View Full Version : Who sign up for SBB and get the Lenovo G230..pls fall in and chat here
debbue96
16-09-2008, 08:53 AM
Anybody tried callling for early redemption? I received my letter and they stated 10 Oct to collect...but I will call them to confirm if I could get the Laptop sooner.
how come 10th?
when u sign up? my letter states i can collect after 30th sept. :D
debbue96
16-09-2008, 05:09 PM
Activation date is 11 sept. I called Singnet, customer service...and they say must follow the date of collection.
sunnyee
16-09-2008, 09:19 PM
under terms and condition earliest redemption date is from 30 Sept onwards leh.
jontan
16-09-2008, 09:27 PM
I think 10th is for the Acer AspireOne
jesagal
17-09-2008, 01:06 AM
lolx... gotta collect at burlington sq... hw 2go nia...?
debbue96
17-09-2008, 08:44 AM
lolx... gotta collect at burlington sq... hw 2go nia...?
Burlington Sq is opp the OG BUILDING....sorry...I am not too sure about the MRT serving there.
I check the website for the collection centre...looks decently huge.
debbue96
17-09-2008, 08:46 AM
under terms and condition earliest redemption date is from 30 Sept onwards leh.
Hmmm, I mentioned that to the CS also..but he sounded pretty sure that the date is firm..anyway, 30th is my off day, maybe I will try my luck...and if I am sucessful, I will announce here!...LOL...
winston_kwan
18-09-2008, 05:18 PM
Any1 upgrading their laptop to the Y series?
sunnyee
18-09-2008, 09:04 PM
Any1 upgrading their laptop to the Y series?
me upgrading :D
syncmos
19-09-2008, 07:45 AM
Mine also say 30th Sept 2008 start onward can collect le leh....anyway wanna sell of my Lenovo G230 . any offer???
debbue96
19-09-2008, 02:29 PM
Mine also say 30th Sept 2008 start onward can collect le leh....anyway wanna sell of my Lenovo G230 . any offer???
So you are assigned the first batch to collect. ....so lucky.
syncmos
20-09-2008, 10:13 AM
Lucky meh? wanna sell off the Lenovo leh, cos home too many notebook le....Infact i want the desktop promotion but they didnt come out..haiz..sian
erad1cate
20-09-2008, 11:13 PM
Hmmm, I mentioned that to the CS also..but he sounded pretty sure that the date is firm..anyway, 30th is my off day, maybe I will try my luck...and if I am sucessful, I will announce here!...LOL...
if your letter state 10 oct then go on 10 oct bah. urs same as me. dont go there disrupt the traffic for the first batch leh. not fair to them. :s13:
debbue96
22-09-2008, 11:20 AM
Oh....I overlook...its 7th instead...
Disrupt? Hmmm.....
divasion
22-09-2008, 04:37 PM
Hello there.yea earliest redemption date is 30th september but it depends when u sign up for it. my one says reedem from 7th onwards.I'm upgrading too.can i upgrade to the Y series de on the spot or must wait few days?
sunnyee
22-09-2008, 04:50 PM
Hello there.yea earliest redemption date is 30th september but it depends when u sign up for it. my one says reedem from 7th onwards.I'm upgrading too.can i upgrade to the Y series de on the spot or must wait few days?
let me noe izzit have to wait after u upgraded. ;)
by the way bros, this G230 using what type of ram ah? DDR2 XXX mhz?
erad1cate
22-09-2008, 10:51 PM
by the way bros, this G230 using what type of ram ah? DDR2 XXX mhz?
it should be running on DDR2 667MHz. max memory supported should be 2GB :o
ok... cos i thinking of upgrading the ram... 1G like too little for vista. :s22:
erad1cate
24-09-2008, 03:39 AM
ok... cos i thinking of upgrading the ram... 1G like too little for vista. :s22:
yeah me too. oh well still wondering what's the processor model though. :o
going to collect my lappy tmr! :s12:
damn my pc went dead on me yesterday and i just sold my old lappy 2-3 weeks ago.
debbue96
29-09-2008, 04:33 PM
I have to wat till 7th....haiz.....I will call them tomorrow morning to check if I can do it earlier as I am on leave this week..
Please update...after your collection ....
erad1cate
30-09-2008, 03:08 AM
I have to wat till 7th....haiz.....I will call them tomorrow morning to check if I can do it earlier as I am on leave this week..
Please update...after your collection ....
you are not alone man :(
syncmos
30-09-2008, 10:05 AM
My earliest redemption date is from 30th Sept onwards, but when I call them today 30th Sept, I was informed that only the Upgraded version of Lenovo G230 is ready for collection, the Lenovo G230 collection date will be delay as their Company logistic have crop up the shipment. What type of Company is this? Give me wrong information when i call them on 29th Sept, told me that the collection will be ready by 30th Sept. I apply for leave and yet give me such a good answer.
waste of my one day leave...... VERY ANGRY AND DISAPPOINTED WITH THIS COMPANY !!! WILL WRITE OR HIGHLIGHT TO SINGNET ABOUT THIS !!! OR POST IN STOMPS !!!
winston_kwan
30-09-2008, 11:02 AM
A bit confusing..
Upgraded version G230??
U topping up for the Y series??
My earliest redemption date is from 30th Sept onwards, but when I call them today 30th Sept, I was informed that only the Upgraded version of Lenovo G230 is ready for collection, the Lenovo G230 collection date will be delay as their Company logistic have crop up the shipment. What type of Company is this? Give me wrong information when i call them on 29th Sept, told me that the collection will be ready by 30th Sept. I apply for leave and yet give me such a good answer.
waste of my one day leave...... VERY ANGRY AND DISAPPOINTED WITH THIS COMPANY !!! WILL WRITE OR HIGHLIGHT TO SINGNET ABOUT THIS !!! OR POST IN STOMPS !!!
huh bro really? die lah like dat. i go call and check with them also.
Kapish
30-09-2008, 11:05 AM
yup .. i got the same call regarding the g230 and have made a complaint to singnet ... waiting for their response today
seriously pissed off until frothing at my mouth already
yup .. i got the same call regarding the g230 and have made a complaint to singnet ... waiting for their response today
seriously pissed off until frothing at my mouth already
wah kao... die this time... i sold my old laptop... and my pc is spoilt... that means i dun have anything to go online! :s31:
bro who call u about this? or u call and find out? i tried to call but their mailbox is full...
syncmos
30-09-2008, 11:45 AM
Upgrading as in Y430 version la..
No one call me. Lucky I call them before proceed to the redemption centre, else will be waste of trip. I have a big quarrel with their stuff there and I believed after i call then they notice we are very angry and start calling all the cusotmer for the redemption of the notebook G230.
I also very fed up with this. Wonder why redemption of notebook always got problem ,end up late redemption or no shipment. Don't they do a check before 1 week before redemption or rush the original party before the redemption date?
Guess we all have to wait till 10th Oct then can start collecting, wonder will they still delay any further for the collection not. Just pray hard and next time if there is any free notebook giving for upgrading or new plan, better think first before sign up.
Kapish
30-09-2008, 11:45 AM
one fella from the redemption centre called me
damn ridiculous .... the company still dare to state good track record putting clients' products in consumers' hands. rubbish siah
Kapish
30-09-2008, 11:47 AM
bro don't listen to their bull**** ... ask them to deliver to your house because they wasted your time. The terms and conditons also never say they can change date anytime they want also so why should consumers suffer?
suggest you trash out with singnet regarding this
Upgrading as in Y430 version la..
No one call me. Lucky I call them before proceed to the redemption centre, else will be waste of trip. I have a big quarrel with their stuff there and I believed after i call then they notice we are very angry and start calling all the cusotmer for the redemption of the notebook G230.
I also very fed up with this. Wonder why redemption of notebook always got problem ,end up late redemption or no shipment. Don't they do a check before 1 week before redemption or rush the original party before the redemption date?
Guess we all have to wait till 10th Oct then can start collecting, wonder will they still delay any further for the collection not. Just pray hard and next time if there is any free notebook giving for upgrading or new plan, better think first before sign up.
ok guys, here's what i did, i call and screw them up.
then i demand they do a FREE delivery of the laptop to our home on the shipment arrives at the earliest date.
I told them, why should we be queuing up with those 2nd and 3rd batch on the Oct 10th? I am very sure, that place will be flooded with ppl.
So the manager there told me they can do the delivery for us FREE. But we still need to go to their office to provide our address.
Damn pissed... now i dun have pc or laptop to use the net all the way till 10th oct!
syncmos
30-09-2008, 11:48 AM
complaint to singnet also no use, you already sign up for the plan, you already pay, and if you not happy terminate then you got to pay extra. So who care right? This is what we call customer after sale service. They will only tell you they got nothing to do with it and divert you to call the redemption centre instead. ALl push to redemption centre, and redemeption center push all to Singnet. So all we can do now is just wait lor...
sianz...waste of one day leave, just to recieved such a bad news from the redemption centre. I also have write a complain letter to the redemeption centre regarding of the bad service and giving wrong information.
syncmos
30-09-2008, 11:51 AM
ya me also got the same reply from the manage MONICA , saying that if I want the delivery for FREE, I need to go to their office to provide our address. what nonsence they saying, first cant make it on time and yet still want me waste my time go to their stupid officer just to give address.. Think will call them and give them a good scolding again and insisit they send to me without I going to their office just to give them address
syncmos
30-09-2008, 11:54 AM
I call up and one female by the name of Monica still dare to tell me, if I want the upgrade version Y430 , i can get it today confirm, but need to pay S$499 extra.. Nonsence right, why the Y430 can get first and the G230 cant? because Y430 need to pay extra and G230 do not need to? Stupid nonsence...going to post this in Stomp.
yeah i told them is this that tactic to force us to do an upgrade. KNN.
syncmos
30-09-2008, 11:59 AM
I believed that is the tratic that force us do the upgrading. So all bros/sis who are collecting G230 , please do not upgrade to Y430 and fall into their trap. This is very unfair for us who spend money and end up get this type of customer service from the redemeption center.
Anyone call newspaper ? write to stomp or call up singnet ??????
Kapish
30-09-2008, 12:06 PM
ok i just got off the line with singnet ... they said they will arrange delivery for me after the stock arrive on 10th october, and no need for me to liaise directly with the stupid redemption centre. Don't waste your breath on them, call singnet.
Singnet is the one who issued the letter and state the terms and conditions.
syncmos
30-09-2008, 12:18 PM
Yes. Latest update, I have just off the line with Singnet too. after quarrel with Singnet and insist that they send to me without I going to that Stupid redemption centre just to provide my address to them. When I call Singnet just now, they still dare to tell me the Lenovo G230 is over ram and I quarrel with them saying that how can it be over ram and no notebook for us when today is the bloody first day of redemeption.
They will contact me for the delivery date and they will send to me without I going to that stupid redemption centre just to give them my address.
This is too much and do not need to call Redemption centre anymore, they are just full of nonsence people there without any right information.
Yes. Latest update, I have just off the line with Singnet too. after quarrel with Singnet and insist that they send to me without I going to that Stupid redemption centre just to provide my address to them. When I call Singnet just now, they still dare to tell me the Lenovo G230 is over ram and I quarrel with them saying that how can it be over ram and no notebook for us when today is the bloody first day of redemeption.
They will contact me for the delivery date and they will send to me without I going to that stupid redemption centre just to give them my address.
This is too much and do not need to call Redemption centre anymore, they are just full of nonsence people there without any right information.
thanks for the info bro.
so call singnet hotline to arrange?
:D
syncmos
30-09-2008, 01:00 PM
Yes, call 1610 to arrange for the delivery to be send to your address, abit of verification need to do, like yours full name, NIRC nos, address and contact numbers, and once they Lenovo G230 is here, they will call you to make the delievery date.
Anyway I will still call up the stupid redemption centre next week, if they have come in early, i will go collect instead waiting for the stupid delivery date, as you know delivery sometime take few more days later then the collection date, as 11th and 12th fall on wkend, and I believed during wkend they won't do any delivery just for small customer like us.
Yes, call 1610 to arrange for the delivery to be send to your address, abit of verification need to do, like yours full name, NIRC nos, address and contact numbers, and once they Lenovo G230 is here, they will call you to make the delievery date.
Anyway I will still call up the stupid redemption centre next week, if they have come in early, i will go collect instead waiting for the stupid delivery date, as you know delivery sometime take few more days later then the collection date, as 11th and 12th fall on wkend, and I believed during wkend they won't do any delivery just for small customer like us.
ok thanks bro. already called singnet already. now had to find an old usable laptop from office to bring home and use temporary... knn..
:D
syncmos
30-09-2008, 01:11 PM
ya all we can do now is just wait lor, mistake done but this is only all they can do. Wonder will Lenovo Compaste Singnet for delaying since they ask Singnet to release the redemption letter to their customer? and if Lenovo do compastion, will singnet wavie or compasate their customer ? rubbish...
debbue96
30-09-2008, 01:12 PM
huh...so complicated...so we need to call 1610 for them to deliver...Singnet fails to deliver their words...and make us sign for a 30 mth contract...............
syncmos
30-09-2008, 01:22 PM
Singnet will only deliever to you when you call them, if you never call them and quarrel with them about the delayment of the Lenovo, they will just act blur. For my case, lucky I call up that stupid redemeption centre before going down, if not I will had waste my trip.
Was wonder, since Singnet told me that the shipment is delay and why Singnet never call their customer to informed them ? Are they acting blur of this matter and think all consumer like us will just keep quiet ?
Singnet will only deliever to you when you call them, if you never call them and quarrel with them about the delayment of the Lenovo, they will just act blur. For my case, lucky I call up that stupid redemeption centre before going down, if not I will had waste my trip.
Was wonder, since Singnet told me that the shipment is delay and why Singnet never call their customer to informed them ? Are they acting blur of this matter and think all consumer like us will just keep quiet ?
i think singnet also dunno until this morning when ppl start to complain... :D
debbue96
30-09-2008, 02:39 PM
Did anyone.....went personally to Burling Sq to collect the notebook? And what did they say there...is there a signboard to collect the free laptop?
If they have no intentions for us to collect, then this is of intention...to make us upgrade...and pay some $$$.
syncmos
30-09-2008, 04:30 PM
I dont think anyone will still go down to collect when they heard the bad news this morning, because I believed they already start calling customer that the collection will be delay due to no shipment.
'Shipment delay' what type of nonsence is this...bull****.
So anyone went down to the redemeption centre today????
hwmook
30-09-2008, 06:55 PM
I dont think anyone will still go down to collect when they heard the bad news this morning, because I believed they already start calling customer that the collection will be delay due to no shipment.
'Shipment delay' what type of nonsence is this...bull****.
So anyone went down to the redemeption centre today????
I went down there today, not a single G230 was there. They put a sign there telling people that the G230 is not ready for collection. But i went ahead anyway and the guys down there ask me to fill up the form and collect the redemption letter and told me that they will provide FOC delivery when the laptops arrive.
Don't need to get angry over small issue, the G230 are not here yet, as simple as that. The G230 is a new model mah so maybe production delay etc. The reason why the Y series is available is because its already been selling in SG for quite sometimes, even the recent comex also got the Y430.
debbue96
30-09-2008, 07:00 PM
Thanks for the information! yes...i will wait for them to deliver too....
Cheers ...
Tomoorow is a holiday!!! Yippy
divasion
30-09-2008, 07:04 PM
only delivery available for the g230?
Kapish
30-09-2008, 07:10 PM
small issue to you but not to me .... leave not easy to take and just wasted one because of their screw up
don't tell me they do not forsee there is insufficient g230s available for redemption until the last day. Really shows how the redemption company is like
syncmos
30-09-2008, 10:38 PM
Small issued to you might not be small issued to others. Then hope that they will deliver your G230 to you on end Decmenber 2008.
Well it not matter of the G230 here or not here, it the trust the company build with their cusotmer. If they are unable to make it on the said date, they should not released the redemption letter to their cusomter. If they can't make it, they shouldn't have this promotion so fast too.
erad1cate
30-09-2008, 10:58 PM
Small issued to you might not be small issued to others. Then hope that they will deliver your G230 to you on end Decmenber 2008.
Well it not matter of the G230 here or not here, it the trust the company build with their cusotmer. If they are unable to make it on the said date, they should not released the redemption letter to their cusomter. If they can't make it, they shouldn't have this promotion so fast too.
damn i was there too but when i heard about it i went "WTF" then i went off. freaking pissed off. damnn have to write down details for them to deliver ah?
syncmos
30-09-2008, 11:21 PM
Well this is what they told me after I give the redemption centre a good scolding of their wrong information and bad service. They ask me to go to the redemption centre all the way just to fill up my particular so that they will do the FOC delivery once the G230 is here. They tot their so call FOC is so great and big.
Then I call up Singnet and give them a good scolding too, and insist that they do the arrangement not me. End up ,Singnet after doing a few verification etc Name, NRIC, address and contact nos, Singnet agree that they will do the free delivery to my home when the G230 is here.
So do not need to waste time go to that stupid redemption centre to fill our particular, just give SIngnet a call and they will do the arrangement.
This is the worst Redemption Centre which I have come arcoss. Bad service and providing wrong information to me when I call them on 29th Sept 2008 regarding of the collection of the G230.
Kapish
01-10-2008, 12:01 AM
agree ... morris is so cocky as to ask customers go down and provide particulars for FOC delivery. Gonna tell me kakis in different industries to blacklist this company
syncmos
01-10-2008, 12:50 AM
Ya i believed they do not have a trained stuff in their company, even their manager or whoever, also believed to be so unprofessional and not trained. One girl by the name of Monica spoke to me and even say they are very sorry and will do the FOC delivery for me, but I must go down to their Company to fill in my particular so that the FOC delivery can be done. Nonsence,wrong in the first place and yet still dare to ask me go down just to fill in my particular.
She 'Monica' even push all the blame to Singnet, she 'Monica' told me that they are just 3rd party, the arrangement is make by Singnet not them. I have email an company letter to their company but I believed there won't be any reply from them.
erad1cate
01-10-2008, 01:06 AM
hoho i'm so gonna call singnet on friday. gonna screw them upside down!
Nakedtoes
01-10-2008, 01:13 AM
last time they deliver free + the modem now need to collect?? lucky nv recontract... + the specs of the lappy is not detailed enough.. like weight etc.. hope u all get yr toys soon
jesagal
01-10-2008, 01:52 AM
will dey reali deliver??? skally bull****tin man!!! anyway, will try 2go dw on fri and see hw it goes....
Kapish
01-10-2008, 12:32 PM
if you manage to collect on friday, those people supposed to collect from 30 sept will raise hell because the redemption centre said stock coming in on the 10th october
debbue96
01-10-2008, 12:50 PM
Its right of him to go...and chk it out. Do update us ..Thanks
syncmos
01-10-2008, 01:01 PM
Hi, for those who going to try their luck on friday to collect their G230, please update us what is the stand for the redemption centre k. Thank in advance.
Anyway Will try call that stupid Redemption centre again thursday (2nd Oct 2008). Well now whatever feel bad mood, will just call that stupid Redemption Centre and find someone for a good scolding till the day I collect my G230. Now the Redemption Centre has became a place for me to call whenever I want to throw my temper...lol
debbue96
01-10-2008, 01:10 PM
Hi, for those who going to try their luck on friday to collect their G230, please update us what is the stand for the redemption centre k. Thank in advance.
Anyway Will try call that stupid Redemption centre again thursday (2nd Oct 2008). Well now whatever feel bad mood, will just call that stupid Redemption Centre and find someone for a good scolding till the day I collect my G230. Now the Redemption Centre has became a place for me to call whenever I want to throw my temper...lol
LOL
:s13:...RC..SAND BAG!Hit it!!!
Kapish
01-10-2008, 01:39 PM
yeah do update us .. thanks
i will call them tomorrow as well ... since today holiday
maybe after a hard day's work when i need to de-stress
divasion
01-10-2008, 02:03 PM
So i have to collect the G230 then i can upgrade to the y430?Can't i just pay them 499 to get the y430 on the spot?
jesagal
01-10-2008, 02:46 PM
4 those who will b callin on thurs, do update us oso.... wil update u guys on fri if i hv collected
sunnyee
01-10-2008, 03:50 PM
So i have to collect the G230 then i can upgrade to the y430?Can't i just pay them 499 to get the y430 on the spot?
go there opt for upgrade den take q number pay 499 and collect the Y430 home.
divasion
01-10-2008, 06:33 PM
So generally y430 has more stocks than the g230 right?just in case,i have to call them too.lol
sunnyee
01-10-2008, 06:47 PM
So generally y430 has more stocks than the g230 right?just in case,i have to call them too.lol
saw many opt for upgrade, more than 60 i think while i was there.
syncmos
01-10-2008, 08:00 PM
haix..wonder why people go upgrade after they can't get the G230? Like that mean we are force to upgrade and pay more.
Should give the redemption centre a good scolding instead of upgrade the notebook. It their fault and why shall we still pay them more instead.
jesagal
01-10-2008, 08:44 PM
wads e diff btw Y430 & G230?
syncmos
01-10-2008, 09:09 PM
The difference btw Y430 & G230 is Y430 you got to pay $499 extra lor haha..
Upgrade Option
For an additional SGD 499, you get the IdeaPad Y430:
Intel� Centrino� processor technology Intel� Core�2 Duo processor P7350
(2.0GHz / 1066MHz FSB / 3MB L2 Cache)
Genuine Windows Vista� Home Premium
3GB DDR2 SDRAM
320GB SATA HDD (5400rpm)
Dual Layer Multiburner Drive (DVD-RW)
nVidia� GeForce� 9300 256MB
Integrated 1.3mps camera
14.1″ WXGA
6-cell Li-ion Battery
1-year Regional Carry-in Warranty
The upgrade is worthwhile if you need the multimedia capabilities of the nVidia� GeForce� 9300 and the larger screen. These are the 2 things you cannot readily upgrade from any notebook.
divasion
01-10-2008, 09:44 PM
1-year Regional Carry-in Warranty basically means warranty for one year that covers everything?cannot extend warranty?
syncmos
02-10-2008, 07:59 PM
Did the redemption centre call any bros/sis here today? I got a phone call from the Redemption Centre today to make arrangement for the FOC home delivery when the G230 is here. They will still do Home delivery on Sat (Half day).
erad1cate
03-10-2008, 01:44 AM
Did the redemption centre call any bros/sis here today? I got a phone call from the Redemption Centre today to make arrangement for the FOC home delivery when the G230 is here. They will still do Home delivery on Sat (Half day).
hahaha they better not mess this up. mine haben call yet still waiting. how long it took them to call you? i hope they call me tomorrow if not i go kp again =:p
jesagal
03-10-2008, 02:29 AM
so hw? has ani1 call 2check???
Kapish
03-10-2008, 02:42 AM
ya they call me too ... but from the way they said "if the stock come on 10 oct" means they are not even sure if the stock will be in then. If same **** happens again, i will ask singnet to waive off the additional subscription charges or void the contract. This is bull****
jesagal
03-10-2008, 05:24 AM
ya they call me too ... but from the way they said "if the stock come on 10 oct" means they are not even sure if the stock will be in then. If same **** happens again, i will ask singnet to waive off the additional subscription charges or void the contract. This is bull****
hw cm u guys received call fm em but i nv received any at all.... wad e hell!!!! nvm... ltr m gg at ard 6pm.
syncmos
03-10-2008, 08:10 AM
yesterday was having a bad day at work (over work), so while during my break, make a phone call to that stupid Redemption Centre again to check of the Lenovo G230, as usual, not sure, maybe will come on 10th Oct 2008, bah bah bah...hahaha anyway having bad mood to scold them to released my stress hahah...
Somemore the stupid Redemption Centre stuff told me that if by 10th Oct 2008 the Lenovo still not here, they will be alots of angry customer, i scold them again for saying that and say that NOW already alots of angry customer, so you (redemption centre) better make sure the Lenovo is here by 10th Oct 2008.
Now whenever having bad mood or low work cell in my body, will just pick up my phone and call the Angry release centre (redemption centre) again. And I believed all the bros/sis here know what the numbers are...:s8:
Cheers....anything new please keep update us please.
debbue96
03-10-2008, 08:49 AM
Me too...got a call from them...about the delivery...but if they are going to deliver to so many parties...sure take alot of time. Maybe I will opt to go there personally to collect instead...its such a long wait for us...Redemption centre also open on Sundays..
Kapish
03-10-2008, 10:29 AM
honestly they know alot of angry customers still dare to say it out to you.
i am really baffled by their behaviour :s13:
just ask them to deliver lah ... when stock come in on 10th, i ask them to deliver over the weekends .. any more delay i f them up again
syncmos
03-10-2008, 12:01 PM
ya lor, so many places to send the Lenovo, guess we go there collect ourself better and faster. Maybe we could arrange a time , all go together and give them a good scolding again if the Q is too long or make us wait too long. I have post on stomp but they didnt post my story..guess it had been stop ...sianz
debbue96
03-10-2008, 01:17 PM
Ya lor...call on the 10th...if stock arrive...I will rush there the soonest before 7pm they close shop..if not I will go on Saturday. I cant wait anymore...I need the Laptop..
ck0112
03-10-2008, 06:55 PM
Hi guys, i just got my letter from singnet and state can collect from 7th onwards, but is it i must wait till 10th and above then can collect the G230? if i wan to upgrade to Y430 can i collect on 7th? thanks
syncmos
03-10-2008, 07:30 PM
Do not believed in what the redemption letter said, we all are being trick by it already. If you want to upgrade mean you are falling into their trap by delaying out G230 and force us to upgrade.
But if you really wish to upgrade, just go anytime even before 7th Oct, cos they have upgrade version always avaiable now.
ck0112
03-10-2008, 07:55 PM
Do not believed in what the redemption letter said, we all are being trick by it already. If you want to upgrade mean you are falling into their trap by delaying out G230 and force us to upgrade.
But if you really wish to upgrade, just go anytime even before 7th Oct, cos they have upgrade version always avaiable now.
Oh.thanks bro for the advise..but i think i wan to upgrade la cos 12 inch too small for me, i need bigger screen..so is available now is it? hm..then i better call them before i go down cos sekali tell me dun have when i go there..btw bro, u guys think worth it or not if i paid SG499 for Y430?
thanks again :)
syncmos
03-10-2008, 11:48 PM
Ya, it better to call them before you proceed to the redemption centre for upgrading. After all this happen for delaying, I dont really trust this Redemption Centre anymore.
Well as for upgrading, depend bah, some might think worth it some might think either way. For me, I won't upgrade.
syncmos
06-10-2008, 07:58 AM
ANyone call the REdemption ctr lately? Any news for the Lenovo G230 to be here on 10th Oct 2008?
debbue96
06-10-2008, 10:02 AM
Nope....you call then!
they just called me!
they are delivering the laptop to my office tomorrow morning! :D
Kapish
06-10-2008, 06:14 PM
serious?
when is your original collection date?
tomorrow i call them liao
serious?
when is your original collection date?
tomorrow i call them liao
i am the first batch, 30th sept one.
anyway i can't wait, call them just now that i go pick up right after work.
now charging my new laptop now.
going to do some checks (dead pixels etc).
they told me if within 7 days any problem with laptop can still go to them and change. after 7 days, had to go thru lenovo directly.
debbue96
06-10-2008, 09:17 PM
Cool.........charging ur laptop now!...Enjoy ...
my collection is tomorrow,,i will call also and pick after work
Kapish
06-10-2008, 10:23 PM
nice ... enjoy your new toy :o
erad1cate
06-10-2008, 10:31 PM
i am the first batch, 30th sept one.
anyway i can't wait, call them just now that i go pick up right after work.
now charging my new laptop now.
going to do some checks (dead pixels etc).
they told me if within 7 days any problem with laptop can still go to them and change. after 7 days, had to go thru lenovo directly.
wow! congrats on your new lappy. but the strange thing is they haben call me yet until now. ridiculous sia this redemption centre. tomorrow they gonna get it from me personally at their centre. they are making me very angry.
jialat i find 2-3 bright/dead pixels.... dunno they let me change or not.
syncmos
07-10-2008, 12:24 AM
Today the Lenovo Just arrival, collected and sold !! lols.....After sold , get myself a HP desktop...found it much more better then the stupid Lenovo G230 !!
debbue96
07-10-2008, 08:03 AM
jialat i find 2-3 bright/dead pixels.... dunno they let me change or not.
How to check huh? Can please teach me.
debbue96
07-10-2008, 08:04 AM
Today the Lenovo Just arrival, collected and sold !! lols.....After sold , get myself a HP desktop...found it much more better then the stupid Lenovo G230 !!
Wow...so fast....I am heading for the change today..right after they open door.,
syncmos
07-10-2008, 08:28 AM
Well the Redemption Ctr also service not that good la, you go, collect, leave. They don't even ask you to check what inside. For me, I just collect and go, never even break the seal on the box, sold and get myself a HP desktop. Much much more better then that Lenovo.
i think i saw u bro haha. u went straight to the redemption counter and ask to collect the laptop is it? :s13:
How to check huh? Can please teach me.
ohh i use a small program to do the check, basically it will change all the background to certain colors, then i just look through see if there is any spots.
anyway i think what i found last night are dust, tonight will give it a close look.
if u want the program, u can pm me for my msn, i send u via msn tonight.
divasion
07-10-2008, 10:20 AM
You all went to collect the free one or the 499 dollars one?The redeemtion centre is at where?
by the way for those who wish to upgrade RAM for G230...
based on the packaging list...
on the laptop is 2 x 512mb...
so u will have to buy 2 x 1G is u want to upgrade to 2G RAM.
dun commit the same mistake as me last time thinking my previous laptop is 1 x 512mb (actually it was 2 x 256mb) ... so i only bought 1 x 512mb... in the end total ram can only achieve 784mb :s13:
You all went to collect the free one or the 499 dollars one?The redeemtion centre is at where?
G230 (free one) for first batch is here already, their mgr called me that they will deliver this morning actually but i can't wait, went down last night after work to collect myself.
redemption center is at burlington square (next to SLS), see your redemption letter for address.
those first batch one can try call this mgr num (blast his hp!) 92341355
syncmos
07-10-2008, 10:58 AM
i think i saw u bro haha. u went straight to the redemption counter and ask to collect the laptop is it? :s13:
haha bro, the one you saw not me, I was there only at around 3.15pm. Join the Q and collected the G230 after wait for 10 to 20 mins. The Q is long but not all are for collection of the G230, think the Redemption Ctr are pack because they do other type of Redemption for other customer too.
ohh cfm not u liao cos i went there at 6plus.
u went much earlier then me. :D
debbue96
07-10-2008, 04:06 PM
I got my G230 ...and using right now..but i cant install the new singnet software...cant detect moderm leh...will wait for them to come help me ...as they coming to fix my MIO box..i m using my old wireless now..
The notbook not bad leh...no regrets...but only the long wait...and the Q is so long when i went today..They come with MSO 2007...trial package...but I over write with my orginal pack..
debbue96
07-10-2008, 04:09 PM
ohh i use a small program to do the check, basically it will change all the background to certain colors, then i just look through see if there is any spots.
anyway i think what i found last night are dust, tonight will give it a close look.
if u want the program, u can pm me for my msn, i send u via msn tonight.
Cool.....thanks u advance..later i MSn u
I got my G230 ...and using right now..but i cant install the new singnet software...cant detect moderm leh...will wait for them to come help me ...as they coming to fix my MIO box..i m using my old wireless now..
The notbook not bad leh...no regrets...but only the long wait...and the Q is so long when i went today..They come with MSO 2007...trial package...but I over write with my orginal pack..
u using LAN or wireless?
actually u dun need the singnet cd to setup wireless connection.
just plug as LAN to the router first.
then go to your browser, enter http://gateway.2wire.net (this will bring u to the configuration page)
then setup your wireless (SSID, WEP key etc)
then on your notebook, create a wireless profile, enter the SSID and WEP key details and off u go!
Kapish
07-10-2008, 07:53 PM
wah piang so suay ... when i on laptop no display ... f**k have to go down and exchange .. hai
debbue96
07-10-2008, 08:09 PM
huh....i m also worried at first...i wanted to check the screen but they say dont practice there...so I open and check in my car lor...at least dont bring a broken one home....its working fine....but the heat on te left side of the laptop worries me...
Intend to get a cooling pad.
Maybe u pluck in the wrong connector...chk again...I dont think u are so unlucky....All the best ..
divasion
07-10-2008, 10:20 PM
Why cannot check there?maybe alot people but at least can change for a new set if there is any defects right?i be calling them up tomorrow to ask for the stocks for y430 just in case
huh....i m also worried at first...i wanted to check the screen but they say dont practice there...so I open and check in my car lor...at least dont bring a broken one home....its working fine....but the heat on te left side of the laptop worries me...
Intend to get a cooling pad.
Maybe u pluck in the wrong connector...chk again...I dont think u are so unlucky....All the best ..
hmmm cooling pad not much use actually.
anyway i find this laptop not as heaty as my previous DELL 700m.
Nakedtoes
07-10-2008, 11:16 PM
how heavy is the g230?
debbue96
08-10-2008, 09:42 AM
I mean I wanted to open up everything infront of them..but they say no.
By the way, the Vista is preinstalled and what are the recovery CD? How should I go about if i need to reformat the PC? Anyone here to share?
debbue96
08-10-2008, 09:44 AM
hmmm cooling pad not much use actually.
anyway i find this laptop not as heaty as my previous DELL 700m.
Ok! Thanks...so I save the money.
I put a cool pad gel around the area ...:DDIY better la.
And also turn on the fan and blow str8 there...my last Acer also have this problem..over heated!..So the HD spoil..
how heavy is the g230?
i go weigh tonight then let u know haha.
I mean I wanted to open up everything infront of them..but they say no.
By the way, the Vista is preinstalled and what are the recovery CD? How should I go about if i need to reformat the PC? Anyone here to share?
hmm they did open up the box for me to check the contents whether got anything missing (the instruction manual, power cables etc).
ermm, there is a quick recovery button (next to the power button). they wun give u recovery CD... cos everything is stored on a hidden partition on the harddisk (so careful not to wipe out this partition when u do formating).
anyway i find the partition a bit silly...
my C drive they parition as 100+G and my D drive only 20+G...
usually C drive smaller (enough for programs) then D (for storage) bigger mah.
i am thinking of whether want to reformat everything and redo the partition...
debbue96
08-10-2008, 05:26 PM
by the way for those who wish to upgrade RAM for G230...
based on the packaging list...
on the laptop is 2 x 512mb...
so u will have to buy 2 x 1G is u want to upgrade to 2G RAM.
dun commit the same mistake as me last time thinking my previous laptop is 1 x 512mb (actually it was 2 x 256mb) ... so i only bought 1 x 512mb... in the end total ram can only achieve 784mb :s13:
okok...so buy 2 x 1gb and replace both...actually i want o buy only 1 x 2gb..to replace one.
u can also... then total ram will be 2G + 256mb :D
syncmos
08-10-2008, 05:52 PM
anyone collect a Dead Lenovo before? cos heard some bro/sis here after collection, bring home, the Lenovo is dead ( cannot On at all). Wonder how many dead set they giving out ? I guess for those who get the dead set shall ask the Redemption Ctr for compensation or ask the Lenovo for compensation. First they can't give us on time, 2nd, worth still, they giving out Dead Set if there really one. 3rd, where the QC ??
Kapish
08-10-2008, 06:15 PM
yeah i got a dead set .. went down for a 1-1 exchange. what are the chances man ... buy so many computer hardware for 8 years and no DOA , come to this lenovo thingy then got. This is probably one of my worst experiences when comes to redemption. I didn't even bother to scold them or do anything else when i went down .. just too damn sian already.
this item is also not free or what ... we are actually "paying" for the premium through increased subscription fees and this is the **** we got. Potential singnet customers beware
debbue96
08-10-2008, 08:39 PM
But i check the ram inside...its 2 cards and marked 512....
jontan
09-10-2008, 05:30 PM
Can anyone confirm the G230 specs ?
i do the screenshot and post tonight. :D
But i check the ram inside...its 2 cards and marked 512....
yah its 2 x 512mb...
by the way i haven open, what is the mhz range? DDR2 533mhz? DDR2 667mhz?
debbue96
09-10-2008, 05:39 PM
i do the screenshot and post tonight. :D
Wow......:D
http://i38.tinypic.com/c476x.jpg
http://i35.tinypic.com/358naye.jpg
jontan
09-10-2008, 08:44 PM
Ram is DDR2-667mhz
My friend bought 2 x 2GB at $96 to replace the existing 2 x 512MB
So Singnet is correct with the specs.
Ram is DDR2-667mhz
hmm i tot vista only maximum 3G?
debbue96
09-10-2008, 11:06 PM
So how was the performance after the upgrade?
yeah me curious also... is it worth the upgrade? will it increased the user experience index?
i did a search and found that maximum ram size is 4G.
now 2G only cost 40+ ... so cheap!
erad1cate
09-10-2008, 11:33 PM
Ram is DDR2-667mhz
eh??? can run 4GB ?? woot if can i go hoot liao :s13:
debbue96
09-10-2008, 11:34 PM
So dont wait lor...I am going to buy this weekend ...
RayOfLight
10-10-2008, 01:15 AM
what's the weight of this laptop?
Kapish
10-10-2008, 01:30 AM
on the box indicate 3.6 kg. not sure if it includes the cables and stuff
RayOfLight
10-10-2008, 01:31 AM
wow, that is pretty heavy for a 12.1.. :s31:
Kapish
10-10-2008, 01:35 AM
yeah **** man ... anyway i am not carrying this heavy crap outside
using it as a download/upload server at home =:p
RayOfLight
10-10-2008, 03:10 AM
so what is the actual weight? anyone weights it? :D
any kind soul can post some pictures? =)
yeah **** man ... anyway i am not carrying this heavy crap outside
using it as a download/upload server at home =:p
its not that heavy.
i forget to weigh it last nite, tonight weigh already then post the weight here.
kennio77
10-10-2008, 10:59 AM
Hi Everyone, find it funny but am interested to know why those ppl get and seel the G230 when Singnet offered another plan without lappy. I mean the lappy causes so much trouble in barking @ Redemp. Ctr, find buyers, negotiable prices and meet up. If i'm buyer, i won't pay G230 for more than $760 because the SNBB 10 mpbs with/without lappy, the diff. is $660 for 30 mths.
debbue96
10-10-2008, 11:37 AM
something to remember for another 3 years....a legend to tell...........added into my blog!
Kapish
10-10-2008, 12:13 PM
Hi Everyone, find it funny but am interested to know why those ppl get and seel the G230 when Singnet offered another plan without lappy. I mean the lappy causes so much trouble in barking @ Redemp. Ctr, find buyers, negotiable prices and meet up. If i'm buyer, i won't pay G230 for more than $760 because the SNBB 10 mpbs with/without lappy, the diff. is $660 for 30 mths.
with the price you are willing to pay, most probably you will not get the g230 from anybody. They know how to calculate just like you and therefore sell at a much higher price.
some sign up the plan to get the lappy then sell it at a profit.
while those who want the lappy dun want to sign up the plan and pays higher to the seller even though they know they are paying slightly more.
a win win situation for both? (seller wants a profit but at the expense of recontracting or signing up bb while buyer need not sign up plan or recontract but just buy the lappy)
but for ppl like me? my centrino laptop old already (only worth $350 when i sold it) , so this promotion came just right (my contract happens to end in aug)!
kennio77
10-10-2008, 03:24 PM
thanks for sharing... I actually intended to upgrade to Y430 before recontract becoz G230 spec isn't appealing to me. Best when I found Y430 XP drivers on its website so I could downgrade from Vista.
Beforehand, I'd already checked a lot about Y430 and its warranty. One thing i realised i'd to be extra careful with LCD warranty statement I read on its website. Dead pixel has to meet some criteria then Lenovo will replace. You read more on the website. Having known that, I deliberately wanted the Redemp Ctr to boot up for me to check before making payment. The girl said, "You've to pay $499 before I can open the box." Ok I made payment and open the box and wanted to boot up. The girl said, "We dun've power socket." I said, "VERY GOOD!"
Luckily, been working fine after using and testing it for a wk,
Kapish
10-10-2008, 03:51 PM
amazing right this redemption centre ... no power socket at all
the crap coming out of their officers' mouths are simply jaw dropping
never think before speaking
debbue96
10-10-2008, 04:19 PM
My contract also ends and I was actually paying more then this new plan.
I save alittle money and at the same time get a new laptop. And this model is meant for Singnet customers...
http://photos-f.ak.facebook.com/photos-ak-snc1/v350/88/44/744825957/n744825957_1012957_5821.jpg
winston_kwan
10-10-2008, 04:59 PM
nice...
Any1 upload Y430 picture....??
divasion
10-10-2008, 05:19 PM
I collected my y430 too.no dead pixels or stuck pixels =)
thanks for sharing... I actually intended to upgrade to Y430 before recontract becoz G230 spec isn't appealing to me. Best when I found Y430 XP drivers on its website so I could downgrade from Vista.
Beforehand, I'd already checked a lot about Y430 and its warranty. One thing i realised i'd to be extra careful with LCD warranty statement I read on its website. Dead pixel has to meet some criteria then Lenovo will replace. You read more on the website. Having known that, I deliberately wanted the Redemp Ctr to boot up for me to check before making payment. The girl said, "You've to pay $499 before I can open the box." Ok I made payment and open the box and wanted to boot up. The girl said, "We dun've power socket." I said, "VERY GOOD!"
Luckily, been working fine after using and testing it for a wk,
actually you still can boot up with the battery before charge, cos there is some power in it.
kennio77
10-10-2008, 06:01 PM
amazing right this redemption centre ... no power socket at all
the crap coming out of their officers' mouths are simply jaw dropping
never think before speaking
redemption centre??? it's condamn centre. After read the curse and swear from many, the condamn centre got whacked real hard from many angry customers.
divasion
10-10-2008, 06:30 PM
Hey,wanna ask how do i register warranty for my laptop?Y430.Also from laptop,i cant seems to find the laptop TYPE 4 letter code that i need to enter in order to check if my laptop is under warranty
EDIED:I found out my warranty le.its registered le but the warranty date starts from the day this laptop was manufactured which was on august but i collected my laptop on october
Kapish
10-10-2008, 08:14 PM
yeah found my warranty registered as well
i think my g230 need some major ram upgrade ... when using intensive programs watch video or youtube will stutter abit .... hmmm
divasion
10-10-2008, 09:44 PM
Err my laptop abit lag and slow, is it because of norton internet security
kennio77
10-10-2008, 10:07 PM
Remove the NIS becoz it's only 90 dsys subcription for update nia... Norton sucks a lot of memory... try something else such as AVG or CA Internet Security Suite Plus 2008...
divasion
10-10-2008, 11:25 PM
Er..just by click uninstall the program will remove nis completely or i need to do something else?
Nakedtoes
10-10-2008, 11:36 PM
i go weigh tonight then let u know haha.
so how?? keke:D
roughly about 1.8KG :D
anyway i uninstall norton, office 2007 trial etc.
still thinking of reformatting everything (find the partition done funnily).
jesagal
11-10-2008, 01:07 AM
Rite guys, i hv jz register my warranty. in case u guys dunno...
http://www.pc.ibm.com/cgi-bin/iReg.cgi
Type/Model No: can be find behind ur laptop under "S/N" do not enter alphabet. ex: CBS190293. Just enter 190293 will do
Serial no: can be found under e computer label. ex: 19023-293-466-453. enter w/o -
thanks for d3n for e link....
btw, i hv uninstall norton and office 200 oso and reinstall office 2003 and AVG free edition
RayOfLight
11-10-2008, 03:06 AM
can someone post more pics? like the thickness, front cover.. confirm 1.8kg only ma? i thought box stated 3.+kg? :eek:
divasion
11-10-2008, 11:31 AM
Err.i have a feeling my battery is bad.Because when i charge to 100 percent and i off the charger,it immediately goes to 99 percent.
and i thought the laptop is auto register for warranty le?
Yeap its 1.8kg the 3kg plus is the gross weight of everything in the box.lol
Err.i have a feeling my battery is bad.Because when i charge to 100 percent and i off the charger,it immediately goes to 99 percent
i guess its normal? anyway... did u do a full one time charge of 8 hours?
try not to charge the battery(if its not flat) while u use, it will kill the battery very fast.
winston_kwan
11-10-2008, 11:36 AM
Well, the box stated on the box is = weight of laptop + weight of accessories + weight box & cuhsion...
12.1" wide laptop will not be 3kg+ that heavy....
can someone post more pics? like the thickness, front cover.. confirm 1.8kg only ma? i thought box stated 3.+kg? :eek:
i think its the overall packaging that is 3kg...
this laptop is lighter then my previous 12" lappy (with extended battery)
divasion
11-10-2008, 11:46 AM
I charge it when i use it for the first time.lol but not using in for the whole 8 hrs when charging
RayOfLight
11-10-2008, 05:07 PM
hmm, what's the colour for the front cover?
divasion
11-10-2008, 08:54 PM
Black?
i just did a test on my laptop Y430. I opened notebook hardware control when my battery is fully charge at 100 percent. The full capacity of the battery is 62338mWh and capacity left is same also.however when i off the AC adapter(Charger). My laptop battery percentage immediately jumps to 99percent and the capacity left shown on the NHC is 61705mWh. I used the laptop for a few hours when it was doing the first 8hr charge. Is there anyway i can solve this problem?
debbue96
11-10-2008, 09:35 PM
yeah found my warranty registered as well
i think my g230 need some major ram upgrade ... when using intensive programs watch video or youtube will stutter abit .... hmmm
i only upgrade another 2 gb card...so its total 2.5gb...much better then before...cos it totally use up the 1gb ram when I open msn, excel ..window media and sometimes surf net.:D...
by the way guys, vista got its own partition magic function.
http://windowshelp.microsoft.com/Windows/en-US/help/f2e9a502-e63c-413d-8804-87326ef4f4cc1033.mspx
kennio77
12-10-2008, 03:55 PM
Er..just by click uninstall the program will remove nis completely or i need to do something else?
I remove NIS and Office2007 by using "Your Uninstaller! 2006" becoz it can remove them such as folders, files, registries & etc clean which Add/Remove Program can't.
jesagal
12-10-2008, 04:29 PM
I remove NIS and Office2007 by using "Your Uninstaller! 2006" becoz it can remove them such as folders, files, registries & etc clean which Add/Remove Program can't.
hmmm, y u wanna use uninstaller? u use uninstall oso can uninstall completely leh....
jesagal
12-10-2008, 04:32 PM
by the way guys, vista got its own partition magic function.
http://windowshelp.microsoft.com/Windows/en-US/help/f2e9a502-e63c-413d-8804-87326ef4f4cc1033.mspx
hw does it hlp? wad can it b used 4?
jontan
12-10-2008, 07:49 PM
For the upgrade $499, have to pay cash?
Can use NETS or credit card?
hw does it hlp? wad can it b used 4?
ohh it basically just do some repartitioning of your hard disk.
i change my partition to C drive (125g) D drive (93G) initially it was C drive (185G) D drive (23G)
i prefer to have D drive to store data files like documents, images, mp3 etc.. so will need bigger space. Then C drive just for programs.
kennio77
12-10-2008, 11:44 PM
Has anyone successfully downgraded Y430 or G230 to XP? My windows cd got blue screen during installation becoz of HDD driver. Know where to get? Have searching the WD website but can't find.
Aizen84
13-10-2008, 12:05 AM
U need to go into bios, go to advance, than at Sata ????(i forget the exact name) change the AHCI to IDE. save and restart. It will not blue screen le.
I am having problem gettting the driver for XP. Dunno y
Kapish
13-10-2008, 04:02 AM
U need to go into bios, go to advance, than at Sata ????(i forget the exact name) change the AHCI to IDE. save and restart. It will not blue screen le.
wow thanks man ... i thought it's the ram that's causing the blue screen. now i am installing XP. The drivers you can get from the link below
http://consumersupport.lenovo.com/lenovo/Drivers/list.aspx?CategoryID=1770
kennio77
13-10-2008, 11:31 AM
The driver website, you must select "All Windows" instead of "Windows XP" alone, it will then display all XP and Vista drivers but you download only the XP drivers.
Thanks man, i guess all of us are dying to download to XP right. Most of my apps and tools can't work on vista. Silly vista!!!
did u try install under compatiablity mode ?
kennio77
13-10-2008, 03:32 PM
did u try install under compatiablity mode ?
Thanks for sharing, something new for me. I've apps like Acrobat 7 which Adobe says it's not compatible with vista... Daemon, PowerISO3.8, Free download manager & etc... Even codec, you've to use Vista Codec. The XP codec on vista, some movies can't play...
for codecs, i used this,
http://www.free-codecs.com/download/K_lite_codec_pack.htm
can play alot of movies.
Read this for more help installing older programs on Vista.
http://windowshelp.microsoft.com/Windows/en-US/Help/bf416877-c83f-4476-a3da-8ec98dcf5f101033.mspx
kennio77
13-10-2008, 06:49 PM
for codecs, i used this,
http://www.free-codecs.com/download/K_lite_codec_pack.htm
can play alot of movies.
Read this for more help installing older programs on Vista.
http://windowshelp.microsoft.com/Windows/en-US/Help/bf416877-c83f-4476-a3da-8ec98dcf5f101033.mspx
Hey, thanks! This is really helpful and will keep Vista a little longer. Btw, are you IT guy?
yup. i am. :D
Aizen84
13-10-2008, 10:38 PM
The driver website, you must select "All Windows" instead of "Windows XP" alone, it will then display all XP and Vista drivers but you download only the XP drivers.
wow thanks man ... i thought it's the ram that's causing the blue screen. now i am installing XP. The drivers you can get from the link below
http://consumersupport.lenovo.com/lenovo/Drivers/list.aspx?CategoryID=1770
Hey man,Both of u hav no problem installing the drivers for XP provider by lenovo from consumersupport.lenovo.com/lenovo/Drivers/list.aspx?CategoryID=1770??
Cant seem to install most of the drivers. Care to share how u did it?
By the way kennio77 n Kapish is ur model Y430??
Kapish
13-10-2008, 10:46 PM
no i am using the g230 .... i only faced problems during installation for the intel and realtek because the windows installer and .NET framework is not installed/updated. so make sure you run the windows update before installing the drivers.
Kapish
13-10-2008, 10:48 PM
anyone knows how to keep the lcd backlight always on?
it will auto shut off the backlight after around 10 mins and i can't seem to find the option to disable
me too, i thought i off it but doesn't seems to be.
jesagal
13-10-2008, 11:47 PM
u try gg 2 settings > control panel > system > advanced setting > under "startup & recovery" > click on setting > "time to display list of operating system & time to display recovery options when needed" > sset to 0 and see..... cos mine works.....
Kapish
14-10-2008, 10:02 AM
oh ok ... thanks for the advice but i manage to find the solution
apparently the power management options for vista and xp are different
for xp which i am using now have options for both backlight and monitor shut off timing. don't remember seeing these for vista though
kennio77
14-10-2008, 11:24 AM
Hey man,Both of u hav no problem installing the drivers for XP provider by lenovo from consumersupport.lenovo.com/lenovo/Drivers/list.aspx?CategoryID=1770??
Cant seem to install most of the drivers. Care to share how u did it?
By the way kennio77 n Kapish is ur model Y430??
Yup, mine's Y430 but haven downgraded to XP yet.:s13:
Aizen84
14-10-2008, 02:09 PM
Yup, mine's Y430 but haven downgraded to XP yet.:s13:
Care to Downgrade to XP and try? Those drivers cant seems to work for my Y430
kennio77
14-10-2008, 05:04 PM
Care to Downgrade to XP and try? Those drivers cant seems to work for my Y430
Of coz, wanna try those XP drivers and will do it one of these days this week coz a little busy with work. Do you mean all the drivers don't work at all? Some sequence of drivers must be take note. What I usually do is install the Win Service Pack + hotfixes, Chipset, Graphics and then the rest. I've actually slipstream my XP SP2 with 90+ hotfixes. I've seen a lot of negative feedbacks abt SP3 so better dun upgrade it just yet. :s12:
After a successful installation of fresh OS + some basic apps such AV, office, java & etc, i use acronis to clone an image to avoid the hassle of redo everything from scratch which is kinda pain in the a**.
falloux
14-10-2008, 10:51 PM
Hi can anyone tell me where can i go to upgrade G230 to 4gig ram and will it void my warranty if i replace the parts?
Aizen84
14-10-2008, 11:25 PM
Of coz, wanna try those XP drivers and will do it one of these days this week coz a little busy with work. Do you mean all the drivers don't work at all? Some sequence of drivers must be take note. What I usually do is install the Win Service Pack + hotfixes, Chipset, Graphics and then the rest. I've actually slipstream my XP SP2 with 90+ hotfixes. I've seen a lot of negative feedbacks abt SP3 so better dun upgrade it just yet. :s12:
After a successful installation of fresh OS + some basic apps such AV, office, java & etc, i use acronis to clone an image to avoid the hassle of redo everything from scratch which is kinda pain in the a**.
Out of 10, 8 r not working. those important like the enthernet driver, modem, audio, and display not working. Haven try install the window hotfix 1st, than install those drivers. Mine XP is just XP with SP2 only.
anyone faces msn disconnection problem?
LHM_BB01_Minerva
15-10-2008, 06:19 PM
I am using Y430 and successfully downgraded to XP,with working SATA controller drivers,however things that doesnt work in XP are : Dolby control center,some of the touch panel keys(like the play/pause) doesnt work properly,the play and pause button will force launch windows media player,other then this 2 issues,all other hardware works fine.
kennio77
15-10-2008, 06:35 PM
I am using Y430 and successfully downgraded to XP,with working SATA controller drivers,however things that doesnt work in XP are : Dolby control center,some of the touch panel keys(like the play/pause) doesnt work properly,the play and pause button will force launch windows media player,other then this 2 issues,all other hardware works fine.
What's the driver name of the SATA controller? Downloaded @ lenovo web?
LHM_BB01_Minerva
15-10-2008, 07:00 PM
What's the driver name of the SATA controller? Downloaded @ lenovo web?
No its not from the lenovo SG site,i forgot where i download it(took me days to search around lenovo china forums and lenovo english forums tho)
However i upload it here : http://www.uploading.com/files/OW7IM5AE/Lenovo_Y430_SATA_controller_drivers.rar.html
I used the USB floppy drive method to install this driver during XP setup,didnt test it with integration drivers into XP CD method,if you are using the USB floppy drive,make sure select the Intel(R) ICH9M-E/M SATA AHCI Controller from the list,before hand also make sure your Bios SATA settings is set to AHCI,not IDE.
kennio77
15-10-2008, 08:16 PM
No its not from the lenovo SG site,i forgot where i download it(took me days to search around lenovo china forums and lenovo english forums tho)
However i upload it here : http://www.uploading.com/files/OW7IM5AE/Lenovo_Y430_SATA_controller_drivers.rar.html
I used the USB floppy drive method to install this driver during XP setup,didnt test it with integration drivers into XP CD method,if you are using the USB floppy drive,make sure select the Intel(R) ICH9M-E/M SATA AHCI Controller from the list,before hand also make sure your Bios SATA settings is set to AHCI,not IDE.
thanks a lot, appreciated!
Aizen84
16-10-2008, 02:33 PM
The Link above is for us to go to there and download? erm, nth happen when i click on tat link even i have registered.
kennio77
16-10-2008, 11:17 PM
thanks a lot, appreciated!
I'm stuck at the modem and audio drivers. Execute the installer but got error. I read the README in extracted audio folder, it says "Please installl KB888111 packing 1st" Is it right?
kennio77
16-10-2008, 11:20 PM
The Link above is for us to go to there and download? erm, nth happen when i click on tat link even i have registered.
just click on the "Download for Free" button loh and wait for the countdown
LHM_BB01_Minerva
16-10-2008, 11:59 PM
I'm stuck at the modem and audio drivers. Execute the installer but got error. I read the README in extracted audio folder, it says "Please installl KB888111 packing 1st" Is it right?
Which modem/sound card driver you used?
kennio77
17-10-2008, 10:21 AM
Which modem/sound card driver you used?
sorry, i'm referring to Y430.
Sound = Conexant High Def SmartAudio 221 using downloaded driver from Lenovo, ConexantAudioDriver
Modem = Din copy the name but using downloaded driver from Lenovo, ConexantModemDriver
LHM_BB01_Minerva
17-10-2008, 11:08 PM
sorry, i'm referring to Y430.
Sound = Conexant High Def SmartAudio 221 using downloaded driver from Lenovo, ConexantAudioDriver
Modem = Din copy the name but using downloaded driver from Lenovo, ConexantModemDriver
Unzip the file using winrar instead of running the file into installer,you need to go control panel,hardware,device manager to *manually* install the driver from there,point the search folder to the folder where you just unzipped the exe file,this is how i install both the audio and modem driver,the files are correct,just that you cant install by running the normal installer.
kennio77
18-10-2008, 03:17 PM
Unzip the file using winrar instead of running the file into installer,you need to go control panel,hardware,device manager to *manually* install the driver from there,point the search folder to the folder where you just unzipped the exe file,this is how i install both the audio and modem driver,the files are correct,just that you cant install by running the normal installer.
ok, will try!!! At this point, guess everyone should have the option to downgrade to XP after going thru' quite a bit of trouble. Thanks everyone for sharing so much info. Oh yeah for those downgraded to XP, does the HDMI port work?
Anyone still barking at the redemp. ctr? Owe any laptop? Having a laptop without mobile brandband is a bit crippled. Am thinking of M1 or SingTel. My company blocks many webmails and forums so... Being an IT guy, of coz I agree with the policies but haizzz...
Am thinking of M1 or SingTel. My company blocks many webmails and forums so... Being an IT guy, of coz I agree with the policies but haizzz...
not sure about m1 but singtel got cap limit of 50G.
currently they have some price promotion. Free registration, free huawei modem.
kennio77
18-10-2008, 09:51 PM
not sure about m1 but singtel got cap limit of 50G.
currently they have some price promotion. Free registration, free huawei modem.
M1 is cheaper and unlimited but dunno whether it's becoz slower than singtel so offer cheaper and unlimited... :s13:
Aizen84
20-10-2008, 12:25 PM
ok, will try!!! At this point, guess everyone should have the option to downgrade to XP after going thru' quite a bit of trouble. Thanks everyone for sharing so much info. Oh yeah for those downgraded to XP, does the HDMI port work?
Anyone still barking at the redemp. ctr? Owe any laptop? Having a laptop without mobile brandband is a bit crippled. Am thinking of M1 or SingTel. My company blocks many webmails and forums so... Being an IT guy, of coz I agree with the policies but haizzz...
Yes is lots of trouble. I go down to service center to get it fix.
lukelim1988
20-10-2008, 04:49 PM
Hi can anyone tell me where can i go to upgrade G230 to 4gig ram and will it void my warranty if i replace the parts?
Hi, i nd help in this.. 1GB of ram is not enough.. :s11:
debbue96
20-10-2008, 05:15 PM
ya lor..not enough for me also
i upgrade also
Hi, i nd help in this.. 1GB of ram is not enough.. :s11:
its not enough.
i uninstalled the norton trial, office 2007 trial, and disabled some services.
then i installed trend micro antivirus.
tried running msn, antivirus scan, listening to mp3 (windows media player), surfing a few sites (a few windows)
guess what? it HANGED. Screen just froze.
So in the end i upgraded to 4G... and everything runs very smoothly already. No lag also.
Anyway i bought my two piece of 2G kingston ram at only $41 each (Bell System, SLS 5th floor).
For those still stuck with Vista, here's a tuneup guide.
http://www.vistax64.com/tutorials/70563-boot-up.html
lukelim1988
21-10-2008, 05:15 PM
its not enough.
i uninstalled the norton trial, office 2007 trial, and disabled some services.
then i installed trend micro antivirus.
tried running msn, antivirus scan, listening to mp3 (windows media player), surfing a few sites (a few windows)
guess what? it HANGED. Screen just froze.
So in the end i upgraded to 4G... and everything runs very smoothly already. No lag also.
Anyway i bought my two piece of 2G kingston ram at only $41 each (Bell System, SLS 5th floor).
For those still stuck with Vista, here's a tuneup guide.
http://www.vistax64.com/tutorials/70563-boot-up.html
thanks for ur info.. I jus nd another 2gb will. So, the total will 3GB. if i am not wrong.. if i bought from the shop, will they put the ram for my laptop?
you cannot make it 3G.
cos there is only 2 ram slot. and this lappy came with 2 x 512mb.
so if u can only do 2G + 512mb (originally), i rather u spent a little more to make it 4G.
lukelim1988
21-10-2008, 11:52 PM
you cannot make it 3G.
cos there is only 2 ram slot. and this lappy came with 2 x 512mb.
so if u can only do 2G + 512mb (originally), i rather u spent a little more to make it 4G.
ok thanks.. i will do it tml.. :s13:
ck0112
22-10-2008, 01:47 PM
Hi guys, just got my Y430 and is a great lappie..but can teach me how to off the low battery alarm..very loud le..thanks
should be the normal volume setting?
kennio77
25-10-2008, 09:49 PM
Yes is lots of trouble. I go down to service center to get it fix.
As i said previously that having a lappy outside without a mobile BB's crippled right, finally i've signed up m1 2mbps MBB. The speed's great, tested at speedtest.net, speed ranges from 1.7 to 2 mbps. Somemore m1 asked me to try its duo-sim trial for free, the duo-sim + MBB sim are free. If sign up only MBB, i've to pay for the MBB sim.
Will keep trying MBB at different areas and feedback. You do feedback too. Be it any operators.
super45
31-10-2008, 04:51 PM
Got my set of G230 today.Anyone interested in it? not used yet at all im letting it go....Pm me ur offers thanks :D
tingyuan
02-11-2008, 08:49 PM
How much u selling G230. What's spec
tingyuan
02-11-2008, 08:51 PM
singnet any more promotion?
anyone kind enough to help me? I got some problems with my g230 notebook cant even do a one key recovery now (got this bootmgr is missing error). Can anyone help me burn a recovery disc using your g230? Am willing to pay u a small fee. Thanks!
problem solved. i managed to find a spare vista biz license and install that version instead.
just for everyone's knowledge...
once u repartition your drive on lenovo laptop, usually the factory partition to do recovery will be useless.
so if u had not burnt your recovery disc, faster do so now, dun end up like me.
stevenluhh
08-11-2008, 01:47 AM
How long does the battery last? Getting one from Singnet user.
jontan
08-11-2008, 04:02 PM
how to burn recovery CD?
How long does the battery last? Getting one from Singnet user.
about 3 hours at least. depending on your usage.
how to burn recovery CD?
its under Lenovo OneKey recovery. First u will do a backup (the whole of C) using the backup feature. Then u go to the recovery disc option to burn the recovery disc based on your backup earlier. You will need 2 DVD (at least for me) for this. CD wise... u might need more then 5!
divasion
10-11-2008, 10:33 PM
err.when u on or off ur charger,does ur laptop gives out a loud sound?
yes. a beep sound.
stevenluhh
11-11-2008, 09:41 PM
When I switch on bluetooth, it will always prompt me to install the driver for bluetooth device even though if I cancel it, bluetooth still works. I downloaded the driver from Lenovo website but still getting the same prompt and bluetooth still works. Just very bothering whenever switch on bluetooth. Anyone can got this problem or know how to solve?
the drivers is preinstalled already mah why u installed again? try uninstall and install again? or go to device manager and see if theres any exclaimation mark?
stevenluhh
09-12-2008, 08:34 PM
I tried to burn recovery disc after I had created a recovery image in d:. But I had the error 0xE0DD001F and could not create the recovery disc. Anyone encounter this? I believe all Lenovo users who are using it are facing the same problem?
Kegler
21-03-2009, 12:34 PM
my wireless suddenly cannot turn on :(
Kegler
20-04-2009, 12:49 AM
anyone know why after downgrade to xp my hdd only 140gb? suppose to have another 100gb..... during installation of xp i can't see the other d drive as well
help help!
debbue96
17-05-2009, 08:21 PM
Finally my G230 went silent off! So lucky as its still within the waranty period..got an exchange of the motherboard!
Hopefully can last me another year.
sumcp
18-05-2009, 11:56 PM
HI,
I hv just got the Lenovo G230 from Harvey Norman. AFter some trying I hv finally managed to have dual boot on the laptop to Vista & XP. I would like to share the procedure as follows:
1) Boot up to Vista Premium during initial start
2) Shrink the exisitng C drive to allocate for XP Installation.
3) Do a Onekey Recovery Backup on existing setup
4) Unhide EISA Partition (change file type =07)
5) Now you have hidden partition where you can either keep it or delete the whole partition.
6) For me I del the entire service partition. But before that make sure you do a factory backup of all the files inside this partition just in case.
7) Make HDD to have only 2 primary partitions. (Just a suggestion, you can retain the Service partition if you wish to. As for me, I deleted it)
8) DOwnload all XP necessary drivers from Lenovo website
9) Reboot laptop
10) Change BIOS setting to Non-AHCI
11) Get ready a WIn XP CD and boot to it.
12) Start nstallng XP
13) When XP installation is done, add the ACHI driver to the Device manager. You will need to have the ICH9M driver so tht you can boot to it. Add all relevant drivers also.
14) Reboot laptop
15) Change BIOS setting to AHCI
16) Boot to XP again and Window will boot without BSOD
17) Get a Vista Recovery DIsc
18) Boot the Vista Recovery so that you can now boot to Vista
19) Install EasyBCD
20) Add a entry for WIndows XP (remember to add ntldr & ntdetect to C drive)
21) Reboot system and now you have 2 OS running in the system.
Disclaimer: Pls do a thorough study before trying and try it your own risk.
You can searh online for more information on dual boot Vista & XP.
Regards,
Sum
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.