View Full Version : My S$229 24GB SSD
http://www4.picturepush.com/photo/a/1164687/img/1164687.jpg
Acard ANS-9012 (S$139)
http://www5.picturepush.com/photo/a/1164688/img/1164688.jpg
items given
http://www4.picturepush.com/photo/a/1166272/img/1166272.jpg
The PCB inside
http://www4.picturepush.com/photo/a/1172697/img/1172697.jpg
Acard ANS-9012 & 6 x Transcend 4GB SDHC (total cost = S$229)
http://www4.picturepush.com/photo/a/1172707/img/1172707.jpg
http://www2.picturepush.com/photo/a/1172710/img/1172710.jpg
http://www4.picturepush.com/photo/a/1172712/img/1172712.jpg
http://www5.picturepush.com/photo/a/1172713/img/1172713.jpg
GegeV2
08-11-2008, 01:30 AM
Very interesting...can't comment much...me not into HDD speeds...
rollbread
08-11-2008, 01:36 AM
This is considered as SSD?
GegeV2
08-11-2008, 01:40 AM
Yes, i guess so. It uses an adapter.
DO_hum
08-11-2008, 01:41 AM
should be? whats the difference between this speed to hard disk de?
around 3 times faster? hard disk is measure by RPM...for SSD wise how to compare?
GuessBoy
08-11-2008, 03:12 AM
Why never buy the 8GB card instead?
jtchoy
08-11-2008, 03:21 AM
Nice DIY SSD! :D
Speed wise comparable to normal SSD...
Just that capacity a bit too small... Even with 8GB SDHC cards its only 48GB...
Another thing... The continuous read/write won't wear out the SDHC cards quickly?
For testing so stick with 4GB SDHC 1st.
BTW 4GB Kingston Class6 SDHC = S$12.60, 8GB Kingston Class6 SDHC = S$23.30 (slow write)
4GB Transcend Class6 SDHC = S$15, 8GB Transcend Class6 SDHC = S$35
4GB Sandisk Class6 Extreme III SDHC = S$49, 8GB Sandisk Class6 Extreme III SDHC = S$88 (20MB/s read/write)
Why never buy the 8GB card instead?
The wear out part need to personally test after some period i guess.
Nice DIY SSD! :D
Speed wise comparable to normal SSD...
Just that capacity a bit too small... Even with 8GB SDHC cards its only 48GB...
Another thing... The continuous read/write won't wear out the SDHC cards quickly?
hlyagami
08-11-2008, 05:38 AM
http://www4.picturepush.com/photo/a/1164687/img/1164687.jpg
Acard ANS-9012 (S$139)
http://www5.picturepush.com/photo/a/1164688/img/1164688.jpg
items given
http://www4.picturepush.com/photo/a/1166272/img/1166272.jpg
The PCB inside
http://www4.picturepush.com/photo/a/1172697/img/1172697.jpg
Acard ANS-9012 & 6 x Transcend 4GB SDHC (total cost = S$229)
HOLY SHIAT!!!!!!
Enjoy your h00t.. :D
yauchong
08-11-2008, 09:42 AM
nice.... congratz... :love:
ragnarok95
08-11-2008, 09:49 AM
Hows the overall feel??? :D
trichard
08-11-2008, 09:49 AM
the whole thread I only saw this interesting.
http://i9.photobucket.com/albums/a79/hlyagami/superwomen.jpg
yukita
08-11-2008, 10:34 AM
Hows the overall feel??? :D
yah how izzit?
can feel the shiokness?
MacClipper
08-11-2008, 10:57 AM
Wasted all the hard legwork and sharing by Sen... u still lau tiko lah. =:p
cueball1981
08-11-2008, 11:54 AM
Have u test the boot up timing? Insignificant improvement?
FrEeBiEs
08-11-2008, 11:56 AM
Impressive seek rate. easily 10x faster than normal diskdrives.
Nakedtoes
08-11-2008, 12:06 PM
The 6 slots all can put different size and speed right? If different speed will the drive run the slowest speed of the slowest SD card?
Fedor
08-11-2008, 02:23 PM
Sen, I too would like to hear your subjective opinion on how the PC feels using this thing. Numbers are great, and thanks for that, but it's not so easy to guess the effect for the end-user of having:
dramatically lower latency
but somewhat slower (although more consistent) transfer rates
lower performance on sub 4K sizes in ATTO than a conventional drive
FrEeBiEs
08-11-2008, 02:36 PM
Sen, I too would like to hear your subjective opinion on how the PC feels using this thing. Numbers are great, and thanks for that, but it's not so easy to guess the effect for the end-user of having:
dramatically lower latency
but somewhat slower (although more consistent) transfer rates
lower performance on sub 4K sizes in ATTO than a conventional drive
Correct me if i am wrong, but compared to most 7200rpm drives, only the most recent drives have attained 100mb/s average transfer rate. Isn't it the case that this setup has almost 100mb/s transfer rate?
So i just felt that this setup should offer lower latency but maintaining the good old transfer rate.
hlyagami
08-11-2008, 03:41 PM
bian tai shu shu spotted :o
Fedor
08-11-2008, 03:42 PM
Well, take his HDTach, you get 97 average read, 87 average write. For example on a (granted, new) WD6400AAKS you get 92/93 average for both read and write, so in those terms I think they are equivalent, *but* you can effectively bump the speed of conventional drives by limiting your usage to the fastest segment of the drive via partitioning. Plus you get better effective seek times that way (though I've STILL not found a benchmarking tool that can give access times for specific segments of a drive). So I certainly do see where you are coming from, it's a valid point, now perhaps you can see where I'm coming from as well.
Of course, lets not forget that transfer rates do not mean much at all. Seagate has often had monster transfer rates on their newest drives vs competitors because they were often the ones introducing drives with increased platter densities, but yet in terms of single-user benchmarking they would lose out massively to older competing brands. So, the firmware clearly plays a huge role, and in the case of the DIY SSD, I personally have no idea how well the drive would behave, and how well it could leverage its good fundamental/low-level performance (good transfer rates + v low seek time) and transfer it into real-world performance. For example some of the OCZ MLC (Core branding) SSDs apparently make your whole system freeze up and stutter because they are so awful at small random writes.
Gecko
08-11-2008, 03:52 PM
what can we do to restore the system if 1 card fails ?
trichard
08-11-2008, 04:33 PM
24GB ....not enough for OS + some basic apps leh .......
Put in more CF ...... then the price will up like to my 64GB liao ....
Fedor
08-11-2008, 06:41 PM
Really, not enough?
My C: partition is just 10GB, and it's got over 3GB free. XP + Office + other basics (and all of Program Files is still on C:). I prefer just having the OS and pagefile being on one drive, as for bigger apps and/or games, I use another drive (you don't want OS+pagefile+app/game competing for access to data on the same drive anyway - though this is in part due to conventional drives' [high] access times).
If Sen says that subjectively his computer is a lot quicker, I'd definitely consider building one of these!
hlyagami
08-11-2008, 07:37 PM
my concern here is how well disk failure recovery plan is executed. If 1 of the card fail, what and how is going to be done to save the data?
jtchoy
08-11-2008, 07:43 PM
my concern here is how well disk failure recovery plan is executed. If 1 of the card fail, what and how is going to be done to save the data?
I think when 1 card fails, all data is lost. Its like running RAID 0 on all 6 SDHC cards to achieve that kind of speeds...
That's why SSDs are normally used for OS drive only. Data is stored on a normal HDD.
HeCToR
08-11-2008, 07:50 PM
I think when 1 card fails, all data is lost. Its like running RAID 0 on all 6 SDHC cards to achieve that kind of speeds...
That's why SSDs are normally used for OS drive only. Data is stored on a normal HDD.
correct me if im wrong, if you only install OS on this drive and all other big apps like games, commercial software like adobe etc. etc. which eats alot of space on conventional hdd, arn't you back to square 1? coz in the end, everything will be bogged down to the hdd again except the OS? hmmmmm
jtchoy
08-11-2008, 07:56 PM
correct me if im wrong, if you only install OS on this drive and all other big apps like games, commercial software like adobe etc. etc. which eats alot of space on conventional hdd, arn't you back to square 1? coz in the end, everything will be bogged down to the hdd again except the OS? hmmmmm
Yeah, installing the OS on a SSD will allow you to have quick boot up speeds. Launching apps will still be the same speed if its installed on a normal HDD.
You have to balance which apps you want to install on the SSD or HDD depending on how often you use it and how much capacity your SSD has. But most of the time data like pictures, videos, songs, etc will be stored on a HDD, unless you have plenty of money to buy multiple/large SSDs. :)
hlyagami
08-11-2008, 07:57 PM
it can also be quite disastrous consider e amount of time to install and update the os :(
jtchoy
08-11-2008, 08:21 PM
it can also be quite disastrous consider e amount of time to install and update the os :(
Ya... But not as bad as lossing all your data lor... At least can recover back OS...
Fedor
09-11-2008, 12:35 AM
Well, without having a number that describes the chance of failure of such an SSD, it's hard to say whether this is any better or worse than a conventional HDD? Frankly my OS is fairly disposable, but any data I don't treat as such I have backups of. If you were worried about your OS (on an SSD or normal drive), it would be easy to have a daily/weekly backup of the drive as an image that you can just restore.
Guyver
09-11-2008, 12:39 AM
bookmarked. SEN boss .. pls update us more with the long period of read and write .. will kill the SD card bo ? :D
petrarchan
09-11-2008, 12:46 AM
i install all programmes iinto my raptor C:... no issues leh..
some programmes like office if u install on D: but when u reinstall your OS, it just cannot associate automatically the office documents..
so programmes in raptor C:.... anything else, working files all in other conventional hdd...
i do have many progs like office, adobe, steam with abt 7 games and many more other software... enuff space leh.. i keep the source .exe files elsewhere... saves quite abit of space
ImaFreak
09-11-2008, 12:47 AM
if using as portable hdd....will it be good enuff? since usb2 only limit to 30mb/s
petrarchan
09-11-2008, 12:50 AM
bookmarked. SEN boss .. pls update us more with the long period of read and write .. will kill the SD card bo ? :D
yea...
wish to know too...
btw... where did u get the adapter?
then how to fit into 3.5" casing slot?
Raid 0 on 6 card is like increasing the risk of losing all data by 6 times. That is madness :s12:
yauchong
09-11-2008, 12:54 AM
if using as portable hdd....will it be good enuff? since usb2 only limit to 30mb/s
only advantage will be access time.. so, imho, totally pointless... :s34:
jtchoy
09-11-2008, 12:57 AM
Raid 0 on 6 card is like increasing the risk of losing all data by 6 times. That is madness :s12:
Yes, quite high risk of failure... But for the price...
We can't be sure of its reliability for now, only time will tell...
whitepandaeyes
09-11-2008, 12:58 AM
wah the speed not bad leh..
Gattberserk
09-11-2008, 01:28 AM
How come Transcend one 4GB only $15? MLC type ar?
SEN can try testing with 6 RAID 0 Scandisk Extreme III SDHC not? lol
trichard
09-11-2008, 01:38 AM
:D
yauchong
09-11-2008, 03:29 AM
http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/image.php?u=628&dateline=1225024979 :love: http://i9.photobucket.com/albums/a79/hlyagami/superwomen.jpg
hlyagami
09-11-2008, 03:47 AM
:D
mai beo la.. :(
hlyagami
09-11-2008, 06:30 AM
For testing so stick with 4GB SDHC 1st.
BTW 4GB Kingston Class6 SDHC = S$12.60, 8GB Kingston Class6 SDHC = S$23.30 (slow write)
4GB Transcend Class6 SDHC = S$15, 8GB Transcend Class6 SDHC = S$35
4GB Sandisk Class6 Extreme III SDHC = S$49, 8GB Sandisk Class6 Extreme III SDHC = S$88 (20MB/s read/write)
hmm where u find lobang of e 8gb kingston class 6 sdhc @ 23.3? i found e cheapest 33 :(
Best Bargain
hmm where u find lobang of e 8gb kingston class 6 sdhc @ 23.3? i found e cheapest 33 :(
Gattberserk
09-11-2008, 10:39 AM
So SENS u havent tell us if the Transcend u use is MLC type... Because if $15 for SLC is uber nice price wor~
You can try WinBench99
*but* you can effectively bump the speed of conventional drives by limiting your usage to the fastest segment of the drive via partitioning. Plus you get better effective seek times that way (though I've STILL not found a benchmarking tool that can give access times for specific segments of a drive)
Gattberserk
09-11-2008, 05:28 PM
Up for my question :s22:
Ur $15 4GB transcend is SLC or MLC type?
Heston
10-11-2008, 07:30 PM
this is very good price, how long does it take to boot into xp?
i intend to build a fast bootup htpc.
Kucha
10-11-2008, 11:35 PM
where to buy the adapter for the sd cards?
Heston
10-11-2008, 11:59 PM
where to buy the adapter for the sd cards?
Storage Studio
Fedor
11-11-2008, 01:03 AM
I was in SLS on Sunday, and Storage Studio has moved to another unit in SLS, which is no big deal, but also they no longer work Sundays. Just FYI.
BTW Sen, great tip on the Winbench. Took me forever to find somewhere to download it from but it works well, and yes getting proper access times for partitions now :D
sAxman_Returns
12-01-2009, 02:04 PM
faster than Intel SSD 80GB?
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.