View Full Version : HTC Touch 3G
SEALT6
12-10-2008, 06:02 PM
hi guys!
was looking at the LG KS20 and HTC touch enhanced, but the upcoming HTC Touch 3G seems a much better deal with a faster processor and more RAM!
anyone has an idea when or whether it will be available in sg? looking forward to it! :)
daniel_83
12-10-2008, 08:47 PM
get the Diamond!
roomer
07-11-2008, 10:27 AM
HTC just launched the HTC Touch 3G with local telco, Starhub.
Those whom loved the HTC Touch size but always had a need for speed, check out the newly updated HTC Touch 3G, in the same small diminutive form factor that has a muscle connectivity of up to 18 times faster than standard 3G, with some new updates and refreshes to it's user interface and touch speed.
When will this be out? Well it will be available sooner than the HTC Touch HD, the HTC Touch 3G in various colors choices will be available this weekend at all StarHub retail outlets as well as authorized resellers at a suggested retail price of SGD $798. (inclusive of 7% GST). - Read it Here (http://www.ppcsg.com/index.php?showtopic=103151)
roomer
08-11-2008, 04:43 PM
any1 know this Touch 3G when rotate phone to horizontal position, will the diaplay
automatically switch to landscape mode ?
Negative. There's no accelerometer on the Touch 3G.
See comparisons (http://www.phonearena.com/htmls/compare_advresults.php?phones[0]=2876&phones[1]=3153&phones[2]=3152&area=2)
Gash_1989
08-11-2008, 09:58 PM
anyone bought the phone? any review?
hi guys!
was looking at the LG KS20 and HTC touch enhanced, but the upcoming HTC Touch 3G seems a much better deal with a faster processor and more RAM!
anyone has an idea when or whether it will be available in sg? looking forward to it! :)
stay away from the ks20.. and no point getting the touch enhanced because the touch 3G is newer.. so is suppose to be faster..
spec116
09-11-2008, 12:46 PM
i compare the specs between diamond n 3g at htc.com
both ram n rom same leh..
both oso gt wifi..gps
so gt wat new ting in 3g?
the touch diamond and touch 3G is different class of phones... so expect to pay less for a touch 3G... the touch 3G doesn't have accelerometer sensor so you dun have the auto-rotate function.. and the touch 3G works on touch flo.. the diamond has touch flo 3D.. so i believe the touch 3G will not be as laggy as the diamond..
james75
09-11-2008, 06:49 PM
The Starhub Exclusive for Touch 3G seems like a good deal to get. $138 for high-end plans and $238 for mid-range plans. Anyone have bought the phone yet?
With Wi-Fi on the 3G, it should be one of the sleekest PDA phone in the market now.
Gash_1989
09-11-2008, 08:25 PM
yeah..so is it worth the price? plannin to get it tomorrow..
rascaldog
11-11-2008, 11:31 AM
if starhub is selling it, any idea will the other telcos be selling it also?
Vulpix
11-11-2008, 02:48 PM
HTC Touch 3G is a solid phone... Cheap and definitely feels faster than the HTC Touch old version.
SEALT6
11-11-2008, 04:00 PM
HTC Touch 3G is a solid phone... Cheap and definitely feels faster than the HTC Touch old version.
sounds good! user reviews should be coming soon..hope there's minimal bugs..haha :)
Gash_1989
11-11-2008, 08:51 PM
Got the phone from starhub yesterday, lightest phone i had ever used..anyone knows how to add album art to display inside the music player?
vansyahrul
12-11-2008, 10:35 AM
what colour they have?..
Gash_1989
12-11-2008, 10:46 AM
currently starhub only got black..asked them when other colours will be available..they say they have no idea too..-_-..
teechuan
12-11-2008, 10:55 AM
got a question regarding screen protectors. Since this is a new model, will screen protectors made for the older HTC Touch be compatible with the HTC Touch 3G ?
Gash_1989
12-11-2008, 11:00 AM
nt sure about that..but the retail package comes with a screen protector..so i think it should be able to last till the release of other screen protectors for the phone..:D
spec116
12-11-2008, 11:07 AM
any ideas whether singtel will hav tis model at ltr date?
vansyahrul
12-11-2008, 01:39 PM
now i confuse to buy nokia e71 or htc touch 3g..cuz this sat i going to starhub to purchase new phone..
cybertech
12-11-2008, 09:40 PM
For me can't decide whether to get Touch Diamond (thought already out sometime)
or this Touch 3G - Features almost the same but Diamond got accelerometer and 3G
don't have and price almost the same selling outside w/o plan :s8:
stanley_home
12-11-2008, 10:29 PM
how does 3G fair compare to diamond? :s22:
kenshinz
13-11-2008, 12:33 AM
how's the camera's picture quality? heard it does not have auto-focus. any sample would be appreciated.
Vulpix
13-11-2008, 09:03 AM
Cannot like that compare diamond with Touch 3G, the resolution on the Diamond will win Touch 3G anyday.
sexyboy16
13-11-2008, 02:33 PM
HTC Diamond now is much cheaper.
media2368
13-11-2008, 05:39 PM
There is a review here.
http://www.coolsmartphone.com/news4389.html
rascaldog
14-11-2008, 12:09 AM
any feedbacks on the phone?
rascaldog
18-11-2008, 12:39 PM
no feedback from any users? was hoping to get this phone as should be cheaper than HTC Pro!
Gash_1989
18-11-2008, 06:53 PM
anyone knows where to get 16gb micro sd card? what will the price be like?
luahsc
21-11-2008, 12:11 PM
no feedback from any users? was hoping to get this phone as should be cheaper than HTC Pro!
If you are looking for a sleek profile phone..have no fetish for big screen(i.e. ipod,omnia screen size), doesn't mind not having ur face displayed on ppl's phone over 3G( has no secondary video cam)..have ur own camera rather than relying on camera phone (the 3.2MP isn't as fantastic as omnia or N95)..
then..get changed and go grab it!!
my take on this phone
--Feels solid and very well designed profile
-- Battery life is way better than Diamond (1100mah..around 2 days @ normal usage)
-- Interface is easy to use ( thanks to Manilla2D)
-- Have GPS ( you wont go 'Hor-Lan' again)
-- So far it doesnt hang itself on me (I did not encounter this issue with my previous Touch as well!)
-- Lots of 3rd-party software support..
Manndy
21-11-2008, 02:52 PM
how's the speed of the phone? Thanks.
is it using AGPS? need to pay for gps data?
luahsc
21-11-2008, 03:38 PM
how's the speed of the phone? Thanks.
Depends on individual..of coz it would be slow if you open a few high memory intensity porgrams..but if you are saying like usual texting, opening office doc..it would be rather fast..well..like i say, it depends on how you define fast or slow..I would say it is not slow..
luahsc
21-11-2008, 03:42 PM
is it using AGPS? need to pay for gps data?
if i am not wrong..AGPS you need to utilise internet connection ( example would be googlemap which needs an internet connection (and GPS receive..correct if i am wrong) to determine your location)..
as for GPS..there is no charges..the only thing you need to pay is the map software (i.e. Mapking..)..usually usage of GPS is free..
and google is your friend
keltong
24-11-2008, 05:35 PM
I just got the HTC Touch 3G. I installed mapking but could not detect the GPS. Anyone has the same problem? Am I doing something wrong? Or this phone does not have a 'true' GPS? Thanks.
thats the question i am asking, according to spec, its should have gps and agps.
luahsc
24-11-2008, 10:09 PM
To clarify your doubts, it DOES have GPS..and for your info, you need to be in open area to receive satellite signals and it could probably take around 1 min or more to detect..I have no prob using GPS..
encryption
27-11-2008, 01:19 AM
is it likely that singtel and m1 will also offer this model?
keltong
27-11-2008, 01:23 AM
To clarify your doubts, it DOES have GPS..and for your info, you need to be in open area to receive satellite signals and it could probably take around 1 min or more to detect..I have no prob using GPS..
Thanks.. what I meant was that my MAPKING cannot detect the GPS. But after a 20mins call to HTC support, finally resolve the problem. Apparently the auto-detect does not work and will need to manually set to COM4:
After that it work like a breeze. My 3rd WM phone and I am really really loving this one so far. Just a niggling problem that TF2D cannot display more than 1 appointments, I like the interface but looking at the agenda/appointments is important to me. Trying to look got a workaround but so far no luck.
eagleboy
28-11-2008, 08:40 PM
is the fone user friendly...
luahsc
28-11-2008, 10:04 PM
Thanks.. what I meant was that my MAPKING cannot detect the GPS. But after a 20mins call to HTC support, finally resolve the problem. Apparently the auto-detect does not work and will need to manually set to COM4:
After that it work like a breeze. My 3rd WM phone and I am really really loving this one so far. Just a niggling problem that TF2D cannot display more than 1 appointments, I like the interface but looking at the agenda/appointments is important to me. Trying to look got a workaround but so far no luck.
small problem..first..look for TodayAgenda software which is a plug in for outlook that you can display multiple appoints..secondly since you cannot run that on the default Touch2D(aka Manilla2D), look for another software call SecondToday which is another Home screen (the old type of Home screen) for you to display your appointment..Last but not least, look for Manilla2D customiser(aka M2DC) to map your softkeys to the program SecondToday..there you go!! problem solved
hellclown
29-11-2008, 09:41 PM
hey guys, i will like to know which is a reputable shop that sell HTC touch 3G without contract and do you guys think that the price will drop if i wait till like january or febraruy?
eagleboy
30-11-2008, 08:24 AM
u can try www.mobilesquare.com.sg
hellclown
30-11-2008, 01:00 PM
any idea is there a limit to the sms we can keep in the HTC touch 3G? or is it unlimited that based on ur phone memory or memory card?
Gash_1989
30-11-2008, 07:04 PM
anyone know where to buy the audio adaptor for this phone?
hello8985
04-12-2008, 11:29 PM
how come windows media player cant detect the memory card?
snowydust
06-12-2008, 12:30 AM
any more user reviews, might be interested in getting this...
audiovideo
06-12-2008, 02:19 PM
not many reviews on this phone.
wonder when is starhub going to bring in other color?
does it support chinese off the shelves or have to install our own?
sexyboy16
06-12-2008, 05:50 PM
Have to install our own. The box include CE Star I think. :D
deardear85
08-12-2008, 03:49 PM
is it likely that singtel and m1 will also offer this model?
think only starhub will be selling this. Because it say exclusively.
u_ntitled
11-12-2008, 02:26 AM
saw on starhub website it cost $298 with power value 100..can i use my starhub $100 voucher?
spiritfill
11-12-2008, 03:39 PM
anybody manage to get the quickGPS to work?
hkkoh
11-12-2008, 08:34 PM
saw on starhub website it cost $298 with power value 100..can i use my starhub $100 voucher?
Yes, the Starhub vouchers can be used since this phone is not one of the 'Star Buy" phones. I used the $100 voucher during Sitex and got this Touch 3G for free (with Power Connect}. You can also used the 'Reward' vouchers together with the Starhub voucher.
Gausss
11-12-2008, 10:50 PM
wah how come all so easy get starhub $100 voucher>?> did u all ask for it?
didnt get any voucher at all :(
rascaldog
12-12-2008, 12:04 AM
oh no, but would people switch telcos to buy this phone? It is like not high-end and also of high value!
does that mean i have to start looking at other phones if the other 2 telcos do not carry it...
vtec170
12-12-2008, 09:06 AM
Hi bro,
Does this phone cum with bundled GPS software?
Thanks!
tnk001
12-12-2008, 09:22 AM
oh no, but would people switch telcos to buy this phone? It is like not high-end and also of high value!
does that mean i have to start looking at other phones if the other 2 telcos do not carry it...
Alternatively, you can buy ask someone here on starhub to buy the phone for you while you buy for him then you swap? =)
Hi bro,
Does this phone cum with bundled GPS software?
Thanks!
Nope. It doesn't. Buy Garmin wants perfectly with MalSingMaps.
Where to get the different colours for touch 3G...e.g. the blue one
Vadimur
13-12-2008, 08:31 PM
Dang!! Thought of getting this phone, but only available on starhub!!??
:(
u_ntitled
14-12-2008, 11:30 PM
anyone know where to buy invisible shield for this phone?
simplon
16-12-2008, 12:12 AM
anybody manage to get the quickGPS to work?
the QuickGPS in the Touch 3G is just to download the data from the satellites so u can locate yourself with GPS much easier and faster..
it should just download the data and show an expiry date for the current data and to download new data from the satellites..
to use the GPS, u got to get the software and maps.. alternatively theres Google Maps too.. but u will need a connection
harloeworld
16-12-2008, 01:01 PM
Hi guys,
I'm torn between this and omnia...
Omnia - Bigger screen size with equivalent resolution and PPI
- Onboard storage
- Accelerameter
- Better Camera ( but not reallie within my consideration)
Touch 3G - Cheaper
- Faster Interface with minimal lag
- No onboard storage but potentially expandable with 8gB MicroSD
- Smaller screen
Will like to enquire, for the screen on Touch 3G, izzit too small to watch videos?? like anime or drama serial?? and sharp enough? That is the only potential factor holding me back from getting a Touch 3G...
Thankz ;)
simplon
16-12-2008, 01:36 PM
Will like to enquire, for the screen on Touch 3G, izzit too small to watch videos?? like anime or drama serial?? and sharp enough? That is the only potential factor holding me back from getting a Touch 3G...
i think it is pretty subjective for different people whether is it enough or not.. give it a try at starhub roadshows where they will most likely bring a demo set along..
personally.. it is enough for me to watch heroes on it for now.. :D
fatsonado
21-12-2008, 08:20 AM
Hi
For recontract this phone is $298 with value 100 plan? Only new sign up at the special rdshow than $198? Thks.
dickchingus
22-12-2008, 03:18 AM
I recontracted at $148 for PV300.. roadshow price i suppose.
dickchingus
22-12-2008, 01:52 PM
y so quiet over here.. users of touch 3G where are u.
LeTengX
22-12-2008, 03:00 PM
anyone bought this without a contract? where and how much? thx:D
drkone
22-12-2008, 09:28 PM
Hi all,
First time user of htc 3g, actually first time user for a pda phone. I was wondering can I use the diamond or touch pro guides for the 3g also? I can't seem to find guides on this good phone
fatsonado
23-12-2008, 12:43 AM
Thx for yr reply....Hope to wait for price drop for nw.
manaeater
23-12-2008, 11:29 AM
ya true..der isn't any nice guides base soly on tis fone...n wat abt those themes n all..?? is Diamond themes all e programs meant for Diamond compatible wif our Touch 3G?? n those pouches n screen protectors being sold now r mostly meant for Diamond...still cant find 1 screen protector for Touch 3G de... T_T
dickchingus
23-12-2008, 04:19 PM
i believe most softwares, applications and stuff is compatible to one another since they are all designed for Windows Mobile OS..
audiovideo
24-12-2008, 09:57 PM
the blue one is nice....
but to wait for starhub maybe wait till cow come home
Duffy_Dave
25-12-2008, 01:37 AM
Juz got my set today.... trying to get used to it..but hor i feel the touch is a bit lag one le
Vadimur
25-12-2008, 12:32 PM
Juz got my set today.... trying to get used to it..but hor i feel the touch is a bit lag one le
Lag in wat sense? comparing with wat phone that makes you feel lag?
LeTengX
26-12-2008, 01:43 PM
why it still exclusive to SH:look:
Duffy_Dave
26-12-2008, 03:28 PM
Lag in wat sense? comparing with wat phone that makes you feel lag?
lag as in if i add new contact to the photobook, it will take bout a min to reflect the contact to the latest sms from the contact
Marine3
26-12-2008, 06:58 PM
why it still exclusive to SH:look:
At least Starhub has exclusive to Touch HD and the Touch 3G. Singtel has exclusive to the iphone. M1 has none ...... very disappointed as a M1 customer.
Vadimur
26-12-2008, 07:24 PM
lag as in if i add new contact to the photobook, it will take bout a min to reflect the contact to the latest sms from the contact
Wah...u mean adding the personalised photo of that person?
BloodBro
27-12-2008, 06:16 PM
Anyone manage to get the GPS to work?
DoubleAgent
27-12-2008, 11:37 PM
how to i register my touch 3g online?
dawnstar
28-12-2008, 11:04 PM
may i know if htc touch 3g has traditional chinese text input?
also apart from wmv videos, are there any other format videos that it can play? eg. avi?
Thanks!
Duffy_Dave
29-12-2008, 03:55 AM
Wah...u mean adding the personalised photo of that person?
no... like my friend sms me.. then i add his contact.. but the sms dun reflect one. dunno why..
thinking of getting a memory card for my touch 3G. cant decide 4gb or 8gb and which brand to go for.
suggestion, pls
rascaldog
01-01-2009, 04:36 PM
i just lost the 'task manager' icon at the top right of the phone. power on off and it still din come back! what happened? :look:
rascaldog
01-01-2009, 11:13 PM
haha, sorry! my mistake. That was the quick menu, got it back alri!
ixoral
02-01-2009, 02:25 PM
I can't read (and write) chinese sms on this phone. very frustrating. Can any kind soul advise on what i need to install? and go where to install? Thanks a million!
harpyboy
02-01-2009, 02:29 PM
I can't read (and write) chinese sms on this phone. very frustrating. Can any kind soul advise on what i need to install? and go where to install? Thanks a million!
The phone comes with CE-Star CD right? You might want to install it and try..
But .. does anyone know how to get both Traditional and Simplified Chinese together? In the music player, it can show either one of them but not both. I think because one font is code Big5 and the other GB.
ccmheoa
02-01-2009, 04:06 PM
yes works on mine with google maps and mapking....must select com4
aigomp4
03-01-2009, 10:22 AM
Anyone has similiar problems as mine like after pressed the ended call button, the screen goes off and cant resume back by pressing the power button, need to reset then back to normal. About 2-3 days happen once. I had install few third parties software but dont know which one is causing the error.
kchili
03-01-2009, 11:43 AM
I just got my touch 3G...pretty solid phone...
I need help for 2 things:
1) When i press the End Call button to get to the home page, there will be a beep sound everytime i press it. Any way for me to disable the beep?
2) On my home page, there are 2 shortcut tab at the bottom of the screen. Since i bought my phone from starhub, the left tab shows 'Starhub TV'. THe right tab shows 'Program'. Any way to reconfigure the left tab? It is pretty useless for me.
Appreciate your help.
luahsc
04-01-2009, 12:17 AM
I just got my touch 3G...pretty solid phone...
I need help for 2 things:
1) When i press the End Call button to get to the home page, there will be a beep sound everytime i press it. Any way for me to disable the beep?
2) On my home page, there are 2 shortcut tab at the bottom of the screen. Since i bought my phone from starhub, the left tab shows 'Starhub TV'. THe right tab shows 'Program'. Any way to reconfigure the left tab? It is pretty useless for me.
Appreciate your help.
google for M2DC..
Touch3G
07-01-2009, 12:28 AM
any1 know this Touch 3G when rotate phone to horizontal position, will the diaplay
automatically switch to landscape mode ?
Nope it wouldnt work like a iphone or in that manner...
Touch3G
07-01-2009, 12:35 AM
how come windows media player cant detect the memory card?
i gt similar prob in a way that cant play video that i trf from my 818pro.. pictures also cant open... din do any troubleshoot, its just open after using 1day..
wierd..
Touch3G
07-01-2009, 12:37 AM
Have to install our own. The box include CE Star I think. :D
yes... CD kit include.. register via internet..
I call dopod service hotline as sms dont seems to work... they say wont work.. best part, the default number to register is M1.... when this is a starhub exclusive..
Funny but true.. :s13:
Touch3G
07-01-2009, 12:44 AM
the QuickGPS in the Touch 3G is just to download the data from the satellites so u can locate yourself with GPS much easier and faster..
it should just download the data and show an expiry date for the current data and to download new data from the satellites..
to use the GPS, u got to get the software and maps.. alternatively theres Google Maps too.. but u will need a connection
I connect using 3G to download.. but its seems no use at all.. i cant even get my GPS to work... which might be the reason...
Touch3G
07-01-2009, 12:47 AM
thinking of getting a memory card for my touch 3G. cant decide 4gb or 8gb and which brand to go for.
suggestion, pls
I went for the 4GD... doubt i would need the 8g as dun put MP3 or movies in phone..
Personally, i using scan.. Brand to me makes no significant diff...
Touch3G
07-01-2009, 12:52 AM
yes works on mine with google maps and mapking....must select com4
i'm trying to get my act together using Garmin Que, Malsingmaps and GPSproxy 2.2...
So far negative luck.. still cant detect GPS...
I read on other forum is com3 baud 57600... doesnt work..
Some say com3 baud 4800 since its in-build... still doesnt work...
abit tulan liao...
Touch3G
07-01-2009, 12:53 AM
Anyone has similiar problems as mine like after pressed the ended call button, the screen goes off and cant resume back by pressing the power button, need to reset then back to normal. About 2-3 days happen once. I had install few third parties software but dont know which one is causing the error.
nope.. no such issue..
perhaps u can try uninstall the last program first... work backwards to solve your prob...
Touch3G
07-01-2009, 01:00 AM
Anyone who manage to hook their touch 3g using Garmin que + malsingmaps so far?
I need some advise on that..
Also, how to connect internet using PC via USB cables? cant seems to do so.. keep connecting to the 3G network.. irritating and waste money...
hello8985
07-01-2009, 07:49 AM
anyone got no signal problem with thier unit?
starhub user here...
Touch3G
07-01-2009, 10:19 AM
so far nope... i just change from M1 to starhub.. Signal seems to be as good as starhub
undeniable
07-01-2009, 03:39 PM
does the touch 3g come with fm radio? is it possible to connect using a 3.5 mm earphone? thinking of getting this phone .. looks good..
Touch3G
07-01-2009, 03:46 PM
does the touch 3g come with fm radio? is it possible to connect using a 3.5 mm earphone? thinking of getting this phone .. looks good..
its doesnt come with radio.. only a few phone comes with 3.5mm earphone..i know X1, iphone 3G have...
Touch 3G doesnt.. have to use the standard HTC earpiece.. :s7:
rascaldog
07-01-2009, 11:51 PM
i tried M1 and the hongkong sms can't work! i tried the china sms number, it went thru!
icopral
08-01-2009, 12:25 AM
anyone knows how to disable the 3g once you had activated it? i usually restart my phone =(
Touch3G
08-01-2009, 02:59 PM
i tried M1 and the hongkong sms can't work! i tried the china sms number, it went thru!
I manage to register in the end using the 3G connection to internet.. waste my money again... #$%
Touch3G
08-01-2009, 03:02 PM
anyone knows how to disable the 3g once you had activated it? i usually restart my phone =(
First.. u terminate ie close the program that is accessing the 3G function.
then click on the signal area. select 3G and then disconnect it...
if u just disconnect 3G at the signal area, the program will still keep trying to access 3G again...
hope this helps...:s7:
Now, no one can assist me with my GPS function? :(
Moonlight
09-01-2009, 10:56 AM
nope.. no such issue..
perhaps u can try uninstall the last program first... work backwards to solve your prob...
i think he got keylocked...:s13:
Moonlight
09-01-2009, 11:17 AM
Anyone who manage to hook their touch 3g using Garmin que + malsingmaps so far?
I need some advise on that..
Also, how to connect internet using PC via USB cables? cant seems to do so.. keep connecting to the 3G network.. irritating and waste money...
pls install active sync and once your sync is complete.. u can surf with USB cable...
You may read up the Diamond / touch pro thread for more info... basicly they are using the same OS...:D
Moonlight
09-01-2009, 11:17 AM
in Setting -> communication can off the Data link.:D
eugeneteo
09-01-2009, 05:55 PM
Encountered sms error. I can receive but unable to reply/send.
Read somewhere that it's due to the CE star. Uninstalled but it doesn't help.
What am I missing?
Thanks in advance for any advise. Neat phone, but troublesome :( . Bad experience on my first smartphone :s22:
ET.
dilshaw
09-01-2009, 09:33 PM
Can anyone share their settings for the External GPS tab? GPS is not getting detected in my touch 3G. I tried google maps and mapking 2007.
Got the settings
In external GPS:
Hardware port : None
Program port: COM4
Baud Rate : 4800bps
Select COM4 in mapking.
dIn088
10-01-2009, 06:57 PM
just got this phone today with pv100 line for $168. quite difficult getting used to the phone since it's my first htc phone, but overall I kind of like it.
One thing that the seller told me which was quite interesting... is that the max additional memory space that it can hold is 4GB but he reccomended to buy a 2GB microSD card since the 4GB one will make your phone lag like "hell". Is this true? Anyone ever faced this situation before?
LeTengX
10-01-2009, 07:10 PM
just got this phone today with pv100 line for $168. quite difficult getting used to the phone since it's my first htc phone, but overall I kind of like it.
One thing that the seller told me which was quite interesting... is that the max additional memory space that it can hold is 4GB but he reccomended to buy a 2GB microSD card since the 4GB one will make your phone lag like "hell". Is this true? Anyone ever faced this situation before?
Maybe not true... I've seen someone said this phone works well with a 8G card...
see more user comments http://www.gsmarena.com/htc_touch_3g-reviews-2526.php
eugeneteo
10-01-2009, 11:30 PM
currently using 8g sandisk on my new touch 3g as well. so far so good. no lagginess as yet
fatsonado
11-01-2009, 09:09 AM
Thought this phone is selling at $338 4 PV100 plan? U gt it 4 $168 wif trade in voucher?
dIn088
11-01-2009, 10:51 AM
Thought this phone is selling at $338 4 PV100 plan? U gt it 4 $168 wif trade in voucher?
Yeah, they had some re-contract promotion or something like that. Selling it at $268. So i got it for $168 with the voucher but no trade-in.
fatsonado
11-01-2009, 11:26 AM
Congrats to u. Gt this phone at $138...damn cheap.
Me only gt $50 voucher. Btw...U recontract wif exclusive partner to get this price?
dIn088
11-01-2009, 11:29 AM
Congrats to u. Gt this phone at $138...damn cheap.
Me only gt $50 voucher. Btw...U recontract wif exclusive partner to get this price?
exclusive partner?? You mean starhub? or the outlet?
darrenSAN
11-01-2009, 12:03 PM
wah... solid... i tio scam.. bought it at 238 after $100 discount.
fatsonado
11-01-2009, 09:32 PM
Exclusive partner means outlet by 3rd party not official starhub shop. They sometime offer attractive phone price. However, they dont do cooperate plan. Thks 4 yr reply.
coolboi
12-01-2009, 04:05 PM
Yesterday when i log in my msn using my phone, there is no contacts. Then i try logging in through my com. There is no conacts too. i never sync with my com. Anyone know whats the problem??? The first time i log in through my touch 3g no problem one. Anyone know how to restore all my contacts? Thanks
eugeneteo
12-01-2009, 09:54 PM
Anyone know how to disable auto connection to 3g whenever my IE is launched?
don't wanna faint on my next bill :(
It keeps connecting to some Gee! n/w whenever I launch my IE
Solved. Found a working nodata :)
Touch3G
13-01-2009, 12:29 AM
pls install active sync and once your sync is complete.. u can surf with USB cable...
You may read up the Diamond / touch pro thread for more info... basicly they are using the same OS...:D
i install active sync.. but din perform the full syn, means cannot surf?
vabian
14-01-2009, 10:29 PM
just wanna know which leather casing you guys use to "protect" touch 3g :s11:
Touch3G
15-01-2009, 03:32 PM
no case or cover.. personally see no point in hiding a beautiful design in a casing...
Use as it is... NICE!!!
ctchng
16-01-2009, 12:26 PM
Anyone has anyidea when will the other colors be made available? looking to get the blue one.
LocalGod
16-01-2009, 09:46 PM
can check with u guys. is there a 'keylock' in setting->system?
it seemed that htc take this option out from the ROM!!!!
hkkoh
17-01-2009, 02:39 PM
can check with u guys. is there a 'keylock' in setting->system?
it seemed that htc take this option out from the ROM!!!!
Press and hold the 'end' button to lock the phone.
audiovideo
19-01-2009, 06:56 PM
are the other colors like blue or brown already available other then black
burping_boy
20-01-2009, 04:28 AM
Just got my hands on this phone at $218 after $50 vouchers. Yes starhub partner shops are selling cheaper at $268 as compared to starhub's own $338. And u can always call 1633 ask for customer consultant to give u vouchers when ur plan is up or about to end. usually $50 for cheaper plans.
Intending to apply martin fields (supposedly the best @ $24.90) screen protectors later on. Seems like only black is available for now, even cnet asia's review says so.
So far i have hard reset it once because my touchflo stopped launching because i edited the starhub tv link away with the M2DC application, but later realised that there is actually another easier way of enabling touchflo back. M2DC also allows you to customize the tabs and shortcuts and apply downloaded or ur own themes.
Things i like:
Customizable (with M2DC and other softwares). if u customize it correctly with all the essential shortcuts and tabs, it's a very handy and easy to use PDA
Chinese enabled (both simplified and traditional chinese are readable for my case, except for the input method using qwerty is abit too small)
Sleek look
WIFI (but uses battery up quickly)
Multiple email synchronization
Nice touchflo interface with nice weather animations
Free GPS with google maps
Things i hate:
Touch screen with no feedback (samsung F480 have very slight vibrations for each key touched as some form of feedback), particularly because i got very big thumbs
Random auto GPRS data connection even when i already connected via wifi. GPRS is expensive
Must use outlook to synchronise; what's the point of having a vista windows contacts and windows calendar when u cannot synchronise it with windows mobile. i had to export all my windows contacts to .vcf and add them in one by one. and i still have no luck with my birthday reminders in my windows calendar. birthdays saved within contacts cannot be linked to the calendar.
Unsensitive voice command recognition despite added a voice tag to the contact
No 3.5mm audio jack (can be solved by buying those adaptors though, from $5 to $20)
substandard camera with no auto focus or flash (but it's just a pda, get a camera if u wan nice pictures)
overall, a nice entry level pda, value for money, for first time users like me...
russgiam
20-01-2009, 05:36 PM
Just received my Touch 3G few days back...
Being new to PDA WM phone,
any kind soul can teach me how to remove the "starhub tv" tab on the home screen.
Thanks in advance ....
harpyboy
20-01-2009, 09:52 PM
burping_boy..
you can install TouchResponse if you want touch feedback......
GPRS can be disabled if you play around and create a dummy connection profile that goes no where.
Then set "Programs that automatically connect to the Internet should connect using: <dummy connection>"
Look at TerraCrosser (freeware) if you want to download google map onto your HTC. I downloaded the whole Singapore map only about 400MB. No need data connection after that to view and use GPS. The navigation is a bit troublesome as it doesn't support touch and drag. Another good one (but need to pay) is Google Navigator.
try iContact... better contact manager compared to WM6 build in one.
This is not a entry level pda. HTC Viva is... Touch 3G is fast and feature rich.
burping_boy
21-01-2009, 11:36 PM
i'll go try the touchresponse!
and GPRS i found another way no need dummy profile, just set at settings>connections>advanced>select networks and set the programs that automatically ... using "My Work Network" will also cause it to not load GPRS for my case... Or u meant work network is also a <dummy connection>... anywayz that was solved.
And i'll try terra crosser as well!
As for iContact, hmmm maybe no harm dling...
Just another problem i found today, not a very big one though, that sometimes when using the audio manager or the windows media player to play my songs, will skip just a little bit randomly, and it's confirm not the mp3 file's problem cos it's random. but sound quality was decent with the 3rd party mic/adaptor i bought, albeit a little too loud...
To russgiam: dl M2DC to customize ur buttons and remove the "starhub tv", more info here: http://www.ppcsg.com/index.php?showtopic=102158&st=70
it's not exactly perfect, some shortcuts may jam and cause ur touchflo to be disabled, but all u need to do is to reapply the raw theme and restart, where more info can be found here: http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=427532&page=37
loving this phone for now with the addition of my 4gb ultra micro sd card. any more recommendations for very useful softwares and applications?
Vadimur
22-01-2009, 06:28 PM
Anyone took any photos with this phone, can post? How's the quality? Can it also do video recording?
jason_tan
23-01-2009, 01:39 PM
Just bought my Touch 3G. A pretty nice phone to use. Lots of improvments from the previous touch + no lag.
However the text within the menus are pretty huge. I went into settings - screen - text size, however it doesnt work.
Anyone knows of a way to make them the same size as the Windows text size?
harpyboy
23-01-2009, 08:42 PM
Just bought my Touch 3G. A pretty nice phone to use. Lots of improvments from the previous touch + no lag.
However the text within the menus are pretty huge. I went into settings - screen - text size, however it doesnt work.
Anyone knows of a way to make them the same size as the Windows text size?
The start menu you mean? if so it's under Settings -> System -> TouchFLO -> "Enable large Start menu".... you probably found out before reading this..
vabian
24-01-2009, 10:34 AM
i can't transfer chinese character files via activesync.. can some1 plz shed me some light.. thx!
junyanyap
25-01-2009, 11:31 AM
I got a qns regarding the purchase of HTC touch 3g from starhub.
Do they provide the storage card, or we have to purchase it ourself?
Thanks
LeTengX
25-01-2009, 11:50 AM
I got a qns regarding the purchase of HTC touch 3g from starhub.
Do they provide the storage card, or we have to purchase it ourself?
Thanks
no card comes with Touch 3G, but $25 4G, $40 8G, not a big deal:)
junyanyap
25-01-2009, 01:16 PM
Thanks alot. Does the starhub shop sells the card?
In order to use the phone, i need to have a card first?
maxvanx
26-01-2009, 01:21 AM
anyone knows if the gps in htc 3G is free??i mean do i need to purchase the licence like nokia to use the gps.thank you.happy chinese new year.
gamerx
26-01-2009, 12:41 PM
Anyway to stop the phone from auto powering off or to reactivate it by pressing the other buttons instead of the power button?
gamerx
26-01-2009, 12:42 PM
anyone knows if the gps in htc 3G is free??i mean do i need to purchase the licence like nokia to use the gps.thank you.happy chinese new year.
GPS is always free from what I know. You only pay for the program and map.Some programs like google map might make use of data services like gprs,etc. You'll be charged for the data services if you use them as well.
jason_tan
26-01-2009, 06:42 PM
The start menu you mean? if so it's under Settings -> System -> TouchFLO -> "Enable large Start menu".... you probably found out before reading this..
Hey,
No, i dont mean this. i mean the inner menu. E.g. u go into calendar. u hv to click Menu -> New Appointment. When u click tat menu, the list of words are extremely big and ugly! haha, anyon knows how to customise tat?
Thanks in advanced!
dawnstar
26-01-2009, 08:32 PM
i can't seem to play .avi video files using the windows media player. anyone has any idea what other programmes can be used to play .avi files? thanks!
aroana
27-01-2009, 12:25 AM
any idea guys if there is already martin fields for this model? My stock SP sucks, want to change w/ Martin Fileds. Where to buy and how much? can they do pasting for me? thanks?
LeTengX
27-01-2009, 07:10 PM
i can't seem to play .avi video files using the windows media player. anyone has any idea what other programmes can be used to play .avi files? thanks!
.avi files can be encoded in many formats, like DivX, Xvid, MPEG, you may give a try to betaplayer (free) or coreplayer (comercial)
greddy88
28-01-2009, 08:43 PM
managed to play around with this a few days and love this a lot.. except for
- slower gps response (car stopped already the speed shown on the screen still decreasing before reaching zero kmh..my gspace/dell x51v combi was much faster..almost immediate update) .
- poorer battery...can't last me beyond a day.. use it as gps, pda, web/email surfing (if i'm lazy to turn on my laptop) and broadband modem for my laptop
- weather update not accurate one.. gave up after giving me false info about pouring rain over cny long weekends :s13:
well, can't compare with my dell x51v cos that was a 100% pda, not pda phone, and this has lots more functions. :D
anyway, anyone knows if any place sells that type of retractable usb data cable and car chargers?
dIn088
28-01-2009, 10:20 PM
Just install a full codec pack to your computer, as long as videos can be played in your com using windows media player, it can also be played on your hp.
Touch3G
30-01-2009, 07:44 PM
can ler!!! if i'm not wrong, we can stream youtube clips on the phone right? doesnt seems to be able to do so...
use the youtube function. and pop up "Connection failed" but i can surf normal webby...
exc747
30-01-2009, 08:29 PM
hi all,
anybody know where to get this beauty in blue color? understand starhub only carry black, tried sg mobile told me that dun hv it.
junyanyap
30-01-2009, 09:56 PM
Currently having problems with the HTC touch 3g. downloaded M2DC to my desktop, but am not sure how to install into my phone. and how to use it. it seems like i still lack 1 software.. and after i install CE star from the disc they provided, 2 CE star appears, and some of the display in the phone changes to chinese. I thought that CE star allows us to type in chinese? is it possible to change those chinese displays back to english and for me to use Chinese in sms only? and as for the dummy connection, i am still unsure of creating one. any help?
aroana
30-01-2009, 10:15 PM
Currently having problems with the HTC touch 3g. downloaded M2DC to my desktop, but am not sure how to install into my phone. and how to use it. it seems like i still lack 1 software.. and after i install CE star from the disc they provided, 2 CE star appears, and some of the display in the phone changes to chinese. I thought that CE star allows us to type in chinese? is it possible to change those chinese displays back to english and for me to use Chinese in sms only? and as for the dummy connection, i am still unsure of creating one. any help?
hi can answer only for the M2DC installation, after you download the cab to your pc, copy the whole cab into your phone MC dnt extract it may look like rar or zip file but its CAB actually, remember which folder you saved it. then detatch your phone frm your pc coz you cannot see the content of your MC while attached to your pc.
use the file manager and search for the folder where you save the cab file, just tap on the cab file and it will ask you if you want it to install, tap yes and install it on you MC. after install you can delete the cab file frm your MC to free up some memory space.
hope this helps. =:p
junyanyap
31-01-2009, 12:27 PM
Thanks alot of the M2DC help.. able to install it in my phone.. and customizing my phone now..
Anywhere to dl themes?
Still having problems with CE star. How to enable CE star only for messaging? CEstar is changing some of the tabs to chinese... such as my date, day.
How abt google map? saw a post on a 400mb singapore map.. however i dl 1 map which is way smaller.. like a few mb only...
cheers
aroana
31-01-2009, 01:29 PM
Thanks alot of the M2DC help.. able to install it in my phone.. and customizing my phone now..
Anywhere to dl themes?
Still having problems with CE star. How to enable CE star only for messaging? CEstar is changing some of the tabs to chinese... such as my date, day.
How abt google map? saw a post on a 400mb singapore map.. however i dl 1 map which is way smaller.. like a few mb only...
cheers
good to hear that=:p, for CE star ask around or browse other threads. am not using it coz need all my txt in english.
here's a good link to start, thanks for the kind TS, cheers.
http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showthread.php?t=1866126&page=17
aroana
01-02-2009, 09:56 PM
hi guys is there anyone tried to DL themes for your HTC Touch 3G, I tried to DL and installed it to my phone, but it did not show unless I turn off the TouchFlo program and choose only the applications I like to appear on the screen, ie Messaging, Calendars, etc.
Is it really like this way when using Themes or Im just missing something thats why I cannot work the theme and touchflo together? any help appreciated.
dickchingus
02-02-2009, 11:06 AM
managed to play around with this a few days and love this a lot.. except for
- slower gps response (car stopped already the speed shown on the screen still decreasing before reaching zero kmh..my gspace/dell x51v combi was much faster..almost immediate update) .
- poorer battery...can't last me beyond a day.. use it as gps, pda, web/email surfing (if i'm lazy to turn on my laptop) and broadband modem for my laptop
- weather update not accurate one.. gave up after giving me false info about pouring rain over cny long weekends :s13:
well, can't compare with my dell x51v cos that was a 100% pda, not pda phone, and this has lots more functions. :D
anyway, anyone knows if any place sells that type of retractable usb data cable and car chargers?
you can go to mustafa center..!! they do have it.
hanburger
02-02-2009, 03:43 PM
Hi, i juz bought the touch 3g and copied the contacts from my sim card to the phone. However, when i view all contacts, it shows both the sim card contacts and the phone contacts. Anyway to hide the sim card contacts and show only phone contacts?
laeticia
02-02-2009, 03:49 PM
my dad recently got this phone, can check with you all what button to press to get the number dial to show on the screen again during a phone call? he uses those international calling cards, so got a lot of numbers to press but the number dial disappears before he's done?
i would check the manual, but my dad bought the phone in china (=both phone and manual in chinese, which i can't read), and he's terrible with such electronic stuff so appreciate any help
aroana
02-02-2009, 11:08 PM
Hi, i juz bought the touch 3g and copied the contacts from my sim card to the phone. However, when i view all contacts, it shows both the sim card contacts and the phone contacts. Anyway to hide the sim card contacts and show only phone contacts?
use HD tweaks, got an option there to hide the SIM contacts. see my below replies for the links.
aroana
03-02-2009, 12:04 AM
my dad recently got this phone, can check with you all what button to press to get the number dial to show on the screen again during a phone call? he uses those international calling cards, so got a lot of numbers to press but the number dial disappears before he's done?
i would check the manual, but my dad bought the phone in china (=both phone and manual in chinese, which i can't read), and he's terrible with such electronic stuff so appreciate any help
simply press the power button once and the screen will light up again, frm there u can see and press the numbers again. hope this helps.
funguy33
03-02-2009, 01:43 PM
burping_boy..
GPRS can be disabled if you play around and create a dummy connection profile that goes no where.
Then set "Programs that automatically connect to the Internet should connect using: <dummy connection>"
Look at TerraCrosser (freeware) if you want to download google map onto your HTC. I downloaded the whole Singapore map only about 400MB. No need data connection after that to view and use GPS. The navigation is a bit troublesome as it doesn't support touch and drag. Another good one (but need to pay) is Google Navigator.
This is not a entry level pda. HTC Viva is... Touch 3G is fast and feature rich.
Hi Harpyboy,
I am a newbie here. Have just downloaded the terracrosser, but am not able to use it on my Touch3 G. Is there any settings i should be using? I have installed the program and the Singapore map on my storage card.
Thanks
greddy88
07-02-2009, 07:52 AM
i don't know what i did... the touch flo hang! :eek:
anyone knows where can i get the software to reinstall just this? (i don't wanna reinstall the whole handset cos i already got quite a number of programs in)
dawnstar
08-02-2009, 09:00 PM
i can't seem to register the CEstar. tried via sms doesn't work...can anyone advise on this? thanks!
teechuan
08-02-2009, 11:40 PM
Anybody knows if the screen protectors made for the old HTC Touch is compatible to be used on the Touch 3G? Cannot seem to find any customised once made specially for the 3G :(
lansi23
10-02-2009, 02:27 PM
Anybody knows if the screen protectors made for the old HTC Touch is compatible to be used on the Touch 3G? Cannot seem to find any customised once made specially for the 3G :(
go sim lim, they have it every where now, for the 3G. costs $12.
teechuan
10-02-2009, 03:12 PM
go sim lim, they have it every where now, for the 3G. costs $12.
Thanks. I'm acutally more interested in those from Zagg and Protech .. wonder if i can buy those protectors for Touch and use for the 3G .
tunge80
11-02-2009, 05:50 PM
sounds like alot of folks got problems with the HTC touch... am thinking of buying it soon, prob at the It fair next month....
anyone here actaully regretted buying the Touch 3G after using it for a while?
is it that this touch 3g dun comes with maps for gps .. ?
Touch3G
13-02-2009, 04:38 PM
hi guys is there anyone tried to DL themes for your HTC Touch 3G, I tried to DL and installed it to my phone, but it did not show unless I turn off the TouchFlo program and choose only the applications I like to appear on the screen, ie Messaging, Calendars, etc.
Is it really like this way when using Themes or Im just missing something thats why I cannot work the theme and touchflo together? any help appreciated.
you got install M2DC first? u need that to run the theme. Its works well for me.
unagiBento
14-02-2009, 06:30 PM
hi folks, any idea which partner shop recommended to get this htc touch 3g? thanks
audiovideo
15-02-2009, 04:29 PM
is the blue color touch 3G available in SG?
where to get it?
kanzie88
17-02-2009, 01:25 AM
any htc users out there can advise on free software for htc touch 3g for it to play avi files?
how to increase the volume? any patch cos its still soft at the maximum
aroana
18-02-2009, 12:17 AM
you got install M2DC first? u need that to run the theme. Its works well for me.
hi, you mean you can run the theme and touchflo together? i already got M2DC installed but cannot browse for the themes i installed, care to share the steps how? thanks.
konaha
19-02-2009, 11:42 PM
any idea the screen protectors at sim lim good? i cannot self apply also... need ppl help to apply one... and any idea can find case or whatever to protect the phone? considering only...
can to share how much u bot Touch 3G for? any shops that selling this phone cheap? i'm planning to recontract
ownage
21-02-2009, 10:59 AM
this phone is llaggy?
AlphaVivi
24-02-2009, 11:45 AM
Hey, anyones Touch 3g crashed before?
MIne crashed once today and i just bought it. And the touch flo restarted itself a few times on the first day i bought it!!!!!!
dickchingus
25-02-2009, 09:47 AM
nope.. no problem of crashing.. when intially installed M2DC it did hanged at times but now its working fine already.
dickchingus
25-02-2009, 11:01 AM
burping_boy..
hi harpy, where do you download the whole singapore map from?
AlphaVivi
25-02-2009, 05:53 PM
Hrmm what about the touch flo reloading itself at random occasions? Anyone experiencing that?
habbaa
01-03-2009, 11:27 PM
anyone can share where to get this cheaper?
keltong
02-03-2009, 07:57 AM
Change your regional settings back to English and it should be fine.
Start -> Settings -> System -> Regional Settings
BTW I use English (Australia) as it has settings closest to Singapore. Cheers.
harpyboy
08-03-2009, 09:09 PM
hi harpy, where do you download the whole singapore map from?
sorry hasn't log in in a while..
i guess you alreadi figured out? terracrosser includes a map downloader. you can choose yahoo or google map.
eagleboy
14-03-2009, 09:48 AM
Hi guys, any free software e.g. chinese input n etc to enchance the fone, if gt can pm me...thanks alor
darkgarnezh
24-03-2009, 05:44 PM
is the touch sensitivty good? is it responsive?
wind77
24-03-2009, 09:47 PM
is the touch sensitivty good? is it responsive?
yup, yup. 10char
zendex
25-03-2009, 10:43 PM
Hi, anyone interested in this model? I am letting off. I bought from IT show. This is the first time I am using a touch screen, I can't get use to it.
Full set with box with proper packaging
GPS haven register
The foot print is a cool feature
Call or SMS me at 90217411
jazlirocks
28-03-2009, 02:06 AM
Anyway to stop the phone from auto powering off or to reactivate it by pressing the other buttons instead of the power button?
i got irritated by having to press the power button every time the backlight turns off. any other way to activate the backlight/display back ON?
mike911
28-03-2009, 09:10 AM
anyone noes if this phone price now for recontract plan? cant seem to find any on the net.
oh ya, also does this support 3.5mm headset jack? or any special adapter available?
jazlirocks
28-03-2009, 11:20 PM
4-in-1 Accessories Pack (screen protector, 2-pin AC plug, car charger plug, usb cable) for HTC Touch/Touch 3G.
bought the phone last wk, and was given a htc touch/3g accessories pack from SH. not intending to use them.
brand new and unopened.
selling at $60. contact at 93806113.
http://i259.photobucket.com/albums/hh316/jazlirocks/IMAG0001.jpg
http://i259.photobucket.com/albums/hh316/jazlirocks/IMAG0002.jpg
cyuxiang
29-03-2009, 09:30 PM
anyone noes if this phone price now for recontract plan? cant seem to find any on the net.
oh ya, also does this support 3.5mm headset jack? or any special adapter available?
Need adapter to 3.5mm, not supplied. Handsfree is provided but without 3.5mm jack.
cyuxiang
29-03-2009, 09:32 PM
Anyone saw the crystal clear case for this model? I'm looking for one.
drkone
02-04-2009, 04:19 AM
Some useful sites I have used to gather info for the 3g:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showpost.php?p=2277665&postcount=2
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=398173
http://www.ppcsg.com/index.php?showforum=16
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=427392
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=311909
http://forum.xda-developers.com/forumdisplay.php?f=462
cyuxiang
02-04-2009, 12:46 PM
Thanks for the great list! :) Here are some other tips I have discovered:
These are registry changes, please do so at your own risk! You may use registry editors such as PHM.
Enable Map Search tab
Download Google Maps and install in Device, then edit the following registry values:
Name: LocationWidget
Value: ‘0’ to ‘1’
Enable Landscape mode
This enables landscape mode for applications, including Opera browser. However, navigating back to Home Screen automatically changes orientation to Portrait mode, as there is no Landscape mode for M2D. Thus, the "Call Answer" button long press can be set to switch orientation mode for convenience.
Value: ‘1’ to ‘0’
Removing Internet tab StarHub settings
Location: HKLM/Software/HTC/Manila2D/InternetWidget/Customized
(The following will change the large logo back to the default Earth logo. You can change it to your own image too.)
Name: BannerImage
Value: ‘\Windows\112x112.png’ to ‘\Windows\HH_INTERNET_EARTH.bmp’
Name: BannerImageMask
Value: ‘\Windows\112x112.png’ to ‘\Windows\HH_INTERNET_EARTH_MASK.bmp’
(Put your own URL and description here. This will be the webpage loaded when you click on the Earth logo.)
Name: BannerText
Value: ‘Launch Gee!’ to ‘(Insert your own text here)’
Name:BannerURL
Value: ‘http://gee.starhub.com.sg’ to ‘(Insert your own URL here)’
Name:BannerURLText
Value: ‘http://gee.starhub.com.sg’ to ‘(Insert your own URL here)’
Using M2DC and the Internet Tab
If you have navigated to the "Internet" settings tab in M2DC (even without setting anything) at any time before pressing "Apply", a blank value of OperaEXEFile will be added to the (HKLM/Software/HTC/Manila2D/InternetWidget) registry folder. This will cause the M2D Internet tab to stop working. To fix this, simply delete the OperaEXEFile using any registry editor.
RobinYip
02-04-2009, 10:45 PM
does this HTC Touch 3G comes with maps in the package?
Hope to use the GPS out of the box or do i need to purchase/install some maps for it to work?
cyuxiang
02-04-2009, 11:35 PM
does this HTC Touch 3G comes with maps in the package?
Hope to use the GPS out of the box or do i need to purchase/install some maps for it to work?
The SEA version does not come with Map Search enabled, so Google Maps is not included. I don't think there are any other map software included too. You can download Google Maps (or other 3rd party offline map clients) to use GPS for free.
drkone
03-04-2009, 02:33 AM
1 more thing I have to add, the touch 3g is really value for money. Good gps and generally quite powerful considering the size and price. Main 'gripes' for me is sometimes it lags a little(like a sec or so), speakers not loud enough for me(voice not music), screen in sunlight and batt life(i may be overly critical here). But, a soft reset will usually 'wake up my phone's idea'. I actually think windows mobile is more of a culprit than the phone
cyuxiang
03-04-2009, 03:58 AM
My gripe would be:
Lack of FM radio (and seeing how powerful the radio on other models can get after some "development")
Fixed focus camera (it's a necessity, wouldn't mind a little upgrade even if this phone is not meant for rich multimedia)
The price is certainly attractive, but carrier exclusivity may turn some away.
saggice
09-04-2009, 09:21 AM
this phone got footprint feature meh ???
hi... i just got my touch 3g 1 week ago... nice small and simple and suits my need
only prb i realised is that after installing ce-star - my touch flo date becomes chinese and the same goes for the alarm, google map, mapking...
anyone has this problem? how do i keep ce-star and yet retain my mapking / calender / google map in english?
thank you
cyuxiang
18-04-2009, 05:50 AM
hi... i just got my touch 3g 1 week ago... nice small and simple and suits my need
only prb i realised is that after installing ce-star - my touch flo date becomes chinese and the same goes for the alarm, google map, mapking...
anyone has this problem? how do i keep ce-star and yet retain my mapking / calender / google map in english?
thank you
Change your International settings just like on Windows.
eagleboy
18-04-2009, 11:20 AM
u noe the 3G icon sometime auto change to H or G, hw to disable it.... i scare my bill ver ex
sunow
18-04-2009, 11:56 AM
Downloaded and installed new ROM V.
Phone seems to be faster.
There's also additional goggle map search.
Can anyone tell me if there's any free map to dowload if i want turn by turn with voice?
There's also a "message sent" prompt after very sms i sent. Cant seems to turn off. Before upgrading i manage to turn off.
mike911
18-04-2009, 12:11 PM
cant find the phone in stores now. are they still for sale? still got promos?
Change your International settings just like on Windows.
thx !
i din realise tat after installing ce-star the setting is automatically changed to chinese instead of english
;)
iceboi06
19-04-2009, 08:14 PM
any1 know where i can buy this phone without contract? cuz i just called mobilesquare and they are out of stock
Khenith
20-04-2009, 12:12 AM
The SEA version does not come with Map Search enabled, so Google Maps is not included. I don't think there are any other map software included too. You can download Google Maps (or other 3rd party offline map clients) to use GPS for free.
the newest firmware includes google maps and the map search function :D
still requires an internet connection it seems...
nope... unfortunately, it doesnt.. :(
cyuxiang
20-04-2009, 07:09 PM
cant find the phone in stores now. are they still for sale? still got promos?
I believe it is still StarHub exclusive? $0/$38 with 2-yr plan.
cyuxiang
20-04-2009, 07:11 PM
the newest firmware includes google maps and the map search function :D
still requires an internet connection it seems...
Yeah, finally... wonder why they exclude SEA phones in the first place.
cyuxiang
20-04-2009, 07:12 PM
Not by default, but can use another version of M2D... :evil: Dunno if there is QVGA version though. If anyone is interested can check out xda-dev.
cyuxiang
20-04-2009, 07:20 PM
thx !
i din realise tat after installing ce-star the setting is automatically changed to chinese instead of english
;)
After trying CE-Star, I found another alternative at PPCSG forums. Its onscreen keyboard seems more user-friendly. It's called ZT A4, and I believe it's freeware.
Khenith
21-04-2009, 12:56 AM
anyone realised that the date's missing after the new rom patch?
how could this have happened... (zomg!)
wind77
21-04-2009, 11:51 AM
updated to 17Apr version of ROM.
before that, I can use fring on IDEAS Internet.
after that, fring can only connect to IDEAS GPRS. Unable to connect IDEAS Internet liao.
Anyone face same issue?
Khenith
21-04-2009, 03:00 PM
updated to 17Apr version of ROM.
before that, I can use fring on IDEAS Internet.
after that, fring can only connect to IDEAS GPRS. Unable to connect IDEAS Internet liao.
Anyone face same issue?
hmm.. u prob have to check with singtel on the settings =:p
anyways does yours show the date on the main screen?
mike911
21-04-2009, 03:49 PM
I believe it is still StarHub exclusive? $0/$38 with 2-yr plan.
oh, sorry forgot to add, actually its under my father's contract under singtel, his contract ended, so tot could hog onto his account for a new phone.
any idea if singtel has it?
wind77
21-04-2009, 08:49 PM
hmm.. u prob have to check with singtel on the settings =:p
anyways does yours show the date on the main screen?
setting is correct and unchanged - as per original setting from singtel.
can browse internet, can download emails, only cannot connect fring on "ideas internet". must use "ideas gprs".
jazlirocks
21-04-2009, 10:57 PM
seems that there's new problems with the new rom.
maybe i just hold on to the current rom for now.
jus^ride
22-04-2009, 03:29 PM
hi bros, just got my touch 3g 2days back..any idea how to start to use the gps?? must i download or install any things?? n is there any other things i need to install on the disc given?? thx in adv..
cyuxiang
22-04-2009, 04:24 PM
oh, sorry forgot to add, actually its under my father's contract under singtel, his contract ended, so tot could hog onto his account for a new phone.
any idea if singtel has it?
I don't think so...
wind77
22-04-2009, 11:26 PM
another issue with latest ROM (17 Apr):
CE-star no longer compatible. When choosing handwriting input method in CE star, the UI not appear, instead screen turn blank. I shut down the application, but other applications which requires input also affected, including sms and email.
no way to return to english input since screen is blank.
in the end, have to uninstall CE star.
jus^ride
23-04-2009, 09:53 AM
for those wan to recontract or sign new plan cnc shop at sun plaza got offer for touch 3g..
unagiBento
23-04-2009, 05:18 PM
for those wan to recontract or sign new plan cnc shop at sun plaza got offer for touch 3g..
u mean sun plaza at sembawang?
navarro_t
23-04-2009, 09:11 PM
cheaper there? :s11:
iceboi06
23-04-2009, 09:26 PM
hi, can some one help me out here? im kinda noob and first time user for a pda
there some questions i would like to ask
1. how do i install the CE star into the phone since its in the CD
2. how do i add files/ songs/ pictures into the memory card instead of the phone memory, i used the windows mobile device centre, and cant seem to find anywhere where i can change it to memory card
3. anywhere that i can download themes of it?
thanks alot and pardon me if my questions are noob
sexyboy16
23-04-2009, 11:01 PM
Using the cable provided in the box, you can easily transfer files/songs/pictures to your memory card by cut & paste or copy & paste.
So far, I don't think installing themes is possible for this model.
Hope that helps. :D
mike911
24-04-2009, 01:19 AM
I don't think so...
hmm ok noted, thanks.
jus^ride
24-04-2009, 02:46 PM
u mean sun plaza at sembawang?
yup..
cheaper there? :s11:
yupyup..cheaper by 100...
jus^ride
24-04-2009, 02:47 PM
hi bros, just got my touch 3g 2days back..any idea how to start to use the gps?? must i download or install any things?? n is there any other things i need to install on the disc given?? thx in adv..
any kind soul there to help me also??
takumee
24-04-2009, 07:37 PM
Is there Led green,blue light when there is signal in Htc Touch 3G. I am taking about the signal light which is there in Htc Touch model. Also blue led flashes when we turn on bluetooth?? so is there the same led flash light in htc touch 3g
tkdguru
24-04-2009, 08:27 PM
http://terracrosser.com/
i using this, check out the forum for more info, especially how top dwnld sg maps from google maps
iceboi06
24-04-2009, 09:40 PM
how do i disable the gprs connection to prevent my hp from auto connect to gprs? i was at mac just now and my hp keep on auto connect to gprs, almost pisss me off
how do i also stop it from auto unlocking?, like when i press the on/off button to lock the hp, after awhile it will auto unlock
btw, why my hp cant seem to detech the memory card?
tkdguru
25-04-2009, 03:12 PM
how do i disable the gprs connection to prevent my hp from auto connect to gprs? i was at mac just now and my hp keep on auto connect to gprs, almost pisss me off
how do i also stop it from auto unlocking?, like when i press the on/off button to lock the hp, after awhile it will auto unlock
btw, why my hp cant seem to detech the memory card?
MoDaCo NoData
iceboi06
26-04-2009, 12:38 PM
does anyone has this problem? like when ur storage card is inserted, it say its not installed, how to solve this?
navarro_t
26-04-2009, 12:43 PM
yup..
yupyup..cheaper by 100...
so how much izzit? :s11:
pclum
27-04-2009, 03:21 PM
just get my touch 3g yesterday with $188 when I re-contract my starhub, but without memory card so hoave to top up $16 for a 2G card, but this price is a star price so I can't use my $50 voucher from starhub which will be expire today. I go other shop it was $288
sexyboy16
27-04-2009, 04:18 PM
pclum, enjoy your new gadget. :D
pclum
28-04-2009, 08:58 AM
pclum, enjoy your new gadget. :D
yes, so new to pda that in the first day, i don't even know how to sms
cenedra
01-05-2009, 11:23 PM
anyone knows whether its possible to use landscape mode on the browser? Surfing internet will be easier in landscape more...
thanks
iceboi06
06-05-2009, 06:20 PM
anyone has this problem where when you press the on/off switch to lock the phone, after awhile the phone will auto unlock itself?
tkdguru
06-05-2009, 06:55 PM
nope
10char
pclum
07-05-2009, 03:00 PM
I try to install the CE-star but fail, how to install CE-star ? I copy the whole folder from the disc to the hand phone and run the set up but it give an error " it is not a mobile application". so how to install ?
Thank in advance.
Anyone install the M2DC ? how to do about it ? I try to customize the home screen but it seem that u can't change anything. I would like to change the calender shown on the home screen to other shutcut.
wind77
07-05-2009, 03:44 PM
pclum, to install CE star:
1. connect ur phone to pc via USB, ensure the sync is working well.
2. launch the CE star installer from the CD.
3. the installer should prompt u tat it's going to install the program. click to proceed.
4. once it is done, u will be prompted to restart ur phone.
5. after ur phone is restarted, all menu will become chinese. u can go to regional setting, and change the region back to australia.
Done.
namebat
07-05-2009, 05:10 PM
Did anybody realize that the date beside the clock is no longer displayed after upgrading of the latest ROM?
Anyone knows how to display the date again? I tried to search everywhere but no success.
namebat
07-05-2009, 05:15 PM
any kind soul there to help me also??
Bro, you have to install a GPS software like MAPKING 2007, then download the map from mapking website. Note that MAPKING 2007 is not free. 3 days trial only afterwhich you have to pay 100 bucks if you want to continue to use.
Not sure if there is any free GPS software in the market now.
pclum
08-05-2009, 08:57 AM
pclum, to install CE star:
1. connect ur phone to pc via USB, ensure the sync is working well.
2. launch the CE star installer from the CD.
3. the installer should prompt u tat it's going to install the program. click to proceed.
4. once it is done, u will be prompted to restart ur phone.
5. after ur phone is restarted, all menu will become chinese. u can go to regional setting, and change the region back to australia.
Done.
Thks bro, it works! How about the M2DC ? I also like to change the weather setting, the data that get from weather.com is not accurate, may be from channelnewsasia is better.
wind77
08-05-2009, 10:17 AM
m2dc...
1. copy the cab file downloaded into ur phone/storage card.
2. use ur phone explorer to browse and exe the cab. this will install m2dc.
3. done.
u might wanna refer to earlier thread by fella forumner.. there is a problem when u use the "internet" tab in m2dc.
u should also consider "regedit", details in earlier thread.
HikNoGo
09-05-2009, 12:18 PM
Hi all, I just bought a htc touch 3g last weekend and have been tweaking it these few days.
1) Battery test:
Music playback time (overnight) with no phone/sms but with connection to starhub 3g, screen off, no skipping of tracks, plug to 3.5mm earphone, volume at 3 bar: 10.5 hrs
I think it is good enough to replace my old ipod video 5.5g.
Standby: 12hrs overnight with no calls and message but connected to 3g network: still >90% left
However, I have been charging the phone from 0% to 100% and it takes >3hrs. So what is the charging time?? It wasnt on the manual so I am seeking for other end-user advise from this thread.
Is GPS very power consuming?? I went out to test the gps using amazegps (freeware) and the battery life drops quite fast. (10% for start to destination) I use that because it provides turnbyturn voice. But the search function for singapore map is bad. You need to select the particular street yourself first before travelling, unlike google maps.
2) internal mic:
I already have a 11pin to 3.5mm cable with external mic build in, but i find it too bulky.
So, I bought this:
http://i5.ebayimg.com/05/i/001/38/d7/d04b_1.JPG
It is very compact, but there is no external mic. I found a diagram on the pins of the adapter, but i don't think by breaking the 2 pins for microphone contact, the internal mic will work. It may not be that simple.
Is there any software or editing to registry that can make the device to use the internal mic even if a headset has been connected??
3) Opera mobile 9.5 and flashlite
I cant playback flash flv from youtube.com anymore in opera mobile 9.5 after install other programs(maybe its m2dc, not sure, but thats among the first programs to be installed)
Sequence of events:
1) Flashed to new rom obtained from htc site: 'clean state'
2) Installed flashlite 3.1 and was able to play youtube flv files directly in opera browser.
3) Installed other programs: (CE-Star, M2DC, TCPMP, NoData, amazeGPS)
4) flash flv no longer plays. The usual flash video plugin opens, but when i press the play button, it wont play.
I looked through the windows folder and saw opera9.exe and operal.exe What are the differences?? l=lite?? My opera9.exe is ~ 6mb but the operal.exe is <1mb. I cant open opera9.exe, only operal.exe works.
Anyone has any experience on this problem??
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.