PDA

View Full Version : Anyone heard of MSIG Insurance?

tinsel77
22-09-2008, 06:06 PM
anyone heard of MSIG Insurance? Care to comment?

thanks in advance!

zhiz22
22-09-2008, 06:25 PM
One of the general insurers around. Its usually one of the partners that IFA works with. I believe they also work with banks and direct telemarketing to sell PA plans.

tinsel77
22-09-2008, 06:37 PM
One of the general insurers around. Its usually one of the partners that IFA works with. I believe they also work with banks and direct telemarketing to sell PA plans.

i see. What is a general insurer? Are they good compare with other non-general? I believe non-general refers to Prudential, GE, NTUC etc. right? What is the specific name for these insurers?

redname
22-09-2008, 08:37 PM
i see. What is a general insurer? Are they good compare with other non-general? I believe non-general refers to Prudential, GE, NTUC etc. right? What is the specific name for these insurers?

no lah, general insurer means they do general insurance, things like car, fire, insurance etc...

those company like prudential, GE, NTUC does life insurance where the insurance is on the insured's life

zhiz22
22-09-2008, 11:55 PM
General insurance mainly deals with travel, maid, home, business, personal accident, motor, fire insurance etc

redname
23-09-2008, 12:09 AM
General insurance mainly deals with travel, maid, home, business, personal accident, motor, fire insurance etc

personal accident not under life insurance meh?

zhiz22
23-09-2008, 12:18 AM
Usually the general insurance offer much better PA products than life insurers. Hence very seldom IFA add PA riders to life insurance. Usually stand alone PA, cheaper and more features. Comparatively, there is no fight at all lah. Even by PA defination already win :)

rbkohdc
23-09-2008, 03:10 AM
personal accident not under life insurance meh?

Personal accident is classified as personal general insurance.

redname
23-09-2008, 09:40 AM
Usually the general insurance offer much better PA products than life insurers. Hence very seldom IFA add PA riders to life insurance. Usually stand alone PA, cheaper and more features. Comparatively, there is no fight at all lah. Even by PA defination already win :)

huh? so you mean under life insurance, PA must be rider?

dnt tink so leh, my PA plan is stand alone.

or am i reading you wrgly?

idrinkecoke
23-09-2008, 10:23 AM
PA can be standalone as well as rider. but standalone plan's coverage is better

icyspawn
23-09-2008, 10:38 AM
MSIG is formerly known as Aviva General insurance

General insurance is broadly split into 2 types, personal and commercial.

Personal GI include: motor, PA, travel etc
Commercial GI include: workmen's comp, fire etc

kele low
26-08-2009, 11:45 AM
Agents do general and life insurance.

agents may have several or 1 companies

agents can have both general and life licenses

PA products, from my point of view is almost the same throughout singapore. i have never seen a really outstanding PA product. i have only seen good and ethical agents around...