View Full Version : Poor wireless connection with SingNet 10Mbps Plan
MrJacky
14-11-2008, 05:11 PM
I decided to make the switch to SingNet 4 months ago, when StarHub MaxOnline's connection is getting worse and worse.
I am currently using a wireless connection on this laptop with my SingNet, and it seems like the connection is poorer than when I was on MaxOnline.
When I was on MaxOnline, it was a Motorola cable modem with a Linksys router.
Now that I am on SingNet, it's just a 2WIRE wireless modem.
What do I mean by poorer wireless connection?
I frequently game on this laptop, and using wireless connection too.
During the time when I was on MaxOnline, the signal strength was often "Excellent", and my laptop would hardly disconnect. That's the Linksys router.
However, now that I'm on SingNet using the 2WIRE wireless modem, my signal strength can range from "Good" to "Very Good", and at times can even go to "Low". Playing the same game, I frequently disconnect.
Before you start to post, don't start flaming me about gaming over a wireless connection. I'm questioning 2WIRE's wireless capabilities as the Linksys router never gave me problems.
I'm still using the same laptop, so I doubt it's my laptop's WLAN.
Is this problem on SingNet's side, or is it just the poor wireless capabilities of the 2WIRE modem? If it is so, I am considering buying another modem or router, or wireless modem.
Please advise.
alanchia67
14-11-2008, 05:18 PM
there could be numerous 2wire installation in your neighbourhood. try changing the wifi channel from 6 (i think) to 1 or even 11.
if you've netstumbler, you'll be able to sniff out the channels used in your area.
albertchng
14-11-2008, 05:30 PM
I reckon you are not interested to hear explanation so i'll just going to suggest this method straight... since you mentioned you dont face such wireless issue on Linksys, then use your Linksys as a router with your 2wire as a bridge modem. Ok?
Before you start to ask more questions... just want to remind you that Singnet only provide you with the line & their job stop at the DP outside your house, anything from internal wiring to wall sockets in your house are your responsibilities. Since you are so sure the DC fault comes from the 2wire, you should bring it to the modem vendor instead or buy another router + modem & config them yourself (dont bother Singnet helpdesk, they are unable to assist you to configure on hardware not issue by them).
alanchia67 offer a good suggestion, you should heed it.
MrJacky
14-11-2008, 06:52 PM
I reckon you are not interested to hear explanation so i'll just going to suggest this method straight... since you mentioned you dont face such wireless issue on Linksys, then use your Linksys as a router with your 2wire as a bridge modem. Ok?
Before you start to ask more questions... just want to remind you that Singnet only provide you with the line & their job stop at the DP outside your house, anything from internal wiring to wall sockets in your house are your responsibilities. Since you are so sure the DC fault comes from the 2wire, you should bring it to the modem vendor instead or buy another router + modem & config them yourself (dont bother Singnet helpdesk, they are unable to assist you to configure on hardware not issue by them).
alanchia67 offer a good suggestion, you should heed it.
I'm fine if you explain whether the fault lies with the modem or with SingTel.
I'm not sure whether the fault lies with 2WIRE, hence this thread.
Any recommendations supposing I wish to use another modem/router?
Would a modem and router combination be better or a wireless modem?
Another thing:
Now that I am on SingNet using 2WIRE, I frequently get "Address Not Found" on Firefox, but is solved through a reload everytime.
The connection did not disconnect, but it's definitely annoying when you have to press that Go button again to load the page.
An example:
I type in http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/ into Firefox.
I immediately get an "Address Not Found" error (sort of like your internet connection is down), yet my internet connection is still up.
I have to press the Go button again so that the page finally loads.
This does not just happen with HWZ, it happens for all other sites.
Md_Aleb
14-11-2008, 09:28 PM
try to position ur modem in an open space. It helps also to position it higher. I think 2wire hardware is not so good or the heat from the modem is disturbing the signal. Either way, i use singtel too and am on wireless..got the same prob as you (except the Firefox thing.This one you try and check your Firefix connections config). Sometimes i d/ling stuff and then DC. 90% oredi. Wat to do? lol
chunlianghere
14-11-2008, 09:58 PM
as albertchng said, bridge tat 2wire modem, n than use back yr linksys as router.
Hollud
14-11-2008, 10:05 PM
By default, the wireless transmission power on the 2WIRE modem/router is set to a default of 4 (out of a maximum of 6). If you are, like me, staying in a typical HDB executive apartment, then it should be fine. However, if you need to cover dead spots or if you are staying in a bigger apartment, then you can boost the power accordingly.
Integrated modem/router solutions do not perform on par as dedicated devices, but from what I gather so far, my 2WIRE box has served me well and beyond my previous set-ups.
Hollud
14-11-2008, 10:33 PM
Step by Step:
http://img.skitch.com/20081114-e4yk9hkngjap9meh67qgdp31hc.preview.jpg (http://skitch.com/hollud/5wnk/2wire-wireless-settings-01)Click for full size (http://skitch.com/hollud/5wnk/2wire-wireless-settings-01) - Uploaded with plasq (http://plasq.com)'s Skitch (http://skitch.com)
http://img.skitch.com/20081114-tjpe66s6u1tf1rnsqkki9u754j.preview.jpg (http://skitch.com/hollud/5wn1/2wire-wireless-settings-02)Click for full size (http://skitch.com/hollud/5wn1/2wire-wireless-settings-02) - Uploaded with plasq (http://plasq.com)'s Skitch (http://skitch.com)
http://img.skitch.com/20081114-jd1cwydpyq9wns3dbpgbbugknn.preview.jpg (http://skitch.com/hollud/5wnh/2wire-wireless-settings-03)Click for full size (http://skitch.com/hollud/5wnh/2wire-wireless-settings-03) - Uploaded with plasq (http://plasq.com)'s Skitch (http://skitch.com)
liangtam
14-11-2008, 11:48 PM
You need to use fair comparison leh.
What do I mean?
The place where u put the linksys n 2wire must be the same place, on top of which, the settings and channel
albertchng
15-11-2008, 12:39 AM
MrJacky, run the 2wire for at least 12 hours, then copy/paste the following info here.
Use IE/FF go 192.168.1.254/mdc (The password is 2wire)
Copy DSL Connection Details from Broadband Link – Summary
Copy DSL portion from Broadband Link – Statistics
Copy DSL portion from Broadband Link – Detailed DSL Statistics
Copy Ethernet & Wireless from Local Network – Statistics
Copy Current Settings & Additional Settings from Local Network – Wireless
Copy 1st line under Pinholes & 1st 2 lines under NAT Sessions from Firewall – Detailed Information
=:p
albertchng
15-11-2008, 12:09 PM
Another thing:
Now that I am on SingNet using 2WIRE, I frequently get "Address Not Found" on Firefox, but is solved through a reload everytime.
The connection did not disconnect, but it's definitely annoying when you have to press that Go button again to load the page.
An example:
I type in http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/ into Firefox.
I immediately get an "Address Not Found" error (sort of like your internet connection is down), yet my internet connection is still up.
I have to press the Go button again so that the page finally loads.
This does not just happen with HWZ, it happens for all other sites.
Cannot be sure but somehow it should be your browser's fault. Do you tweak your FF? Do you know the about:config thingy? Just dont over do it till cannot work seamlessly with your computer operation. A lot of these so-call tweak to speed up your surfing experience only work on WIRED connection.
If happen to all sites, then problem is you lor. Try WIRED connection to see if problem occur.
mlwang
15-11-2008, 02:03 PM
The max speed i get from wireless connection over 2Wire on a 10MB Singnet BB is 5MBps.
My take is that the 2Wire wireless is really lousy. Get a better router, or use hard wired LAN connection if you want the max speed.
liangtam
15-11-2008, 02:16 PM
You shld set it to G only. Try again anyway, u shld be able to hit 26Mbps when u transfer in LAN segment
MrJacky
15-11-2008, 04:48 PM
Just an update on my situation.
Apart from the problems I have mentioned above, there's another really annoying thing:
Webpages are just stuck at loading the first time, and when you reload it the pages loaded in a few seconds.
What do I mean?
I can just click this particular link, and it can be still at "Loading" even after 5 minutes.
I press the Stop button, then press the Reload button, and a few seconds later the page is up.
Definitely annoying.
Thanks for all the above comments. For the suggested solutions I will take a look when I get the time, or when this thing really gets on my nerves.
albertchng
15-11-2008, 05:36 PM
This is pure user issue... from where i see it.
Please provide those settings i asked for in post #10.
MrJacky
15-11-2008, 07:39 PM
Please provide those settings i asked for in post #10.
It's not a user issue. It only happens after I made the switch.
As for the settings, give me some time. I have not try out the solutions yet.
MrJacky
15-11-2008, 07:41 PM
By default, the wireless transmission power on the 2WIRE modem/router is set to a default of 4 (out of a maximum of 6). If you are, like me, staying in a typical HDB executive apartment, then it should be fine. However, if you need to cover dead spots or if you are staying in a bigger apartment, then you can boost the power accordingly.
Integrated modem/router solutions do not perform on par as dedicated devices, but from what I gather so far, my 2WIRE box has served me well and beyond my previous set-ups.
The power setting is already 6.
MrJacky
15-11-2008, 08:06 PM
MrJacky, run the 2wire for at least 12 hours, then copy/paste the following info here.
Use IE/FF go 192.168.1.254/mdc (The password is 2wire)
Copy DSL Connection Details from Broadband Link – Summary
Copy DSL portion from Broadband Link – Statistics
Copy DSL portion from Broadband Link – Detailed DSL Statistics
Copy Ethernet & Wireless from Local Network – Statistics
Copy Current Settings & Additional Settings from Local Network – Wireless
Copy 1st line under Pinholes & 1st 2 lines under NAT Sessions from Firewall – Detailed Information
Copy DSL Connection Details from Broadband Link – Summaryhttp://img509.imageshack.us/img509/627/2wire2qo5.jpg (http://img509.imageshack.us/my.php?image=2wire2qo5.jpg)
Copy DSL portion from Broadband Link – Statisticshttp://img509.imageshack.us/img509/7816/2wire1hp6.jpg (http://img509.imageshack.us/my.php?image=2wire1hp6.jpg)
Copy DSL portion from Broadband Link – Detailed DSL Statisticshttp://img509.imageshack.us/img509/6959/2wire3wj6.jpg (http://img509.imageshack.us/my.php?image=2wire3wj6.jpg)
Copy Ethernet & Wireless from Local Network – Statistics http://img522.imageshack.us/img522/731/2wire4hg6.jpg (http://img522.imageshack.us/my.php?image=2wire4hg6.jpg)
Copy Current Settings & Additional Settings from Local Network – Wirelesshttp://img530.imageshack.us/img530/2114/2wire5wd5.jpg (http://img530.imageshack.us/my.php?image=2wire5wd5.jpg)
http://img253.imageshack.us/img253/6720/2wire6rw3.jpg (http://img253.imageshack.us/my.php?image=2wire6rw3.jpg)
Copy 1st line under Pinholes & 1st 2 lines under NAT Sessions from Firewall – Detailed Informationhttp://img522.imageshack.us/img522/2669/2wire7ax9.jpg (http://img522.imageshack.us/my.php?image=2wire7ax9.jpg)
http://img241.imageshack.us/img241/7923/2wire8sj6.jpg (http://img241.imageshack.us/my.php?image=2wire8sj6.jpg)
liangtam
15-11-2008, 08:13 PM
Apart from the problems I have mentioned above, there's another really annoying thing:
Webpages are just stuck at loading the first time, and when you reload it the pages loaded in a few seconds.
Copy 1st line under Pinholes & 1st 2 lines under NAT Sessions from Firewall – Detailed Informationhttp://img522.imageshack.us/img522/2669/2wire7ax9.jpg (http://img522.imageshack.us/my.php?image=2wire7ax9.jpg)
http://img241.imageshack.us/img241/7923/2wire8sj6.jpg (http://img241.imageshack.us/my.php?image=2wire8sj6.jpg)
It is, afterall ;)
albertchng
15-11-2008, 08:33 PM
Copy 1st 2 lines under NAT Sessions from Firewall – Detailed Informationhttp://img241.imageshack.us/img241/7923/2wire8sj6.jpg (http://img241.imageshack.us/my.php?image=2wire8sj6.jpg)
Your line stats & line rate are all good. This kind of reading will not DC without valid reason. The fault is not caused by Singnet.
Some wireless errors recorded by 2wire, might be wireless client got problem...
0 out of 1024 NAT session available, no wonder surf internet slow & so much funny error msg, something is hogging your bandwidth... My guess is P2P traffic. So it is still user issue.
MrJacky
15-11-2008, 09:16 PM
I don't torrent, so peer-to-peer traffic is simply impossible.
I'm the only one using the wireless network.
MrJacky
15-11-2008, 09:18 PM
It is, afterall ;)
Care to elaborate on that?
commach
15-11-2008, 09:29 PM
You shld set it to G only. Try again anyway, u shld be able to hit 26Mbps when u transfer in LAN segment
[http://img522.imageshack.us/img522/731/2wire4hg6.jpg (http://img522.imageshack.us/my.php?image=2wire4hg6.jpg)
Copy Current Settings & Additional Settings from Local Network – Wirelesshttp://img530.imageshack.us/img530/2114/2wire5wd5.jpg (http://img530.imageshack.us/my.php?image=2wire5wd5.jpg)
http://img253.imageshack.us/img253/6720/2wire6rw3.jpg (http://img253.imageshack.us/my.php?image=2wire6rw3.jpg)
It is, afterall ;)
Hmm..... agreed.
0/1024 available, 966/512 used.....
MrJacky
15-11-2008, 09:47 PM
Come on, don't just agree, elaborate please.
I'm not really good with networking, so do help me out here.
alanchia67
15-11-2008, 09:57 PM
ts, what other software you running? who else access the network (wired and wifi). you shouldnt hit '0' session table at all.
alanchia67
15-11-2008, 10:01 PM
and for wifi issue, change channel from 6 to 1.
commach
15-11-2008, 11:24 PM
If you are certain that you are the only one using the wireless, then likely you forget to secure the wireless AP and someone is free riding on the wireless, check the status whether any other MAC login to the wireless netowrk, change it to 802.11g only and not 802.11b/g if you are not using any 11b client.
Try using other non-overlapping channel like 1 or 11 if you faced problem in chn 6.
MrJacky
15-11-2008, 11:25 PM
What kind of software you referring to?
Besides from my browser Firefox and Gmail Notifier I doubt anything else is using the connection.
AVG only updates at 3am everyday.
All these programs were already there before I made the switch to SingNet.
As I said, I'm the only one using the wireless network. It's WEP secured.
albertchng
15-11-2008, 11:55 PM
MrJacky, please copy & paste these settings here from 192.168.1.254/mdc (Password is 2wire).
1. Device List under Local Network
2. Detailed Information under Firewall
3. Event Log under Troubleshooting
Also go download a program call TCPview from here (http://download.sysinternals.com/Files/TcpView.zip), unzip & run TCPview.exe, copy the result here.
alanchia67
16-11-2008, 12:09 AM
woa, can get free helpdesk service here!
albertchng
16-11-2008, 09:19 AM
MrJacky, are you facing slow surfing currently?
Check to see if the 2wire NAT sessions is still 0/1024, if YES then that is the main culprit.
You will need to reset it, however by doing the reset thingy, you will need to reconfigure the 2wire from scratch.
If you are technical savvy enough to reconfigure the 2wire, i can give you the steps to do the reset, if not you should seek modem vendor to assist you (fee applied).
tungsten2
16-11-2008, 10:43 AM
As I said, I'm the only one using the wireless network. It's WEP secured.
Change to WPA2-AES encryption and use a new sets of keys here (http://www.pctools.com/guides/password/)
Do remember to patch your OS with KB917021 (if you are using XP)
Also update your wireless driver 1st before changing to WPA2-AES.
user14
16-11-2008, 03:04 PM
Check to see if the 2wire NAT sessions is still 0/1024, if YES then that is the main culprit.
You will need to reset it, however by doing the reset thingy, you will need to reconfigure the 2wire from scratch.
If you are technical savvy enough to reconfigure the 2wire, i can give you the steps to do the reset, if not you should seek modem vendor to assist you (fee applied).
pls share the steps cos i'm also facing this problem. thanks.
MrJacky
16-11-2008, 04:23 PM
Change to WPA2-AES encryption and use a new sets of keys here (http://www.pctools.com/guides/password/)
Do remember to patch your OS with KB917021 (if you are using XP)
Also update your wireless driver 1st before changing to WPA2-AES.
Sorry that's a typo. I'm WPA secured already.
MrJacky
16-11-2008, 04:23 PM
Yes it's still 0/1024.
Do advise me on the reset.
MrJacky
16-11-2008, 04:36 PM
MrJacky, please copy & paste these settings here from 192.168.1.254/mdc (Password is 2wire).
1. Device List under Local Network
2. Detailed Information under Firewall
3. Event Log under Troubleshooting
Also go download a program call TCPview from here (http://download.sysinternals.com/Files/TcpView.zip), unzip & run TCPview.exe, copy the result here.
The only devices in Device List are "System" (which refers to the modem itself) and my computer.
Detailed Information under Firewall
http://img143.imageshack.us/img143/2012/2wirefirewalldetailedwx5.jpg
Event Log under Troubleshooting
http://img143.imageshack.us/img143/8663/2wireeventlogzy4.jpg
liangtam
16-11-2008, 04:42 PM
Please provide the whole list of your NAT session
MrJacky
16-11-2008, 05:01 PM
Please provide the whole list of your NAT session
You sure you want the whole list?
http://www.mediafire.com/?jgymt3odwmy
liangtam
16-11-2008, 05:07 PM
You sure you want the whole list?
http://www.mediafire.com/?jgymt3odwmy
Yes.
Your file not avail from mediafire yet
Edit: its avail now
liangtam
16-11-2008, 05:09 PM
port 20129 is which application? bittorrent ah?
go to command prompt, enter netstat -ab and paste here bah
albertchng
16-11-2008, 06:40 PM
MrJacky... IMPORTANT! PLEASE READ & REPLY!
What liangtam is doing is to help you identify what application is using up all your NAT sessions & your inbound sessions, i shall wait till he is done with you then give you the reset steps but just something for you to ponder over...
How comfortable or technical savvy are you to reconfigure the 2wire from scratch, starting from entering of singnet keycode, singnet username/password, VPI/VCI... etc?
If you are not comfortable or technical savvy enough to reconfigure the 2wire from scratch, you should seek modem vendor to assist you (fee applied).
albertchng
16-11-2008, 06:42 PM
pls share the steps cos i'm also facing this problem. thanks.
pls start your own thread, not polite to hijack other's thread. =:p
user14
16-11-2008, 07:00 PM
i'm hijacking? if i am then i apologise. i'll just wait for MrJacky's reply maybe what u tell him can solve my problem too if not i'll start a new thread then.
alanchia67
16-11-2008, 07:31 PM
i share same feeling as liangtam. likely bit-torrent client using port 20129 is running in the background without ts knowing.
RITS_SOLUTION
16-11-2008, 07:40 PM
This is very interesting and informative thread. My bet is on a virus/malware which he could have recently contracted
RITS_SOLUTION
16-11-2008, 07:43 PM
By the way. Do take note that in FF, if u use "ORBIT DOWNLOADER"(P2P), it uses port 20129 . I heard that its aggressive and can hog bandwidth.
If you have it installed, Uninstall it. Problem solved
MrJacky
16-11-2008, 08:44 PM
MrJacky... IMPORTANT! PLEASE READ & REPLY!
What liangtam is doing is to help you identify what application is using up all your NAT sessions & your inbound sessions, i shall wait till he is done with you then give you the reset steps but just something for you to ponder over...
How comfortable or technical savvy are you to reconfigure the 2wire from scratch, starting from entering of singnet keycode, singnet username/password, VPI/VCI... etc?
If you are not comfortable or technical savvy enough to reconfigure the 2wire from scratch, you should seek modem vendor to assist you (fee applied).
Well I still remember the instructions the SingNet technician told me about configuring the modem, but that's just the basics of getting the modem to connect to my DSL account.
liangtam
16-11-2008, 08:48 PM
still awaiting for your updates :)
MrJacky
16-11-2008, 08:55 PM
still awaiting for your updates :)
I have actually tried closing Orbit Downloader but it's still showing 0/1024.
Do you want me to do a netstat with everything as per normal (i.e. Orbit Downloader and most of my daily programs running)?
This is very interesting and informative thread. My bet is on a virus/malware which he could have recently contracted
My AVG does a full system scan at 3am everyday.
And if my system is infected it would quarantine the files automatically.
By the way. Do take note that in FF, if u use "ORBIT DOWNLOADER"(P2P), it uses port 20129 . I heard that its aggressive and can hog bandwidth.
If you have it installed, Uninstall it. Problem solved
I do have Orbit Downloader, but it's already installed before I switched to SingNet.
Whether the fault here lies with DSL not able to handle it well or the 2WIRE modem, this thread is going to answer it.
I don't say "Problem solved" or "Case closed" when I don't get to the bottom of things.
RITS_SOLUTION
16-11-2008, 08:59 PM
What i meant is that my bet is on your orbit downloader and i believe that will solve ur problem.
Although you had it before, it might somehow affect when u switched to singnet.
Relax... If you google UDP port 20129 problem, which if affecting ur connections, there is a number of people who said that uninstalling Orbit downloader solved their problem as it hogs inbound connections and Udp transmission
My 2 cents worth.. Up to u to decide :/
liangtam
No need I guess, you explained yourself that you are using aforementioned software
Heres a quick reference on the other forum: http://forums.comodo.com/computer_firewalls/udp_port_20129-t12357.0.html
I guess you really have to disable or uninstall it FULLY.
alanchia67
many said 2wire is not able to handle p2p as well as other router. if you have a previous router when you had starhub, may want to bridge 2wire.
RITS_SOLUTION
16-11-2008, 09:05 PM
No need I guess, you explained yourself that you are using aforementioned software
Heres a quick reference on the other forum: http://forums.comodo.com/computer_firewalls/udp_port_20129-t12357.0.html
I guess you really have to disable or uninstall it FULLY.
He still believe its not that as "I do have Orbit Downloader, but it's already installed before I switched to SingNet."
By the way, thanks for the "netstat -ab".. very interesting. Didn't know there exist such a function :)
albertchng
16-11-2008, 10:08 PM
liangtam,
You played with 2wire before, there is a Reset to Factory Default under Troubleshootings, that will reset the 0/1024 NAT sessions BUT at the expense of reconfigure the modem from scratch.
If anyone here do it and screw up, dont look for me. I dont do house call for stranger.
Things to TAKE NOTE before doing the reset...
Copy down the Key Code from System Summary
Get ready your Singnet username & password
Set Automatic for DSL Line Selection
Set VPI=0 VCI=100 for ATM Circuit Identifier
Set Bridged LLC for ATM Encapsulation
Set Enable for ATM PVC Search
Good luck! =:p
MrJacky
16-11-2008, 10:27 PM
He still believe its not that as "I do have Orbit Downloader, but it's already installed before I switched to SingNet."
By the way, thanks for the "netstat -ab".. very interesting. Didn't know there exist such a function :)
I didn't say that Orbit Downloader is not the culprit, I'm saying that the program has long been on my computer, and I'm eager to know whether the fault lies with the ISP or with the modem/router.
Also, the P2P function in Orbit Downloader can be turned off.
I guess I will try a reset, then followed by trying the Linksys router.
albertchng
16-11-2008, 10:31 PM
I didn't say that Orbit Downloader is not the culprit, I'm saying that the program has long been on my computer, and I'm eager to know whether the fault lies with the ISP or with the modem/router.
I guess I will try a reset, then followed by trying the Linksys router.
Linksys dont have the NAT sessions limitation, 2wire do.
You can config the 2wire as bridged modem with your linksys as router, that will remove the NAT, DHCP, Routing from 2wire.
liangtam
17-11-2008, 12:01 AM
restart will reset the NAT session liao ma, the database table is stored in RAM and as such, will be wiped when powered off. actually, since the RAM of a 2wire is way bigger than the standard brand u see, its kind of surprising why they do not wan to increase the limit of the table.
Let me give u another screenshot later about some tweak possible with 2wire but not available in original firmware from common brand like dlink, linksys etc
Linksys dont have the NAT sessions limitation, 2wire do.
In router mode? It does. All NAT based router has it
MrJacky
17-11-2008, 12:40 AM
albertchng and liangtam, are you on SingNet and what modem/routers are you using?
I'm thinking of purchasing a better modem/router but I don't know which one is the better one currently.
I know I got a Linksys router, but I want to get a better one. If it can serve me better than 2WIRE and Linksys, it's worth the money to spend.
liangtam
17-11-2008, 01:02 AM
http://i33.tinypic.com/n5pr7q.jpg
Here is the screencap promised
Like what some bt users may advised, lowering the timeout will help turnover of new connections to the database faster. In this way, setting it to a low value will ensure dead connection removed promptly.
Anyway, back to TS question, it will not help. Buying a more capable router but having all its NAT field consumed crazily is like back to square 1.
At least, you should
- Removed the application or ensure all connection from it are prevented
- Restart 2wire gateway
MrJacky
17-11-2008, 01:08 AM
But how do you explain that with the same applications and the same computer, I had no problems when I used MaxOnline using the cable modem and Linksys router?
Anyway thanks for the guide. I will take a look at it.
liangtam
17-11-2008, 01:29 AM
we dun have a direct comparison, so its hard to provide an explanation. settings can change, maybe a software update to specific version causes this etc.
albertchng
17-11-2008, 01:35 AM
In router mode? It does. All NAT based router has it
Yeah, but ONLY 2wire comes with 1024 NAT sessions size, those common brands bigger size.
albertchng
17-11-2008, 01:48 AM
albertchng and liangtam, are you on SingNet and what modem/routers are you using?
I'm thinking of purchasing a better modem/router but I don't know which one is the better one currently.
I know I got a Linksys router, but I want to get a better one. If it can serve me better than 2WIRE and Linksys, it's worth the money to spend.
I'm using 2wire for 2 desktops, 1 laptop & 1 PDA... lots of surfing, video streaming using P2P protocol, online gaming on both desktops, secure torrent, ftp... etc.
Self moderation is the best!
MrJacky
25-11-2008, 06:17 PM
Well it seems like after I turned off the P2P function in Orbit Downloader there are more NAT sessions available.
I just rebooted the modem and I see 900 over NAT sessions available. I'm gonna see how it goes.
Still, I don't really trust 2WIRE. Since the Linksys router is that good I may see if they sell any wireless modem, or just use back the old router.
Kiddream
25-11-2008, 09:27 PM
Hi to those who are using a ethernet modem with a wireless router...what settings must be set on the router for it to auto dial to the adsl network? Do i need to do anything to the ethernet modem too?
liangtam
25-11-2008, 11:12 PM
Well it seems like after I turned off the P2P function in Orbit Downloader there are more NAT sessions available.
I just rebooted the modem and I see 900 over NAT sessions available. I'm gonna see how it goes.
Still, I don't really trust 2WIRE. Since the Linksys router is that good I may see if they sell any wireless modem, or just use back the old router.
ooo, finally u managed to unchoke ur conn ah? :s22:
MrJacky
26-11-2008, 03:39 PM
ooo, finally u managed to unchoke ur conn ah? :s22:
Seems to be.
After I rebooted my modem. I went to game and well I got a disconnection again.
But until now that seem to be the only disconnection.
MrJacky
26-11-2008, 11:14 PM
The wireless signal is still crap.
Well, can't be helped. I don't expect SingNet to include a top-end wireless modem. Everything comes with budget. :P
albertchng
27-11-2008, 08:46 AM
The 2wire modem is better than those off-the-shelve brand, at least in US is like that.
But typical Asian will want FREE stuffs so we generally find those off-the-shelve brands with bigger NAT session table size to be better, so can do more torrents for FREE...
MrJacky
27-11-2008, 08:57 PM
I fail to see how 2WIRE is better than most other brands.
I hardly do torrents, but the wireless signal is still crap at the moment.
I'm going to find out whether the fault lies with my wireless card or the modem.
I'm going to test it by placing my old Linksys router in the same place and watching the signal.
If the signal is "Excellent" constantly then I got to change my 2WIRE modem, because the distance between my laptop and the modem isn't quite far, and considering there are gonna be more people using it at different distances the modem may not make it.
liangtam
28-11-2008, 12:38 AM
You must transfer some constant data to be able determine the quality of your connection.
Sometime, you may see it says 54Mbps when idle, but when u start transferring data, the speed will start drop to say 48, 24, etc becos it is the practical limitation.
Especially on how the signal travels, thus positioning and antenna placement is important.
MrJacky
28-11-2008, 02:32 AM
You must transfer some constant data to be able determine the quality of your connection.
Sometime, you may see it says 54Mbps when idle, but when u start transferring data, the speed will start drop to say 48, 24, etc becos it is the practical limitation.
Especially on how the signal travels, thus positioning and antenna placement is important.
The problem is, the 2WIRE modem has no antenna, or at least any protruding ones.
eugene260880
28-11-2008, 02:59 AM
just butt in a bit
i got a fren asking me 2wire range is how big
i ask why, cos he say his connection very weak etc
then i duno how or why, ended up he changed his power adaptor then ok liao
O_o
just fyi
mayb crap, mayb bs, i also duno
cos i dun use 2wire.
just 2 cent worth
albertchng
28-11-2008, 03:03 AM
Where is the 2wire modem placed? Flat on the table or vertical using the stand?
P2P function in Orbit Downloader is not torrent meh? Or you're trying to tell us you din know?
My 2wire modem serve me well & i place it beside a sub woofer. Coming 2 years, still not dead yet.
liangtam
28-11-2008, 03:04 AM
internal antenna contacts etch on PCB
how good a signal depends on how u position the thing as well as point it towards the antenna.
albertchng
28-11-2008, 03:05 AM
Got a feeling someone's laptop maybe CMI...
MrJacky
28-11-2008, 05:12 AM
Got a feeling someone's laptop maybe CMI...
Maybe.
I just connected my Linksys router, which has been on top of my TV set for years, and with around the same amount of distance as the 2WIRE modem I managed to get a constant "Excellent" signal.
I have never seen an "Excellent" signal from the 2WIRE modem. It is placed vertical with the stand on a table.
albertchng
28-11-2008, 09:35 AM
Hard to say lor.. maybe your 2wire not performing up to standard, maybe mixed/fixed mode issue, a lot of maybe... you want to compare with my 2 yrs old 2wire?
To choose between "excellent signal strength but 1mbps throughput" & "good strength but 24mbps throughput"... i'll take the later anytime!
boucyfirebal
28-11-2008, 09:50 AM
go to the ip address of modem
check if you got auto time out etc
if not check network adaptor
if both ok is modem or isp
considering the problem with 2wire i think is modem
get adsl2 modem then link with linksys
adsl2 modem shd nt go to more then 30
MrJacky
29-11-2008, 07:03 PM
Hard to say lor.. maybe your 2wire not performing up to standard, maybe mixed/fixed mode issue, a lot of maybe... you want to compare with my 2 yrs old 2wire?
To choose between "excellent signal strength but 1mbps throughput" & "good strength but 24mbps throughput"... i'll take the later anytime!
If the situation is what you have said I will make the same choice as you, but unfortunately it isn't.
My wireless signal with the 2WIRE modem changes even faster than a baby's mood.
It's also the first time I saw "No Signal" while being connected.
I am one who wants things to be simple, that is things work out-of-the-box. I don't expect myself to do so much configuration and hacking just to make it work the way it should.
albertchng
29-11-2008, 08:39 PM
If the situation is what you have said I will make the same choice as you, but unfortunately it isn't.
My wireless signal with the 2WIRE modem changes even faster than a baby's mood.
It's also the first time I saw "No Signal" while being connected.
I am one who wants things to be simple, that is things work out-of-the-box. I don't expect myself to do so much configuration and hacking just to make it work the way it should.
If you are a family man & you bought a WRX to ferry families & fitted with a baby seat, can you call it a family car?
If you a young blood that bought a WRX to pickup girls & mod with sport rims/body armor, can you call it a street car?
If you are a rally driver that bought a WRX for the next race & fully modded it, can you call it a race car?
All 3 cars with own configuration and hacking just to make it work the way it should... arent all of them the same base WRX model?
The same goes with your modem, your comp, your wireless... & everything in life!
If you are a simple man that want everything works out of the box... go for the best out-of-the-box solution - Cisco Aironet 1250 AP with 8.5 dBi wall mounting antenna, with your Cisco 857 as a wired modem cum router without its wireless function.
MrJacky
29-11-2008, 11:27 PM
Please make your examples more simplistic to understand.
I don't know why you are defending 2WIRE so much, perhaps it worked for you for 2 years.
But for me, it never worked for me for more than 2 days, and all these problems I had never encountered while using my older Linksys router, which, other than setting up some security features worked without needing me to troubleshoot anything.
I don't know the speed of the connection with the Linksys, but the thing is I don't have to face irritating disconnection problems, webpages not loading due to NAT sessions table full or anything of that sort. The only time I had to went into the router configuration was to change from MAC address filter to WPA encryption.
I don't know the speed of the 2WIRE wireless modem either, but it has been irritating me so much that even if it's faster, I don't seem to enjoy the speed at all. Webpages giving me a "Connection was reset" or random "Address Not Found" which never happened when I used my older router.
I have no reasons to diss the 2WIRE. It worked for you, that's great news for you, but in a family of mine where everyone is gonna use the connection with no moderation I doubt it can last long.
albertchng
30-11-2008, 12:33 AM
Since you put it that way & your old Linksys work just fine for you, you should go configure the 2wire as bridge modem & the Linksys as router... if you still wish for a perfect out-of-the-box solution, you aint going to find a off-the-shelve bridge-modem-cum-router combo.
MrJacky
30-11-2008, 01:48 AM
Just to prove that I'm not dissing the 2WIRE:
Just a moment ago all webpages started to time out. I was still connected wirelessly.
All webpages, including the modem configuration page (192.168.1.254).
Windows provide a Repair function, which basically just disables/enables the wireless adapter and so on.
I did a repair for like 4 to 5 times. All were stuck at renewing my IP (internal IP, 192.168.1.x).
I gave up. 5 mins later it solved the problem on its own.
Before this, I was gaming and this game had rooms where players can join.
So I was alone in this room, nothing happened.
Well once people joined in after like a few minutes I saw their ping getting stuck, turns out that my connection timed out.
Well perhaps it's a coincidence. So I connected to another server.
Same thing happened again.
Too much of a coincidence?
Well if not for my tolerance perhaps I would be smashing it now...
I'm gonna try whatever fix or tweak I can find.
liangtam
30-11-2008, 03:04 AM
You said you're not dissing it. Apparently, you are lying. You did have 'problem' with it.
getting to main point now. You sure not because your wifi adapter old, driver outdated etc thats causing dropout? How about changing channel to avoid crowded ones?
liangtam
30-11-2008, 03:06 AM
Please throw me your set before you smash it tho. I don't mind a spare backup :D
see my siggy
MrJacky
30-11-2008, 04:42 AM
Probably wrong use of words, but I'm not exaggerating.
Already tried changing channel to 1. Still the same thing. The power setting is at the maximum 6.
As long as it's something valuable I will have the patience not to smash it.
You are missing a signature.
albertchng
30-11-2008, 08:17 AM
Geez...that sound really like power management kick in for your wireless card... if it was the 2wire failing you, no matter how you repair windows also cannot be help. Dont you know there is such a thing as power management in your windows OS for your wireless card?
Can you post the model of wireless card from your computer/laptop? i wont be surprise if it is a Intel model.
albertchng
30-11-2008, 08:30 AM
Bro liangtam, how many 2wire you got so far? Seem to me everyone throwing their sets to you...
MrJacky, surprise why you still have not turn that 2wire into a pure bridge modem for your linksys. What are you waiting for? If you want to smash it, why not give it to liangtam or me, we really dont mind to have a spare backup. Fyi, 2wire has serve me well for almost 4 years, 1800 then to 2700 now.
liangtam
30-11-2008, 08:41 AM
1 set nia.
MrJacky
30-11-2008, 02:48 PM
Someone else is using my Linksys router, I got to wait for him to be finished before moving it from its original location.
MrJacky
01-12-2008, 06:13 AM
I just tested the Linksys router by connecting the WAN of the Linksys to one of the LAN of the 2WIRE. It is also located at around the same place as the 2WIRE.
I changed the address of the Linksys to 192.168.2.x since there were some problems when I used 192.168.1.x.
I gamed for around half an hour and still haven't got disconnected yet, whereas on the 2WIRE I was getting disconnected at every 10 minutes or so.
The signal stength is "Very Good" for both.
I'm gonna test it further.
MrJacky
08-12-2008, 05:35 PM
OK I just did some tests with both the Linksys WRT54G and the 2WIRE.
I found a quite "centralised" location for the router/modem.
With the Linksys, out of 3 locations, all 3 gave me Excellent.
With the 2WIRE, out of 3 locations, 1 gave me Excellent, 1 struggled to give me Very Good (hitting Good and Low after a while), 1 struggled to give me Excellent.
I tried to adjust the 2WIRE, but nothing could improve the wireless strength. I suppose the antennas on the Linksys helped a bit.
phuque99
08-12-2008, 05:51 PM
Just curious, is there any real speed difference between "excellent", "good" and "low" signal? In my experience, there is no speed difference. Thus I'm curious why so many thread with the same question, over and over again regarding router model. Seriously, if there's no speed difference, the signal strength "label" is just for heow, ego and manhood feelings :D
MrJacky
08-12-2008, 05:57 PM
Just curious, is there any real speed difference between "excellent", "good" and "low" signal? In my experience, there is no speed difference. Thus I'm curious why so many thread with the same question, over and over again regarding router model. Seriously, if there's no speed difference, the signal strength "label" is just for heow, ego and manhood feelings :D
With speed difference I wouldn't know, but I wouldn't really care.
The signal strength is affecting my connection, which I described in previous replies in this thread.
I am constantly disconnecting due to the poor wireless strength. The 2WIRE can randomly go from a "Very Good" signal to a "Low" signal.
I don't actually care for the level of signal (Very Good, Excellent, etc.). It's just to show the wireless strength of the modem/router.
If "Very Good" can serve me well I wouldn't mind.
liangtam
08-12-2008, 06:08 PM
I am constantly disconnecting due to the poor wireless strength. The 2WIRE can randomly go from a "Very Good" signal to a "Low" signal.
You know why? Cos you nid to orientate the thingy.
The 2wire has its antenna etched on the PCB and is pointed on the front direction(for 2700).
You can try turn it 360 degree to ur likings for ur 'special' circumstances, tho i cant guarantee you that some of the position is possible for placement tho :s13:
MrJacky
08-12-2008, 06:13 PM
You know why? Cos you nid to orientate the thingy.
The 2wire has its antenna etched on the PCB and is pointed on the front direction(for 2700).
You can try turn it 360 degree to ur likings for ur 'special' circumstances, tho i cant guarantee you that some of the position is possible for placement tho :s13:
Yep, that location has limited space. If I try to place it in awkward manner it will fall. ;)
Plus it makes no sense if I can't see the status lights. :P
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.