View Full Version : Connecting A PC to your New Panel Thread - tips and info
mchong67
22-07-2007, 07:25 AM
This thread helps you discuss and share tips on how to get your PC, laptop or MAC to work with your new flatscreen and how to get sound out of it including what kinds of connections to use.
Mod Edit - 17052009
Hi. Got my Panny 42" 70 a month ago. Plays mainly original Code 1 dvds via a not so branded upscalling DVD player. Very happy with the PQ so far. I hv some high quality PC movie files and when playing it on my not so branded upscalling Divx playable DVD player, it says format not supported. Anyone knows why? I tot the TV is said to be able to receive feeds of up to 1080P. The PC file has a resolution of 1280 x 720.
Thks in adv...
petetherock
22-07-2007, 08:43 AM
Some thoughts on your PC (PCs aren't my forte really)
Does the TV take this resolution, try something more basic like 680 first or feed it through a non VGA cable. Another thing to try is to burn the file as a video file and see if it works through the DVD player.
mchong67
24-07-2007, 01:24 AM
Some thoughts on your PC (PCs aren't my forte really)
Does the TV take this resolution, try something more basic like 680 first or feed it through a non VGA cable. Another thing to try is to burn the file as a video file and see if it works through the DVD player.
What I'd actually did was burnt the file onto a DVD-R and just use my Divx DVD player to run it. The very same genre of the file but with a smaller pixel size can work. (say 512 x 288 ). So can it mean conclusively any 1280 x 720 pixel files won't work on my Panny 42" 1024 x 768 TV although it has a processor to up it to 1080P?
I hv just hook up my PC to my TV via a VGA cable, tried running the big 1280 x 720 file via PC was ok. I guess the DVD player cannot read the file ba.
maybe the codec is not supported by your player. altho it is a divx file but it comes in various versions.Thks bro. most likely the case..
mchong67
24-07-2007, 01:39 AM
Ok. Today only got a chance to hook up PC to TV via VGA connection. I'd set my PC to 1024 x 768, exactly the same as my TV. Problem is my PC was hooked to a 17" normal screen aspect LCD and TV is 16:9 wide screen. So the output on TV is like what you would see on the PC but on TV it will have the same amount of top-bottom black bars for the wide screen movies thus the ppl looked fatter due to its 16:9 aspect.
How to solve this?
Visitor
16-03-2008, 03:27 AM
Hi Everyone,
i just bought my Palladine 37 Full HD and i connected it to my pc, i find the word very very blur running 1920x1080, why is this so? this is normal?
when i connected the VGA which only support up to 1280 x 1024, the text look very normal.
Is something wrong with the DVI cable i bought? or this is normal for DVI output for palladine 37, i seriously find it very crappy.
benson76
16-03-2008, 05:05 AM
u mean u doing DVI (graphics card) to HDMI (Pallandine) at 1920x1080 ?
I bought a $8++ dvi-hdmi to test use on my Samsung 26" LCD TV at 1368 x 768 and the text are blur... though not as blur as output thrug video, s-video, component....
output via vga is very clear...
So I see... vga to Palladine can go up to 1280 x 1024 only..... is this normal for full HD LCD ? I always thought can go up 1920 x 1080... lucky never buy....
btw, how much u pay for Palladine? wat's the dead pixel warranty like?
congster2
16-03-2008, 10:02 AM
did you adjust your PC's graphics display settings to be at full HD/60hz?
Visitor
16-03-2008, 10:25 AM
my graphic card is display at hdmi 1920 * 1080 60hz. anyone know why is the text blur... no Jazzed is a better word, why is it Jazzed.?
VGA at 1280 * 1024 is normal- clear
Visitor
16-03-2008, 03:30 PM
HEEEELLLPPPP
limster
16-03-2008, 04:31 PM
lower the refresh rate downwards, 50hz, then 30hz and see how.
benson76
16-03-2008, 05:55 PM
my graphic card is display at hdmi 1920 * 1080 60hz. anyone know why is the text blur... no Jazzed is a better word, why is it Jazzed.?
VGA at 1280 * 1024 is normal- clear
u mean u doing DVI (graphics card) to HDMI (Pallandine) at 1920x1080 ?
I bought a $8++ dvi-hdmi to test use on my Samsung 26" LCD TV at 1368 x 768 and the text are blur... though not as blur as output thrug video, s-video, component.... how much is your dvi-to-hdmi cable?
btw, how much u pay for Palladine? wat's the dead pixel warranty like?
As for the rest... is this normal for full HD LCD to diplay 1280 x 1024 via VGA only ? I always thought can go up 1920 x 1080 for full HD...
congster2
16-03-2008, 06:28 PM
did you set your palladine input to 1:1 pixel mapping.
Visitor
16-03-2008, 09:58 PM
hey congster2,
how do i set 1:1pixel mapping?
i got another cable to test already and found out that it is still the same, so not cable problem, hetz also change to 50,30,24hz still problem. lower resolution also problem.
now i suspect is !1:1 pixel mapping.
benson,
30$ 3meter.
$999, 4 dead.
vga support 1280*1024, hdmi 1920*1080
kun1he2
17-03-2008, 12:36 AM
I've got the 42" - confirmed no 1:1 pixel mapping.
Guess the next best thing you can do is to use larger fonts for the desktop.
imkheong
17-03-2008, 01:08 AM
I just bought a Hitachi L32A01A. Using it for computer most of the time too.
Before the TV arrives, I thought it might be a good idea to use DVI to HDMI. Then I also got the cable for 38 bucks, only to find out that the output is not really fantastic.
Using my VGA analogue cable is a tad clearer, displaying at 1360 x 768, which is very close to the panel's native resolution (HD Ready i guess?).
The display is at its best under this setting. I do play around with the TV settings for PC input, and set it at 1360 x 768. It works best for my eye, and give the best detail after trying various possibilities.
1080P (1920x 1080) is indeed supported via the DVI-HDMI cable thru my VGA out, the display looks slightly blur not as sharp, I guess it is the TV's upscaling chip taking effect. So can't really blame it. However, I would presume your full HD set would perform well, but there really isn't any guarantee thats why.
As a matter of fact, almost wanted to buy the Palladine instead of this set. I can get both of them at the same price indeed, considering a 32" HD ready vs a 37" full HD. In the end still go for the 32" considering comfort for my eye as the top priority (IPS panel). Have been very satisfied thus far.
Maybe you should also try using VGA cable, and play around with the settings. I did that at Carrefour before, it seems to be not bad de leh... BTW, that is what i am using for my PC output too. Try that n see?
wookoktong
17-03-2008, 08:56 AM
It looks like your Palladine does not support 1:1 pixel mapping at all. You can check your user manual on the supported PC resolution. If you need to connect the TV to your PC, you should check pixel mapping before making the purchase. Some TVs will also allow 1:1 mapping via HDMI, please read this for more info:
http://pixelmapping.wikispaces.com/
Soul77
17-03-2008, 04:52 PM
I bought this lcd also, to be delivered on 28 mar.
Btw, when u used dvi->hdmi, did you notice any overscan? (part of the desktop like your start button is cropped by the tv?)
billovee
18-03-2008, 05:21 PM
Meaning this LCD not suitable to use as monitor for desktop ?
Anyone can clarified ? Thanks
I also want to find out which LCD tv must suitable for monitor for desktop.
Thanks
Kopi_si
18-03-2008, 10:32 PM
I have the 42" and have the same problem using DVI-HDMI. Using DVI-HDMI there is overscan. I use my Nividia driver software to resize the deskstop. Watching video is oK at this resolution.
Using the Analog VGA, text is clear
Visitor
19-03-2008, 04:41 PM
Anyone know how to use powerstrip to control the resolution to achieve 1:1pixel mapping? i am just dream. anyhow i going to call them to refund me tonight. if i can get 1:1 pixel mapping using powerstrip i m ok!
Soul77
19-03-2008, 10:50 PM
What is your graphic card? if nvidia, try to use custom resolution. Maybe you would like to try 1820 x 1024 resolution
Btw, where did you buy it? The shop allow to do refund?
vkvkvvk
20-03-2008, 09:06 PM
My graphics card has two DVI ports. I use a DVI to VGA adapter and used a VGA cable connect to my 42 inch LCD tv.
My LCD resolution spces states: 1368x768
When choosing resolution, I could not see any 1368x768 option for me to choose.
The max resolution I can choose is 1600 x 1200. but when I select it, my screen flickers quit alot then it goes back to 1280 x 1024 which dark panels will appear at each side.
I can't choose 1600x1200 is it because I'm using VGA cable?
I've already ordered a DVI to HDMI cable don't know if it helps..
NovJoe
21-03-2008, 02:06 PM
what panel are you using?
Different panel has different options.
kennyboy
21-03-2008, 06:10 PM
which tv are you using?
some lcd tv vga connection don't allow going to the max resolution of the tv.
to get 1368x768 on pc, you need software like powerstrip, or go to the advanced portion of your video card to tweak. I know nvidia has a place for you to enter your own output resolution...not sure about ATI.
deven
21-03-2008, 09:05 PM
My graphics card has two DVI ports. I use a DVI to VGA adapter and used a VGA cable connect to my 42 inch LCD tv.
My LCD resolution spces states: 1368x768
When choosing resolution, I could not see any 1368x768 option for me to choose.
The max resolution I can choose is 1600 x 1200. but when I select it, my screen flickers quit alot then it goes back to 1280 x 1024 which dark panels will appear at each side.
I can't choose 1600x1200 is it because I'm using VGA cable?
To get 1920x1080 from your PC to your newly bought 42" LCD TV you need a HDMI capable display card e.g: ATI3650 with a DVI to HDMI converter.
I've already ordered a DVI to HDMI cable don't know if it helps..[/QUOTE]
Ordering a DVI to HDMI cable might not help. Older graphics card will not convert the DVI signal to HDMI. That means you won't get any signal on your TV. But some older display card will some how work. That means you can only see the screen after windows have successfully loaded the drivers.
I know because recently just bought the Hitachi LX4201A
Visitor
21-03-2008, 11:35 PM
TO BE REFUNDED ON MONDAY 24/03/2008. Yes they allow me to refund after 6 coordinating calls + case threat. lol
Sigh... have to go back to my trusty 19'.
Computer Text totally cannot make it at HDMI 1920*1080, VGA max 1280 x1024 only sightly below OK. this is my best defination for those who wish to buy palladine.
HDMI Video even though it does look good, cannot be very good becasue of the above problem.
I have yet to figure out how to use powerstrip to run 1:1 using ATI 1900XT, it seem disappointing though.
vkvkvvk
22-03-2008, 02:29 AM
Thanks guys for ur help. Really appreciate it. The grapchis card i used is a 9800 GX2. After using a hdmi cable everythings fine. The pc i'm using to test is from my room. So i won't be using it for HTPC
SO, If I were to built a HTPC, which graphics card should I get for mainly vewing HD content?
[My HD video files are usally 720p]
[Very little gaming. but still would like it to be able to handle games like gears of war on medium/high setting]
I'm looking at these few models: 3850/3870 or 9600? [Would like to spent as little money as possible.]
kennyboy
22-03-2008, 01:07 PM
Thanks guys for ur help. Really appreciate it. The grapchis card i used is a 9800 GX2. After using a hdmi cable everythings fine. The pc i'm using to test is from my room. So i won't be using it for HTPC
SO, If I were to built a HTPC, which graphics card should I get for mainly vewing HD content?
[My HD video files are usally 720p]
[Very little gaming. but still would like it to be able to handle games like gears of war on medium/high setting]
I'm looking at these few models: 3850/3870 or 9600? [Would like to spent as little money as possible.]
for 720p video viewing only you don't really need a dedicated graphics card.
just get one of those mb with inbuilt hdmi will do.
however for gaming then you need one of the more recent ones. to play gears on high you can't scrimp on the video card....
kennyboy
22-03-2008, 01:08 PM
To get 1920x1080 from your PC to your newly bought 42" LCD TV you need a HDMI capable display card e.g: ATI3650 with a DVI to HDMI converter.
people display only 1368x768 lah...
kennyboy
22-03-2008, 01:26 PM
i think u have too high expectations of the display liao.
most lcd tvs will have blurred text from htpc. you really want 1:1, get a lcd monitor.
go try other brands like sharp, sony, samsung. it will be the same. blur up close, ok from a distance.
if lcd tv can work as good as monitor, who would wanna buy a 30" 1920x1200 lcd monitor at such high prices, when there is a 37" 1920x1080 lcd tv that works as good for a much lower price? simple logic.
congster2
22-03-2008, 03:18 PM
yes.. actually i dont see in anyway how you have something that can be brought to case. simply put, you didn't understand the limitations of the TV before you bought it. unless the company misrepresenting its capabilities to you which i doubt, you don't have a case. i think they acceded to the refund request only because they didn't want to waste their time servicing you.
vkvkvvk
23-03-2008, 01:08 AM
Is video ram important viewing HD vidoes? ATI 3650 @ 256mb ram seems very cheap. [I won't be playing games with it anymore]
And one more question, Are there any video/size quality difference if I select 1280 x 720 to watch 720p videos Or if I select 1900 x 1200 to watch the same video.
benson76
23-03-2008, 01:25 AM
so can the other branded full HD LCD display 1920 x 1080 via VGA and HDMI ?
kennyboy
23-03-2008, 02:11 AM
recent sets should be able to do so fine, but it won't have has clear text as on a lcd monitor.
a lcd tv isn't made for 1:1 pixel text usage....
kennyboy
23-03-2008, 02:15 AM
Is video ram important viewing HD vidoes? ATI 3650 @ 256mb ram seems very cheap. [I won't be playing games with it anymore]
And one more question, Are there any video/size quality difference if I select 1280 x 720 to watch 720p videos Or if I select 1900 x 1200 to watch the same video.
as said, 720 isn't that straining, even on a mb with the video built in, so ati 3650 would be a waste of money imho.
for the 2nd question, if your lcd is only hd-ready, and u set pc output to 1900x1200, you would be wasting cpu resources upscaling the picture needlessly.
unless your display is full-hd then no choice. otherwise why choose 1900x1200?
vkvkvvk
23-03-2008, 05:08 AM
Mine is a HD-Ready. what i was trying to know was that: Let say I put resolution quite low at 1280 x 720 and watch HD videos then compare it with when I set it to 1368x768 and watch it instead.
Will the picture at 1280x720 seem being slighly enlarged? Or no matter what wide screen size resolution I put, the video will look the same
Visitor
23-03-2008, 11:57 AM
recent sets should be able to do so fine, but it won't have has clear text as on a lcd monitor.
a lcd tv isn't made for 1:1 pixel text usage....
that pretty contradicting statement, with 1:1 pixel mapping text is as clear as it can ever be.
If recent advertise TV can advert with full HD and able to produce pure 1920*1080, then Palladine and many other brands have wilfully mislead its customers. becasue its 1920*1080 is just an zoom up version of 720 res.
Much like buying a digital camera advert at with 10x Full Zoom feature, instead of optical zoom, it is just a digital zoom.
Furthermore why would i want a Monitor lCD with so much higher resolution than a TV LCD when i have to pay so much more for a much better graphic card for a littlle bit sharp benfit?
1920*1080 is good enough.
kennyboy
23-03-2008, 01:09 PM
nope....they will appear the same. it is better to put it at native resolution of the display, not at resolution of the video itself. a little cpu power will be used to upscale the picture, but it is too little to be of any concern.
kennyboy
23-03-2008, 01:12 PM
that pretty contradicting statement, with 1:1 pixel mapping text is as clear as it can ever be.
If recent advertise TV can advert with full HD and able to produce pure 1920*1080, then Palladine and many other brands have wilfully mislead its customers. becasue its 1920*1080 is just an zoom up version of 720 res.
Much like buying a digital camera advert at with 10x Full Zoom feature, instead of optical zoom, it is just a digital zoom.
Furthermore why would i want a Monitor lCD with so much higher resolution than a TV LCD when i have to pay so much more for a much better graphic card for a littlle bit sharp benfit?
1920*1080 is good enough.
You assume too much. They did say FullHD, but they weren't made for crystal clear text.
It won't matter...i daresay you won't find a full hd lcd tv out there that can do text like a lcd monitor.
I don't believe any of the advertisement actually state u can get text display on tv like a monitor. Again, logic applies here. Why would a 30" lcd monitor cost more than a 37" lcd tv? There's an obvious logic flaw in your thinking.
edit : and no....there's a big difference between 1080p and 720p material. So you can say it's a zoom up version of 720p. Of course, you do need a large enough display to appreciate it.
Simply put, lcd tvs aren't made to replace lcd monitors. They'll both have their place in the market.
vkvkvvk
23-03-2008, 02:26 PM
Oh Ic. thanks kennyboy. ^-^ You've been rreally helpful. Really aprreciated it guys
benson76
24-03-2008, 02:45 AM
actually i am now having problem with dvi-hdmi onto my HD-ready (1368x768) 26" Samsung LCD TV.
My GFX is 8800GT..... use the nvidia control panel dop setting liso... still can't get the 1280 x 720 to display correctly on my TV.... other resolution also can't...
billovee
24-03-2008, 04:19 AM
Anyone kindly show me the output of linking desktop to this LCD Tv ?
Thanks
kennyboy
24-03-2008, 08:49 AM
actually i am now having problem with dvi-hdmi onto my HD-ready (1368x768) 26" Samsung LCD TV.
My GFX is 8800GT..... use the nvidia control panel dop setting liso... still can't get the 1280 x 720 to display correctly on my TV.... other resolution also can't...
u should be doing something closer to 1368x768 instead. the nvidia control panel should have an option in xp to adjust the screen resolution to closer to what you need. if not then update your drivers.
benson76
24-03-2008, 08:55 AM
u should be doing something closer to 1368x768 instead. the nvidia control panel should have an option in xp to adjust the screen resolution to closer to what you need. if not then update your drivers.
ya... it have this 1368 x 768 option as well.... but scaling is not correct...... choose all scaling option available and all do not scale properly....
billovee
24-03-2008, 02:49 PM
Anyone can just show me the output from the LCD TV
Thanks
Visitor
24-03-2008, 05:01 PM
it is crap without 1:1. it will not be as fine u as wish it should be, it is as bad as you wish it shouldnt be.
pic.. nah, they took back already. nice after support.
almost everyone i spoke to want to hook up their lcd tv to their pc, it is converging into a need, being a consumer, i am asking what i want. without ppl like us, business will see no reason to improve.
POWER TO THE CONSUMERS!
kennyboy
24-03-2008, 08:53 PM
ya... it have this 1368 x 768 option as well.... but scaling is not correct...... choose all scaling option available and all do not scale properly....
using nvidia right? there is an option to adjust for overscan/underscan. read the documentation.
kennyboy
24-03-2008, 08:53 PM
Anyone can just show me the output from the LCD TV
Thanks
what the hell are you talking about?
kennyboy
24-03-2008, 08:54 PM
it is crap without 1:1. it will not be as fine u as wish it should be, it is as bad as you wish it shouldnt be.
pic.. nah, they took back already. nice after support.
almost everyone i spoke to want to hook up their lcd tv to their pc, it is converging into a need, being a consumer, i am asking what i want. without ppl like us, business will see no reason to improve.
POWER TO THE CONSUMERS!
it's a case of buyer not understanding the specs of the equipment before buying.
you will never find a lcd tv that will meet your needs...at least for now.
billovee
24-03-2008, 09:48 PM
what the hell are you talking about?
talking about hell.
talking about showing linking the desktop to LCD TV output.
to see whether it is acceptable or not.
kennyboy
24-03-2008, 11:13 PM
talking about hell.
talking about showing linking the desktop to LCD TV output.
to see whether it is acceptable or not.
he already said he return liao...read first lah.
wookoktong
25-03-2008, 09:13 AM
There are a number of LCD TVs that can display 1920x1080 (1:1 mapping) via VGA or HDMI, Samsung M81 is one of them, my old Amoi 37" also can, check this site:
http://pixelmapping.wikispaces.com/
If you really need to connect to your PC, check the web or download the manual to make sure that your ideal resolution is supported. I didn't buy Sharp A63 because it is stated in the manual that it only support up to 1400x1050 although its native resolution is 1920x1080.
wookoktong
25-03-2008, 09:30 AM
Take for example Sony X series, according to the site (http://pixelmapping.wikispaces.com/Sony+TVs), 1:1 mapping is only supported via HDMI, VGA only support resolution up to 1360x768. Thats mean for optimal viewing when connected to PC, you have to use a HDMI/DVI cable. Having a native resolution of 1920x1080 does not mean that the resolution is supported when connected to the PC. That is the difference between LCD TV and monitor.
benson76
26-03-2008, 08:52 AM
Take for example Sony X series, according to the site (http://pixelmapping.wikispaces.com/Sony+TVs), 1:1 mapping is only supported via HDMI, VGA only support resolution up to 1360x768. Thats mean for optimal viewing when connected to PC, you have to use a HDMI/DVI cable. Having a native resolution of 1920x1080 does not mean that the resolution is supported when connected to the PC. That is the difference between LCD TV and monitor.
thks alot for the info which is very useful...
Visitor
26-03-2008, 01:23 PM
where to buy the AMOI 37' ah?
wookoktong
26-03-2008, 02:10 PM
where to buy the AMOI 37' ah?
I saw Giant (can't remeber where) still selling Amoi 37" full HD. Please note that the warranty is only 1 year on panel. Like me if the panel is spoilt after 1 year, you have no choice but to buy a new TV.
kennyboy
26-03-2008, 02:29 PM
I've used amoi 37 full hd before. same result.
you won't get 1:1 for text. still blurred text that is only improved by making the font larger.
unless you don't care about underscan/overscan, sure, you may get a nice non blur picture, but you also get parts of the desktop cropped at the edges.
wookoktong
26-03-2008, 02:38 PM
I've used amoi 37 full hd before. same result.
you won't get 1:1 for text. still blurred text that is only improved by making the font larger.
unless you don't care about underscan/overscan, sure, you may get a nice non blur picture, but you also get parts of the desktop cropped at the edges.
I don't know whether we are talking about the same model, mine is LC37AF1S. I am able to get 1:1 mapping via HDMI using a HDMI/DVI cable. The settings on my PC is 1920x1080 50hz. Looking closely at the display should reveal that you are getting 1:1 mapping or not.
kennyboy
26-03-2008, 02:42 PM
I don't know whether we are talking about the same model, mine is LC37AF1S. I am able to get 1:1 mapping via HDMI using a HDMI/DVI cable. The settings on my PC is 1920x1080 50hz. Looking closely at the display should reveal that you are getting 1:1 mapping or not.
should be same lah. not using now cos spoil easily
the text like lcd monitor? i tried all kinds of settings via nvidia and powerstrip all still a bit blur.
anyway want to find also hard since the store at harbourfront up lorry liao.
Visitor
26-03-2008, 02:46 PM
heng, nearly want to go harbourfront to have alook.. so now where to buy?
spanish village?
wookoktong
26-03-2008, 03:49 PM
should be same lah. not using now cos spoil easily
the text like lcd monitor? i tried all kinds of settings via nvidia and powerstrip all still a bit blur.
anyway want to find also hard since the store at harbourfront up lorry liao.
Are you using VGA instead of HDMI cos VGA only support up to 1280x1024? I am very sure that it support 1:1 mapping before I purchase it, I got the information from AVS and xtremeplace forums.
kennyboy
26-03-2008, 10:28 PM
Are you using VGA instead of HDMI cos VGA only support up to 1280x1024? I am very sure that it support 1:1 mapping before I purchase it, I got the information from AVS and xtremeplace forums.
hdmi lah.... vga cannot go to full spec.
billovee
27-03-2008, 03:38 AM
We talk so much...........
Go straight to the point
What is the best LCD TV to us as LCD monitor for our desktop ?
What is the suitable and worthwhile desktop to buy to link with the LCD TV ?
Visitor
27-03-2008, 10:43 AM
u got money?
got money buy X series Sony
no money buy amoi advent series
yes, if u want to watch prawn big big at 20cm apart and completely cover yr view area.
billovee
27-03-2008, 11:59 PM
amoi advent series how much ?
only sony brand got ?
How about panasonic ?
Samsung ?
No other brand ?
so limited ?
Strange
homedriver
30-03-2008, 03:31 PM
Sharp 37A63M
$2299
+ free Sharp DV-SL2000W HDMI DVD player
+ free $200 Taka voucher
+ free Best Denki 5 years extended warranty
+ free 29" luggage bag
That was in January.
Hi Brother, have you try to connect ur pc/laptop tour LCD.
Below is my laptop configure, can teach me which cable to buy to connect my laptop to the lcd and which type will provide a better PQ, thanks first :yawn:
DVI-D port (for selected models)
External display (VGA) port
AV-in port (for selected models)
S-video/TV-out (NTSC/PAL) port (for selected models)
S-video-in (NTSC/PAL) port (for selected models)
Headphones/speaker/line-out port with S/PDIF
support (for selected models)
Microphone-in jack
Line-in jack
DC-in jack for AC adapter
homedriver
30-03-2008, 10:40 PM
Anyone try to connect laptop to PC? Which one can produce better PQ, DVI or S-video/TV-out ?
So then I can get the correct cable to connect.
Thanks.
wahlin
30-03-2008, 11:14 PM
Anyone try to connect laptop to PC? Which one can produce better PQ, DVI or S-video/TV-out ?
So then I can get the correct cable to connect.
Thanks.
I connect my Dell notebook VGA output (D-Sub 15) to a Sony 40X300A with the supplied VGA cable to the PC input (D-Sub 15). Set to 1920 X 1080 on notebook and display without any problem. Display is as good as LCD monitor. Funny thing is alot of people (even the sales man) say cannot make it with VGA connection but only HDMI.
WestGuy
31-03-2008, 02:31 PM
Hi Brother, have you try to connect ur pc/laptop tour LCD.
Below is my laptop configure, can teach me which cable to buy to connect my laptop to the lcd and which type will provide a better PQ, thanks first :yawn:
DVI-D port (for selected models)
External display (VGA) port
AV-in port (for selected models)
S-video/TV-out (NTSC/PAL) port (for selected models)
S-video-in (NTSC/PAL) port (for selected models)
Headphones/speaker/line-out port with S/PDIF
support (for selected models)
Microphone-in jack
Line-in jack
DC-in jack for AC adapter
DVI-D is the best, followed by VGA
I connected my laptop to my 37A63M via HDMI.
Very Sharp(pardon the pun!:D)
1280 x 1024 @ 60Hz
Here are some pictures
http://img339.imageshack.us/img339/2261/p1000417rk7.jpg
http://img444.imageshack.us/img444/2829/p1000419ut9.jpg
NovJoe
31-03-2008, 08:04 PM
It depends on the output VGA chip that's running on your laptop. If you got a good VGA like nVidia or ATI series with HD support, it's definately able to run up to high resolutions.
homedriver
31-03-2008, 09:29 PM
1280 x 1024 @ 60Hz
Here are some pictures
Too bad my laptop dun have hdmi. So how should I tell the salesman which type of cable I want or just say dvi cable to connect laptop to pc? Is it got difference quality or type of dvi cable, thanks again brother :)
The TV is quite clear in SD content, just for sport channel is not so good.
homedriver
31-03-2008, 09:31 PM
DVI is better
Thanks, so is it got difference type of dvi cable or just a standard cable will do.
wahlin
01-04-2008, 11:10 AM
It depends on the output VGA chip that's running on your laptop. If you got a good VGA like nVidia or ATI series with HD support, it's definately able to run up to high resolutions.
Ya, just checked. Mine is nVidia NVS 120M. Don't know whether got HD support or not.
Bernie7
01-04-2008, 12:21 PM
VGA connection can give XGA PQ meh?
Thot only HDMI or DVI can do this :s11:
chris89
01-04-2008, 10:54 PM
hey guys im using a 32" samsung tv. the output from my com to the tv leaves a black bar at the sides of the TV. how to make it run full screen?
nortel
02-04-2008, 09:12 PM
i heard that it is possible to connect a LCD TV to a PC, but how can i tell if the LCD TV is capable of do so? does all LCD TV come with VGA input like those LCD computer screen for connecting the PC directly?
thanks in advance for those who responsed:)
alanchia67
02-04-2008, 09:57 PM
better to check the lcd tv specs what input they accept.
billovee
02-04-2008, 10:22 PM
how to check ?
Which package is the best for example, desktop and lcd tv.
Thanks
petetherock
02-04-2008, 10:27 PM
Most new panels have a VGA input, but you should check the model you are buying. That should not be too hard when you see it in action.
Cheers
i heard that it is possible to connect a LCD TV to a PC, but how can i tell if the LCD TV is capable of do so? does all LCD TV come with VGA input like those LCD computer screen for connecting the PC directly?
thanks in advance for those who responsed:)
nortel
03-04-2008, 01:25 AM
was reading the posting here and understand that it is important to get a 1:1 pixmapping if you want to connect your LCD TV to PC. how can you tell from the LCD TV specifications that it is able to do a 1:1 pixmapping? was looking at the specifications but can't see to find any info that it is able to do the 1:1
wookoktong
03-04-2008, 09:12 AM
OK, to check for 1:1 pixel mapping, you have to look into the user manual of the TV not just the specifications. There is usually a section on connecting to a PC and what resolution and frequency are supported. Please remember to check the port as well, some can do 1:1 over HDMI or VGA but not both. If the native resolution is 1366x768, then 1:1 mapping is 1360x768 on the PC, 3 pixels on left and right are unused, i.e. underscan. If native resolution is 1920x1080, then 1:1 mapping is 1920x1080.
As for VGA or HDMI connection, if you need HDCP then you must use HDMI connection as VGA is analogue and does not support HDCP.
wookoktong
03-04-2008, 09:50 AM
I connect my Dell notebook VGA output (D-Sub 15) to a Sony 40X300A with the supplied VGA cable to the PC input (D-Sub 15). Set to 1920 X 1080 on notebook and display without any problem. Display is as good as LCD monitor. Funny thing is alot of people (even the sales man) say cannot make it with VGA connection but only HDMI.
Well, according to the pixel mapping web site, Sony X series only support 1:1 mapping over HDMI, so I go to the following site to download the manual:
http://www.sony.com.sg/support/product/klv-40x300a?site=hp_en_SG_i
On page 44 of the manual, it is stated that 1920x1080 is supported via VGA and hence you can get 1:1 pixel mapping. I believe the site is a little outdated as the old X2000 series does not support 1:1 mapping over VGA.
Hence a sure way to confirm 1:1 mapping is to test it out with a laptop.
homedriver
03-04-2008, 08:35 PM
1280 x 1024 @ 60Hz
Here are some pictures
HI brother, have you try dvi to hdmi cable?
wookoktong
04-04-2008, 01:10 PM
Sharp A63 native resolution is 1920x1080, are you sure you are getting 1:1 pixel mapping with 1280x1024. Use the following tool to help you:
http://tft.vanity.dk/monitorTest_scale.html
When you move your mouse near the top of page, there is a menu, choose pixel mapping, press F11 to use full screen and look at the page.
alonerman
17-04-2008, 12:55 AM
i haf a samsung 40r81bx...haf a laptop...i wan to connect the laptop to the lcd so that i can haf a bigger display and maybe use it to watch movie sometimes?
wat cable should i buy? i bot a hdmi-dvi cable...found out that i bought wrong le...i need a vga-vga? or hdmi-vga? pls help...thanks...
petetherock
17-04-2008, 06:41 AM
Unless your laptop has a HDMI output, use a regular VGA to VGA cable
i haf a samsung 40r81bx...haf a laptop...i wan to connect the laptop to the lcd so that i can haf a bigger display and maybe use it to watch movie sometimes?
wat cable should i buy? i bot a hdmi-dvi cable...found out that i bought wrong le...i need a vga-vga? or hdmi-vga? pls help...thanks...
wookoktong
17-04-2008, 09:31 AM
Yes, use a VGA cable. If you can, use the 40r81 as a secondary monitor, set it up using the display settings, 1360x768 60 Hz. In that way, you can use your laptop for normal desktop viewing and when you want to watch movies, drag the window to the TV and maximise it.
WestGuy
17-04-2008, 11:26 AM
Sharp A63 native resolution is 1920x1080, are you sure you are getting 1:1 pixel mapping with 1280x1024. Use the following tool to help you:
http://tft.vanity.dk/monitorTest_scale.html
When you move your mouse near the top of page, there is a menu, choose pixel mapping, press F11 to use full screen and look at the page.
Ok, i tried adjusting some display settings and indeed, i can achieve the maximum resolution of 1920 x 1080 from my notebook via HDMI:D
alonerman
17-04-2008, 11:49 PM
i see...thanks....but hor...jus curious, since i already bot the hdmi-dvi, wat can i use it for?as in, wat equipment uses dvi? :)
BradenHeat
20-04-2008, 01:39 AM
First off, im not too sure what kind of LCD Tv my dad bought, thus sorry for bits and pieces of missing information
Question :
this is my current laptop
http://www.hardwarezone.com/articles/view.php?cid=14&id=2189
S-video cable or VGA ? would be better?
And i've asked the mod, he said i need another cable for sound.
i plea for help on getting the need cables and how to go about purchasing them
I would be using the LCD TV for view movies.....(also to test the HD quality)
*ps im really a newbie *
kennyboy
20-04-2008, 01:58 AM
First off, im not too sure what kind of LCD Tv my dad bought, thus sorry for bits and pieces of missing information
Question :
this is my current laptop
http://www.hardwarezone.com/articles/view.php?cid=14&id=2189
S-video cable or VGA ? would be better?
And i've asked the mod, he said i need another cable for sound.
i plea for help on getting the need cables and how to go about purchasing them
I would be using the LCD TV for view movies.....(also to test the HD quality)
*ps im really a newbie *
vga confirm better than s-video.
for sound, a 3.5mm cable will suffice. both ends look like those normal earphone plugs u have. unless your lcd tv requires rca plugs for inputs then u need one end 3.5mm and the other end rca red/white ends.
quite simple lah....no need to think too much.
BradenHeat
20-04-2008, 08:46 AM
for sound, a 3.5mm cable will suffice. both ends look like those normal earphone plugs u have. unless your lcd tv requires rca plugs for inputs then u need one end 3.5mm and the other end rca red/white ends.
oh....haha thanks!
vga and direct phone jack to jack cables haha
condevil
04-05-2008, 10:21 PM
hi all,
i have a samsung 26 inch tv ( LA26A450C1) which i used to plug it into my computer. the resolution they recommended was 1360* 768. i used it but the words are so big like 1/2 an inch.i tried to change to a greater resolution like 1920*1080 but the words become very fuzzy. is there any ways to solve it ?
Thanks
PS my graphics card is nvidia geforce 7600GS and im using a dvi to hdmi cable.
yu4n_wei
05-05-2008, 02:07 AM
have u tried setting the resolution to 1680x1050? Coz I think that model is not fully 1920x1080p?
condevil
05-05-2008, 10:18 AM
erm no, it doesnt help, the words are still very blurred. only when i set to the native resolution then the text is crystal clear but the words are so big, like 1/2 an inch.
Soul77
06-05-2008, 05:38 PM
The tv native resolution should be 1366x768.
So, 1360x768 is the best you can achieve via pc. When you force the pc output to 1920x1080, the tv will interpolate it to fit the 1366x768, hence the blur.
I dont think you can do anything about it.
wolf_agent
07-05-2008, 12:49 AM
Guys, I just got the Philips 42" 42PFL7432/98 URL "http://www.consumer.philips.com/consumer/en/sg/consumer/cc/_productid_42PFL7432_98_SG_CONSUMER/widescreen-flat-TV+42PFL7432-98"
According to the spec, it support 1920x1080p, however the text display are just fuzzy and consider non-readable. With some google and found this thread, went through from page1, the TV also can't display at the common 1366x768 to conform pixelmapping. From Show All Mode, it has 1360x768, but the result turn out poor. Final test with 720p, it's the best mode the panel can offer at 1280x720.
So, is it true that... eventhough it advertised Full HD at 1920x1080, it ain't necessary conform 1:1 pixelmapping especially for text?
Appreciate more input.. though very sianz liao since got the wrong panel that can't do native 1920x1080p :(
Supposely my HTPC: DualCore, 2GB RAM, 8600GTS...(EDIT: DVi->HDMI cable)
whongtk
14-05-2008, 07:59 PM
Ordering a DVI to HDMI cable might not help. Older graphics card will not convert the DVI signal to HDMI. That means you won't get any signal on your TV. But some older display card will some how work. That means you can only see the screen after windows have successfully loaded the drivers.
I know because recently just bought the Hitachi LX4201A[/QUOTE]
Hi, how is the LX42 so far? I have also ordered it. I have a RGB to component cable that i use previously to connect my PC to the phillips LCD TV - maybe it may just work on this hitachi? What's the max resolution via PC input? My guess if i use component input for PC can use the full HD resolution since component input supports it? Don't really mind it's only 1080/60 as long 1:1 pixel mapping.
wedgehammer
14-05-2008, 08:21 PM
the signal doesn't need conversion between DVI to HDMI as HDMI is basically DVI + audio (well it's more complex than that but that's the simple explanation)
the problem is that your card might not support HDCP over DVI, if that's the case, your card won't talk to the display... if it supports HDCP over DVI (like imac), you should be able to use the DVI-HDMI adaptor to connect the two
for audio i have some problem
S7110 laptop audio to LCD TV Bravia KLV-32S310A
my display is ok le i use my creative speakers audio cable (as mention by kennyboy the both ends look like those normal earphoneplugs) connect from laptop earphone output to the PC audio input point (of my tV)
Please advise
SOLVED on the audio one. new question
another question, how do i test the max resolution from my laptop to the tv? so that i know the tv has the best possible picture...
watching rmvb drama on the tv la...
SzETo_023
20-05-2008, 03:12 AM
Hi.. Would need to check with you guys whether is there any HD cables that i can play dvd using my laptop on a HD ready tv? If yes where can i get it? Best denki or courts?
petetherock
20-05-2008, 07:06 AM
Your options
VGA - every PC has them
If you have them:
DVI - need additional audio cable from the headphones
HDMI - audio and video
NgiaoCi
20-05-2008, 09:36 AM
I recently purchased a Samsung LA32A550P1R.
Connected my PC Sapphire X1950 Pro via DVI to HDMI on HMDI 2 Port (stated to connect PC to this port only).
The text are just a little wee bit blury but readable and not stressful to the eyes.
I check the Display properties it is running @ 1920 x 1080. (IIRC, will double check when I get home)
But the screen is not fully filling the Panel. There are borders around the screen.
Any ideas if its "normal" ?
yuujin
20-05-2008, 05:30 PM
hi im looking at one of the sharp lcd tv which supports up to 1080p
to connect to my home pc as a replacement for my dual 17,15 lcds.
will it be good enough?
KoChi
20-05-2008, 05:44 PM
hey i got a same problem with u.. is it possible to change the tv resolution? i tried connect my notebook to a 32" LCD TV using S-video.. it doesnt get full screen(with black borders).. and words kinda blury.. readable but blury.. btw my notebook max resolu only 1280 x 800 945GM.. or would a 26" be better?
KeKeLaRz
14-06-2008, 11:12 PM
Thinking of selling off my Dell 2407 and running a full HD 42" or 47".
Is it avisable? Doing some gaming and web surfing. Running a 8800GTS 512mb too.
As the HD tvs run @ 1920 x 1080, how would windows achieve native max resolution. is it possible?
Thanks for the advise
raykok2003
16-06-2008, 05:45 PM
Hi Guys,
Is it possible to connect my Compaq Laptop to my new Panasonic Plasma TV? My Plasma only have Mini D-Sub 15-pin Input, so which cable so I use?
Thanks for the advice.
ssaintt
17-06-2008, 05:48 PM
Need some help from the expert brothers here.
I wish to connect my PC to HDTV. I have done it using using a (PC) DVI - HDMI (HDTV) cable. My TV model is Samsung LA40N81B.
However here comes the problem. There video image on my hdtv is ok but there's no sound coming out from the HDTV. What cable do i need or how do i connect my PC to the HDTV so I will be able to get sounds from my PC to come out from my HDTV. Pls help.....
I also have a Panasonic HT System SC HT 850. If there's any way to connect my PC to the HT system it'll be good also. My sound on my motherboard is an onboard sound card. Motherboard is MSI P35-Neo2FR. Graphics card is using Leadtek 8800GTS.
If anyone can help it'll be much appreciated. Thank you
augg27
17-06-2008, 07:46 PM
Simple. Use a 3.5mm AV Jack to connect your pc to the hdtv AV(3.5mm) jack and there should be sound coming out from the tv
juice14
17-06-2008, 07:47 PM
I wish to connect my PC to HDTV. I have done it using using a (PC) DVI - HDMI (HDTV) cable. My TV model is Samsung LA40N81B.
However here comes the problem. There video image on my hdtv is ok but there's no sound coming out from the HDTV. What cable do i need or how do i connect my PC to the HDTV so I will be able to get sounds from my PC to come out from my HDTV. Pls help.....
I also have a Panasonic HT System SC HT 850. If there's any way to connect my PC to the HT system it'll be good also. My sound on my motherboard is an onboard sound card. Motherboard is MSI P35-Neo2FR. Graphics card is using Leadtek 8800GTS.
Bro, ur DVI cable only output video signal. Hence u need to hook ur PC up to speakers lor.... as for what cables u can use depends on the speakers u can hook up to lor... PC one is either the single 3.5" (I think so) jack or in some rare cases got optical output.
I not sure if ur TV can output audio from separate source together with ur PC audio output. I have my PC connected via normal stereo output to an old Cambridge Soundworks setup. I believe ur Pana HT should have some form of input jack for at least Red/White RCA audio. Errrr should be able to find this kind of cable at most places even NTUC oso got....
crapped
19-06-2008, 11:07 AM
Just some quick advice for peeps getting problems with over or under scan on their Samsung panels, for my R81 there's a button on the bottom right of the remote that says "P. Size"
Just press it to get the "Just Scan" picture mode and voila the picture is adjusted to 1:1 mapping. It works even when I set the desktop reso to 1280 x 720.
Darknights
19-06-2008, 10:39 PM
My TV is connected to my PC using a HDMI cable. With a 3870 and a DVI - HDMI convertor, my TV does produce sound. I guess you need a graphics card that support HDMI signal which carries both audio and video signal to your TV. :)
hunterdoom
05-07-2008, 10:18 AM
can anybody teach me what cable i must buy and how to connect it?
Blazkowicz
05-07-2008, 12:47 PM
There are plenty of options depending on what ports your TV and PC have. The most basic way is to use the VGA cable, the one which connects to your monitor. However, you wouldn't be able to achieve the best resolution with this option.
A better option is to use an S-Video cable. But the best option would be to use an HDMI cable which would provide you the best resolution and clarity.
hunterdoom
05-07-2008, 06:43 PM
There are plenty of options depending on what ports your TV and PC have. The most basic way is to use the VGA cable, the one which connects to your monitor. However, you wouldn't be able to achieve the best resolution with this option.
A better option is to use an S-Video cable. But the best option would be to use an HDMI cable which would provide you the best resolution and clarity.
if i want to use HDMI cable but my computer dun't have the input for the HDMI plug
Blazkowicz
05-07-2008, 09:22 PM
Then you just can't use HDMI. Use S-Video instead, that is the next best option.
jacky80
10-08-2008, 04:33 PM
I Plug my PC to Philips LCD TV model 32PFL9432 , whenever i play Music or Video, it always blinking and show no video signal. I had done software upgrade for LCD , set refresh rate to 60Hertz , resolution 1680 x 1050 and using DVI cable to HDMI set to PC. Any 1 experience this before?
zeroflame
11-10-2008, 11:13 PM
I currently connect my pc via VGA to a samsung HD ready LCD TV for almost 2 yrs liao.
I thinking to upgrade the TV as i bought a bluray rom and will be watching bluray from it.
Shld i change to a full HD LCD TV ?how will it benefit the PQ?
Which model for 32/37 can i consider?
BTW i using VGA connection currently , will it affect the PQ also? I do have a DVI-HDMI cable but it doesn;t really do well on my current TV. My 8800GT only have DVI output,no HDMI.
Thanks
Wataru
12-10-2008, 01:34 AM
it will be much better, since a Full-HD display is 1920x1080 instead of the 1360x768 ur HD-ready TV is outputting. And some Blu-Ray titles i heard will not play unless the output is thru HDMI, meaning u have to use that DVI-HDMI cable
KuroI-Kaze
12-10-2008, 03:05 AM
Im also intend to buy a 32" hdtv for pc usage. Thinking of getting HD ready since I dun use it for bluray, ps3 or xbox360. Main usage only ps2 and pc but im worry about the resolution thing.
Im using ati 4850 hdmi to connect the tv and wonder if I should get fullhd just for the resolution.
it will be much better, since a Full-HD display is 1920x1080 instead of the 1360x768 ur HD-ready TV is outputting. And some Blu-Ray titles i heard will not play unless the output is thru HDMI, meaning u have to use that DVI-HDMI cable
Not only HDMI, but must be HDCP compatible also.
Anyway, 1920x1080 is better because your graphics card can output at that resolution, achieving 1:1 pixel mapping.
Whereas if you get a HD-Ready TV, the output is only 1360x768, the horizontal pixels will be stretched by 6 pixels. Not noticeable for movies, but text yes.
zeroflame
12-10-2008, 10:07 AM
thanks for the comments..i definitely looking for higher resolution for my pc but can my 8800gt support this resolution at this size?
currently no issue with my bluray but i dun think it is optimise as it shld have downscaled to 1366x768 to fit my current lcd tv.
As time goes by, i feel my 32" not big enuff liao..haha..so thinking to get a 37" full hd.
Only see Samsung LA37A550P1 at ard $1.8k or shld i remain at 32" with Sony KLV 32W400A ?
Or any other recommendation? :)
Price i quote based from http://www.bargaincity.com.sg/
kennyboy
12-10-2008, 10:54 PM
don't worry...my old fx5200 ran 1920x1080 just fine...for normal pc use of course, not HD playback or gaming.
if your video card can play 720p/1080p fine, it will play them fine even at a higher desktop resolution.
Wataru
13-10-2008, 12:10 AM
thanks for the comments..i definitely looking for higher resolution for my pc but can my 8800gt support this resolution at this size?
currently no issue with my bluray but i dun think it is optimise as it shld have downscaled to 1366x768 to fit my current lcd tv.
As time goes by, i feel my 32" not big enuff liao..haha..so thinking to get a 37" full hd.
Only see Samsung LA37A550P1 at ard $1.8k or shld i remain at 32" with Sony KLV 32W400A ?
Or any other recommendation? :)
Price i quote based from http://www.bargaincity.com.sg/
Go with the Sony 32W400. Honestly speaking 32 inch is quite big already unless u're using in in the hall or something. And the Samsung 37 inch in terms of specs loses out to the Sony 32W, like contrast ratio and number of inputs
zeroflame
13-10-2008, 05:23 AM
so Sony KLV 32W400A can get 1920x1080 via vga? or only via HDMI?
Am bro using it now? cos my VGA card only dvi. Any problem with the alignment or picture quality?
I wan to make sure it works.
I have a hard time for dvi-hdmi for my current LCD tv.
KuroI-Kaze
13-10-2008, 07:13 AM
You can get a dvi to hdmi connector, then connect both with hdmi cable.
turkey
14-10-2008, 11:56 AM
there are DVI to HDMI converter available, just like there are DVI to VGA converter. In other words you can consider your 8800GT does have HDMI output.
zeroflame
15-10-2008, 01:45 AM
oh..so roughly the price of the converter? i shall go sim lim to hunt for it one day.
Now checking the price for Sony KLV32W400A..seem bargain city one not bad.
yidin
24-10-2008, 01:17 AM
Hello guys. I tried searching for answers but couldn't find much info.
Just wondering.. If I get a 32 inch LCD TV and connect to my PC. HD-ready and Full HD got what difference? I only know the resolution is different.. But can anyone describe to me the differences? Is it necessary to get Full HD for PC?
And my usage is actually for PC gaming, watching DVDs... So just wondering will 37 inch be too big for PC usage/gaming? Anyone can enlighten me?
Thanks in advance =)
petetherock
24-10-2008, 05:47 AM
It still boils down to your viewing distance (there is a thread on this)
You can decide if gaming or DVDs will be your main use.
Just wondering.. If I get a 32 inch LCD TV and connect to my PC. HD-ready and Full HD got what difference? I only know the resolution is different.. But can anyone describe to me the differences? Is it necessary to get Full HD for PC?
And my usage is actually for PC gaming, watching DVDs... So just wondering will 37 inch be too big for PC usage/gaming? Anyone can enlighten me?
Thanks in advance =)
ragnarok95
24-10-2008, 08:45 AM
Thanks in advance =)
It still boils down to your viewing distance (there is a thread on this)
You can decide if gaming or DVDs will be your main use.
For PC useage, a Full HD will be better.
Its close to what a 24in LCD can do and nowadays almost all current graphic cards even onboard support 1080 res.
HD ready: 1366x768
Full HD: 1920x1080
freestylers09
24-10-2008, 10:29 PM
i using acer aspire l320 and trying to connect my lcd tv panasonic veira 26" wif a vga to hdmi cable which i buy oversea
problem is my tv nothing come out..issit my cable spoilt or i should use a dvi to hdmi instead?can i use a dvi to vga converter instead?
my display setting only can reach 1024 x 768 max..what can i do?
zeroflame
27-10-2008, 04:55 PM
i tested out via DVI-HDMI cable with my sis 32" samsung full HD(dunno which model), i compare the 1360x768 with VGA 1360x768...seem that VGA is clearer and sharper.
I set to 1920x1080..graphic still alright but wording not that sharp.
there are very tiny grainy noise when i look closer to the screen.
When connected, the desktop is bigger than the screen size, i need to press on the P-size button until got one mode(Just scan?!?) which auto adjust nicely.
Is it suppose to be in this way? Or is it my cable causing it..or can i set the refresh rate or anything to adjust.
alanswee
27-10-2008, 09:44 PM
Is it suppose to be in this way? Or is it my cable causing it..or can i set the refresh rate or anything to adjust.
Yes. This is normal.
The term is call "overscan" in TV.
http://www.highdefinitionblog.com/?page_id=127
Few model can support 1:1 via the PC input port.
alanswee
27-10-2008, 09:58 PM
i using acer aspire l320 and trying to connect my lcd tv panasonic veira 26" wif a vga to hdmi cable which i buy oversea
problem is my tv nothing come out..issit my cable spoilt or i should use a dvi to hdmi instead?can i use a dvi to vga converter instead?
my display setting only can reach 1024 x 768 max..what can i do?
VGA is analog signal, HDMI is digital, you cant connect VGA to HDMI.
DVI is compatible with HDMI, you need a DVI-HDMI cable.
The display setting is determine by the VGA card driver and the monitor detected.
Check if your display allow to set to higher resolution (try to change the monitor model after you connected to your LCD).
zeroflame
29-10-2008, 03:05 PM
If the overscan is so bad,i think i might consider not to upgrade till there 1920 x 1080 for vga. I prefer clearer n sharper than higher resoln. Heard that ati will solve the issue but i using nvidia...sigh
anyone tried to use a 46" A85 SHARP LCD as their monitor to test test ?
ahkaiz
29-10-2008, 04:33 PM
i tried it on my HD ready plasma~
even though the resoultion is 1024 x 786 (XGA) it is comptiable to many computer cuz most of them could set to this resoultion without any tweak.
and the wording looks really sharp and clear..
mozaat
30-10-2008, 01:36 PM
Hi guys need some ADvice, I Used to have a SFF pc with 8800gts320mbg card using dvi - hdmi cable to my 32inch LG 13xx x 7xx resolution model. Recently, I change to a older shuttle rig which is is jus p4 runing vista ultimate and 7600gs card. I have a 17inch lcd monitor beside my 32inch LG so when booting up, i can see the screen post etc but my 32inch LG HD tv keep ging no signal no signal no singal.,...
I did not have this issue at all when using the opriginal 8800gts320mb rig. Pic and words was sharp and I used it to play all kind of movies with no problem. Can any bro pls advise what might have gone wrong? I am using the latest driver and under mulitiple display clone setting . Thanks alot.
Moz
kennyboy
01-11-2008, 08:57 PM
Hi guys need some ADvice, I Used to have a SFF pc with 8800gts320mbg card using dvi - hdmi cable to my 32inch LG 13xx x 7xx resolution model. Recently, I change to a older shuttle rig which is is jus p4 runing vista ultimate and 7600gs card. I have a 17inch lcd monitor beside my 32inch LG so when booting up, i can see the screen post etc but my 32inch LG HD tv keep ging no signal no signal no singal.,...
I did not have this issue at all when using the opriginal 8800gts320mb rig. Pic and words was sharp and I used it to play all kind of movies with no problem. Can any bro pls advise what might have gone wrong? I am using the latest driver and under mulitiple display clone setting . Thanks alot.
Moz
can see the boot up screen, i.e. the ram and hdd stuff before entering windows?
mozaat
01-11-2008, 09:02 PM
can see the boot up screen, i.e. the ram and hdd stuff before entering windows?
yes can see post from lcd 19inch montor. my 32 ich samsung k/eep showing no display. is it because i need to change my cheapo 7600gs card?
moz
When I connect my Panasonic Plasma 42" PV8H to my HTPC via HDMI I can never get a full screen on the TV. There is always about 10 pixels black vertical bar on each side of the screen. Plus two larger horizontal bars on top and bottom of the picture.
Regular TV programmes don't have the problem on the sides on of the picture but sometimes do have horizontal bars on top and bottom. I searched through the post but cannot find an answer. Would appreciate if anyone can help.
The other thing I am puzzled is that wide screen movies still have horizontal black bars on top and below the picture. I thought wide screen movies(those 16x9 ones) should occupy the full screen because the TV is also a 16x9 screen. Would appreciate any explanation as well.
Thanks!
petetherock
04-11-2008, 10:03 PM
Its a problem of overscan for your PC.
Have a look at the info in this thread
As for the second, Not all movies are 16:9. There are many aspect ratios. Search the sticky above on "aspect" for more info
Cheers
When I connect my Panasonic Plasma 42" PV8H to my HTPC via HDMI I can never get a full screen on the TV. There is always about 10 pixels black vertical bar on each side of the screen. Plus two larger horizontal bars on top and bottom of the picture.
Regular TV programmes don't have the problem on the sides on of the picture but sometimes do have horizontal bars on top and bottom. I searched through the post but cannot find an answer. Would appreciate if anyone can help.
The other thing I am puzzled is that wide screen movies still have horizontal black bars on top and below the picture. I thought wide screen movies(those 16x9 ones) should occupy the full screen because the TV is also a 16x9 screen. Would appreciate any explanation as well.
Thanks!
ahkaiz
05-11-2008, 12:20 AM
Thanks!
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Display_Aspect_Ratio
hope this help:o:o
and also for pc output i suggest set yr HTPC to 1024 x 768 at 85hertz :o:o
snowman
05-11-2008, 11:40 AM
Hi all,
If my lcd tv support this 1366 x 768 resolution, is it able to connect my laptop to it which only support up to 1280 x 800 ?
Whats are the pros and cons?
Thanks.
snowman
05-11-2008, 12:05 PM
sorry guys, i submitted wrongly. pls ignore my earlier post.
snowman
05-11-2008, 12:09 PM
Hi all,
If my lcd tv support this 1366 x 768 resolution, is it able to connect my laptop to it which only support up to 1280 x 800 ?
Thanks.
snowman
05-11-2008, 12:25 PM
Hi all,
Thanks.
turkey
05-11-2008, 04:46 PM
Thanks!
most of the movies today are 2.35:1, sth called cinematic widescreen. So you'll get black bars on top and bottom unless you can tolerate cropping left and right margin.
turkey
05-11-2008, 04:47 PM
Hi all,
Thanks.
most likely you can. you'll need to set the resolution to 1360x768 normally so you lose 6 vertical lines, 3 on left and 3 on right, which won't affect much.
alanswee
05-11-2008, 04:52 PM
Hi all,
Thanks.
There 1366x768 is the native resolution of the LCD panel.
To display any resolution, the processor in the TV will do the "upscale" or "downscale", depend on the TV to support, just connect up you will know.... :D
If you have to have something exactly like PC monitor, try to set to 1366x768.
flozzy
06-11-2008, 02:36 PM
anyone can advise why when i try to play my DMC4 ( video game ) on my LCD TV ,
it keeps showing mode not supported .
Im using a DVI > VGA converter to the LCD TV from my PC .
hope u guys can help , thanks
flozzy
06-11-2008, 04:17 PM
any one knows huh ?
alvin86
14-11-2008, 12:06 AM
hey, after so long with this tv, i onli able to connect the dvi to hdmi cable from cpu to tv and able to watch movies/dramas from it.. however i got problem like the tv cant play any sound out if i'm watching drama/movies from it.. the onli option i can is by using my computer's speaker.. anyway to link it as in making the tv able to use its own speaker other than using my computer speakers?
petetherock
14-11-2008, 12:19 AM
You can use a 3.5mm to RCA cable to input into the available TV RCA input jacks.
hey, after so long with this tv, i onli able to connect the dvi to hdmi cable from cpu to tv and able to watch movies/dramas from it.. however i got problem like the tv cant play any sound out if i'm watching drama/movies from it.. the onli option i can is by using my computer's speaker.. anyway to link it as in making the tv able to use its own speaker other than using my computer speakers?
alvin86
14-11-2008, 12:30 AM
You can use a 3.5mm to RCA cable to input into the available TV RCA input jacks.
hmm which color 3.5mm hole of my sound card should i use to plug in?
petetherock
14-11-2008, 06:58 AM
Which one produces sound?
How about doing a little sleuth work yourself mate...should not be too hard isn't it :s13:
hmm which color 3.5mm hole of my sound card should i use to plug in?
alvin86
14-11-2008, 09:02 AM
Which one produces sound?
How about doing a little sleuth work yourself mate...should not be too hard isn't it :s13:
got try b4 but in the end didnt work out lol
JAson1980
14-11-2008, 09:08 AM
I have a 32PFL3403_98 from philips.
Supposed to be HD ready.
But recommended resolution for PC input is @ 1360 X 768, 60mhz
I am using HDMI cable
supposedly to be able to go up to 1280 X 1024.
but at this setting, i cannot get a full screen pc output.
the windows screen gets shrunk and the words are not visible at all.
Kinda dissappointed with it.
kennyboy
14-11-2008, 04:29 PM
I have a 32PFL3403_98 from philips.
Supposed to be HD ready.
But recommended resolution for PC input is @ 1360 X 768, 60mhz
I am using HDMI cable
supposedly to be able to go up to 1280 X 1024.
but at this setting, i cannot get a full screen pc output.
the windows screen gets shrunk and the words are not visible at all.
Kinda dissappointed with it.
using software like powerstrip to go to 1360x768. by right the ati or nvidia drivers should also allow custom resolutions. nothing wrong with the lcd...just that u have the wrong settings.
Chopperz
26-11-2008, 03:10 PM
isn't 1024 x 768 a 4:3 aspect ratio , why some 42"plasma turns out to be 16:9 with 1024*768 pixel..
if i output from htpc to 1024 x 768 pixel plasma(example like Kuro 428XG model) with 16:9, its gotta look weird right since 1024 x 768 should be 4:3 ratio.
if i wanna output from htpc , will it be better if i get a better supportive pixel (16:9 ratio) like 1,365 x 768 , 1,920 x 1080 ?
my worries is that 1,024 x 768 with 16:9 might not be suitable for htpcs.
anyone able to get nice display from htpc to their 16:9 (1024x768) plasma tvs ?
petetherock
26-11-2008, 03:55 PM
Merged
The search button is your friendisn't 1024 x 768 a 4:3 aspect ratio , why some 42"plasma turns out to be 16:9 with 1024*768 pixel..
if i output from htpc to 1024 x 768 pixel plasma(example like Kuro 428XG model) with 16:9, its gotta look weird right since 1024 x 768 should be 4:3 ratio.
if i wanna output from htpc , will it be better if i get a better supportive pixel (16:9 ratio) like 1,365 x 768 , 1,920 x 1080 ?
swirlsurfer13
28-11-2008, 03:47 AM
Hey guys,
Need to ask a question - The response time for the Sony W series 32" LCD TV is 8ms. Is this too slow to be used for PC gaming? Bros that are currently using this TV as their computer monitor, I would appreciate any replies!
Many thanks!
kennyboy
28-11-2008, 07:37 AM
Hey guys,
Need to ask a question - The response time for the Sony W series 32" LCD TV is 8ms. Is this too slow to be used for PC gaming? Bros that are currently using this TV as their computer monitor, I would appreciate any replies!
Many thanks!
it's good enough...last time lcd monitor more than 10ms people still use for gaming. Don't be overwhelmed by the marketing hype.
kennyboy
28-11-2008, 07:39 AM
isn't 1024 x 768 a 4:3 aspect ratio , why some 42"plasma turns out to be 16:9 with 1024*768 pixel..
Current plasmas should be able to accept vga input in 16:9 format...i know panasonic plasma allows 1360x768 via vga, but u will most probably need powerstrip to output that resolution, depending on your video card driver.
devil1158
02-12-2008, 01:08 AM
Hi all,
Like to check how do i connect my PC to samsung 6 series LCD TV?
My com got 2 DVI output only one already use for monitor.
anyone can advice me?
Thanks
petetherock
02-12-2008, 07:10 AM
Merged
The search button is your friend
Hi all,
anyone can advice me?
Thanks
devil1158
02-12-2008, 01:40 PM
Merged
thanks mod..
kennyboy
02-12-2008, 10:16 PM
Hi all,
anyone can advice me?
Thanks
get a hdmi->dvi cable. Can find easily at SLS or SLT. Playasia also have online...free shipping.
Sometimes the search functions sucks, given the character constraints. Try searching for "dvi" and the message u get is infuriating.
devil1158
02-12-2008, 11:10 PM
get a hdmi->dvi cable. Can find easily at SLS or SLT. Playasia also have online...free shipping.
Sometimes the search functions sucks, given the character constraints. Try searching for "dvi" and the message u get is infuriating.
hmmm i agree with the search constrain.. :D tried seaching for wii but got error msg say char too short.. :(
anyway the mod here r helpful just they have to work more by moving posting..
tessss
15-12-2008, 02:58 PM
Hello guys, I thinking of getting a 20+ inch LCD TV. It would be used as a monitor for my desktop computer and for playing PS3.
Do you guys have any recommendation.
alanchia67
15-12-2008, 04:03 PM
you dont need lcd tv. a lcd monitor with appropriate inputs would be sufficient. unless you want to tune to tv programme.
tessss
15-12-2008, 04:30 PM
Really, is there any LCD monitor which can fit PS3's outputs.
alanchia67
15-12-2008, 04:38 PM
hdmi would be what you need in this case.
ezonme
19-12-2008, 08:49 PM
I'm a computer, electronic noob....
I would like to know how to view my laptop content from my 42" LG LCD.
I tried to connect via the RGB cable (many pins connector) but my LCD display no signal.
Wat is the prob? pls help me by simplify the process in layman term. Much appreciated and thank you!
ahkaiz
19-12-2008, 08:51 PM
u need to activate the screen output from yr laptop..
ezonme
20-12-2008, 09:55 PM
u need to activate the screen output from yr laptop..
Hi, isit the F8 button? cos my F8 has a CRT/LCD.....? I tried CTRL F8 and F8 also no signal display from the LCD TV. Is using the RGB cable ok?
Thanks in advance.
agicaniac
22-12-2008, 10:39 AM
Hi all
An electrical noob here as I have problems using my projection tv (http://www.mindlogic.com/MSTV_HTCH_c43-fd5000_DTL.shtml) as a monitor for my laptop (http://asia.cnet.com/reviews/notebooks/0,39050490,39013180p,00.htm).
My projection tv has the following display resolutions:
525i/525p/625i/625p/750p/1125i
My latptop has the following display options:
640x480 @ 60/75/85/100 Hz
800x600 @ 60/75/85/100
1024x768 @ 60/70/75/85/100
1280x1024 @ 60/75/85/100
1400x1050 @ 60/75/85
1600x1200 @ 60/75/85
I have tried using pstrip software too but it only has the display options as my laptop above.
Both my 4-pin s-video connection and yellow video cable show black & white flickerings when I try out all the laptop display options connected to the tv separately.
What am I lacking? Is there some other way I should try but have not? Please help!
kennyboy
22-12-2008, 05:53 PM
Hi all
An electrical noob here as I have problems using my projection tv (http://www.mindlogic.com/MSTV_HTCH_c43-fd5000_DTL.shtml) as a monitor for my laptop (http://asia.cnet.com/reviews/notebooks/0,39050490,39013180p,00.htm).
My projection tv has the following display resolutions:
525i/525p/625i/625p/750p/1125i
My latptop has the following display options:
640x480 @ 60/75/85/100 Hz
800x600 @ 60/75/85/100
1024x768 @ 60/70/75/85/100
1280x1024 @ 60/75/85/100
1400x1050 @ 60/75/85
1600x1200 @ 60/75/85
I have tried using pstrip software too but it only has the display options as my laptop above.
Both my 4-pin s-video connection and yellow video cable show black & white flickerings when I try out all the laptop display options connected to the tv separately.
What am I lacking? Is there some other way I should try but have not? Please help!
s-video and composite connections are no good...please use the vga connection.
agicaniac
23-12-2008, 01:00 AM
Thanks for replying kennyboy.
My projection tv has 4 pin s-video and yellow cable video input only.
That is why I bought a vga output that has a s-video and composite connection end to choose from.
I wouldn't be so frustrated if there was a pc input in the tv in the 1st place...
If there's any forum or thread with similar problems and solutions as mine that you have came across before please let me know. Besides that, is there anything else that I can fiddle with?
xonix
23-12-2008, 03:43 PM
Hi, i need some help with connecting my PC to Rear Projection TV (should be the CRT type)
But don't want to pump the wrong resolution and spoil the TV.
What's the resolution I can set if i connect like this:
1) Video Card > S-Video to Component Adaptor > TV Component
or
2) Video Card > DVI to Component Adaptor > TV Component
kennyboy
24-12-2008, 02:22 AM
in the past, i did try pc output via composite and s-video to both RPTV and normal CRT.
The max I could go to was 1024x768 for readable text. You can't really spoil the tv. It's more a matter of how the signal is converted to tv signal.
But imho, pc output to SD tv is just not worth it...very blur, and text not sharp. Even if you can output high resolution into it, it'll have to fit into the resolution of the tv, which is about 640x480 iirc. For video playback it's still ok, but the text will make your eyes bleed. Only go for this choice if you cannot upgrade to a LCD/Plasma display....your eyes will thank you for the difference.
xonix
24-12-2008, 08:24 AM
in the past, i did try pc output via composite and s-video to both RPTV and normal CRT.
The max I could go to was 1024x768 for readable text. You can't really spoil the tv. It's more a matter of how the signal is converted to tv signal.
But imho, pc output to SD tv is just not worth it...very blur, and text not sharp. Even if you can output high resolution into it, it'll have to fit into the resolution of the tv, which is about 640x480 iirc. For video playback it's still ok, but the text will make your eyes bleed. Only go for this choice if you cannot upgrade to a LCD/Plasma display....your eyes will thank you for the difference.
Thanks for your advice, I am looking to upgrade to a LCD 720p HD ready TV in the near future. But will trying this method for the time being first to see how "bad" it is...
Softcore
24-12-2008, 08:46 PM
hey guys, i just connected my xps m1330 to my samsung series 6 32" (full hd). however, unlike viewing normal tv, the desktop at 1920x1080 doesn't stretch to the borders of the lcd screen, meaning to say that this 1920x1080 as output from the laptop is shown on the lcd tv with a 1cm black border all around. is there any way to get the tv to be native-native with the laptop's 1920x1080? thanks!
petetherock
25-12-2008, 04:53 AM
Try here
Merged
Cheers
hey guys, i just connected my xps m1330 to my samsung series 6 32" (full hd). however, unlike viewing normal tv, the desktop at 1920x1080 doesn't stretch to the borders of the lcd screen, meaning to say that this 1920x1080 as output from the laptop is shown on the lcd tv with a 1cm black border all around. is there any way to get the tv to be native-native with the laptop's 1920x1080? thanks!
Senate97
26-12-2008, 01:49 AM
I just got a new LCD TV. But it seems that I'm having some difficulties trying to connect my DVD Player & my Desktop CPU to the LCD TV using HDMI Technology. The Samsung guy told me i need to buy additional accessories to allow me to do that. Can someone recommend what should i buy so i can connect both my DVD player & Desktop CPU to my LCD TV which i can leverage on the HDMI feature.
Cheers!
petetherock
26-12-2008, 07:12 AM
Make sure your DVD player has a HDMI connection
As for your desktop, the VGA plus the stereo out headphone jack will work
I just got a new LCD TV. But it seems that I'm having some difficulties trying to connect my DVD Player & my Desktop CPU to the LCD TV using HDMI Technology. The Samsung guy told me i need to buy additional accessories to allow me to do that. Can someone recommend what should i buy so i can connect both my DVD player & Desktop CPU to my LCD TV which i can leverage on the HDMI feature.
Cheers!
fullerms
04-01-2009, 02:40 PM
Hi all,
I have connected my Panasonic PY800H to PC using a HMI cable. PC has a native HDMI port. I have noticed that there is a black border all around the screen when displyaing PC input. The border can be removed by adjusting the overscan in the display properties.
My question is, why this problem when I have connected using standard HDTV resolutions? I tried 1080P @ 50 / 60 / 24 hz and still get the black borders. When I try custom timings, there is no border and the image fills the entire screen. But the desktop and applications leave a border.
Will overscan compensation affect the TV in any way?
AshenNova
25-01-2009, 04:14 PM
I have connected the VGA cable to the tv. The only time i can view a display on the tv is when the labtop is loading at the windows, den after loading is done, the tv would display "No syn signal, power save". Does any1 noe the prob n wad must be done? Help appreciated!
petetherock
25-01-2009, 05:19 PM
MOD EDIT:
Merged
I have connected the VGA cable to the tv. The only time i can view a display on the tv is when the labtop is loading at the windows, den after loading is done, the tv would display "No syn signal, power save". Does any1 noe the prob n wad must be done? Help appreciated!
weibchen
26-01-2009, 09:05 AM
Did you toggle the display? usually its Fn + F6..
kediraksith
31-01-2009, 10:10 PM
Hey guys, i hope you can help me out here. My laptop only have HMDI output and im trying to display on my TV using VGA.
Current set up does not work... using a HDMI to DVI adapter... then using a DVI to VGA cable to my TV.
Good thing is, my laptop control panel can see what monitor im hooked up with eg. "Samsung Syncmaster" . . . but nothing shows up on the monitor. . .
Someone enlighten me pplease?
P.S. I read that it has smthing to do with that using my current setup, my signal carried over is still in Digital Format and therefore cannot accept the VGA analog display. . . right?
kennyboy
31-01-2009, 10:44 PM
Hey guys, i hope you can help me out here. My laptop only have HMDI output and im trying to display on my TV using VGA.
Current set up does not work... using a HDMI to DVI adapter... then using a DVI to VGA cable to my TV.
Good thing is, my laptop control panel can see what monitor im hooked up with eg. "Samsung Syncmaster" . . . but nothing shows up on the monitor. . .
P.S. I read that it has smthing to do with that using my current setup, my signal carried over is still in Digital Format and therefore cannot accept the VGA analog display. . . right?
yes...you are correct in the end
dvi to vga cable only works for those dvi ports that still carry analog signal. Hdmi doesn't carry any analog signal at all.
petetherock
31-01-2009, 11:23 PM
Why not share what brand is your laptop?
Interesting that it does not have a VGA port.
Mod Edit: Merged
kediraksith
01-02-2009, 12:59 PM
My laptop is Zepto NoxA15. . . Actually connected HDMI to HDMI on my TV... but not sharp. . .heard tat thru VGA would be better when using as PC so wanna convert. . . sadded wasted money on adapters and cables. . . :'(
Anyone knows of any device can output analog video (VGA) through USB? Like thoes TV tuner allow video signals to go into laptop... how about vice versa?
Rivers
03-02-2009, 01:33 AM
Can anyone care to shed some light on what might be the issue? I have my PC that is hooked up to my 37" Sony Bravia via HDMI on both sides. Upon boot-up everything is fine, and I can login into Windows and do everything as per normal. After I change to my video1 channel to view SCV and I switch back to my HDMI connection, the display turns blank. The only way I can get back display is by resetting my PC again.
Anyone got any ideas how can I solve this? Is this a gfx card or TV issue or hopefully a configuration one.
evga nvidia 8800GTS
AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual 4000+ (2.1Ghz)
2 GB RAM
Thanks!
petetherock
03-02-2009, 08:02 AM
Mod Edit: merged
Have you checked the drivers are up to date.
HDMI on PCs is still a relatively new thing.
Cheers
Can anyone care to shed some light on what might be the issue? I have my PC that is hooked up to my 37" Sony Bravia via HDMI on both sides. Upon boot-up everything is fine, and I can login into Windows and do everything as per normal. After I change to my video1 channel to view SCV and I switch back to my HDMI connection, the display turns blank. The only way I can get back display is by resetting my PC again.
Anyone got any ideas how can I solve this? Is this a gfx card or TV issue or hopefully a configuration one.
evga nvidia 8800GTS
AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual 4000+ (2.1Ghz)
2 GB RAM
Thanks!
Rivers
03-02-2009, 07:33 PM
Umm which drivers? My gfx card drivers? Yes they are the latest version already :(
mugen82
07-02-2009, 11:11 AM
Hi guys, need ur adv and comments here... recently just bought a 32LG30RA. Now it's connected to my GeForce 8800GTS which supports dual dvi.
currently how it's connected to my LCD TV is DVI-VGA convertor then using VGA cable to my LCD TV.
Will it have better response or performance wise if i use DVI to HDMI cable?
Any adv will be appreciated... :)
aptget
10-02-2009, 12:29 AM
noob question
how do i connect my PC to PV80H ??? I have a DVI, VGA port. (Mobo is a Palit AA-780G)
http://www.palit.biz/main/mbpro.php?id=53
What sort of cable do I need ?
on side note, I have a samsung 22" LCD connected to PC currently, it came with a cable. I tried connecting DVI cable to PC but screen went blank so I have hesitant on connecting PC to my new PV80H :P
any advice much appreciated
petetherock
10-02-2009, 12:44 AM
Try here:
MOD EDIT - MOVED
- The Panasonic has VGA and HDMI - you need a DVI to HDMI cable for this
noob question
how do i connect my PC to PV80H ??? I have a DVI, VGA port. (Mobo is a Palit AA-780G)
http://www.palit.biz/main/mbpro.php?id=53
What sort of cable do I need ?
on side note, I have a samsung 22" LCD connected to PC currently, it came with a cable. I tried connecting DVI cable to PC but screen went blank so I have hesitant on connecting PC to my new PV80H :P
any advice much appreciated
jeremywe
11-02-2009, 06:43 PM
Hi all,
I'm trying to output video from my laptop (Fujitsu S6520 - No hdmi) to my LCD Panel (LG) via VGA. However, here is my problem. The obvious solution would be to use a VGA - VGA cable, works perfectly. But the problem i faced is that the TV i want to connect to is wall mounted and the bracket blocks the LCD panel's VGA port, hence i cannot use a VGA - VGA connection.
So, i recently purchased a VGA - RGB (Red, blue and green cable - is this called a component?) cable. But when i tried it on both LCDs at home the TV shows "No Signal". Tried it with another laptop and still faced the same problem. Anyone knows why?
Side note: The alternative connection that i use now is via a video-out port on my Fujitsu laptop (see attached picture). However, this option gives my really lousy and blurred image as compared to the standard VGA - VGA connection, so i dont really want to live with it. The thing about this option is that I DIY-ed the cable, so that could be the reason why the image is crap. The original from Fujitsu cost $80. I was wondering if it could be due to it being a mono cable, but the cable that i DIY-ed is stereo, hence the lousy blur image. I tried asking around in sim lim, but none of the accessories shops has the right cable for this fujitsu laptop. Anyone has any opinions on this? If there is some way i can extract prober video via this video out port, then it'll be best because its less of a hassle to plug in and out as compared to a VGA port.
http://img21.imageshack.us/img21/897/img1451bs1.jpg
Video-out from laptop to LCD's video-in
http://img242.imageshack.us/img242/8784/img1453fy3.jpg
Stereo connection
http://img9.imageshack.us/img9/328/img1457su2.jpg
VGA port blocked by bracket, hence, alternative is Component.
Thanks!!
kennyboy
11-02-2009, 06:48 PM
Nope. The best connection you can have is a vga to vga connection.
vga to rgb is only allowed if your video card supports that kind of output via the vga port, which it doesn't.
how is the vga port blocked? is there a chance a smaller cable would fit in there? if not, then thats a really bad bracket.
petetherock
11-02-2009, 06:55 PM
A composite cable is the most basic and worst form of video output, hence it is not surprising you get poor quality.
Stick to the VGA if you wish to get better PQ, unless you value the convenience of a RCA jack more.
MOD EDIT: merged
Hi all,
I'm trying to output video from my laptop (Fujitsu S6520 - No hdmi) to my LCD Panel (LG) via VGA. However, here is my problem. The obvious solution would be to use a VGA - VGA cable, works perfectly. But the problem i faced is that the TV i want to connect to is wall mounted and the bracket blocks the LCD panel's VGA port, hence i cannot use a VGA - VGA connection.
So, i recently purchased a VGA - RGB (Red, blue and green cable - is this called a composite?) cable. But when i tried it on both LCDs at home the TV shows "No Signal". Tried it with another laptop and still faced the same problem. Anyone knows why?
Thanks!!
jeremywe
11-02-2009, 07:24 PM
A composite cable is the most basic and worst form of video output, hence it is not surprising you get poor quality.
Stick to the VGA if you wish to get better PQ, unless you value the convenience of a RCA jack more.
Guess you misunderstood my post.
When i used the composite, i get no signal at all... The one with the sucky image is when i use the mini S-video (read from somewhere that this is the mini-S video. see picture.) But that could perhaps be due to the wrong kinda cable... Any idea?
http://img21.imageshack.us/img21/897/img1451bs1.jpg
Cant use VGA too coz the port is blocked by the stupid wall mount branket.
jeremywe
11-02-2009, 07:28 PM
Nope. The best connection you can have is a vga to vga connection.
vga to rgb is only allowed if your video card supports that kind of output via the vga port, which it doesn't.
how is the vga port blocked? is there a chance a smaller cable would fit in there? if not, then thats a really bad bracket.
Thanks for the reply...
So i guess we've got to rule out the VGA -> RGB connection right? Just to understand, is it because of some analog / digital issues?
Yes indeed, the bracket truly sucks! A smaller cable might be able to fit in, but the clearance is 2 fingers at max, so i doubt there are such small plugs available for VGA.
Is there anyway i can use the normal VGA cable and then some kinda adapter to connect to some other ports on the TV?
theclubmed
15-02-2009, 04:37 PM
Hi, have connected my 2nd TV LCD HD ready sony bravia T series 32inch from my pc to the tv via dvi to hdmi. However, my sony lcd tv keep flickering, anyone know whats wrong? thanks.
petetherock
15-02-2009, 04:46 PM
Its probably a cable issue, but make sure the refresh rate and the cable connection are fine before you get another cable.
Cheers
Hi, have connected my 2nd TV LCD HD ready sony bravia T series 32inch from my pc to the tv via dvi to hdmi. However, my sony lcd tv keep flickering, anyone know whats wrong? thanks.
theclubmed
15-02-2009, 05:17 PM
how do i set the refresh rate and check the cable connection. thanks
ericpc7275
25-02-2009, 05:01 PM
Is there any way that i can watch download movies (RMVP or AVI etc) on my Samsung HD LCD TV ? I hv Samsung Home Theater System also, can i burn it to DVD disc & play it on dvd player ? or any other way to watch it ?
lunastra
01-03-2009, 07:46 PM
i have made a DIY cpu and attached the HDMI cable from the CPU display card to the HD television as a monitor. the image looks fine to me but there was no sound? can anyone help me??
Mod Edit: Merged
kennyboy
01-03-2009, 08:27 PM
i have made a DIY cpu and attached the HDMI cable from the CPU display card to the HD television as a monitor. the image looks fine to me but there was no sound? can anyone help me??
some MB need to install extra drivers to output sound via hdmi....check your model for details.
petetherock
01-03-2009, 08:39 PM
Just use the VGA connection and add a headphone to RCA for audio.
Is there any way that i can watch download movies (RMVP or AVI etc) on my Samsung HD LCD TV ? I hv Samsung Home Theater System also, can i burn it to DVD disc & play it on dvd player ? or any other way to watch it ?
djayaputra
12-03-2009, 02:17 PM
Hi, I have just started to enjoy browsing the internet from my 32" LCD TV, for around 2 months. But problem came out yesterday, after i switched back from the PC monitor, when I tried to connect my PC to the TV, after they showed the windows start up screen, it supposed to show my desktop, but turn out blank screen. So i connect the PC back to the monitor, it;s ok, so the problem is either with the TV or the setting on my PC.
This is my specs :
TV : LCD regza 32" HD ready
PC : SLS built PC, P4 3.2Gh RAM 2Gb, Video card ATI 256Mb (dual) output VGA n DVI
connection : VGA cable
screen setting : 1280X768 60Hz (as the manual instructed)
The thing is previously i managed to connect to The TV perfectly, but now i can't. And for the whole night i tried everything from lowering the resolution to 640X480, update the video card driver to no avail. I did contact toshiba for this matter, but they can't help me much, other than suggest me to try connect to other laptop or PC.
If anybody ever have this issues, please share how to solve this.
today i bought the VGA - DVI converter to try connect from DVI to the TV, but i can only update this later tonight.
To moderator, i did tried search, but no result and for stickies, the thread to "PC to TV connection", show me this message :
No Thread specified. If you followed a valid link, please notify the administrator
Thanks,
Tommy
xyzabcxx
12-03-2009, 02:52 PM
1. Are you connecting to both your monitor as well as LCD TV?
djayaputra
12-03-2009, 03:23 PM
1. Are you connecting to both your monitor as well as LCD TV?
nope, I'm only connect to one display only each time, but later tonight i'm thinking to try to connect both at the same time. I have learned that plug-unplug-shutdown-start my PC-monitor-TV each time i want to tried new setting cost me a lot of time and energy.
chrisvin
12-03-2009, 04:17 PM
I am only using rezga lcd but mine is older series 32WL66E and my manaul recommanded settings is 1024*768 @ 60Hz.
Loose connection? U have no second tv or monitor to test on?
djayaputra
12-03-2009, 04:24 PM
Mine is regza 32AV550E, on the manual there are some setting for the screen resolution, so i choose the highest that my PC can support (1280X768 @60Hz). It worked fine until last night. But i did tried almost all the possible resolution (640, 800, 1024) but it still showed blank screen when come to the desktop.
I did try on my computer monitor, and work fine (samsung). But for now i have only 1 working PC to test.
djayaputra
12-03-2009, 11:53 PM
ok now for the latest update from me, and before that, i would like to thanks for all the reply so far.
Since my video card support dual output (VGA + DVI), today i bought DVI-VGA converter at challenger for $16 to try connect both my PC monitor (VGA) and TV (DVI) at the same time.
and voila, finally connected, i don't quite understand why direct from VGA to TV only did not work out. but anyway since I'm only using one display each time, I'm using clone display rather than extended display for my PC to TV.
btw for the TV i'm using res 1280X768 @60Hz.
leezihao
14-03-2009, 02:22 AM
I got a 27 inch Samsung LCD that i constantly cannot link properly with my asus laptop.
Every time the cable is connected, the display on the LCD will b off center. And after finally adjusting the screen back into position manually using the Catalyst program, the screen cannot display fully when I was trying to play DOTA. (either the left or right side of the screen is cut off).
Any help on this?
petetherock
14-03-2009, 08:43 AM
What resolution are you using and what resolution does your VGA port of your laptop support?
Mod Edit - merged
I got a 27 inch Samsung LCD that i constantly cannot link properly with my asus laptop.
Every time the cable is connected, the display on the LCD will b off center. And after finally adjusting the screen back into position manually using the Catalyst program, the screen cannot display fully when I was trying to play DOTA. (either the left or right side of the screen is cut off).
Any help on this?
leezihao
15-03-2009, 02:00 AM
the tv suppport a max resolution of 1360x768 while the laptop supports up to 1280x800. So i set the resolution of both to 1280x768 and clone the laptop to the monitor
Need some advice here :)
My GFX Card:
ICEQ 4850 - Powered by Radeonฎ HD 4850 GPU
My TV:
LG 32LG30RA
Specs: 32-inch LCD TV; 1,366 x 768 (WXGA) resolution; 15,000:1 dynamic contrast; 5ms response time; dual HDMI inputs.
My problem:
I got a DVI to HDMI converter which i plugged into my GFX card and into the HDMI slot of my TV.
I managed to get the display working via the CLONE function. My current monitor is a wide screen hence i used a 1440 x 900 display - since its a clone the TV also inherites this setting.
I noticed on my TV the text/fonts looks very jagged and pq looks very bright... i tried changing resolutions and no luck - still looks the same.
is there something else i am missing? or is this the "best" quality i can get ? Im puzzled because the Sony TVs used as desktops are crisp and clear (or is it because its afterall... a SONY?)
appreciate feedback and tips :)
Thanks
sHrike
16-03-2009, 08:48 AM
1366 x 768(26/32/37/42/47LG3***)
Try using 1366X768 resolution n read pg 33 of your manual. It states optimum resolution for your TV
petetherock
16-03-2009, 08:56 AM
It may be the cable
Try
- another cable
- a different monitor if possible
- using a resolution both support natively
Good luck
the tv suppport a max resolution of 1360x768 while the laptop supports up to 1280x800. So i set the resolution of both to 1280x768 and clone the laptop to the monitor
1366 x 768(26/32/37/42/47LG3***)
Try using 1366X768 resolution n read pg 33 of your manual. It states optimum resolution for your TV
Bro - not sure if this is meant for me but my manual only 20 pages.. no page 33 :(
Also noted that my gfx card dont have such a resoultion?? I only got 1360x768;1280x1024 ?
thanks
sHrike
17-03-2009, 09:47 AM
Bro - not sure if this is meant for me but my manual only 20 pages.. no page 33 :(
Also noted that my gfx card dont have such a resoultion?? I only got 1360x768;1280x1024 ?
thanks
probably your manual is different version , anyway , let's try the nearest resolution which is 1360X768 and you should connect via DVI-->HDMI cable for highest quality.
pls let us know the results
ok will try tonight thanks!
also if the setup is ok the fonts will be sharp like my LCD monitor?
I also noticed that once i clone the screen between my monitor and TV my PC tends to crash quite alot... not sure it is due to lack of power or wrong settings :P
antornado
18-03-2009, 07:31 PM
Heys guys, i ordered a 42" Palladine full hd lcd tv. I orginally planned watch video found online on my lcd tv by linking from my CPU to my LCD tv. However i realised that my cpu only support DVI (no VGA connector on my cpu) while my LCD TV only support VGA and 2 x HDMI (no DVI connector at the back of my tv).
So does that mean i cant connect my cpu to my lcd tv? or is there any cable i could get?
ahkaiz
18-03-2009, 07:54 PM
get a DVI to HDMI convertor..
antornado
18-03-2009, 08:03 PM
hmm, so i would need a DVI cable, HDMI cable and a dvi-hdmi converter? Is that all i need? any idea how much would the converter cost?
petetherock
18-03-2009, 08:09 PM
You can get a DVI - HDMI cable with one end of each.
SLS will have them for < $50 or so for a 2m length.
Note DVI does not carry sound, you will need a seperate audio cable.
Read this thread for more info.
hmm, so i would need a DVI cable, HDMI cable and a dvi-hdmi converter? Is that all i need? any idea how much would the converter cost?
Duffy_Dave
19-03-2009, 07:28 PM
Guyz... I'm in need of some help
Currently, I am using HP Pavilion TX1222AU , 2GB.. recently i bought a LCD monitor Benq T900HD and try to flash the monitor from the lappie to the LCd..
But it turn out that the BenQ keep on flicking on the desktop.... but not on the program screen.. dunno why? try to change to 75 Hertz but also the same.... :(
keith
22-03-2009, 10:31 PM
Hi Guys,
Did anyone encountered problems with VGA cables of different length ?
I have a 1.2m cable and the image filled my screen end to end, then i go buy a 3m one, and it turned out that the image is squeezed by abt 5inch. The right side is OK, while my left side has a 5inch black line.
I hvae tried to compensate, auto syn, manual syn... and there is no way for me to make the 3m cable image as the 1.2m.
I am able to repeat the "defective" image by switching betw the 1.2m and 3m cable
May i ask if its the cable faulty ? or its just loooooooooooong cables ?
many thanks
keith
petetherock
22-03-2009, 11:15 PM
Borrow another cable and try Keith.
Sounds like a cable issue.
keith
22-03-2009, 11:39 PM
Borrow another cable and try Keith.
Sounds like a cable issue.
i have with me 2x 1.2m, which both i try is OK and image dun shift. but when i try the single 3m.. it shifted.
betw my HTPC and my LCD panel, it needs abt 2m worth of cable. so my another option is to get a female-female VGA connector, and join both, to allow proper routing of cable.
ty,
any other suggestions ?
chee siong
keith
23-03-2009, 10:23 PM
dear all,
just to update. i hv managed to get a VGA-VGA female connector and joined both cables. also image OK, seems like the 3m cable is the problm, will bring back to the shop for a refund !
ty to all
keith
GTI WR6
24-03-2009, 06:58 PM
Hi all.
I am at work so I don't have the exact model number with me. But its a Samsung Series 5 37" LCD.
I need some help in connecting my TV to my laptop. I have connected it using a VGA cable and nothing comes on the TV screen. When I click Source the TV does not even detect the laptop. In other words, the "PC" source on the TV is not even selectable.
I have previously connected the laptop to my old Samsung Plano TV using the same VGA cable and it worked.
Any help will be appreciated.
If you need any more info, please ask.
Thanks!!
eaglesaint
28-03-2009, 08:51 PM
Hola all,
I want to connect my PC to my Palladine hdtv. My tv only has DVI, and my tv has HDMI.
I bought a DVI-hdmi connector/adaptor such tat i can insert one end directly to my "DVI plug" in cpu and another end extended with my HDMI cable.
However, when i switch to HDMI, the tv shows "no signal". I tested the hdmi cable using my xbox and its working.
Can someone advice me wat to do could it be the hdmi-dvi connector tat is faulty?
rocketman1990
02-04-2009, 05:18 PM
Hi bro. i bougth LG LCD TV Full HD (32LG53FR) last week. when i connect to my pc (Athlon 64 X2 5600, win7 64 bit prebeta build 7000, GeForce 8500 GT, driver version 181.71 64 bit Beta for win 7) via D-sub RGB-VGA. my pc detect as LG TV res 1920 x 1080. i'm glad and satisfy to see (clear & sharp picture). used to play many game.after long while, i try to connect with standar HDMI cable (via DVI-D single link donggle ). system detect as HDMI 1080p (still detect as LG TV, but the picture quality is poor).turn off my PC. i disconnect the HDMI.connecting back to D-sub RGB-VGA again.then turn it on.guess what, my pc did'nt detect as LG TV anymore but as Generic non PnP Monitor with max res 1600 x 1200.try to lower res but picture still blur. try to 1920x1080, nothing happen. i format HD many times & try reinstall win Vista or 7.try to uninstall display graphic in device manager, turn on TV after turn on pc first but all never solve the the problem (back to native resolution 1920x1080), could anyone give me advice please...
Az_itsme
18-04-2009, 06:46 PM
bros..attaching my pc (gtx260) to lg3755fr via dvi-hdmi..but for the sound wise how can i connect the tv so than i can utilize both my logitech speakers and xtreme gamer soundcard on my pc?thanks..:s11:
foxracing
20-04-2009, 02:56 AM
Hi guys,
Looking to purchase a new CPU and a 32" LCD TV for movies and web browsing mainly. Which graphix card and LCD TV ($700 - $800 range maybe) would you guys recommend for HDMI connection?
Or as long as there's HDMI on the LCD TV its fine? Don't want to encounter fuzzy text as I've read in the prev pages.
Thanks!
qsecofr
21-04-2009, 11:27 PM
hi:
i have a LA32A550P1F 32" full hd tv. not sure why but the picture qualify is very bad when i connect my computer with the hdmi connection. even the vga connection has much better than the hdmi. both connections can connect to 1920 x 1028 resolution.
do you think it is something to do with the graphic card? my video card is on broad ati readon hd 3200.
have any one has successful case to use hdmi with this samsung tv to connect ? may i know what model of grphic card do you use?
cheers
qsec
heng_alvin
26-04-2009, 05:22 PM
I think it's because of the source, for eg if u play vcd with hdtv,u will see bad quality coz it blow up all the imperfections.
Unless hd dvd or channels are everywhere,there's no point in having full hdtv at all i think. I was tempted to buy full hdtv days ago when i see prices so low. Imagine a 42 inches Panasonic FULL HD LCD costing just 1199 with 100 Ntuc vouchers....real tempted...
petetherock
26-04-2009, 06:29 PM
What source are you using?
As mentioned, Hi Def and the viewing distance do make a difference.
Cheers
hi:
i have a LA32A550P1F 32" full hd tv. not sure why but the picture qualify is very bad when i connect my computer with the hdmi connection. even the vga connection has much better than the hdmi. both connections can connect to 1920 x 1028 resolution.
do you think it is something to do with the graphic card? my video card is on broad ati readon hd 3200.
have any one has successful case to use hdmi with this samsung tv to connect ? may i know what model of grphic card do you use?
cheers
qsec
eaglesaint
02-05-2009, 09:55 PM
Hello guys, my cpu currently only as 1 x DVI port. no vga at all.
Currently i got a dvi-hdmi converter to connect to my hdtv. But due to the fact tat my cpu only has 1 x dvi port, that means i have to switch the moniter dvi plug and dvi-hdmi tv plug whenever i want to change my view from moinier to hdtv.
Simply put, i got 2 dvi cables(one for moniter, one for hdtv) sharing thru one cpu dvi port and i have to unplug alot of times when switching view.
wat is the most budget way to solve this problem? get a dvi splitter? how much would the cheaper cost? any shops to recommend?
hockster
03-05-2009, 11:04 PM
Hi there,
I currently own a Philips 42PFL7803 LCD HDTV and I'm having major headaches connecting it to my PC.
For my PC I'm using a Nvidia 7600GT and I'm using a DVI to HDMI cable to connect to my TV. Booting up my PC, the Nvidia control panel can detect my TV but this is no display on it whatsoever. I played with all kinds of settings on the control panel but still nothing. The TV just says "No input signal"... sigh
Anyone out there with the same experience? Any other video cards or configs that can work with Philips?
Thanks!
petetherock
03-05-2009, 11:20 PM
There are some shops on the 3rd level and up in SLS and SL tower which sell these, take a walk around.
Cheers
Hello guys, my cpu currently only as 1 x DVI port. no vga at all.
Currently i got a dvi-hdmi converter to connect to my hdtv. But due to the fact tat my cpu only has 1 x dvi port, that means i have to switch the moniter dvi plug and dvi-hdmi tv plug whenever i want to change my view from moinier to hdtv.
Simply put, i got 2 dvi cables(one for moniter, one for hdtv) sharing thru one cpu dvi port and i have to unplug alot of times when switching view.
wat is the most budget way to solve this problem? get a dvi splitter? how much would the cheaper cost? any shops to recommend?
siowch
17-05-2009, 08:50 PM
I connected a 3m VGA-VGA cable from my laptop to my samsung LA40M81BX LCD TV, but then the “PC input” doesn’t comes out on the settings. My HDMI, AV1 & component video input are working fine except it cant auto detect PC input. :( Can anyone help?
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.