PDA

View Full Version : Introducing a low cost IPS monitor: Philips 240PW9EB/69 ... WOW!

Pages : [1] 2

MichaelTan
29-10-2008, 11:20 AM
We just got a shipment of the Philips 240PW9EB/69 monitor. Guess what?
It's an IPS monitor. That means.... OK it rox.
24" of IPS goodness. IPS means less bleed, better color, better contrast, better view angle, brighter ... gosh, see here : http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/TFT_LCD#IPS
Here's the monitor spec: http://www.consumer.philips.com/consumer/en/sg/consumer/cc/_onlineStoreStatus_false/_productid_240PW9EB_69_SG_CONSUMER/_retailStoreStatus_false/LCD-widescreen-monitor+240PW9EB-69
notable specs:
LCD panel type 1920 x 1200
Response time (typical) 5 ms
SmartContrast ratio (dynamic) 3000:1
Contrast ratio (typical) 1000 : 1
Display colors 16.7 M
Brightness 400 cd/m²
Wide Color Gamut display 102% NTSC Color Gamut
Viewing angle 178º (H) / 178º (V) , @ C/R > 10
Important special feature: special wide color gamut 102% (http://www.consumer.philips.com/consumer/en/sg/consumer/cc/_onlineStoreStatus_false/_productid_240PW9EB_69_SG_CONSUMER/_retailStoreStatus_false/LCD-widescreen-monitor+240PW9EB-69):
http://www.consumer.philips.com/catalog/feature/F400011907-FLM-global-001.jpg
And it has big swivel options!
http://www.consumer.philips.com/catalog/feature/F300009903-FLS-global-001.jpg
OK this is god mode, but here's more.
Verification that it's indeed a true IPS monitor: http://www.hardforum.com/showthread.php?t=1353492
Here's a pic - proof that Philips is not selling you an ugly monitor - looks nice too!
http://www.consumer.philips.com/catalog/product/240PW9EB_69-TLV-global-001.jpg
Finally the best news: S$739 SRP.
Available at Fuwell now. Limited sets. Post here if no more stock.

Edit more information:

Screen is Matte, not glossy. Great.
Got aspect control 4:3 16:9 16:10

here's the VR-zone discussion with a lot more information that this thread at present:

http://forums.vr-zone.com/showthread.php?t=340548

This linke: http://www.tftcentral.co.uk/news_archive/14.htm confirms:

H-IPS panel - best of the IPS panels allegedly.

quick update: HDCP supported and confirmed, so consoles like PS3 should not be a problem displaying video on this monitor.

Forceware
29-10-2008, 11:23 AM
How is this compare to the Dell 2408?

ascdf13
29-10-2008, 11:28 AM
too bad no hdmi :(

Forceware
29-10-2008, 11:33 AM
Ok... Means I will not go for this monitor liao... :(

MichaelTan
29-10-2008, 11:34 AM
well for starters, the Dell is more than S$200 more... at a discounted price of S$959.

Secondly the Dell is a PVA monitor, where the Philips is found by Hardforum people to be a IPS monitor. See here: http://www.hardforum.com/showthread.php?t=1299055 and http://www.pchardwarehelp.com/guides/lcd-panel-types.php ... VA may not be so suitable for gaming especially the new Fallout 3 which I am gunning for in 2 days 14 hours' time. :) But specs wise both monitors are the same, but paper races mean nothing.

Overall, you gotta see for yourself. Unfortunately you can't see the Dell readily when the PHilips you can check it out at Fuwell, I guess.

Vulpix
29-10-2008, 11:35 AM
Anywhere else other than Fuwell? I want to pay via installment...

MichaelTan
29-10-2008, 11:36 AM
Ok... Means I will not go for this monitor liao... :(
HDMI = DVI as far as video is concerned. Use this mechanical converter:

http://www.sanace.com/IT/images/dvi-hdmi.jpg

There is no degradation, the DVI and HDMI signals are electronically similar. DVI cable has additional shielding, so it works better over longer distances.

Vulpix
29-10-2008, 11:39 AM
Michael, I don't think that is the reason he not interested... Maybe getting it for his video console?

Forceware
29-10-2008, 11:46 AM
well for starters, the Dell is more than S$200 more... at a discounted price of S$959.

Secondly the Dell is a PVA monitor, where the Philips is found by Hardforum people to be a IPS monitor. See here: http://www.hardforum.com/showthread.php?t=1299055 and http://www.pchardwarehelp.com/guides/lcd-panel-types.php ... VA may not be so suitable for gaming especially the new Fallout 3 which I am gunning for in 2 days 14 hours' time. :) But specs wise both monitors are the same, but paper races mean nothing.

Overall, you gotta see for yourself. Unfortunately you can't see the Dell readily when the PHilips you can check it out at Fuwell, I guess.

Bro, I can see the Dell at their direct store.
I just want to buy a small monitor for fun with a lot of convenient ports actually. I'm sick of looking at TV screens actually.

MichaelTan
29-10-2008, 12:02 PM
update: more information:

more information:

Screen is Matte, not glossy. Great.
Got aspect control 4:3 16:9 16:10

here's the VR-zone discussion with a lot more information that this thread at present:

http://forums.vr-zone.com/showthread.php?t=340548

This linke: http://www.tftcentral.co.uk/news_archive/14.htm confirms:

H-IPS panel - best of the IPS panels allegedly.

MichaelTan
29-10-2008, 12:13 PM
Michael, I don't think that is the reason he not interested... Maybe getting it for his video console?
quick update: HDCP supported and confirmed, so consoles like PS3 should not be a problem displaying video on this monitor.

Forceware
29-10-2008, 12:14 PM
HDMI = DVI as far as video is concerned. Use this mechanical converter:

http://www.sanace.com/IT/images/dvi-hdmi.jpg

There is no degradation, the DVI and HDMI signals are electronically similar. DVI cable has additional shielding, so it works better over longer distances.

How much is this type of converter?

MichaelTan
29-10-2008, 12:19 PM
How much is this type of converter?
10-20 bucks from UF Multimedia Sim Lim Square .... can't remember. Works well!

Forceware
29-10-2008, 12:21 PM
Very gian now. Actually I'm looking at the Dell 2408, 2709 or a 40" Full HD Tv.

Vulpix
29-10-2008, 12:51 PM
10-20 bucks from UF Multimedia Sim Lim Square .... can't remember. Works well!

Bro where else selling this monitor...

Cro-Magnon
29-10-2008, 01:22 PM
WOW... a nice monitor...

What about the warranty and pixel policy?

ascdf13
29-10-2008, 01:24 PM
for philips perfect panel should be 0 dead pixel and 3 yrs warranty?

correct me if i am wrong

MichaelTan
29-10-2008, 01:37 PM
Bro where else selling this monitor...

Dunno man, when I got it only Fuwell draw the stock.

WOW... a nice monitor...

What about the warranty and pixel policy?

3 years onsite, 3 pixel warranty.

for philips perfect panel should be 0 dead pixel and 3 yrs warranty?

correct me if i am wrong

You're not wrong, but this is not a perfect panel I think.

ascdf13
29-10-2008, 01:47 PM
oh i thought P series is supposingly to be the professional line for philips aka better panel used? used to own one P series model..which was a perfect panel..well i guess policy do changes :)

Vulpix
29-10-2008, 11:33 PM
I saw this today at Fuwell, impressive man. This is a good alternative to the Dell 2408.

game goondu
30-10-2008, 12:49 AM
I saw this today at Fuwell, impressive man. This is a good alternative to the Dell 2408.

too bad, dun have as much connector as the dell 2408.

Vulpix
30-10-2008, 01:13 AM
too bad, dun have as much connector as the dell 2408.

That's probably why is cheaper. Put HDMI port must pay royalties one... It's good for people like me who don't need HDMI and the likes.

Fatfool
30-10-2008, 01:26 AM
wow!

24" IPS finally. it was an S-PVA size for so long (and then frightfully they brought TN panels to that size)

Michael, does this monitor's menu actually 'save' your settings?

my old dell 2007WFP (IPS as well but i don't think this is a panel issue) doesn't do so and simply reverts to default each time I turn it on. Hell, when I set it to 1:1 pixel mapping and then exit the game before starting the game again, it just reverts to stretch.

btw, LG has stopped pushing out IPS panels on their own monitors liao?

hj_dragon
30-10-2008, 02:20 AM
wow must go down take a look,
maybe samsung will be coming out a 24" IPS to fight with philips/LG
Is LG having similiar model?

ronnie
30-10-2008, 07:51 AM
FYI, Potterhouse is also carrying this. Price is $739.

ktee
30-10-2008, 09:39 AM
Good deal for IPS panel.

But IPS at 5ms? :s11: I thot IPS panel is higher response time. Dell 2408 VA panel is 6ms.

MichaelTan
30-10-2008, 10:13 AM
wow!

24" IPS finally. it was an S-PVA size for so long (and then frightfully they brought TN panels to that size)

Michael, does this monitor's menu actually 'save' your settings?

my old dell 2007WFP (IPS as well but i don't think this is a panel issue) doesn't do so and simply reverts to default each time I turn it on. Hell, when I set it to 1:1 pixel mapping and then exit the game before starting the game again, it just reverts to stretch.

btw, LG has stopped pushing out IPS panels on their own monitors liao?
LG makes IPS screens, the best, but it is more profitable for them to sell the screens to Philips than to sell monitors I guess, so they have a IPS screen shortage and therefore, their costing for IPS not so hot at this time.

As for SAVE the settings, you gotta go opposite Fuwell the Demo area for Philips and try it out. I've never played 4:3 games lately so I dunno. Anyway there's not enough stock for me to buy it myself yet until 2nd batch.

MichaelTan
30-10-2008, 10:14 AM
Good deal for IPS panel.

But IPS at 5ms? :s11: I thot IPS panel is higher response time. Dell 2408 VA panel is 6ms.
Dell VA is the slowest response time bro. IPS is between TN (fast) and VA (slow)

Fatfool
30-10-2008, 10:26 AM
LG makes IPS screens, the best, but it is more profitable for them to sell the screens to Philips than to sell monitors I guess, so they have a IPS screen shortage and therefore, their costing for IPS not so hot at this time.

As for SAVE the settings, you gotta go opposite Fuwell the Demo area for Philips and try it out. I've never played 4:3 games lately so I dunno. Anyway there's not enough stock for me to buy it myself yet until 2nd batch.
I see. ok thanks.

ktee
30-10-2008, 12:21 PM
Dell VA is the slowest response time bro. IPS is between TN (fast) and VA (slow)

Apple Cinema display is also using IPS panel. But the response time is a whopping 14ms! How & why? :o

MichaelTan
30-10-2008, 02:02 PM
Apple Cinema display is also using IPS panel. But the response time is a whopping 14ms! How & why? :o
IPS was initially super slow at about 40-50ms..

Applying the Hitachi S-IPS patent will improve response times greatly to 14-20ms

Applying the H-IPS patent improves even further, perhaps 5-8ms.

the Philips is using H-IPS according to several sources. I don't know what the Apple uses, but if it were 14, it is probably S-IPS.

ktee
30-10-2008, 02:22 PM
IPS was initially super slow at about 40-50ms..

Applying the Hitachi S-IPS patent will improve response times greatly to 14-20ms

Applying the H-IPS patent improves even further, perhaps 5-8ms.

the Philips is using H-IPS according to several sources. I don't know what the Apple uses, but if it were 14, it is probably S-IPS.

OIC.

Does that mean H-IPS is better than S-IPS? If true, then this Philip shld be a steal as it is better than apple cinema display without the frills. But how come it is not under the Philip premium panel policy? :s22:

MichaelTan
30-10-2008, 02:33 PM
OIC.

Does that mean H-IPS is better than S-IPS? If true, then this Philip shld be a steal as it is better than apple cinema display without the frills. But how come it is not under the Philip premium panel policy? :s22:
yes, H-IPS is a further development on S-IPS.

Philips does not yet have any Perfect panel policy for their widescreens. But this 240PW9EB/69 is definitely a premium panel in every sense of the word.

Vulpix
30-10-2008, 03:56 PM
Placed an order with Bell, collecting tomorrow. :D

grunt
30-10-2008, 04:05 PM
Just picked up one piece from Best Price, and had it tested at the Phillips Booth - perfect no dp great. And also must say the PQ of the screen is top compared to the other TN monitors on display. I am using a Dell 2407 now and hope to see a clear improvement esp. for photos and graphics. Cannot wait to set up later at home!

Got it at a great price as well so its a great deal!

MichaelTan
30-10-2008, 04:17 PM
gratz buddy!

GegeV2
30-10-2008, 04:43 PM
Just picked up one piece from Best Price, and had it tested at the Phillips Booth - perfect no dp great. And also must say the PQ of the screen is top compared to the other TN monitors on display. I am using a Dell 2407 now and hope to see a clear improvement esp. for photos and graphics. Cannot wait to set up later at home!

Post pics :D

victoryeo
30-10-2008, 05:54 PM

Can share your great price? Interested in getting it also. Tks.

gashubell
30-10-2008, 06:42 PM
post pic leh^^

Gecko
30-10-2008, 07:36 PM
pictures please!

grunt
30-10-2008, 11:38 PM
Sorry guys, will post up once I setup...prob tmr :)

hj_dragon
31-10-2008, 06:34 AM
Wow, indeed is the BEST 24" monitor in SLS now. Better than Samsung T240 in picture quality.

Vulpix
31-10-2008, 09:35 AM
Yeah seriously. The PQ and color is like the Dell 2408, very impressive. Loaded up my own photo and could clearly see shadow detail, something a TN panel like the one at my own home can't do.

MichaelTan
31-10-2008, 10:11 AM
DAMN! Just the right monitor to play the GORGEOUS FALLOUT 3 on PC man .... my Xpertvision 9800GTX deserves this!!!!! BUT not enough stock for staff purchase!!!!!!!!!!!!!! SIANZ!

Fatfool
31-10-2008, 11:20 AM
Yeah seriously. The PQ and color is like the Dell 2408, very impressive. Loaded up my own photo and could clearly see shadow detail, something a TN panel like the one at my own home can't do.
what?!

shouldn't it be better than a 2408WFP?

that monitor uses a PVA panel.

Fatfool
31-10-2008, 11:24 AM
DAMN! Just the right monitor to play the GORGEOUS FALLOUT 3 on PC man .... my Xpertvision 9800GTX deserves this!!!!! BUT not enough stock for staff purchase!!!!!!!!!!!!!! SIANZ!
your Xpertvision 9800GTX will probably die on thir monitor's resolution + Fallout 3. (the recommended requirements are scary; they recommend a 8800 series card!)
you need a Palit 4870 sonic dual edition or and EVGA GTX 280!

MichaelTan
31-10-2008, 11:32 AM
your Xpertvision 9800GTX will probably die on thir monitor's resolution + Fallout 3. (the recommended requirements are scary; they recommend a 8800 series card!)
you need a Palit 4870 sonic dual edition or and EVGA GTX 280!
FF, I already playing, see http://forums.gameaxis.com/showthread.php?p=21445030#post21445030

I am playing at ultrahigh detail on 1680x1050 now (the L246 was returned to company). Got very slight lag, but you turn down the anis will be better a bit. On 1920x1200 almost certain to die.

But the upside of ultrahigh is that you can even see sand.

If I need to upgrade will be Palit 4870 liao. My mobo support up to 2. :)

aditzz
31-10-2008, 12:03 PM
uses the same panel with hp lp2475w rite?

MichaelTan
31-10-2008, 12:07 PM
uses the same panel with hp lp2475w rite?
yes, but electronics may be different. Today, panel play a big part but not all.

Fatfool
31-10-2008, 12:36 PM
FF, I already playing, see http://forums.gameaxis.com/showthread.php?p=21445030#post21445030

I am playing at ultrahigh detail on 1680x1050 now (the L246 was returned to company). Got very slight lag, but you turn down the anis will be better a bit. On 1920x1200 almost certain to die.

But the upside of ultrahigh is that you can even see sand.

If I need to upgrade will be Palit 4870 liao. My mobo support up to 2. :)
ah i see.

guess the recomended specs were actually real and not dumbed down.

Vulpix
31-10-2008, 03:29 PM
Got mine already. Fan-fcking-tastic screen. Gonna do some calibration soon.

Vulpix
31-10-2008, 03:33 PM
http://www.sassy-scribbles.net/newpc/monitor.JPG

MichaelTan
31-10-2008, 03:43 PM
wa riaos! You overexposed the screen, or is the screen really that bright?

Vulpix
31-10-2008, 03:45 PM
wa riaos! You overexposed the screen, or is the screen really that bright?

Overexposed because I too lazy to take care of it. :s13:

Ale123
31-10-2008, 03:54 PM
http://www.sassy-scribbles.net/newpc/monitor.JPG
The left part of the monitor looks redish. Is that the case in reality also?

2475w
has been critisized for bad viewingangles with black. Is that the case with the Philips too?

2475w to the right
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JgWbsOeFKms

Teo Ming Ern
31-10-2008, 04:06 PM
The red hue might be a colour shift due to his digicam's sensor and not the panel per say... I don't understand what everyone here hopes to see from the photo? It's neither large enough to examine the monitor for defects, anywhere accurate enough to detect severe colour cast, nor the camera sufficiently high resolution enough and clean enough to detect hot pixels or dead pixels or excessive black light bleeding... and most of the time, the digicams (even DSLRs) cannot handle the extremely wide dynamic range of the monitor bezel vs the lighted panel...

Vulpix
31-10-2008, 04:07 PM
No no, that's not the case. I will be honest and tell you that my pictures don't do this screen any justice. Look at it yourself at SLS and be in awe just like I was. I'm checking out the viewing angle and it looks fantastic even with blacks.

Gecko
31-10-2008, 04:10 PM
take a few shots at night with nice pix at various angles + test if theres any backlight bleeding issues. very tempted by this screen.

playst
31-10-2008, 04:23 PM
No no, that's not the case. I will be honest and tell you that my pictures don't do this screen any justice. Look at it yourself at SLS and be in awe just like I was. I'm checking out the viewing angle and it looks fantastic even with blacks.

So black is black right not purple colour like that horrible Dell 2007WFP when view at an extreme angle is it ?

By the way I think this monitor is hot.

Vulpix
31-10-2008, 04:23 PM
Nah, I'll leave it to the reviewers. Busy enjoying my panel now.

So black is black right not purple colour like that horrible Dell 2007WFP when view at an extreme angle is it ?

By the way I think this monitor is hot.

Oh god yeah, it doesn't look like that stupid 200WFP at extreme angles. That was the first thing I tested at philips booth.

Gecko
31-10-2008, 04:27 PM
okay then. hope good reviews come out soon. i am using 2007WFP. hahaha

Vulpix
31-10-2008, 04:29 PM
I've been wanting a 2408 for a long time but price was always an issue... Now that this Philips is like 200 cheaper and better panel, I decided not to wait any longer since it looks good in my eyes anyway.

playst
31-10-2008, 05:20 PM

Oh god yeah, it doesn't look like that stupid 200WFP at extreme angles. That was the first thing I tested at philips booth.

LOL. Thank goodness there are no purple color like that stupid Dell 2007WFP :s13:. Somemore for that Dell I can see that the color is very uniform if you change the whole screen to grey color thus affecting other colors too.

Can you try changing the whole screen to grey color for your Philips and tell me if the grey color is even or not ?

Any backlight light bleeding in complete darkeness at night ?

DBmaking
31-10-2008, 05:23 PM
Never heard of Fuwell before. http://seoagora.com/img/308/s08e1024rvou/champagne.gifhttp://seoagora.com/img/317/s08b1024uzjw/content.gifhttp://seoagora.com/img/459/k08q1024glza/ecstatic.gifhttp://seoagora.com/img/460/c08n1024twxu/eeek.gifhttp://seoagora.com/img/461/d08n1024dgqn/friends.gifhttp://seoagora.com/img/462/h08t1024hjtr/grouphug.gifhttp://seoagora.com/img/463/s08v1024jlel/happy.gifhttp://seoagora.com/img/464/c08o1024tpai/puzzle.gif

Vulpix
31-10-2008, 05:28 PM
LOL. Thank goodness there are no purple color like that stupid Dell 2007WFP :s13:. Somemore for that Dell I can see that the color is very uniform if you change the whole screen to grey color thus affecting other colors too.

Can you try changing the whole screen to grey color for your Philips and tell me if the grey color is even or not ?

Any backlight light bleeding in complete darkeness at night ?

Simple tests like that I can try tonight. Watch this thread after 9pm?

playst
31-10-2008, 05:34 PM
Simple tests like that I can try tonight. Watch this thread after 9pm?

Ok, I am looking forward to your testing tonight :D.

a) Change the screen to grey color see even or not. I think you must stare at the screen for a minute and closely observed.

b) Change the whole screen to black color see got backlight bleeding or not.

This thread is attracting all the cats.

=:p=:p=:p

yashirov
31-10-2008, 05:48 PM
can anyone tell me why is the 2408 so exp @ 959$? So does the specs of this monitor matches the 2408? Or is it even better?

Vulpix
31-10-2008, 06:00 PM
Ok, I am looking forward to your testing tonight :D.

a) Change the screen to grey color see even or not. I think you must stare at the screen for a minute and closely observed.

b) Change the whole screen to black color see got backlight bleeding or not.

This thread is attracting all the cats.

=:p=:p=:p

Can you give me a color code for the grey?

MichaelTan
31-10-2008, 06:02 PM
can anyone tell me why is the 2408 so exp @ 959$? So does the specs of this monitor matches the 2408? Or is it even better?
from the screen viewpoint and paper viewpoint the Philips 240PW9EB/69 is better than the 2408.

The only thing is that the Philips 240PW9EB/69 does not have HDMI, but that's easily remedied by just buying the adapter.

Vulpix
31-10-2008, 06:08 PM
from the screen viewpoint and paper viewpoint the Philips 240PW9EB/69 is better than the 2408.

The only thing is that the Philips 240PW9EB/69 does not have HDMI, but that's easily remedied by just buying the adapter.

Well having seen both monitors with my test images, I can easily say this Philips is fantastic.

Ale123
31-10-2008, 06:40 PM
Well having seen both monitors with my test images, I can easily say this Philips is fantastic.

What about Input lag?

The HP 2475w is supposed to have 40-50 ms input lag which is the biggest reason why I didnt buy it. Have you done any such tests? Any guess?

Vulpix
31-10-2008, 07:05 PM
What about Input lag?

The HP 2475w is supposed to have 40-50 ms input lag which is the biggest reason why I didnt buy it. Have you done any such tests? Any guess?

No, won't be doing those. Wait for professional reviews.

grunt
31-10-2008, 07:32 PM
As promised...some shots taken from simple camera...may not do justice hehe...but PQ is good, no doubt...hint of backlight bleeding at edge when booting up Windows XP.

http://i10.photobucket.com/albums/a119/grunt72/Monitor3.jpg

http://i10.photobucket.com/albums/a119/grunt72/Monitor2.jpg

http://i10.photobucket.com/albums/a119/grunt72/Monitor1.jpg

Worth the investment overall :)

game goondu
01-11-2008, 12:13 AM
What about Input lag?

where to buy this hp 2475w?

ktee
02-11-2008, 12:55 AM

I got the 2408 fr VR-zone MO. It is cheaper than 959 (about $130 more than tis philip).

Pros and con of dell vs philips (my opinion :o):

Pro:

1. 5 yr on site warranty
2. 0 bright pixel.
3. With HDMI, Component and every possible connections, even a "Display" port & comes with all kind of wires (HDMI, component, display port, etc)
4. 4 USB ports
5. 9 in 2 card reader.

Con:

1. Panel is S-PVA (OEM Benq) as compared to Philip H-IPS
2. more ex - >130 more.
3. response time 1ms higher.
4. Old model (Rev A00) has some problems
5. Older model

aditzz
02-11-2008, 02:28 AM
seriously Dell includes all cables? components too?

Webbyboy
02-11-2008, 12:18 PM
I got the 2408 fr VR-zone MO. It is cheaper than 959 (about $130 more than tis philip).

Pros and con of dell vs philips (my opinion :o):

Pro:

1. 5 yr on site warranty
2. 0 bright pixel.
3. With HDMI, Component and every possible connections, even a "Display" port & comes with all kind of wires (HDMI, component, display port, etc)
4. 4 USB ports
5. 9 in 2 card reader.

Con:

1. Panel is S-PVA (OEM Benq) as compared to Philip H-IPS
2. more ex - >130 more.
3. response time 1ms higher.
4. Old model (Rev A00) has some problems
5. Older model

What's a OEM Benq? It's 24"WS Samsung S-PVA Panel :)

ktee
02-11-2008, 01:40 PM
What's a OEM Benq? It's 24"WS Samsung S-PVA Panel :)

Perhaps some made my Samsung, but mine is:

http://i40.photobucket.com/albums/e237/kteeyen/MadeinChinabyBenq.jpg

The 2408WFPb is made by 佳世达科技(Qisda)(原明基电通)于苏州高新区设立中国制造总部. A company setup by BenQ. That explains the b at the end of the model no. :)

ktee
02-11-2008, 02:00 PM
seriously Dell includes all cables? components too?

I know there are many cables. After checking, yup, components and S-video are not included. :o

Vulpix
02-11-2008, 08:06 PM
Eh don't hijack the thread leh, 2408 related questions should go to that thread...

ktee
02-11-2008, 10:31 PM
Eh don't hijack the thread leh, 2408 related questions should go to that thread...

Sorri. Ppl asked questions, i answered loh. :o

Gecko
02-11-2008, 10:47 PM
anyone noticed that the screen is brownish//orange-ish in grunt's first pic ?

aditzz
02-11-2008, 11:17 PM

sorry to OT a bit=:p

anyway, can tell us how u got ur special price?

K|muRa^84
03-11-2008, 12:36 AM
IPS panels are known to have problems with text display.

Those who are interested should try to research on that.

Vulpix
03-11-2008, 01:30 AM

Probably due to camera and some other white balance issue lar. Mine got no such tone.

Can you be more specific?

Fatfool
03-11-2008, 02:41 AM

what?! (10 chars)

grunt
03-11-2008, 07:13 AM

trust me, its my simple camera and not pro skills lah :). Screen in actual use is very clear and natural - clearly better than my Dell2407.

MichaelTan
03-11-2008, 11:19 AM
what?! (10 chars)
yeah, what??

Many of my lawyer/writer friends/customers especially go for IPS displays because they say it is more like paper and better for their eyes.

Vulpix
03-11-2008, 11:24 AM
What's the stuck/dead pixel policy for this monitor?

MichaelTan
03-11-2008, 11:26 AM

http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showpost.php?p=33347507&postcount=18

tinydot
03-11-2008, 11:30 AM
tempted to buy this...but what am i gg to do to my existing 2408??

Vulpix
03-11-2008, 11:38 AM

http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showpost.php?p=33347507&postcount=18

Combination or what? Like 1 dead, 2 stuck, or?

ktee
03-11-2008, 12:13 PM

:s31: Sell it loh. But why chg in the 1st place? :s11:

tinydot
03-11-2008, 02:04 PM
IPS panel + 1 stuck pixel on my dell! lol

Vulpix
03-11-2008, 02:15 PM

Your stuck pixel is the type that only appears when screen is black, or the type that is always there? If it's the type only appears when screen is black just ignore it lar...

ktee
03-11-2008, 02:45 PM

If it is a bright stuck pixel, call Dell for exchange. Otherwise, try the following to see whether can solve:

http://www.wikihow.com/Fix-a-Stuck-Pixel-on-an-LCD-Monitor

Good luck. :)

grunt
03-11-2008, 02:49 PM

Trust me brother, the Philips 24" is really good for the money...I think at 700 plus, this IS the monitor to get hehe...

tinydot
03-11-2008, 04:56 PM
Your stuck pixel is the type that only appears when screen is black, or the type that is always there? If it's the type only appears when screen is black just ignore it lar...

If it is a bright stuck pixel, call Dell for exchange. Otherwise, try the following to see whether can solve:
http://www.wikihow.com/Fix-a-Stuck-P...an-LCD-Monitor
Good luck.

the type that is always there...it's RED stuck pixel against any background except black. I tried to "massage" and using Dead Pixel Tester, both doesnt work.

http://www.dellcommunity.com/supportforums/board/message?board.id=dim_monitor&thread.id=83471

Btw 2408 is Ultrasharp series right? Last sentence mentioned somthing about "defective bright dot", is mine considered as one?

ktee
03-11-2008, 09:54 PM
the type that is always there...it's RED stuck pixel against any background except black. I tried to "massage" and using Dead Pixel Tester, both doesnt work.

http://www.dellcommunity.com/supportforums/board/message?board.id=dim_monitor&thread.id=83471

Btw 2408 is Ultrasharp series right? Last sentence mentioned somthing about "defective bright dot", is mine considered as one?

Guess so. As long as it is bright - ie not dead or black against white background, you can try to claim your warranty. 1 bright pixel is able to claim. Go ahead, call Dell fast!. Dont OT here loh. ;)

hj_dragon
03-11-2008, 10:10 PM
Is it good to buy now or wait for the IT show at end of this month.

aditzz
03-11-2008, 11:48 PM
buy anytime when the price is to ur liking :D:D

Wz0000
04-11-2008, 10:16 AM
This is very tempting:s22:

ronnie
04-11-2008, 10:31 AM
Is it good to buy now or wait for the IT show at end of this month.

Unless you really need it now, I suggest you wait as prices for LCD monitors during IT shows have always been very good.

Black_Mamba
06-11-2008, 08:27 PM
i see from the specs that the monitor has aspect control 4:3 16:9 16:10

would this mean that it more or less support 1:1 mapping?

Users can confirm this? :s11:

ascdf13
06-11-2008, 08:36 PM
this monitor was featured in digital life on wed

MichaelTan
07-11-2008, 11:05 AM
Combination or what? Like 1 dead, 2 stuck, or?
no differentiation. any defective pixel type.

ascdf13
07-11-2008, 11:33 AM
MT, convergent distri for this model?

MichaelTan
07-11-2008, 11:37 AM
MT, convergent distri for this model?
yes, for some shops. Availability is at Fuwell and Bell.

Dethray79
07-11-2008, 03:09 PM
Any idea if these shops offer 7 day 1 to 1 for any pixel defects? Thanks in advance!

dreamer_toons
08-11-2008, 04:49 PM
What is the latest price for this monitor now?

aditzz
08-11-2008, 07:19 PM
I tot still 739? It's juz arrived recently...dun expect to pricedrop very soon...

Diablo
09-11-2008, 04:22 PM
Micheal,

I went the SLS, saw the Philips booth outside VideoPro,

This 240PW9EB/69 is adverstised as a S-IPS panel.

So is it S-IPs or H-IPS?

RachLL
12-11-2008, 03:16 PM
I tot still 739? It's juz arrived recently...dun expect to pricedrop very soon...

Maybe the show will have better price... (I hope!)

dreamer_toons
12-11-2008, 07:38 PM
The price is still at $739...I would say it is a great monitor after using it for 3 days.

Vulpix
12-11-2008, 08:10 PM
I used it for a week it's awesome.

chikyblink
12-11-2008, 11:02 PM
Does it come with a DVI cable inside?
I just ordered it from potterhouse and was wondering if i need to purchase the DVI cable separately.

Vulpix
12-11-2008, 11:13 PM
Does it come with a DVI cable inside?
I just ordered it from potterhouse and was wondering if i need to purchase the DVI cable separately.

Yep it comes with DVI cable... If it doesn't I sure call and kpkb philips already. Above 700 bucks monitor and dun give DVI cable a bit :s22:

chikyblink
12-11-2008, 11:31 PM
Yep it comes with DVI cable... If it doesn't I sure call and kpkb philips already. Above 700 bucks monitor and dun give DVI cable a bit :s22:
Thks. Can't wait for it to arrive tmr! Time to replace my old CRT!

hj_dragon
13-11-2008, 09:55 AM
I ask for the best price $725 with cash payment.
Some backlane shop got advert at lower than $739.

TrueBeliever_jh
28-11-2008, 08:44 AM
up this one..

those who got it.. i would like to ask.. the last 2 numbers.. 69.. i see some website is 00.. any idea what tat means?

ting
28-11-2008, 07:56 PM
sitex have?

TrueBeliever_jh
28-11-2008, 08:18 PM
sitex have?
yes.

still 739.. you are betta off buying from sls through cash discount..

ting
29-11-2008, 11:20 AM
yes.

is it available at courts/best denki/harvey norman as i've got a $100 voucher? :)

TrueBeliever_jh
29-11-2008, 12:32 PM
is it available at courts/best denki/harvey norman as i've got a $100 voucher? :)
can check bah... i really have no idea if these stores do sell LCDs..

nasfieldjohn
30-11-2008, 09:59 AM
yes.

sls got cash discount? how much

TrueBeliever_jh
30-11-2008, 10:37 AM
sls got cash discount? how much
page 8 of this thread did mention about cash discount..

stopspam
01-12-2008, 12:21 PM
Just bought from SLS last Sat.
$725 (cash discount), DVI cable, HDMI to DVI cable and either free philips handphone (non-camera) or wireless keyboard/mouse.

lethaldolphin
02-12-2008, 02:02 PM
Is Philips planning to release a 22" IPS LCD Monitor?
24" is too big for my liking.

derrickgoh
02-12-2008, 07:22 PM
Tempting but after blowing my cash on a notebook, $700+ is just too much esp when I can get a decent 24" for under $600. Yes, it may not be IPS but oh well if I can save over 100 bucks, why not? :D

TrueBeliever_jh
02-12-2008, 07:43 PM
Is Philips planning to release a 22" IPS LCD Monitor?
24" is too big for my liking.
doubt so man... IPS on 22" abit... wasteful:(

WatCult
03-12-2008, 12:18 PM
Any recommended setttings for this monitor?

aditzz
03-12-2008, 03:10 PM
Tempting but after blowing my cash on a notebook, $700+ is just too much esp when I can get a decent 24" for under $600. Yes, it may not be IPS but oh well if I can save over 100 bucks, why not? :D

Well...IPS caters to a certain group of people. Normally TN would do just fine. But IPS at this price is quite cheap dun u think? Better save to top up that 100 bucks? =:p=:p:D:D

derrickgoh
03-12-2008, 08:40 PM
Well...IPS caters to a certain group of people. Normally TN would do just fine. But IPS at this price is quite cheap dun u think? Better save to top up that 100 bucks? =:p=:p:D:D
The thing is, I can spend that extra $100 on other things. :s13:

lancelot77
03-12-2008, 09:36 PM
Wud this monitor be a good choice if i want to plug it in to my PC and Xbox360 at the same time?

chikyblink
03-12-2008, 10:02 PM
Wud this monitor be a good choice if i want to plug it in to my PC and Xbox360 at the same time?

Nope. It has only 2 ports. (VGA and DVI). Guess thats why its the cheapest 24inch IPS monitor.

YSLee
04-12-2008, 11:22 PM

The blacks don't turn purple at an extreme viewing angle? Odd, I thought that is a defining characteristic of IPS panels. Have they managed to fix it?

tzoner
06-12-2008, 03:47 PM
Just bought from SLS last Sat.
$725 (cash discount), DVI cable, HDMI to DVI cable and either free philips handphone (non-camera) or wireless keyboard/mouse.

And this is from Fuwell? I'm going to ask my friend (with zero geek cred) to get it for me when he comes back from Singapore next week.

elu
06-12-2008, 07:15 PM
The blacks don't turn purple at an extreme viewing angle? Odd, I thought that is a defining characteristic of IPS panels. Have they managed to fix it?

Maybe thats a difference between S-IPS panels and H-IPS panels.

nacnac74
12-12-2008, 04:16 PM
Bought mine today at bell. The quality is top notch!!

[Mubiq]
12-12-2008, 10:15 PM
is this one better or the HP 2475W one

chikyblink
12-12-2008, 11:09 PM
;34332002']is this one better or the HP 2475W one
In terms of visual quality both are the same coz both using same panel.

The only differences are the design, the number of ports and of course the price.

undised
13-12-2008, 04:15 AM
Bought mine today at bell. The quality is top notch!!

seconded that, the built quality is really solid too, unlike certain flimsy LCD monitors.

In terms of visual quality both are the same coz both using same panel.

The only differences are the design, the number of ports and of course the price.

well said.

[Mubiq]
13-12-2008, 06:37 PM
is the philips model able to view and check prior purchasing. me dun want dead, bright or funny pixels

good Cat
13-12-2008, 10:00 PM
Hey guys, do you happen to know if this monitor will be available in europe also?

AttentioN
15-12-2008, 11:57 AM
Sorry for this question. Since its using H-IPS panel, means its a 8-bit panel right?

swirlsurfer13
15-12-2008, 03:21 PM
Hi all,

Does this monitor have 1:1 pixel mapping?

nacnac74
15-12-2008, 08:13 PM
Hi all,

Does this monitor have 1:1 pixel mapping?

Yes..correct.

galapogos
15-12-2008, 10:03 PM
Looks like this is the 24" LCD to get huh? Are the freebies(handphone or keyboard/mouse) the same for every shop?

swirlsurfer13
15-12-2008, 10:15 PM
Yes..correct.

Hi bro, are you positive? Not many reviews of this monitor on the web. So I really need to make sure as I would like to use this monitor with a PS3. I cannot stand the overstretched images on my Samsung T240 now. :(

nacnac74
15-12-2008, 11:32 PM
Hi bro, are you positive? Not many reviews of this monitor on the web. So I really need to make sure as I would like to use this monitor with a PS3. I cannot stand the overstretched images on my Samsung T240 now. :(

Positive. I m a proud owner of this monitor. Btw T240 is not for gaming...more on videos.

galapogos
17-12-2008, 09:22 PM
So where do they sell this? Might get it soon.

AttentioN
18-12-2008, 12:01 PM
After so many replies, i dont see anyone mentioning if its 6 or 8bit panel? does IPS panel immediately means 8bit?

elu
18-12-2008, 05:02 PM
After so many replies, i dont see anyone mentioning if its 6 or 8bit panel? does IPS panel immediately means 8bit?

It's considered as a premium panel, and yes it's 8bit standard. Only TN panels are 6bit.

Success
18-12-2008, 06:30 PM
I am considering Smasung 2493HM and this Philips monitor.

usage: to connect to my s10 netbook and mainly for internet surfing.

not much graphics work or gaming.

Which would you recommend? Or, any other 24" to recommend?

galapogos
18-12-2008, 09:16 PM
The Samsung 2493HM is a TN panel AFAIK, so no comparison. Different league.

If you just want a large screen and don't care much about getting really good quality, then TN panels are ok.

Nobody knows where to get them? Or out of stock? I don't see them in Fuwell's price list...

lifesgood
18-12-2008, 09:47 PM
any lobangs to get this panel?

do they allow on site testing before bringing it home?

a bit on the pricey side.. whats the 2nd best recommendation apart from this panel? im looking for either a 22" or 24".

surprisingly no post-sitex MO on LCDs this time.. so sad..

Vulpix
19-12-2008, 03:34 AM
any lobangs to get this panel?

do they allow on site testing before bringing it home?

a bit on the pricey side.. whats the 2nd best recommendation apart from this panel? im looking for either a 22" or 24".

surprisingly no post-sitex MO on LCDs this time.. so sad..

Pricey...? You are aware the cheapest PVA/IPS panel for 24" is at least 900 right?

lifesgood
19-12-2008, 11:40 AM
Pricey...? You are aware the cheapest PVA/IPS panel for 24" is at least 900 right?

recession leh.. must tighten wallet liao..

u must be rich la.. $700+ and you can label it as cheap.. i poor man dun have such luxury :look:

Success
19-12-2008, 11:43 AM
Is the stand for this IPS monitor height adjustable, can tilt?

2493hm has a 4-way adjustable stand – height, swivel, tilt, pivot

http://www.samsung.com/us/consumer/detail/detail.do?group=computersperipherals&type=monitors&subtype=lcd&model_cd=LS24KIEEFV/XAA

galapogos
19-12-2008, 12:40 PM

u must be rich la.. $700+ and you can label it as cheap.. i poor man dun have such luxury :look:

If you can't afford it, then just get either a 22", or a TN panel.

Vulpix
19-12-2008, 01:03 PM

I'm not rich, but this isn't a poor man's monitor in the first place, plus it's cheaper than the competitors? I don't understand what you are trying to say.

AttentioN
19-12-2008, 03:31 PM
It's considered as a premium panel, and yes it's 8bit standard. Only TN panels are 6bit.

Thanks. im seriously considering this panel..
i've seen the display at SLS at lvl 4 beside the lift.. thats about it, cant spot any shops displaying this panel.

Off track a little: Are there 22" IPS panels in sls?

dreamer_toons
19-12-2008, 06:06 PM
Is the stand for this IPS monitor height adjustable, can tilt?

2493hm has a 4-way adjustable stand – height, swivel, tilt, pivot

http://www.samsung.com/us/consumer/detail/detail.do?group=computersperipherals&type=monitors&subtype=lcd&model_cd=LS24KIEEFV/XAA

It is height and tilt adjustable, swivel left and right and rotate to a portrait orientation.

nacnac74
19-12-2008, 06:14 PM
Bought mine at bell recently..

galapogos
20-12-2008, 12:50 AM
Just bought mine at Bell just now. Using it now :D

Success
20-12-2008, 10:30 AM
i saw this monitor. colors very sharp.

But no hdmi, wasted.

Any problem with dead pixels for this monitor?

What the warranty and dead pixel policy for this model?

Vulpix
20-12-2008, 10:49 AM
i saw this monitor. colors very sharp.

But no hdmi, wasted.

Any problem with dead pixels for this monitor?

What the warranty and dead pixel policy for this model?

According to MT and the FAQ on philips' site, it 3 pixels, can be a combination of dead and bright ones. This monitor after being calibrated looks brilliant for photowork. Was able to get very close results to printing.

galapogos
20-12-2008, 02:50 PM
IIRC from the salesperson talking to me, 1st year is 3 dead pixels, after that 4 dead pixels until end of warranty.

I tested mine prior to buying it, no dead pixels as far as I can tell.

kurenai_89
20-12-2008, 11:38 PM
IIRC from the salesperson talking to me, 1st year is 3 dead pixels, after that 4 dead pixels until end of warranty.

I tested mine prior to buying it, no dead pixels as far as I can tell.

panel is LPL panel....lg and philps joint venture de lah....dun have to worry....at least korea panels are way much better..hence explains the pixel warranty...its lower compared to most brands...

[Mubiq]
21-12-2008, 12:53 AM
any place to get this monitor and allow one to test prior purchasing? wanna test for dead pixels

kurenai_89
21-12-2008, 01:28 AM
can get at SLS....testing will not guarantee tt they will change a new set for u oso...most of em dont cover first wk one to one anymore....prices of the panels are dropping...maybe u can try gettin it at funan...those more reputable shops....

galapogos
21-12-2008, 01:31 AM
Can test on the spot what, that's what I did. Just ask.

ImaFreak
21-12-2008, 12:28 PM
can someone pls help me measure thhe minimum height of the panel from the table ?
thanx

galapogos
21-12-2008, 01:01 PM
Don't have a ruler. Slightly more than 3 fingers for landscape. Goes all the way down to touch the stand for potrait.

ImaFreak
21-12-2008, 01:02 PM
Don't have a ruler. Slightly more than 3 fingers for landscape. Goes all the way down to touch the stand for potrait.

more than 3fingers? oh...ok....thx

elu
21-12-2008, 11:44 PM
Off track a little: Are there 22" IPS panels in sls?

Nope, most, if not all 22" panels are TN. But definitely none below $500.

AttentioN
22-12-2008, 01:17 AM
Nope, most, if not all 22" panels are TN. But definitely none below $500.

After doing some reading, the next best for 22" is probably VA panels, PVA panel.. one of them is HP LP2275W. but i cant locate this moniter in sls at all. most on display are 2207 :look:

Tremonti
22-12-2008, 11:01 AM

Probably you don't need such a good monitor then. As a semi-professional photographer, an IPS monitor is a must have and this is probably the cheapest I have seen. A VA or PVA simply won't do the job as well when colour accuracy is a must have, and you don't really want to gamble with a less accurate monitor when the pay cheque is in question.

galapogos
22-12-2008, 01:45 PM
Well, there's always CRT, if you can still find a 24" FDTrinitron. :)

undised
22-12-2008, 01:55 PM
After doing some reading, the next best for 22" is probably VA panels, PVA panel.. one of them is HP LP2275W. but i cant locate this moniter in sls at all. most on display are 2207 :look:

non-TN panels for 22" are rare in SLS, and they are not cheap comparatively.
if you are able to accept 24" and willing to part with at least $725, then buying this Philips 240PW9EB/69 may save you considerable effort and time.

moreover, IPS panels are superior to VA, PVA panels. Even their gaming performance is better than the VAs, PVAs.

this LCD monitor is affordable enough for those who dislike TN panels, albeit it's lack of certain ports for more connectivity.

AttentioN
22-12-2008, 04:21 PM
non-TN panels for 22" are rare in SLS, and they are not cheap comparatively.
if you are able to accept 24" and willing to part with at least $725, then buying this Philips 240PW9EB/69 may save you considerable effort and time.

moreover, IPS panels are superior to VA, PVA panels. Even their gaming performance is better than the VAs, PVAs.

this LCD monitor is affordable enough for those who dislike TN panels, albeit it's lack of certain ports for more connectivity.

Thats the thing. Im willing to pay for quality..moreover, this is already the cheapest IPS available to consumer.

I just wish they have smaller size, cos smaller means, lesser heat, lesser power consumption.

I guess i will settle for the philips 24".

lifesgood
22-12-2008, 08:08 PM
Probably you don't need such a good monitor then. As a semi-professional photographer, an IPS monitor is a must have and this is probably the cheapest I have seen. A VA or PVA simply won't do the job as well when colour accuracy is a must have, and you don't really want to gamble with a less accurate monitor when the pay cheque is in question.

true.. cannot take chance when it comes to paycheck..

if you guys dun mind? can recommend 22" or 24" LCD that is next best following a IPS monitor? i'm totally noob at the functions and quality. is there a comprehensive website for me to do some reading up?

AttentioN
23-12-2008, 12:19 AM
I just got this monitor today!! Gonna get it calibrated (spyder2) tomorrow.
However, i found at least 1 defect. on the bottom right side of the panel, there seem to be a gap, between the panel and the bezel. Im sure this is manufacturer defect right?

Secondly, theres a buzzing sound from the rear of the panel.. is this normal or what?

Anyway, I just love the viewing angle.

AttentioN
23-12-2008, 12:21 AM
true.. cannot take chance when it comes to paycheck..

if you guys dun mind? can recommend 22" or 24" LCD that is next best following a IPS monitor? i'm totally noob at the functions and quality. is there a comprehensive website for me to do some reading up?

Let me help you on this.
http://www.prad.de/en/monitore/buyers-guide/start.html
http://www.tftcentral.co.uk/

check on their buyer's guide.

22" S-PVA HP 2275w if i recall correctly. http://h10010.www1.hp.com/wwpc/sg/en/sm/WF06a/382087-382087-64283-3884471-3884471-3648453.html

lifesgood
23-12-2008, 09:30 AM
Let me help you on this.
http://www.prad.de/en/monitore/buyers-guide/start.html
http://www.tftcentral.co.uk/

check on their buyer's guide.

22" S-PVA HP 2275w if i recall correctly. http://h10010.www1.hp.com/wwpc/sg/en/sm/WF06a/382087-382087-64283-3884471-3884471-3648453.html

many thanks bro.

epilau
24-12-2008, 10:48 PM

Today I went down to Funan Challenger store to look for this monitor happened no stock available in the store at this moment but required me to make pre-order from them to collect in the next trip.
The priced quoted was $739 w/o discount with a note 0 dead pixel warranty stated beside the display set. They offerred the DP check for you after payment at the counter.
2 weeks ago I ever saw a Philips brochure in SLS stated that this monitor offer with a extra HDMI to DVI cable as a free gift besides its original DVI cable in the box.
This time when I asked the saleman in Challenger about it but replied that no free gift given that come with the box but as a goodwill he can give me 1 extra DVI cable if I buy from him.
Can any one of you or the distributor to clarify the doubt that what gifts will be given away with the purchase of this monitor at this moment. Is the promotion already over this time.
I will come down to collect this pre-orderd monitor once they confirmed stock.
Thanks.

lancelot77
24-12-2008, 11:26 PM
Today I went down to Funan Challenger store to look for this monitor happened no stock available in the store at this moment but required me to make pre-order from them to collect in the next trip.
The priced quoted was $739 w/o discount with a note 0 dead pixel warranty stated beside the display set. They offerred the DP check for you after payment at the counter.
2 weeks ago I ever saw a Philips brochure in SLS stated that this monitor offer with a extra HDMI to DVI cable as a free gift besides its original DVI cable in the box.
This time when I asked the saleman in Challenger about it but replied that no free gift given that come with the box but as a goodwill he can give me 1 extra DVI cable if I buy from him.
Can any one of you or the distributor to clarify the doubt that what gifts will be given away with the purchase of this monitor at this moment. Is the promotion already over this time.
Thanks.

I got this monitor from Bell at SLS on Sunday. Was given a Philips mobile phone and a DVI to HDMI cable. However, dun have 0 dead pixel warranty. 1st yr 2 defective pixels warranty. 2nd yr and above, 3 defective pixels warranty. Got it at a 2% discount for cash payment so only paid $724. Hope this info helps :)

dylanyeo
24-12-2008, 11:37 PM
Hi guys i got lobang for samsung 2493hm at $500, pm me at my inbox. HURRY left 3 sets only.

epilau
25-12-2008, 12:44 AM
I got this monitor from Bell at SLS on Sunday. Was given a Philips mobile phone and a DVI to HDMI cable. However, dun have 0 dead pixel warranty. 1st yr 2 defective pixels warranty. 2nd yr and above, 3 defective pixels warranty. Got it at a 2% discount for cash payment so only paid $724. Hope this info helps :)

I am wonder about these freebies are offerred by Philips its own promotion or individuals store themselve. If it is from Philips itself then it should be standardised offer irregardless which shop that you are buying from. You should get DVI cable + extra DVI to HDMI cable according to its brochure advertised till promotion ended at expired date. It seem to me is from Philips promotion.
Can distributor come in to clarify. As a customer concerned is very confussing.
Thanks in advance.

galapogos
25-12-2008, 01:20 AM
When I bought it, the promotion was still on, so I had the same deal as lancelot77, except I seem to remember the 1st year is 3 dead pixels while the rest of the wty is 4 dead pixels?

Anyway, the free gift and HDMI cable wasn't given by the shop I bought from(Bell) but from the Philips reps themselves. The guy even went up to Bell with me to collect the monitor, then come down and settle the free gifts, wty card etc as well as test the monitor on the spot.

undised
25-12-2008, 02:07 AM
Thanks.

yes, there was this promotion around 2 weeks ago during the SITEX period at SLS, and could still be on-going. However, it might be a promotion exclusively to the purchases made in SLS only.

the 0 dead pixel warranty you have mentioned is puzzling because according to the Philips rep on their pixel policy for this monitor, it is certainly not as what you have being promised. I would suspect that it's a guarantee from Challenger that the one you purchased will have 0 dead pixel.

probably if no payment has been made, you might want to cancel the pre-order and purchase it at SLS.

dreamer_toons
25-12-2008, 10:13 AM
I just got this monitor today!! Gonna get it calibrated (spyder2) tomorrow.
However, i found at least 1 defect. on the bottom right side of the panel, there seem to be a gap, between the panel and the bezel. Im sure this is manufacturer defect right?

Secondly, theres a buzzing sound from the rear of the panel.. is this normal or what?

Anyway, I just love the viewing angle.

I have the gap there as well and it extends from the left to right; so I feel it is not really a defect since it is consistently along the length.

AttentioN
25-12-2008, 11:00 AM
I am wonder about these freebies are offerred by Philips its own promotion or individuals store themselve. If it is from Philips itself then it should be standardised offer irregardless which shop that you are buying from. You should get DVI cable + extra DVI to HDMI cable according to its brochure advertised till promotion ended at expired date. It seem to me is from Philips promotion.
Can distributor come in to clarify. As a customer concerned is very confussing.
Thanks in advance.

I think the HDMI to DVI freebie is really freebie. I bought from philips direct. it doesnt come with that cable. i think this should clear up. But definitely the DVI cable should be there irregardless of promotion or not.

AttentioN
25-12-2008, 11:02 AM
I have the gap there as well and it extends from the left to right; so I feel it is not really a defect since it is consistently along the length.

Yours extends from left to right which is consistent, mine isnt. it only happen at the bottom right. Also, theres quite irritating audible buzzing noise. I notice this happens when the set is first out of the box when i change the brightness value. Then, then the next morning, regardless of brightness value, it still buzz!

Now i have the set so called serviced by philips.
I feel the gap part is due to sub standard assembly process.

I hope i get a better set.:)

galapogos
25-12-2008, 12:54 PM
How do you guys calibrate an LCD?

AttentioN
26-12-2008, 06:52 AM
How do you guys calibrate an LCD?

Spyder2 pro.

Does ur unit have buzzing noise?

ShAd3
26-12-2008, 09:33 AM
Hi guys i got lobang for samsung 2493hm at $500, pm me at my inbox. HURRY left 3 sets only.

just bought mine at 581 :(

MichaelTan
26-12-2008, 09:35 AM
this is an 8 bit panel. It does not mean that all IPS have to be 8 bit, but in recent times, I cannot at all recall any IPS panel with 6 bit.

galapogos
26-12-2008, 01:31 PM
Spyder2 pro.

Does ur unit have buzzing noise?

Nope, no noise.

nacnac74
26-12-2008, 11:32 PM
No noise also

AttentioN
27-12-2008, 01:06 AM
Weird. Is it me or you guys find it very mild?
I turn off everything in my room except the monitor just to make sure it comes from the monitor. And its definitely irritating.

Im now waitiing for a replacement set.

9xcalibur9
27-12-2008, 03:02 AM
Guys I signed up especially just to ask you this:

Is this monitor any good for the HARDCORE gamer?
I mean, does it have any input-lag whatsoever?

Please respond ASAP as it's likely to put an ending to alot of misery and suffering :\

galapogos
27-12-2008, 10:31 AM
attention i can't hear it over my case fans at least. you probably have a faulty set, a buzzing noise usually comes from the power supply.

9xcalibur, i'm not a hardcore gamer but i don't feel any input-lag whatsoever when playing games. and right before this i was on a CRT so that's my reference.

Vulpix
27-12-2008, 11:05 AM
attention i can't hear it over my case fans at least. you probably have a faulty set, a buzzing noise usually comes from the power supply.

9xcalibur, i'm not a hardcore gamer but i don't feel any input-lag whatsoever when playing games. and right before this i was on a CRT so that's my reference.

I play a lot of games like COD5 and TF2, and I have yet to encounter any real lag.

AttentioN
27-12-2008, 11:55 AM

Yeah you are right usually buzzing is from the power supply. same with my old 17" philips set also, they replace the powersupply and the problem is gone. so i suspect i got a faulty set from philips.

Alright, have you calibrated your set? the default brightnes 100% is just insane.

nacnac74
27-12-2008, 01:23 PM
I turn down the brightness to 40%.

galapogos
27-12-2008, 03:07 PM
No I haven't calibrated. Not sure how to. But yes the default brightness 100% is insane for night time. Day time still not so bad...but still I've tuned it down :)

epilau
27-12-2008, 06:09 PM
Why not share you best calibrated result datas over here for whose owners of this monitor. i.e. brightness, contrast, colors......etc..
Best picture is subjective to individuals but i.e. 100% brightness default most likely unacceptable to people in large so the given result can help to fine tune to a good range +/-.
Thanks in advance sharing.

9xcalibur9
27-12-2008, 11:14 PM
What about viewing angles?
Phlips' website shows this midel as a 160 degrees all rounder.
That's not 178 I believe...

galapogos
27-12-2008, 11:45 PM
It's an IPS panel. No issues with viewing angles.

Fatfool
29-12-2008, 10:56 PM
Guys I signed up especially just to ask you this:

Is this monitor any good for the HARDCORE gamer?
I mean, does it have any input-lag whatsoever?

Please respond ASAP as it's likely to put an ending to alot of misery and suffering :\
modern LCDs (and i mean those produced in the last 4 years or so) don't have visible response times. even supposedly slow panels like IPS ones don't display such symtoms. I've been using a Dell 2007WFP for 2 years+ now. its an IPS panel and I play online shooters a lot.

Fatfool
29-12-2008, 10:59 PM
btw, I don't see this model on display at SLS..... SLS displays lots of lower models but not this one....

kurenai_89
30-12-2008, 10:07 AM
modern LCDs (and i mean those produced in the last 4 years or so) don't have visible response times. even supposedly slow panels like IPS ones don't display such symtoms. I've been using a Dell 2007WFP for 2 years+ now. its an IPS panel and I play online shooters a lot.

yea no worries...cuz u see...all response time...the slowest for IPS is like 12MS....ms is mini second....naked eyes cant c the diff...too fast :D

Vulpix
30-12-2008, 10:33 AM
btw, I don't see this model on display at SLS..... SLS displays lots of lower models but not this one....

4th floor got one Philips booth, I saw the monitor there 2 days ago. :)

delson_tan
30-12-2008, 07:18 PM
yea no worries...cuz u see...all response time...the slowest for IPS is like 12MS....ms is mini second....naked eyes cant c the diff...too fast :D

It's suppose to be milliseconds not mini. :s13:

I agree that our eyes can't process so fast that we will notice the difference. Eg. if you have 7 colours of the rainbow evenly divided on a circle, spin the circle and you will only see white. I believe when we spin that circle, its speed isn't even comparable with that of the monitors.

kurenai_89
30-12-2008, 09:18 PM
It's suppose to be milliseconds not mini. :s13:

I agree that our eyes can't process so fast that we will notice the difference. Eg. if you have 7 colours of the rainbow evenly divided on a circle, spin the circle and you will only see white. I believe when we spin that circle, its speed isn't even comparable with that of the monitors.

hahahha!!! yea its miliseconds....nt mini...my bad...typo error

system028
30-12-2008, 10:16 PM
Hi, get this model from SLS 2 week ago, to replace my cheap old 17'' CRT monitor. so far so good, but this monitor hit up quite fast and hot after using it for an hour. especially top and front side, you can feel the hit if you sit near.

Errz
30-12-2008, 11:50 PM
Hi, get this model from SLS 2 week ago, to replace my cheap old 17'' CRT monitor. so far so good, but this monitor hit up quite fast and hot after using it for an hour. especially top and front side, you can feel the hit if you sit near.

now thats new.. monitor hit u? :P

Heat u mean. :s13:

falconix
31-12-2008, 03:20 PM
i jus posted a thread on wad type of lcd to get.. n i happen to see the thread here...

i heard about the spyder pro 2... can u guys help to share the setting? coz if i not wrong.. spyder hae to get it rite?

Errz
31-12-2008, 03:49 PM
i jus posted a thread on wad type of lcd to get.. n i happen to see the thread here...

i heard about the spyder pro 2... can u guys help to share the setting? coz if i not wrong.. spyder hae to get it rite?

eh .do u guys know what the hardware calibration is for?

for normal user, u dont even need the hardware to calibrate . just use software calibration will do.

not like u need high degree of color accuracy for photo/video editing. its a waste of money. or if u die die want to have it (monkey see monkey do) , u dont need to buy the pro version, a normal Spyder2express will do. best, share with friends. cause trust me, u will only do it once and thats it.

Please try software calibration first. dont follow what other do/buy blindly. also. ur setting might not suits the other because there are alot things to take into consideration. like room lighting, etc. if sharing setting works, then why buy the hardware?

The most common form of calibration aims at adjusting monitors and printers for photographic reproduction. The aim is that a printed copy of a photograph appears identical in saturation and dynamic range to the source file on a computer display.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Color_calibration

system028
31-12-2008, 06:21 PM
Errz,
My typo error Hit = Heat

Got the hit fm you.

Thks

AttentioN
31-12-2008, 06:23 PM
eh .do u guys know what the hardware calibration is for?

for normal user, u dont even need the hardware to calibrate . just use software calibration will do.

not like u need high degree of color accuracy for photo/video editing. its a waste of money. or if u die die want to have it (monkey see monkey do) , u dont need to buy the pro version, a normal Spyder2express will do. best, share with friends. cause trust me, u will only do it once and thats it.

Please try software calibration first. dont follow what other do/buy blindly. also. ur setting might not suits the other because there are alot things to take into consideration. like room lighting, etc. if sharing setting works, then why buy the hardware?

The most common form of calibration aims at adjusting monitors and printers for photographic reproduction. The aim is that a printed copy of a photograph appears identical in saturation and dynamic range to the source file on a computer display.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Color_calibration

I agree. For myself, i share the spyder2 with my friend. so it doesnt hurt my pocket that bad. but just from the average spyderr2 colorimeter, i can see the difference it made to colors as a whole. its much more pleasing to the eye to say the least.

Oh yes, try software calibration first.

Errz
31-12-2008, 10:23 PM
I agree. For myself, i share the spyder2 with my friend. so it doesnt hurt my pocket that bad. but just from the average spyderr2 colorimeter, i can see the difference it made to colors as a whole. its much more pleasing to the eye to say the least.

Oh yes, try software calibration first.

from what i know, not everyone will accept the calibrated color.

that is why, if u r not doing serious photo or video editing, go for software calibration. save the money to get something else better. as mention , FOR SURE , once u calibrate it , u will never use it again.

Only for professional photo/video editor, they will usually calibrate it once per month or so. The older ur monitor, the more u will calibrate it. But for normal user, why would u want to do that? I bet u wont even notice any color change/shift. If u do see the change/shift very often, its time to get a new monitor.

U dont need the spyder2 colorimeter to notice the difference, the software will have the same effect if u follow the instruction carefully.

but then, if u guys want to spend the money, go ahead. heh

nacnac74
31-12-2008, 11:29 PM
Itz a mental thingy....

galapogos
31-12-2008, 11:38 PM
Sorry but how does software calibration work. Wouldn't it need some feedback from either a human being or a calibration hardware device? How can the software automatically tell if the displayed colors are accurate?

Errz
01-01-2009, 12:10 AM
Sorry but how does software calibration work. Wouldn't it need some feedback from either a human being or a calibration hardware device? How can the software automatically tell if the displayed colors are accurate?

http://www.drycreekphoto.com/Learn/monitor_calibration.htm

anyway, I understand the mentality of human, usually they Want more than Need. monkey see monkey do. heh.

Just offering my 2cent. if really want a hardware calibration, dont need to go for the expensive one, go for something like spyder2express. it is really good enuff for casual user.

Surreal4
03-01-2009, 01:55 PM
Just to update, stocks are running low.

Fuwell left 3pcs

Bell left 1pcs

Next shipment have to wait till mid of Feb. :)

Webbyboy
04-01-2009, 08:42 PM
wow must go down take a look,
maybe samsung will be coming out a 24" IPS to fight with philips/LG
Is LG having similiar model?

Don't think Samsung will ever use IPS since they created PVAs...

[Mubiq]
14-01-2009, 12:58 AM
Just bought one unit today and discovered bright green dot.... Where to do 1-to-1 exchange? Convergent in Albert Complex, #11-01?

http://img407.imageshack.us/img407/4807/dscf3525yc9.jpg
gd luck. how many pixel defects u have?
u need a min amt before u can exchange

Buzybee
14-01-2009, 10:56 AM
too bad, this monitor does not have separate HDMI slot...

galapogos
14-01-2009, 01:48 PM
You should've tested the the monitor before buying, no?

ultimax
14-01-2009, 05:11 PM
Just be careful, don't accept opened/resealed box. If told no stock, don't buy;somehow the salesgirl can locate new one.

Yes, only allowed to check after payment. Better than nothing

galapogos
14-01-2009, 07:32 PM
No retailer will open up their merchandise for you to test before buying = payment. U can only test after you've paid for it. Have you bought anything from SLS lately?

Yes, it was tested briefly but one can't perform a thorough checking in Sim Lim Sq, can one?
Esp so on a 24" LCD panel where there are 1920 x 1200 pixels to be checked & verified working. Try it yourself, see if u can do a testing of a Philips 240PW9EB/69 before buying = payment at SLS.

I ran thorough LCD panel testing programs at home. That's when the dead/bright pixels & uneven colour intensity distribution issues are detectable when your eyes are 10 cm from them.

fyi, I bought this exact same monitor at SLS, and I tested the monitor prior to payment. If you weren't able to do it, don't assume others can't, especially with such a condescending tone.

Cheers.

Success
15-01-2009, 12:24 PM
No retailer will open up their merchandise for you to test before buying = payment. U can only test after you've paid for it. Have you bought anything from SLS lately?

Yes, it was tested briefly but one can't perform a thorough checking in Sim Lim Sq, can one?
Esp so on a 24" LCD panel where there are 1920 x 1200 pixels to be checked & verified working. Try it yourself, see if u can do a testing of a Philips 240PW9EB/69 before buying = payment at SLS.

I ran thorough LCD panel testing programs at home. That's when the dead/bright pixels & uneven colour intensity distribution issues are detectable when your eyes are 10 cm from them.

Which shop you bought from?

What testing programs did you used?

ronnie
16-01-2009, 08:22 AM
Just be careful, don't accept opened/resealed box. If told no stock, don't buy;somehow the salesgirl can locate new one.

Yes, only allowed to check after payment. Better than nothing

I totally agreed with you. However most of them have packing tape, and even open pack can be sealed like new.

Buying a new monitor without any pixel defects is like buying lottery. Testing does not necessary eliminate the defects as sometimes it surfaces only after a period of constant use.

Despite the above, it is still better to check first, Therefore best to go during weekdays when it is not so crowded. If weekends try going before 12.

trickle_on
16-01-2009, 12:40 PM
Ok guys, some capitaland vouchers just fell into my lap 2 days ago. Been considering this monitor, possibly from Challenger Funan as they offered me 7 days 1-1 exchange for any dead/bright pixel.

Am currently using a 20 inch Dell IPS Monitor.

Is it worth upgrading to this 24 incher or should I just take the DELL 27 inch (2709W)?

athenaesword
25-01-2009, 02:08 AM
fyi, I bought this exact same monitor at SLS, and I tested the monitor prior to payment. If you weren't able to do it, don't assume others can't, especially with such a condescending tone.

Cheers.

hey could you share which shop you bought from?

trickle_on
25-01-2009, 04:57 PM
Just got hold of this set on Friday. Opened today to discover.....NO bright or dead pixels!

Great monitor. Went from a 20" IPS to 24" IPS. Thought I would not be able to tell the difference, but this monitor is huge.

After deducting some vouchers and offsetting against the sale of my old monitor, I paid $375 for this!

rpcosta
26-01-2009, 03:06 AM
Hello,

What can you tell me about input lag and noise? Does it have a moderately low input lag like the HP LP2475W?

Is it also silent like the HP LP2475W or does it make buzzing/whining noise?

deathdealer
26-01-2009, 03:46 AM
buzzing noise ? last time my new lcd had this problem, i call the technician to my house they brought the lcd back and replaced the panel. probably the panel fault.

athenaesword
26-01-2009, 10:54 AM
Hello,

What can you tell me about input lag and noise? Does it have a moderately low input lag like the HP LP2475W?

Is it also silent like the HP LP2475W or does it make buzzing/whining noise?

aren't they the essentially the same panel, just that the HP has alot more connections?

athenaesword
30-01-2009, 12:43 PM
looks like everywhere oos for this model. any idea when stocks comin in?

LIN_JOEL
30-01-2009, 11:24 PM
looks like everywhere oos for this model. any idea when stocks comin in?

end of feb as was told today. can leave contact n payment for reserved if u wan :s8:

athenaesword
31-01-2009, 12:11 AM
end of feb as was told today. can leave contact n payment for reserved if u wan :s8:

yeah i did. lol knn i called this morning was told left 3 pieces. went down 2 hours later all sold out since I called. and i was also told will come end feb.

trickle_on
31-01-2009, 12:51 PM
yeah i did. lol knn i called this morning was told left 3 pieces. went down 2 hours later all sold out since I called. and i was also told will come end feb.

When stock comes in, do ask them to reserve a set for you so that your trip will not be in vain.

athenaesword
31-01-2009, 01:00 PM
When stock comes in, do ask them to reserve a set for you so that your trip will not be in vain.

yeah they've taken my contact down. i'm just stoned about the fact that i have to wait another month. especially since I took awhile to come to the decision to make purchase. just goes to show that some things can't wait haha.

btw trickle, do you see a difference between ips and other panels for high definition movies? do accurate colours usually translate to my vibrant or better reproduction for you in general, or are they mainly just better for photoeditting?

takumee
31-01-2009, 03:31 PM
My qualms with this monitor is that it is quite a heat emitter. Please take note if you are getting it. Otherwise, colours are accurate though the wide viewable angle is rather misleading.

Btw, how do you guys calibrate your monitor?

athenaesword
31-01-2009, 03:32 PM
My qualms with this monitor is that it is quite a heat emitted. Please note

that shouldn't be a problem; it's not like i'm touching the panel.

delson_tan
01-02-2009, 08:47 AM
Where did you all get this monitor?

Saw a promotion for it with free mobile phone and HDMI to DVI cable at SLS, but when I asked about the monitor pixel policy at 4th floor Philips booth, they said need 3 to change, even if we test on the spot!! So it will be based on your luck that day.

Any recommendations on where I can test for a good set on the spot before paying?

athenaesword
01-02-2009, 10:11 AM
Where did you all get this monitor?

Saw a promotion for it with free mobile phone and HDMI to DVI cable at SLS, but when I asked about the monitor pixel policy at 4th floor Philips booth, they said need 3 to change, even if we test on the spot!! So it will be based on your luck that day.

Any recommendations on where I can test for a good set on the spot before paying?

did you read the last page of this thread? no stock mate.