PDA

View Full Version : Thread on Import Displays from Overseas - Myths and info

jaiong2000
26-11-2007, 03:00 AM
Large format LCD TVs (46" & above), are 35% cheaper in USA stores, Amazon, Dell, BestBuy, Circuit City, etc...Comparing a top-end Philips model sold in Singapore for $4,700, the compatible unit cost only US$1,700 (S$2,500) in US, excluding delivery, freight. (a scooping 45% less). Factoring local & international freight via Vpost & GST, totalling S$700, you'd still be saving $1,500.

And mind you , the US versions seems to have more advanced features, like HDTV and terresterial DTV built-in. Of course, only if you can risk w/o local warranty.
Check out other Sony, Samsung, Toshiba, etc models in USA, and you be amazed, how a traditionally business model exists in US, as opposed to Asia.

Some may comment, what above tuner system (PAL/NTSC) and voltage, but some models do come with PAL tuners (usually not stated in retailers' specs), and international voltage (110V-240V), when you go into manufacturers' US website. I have checked with some US manufacturers, and confirm compatibility in Singapore.

We may suspect, due to the higher rate of takeup of HDTVs, (due to HD programming cut-off deadline in US early next year), the LCD/Plasma sets are priced attractively to win in the US market. But why only the 46" & above models only?

Are Asian retailers riding on a booming Asian economy, esp in Singapore or are large LCDs are positioned as luxury here, since there is no big hurry? Perhaps we should support (help) the ailing US market. Perhaps someone can comment...

You may say it is manufacturers' positioning in different maturing markets, but what about digital cameras?...is Asia less matured in this area?....Well, I am enjoying my new camera from Dell US, bought last month for S$500 including shipping to Singapore, worth $799 (after bargain $750) in Singapore. An amazing 2/3 the price!.

Check out your desired latest digital cameras from US online retailers, and do your maths with Vpost shipping. For now, I have placed my order for my Philips 47" LCD TV from US, rw/o local warranty. Will keep posted on any bad news for myself..

Feel free to share.

Montoya
26-11-2007, 07:01 AM
what if something goes wrong & your tv is damaged when in freight or you got a defective set?

unless it's covered under intl warranty then it'll be worth

king
26-11-2007, 10:24 AM
u are a brave man!

defn
26-11-2007, 10:35 AM
Large format LCD TVs (46" & above), are 35% cheaper in USA stores, Amazon, Dell, BestBuy, Circuit City, etc...Comparing a top-end Philips model sold in Singapore for $4,700, the compatible unit cost only US$1,700 (S$2,500) in US, excluding delivery, freight. (a scooping 45% less). Factoring local & international freight via Vpost & GST, totalling S$700, you'd still be saving $1,500.

And mind you , the US versions seems to have more advanced features, like HDTV and terresterial DTV built-in. Of course, only if you can risk w/o local warranty.
Check out other Sony, Samsung, Toshiba, etc models in USA, and you be amazed, how a traditionally business model exists in US, as opposed to Asia.

Some may comment, what above tuner system (PAL/NTSC) and voltage, but some models do come with PAL tuners (usually not stated in retailers' specs), and international voltage (110V-240V), when you go into manufacturers' US website. I have checked with some US manufacturers, and confirm compatibility in Singapore.

We may suspect, due to the higher rate of takeup of HDTVs, (due to HD programming cut-off deadline in US early next year), the LCD/Plasma sets are priced attractively to win in the US market. But why only the 46" & above models only?

Are Asian retailers riding on a booming Asian economy, esp in Singapore or are large LCDs are positioned as luxury here, since there is no big hurry? Perhaps we should support (help) the ailing US market. Perhaps someone can comment...

You may say it is manufacturers' positioning in different maturing markets, but what about digital cameras?...is Asia less matured in this area?....Well, I am enjoying my new camera from Dell US, bought last month for S$500 including shipping to Singapore, worth $799 (after bargain $750) in Singapore. An amazing 2/3 the price!.

Check out your desired latest digital cameras from US online retailers, and do your maths with Vpost shipping. For now, I have placed my order for my Philips 47" LCD TV from US, rw/o local warranty. Will keep posted on any bad news for myself..

Feel free to share.
Hi bro, do share with us how much vPost actually charges you for shipping. :D

petetherock
26-11-2007, 12:28 PM
Buying from USA for large items is different from small items like cameras.

Do have a look at the sticky, where shipping from USA has been discussed. Caveat emptor...

Or this thread:

http://www.xtremeplace.com/yabbse/index.php?topic=47828.0

jaiong2000
26-11-2007, 02:48 PM
PLaced order with AntOnline Store, Try Butterfly Photo (both partnering Amazon)
47" LCD Full HD TV - US$1,690 (S$2,450)
Local Ground SHipping US$88 (S$130)
7% GST (S$180)
Vpost Shipping - S$512 S$450 - with UOB credit card , less 13%
(53kg, 10" x 55" x 45" - check vpostusa calculator)
TOTAL: S$3,210
BUY LOCAL : $4,700 - $4,999 (with some unwanted free gifts and vouchers)
SAVE $1,500 (w/o local warranty, Philips Singapore will not accept warranty fee)
RISK?? Definitely. The issue is not about being worthwhile or not?..
it is about why does manufacturers positioned so much higher price in Singapore/ASia,
OR why do local retailers ask for so much more??

strat
26-11-2007, 05:51 PM
PLaced order with AntOnline Store, Try Butterfly Photo (both partnering Amazon)
47" LCD Full HD TV - US$1,690 (S$2,450)
Local Ground SHipping US$88 (S$130)
7% GST (S$180)
Vpost Shipping - S$512 S$450 - with UOB credit card , less 13%
(53kg, 10" x 55" x 45" - check vpostusa calculator)
TOTAL: S$3,210
BUY LOCAL : $4,700 - $4,999 (with some unwanted free gifts and vouchers)
SAVE $1,500 (w/o local warranty, Philips Singapore will not accept warranty fee)
RISK?? Definitely. The issue is not about being worthwhile or not?..
it is about why does manufacturers positioned so much higher price in Singapore/ASia,
OR why do local retailers ask for so much more??

wow... so which model did you order?

Rogue
26-11-2007, 06:35 PM
Someone did it long ago via a purchase through the US store Sears.. We asked how was it, in the end, he disappeared from the forum.

I think hwz username is cheesydog.

jaiong2000
26-11-2007, 06:56 PM
Well, like I said I will share with you any good/bad news, when my Philips 47PFL7432D/37 arrives next month, and after use. For now, I am happy with my Canon S5IS camera purchase from Dell US, until it breaks down. Nonetheless, I trust branded products wouldn't fail too easily. Talking about risks, not forgetting you can purchase shipping insurance, with Vpost, but not too sure if it covers electronic problems?

Ske7ch
26-11-2007, 09:08 PM
How long will it usally take for a company to deliver your TV after you buy it? (Eg. Sony - Locally bought BTW) Cuz if it's around 3 weeks locally then I think I'll order from the US.

souluv
26-11-2007, 10:52 PM
with shipping and insurance.. u sure cheap alot ? if not y bother ? y it here.. warranty very impt.. y not go down SITEX take a look ..

strat
26-11-2007, 11:41 PM
Well, like I said I will share with you any good/bad news, when my Philips 47PFL7432D/37 arrives next month, and after use. For now, I am happy with my Canon S5IS camera purchase from Dell US, until it breaks down. Nonetheless, I trust branded products wouldn't fail too easily. Talking about risks, not forgetting you can purchase shipping insurance, with Vpost, but not too sure if it covers electronic problems?

i hope you got the step down transformer (300watts) as well as the voltage for this model is 120v..
all the best!

Rogue
01-01-2008, 05:30 PM
It's a new year. Upz for some updates.

kennyboy
01-01-2008, 06:05 PM
also disappear liao hah?

alanchia67
01-01-2008, 10:31 PM
i also want to hear from TS.

souluv
01-01-2008, 10:42 PM
disappear should be no problem lar, else will come online complain..

Rogue
02-01-2008, 09:07 PM
disappear should be no problem lar, else will come online complain..

I would like to hear the "complaint" or "praise". No news have no value for readers.

VideoOne2
02-01-2008, 09:11 PM
Even though they have NTSC and/or PAL tuner/s, you won't be able to use it here as the Ch allocation table as well as the audio sub-carrier frequency is not the same here and UK.

So have to use external tuner for local channels.

alanchia67
02-01-2008, 09:58 PM
not a problem if using dvb-t or miotv, or even starhub box.

cheesydog
08-01-2008, 03:38 PM
Someone did it long ago via a purchase through the US store Sears.. We asked how was it, in the end, he disappeared from the forum.

I think hwz username is cheesydog.

Hey guys, lol I was browsing the forum and saw this. Forgot it was about time I updated everyone!

Ok so I bought my Hitachi 55in plasma from Sears in Palmdale, California while I was there on business, in November 2006 (man time flies!) It was the week before Superbowl, during which they have crazy tv discounts and sales. I managed to buy it for the ridiculously low price of US2,229. The equivalent Hitatchi panel here in Sing was over 10k Sing dollars at the time. The beauty of it was the fact that due to my business (aircraft leasing) my company had a Fokker F100 in nearby Mojave Airport undergoing some maintenance, prior to leaving on a ferry flight to Yangon, BUT with a stop in Singapore. So I was able to get free freight for this behemoth of a tv (and believe me in its packaging it truly is massive!) all the way back to Sing. Now this combination of circumstances was clearly very lucky, and I dont expect it will ever happen again for me lol

So clearly it was a fantastic deal. Yes as has been pointed out here before the primary risk is there is no warranty on your expensive tv. Well there is, but you would have to ship it back to the states and back again for repairs at your own cost, which is prohibitive.

However considering how cheap I could get the tv, no to mention free freight I thought in my case it was worth the risk, after all what does US2299 buy locally even now? Never mind back in November 2006 when local prices were even more expensive.

Being a natural risk taker it was a no brainer for me.

Just over one year now with my Hitachi and (so far) its still the best consumer electronics buy Ive ever made. The PQ is great, its a good size for my living room, features are still good, dual HDMI, component, nice clean styling and thus far no problems at all.

Problems

1. The sales guy at Sears was talking out of his ass. I asked repeatedly if the set was 110-240 compliant. He assured me it was, even called up the supplier etc.

WRONG - Luckily Im cautious by nature, and even as my hand hovered with the plug ready to connect, a little voice said just triple check this. Checked all over the tv. No mention of being 240 compiant. Looked up the model on the internet. Turns out there are several version of this particualr Hitacihi 55in panel and guess what? Turns out mine is NOT one of the 110-240 compliant models.

So I had the added expense of a step up transformer ( 120 bux)

2. Anxiety - waiting for the tv to arrive in Sing (took 5 days) and then bring it back. And then have to wait to get the transformer. And then the final agonizing moment of plugging it in and turning the power on. Would it work? Was it damaged in the flight? Is it simply a defective panel? Have I just wasted my tv budget on something I cannot replace?

Needless to say it worked, and lit up a huge grin on my face he he!

Being a large 720p panel, it thrives on quality HD. Xbox 360, PS3 blu ray looks utterly magnificent. People who are ambivalent about HD need to see it on a proper size screen, which in my opinion is 50in and above.

Now do I have any regrets? At the moment, hell no! In fact if I have one regret... Its that I didnt go for the 63 inch Phillips plasma that was on sale at US4299.. He he he

petetherock
08-01-2008, 03:58 PM
Thanks for clarifying
This should serve as a good read for others thinking of going cheap and saving a free dollars.
Freight is EXPENSIVE
Flatscreens are HIGHLY FRAGILE

So if you have your own private jet, and the right connections, its a lovely deal, otherwise stop dreaming and comparing prices. It does no good, just like folks in Australia with cheaper TV prices drool at our PS3 and amp prices.

Win some lose some.

Cheers

cscs3
08-01-2008, 07:36 PM
After the transportation charge. May be price is 20% different and you loss out 3 or 5 years warranty. Do not take your risk !! Their spec is different. Also take note USA model is 110V only. Most of their product do not come with dual voltage.

wedgehammer
08-01-2008, 11:32 PM
maybe some of them come with international warranty?

im wondering because surprisingly, the philips lcd tv i got here comes with international 1-yr warranty

limt0024
17-03-2008, 01:06 AM
Hi, was just wondering if any 1 tried buying an imported LCD or plasma. The price is tempting SGD$800 net for a samsung 50 inch plasma or SGD$1200 for a 63 inch samsung plasma. Posted in marketplace but the downside payment through paypal before shipment starts and the warranty is claimed to be an international warranty. Any comments?

mingming2
17-03-2008, 09:00 AM
for me, i would avoid buying online if the deal is too good to be true, unless it is from a reputed merchant.

regards

petetherock
17-03-2008, 09:28 AM
Its been discussed a few times:

http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showpost.php?p=25269024&postcount=96

Caveat emptor

Basic rule, avoid being the Singapore bird. If it is easy, it would have been done

The value items are Projectors, Flatscreens are too big to import, plus all the other practical issues mentioned in the sticky.

Cheers

chunxi
17-03-2008, 10:26 AM
here locally, people like to find mini fault like 1 dead pixel and complain like hell.
so what will happen when we shipped 50" lcd from state and find 1 dead pixel ?
ship it back to exchange for another one with the risk of getting another panel with more dead pixel ?

limt0024
17-03-2008, 11:59 AM
Tink it is safe to order and import from ppl posting plasmas in the marketplace? It like SGD800 net for a samsung HPT 5064 model. Comes with international warranty and recognized by samsung.

lwm999
17-03-2008, 01:57 PM
If those TV are NTSC and not multi-systems like ours, then you can't watch SCV and Mediacorp TV, and video from PAL camcorder.

jaiong2000
18-05-2008, 10:24 PM
Have been MIA online for months, while enjoying/exploring my 47" LCD imported via Vpost.
which I paid $2,357 in total, shipping, GST w/o insurance...Can't be more happy, w.o the hiccups/fears and having saved a bundle, a good S$1,500+. back then 3 months ago... (Checked with Philips USA, clearly about dual voltage & PAL support).

In current context, looks like the local LCd market is readjusting closer to US prices....but still about S$500+ more...

After all the doubts and uncertainty, and 'good, safe advice'..One thing, No fear, no gain....

Banaball
16-06-2008, 06:49 PM
Hi everyone, I have been doing some research recently regarding the issues of importing tv from countries like US. I understand that there is a need for power transformer and external tv tuner for PAL broadcast and lack of warranty coverage. However I'm willing to try my luck by buying the tv thru amazon and ship thru vpost. Any comments or opinons/reminders for me? I gladly welcome any comments juz dun want to make any mistake.

This is the link to the tv im interested in
http://www.amazon.com/Samsung-HL61A750-61-inch-1080p-Powered/dp/B001415FIG/ref=pd_bbs_sr_1?ie=UTF8&s=electronics&qid=1213613014&sr=8-1

Banaball
17-06-2008, 12:20 PM
Item has been bought. Ppl who wish to import their TV from US can pm me regarding shipping questions and etc.

This is the link to the tv I'm having now
http://www.amazon.com/Samsung-HL61A7...3613014&sr=8-1 (http://www.amazon.com/Samsung-HL61A750-61-inch-1080p-Powered/dp/B001415FIG/ref=pd_bbs_sr_1?ie=UTF8&s=electronics&qid=1213613014&sr=8-1)

pics of it.

Took this with flash so the screen is very dark
http://i153.photobucket.com/albums/s236/Banaball/DSCN0374.jpg

Behind Enemy Line--->Owen Wilson
http://i153.photobucket.com/albums/s236/Banaball/DSCN0393.jpg

Casino Royale Trailer
http://i153.photobucket.com/albums/s236/Banaball/DSCN0394.jpg
http://i153.photobucket.com/albums/s236/Banaball/DSCN0395.jpg

List of Inputs
http://i153.photobucket.com/albums/s236/Banaball/DSCN0388.jpg

height of tv
http://i153.photobucket.com/albums/s236/Banaball/DSCN0389.jpg

Computron
17-06-2008, 04:16 PM
I have a samsung 61 DLP TV.
The older version thou. 720p.

If Shipping is possible, it will be greato.!
But i believe it should be EXpensive to ship this by itself.

Banaball
17-06-2008, 05:56 PM
how heavy is ur package and how much u pay for shipping?

rebook
17-06-2008, 06:35 PM
The shipping from US to singapore should be less than $300, GST less than $200. Total would be about $400+. Quite good deal.

Banaball
17-06-2008, 06:57 PM
but how heavy is ur package? in pounds.

Banaball
19-06-2008, 05:10 PM
any other comments?

KingOfHell
20-06-2008, 12:09 AM
any other comments?
just do it. i've shipped a 60kg box with vPOSTUSA before, no hassels.

but one point to note, never declear your purchase to be more than USD 2500. its inconvenient for me to elaborate, PM me if you want more info on that.

petetherock
23-06-2008, 08:30 AM
This is a reverse situation, but potential buyers from overseas should take note:

http://www.straitstimes.com/STI/STIMEDIA/common/theStraitsTimes2.gif
Print Article

>> Back to the article (http://www.straitstimes.com/ST%2BForum/Online%2BStory/STIStory_250588.html)June 23, 2008High Customs fee at Jakarta, no thanks to FedEx
ON APRIL 21, I was about to send a woman's handbag to Indonesia valued at $2,800. Considering its high value, I decided to use Federal Express (FedEx) rather than a small freight forwarder. I thought I would have peace of mind with the big, experienced company like FedEx.
To my surprise, the next day I received a call from FedEx that my packet was held by Jakarta Customs and I would have to pay $2,000 to clear it, 71 per cent of its value. And the ridiculous part, the woman on the phone pushed me to agree to pay $2,000 as if there was nothing wrong. I told her it was 71 per cent, not 10 or 20 per cent.
In frustration and desperation, I spoke with the manager and begged her for a solution. The so-called 'solution' was to pay the 71 per cent fee and have my packet delivered back to Singapore, which would take a year with high chances of loss. The alternative was to abandon my shipment. How can a company experienced in delivery like FedEx ask me to abandon my shipment?
The recipient in Jakarta spoke to FedEx Jakarta and we found a good solution. The recipient had to go to Customs herself. During the first discussion, Customs refused to review the case. Next, I had another call from FedEx with the verdict that I had to pay the fee or abandon the shipment.
The next day, the recipient went to Customs again. Without much help from FedEx, Customs lowered the duty fee to $1,000 and the recipient received an official tax-fee receipt.
I thought the nightmare was over, but when the packet was delivered to the recipient's house, the FedEx delivery man asked her to pay $1,000. Although she explained it was already paid, he refused to hand over the packet. The matter was resolved only the next day.
I talked to FedEx management and asked if it would compensate me 50 per cent of the duty fee. It refused and blamed Indonesian Customs and indirectly blamed me as well.
What made me frustrated was that fact that FedEx admitted it had had many similar cases in Indonesia, China and other developing countries, but it chose not to tell the customer there might be a risk of a high duty fee. On its website and in its terms and conditions, it only says there may be a delay due to Customs clearance without mentioning the risk of a high duty fee. If I was told there might be a high duty fee, I might consider it and my impression with FedEx would not be so bad. Dema Tio

Banaball
23-06-2008, 06:20 PM
anymore advices?

clouette
26-06-2008, 05:25 PM
You can search around more. Some other sites could be selling cheaper than Amazon's price. Of course Amazon is more trusted.

Banaball
26-06-2008, 06:59 PM
thx bro i have ordered from amazon this afternoon already...

congster2
26-06-2008, 09:59 PM
underdeclare the value and risk getting fined heavily. decide for yourself. why DLP anyway? can you find it in singapore? should consider the inconveniences in service and repair given warranty issues.

clouette
27-06-2008, 10:43 AM
Sir, please share with me your experience after the TV arrives. I would like to get one when my new home is ready too. 61" for less than $3k. After I did my little research I really think it's worth it. Just need hands-on experience from someone before I buy mine too.

Banaball
27-06-2008, 01:09 PM
no problem i already ordered it thru amazon liao. now waiting for it to reach vpostUS and pay for my shipment fee. Should arrive around 18th July coz bulky items above 20 kg takes longer

Major_Bungholio
04-07-2008, 12:26 AM
Upz for you.

I oso want to hear how things go for you.

I have always wanted to order my HDTV from Amazon too.

sakaihippo
04-07-2008, 12:50 PM
Hi everyone, I have been doing some research recently regarding the issues of importing tv from countries like US. I understand that there is a need for power transformer and external tv tuner for PAL broadcast and lack of warranty coverage. However I'm willing to try my luck by buying the tv thru amazon and ship thru vpost. Any comments or opinons/reminders for me? I gladly welcome any comments juz dun want to make any mistake.

This is the link to the tv im interested in
http://www.amazon.com/Samsung-HL61A7...3613014&sr=8-1 (http://www.amazon.com/Samsung-HL61A750-61-inch-1080p-Powered/dp/B001415FIG/ref=pd_bbs_sr_1?ie=UTF8&s=electronics&qid=1213613014&sr=8-1)

Look like a good deal....
What is the status of your tv ?
Any Problem ? :s11:

Banaball
04-07-2008, 01:30 PM
i paid for the shipping fee already... Now processing the shipment to speedpost singapore.Should arrive about mid July. I will update u guys again on the status.

Major_Bungholio
04-07-2008, 01:46 PM
In my case, I am contemplating on buying the 2007 model Sharp 65 LCD from Amazon.

Thinking of mating it with the DVDO VP50Pro video processsor...to improve quality of SD materials.

saggydog
04-07-2008, 02:32 PM
i paid for the shipping fee already... Now processing the shipment to speedpost singapore.Should arrive about mid July. I will update u guys again on the status.

Hi how much did u pay for the shipping from vPost ?

Beta_Tester
05-07-2008, 12:26 AM
I have some lobangs in USA here and then or when till my American sorce tells me. But shipping here is a problem la. Some people tell me shipping here alone will cost 500+. Not inluding tax and insurance. For say a 37'' one. :x

sg_buyer
05-07-2008, 12:33 AM
VPOST + AMAZON is very realiable one

petetherock
05-07-2008, 06:35 AM
There is more info on this topic here:

http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showthread.php?t=1900663

Upz for you.

I oso want to hear how things go for you.

I have always wanted to order my HDTV from Amazon too.

Banaball
05-07-2008, 10:04 AM
In my case, I am contemplating on buying the 2007 model Sharp 65 LCD from Amazon.

Thinking of mating it with the DVDO VP50Pro video processsor...to improve quality of SD materials.

vpost has a limit of 154cm length for ur item package... should go to comgetway or some other service if u chionging for big big items

blackburn1
08-07-2008, 05:32 PM
what about the power voltage difference :)

Banaball
11-07-2008, 09:46 AM
power voltage use newstar step down transformer.
Anyway im receiving the tv todae... will try upload some pics if possible

chase79
11-07-2008, 03:11 PM
I also have this tv, that time i got it from HN but waited for quite long, abt 2-3 months before it came.

kinko123
11-07-2008, 05:03 PM
Do give us your feedback on this TV, as well as your experiences for sharing . Thanks :-)

chase79
11-07-2008, 05:20 PM
Do give us your feedback on this TV, as well as your experiences for sharing . Thanks :-)

So far so gd lah, but that time i buy quite exp abt $3499.

Banaball
11-07-2008, 06:52 PM
including the shipping fee?

ahkaiz
13-07-2008, 12:25 AM
can post some picture?

Banaball
13-07-2008, 09:31 AM
wait ah i get my cam ready

yuehup
13-07-2008, 10:58 AM
Hi how much did u pay for the shipping from vPost ?

Ya, Wish to know as well!
Need to know total damage if import from Amazon!

Banaball
13-07-2008, 02:07 PM
Ya, Wish to know as well!
Need to know total damage if import from Amazon!

total dmg is about 3.7k SGD including all the extra cost. However I havent include transformer cost price and the additionally tv signal converter to allow u to watch local channels.

This tv owns at watching full HD content rofl esepcially movies.

Banaball
13-07-2008, 02:08 PM
shipping fee alone is about 1k SGD rofl. Best bet for u is to get ComGetWay to do the shipping for u. I chose Vpost coz i dun have DBS credit card yet I'm still underage

TamiyaEVOwrc
14-07-2008, 04:52 PM
hi bro

just a few q? to ask u

did you pay GST for the TV?

did you buy insurance for the TV when shipping over?

1k for shipping is vpost usa to SG right?

thanks

Banaball
14-07-2008, 06:24 PM
yup GST included in 1k shipping fee and yes that is for vpost usa to SG. Insurance i never buy hahaha.

ahkaiz
14-07-2008, 07:14 PM
where is the pic? lol

enhanzed
14-07-2008, 07:21 PM
all in all is it still cheaper than getting it in singapore ? how about warranty and stuff ?

ahkaiz
14-07-2008, 07:37 PM
all in all is it still cheaper than getting it in singapore ? how about warranty and stuff ?

i dun think sumsung have any international warrenty~

cochran
14-07-2008, 08:22 PM
waiting for the pic....

Banaball
15-07-2008, 01:43 PM
k ah sorry guys im in camp now later i go home and upload later

TamiyaEVOwrc
15-07-2008, 06:49 PM
hi bro

can let us know what is the weight and dimension of the TV? and how much was the shipping charge?

thinking of importing one in as well.

also were you having problems with the step down transfomer? can search jap website for brand churi step down transfomer rated 300w

Banaball
16-07-2008, 06:12 PM
hi bro

can let us know what is the weight and dimension of the TV? and how much was the shipping charge?

also were you having problems with the step down transfomer? can search jap website for brand churi step down transfomer rated 300w

my transformer problem solved. you need at least 2 times the watt capacity for transformer to fully support the tv watts rating.

Banaball
16-07-2008, 06:13 PM
hi bro

dimension of the TV package is around 151cm by 104cm by 65cm like that. Whole package around 55 kg.

3-4 days from Amazon to Vpost US. 1 week exactly from vpost US to singpost and one day to reach ur house.

Banaball
16-07-2008, 06:14 PM
photos wise my camera cock up this friday then i upload ah.

ralfale
16-07-2008, 06:25 PM
You really got big balls to ship a 3k item without insurance.
RESPECT!

kinko123
17-07-2008, 08:29 AM
How come your total damage that high? I thought Amazon price is about US1709 or ~ S$2300. Plus shipping also around $3.2k. Pls advise what are the other costs involved as I have been thinking of this tv since half year ago.

Pls also advise which transformer to buy and the PAL converter.

Thanks

Banaball
17-07-2008, 10:24 PM
be back with u tmr i'm on duty todae.

NY__cheesepie
19-07-2008, 12:31 AM
any updates?

Banaball
19-07-2008, 08:43 PM
check page one for the pics

TamiyaEVOwrc
25-07-2008, 04:05 PM
hi Bro

just to check, do you have any problems connecting to starhub or mio box?
since the tv is only NTSC?

Banaball
25-07-2008, 06:37 PM
personally havent try. Also wanna experiment with it next week.

TamiyaEVOwrc
26-07-2008, 03:18 PM
hi Banaball

i think if you are using composite or hdmi from SCV or mio box should be okay

but if you are using video input, would run into ntsc - pal problems

anyway awaiting for your good news!!

magixspeed
26-07-2008, 11:22 PM
i would just wait and see for the outcome of this trial.

Banaball
27-07-2008, 10:00 AM
well i guess i manage to find a solution for it. Need to buy another product from overseas to convert any tv signal into VGA resolution that can be displayed on pc or plasma. Seperate PC audio input can be changed to red and white audio cable.

kinko123
03-08-2008, 11:35 AM
Any updates onn the outcome? Ur TV now playing well?

Banaball
03-08-2008, 11:26 PM
Any updates onn the outcome? Ur TV now playing well?

hi. yes my tv is now working very well :) Ermm i bought the tv signal converter online le should arrive my house earliest b4 NDP. Will post some channel 8 and 5 pics. Anyway the device help to upscale the pics too :)

kinko123
04-08-2008, 08:31 AM
How much is the converter?

Banaball
04-08-2008, 11:25 AM
around 300+

petetherock
06-08-2008, 02:15 PM
banaball this is NOT a sales thread
I will move this thread to the sales area if necessary

Banaball
06-08-2008, 06:10 PM
banaball this is NOT a sales thread
I will move this thread to the sales area if necessary
I understand ur purpose. Is pming allowed instead?

petetherock
06-08-2008, 09:50 PM
So long as you don't try and sell the TV here
Cheers

X3no
25-08-2008, 12:14 AM
Hi

hmm did they price wrongly?

http://www.sonystyle.com/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/ProductDisplay?catalogId=10551&storeId=10151&langId=-1&productId=8198552921665430100

scarlee its in pounds :P

NCMK
25-08-2008, 12:18 AM
PLease open ur eyes big big. You are browsing the USA Sony website. Prices are in USD,

X3no
25-08-2008, 01:28 AM
ok that explains it

however I was always under the impression that 52" units are like 8 - 10 grand - SGD

this one is only $4.2 (based on a 1.4 exchange)

now the next argument would be shipping & handling, taxes etc ?

hmp

petetherock
25-08-2008, 07:21 AM
Importing has been done before with limtied success, please read this.

MOD Edit:

Thread merged

ok that explains it

however I was always under the impression that 52" units are like 8 - 10 grand - SGD

this one is only $4.2 (based on a 1.4 exchange)

now the next argument would be shipping & handling, taxes etc ?

hmp

Aleksandr
01-12-2008, 05:47 PM
As above, and anyone know if their tuner can recieve Starhub Set Top Box signals? Looking at Amazon prices is about 1/2 that of local prices (including shipping to SG), so I think is quite worth it to get if can overcome these 2 problems.

petetherock
01-12-2008, 05:54 PM
This has been asked before HERE

Thread merged
The search button is your friend

US tuners do NOT work locally
As above, and anyone know if their tuner can recieve Starhub Set Top Box signals? Looking at Amazon prices is about 1/2 that of local prices (including shipping to SG), so I think is quite worth it to get if can overcome these 2 problems.

petetherock
11-02-2009, 03:20 PM
There is always someone who thinks of buying off amazon and does not do his homework and ends up with grief...

Thos thinking of shipping items from other countries via Vpost should take note:

These items are prohibited

a)
Chewing gum

b)
Chewing tobacco and limitation tobacco products

c)
Cigarette lighters of pistols or revolver shape

d)
Controlled drugs and psychotropic substances

e)
Firecrackers

f)
Obscene articles, publications, video tapes/discs and software

g)
Reproduction of copyright publications, video tapes, video compact discs, laser discs, records or cassettes

h)
Seditious and treasonable materials.

For vPOSTJAPAN service, you will not purchase any of the below list of prohibited items, which may be updated from time to time by the Japanese Government.
a)
Dangerous goods classified by the Japanese local regulation or IATA Dangerous Regulations including any materials with dryice.

b)
Restricted or controlled items by the Japanese Government. (Click here for the latest updated list.)

c)
Food Staffs, perishable

d)
Chemical, Drugs, Animal, Plants, Precious Stones and Metal, Cigar and Cigarettes, Guns, Swords, Knives

e)
Items restricted by the Washington Treatment, ivory.

f)
Beef Extract

g)
Any items that require temperature control.

h)
Coin and Bills

Other Prohibited items from USA and Europe also include flammable, incendiary goods and goods comprising :
- perfumes / colognes / eau de toilette / fragrance spray
- nail polish / nail polish remover
- spray / aerosol cans / compressed gas cylinders
- fuels / gasoline / gas torches
- lighters with fuel / lighter fluid
- turpentine / paint thinner
- lithium batteries / loose batteries
- lithium batteries contained or pack with equipment
- speakers
- alcohol products / beverages
- flammable / toxic contents products
- cellphones
- narcotic drugs
- radioactive materials
- infectious substances
- firearms (or parts thereof)
- pornographic materials
- counterfeit goods
- munitions of war
- precious metals and gemstones
- paper currency, coins, credit cards and cheques
- diamonds
- engine oil / essential oil
- weapons (swords/knifes/guns etc)

Recce5
04-03-2009, 11:18 PM
Saw the Sharp 65" LC-65D64U selling at US$3000 at Amazon.

Then I tried to look for a similar model locally and found that the one and only 65" TV listed on Sharp's local website is the LC-65RX1M and the price is... S$27,999??? How in the world can a S$4500 TV balloon up to S$27999 from one country to another? Or are they vastly different in spec as to making the comparison invalid?

Sharp had also recently announced a new 65" model LC-65E77U (during CES) which will retail at US$4500 in US and available in Jun. Checking the various websites, almost all of the feedback indicate that at this price it is considered expensive. I can't even imagine those people seeing our local price of S$27,999 for an older and less advance model.

Do you guys have any reference price for other brand of 65" models? Are they all in the range $20K to $30K? Btw, Sony's 55" KDL-55X4500A is already at S$16999.

At this rate, importing the TV from US (mainly for PS3 gaming and Blu-Ray), assuming shipping charges of upto $1500, plus 7% GST etc is still overall less than 1/4 the local price.

Are we seriously being ripped off?

petetherock
04-03-2009, 11:22 PM
You should have a look here. Many have asked this before.

Mod Edit :merged

Then I tried to look for a similar model locally and found that the one and only 65" TV listed on Sharp's local website is the LC-65RX1M and the price is... S$27,999??? How in the world can a S$4500 TV balloon up to S$27999 from one country to another? Or are they vastly different in spec as to making the comparison invalid?

Sharp had also recently announced a new 65" model LC-65E77U (during CES) which will retail at US$4500 in US and available in Jun. Checking the various websites, almost all of the feedback indicate that at this price it is considered expensive. I can't even imagine those people seeing our local price of S$27,999 for an older and less advance model.

Do you guys have any reference price for other brand of 65" models? Are they all in the range $20K to $30K? Btw, Sony's 55" KDL-55X4500A is already at S$16999.

At this rate, importing the TV from US (mainly for PS3 gaming and Blu-Ray), paying shipping charges of upto $1500, plus 7% GST etc is still overall less than 1/4 the local price.

Recce5
04-03-2009, 11:38 PM
You should have a look here. Many have asked this before.

Mod Edit :merged

I actually wanted to start a thread for 65" TV pricing and discussion, similar to the one for 32" LCD.

jaiong2000
12-03-2009, 04:56 AM
I actually wanted to start a thread for 65" TV pricing and discussion, similar to the one for 32" LCD.
hi recce5, for your info, I imported a Phillips 47" set and happily using it w/o warranty, since early last year. Many had discouraged me over the forum, but I went ahead, shipping through Vpost. +$500, still worth it.

This huge discrepancy has been discussed before in the 42' - 47" range , 2 -1 years ago respectively. Now the local and US prices of these have closed up. I believe it is the 52-65" now. Yes,in Asia, it is still high marked-up, becos' the takeup rate is still not as high and fas yet. In US, the digital TV is already implemented, takeup rate is high and fast, and manufacturers have to rush for it, b4 losing customers for anothr 8-10 years (LCD lifescan).

But bear in mind, their systems there is ATSC, not multi-system like Asian, 110V input, yes of course, when you add the signal convertor, and step AC transformer, it is still worth it...I was lucky to find the one and only US model, Philiips FPL7432 model, + shipping totalled $1,800, (at that time in singapore, $3.5-3.7K) that comes with PAL support..which I confirm with many US parties, including Philips USA, b4 plunging...so i;m not too sure about the complications of the ATSC-PAL signal convertor. Good Luck!

SquareBall
28-06-2009, 05:22 AM
Quite tempting to buy 1 set off uk amazon, savings is very substantial.
A 50"/42" G10 costs arnd 2.7k or 2.2sgd only, fantastic price imo.

Just that its not thx and there's also tv mounting to take care of. Plus of course u need to forego 3 yr warranty..

Anyone here done plasma purchase through net? Do you think its worth the risk? Pls advise :s11:

petetherock
28-06-2009, 07:19 AM
Please do a search and read up on shipping from overseas and why it is not such a good idea.Quite tempting to buy 1 set off uk amazon, savings is very substantial.

Just that its not thx and there's also tv mounting to take care of. Plus of course u need to forego 3 yr warranty..

Anyone here done plasma purchase through net? Do you think its worth the risk? Pls advise :s11:

PatekT
28-06-2009, 09:05 AM

yesterday went Parkway parade, i can't remember HN or BD selling either 2.2k or 2.5k for 42". Free wall mount + warranty. U sure buy from UK cheaper? your price include shipment?

warr
29-06-2009, 11:02 AM
i checked , "made in Singapore" at the back of G11S in Suntec HN. Maybe panel is from Japan??? But if thats the case, they normally put assemble in Singapore right?

you don't trust your own country and support locally made product?

watchthewaves
29-06-2009, 11:05 AM

50" not available in Singapore yet. As for the 42", if you think S$2,200 is a fantastic price, then buy locally because its CHEAPER here!. Go through this thread and you'll find people posting that neighbourhood shops are selling around this price plus 3 year warranty plus vouchers plus free install.

warr
29-06-2009, 01:32 PM
if u can, import the model from US. that model is better. and US amazon price is usually lower than UK amazon.

u just need to make sure u can watch PAL and the power input. but these days, most TVs have dual power switch and support both PAL and NTSC. so it is not a worry.

hoseiliao
29-06-2009, 01:59 PM
if u can, import the model from US. that model is better. and US amazon price is usually lower than UK amazon.

u just need to make sure u can watch PAL and the power input. but these days, most TVs have dual power switch and support both PAL and NTSC. so it is not a worry.
For your info, most TV in US only support NTSC, that's why it's cheaper. US TV is also 120V, so a step-down transformer is required.

If you buy US TV, you need to get a PAL to NTSC converter, even if you are watching SCV or Mio TV. The ones available in Singapore only support composite video, which sucks. Someone manage to find Atlona AT-HD560 in Malaysia but he didn't say where. This device cost USD220 in Amazon.

petetherock
29-06-2009, 02:01 PM
In case members get ambitious about buying overseas and shipping over, it is best to read this thread.

Cheers

hoseiliao
29-06-2009, 02:22 PM
Atlona AT-HD560 is a single PAL to NTSC converter. It can upscale the image to 1080p.

If you want better image, DVDO Edge is the way to go as it has a much better video processor than AT-HD560. You can connect multiple devices to DVDO Edge as it can support many types of connection (HDMI, component, composite etc).
However, it cannot support Wii, dunno why.

If you have the budget, go for DVDO Edge. You can get it at USD599 from Amazon.

warr
29-06-2009, 04:22 PM

At this rate, importing the TV from US (mainly for PS3 gaming and Blu-Ray), assuming shipping charges of upto $1500, plus 7% GST etc is still overall less than 1/4 the local price.

MARKET differences. and yes, here you pay more for something with low quality.
many TVs with same models have better specs in US but with lower prices, e.g. some LG, some panasonic. my general rule is apply the 2.5 times the US price figure to get the local price on regular priced TVs. and for those high-end super-size TVs, apply maybe 4-5 times.

Yueming
29-06-2009, 11:39 PM
so easy to know why so high price. mark up.

in sg, all the companies have no way of increasing profit margin. labour cost is already very low. all other costs are mostly fixed due to nature of import. rent is forever increasing. only way to increase profits is to up price.

Hein
07-10-2009, 01:08 AM
Hi All,

I am planning to get a Samsung B750 TV from the US, and would like to clarify whether the 240Hz can work in Singapore(Can it down to 200Hz).... Also, any idea whether the TV can work on our 230V/50Hz power in Singapore???

cscs3
07-10-2009, 08:46 AM
MARKET differences. and yes, here you pay more for something with low quality.
many TVs with same models have better specs in US but with lower prices, e.g. some LG, some panasonic. my general rule is apply the 2.5 times the US price figure to get the local price on regular priced TVs. and for those high-end super-size TVs, apply maybe 4-5 times.

This is a a always true statement. US TV has different spec is true. But not necessary better spec. So when you compare, look at the last few # of the model. In US. Warrabty coverage is also different. So when you compare, you have to take aways these different.

cscs3
07-10-2009, 08:49 AM
Hi All,

I am planning to get a Samsung B750 TV from the US, and would like to clarify whether the 240Hz can work in Singapore(Can it down to 200Hz).... Also, any idea whether the TV can work on our 230V/50Hz power in Singapore???

NO.

Basically, Singapore is 50Hz, so the design is to double it ie 50Hz, 100Hz or 200Hz.
In USA, They are on 60Hz (and 110V supply, their TV may not have 100-240V multi-switch) - so it will be 60Hz, 120Hz and 240Hz.

You also have to watch out if the set support PAL-B/G as US is mostly NTSC only.