PDA

View Full Version : Solar Film

meijiaks009
22-09-2008, 02:14 AM
hi bros,

i was offered rikecool clarity solar film as a freebie by my SE

is it good enough as i heard it will cause distortion ..

or shd i reject it and get cash discount instead?

thks for ur advice

EJB
22-09-2008, 09:47 AM
Good enough, else you can try telling your SE you want to pay slightly more and topup for a v-kool.

ksoze33
22-09-2008, 01:05 PM
cheapest solar films can be installed at $120

ralfale
22-09-2008, 01:21 PM
Does standard solar film installation includes the 4 side window, front windscreen and the back screen?

I was offered free solar film as part of the package also but forget to ask the details.

EJB
22-09-2008, 01:47 PM
Normally is the full 6 windows.

valeon
22-09-2008, 01:56 PM
Nowadays the weather is sibey hot, install solar film is better even though it is still hot but it helps a bit.

ralfale
22-09-2008, 05:00 PM
Normally is the full 6 windows.

Great thanks for the confirmation!

meijiaks009
22-09-2008, 05:04 PM
so the small windows at the side mirrors won be solar filmed?

tk
22-09-2008, 05:10 PM
so the small windows at the side mirrors won be solar filmed?

Solar films put on windows lah... not the mirrors =:p

Another good reason to put solar film is that it helps to hold the glass in place, making it more "shatter-resistant" in the event of an accident.. it'll still break, but not as likely to shatter into a thousand pieces.. ;)

EJB
22-09-2008, 05:11 PM
Huh... why'd you want to do that? Side mirrors solar filmed?

meijiaks009
22-09-2008, 06:56 PM
not the side mirrors, but the little windows beside the side mirrors. Some cars have it.

Antz621
22-09-2008, 10:17 PM
hi bros,

i was offered rikecool clarity solar film as a freebie by my SE

is it good enough as i heard it will cause distortion ..

or shd i reject it and get cash discount instead?

thks for ur advice

OT a bit... You were biohing the Stream and Civic. So which did you chose this time? :)

meijiaks009
22-09-2008, 10:37 PM
OT a bit... You were biohing the Stream and Civic. So which did you chose this time? :)

hello antz bro

nice to know u still rem our little discussion quite some time back

shd be 99% getting the FD1A

just that dun know if the SE really giving me a good deal :)

lostsoulz
22-09-2008, 10:40 PM
i would choose cash discount :D

Antz621
22-09-2008, 10:46 PM
hello antz bro

nice to know u still rem our little discussion quite some time back

shd be 99% getting the FD1A

just that dun know if the SE really giving me a good deal :)

Yup sure remember! Steady.

The 1.8 Civic? Yup nice car. Was my first choice 2 years ago but decided to settle down with "someone" else :s13:

What deal you having other than the solar film?

meijiaks009
22-09-2008, 10:54 PM
Yup sure remember! Steady.

The 1.8 Civic? Yup nice car. Was my first choice 2 years ago but decided to settle down with "someone" else :s13:

What deal you having other than the solar film?

replica mugen visor & no brand car mat & 1.5k for discount or accessories purchase

shd i ask for more helpings? :s11::s11:

Antz621
23-09-2008, 12:22 AM
replica mugen visor & no brand car mat & 1.5k for discount or accessories purchase

shd i ask for more helpings? :s11::s11:

You went for high or low loans?!

You will be entitled to cash back is it? You took up the cash back high interest bank loan package?

meijiaks009
23-09-2008, 12:29 AM
will be taking 5 to 7 yrs
thinkg of paying at least 20% deposit
interest rate at 2.2

Antz621
23-09-2008, 12:27 PM
will be taking 5 to 7 yrs
thinkg of paying at least 20% deposit
interest rate at 2.2

Ic. Average loan amount... And only entitled to a solar film?!?!

meijiaks009
24-09-2008, 12:16 AM

refer to post #16

maomao82
15-11-2008, 09:00 AM

if loan 40k 7yrs should have wat freebies @ least?

Btw TS: yr new ride comes wif wat Solar flim now?

meijiaks009
15-11-2008, 09:03 AM
if loan 40k 7yrs should have wat freebies @ least?

Btw TS: yr new ride comes wif wat Solar flim now?

was offered rikecool clarity at 1st

but heard no good (not sure true or not)

then "bargain" abit more & the SE offered me nanolux primax

but got to drive ur ride to the shop to get it installed urself unlike

rikecool, where KM will install for u

devilcup
15-11-2008, 09:14 AM
was offered rikecool clarity at 1st

but heard no good (not sure true or not)

then "bargain" abit more & the SE offered me nanolux primax

but got to drive ur ride to the shop to get it installed urself unlike

rikecool, where KM will install for u
my fren got free 3m solar film from BM, it is good!

my pica solar looks weak, under sun i can feel IR heating me, my fren one not very pain..

those IR rejection more than 50-70% should be good!

gllim_99
12-10-2009, 10:40 AM
There is this requirement to display the ‘probation’ plate for new class 3 (motor car) drivers, driving within the probation period.
After the probation period, how do I remove these probation plates - will the solar film on the windscreen be damaged when I peel off these probation plates?
Thanks.

Flexamoria
12-10-2009, 11:51 AM
Prefer V-kool

matchy
12-10-2009, 12:17 PM
Prefer V-kool

yah Vkool is the better choice~!

marklim
12-10-2009, 01:01 PM
Got a 3M one, no regrets so far...it's defintiely cheaper than vkool for the same quality.

Rike-cool quality is not controlled, the owners just bring in the films and brand it under that. They tie up with almost every distributer because the margins are low. Not saying the product is bad, just against the branded ones, there will be a difference.

matchy
12-10-2009, 01:17 PM
Got a 3M one, no regrets so far...it's defintiely cheaper than vkool for the same quality.

Rike-cool quality is not controlled, the owners just bring in the films and brand it under that. They tie up with almost every distributer because the margins are low. Not saying the product is bad, just against the branded ones, there will be a difference.

3M good meh???

marklim
14-10-2009, 11:05 AM
No problems, So far, my office parking is open space under the sun type, when I entered my car everyday during noon, the interiors are not too hot to the touch just the air. The heat is also not that kinda of biting-heat.

Hey's it's 3M, don't see anyone complaining about that brand much...for V-kool, can't say for the higher ends ones that could cost you 1,800 just to cover your whole car. It's just not econoomical.

weng
14-10-2009, 10:48 PM
3M good meh???
got what from 3M is not good one?

weng
14-10-2009, 10:48 PM
No problems, So far, my office parking is open space under the sun type, when I entered my car everyday during noon, the interiors are not too hot to the touch just the air. The heat is also not that kinda of biting-heat.

Hey's it's 3M, don't see anyone complaining about that brand much...for V-kool, can't say for the higher ends ones that could cost you 1,800 just to cover your whole car. It's just not econoomical.
won't be 1.8k la... top grade abt 900+ after discount. huper abt 700+. 3M should be abt there too.

vodaboy
15-10-2009, 10:24 AM
I've a friend who's on 3M and he says it sucks. Sorry but doesn't mean 3M brand means good. 3M specialises in adhesives all that stuff and not on solar film. I won't be surprised if their solar films are made by others and they just put their branding on them only.

meijiaks009
15-10-2009, 06:33 PM
I've a friend who's on 3M and he says it sucks. Sorry but doesn't mean 3M brand means good. 3M specialises in adhesives all that stuff and not on solar film. I won't be surprised if their solar films are made by others and they just put their branding on them only.

did u friend comment on 3M grooming stuff?

weng
16-10-2009, 12:03 AM
i've no idea on ur friend's situation but just some queries... on what basis did ur friend conclude it sucks? did he compare with other makes? or is it just his own expectations?

CNGpicnic
16-10-2009, 06:56 AM
My previous car was using customised V-kool solar film (not the packaged ones).
Cost was $1.4K, but after AD SE give rebate and V-kool discounts, I paid $900.
V-kool no problem.

Current car on 3M. The initial layer of film installed by BMS.
I added on a darker layer for rear windows, paid $400.
3M no problem.

vodaboy
16-10-2009, 11:12 AM
i've no idea on ur friend's situation but just some queries... on what basis did ur friend conclude it sucks? did he compare with other makes? or is it just his own expectations?
He has 2 cars both using different brands, and comparing both he said he felt the car with the 3M one doesn't reject heat as well. It's fine if you are very happy with 3M films or for that matter if you think ALL 3M products are fantastic, you can share your opinion just as I can share my own :) Perhaps the 3M films he got is of the basic entry level spec ones I didn't probe. No doubt 3M is a big and recognised brand, but to say their products are good based on just that is hardly accurate :)

did u friend comment on 3M grooming stuff?
Hmm? I was only referring to 3M solar films, I didn't say my friend also tried the grooming range?

TaZ_MaN
16-10-2009, 04:13 PM
Heard vkool got reflective surface that interferes with GPS signals.
Not sure whether this is true.

Mine is 3M too. So far so good. 8-months now. No problem so far.

meijiaks009
16-10-2009, 04:44 PM
He has 2 cars both using different brands, and comparing both he said he felt the car with the 3M one doesn't reject heat as well. It's fine if you are very happy with 3M films or for that matter if you think ALL 3M products are fantastic, you can share your opinion just as I can share my own :) Perhaps the 3M films he got is of the basic entry level spec ones I didn't probe. No doubt 3M is a big and recognised brand, but to say their products are good based on just that is hardly accurate :)

Hmm? I was only referring to 3M solar films, I didn't say my friend also tried the grooming range?

understood wat u had posted earlier

but am wondering do ur friend aso happened to use 3M grooming stuff & any comments from him as well :)

vodaboy
16-10-2009, 08:59 PM
Orh... so far none of my car owner friends use 3M grooming though. I think somewhat a lot of people still believe that Meguairs or Autogylm are preferred choice, I think many mobile groomers using these 2 brands.

Flexamoria
16-10-2009, 11:06 PM
Meguire, autoglym are over rated..in autogeek theres lots of other good stuff to try

weng
16-10-2009, 11:22 PM

haha dun get me wrong. i asked "got what from 3M is not good one" is not straight imply all 3M are definitely "fantastic", although i am on the notion that they are at least above average for most, if not all their products. after all, they have established themselves for over a century.

btw i'm on v-kool :D

fucini
27-10-2009, 10:04 PM
There is this requirement to display the ‘probation’ plate for new class 3 (motor car) drivers, driving within the probation period.
After the probation period, how do I remove these probation plates - will the solar film on the windscreen be damaged when I peel off these probation plates?
Thanks.

i have same question like gllim also ... will the solar film on the windscreen b damaged when we peel off those P-plates?

kebinu
27-10-2009, 10:17 PM
there may be some stain left on the film.

fucini
27-10-2009, 10:20 PM
in that case, wat r the alternative ways to hang those P-plates in the car with solar film installed?

straweffigy
27-10-2009, 10:29 PM
improvise.. use blue tack or something that will do less damage. the sticker provided on the p plate itself is going to dmg any type of solar film probably. so i'd just use blue tack or something not as sticky and more manageable and leave the original sticker on the p plate unused.

for e.g my neighbour's convertible have 3 p plates. one infront, one behind, last one is behind the headrest of driver's seat (in use when roof is removed)

tk
28-10-2009, 01:47 PM
i have same question like gllim also ... will the solar film on the windscreen b damaged when we peel off those P-plates?

i peeled off the P-Plate on my car before.. solar film no damaged.. but no guarantee yours won't be damaged too.. :s13: