PDA

View Full Version : The soccer boots thread

CrossOver
04-11-2008, 02:40 PM
Hi guys.. Just curious.. When you are looking for that new boots, you choose because of your favourite player wore those boots or because it conforms to your feet?

For me, I start off with a low end model diadora boots before moving on to a mid range model lotto.. Then I start to spend a little bit more since what you pay is what you get.. Those two boots doesnt last me long at all..

My first expensive boot i got was a puma king which lasted me long until it got stolen.. Then I tried adidas copa mundial which was great! But unfortunately the sole gave way to my surprise but it is sweet while it lasted.. Now I switch back to puma king and a spare nike noventa..

Im playing mostly defensive mid so I dun need a light shoe like nike mecurial which is mostly for strikers.. I have a regular type feet also.. My next boot I wanna try is predator or puma konstrukt..

How bout you guys.. What boots you using now and ur next intend boots?

Deunamist
04-11-2008, 03:00 PM
I had a pair of Lottos since I was P2 before moving onto Adidas. have two pairs of Adidas (one bought when i was P6) and another bought last year.

admit when I was younger I wanted Predators because they were worn by many stars, but I got a cheaper pair of copa mundials instead.

only bought my first pair of Predators last year because I joined a amateur team, and have not kick ball since leaving secondary school, so needed a pair to kick around in (the old pair cannot fit liao lah of course :s13:)

have considered Tunits before but didn't like the feel when I put them on.

ultimately i am satisfied with the Predators i bought because they are comfortable when i wear them, almost like a perfect fit.

too bad i don't play professional football if not I will get my Predators customise with name, number and national flag, and what's most important a perfect fit to my feet. can be done at Cathay and Vivo but is damn costly.

next intended most probably either another Predator or if got money try adiPures.. don't intend to move away from Adidas comfort zone.

CrossOver
04-11-2008, 03:58 PM
Wah my next intend boot.. Predator.. Hows the performance man? Like normall passing to crossing and long ball?? You bought the soft ground or hard ground? And whats the damage??

And talking abt customising, any boots can is it? Will it affect the integrity of the boot? Especially those non-leather..

bwaysaibi
04-11-2008, 04:21 PM
last boot wearing was the adidas predator accelerator "neon yellow" boots
my fav so far, but havent played for a few yrs
really comfortable but its like an old old version of predator i think 2nd version iirc

get something comfy most impt
and for me is how much "feel" i canget of the ball with the boots on

Deunamist
04-11-2008, 04:23 PM
i bought from champion sports.. last season's edition that's why cheaper.. around $55. i think it is for FG. i usually play on artificial turf at SAFRA tamp. don't really like to play grass nowadays cause rain alot, i hate the cleaning up :s13:

Didjerama
04-11-2008, 04:27 PM
I find Lotto to be the best cos of the following reasons:

1) I find the boots light and the leather not too thick so i can kick hard like as though im barefoot but wont feel the pain

2) I find i get more curve of the ball from Lotto boots. sometimes the curve is so bad that when i shoot to my right the ball swerves towards the middle.

3) Last longer

Predator: Tried before, comes apart quite easily and i find the leather just too uncomfortable. like its too thick

i learn to stop buying from nike and adidas cos they tend to have short lifespan.

by the way, im also not a fan of the 4 by 2 studs...i feel like i walking on high heel shoes..i prefer the 9 by 4 round studs..

also not a fan of the blade studs but prefer the round ones

hanlsn
06-11-2008, 10:07 PM
6 by 2 is classic rugby boots is GOOD

hanlsn
06-11-2008, 10:08 PM
I find Lotto to be the best cos of the following reasons:

1) I find the boots light and the leather not too thick so i can kick hard like as though im barefoot but wont feel the pain

2) I find i get more curve of the ball from Lotto boots. sometimes the curve is so bad that when i shoot to my right the ball swerves towards the middle.

3) Last longer

Predator: Tried before, comes apart quite easily and i find the leather just too uncomfortable. like its too thick

i learn to stop buying from nike and adidas cos they tend to have short lifespan.

by the way, im also not a fan of the 4 by 2 studs...i feel like i walking on high heel shoes..i prefer the 9 by 4 round studs..

also not a fan of the blade studs but prefer the round ones
Show me a picture of 4 by 2 i never see before sia

I have only seen 6 minus 2 by 2

Overture1928
07-11-2008, 12:23 AM
Hi guys.. Just curious.. When you are looking for that new boots, you choose because of your favourite player wore those boots or because it conforms to your feet?

For me, I start off with a low end model diadora boots before moving on to a mid range model lotto.. Then I start to spend a little bit more since what you pay is what you get.. Those two boots doesnt last me long at all..

My first expensive boot i got was a puma king which lasted me long until it got stolen.. Then I tried adidas copa mundial which was great! But unfortunately the sole gave way to my surprise but it is sweet while it lasted.. Now I switch back to puma king and a spare nike noventa..

Im playing mostly defensive mid so I dun need a light shoe like nike mecurial which is mostly for strikers.. I have a regular type feet also.. My next boot I wanna try is predator or puma konstrukt..

How bout you guys.. What boots you using now and ur next intend boots?

No particular model. It depends on the feel when I lace them up

Ronaldo_7
07-11-2008, 01:33 PM
currently wearing the 2nd grade of Adidas Predator Absolute... white base with blue stripes and tongue..

1st pair in P.Sch was a cheapo Puma boots ($40) for my ECA which was soccer.. but couldnt get into the team.. next pair was an Adidas (duno the model) which cost me ard $50.. bought it in sec sch as my friends were playing quite regularly.. then long time didnt use.. broke when i used it.. following which.. Nike Tiempo (lowest grade) which i shared with my bro.. the sole came off after a couple of mths during a game...

what i feel is.. get something u like and fit u well.. not something because ur fav player wears them.. the person using it is urself afterall.. so cater to ur own needs.. :)

MauL
08-11-2008, 10:13 AM
I wld choose a pair tat fit my feet snug. which sadly only limit to 5 pairs in 11 yrs time; reebook sidewinder, Adidas Accelerator, Adidas Karnivor, Mizuno Neogrado 2 and the latest, Nike Super Ligera.

Accelerator was possibly the best boots i ever owned, packed a good shoot and it's light.

PS: I have a pair of Grade 1 Adidas Predator Absolute. K-leather. White base with blue stripes and tongue for sale. Bought it at 270. Letting go at 100. Cond: 7/10. JP size 260.

UnoMomento
09-11-2008, 12:31 AM
Yours truly is using a pair of adiPure FG boots. Thumbs up for its comfort and affordability (Compared to those Nike Vapors) :D, really love them. Have been using them for a couple of months only though, hope that they are durable.

https://chicagosoccer.3dcartstores.com/assets/images/adipure_fg_wb.jpg

CrossOver
09-11-2008, 09:55 AM
Yours truly is using a pair of adiPure FG boots. Thumbs up for its comfort and affordability (Compared to those Nike Vapors) :D, really love them. Have been using them for a couple of months only though, hope that they are durable.

Nice pair of boots! I had never seen that model before.. Whats the damage for it?

From the picture it looks like leather skin.. I have always like adidas boots cos of my wide feet.. And the feel with the ball i get with them.. But not all the boots are for regular feet..

karatekidalexo
09-11-2008, 01:20 PM
I prefer the Puma V1.08 for its anatomical fit. Puma 4 Life!!http://www.prodirectsoccer.com/prod_images/zoom/PDS002010530.jpg

CrossOver
09-11-2008, 06:26 PM
That is a mid fielder or striker boots? From the pic, dont look like its leather made.. But nice though.. How much that puma cost?

karatekidalexo
10-11-2008, 06:48 PM
That is a mid fielder or striker boots? From the pic, dont look like its leather made.. But nice though.. How much that puma cost?
It is made for wingers/strikers brought mine for SGD$199 @ weston sports at Queensway SC,
the black/fluro. yellow version. IT is made from cloth.:)

CrossOver
10-11-2008, 10:52 PM
For a very good pair of boots, the price tag seems affordable ya.. But the only downside is cloth.. I never seen a boot with cloth as material..

Overture1928
11-11-2008, 01:09 AM

Good pair of boots ! adiPure gives a really good feel of the ball ! But have to buy a size smaller because the leather is very soft and expands quite easily

karatekidalexo
11-11-2008, 12:43 PM
For a very good pair of boots, the price tag seems affordable ya.. But the only downside is cloth.. I never seen a boot with cloth as material..
The material is textile (some kind of fabric which has rough texture). I suppose that material is to ensure it doesn't become too heavy.

Ronaldo_7
11-11-2008, 01:22 PM
Nice pair of boots! I had never seen that model before.. Whats the damage for it?

From the picture it looks like leather skin.. I have always like adidas boots cos of my wide feet.. And the feel with the ball i get with them.. But not all the boots are for regular feet..

adiPure cost u ard 170 like that for the best grade... but some of my friends injured their ankles wearing that.. maybe because the ankle there too low? but not all users have that problem i hope.. its a nice pair of boots :)

yeah its affordable for a top grade compared to predator which will cost abit over 200...

Melimtingnian
24-11-2008, 12:06 AM
http://img530.imageshack.us/img530/135/22072007083ou4.jpg

hmmm gotten this vapour 2 years back for 233. still wearing it now.. but the sole giving way riaos.

Fabiano
01-12-2008, 04:22 PM
Im currently looking at the adipure as well.

anyone know whats the "discounted" price at queensway?

im actually comparing the prices to see if its cheaper online.

oudi0001
03-12-2008, 12:52 PM
oh hi guys... i was actually wondering if it's actually better to stitch the sole of the boots at Mr Mint. Stitch the studed sole to the leather to the boots so that the glue doesnt come apart.

does it do more good or is it just destroying the boot.

kampong boi
04-12-2008, 02:21 PM
i started off with Topper - these days you cant find 'em. okay cheap black boots. those days i followed my neighbour, go down stairs to the field and play footy, if enough small kids i play with small kids, other wise play with those teens/NS men type lor.

then i move on to Umbro, a mid range ... the Topper lasted 2-3 years ... cuz i went for a soccer clinic ...

then after the soccer clinic ... i moved on to sec sch ... CMI for the sch team then just play neighbourhood footy ... then got once my friends all wanted to buy new boots ... so went to hoot with them ... got Total 90 III, the charcoal colour lousiest grade type la... okay lor, cuz most of them getting it but dif colour and it was the cheapest, and didnt want to be left out as they got Nike or Adi.

Play here and there, then when sec 4, played more towards street soccer, sometimes follow my friends/uncle to places to play footy. then after Os bought a new one, Tiempos without Air or what ever thing inside ...

lasting till now ... maybe get a new one ... soon

choose boots that u are comfortable with ... and wad position u play also ... pls buy only FG, SG if only it rains and the ground is muddy type.

Weston corp is overrated - inflated price just because they have the rights to the latest boots when they first come to SG, u dont need the latests do u? go to some other shop in the 2nd floor and u can find them ... bargain a little and done ...

pardon if i am racist - but i prefer going to chinese boss kind of shops where it has a better bargain and overtime u become regular, they get u cheaper stuffs.

nothenorm
22-12-2008, 05:34 PM
Where is the best lobang to buy a adidas predator 2nd grade (I mean RP is about $119 or 89 at Queensway one)??

Is this the lastest model??

http://www.buy-football-boots.co.uk/product/5/7549/Adidas-Absolado-Powerswerve-Trx-Soft-Ground-Predator-Running-White-Metallic-Metallic-Silver-Black-1.html

Is queensway still the place to go???

My current predator is a K-leather (fully black with the red flip on top), the sole is falling apart just after 1 year. Play every sat.

Find adidas not the most durable but fits nicely on my feet.

poring24
22-12-2008, 06:16 PM
how do you determine the grade of a boot?

nothenorm
23-12-2008, 11:52 AM
Not too sure if there is really a grading system.

But I grade it based on 3 grades which I deduce from my own observation.

On a certain range/model of a brand say the predator i enquired. I noticed there are 3 version of that model, i.e, 1) Powerserve, K-leather (> S$200), 2) K-leather (> S$100), 3) Synthetic Material (< S$100).

Of cos there is a even cheaper version whereby the whole boots looks cheapo and the interior lining especially around the back of our feet or the ankle there, is made of cushioned fabric instead of leather like (Hope can understand what I'm saying). I definitely will not buy these grades becos it is just not comfortable lond term and blistering tends to occur more probably for me.

You can also see the differences in the material and the soles. That's how I differentiate the grades.

poring24
23-12-2008, 02:06 PM
oh, I just got a pair of tiempos from malaysia for about 149rm +20% discount, but it is the studless version with a normal plastic sole, so i'm abit confused since the FG predators i saw have studs even though they are meant for firm ground, but i dont think it matters because im intending for it to be casual wear anyway, since i don't want to hurt anyone accidentally

Edit: Oh i get it, FG doesn't mean street soccer, it simply means that its meant for dry weather and SG is probably meant for wet weather. correct me if im wrong

so mine is probably meant for futsal

Fabiano
24-12-2008, 11:20 AM
singapore pitches are mostly FGs.

Unless you play on soft muddy pitches.

revenant
25-12-2008, 09:30 PM
Any recommendation of boots for people with broad front feet like me? Currently wearing a mizuno wave but kept getting blood clot, suspect its due to the narrow front.

http://img263.imageshack.us/img263/1049/dsc01156qh4.jpg (http://img263.imageshack.us/my.php?image=dsc01156qh4.jpg)
http://img512.imageshack.us/img512/1324/dsc01153uv7.jpg (http://img512.imageshack.us/my.php?image=dsc01153uv7.jpg)
http://img388.imageshack.us/img388/4033/dsc01151yp1.jpg (http://img388.imageshack.us/my.php?image=dsc01151yp1.jpg)

Lippy_Lip
26-12-2008, 02:09 AM
Any recommendation of boots for people with broad front feet like me? Currently wearing a mizuno wave but kept getting blood clot, suspect its due to the narrow front.

http://img263.imageshack.us/img263/1049/dsc01156qh4.jpg (http://img263.imageshack.us/my.php?image=dsc01156qh4.jpg)
http://img512.imageshack.us/img512/1324/dsc01153uv7.jpg (http://img512.imageshack.us/my.php?image=dsc01153uv7.jpg)
http://img388.imageshack.us/img388/4033/dsc01151yp1.jpg (http://img388.imageshack.us/my.php?image=dsc01151yp1.jpg)

Think puma king will suit you more bro, or adidas maybe but definitely not nike vapours

MauL
26-12-2008, 10:57 AM

mizuno! one of the nicest boots ard!

hey, try Nike Super Ligera. It's uber comfy and wide in the front.
Else you can go classic, Adidas copa mundials ftw. Accelerator or karnivor are pretty good too. ,

revenant
26-12-2008, 11:17 AM
mizuno! one of the nicest boots ard!

hey, try Nike Super Ligera. It's uber comfy and wide in the front.
Else you can go classic, Adidas copa mundials ftw. Accelerator or karnivor are pretty good too. ,

bro any idea where got sell the above mentioned boots? Are they ex? Looking at under $100 boots, preferably those below $70 kind =:p

Thanks.

MauL
26-12-2008, 02:48 PM
haha. dude. u pay for the material and comfort for Ligera and copa mundials.

U can find them at queensway or penisular.
copa mundial are classic and their price reamin steady at 150.
same goes for Super Ligera, 150.

accelerator and karnivor are old stock, u can probably get them ard 120 at queensway's weston. (Provided they have your size).

Jackass43
26-12-2008, 02:59 PM
haha the memories.....

1st boot - topper brazil
2nd boot - puma king (my father passed it on to me...)
3rd boot - lotto stadio (my very first boot using my own cash....)
4th boot - adidas predator(the model below-----)
http://www.epinions.com/images/opti/57/23/sprtSoccerAdidas_Predator_Accelerator_Liga-resized200.gif

cant use nike vapor or total 90.... my feet are broad and it hurts....

MauL
26-12-2008, 03:50 PM
haha the memories.....

1st boot - topper brazil
2nd boot - puma king (my father passed it on to me...)
3rd boot - lotto stadio (my very first boot using my own cash....)
4th boot - adidas predator(the model below-----)
http://www.epinions.com/images/opti/57/23/sprtSoccerAdidas_Predator_Accelerator_Liga-resized200.gif

cant use nike vapor or total 90.... my feet are broad and it hurts....
tat's accelerator for you. one of my fav boots too.
how much you bought it for?

Boi_racer
03-01-2009, 12:57 AM

Nice boots =:p=:p

Fabiano
11-04-2009, 02:27 PM
hey i get those blood clot very often as well, expecially big toenail.

im wearing air legend which is damn slim fitting, and looking to change to super ligera.

Just checking if the sizing and fitting for super ligera is similar to air legend?

MauL
12-04-2009, 02:06 AM
i haven try legend before but Ligera is definitely not narrow fitting.

go queensway and try them out.

tag_monaco
14-08-2009, 04:46 PM
Anyone here interested to buy the latest NIKE MERCURIAL VAPOR SUPERFLY boots? same as Christiano and Drogba wearing..

i tot of buying.. who knows if can get mass order.. can get cheaper price.. =)

q w e r t ii
23-08-2009, 08:35 PM
i like adidas boots coz they fit my wide feet well

using the current predator powerswerve boot
might be getting total 90 for my next pair

doodledo
24-08-2009, 04:04 PM
I'm wearing air legend nw n loving it, adipure is nt bad too

doodledo
25-08-2009, 02:04 PM
Juz wondering if anyone here custom makes their boots