View Full Version : W902 is out
maumu
04-08-2008, 07:41 PM
Anyone knows when will this be released, other than just Q4?
:D
Soulmace
18-08-2008, 02:46 AM
im also waiting for the launch of this phone. seems nice and slim
NewJage
25-09-2008, 01:55 PM
I wanna know too lol.
chimpchimp
25-09-2008, 05:25 PM
sources say it will be released in october 2008. so wait for another month haha
angelinalove
27-09-2008, 04:17 PM
Most probably it will be out in month of oct.
phuque99
03-10-2008, 11:17 PM
Anyone knows when will this be released, other than just Q4?
:D
Coming soon tag has been removed from SE site. I believe it will be anytime soon.
maumu
04-10-2008, 08:47 AM
cool! can't wait :)
useless
08-10-2008, 08:41 PM
Is this phone out yet? Because its not under the 'coming soon' status on the sony ericsson website, but I don't see any shop selling it. Any ideas?
Jumpman23
09-10-2008, 10:06 AM
Out at Iposh - S$848!
maumu
09-10-2008, 02:34 PM
wah its damn ex... not worth the price! more reasonable would be $600+...
hush66
09-10-2008, 11:27 PM
I'm so definitely going to get this phone but will wait a while for more reviews and till my contract is eligible for handset upgrade end Nov. :D
maumu
10-10-2008, 08:45 AM
It's out already.... $848 @ both mobilesquare and iPosh.
Think it's super ex >.<
ragnarok95
10-10-2008, 08:47 AM
Thread move to walkman forum since this is a walkman phone.
useless
10-10-2008, 07:33 PM
It's out already.... $848 @ both mobilesquare and iPosh.
Think it's super ex >.<
$848 with contract or without?
I guess I'll wait for a month and see how much it drops till then.
maumu
10-10-2008, 08:36 PM
without contract. don't think it's out with the telcos yet...
napster79
11-10-2008, 11:39 AM
M1 - $568
Starhub - $638
Singtel - $598
Iposh - $848
MS - $848
napster79
11-10-2008, 11:42 AM
M1 - $568
Starhub - $638
Singtel - $598
Iposh - $848
MS - $848
NewJage
11-10-2008, 10:31 PM
Im going to buy this soon, but i wanna take a look at the reviews first...
useless
12-10-2008, 05:43 AM
M1 - $568
Starhub - $638
Singtel - $598
Wah, still too ex for me liao even though I can afford it. :s27:
But not willing to spend so much on a hp.
How long do you think it will take to hit maybe $300-400?
A month or so?
hush66
12-10-2008, 02:08 PM
w902 Gallery:
http://blog.se-nse.net/2008/10/11/gallery-sony-ericsson-w902/
It's a pity the SE connector is at the side though. Would have really preferred it if it were at the bottom.
Bashflz
12-10-2008, 03:44 PM
a bit too ex... sigh.
maumu
12-10-2008, 04:34 PM
dun worry price will eventually drop :)
napster79
13-10-2008, 10:28 AM
wah, till now still no one bought this phone ah??:look:
lyonchua
13-10-2008, 10:57 AM
Anybody getting this phone soon?
just check ytd at orchard M1, its out but rather ex,
$398 + $200 trade in with new/upgrade.
maumu
13-10-2008, 12:51 PM
so ex... who wanna buy? add a bit more can get iPhone 8GB liaoz, or the Innov8. :D
OdualO
13-10-2008, 07:10 PM
Dun know why even with the lack of features, it's price even higher than omnia during the promo peroid and pricing as N85 without trade-in. Hopefully the price will take a steep drop with a poor sale amount soon.
NewJage
14-10-2008, 01:21 AM
I think this phone is quite good leh; 5mp, 8gb mem stick avail and nice audio and first walkman hp to be good both audio and cam function..but the problem is it's a little or too ex =/
maumu
14-10-2008, 10:56 AM
both iPosh and mobilesquare drop it to $830 liao but still too ex considering that C905 is coming out soon and will pose a threat to this...
waiting for it to drop to $600+ den grab :D
mobiken
14-10-2008, 10:21 PM
what so special abt this phone? beside the form factor is nt bad...
OdualO
14-10-2008, 11:34 PM
what so special abt this phone? beside the form factor is nt bad...
hmm actually nothing special but if one is looking for a phone with decent music and camera this phone should do. However, dun know what sonyericsson strategy is by placing it with a same pricing as N85 when this phone seems to lack everything that the N85 has. I believe sonyericsson really need to revise thier strategy to push the sale of this phone.
meet_nanda
15-10-2008, 09:40 AM
Well, N85 has a decent camera and good sounding music as well. In fact, a little better with its lens cover and 3.5mm jack for headphones. So, there is no point buying W902 at this crazy price. Also, no WLAN for this price? :s13:
hmm actually nothing special but if one is looking for a phone with decent music and camera this phone should do. However, dun know what sonyericsson strategy is by placing it with a same pricing as N85 when this phone seems to lack everything that the N85 has. I believe sonyericsson really need to revise thier strategy to push the sale of this phone.
dotaxend
16-10-2008, 02:54 PM
got it !
5 Mega pix I Feel is as good as those on the 850s
Sound quality from speaker is second to none.. plus the free earphones are top notch
I reckon its a good deal for me....I've gotten it by trading my singtel line to m1.
So that's free 6 months sub.
End up im paying $168 for the phone.
The design and feel of it is soothing for me.
so far so good.. except that I'll be sending in for service later... something malfunctioned.
=(
hush66
16-10-2008, 09:34 PM
got it !
5 Mega pix I Feel is as good as those on the 850s
Sound quality from speaker is second to none.. plus the free earphones are top notch
I reckon its a good deal for me....I've gotten it by trading my singtel line to m1.
So that's free 6 months sub.
End up im paying $168 for the phone.
The design and feel of it is soothing for me.
so far so good.. except that I'll be sending in for service later... something malfunctioned.
=(
When you get the phone back from servicing, would you mind checking to see if the phone supports Thai language? :)
maumu
18-10-2008, 04:51 PM
besides dotaxend nobody else got it arh...??
got any reviews? :D
mobilesquare said its still in softlaunch period so that explains the high price and slow take-up... ><
dotaxend
20-10-2008, 12:08 PM
When you get the phone back from servicing, would you mind checking to see if the phone supports Thai language? :)
Yes it does support thai.
Supports 10 languages. Mainly the South east asia ones, european ones are german & dutch.
IMO it looks better than the advertised picture.
So Far so good...
they did a one-to-one exchange for me. hurray !~
hush66
20-10-2008, 12:16 PM
Yes it does support thai.
Supports 10 languages. Mainly the South east asia ones, european ones are german & dutch.
IMO it looks better than the advertised picture.
So Far so good...
they did a one-to-one exchange for me. hurray !~
Oh! Another question. Does it allow for customized equalizer settings? It's rather annoying that as some of the Walkman phones dont allow for this.
HeartsFinale
20-10-2008, 03:00 PM
Oh! Another question. Does it allow for customized equalizer settings? It's rather annoying that as some of the Walkman phones dont allow for this.Yes, it does support manual equalizer settings.
OdualO
20-10-2008, 09:55 PM
besides dotaxend nobody else got it arh...??
got any reviews? :D
mobilesquare said its still in softlaunch period so that explains the high price and slow take-up... ><
I dun know if softlaunch is really the issue here since the current generation of phone basic features is a good cam and music playing capabilites and the W902 only met these criterias, and by placing it with the same pricing with other phones that offer richer contents, i find it rather stupid. Not worth the money. Although Iposh is selling at 750 to 800 range, i find hard to part my money for this phone.
I believe before the pricing was reveal a lot anticipated for this phone partly because of its form factor and the music capabilities. The 5mp cam was a bouns sicne it was ported over from C902. But the price really deters alot when they can have better choice with that same amount of money.
NewJage
20-10-2008, 11:59 PM
What is one for one exchange?
just waiting out till price decrease to replace my w810 :), maybe near christmas?
podimerlin
22-10-2008, 06:43 PM
Just got it and I cant seem to find the red eye filter feature in the photo dj mode...Does it have it at all?? Maybe its auto already...hmm...
And how do you activate geo tagging?
FreddieFreako
25-10-2008, 08:31 AM
Anyone experience phone auto shutdown with this phone? :s11:
neptuneunice
26-10-2008, 08:58 PM
any1 knows the diff between W902 and W902i?
rockdhop
26-10-2008, 09:05 PM
did anyone do a comparison between w902 and w980 8gb.actually whats the big different arh?
redalert123
26-10-2008, 09:25 PM
is it 25gb internal memory?
pls advixs
HeartsFinale
26-10-2008, 10:08 PM
did anyone do a comparison between w902 and w980 8gb.actually whats the big different arh?No difference. The only difference are as followed;
W980
- Clamshell
- 3.2 Megapixel fix focus camera without flash
- 8GB Internal Memory non-upgradable
- Walkman on top Touch-Button interface
W902
- Candybar
- 5 Megapixel auto focus camera with flash light
- 8GB bundled M2 Memory card expandable up to 32GB
- Walkman on side Press-Button interface
Audio quality between the phone are the same.
hitme
27-10-2008, 06:15 AM
this phone looks so nice. don't know to get this or c905.
what you guys think? i hate c905 thickness.
chimpchimp
27-10-2008, 10:33 AM
actually the c905 is more advanced than the w902 but yea like u, i also hate the thickness of the c905. hmm maybe if i were u, i will go get the w902 since a very good camera aint impt to me and moreover im not into sliders rite now.
hitme
27-10-2008, 11:29 AM
yeah....i think so too.
but online u get tons of info on C905 but almost nothing on w902.
not a very popular hp i guess.
may be wait for reslae unit so that i no need to lose so much. ha
rockdhop
27-10-2008, 11:55 AM
No difference. The only difference are as followed;
W980
- Clamshell
- 3.2 Megapixel fix focus camera without flash
- 8GB Internal Memory non-upgradable
- Walkman on top Touch-Button interface
W902
- Candybar
- 5 Megapixel auto focus camera with flash light
- 8GB bundled M2 Memory card expandable up to 32GB
- Walkman on side Press-Button interface
Audio quality between the phone are the same.
w902 can expand to 32GB?wah....likdat the phone will be super laggy la....cuz 16b alrdy lag like siao alrdy
rockdhop
27-10-2008, 11:56 AM
this phone looks so nice. don't know to get this or c905.
what you guys think? i hate c905 thickness.
w902 got the best of both worlds.walkman plus 5mp
hitme
27-10-2008, 01:53 PM
yeah
looks good on paper. but need to physically use it to comment on that.
one thing i noticed, SE hp typically got lower resale value than nokia?
why is everyone selling G900 so cheaply?
hitme
28-10-2008, 05:08 PM
just bought one.
initial feel is good. super light.
menu etc no lag. volume for music is loud.
call speaker a bit soft though.
but i shall save my review after a few days of usage.
redalert123
28-10-2008, 09:52 PM
is this
phone W902
really add up to 32gb
i c in the gsm net is only 25mb for internal memory ???
hush66
28-10-2008, 10:14 PM
is this phone W902 really add up to 32gb
i c in the gsm net is only 25mb for internal memory ???
The phone comes with an external 8GB M2 memory card. Theoretically, such cards can go up to 32GB. But the largest M2 card on the market now is at 16GB.
hitme
29-10-2008, 07:01 AM
AXpsOE60K2Q
general feel is good.
extremely light.
w902 > N85
FreddieFreako
29-10-2008, 07:14 AM
Seems like I'm the only one having the auto shut down problem?:s11:
hitme
29-10-2008, 08:29 AM
Torch light function in W902
o-xh3WbDCKQ
hitme
29-10-2008, 08:56 AM
photo shot by w902
http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3048/2983061664_dfeef4e402.jpg?v=0
Kwein
29-10-2008, 09:05 AM
the shot looks crappy leh :s7:
hitme
29-10-2008, 09:27 AM
never use flash.
here is another one
http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3245/2983108366_97554b3a27.jpg?v=0
hitme
29-10-2008, 12:27 PM
creating ur own music
DWn1XEbJbK8
redalert123
30-10-2008, 09:22 PM
so this this phone
internal memory 25 GB ??
hitme
31-10-2008, 05:31 AM
ya.....
but comes with 8gb memory card.
purplebanana
31-10-2008, 06:43 PM
hey guys.. i'm considering to get either w902 or g900... but can't make up my mind leh... advise? cos w902 quite expensive leh.. i think after i trade in my w910i also cost me 300 goin to 400 bucks... worth it??
redalert123
31-10-2008, 09:30 PM
if the internal
memory is 25 gb
then plus the 8 gb memory
card it will be 32 gb rite?
KingHenryXIV
31-10-2008, 10:46 PM
I thought internal memory is 25 MB...?
hitme
01-11-2008, 05:56 AM
i mean 25mb. sorry.
a lot of ppl selling g900 at around $400.
but if i were u, i will buy w902. it is hell of a hp.
i am loving every second i am using it.
maumu
01-11-2008, 10:46 AM
still waiting for it to drop to 600+
hitme
02-11-2008, 06:41 AM
mai tu liao....
very sleek phone. worth buying
hitme
02-11-2008, 07:07 AM
night shot comparison between my ex N85 and my current W902
w902
http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2388/2993579718_3512526f84.jpg?v=0
http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3213/2992729795_c8d9b937b2.jpg?v=0
N85
http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3288/2950432088_70fd41ec42.jpg?v=0
http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3204/2950433410_2dc8143d73.jpg?v=0
hitme
03-11-2008, 04:07 PM
Video shot by w902
h3A_-MrEiyI
KingHenryXIV
03-11-2008, 06:11 PM
Nice quality... How is the call quality, UI quickness, battery life and any hang issues?
hitme
03-11-2008, 06:24 PM
i have been a nokia fan all along and most likely switching back to N series in future.
this is my first Se hp and i am very impressed. highly recommended.
sleek and no lag in UI. camera quality is good even in the night.
only draw back is no wifi and recorded sound when play back a bit buffered.
KingHenryXIV
03-11-2008, 06:55 PM
Why are you switchin back to n series if you dun mind me asking? lol
rockdhop
03-11-2008, 10:44 PM
so what nseries u intend to get?
hitme
04-11-2008, 05:28 AM
coz still a nokia fan.
but the latest n96 and n85 cannot make it.
so will wait for future improved N series.
i will change to 8mp cam n series? ha
hitme
04-11-2008, 05:34 AM
oh, did i mention, nokia got the best PC suite in the market?
rockdhop
04-11-2008, 09:15 PM
coz still a nokia fan.
but the latest n96 and n85 cannot make it.
so will wait for future improved N series.
i will change to 8mp cam n series? ha
thats exactly how i feel too.serious.....but you can go take alook at n85 thread,got ppl claim theirs faulty,while a few say its perfect...........
however i think maybe only n95 8gb is a good buy now...
hitme
05-11-2008, 05:59 AM
thats exactly how i feel too.serious.....but you can go take alook at n85 thread,got ppl claim theirs faulty,while a few say its perfect...........
however i think maybe only n95 8gb is a good buy now...
I am the one in N85 thread that say N85 no good lor. haa
frankly, for some who who had never used N series before, N85 is a good phone. However, ppl lik eme, who migrated from N95 8gb to N85, is a degrade for me.
only the form factor is nice. nothing better than N95 8Gb.
though the form factor is nice, it is heavy. Now with W902, i am shocked that it is so light.
like move back in years to black and white nokia hp. (8310 etc)
thought software cannot beat N95 8GB, at least it is sleek and light.
camera, battery life and UI is fine too. no bugs so far.
only complain is PC suite not up to nokia standard.
lately, nokia like very slow in term of innovation. no know what happened to them.
too big for their own good?
seahkw
05-11-2008, 07:51 PM
The photo looks any impressive! The lack of wifi and no 3.5 mm jack really puts SE phones behind the race. The form factor is ice thou. Have a nokia phone which sucks big time now. Haven tried the N series so i cant comment!
hitme
06-11-2008, 11:35 AM
spec wise, nothing beats nokia!
if only n85 perform like what the spec state, it will be a perfect phone for me.
rockdhop
06-11-2008, 04:41 PM
I am the one in N85 thread that say N85 no good lor. haa
frankly, for some who who had never used N series before, N85 is a good phone. However, ppl lik eme, who migrated from N95 8gb to N85, is a degrade for me.
only the form factor is nice. nothing better than N95 8Gb.
though the form factor is nice, it is heavy. Now with W902, i am shocked that it is so light.
like move back in years to black and white nokia hp. (8310 etc)
thought software cannot beat N95 8GB, at least it is sleek and light.
camera, battery life and UI is fine too. no bugs so far.
only complain is PC suite not up to nokia standard.
lately, nokia like very slow in term of innovation. no know what happened to them.
too big for their own good?
wah hitme so rich arh?i didnt know you got 2 hp,i thot u were the one with the w902 only....
rockdhop
06-11-2008, 04:41 PM
then hitme,seriously between your n95 8gb and your n85,whats the main diff arh?i somehow thought of buying n95 8gb now leh.....
rockdhop
06-11-2008, 04:42 PM
spec wise, nothing beats nokia!
if only n85 perform like what the spec state, it will be a perfect phone for me.
n85 didnt perfect as spec stated?
hitme
06-11-2008, 05:28 PM
wah hitme so rich arh?i didnt know you got 2 hp,i thot u were the one with the w902 only....
got 2 hp is rich mei?
then i must sell away liao. hee hee
then hitme,seriously between your n95 8gb and your n85,whats the main diff arh?i somehow thought of buying n95 8gb now leh.....
n95 8gb is bloody good lah.
but no point buying now. dated design.
n85 also no good.
got bugs.
wait for N99, got 8mp camera etc.
rockdhop
06-11-2008, 08:02 PM
got 2 hp is rich mei?
then i must sell away liao. hee hee
n95 8gb is bloody good lah.
but no point buying now. dated design.
n85 also no good.
got bugs.
wait for N99, got 8mp camera etc.
sure anot,got n99?you create one arh>haha....
yes i agree n95 8gb is outdated but im not new gadgets adopters leh.....im those pratical one who wants things that are real DAMN good,real DAMN stable,real DAMN worth,and no regrets
HeartsFinale
06-11-2008, 08:37 PM
sure anot,got n99?you create one arh>haha....
yes i agree n95 8gb is outdated but im not new gadgets adopters leh.....im those pratical one who wants things that are real DAMN good,real DAMN stable,real DAMN worth,and no regretsConsider the W705 which was just announced today.
hitme
07-11-2008, 05:34 AM
then buy n95 8gb lor.
rock solid!
i cried a little when i sold mine. :)
purplebanana
07-11-2008, 01:32 PM
just bought my w902!!! looks so cool... not yet explore yet... haha... anyway can i ask a stupid question hahaha... how to transfer my smses from my previous M2 card to this new phone or to the new M2 card given ar?
hitme
07-11-2008, 01:53 PM
copy all folders to ur comp first, then plug in ur new card
transfer all folders over.
hitme
07-11-2008, 02:35 PM
use the adapter provided, copy all files to ur comp first.
then copy all into new card lor.
w902 so sleek right? like vertu! ha
purplebanana
11-11-2008, 06:24 PM
yea i love this phone... so much better compared to my previous w910i... the audio quality is so much better! and i like the keypad too!
hitme
11-11-2008, 07:01 PM
i am glad u like it
NobleEagle
17-11-2008, 01:08 PM
Wah hw come noone comment anymore abt tis W902 phone liao?
W902 users LAI LAI LAI=:p
Hi guys, im considering bt C905 n W902, could anyone help advise?
i know 905 suckz cus of the lack of video cam in front but W902 camera lose in terms of spec but wat abt the music?
im the type more into night shoot (doesnt has to be superb but ok quality) but at the same time into music too, would C905 fit perfectly or W902i do jus as good?
hitme
17-11-2008, 03:03 PM
Wah hw come noone comment anymore abt tis W902 phone liao?
W902 users LAI LAI LAI=:p
Hi guys, im considering bt C905 n W902, could anyone help advise?
i know 905 suckz cus of the lack of video cam in front but W902 camera lose in terms of spec but wat abt the music?
im the type more into night shoot (doesnt has to be superb but ok quality) but at the same time into music too, would C905 fit perfectly or W902i do jus as good?
yup. is such a nice phone and so cool. but everyone rather get the buggy heavy n85.
i have no regret switching from n85.
maumu
18-11-2008, 05:23 PM
price has dropped to $710... waiting for it to drop below $700 den can hoot liao... :)
hitme
18-11-2008, 05:47 PM
what da.....i paid 785!!!
but i have been enjoying it for weeks. hee hee
maumu
18-11-2008, 07:48 PM
aww... so nice :) so far no complaints? perfect?
I was kind of worried about its laggy response during SMS/contact/music playing...
pker88
19-11-2008, 12:15 AM
how to set the playlist ah?
can set in phone or ,must set from ytor PC software?
overal how is this phone?
can it be AD2P via stereo BT?
HeartsFinale
19-11-2008, 05:35 PM
how to set the playlist ah?
can set in phone or ,must set from ytor PC software?
overal how is this phone?
can it be AD2P via stereo BT?You can set the playlist from the phone. Yes, in fact, most SE phones are AD2P-compatible.
rockdhop
19-11-2008, 09:50 PM
yup. is such a nice phone and so cool. but everyone rather get the buggy heavy n85.
i have no regret switching from n85.
if i remember correctly,you own both phones right,n85 and w902?since when you sold the n85?
and im curious,why in the first place u bought n85,and then go n85 thread to complain...haha.....as in didnt you check the thread before buying?
im just curious...no offence
hitme
20-11-2008, 06:03 AM
when i bought my n85, all good things are said about the phone. they only criticised n96.
moreover, i am one of the early adoptors. not much unofficial reviews. anyhow, even now, they are still giving n85 very good reviews.
i can only explain by
1. they switched from an inferior hp model. so they are so facinated by n85. me on ther hand, switched from n95 8gb. naturally, my standards are higher.
2. my n85 is a lemon.
putting all these aside, spec for spec, i still feel w902 > n85.
is lighter, camera performs better, auto rotation is only when u need it. not everywhere. pretty stupid to have auto screen rotation in the main page. everytime u answer a call, the sceen will rotate a few times. ha
worst, when it rotates, it lag the phone.
i got this feeling they rushed out n85.
i am sure the revised version of n85 will be a better phone.
anyhow, i strongly recommend w902
rockdhop
20-11-2008, 04:56 PM
when i bought my n85, all good things are said about the phone. they only criticised n96.
moreover, i am one of the early adoptors. not much unofficial reviews. anyhow, even now, they are still giving n85 very good reviews.
i can only explain by
1. they switched from an inferior hp model. so they are so facinated by n85. me on ther hand, switched from n95 8gb. naturally, my standards are higher.
2. my n85 is a lemon.
putting all these aside, spec for spec, i still feel w902 > n85.
is lighter, camera performs better, auto rotation is only when u need it. not everywhere. pretty stupid to have auto screen rotation in the main page. everytime u answer a call, the sceen will rotate a few times. ha
worst, when it rotates, it lag the phone.
i got this feeling they rushed out n85.
i am sure the revised version of n85 will be a better phone.
anyhow, i strongly recommend w902
revised n85?you mean the xenon flash version?
rockdhop
20-11-2008, 04:58 PM
anyway the w902 is a good phone.i initially wanted that before w980 8gb.anyway im kind of disappointed to learn tt there is no DSP in SE walkman phone.read my examples about turbocharger vs naturally inspired cars......
links is provided for reviews about walkman vs xpressmusic in one of my other threads in SE forums.i think its either this or w980 thread..
seems like the take up rate of this phone is pretty slow...not many users.
hitme
23-11-2008, 01:36 PM
yup. coz the spec is just normal. too many hp with same spec.
my front camea is filled with dust. need to go service centre to clean it coz i dun know how to dismantle the front.
petty stupid
maumu
23-11-2008, 02:16 PM
strange also few ppl using this phone... why huh? slim and light and good music/camera.
anyway price now $700... waiting for it to drop further...
OdualO
23-11-2008, 02:35 PM
Too expensive for a normal phone since at this pricing, consumers got a lot more choice available.
rockdhop
23-11-2008, 04:01 PM
this hp lacks wifi.if with wifi,it can gain more market share..
maumu
23-11-2008, 04:39 PM
wads the point of having wifi? the screen small... and wifi sucks away battery life. anyway, there's still gprs which isn't that bad anyway for last minute urgent google...
OdualO
23-11-2008, 05:38 PM
gprs, last minute google = data charge
wifi, last minute google in wifi hotspot = free
same reason why certain group of consumers rather choose GPS over AGPS althought AGPS can get a fix faster.
More over like what you say only thing selling point of this phone is the camera and music but at the current pricing, better solutions are available unless the buyer really support SE or the form factor of this phone is a must for them if not, not many consumers are willing to part thier money when they can get something better
hitme
24-11-2008, 10:07 AM
same reason why certain group of consumers rather choose GPS over AGPS althought AGPS can get a fix faster.
More over like what you say only thing selling point of this phone is the camera and music but at the current pricing, better solutions are available unless the buyer really support SE or the form factor of this phone is a must for them if not, not many consumers are willing to part thier money when they can get something better
if u plan to buy w902, just enjoy it's light weight and sleekness.
dun compare spec. if u are those that look at spec, than should get N96.
pretty true, singtel is still 498 with plan...
rockdhop
24-11-2008, 11:57 PM
do you mind sharing what other phones are better solution?im not saying theres no other la,but i would like to findout more options too....lol
pretty true, singtel is still 498 with plan...
m1 is 598 with plan! and it's online exclusive!!! :s8:
OdualO
25-11-2008, 08:33 PM
Hmm, it really depends on individual, since everyone have different need for their phone.
Like for me, i'm not very particular about music player or camera but wifi and calender organiser is a must for me thus G705 or the G900 would be a better choice for me. some might also perfer to get the current N85 or the Nokia ESeries at about the same pricing if they are not too particular about needing a very good cam for a phone.
Samsung ISeries are not too bad but there's very limited choice available in our reigon.
The above listed are mainly my perference, other types of phone i'm not too sure cos i nv really go explore into high end multimedia phone.
But if you are looking for a Good camera for your phone i would say dun jump into 8mp so fast unless you have plenty cash to spare or can afford to change your phone every 6 months. One thing to to note is that certain 5mp phone are performing better due to the processor so you might want to get some review from googling.
Music wise, seriously some might disagree with me or gonna flame me but just ask ourselve are our ears so sharp that we can really tell the difference of the frequency of wat our phones are tuning out? E.g. W980, the review for the music capabilities, i feel was overhyped since, hosnestly throw we a normal mp3 player, ipod, when i play my songs and as long as it's clear they pretty much sound the same to me.
*Things to note though, i dun blast my music, i perfer to have a working eardrum when i'm old.
Sometimes, the type of earpiece could also make a normal mp3 sounds better.
No hard and fast rule to a phone, the current gen has make it that our phone is not just for function, for certain group it has become an identity of who they are with what phone they are using if not why would some spends thousands on a vertu or the N8800.
And there's the calmshell group who finds the motion of opening the phone an elegant movement. But for me, i just a lazy idiot who just perfer phones that serve its purpose/function
rockdhop
26-11-2008, 01:48 PM
nokia N series if for entertainment,E series for business izzit?
then what about T series and G series of SE?
OdualO
26-11-2008, 08:20 PM
SE Gseries started off for the general market but somehow when G900 and G700 was launched they market it as a business phone. Tseries i'm not too sure but looking at the spec i would think that it's meant for general public who just need a phone with music and cam function but yet does not need to cost them too much.
Nokia Eseries mainly for business use and Nseries, yes it's a multimedia phone but a lot of us overlook the fact that it's running on S60 which is a very powerful OS even for business use as a phone itself, unless if you want to compare it with WM then definitely WM has the edge for software expansion.
That's why when we compare N and Eseries, the price gap is there due to multimedia function. Just take it that if one needs an organiser phone but yet does not need a good cam or music capability and does not want to pay so much for function that he's not going to use on a phone then it would make more sense to buy the Eseries.
mobile sq now 690 already, price coming down slowly.
maumu
27-11-2008, 12:23 AM
making me very very gian... LOL shld I grab now?
hitme
27-11-2008, 12:07 PM
mai tu liao....
toxicbananna
27-11-2008, 12:52 PM
yeah don't think too much, actually i was looking for W980 due to the clam shell design... but starhub said it has EOL. So 2 days ago i was looking for another SE phone and found this thread.. after reading it for a while, called starhub for their price and went down to vivo to purchase it...
upon using it for 2 days, overall i love the phone... just that when im using the headset they provided.. it seems that the volume is a little bit too soft.. maybe i'm use to blasting music to my ear..
i give it a 4.5/5 overall
hitme
27-11-2008, 02:49 PM
yeah don't think too much, actually i was looking for W980 due to the clam shell design... but starhub said it has EOL. So 2 days ago i was looking for another SE phone and found this thread.. after reading it for a while, called starhub for their price and went down to vivo to purchase it...
upon using it for 2 days, overall i love the phone... just that when im using the headset they provided.. it seems that the volume is a little bit too soft.. maybe i'm use to blasting music to my ear..
welcome on board.....
w980 EOL??? cannot be, it just came out not too long ago...singtel going for 298 with plan
maumu
27-11-2008, 08:46 PM
now economy no good... tightening belt :D :D
i think i'll wait for price to drop further... maybe till below $600. Going by the rate it has been falling, hope to reach that before christmas :D
rockdhop
28-11-2008, 12:28 AM
SE Gseries started off for the general market but somehow when G900 and G700 was launched they market it as a business phone. Tseries i'm not too sure but looking at the spec i would think that it's meant for general public who just need a phone with music and cam function but yet does not need to cost them too much.
Nokia Eseries mainly for business use and Nseries, yes it's a multimedia phone but a lot of us overlook the fact that it's running on S60 which is a very powerful OS even for business use as a phone itself, unless if you want to compare it with WM then definitely WM has the edge for software expansion.
That's why when we compare N and Eseries, the price gap is there due to multimedia function. Just take it that if one needs an organiser phone but yet does not need a good cam or music capability and does not want to pay so much for function that he's not going to use on a phone then it would make more sense to buy the Eseries.
then comparing E and G series,which one is better?which one offers better expansion?the E,since symbian?
rockdhop
28-11-2008, 12:30 AM
i take it as EOL=end of life?hey comeon,the w980 is a new phone dude.how can it be?
OdualO
28-11-2008, 01:09 AM
Hmm just take it that symbian is opensource thus there are more modder working on it so naturally they have an edge in terms of software expansion.
rockdhop
28-11-2008, 08:42 PM
Hmm just take it that symbian is opensource thus there are more modder working on it so naturally they have an edge in terms of software expansion.
haha.....oh ok....
now economy no good... tightening belt :D :D
i think i'll wait for price to drop further... maybe till below $600. Going by the rate it has been falling, hope to reach that before christmas :D
when the telcos start reducing price then u'll see it come down faster :)
AshleyRiot
01-12-2008, 01:16 AM
Been using my k750i for 3 years or so...with ST currently...
Does anyone knows/have bought the phone on plans...the price of the phone with 2 year plan if I want to still continue with Singtel? I looked around the 3 telcos online shops and so far ST is the cheapest...$498 2 year plan....which is still a tad expensive though... :s22:
Asking this as the telcos will be having a roadshow around my workplace and they are paddling the cheaper corporate plans thingy...making me a little tempted to change my hp... :s13:
maumu
01-12-2008, 08:53 AM
w902 users... can I ask whether the phone lags when you browse contacts while listening to music?
maumu
01-12-2008, 08:54 AM
Been using my k750i for 3 years or so...with ST currently...
Does anyone knows/have bought the phone on plans...the price of the phone with 2 year plan if I want to still continue with Singtel? I looked around the 3 telcos online shops and so far ST is the cheapest...$498 2 year plan....which is still a tad expensive though... :s22:
Asking this as the telcos will be having a roadshow around my workplace and they are paddling the cheaper corporate plans thingy...making me a little tempted to change my hp... :s13:
usually corporate plan will be cheapest...
u mean the plan or the phone?
dotaxend
01-12-2008, 05:03 PM
w902 users... can I ask whether the phone lags when you browse contacts while listening to music?
Yes. Alittle.
I think i'm one of the first people in the forums that bougth the phone.
It lags, but so far it didnt Hang.
Oh. I've found a program called opera mini . I used it for browser the internet.
Much much better than the original browser that came with the Phone
maumu
01-12-2008, 05:24 PM
oh... thats quite sad. i hate the lag in k850i. if it lags still it'll be a problem... :\
pker88
06-12-2008, 09:48 AM
i am a nokia e and N series user
I will say if u need more business or series work e series is better but it weaker on it camera and audio. But it decent
Offcourse n series offer u the best of all but the workmanship built it not as good
Im using it e series since it started after i used it n series i find it not as good so i swtich to e series and not regreted since
But now i need a better audio and camphone
So the n85 or w902 is in my list of considration
Function wise offcourse n85 wins handsdown
Built wise w902 feels more solid as it metal
But n85 also not bad too
I have tested n85 audio it pretty good compare to my e71 but i yet to be find a demo set of w902 to test its audio quality to comment
Only bad is w902 still insist on their own port and not using the standard 3.5mm port
hitme
07-12-2008, 06:19 AM
i am a nokia e and N series user
I will say if u need more business or series work e series is better but it weaker on it camera and audio. But it decent
Offcourse n series offer u the best of all but the workmanship built it not as good
Im using it e series since it started after i used it n series i find it not as good so i swtich to e series and not regreted since
But now i need a better audio and camphone
So the n85 or w902 is in my list of considration
Function wise offcourse n85 wins handsdown
Built wise w902 feels more solid as it metal
But n85 also not bad too
I have tested n85 audio it pretty good compare to my e71 but i yet to be find a demo set of w902 to test its audio quality to comment
Only bad is w902 still insist on their own port and not using the standard 3.5mm port
i am using n85 before i switched to w902. my first SE hp. Nokia all along.
my n85 had a few short coming. battery life sucks! cant even last one day.
ringing tone too soft. can ear when in my pocket and cant feel the vibration too.
if you hate lag, n85 is lag! haa
especially if u turn on auto rotate. lag like hell!
search youtube, u can see my video. "N85 lag"
w902 is not perfect too but at least it feels solid. slim and sleek
most of the function works well just that transfering photo to PC is not so straight foraward when compare to nokia and iphone.
i own e71 and iphone 3g too.
maumu
07-12-2008, 10:44 AM
hey hitme, so how bad is the lag for w902? if u'd tried k850 u know how i feel about the lag... after u finish typing your sms and then search contacts, it is miserably slow, like 1-second-per-letter scrolling. does w902 has the same lag?
hitme
07-12-2008, 03:23 PM
the lag from what i see is only in contact.
when u search theu ur list. for example, curtis
for c u have to type 2 three times. this part lag.
but for sms, most of the ppl u often send sms are already listed out for u. so you do not need to go to contact. mot so must a problem for me. in fact i like this feature.
for my nokia, i need to change my friends name to 1curtis etc so they are top of the list.
rockdhop
09-12-2008, 01:10 PM
i think that since the memory is big on that small size hardware,lagging is definite.
anyway the w980 also lag.my set lags a few times.however,it was consider alright since batt life offset the difference
maumu
14-12-2008, 01:06 AM
I finally bought the phone....! :D
it's now going for $650 at mobile sq
I finally bought the phone....! :D
enjoy :s12:
maumu
14-12-2008, 02:37 PM
it looks solid. classic. the only worry i have is the back camera lens.. looks very vulnerable without a cover... :s22:
rockdhop
15-12-2008, 05:40 PM
grea great.the whooha for the w980 8gb like no more liao leh
maumu
16-12-2008, 02:01 AM
second day using the phone...
so far all's good. the respond time is somewhat inconsistent... sometimes fast, sometimes seem to lag a second. but i find that the lag when sms-ing during listening to music has shorten! that's good!
really solid phone. now just trying to prevent the dust from accumulating. how annoying! anyone knows what's a good practice to keep dust away? :s22:
hitme
16-12-2008, 09:34 AM
so far all's good. the respond time is somewhat inconsistent... sometimes fast, sometimes seem to lag a second. but i find that the lag when sms-ing during listening to music has shorten! that's good!
really solid phone. now just trying to prevent the dust from accumulating. how annoying! anyone knows what's a good practice to keep dust away? :s22:
tell me about it.
now my front cam covered with dust!
too lazy to bring to service centre. anyway to remove the dust?
Hantuchova
17-12-2008, 02:14 AM
By using a dry painting brush to brush it away?
can the invisible shield help?
rockdhop
17-12-2008, 11:51 AM
everyday blow the phone twice....
tell me about it.
now my front cam covered with dust!
too lazy to bring to service centre. anyway to remove the dust?
dust seems to gather in tat little gap ard the screen. how come SE did not fit in the exact size? leaving that little gap to collect dust?
hitme
18-12-2008, 01:25 PM
yeah...dust went in thru that "ear piece" gap.
my front cam is almost a white dot now. haaaaaa
pker88
20-12-2008, 09:56 AM
aiyor this phone also kanna dust issue
Hmm what video format can w902 play ah?
And how is it video playing fps and good or not.
maumu
20-12-2008, 09:30 PM
standard 30fps...
rockdhop
21-12-2008, 06:40 PM
i buying new phone soon.but definitely wait for new walkman line up.haha.used w980 8gb already,and this phone is said to be equivalent.
pker88
03-01-2009, 11:10 AM
hmm u say standard 30fps
Actually i wanna know its video player what format it able to accept to play if i loadin avi mp4 and what resolutions i need to convert to play videos to watchs. Anyone knows?
pker88
09-01-2009, 02:47 PM
hmm this SE section seem dying no one post updates or reply too
Aiyor
All goes to nokia and samsung rofl
m1 finally lowered price :D
298 for normal plan, 198 for mid range plan, 98 for high end plan :s12:
Synthemesc
13-01-2009, 10:38 PM
Just got this phone and I like it but having a big problem trying to get videos onto it. No matter what type of file I open in the SE media manager it says the video is incompatible. I've tried using third party apps to convert to 320x240 .mp4 format but they don't work either? Anyone got any tips please? :(
spell
13-01-2009, 11:16 PM
Sian.. I just bought 2 weeks ago from M1shop online at $368 (at that time that was cheapest among all the telcos) now it's even cheaper, price drop so fast:o
seems like they're trying to clear stock...singtel already not carrying it :s11:
another 100 off across the board :s12:
it's time!
Flexamoria
01-02-2009, 05:20 PM
Just hoot one yesterday. Good price tho,got the 198 mid range plan. Few weeks ago was 298.
Got one new color. Green.
Kermit715
02-02-2009, 12:23 AM
Hi !
Got the phone today too from M1. But mine had a memory card issue.
Luckily M1 agreed to a 1 to 1 exchange
Other than that quite satisfied with it =)
superguy276
02-02-2009, 12:30 AM
what memory card issue u have? i oso keen to get this fone...
Flexamoria
02-02-2009, 01:10 PM
How to get rid of the "m1world" thingy (right hand side beside menu) ???
Kermit715
02-02-2009, 05:17 PM
what memory card issue u have? i oso keen to get this fone...
Hmm somehow the phone says that no memory card is detected even though I had 1 inside
It gets detected if I remove the back cover and press against the card. So I guess must be a loose connection or something.
So be sure to check if you buy the phone
Oh I wanna know how to remove the M1 World thingy also
anyone using any casing for it?
MAtriX20xx
03-02-2009, 08:10 PM
Hi, I wanted to buy this phone but I have to buy the phone without contract.
Anyone know of any shop that is reliable to buy the phone from?
Kinda worry if I kana cheated...
THanks.
Hi, I wanted to buy this phone but I have to buy the phone without contract.
Anyone know of any shop that is reliable to buy the phone from?
Kinda worry if I kana cheated...
THanks.
either
http://www.mobilesquare.com.sg/products/products_listing.asp?cid=13
or
http://iposh.livejournal.com/
what color did u guys get? :)
Flexamoria
04-02-2009, 02:07 PM
I suspect the m1world is embeded inside the firmware,cannot remove. Damn!
Mine is Green color.
just got mine online, still prefer black :) bargain a bit with m1 shop hotline and got 6 mths free caller-id :)
Kermit715
04-02-2009, 08:08 PM
Mine is Green color.
Forgot to lock my keypad today and when I removed the phone from my pocket today, I realized that it connected to M1 world =/
I got green also
Think wine colour looks nice too =)
spell
05-02-2009, 12:48 AM
Mine is Green color.
I believe can bring down to SE service centre request them to flash firmware to remove. I bought the same phone from M1 when it first came out, dont have the miworld thingy. Few yrs back, got a w850 with the ideas thingy too, bought it down to Se at wisma to flash the firmware to make it disappear.
Flexamoria
05-02-2009, 12:11 PM
Ya lor,i'm worried accidently hit the M1world button and kena charge gprs for nothing. If new firmware come out,Updating via SEUS can remove it?
I tink all 3 color look nice,chose green cos got comando looks...haha
got my set sent to doorstep this afternoon :s12: finally after a long wait for the right price :)
superguy276
05-02-2009, 09:58 PM
i have one black w902 too...so far so gd...but i oso hate the m1 world thingy...also any idea how to put the clock on the screensaver...that is when the screen goes black, it will show the clock only...last time my k800i can do it...but cant seem to do it wif w902...help anyone?
How to get rid of the "m1world" thingy (right hand side beside menu) ???
do master reset?
Flexamoria
10-02-2009, 01:22 PM
do master reset?
I dont tink so,have u tried?
limitedde
11-02-2009, 02:16 PM
just bring your phone to SE service centre to ask them remove for you. Best to go Wisma branch. I remember i went to Bishan outlet and they give me a lot of **** like need what authorization letter. den i just walk off and go wisma. they din ask me for anything and just remove it for me.
*remove the logo as in re-flash the firmware. so data will be lost.
Imprison
19-02-2009, 10:08 AM
do master reset?
I tried. Doesn't work! :sad: :sad:
oops...sry. guess have to bring it down to SE svc centre to reload as suggested in earlier posts...:o
Flexamoria
19-02-2009, 12:06 PM
Bad news,someone drop the phone ,now the short cut walkman and volume up button not responding.
Sianzz... will wait for new firmware than go SESC for repair.
Bad news,someone drop the phone ,now the short cut walkman and volume up button not responding.
Sianzz... will wait for new firmware than go SESC for repair.
come to think of it, my cam button by the side dosen't seem to work...my previous w810 will go to camera mode once pressed :(
Flexamoria
19-02-2009, 12:39 PM
come to think of it, my cam button by the side dosen't seem to work...my previous w810 will go to camera mode once pressed :(
Yeah,mine too. Actually can work,but need to press more for it to trigger.
NVM,will complain and get it fixed.
Imprison
19-02-2009, 03:38 PM
Yeah,mine too. Actually can work,but need to press more for it to trigger.
NVM,will complain and get it fixed.
Mine is working fine leh. Just press down thoroughly and it'll go cam mode. =:p
looks like gotta make a trip down to svc centre :s27:
Flexamoria
20-02-2009, 09:44 PM
Between J8 and Eastpoint which SESC is better huh?
i'm near j8 so will test it out soon. :)
was raining so just pop by j8 sesc, the cam no problem...just need more force :)
got them to remove mi world link, took around half an hr. service pretty good as i didn't even bring my warranty card which is required but they do it anyway :)
by the time all is done, rain stopped :D
Flexamoria
27-02-2009, 11:07 AM
No time to go,maybe will pop by soon.Expect my set will be few days repair.
FreddieFreako
21-03-2009, 09:49 AM
New Firmware is available!
what's the improvement? general rule of thumb is "not broken, don't fix it" :)
FreddieFreako
23-03-2009, 07:04 PM
what's the improvement? general rule of thumb is "not broken, don't fix it" :)
Mine is broken and I certainly had to fix it - There is this frequent "auto-off" issue which had been bothering me for quite a while now.
I have not really had the chance to explore the phone for the improvements areas but these are what I had discovered thus far:
Fonts (Bold/ Unbold) in certain areas had changed.
Navigation speed had improved and certainly more responsive.
Most importantly, it solved my "auto-off" problem! :s12:
Flexamoria
23-03-2009, 10:14 PM
Good info,been waiting for new f/w release.Will def going to SC for repair+ upgrade.
FreddieFreako
24-03-2009, 05:28 PM
Good info,been waiting for new f/w release.Will def going to SC for repair+ upgrade.
Can actually upgrade firmware via Sony Ericsson Software Updater.
antecpro
14-06-2009, 09:32 AM
Hi Guys,
Is it still advisable to get the W902 now ?
Will you still buy this phone ?
PC show now only $38 at M1 .....
:s8:
maumu
11-07-2009, 07:00 PM
I've been using it since it was released. generally, a superb phone :) only setback is the lack of wifi. i like that it's very light and not bulky.
HuaiNR
06-08-2009, 09:31 AM
hi bros,
does anyone know of another other way to activate flight mode instead of rebooting the phone?
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.