PDA

View Full Version : Western Digital 640G 6400AAKS no more stocks in SLS.

coyote
07-09-2008, 01:42 PM
Yesterday went to SLS to get 640G 6400AAKS, then all shops said ran out of stocks.

Bell only has the Western Digital 640G Earth power, 6400AACS something.

Is that a good harddisk? Performance is worse than 6400AAKS right? If performance is what I am looking for, I should wait for the 6400AKS instead of getting the 6400AACS right?

Please advice.

commach
07-09-2008, 01:52 PM
WD green released in 640mb capacity?
I thought only 500, 750 and 1TB capacity for the green series?

Gforce8
07-09-2008, 02:01 PM
WD green released in 640mb capacity?
I thought only 500, 750 and 1TB capacity for the green series?
got 640 one.. beat samsung F1 750 in most of the test.. :D:D

Gforce8
07-09-2008, 02:01 PM
wait for the aaks one.. :)

sentimental_kills
07-09-2008, 02:04 PM
wah 6400AAKS so hot sia. sian im not utilising its full potential, just using it as my storage drive nia. lazy to transfer OS onto it =(

commach
07-09-2008, 02:21 PM

Thanks for the info.:)
I was in SLS 2 weeks ago trying to get a 640gb but only found 250, 500 and 750gb drive for the green series.
Didn't know released but no stock.:o

ragnarok95
07-09-2008, 02:26 PM
There is NO 640GB Greenpower.

WD Greenpower only comes with 500/750/1TB.

Current 6400AAKS are NOT greenpower and now belongs to the Blue series.

640GB are 7200RPM drives so its not targeted at greenpower as its going towards performance side.

The one that beat F1 750GB is the 6400AAKS. VR zone have a long thread about it.

FattyTW
07-09-2008, 02:26 PM
rag, ytd lemonn bought it, i saw the green stick on the wd 640...

ragnarok95
07-09-2008, 02:30 PM
I searched and there is no 640GB greenpower in the website...640GB comes in blue series now.

goenitz33
07-09-2008, 02:31 PM
even WD Caviar® Green™ dont have 640GB

only 640GB is the WD Caviar® Blue™

website no update ? =x

ragnarok95
07-09-2008, 02:32 PM
Website never update?

adrianlee
07-09-2008, 02:33 PM
WD Caviar® Green - No 640GB leh?
http://www.wdc.com/en/products/products.asp?driveid=336

Edit: Oops somebody is faster :D

lemonn
07-09-2008, 02:33 PM
There is NO 640GB Greenpower.

WD Greenpower only comes with 500/750/1TB.

Current 6400AAKS are NOT greenpower and now belongs to the Blue series.

640GB are 7200RPM drives so its not targeted at greenpower as its going towards performance side.

The one that beat F1 750GB is the 6400AAKS. VR zone have a long thread about it.

Are you THAT sure?

http://i38.tinypic.com/124aee9.jpg

And its listed on Potterhouse too.

ragnarok95
07-09-2008, 02:36 PM
even WD Caviar® Green™ dont have 640GB

only 640GB is the WD Caviar® Blue™

website no update ? =x

Are you THAT sure?

Im farking SURE. Yours is a new one that NOT many knows. Its a new one but performance i dun think can win the old AAKS since this is more on storage.

And please, search around and NOT many people reported this. :s8:

ragnarok95
07-09-2008, 02:39 PM
Ok searched....found it...

Its a Green but at 5400rpm. :D

As all greenpower series is running at 5400rpm to 7200rpm. :D

But people would prefer to say 5400rpm.

commach
07-09-2008, 02:41 PM
Are you THAT sure?

You bought this drive with the green power sticker on it?
AFAIK, green series doesn't end with AAKS or AACS, they end with CSRTL according to the website.
Or maybe they didn't update the products on the website due to summer holiday.

lemonn
07-09-2008, 02:45 PM
AFAIK, green series doesn't end with AAKS or AACS, they end with CSRTL according to the website.

Yup. Later I'll post the hdd.

ragnarok95
Its a AACS but belongs to Green series.

A bit confuse here. Its a 5400rpm.

sentimental_kills
nvr google properly anyhow shoot act pro. win

ragnarok95

Got go compare your scores bo?

HZYiLong
07-09-2008, 02:47 PM
nice nice..
so fast no stock?

coyote
07-09-2008, 02:47 PM
From your feedbacks, I thought I heard wrongly from the Bell's supervisors. But from the net, indeed there is such things as 6400AACS. Just don't know where it came from...

http://www.1deins.de/?artikelId=HD640GBWD055

http://www.idealo.de/preisvergleich/OffersOfProduct/1124148_-caviar-green-640gb-wd6400aacs-western-digital.html

commach
07-09-2008, 02:55 PM

Thanks pal,

Couldn't find this model end up getting 2 x 320 WD3200AAKS Blue series.:D

HZYiLong
07-09-2008, 02:59 PM
no new stock ar?

ragnarok95
07-09-2008, 02:59 PM
The AAKS still perform better than the AACS.

commach
07-09-2008, 03:02 PM
AAKS are for performance which doesn't togger the rpm whereby the AACS togger between 5400 and 7200 rpm.
Maybe the duration of spinning up and down could affect the overall performance.

I bought 1 green series 1 month ago which is much cooler as compare to the blue series, maybe thats the result of spinning at 5400 rpm sometime to reduce power and heat.

HZYiLong
07-09-2008, 03:02 PM
i wonder how WD hdd are sell..
so fast no stock..
esp the 640gb de..
i wan buy also no stock..

ragnarok95
07-09-2008, 03:04 PM
AAKS are for performance which doesn't togger the rpm whereby the AACS togger between 5400 and 7200 rpm.
Maybe the duration of spinning up and down could affect the overall performance.

I bought 1 green series 1 month ago which is much cooler as compare to the blue series, maybe thats the result of spinning at 5400 rpm sometime to reduce power and heat.

Thats the purpose. I owned a 1TB greenpower before. Veri silent and cool running. But as all greenpower series, they are more on storage rather than running applications. So far, zero reports that a green can reach 7200rpm. :(

commach
07-09-2008, 03:09 PM
Thats the purpose. I owned a 1TB greenpower before. Veri silent and cool running. But as all greenpower series, they are more on storage rather than running applications. So far, zero reports that a green can reach 7200rpm. :(

Thanks for the confirmation, that green series drive deployed as external storage/data transfer for a friend in a machine workshop so performance wise is not an issue but i do notice the drive is very much cooler as compare to my WD3200AAKS 7200 brethen.:D

lemonn
07-09-2008, 03:57 PM
Pics in my thread :D

http://deluxeforums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showthread.php?t=2084410

jtchoy
07-09-2008, 03:58 PM
Wah, so many version, confusing man... :s13:

Gforce8
07-09-2008, 04:05 PM
agree.. :s13:

HZYiLong
07-09-2008, 04:05 PM
so many version..
i sibei blur..

cty85
07-09-2008, 04:08 PM
wah then other things wont blur la hor :s22:

HZYiLong
07-09-2008, 04:11 PM
raptor not blur leh.. =x

jtchoy
07-09-2008, 04:44 PM
wah then other things wont blur la hor :s22:

raptor not blur leh.. =x
Actually raptor also a lot of version... Raptor, raptorX, velociraptor (got 2 versions)... :s13:

cty85
07-09-2008, 04:52 PM
Actually raptor also a lot of version... Raptor, raptorX, velociraptor (got 2 versions)... :s13:
this one not blur.. WD can blur.. your WC also la :eek:

OT liao :s13:

richneo
07-09-2008, 05:41 PM
my GP 1TB model number is WD10EACS-00ZJB0

reimina
07-09-2008, 05:44 PM
Wah.. like no need money. No stock?? :s13:

Francis85
07-09-2008, 06:16 PM
Feel like getting 2 1TB drive for main and spare rigs, even thought both not fully use up yet.......:s13:

lemonn
07-09-2008, 06:26 PM
Feel like getting 2 1TB drive for main and spare rigs, even thought both not fully use up yet.......:s13:

Prawn farm?

cpuer
07-09-2008, 06:40 PM

according to www.wdc.com, AACS=CSRTL and they are both GP. Just that one is baredrive p/n another is Retail p/n.

500GB has both versions:

http://www.wdc.com/en/products/products.asp?driveid=338

ronnie
08-09-2008, 07:34 AM
Are you THAT sure?

Hmm ... the temp seems pretty high. Thought GP should be cooler.

commach
08-09-2008, 12:46 PM

Thanks for the update and feedback.:)

Hugo
08-09-2008, 02:06 PM

you are anticipating the price will rise? :s13:

osmond19
08-09-2008, 02:36 PM
So is there any 640GB AAKS in SLS? Thinking of buying 2 and do a raid 0.

winguy
08-09-2008, 09:11 PM
Are you THAT sure?

hi,

have you tested what the access time is like with aam enabled?

thanks

coyote
16-09-2008, 09:17 PM
Stock got replenished. Bought mine from PCTheme for S$118 today.

Sen
16-09-2008, 09:33 PM
Samsung F1 640GB also S$118 at PCT. :D

xboxer
03-10-2008, 08:03 AM
Still have AAKS in 640GB? What about 500GB AAKS????

adrianlee
03-10-2008, 08:45 AM
Still have AAKS in 640GB? What about 500GB AAKS????
I think you should get WD Caviar® Blue™ 640 GB, 3 Gb/s, 16 MB Cache, 7200 RPM, best bang for the buck (AAKS)
I hope there is no more stock :D Cannot wait to get my hands on WD6401AALS, WD Caviar® Black™ 640 GB, 3 Gb/s, 32 MB Cache, 7200 RPM

xboxer
03-10-2008, 09:39 AM
I think you should get WD Caviar® Blue™ 640 GB, 3 Gb/s, 16 MB Cache, 7200 RPM, best bang for the buck (AAKS)
I hope there is no more stock :D Cannot wait to get my hands on WD6401AALS, WD Caviar® Black™ 640 GB, 3 Gb/s, 32 MB Cache, 7200 RPM

Ok, I get it. So the BLUE still got stock bo? I not SLS regular like you all leh.

Some more BLACK one when coming??? If it is ever coming loh. And it definitely will be a few bucks more than the other 2 WD models right, judging from the 1 TB price?

adrianlee
04-10-2008, 12:10 PM
FYI, PC Themes selling the WD 1TB Black edition for $205. I will take this over a Seagate ANYTIME!
http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showpost.php?p=32772798&postcount=37

No idea when is coming. May just hoot BLUE :D
So the BLUE still got stock bo? :D

TonyLee
04-10-2008, 02:05 PM
seriously 640GB is not worth it, so its good there is no stock of it. better yet if they dun waste time selling this 640GB and focus on selling 1TB at better price.

ppl will have to think why spend same time and trouble plugging in a good 360GB less drive when a 1TB is common.

winguy
04-10-2008, 05:39 PM
Hmm TonyLee's posts are ...

adrianlee
04-10-2008, 06:07 PM
seriously 640GB is not worth it, so its good there is no stock of it. better yet if they dun waste time selling this 640GB and focus on selling 1TB at better price.

ppl will have to think why spend same time and trouble plugging in a good 360GB less drive when a 1TB is common.
I need max 300GB :s13:
Thinking of WD VelociRaptor 300GB or Black 640GB. I definitely have no need of a 1GB HDD

xboxer
05-10-2008, 02:29 AM
BLUE 640 GB AAKS everywhere also got stock now. I think the 500 GB AAKS also because I got ask.

But how come no BLUE box? Mine come in a static bag and warranty card nia. And HDD is plain old silver type.

Is it meant to be like that??

coyote
07-12-2008, 09:50 PM
One of my 160G WD failed to power up. And I got another 6400AAKS from PCTheme for S$118. There is another 640G Black with 32MB cache for S$138, I did not buy.

If 'The law of diminishing returns' is anything to go by, from 2MB to 8Mb is significant jump. From 8Mb to 16Mb, the jump is less, but the performance boost is coming from the 2 platters as suggested in many forums. So, from 16Mb to 32Mb, with the same 2 platters, I guess the performance gain may not be significant to warrant the extra S$20.

What do you guys think?

suntzu
08-12-2008, 04:42 PM
Here's come the Seagate 1.5 Terabyte.

For your comparison.

http://i36.tinypic.com/28jli0o.jpg

Are you THAT sure?

xboxer
11-12-2008, 05:03 PM
Those who buy the AAKS aka Blue edition, does your one come with a box?

My AAKS only come in a static bag. And in no way did it say Blue edition.

Bought in Oct 2008.

persentio
11-12-2008, 07:14 PM
I think only Potterhouse HDDs come with a box.

My AAKS also did not say Blue... But from what Ive been reading the Blue is just AAKS renamed.

Axioaxio
24-12-2008, 09:48 AM
Yesterday went to SLS to get 640G 6400AAKS, then all shops said ran out of stocks.

Bell only has the Western Digital 640G Earth power, 6400AACS something.

Is that a good harddisk? Performance is worse than 6400AAKS right? If performance is what I am looking for, I should wait for the 6400AKS instead of getting the 6400AACS right?

Please advice.

Hi Pal,

try Fuwell or PC Themes.
They still have stock for the model you looking at. :s22:

apatheticme
24-12-2008, 02:27 PM
Those who buy the AAKS aka Blue edition, does your one come with a box?

My AAKS only come in a static bag. And in no way did it say Blue edition.

Bought in Oct 2008.

Since someone dug the thread already, I bought 2 640 'AAKS's in the last 3 or so months. One came with a box, one came with the "warranty card". The "warranty card" is just one side of the box. They help us cut it out so we don't have to do it ourselves or keep something more bulky. The full box did not mention anything about being blue also. If you need a picture, PM me or something I will post both the card as well as the box.

winguy
24-12-2008, 03:06 PM
since someone dug the thread and someone posted after it was dug, does sls still have WD6400AACS ? Thanks

coyote
24-12-2008, 05:11 PM
Since someone dug the thread, someone posted after it was dug, and some still ask...

AAKS still available from couple of shops, I bought it from PC Theme on Dec 8. AACS, not sure since it's not the model most people are more interested in.

since someone dug the thread and someone posted after it was dug, does sls still have WD6400AACS ? Thanks

winguy
25-12-2008, 12:34 AM
Since someone dug the thread, someone posted after it was dug, and some still ask...

AAKS still available from couple of shops, I bought it from PC Theme on Dec 8. AACS, not sure since it's not the model most people are more interested in.
Interesting, I had the impression that WD6400AACS sold out pretty quickly. I was too slow though.

FrEeBiEs
25-12-2008, 12:36 AM
I got a 640AAKS today from PC themes. Still available, though samsung F1 640Gb no where to be seen.

adrianlee
25-12-2008, 08:14 PM
Since someone dug the thread, someone posted after it was dug, someone bought the wrong one after it was dug. and someone is confused afer it was dug............:s13::s13::)

Black-WD6401AALS
Blue-WD6400AAKS
Green-WD6400AACS

JuveZzZ
25-12-2008, 08:59 PM
whats does the blue black green means ?

bradputt
25-12-2008, 09:10 PM
whats does the blue black green means ?

http://www.wdc.com/en/products/index.asp?cat=3&language=en

ans here