PDA

View Full Version : WD Caviar® Black™

silverstone
19-09-2008, 11:42 PM
WD caviar black has got new capacity liao... 640GB n 500GB.

http://www.wdc.com/en/products/products.asp?driveid=551

just to check with u guys, r these 2 version of HDD selling in SLS/or rather is da caviar black selling in sls :s11:

GegeV2
19-09-2008, 11:49 PM
Potterhouse got le...

SLS should have.

Go for the WD 1TB Black...=D

silverstone
19-09-2008, 11:56 PM
hmm i see... prefer to buy 640GB if sls have it though. cause 1TB is too big sia, imagine 2/3 yrs later HDD up lorry, 1TB of data gone...

GegeV2
20-09-2008, 12:01 AM
Potterhouse got 750GB...have stocks....might wanna check it out

silverstone
20-09-2008, 12:03 AM
i see... i just browse thru potterhouse nia, saw it liao.

thanks for da info though. :)

n0d3
20-09-2008, 11:54 AM
http://www.storagereview.com/php/benchmark/suite_v4.php?typeID=10&testbedID=4&osID=6&raidconfigID=1&numDrives=1&devID_0=368&devID_1=361&devCnt=2

Samsung F1 1TB vs Caviar Black 1TB.

persentio
20-09-2008, 10:26 PM
Excellent! I was going to get the 750GB but it seems the 500GB model also has a huge 32MB cache! Definitely will get the 500GB or 640GB.

silverstone
26-09-2008, 12:49 AM
small update: as of now, sls still dun have caviar black for all capacity. Caviar Blue (640GB) also OOS on all common shops like PC themes, Bell, etc...

Gattberserk
26-09-2008, 01:24 AM
Look like WD Caviar Black is the best alternate choice beside WD VR150 for performance...

The VR are way too expensive given the amount of capacity its has...

persentio
26-09-2008, 07:25 AM
small update: as of now, sls still dun have caviar black for all capacity. Caviar Blue (640GB) also OOS on all common shops like PC themes, Bell, etc...
Yeah that kind of sucks. I personally emailed Achieva Tech (the listed distributor for WD) and they said that they have no plans to bring in the new Caviar Black 640GB and 500GB models unless they see a demand for it in the market.

So... How do we create that demand? Post a poll here? :D

SNAG
26-09-2008, 11:17 AM
So between this and the good old 640AAKS, which is better?

persentio
26-09-2008, 01:41 PM
From all the reviews WD has linked on their product page, the Caviar Black outperforms the AAKS overall. But only just slightly.

Mann
26-09-2008, 04:01 PM
Yeah that kind of sucks. I personally emailed Achieva Tech (the listed distributor for WD) and they said that they have no plans to bring in the new Caviar Black 640GB and 500GB models unless they see a demand for it in the market.

get more people to buy the 1 TB perhaps. ;)

persentio
27-09-2008, 12:25 PM
If more people buy the 1TB drives , they would just bring in more 1TBs. I think a poll would be a good place to start. Also I still see alot of shops stocking the Green Power in favour of the Caviar Blacks.

gutlink28
27-09-2008, 03:09 PM
In case you all did not notice, Fuwell is selling the black edition now @ 225.

Download the pricelist from HWZ.

Mann
27-09-2008, 04:19 PM
If more people buy the 1TB drives , they would just bring in more 1TBs. I think a poll would be a good place to start. Also I still see alot of shops stocking the Green Power in favour of the Caviar Blacks.

if more people buy the 1 TB,at least the distributor knows there's a demand for black edition and most probably they will bring in other model too :)

bell selling $208 now

silverstone
27-09-2008, 06:26 PM

wah... like that sian half liao la... :( i was hopping da black 640GB would reach our shore...

Chan_ryu
27-09-2008, 09:25 PM
is WD Black enterprise class? 24X7?

Whizinit
28-09-2008, 12:04 AM
is WD Black enterprise class? 24X7?

No it is not.

But it does come with the 5 year warranty that enterprise models offer. Perhaps there is some confidence in the reliability due to the new contactless feature of the heads?

persentio
28-09-2008, 08:25 AM
The enterprise class equivalent of the Caviar Blacks are the RE3 models

ckling
28-09-2008, 10:08 AM
No it is not.

But it does come with the 5 year warranty that enterprise models offer. Perhaps there is some confidence in the reliability due to the new contactless feature of the heads?

the warranty same with my 640aaks, i check online the warranty is 3 yrs only...then got the warranty card said is 5 yrs.

tUx
28-09-2008, 12:13 PM
PC Themes has the WD Caviar Black 1TB too. :)

Mann
28-09-2008, 01:48 PM
PC Themes has the WD Caviar Black 1TB too. :)

yep but $218

silverstone
28-09-2008, 07:43 PM
yep but $218

hmm ok wat, not that bad... potterhouse sellin for $228.

Uramasa
30-09-2008, 08:00 PM
which one good to buy for now?
the 640GB $118,
the 1TB $208,

extra $90 for 360GB?
might as well buy 2x 640GB?

GegeV2
30-09-2008, 08:51 PM
Just get the 1TB...

Raid 2x 640GB...if 1 fails then GG le...although have higher speed.

persentio
01-10-2008, 12:27 AM
which one good to buy for now?
the 640GB $118,
the 1TB $208,

extra $90 for 360GB?
might as well buy 2x 640GB?
Hi Uramasa,

Sorry but where did you see the 640GB caviar blacks?

Uramasa
01-10-2008, 01:50 AM
^ it isn't black edition,
blue I think, the normal 640GB.

adrianlee
03-10-2008, 12:43 PM

Ok. I demand one piece Caviar Black 640GB now :s13:
Anybody else want to add to the demand :D

silverstone
03-10-2008, 02:02 PM
yeah man, i also want da black 640GB sia... dun wish to buy such a big capacity HDD for storage...

feels insecure... :D

adrianlee
03-10-2008, 02:13 PM
yeah man, i also want da black 640GB sia... dun wish to buy such a big capacity HDD for storage...

feels insecure... :D
Don't worry lah
I just hooted a 1TB :D

silverstone
03-10-2008, 03:09 PM
Don't worry lah
I just hooted a 1TB :D

i see... :D so which 1 u bought ? caviar black ? if yes how much u got it ?

persentio
03-10-2008, 04:22 PM
640GB or 500GB models seem to have equal performance as the 1TB and 750GB. I also don't need so much storage space so wouldn't want to waste money as well as unused space. The new 500GB or 640GB models will be perfect.

silverstone
03-10-2008, 04:40 PM
640GB or 500GB models seem to have equal performance as the 1TB and 750GB. I also don't need so much storage space so wouldn't want to waste money as well as unused space. The new 500GB or 640GB models will be perfect.

ya lor, 640GB is da sweet spot for me... too bad SG not selling it. :(

TonyLee
03-10-2008, 06:29 PM
Black 1TB so EX! Seagate 1TB oledi less than $200. expect price for Seagate to drop further cos they seem to be dominating the external disk market. the cheap Seagate drives are boosting their FreeAgent casings which seem to bring better margins for Seagate.

unless WD and Samsung boost their market share, Seagate will dominate the desktop drives for internal and external. Fujitsu oledi surrender their HDD manufacturing as market share too small to penetrate into new revenue streams like external desktop, home storage, consoles etc.

GegeV2
03-10-2008, 09:00 PM
Fujitsu sell to who? Not Seagate...but WD instead.

The WD and Samsung F1 are the 2 top performace 1TB HDD.... how to compare to Seagate?

Obviously price difference means a reason rite?

xboxer
03-10-2008, 09:09 PM
Black 1TB so EX! Seagate 1TB oledi less than $200. expect price for Seagate to drop further cos they seem to be dominating the external disk market. the cheap Seagate drives are boosting their FreeAgent casings which seem to bring better margins for Seagate.

unless WD and Samsung boost their market share, Seagate will dominate the desktop drives for internal and external. Fujitsu oledi surrender their HDD manufacturing as market share too small to penetrate into new revenue streams like external desktop, home storage, consoles etc.

FYI, PC Themes selling the WD 1TB Black edition for $205. I will take this over a Seagate ANYTIME!

silverstone
03-10-2008, 09:27 PM
hmm caviar black 1TB selling for $205?

wah... hard to decide whether to buy 750GB or 1TB sia... since 640GB wont be in SG...

ABuNeNe
04-10-2008, 01:46 PM
Anyone who got the WD 1TB Black can confirm at WD website it's 5 yrs warranty?

TonyLee
04-10-2008, 01:52 PM
they r all 1TB anyway, all 32MB cache, SATA2, 72k rpm, we r not counting a few MBs more r we? obviously, Seagate's cheaper price oledi outperform WD and Samsung. too bad nobody talking abt Hitachi drives, maybe their price not the talking point.

GegeV2
04-10-2008, 02:02 PM
they r all 1TB anyway, all 32MB cache, SATA2, 72k rpm, we r not counting a few MBs more r we? obviously, Seagate's cheaper price oledi outperform WD and Samsung. too bad nobody talking abt Hitachi drives, maybe their price not the talking point.

Yes, price only, anything else?

persentio
04-10-2008, 03:12 PM
The Seagate drives really outperform the Spinpoint F1s and Caviar Blacks meh? As far as I know the Spinpoint F1s were the fastest, best 7200 rpm drives before the Caviar Blacks came along.

Sometimes it's also down to the branding I guess... I like WD. :D

silverstone
04-10-2008, 03:30 PM
erm... is SG/SLS selling da caviar black 750GB anot ah ?

TonyLee
04-10-2008, 03:43 PM
since F1 and Black state they are same 7200rpm speed as Seagate, they r no faster than Seagate. unless they can overspin to 10,000rpm, then different story. unfortunately neither F1 nor Black still can price perform Seagate.

GegeV2
04-10-2008, 03:52 PM
since F1 and Black state they are same 7200rpm speed as Seagate, they r no faster than Seagate. unless they can overspin to 10,000rpm, then different story. unfortunately neither F1 nor Black still can price perform Seagate.

http://media.bestofmicro.com/V/Y/157966/original/streaming-read-performance.png

http://media.bestofmicro.com/W/0/157968/original/streaming-read-power.png

Just some examples...

Webbyboy
05-10-2008, 04:56 PM

seagate fanboy spotted :s22::s22:

persentio
05-10-2008, 05:25 PM
PLEASE VOTE TO BRING IN THE 500GB / 640GB Caviar Blacks HERE: http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showthread.php?t=2114576

silverstone
05-10-2008, 05:35 PM
haiz... even if we vote, dun think WD distro will bring in that 2 model rite ?

persentio
05-10-2008, 05:53 PM
Well they said they will consider if they see a demand... Not sure how probable is that but you never know till you try mah?

silverstone
05-10-2008, 06:01 PM
i see... but i wait until very sian sia, maybe i will just buy da 750GB 1 ba...

but anyway, i still support to have this 2 models in SG.

silverstone
07-10-2008, 12:46 AM
haiz... wait until i sian... today went down to sls to buy da caviar black 750GB @ pc themes.

silverstone
09-10-2008, 01:07 AM
Anyone who got the WD 1TB Black can confirm at WD website it's 5 yrs warranty?

hmmm i bought da caviar black 750GB, but according to WD website, its 3 yrs warranty only.

anyone has any ideas as to why wd website show only 3 yrs instead of 5 yrs ?

HeCToR
09-10-2008, 12:31 PM
hmmmm potterhouse got bring in black 640gb leh 155 with 5 years warranty hmm

Rapt0r
09-10-2008, 09:06 PM
hmmmm potterhouse got bring in black 640gb leh 155 with 5 years warranty hmm

But problem is warranty from who?

silverstone
09-10-2008, 09:35 PM
wah... potterhouse sellin caviar black 640GB for $155 ah, like that might as well get da caviar black 750GB.

its more worth it lor...

persentio
09-10-2008, 09:48 PM
But problem is warranty from who?
Achieva Technology which is the only local distributor for WD at present.

silverstone
24-10-2008, 01:25 AM
hmmm i bought da caviar black 750GB, but according to WD website, its 3 yrs warranty only.

anyone has any ideas as to why wd website show only 3 yrs instead of 5 yrs ?

hmm have to up my thread, cause got a enquiry...

any idea why my caviar black 750GB was stated as 3 yrs warranty at WD website?

xboxer
24-10-2008, 01:46 AM
hmm have to up my thread, cause got a enquiry...

any idea why my caviar black 750GB was stated as 3 yrs warranty at WD website?

As long as it is by Achieva is 5 years. But you go check the WD website with your serial number only 3 years will show.

adrianlee
24-10-2008, 04:05 PM
wah... potterhouse sellin caviar black 640GB for $155 ah, like that might as well get da caviar black 750GB.

its more worth it lor...
PC Themes selling caviar black 640GB for $139

silverstone
24-10-2008, 05:29 PM
As long as it is by Achieva is 5 years. But you go check the WD website with your serial number only 3 years will show.

oh ok then, thanks for clarifying. ;)

silverstone
24-10-2008, 05:31 PM
PC Themes selling caviar black 640GB for $139

haha... still think 750GB is more worth it man... :D

adrianlee
25-10-2008, 03:49 PM
haha... still think 750GB is more worth it man... :D

Why 750GB is more worth it man... :s11:

silverstone
25-10-2008, 04:00 PM
black 640gb is selling for like 138, then 750gb is around 168... for 30 bucks more, u get another 110gb...

no?

sentimental_kills
25-10-2008, 04:05 PM
black 640gb is selling for like 138, then 750gb is around 168... for 30 bucks more, u get another 110gb...

no?

hmm, from the price u quoted (i lazy go check pricelist), 640GB black is cheaper leh, counting price/GB

IMO, for WD hard disks, the lowest price/GB ratio is the 640GB capacity..

silverstone
25-10-2008, 04:09 PM
hmm, from the price u quoted (i lazy go check pricelist), 640GB black is cheaper leh, counting price/GB

IMO, for WD hard disks, the lowest price/GB ratio is the 640GB capacity..

hmm if want to count da price/GB ratio, both 640gb n 750 is abt da same ma...

no? :s11:

skweam
25-10-2008, 08:32 PM

no?
lol u like that say. might as well continue add another 30 @ 198 for 1tb get another 250gb for 30 bucks =/

make no sense dude.

silverstone
25-10-2008, 08:46 PM
lol u like that say. might as well continue add another 30 @ 198 for 1tb get another 250gb for 30 bucks =/

make no sense dude.

haha:s13: i know 1TB is more worth it, but then some pple dun need such a big capacity HDD ma, just like me... :D

Sen
26-10-2008, 11:27 AM
http://pinkjp520.myweb.hinet.net/AALS01.JPG

http://pinkjp520.myweb.hinet.net/AALS02.JPG

WD6400AALS aka Black edition 640GB
http://www.pcdvd.com.tw/showthread.php?t=819530

PC
27-10-2008, 12:38 PM
How come my max transfer speed is only at 106.6mb/s? On both Intel ICH8 and the jmicron ports.

duckling
27-10-2008, 02:21 PM

no?

640GB @ $138 = $0.216 per GB

750GB @ $168 = $0.224 per GB

1TB @ $219 = $0.219 per GB

Seems like 1TB pricing looks good.

silverstone
27-10-2008, 03:04 PM
640GB @ $138 = $0.216 per GB

750GB @ $168 = $0.224 per GB

1TB @ $219 = $0.219 per GB

Seems like 1TB pricing looks good.

yeah, price/gb ratio between 640 n 750 is little, so adding 30 bucks more for 110gb is ok for me.

of course 1TB pricing will be more attractive, but i dun need 1TB. :)

goenitz33
27-10-2008, 03:21 PM
the more u have the better.

there was once i said my Raptor 300GB + WD 160GB is enough

now its overflow le -_-

silverstone
27-10-2008, 04:19 PM
the more u have the better.

there was once i said my Raptor 300GB + WD 160GB is enough

now its overflow le -_-

haha... more is better, scarly 1TB HDD up lorry, u will cry man...

adrianlee
27-10-2008, 06:05 PM
yeah, price/gb ratio between 640 n 750 is little, so adding 30 bucks more for 110gb is ok for me.

of course 1TB pricing will be more attractive, but i dun need 1TB. :)
Best bang for the buck is the 640GB :D
Your 750GB got how many platters?

silverstone
27-10-2008, 06:32 PM
Best bang for the buck is the 640GB :D
Your 750GB got how many platters?

hmm n00b here, how to know my 750 how many platters ?

adrianlee
27-10-2008, 06:40 PM
hmm n00b here, how to know my 750 how many platters ?
Open it up and see lor. Just kidding :s13::s13:

silverstone
27-10-2008, 06:47 PM
:s13: but seriously, how do i know ah? thru HDD tune can anot ?

ktee
27-10-2008, 09:42 PM
Did a comparison of 640Black with my 3 HDD:

It seems 640black is fast than my 500gb. & definitely faster than my Seagate 250.

However, certainly, all lose to 150gb velociraptor. :D

http://i35.tinypic.com/33mofp5.jpg

I want to get another HDD to capture video from my collection of DV tapes. What to recommend? 1 TB seems good but ex. How?

adrianlee
28-10-2008, 01:59 PM
:s13: but seriously, how do i know ah? thru HDD tune can anot ?
No idea. If 750GB is 3 platters it may be slower than 640GB

I want to get another HDD to capture video from my collection of DV tapes. What to recommend? 1 TB seems good but ex. How?
I am trying to find a comparision between 640GB black vs blue :D
No body can tell you which size to buy. You have to make a decision based on your requirements

SolarBurn
28-10-2008, 03:26 PM
dam... why black 1tb $219 =(

persentio
28-10-2008, 03:54 PM
I am trying to find a comparision between 640GB black vs blue :D
http://techreport.com/articles.x/15363/1

I don't think anyone will test the 640GB version of the Black yet, but this report tests the 1TB Black against other drives including a 640GB SE16 (Essentially the Blue version)

silverstone
29-10-2008, 12:30 AM
No idea. If 750GB is 3 platters it may be slower than 640GB

hmm judging from WD website, it seems that da 750gb is using 3 platters leh...

stussyking
21-12-2008, 10:56 PM
any price updates ?

silverstone
22-12-2008, 01:22 AM
any price updates ?

taken from pc themes as of 20 dec, black 500GB is $103, black 640 is $133, black 750GB is $165 n black 1TB is $198.

stussyking
29-12-2008, 08:36 PM
is this the second fastest random seek drive(consumer/sata drive/platter) in the market , second to Raptor 300gb of course .