View Full Version : PwnageTool & QuickPwn for Firmware v2.1 is OUT!
ipwnj00
13-09-2008, 10:39 PM
http://xs1.iphwn.org/video_assets/p_icon_resize.png
Some of the popular press and blogs have been backing the opposition. :-)
While criticism and competition is fine it should be reported correctly with all the facts and certainly minus the FUD (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fear,_uncertainty_and_doubt). Do you guys think we are “less and less relevant with each passing day (http://www.engadget.com/2008/09/11/itunes-8-pwns-pwnagetool/)” ? We don’t think so, and we certainly prefer our hacks to theirs. (http://www.engadget.com/bloggers/thomas-ricker/);-)
By the way we figured out a way to combat iTunes 8 without patches…and we’re waiting to see what Apple tries next. But we think they might want to rethink their priorities.
These are the new versions of PwnageTool and QuickPwn that support the 2.1 firmware. And as we just mentioned, iTunes was not harmed in the process ;-) no patching was required.
PwnageTool 2.1 for Mac OS X via Bittorent - download here (http://torrents.thepiratebay.org/4393513/PwnageTool_2.1.4393513.TPB.torrent)
QuickPwn 1.1 for Mac OS X via Bittorrent - download here (http://torrents.thepiratebay.org/4393645/QuickPwn_1.1.dmg.4393645.TPB.torrent) SHA1 Sums:-
PwnageTool_2.1.dmg = 0b2dcb51e224b12590793e8a758dd80c450e5b64
QuickPwn_1.1.dmg = 92487230c66296ec1e414260b5f107e5d351923f We’ve released using BitTorrent to lighten the load of the initial downloads, then we’ll add a direct link and Sparkle update when we can. If you don’t know how to use BitTorrent, then hold off for a while.
This does not address the new iPod Touch 2G device released this week. Partly because none of us even have one yet :)
Mirror owners should email blog@iphone-dev.com with direct download links and they’ll be added below.
Kudos to iPhone Dev Team for the above!
Direct Downloads QuickPwn
* http://daten.gorgont.de/downloads/iphone/QuickPwn_1.1.dmg
* http://www.dayofdefeat.org/QuickPwn_1.1.dmg
* http://www.eltonno.eu/QuickPwn_1.1.dmg
* http://69.73.148.215/~evasive/downloads/QuickPwn_1.1.dmg
Direct Downloads PwnageTool
* http://www.talentgrouplabs.com/downloads/PwnageTool_2.1.dmg
* http://www.dayofdefeat.org/PwnageTool_2.1.dmg
* http://daten.gorgont.de/downloads/iphone/PwnageTool_2.1.dmg
* http://www.eltonno.eu/PwnageTool_2.1.dmg
* http://alekserviz.com/adamov/PwnageTool2.1Mac/PwnageTool_2.1.dmg
* http://modmyifone.com/files/PwnageTool_2.1.dmg
* http://rs402.rapidshare.com/files/144960584/PwnageTool_2.1.dmg
* http://69.73.148.215/~evasive/downloads/PwnageTool_2.1.dmg
============================================
Okay guys, my upload doesn't seem to work that well .. it's stuck @ 77% and no movement at all, apologies.. however i've found a link posted by someone in modmyifone. If you want to risk it... Here's the link to download
The below link is only for iPhone (2G) users. I am not responsible for any problems done to your device.
Custom Built Firmwares (http://willydavidk.kittsplace.com/MMi/)
EuroR_CL7's Custom built firmware with boot logo changed - For iPhone (2G) only (http://www.sendspace.com/file/5tkhy8)
============================================
Regards,
ipj
ipwnj00
13-09-2008, 10:40 PM
It's only for MAC OS for now.
OMG and I just updated to 2.1 to take a quick peep at 2.1. Now I have to JB my phone...AGAIN. omg. thanks!
falcon212
13-09-2008, 10:46 PM
if someone can upload 2.1 custom firmware in mediafire.com, THAT would be great ;D
yoshi_sx
13-09-2008, 10:46 PM
what is the difference between quickpwn 1.1 and quickpwn rc3?
ipwnj00
13-09-2008, 10:47 PM
if someone can upload 2.1 custom firmware in mediafire.com, THAT would be great ;D
soon brother :P soon.
ipwnj00
13-09-2008, 10:48 PM
what is the difference between quickpwn 1.1 and quickpwn rc3?
eh .. one is for mac, the other is for windows?
falcon212
13-09-2008, 10:50 PM
ahah yeah, i just cant wait !! :P
yoshi_sx
13-09-2008, 10:53 PM
lol yah hor, the quickpwn rc3 for windows.. :s13:
siron
13-09-2008, 11:01 PM
Hahaha the dev team is so fast!! Hehe kudos!!
ipwnj00
13-09-2008, 11:01 PM
Custom firmware built - approximately 224mb.
sugizo81
13-09-2008, 11:07 PM
Sweet.... thanks for this news!!
falcon212
13-09-2008, 11:08 PM
Custom firmware built - approximately 224mb.
OH PLEASE, PLEASE UPLOAD FOR ME, FOR US, FOR WINDOWS USERS ahaha
rapidshare.com would be great :D
:s12:
hy.565
13-09-2008, 11:13 PM
don't rs :P ! mediafire pls :D
Eightfold
13-09-2008, 11:15 PM
Hi guys.
Do we need to restore our iphone then update to 2.1 official; followed by jbing that 2.1
is that steps right?
http://rapidshare.com/files/144967166/PwnageTool_2.1.dmg
ipwnj00
13-09-2008, 11:30 PM
wah cannot upload on mediafire cause file too big unless got pro account... crap.. the rest is like WOLS.
TongWei83
13-09-2008, 11:33 PM
Great News, still waiting for windows version for my 2G Iphone.
mambo31
13-09-2008, 11:36 PM
anyone tried it yet?
Wasted la....I just updated to 2.0.2 via pwnage on my 2G iphone today....haha
celestial517
13-09-2008, 11:43 PM
try this server instead!
http://www.filesavr.com/
bennyboey
13-09-2008, 11:46 PM
please try to uplad...thanx
ipwnj00
13-09-2008, 11:47 PM
uploading but friggin slow, i'm sure other people are uploading now as well. Tomorrow you'll see custom firmwares available for download already.
rnogwai
13-09-2008, 11:47 PM
http://sleepers.net/news/2008/09/13/please-holdoff-on-21/
ipwnj00
13-09-2008, 11:49 PM
http://sleepers.net/news/2008/09/13/please-holdoff-on-21/
This news was BEFORE iPhone Dev Team released pwnagetool and quickpwn.
sugizo81
13-09-2008, 11:51 PM
any news on when Windows version is out? usually is it after one day or? me no mac machine to run this... :(
bennyboey
13-09-2008, 11:51 PM
yup slightly old news...
ipwnj00
13-09-2008, 11:52 PM
any news on when Windows version is out? usually is it after one day or? me no mac machine to run this... :(
That's why everyone is waiting for someone to upload the custom firmware for v2.1 :P
AnTiLooP
13-09-2008, 11:56 PM
so the biggest question is, when will it be availble for Windows ?
sugizo81
13-09-2008, 11:57 PM
That's why everyone is waiting for someone to upload the custom firmware for v2.1 :P
i see now.. thanks. ;)
ipwnj00
14-09-2008, 12:13 AM
http://i34.tinypic.com/2z4wegj.png
/me snores.
sugizo81
14-09-2008, 12:26 AM
hey your upload speed is fast... mind sharing what ISP you are using.... sorry...OT
ipwnj00
14-09-2008, 12:29 AM
hey your upload speed is fast... mind sharing what ISP you are using.... sorry...OT
I'm sure other people have faster upload rates than i do, using singnet 10mbps. wahaha... ok now 25%
RadeonAMD
14-09-2008, 12:34 AM
cool ....... faster faster :p thanks alot dude
DontKnowWhatToSay
14-09-2008, 12:40 AM
I'm sure other people have faster upload rates than i do, using singnet 10mbps. wahaha... ok now 25%
i am done downloading already
will try on my 2G iphone first.
then my 3Gs.
wish me luck
ipwnj00
14-09-2008, 12:42 AM
i am done downloading already
will try on my 2G iphone first.
then my 3Gs.
wish me luck
Where's the link? Those are official Apple Firmwares and not the Custom Made ones.
sugizo81
14-09-2008, 12:44 AM
ok, noted with thanks.... no wonder.. my starhub upload is crawling always. hahaha
ipwnj00
14-09-2008, 12:45 AM
http://i36.tinypic.com/r258o6.png
soon... soon.
ipwnj00
14-09-2008, 12:51 AM
Post #1 updated with mirror'ed sites.
http://i33.tinypic.com/zxmpma.png
DontKnowWhatToSay
14-09-2008, 12:54 AM
Where's the link? Those are official Apple Firmwares and not the Custom Made ones.
yup made a mistake on that one
sublife
14-09-2008, 01:00 AM
i just pwned my phone using my macbook pro and restored using a backup on my windows itunes. now running 2.1 pwned! syncing my apps and songs in now.. awesome.
edit : everything seems to be going along swell. now all i need to do is get back all my cydia apps and downloads.
ipwnj00
14-09-2008, 01:02 AM
i just pwned my phone using my macbook pro and restored using a backup on my windows itunes. now running 2.1 pwned! syncing my apps and songs in now.. awesome.
That's nice to hear!
http://i37.tinypic.com/2n1s76c.png
Wah stuck @ 77% ... frustrating and it's not moving.. omg.
bug3156
14-09-2008, 01:06 AM
A question....did anyone do a successful restore with custom firmware on itunes 8.0?
Thinking of using Pwnage Tool...anyone?
doomgaze86
14-09-2008, 01:12 AM
http://www.twiphone.com/2008/08/28/how-to-re-install-all-your-cydia-packages-in-one-run-after-an-upgrade-or-restore/#more-78
Before you restore your phone you might want to try this... It'll probably save you the hassle of reinstalling your Cydia apps one by one.
DontKnowWhatToSay
14-09-2008, 01:13 AM
edit : everything seems to be going along swell. now all i need to do is get back all my cydia apps and downloads.
you should have used aptbackup by bigboss.
can I check if you have issues with your email?
my emails are all screwed.
ipwnj00
14-09-2008, 01:21 AM
Okay guys, my upload doesn't seem to work that well .. it's stuck @ 77% and no movement at all, apologies.. however i've found a link posted by someone in modmyifone. If you want to risk it... Here's the link to download
The below link is only for iPhone (2G) users. I am not responsible for any problems done to your device.
iPhone1,1_2.1_5F136_Custom_Restore.ipsw (http://www.sendspace.com/file/smwjcx)
iPhone1,1_2.1_5F136_Custom_Restore.ipsw (http://sendspace.com/file/kx6yrv)
3G iPhone http://appldnld.apple.com.edgesuite.net/content.info.apple.com/iPhone/061-5198.20080909.K3294/iPhone1,2_2.1_5F136_Restore.ipsw
2G iPhone http://appldnld.apple.com.edgesuite.net/content.info.apple.com/iPhone/061-5202.20080909.gkbEj/iPhone1,1_2.1_5F136_Restore.ipsw
Super quick to download the firmware :P
Me downloading first waiting for window quickpwn :)
musashi
14-09-2008, 01:57 AM
I have a problem, guys. After I use PwnageTool to pwn my iPhone 3G, I cannot get any reception at all for Starhub. When I restore back to the official 2.1 firmwre, I get full 5 bars. It doesn't happen at all when i use QuickPwn instead. Anybody encounter this before?
falcon212
14-09-2008, 02:31 AM
iPhone1,1_2.1_5F136_Custom_Restore.ipsw (http://www.sendspace.com/file/smwjcx)
iPhone1,1_2.1_5F136_Custom_Restore.ipsw (http://sendspace.com/file/kx6yrv)do you mind providing us the link where you find this, so i could see the comment on that forum whether the custom firmware is works or not. Thanks :D
SILLYTHING
14-09-2008, 02:32 AM
^
http://www.modmyifone.com/forums/news/341041-pwnagetool-quickpwn-2-1-released-itunes-8-compatible-12.html
ipwnj00
14-09-2008, 02:32 AM
do you mind providing us the link where you find this, so i could see the comment on that forum whether the custom firmware is works or not. Thanks :D
Great that you asked bro, Click HERE (http://www.modmyifone.com/forums/news/341041-pwnagetool-quickpwn-2-1-released-itunes-8-compatible.html)
SILLYTHING
14-09-2008, 02:37 AM
umm, ive download the one Grip uploaded. do i have to go into DFU mode?
falcon212
14-09-2008, 02:39 AM
well looks like few app wont work on 2.1, including Cycorder and Snapture ... sigh... so i better wait then
ipwnj00
14-09-2008, 02:40 AM
well looks like few app wont work on 2.1, including Cycorder and Snapture ... sigh... so i better wait then
yes bro ... heee, if you're an app lover then probably have a wait a while more.
Archaon
14-09-2008, 02:48 AM
Cycorder is working on 2.1
thescientist
14-09-2008, 02:48 AM
anyone got the "ahem" itunes store apps to work?
EuroR_CL7
14-09-2008, 02:54 AM
what a great news.... they are getting faster n faster at this...
sugizo81
14-09-2008, 02:58 AM
anyone know where to get custom firmware for 2.1 3G? I can't seems to find one, except for a BT one which is very slow...
Eightfold
14-09-2008, 02:59 AM
Now re-syncing back my phone. Any apps that doesnt work on 2.1 *yet* ?
ipwnj00
14-09-2008, 03:00 AM
anyone got the "ahem" itunes store apps to work?
We're not supposed to discuss this here. You might want to explore around more with "MobileInstallation". That's all i can say :P
doomgaze86
14-09-2008, 03:25 AM
anyone know where to get custom firmware for 2.1 3G? I can't seems to find one, except for a BT one which is very slow...
Try:
http://www.jazzbansal.com/iPhone/downloads/iPhone/
I think you should only use this firmware if you have pwned your phone previously, and if your phone is already activated (according to his posts in this thread http://www.modmyifone.com/forums/news/341041-pwnagetool-quickpwn-2-1-released-itunes-8-compatible-13.html#post2172031).
sugizo81
14-09-2008, 03:31 AM
Try:
I think you should only use this firmware if you have pwned your phone previously, and if your phone is already activated (according to his posts in this thread http://www.modmyifone.com/forums/news/341041-pwnagetool-quickpwn-2-1-released-itunes-8-compatible-13.html#post2172031).
thanks bro... appreciated your quick response. :deg: I had pwned my 2.0.2 previously, so shouldn't be a problem. Anyway have you try this yourself or you prefer waiting for winpwn?
EuroR_CL7
14-09-2008, 03:37 AM
arugh.... i got stuck with error 1600,
EuroR_CL7
14-09-2008, 03:43 AM
but the fone is stuck in apple logo with spinning circle with 2 buzz every min... :P
ipwnj00
14-09-2008, 03:44 AM
but the fone is stuck in apple logo with spinning circle with 2 buzz every min... :P
Try recovery instead of DFU.
EuroR_CL7
14-09-2008, 04:02 AM
update... im am able to restore to the new 2.1 orginal fw, but unable to restore to a custom fw...
itunes is ver 8. so im stuck with a locked set... again lol
EuroR_CL7
14-09-2008, 04:54 AM
another update.
What i actually did on my 2g.
update itunes 8, dl 2.1, used pwnage to create custom fw.
unlocked,jb n prawn 2.0.2 (foolishly updated to 2.1, recieved set in apple logo, vibrate twice each time...)
went to DFU, Recovery, tried to restore to custom fw, Error 1600, 1604, 6,
unable to flash custom fw each time.
restored to 2.1, got it locked but at least it works,
used quickpwn... follow instructions... PHEW.... ok time for bed!
sugizo81
14-09-2008, 05:23 AM
Feekback : okay confirm custom FW 2.1 works for me (using Windows) so no problem to that.
Don have to wait for Winpwned...yeah!
hyperous
14-09-2008, 07:15 AM
very fast work!
doomgaze86
14-09-2008, 08:05 AM
Feekback : okay confirm custom FW 2.1 works for me (using Windows) so no problem to that.
Don have to wait for Winpwned...yeah!
Thanks for testing it out.. Did the custom firmware have any custom bootscreens?
geeli80
14-09-2008, 08:11 AM
do we need itune8 if using the custom restore?
tin_dg
14-09-2008, 10:45 AM
bros,
sorry a bit lost here? does anyone have a custom fw 2.1 for windows? Custom fw means no need to qwickpwn or winpwn right? just do a shift restore in dfu mode? please help. thanks
tribal10
14-09-2008, 10:58 AM
did try it on my mac book and it really S**K up big time.....always prompt for error...think guys might wanna hang on for afew more days for a more stable one.
koosh17
14-09-2008, 11:08 AM
I better wait till an "official" guide on how to upgrade to 2.1 and prawn it. As a newbie i dont wanna screw up my poor "precious".
tribal10
14-09-2008, 11:51 AM
yes...totally agree.......now i need to travel back in time to download the 2.0.2 and JB again.
AnTiLooP
14-09-2008, 12:12 PM
I think it's best to have all these things stablised before performing a JB. Its too manual at this time still.
aptget
14-09-2008, 12:16 PM
damn.. i just JB to 2.0.2 with qucikpwn...
if I were to upgrade to 2.1 , those this mean all the apps I installed through Appstore is GONE???
AnTiLooP
14-09-2008, 12:17 PM
Those in Appstore would be still there as those are backed up on your PC..... The only stuff you lose will be those downloaded via Cydia or Installer.
tin_dg
14-09-2008, 01:03 PM
tried restoring my customed FW for 2.1, have itunes 8, but didnt update my jailbroken 2.02 2g phone to 2.1. error 1600 comes up. do i need to update it to 2.1 before restoring it to the custom 2.1FW?
hy.565
14-09-2008, 01:24 PM
Restoring a custom ipsw file didn't work for me while my iPod was in DFU mode. (error 1600)
Kicked it out of DFU and put it into recovery mode, and the custom ipsw restore went smooothly.
Your iPhone has to be pwned beforehand though.
tin_dg
14-09-2008, 01:24 PM
ok just to share my progress nd technique for 2g phones. restore your custom 2.1 firmware in itunes 8 without putting it in dfu mode. go straight to shift restore and select ur custom fw. now restoring to my previous backup.
ipwnj00
14-09-2008, 01:28 PM
That's right, the dfu exploit doesn't work anymore.
juliuseah
14-09-2008, 01:31 PM
successfully updated to fw2.1 & use quickpwn1.1 to jb from 2.0.2 for my 1st gen iPhone
this is what i did to restore all my jb 3rd app.
dl Aptbackup from cydia then do a backup in aptbackup, sync with itune for all jb 3rd party apps
after upgrade fw2.1 & jb sync with itune again & install aptbackup from cydia again and restore all jb 3rd parth apps
Cheers!
TongWei83
14-09-2008, 01:33 PM
I am still having a hard time downloading the custom firmware.... :)
SILLYTHING
14-09-2008, 01:39 PM
Sweeet! i use grip's fw without any problem.
I was on 2.0.1 and all i did was
Install Itunes 8
Shift+Restore
Select Cfw
and thats it! i see both Cydia and Installer on my screen and everything else works fine!
ipwnj00
14-09-2008, 01:41 PM
That's good to hear sillything. Thanks for the field report.
sugizo81
14-09-2008, 03:14 PM
Thanks for testing it out.. Did the custom firmware have any custom bootscreens?
nope, the creater for this custom FW use the default Apple logo.
AnTiLooP
14-09-2008, 04:39 PM
Install Itunes 8
Shift+Restore
Select Cfw
and thats it! i see both Cydia and Installer on my screen and everything else works fine!
When you said shift restore, you mean literally holding down the Shift key and click restore ?
AnTiLooP
14-09-2008, 04:40 PM
When you said shift restore, you mean literally holding down the Shift key and click restore ?
ignore my previous post.. haha.. its literally shift restore.
shawn_sboi
14-09-2008, 04:52 PM
any1 can get this to work?
http://sleepers.net/news/2008/09/12/21-3g-only-jailbreak/
toshiaki
14-09-2008, 05:13 PM
Do not install Bitesms on new jb 2.1... Cause App store apps to crash. If installed, remove it.
If JB Software problems, remove and reinstall..
musashi
14-09-2008, 05:21 PM
I pwned my iPhone 3G using PwnageTool for fw2.1 and everything was working well until i tried to launch some of the 3rd party apps I downloaded from appstore and failed to launch. I ried all the apps that I have and none of them were able to launch. Anybody else also encountered this?
musashi
14-09-2008, 05:26 PM
Do not install Bitesms on new jb 2.1... Cause App store apps to crash. If installed, remove it.
Thanks! You have just the solution i need. Now all my appstore apps are working fine.
SILLYTHING
14-09-2008, 05:28 PM
my friend's 3G set is already unlocked when he brought it (2.01), will it lock back if i try to jb to 2.1 for him?
TongWei83
14-09-2008, 05:38 PM
Finally after so many hrs of try, I got it to 2.1.
sugizo81
14-09-2008, 05:39 PM
Works like magic! Kudos to you... how you managed to find out? I was also looking for a solution :s13:
weijie
14-09-2008, 05:51 PM
For the iPhone 3G running on 2.0.2, do i need to restore it to 2.1 or I can just directly use QuickPwn and pointed the apple ipsw file and start doing the steps.
shawn_sboi
14-09-2008, 05:54 PM
you ned to upgrade it to 2.1 and then jailbreak it using quickpwn.
shawn_sboi
14-09-2008, 05:55 PM
successfully jailbreak my iphone 3g. windows!! used the method by www.quickpwn.com
weijie
14-09-2008, 06:02 PM
okay, this steps jailbreak allow you to install apps from cydia and the installer right? how about if i want to install IPA files.. is it still have to apply MobileInstallation again like V2.0.2
shawn_sboi
14-09-2008, 06:18 PM
yes still need to apply mobileinstallation file again.
bug3156
14-09-2008, 06:44 PM
I have been trying to jb my phone with Pwnage Tool but to no avail...3G iphone running original 2.1 firmware...keep getting error msgs 6,1600 and 2001...any ideas why guys?
Should I use quickpwn instead?I read somewhere that quickpwn does something to the baseband and that is not so good for a legit unlocked iphone..
How leh?
falcon212
14-09-2008, 06:50 PM
Oh yea, finally on 2.1 :) waiting for winterborad fix for large icon being cutted
koosh17
14-09-2008, 07:06 PM
no bitesms? Then I will wait then. No need to chiong for 2.1 so fast
sugizo81
14-09-2008, 07:33 PM
Windows Users: (Only for Advance Users)
This is not a Permanent fix, however for some of you who cant live without biteSMS including me. This will fix it temporarily.
WinSCP into your phone
BACKUP Your com.apple.springboard.plist THIS TWEAK REQUIRES MODIFICATION.
1) Go to /System/Library/LaunchDaemons/com.apple.SpringBoard.plist
2) Copy the com.apple.springboard.plist on your desktop.
3) Go to website hxxp://140.124.181.188/~khchung/cgi-bin/plutil.cgi
and click on browse and location com.apple.springboard.plist
4) It will convert ascii to txt and will prompt you to download the file.
5) Open the file and remove /var/mobile/Library/biteSMS/biteSMSsb.dylib: from <key>DYLD_INSERT_LIBRARIES</key>s <string>.
6) Save it and put it in your iPhone
7) Reboot
You should be set!
Tutorial by: nYc eLiTemAsTeR
Credit: Kimcha
I tried this method but its not working.... My apple screen just stuck on bootload! Please don't try if you don't have the confident! :o
ipwnj00
14-09-2008, 07:40 PM
I have been trying to jb my phone with Pwnage Tool but to no avail...3G iphone running original 2.1 firmware...keep getting error msgs 6,1600 and 2001...any ideas why guys?
Should I use quickpwn instead?I read somewhere that quickpwn does something to the baseband and that is not so good for a legit unlocked iphone..
How leh?
using quickpwn to JB will be easier bro. quickpwn doesn't do anything to the baseband pls... the baseband has been the SAME since 2.0 beta 6. What i just said is for the iPhone (2G)
Cheers,
ipj
bug3156
14-09-2008, 08:49 PM
using quickpwn to JB will be easier bro. quickpwn doesn't do anything to the baseband pls... the baseband has been the SAME since 2.0 beta 6. What i just said is for the iPhone (2G)
Cheers,
ipj
Thanks dude...anyway I solved my problem already!Just a simple simple solution...i switched USB ports from the right port on my MBP to the one on the left and VIOLA!
ipwnj00
14-09-2008, 08:53 PM
Thanks dude...anyway I solved my problem already!Just a simple simple solution...i switched USB ports from the right port on my MBP to the one on the left and VIOLA!
Good to hear that bro! Cheers! :s12::s12::s12:
daoism
14-09-2008, 10:29 PM
windows GUI version where r u
Kristy_Tan
14-09-2008, 11:11 PM
eheDOO9WyuY&feature=related
sean8288
14-09-2008, 11:19 PM
EZ la...use the custom firmware...
use itune 8 do a Shift restore...
done...
cydia n installer there, replace latest patch mobileinstallation.... case close.
weijie
14-09-2008, 11:25 PM
the quickpwn do not have 2.1 option. Only 2.0.2.. http://www.quickpwn.com/ for windows
Phone stuck on apple logo :(
lerkaile
15-09-2008, 12:57 AM
I'm still having issues installing a custom 2.1 FW on my iPhone which I previously messed up.
I think that the release of pwnage would be good news but it hasn't been so far. I'm still getting error 6 everytime I work with custom fw.
Kristy_Tan
15-09-2008, 01:01 AM
i shall wait some more before doing JB for 2.1 :s34:
ipwnj00
15-09-2008, 01:02 AM
i shall wait some more before doing JB for 2.1 :s34:
JB for v2.1 definitely has no issues .. done 5 sets so far. all no problems.
Install Itunes 8
Shift+Restore
Select Cfw
ditto.... worked for me.:D:D
toshiaki
15-09-2008, 01:44 AM
Works like magic! Kudos to you... how you managed to find out? I was also looking for a solution :s13:
Everything runs before the install then crashes after, uninstall it everything works... Then tried again same results! :s27:
_Vegas_
15-09-2008, 01:49 AM
3G iPhone http://appldnld.apple.com.edgesuite.net/content.info.apple.com/iPhone/061-5198.20080909.K3294/iPhone1,2_2.1_5F136_Restore.ipsw
2G iPhone http://appldnld.apple.com.edgesuite.net/content.info.apple.com/iPhone/061-5202.20080909.gkbEj/iPhone1,1_2.1_5F136_Restore.ipsw
Super quick to download the firmware :P
Me downloading first waiting for window quickpwn :)
Just to check:
Is this the custom F/W? or Apple F/W?
alvink83
15-09-2008, 01:52 AM
Hi, this is how I pwned my phone to version 2.1 using QuickPwn. Hope it helps you guys. http://iphone83.blogspot.com/
GamerZ
15-09-2008, 01:54 AM
Just to check:
Is this the custom F/W? or Apple F/W?
Apple F/W 1234
doomgaze86
15-09-2008, 01:59 AM
Weird I'm getting all kinds of errors (e.g. Unknown HTTP Error - 2096) when I try to download Cydia apps through my 3G connection. I'm still able to surf using safari and download my email. My home wifi works fine.
lerkaile
15-09-2008, 02:37 AM
Hi, this is how I pwned my phone to version 2.1 using QuickPwn. Hope it helps you guys. http://iphone83.blogspot.com/
I followed your instructions and was successful until my iPhone (2G) booted up. Got lucky on my second attempt to go into DFU mode.
But now it has that spinning thing indicating it was working and then it just hung there, while at the same time iTunes was restoring my back up and installing apps. Oh and it's got the double vibrate syndrome.
This has happened to me before on Sat morning right after I upgraded to 2.1 and there seems to be no way out.
what should i do next?
LohWeeChuan
15-09-2008, 03:04 AM
Anyway guys, is it possible for us to forward sms, do video recording, do mms and stuffs? I really miss those functions man... Other than forwarding smses, what other functions are included for the pwnageTool?
ArEaShadow
15-09-2008, 04:12 AM
Anyway guys, is it possible for us to forward sms, do video recording, do mms and stuffs? I really miss those functions man... Other than forwarding smses, what other functions are included for the pwnageTool?
the pwnageTool u're talking about doesn't give u all the functions.
the pwnageTool is to Jailbreak(JB) ur phone to allow 3rd party apps.
the forwarding of sms, video recording, mms and other stuff are all done through installing the applications.
Pank85
15-09-2008, 09:07 AM
hey guys. i do a restore on my 3g and update to version 2.1 itune now is 8. how do i jailbreak it ? Do i shift+restore and select 3g cfw ? or do i use the hard method posted earlier ?
geeli80
15-09-2008, 09:08 AM
Weird I'm getting all kinds of errors (e.g. Unknown HTTP Error - 2096) when I try to download Cydia apps through my 3G connection. I'm still able to surf using safari and download my email. My home wifi works fine.
me too me too
i thought i was the only unlucky one and thinking of restoring again
the last updates i did was those pop outs updates
looks like there is some issue with the latest update from cydia
weijie
15-09-2008, 10:36 AM
hi, i click on update on the iTunes 8.0 and it upgrade my iPhone 3G to 2.1 . All my contacts and information is still inside. I have previous JB it during the 2.0.2 version. Do I required to QuickPwn again.
I tried the quickpwn and download it, and pointed the Apple firmware to iPhone 2,1..... and click on the next arrow, it got stuck there...
I went inside the quickpwn folder "C:\QuickPwnRC3.Morphey.Version\Data\PwnmetheusBundles" I did not see any iPhone1,2_2.1 one, the last is iPhone1,2_2.0_5A347.
anyone got tried in the quickpwn
haha08
15-09-2008, 10:57 AM
how do i upgrade my ziphoned 1.1.4 2g iphone to 2.1 using pwnagetool?
andrew_tan88
15-09-2008, 12:10 PM
Backup your iphone.
Create a custom firmware using pwnage tool (2.1 custom)
Restore your iphone using this custom firmware.
Done!
LohWeeChuan
15-09-2008, 12:57 PM
the pwnageTool u're talking about doesn't give u all the functions.
the pwnageTool is to Jailbreak(JB) ur phone to allow 3rd party apps.
the forwarding of sms, video recording, mms and other stuff are all done through installing the applications.
So, pwnageTool is to Jailbreak, then where do i download those applications? My iphone is so clean now.... still in the jail (didnt jailbreak), having no accessories (normal applications).
andrew_tan88
15-09-2008, 01:45 PM
After jailbreaking, you will have Installer/Cydia icons. Use those to download applications.
Kristy_Tan
15-09-2008, 02:04 PM
try 3 times liao still cannot :(
weijie
15-09-2008, 02:10 PM
I reloading the QuickPwn ( i believe they had upload a new file which yesterday is a wrong one) again and managed to follow the steps. I found the screen, off the phone, than I did the press the Power, than power and home, than home but then, it never say I pwn successfully. It went back to the pwn screen.
weijie
15-09-2008, 02:20 PM
the screen got dim white... and I dunno what is it doing.. but the new hardware, iBoot Apple Recovery.. i saw a pineapple logo.
it reboot but than how come i am still in the Ready to Pwn screen.. what to click because only GO to click
The phone is ON but than the Ready to Pwn screen still there, waiting for me to click GO again. What should i click.. click GO again .. i click twice and it keep asking me to power off, press Power, press home and power.. and so on
stanleyj
15-09-2008, 02:31 PM
actually.....it is always advised not to be too enthusiastice about the upgrades especially if the present firmwares are giving you the desired results without problems.
though 2.1 has many claims, it is reported that it has caused worser issues....so hang on a while and read often about the firmwares before you do anything.
EuroR_CL7
15-09-2008, 02:34 PM
the easiest way is to download a custom firmware on 2.1 then click shift restore on itunes...
weijie
15-09-2008, 02:41 PM
but alot of custom firmware got problems.. i heard horror stories after restore
weijie
15-09-2008, 02:59 PM
I delete this, my cydia icon appear
/private/var/mobile/Library/Caches/com.apple.mobile.installation.plist
hpv500
15-09-2008, 03:05 PM
I delete this, my cydia icon appear
/private/var/mobile/Library/Caches/com.apple.mobile.installation.plist
yup...muz del this if u follow the manual guide....i remove it and cydia appear... :D
_Vegas_
15-09-2008, 03:59 PM
Try:
Use this... no probs... thank u.... :s12::s12::s12:
For 3G iphone only
I had a jb 2.02 3G iphone, encounter no prob... dare not try bitesms yet though
Just Me
15-09-2008, 04:35 PM
any1 can get this to work?
Will this unlock the phone as well for 2g users?
tripindustriz
15-09-2008, 05:12 PM
actually.....it is always advised not to be too enthusiastice about the upgrades especially if the present firmwares are giving you the desired results without problems.
though 2.1 has many claims, it is reported that it has caused worser issues....so hang on a while and read often about the firmwares before you do anything.
my sentiments exactly
TongWei83
15-09-2008, 05:15 PM
Will this unlock the phone as well for 2g users?
Nope, that is only to jailbreak the phone but not unlocking the phone. Just download the custom ispw and do a restore it is unlocked and activated.
Vipermac
15-09-2008, 07:12 PM
Just checking, on iPhone 2G, if you pwn it, will you get locked out from the Telco? Will it affect? Since Pwntool 2.1 is not able to lock or unlock phones.
I also heard that WinterBoard is not compatible as well. Is that true? Can someone confirm that?
jeffwong86
15-09-2008, 08:16 PM
This links that is posted work.. I just shift restore my 3g Iphone and inside had cydia and installer. But it lack of one component which is the MobileInstallation, which I refer back to here to do the patching
Just follow step 11-14 for that mobileinstallation patch :P
EuroR_CL7
15-09-2008, 08:25 PM
anyone keen on my custom firmware?
i wont mind posting it.
tripindustriz
15-09-2008, 08:48 PM
Just checking, on iPhone 2G, if you pwn it, will you get locked out from the Telco? Will it affect? Since Pwntool 2.1 is not able to lock or unlock phones.
I also heard that WinterBoard is not compatible as well. Is that true? Can someone confirm that?
wont get locked out.
dont worry
Winterboard works like a charm too
EuroR_CL7
15-09-2008, 09:12 PM
winterboard has been updated. appreantly still have some bugs...
tripindustriz
15-09-2008, 09:21 PM
winterboard has been updated. appreantly still have some bugs...
what else is new?
RadeonAMD
15-09-2008, 09:27 PM
can someone post a working 2G iPhone custom ispw (firmware version : 2.1) link ? i just do a shift restore and its stuck at the pineapple logo with a spinning wheel. Where can i find a working custom ispw with default boot logo (not pineapple, i still prefer apple)?
tripindustriz
15-09-2008, 09:38 PM
can someone post a working 2G iPhone custom ispw (firmware version : 2.1) link ? i just do a shift restore and its stuck at the pineapple logo with a spinning wheel. Where can i find a working custom ispw with default boot logo (not pineapple, i still prefer apple)?
ask EUROL
he can
ipwnj00
15-09-2008, 09:41 PM
Sorry guys, i know the sendspace links for the customed built firmwares are dead because too many users have been using it to download. If any of you have any alternate links to customed built firmwares, do let me know! I will update post #1 accordingly. For now, i do have one
Click HERE (http://willydavidk.kittsplace.com/MMi/)
Regards,
ipj
EuroR_CL7
15-09-2008, 09:42 PM
wait lor my upload speed bery slow... mine has no pineapple... but some other logo..
http://c.imagehost.org/0753/bootimagerg0.png
ipwnj00
15-09-2008, 09:43 PM
wait lor my upload speed bery slow... mine has no pineapple... but some other logo..
http://c.imagehost.org/0753/bootimagerg0.png
somehow it looks like an illustration of a "sperm" no offence though bro but it's still nice!
EuroR_CL7
15-09-2008, 09:50 PM
lol.... got it frm hackintosh forum... :P how many here are spermies except kristy?
RadeonAMD
15-09-2008, 09:54 PM
Sorry guys, i know the sendspace links for the customed built firmwares are dead because too many users have been using it to download. If any of you have any alternate links to customed built firmwares, do let me know! I will update post #1 accordingly. For now, i do have one
Regards,
ipj
which link do i download if i am using 2G iphone previously 2.0.2 firmware quickpwned b4 ? activated or non activated ?
PS: my phone is dead now stuck in endless loop and i am still finding a working custom ispw
ipwnj00
15-09-2008, 10:02 PM
which link do i download if i am using 2G iphone previously 2.0.2 firmware quickpwned b4 ? activated or non activated ?
PS: my phone is dead now stuck in endless loop and i am still finding a working custom ispw
Mouseover and look carefully at the title of the custom ipsw, download the profile that you need for your device.
koosh17
16-09-2008, 12:43 AM
FYI, i am a newbie to this JB and iphone thingy....had a major scare, but managed to get it working after dome thought. So for those that had this problem, this might be the solution for you too.
Need : itunes 7.7
Tried to update my iphone from 2.02 JBed to 2.1 this afternoon, got it ibricked for like 30+mins. It could not update through the normal method, when i click on update....keep getting error 9006. So, i tried shift restore method to the restore IPSW, halfway through this it gives an error and "POOF", my iphone got stuck in restore mode. Panic starts........
It was stuck in recovery mode like forever......tried goggling for a solution, all says to try power button with home button, to try to get it to DFU mode so that itunes would recongnize it as a new iphone or something so i can restore. But it did not work, as soon as i plugged it in itunes8, it just gets back to recovery mode over and over again.
Solution? After sweating for 30+mins or so trying.......thinking i really SCREWED this up when everyone is getting theirs updated and JBed relatively easy. I thought of an idea, i installed itunes 7.7 on another computer......then try the DFU method again. VIOLA! it worked, with itunes8 it failed like 10 times, so then i proceeded to just shift restore again this time, pointing to the custom IPSW(i thought since i already ibricked it once, might as well save trouble, restore the custom IPSW and save some time.)
It did work!! Thank God.......restored to 2.1, which updated the FW and got Cydia, Installer also from this process...but you will get an error telling you your phone needs itunes8, as it in emergency mode. So pluck it out and then pluck itback to the comp with the itunes8, iphone got detected in itunes8....everything ok.
Much easier way........i had to reinstall most of the Cydia apps, thats all. :D
ipwnj00
16-09-2008, 12:51 AM
Thanks for the field report koosh17, will definitely help a lot of people if they encounter similiar problems.
lerkaile
16-09-2008, 01:12 AM
Thanks for the field report koosh17, will definitely help a lot of people if they encounter similiar problems.
Your firmware worked dude!
I also realized my most recent backup was screwed up so I had to restore my iPhone to early September. sianz. but still it feels good to have my phone back :s13:
thanks for your advice and firmware!
ipwnj00
16-09-2008, 01:15 AM
Your firmware worked dude!
I also realized my most recent backup was screwed up so I had to restore my iPhone to early September. sianz. but still it feels good to have my phone back :s13:
thanks for your advice and firmware!
Glad that your phone is back in working condition. Cheers to you!
shinjiono84
16-09-2008, 03:09 AM
so is quickpwn for windows out already.. or only pwnagetool?
and is there any way to have back all the PRAWNED apps still there after upgrading
SILLYTHING
16-09-2008, 03:24 AM
****, i couldnt get my monkey ball to work anymore. it kept crashing after 'Tap to start'.. my other apps are all working fine.
tried reinstalling via ssh, it still the same..
tried reinstalling via itunes, it says i already had it install, when i've deleted it..
Kristy_Tan
16-09-2008, 07:54 AM
still no success in JB after 5 attempts. Am I a failure? :sad:
Vipermac
16-09-2008, 08:01 AM
Managed to Pwn my iPhone from Pwned 2.0.1 staright to 2.1. Had to do a couple of times. The first time, after installing Winterboard, Intelliscreen and Hacked the Mobile Installation, the phone was not able to restart and return to the desktop and it vibrated every 15 seconds. It was on the Apple Logo screen forever. I tried to reboot and still failed. I had to restore using my custom firmware and do again. I finally got it working after hacking MobileInstallation, Installed Winterboard and Intelliscreen. I guess when you want to Pwn a Pwned phone, it is best to restore bck to factory setting before Pwning.
Last night, a new version of Winterboard was out. It is now complete... all major appz are now updated for FW2.1. Now running it pretty smoothly.
tribal10
16-09-2008, 09:17 AM
can i confirm that i will need to restore back to the original sw from itunes and upgrade to 2.1.Then i JB it?Then after jb,i can installed back al the 3rd party application and games?
koosh17
16-09-2008, 09:25 AM
can i confirm that i will need to restore back to the original sw from itunes and upgrade to 2.1.Then i JB it?Then after jb,i can installed back al the 3rd party application and games?
Bro, no need to restore back to original before JB.
Firstly, must update your current FW to 2.1. after that then proceed with the JB methods of your choice.
But i must conclude, shift restore then point to the custom IPSW provided here is the fastest way to update/JB your iphone at the moment. :s13:
lightbearer
16-09-2008, 09:33 AM
what does the custom firmware mean by noactivate and activate.if a using a singtel iphone which one do i choose?if i shift restore need to go into dfu mode?
edit:forgot to add something
alvink83
16-09-2008, 09:40 AM
what does the custom firmware mean by noactivate and activate.if a using a singtel iphone which one do i choose?if i shift restore need to go into dfu mode?
edit:forgot to add something
For your case, you should choose the custom firmware with no activate
lightbearer
16-09-2008, 09:41 AM
righty then thanks
lightbearer
16-09-2008, 09:48 AM
haha got 6 error for the 5th time.ill just wait for a quickpwn.dun care to try anymore
alvink83
16-09-2008, 10:02 AM
haha got 6 error for the 5th time.ill just wait for a quickpwn.dun care to try anymore
How do you restore the custom firmware? DFU mode or normal mode?
lightbearer
16-09-2008, 10:09 AM
i tried the dfu mode.should i be using the normal mode?
alvink83
16-09-2008, 10:32 AM
you need to hold the shift key while click the restore button and select the custom firmware file
lightbearer
16-09-2008, 10:40 AM
yea i did that
jeffwong86
16-09-2008, 10:44 AM
Regards,
ipj
Sorry man, my 2G iPhone is which one, i bought in US. it is noactive or active
ipwnj00
16-09-2008, 10:57 AM
Sorry man, my 2G iPhone is which one, i bought in US. it is noactive or active
You need the one with the activate because you're not signed up with the legit AT&T.
koosh17
16-09-2008, 11:02 AM
I did my update to 2.1 and JB my iphone from just using itunes. No need winpawn or quickpawn. Just shift restore from the custom IPSW.
lightbearer
16-09-2008, 11:07 AM
got 6 errors.dam sad
Shawn^
16-09-2008, 11:20 AM
ok i'm going to pwn my friend's iphone 2g to 2.1 today. wish me luck ;)
tribal10
16-09-2008, 11:28 AM
Bro, no need to restore back to original before JB.
Firstly, must update your current FW to 2.1. after that then proceed with the JB methods of your choice.
But i must conclude, shift restore then point to the custom IPSW provided here is the fastest way to update/JB your iphone at the moment. :s13:
so am i right to say that it's the same steps JB as the fw 2.0.2.they will create an IPSW and we had to click shift and restore pointing to the IPSW which the JB had create.
jeffwong86
16-09-2008, 11:35 AM
so is the activate one.. mine is 2G *ahem* unlock version one which I bought in US
Shawn^
16-09-2008, 11:37 AM
hmm 1 question. I didn't think winpwn did anything to itunes but now it seems even though I have pre-configured ipsw file I can't shift+install it via itunes 7.7? I have to pwn my itunes first? Is this true?
EuroR_CL7
16-09-2008, 01:41 PM
here's my custom firmware for 2g. jb'ed and prawned...
http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showthread.php?t=2094626
shawn... theres no need to prawn yer itunes. itunes cannot be prawned...
ipwnj00
16-09-2008, 02:08 PM
here's my custom firmware for 2g. jb'ed and prawned...
http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showthread.php?t=2094626
shawn... theres no need to prawn yer itunes. itunes cannot be prawned...
Thanks bro for sharing, post #1 updated with the link to your custom built firmware.
Vipermac
16-09-2008, 02:11 PM
I don't think it is Shift Key and Press Restore.
You need to hold dwn Option Key and press restore.
EuroR_CL7
16-09-2008, 02:12 PM
Thanks ipwnj00,
how many will actually go to 1st page ar? Lol
tribal10
16-09-2008, 02:20 PM
am going to do it now and want to make sure the steps are right.
First,my iphone is already prawned with fw 2.0.2
that mean now i juz updated the sw to 2.1 and use the pwnage tool 2.1 to jailbreak it.
One things would like to know is that will it be the same as JB 2.0.2 as they will generate the IPSW?
alvink83
16-09-2008, 04:02 PM
Hi all, if you wish to downgrade your 1st gen iphone to 2.0.2. This might help you. http://iphone83.blogspot.com/2008/09/how-to-downgrade-iphone-1st-gen-from-21.html
tribal10
16-09-2008, 04:35 PM
that mean now i juz updated the sw to 2.1 and use the pwnage tool 2.1 to jailbreak it.
One things would like to know is that will it be the same as JB 2.0.2 as they will generate the IPSW?
any advise on the steps above?
EuroR_CL7
16-09-2008, 06:17 PM
er yes
10 char
doomgaze86
16-09-2008, 07:20 PM
me too me too
i thought i was the only unlucky one and thinking of restoring again
the last updates i did was those pop outs updates
looks like there is some issue with the latest update from cydia
Hey dude.. Are you still getting the errors with your 3G connection?
tripindustriz
16-09-2008, 07:36 PM
any advise on the steps above?
i would advise not to hurt any prawns in the process.
that would be crabby
yoshi_sx
16-09-2008, 07:39 PM
eh how to pawn the itunes ah?
got such thingy meh? LOL
tripindustriz
16-09-2008, 07:41 PM
eh how to pawn the itunes ah?
got such thingy meh? LOL
don't have pawn the itunes
no such thing
no such thing as prawn the itunes also
yoshi_sx
16-09-2008, 07:45 PM
eh eh eh, ask you guys har, can itunes 8 install cracked shell prawns into my pineapple phone ahs? through zincing
EuroR_CL7
16-09-2008, 07:52 PM
eh eh eh, ask you guys har, can itunes 8 install cracked shell prawns into my pineapple phone ahs? through zincing
can.... fish, lobster, abalone, mee, soup oso can...:s13::D
koosh17
16-09-2008, 08:01 PM
No problem bro, just glad to help out all the members here. :D
that want to join in the BBQ, prawns, sotongs.......otah
yoshi_sx
16-09-2008, 08:06 PM
wah like that song song gao jurong riaos~ :s13:
wooo itunes 8, cracked shell prawns lai riao!
eh, iphone without cracked cockles, cracked prawns, notch nice to eat lehs :D
*edit*
Oh yah, a Johor Bahrued pineapple phone can work on itunes 7.7.0 hors?
as in, wont say, you need to update to itunes 8 to use zinc the pineapple phone.
trancepot
16-09-2008, 08:07 PM
gonna try to attempt this for 1st time, was wondering if anyone have any good guides for the JB process? thanks.
yoshi_sx
16-09-2008, 08:08 PM
www.quickpwn.com
follow e instructions dips dips, you should not have a problem. :s13:
trancepot
16-09-2008, 08:11 PM
thanks bro!
just 1 quick question, if i want to retain the original logo and don't want the pineapple logo, what should i take note off?
EuroR_CL7
16-09-2008, 08:24 PM
trance... then u need to google for boot logo's if not u will have to settle for pineapple... anyone do durian?
trancepot
16-09-2008, 08:28 PM
i read somwhere there's an option to choose so that default logo will be reoot retained? is the boot logo thing complicated?
Exxtreme
16-09-2008, 08:46 PM
Its an option when you run quickpwn (together with Installer and Cydia) after you install itunes 7.7.
Shawn^
16-09-2008, 09:20 PM
I'm downloading this file
http://willydavidk.kittsplace.com/MMi/iPhone-2G-2.1-custom-activate-nobootlogos.ipsw
from the link in the first thread.
I believe it comes with installer & cydia pre-installed?
koosh17
16-09-2008, 09:46 PM
I'm downloading this file
http://willydavidk.kittsplace.com/MMi/iPhone-2G-2.1-custom-activate-nobootlogos.ipsw
from the link in the first thread.
I believe it comes with installer & cydia pre-installed?
This one is for 2G de.......correct for you hor?
doomgaze86
16-09-2008, 10:20 PM
Just to check, to all the people on jailbroken 2.1 iPhone 3Gs, are you guys able to download Cydia apps on your 3G connection?
denniszz
16-09-2008, 10:27 PM
Done mine with 2G iPhone 2.1 firmware
http://i16.photobucket.com/albums/b14/denniszzz/Starhub.jpg
Shawn^
16-09-2008, 10:38 PM
This one is for 2G de.......correct for you hor?
ya for my friend's phone LOL. at least I get to see what so great about a pwned phone :) Aint pwning my 3g lol.
tribal10
16-09-2008, 11:38 PM
now after pwned my 3G iphone using pwnage tool via macbook =,now my iphone got o network
what did i do wrong?
alvink83
16-09-2008, 11:48 PM
now after pwned my 3G iphone using pwnage tool via macbook =,now my iphone got o network
what did i do wrong?
Try to reset your network settings.
tribal10
17-09-2008, 12:07 AM
i did...no luck
ipwnj00
17-09-2008, 12:19 AM
i did...no luck
You must have restored to a custom firmware activate unchecked... restore to an official apple firmware and quickpwn again. Cheers.
Palmcool
17-09-2008, 12:45 AM
Hi All, I have been pondering to JB myiPhone for quite sometime and finally decided to do it. However I have some question and really appreciate if you could help
1. I am currently using Version 2.1 and Windows PC, which software I should use to JB?
2. How do I go about JB?, have been reading the forum but still quite confuse abt how to JB.
Thanks in advance.
Btw I am using Iphone 3G and it have never been JB before. also how do i download the installer and cyndia?
Also what do I need to download, only pwnagetool?
lawrence90
17-09-2008, 01:05 AM
so u to all who prawned already to pineapple
worth the jump from 2.0.x to 2.1?
laggy?
the 3 (people having fun) apps mostly can use anot?
mataemas
17-09-2008, 01:33 AM
i did...no luck
Try repwned again using expert mode and untick activate the phone.
alvink83
17-09-2008, 02:11 AM
so u to all who prawned already to pineapple
worth the jump from 2.0.x to 2.1?
laggy?
the 3 (people having fun) apps mostly can use anot?
Please see the changelog:
Decrease in call set-up failures and dropped calls
Significantly better battery life for most users
Dramatically reduced time to backup to iTunes
Improved email reliability, notably fetching email from POP and Exchange accounts
Faster installation of 3rd party applications
Fixed bugs causing hangs and crashes for users with lots of third party applications
Improved performance in text messaging
Faster loading and searching of contacts
Improved accuracy of the 3G signal strength display
Repeat alert up to two additional times for incoming text messages
Option to wipe data after ten failed passcode attempts
Genius playlist creation
It's worth to update.
tribal10
17-09-2008, 09:07 AM
hi guys...thanks for all the help and it's finally success....yahoo......but i had discover one things.....before i pwn....when message came in,it will juz show new text message wording which i like it alot.....after pwn,back to square one....the message and the person name show w/o even go into sms optiopn.anyone facing such problem?
scubyti
17-09-2008, 09:55 AM
go to settings -> general and passcode lock. Show SMS preview to off which will show 'New text Message'
If it's on, it will show the person name and the text preview....
hope it's help
tribal10
17-09-2008, 10:02 AM
i know that and i did set to off,it still show......sian.
yoshi_sx
17-09-2008, 03:27 PM
Just gaga Johor Bahru the pineapple phone lah.
after you Johor Bahrued liao, all the free games, song song gao jurong. :s13:
ipwnj00
17-09-2008, 04:17 PM
No offence bro but please refrain from typing words that only you understand, complete structured sentences please. Thanks a lot.
yoshi_sx
17-09-2008, 04:51 PM
Sorry too bro.
The last time I typed in proper sentences regarding the cracked applications, I got told it was not allowed to discuss here, so I reckon using terminology would be best. :s13:
Palmcool
17-09-2008, 05:22 PM
Help!! my iPhone 3G stuck at apple icon after I del mobileinstall file and reboot. wat happen? anyone?
Bored2Death
17-09-2008, 05:26 PM
hey bro ipwnj00 the links u put up for ipsw downloads how come when i download it, its a zip file?? how to shift restore??
Palmcool
17-09-2008, 06:52 PM
Can anyone tell me how do I go about jb my iphone 3G for windows? please.......... been reading the thread and i must say i m confused. please help.............Thank you.
ipwnj00
17-09-2008, 07:53 PM
hey bro ipwnj00 the links u put up for ipsw downloads how come when i download it, its a zip file?? how to shift restore??
rename extension to .ipsw bro.
ipwnj00
17-09-2008, 07:54 PM
Sorry too bro.
The last time I typed in proper sentences regarding the cracked applications, I got told it was not allowed to discuss here, so I reckon using terminology would be best. :s13:
No wonder, wah totally confused with the prawns and seafood.
yoshi_sx
17-09-2008, 08:32 PM
Can anyone tell me how do I go about jb my iphone 3G for windows? please.......... been reading the thread and i must say i m confused. please help.............Thank you.
Dude, go to www.quickpwn.com and follow the steps there EXACTLY to a "T".
and you would have no problems.
Bored2Death
18-09-2008, 12:01 AM
thanks man ipwnj00!! 2.1!! wooooOO
Bored2Death
18-09-2008, 12:10 AM
hi guys...thanks for all the help and it's finally success....yahoo......but i had discover one things.....before i pwn....when message came in,it will juz show new text message wording which i like it alot.....after pwn,back to square one....the message and the person name show w/o even go into sms optiopn.anyone facing such problem?
yaa mine also same prob.. will show the msg.. sucks.. i tried the setting option passlock thing also dont work =(
Palmcool
18-09-2008, 12:23 AM
Thanks Yoshi SX, manage to get it done. Thanks All for the assistance too.
yoshi_sx
18-09-2008, 01:15 AM
no prob dude, :)
Palmcool
18-09-2008, 12:40 PM
hi after I JB, only manage to find apps in cydia not installer, anyone knows y? N how to get more apps from installer? Only hv less than 10 apps. Thanks.
alvink83
18-09-2008, 12:42 PM
hi after I JB, only manage to find apps in cydia not installer, anyone knows y? N how to get more apps from installer? Only hv less than 10 apps. Thanks.
You need to refresh the sources after you launch the installer.
Palmcool
18-09-2008, 01:21 PM
Thanks alvink83, can chk with u where to refresh? I only got Rip Dev n they require me to put in the host address. For new sources.
tyming
18-09-2008, 01:32 PM
The Iphone Hack webiste mentioned that to use the custom firmware, you need the iphone to be previously JB. If I already JB my phone 2.0.2 and when i did an update to 2.1, it didnt work out and now I have restored the Iphone to 2.1, is this still consider "previously" JB iphone to use the custom firmware?
alvink83
18-09-2008, 01:33 PM
Thanks alvink83, can chk with u where to refresh? I only got Rip Dev n they require me to put in the host address. For new sources.
You try to install the community source from all package. After installed it'll automatically refresh the newly installed sources.
fantastic!
18-09-2008, 03:36 PM
when is winpwn coming out?
Palmcool
18-09-2008, 03:52 PM
thanks alvin. Done that. Appreciate your help on this. Btw I hv installed swirlyMMS n click on demo. N now they say this software is trial for 14 days n even I remove n install the timer is still there anyone encounter this issue?
alvink83
18-09-2008, 05:35 PM
thanks alvin. Done that. Appreciate your help on this. Btw I hv installed swirlyMMS n click on demo. N now they say this software is trial for 14 days n even I remove n install the timer is still there anyone encounter this issue?
I'm not sure about this. Maybe you try to reinstall after the free trial ended or you if really like it, why don't get the valid license?
newbish
18-09-2008, 06:49 PM
any good sauce for cydia/installer? :D
gabrielworld
18-09-2008, 11:35 PM
Hey guys, when they say phone that had been pwn before can go straight into jailbreak.
My phone was unlocked using iplus so does that mean my iphone had not been pwn?
Btw way, if i upgrade my iphone to 2.1 then i will lose all the application, info, song and my contact rite?
Any ideas how to backup my contacts???
jeffwong86
19-09-2008, 12:52 AM
this one i understand... can go Johore Bahru liao (JB) can buy free Apps and Games from JB Apps store.. haha
yoshi_sx
19-09-2008, 11:42 AM
lol jeff.. now I also got another problem, LIM PEH SPRINGBOARD NO ENUFF SPACE TO STORE ALL THE APP. LOL. :s13::s13::s13:
long zhong app put in.
koosh17
19-09-2008, 11:52 AM
lol jeff.. now I also got another problem, LIM PEH SPRINGBOARD NO ENUFF SPACE TO STORE ALL THE APP. LOL. :s13::s13::s13:
long zhong app put in.
errrrrrrrh.....thats what categories is for dude. Put your apps into folders, to free your springboard. :s13:
jeffwong86
19-09-2008, 01:09 PM
bo bian, li ai yong hei Apps kio BossTools. Zhe Apps ai sai move Install space to Memory storage
koosh17
19-09-2008, 02:50 PM
bo bian, li ai yong hei Apps kio BossTools. Zhe Apps ai sai move Install space to Memory storage
lol, bro your hokkien also very poderful sia. took me some time to understand what you trying to say. :s13:
metalheadftw
19-09-2008, 03:09 PM
hmm, so no one JB the itouch 1G with Windows yet?
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.