View Full Version : WD Caviar Green 1 TB, 32 MB Cache
adrianlee
02-10-2008, 02:58 PM
LAKE FOREST, Calif. - Oct. 1, 2008 - WD (NYSE: WDC) today announced the second-generation of its highly popular and environmentally friendly WD® Caviar® Green™ desktop hard drives, which feature the company's GreenPower™ technology to significantly reduce power consumption, compared with standard hard drives. The new platform is based on WD's 333 GB/platter technology with 32 MB cache, producing capacities ranging from 500 GB to 1 TB1.
As an innovative leader in green storage technology, WD has ramped up its successful GreenPower technology-based hard drives to greater than 10 percent of its 3.5-inch hard drive shipments in the initial twelve months of production, making low-power technologies one of WD's fastest growing segments and WD Caviar Green one of the most successful new products in the company's recent history.
WD's latest WD Caviar Green hard drives consume up to 20 percent less power and offer a 10 percent increase in performance over the previous version2, while continuing to provide the market with hard drives enabling quieter and cooler-running desktop PCs and external storage devices.
"WD's first-to-market offering of green technology has generated positive customer experience, while lessening the burden on our natural resources," said Don Bennett, vice president and general manager of WD's desktop business unit. "Compared with competitive drives, customers realize a reduction in power consumption, leading to less heat generation, which enables greater long-term reliability in all applications."
http://www.wdc.com/en/company/releases/PressRelease.asp?release={F50EF541-7874-4761-9F4E-8656892205EA}
WD Caviar® Green™ 1 TB, 32 MB Cache (http://www.wdc.com/en/products/products.asp?driveid=559)
adrianlee
28-10-2008, 04:26 PM
Since its release, a reshuffling of Western Digital's hard drive branding scheme has transformed the Caviar GP into the Caviar Green. Now it's time for the drive itself to change. The original Caviar GP reached the terabyte mark with four 250GB platters, but the latest model we'll be looking at today has been upgraded to 333GB platters, of which it needs only three.
The higher areal density of the Caviar Green's new platters promise improved performance, and since the drive is spinning only three of them, power consumption should drop as well. On all fronts, then, this latest Caviar Green looks better than the original. Let's see if it is.
http://techreport.com/articles.x/15769
danxiaogui86
28-10-2008, 04:36 PM
nice. my t1b running out of space. time to hoot 1 more. :D
yx2000
28-10-2008, 07:15 PM
Is it here yet? :s11:
grunt
28-10-2008, 07:48 PM
Yup, bought one unit a week ago...slightly more ex than the 16mb cache one though, but prices will surely drop lah.
How much from where?
yuri21
28-10-2008, 09:14 PM
Nice... ;) We've really made it very far from the days of 486 computers. :s13:
Noob qn: What's the difference between Black and Green versions?
danxiaogui86
28-10-2008, 10:00 PM
Nice... ;) We've really made it very far from the days of 486 computers. :s13:
Noob qn: What's the difference between Black and Green versions?
noob answer: color. :s13:
kidding. black one is performance. green is power savings.
yuri21
28-10-2008, 11:29 PM
noob answer: color. :s13:
kidding. black one is performance. green is power savings.
LOL!!! :) Icic... so this explains why pple chose Black over the normal and green versions. :)
info_guy
29-10-2008, 12:04 AM
but to a certain extent there is really a colour difference lol
in the labelling of the hard drive
yx2000
29-10-2008, 06:37 AM
Where and how much you got the hdd? The price list these days never show the model. Can't expect to call every shop in SLS. :s8:
Francis85
29-10-2008, 09:56 AM
Hooted a 640GB Blue on sat........... for my storage............
info_guy
29-10-2008, 10:07 AM
bell systems has it
bell only has the 16mb one leh I walking around SLS now
Mugen
30-10-2008, 05:45 PM
ok video pro has it 206
206 for this model WD10EADS?
Yes, compared to the old 16MB cache/250GB Platter version which costs $198 at Bell.
I say again, the NEW 32MB cache/333GB Platter WD10EADS 1TB can be found at Video Pro for $206.
Mugen
31-10-2008, 11:59 AM
Yes, compared to the old 16MB cache/250GB Platter version which costs $198 at Bell.
I say again, the NEW 32MB cache/333GB Platter WD10EADS 1TB can be found at Video Pro for $206.
Ok, thks for info. Will get one this week.
RVS_SK
06-11-2008, 08:32 PM
anywhere else selling gp 1tb 32mb cache beside videopro?
persentio
06-11-2008, 09:05 PM
Potterhouse selling at $199.
do these wd 1tb green drives come with 3 or 5 year warranty if you buy them from retail stores?
RVS_SK
07-11-2008, 09:37 PM
pctheme/bell/laser selling wd gp 1tb 32mb?
persentio
07-11-2008, 11:16 PM
Videopro has $199. Bell and PC Themes should have but their stocks fly off very fast. You might as well buy from Potterhouse since same price. Free delivery some more I think.
adrianlee
11-11-2008, 10:56 AM
Latest update
16MB cache/250GB Platter ~ $178
32MB cache/333GB Platter ~ $199
darkbladez
11-11-2008, 11:28 PM
Latest update
16MB cache/250GB Platter ~ $178
32MB cache/333GB Platter ~ $199
perhap, u might wan to change..
16MB cache/250Gb/333Gb Platter - $175 (Bell System) $178 (PC Themes, Currently no stock)
32MB cache/333GB Platter - $199 (Potterhouse)
Some link to show that the new rev 1Tb GP 16mb is 333GB per platter.
(See last post)
http://www.silentpcreview.com/forums/viewtopic.php?p=437807#437807
http://www.silentpcreview.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=49336
Heres the prove(testing result)
http://www.silentpcreview.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=48796
adrianlee
12-11-2008, 09:04 AM
Ok :)
16MB cache/250GB Platter WD10EACS 00ZJB0
16MB cache/333GB Platter WD10EACS 00D6B0
32MB cache/333GB Platter WD10EADS 00L5B1
athenaesword
12-11-2008, 01:21 PM
mate, any idea how much 1tb black wd drives cost? model:WD1001FALS
sorry, OT abit.
Warlock86
12-11-2008, 01:36 PM
I find that this technology is interesting especially we do need to save power and large storage space :)
adrianlee
12-11-2008, 01:42 PM
mate, any idea how much 1tb black wd drives cost? model:WD1001FALS
sorry, OT abit.
Ooi got price list leh :D
WD Black 1TB is $205 now
athenaesword
12-11-2008, 02:41 PM
Ooi got price list leh :D
WD Black 1TB is $205 now
haha sometimes never update ma. ask fellow hwzers who check all the time more reliable heh. anyway, thanks!!
adrianlee
14-11-2008, 08:04 AM
32MB cache/333GB Platter WD10EADS 00L5B1 is now $178 :)
178 is 32MB. I know cause I have bought one today. :)
http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showpost.php?p=33687094&postcount=23
azul123
14-11-2008, 11:02 AM
Thanks for providing the full HDD descritpion. I'll chiong this one.
which shop :s12:
PC Themes. #04-19.
thnks.hoot dah :s12:
winguy
15-11-2008, 01:14 PM
wow nice hoot
Currently can find in Bell, PC Themes and VP.. :D
quantum7
01-12-2008, 01:37 PM
guys, any idea if there's any stock left for this 1tb green drive? went to bell and they have no stock :(
adrianlee
02-12-2008, 10:31 AM
guys, any idea if there's any stock left for this 1tb green drive? went to bell and they have no stock :(
Did you check other shops?
cdo_saturday
02-12-2008, 12:37 PM
just got 1 TB Green EAD from PC Themes over the weekend. Price was $183 leh. Compared with the price posted by adrianlee, I guess there was a price increase?
azul123
02-12-2008, 02:41 PM
just got 1 TB Green EAD from PC Themes over the weekend. Price was $183 leh. Compared with the price posted by adrianlee, I guess there was a price increase?
Yes, there was price increase... I bought it at that price also.
cdo_saturday
02-12-2008, 03:33 PM
Yes, there was price increase... I bought it at that price also.
thank you :o
bctiong
02-12-2008, 04:57 PM
:o I bought one each from Cybermind ($185 cash) and Fuwell ($189 Net) last weekend.
Missed this thread loh.
guile
02-12-2008, 08:18 PM
so best price is $183 from bell, pcthemes and videopro?
will go tomorrow to get 1.
RVS_SK
05-12-2008, 12:36 PM
:o I bought one each from Cybermind ($185 cash) and Fuwell ($189 Net) last weekend.
Missed this thread loh.
your harddisk from cybermind is 3yr or 5yr warranty?
i bought a 500gb last from cybermind last year, never check, as i though
all 5yrs warranty already, in the end found only 3yr warranty :s27:
somemore go check online it said the disk is at USA :s11:
By default is 3 years direct from WD. The local distro (Achieva) warrant their drives for an additional 2 years to bring it up to 5, but that's with their warranty card and receipt. Doesnt apply for parallel imported drives or drives from other distros apparently.
Only Caviar Black and the Raptor range are 5 years default.
bctiong
06-12-2008, 01:12 AM
Both are 5 yrs 1-1 warranty. Manufactured date 20 Nov 2008.
That's provided that either the stock is local from Achieva with the warranty card, or CM is providing that additional 2 years themselves.
xfiles_wolvie
18-12-2008, 01:26 PM
hi all,
I duno if i c it wrongly or wat. For green n black, both operating temp at d website indicate s 5-35degrees.
Any diff then when green supposed to be cooler?
Edit:ok i see wrongly. Black is 0-60. Green nvr indicate. 0-35 is for wd my book. In tis case,can i say wd my book uses green?
2nd edit: green indicate 0-55. Hw did Xternal built in wd my book achieve 0-35? They gt a built in fan?
Axioaxio
19-12-2008, 09:20 AM
anywhere else selling gp 1tb 32mb cache beside videopro?
Aiya,
dun waste time going sim lim la.
Challenger selling also mah, but abit more expensive lor :look:
Heehee, near by place somemore.
Dun have to waste time all the way go to town....
gilaboyfjs
19-12-2008, 09:26 AM
Aiya,
dun waste time going sim lim la.
Challenger selling also mah, but abit more expensive lor :look:
Heehee, near by place somemore.
Dun have to waste time all the way go to town....
which challenger u go to? challenger sells internal hd?
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.