PDA

View Full Version : [Guide] Offline Google Maps for 2.x Firmware

Pages : [1] 2

toyshy
02-09-2008, 10:42 AM
To Add Offline Google Maps

METHOD 1

1. Install Offline Maps app via BigBoss repo source in Cydia.

2. Download and unzip maps files.
For FW2.2. Dated 3 December 08, Here. (http://www.mediafire.com/?ie9cz4ywpm6)
For FW2.1 and below. Here (http://ifile.it/yersjwp) or here. (http://www.mediafire.com/?25rzk6rwcwh)

3. Place MapTiles.sqlitedb and com.apple.Maps.plist under /var/mobile/Media/Maps/Singapore/

4. Download maps bookmarks plist file from here. (http://www.mediafire.com/?tgutmwgtp0w)

5. OpenSSH the bookmarks plist file to /var/mobile/Library/Maps/ (Note: Again, create folder if it isnt in existence.)

6. Respring Springboard.

7. Launch Offline Maps app, you will be prompt to process the map, select 'Copy' instead of 'Link'. 'Link will also work, but it may bloat up your cache. Note: Processing of the maps takes about 2 mins+-. If it takes mere seconds, that means it did not process the maps properly. Try 'Copy' again.

METHOD 2

Note: Method 2 is only for those with 离线地图 app. The app is no longer available on Cydia.

1. Download and unzip maps files.
For FW2.1 and below. Here (http://ifile.it/yersjwp) or here. (http://www.mediafire.com/?25rzk6rwcwh)

2. OpenSSH the maps files to /var/mobile/Media/Maps/m/ (Note: Create folders that are not in existence.)

3. Download maps bookmarks plist file from here. (http://www.mediafire.com/?tgutmwgtp0w)

4. OpenSSH the bookmarks plist file to /var/mobile/Library/Maps/ (Note: Again, create folder if it isnt in existence.)

5. Respring Springboard.

6. Tap on LM2 icon on Springboard once. (Note: Springboard will just fade in and out.)

7. Tap on Maps app, and voila!~! Now you can search for the 700+ street locations offline, previously available on DataBinge's TimeCapsule.

Singapore Mega Maps Pack
Here. (http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showpost.php?p=34219341&postcount=164)

Malaysia Maps Download
Here. (http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/857684)

To add more locations to bookmarks plist

1. Search for new location with Wifi, 3G or GPRS.
2. Tap on blue circular arrow.
3. Choose 'Add to Bookmarks'.
4. Edit desired name.
5. Save.

Note: Tap on blue 'book' icon at search bar, to edit or delete.

Credits to peeInMyPantz, Zahnie, falcon212, austinmation, and Sanjuro.

yagami
02-09-2008, 10:53 AM
Looks great!,
Will try it when i get home.
Just out of curiousity, will we be able to search nearby facilities such as atms?

P.S the map download first link is incorrect?

Thank you for the great product!

defn
02-09-2008, 10:54 AM
wah. But must jailbreak. Wonder if there's a way to do it without voiding the warranty

Pank85
02-09-2008, 11:14 AM
swee la.. go home try liao.

TongWei83
02-09-2008, 11:18 AM
Nice one, thanks to all who contributed.

toyshy
02-09-2008, 11:43 AM
yagami, first download link fixed. ATMs search features not supported.

defn, keep your fingers crossed that someone release a SGOfflineMaps app via Appstore.

defn
02-09-2008, 11:52 AM
yagami, first download link fixed. ATMs search features not supported.

defn, keep your fingers crossed that someone release a SGOfflineMaps app via Appstore.
I'm actually more interested in Google Maps because they have international maps, useful for travelling. :D

yagami
02-09-2008, 11:57 AM
Thank you Toyshy.

DuffyX
02-09-2008, 12:42 PM
Hope it's good. In any way, thumbs up to peeInMyPantz, Zahnie, and falcon212! :)

tohchr
02-09-2008, 01:00 PM
I'm actually more interested in Google Maps because they have international maps, useful for travelling. :D
That true in a way.. Have to download the maps in hotel first before making a move using the hotel's wifi. Hopefully someone will make it available via the App Store..
Else will be incurring roaming data charges..

opt1m4l
02-09-2008, 01:00 PM
Worked for me, seems good! Thanks to toyshy for posting this and peeInMyPantz, Zahnie, and falcon212 for coming up with this.

opt1m4l
02-09-2008, 01:28 PM
Hmm now I can search for the roads now, but I still don't get offline maps?

fantastic!
02-09-2008, 02:22 PM
Hi, how do i use it? It says i can't search because im not connected to the internet

doomgaze86
02-09-2008, 03:53 PM
Strange.. Cydia says that http://cake.mapleidea.com/cydia/ is not a valid source...

friend
02-09-2008, 03:58 PM
thanks for the useful guide

armvalkyrie
02-09-2008, 04:00 PM
Strange.. Cydia says that http://cake.mapleidea.com/cydia/ is not a valid source...

same here, cudnt get into this Cydia site.... :s11:

toyshy
02-09-2008, 04:44 PM
opt1m4l and fantastic!, check if your missed the 'm' sub directory folder, or missed a step.

doomgaze86 and armvalkyrie, did your include the '/' behind the url? Alternatively, you can go to Repositories at Cydia, under 'Sections' tab and choose 'cake.mapleidea.com'. I read in some cases you are prompt with an error message, but as long as the iPhoneCake package shows up under 'Sections' tab, it will work.

vgoh77
02-09-2008, 04:52 PM
Hi bro, wanna noe is tis 离线地图 fr cake.mapleidea.com the same as the "Offline Map" that can b found on Cydia?

toyshy
02-09-2008, 05:21 PM
vgoh77, I have problem downloading 'Offline Map' app from the BigBoss repo source, keep prompting me with 'Source Error/Size Mismatch'. It should also work, OpenSSH the maps files to /var/mobile/Media/Maps/ instead.

geeli80
02-09-2008, 05:39 PM
great share and very helpful thread.
works great for me

Zahnie
02-09-2008, 06:03 PM
I haf hybrid map but it's too huge to upload. 400mb +

opt1m4l
02-09-2008, 06:21 PM
opt1m4l and fantastic!, check if your missed the 'm' sub directory folder, or missed a step.

doomgaze86 and armvalkyrie, did your include the '/' behind the url? Alternatively, you can go to Repositories at Cydia, under 'Sections' tab and choose 'cake.mapleidea.com'. I read in some cases you are prompt with an error message, but as long as the iPhoneCake package shows up under 'Sections' tab, it will work.

Nope didn't miss anything.
HOWEVER: I did upload the whole 'Singapore' folder in to the 'm' sub directory, and not file by file. Could that matter?

toyshy
02-09-2008, 06:52 PM
Yes, it matters, move the files and not the whole 'Singapore' folder.

hysteriakx
02-09-2008, 07:01 PM
any idea how to do offline maps for hybrid version?

thepasarmalamshop
02-09-2008, 07:27 PM
I haf hybrid map but it's too huge to upload. 400mb +

Come upload it :p

I will be very happy to have it.

Pank85
02-09-2008, 09:40 PM
done. offline map in phone. thanks TS !

colour
02-09-2008, 10:26 PM
invalid source leh zzz

hpv500
02-09-2008, 10:56 PM
done oso....does the maps now read frm the database or search thru a-gps?

toyshy
02-09-2008, 11:28 PM
invalid source leh zzz
Did you include the '/' behind the url? Or go to Repositories at Cydia, under 'Sections' tab, choose 'cake.mapleidea.com' instead.

done oso....does the maps now read frm the database or search thru a-gps?
Maps read from the maps and bookmark plist files you downloaded. Does not require Wifi or 3G, and thus GPS wont work.

ABuNeNe
03-09-2008, 12:42 AM
Cool got it working! Anyone got the map of the whole world, hahaha... duno how many TB will that be? For those who got invalid source, you can install the source via the Cydia, just search for cake.

toyshy
03-09-2008, 10:18 AM
Cool got it working! Anyone got the map of the whole world, hahaha... duno how many TB will that be?
Getting maps of different countries not that hard, its the street names location bookmark.plist file that is the tricky one.

DuffyX
03-09-2008, 10:57 AM
Hi guys. Any idea on how to do up the bookmark.plist file? The one provided is good. But i prefer to do up a more complete one. Thanks

hy.565
03-09-2008, 11:25 AM
Did you include the '/' behind the url? Or go to Repositories at Cydia, under 'Sections' tab, choose 'cake.mapleidea.com' instead.

Maps read from the maps and bookmark plist files you downloaded. Does not require Wifi or 3G, and thus GPS wont work.
So if I use this mod, does it mean that I can no longer locate my position on the Maps app when I have no connection to wifi or 3G or gprs?

toyshy
03-09-2008, 12:32 PM
DuffyX, PM peeInMyPantz? That is his work.

hy.565, A-GPS doesnt work without 3G or wifi in the first place. Offline maps work more like a street directory of sorts.

opt1m4l
03-09-2008, 12:35 PM
A-GPS won't work without those connections, however GPS will work. GPS does not require any data connection, it's the loading of the maps that typically needs a data connection.

hy.565
03-09-2008, 12:49 PM
yup, before applying this mod I tried turning off my wifi and 3g and pressed the locate me button and maps could find my position, although the radius is wider than if I were using wifi.

But now when I apply this mod, I turn of wifi and 3g, I press the locate me and it just loads forever...

EDIT: just tried, and the locate me feature works now, without wifi :o, weird..

poopoobud
03-09-2008, 01:07 PM
anyone can help? I am able to get the map working. but whenever I do a search, I get "could not connet to the internet" prompt. and nothing else.. I can thou zoom in and out the map freely. I have load the 3 files into m directory as stated and placed the bookmark.plist file outside m directory. Thank you.

toyshy
03-09-2008, 01:50 PM
poopoobud, you placed the bookmark.plist file in the wrong directory. Not /var/mobile/Media/Maps/ but /var/mobile/Library/Maps/ instead.

poopoobud
03-09-2008, 02:14 PM
poopoobud, you placed the bookmark.plist file in the wrong directory. Not /var/mobile/Media/Maps/ but /var/mobile/Library/Maps/ instead.
thanks toyshy... It was my mistake.. I also manage to increased more bookmark pin when I'm connected to the wifi, this helps to get more details to the bookmarks. Only thing is that we have to add the pin one by one manually.

superio
03-09-2008, 02:27 PM
Hi hi,

Can I check with you guys that you can still do a routing with the offline map?

Meaning if I want to get from my current location to another location, will I be able to do a routing to be guided to my destination with this offline map?

Thanks. :)

ABuNeNe
03-09-2008, 02:32 PM
Can iPhone 3G confirm that after loading this offline map for Singapore and running the Maps app, does it able to locate your location?

toyshy
03-09-2008, 03:36 PM
I also manage to increased more bookmark pin when I'm connected to the wifi, this helps to get more details to the bookmarks. Only thing is that we have to add the pin one by one manually.
DuffyX, you got your answer :D
1. Search for location with Wifi, 3G or GPRS.
4. Edit desired name.
5. Save.

Can I check with you guys that you can still do a routing with the offline map?
Nope, need 3G, Wifi or GPRS.

Can iPhone 3G confirm that after loading this offline map for Singapore and running the Maps app, does it able to locate your location?
Locate me doesnt work on my 2G iPhone with 2.x FW, without Wifi or GPRS.

fantastic!
03-09-2008, 05:25 PM
Nope didn't miss anything.
HOWEVER: I did upload the whole 'Singapore' folder in to the 'm' sub directory, and not file by file. Could that matter?

you mean you have to copy everything 1 by 1?

toyshy
03-09-2008, 07:11 PM
OpenSSH the 3 files over, and not the 'Singapore' folder.

rnogwai
04-09-2008, 02:33 PM
Anyone working on adding every street names from the street directory? :D Maybe we can split the work and share here?

yagami
04-09-2008, 09:55 PM
anyone knows how to get the hybrid map?

celestial517
05-09-2008, 12:33 AM
hey guys, im not able to get the map workin at all. but i think my bookmark is working? cuz when i search the names of the streets auto pop out.

oh its working now.

avenger03
05-09-2008, 09:52 AM
y would u want the hybird map?!

CoolUmber
05-09-2008, 10:14 AM
anyone hv the maps for malaysia??? :D
can share... 10Q

yagami
05-09-2008, 10:57 AM
y would u want the hybird map?!

It helps me visualize when i drive to places that i am not familiar with.
I always have problems using street directory, it gets me to the rough location but i can visualize the actual place im looking for.

So hybrid helps me better. Thats just me though.

hysteriakx
06-09-2008, 01:54 AM
yeah can someone kindly post the files for hybrid please?
anyway 16gb so much space also not much use. might as well use it for maps

DuffyX
06-09-2008, 09:46 AM
DuffyX, you got your answer :D
1. Search for location with Wifi, 3G or GPRS.
4. Edit desired name.
5. Save.

Nope, need 3G, Wifi or GPRS.

Locate me doesnt work on my 2G iPhone with 2.x FW, without Wifi or GPRS.

Tried it out and it works.. Thanks! :)

ABuNeNe
07-09-2008, 12:11 PM
anyone hv the maps for malaysia??? :D
can share... 10Q
Yeah a Malaysia map would be nice

sg_buyer
11-09-2008, 10:31 PM
does this work as a GPS when i am driving?
etc like guiding me from point A to B?

toyshy
12-09-2008, 10:36 AM
This work-around is more to access the Maps app without Wifi/3G/GPRS, kinda works more like a street directory.

cavemanng
13-09-2008, 09:49 PM
How to use it on offline maps 2.0.2?

Cant get it working.

1. Install offline maps

2. Download and unzip maps files into /var/mobile/Media/Maps/m/

3. Download maps bookmarks plist file and copy into /var/mobile/Library/Maps/

4. Restart phone

5. Launch offline map

Cant see anything

HelmetBox
13-09-2008, 10:52 PM
follow TS' steps exactly.

And make sure you install "离线地图" app and not "offline maps". "offline maps" is a different app altogether. Remember to launch LM2 before opening the pre-installed apple "maps" app.

toyshy
13-09-2008, 11:40 PM
Offline Maps app maps.sqlitedb file is not store under /var/mobile/Media/Maps/m/, check the info tab of the app on Cydia.

stalejive
14-09-2008, 12:17 AM
hi guys , after updating to 2.1 fw , my google maps application is not reporting my location properly.....i'm on 3g singtel bbom network.....for e.g now i'm at changi airport but it's reporting the location at serangoon north....it's weird sia.....i've already power cycle my iphone.....any inputs appreciated....thanx bros....

cavemanng
14-09-2008, 12:40 AM
Offline Maps app maps.sqlitedb file is not store under /var/mobile/Media/Maps/m/, check the info tab of the app on Cydia.

I tried storing it inside /var/mobile/media/maps as per instruction. Also cannot

toyshy
14-09-2008, 03:57 PM
Did you include the com.apple.Maps.plist file as well?

Refer to this website.
http://code.google.com/p/iphoneofflinemap/

pigcat
14-09-2008, 09:44 PM
Hi all!

Anyone can tell me good news that this offline map can be used with the GPS? Nevermind the routing just can use GPS to lock on my position is enough, just like my N95 8GB with Nokia Map.:o

tien2653
15-09-2008, 11:47 AM
great, it works!
thanks.

rnogwai
15-09-2008, 01:56 PM
Anyone can tell me good news that this offline map can be used with the GPS? Nevermind the routing just can use GPS to lock on my position is enough, just like my N95 8GB with Nokia Map.:o
A-GPS just requires cell phone tower signals to work, no? What has it gonna do with being online or not?

pigcat
15-09-2008, 02:57 PM
A-GPS just requires cell phone tower signals to work, no? What has it gonna do with being online or not?

Hmm as far as i know A-GPS need GPRS to work, not cell phone tower signals?

stbluerose
18-09-2008, 12:57 PM
Hmm as far as i know A-GPS need GPRS to work, not cell phone tower signals?
if you do not have cell signal how can u have GPRS?
BTw, A-GPS can run without anything (GPRS/3G/wifi). Just change to flight mode, off wifi and try outdoor. It will take longer time though.

newbish
18-09-2008, 06:50 PM
can anyone confirm that the cydia source is working? i tried to access but cant :(

Pank85
18-09-2008, 11:12 PM
the repo to download the LM2 app is working. i just tried it and got my offline maps working on 2.1 3g

newbish
18-09-2008, 11:55 PM
wah.. :( sian. how come i cannot find repo. help! :(

jeffwong86
19-09-2008, 01:00 AM
the map is whole word or just SiaPore (Singapura)

newbish
19-09-2008, 09:06 AM
can anyone help me ? lol. cydia is telling me did not find repo or something :(

rnogwai
19-09-2008, 12:12 PM
the map is whole word or just SiaPore (Singapura)
Just Singapore.

celestial517
27-09-2008, 11:35 PM
is the repo for lm2 workin still? or anyone has manage to get offline maps to work instead?

celestial517
28-09-2008, 12:55 AM
i got big boss offline maps working..

the things u put inside /var/mobile/Media/Maps is another FOLDER with the files com.apple.Maps.plist and the MAP file.

took me so long to figure... zzzzz....

so its something like /var/mobile/Media/Maps/SG then u drop the 2 files inside.

Raffles88
28-09-2008, 02:50 AM
1. Add iPhonecake repo source in Cydia. (http://cake.mapleidea.com/cydia/)

2. Install 离线地图 app.

the source is invalid. any other source?:s11:

rnogwai
28-09-2008, 10:01 AM
Alternatively, you can go to Repositories at Cydia, under 'Sections' tab and choose 'cake.mapleidea.com'. I read in some cases you are prompt with an error message, but as long as the iPhoneCake package shows up under 'Sections' tab, it will work.
As quoted earlier.

Red_October
28-09-2008, 12:51 PM
As quoted earlier.
i tried that but i couldnt find 离线地图 app

Raffles88
28-09-2008, 01:00 PM
As quoted earlier.

i tried that but i couldnt find 离线地图 app

i try and error msg but cant find 离线地图 app

toyshy
28-09-2008, 01:33 PM
iPhonecake source seems to be down. Use BigBoss's Offline Maps instead. Place MapTiles.sqlitedb and com.apple.Maps.plist under /var/mobile/Media/Maps/Singapore/

Do the same steps on the bookmark.plist

Launch Offline Maps app, you will be prompt to process the map, select 'Copy' instead of 'Link'. This will take a while, you will be prompt with a message once its done.

toyshy
28-09-2008, 01:59 PM
Or any kind soul can upload the 离线地图 app?

Raffles88
28-09-2008, 02:32 PM
toyshy offlinemap or 离线地图 is better?

gabrielworld
28-09-2008, 10:25 PM
Hey guys i did everything loh but then when i enter the start and end point and try to route, it prompt me that internet connection is not available.
Why har????
Thx

gabrielworld
28-09-2008, 10:54 PM
Haize i give up.
I did everything as posted but then it kept showing cant connect to internet.
I download the Offline Maps from Bug Boss Repo.
After that i ssh into iphone and place the MapTiles.sqlitedb and com.apple.Maps.plist under /var/mobile/Media/Maps/Singapore/ (in the media there was no maps so i create a folder Maps then put the Singapore folder with the two file inside the Maps)
The bookmarks was display in my maps but i cant Route.
Any ideas why?

vgoh77
28-09-2008, 11:27 PM
If im nt wrong, e folder u created muz not b more than 3 letters, try rename e folder "Singapore" into "SG".

gabrielworld
28-09-2008, 11:39 PM
Hey guys i start to realise, actually the maps offline only enable us to c the 700bookmarks that we have but then in cant route the places that we want unless we r on wifi.
Am i rite?
Coz i am able to use the 700bookmark to pin the location but then i cant route to the place i wan to end.

rnogwai
29-09-2008, 11:50 AM
TS already mentioned a couple of times in this thread, that Offline Maps is more like a street directory, routing from point A to point B will not work without 3G/Wifi/GPRS.

vgoh77, my folder is named Singapore, still works as per norm.

toyshy
01-10-2008, 03:48 PM
Guys, iPhoneCake source updated, 离线地图 app available again.

toyshy offlinemap or 离线地图 is better?
Both does the same thing, just that the former's initial setting up time longer.

cavemanng
11-10-2008, 01:55 AM
[QUOTE=toyshy;32115449]To Add Offline Google Maps

METHOD 1

2. Download and unzip maps files from here (http://ifile.it/yersjwp) or here. (http://www.mediafire.com/?25rzk6rwcwh) (Warning: 300+mb, might take a while.).

3. Place MapTiles.sqlitedb and com.apple.Maps.plist under /var/mobile/Media/Maps/Singapore/

4. Download maps bookmarks plist file from here. (http://www.mediafire.com/?tgutmwgtp0w)

5. OpenSSH the bookmarks plist file to /var/mobile/Library/Maps/ (Note: Again, create folder if it isnt in existence.)

6. Respring Springboard.

7. Launch Offline Maps app, you will be prompt to process the map, select 'Copy' instead of 'Link'. This will take a while, you will be prompt with a message once its done.

I used this method. Copy the map instead of link. Show me a message saying done and ask me to return to home and launch the map. How exactly do I launch the map? I see nothing!

celestial517
11-10-2008, 02:04 AM
u can have it as /var/mobile/Media/Maps/Singapore/ but they recommend that the Singapore folder rename to 4 character long instead.

anyway to your question, i used link instead of copy. so just go to the maps application [its the default provided by apple one] and open. then select 1 location from your bookmark and shuld zoom u into singapore already

rubber33
11-10-2008, 02:31 AM
wow.. this application make me feel like JB my phone.

ya as everyone asked is the program able to clock the location using GPS without connecting to the GPRS?

Rijindael
24-10-2008, 02:58 PM
is there anyway to update the map? or in future, how do we update/download the mpa?

Mr__GB
24-10-2008, 03:33 PM
is there anyway to update the map? or in future, how do we update/download the mpa?

in another thread, it is said that e google maps are outdated also. unless googles update their maps, we cant do much i suppose.

well, if there are new maps, den we needa have ppl to come up with the maps+bookmarks agains for everthing to work

killtuna
24-10-2008, 03:59 PM
after i copied the maps how do i access it? and the SING folder is now red in color. is there anything wrong with that?

Mr__GB
24-10-2008, 04:13 PM
i suppose u are using offlines maps instead of the "LI XIAN ..." . after doing all the necessary, you can access ur MAPS app from default iphone applications. remember to switch off ur wifit,3g etc to test.

Rijindael
24-10-2008, 05:03 PM
hmm, i just noticed that the blocks details are missing when the offline map is copied over. Even if I use wireless and open up google map the details are also missing. When I uninstall and remove the offline map, if start to work again.. that is bad.. =(

athletic91
26-10-2008, 02:56 AM
great used method 1 and it worked, i used link instead of copy.

maps are there, hybird and satellite do not work

route directions do not work( still require 3g i think)

ghui64
26-10-2008, 06:31 PM
hi guys
i dont think my bookmark is working
ive placed bookmarks plist file to /var/mobile/Library/Maps/spore
and i tried bookmarks plist file to /var/mobile/Library/Maps/

oso not working..by right i am able to search for places right?

killtuna
26-10-2008, 07:24 PM
I've put the com.apple.Maps.plist and MapTiles.sqlitedb files in /var/mobile/media/Maps/SG and Bookmarks.plist in /var/mobile/Library/Maps

I think the bookmarks is working as i can see all the different roads name but when I select one of them only one pin drops down but I dun see anything on the map. Anyone can help?

ZhuTou!
26-10-2008, 08:11 PM
hi guys
i dont think my bookmark is working
ive placed bookmarks plist file to /var/mobile/Library/Maps/spore
and i tried bookmarks plist file to /var/mobile/Library/Maps/

oso not working..by right i am able to search for places right?

unzip the maps to /var/mobile/Media/Maps/m/
plist goes to /var/mobile/Library/Maps/

and also did u install the app from cydia?

ghui64
26-10-2008, 09:51 PM
I've put the com.apple.Maps.plist and MapTiles.sqlitedb files in /var/mobile/media/Maps/SG and Bookmarks.plist in /var/mobile/Library/Maps

I think the bookmarks is working as i can see all the different roads name but when I select one of them only one pin drops down but I dun see anything on the map. Anyone can help?

yeah im facing the same problem too

ghui64
26-10-2008, 09:52 PM
unzip the maps to /var/mobile/Media/Maps/m/
plist goes to /var/mobile/Library/Maps/

and also did u install the app from cydia?

nope
from installer

ZhuTou!
26-10-2008, 11:01 PM
nope
from installer

i duno about installer coz im not using.
in cydia, add iPhonecake repo source and install "offline maps (translate to chinese)"

Pierre86
27-10-2008, 01:05 AM
in cydia, add iPhonecake repo source and install "offline maps (translate to chinese)"

iPhonecake repo source still not working in my cydia, keep adding but cannot add:(

mofos_
27-10-2008, 01:08 AM
guys i dont use any of the above methods.

i use chronus (the old timecapsule), just dl the map and throw into the mapscache folder and restore it. same goes for my bookmarks.

ghui64
27-10-2008, 01:54 PM

the map is working..but the bookmark im not sure..wat am i suppose to see from the bookmarks?? drop down pins??

Mr__GB
27-10-2008, 02:14 PM
the map is working..but the bookmark im not sure..wat am i suppose to see from the bookmarks?? drop down pins??

street names. when u wana search a place, there is this small blue booklet. offline maps serves as a street directory as pointed out by some ppl. but if u want routes, u can surf using wifi to get it and check for the same route later on offline.

ghui64
27-10-2008, 04:11 PM
street names. when u wana search a place, there is this small blue booklet. offline maps serves as a street directory as pointed out by some ppl. but if u want routes, u can surf using wifi to get it and check for the same route later on offline.

thanks for the info...but i dun see any streetnames in the booklet.
i know routes wont work thats y i neva asked about it.

rubber33
25-11-2008, 05:47 AM
hi guys i have follow the steps of method 1.
right now my offline map got the word sing.
but the map does not work.
what wrong?

austinmation
25-11-2008, 05:19 PM
After upgrading to fw 2.2, I couldn't get it to work using method 01 despite a few tries.

Not sure if the bookmarks & p.list is "expired" or not. Anyone experiencing the same issue?

Zahnie
25-11-2008, 05:20 PM
Cannot work liao

austinmation
25-11-2008, 05:41 PM
What a tragic.. :(

oyebto
25-11-2008, 06:23 PM
u mean after 2.2 the offline maps doesnt work anymore?

austinmation
25-11-2008, 07:15 PM
well.. sorta.. now trying to fix it..
http://code.google.com/p/iphoneofflinemap/issues/detail?id=30

Apparently the file format for the cache is different..

DLing & patching it now with:
http://rapidshare.com/files/166873793/Mapv4v5Converter101.zip

Hope it works..

netfreak123
25-11-2008, 07:18 PM
the file size seems to be different after tt
from like 300+mb to 100+mb
:o

rubber33
25-11-2008, 08:14 PM
well.. sorta.. now trying to fix it..
http://code.google.com/p/iphoneofflinemap/issues/detail?id=30

Apparently the file format for the cache is different..

DLing & patching it now with:
http://rapidshare.com/files/166873793/Mapv4v5Converter101.zip

Hope it works..

can someone kindly upload to other serves?
got hard time downloading it

austinmation
25-11-2008, 09:23 PM
The zipped map is still 103 MB, i cannot send it through those free file share..
So upload the convertor..
Note, its windows based, not mac base..

http://www.mediafire.com/?wjn2wnzg2zt

Raffles88
25-11-2008, 09:28 PM
austin how to convert?

austinmation
25-11-2008, 10:13 PM
install the convertor onto your pc, and convert the "MapTiles.sqlitedb" file which you downloaded from the first page.

opt1m4l
25-11-2008, 11:17 PM
http://www.filedropper.com/

Up to 5GB upload, care to get the converted files up please?

Raffles88
26-11-2008, 12:09 AM
install the convertor onto your pc, and convert the "MapTiles.sqlitedb" file which you downloaded from the first page.

austin, should i tick transfer partial tiles?

austinmation
26-11-2008, 12:31 AM
i dunno wad's that, so i did not click..

I am trying to upload the maps now for all.
Please wait.

* I realised Method 2's mapleidea repo isn't working or listed correctly.. Anyone can confirm?

austinmation
26-11-2008, 01:11 AM
SG Map for fw 2.2

Ref pg 1

opt1m4l
26-11-2008, 08:58 AM
Still can't get it to work on 2.2 even with the new maps :/

Not Solid Snake
26-11-2008, 09:35 AM
mine looked like it worked and its on 2.2. but there seems to be a problem zooming in...

rnogwai
29-11-2008, 07:43 PM
Any updates on the maps?

oyebto
30-11-2008, 12:07 AM
SG Map for fw 2.2

http://www.sendspace.com/file/e7sw8y
crap server always full... try mediafire?

austinmation
30-11-2008, 10:25 AM
crap server always full... try mediafire?

File is over size limit @ 103mb, will upload to other free servers shortly...

BTW, I cannot get to browse through bookmark on Maps offline using Offlinemap.
The second method's cydia link is dead too..

Anyone can help?

Ref 1st page

Sanjuro
03-12-2008, 05:18 AM
Works fine.

Got the map from the 1st page, converted with Mapv4v5Converter from http://imapsmanager.com/mapConverter/Mapv4v5Converter.zip

Place com.apple.Maps.plist and MapTiles.sqlitedb in /var/mobile/Media/Maps/SG.

Place Bookmarks.plist into /var/mobile/Library/Maps.

You cannot search without an internet connection, but manually selecting the road name from the bookmark list works. With an internet connection, maps load much faster (no need to download). Helps a lot if you are still on 2G (like me).

The only gripe I have is that the map is quite outdated, it doesn't show HDB buildings for example. But better than no map, I guess!

austinmation
03-12-2008, 06:02 PM
Works fine.

Got the map from the 1st page, converted with Mapv4v5Converter from http://imapsmanager.com/mapConverter/Mapv4v5Converter.zip

Place com.apple.Maps.plist and MapTiles.sqlitedb in /var/mobile/Media/Maps/SG.

Place Bookmarks.plist into /var/mobile/Library/Maps.

You cannot search without an internet connection, but manually selecting the road name from the bookmark list works. With an internet connection, maps load much faster (no need to download). Helps a lot if you are still on 2G (like me).

The only gripe I have is that the map is quite outdated, it doesn't show HDB buildings for example. But better than no map, I guess!

Hi, I had placed the files in their respective places correctly. With/ without an internet connection, I still cannot access the bookmark to scroll through the street names. What should I do to make maps.app to acknowledge the bookmark plist?

rubber33
03-12-2008, 08:12 PM
does anyone have the malaysia map??

Sanjuro
04-12-2008, 01:51 AM
Hi, I had placed the files in their respective places correctly. With/ without an internet connection, I still cannot access the bookmark to scroll through the street names. What should I do to make maps.app to acknowledge the bookmark plist?

Firstly, can you access the list of bookmarks, does it show up, when you press the blue book, and press on the left most button below that says bookmarks? If that list is empty (the 1st item should say 'Current Location') then you're probably doing something wrong. If the list is there it should work, it worked for me. If the list is there and it doesn't work maybe try to adjust the permissions of Bookmarks.plist, it should say 644, at least for mine it's that. Oh if it's in the right place, there should be a Recents.plist file as well.

austinmation
04-12-2008, 03:35 AM
*Okie.. I figured.. I had a wrong extension of my plist!! hahaha...

Thanks for helping me realise it!

Sanjuro
04-12-2008, 01:31 PM
*Okie.. I figured.. I had a wrong extension of my plist!! hahaha...

Alamak. :alien:

Sanjuro
04-12-2008, 01:49 PM
Hey guys, I made a new set of maps with GMDL as the maps posted on top of this thread is outdated. You can download it below.

SG Maps (http://www.mediafire.com/?ie9cz4ywpm6)[98.47 MB] (updated as of 3 Dec 2008)

Made with GMDL v0.5.09a, converted to v5. For FW2.2 only.

Please test it out and let me know if it works. So far it works well; it has the same quirks as when you don't use the map cache, like 1x zoom artifacts. In the future should anyone want to post maps, I would suggest that you attach the date the map was created to the post, so at least people will how how outdated it is 1 year later. :s13:

stevejobs
04-12-2008, 03:05 PM
Hey guys, I made a new set of maps with GMDL as the maps posted on top of this thread is outdated. You can download it below.

SG Maps (http://www.mediafire.com/?ie9cz4ywpm6)[98.47 MB] (updated as of 3 Dec 2008)

Made with GMDL v0.5.09a, converted to v5. For FW2.2 only.

Please test it out and let me know if it works. So far it works well; it has the same quirks as when you don't use the map cache, like 1x zoom artifacts. In the future should anyone want to post maps, I would suggest that you attach the date the map was created to the post, so at least people will how how outdated it is 1 year later. :s13:

Thank you bro, it works! Yahoo!:s12:

ForbiddenB
04-12-2008, 05:37 PM
who got updated bookmark for the new map? Or the old bookmark still can be used?

stevejobs
04-12-2008, 05:45 PM
who got updated bookmark for the new map? Or the old bookmark still can be used?

I'm using the old bookmark, no problemo.

craigchua
05-12-2008, 08:24 AM
after d/l, now map can only use with wifi on. any1 able to get it to work as offline map again??

Zahnie
05-12-2008, 09:07 AM
after d/l, now map can only use with wifi on. any1 able to get it to work as offline map again??

I can use with wifi off.

craigchua
05-12-2008, 03:44 PM
how did u do tat?? care to share??? thanks

Zahnie
05-12-2008, 04:40 PM
Convert the v4 map to v5 map = 125mb
SSH into Maps folder
Go offlinemaps clear cache clear watever then click on the link button.
That all.

craigchua
05-12-2008, 05:11 PM
i used the updated map from bro Sanjuro which is v5. SSH into Maps folder already.
wad do u mean by "Go offlinemaps clear cache clear watever then click on the link button."??

rnogwai
05-12-2008, 05:36 PM
i used the updated map from bro Sanjuro which is v5. SSH into Maps folder already.
wad do u mean by "Go offlinemaps clear cache clear watever then click on the link button."??
Page 1, 1st post, 1st method, step 7.

Clear cache is under 'More' on Offline Maps app.

craigchua
05-12-2008, 05:57 PM
oh.. i get it now. using back method 1 from page 1 and follow the steps. just tat the map need get the updated v5.

it works now! hehe.. thanks a lot bro!

toyshy
05-12-2008, 06:16 PM
Thread updated for FW2.2

Try this forum, (http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/857684) for Klang Valley, West Malaysia, East Malaysia, Penang, and Selangor :D

junhize
06-12-2008, 02:43 AM
Sorry for the noob question but does this allow urs GPS in iphone to detect ur current position or is it an offline map that u can read but muz find ur position urself?

rnogwai
06-12-2008, 09:51 AM
hmm, i just noticed that the blocks details are missing when the offline map is copied over. Even if I use wireless and open up google map the details are also missing. When I uninstall and remove the offline map, if start to work again.. that is bad.. =(
I dont think the original Google maps has all the blks details as well.

rubber33
06-12-2008, 10:48 AM
Thread updated for FW2.2

Try this forum, (http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/857684) for Klang Valley, West Malaysia, East Malaysia, Penang, and Selangor :D

thanks...................

stevejobs
06-12-2008, 12:05 PM
Sorry for the noob question but does this allow urs GPS in iphone to detect ur current position or is it an offline map that u can read but muz find ur position urself?

With your on location switch on, it does find you. I try it while driving yesterday, very satisfying.

Sanjuro
06-12-2008, 12:20 PM
I dont think the original Google maps has all the blks details as well.

Actually the map I uploaded fixes this. The original maps posted were out of date (I think pre-2.0 era)

Sanjuro
06-12-2008, 12:32 PM

Actually I wanted to try, but if I include all the maps down to 1x zoom it will be about 15GB(!) large. The only way for it to make sense is to only include up to 8x zoom, which brings the size down to 300+MB, but I don't know the usefulness of the map this way, I don't stay in malaysia so I wouldn't know. Unless I break it up by area but then again I'm not too familiar with the geography of the country. Sorry about that.

Sanjuro
06-12-2008, 12:35 PM
Thread updated for FW2.2

Bro, don't mind include the date as well? The map I created was grabbed on 3 December 08. Thanks!

wshaowei2000
06-12-2008, 07:04 PM
I already got the offline map up, but the bookmark i still puzzle.

so the bookmark will only work when i am connected to internet connection? or is there a way to use it when i have no internet connection?

i am using 2g iphone.

thanks

Sanjuro
07-12-2008, 02:41 AM
Bookmarks is accessible anytime without internet connection, via the bookmarks page.

Sanjuro
07-12-2008, 02:51 AM
Something crazy for you guys, presenting:

SG Maps MEGA PACK

600MB worth of Maps, Satellite and Hybrid maps, all in one!

Part 1 (http://www.mediafire.com/?pyijhmemnzm)
Part 2 (http://www.mediafire.com/?hxofyizivjm)
Part 3 (http://www.mediafire.com/?wmgm1zncmi5)
Part 4 (http://www.mediafire.com/?twzzrltdlmj)
Part 5 (http://www.mediafire.com/?oveuiojgmpz)
Part 6 (http://www.mediafire.com/?jnr1odrzyym)
Part 7 (http://www.mediafire.com/?myngritomni)

Download all the files into 1 location, and extract. MD5 checksum included in the readme file. Maps as of 03 December 2008, satellite and hybrid maps as of 05 December 2008.

Took me some time to get this together, enjoy!

Next I will be making an Extra Pack, which just has Maps and Hybrid maps, if you feel that satellite is redundant, to save some space.

stevejobs
07-12-2008, 02:58 AM

SG Maps MEGA PACK

Download all the files into 1 location, and extract. MD5 checksum included in the readme file. Maps as of 03 December 2008, satellite and hybrid maps as of 05 December 2008.

Next I will be making an Extra Pack, which just has Maps and Hybrid maps, if you feel that satellite is redundant, to save some space.

ya i think maps and hybrid should be good enough. Sanjuro just a silly question, loading all those 600mb will cause the phone be laggier?

Sanjuro
07-12-2008, 11:40 AM
ya i think maps and hybrid should be good enough. Sanjuro just a silly question, loading all those 600mb will cause the phone be laggier?

Not that I noticed but it does take up quite a lot of space :o

rnogwai
07-12-2008, 12:05 PM
Bookmarks is accessible anytime without internet connection, via the bookmarks page.
Sanjuro, I believe wshaowei2000 referring to the 'search' function, which used to work with the bookmarks previously on FW2.1. Anyone know how to get that to work again?

P.S. Sanjuro, thanks for the hardwork on the maps!

wshaowei2000
07-12-2008, 12:42 PM
yup. i was refering to the tat search function. cos not every where have recept fro my bbom or wifi. wanna use that map offline with the search function

qwertish
07-12-2008, 01:35 PM
How do I create more detailed bookmarks?

Mr__GB
07-12-2008, 01:45 PM
How do I create more detailed bookmarks?

u can use e bookmarks while u're on wifi(which is suppose to be free) and use it offline when u need it on the road. it seems to be written in the bookmark.plist.

done it and it works for me :)

qwertish
07-12-2008, 01:56 PM
u can use e bookmarks while u're on wifi(which is suppose to be free) and use it offline when u need it on the road. it seems to be written in the bookmark.plist.

done it and it works for me :)
yea I know this, what I'm asking is how to make it more detailed.

I wanna make a more detailed bookmarks.plist of the streets, the current one leaves out alot of smaller roads.

Zahnie
07-12-2008, 01:59 PM
The current bookmark shows the bus stop location nia.

Sanjuro
08-12-2008, 05:30 AM
Ok as promised, I made an extras pack with just maps and hybrid view. Consolidating everything together in this post.

SG Maps Standard

Maps only. 98.5MB

SG Maps Standard (http://www.mediafire.com/?ie9cz4ywpm6)

SG Maps Extra

Maps with Hybrid view. No satellite. 343MB

SG Maps Extra Part 1 (http://www.mediafire.com/?rmjsmshgjfz)
SG Maps Extra Part 2 (http://www.mediafire.com/?j9x3nefdhjm)
SG Maps Extra Part 3 (http://www.mediafire.com/?0dsgylgxtmh)
SG Maps Extra Part 4 (http://www.mediafire.com/?p5y9jmuzd3m)

SG Maps Mega

Maps, Satellite and Hybrid view. 550.7MB

SG Maps Mega Part 1 (http://www.mediafire.com/?pyijhmemnzm)
SG Maps Mega Part 2 (http://www.mediafire.com/?hxofyizivjm)
SG Maps Mega Part 3 (http://www.mediafire.com/?wmgm1zncmi5)
SG Maps Mega Part 4 (http://www.mediafire.com/?twzzrltdlmj)
SG Maps Mega Part 5 (http://www.mediafire.com/?oveuiojgmpz)
SG Maps Mega Part 6 (http://www.mediafire.com/?jnr1odrzyym)
SG Maps Mega Part 7 (http://www.mediafire.com/?myngritomni)

Enjoy!

austinmation
08-12-2008, 07:30 AM
For those who are driving, you may wish to look into xwave's xgps ("http://xgps.xwaves.net/). It gives you the directional feel of where you are heading to, and provide speed update. It allows you to download maps offline directly off the software to cache for offline use.

The route planning uses google map however, still requires internal connection in order to plot your trip.
There was a "Freemap software" in the demo works like a regular in-car GPS module with voice, however I can't seem to google it out. Wonder anyone have a clue?

*Think its a slight improved turn-to-turn google map, slightly buggy. The offline map which xwaves's database takes up only 39mb for SG map. However, it only records driving direction as bookmark, so its internet dependent.

Hope to hear feedback if you had tried using.

toyshy
11-12-2008, 05:11 PM
Bro, don't mind include the date as well? The map I created was grabbed on 3 December 08. Thanks!
Done! Add the SG Mega Maps pack too, thanks for the hardwork!

lado79
13-12-2008, 07:52 PM
i tried according to the details provided but unluck. any help.

austinmation
14-12-2008, 08:54 AM
i tried according to the details provided but unluck. any help.

Care to elaborate your process?

JupChinBom
15-12-2008, 01:45 AM

4. Download maps bookmarks plist file from here.

6. Respring Springboard.

7. Launch Offline Maps app, you will be prompt to process the map, select 'Copy' instead of 'Link'. 'Link will also work, but it may bloat up your cache. Note: Processing of the maps takes about 2 mins+-. If it takes mere seconds, that means it did not process the maps properly. Try 'Copy' again.

Ever since that step, I don't understand anymore. Can someone tell me what to do exactly? I am a new IPhone user.

XcoldstarX
15-12-2008, 01:57 AM
Same here. Guide doesn't work anymore. Can't get iPhone Cake repo to work.

stevejobs
15-12-2008, 02:01 AM
Same here. Guide doesn't work anymore. Can't get iPhone Cake repo to work.

strange to hear that, my work flawlessly. BTW are you on 2.2?

XcoldstarX
15-12-2008, 02:12 AM
Yeah. Just saw the updated 1st post of the thread, installed the offline maps app from cydia and it works now.

lado79
15-12-2008, 12:21 PM
I am on iphone 2.2 jb. i didn't understand below

where to download MapTiles.sqlitedb and com.apple.Maps.plist

any help.

Mr__GB
15-12-2008, 03:50 PM
I am on iphone 2.2 jb. i didn't understand below

where to download MapTiles.sqlitedb and com.apple.Maps.plist

any help.

its in this thread. jus recently posted by "Sanjuro" .

JupChinBom
15-12-2008, 11:59 PM
I finally figured it out but after I copy the map for like 5 minutes, I go to Maps and still the the icon indicating Wifi usage is there when i use GPS.

Also, do I have to copy it everytime I want to use it?

chanbri
16-12-2008, 01:45 AM
how long does it remain on copy if you use the megapack? mine crashes if i select copy. so i select link instead.

JupChinBom
17-12-2008, 01:35 AM
Can some reply my question? =( Why is the internet usage icon still on after I copy the maps and use the Maps

Mr__GB
17-12-2008, 02:19 AM
Can some reply my question? =( Why is the internet usage icon still on after I copy the maps and use the Maps

relax dude.. we're all contributing for freewill.. not ur servant sia... i noe u r anxious.. but we have our own life to lead as well ;)

anywayz, u should off ur wifi/3g/edge 1st to see it its working. else maps will auto use e internet connections instead of using the offline maps.

how long does it remain on copy if you use the megapack? mine crashes if i select copy. so i select link instead.

well it takes very long. i dun tink its crashes, but jus leave it for sometime it will be done.

JupChinBom
17-12-2008, 01:08 PM
Well, I found a solution that was posted at the main forum but I haven't tried it yet.

For 2.2, due to the database format change, old maps won't work.

So we have to use Mapv4v5Converter to convert it.

http://imapsmanager.com/mapConverter/mapConverter.htm

Anyway, I read that we must convert the folder and not the files.

rnogwai
18-12-2008, 01:00 PM
The maps on the first page are already converted by Sanjuro.

alberttcs
18-12-2008, 02:35 PM
sorry, for the hybrid map.
There's 4 rar files. After unzipping them, what's the next process i got to do? It seems all got the same file names contained inside
"MapTiles.sqlitedb"
Do we need to merge them or something?

Thanks in advance

JupChinBom
19-12-2008, 12:52 PM
Does anybody know how to create offline routes for 2.2?

Btw, since know I can use GPS offline. No charges will be charged for usage of GPS already right?

austinmation
19-12-2008, 03:22 PM
sorry, for the hybrid map.
There's 4 rar files. After unzipping them, what's the next process i got to do? It seems all got the same file names contained inside
"MapTiles.sqlitedb"
Do we need to merge them or something?

Thanks in advance

Place the four rar file in one folder, unzipping only SG Maps Extra Part 1 should auto merge the next 3 rar files and you should only have ONE "MapTiles.sqlitedb"

Does anybody know how to create offline routes for 2.2?

Btw, since know I can use GPS offline. No charges will be charged for usage of GPS already right?

Offline Route function will support in FW 2.2

This solution only work on FW2.2
Please download this file http://iphoneofflinemap.googlecode.com/files/OfflineMaps.pyo
and put it into iphone at : /Applications/OfflineMaps.app/
replace the old one , and relaunch OfflineMaps

shinjisan
21-12-2008, 01:13 PM

SG Maps MEGA PACK

funny this 600mb file doesnt work for me

all blank after i process map (Copy)

or shld i try Link?

the 400mb file doesnt work too..

where does ds_store goes???

Raffles88
21-12-2008, 05:05 PM
Place the four rar file in one folder, unzipping only SG Maps Extra Part 1 should auto merge the next 3 rar files and you should only have ONE "MapTiles.sqlitedb"

hi austin, provide full path for /Applications/OfflineMaps.app/

rnogwai
22-12-2008, 09:54 AM
where does ds_store goes???
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/.DS_Store

lado79
22-12-2008, 10:00 AM
yesterday night i tried 600mb of Sattelite, maps, hybrid in my jb iphone. it works great for me. Now, i can surf offline maps without gprs, wifi mah... thanks sunjuro.

Keep this coming dude!! Thanks again

donkeyhead
22-12-2008, 11:44 AM
Hope to hear feedback if you had tried using.

I used the xGPS and brought this iGPSd module (Holux) as mine is a 1Gen iPhone. xGPS downloaded map with JB seems to be about 50mb. Singapore map wise, not too detail but at least with flats outline. Don't know what zoom detail is that. The download through wifi is very easy, block the area to download, and click. There is this navigation program by the vendor of the iGPSd at here (http://igpsd.wordpress.com/2008/11/19/beta-testing-the-latest-gps-program-with-route-and-navigation/). Maybe can check it out.

alberttcs
22-12-2008, 01:42 PM

Tks austinmation! Tks loads!!

dagoh1991
23-12-2008, 12:20 AM
yesterday night i tried 600mb of Sattelite, maps, hybrid in my jb iphone. it works great for me. Now, i can surf offline maps without gprs, wifi mah... thanks sunjuro.

Keep this coming dude!! Thanks again

thanks for the hybrid maps! I managed to merge all the 7 files together but i don't have enough space under root partition to put them in- any solutions to this?

austinmation
23-12-2008, 01:09 AM
I used the xGPS and brought this iGPSd module (Holux) as mine is a 1Gen iPhone. xGPS downloaded map with JB seems to be about 50mb. Singapore map wise, not too detail but at least with flats outline. Don't know what zoom detail is that. The download through wifi is very easy, block the area to download, and click. There is this navigation program by the vendor of the iGPSd at here (http://igpsd.wordpress.com/2008/11/19/beta-testing-the-latest-gps-program-with-route-and-navigation/). Maybe can check it out.

I am using iPhone 3G's built-in GPS module, I am having the directional syndrome whenever the vehicle stops, the arrow on xGPS will anyhowly point.. I wonder if it work fine on yours?

donkeyhead
23-12-2008, 07:17 AM
I am using iPhone 3G's built-in GPS module, I am having the directional syndrome whenever the vehicle stops, the arrow on xGPS will anyhowly point.. I wonder if it work fine on yours?

Seems to work fine on mine, I suspect it might be Holux vs what is inside the 3G.

JupChinBom
29-12-2008, 02:47 PM

Offline Route function will support in FW 2.2 I downloaded the OfflineMaps.pyo and replaced it already. Then I used Wifi to plot a route in maps, went to OfflineMaps, Edit, Import Route and named the route, it stated that the route is imported but it doesn't appear in my list.

mofos_
04-01-2009, 01:35 AM
hey i've been following this thread for quite some time alr.

so just to make sure, for fw 2.2 offline maps, the search function does not work? we have to tap the blue book to bring the list down to search for the bookmarks?

thanks.

rnogwai
04-01-2009, 11:56 AM
Yup, thats correct.

emuji
04-01-2009, 02:23 PM
iPhonecake source seems to be down. Use BigBoss's Offline Maps instead. Place MapTiles.sqlitedb and com.apple.Maps.plist under /var/mobile/Media/Maps/Singapore/

Do the same steps on the bookmark.plist

Launch Offline Maps app, you will be prompt to process the map, select 'Copy' instead of 'Link'. This will take a while, you will be prompt with a message once its done.

the options i have is 'Cancel' or 'Link'

how?

ZigguratZ
04-01-2009, 05:48 PM
anyone updated to the latest version of offline map ? i just updated it and how i cant use it ...

anyone facing this problem too ?

emuji
04-01-2009, 06:15 PM
anyone updated to the latest version of offline map ? i just updated it and how i cant use it ...

anyone facing this problem too ?

any details of your can't use?

i just downloaded it a few hours ago. followed the instruction but can't use.

xeRiCo
05-01-2009, 03:15 PM
any details of your can't use?

i just downloaded it a few hours ago. followed the instruction but can't use.
Bookmarks.plist should be in /var/mobile/Media/Maps
com.apple.Maps.plist & MapsTiles.sqlitedb should go /var/mobile/Media/Maps/Singapore

JupChinBom
05-01-2009, 03:54 PM
Does anybody know which directory do I go to delete routes?

lado79
05-01-2009, 10:10 PM
after i finish updating to latest ver of offline maps. now, it's doesn't work. any help.

xeRiCo
06-01-2009, 08:36 AM
after i finish updating to latest ver of offline maps. now, it's doesn't work. any help.
look at my reply two post up :s22::s22:

ming040880
06-01-2009, 12:07 PM
Hi guys!

Need some advice...I managed to get offline map to work but when I tried to get directions it says uable to connect to the internet...is this normal??? can't seem to get the directions to work leh only the map and bookmarks is there....

Tks in advance for any bros that can help me!!!!

JupChinBom
06-01-2009, 12:56 PM
Hi guys!

Need some advice...I managed to get offline map to work but when I tried to get directions it says uable to connect to the internet...is this normal??? can't seem to get the directions to work leh only the map and bookmarks is there....

Tks in advance for any bros that can help me!!!!

Plotting routes requires internet.

DontPiakMePlz
06-01-2009, 11:49 PM
what program to extract the files into (3. Place MapTiles.sqlitedb and com.apple.Maps.plist under /var/mobile/Media/Maps/Singapore/)

sorry really noob here...

Pierre86
06-01-2009, 11:56 PM
Let me ask 1 stupid question, currently I using FW 2.1 JB 2G iPhone can I use offline google map for FW 2.2? Cause I can't find FW 2.1 offline google map:(

CoffeeLover
07-01-2009, 01:06 AM

Hi ,
thinking of getting this GPS unit but need more info,
some review maybe?

shotgun123
07-01-2009, 01:33 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by http://code.google.com/p/iphoneofflinemap/
This solution only work on FW2.2
Please download this file http://iphoneofflinemap.googlecode.c...fflineMaps.pyo
and put it into iphone at : /Applications/OfflineMaps.app/
replace the old one , and relaunch OfflineMaps

Anyone tried this? Does the offline route function works?

i tried to copy the OfflineMaps.pyo file to /Applications/OfflineMaps.app/ but there isn't an old OfflineMaps.pyo file in this directory.... how to replace the old one?i'm using FW2.2, and OfflineMaps downloaded from Cydia.

xeRiCo
07-01-2009, 09:04 AM
what program to extract the files into (3. Place MapTiles.sqlitedb and com.apple.Maps.plist under /var/mobile/Media/Maps/Singapore/)

sorry really noob here...
:s11: winrar to extract the files? winscp to copy the files into iphone?
Anyone tried this? Does the offline route function works?

i tried to copy the OfflineMaps.pyo file to /Applications/OfflineMaps.app/ but there isn't an old OfflineMaps.pyo file in this directory.... how to replace the old one?i'm using FW2.2, and OfflineMaps downloaded from Cydia.
theres a change in the dir location in the latest update of offline maps...now everything goes into /var/mobile/Media/Maps ;) Only the MapTiles.sqlitedb & com.apple.Maps.plist is in 1 the sub dir Singapore...i dont use routing so i dont know if it works...but its worth a try :D

hope it helps

emuji
07-01-2009, 10:46 AM
com.apple.Maps.plist & MapsTiles.sqlitedb should go /var/mobile/Media/Maps/Singapore

that's what i did, but nothing happens. no maps for me :(

plus i don't have the option to 'COPY' only 'CANCEL' or 'LINK' and the process was split second, which means it is not working. need help leh...

Pierre86
07-01-2009, 10:48 AM

How do I view my bookmarks.plist? I already put it into /var/mobile/Media/Maps already but offline map doesn't show it out:(

xeRiCo
07-01-2009, 11:13 AM
that's what i did, but nothing happens. no maps for me :(

plus i don't have the option to 'COPY' only 'CANCEL' or 'LINK' and the process was split second, which means it is not working. need help leh...
cant be ley...i just install offline maps like yesterday...i used link oso...mayb u wanna clear cache/uninstall and try again?
How do I view my bookmarks.plist? I already put it into /var/mobile/Media/Maps already but offline map doesn't show it out:(
the bookmarks u need to tap the blue book on the search bar...then will show u all the location the bros here have put up...

EK9
07-01-2009, 12:22 PM
With your on location switch on, it does find you. I try it while driving yesterday, very satisfying.

is this working for everyone?
with edge, wifi turned off...i cant find my current location my clicking the crosshair icon while in offline maps.

Pierre86
07-01-2009, 03:51 PM
cant be ley...i just install offline maps like yesterday...i used link oso...mayb u wanna clear cache/uninstall and try again?

the bookmarks u need to tap the blue book on the search bar...then will show u all the location the bros here have put up...

Finally got it working thanks bro:D

ez-biz71
08-01-2009, 04:28 PM
Hi ,
thinking of getting this GPS unit but need more info,
some review maybe?

I already tried out this and also remove the Offline map from my Iphone. I can said that is almost the same as on the market selling those GSP unit.

Try it !!!!!! You will like it

ZigguratZ
11-01-2009, 01:54 PM
eh any bros here can teach me how to save routes after plotting them ? i cant seem to find anyway to save it thou ...

emuji
11-01-2009, 09:59 PM
aiyo, i give up liao. can't work lah :o

lado79
13-01-2009, 11:00 AM
my offline is working but whenever i tried to import current maps route. it's say that import failed (No route found in Maps) try to create one before. any helps. what's this all about?

CoffeeLover
19-01-2009, 07:57 PM
Just wondering
is the mega map for 2.2 firmware? I am having problem trying to get everything to work.
lol

Basically my map seems to still try to load from online and there is no copy option only link.

GamerZ
19-01-2009, 10:26 PM
Did you all try XGPS from Cydia?? It is a free software which gives driving directions using Google Maps and it has an option to cache maps for offline.

CoffeeLover
20-01-2009, 06:55 AM
Anyone knows why there is only a link button?

IOs there any dependancy for the offline map to work?

xeRiCo
20-01-2009, 07:53 AM
Anyone knows why there is only a link button?

IOs there any dependancy for the offline map to work?
just use link...it still works...

lado79
20-01-2009, 10:33 AM
What XGPS. Where can i find that. Can elaborate more.

GamerZ
20-01-2009, 11:02 AM
What XGPS. Where can i find that. Can elaborate more.

http://xgps.xwaves.net/

CoffeeLover
20-01-2009, 11:21 AM
just use link...it still works...

Hmm, just wondering does anyone who has this working with intelliscreen too?

I am suspecting the two don't blend well together

CoffeeLover
20-01-2009, 02:09 PM

METHOD 1

6. Respring Springboard.

I do not have the Copy option and I clicked link. However, the link only took 1-2 secs and after that I tried to accessed the map, does not seems to link up as there is the turning flower-lookealike symbol when I tried to move the map.

Help help!

stevejobs
20-01-2009, 02:41 PM

I have intelliscreen , works fine with offline map. Just make sure you have copy
your files in the right directory.

austinmation
20-01-2009, 02:49 PM

It works fine.

CoffeeLover
20-01-2009, 05:56 PM
Hi guys,

Just a update. Seems like there is some configuration issue with the file permission of the soft link which is pointing to the map itself.

Thanks for the feedbacks!

shopping4anything
21-01-2009, 01:25 AM
so that means muz jailbreak iPhone before it can used ah???

CoffeeLover
21-01-2009, 12:08 PM
Yes. You must jailbreak first

surfaceiseeyer
24-01-2009, 04:06 PM
can i ask a noob qns.
how do i do --> (3. Place MapTiles.sqlitedb and com.apple.Maps.plist under /var/mobile/Media/Maps/Singapore/)

i have downloaded it in my com.
or how to transfer into my iphone, i cant do dat in iTunes.

And also wats SSH ?
i have only mobilefinder with me.
SSH is from where ? or must we dl ?

METHOD 1

6. Respring Springboard.

METHOD 2

Note: Method 2 is only for those with 离线地图 app. The app is no longer available on Cydia.

1. Download and unzip maps files.

2. OpenSSH the maps files to /var/mobile/Media/Maps/m/ (Note: Create folders that are not in existence.)

3. Download maps bookmarks plist file from here. (http://www.mediafire.com/?tgutmwgtp0w)

4. OpenSSH the bookmarks plist file to /var/mobile/Library/Maps/ (Note: Again, create folder if it isnt in existence.)

5. Respring Springboard.

6. Tap on LM2 icon on Springboard once. (Note: Springboard will just fade in and out.)

7. Tap on Maps app, and voila!~! Now you can search for the 700+ street locations offline, previously available on DataBinge's TimeCapsule.

Singapore Mega Maps Pack
Here. (http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showpost.php?p=34219341&postcount=164)

Malaysia Maps Download
Here. (http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/857684)

To add more locations to bookmarks plist

1. Search for new location with Wifi, 3G or GPRS.
4. Edit desired name.
5. Save.

Credits to peeInMyPantz, Zahnie, falcon212, austinmation, and Sanjuro.

ZigguratZ
25-01-2009, 03:24 AM
Did you all try XGPS from Cydia?? It is a free software which gives driving directions using Google Maps and it has an option to cache maps for offline.

bro u tried out XGPS already ? i just installed it but i have no idea how to use it o show SG maps thou ...

phey_05
27-01-2009, 07:34 PM

Can anyone please post a screengrab of the differences of the three maps?

SG Maps Standard
SG Maps Standard: Maps only. 98.5MB

SG Maps Extra
Maps with Hybrid view: No satellite. 343MB

SG Maps Mega

I installed the standard maps and mega map, i cant see any difference, i treid to remove the cache and reboot the unit after changing it to mega map, but still the same...

Thanx in Advance,
Chris

phey_05
27-01-2009, 11:13 PM
this are the screen grab that i took,
no difference...

Mega

http://img141.imageshack.us/img141/4296/img0007cf3.png

Standard

http://img105.imageshack.us/img105/9297/img0006wr4.png

aeng
28-01-2009, 12:55 AM
KNS, dun be blur.

please read what you wrote very carefully.

SG Maps Standard
SG Maps Standard: Maps only. 98.5MB

SG Maps Extra
Maps with Hybrid view: No satellite. 343MB

SG Maps Mega

phey_05
28-01-2009, 07:12 AM
Whats wrong with my post?
hehehe

maybe you didn't understand my question clearly...

i already found the solution.
I have to click the next page in order to see the hybrid view and the satellite view...

ill post some screen grab tom for the benefit of others like me....

rubber33
29-01-2009, 09:22 PM
hi guys is it possible to save the route?

phey_05
30-01-2009, 02:49 AM
As promised:

Map

http://img520.imageshack.us/img520/2531/phot1owc6.jpg

Satellite

http://img340.imageshack.us/img340/2466/photogo5.jpg

Hybrid

http://img118.imageshack.us/img118/5924/ph3otoay6.jpg

you have to click "next page"(lower right corner) to be able to see the 3 types.

Regards.
Chris

galliano
01-02-2009, 02:44 AM
Guys,
!st up, thanks for the pretty straight forward instructions on pg 1 with regards to getting my offline maps thingy done up.

I just realise that it now works great as a standalone street directory, kinda sucks like it still needs internet connection for directions pt-to-pt. :(

I always thought after Jailbreak, simple stuff like direction guidance /navigation using only GPS is not possible still. Makes me miss a little of Windows Mobile.

dipznpipz
02-02-2009, 01:21 PM
hi, sorry but how do u put the files into the directory?
issit by winscp?
i tired winscp but cannot even connect to my iphone leh..

dipznpipz
02-02-2009, 05:25 PM
hi guys....i manage to put the necessary files in via iphone PC suite...

den i restarted but when i open offline maps, and click on Singapore, it says processing map and an option of either cancel or link

there isnt a copy option...

i click on link, den immediately it pops up, process finish.....and i click ok....and nothing happens...

pls help!!

galliano
02-02-2009, 06:20 PM
hi guys....i manage to put the necessary files in via iphone PC suite...

den i restarted but when i open offline maps, and click on Singapore, it says processing map and an option of either cancel or link

there isnt a copy option...

i click on link, den immediately it pops up, process finish.....and i click ok....and nothing happens...

pls help!!

:s8:Well, you missed the last step. Go open the standard Maps application on your iphone.

FYI, i too did not get the "copy" option .. only the link, but so far its pretty ok. Only wished after doing all this, I was able to do routing offline. Guess it still got limitations.

subway123
03-02-2009, 10:47 AM
anybody know where to get singapore maps with building/block numbers on iphone?

rubber33
04-02-2009, 10:49 AM
does it work with 2.2.1 anyone tried?

rubber33
04-02-2009, 10:56 AM
ok tested working fine

tiongster69
15-02-2009, 01:34 PM
This offline map doesnt work for Xgps, xgps offline maps are of different format to the one in this thread.

rubber33
25-02-2009, 10:40 AM
does anyone know what is the problem when i enter into offline map the program hanged?
and tried reinstall still the same

mrboon85
01-03-2009, 02:55 AM
Hi guys, been using offline map since 1.1.4 FW. Way back then, when i type a letter B for instance on the search box, google map will actually display all the B roads that I have in the bookmarks, for instance, Braddell Road, so I just need to scroll from the SEARCH BOX to choose.

But now, to find New Bridge Road (as it starts with N), i need to scroll from the BOOKMARKS instead of typing an N on the search box.

Did i do something wrong or the new google map FW makes it this way? Anyone knows how to rectify that?

Many thanks in advance.

Pank85
01-03-2009, 08:56 AM
does this work for 2.2.1 ?