View Full Version : Lasalle or NAFA or uniSIM degree
evelynzoe
28-10-2008, 01:19 PM
hihi...anyone here taken any of the degree mentioned above? i am thinking of either uniSIM part time (which is 4-5 years), or Lasalle or NAFA (one year full time)
any advice?
ItWasntMe
28-10-2008, 01:58 PM
what degree u talking about? no head no tail.
evelynzoe
28-10-2008, 03:46 PM
what degree u talking about? no head no tail.
paiseh...
i am talking about visual communication degree
ItWasntMe
28-10-2008, 05:25 PM
uniSIM got part time degree for that?
what's your qualifications now?
siyuan86
30-10-2008, 01:25 AM
hmm.. well, i don't know about the rest, but a degree in nafa is recognised and some nafa lecturers came from there. However i feel portfolio is most import in design industry regardless of your qualification or grades though they do play a part. im currently studyin in nafa vc diploma.
:)
evelynzoe
30-10-2008, 09:01 AM
hmm.. well, i don't know about the rest, but a degree in nafa is recognised and some nafa lecturers came from there. However i feel portfolio is most import in design industry regardless of your qualification or grades though they do play a part. im currently studyin in nafa vc diploma.
:)
ya..i understand that portfolio is impt part, but degree also impt. i graduated from NAFA Diploma too. :)
i was contemplating between uniSIM visual com with business and nafa or lasalle graphic design degree.....
ItWasntMe
31-10-2008, 12:12 AM
ya..i understand that portfolio is impt part, but degree also impt. i graduated from NAFA Diploma too. :)
i was contemplating between uniSIM visual com with business and nafa or lasalle graphic design degree.....
oh.. that visual comm with biz degree..
its a very new programme. im not sure about its direction though. its like trying to be jack of all trades but master of none. u get what i mean?
no doubt that degree is important, but sometimes your resume goes to the HR side first, and they do a lot of filtering.
popdod
31-10-2008, 12:26 AM
oh.. that visual comm with biz degree..
its a very new programme. im not sure about its direction though. its like trying to be jack of all trades but master of none. u get what i mean?
no doubt that degree is important, but sometimes your resume goes to the HR side first, and they do a lot of filtering.
Design with business degree sounds good.
Actually that degree doesn't equip you to be the master of the trade but basically surface touching on the business subject. Basic survival skills.
You know Singapore Gov. is trying to advocate entrepreneurship...and this business mindset had to instill on the young ones lor.
It is something like...financial literacy....which ought to be taught at a younger age.
then after graduation...won't blur blur like sotong mah...
It is beneficial who wanna do their own small business.
Neber see so many local sweatshops around us in this industry...either in shophouses or some ulu small offices at some ulu building/industrial park.
More sweatshops coming up, More cutting costs quotations.
More birds, more luck.
:s12: :D :s12:
evelynzoe
31-10-2008, 09:34 AM
ooo...then wat abt lasalle or nafa degree course? any comments on it?
Fallenstar3d
03-11-2008, 03:28 AM
Currently studying NAFA Graphic Comm degree.
How should I say it. The lecturers requirements is quite unique. Everyone gave different comments and its up to you to insist on your beliefs. Too much work to settle in a year. You know how you just get lazy when studying. ha.
But I do feel myself improving and thinking about design as something different. Hope to come out of this course as a true thinking designer. :)
evelynzoe
03-11-2008, 10:13 AM
Currently studying NAFA Graphic Comm degree.
How should I say it. The lecturers requirements is quite unique. Everyone gave different comments and its up to you to insist on your beliefs. Too much work to settle in a year. You know how you just get lazy when studying. ha.
But I do feel myself improving and thinking about design as something different. Hope to come out of this course as a true thinking designer. :)
thinking about this graphic design or going into animation industry....hmmmm....
so when u graduating?
zilicon
03-11-2008, 10:50 AM
If you are holder of degree or paper certs, you cannot self-proclaim that it is important. It is only as important as long as the person who seek to recruit you believe it is important. However in this industry, there are many without papers. How they got to where they are without certs or proper ones, for sure is evidence that you can achieve something in this industry without busting your pockets on the paper certs.
Over the recent years however, the quality of graduates are becoming bad. I do not know where the schools get their students from but they have become mills churning out poor quality graduates. You expect students go into school, scrubbed and polished and comes out graduated as professionals. Instead, what comes out from these 'factory lines' are graduates who are just graduated students. The poor attitude, the poor quality, the lousy work rate, the almost carbon-copy style.
For seasoned lao jiao, you think this has nothing to do with you until you start hearing from clients "why so lik dat huh?" "why so bad" "can't be any better". Instead of giving solutions, you become plumber fixing leaks and there is too little good money left for quality work. The same brush was swept on the good designers. You think you can stand out from these poor performers until you realized they just keep coming out in greater numbers year after year.
evelynzoe
03-11-2008, 11:12 AM
Thanks a lot for your advice. ;p
If you are holder of degree or paper certs, you cannot self-proclaim that it is important. It is only as important as long as the person who seek to recruit you believe it is important. However in this industry, there are many without papers. How they got to where they are without certs or proper ones, for sure is evidence that you can achieve something in this industry without busting your pockets on the paper certs.
Over the recent years however, the quality of graduates are becoming bad. I do not know where the schools get their students from but they have become mills churning out poor quality graduates. You expect students go into school, scrubbed and polished and comes out graduated as professionals. Instead, what comes out from these 'factory lines' are graduates who are just graduated students. The poor attitude, the poor quality, the lousy work rate, the almost carbon-copy style.
For seasoned lao jiao, you think this has nothing to do with you until you start hearing from clients "why so lik dat huh?" "why so bad" "can't be any better". Instead of giving solutions, you become plumber fixing leaks and there is too little good money left for quality work. The same brush was swept on the good designers. You think you can stand out from these poor performers until you realized they just keep coming out in greater numbers year after year.
popdod
03-11-2008, 10:03 PM
The same brush was swept on the good designers. You think you can stand out from these poor performers until you realized they just keep coming out in greater numbers year after year.
Which is why our Law minister keep repeating himself that we need FTs to fill up these positions.
Positions where Singaporeans cannot do.
:s22: =:p :s22:
b0h3mian_summer
18-11-2008, 02:20 PM
I was interested in the Nafa Design/Biz degree sometime back. Coz I feel just doing graphic design is not going to cut it.
I'm edging to 30 in a few years and I will need to think ahead. I have a Nafa diploma and been in Advertising and Design for a while. I got an immerse interest in design, but the future doesnt seems very bright really. Slowly switching careers seems to be one option out.
One question have is, how relevant is this hybrid degree for careers out of the design field?
PS: on the other hand, a year without income (its a Full Time deg) and the course fees is quite "xiong"
evelynzoe
19-11-2008, 01:01 PM
I was interested in the Nafa Design/Biz degree sometime back. Coz I feel just doing graphic design is not going to cut it.
I'm edging to 30 in a few years and I will need to think ahead. I have a Nafa diploma and been in Advertising and Design for a while. I got an immerse interest in design, but the future doesnt seems very bright really. Slowly switching careers seems to be one option out.
One question have is, how relevant is this hybrid degree for careers out of the design field?
PS: on the other hand, a year without income (its a Full Time deg) and the course fees is quite "xiong"
well...ya...the fees are too "xiong" for me...
in the end, i am enrolled in CG Protege. decided to take 3D and go into animation industry instead...hehe..
artziddy
17-01-2009, 09:19 PM
hi! is there anyone from NAFA animation? would like to know more about the course! =)
craziefunky
17-03-2009, 11:52 AM
i feel that i'm at a losing end. Coz i grad with a diploma which is totally irrelevant to design. And now i want to try if i can get into graphic comm degree course in nafa or lasalle. i feel tt my portfolio kind of sucks and lack of creativity. but all the while, i have this interest in design and i want to try.
keruiii
18-03-2009, 03:58 PM
i feel that i'm at a losing end. Coz i grad with a diploma which is totally irrelevant to design. And now i want to try if i can get into graphic comm degree course in nafa or lasalle. i feel tt my portfolio kind of sucks and lack of creativity. but all the while, i have this interest in design and i want to try.
If you are unsure, i suggest u go to Lasalle's foundation, from there on, you will discover your talents and weaker points, and it will not be too late to switch to another course in your 2nd year... as for myself, i always wanted to go graphics design, but after a year in foundation, i find myself landed up in fine arts. :)
popdod
18-03-2009, 05:33 PM
i feel that i'm at a losing end. Coz i grad with a diploma which is totally irrelevant to design.
And now i want to try if i can get into graphic comm degree course in nafa or lasalle.
i feel tt my portfolio kind of sucks and lack of creativity.
but all the while, i have this interest in design and i want to try.
Tell you a very good news!!!
Do not worry about irrelevant cert in this creative line.
Portfolio is what it matters most.
The only time when you are requested for cert. is when you are applying for civil servant jobs.
or those big corporations in-house design.
Right now you do not have a strong folio is ok.
You can build on it, experiment software, train ur brainstorming ideas.
To be honest, even industry ppl are not very creative when comes to problem solvings.
Experiences builds confidence...and they are just using this experiences to sell their creativity.
Of coz there are ppl who are xceptional cases....but i can guarantee you...most are just recycling
ideas....for different clients. or even submission for awards.
Just that nobody wanna admit it.
Be it their job status or designer ego.
So if you are interested in design.
Just go with your heart.
:D =:p :D
popdod
18-03-2009, 05:39 PM
i always wanted to go graphics design, but after a year in foundation, i find myself landed up in fine arts. :)
Even in fine arts, you can easily switch back to graphic design.
Coz you can draw and illustrate....for many designers, they can't.
Auto Trace function is their best friend.
:( :s12: :(
craziefunky
19-03-2009, 09:27 PM
my friend gave me a suggestion that, coz now i actually have an offer from an aust. uni to continue with my diploma, so she suggest that maybe i continue in further studies with the dip i have currently. and after when i graduate and start working, i can take part-time courses. i see that NAFA has this part-time certificate courses in basic visual com. It's also workable right, if to use this part-time certificate courses to show that i have gone thru lessons for design?
popdod
19-03-2009, 11:29 PM
my friend gave me a suggestion that, coz now i actually have an offer from an aust. uni to continue with my diploma, so she suggest that maybe i continue in further studies with the dip i have currently. and after when i graduate and start working, i can take part-time courses.
i see that NAFA has this part-time certificate courses in basic visual com. It's also workable right, if to use this part-time certificate courses to show that i have gone thru lessons for design?
What is your diploma you have currently?
If you are determined to pursue design as a career, I don't see why you wanna delay it.
In an ideal scenario, what your frds & you plan to take up design as part-time course while working is feasible.
But sometimes, due to unforeseen circumstances or other commitments,
plans doesn't work well in an ideal way.
Perhaps you might be thinking to use your current diploma as a fall back plan if you can't make it
in design. But this will be a waste of time, effort & financial draining if you are pursuing a degree
that you have least interest.
Part-time courses are NOT the SAME as full-time courses.
Reasons are pretty simple:
1. You might NOT be fully committed in the courses if you are working full-time.
2. Some of the part-time courses are run by part-time lecturers. Less dedication.
Unless you can find a deg. course in Australia that offers design + other subject (say marketing).
This will gives you an edge than the rest
and
you can either retreat to marketing or design if you find one of them is not your expertise.
;) =:p ;)
MacWinx
19-03-2009, 11:59 PM
Design with business degree sounds good.
Actually that degree doesn't equip you to be the master of the trade but basically surface touching on the business subject. Basic survival skills.
You know Singapore Gov. is trying to advocate entrepreneurship...and this business mindset had to instill on the young ones lor.
It is something like...financial literacy....which ought to be taught at a younger age.
then after graduation...won't blur blur like sotong mah...
It is beneficial who wanna do their own small business.
Neber see so many local sweatshops around us in this industry...either in shophouses or some ulu small offices at some ulu building/industrial park.
More sweatshops coming up, More cutting costs quotations.
More birds, more luck.
:s12: :D :s12:
small is good ma. :s22:
BurgerLim
20-03-2009, 12:59 AM
Hi, just happen to check out this thread, any advice on where could i find parttime degree course in interior design/ Visual comm.. / or industrial design perhaps. locally..
perhaps with cost fee structures would be certainly helpful and very apprieciated.. :)
not possible doing full time.. for me..
thanks.
craziefunky
20-03-2009, 10:13 AM
What is your diploma you have currently?
If you are determined to pursue design as a career, I don't see why you wanna delay it.
In an ideal scenario, what your frds & you plan to take up design as part-time course while working is feasible.
But sometimes, due to unforeseen circumstances or other commitments,
plans doesn't work well in an ideal way.
Perhaps you might be thinking to use your current diploma as a fall back plan if you can't make it
in design. But this will be a waste of time, effort & financial draining if you are pursuing a degree
that you have least interest.
Part-time courses are NOT the SAME as full-time courses.
Reasons are pretty simple:
1. You might NOT be fully committed in the courses if you are working full-time.
2. Some of the part-time courses are run by part-time lecturers. Less dedication.
Unless you can find a deg. course in Australia that offers design + other subject (say marketing).
This will gives you an edge than the rest
and
you can either retreat to marketing or design if you find one of them is not your expertise.
My diploma is food science and nutrition. And if i'm going over to Australia, it will be degree in food technology. Yeah you see, totally not related to design. Haha
Yea. I understand that it's pretty hard to forseen what going to happen in few years time. But my worry is, I can't have the offer from Australia forever, i have to accept and pay the fees. On the other hand, I want to go for design because it's my interest. Perhaps you can say I don't have confident because I had never never never try studying in design, so I was kind of worried what if after the foundation year, i realise that, actually I really don't have the so-called talent for design no matter how much interest and how much hard work i put in. And by the time i did the foundation year, the Australia offer would be not valid.
So I'm rather worried I will end up losing both sides. It's very contradicting. Haha. I don't know should I follow my heart/interest or follow the path that is RATHER at least stable.
MY future is in my own hands!!! AHHH..
artistick
20-03-2009, 05:42 PM
My diploma is food science and nutrition. And if i'm going over to Australia, it will be degree in food technology. Yeah you see, totally not related to design. Haha
Yea. I understand that it's pretty hard to forseen what going to happen in few years time. But my worry is, I can't have the offer from Australia forever, i have to accept and pay the fees. On the other hand, I want to go for design because it's my interest. Perhaps you can say I don't have confident because I had never never never try studying in design, so I was kind of worried what if after the foundation year, i realise that, actually I really don't have the so-called talent for design no matter how much interest and how much hard work i put in. And by the time i did the foundation year, the Australia offer would be not valid.
So I'm rather worried I will end up losing both sides. It's very contradicting. Haha. I don't know should I follow my heart/interest or follow the path that is RATHER at least stable.
MY future is in my own hands!!! AHHH..
really tough choice.
i guess this kind of situation u have to decide for yourself.
myself had been making a living by doing art for more than 4years, had no regret with my choice.
reason being: not many people can make a living out of something they enjoy doing.
So i feel im lucky to be able to make a living out of something i enjoy doing and still doing.
Although in SG and the current market isn't doing well. But i dont see a regret in my choice of career. Except occasionally dishearten by certain issue. But i guess every field will have their own short-comings.
craziefunky
20-03-2009, 08:59 PM
Perhaps I will just try to apply as the closing date for application is this month for both NAFA and Lasalle. See what happens, because I may not get accepted even I have the interest. haha
popdod
21-03-2009, 01:03 AM
Perhaps I will just try to apply as the closing date for application is this month for both NAFA and Lasalle.
See what happens, because I may not get accepted even I have the interest. haha
http://www.swiss-miss.com/wp-content/uploads/2009/03/denial2-480x240.png
Don't try, you will never know...and you will be keep on wondering..
"what if, Maybe, Perhaps, etc, etc."
and
you live life with regrets.
Even you can't make it in design, at least you TRIED.
You are willingly to make the 1st step and not sit back wondering and wandering.
Young man like you should be more daring.
Nothing holds you back....except your own doubts.
MacWinx
21-03-2009, 01:50 AM
It was never the degree or which university/school you get in. It's the passion that drives you to learn and explore. The company that I'm in now, most of their skills are self-taught and experiment. The school only teaches the basics, the rest is up to you.
evelynzoe
25-03-2009, 10:12 AM
ya it is a blessing to be able to work doing the things that are of your passion. i am doing that now and am blessed.
Perhaps might not consider unisim after all..cos it takes 4-5 years to complete the part time course which i am afraid i might not take it too long...
in a part time course now..am struggling because of too tired after school to do my project..and too tired after work to do the project too...
dunnoe how am i going to survive and complete my project....:s22:
craziefunky
25-03-2009, 10:25 AM
Just wanna to find out, is there any difference between the teaching methods in NAFA and Laselle? I had applied for NAFA Dip Design and Media. (I have to start from dip. coz i got no design bg!!). I'm thinking if I should apply for LAsalle. But their course fees is very expensive.
b0h3mian_summer
25-03-2009, 10:34 AM
I cannot say for Lasalle, coz i was from NAFA...I think, do not depend so much on the lecturers. Most learning is done by yourself, and from your fellow classmates.
Generaly speaking, I feel NAFA is more Chinese based, coz there are a lot more overseas chinese students. Some of my Chinese classmates are so good that my jaws will drop when they hand up their work!
The school doesn't matter much, it's really what you can learn from self study, read more books and mags, experiment more, go to art galleries, museums, travel, collaborations, do more and experience life itself.
takaroe
25-03-2009, 04:24 PM
i went for one recent education fair and i want to share with those interested in 3d and animation. 3Dsense is now offering a good deal for those seeking diploma...
To all aspiring animators in Singapore is that the WSQ Diploma in Digital Visual Effects and Animation programme is now (partially) financially government-assisted. Accepted Singaporeans and local Permanent Residents into the programme are now eligible for a one-time WDA subsidy of SGD20,000.00. With the WDA subsidy, accepted students would only need to pay SGD $3540.00 (inclusive of GST) for tuition fee.
PLUS 1000 ALLOWANCE EACH MONTH. good deal rite? (must check with them, dunnoe still have a not)
too bad I dont do VE and animations, but even if i do, i wont be a visual effect artist for long. get ur own team and do it for you instead.
all at http://www.3dsense.net/interactive/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=106&Itemid=118
lalaRaeka
03-04-2009, 05:42 PM
wah wah!
Does anyone know how much it costs for Laselle/NAFA full time degree?
Just 1 year compared to the uniSIM...
I am going to try to work a year or 2 first, before I decide to further my studies.
But then again, I don't know where I see myself at in 10 years time... no one can do design their whole life right? :S Unlike art.
popdod
04-04-2009, 12:40 AM
wah wah!
Does anyone know how much it costs for Laselle/NAFA full time degree?
Just 1 year compared to the uniSIM...
I am going to try to work a year or 2 first, before I decide to further my studies.
But then again, I don't know where I see myself at in 10 years time... no one can do design their whole life right? :S Unlike art.
Lasalle & Nafa degree fees can check with their website.
So...dun be lazy.
As for working a year or 2 b4 u decided to further your studies..is a good idea.
Coz by the end of 2-3yrs...you might not even wanna work in design field...
Get the adrenaline of late nights & never ending pitches. :s13:
Depending what kind of 10years field you wanna work in.
Ad Agencies --> you pray hard u frequently win pitches or awards & do good job.
Design hses --> win pitches & do good job.
D.I hses --> do good job.
Printer --> do good job.
The pressure is top down.
or
alternatively.....setup your own.
and
yes....no one can do design for life.
Would you still wanna do kerning & leading, zoom in, zoom out, masking when you r 45?
Leave the late nights for youngsters......Shu shu ish wanna go park jog jog and watch 9pm drama.
:s13: =:p :s13:
Vix_84
04-04-2009, 05:38 PM
Lasalle & Nafa degree fees can check with their website.
So...dun be lazy.
As for working a year or 2 b4 u decided to further your studies..is a good idea.
Coz by the end of 2-3yrs...you might not even wanna work in design field...
Get the adrenaline of late nights & never ending pitches. :s13:
Depending what kind of 10years field you wanna work in.
Ad Agencies --> you pray hard u frequently win pitches or awards & do good job.
Design hses --> win pitches & do good job.
D.I hses --> do good job.
Printer --> do good job.
The pressure is top down.
or
alternatively.....setup your own.
and
yes....no one can do design for life.
Would you still wanna do kerning & leading, zoom in, zoom out, masking when you r 45?
Leave the late nights for youngsters......Shu shu ish wanna go park jog jog and watch 9pm drama.
:s13: =:p :s13:
LOL podpod shushu... haha.. but hor to setup own also have to work for few years first wor.. arbo no experience den not really good in managing.. Den GG le..
Btw what shushu tink of e animation industry in sg n asia?
popdod
04-04-2009, 06:01 PM
LOL podpod shushu... haha.. but hor to setup own also have to work for few years first wor.. arbo no experience den not really good in managing.. Den GG le..
Btw what shushu tink of e animation industry in sg n asia?
I guess everyone heard of this phrase.
"it is not what you know that matters
but whom you know is more important."
If you have the right network, the right mix of ppl, these ppl will aid in your business.
and as for experiences....you can learn as you do....there r tons of work, process tat one
cannot learn all by experiences or in this lifetime....
you have to involve with the project and accumulate these xperiences.
You have seen agencies running into red despite their long yrs of experience in this line.
You have seen high profile creatives booted out despite their credible years of experience.
We've read in the news of young entreprenuers making a success of their own,
creating their own brand after fresh out from sch....and this ppl just learn as they work.
Bsides, opportunities doesn't come often like jobs.
You can find jobs anytime but not business opportunities.
I'm not in animation line...so reserved for those in this line.
but gauging from my cohorts of animation schmates...i ish confirm dare to say..
85% had switched line.
Whether there is a future in this line...really depends on the company direction
and your luck.
If you are good enuff...you can always apply overseas than depending on local employment market....
Time wait for no one...got opportunity...just run road to overseas.
Dun be a sitting duck and get demoralised by sweatshops.
=:p ;) =:p
lalaRaeka
05-04-2009, 01:23 AM
Thanks podpod for the valuable advice. :) May I ask what you do for a living?
As you have said, no1 does design for life... so what do they do next? (other than setting up a business or becoming a lecturer) Jump into another industry, but as...?
Isn't it discouraging, what for further study degree in design then, might as well do business degree already... seems like a waste if in the end it's gonna end up discontinued.
Can elaborate on the 'do good job' part? :p sorry.
I'm aiming for a spot to do multimedia design in a consulting company, instead of a design house... just cos the pay is more attractive and possibly simpler work.
I do have dreams of starting up my business, but I'm sure almost everybody has the same dream, and how many fulfil it? How many try and failed? Business is not easy to start up that's for sure, considering the capital or wat.. I'm just afraid to fail because I know I cannot afford to.
popdod
05-04-2009, 02:03 AM
As you have said, no1 does design for life... so what do they do next?
(other than setting up a business or becoming a lecturer) Jump into another industry, but as...?
Isn't it discouraging, what for further study degree in design then, might as well do business degree already...
seems like a waste if in the end it's gonna end up discontinued.
Can elaborate on the 'do good job' part? :p sorry.
I'm aiming for a spot to do multimedia design in a consulting company, instead of a design house...
just cos the pay is more attractive and possibly simpler work.
I do have dreams of starting up my business, but I'm sure almost everybody has the same dream, and how many fulfil it?
How many try and failed? Business is not easy to start up that's for sure, considering the capital or wat..
I'm just afraid to fail because I know I cannot afford to.
Ppl get degree with lots of reasons.
Some get for the sake of getting it..."yippe..i got a degree, can wear the square hat,
flaunt my graduation dress to my mama,papa, g.f & friends."
While some just need a break from their line...and wondering degree can help them in their job.
Whether is to enhance their conceptual thinking skills or other areas...and its quite useful
especially if you are into civil servant jobs or big organisation marketing dept.
and minority would use it for education line purposes....where you can find those part-time lecturers
in the design schs....Armed with a master or Hons degree..and relatively young...possible 3-5yrs working experience...
teaching a group of diploma students. or sec/pri schs. Be a trainer.
This is where your investment in "degree" comes into the play.
Mainly for backup reasons.
You can do design for life if you r able to climb to the top of the corporate ladder..
which means...you are more into the advisory role rather the executional role.
You can become the Creative Director, Design Director or Consultant ...and leave those executional,
art direction role to the youngsters...
Your intrinsic value of a designer lies in your skillset & conceptual thinking.
If your value doesn't goes up in time....employer might find you redundant, expensive to keep
and find someone younger & cheaper to replace you. So you, as a designer must constantly "do a good job."
Of coz business is not as easy to setup...but if you are caught in the sweatshop, local SMEs
where career ceiling is limited, income is lesser than your expectation...then no point working for others...
You can move on from 1 sweatshop to another sweatshop...but still working under a sweatshop.
AND thatz the MAIN REASON why there are so many sweatshops, design hses in Singapore.
Most of the owners are once employees of other design hses..and they got pawned by their ex-employers.
Together hitching a plan with Account Directors, they left the company and
formed a small company... Setting up their own game rules, stealing clients from ex-company
and their turns to become masters.
Nobody likes to fail and risk for the unknown paths.
but
if you have a plan in mind, coupled with a few good support, the risk can be managed.
Start making good buddies with Account servicing ppl....they might become your partners next time.
:s12: =:p :s12:
lalaRaeka
05-04-2009, 08:05 PM
so I suppose you are still in this design industry?.. :p
You might be right about the degree... design degree got use? won't I rather get a business degree?
cos t I was thinking if I will be quitting this line sooner or later... cos I know I most likely wont be able to climb up the career ladder in this line. :( I am aware of my standards hence the pessimism.
so is it advisable to study something else for a degree, might as well. Since the earlier I jump to another line, the better... for the advantage of gaining more experience earlier right... (even now already lose out on the diploma relevance..)
I was thinking to get a business degree, even though my diploma is design.
Like I asked before, if people they dont continue, what else they work as? start a new job back at square one...?
popdod
05-04-2009, 09:23 PM
You might be right about the degree... design degree got use?
won't I rather get a business degree?
cos t I was thinking if I will be quitting this line sooner or later... cos I know I most likely wont be able to climb up the career ladder in this line. :( I am aware of my standards hence the pessimism.
so is it advisable to study something else for a degree, might as well. Since the earlier I jump to another line, the better... for the advantage of gaining more experience earlier right... (even now already lose out on the diploma relevance..)
I was thinking to get a business degree, even though my diploma is design.
Like I asked before, if people they dont continue, what else they work as?
start a new job back at square one...?
Dun be so pessimist lah.
Who knows your route is different from other people.
Maybe you have the flair & talent in your industry and someone willingly to groom you up.
If you are interested in business ...then go ahead and take up the deg.
The thing is, do you know what you want from a business degree???
or just being going with the flow like what others are pursuing?
Those people who discontinue as a designer...can venture into other line or dept.
You can become account servicing....servicing the clients..and with a design background,
You are able to translate the idea into sales strategy. Able to articulate on behalf of ur creatives.
If your technical knowledge is good...you can become those studio production manager..
I mean with ur current design diploma...you can always be part the SALES team instead of the design dept.
Some sales are known as Consultant...giving strategic solutions for the clients.
While some of my mates are doing other jobs like sales line
but
they r still doing freelance design.
Design had become their hobby instead of career.
Shorter working hours & more work-life balance.
=:p ;) =:p
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.