phone but i dun like the grey..... maybe if it comes in other colors imma get it!

damnit its like I'm becoming an LG fanatic unknowingly... lol

muhstik
07-11-2008, 07:59 PM
It's available now ppl :s12:.
http://www.starhub.com/portal/site/Mobile/menuitem.c70f114dc9ead084a1c2ca608324a5a0/?vgnextoid=1810157e4db6d110VgnVCM100000464114acRCRD

kovanuser
07-11-2008, 10:15 PM
It's available now ppl :s12:.
http://www.starhub.com/portal/site/Mobile/menuitem.c70f114dc9ead084a1c2ca608324a5a0/?vgnextoid=1810157e4db6d110VgnVCM100000464114acRCRD

wow. Starhub 1st to announce it! But I still wondering the premiums got wat inside? Any idea? Any exclusive gifts?

Terms and Condtions
Promotion is valid till 28 November 2008, while stocks last.
Customer will be notified by StarHub within 1 working day for confirmation of order.
Premiums are while stocks last and are only available for the first 100 customers with every sign up of LG Renoir KC910 2 year mobile phone packages.
Premiums are not exchangeable for cash or other benefits in kind.
StarHub reserves the right to replace any premiums with that of a similar or lower value.
StarHub Mobile Service and Promotional Terms & Conditions apply (http://www.starhub.com/portal/site/Mobile/menuitem.ea01abc105f32076da055b608324a5a0/?vgnextoid=81605d335c820110VgnVCM100000464114acRCRD).
All phone offer reservations shall be subjected to StarHub's absolute discretion.
StarHub reserves the right to refuse or reject such reservations without assigning any reasons.
StarHub also reserves the right to limit the number of reservations allowed.
Free 3 months' subscription to MaxMobile Value is for first-time subscribers to the service.Valid till 31 December 2008. Usual monthly subscription applies after 3rd month unless otherwise notified. Any usage beyond the free bundle data of MaxMobile Value service will be charged at prevailing rates. Promotion is not applicableto SharePlus dependent lines or any other promotion unless specified by StarHub

Globe
07-11-2008, 10:24 PM
woot ... end of yr bonus faster come :D

goodrealm
08-11-2008, 07:28 AM
SingTel selling online the Renoir at only $388!

http://home.singtel.com/hotdeals/#link?page=Mobile

Standard Package Contents Include:-
1xHandset
1xTravel Charger
1xStd Battery(same as Viewty battery)
1xStylus with handstrap
1xCd Rom
1xUser Guide
1xUSB Cable
1xIn Ear Stereo Earpiece with 3.5mm adapter
1X Screen Protector
1X 8GB MicroSD Card

Ultra Cool phone!

muhstik
08-11-2008, 08:43 AM
Wow, that's a steal. ****, don't know can cancel my starhub order or not. I didn't want to switch provider anyway originally.

Gash_1989
08-11-2008, 11:09 AM
gosh..now i m quite lost which to buy..this or HTC touch 3G..though one is wm6..the other is LG OS..any suggestions?

muhstik
08-11-2008, 02:05 PM
I have just got mine. Went to singtel's authorized dealer at IMM in the early morning. The guy said got then gave me viewty. I said not this one lar. The guy raised his voice on me, "Then which one?". I said I want LG KC910. "Don't have, don't have" the guy said. Damn tulan.

Then went to starhub's boot. LG is having a roadshow at Plaza Singapura apparently. I thought, got nothing to do, might as well go there and have a look. At last I subscribed to Starhub's PowerValue 100 and the phone costs me $398. Singtel's offer just a tad cheaper, $388. Anyway, the box comes with
- Phone
- Battery
- Charger
- 8 GB micro sd card
- In-ear headphone
- Stylus pen
- Pouch
- Protection Film
- USB data cable
- CD and Manual

I'm charging it right now.

Eh... forgot to tell. They even throw in a watch which will be delivered to my address. However, I didn't pay attention as its not my main point.

sky10v3s
08-11-2008, 02:13 PM
I have just got mine. Went to singtel's authorized dealer at IMM in the early morning. The guy said got then gave me viewty. I said not this one lar. The guy raised his voice on me, "Then which one?". I said I want LG KC910. "Don't have, don't have" the guy said. Damn tulan.

Then went to starhub's boot. LG is having a roadshow at Plaza Singapura apparently. I thought, got nothing to do, might as well go there and have a look. At last I subscribed to Starhub's PowerValue 100 and the phone costs me $398. Singtel's offer just a tad cheaper, $388. Anyway, the box comes with
- Phone
- Charger
- In-ear headphone
- Stylus pen
- Pouch
- Protection Film
- USB data cable
- CD and Manual

I'm charging it right now.

Eh... forgot to tell. They even throw in a watch which will be delivered to my address. However, I didn't pay attention as its not my main point.
wow. cool. guess you're the first want to get it. lol.
didnt they give you memory card?
how's the phone?

muhstik
08-11-2008, 02:32 PM
wow. cool. guess you're the first want to get it. lol.
didnt they give you memory card?
how's the phone?

Argh.. you're right, my wrong. It comes with 8GB micro sd card and the adapter. The phone is very light, but like any other touch screen phone. It's fingerprint magnet. So far, I am impressed with all the stuffs bundled. Haven't tested the phone though.

sky10v3s
08-11-2008, 02:34 PM
Argh.. you're right, my wrong. It comes with 8GB micro sd card and the adapter. The phone is very light, but like any other touch screen phone. It's fingerprint magnet. So far, I am impressed with all the stuffs bundled. Haven't tested the phone though.
oh i see. hm, maybe you could tell me how responsive was the touchscreen after you test it later. thanks. =)

choonlye
08-11-2008, 02:36 PM

Can take some night shots and post the photos? Hope to see the quality of the xenon flash. Review on the user interface also appreciated.

teckhwee
08-11-2008, 02:47 PM
Able to purchase without line? how much sia......

staris
08-11-2008, 04:46 PM
how'z video call? is there a secondary camera??

muhstik
08-11-2008, 04:58 PM
oh i see. hm, maybe you could tell me how responsive was the touchscreen after you test it later. thanks. =)

Ah, regarding the touchscreen responsiveness. I'd say it's not as responsive as iphone. You need to press just slighly longer than how you normally press iphone. The phone will vibrate if it receives the sensor properly. However, it's good enough for me. It's a matter of personal taste. I tried it with the battery from the LG roadshow booth by the way.

As a side note, It actually has touch sensor reset/calibration function which I will try it later on. I have just skimped through the manual.

muhstik
08-11-2008, 04:59 PM
Able to purchase without line? how much sia......

Without subscription, it will costs $888. Nice number? Hehe.

muhstik
08-11-2008, 05:00 PM
how'z video call? is there a secondary camera??

Yeah, it has second camera in front. It was called internal camera in manual. However, I haven't got any chance to try it out yet.

muhstik
08-11-2008, 05:03 PM
Can take some night shots and post the photos? Hope to see the quality of the xenon flash. Review on the user interface also appreciated.

Will do it later, stay tune. I'd say some reviews on the net try to hard to be as skeptical as possible. I find the lense cover rather slick which many reviews disagree with.

choonlye
08-11-2008, 05:17 PM
Will do it later, stay tune. I'd say some reviews on the net try to hard to be as skeptical as possible. I find the lense cover rather slick which many reviews disagree with.

Thanks mate. I normally read those review on the internet with a pinch of salt. User review is the best, especially locally :D
Also, does it comes with application to sync with Outlook contact and calendar?

teckhwee
08-11-2008, 07:07 PM
Without subscription, it will costs $888. Nice number? Hehe.

Thanks for answering all our questions bro.

Was just at PS to try the phone, i would say UI is more faster and smoother than Viewty, and the preasure you need to press the screen is lesser than viewty too, which is good.

But i found something strange which i hope you can help. I went settings and set the font size to large or very large. All menu items font become very big but sms inbox and writing still same size........ Is there a way to increase the sms text font size?

choonlye
08-11-2008, 07:26 PM
See from http://www.gsmarena.com/8_megapixel_grand_shootout-review-296p3.php that the flash is not bright for a xenon.

oTaRu
09-11-2008, 02:18 AM
anyone knows what application does this phone use for GPS?

muhstik
09-11-2008, 09:00 AM
See from http://www.gsmarena.com/8_megapixel_grand_shootout-review-296p3.php that the flash is not bright for a xenon.

Yeah, GSMARENA's review is the only one I trust. I took two pictures, one is from 1m away and the other is 3m away. In my opinion, the xenon flash is not meant for taking picture from a long distance but I'm not a digicam expert. Should be fine we plan to snap a chick at clubbing house i supposed. Hehe.

Snap from 1m.
http://img509.imageshack.us/my.php?image=1mlc5.jpg

Snap from 3m.
http://img443.imageshack.us/my.php?image=3mij3.jpg

muhstik
09-11-2008, 09:17 AM
Thanks for answering all our questions bro.

Was just at PS to try the phone, i would say UI is more faster and smoother than Viewty, and the preasure you need to press the screen is lesser than viewty too, which is good.

But i found something strange which i hope you can help. I went settings and set the font size to large or very large. All menu items font become very big but sms inbox and writing still same size........ Is there a way to increase the sms text font size?

Probably not mate. The sms apps' view will be messed up if the letter too big. That font setting is just for Menu i guess. Like Windows' appearance settings.

choonlye
09-11-2008, 10:12 AM
Yeah, GSMARENA's review is the only one I trust. I took two pictures, one is from 1m away and the other is 3m away. In my opinion, the xenon flash is not meant for taking picture from a long distance but I'm not a digicam expert. Should be fine we plan to snap a chick at clubbing house i supposed. Hehe.

Snap from 1m.

Snap from 3m.

Thanks buddy.

Do you sync with Outlook?

viceroy6565
09-11-2008, 11:43 AM
Whymobile $680

MS $768!!!!

Iposh $788

Wat a big difference!

hoks
09-11-2008, 03:13 PM
Whymobile is 720 mah...

http://www.whymobile.com/productinfo.php?id=LG-KC910&brand=LG

choonlye
09-11-2008, 03:15 PM
They must have changed it. I saw it at $680 before lunch.

hoks
09-11-2008, 03:32 PM
Maybe he saw yr post :):)

choonlye
09-11-2008, 03:48 PM
So, anyone who has bought this phone managed to sync the contacts and calendars with MS Outlook?

lunasonata
09-11-2008, 04:27 PM
Whymobile is 720 mah...

http://www.whymobile.com/productinfo.php?id=LG-KC910&brand=LG

lol i saw 680 too..increased $40 in a few hrs..woot

viceroy6565
09-11-2008, 05:41 PM
Still cheapest amongst the 3....

pharoahx
09-11-2008, 06:18 PM
yea, im also curious if it can sync with ms outlook. anyone tried that out yet?

kovanuser
10-11-2008, 01:45 AM

Snap from 1m.

Snap from 3m.

Hey Bro, can u take a pic of yr hands with the camera? I wanna see the size?
Btw, the roadshow at PS when end ar? any idea? Oh, do give us a short review on the phone too thx! =)

penguin1
10-11-2008, 01:55 AM
BESIDES THE USUAL TALK ON PHOTO QUALITY OR FLASH I got a QNS for owners of this phone!!

for videos do u need to convert them to native resolution or a certain file format before it can be played on the phone?

lets not talk abt .mkv how abt the more common divx and xvid, does coversion still need to be done?

i would love to watched downloaded movies and animes without the hassle of going thru all the video conversion process. u know, like just throwing them into the phone (just as u would throw files into a portable hdd) and having it play them back flawlessly

HOPE SOMEONE CAN HELP ME OUT HERE!

kovanuser
10-11-2008, 09:01 AM
I can't wait for more reviews from muhstik!!!! :s12:

muhstik
10-11-2008, 09:20 AM
@choonlye,pharoahx
Regarding Syncing with Outlook Express, LG PC Suite II has the function. However, I have never tried it as I don't use outlook.

@kovanuser, the phone's size just feel right for me. I'm quite small size by the way so might not be a good idea to take it as a measurement.

@penguin1
I only know that it plays .avi and .mp4 container with DivX/Xvid video. I tested with Breaking Benjamin Live concert which is in Xvid video format and originally encoded for PC. It looks awesome. I reckon nobody ever heard of Breaking Benjamini here. Hehe.

Anyway, Matroska .mkv is also a container. You can just extract the video and audio data inside then mux them into another container let's say .mp4. Then, you can watch the video. Also, mux and demuxing just take a couple of minutes not like converting to another format which will take hours.

Oh yah, previous pictures are taken in a complete dark room. :)

Spongy
10-11-2008, 10:32 AM
Anyone knows what OS is this phone using ? Symbian by any chance ?

kovanuser
10-11-2008, 01:46 PM
Anyone knows what OS is this phone using ? Symbian by any chance ?

Its using a proprietary OS. So to say LG using its own OS. Not using symbian or wat. :yawn:

Spongy
10-11-2008, 02:11 PM
Sad to hear that it is using proprietary OS. Shall wait for more user reviews to see if want to get this or not.

penguin1
10-11-2008, 03:14 PM
@penguin1
I only know that it plays .avi and .mp4 container with DivX/Xvid video. I tested with Breaking Benjamin Live concert which is in Xvid video format and originally encoded for PC. It looks awesome. I reckon nobody ever heard of Breaking Benjamini here. Hehe.

Anyway, Matroska .mkv is also a container. You can just extract the video and audio data inside then mux them into another container let's say .mp4. Then, you can watch the video. Also, mux and demuxing just take a couple of minutes not like converting to another format which will take hours.

:)

really? i didnt know that.

cool. are there any free software out that that does that? the demuxing and remuxing of video in mkv to avi or mp4?

btw thatnks for the prompt reply

kovanuser
10-11-2008, 03:15 PM
Sad to hear that it is using proprietary OS. Shall wait for more user reviews to see if want to get this or not.

Its not that bad from what I know...I just don't like symbian OS...it lags...and is really bad.

Spongy
10-11-2008, 03:54 PM
Its not that bad from what I know...I just don't like symbian OS...it lags...and is really bad.

Oh, I have used SE K850i and the calling function sucks big time as you will need to wait about 10-20 secs when calling someone. So a bit scared after the K850i episode.

Anyway, I like the autofocus quality of the K850i and the video quality of the N95. Anyone knows if this phone is similiar or better than both K850i and N95 for the auto-focus and ivideo ? Is there any lag in the calling function for this phone and if the caller-ID works for this phone ? Currently, my N95 doesn't show the contact names of those party I have in the phone book after I have updated to the latest S60 v3. :s22:

muhstik
10-11-2008, 07:57 PM

It's proprietary but there's sign that they are going to open it. LG users can even upgrade their own firmware now through h**p://update.lgmobile.com. Hehe.

So far, the only real problem for me is it's not for lefty.

muhstik
10-11-2008, 08:02 PM
really? i didnt know that.

cool. are there any free software out that that does that? the demuxing and remuxing of video in mkv to avi or mp4?

btw thatnks for the prompt reply

Yes mate, you can use AVIDeMux to extract the audio and video. While for Mux-ing them back into .mp4, YAMB supposed to be sufficient.

muhstik
10-11-2008, 08:04 PM
Oh, I have used SE K850i and the calling function sucks big time as you will need to wait about 10-20 secs when calling someone. So a bit scared after the K850i episode.

Anyway, I like the autofocus quality of the K850i and the video quality of the N95. Anyone knows if this phone is similiar or better than both K850i and N95 for the auto-focus and ivideo ? Is there any lag in the calling function for this phone and if the caller-ID works for this phone ? Currently, my N95 doesn't show the contact names of those party I have in the phone book after I have updated to the latest S60 v3. :s22:

There's a video sample at gsmarena. Seriously, i don't think n95 is in the same league. :)

pharoahx
10-11-2008, 09:32 PM
@choonlye,pharoahx
Regarding Syncing with Outlook Express, LG PC Suite II has the function. However, I have never tried it as I don't use outlook.

ohh.. alright. thanks for the review man. appreciates it. Do let us know if you found any more details of this phone, such as, whether it will lag etc. :D

shaheenjamal
10-11-2008, 10:57 PM
thinking of changing to this phone from viewty.. not sure if its really worth the upgrade though, like as in the added features, worth the price tag?

Spongy
10-11-2008, 11:23 PM
There's a video sample at gsmarena. Seriously, i don't think n95 is in the same league. :)

I take it that this phone has better video quality than N95. How about the auto focus ? Is it good ? Does it lag also ? Any issues so far ? :yawn:

kovanuser
11-11-2008, 09:40 AM
I take it that this phone has better video quality than N95. How about the auto focus ? Is it good ? Does it lag also ? Any issues so far ? :yawn:

Ah i went to PS last day of the showroom yesterday. The auto focus is fast but when comes to macro shot, it needs abt 15cm away from the object o do a macro shot. Otherwise if u attempt to take a picture less than 15cm, it cannot focus well. Of cse, u cannot compare it with a real digital camera. Therefore, it is already good enough. :s12:

kovanuser
11-11-2008, 09:45 AM
The phone is really light....
The sensitivity is better than the last viewty phone....its more responsive. However, iphone is still the winner when it comes to sensitivity touch. This phone sensitivity is definitely better than the omnia phone. The sms typing I find it easier to use in normal typing mode instead of qwerty keyboard. Probably its due to my big fingers.

konpop
11-11-2008, 01:36 PM
am comtemplating whether to get this phone or not as well...

bro with the phone, can ask you something? how is the bat life like eh?

Spongy
11-11-2008, 01:53 PM
Ah i went to PS last day of the showroom yesterday. The auto focus is fast but when comes to macro shot, it needs abt 15cm away from the object o do a macro shot. Otherwise if u attempt to take a picture less than 15cm, it cannot focus well. Of cse, u cannot compare it with a real digital camera. Therefore, it is already good enough. :s12:

I think K850i can handle 10cm or so. Anyway, my N95 can't handle 10cm too. Really keen to either get this or the Nokia Tube. Will wait for more reviews and the price to drop lower first before I decide which to get. :D

undiscern
11-11-2008, 03:26 PM
guys, can sms be forwarded, and can it send multiple sms by selecting multipl users from contact?

Also, i read that the email client keeps downloading the older email rather than the newer ones, is it true? Anyone using the email client? how often the interval can you set to check for new emails?

Thanks!

was struggling between this and nokia 5800

kovanuser
11-11-2008, 03:30 PM
I think K850i can handle 10cm or so. Anyway, my N95 can't handle 10cm too. Really keen to either get this or the Nokia Tube. Will wait for more reviews and the price to drop lower first before I decide which to get. :D

Well, K850i is after all a sony product...using cybershot too...no doubt it may get clearer pics or better focus :)

chinilogy
11-11-2008, 03:46 PM
so anybody knows wat's brand/model is the free watch starhub is giving out wif the purchase of this phone at the PS booth??

GY_Ren
11-11-2008, 05:15 PM
anyone know what map did they use for gps??

Lesbian_Behkan_
11-11-2008, 05:19 PM
Wa~the KC910 seems a FAb gadgeT wheN pitted agnst the otheR 8mpix monstaRs!!!~:s31:

http://www.gsmarena.com/8_megapixel_grand_shootout-review-296.php

Jaccy_Loo
11-11-2008, 05:25 PM
Might get it when I sell my LG secret, the phone seems more polished and has a better cam/video recording power over most phones out there.:)

Horace Bin
11-11-2008, 05:32 PM
I really like what gsmarena said about the video recording...:o

In our personal opinion the LG Renoir produces the best quality VGA@30fps videos so that compensates for the fact that there's no QVGA video recording. The Renoir also uses the superior DivX compression and records AVI files.

muhstik
11-11-2008, 09:15 PM
Yeah, I found a few flaws already. At least, appear to be in my renoir.
- Can't play h264 video
- Can't open secure http webpage (https) properly.

Will add again later... :s12:

choonlye
11-11-2008, 09:24 PM
Went to Singtel Hello! shop at Tampines Mall and Parkway Parade this afternoon. They have not started selling at the stores, only at Singtelshop online :(

muhstik
11-11-2008, 09:47 PM
A pro with Renoir
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6sX2e7hBJs8

and his works...
http://flickr.com/photos/lgrenoir

kovanuser
11-11-2008, 10:45 PM
A pro with Renoir

and his works...

wow THx for sic!!!! Hopefully that pro uses renoir to take pics...although its written using renoir..but who knows?

Anyway, do get back to us abt the secure http site.....and the video h264 confirm cannot play? Is it supported in the 1st place?

Spongy
12-11-2008, 12:03 AM
Quite sold on the LG Renoir. Hope that the prices drop faster.....

Lesbian_Behkan_
12-11-2008, 12:11 AM
A pro with Renoir

and his works...

WoWoWoW!!!!!!!~~~~~~~!!!!!!!!RenoiR rawks siA!!!!!!!!:D:eek:

kovanuser
12-11-2008, 12:37 AM
Quite sold on the LG Renoir. Hope that the prices drop faster.....

Same sentiments!

dustnbones13
12-11-2008, 12:40 AM
Already feel like trading my Innov8 for this phone haha

pharoahx
12-11-2008, 01:27 AM
hope to get this phone when the price is right. Lets update each other when there is any road show promotion or something. Looking forward to coming IT Fair. Maybe they might hve some form of promotion for it.

dustnbones13
12-11-2008, 04:32 AM
hope to get this phone when the price is right. Lets update each other when there is any road show promotion or something. Looking forward to coming IT Fair. Maybe they might hve some form of promotion for it.

Already have roadshow promo at PS, outside starhub shop.

kovanuser
12-11-2008, 08:53 AM
Already have roadshow promo at PS, outside starhub shop.

The starhub roadshow is over liao lo..ended on monday....even if u want to try out the phone at LG showroom the phone is alson not available yet...shd be next week then the live set can be tried out at the branch @ vivo city

Spongy
12-11-2008, 10:10 AM
Seems like a few of us are keen to get the phone when it gets cheaper. Maybe someone can organise a MO to go down to whymobile to get a bulk discount or something. :p

undiscern
12-11-2008, 12:43 PM
Imho, it is already priced quite cheaply compared to similar phones of other brand.

kovanuser
12-11-2008, 01:34 PM
Seems like a few of us are keen to get the phone when it gets cheaper. Maybe someone can organise a MO to go down to whymobile to get a bulk discount or something. :p

Eh got such good lobang? Unless u buy w/o plan is it? I going for plan though.

kovanuser
12-11-2008, 01:37 PM
Imho, it is already priced quite cheaply compared to similar phones of other brand.

yeah i agree....its already cheap at ard 388 but lets hope it drops more..who dun want a cheaper phone?

Spongy
12-11-2008, 01:38 PM
Yes, agreed that the price is quite reasonable but thought since whymobile could list it for $680 on the first day of launch, I am targeting it cheaper than that.

I do not have any mobile plans to upgrade for the time being, so I will need to buy w/o plan.

pharoahx
12-11-2008, 02:29 PM
hey good news, the price of this phone dropped to SGD710 in whymobile site. hope this is a good start. haha.

Spongy
12-11-2008, 02:38 PM
hey good news, the price of this phone dropped to SGD710 in whymobile site. hope this is a good start. haha.

Has been $710 for the last 2-3 days. I am monitoring it on a daily basis like stock market. :s13:

pharoahx
12-11-2008, 02:55 PM
opps.. guessed im too slow. haha. yea, i plan to get it when it hits around 650plus plus range. hopefully this might happen, around around late december, jan period - though chances are quite slim. :s13:

viceroy6565
12-11-2008, 03:00 PM
SO far, I dun see any telcos having the fone except last weekend when Starhub had a roadshow. Singtel is the fone for sale onli online. My guess is when they officially launch it, they may have freebies along with the fone. (perhaps some Balenciaga pen or watch). Or when SITEX comes around, there may be offers.....

dustnbones13
12-11-2008, 04:07 PM
Ho ho just got the phone from SH...Loving it at the moment... Anyone know the official website for this phone to upgrade software? thanks.

Spongy
12-11-2008, 05:16 PM
opps.. guessed im too slow. haha. yea, i plan to get it when it hits around 650plus plus range. hopefully this might happen, around around late december, jan period - though chances are quite slim. :s13:

Me too, I am hoping that the price will be around $650 when I buy in early Dec '08. :s13:

muhstik
12-11-2008, 06:23 PM
wow THx for sic!!!! Hopefully that pro uses renoir to take pics...although its written using renoir..but who knows?

Anyway, do get back to us abt the secure http site.....and the video h264 confirm cannot play? Is it supported in the 1st place?

Ah yeah, i managed to get it work with secure http site already. I have to switch on the certificate settings. While the h264 video, not sure supported or not.

muhstik
12-11-2008, 06:25 PM
SO far, I dun see any telcos having the fone except last weekend when Starhub had a roadshow. Singtel is the fone for sale onli online. My guess is when they officially launch it, they may have freebies along with the fone. (perhaps some Balenciaga pen or watch). Or when SITEX comes around, there may be offers.....

Eh.. I think Balenciaga watch is the one they threw in for me at LG Roadshow but until now has not been delivered. Is it any good?

vanilor
12-11-2008, 10:07 PM
whats this about....wat premium?

stgrp66
12-11-2008, 11:04 PM
any idea how to know whether am i entitle to the Balenciaga watch?

pharoahx
13-11-2008, 12:21 AM
any idea how to know whether am i entitle to the Balenciaga watch?

i think give them a call would be best solution. Their CSO will gladly answer your question - that is if you are buying from starhub. i dun think singtel online shopping has this promotion.

pharoahx
13-11-2008, 12:24 AM
LG KC910 (New)
SGD $740.00 (Cash)
NETS: $751.10 | CC: $769.6

oh man.. the price of this phone gone up again in whymobile.com. gosh.. the price is like stock market. drop and fall a few times within 1 week! :s11:

kovanuser
13-11-2008, 09:06 AM
LG KC910 (New)
SGD $740.00 (Cash)
NETS: $751.10 | CC: $769.6

oh man.. the price of this phone gone up again in whymobile.com. gosh.. the price is like stock market. drop and fall a few times within 1 week! :s11:

Wondering who is tryin to play with the pricing.......

Price up means got demand???

Spongy
13-11-2008, 09:50 AM
Don't worry lah. When Samsung Innov8 launched a few weeks ago, the prices also went up for a while. So just wait out loh. Recession is looming so phone prices will also follow.

hj_dragon
13-11-2008, 11:18 AM
Comparing this LG and Sony Xpertia

Xpertia
Color 65K
Display Resolution
800X240 3" inch

LG KC910
Color 262K
Display resolution
240X400 3" inch

Is the Xpertia screen interpolated or screen pic better than LG?
Or cannot see the difference due to small screen size of 3 inch

daniely2005
13-11-2008, 02:22 PM
For people that has owned this phone, how is the GPS performance ?
What map is included ?

Thanks

XiaoDongDongDong
13-11-2008, 03:23 PM
whats this about....wat premium?

$50 off + free bluetooth earpiece... and dunno free what.

I just ordered mine!~

Lesbian_Behkan_
13-11-2008, 05:20 PM
Wa~the toucH screen n shooT optioN wif AF is damm cooL sia!~The renoir trulY ish a multimedia monsteR!by the way the packed-in memorY card standarD ish 8GB??? or less huh?

phrozact
13-11-2008, 07:48 PM
Comparing this LG and Sony Xpertia

Xpertia
Color 65K
Display Resolution
800X240 3" inch

LG KC910
Color 262K
Display resolution
240X400 3" inch

Is the Xpertia screen interpolated or screen pic better than LG?
Or cannot see the difference due to small screen size of 3 inch
I think the resolution of the Xperia is actually 800x480, not 240. And yes, the screen on the Xperia will be a lot sharper than the LG. The difference will be obvious despite the small 3" screens.

Tan_Damian
13-11-2008, 08:15 PM
The KC910 Renoir from LG are one of those few rare gems that most phone users would overlook, just fiddled with a friend's set and it is truly marvelous esp the touch screen is so much improved over the older viewty, but as most would discover, the breaking points would be the cam & media recording.
IMO this model would certainly eclipse most cam phones esp it come packed with wifi/gps ability too.

hj_dragon
13-11-2008, 08:22 PM
screen resolution lost out to SE xpertia. Hope the next HP can come out better screen resolution.

woofworks13
13-11-2008, 08:38 PM
anyone knows if Renoir run Google maps?works properly?

pharoahx
13-11-2008, 09:28 PM
The KC910 Renoir from LG are one of those few rare gems that most phone users would overlook, just fiddled with a friend's set and it is truly marvelous esp the touch screen is so much improved over the older viewty, but as most would discover, the breaking points would be the cam & media recording.
IMO this model would certainly eclipse most cam phones esp it come packed with wifi/gps ability too.

yea man.. i totally agree with you. in fact, imho, i think that its comparable to those exp phones like omnia, innov8, n96. other than the wm6.1 platform, its price is certainly justified. a pity that this phone doesn't bundle with maps. otherwise, i think its a real killer phone.

penguin1
14-11-2008, 12:09 AM
if it was really bundled with maps then this fone will be da killa indeed

Igene
14-11-2008, 11:28 AM
Just wondering, if there is no map, then how do we navigate with GPS?

evilspawnsss
14-11-2008, 12:43 PM
Hey can anyone Enlighten mi?Someone who use viewty and jus upgrade to this KC910.. Is the sms ringtone going same like viewty which is only 3 sec "long" Hope someone could help b4 i wanted to get this phone thanks

header
14-11-2008, 02:28 PM
Anyone knows where to play with a test set?
LG shop at Vivo only has dummy set.
Any review on the GPS & web surfing function willbe great.

Btw, Samsung price its Pixon $898. I guess LG wants this to be the lowest price 8mp hp.

kovanuser
14-11-2008, 03:41 PM
Just wondering, if there is no map, then how do we navigate with GPS?

Download using the phone and pay for the map I think?

kovanuser
14-11-2008, 03:42 PM

Btw, Samsung price its Pixon $898. I guess LG wants this to be the lowest price 8mp hp.

LG vivocity will have the 'live' set next week or the week after, thats what I am told by them :)

kovanuser
14-11-2008, 03:43 PM

Samsung phones are always overpriced.....as usual....

header
14-11-2008, 03:50 PM
I agree Samsung phones are over priced. But i think that is becos they spend more on A&P.
LG promotion is not as good. Renoir already launched but u cannt really test it at LG shops!
weak mkting & promotion effort....

kovanuser
14-11-2008, 05:14 PM
I agree Samsung phones are over priced. But i think that is becos they spend more on A&P.
LG promotion is not as good. Renoir already launched but u cannt really test it at LG shops!
weak mkting & promotion effort....

Ah..i guess u miss the roadshow earlier on. Starhub was having it last sat till monday....I went there on monday to try it out :)

muhstik
14-11-2008, 05:45 PM
anyone knows if Renoir run Google maps?works properly?

Yeah, it does. I just tested this morning at TradeHub21 Boon Lay Way. It shows the correct location and says within 7m accuracy. I believe it depends on the weather also which is cloudy at best.

saljiputeh
14-11-2008, 08:54 PM
hey do read up on a brief review I just made :)

Forseti
14-11-2008, 09:24 PM
saljiputeh...erm....where to find ur review?

kovanuser
14-11-2008, 10:22 PM
saljiputeh...erm....where to find ur review?

here it is, bro!

http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showthread.php?t=2162983

hpi3evo
14-11-2008, 11:14 PM
sony x1 screen truly sharp,but that mean the text will be smaller to read,so i tik lg renoir resolution should be just nice 4 readin

Darkcrest
15-11-2008, 02:13 AM
been thinking of getting this. not out in singtel stores yet though. only the online shop.

sky10v3s
15-11-2008, 11:04 AM
oh yea, one quite important question.
is the mp3 sms ringtone same as viewty again?
as in 5 sec?

header
15-11-2008, 02:35 PM
Yeah, it does. I just tested this morning at TradeHub21 Boon Lay Way. It shows the correct location and says within 7m accuracy. I believe it depends on the weather also which is cloudy at best.

How long does it takes to log on using GPS / AGPS, in average?

header
15-11-2008, 02:36 PM
ANyone knows when M1 will be carry this hp?

Btw come across this website:
http://www.projectkc910.com/

limkim1978
15-11-2008, 06:02 PM
Hi guy,

Saw on today news paper that it is going for 398 powervaule 100. It is on page A33.

Additional $50 dollars discount if purchase is make online.

So it will be $348 for 2 yrs powervalue 100 plan(low plan).

I call up to 1633 and 1630 neither of them can confirm this price. I wonder why starhub published it on newspaper but their helpdesk got totally no idea of it.

Somemore they give me different answer when i call up. First say it is only for roadshow which is not mentioned on the whole advertisment even on the fine print.

Second, I ask a friend to call up and ask, they told my friend the $398 is for online purchase only.

I really have no idea what is their online price now.

Can any kind soul please advise?

Many thanks in advance.

muhstik
15-11-2008, 10:43 PM
oh yea, one quite important question.
is the mp3 sms ringtone same as viewty again?
as in 5 sec?

No, I have tried as long as 20secs.

muhstik
15-11-2008, 10:48 PM
How long does it takes to log on using GPS / AGPS, in average?

It's less than 1 minute I can say. Today, I got a chance to test it again. I tried thrice, at Jurong East MRT, Kranji MRT and City Square JB. All positions are identified properly.

kovanuser
16-11-2008, 02:20 AM
It's less than 1 minute I can say. Today, I got a chance to test it again. I tried thrice, at Jurong East MRT, Kranji MRT and City Square JB. All positions are identified properly.

Any idea this phone need to download the map? Even if it is needed for GPS, how much is it to download the map? Is it a once per time payment for the map?

kovanuser
16-11-2008, 02:26 AM
Erm any idea whether if i download a flash based game, can it be played into KC910? muhstik, can u help me verify?

pinoy7789
16-11-2008, 07:25 AM
i bought this celfone a week ago at the starhub lg roadshow and the staff said i am within the 100 customer therefore i am entitled for the free watch but until now i haven't received it. he said that they will deliver it to my home address. has anyone received their free balenciaga watch?

however, i love this celfone so much. i have been eyeing to buy the omnia but i find it too expensive. so when i saw the roadshow and saw the phone i just got it instantly hehe.

it's really nice. although it is not a smartphone, it has all the features that i need.

to all are looking for a new phone, i would highly recommend you to get one.

muhstik
16-11-2008, 07:48 AM
Any idea this phone need to download the map? Even if it is needed for GPS, how much is it to download the map? Is it a once per time payment for the map?

Kovanuser, this phone comes with google map which works very fine. I didn't download from google. :)

muhstik
16-11-2008, 07:50 AM
Erm any idea whether if i download a flash based game, can it be played into KC910? muhstik, can u help me verify?

Can you give me an address for downloading flash-based game? I'm interested to try it out also. While for java-based application, it's supported. I downloaded gmail for mobile and it's working fine.

muhstik
16-11-2008, 07:53 AM
i bought this celfone a week ago at the starhub lg roadshow and the staff said i am within the 100 customer therefore i am entitled for the free watch but until now i haven't received it. he said that they will deliver it to my home address. has anyone received their free balenciaga watch?

however, i love this celfone so much. i have been eyeing to buy the omnia but i find it too expensive. so when i saw the roadshow and saw the phone i just got it instantly hehe.

it's really nice. although it is not a smartphone, it has all the features that i need.

to all are looking for a new phone, i would highly recommend you to get one.

Same thing to me, I haven't received mine also. I have been waiting for this phone for few months. Reading reviews and updated news daily. When Starhub offered $398, I was even more excited because I was thinking that this phone going to cost at least 600. :s12:

Darkcrest
16-11-2008, 03:16 PM
undecided whether to get this, c905 or n85. Now n85 oso same price liao.

kovanuser
16-11-2008, 03:48 PM
Kovanuser, this phone comes with google map which works very fine. I didn't download from google. :)

Hi hi bro, I not very sure abt GPs stuff. From the way u say it, phone comes with google map. So to say this google map consists of singapore map and is free? What abt the GPS thing? Is it free or wat when I activate it? Any idea?

saljiputeh
16-11-2008, 04:33 PM
undecided whether to get this, c905 or n85. Now n85 oso same price liao.

In terms of multimedia..

For often music playback, get N85 due to its longer battery life. However, the LG produces better crisp and clarity in its speaker.

For often outdoor camera usage and video recording, get KC910. Video recording is definitely the best among those 3. See to believe. KC910 and innov8 flare better than c905 in outdoors too. Check out gsmarena's 'Battle of the 8MP phones'.

For often indoor and night shots, get C905. The phone with the most balanced amount of flash.

For often video playback, get KC910. Larger screen and support for most codecs.

For the best of both worlds, get innov8 =:p=:p

But seriously do take consideration when buying SE phones. I try very hard not to believe the following but its too good to be true with experiences with previous cybershot and walkman phones

1) The ports seriously suck I tell you.. spoils easily after a few months. This is not a case to case basis but this is the most common problem. And the bloody charger..

2) Phone value drops very fast.

3) Unstable software

4) Expensive M2 cards.

divasion
16-11-2008, 05:31 PM
why this new phone,8megapixel so cheap de for a 8megapixe de.700 dollar plus,nearing 600 dollar ++ soon.is it because it is LG?

chinilogy
16-11-2008, 09:51 PM
argh..... wen to singtel jus now and the phone is sold out island wide until further notice.... Damn!! :s27:

choonlye
16-11-2008, 10:13 PM
argh..... wen to singtel jus now and the phone is sold out island wide until further notice.... Damn!! :s27:

I think LG had agreement to give Starhub exclusive rights for the release. When I went to Singtel last week, was told it's only available online. This weekend, I did not see any ad on Singtel so rather than just wait, I went ahead and got the C905 from Singtel instead since the price is cheaper than the others :)

dustnbones13
16-11-2008, 10:15 PM
Does anyone know the official webby of the software upgrade for this phone?

Darkcrest
16-11-2008, 10:27 PM

wah... sold out island wide liao? Damn...

choonlye
16-11-2008, 10:42 PM
Don't believe everything you hear. Sometimes that's product maker's strategy to generate demand by creating shortage in the market.....

erict
16-11-2008, 10:53 PM
In terms of multimedia..

For often music playback, get N85 due to its longer battery life. However, the LG produces better crisp and clarity in its speaker.

For often outdoor camera usage and video recording, get KC910. Video recording is definitely the best among those 3. See to believe. KC910 and innov8 flare better than c905 in outdoors too. Check out gsmarena's 'Battle of the 8MP phones'.

For often indoor and night shots, get C905. The phone with the most balanced amount of flash.

For often video playback, get KC910. Larger screen and support for most codecs.

For the best of both worlds, get innov8 =:p=:p

But seriously do take consideration when buying SE phones. I try very hard not to believe the following but its too good to be true with experiences with previous cybershot and walkman phones

1) The ports seriously suck I tell you.. spoils easily after a few months. This is not a case to case basis but this is the most common problem. And the bloody charger..

2) Phone value drops very fast.

3) Unstable software

4) Expensive M2 cards.

Hmm.. talking about devaluing, hows the resale value for LG phones as compared to Samsung phones and also SE phones?..

saljiputeh
17-11-2008, 12:00 AM
Hmm.. talking about devaluing, hows the resale value for LG phones as compared to Samsung phones and also SE phones?..

LG one longer than SE cuz they release phones very slowly and furthermore the models not many so the value stagnates.. samsung not sure. The viewty, KS20 and prada are still of the same trade in value many months now.

saljiputeh
17-11-2008, 12:01 AM
why this new phone,8megapixel so cheap de for a 8megapixe de.700 dollar plus,nearing 600 dollar ++ soon.is it because it is LG?

Yup. Branding contributes to marketing. Btw, I read from somewhere that they plan to make LG the most affordable 8MP phone.

kovanuser
17-11-2008, 09:06 AM
Marketing for LG is not that powerful in singapore. If you look at other countries, it is a very big event but somehow, launching this phone is not that big in singapore. However, LG will always try to display their stuff and promote them at communicasia if you have gone that b4. It's booth is always big and LG secret is one of the more highly promoted hp. That was I think in 2006. Forgot liao. :s13:

header
17-11-2008, 10:12 AM

If really sold out, it is not due to high demand but due to poor inventory mgmt by LG! :s13:

header
17-11-2008, 10:15 AM

that are reasons why it is cheaper. W/o using wm or symbian platform, the hp cannot use 3rd party apps. LG saves on licence fees by using its own OS.

undiscern
17-11-2008, 01:15 PM
If only tis phone uses symbian os, will be perfect. Symbian browser one of the best.

woofworks13
17-11-2008, 01:53 PM
is it jus me..or is the video recording choppy..?my renoir record videos with slight lags (split second ) in between..it's really annoying seeing the videos not recording smoothly..

anyone experincing that?

dustnbones13
17-11-2008, 04:35 PM
Hi all, does anyone know how to off the sound when a msg is send? thanks in advance

Manage to solve it, just reduce the volume while in idle mode...

saljiputeh
17-11-2008, 10:35 PM
is it jus me..or is the video recording choppy..?my renoir record videos with slight lags (split second ) in between..it's really annoying seeing the videos not recording smoothly..

anyone experincing that?

Lol you serious bro? Mines very smooth and even much better than my K850.

The only disappointment about the camera is that the indoor shots not very auto one.. have to manually change the settings to get the shots right.

myfairmissy.com
18-11-2008, 10:26 AM
any idea how the gps perform here? OS?

haha08
18-11-2008, 05:52 PM
how do we use the gps as standalone?

lindalim04
19-11-2008, 07:46 AM
I am very tempted to get this phone but i was waiting for M1 to carry this phone... Anyone have any idea whether M1 would be selling this phone under contract??

One more thing, i am very concern about the battery life.. how is it??

muhstik
19-11-2008, 08:49 AM
Hi hi bro, I not very sure abt GPs stuff. From the way u say it, phone comes with google map. So to say this google map consists of singapore map and is free? What abt the GPS thing? Is it free or wat when I activate it? Any idea?

Mate, as far as I know the AGPS is free but I haven't got my bill yet. The map will only be downloaded through 3G when you browse it. So, what I do is, use a mobile broadband sim card to browse the singapore map. The map will be cache. The next time we use GPS, minimal 3G data transfer will be used. It's just my speculation though.

muhstik
19-11-2008, 08:51 AM

anyone experincing that?

Mine also a bit choppy when does widescreen capture. I thought it was my hand shaking at first. Hopefully, LG will release new software soon.

muhstik
19-11-2008, 08:53 AM
how do we use the gps as standalone?

Menu Connection -> GPS Type -> Stand alone

muhstik
19-11-2008, 08:54 AM
I am very tempted to get this phone but i was waiting for M1 to carry this phone... Anyone have any idea whether M1 would be selling this phone under contract??

One more thing, i am very concern about the battery life.. how is it??

Battery life max. 3 days for normal use.

kovanuser
19-11-2008, 08:57 AM
Mate, as far as I know the AGPS is free but I haven't got my bill yet. The map will only be downloaded through 3G when you browse it. So, what I do is, use a mobile broadband sim card to browse the singapore map. The map will be cache. The next time we use GPS, minimal 3G data transfer will be used. It's just my speculation though.

I was thinking if the map is being cached, it should not be downloading the same map again, thus, it should be free? Anyway, do tell me whether your bills when u receive it next month. Thanks a lot. Best if u can tell us how much is the map.

muhstik
19-11-2008, 08:57 AM
Doh, how come I become like LG customer support already :s22:? LG should give me a free Renoir.

kovanuser
19-11-2008, 08:59 AM
Menu Connection -> GPS Type -> Stand alone

what does standalone GPS means? Can explain?

kovanuser
19-11-2008, 09:01 AM
Doh, how come I become like LG customer support already :s22:? LG should give me a free Renoir.

Ha ha...I think most pple want to noe more abt the phone b4 purchasing it...:s13:

evilspawnsss
19-11-2008, 10:03 AM
Hi can anyone tell mi abt the sms ringtone thingy?As viewty have only 3 sec long tone..was wondering how abt KC910..Could any owner of KC910 Enlighten mi?thks

samuelong87
19-11-2008, 03:24 PM
hi. I'm so interested in this phone just like for viewty last time. But I was rather disappointed by viewty' loading time for media content. It takes around 1whole minute to load pictures for slideshow mode unlike SE which is zippier. So how is Renoir? Considering a 4gb card?
Thanks.

saljiputeh
19-11-2008, 04:22 PM
Hi can anyone tell mi abt the sms ringtone thingy?As viewty have only 3 sec long tone..was wondering how abt KC910..Could any owner of KC910 Enlighten mi?thks

same like SE phones (ard 5 secs i think). Go for nokia if you want a longer tone.

saljiputeh
19-11-2008, 04:29 PM
hi. I'm so interested in this phone just like for viewty last time. But I was rather disappointed by viewty' loading time for media content. It takes around 1whole minute to load pictures for slideshow mode unlike SE which is zippier. So how is Renoir? Considering a 4gb card?
Thanks.

A decent amount of pictures in a 8GB card takes a second to load in slideshow mode.

jnetsix
19-11-2008, 08:48 PM
Singtel hello/ Starhub Vivo/ LG Vivo no live demo sets... :(

Any1 know where will have the live demo sets?

Darkcrest
19-11-2008, 09:46 PM
Singtel hello/ Starhub Vivo/ LG Vivo no live demo sets... :(

Any1 know where will have the live demo sets?

Singtel Hello probably won't have demo sets since they dun have stock islandwide anyway. the cso told me not sure when will get new stock, but probably 1 month or so.

evilspawnsss
20-11-2008, 01:37 AM
same like SE phones (ard 5 secs i think). Go for nokia if you want a longer tone.

Thks..No nokia for mi :) :D

kovanuser
20-11-2008, 09:19 AM
Singtel Hello probably won't have demo sets since they dun have stock islandwide anyway. the cso told me not sure when will get new stock, but probably 1 month or so.

I don't think there is no stock....for now singtel wants pple to buy from them online...

http://img81.imageshack.us/img81/3662/910ph4.jpg

Exclusive to Singtel as written in the advert

shorty07
20-11-2008, 02:29 PM
I don't think there is no stock....for now singtel wants pple to buy from them online...

http://img81.imageshack.us/img81/3662/910ph4.jpg

Exclusive to Singtel as written in the advert

if that is de price they selling, then its cheaper den starhub.but starhub has to diff prices.when i checked online, the price is $398 (equivalent plan to singtel).but when i went to the shop jus now, its selling for $498.a $100 difference!

undiscern
20-11-2008, 02:43 PM
Sianz, wanna sign corporate plan too, but cant do tat with online purchase.

kovanuser
20-11-2008, 03:26 PM
if that is de price they selling, then its cheaper den starhub.but starhub has to diff prices.when i checked online, the price is $398 (equivalent plan to singtel).but when i went to the shop jus now, its selling for $498.a $100 difference!

Yup, online for starhub is $10 difference compared to singtel. :s13:

derekc
20-11-2008, 05:03 PM
Hi Guys,

Just got the phone via singtel online. Done a quick glance and I will say it is better than viewty. Just want to check does anyone know how to install the fish theme in viewty into KC910?

Raeburter
20-11-2008, 05:08 PM
Does anybody know which Singtel Shop have stocks currently? If not, how long will the delivery take for online shop?

kovanuser
20-11-2008, 05:13 PM
Does anybody know which Singtel Shop have stocks currently? If not, how long will the delivery take for online shop?

NOt sure whether those singtel shops are selling or not. However, online yes there are stocks and delivery will be 3 days from the date u ordered from them. Timing to be delivered u can choose. There are 3 timings if I am not wrong.

kovanuser
20-11-2008, 05:15 PM
Hi Guys,

Just got the phone via singtel online. Done a quick glance and I will say it is better than viewty. Just want to check does anyone know how to install the fish theme in viewty into KC910?

This is something I also wish to know. Some1 got to modify the files so that it can be used...but how to do it I also duno. Whoever knows can share with us?

Raeburter
20-11-2008, 05:16 PM
Oh. I need to get the phone by Saturday...

Raeburter
20-11-2008, 05:25 PM
I just called Singtel and the phone is sold out island wide and the delivery takes 1 week

goodrealm
20-11-2008, 09:00 PM
I just called Singtel and the phone is sold out island wide and the delivery takes 1 week

which number did you call in SingTel?

Raeburter
20-11-2008, 09:23 PM
which number did you call in SingTel?

The no. is 1626.

kovanuser
21-11-2008, 09:49 AM

Dun believe what the CSO says....sometimes they themselves also duno...

The date that I want it to be delivered is 21st. I can choose the earliest is 25th. This means around 4 days....not 1 week......

http://img222.imageshack.us/img222/2812/printscreenrd9.jpg

lkjh00
21-11-2008, 11:58 AM
Going to get a new line soon. Which telco is offering better basic plan deal on LG Renoir???

Singtel - $388 + Free 8G Card

Starhub - $438 + Free Bluetooth Handfree

Some how for the past 2 months I chk both Singtel and Starhub, it is always Singtel having a much better offer for hand set deal. Is it TRUE?

j.o.i.d
21-11-2008, 12:34 PM
Going to get a new line soon. Which telco is offering better basic plan deal on LG Renoir???

Some how for the past 2 months I chk both Singtel and Starhub, it is always Singtel having a much better offer for hand set deal. Is it TRUE?

i hav heard of singtel overcharging......

derekc
21-11-2008, 02:21 PM
Dun believe what the CSO says....sometimes they themselves also duno...

The date that I want it to be delivered is 21st. I can choose the earliest is 25th. This means around 4 days....not 1 week......

http://img222.imageshack.us/img222/2812/printscreenrd9.jpg
I have booked on 17 and the phone was delivered 20 Nov. is it getting popular? do note compare to iphone, iphone touch and screen change is still a lot better. however factoring in the interesting video shooting and 8mp camera and hopefully someway to load the fish theme, this is a better phone for me.

chinilogy
21-11-2008, 04:53 PM
Sianz, wanna sign corporate plan too, but cant do tat with online purchase.

well.. u can.. i jus did that. all u need to do is jus go hello shop tell them u jus bought a phone and changing ur plan to coperate. but first thing first , best call 1626 to let them know or confirm wif them first. CHEERs

goodrealm
21-11-2008, 10:14 PM
LG concept store @ 02-11 Vivo selling the KC910 @$888 w/o contract.

lkjh00
22-11-2008, 12:06 PM
Which is better. . LG Renoir or Samsung Pixon???

Please HELP me decide, thanks.

undiscern
22-11-2008, 12:30 PM
Renoir better. Pixon limited features.

limkim1978
22-11-2008, 02:25 PM
Hi guy,

Is there any way to add the new msg icon to the desktop.

i notice after clicking on the W button, there is only a limited choice of function that can be added on the desktop.

any expert?

wilphill
22-11-2008, 03:28 PM
No i dont think you can add the widgets. Anyway, I found some issue on this phone.

- When loading the music player, it takes 10 secs to load the music artiste. I guess my phone have 4GB of songs. When browsing the "My Stuff", it takes some time to load the files as well.

- After playing music from the phone and quit. When a new SMS or missed call, it doesn't shown on the screen at all. I'm not sure anyone have that problem. I dun have this issue with viewty. However, in Viewty it takes some time to load the files. Seems like this is a LG OS issue.

I thought that it will correct the file loading problem in viewty, it seems like it is still the same as Renoir. Guess that this issue will not go away.

End of the day, the pics that I have taken are fantastic.

wilphill
22-11-2008, 03:34 PM
Here are the pics:

All set settings to Auto. BTW, you can turn off the sound when taking the pics. No more tweaking from the OS like in viewty.

http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3063/3049887642_3ee9bdfbda_b.jpg

http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3057/3049887370_69441407b2_b.jpg

marcus_88
22-11-2008, 09:51 PM
I have some questions for users of the renoir,

is there any way to disable the GPRS completely so as to prevent heavy data charges when i m using the WI-FI for internet access?

Based on my knowledge (please correct me if i am wrong), we can connect to the net using both wi-fi and gprs? I am afraid that the GRPS will automatically take over the wi-fi and i will end up paying for the data charges.

Thanks in advance.!

gapboy
23-11-2008, 08:56 AM
Here are the pics:

All set settings to Auto. BTW, you can turn off the sound when taking the pics. No more tweaking from the OS like in viewty.

http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3063/3049887642_3ee9bdfbda_b.jpg

http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3057/3049887370_69441407b2_b.jpg

not bad pix.. using max megapixel 8mb?

fred_1
23-11-2008, 12:34 PM
Any night shots to share? also can install 3rd party application like word or excel editor on this phone?

wilphill
23-11-2008, 12:44 PM
Yes, using 8 mega pixel settings.

Need not to install document viewer. It is able to read word, excel and PDF file when you place ur documents under your My documents folder.

jaxxonyim
23-11-2008, 06:23 PM

Price revision from Starhub - $398 w/o bluetooth handsfree

HPGuru
23-11-2008, 07:11 PM
Am thinking of gettin this phone & would like to ask users the following:
(a) What's your usage pattern & the resulting battery life?
(b) Is it easy to manage the camera controls/settings as this is a full touchscreen phone? (c) How is the WiFi implementation? Easy to locate, logon & maintain WiFi signal?
(d) What GPS software does the phone use & does this come with free voice turn-by-turn navigation? If so, is this on a trial or permanent basis?

foosm
23-11-2008, 09:37 PM
this uses google maps for gps? If so, does it mean I have to be connected to Internet whenever I want to use gps?

pharoahx
23-11-2008, 10:07 PM
this uses google maps for gps? If so, does it mean I have to be connected to Internet whenever I want to use gps?

iirc, it uses google map by default and i think it uses gprs to connect. can someone correct this if im wrong?

pharoahx
23-11-2008, 10:10 PM
good news for those who wishes to buy w/o contract, the price has dropped back to $720. hopefully, it does go down further by end of this year. Then we can get ourself a christmas present. :s13: