View Full Version : Compaq Presario CQ Series Thread
MrJacky
29-09-2008, 11:53 AM
The new Compaq Presario CQ series is the newest addition to the Presario line.
HP has decided to include dedicated graphics into their Presario laptops again, and I think the series should deserve a thread of its own.
Owners of the CQ series do share with us:
Where you bought your laptop
How much you bought it for
User experience with the laptop
Non-owners can also share where it is on display and where to get a good deal.
I have seen the CQ20, CQ40 and CQ45 and CQ45 remains the best.
CQ20 is quite compact in size (similar to the HP Pavilion tx2000) but the touchpad buttons can be quite awkward to use as it presses down on one side as opposed to the whole button pressing down. CQ40 and CQ45 doesn't have this feature.
The CQ40 is quite similar to the CQ45 except that the specs are much lesser. On some of the models QuickPlay doesn't seems to be available, and there aren't many Quick Launch buttons. Some of the models come with integrated graphics.
The CQ45 is still the best. It has the specs that a normal user will need, and the prices I have seen for this laptop has never exceeded $2000 (always around $1800 range).
I have seen them on display at Harvey Norman and Challenger, both at Funan.
Y_Shun
29-09-2008, 12:32 PM
The CQ series looks soooooooooooooooo similiar to the Pavilion!
MrJacky
29-09-2008, 05:33 PM
maybe not...had bad experience with compaq v3000
trackpad right button have to press very hard
lid does not cover fully
cd drive some time not working
speaker sometimes not working
Are you talking about the V3000 or the CQ series?
combatakuma
05-10-2008, 12:41 PM
Bought Presario CQ-40 at Best Denki
Seems like having promotion or something.$1299
Gave us free 4gb thumbdrive , laptop bag and a 1yr Trend Micro protection
Within my budget and hence bought it.
Cheers
Beno777
05-10-2008, 12:54 PM
Bought Presario CQ-40 at Best Denki
Seems like having promotion or something.$1299
Gave us free 4gb thumbdrive , laptop bag and a 1yr Trend Micro protection
Within my budget and hence bought it.
Cheers
Did u manage to get the free upgrade to 3GB Ram? BTW which Best Denki u got it from?
MrJacky
05-10-2008, 11:14 PM
CQ40's normal price is at $1299.
CQ20's normal price at $1499.
And CQ45 should be $1899.
Beno777
06-10-2008, 09:19 AM
CQ40's normal price is at $1299.
CQ20's normal price at $1499.
And CQ45 should be $1899.
CQ45 is selling at $1699 now :)...Find that not a bad deal whereby the specs is similar to the HP Pavilion but selling at $2299.
MrJacky
06-10-2008, 08:28 PM
CQ45 is selling at $1699 now :)...Find that not a bad deal whereby the specs is similar to the HP Pavilion but selling at $2299.
Where?
I have only seen the $1899 price tag.
minitom
06-10-2008, 09:02 PM
there are different models of cq45
compaq website is selling the cq45-119 at $1699 and cq45-122 at $1999 (http://h10010.www1.hp.com/wwpc/sg/en/ho/WF25a/321957-321957-3329742-89318-89318-3747524.html). i believe sls shops are also selling at these prices.
cq45-120 and cq45-121 are more difficult to find, but i think are available at $1699 (not v sure, price may fluctuate, look around major stores like best denki, hn etc, their deals and prices changes weekly. e.g best denki offered the cq45-121 at $1399 on 28 sep only, nearly $300 discount, but with limited sets)
these models have different specs, do a comparison. e.g cq45-121 have better specs than cq45-119 but may be available at the same price.
lmao000
06-10-2008, 10:23 PM
CQ45-120TX ( harvey norman exclusive ) is going for $1599 at suntec harvey norman during 5th and 6th of Oct, not sure the price remains the same now. Normal price $1799, $1599 with free printer and 3gb ram upgrade.
Beno777
06-10-2008, 10:45 PM
Where?
I have only seen the $1899 price tag.
I bought CQ45-121TX from Best Denki on last Saturday at $1699 with FOC MS Office 07 and HP Printer
Specs:
C2D P8400 (2.26GHz)
320GB HDD
3GB Ram DDR2
nVidia GeForce 9200M with 256MB DDR2 dedicated graphic
Beno777
06-10-2008, 10:52 PM
there are different models of cq45
compaq website is selling the cq45-119 at $1699 and cq45-122 at $1999 (http://h10010.www1.hp.com/wwpc/sg/en/ho/WF25a/321957-321957-3329742-89318-89318-3747524.html). i believe sls shops are also selling at these prices.
cq45-120 and cq45-121 are more difficult to find, but i think are available at $1699 (not v sure, price may fluctuate, look around major stores like best denki, hn etc, their deals and prices changes weekly. e.g best denki offered the cq45-121 at $1399 on 28 sep only, nearly $300 discount, but with limited sets)
these models have different specs, do a comparison. e.g cq45-121 have better specs than cq45-119 but may be available at the same price.
Didnt realise there are different in the 3 digits until u mentioned =:p No wonder my colleague went to buy the CQ40, the saleman mentioned the actual set we getting will be different from the display tag. CQ40-104 vs CQ40-108
combatakuma
06-10-2008, 11:20 PM
Yeah.I have e free upgrade to 3gb ram..and additional freebies.
cos have a friend's friend working there..keke
Bought at Taka Best Denki
combatakuma
06-10-2008, 11:25 PM
btw..CQ40 has integrated tv tuner?..i m not sure.
How does it work?
Any advise?
lmao000
06-10-2008, 11:55 PM
I bought CQ45-121TX from Best Denki on last Saturday at $1699 with FOC MS Office 07 and HP Printer
Specs:
C2D P8400 (2.26GHz)
320GB HDD
3GB Ram DDR2
nVidia GeForce 9200M with 256MB DDR2 dedicated graphic
lol. Spects of CQ45-120TX at C2D P8600 (2.4ghz ) only going for 1599, with printer.
lmao000
06-10-2008, 11:58 PM
How does it work?
Any advise?
no tv tuner. only hp dv4, dv5 and dv7 series have them.
Beno777
07-10-2008, 09:27 AM
lol. Spects of CQ45-120TX at C2D P8600 (2.4ghz ) only going for 1599, with printer.
WAH!! then i LUGI alot lor :eek: paying extra $100 to get the MS Office HS07 :(
minitom
07-10-2008, 10:40 AM
WAH!! then i LUGI alot lor :eek: paying extra $100 to get the MS Office HS07 :(
Best Denki had a one day promotion on 28 sep selling the cq45-121tx at $1399. if only you had bought it on that day! but it doesn't come with free office 2007 n printer.
btw, what's the total harddisk space that you have as shown in windows vista?
minitom
07-10-2008, 10:45 AM
How does it work?
Any advise?
hah i believe most cq40 sets have a sticker below the keyboard that shows some features like tv tuner etc. but they are actually reffering the hp dv series. I almost got conned by that sticker too, very misleading.
minitom
07-10-2008, 10:50 AM
tt's a bloody gd deal...where's it selling?
linliansen
07-10-2008, 10:57 AM
*post deleted*
MrJacky
07-10-2008, 11:09 AM
Bro, $100 more u can get Benq S42.
P8400, 4GB RAM, 320GB HDD, GeForce 9600GT GDDR3, LED-backlit
Carrefour PS got roadshow.
We don't need a BenQ deal here sir.
Please stop going around threads posting about your BenQ offers.
MrJacky
07-10-2008, 11:11 AM
Didnt realise there are different in the 3 digits until u mentioned =:p No wonder my colleague went to buy the CQ40, the saleman mentioned the actual set we getting will be different from the display tag. CQ40-104 vs CQ40-108
Yes HP has changed their naming scheme.
It applies to the HP Pavilion series too i.e. dv5-1034tx, dv5-1036tx, etc.
Beno777
07-10-2008, 11:29 AM
Bro, $100 more u can get Benq S42.
P8400, 4GB RAM, 320GB HDD, GeForce 9600GT GDDR3, LED-backlit
Carrefour PS got roadshow.
I did consider that during the COMEX but in the end gave up due to I dont like the build and also due to no stock.
linliansen
07-10-2008, 11:35 AM
We don't need a BenQ deal here sir.
Please stop going around threads posting about your BenQ offers.
I'm just offering a suggestion. If I'm going around replying about Benq, you are going around opening new threads in the forum about HP/Compaq. Forum is meant as a space for open discussion.
If it's all for the benefit of fellow users, why be so uptight? Man, be cool.
That said, I will now respect you, TS, by removing the benq post since you are so resistant towards it. Cheers. =)
MrJacky
07-10-2008, 04:12 PM
I'm just offering a suggestion. If I'm going around replying about Benq, you are going around opening new threads in the forum about HP/Compaq. Forum is meant as a space for open discussion.
If it's all for the benefit of fellow users, why be so uptight? Man, be cool.
That said, I will now respect you, TS, by removing the benq post since you are so resistant towards it. Cheers. =)
I don't mind it if someone asked for alternatives and you posted it, but since this is dedicated to a certain series I hope we can make it stay that way.
MrJacky
07-10-2008, 04:13 PM
The CQ40 doesn't seem to come with an ExpressCard slot.
As for the CQ20, anyone knows if the ExpressCard slot accepts ExpressCard/54, since the slot is the size of a ExpressCard/34?
strats
07-10-2008, 11:27 PM
hows the price for Compaq CQ series comparing HN, Best against SLS? SLS better deal?
bLue_bAbe
09-10-2008, 01:40 PM
Got my CQ20 recently at sls for $1450 instead of $1499 because i know a friend there. Got a laptop bag n mouse free as usual.
So far so good with the laptop. I find it quite a worthy price for such a lightweight model and running on centrino 2. Indeed the keypad mouse button is a little awkward to touch as it seems rather soft to press but am quite used to it already! :D
Am intending to go put screen protector n keyboard protector. Anybody done that? Do you think it is necessary?
adleyanna
09-10-2008, 08:23 PM
shld b gettin my CQ45 at Suntec HN tmw... & shld cost me $1599... =D
zeusinsg
16-10-2008, 08:40 PM
Unfortunately, the cq45's going for 1799 at HN Suntec, plus they've sold out their cq40 and cq20's left with the display set only. I just got the CQ 60 from AAA's for 1398.
MrJacky
16-10-2008, 09:53 PM
Unfortunately, the cq45's going for 1799 at HN Suntec, plus they've sold out their cq40 and cq20's left with the display set only. I just got the CQ 60 from AAA's for 1398.
What CQ60?
MrJacky
19-10-2008, 10:31 PM
I just saw the supposingly new CQ60 on display at Funan Challenger.
CQ60-113:
Intel Core 2 Duo P7350 2.0GHz (Centrino 2)
2GB DDR2 RAM
250GB HDD
16.0"
$1499
Beno777
19-10-2008, 10:41 PM
CQ60-113:
2GB DDR2 RAM
250GB HDD
16.0"
$1499
Got CQ50 also right, but no where to be seen :s11:
MrJacky
19-10-2008, 11:04 PM
CQ60-113:
2GB DDR2 RAM
250GB HDD
16.0"
$1499
Forgot to include that it has NVIDIA GeForce 9200M GE.
laolang
19-10-2008, 11:50 PM
jus brought cq40 104tu
1st time buy laptop. now still charging.
do i need to do anything? or anything can teach me :s27:
Benson2098
20-10-2008, 11:13 AM
Hi all, me juz bought a CQ45-121tx from Best Denki @ 1680. Freebies like Microsoft Office 2007 and a 3 in 1 printer included.
Actually I am not eyeing for this brand initially, but saw the specs are better than the one i intended to buy so I decided to give this a try. I am totally new to this Compaq stuff and wanted to surf net to find out more on this lappy but, to my surprise. I cant find any reviews on this model at all!!!! Can anyone here offer me some website for reviews regarding on the CQ45-121tx please? And erm... is this model to lousy or wat that no one buys then no reviews? :(
MrJacky
20-10-2008, 03:07 PM
Hi all, me juz bought a CQ45-121tx from Best Denki @ 1680. Freebies like Microsoft Office 2007 and a 3 in 1 printer included.
Actually I am not eyeing for this brand initially, but saw the specs are better than the one i intended to buy so I decided to give this a try. I am totally new to this Compaq stuff and wanted to surf net to find out more on this lappy but, to my surprise. I cant find any reviews on this model at all!!!! Can anyone here offer me some website for reviews regarding on the CQ45-121tx please? And erm... is this model to lousy or wat that no one buys then no reviews? :(
You might want to search for reviews on the CQ45, instead of CQ45-121tx as the 121tx is a specific model number (and that may not be available to overseas where most of the reviewers are based).
Benson2098
20-10-2008, 04:09 PM
You might want to search for reviews on the CQ45, instead of CQ45-121tx as the 121tx is a specific model number (and that may not be available to overseas where most of the reviewers are based).
Thanks MrJacky!
minitom
20-10-2008, 11:49 PM
wat's the point of a review when you've bought it alrdy?
aniwae, like to ask all cq45-121tx users wat's the total harddisk space tt's shown in windows vista
Benson2098
21-10-2008, 02:55 PM
wat's the point of a review when you've bought it alrdy?
aniwae, like to ask all cq45-121tx users wat's the total harddisk space tt's shown in windows vista
Its 320GB.... Y i am looking for the review after i bought it coz i totally new to this CQ series. Me actually wanna get the other brand and onli looked up information for the other brand instead of Compaq. But the promoter at Best Denki intro me to this CQ45 plus the freebies which other place dun offer (plus better processor and larger hdd space than the one i wanted initially), of coz i rather get this.
Every brand have their pros and cons for their products, and i know its kinda late to read it now coz i've bought it already. So the onli thing i can do now is to read up on the cons and get prepared for the worst ( if the worst really happens, i wun be that surprise too...) Does this answer your question?
Forseti
22-10-2008, 02:47 PM
Hey Benson,
How's the CQ45 serving u so far?
Benson2098
22-10-2008, 04:14 PM
Hey Benson,
How's the CQ45 serving u so far?
So far so good.... onli the battery life...
Y_Shun
22-10-2008, 05:15 PM
Its a new model, thats why there aren;t any reviews yet/
adleyanna
22-10-2008, 05:19 PM
so wads wit d batt life..?
Benson2098
23-10-2008, 09:08 AM
so wads wit d batt life..?
After disable the Window aero and the sidebar, battery life improved a little bit but after connecting the mobile boardband, the boardband suck my batt flat flat... Less than 2 hours which is deadly to me coz i need the internet connection on the go... gonna buy extra batt soon.... But overall, this laptop is good.... looks good feels good..... nth bad about the processor and performance onli feels alittile heavy that's all...
One more thing is... my battery doesnt seems to be fully charged... after my first charge i on my laptop, the battery meter onli shows 90%. Same goes with my second charge.... Doing my third charge todae....Is this normal? Can anyone advice?
MrJacky
23-10-2008, 02:08 PM
After disable the Window aero and the sidebar, battery life improved a little bit but after connecting the mobile boardband, the boardband suck my batt flat flat... Less than 2 hours which is deadly to me coz i need the internet connection on the go... gonna buy extra batt soon.... But overall, this laptop is good.... looks good feels good..... nth bad about the processor and performance onli feels alittile heavy that's all...
One more thing is... my battery doesnt seems to be fully charged... after my first charge i on my laptop, the battery meter onli shows 90%. Same goes with my second charge.... Doing my third charge todae....Is this normal? Can anyone advice?
Try recalibrating your battery.
Charge your battery to the maximum and set your computer never to sleep (in Vista's Power Management set all options to Never) and then let your battery drain.
After that your battery should be recalibrated.
You can also try HP's Battery Check program.
Benson2098
24-10-2008, 10:02 AM
Try recalibrating your battery.
Charge your battery to the maximum and set your computer never to sleep (in Vista's Power Management set all options to Never) and then let your battery drain.
After that your battery should be recalibrated.
You can also try HP's Battery Check program.
Thanks for the advice.... am trying out todae.... Do u noe the price for a 12 cell batt?
daymond85
08-11-2008, 07:01 PM
anyone bought cq40-125ax model?
it is a AMD Turion 64 x2 rm-70 proc, i wan to know whether it is hot or not?
can we feel the diff with C2D proc if i mornal using?
high_five
08-11-2008, 11:41 PM
hi i juz got a cq45-120tx fm harvey norman 2 weeks ago@$1599
spec r :
Brand New Compaq Laptop CQ45-120TX
Intel® Core™2 Duo Processor P8600
New Intel GM45/PM45 (Montevina) chipset (2.4 GHz, 1066 MHz FSB, 3 MB L2 Cache)
NVIDIA GeForce 9200M GS(256 MB dedicated memory)
14.1" WXGA High-Definition* HP BrightView Widescreen Display
2GB DDR2 RAM (Supports up to 8GB DDR2 memory)
250GB HDD 5400rpm
so far so good..
but the battery life really sucks n im nt sure y..
connecting to my wireless home network,can suck my battery dry in ard 2 hrs..is it normal?
or shall i call compaq n check whether there's anyting wrong wif the battery?
anyway i did a battery check n its shows good so can i assume there's nothing wrong wif it?
anyone can enlighten me please?
MrJacky
09-11-2008, 01:34 AM
The 12-cell battery should be priced at $250+.
temptemp
15-11-2008, 05:49 PM
Hi all,
I just bought a CQ20-108TU, ram is 1 x 2GB and I want to buy another stick of 2GB to make ir 4GB (there are 2 slot).
How to know what type of ram the lappy is using? i only know its a DDR2 ram.
MrJacky
15-11-2008, 07:38 PM
You should be able to check the frequency of the RAM using CPU-Z.
tingyuan
16-11-2008, 12:51 AM
Compaq Laptop CQ45-120TX how heavy? 2.1kg is it consider heavy?
with so many brands laptop, don't know which one to buy.
temptemp
17-11-2008, 10:32 PM
You should be able to check the frequency of the RAM using CPU-Z.
Jacky,
managed to find out its using PC2-6400 800mhz DDR2 Ram CL6.. If I buy a CL5 or CL4 ram, can it be used?
temp2
temptemp
17-11-2008, 10:40 PM
Compaq Laptop CQ45-120TX how heavy? 2.1kg is it consider heavy?
with so many brands laptop, don't know which one to buy.
2.1kg is not that heavy but it really depend on individual. my cq20-108tu is 1.85kg & im pretty happy w that weight. of cos there are even 1.1kg laptop in the market but that will be much much heavier in cost!.. so you have to weigh the cost, weight & performanace, according to yr needs..
Pretty-boy
19-11-2008, 01:11 AM
CQ series is new?
they are already discontinuing it, how new can it be>
http://img216.imageshack.us/img216/4851/proofca0.jpg (http://imageshack.us)
Well for each CQ model, there are many sub-models...
temptemp
19-11-2008, 03:56 PM
CQ series is new?
they are already discontinuing it, how new can it be>
which models are discounted?
Snoweagle
19-11-2008, 08:24 PM
The 12-cell battery should be priced at $250+.
I'm not sure if the 12-cell one u're referring to is the same as the one for my V3508TU. I got it for only $199 last time.
Pretty-boy
19-11-2008, 08:33 PM
I'm not sure if the 12-cell one u're referring to is the same as the one for my V3508TU. I got it for only $199 last time.
A little something to show how 'truthful' Compaq and HQ are with their customers:
Looks familiar? Now take a look at THIS below:
http://img237.imageshack.us/img237/3713/nonsensejf1.jpg (http://imageshack.us)
Selling 'discontinued' models to the public, claiming they are new releases? Nice one, Compaq.
tingyuan
19-11-2008, 08:37 PM
CQ45-122TX is a NEW or discontinue? I don't see any shop selling CQ45-122TX. How heavy is this lappy.
Pretty-boy
19-11-2008, 08:42 PM
CQ45-122TX is a NEW or discontinue? I don't see any shop selling CQ45-122TX. How heavy is this lappy.
the point now is that the CQ45-119TX and CQ45-122TX are supposed to have been discontinued is not being sold anymore, as stated in their own webpage.
And here they are, promoting their own 'discontinued' product in the HP online store.
http://img404.imageshack.us/img404/5749/morenonsensedn9.jpg (http://imageshack.us)
They even put the 'new' label on the series when it's supposed to have been discontinued.
MrJacky
20-11-2008, 01:11 AM
Please get your facts right before posting.
The CQ series is a new series just launched around June this year.
Previous Compaq Presario models were all using the 'V' prefix, such as V3700, V3800.
Listing them as "discontinued" has no real effect except that the specs are no longer online. You still see them being sold in retail stores.
Still think you are right? Go ask around in popular online forums like NotebookReview about when the CQ prefix was first used.
Snoweagle
20-11-2008, 08:24 PM
MrJacky's right. The CQ series is Compaq's latest. The one which i'm using then is the older one.
Snoweagle
20-11-2008, 08:27 PM
the point now is that the CQ45-119TX and CQ45-122TX are supposed to have been discontinued is not being sold anymore, as stated in their own webpage.
And here they are, promoting their own 'discontinued' product in the HP online store.
They even put the 'new' label on the series when it's supposed to have been discontinued.
Eh hello. The CQ45 IS new. Better get your facts right before u start ranting your 'facts'.
westcove
21-11-2008, 08:44 AM
How to register for the warranty? Can just bring the purchase invoice to service centre?
Pretty-boy
22-11-2008, 04:37 AM
which shops sell the CQ60 series?
i heard that these 16--inch monster notebooks are actually being sold at much cheaper prices than the CQ45s.
MrJacky
22-11-2008, 04:17 PM
The CQ60 should be sold at Challenger, at least at the Funan outlet.
It comes with dedicated graphics too.
Snoweagle
22-11-2008, 07:11 PM
Wow it just keeps getting better. :)
Pretty-boy
22-11-2008, 11:14 PM
Does anybody know what are the native or maximum resolutions of the
CQ20,
CQ40,
CQ45 and,
CQ60?
If I'm not mistaken, the CQ20s use a 12-inch display, the CQ40s and CQ45s use a 14-inch display, and the CQ60 uses a 16-inch display, amirite?
Snoweagle
22-11-2008, 11:52 PM
16" seems like fitted with HD screen, similarly to the Acer 6290G Gemstone Blue which also has a 16" screen.
tingyuan
23-11-2008, 12:38 AM
compaq and hp notebook, can the 6 cell battery can last for 3-4hrs?
tingyuan
24-11-2008, 09:34 AM
I don't understand why did you say CQ45-100 is new product, why did the hp website mentioned CQ45-100 is a discontinued product no longer on sale.
http://h10010.www1.hp.com/wwpc/sg/en/ho/WF10a/321957-321957-3329742-89318-89318-3747524.html
MrJacky
24-11-2008, 06:27 PM
Let's break up CQ45-100.
The CQ45 refers to the series.
The 100 refers to the model.
So you can have like CQ45-100 having an Intel processor, CQ45-102 having an AMD processor CQ45-103 has no Bluetooth, etc. But they are all CQ45, it's the specs that is different between the models.
HP only started to use the CQ name this year, or more specifically from June this year.
I am unsure about why HP has listed it as discontinued but even when they do so it will continued to be sold in retail stores.
The dv5-1036tx is discontinued but Harvey Norman is still actively promoting it.
tingyuan
24-11-2008, 08:36 PM
which one latest model for 12.1" - 14.1"? P8400, P8600 (2.26GHz - 2.4GHz 1066MHz FSB), with dedicated graphic card, HDMI, e-sata port. I know HP dv4-1XXXX
where to buy?
Buy HP or Compaq?
MrJacky
25-11-2008, 04:00 AM
All the CQ series are new.
For 12.1" it's CQ20.
For 14.1" it's CQ40 and CQ45.
Only the CQ45 and CQ60 comes with dedicated graphics as far as I know.
I'm unsure about HDMI.
All of them should come with an eSATA/USB combo.
supergmail
28-11-2008, 10:35 AM
does anyone know if compaq harddisk and ram can be upgrade by getting those oem parts and not necessary from compaq?
Snoweagle
28-11-2008, 06:59 PM
does anyone know if compaq harddisk and ram can be upgrade by getting those oem parts and not necessary from compaq?
Why not? As long as it works.
Newbie0001
01-12-2008, 12:16 PM
I don't understand why did you say CQ45-100 is new product, why did the hp website mentioned CQ45-100 is a discontinued product no longer on sale.
http://h10010.www1.hp.com/wwpc/sg/en/ho/WF10a/321957-321957-3329742-89318-89318-3747524.html
So, you bought a new or discontinued Compaq? (http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showthread.php?t=2181416) :o
kamiru
03-12-2008, 01:31 PM
All the CQ series are new.
For 12.1" it's CQ20.
For 14.1" it's CQ40 and CQ45.
Only the CQ45 and CQ60 comes with dedicated graphics as far as I know.
I'm unsure about HDMI.
All of them should come with an eSATA/USB combo.
i got CQ40 from sls at 1199. Its turion 2ghz dual core, 2ghz ram 250gd hdd, n draft wireless, dedeciated 256mb ATI HD3850. And its windows performance rating is 4.0 whereas i compare the models that are with nvidia 9100M/9300M GS are only 3.5/3.8.
kamiru
03-12-2008, 01:32 PM
comes with HDMI out put also.
tingyuan
04-12-2008, 01:45 AM
i got CQ40 from sls at 1199. Its turion 2ghz dual core, 2ghz ram 250gd hdd, n draft wireless, dedeciated 256mb ATI HD3850. And its windows performance rating is 4.0 whereas i compare the models that are with nvidia 9100M/9300M GS are only 3.5/3.8.
u happy with CQ40? good?
kamiru
04-12-2008, 10:54 AM
u happy with CQ40? good?
yup, iam happy with its performance. Able to run WOW well enough.
tingyuan
09-12-2008, 09:52 PM
how to check whether what type ddr2 ram when u bought compaq CQ40/CQ45?
Snoweagle
09-12-2008, 10:00 PM
how to check whether what type ddr2 ram when u bought compaq CQ40/CQ45?
Download CPU-Z from www.cpuid.com (http://www.cpuid.com) and it tells u all the details.
tingyuan
09-12-2008, 10:34 PM
CPU-Z accurate meh?
Snoweagle
09-12-2008, 11:54 PM
CPU-Z accurate meh?
Well mine definitely is.
tingyuan
15-12-2008, 08:28 PM
anyone bought Compaq Presario Notebook during SITEX SHOW 27-30 NOV 2008, have you received EXT HP HDD and 3 years ONSITE WARRANTY.
What happen if registered wrong Series No for Notebook. I re-registered product again.
chilli2
16-12-2008, 11:39 AM
I got myself a CQ45 week ago.
so far i'm happy with CQ45 especailly the Centrino 2 chip inside, stable and strong. :)
N00blet
16-12-2008, 12:04 PM
Can you confirm this? The 3850 is a pretty high end card. Easily comparable with the 9600M/9600M
tingyuan
16-12-2008, 06:46 PM
why did the seller say this one (COMPAQ CQ40-152TU) using LATEST MONTIVINA PROCESSOR
see at http://www.phing.com/listing/29275
It's misleading ads.
Can you confirm this? The 3850 is a pretty high end card. Easily comparable with the 9600M/9600M
which SLS shop you buy, what your model CQ40-XXX??? I might getting CQ40 leh.
tranquility
21-02-2009, 05:44 PM
Hi there guys. I am intending to buy the Compaq Presario CQ45-122TX. Do you guys know where there is an offer for this? Or should i wait for the upcoming IT Fair on march? Please give e some info on this. Many thanks.
Weinter
21-02-2009, 07:44 PM
Sorry I own a Acer Aspire 4530 comes with 9100M G Graphics (no HDMI)
The score is 4.5 Gaming Graphics and 4.1 Aero Graphics with all drivers updated :look:
I wouldn't trust WEI in display model the graphics Drivers are usually old and outdated
And are you sure it is 3850HD ? :eek:
That is a high end card they will not sell at $1199 and Notebookcheck states that 3850HD comes with at least 512MB RAM :s11:
And certainly they can't fit such a hot card in a 14"inch laptop :s7:
The card you are referring to should be 3200HD instead also comes with HDMI
Don't keep everybody's hopes up :( 3200HD is totally different from 3850HD
If you are not sure check with GPUZ
3850HD is not comparable to 9600M GT it is more powerful than 9600M GT
Dexter71
22-02-2009, 10:23 AM
Hi there guys. I am intending to buy the Compaq Presario CQ45-122TX. Do you guys know where there is an offer for this? Or should i wait for the upcoming IT Fair on march? Please give e some info on this. Many thanks.
Hi
I just bot the CQ45 122 for 1600 cash price with MS Office and TrendMicro included from MC2. I think this deal is reasonable for the specs of this notebook.
hope this helps.
thanks
tranquility
23-02-2009, 08:34 PM
Thanks dexter for e info. Is there any exciting n cheaper deals on this set? Mr jacky any info frm u? Btw dexter how is ur set? Is it running smoothly and battery wise? Is e webcam 1.3megapixel?
mwql23
24-02-2009, 07:33 PM
cq45 122 is now selling for $1499 at mc2. plus 1 gig upgrade, mouse and headset.
dunno why is it going at such a low price.
is it normal for mc2 to sell for such a low price?
if im not mistaken, newstead sells it for $1899, plus 1 gig and so on.
tranquility
24-02-2009, 09:40 PM
Its normal i guess as IT fair is coming up. I just saw one advert that is selling this at $1399 but just the set alone new and sealed. I just need to know from u guys, what is the resolution for the webcam? Is it 1.3megapixels? Thanks
Slowdown
23-03-2009, 01:13 PM
Walked around SLS yesterday and saw the COMPAQ CQ series of notebook. Got attached by the low price and HMDI port.
Before I commit myself to one of these models, appreciate if you existing owners can comment about my question.
I am particularly interested in 2 models:
- CQ20 C2D T series CPU 12.1 screen with integrated graphic. Price at 1299sgd
- CQ40 Duo Core series 14" screen with integrated graphic. Price at 999sgd
I am interested to know whether these two models are able to project HD display to the LCD TV using the HDMI cable? Could these two models play MKV at 720
Is there really a significant difference between C2D and DC when it come to the following:
- Play high quality video on skype (understand that DC is sufficient for that purpose)
- playing movies (HD, MKV, AVI)
I don't play games and thus wonder if a dedicated graphic is really required.
adamis
23-03-2009, 03:36 PM
Just bought a CQ45-121 series yesterday @ Best Denki (Bishan)
They are having a promo now @ $1399/-, last day is today.
comes with:
free upgrade to 4GB Ram
free 250GB Ext HDD by HP
free 4GB thumbdrive (Sandisk Micro Cruzer)
free mouse (Travelpac)
free Anti-Virus - Trend Micro (3 clients licenses)
really a good buy... only thing is CPU is a bit slower, I think.. P8400..
but it's with discrete Graphic Card..
;)
Slowdown
23-03-2009, 04:39 PM
Sorry I cannot surf the internet too much at office. Can I know what is the screen size for this model. 14" or more? What is the weight? I need to keep it light for overseas travel.
Just bought a CQ45-121 series yesterday @ Best Denki (Bishan)
They are having a promo now @ $1399/-, last day is today.
comes with:
free upgrade to 4GB Ram
free 250GB Ext HDD by HP
free 4GB thumbdrive (Sandisk Micro Cruzer)
free mouse (Travelpac)
free Anti-Virus - Trend Micro (3 clients licenses)
really a good buy... only thing is CPU is a bit slower, I think.. P8400..
but it's with discrete Graphic Card..
;)
adamis
23-03-2009, 05:16 PM
Sorry I cannot surf the internet too much at office. Can I know what is the screen size for this model. 14" or more? What is the weight? I need to keep it light for overseas travel.
this is 14" notebook. Weight wise, slightly over 2kg, I think.. didn't really weight it, ubt I find it quite acceptable.. comes with 6 cells batt..
Snoweagle
23-03-2009, 07:01 PM
this is 14" notebook. Weight wise, slightly over 2kg, I think.. didn't really weight it, ubt I find it quite acceptable.. comes with 6 cells batt..
But sadly, these 6-cell batts do not last that long.
Slowdown
23-03-2009, 08:33 PM
Every $100 more will give us better feature - be it ram cpu graphic or harddisk. I need to contol. I like the CQ series for it's design & hdmi port. Just need to know whether the $999 dual core machine can handle HD reslution thru the hdmi port to the lcd tv. Whether there is any lag playing hd or even 720p movies. Appreciate some feedback.
MrJacky
23-03-2009, 09:12 PM
Walked around SLS yesterday and saw the COMPAQ CQ series of notebook. Got attached by the low price and HMDI port.
Before I commit myself to one of these models, appreciate if you existing owners can comment about my question.
I am particularly interested in 2 models:
- CQ20 C2D T series CPU 12.1 screen with integrated graphic. Price at 1299sgd
- CQ40 Duo Core series 14" screen with integrated graphic. Price at 999sgd
I am interested to know whether these two models are able to project HD display to the LCD TV using the HDMI cable? Could these two models play MKV at 720
Is there really a significant difference between C2D and DC when it come to the following:
- Play high quality video on skype (understand that DC is sufficient for that purpose)
- playing movies (HD, MKV, AVI)
I don't play games and thus wonder if a dedicated graphic is really required.
The CQ40 comes with the Pentium Dual-Core, and I believe the PDC in the CQ40 is based on the Merom (first mobile Core 2 Duo) rather than the Yonah (Core Duo).
The difference? Merom has x64 capabilities and is based on the Core microarchitecture, Yonah has only x86 capabilities and is based on the earlier P6-deprived Pentium M.
When it comes with playing videos as long as you are not on the Atom (which performance doesn't even equate to the Celeron) it should be fine, most of the decoding would be done by the GPU anyway.
It should come with a Intel GMA 4500MHD since you are going for the Intel version of the CQ40. The 4500MHD should be capable of handling HD content.
The CQ20 should also come with the 4500MHD.
I'm not sure of the HDMI output.
You may want to check which model you prefer by looking at the specs.
There are 2 different series each for the CQ40 and CQ20.
Have a look at the following.
http://h10010.www1.hp.com/wwpc/sg/en/ho/WF02a/321957-321957-3329742.html
MrJacky
23-03-2009, 09:16 PM
The CQ45 is a 14.1" that should weigh around 2.40kg, according to HP.
14.1" are mostly designed to be portable, especially if they are Compaq Presarios which have quite a lot of 14.1" in the past being a success.
The CQ45 may tend to have a shorter battery life since it uses a dedicated graphic card.
The 12-cell battery is available if you need more battery power.
Or you can always opt for the CQ40 which is also a 14.1" at around 2.31kg according to HP. They come with the GMA 4500MHD which is an integrated graphic card, which should increase battery life.
Slowdown
23-03-2009, 09:56 PM
Thanks for the information. It answered my question that the $999 model is good enough to meet my needs. Now it is the question of mobility and weight. I really liked the 12.1" model. I travel overseas a lot and a lighter machine is important as I am already carrying the office notebook.
The CQ40 comes with the Pentium Dual-Core, and I believe the PDC in the CQ40 is based on the Merom (first mobile Core 2 Duo) rather than the Yonah (Core Duo).
The difference? Merom has x64 capabilities and is based on the Core microarchitecture, Yonah has only x86 capabilities and is based on the earlier P6-deprived Pentium M.
When it comes with playing videos as long as you are not on the Atom (which performance doesn't even equate to the Celeron) it should be fine, most of the decoding would be done by the GPU anyway.
It should come with a Intel GMA 4500MHD since you are going for the Intel version of the CQ40. The 4500MHD should be capable of handling HD content.
The CQ20 should also come with the 4500MHD.
I'm not sure of the HDMI output.
You may want to check which model you prefer by looking at the specs.
There are 2 different series each for the CQ40 and CQ20.
Have a look at the following.
http://h10010.www1.hp.com/wwpc/sg/en/ho/WF02a/321957-321957-3329742.html
chinablue
06-05-2009, 12:13 AM
anyone know how to switch on the on-screen display for CQ40?
when i increase the volume, there's no volume level display on the screen..or is it this feature not available?
chinablue
08-05-2009, 10:35 PM
anyone can help?
cHrls2o2o
09-05-2009, 02:47 AM
if u r using window visita or 7
can go get this
http://gallery.live.com/liveItemDetail.aspx?li=05949a9a-e8a4-475a-b2b4-41fece54fef8&bt=1&pl=1
chinablue
10-05-2009, 11:45 PM
if u r using window visita or 7
can go get this
http://gallery.live.com/liveItemDetail.aspx?li=05949a9a-e8a4-475a-b2b4-41fece54fef8&bt=1&pl=1
hi chris,
currently on stock vista home premium.
from the link you provided, seems like a volume gadget.
but mine even the brightness level i also can't see.which mean my on screen display for those brightness level..volume level...failed to display.
i don't know whether is it that CQ40 doesn't come with O.S.D or somehow my settings/drivers is not working.
is yours working?CQ40?
MrJacky
11-05-2009, 12:15 AM
You can try reinstalling the drivers for the Quick Launch buttons again. They should be available on HP.com.sg.
chinablue
12-05-2009, 09:54 PM
You can try reinstalling the drivers for the Quick Launch buttons again. They should be available on HP.com.sg.
ok, will try that and feedback.
thanks.
chinablue
14-05-2009, 12:47 AM
tried and it doesn't help.
thanks.
jasongohyh98
15-05-2009, 11:47 AM
u can try this...
http://tinyurl.com/oho8u9
it works for XP but not sure if it works for vista
K|muRa^84
16-05-2009, 01:11 PM
Does anyone know if the cheapest laptop with a P-series CPU is still the $1299 CQ40-320TU ??
My usage is mainly internet surfing (many many tabs), word processing with AV running in the background. Is it worth paying $300 more compared to the 339TU ? Does the lower TDP of the P8600 justify this extra amount in the long run?
Oh and Compaq users out there, how do you find the fan architecture? Can it cope with the heat? I would also like to know whether the fan is easily accessible.
Humphrey5
21-05-2009, 01:29 AM
Is there a way for me to upgrade my 2GB RAM in my CQ 60??
Open but cant seem to figure it out
nudgedoink
22-05-2009, 04:56 PM
anybody owns the new CQ35? interested in the one with the 2.53ghz core 2 duo processor - CQ35-115TX. how does this compare to the CQ45?
lalaRaeka
30-05-2009, 09:44 PM
I saw CQ35 at Harvey Norman for $1699 with MS07, free opt mouse, any comments for this?
The salesman kept asking me to buy, saying its HD LCD, fingerprint sensor, Gforce is a better one than ATI, bla bla.. the price does sound attractive comparing the specs... but then surely get outdated fast enough.
Is the price worth it, or need I look further?
MrJacky
30-05-2009, 10:51 PM
I saw CQ35 at Harvey Norman for $1699 with MS07, free opt mouse, any comments for this?
The salesman kept asking me to buy, saying its HD LCD, fingerprint sensor, Gforce is a better one than ATI, bla bla.. the price does sound attractive comparing the specs... but then surely get outdated fast enough.
Is the price worth it, or need I look further?
Anything gets outdated fast, it's whether you need it or not.
If you want to know whether it's worth it, look at the specs and price.
tech_oasis
13-06-2009, 04:49 PM
Hi CQ40 users,
Just like to hear your feedback regarding this lappy. Plannning to get one but a little apprehensive, seems like a few pp selling it of within a short period of one month. Anything about it I should know?
Thanks
kasahwt
25-06-2009, 06:15 PM
Saw a CQ40-400 (if not mistaken) at courts for $899. Anyone tried it? It had a 500G HDD. But did not had time to talk to the sales person. Looks attractive. Any feedback most appreciated. Thanks
superstylefactor
21-09-2009, 09:59 AM
kinda confused, what's the difference in general between CQ40 300 series, 400 series and 500 series? Am looking for one with AMD processor... dont really need a 500G hdd...
blue ray
22-09-2009, 10:43 AM
am using a Compaq Presario V3000 series which is now 2.5yo, quite happy with it but now need to trade in and get a replacement cos battery is now weak and it doesn't have a dedicated graphics card.
so have shortlisted
- CQ40 (naturally)
- HP (the new 13" ones just announced with Win 7)
- Samsung R470 (good specs and form factor and runs pretty cool)
my budget is $1k - $1.1k so am looking at Core 2 Duo with graphics card of 256 or better, HDD capacity not important; so far only the CQ40 lappys come close to it for that budget.
Snoweagle
22-09-2009, 01:11 PM
am using a Compaq Presario V3000 series which is now 2.5yo, quite happy with it but now need to trade in and get a replacement cos battery is now weak and it doesn't have a dedicated graphics card.
so have shortlisted
- CQ40 (naturally)
- HP (the new 13" ones just announced with Win 7)
- Samsung R470 (good specs and form factor and runs pretty cool)
my budget is $1k - $1.1k so am looking at Core 2 Duo with graphics card of 256 or better, HDD capacity not important; so far only the CQ40 lappys come close to it for that budget.
I suggest u wait for the new HP Envy series. I'm also waiting for the Envy 15 with Core i7 processor.
blue ray
22-09-2009, 08:19 PM
thanks for feedback, but think i7 would be beyond my budget and requirement; am just using it for surfing and reading stuff mainly ... not much gaming.
anyway, will see what promos there are when the Win 7 lappys are rolled out.
Snoweagle
22-09-2009, 11:55 PM
thanks for feedback, but think i7 would be beyond my budget and requirement; am just using it for surfing and reading stuff mainly ... not much gaming.
anyway, will see what promos there are when the Win 7 lappys are rolled out.
I can either wait for the Envy 15 with Core i7 processor or stick to my 2+ years Presario V3508TU and just buy the Win 7 DVD when it's out next mth.
But thinking of it, dunno how long more can my current laptop last cos now even the fan has a slight rattling noise.
blue ray
23-09-2009, 12:11 AM
am quite happy with my current lappy (on XP) but probably need to upgrade cos
- battery is weak (new one is about $180 ?)
- no dedicated graphics card (not sure how much it'll cost)
so rather than spend additional money on the lappy, thought of trading it in (while it still has value) and getting a new one with the necessary specs.
its been problem-free for the past 2.5 years so that's why the Compaq CQ40 is high on my list.
Snoweagle
23-09-2009, 12:15 AM
am quite happy with my current lappy (on XP) but probably need to upgrade cos
- battery is weak (new one is about $180 ?)
- no dedicated graphics card (not sure how much it'll cost)
so rather than spend additional money on the lappy, thought of trading it in (while it still has value) and getting a new one with the necessary specs.
its been problem-free for the past 2.5 years so that's why the Compaq CQ40 is high on my list.
Upgrading always factors in cost so it depends on how much u're willing to spend. My Compaq lappy is also running on integrated graphics and as long as u're not playing graphic-intensive games, it works very well still.
blue ray
23-09-2009, 12:18 AM
Upgrading always factors in cost so it depends on how much u're willing to spend. My Compaq lappy is also running on integrated graphics and as long as u're not playing graphic-intensive games, it works very well still.
but mine sometimes sort of "hangs" once the RAM usage goes above 70% (I have 1GB RAM), cannot open new browsers until I close all browsers and let it "rest". at rest, the RAM usage is already 48%.
Snoweagle
23-09-2009, 12:29 AM
but mine sometimes sort of "hangs" once the RAM usage goes above 70% (I have 1GB RAM), cannot open new browsers until I close all browsers and let it "rest". at rest, the RAM usage is already 48%.
But is there any way u can upgrade your RAM to the max? I'm using 3GB RAM on a 32bit Vista platform and so far no probs.
blue ray
23-09-2009, 12:34 AM
But is there any way u can upgrade your RAM to the max? I'm using 3GB RAM on a 32bit Vista platform and so far no probs.
am running 2 x 512 now so all the slots are taken up, so means I have to change both RAMs. hmmm ... will check out how much 2 x 1.5 costs and see how the numbers add up inclusive of a new battery. thanks for the suggestion.
Snoweagle
23-09-2009, 12:38 AM
am running 2 x 512 now so all the slots are taken up, so means I have to change both RAMs. hmmm ... will check out how much 2 x 1.5 costs and see how the numbers add up inclusive of a new battery. thanks for the suggestion.
But are u able to use 2 x 1GB, 2 x 2GB or 1 x 1GB + 1 x 2GB?? I'm using the 3rd setup.
blue ray
23-09-2009, 12:41 AM
suppose so ... just ditch my current RAMs and get 2 pieces that add up to 3GB...
Snoweagle
23-09-2009, 12:46 AM
suppose so ... just ditch my current RAMs and get 2 pieces that add up to 3GB...
Yeah cos that's the max for 32bit systems.
blue ray
23-09-2009, 12:48 AM
Yeah cos that's the max for 32bit systems.
ok, thanks. will go down to SLS to check on RAM + battery prices and decide from there.
Snoweagle
23-09-2009, 12:55 AM
ok, thanks. will go down to SLS to check on RAM + battery prices and decide from there.
No probs! :D
unintended
01-10-2009, 02:07 AM
Any comments on CQ35-200 series?
blue ray
13-10-2009, 07:57 PM
No probs! :D
Hi Bro, thanks for your earlier input. Have purchased a CQ40-539 from Best Denki for $799 and traded in my old Presario at Pcpro.
Like the simple design of Compaq lappys and the price was reasonable.
Have owned 2 lappys so far and both are Compaqs :D
Snoweagle
13-10-2009, 08:05 PM
Hi Bro, thanks for your earlier input. Have purchased a CQ40-539 from Best Denki for $799 and traded in my old Presario at Pcpro.
Like the simple design of Compaq lappys and the price was reasonable.
Have owned 2 lappys so far and both are Compaqs :D
I like Compaqs cos they're cheap and gd, value for money. My very first desktop back in 1994 is a Compaq, then used for 7 years until power supply literally burnt out. 2003 bought a HP desktop and currently still in my room but not using anymore, then bought my current V3508TU laptop in 2007.
So all my computers are from HP/Compaq, with the exception of my netbook.
I'm also thinking of trading off my current laptop next time for a new one, this way then won't go to waste.
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.