View Full Version : Starhub maxmobile getting slower and slower
kivine
15-11-2008, 08:40 PM
I've been noticing this, SHMM is getting damn slow, even 56k can beat it most of the time.
Anyone noticing the lag recently? LAst month still OK.
AlpineEscape
16-11-2008, 12:25 AM
yes. 3.5kb/s for me. cannot even surf web smoothly.
kivine
16-11-2008, 01:54 AM
monday gonna call them and complain . this is getting ridiculous,
ironman4672
16-11-2008, 01:57 AM
I've been noticing this, SHMM is getting damn slow, even 56k can beat it most of the time.
Anyone noticing the lag recently? LAst month still OK.
which area u are at? and what is the previous max speed for download comparing to the current speed for download? ;);););););)
liangtam
16-11-2008, 02:24 AM
try back the older APN if u made some adjustment bah,
may or may not work tho, lemme try next week then update again
kivine
16-11-2008, 01:41 PM
how many different apn/s are there?
ironman4672: i can get around 300+ during the start of the year then it starts to dwindle around 100+, it is ok for me though. but now the graph starts to become oscillating from 0 - 40kb/s (most of the time just freeze at 0.5kb/s). Surfing experience sucks! even a 56.6kbps can at least 100% load my page. SHMM just loads and loads and loads :s16:.
Only after 2am it resumes back to normal.
liangtam
16-11-2008, 02:53 PM
3 more knowns
some ppl subscribe it not for biz use, rather to mass BT and download ma, everytime hog the network, of cos slow lor
kivine
16-11-2008, 03:08 PM
3 more knowns
some ppl subscribe it not for biz use, rather to mass BT and download ma, everytime hog the network, of cos slow lor
the 3 more knowns are for starhub, not M1 or Singnet right? i only know SHWAP and shinternet
ironman4672
16-11-2008, 03:21 PM
how many different apn/s are there?
ironman4672: i can get around 300+ during the start of the year then it starts to dwindle around 100+, it is ok for me though. but now the graph starts to become oscillating from 0 - 40kb/s (most of the time just freeze at 0.5kb/s). Surfing experience sucks! even a 56.6kbps can at least 100% load my page. SHMM just loads and loads and loads :s16:.
Only after 2am it resumes back to normal.
the answer is too obvious already... ur area got more and more maxmobile users.... that's exactly the same scenario that happened to singtel bbom....:s7::s7::s7::s7: besides, which area u are at??
blacklotus
16-11-2008, 04:36 PM
Not happy to know I'm not alone. Yeah, the speed went from bad to worse, especially since this week. I cannot even go to www.starhub.com. And my modem switched back to 2g grps mode after 5 minutes of connection. And no, my modem is not faulty. I have 2 of them, 1 of them brand new. Both got disconnected after 5 min.
I called up yesterday to complain. I'm paying the full S$72 per month with no discount for 2 years since I'm an early adopter.
On the plus side, their customer service was excellent and the response from the tech staff was fast. Too bad, the connection's still laggy/slow. I don't dare to use it for my Blizzard Diablo2 addiction. Don't wanna my level 80 hardcore character to get killed by the 'Lagamon' ...:(
Yeah, even surfing extremely slow. I'm not even doing BT. sigh...
kivine
16-11-2008, 04:40 PM
On the plus side, their customer service was excellent and the response from the tech staff was fast. Too bad, the connection's still laggy/slow.
so how did the COS responded?
and i'm living around HG area
kresna84
16-11-2008, 04:43 PM
im on maxmobile utimate, i started to experience sudden unstable connection since friday evening.. one minute can load website normally, then next minute totally can not. Sometimes can even disconnect by itself. Play dota also confirm will dc in the middle. Strangely, when I use BT the connection seems stable (although the dl speed is reduced). Im in jurong west area
blacklotus
16-11-2008, 04:47 PM
im on maxmobile utimate, i started to experience sudden unstable connection since friday evening.. one minute can load website normally, then next minute totally can not. Sometimes can even disconnect by itself. Play dota also confirm will dc in the middle. Strangely, when I use BT the connection seems stable (although the dl speed is reduced). Im in jurong west area
Yeah, that's around the same day I start experiencing my disconnection after 5 min. The bandwidth will switch from 3.5G to 2G grps network.
I'm in the Sembawang area.
And I don't even BT. I only wanna play my Diablo2. Sigh...
kresna84
16-11-2008, 04:54 PM
Not happy to know I'm not alone. Yeah, the speed went from bad to worse, especially since this week. I cannot even go to www.starhub.com. And my modem switched back to 2g grps mode after 5 minutes of connection. And no, my modem is not faulty. I have 2 of them, 1 of them brand new. Both got disconnected after 5 min.
I called up yesterday to complain. I'm paying the full S$72 per month with no discount for 2 years since I'm an early adopter.
On the plus side, their customer service was excellent and the response from the tech staff was fast. Too bad, the connection's still laggy/slow. I don't dare to use it for my Blizzard Diablo2 addiction. Don't wanna my level 80 hardcore character to get killed by the 'Lagamon' ...:(
ok at least now i know that it's not the modem fault lol..
btw, i just find out that they have new firmware for the huawei 170 modem, it's version 11.311.05.01.00.
i checked mine is 11.304.xxxxx do you guys upgrade your firmware ?
blacklotus
16-11-2008, 04:56 PM
so how did the COS responded?
and i'm living around HG area
Well, she initially said she'll transfer me to tech support, which means more waiting. I said, very loudly, that's not acceptable, as it means me wasting more time and MONEY on my phone bill waiting for their tech support to pick up the call. She said she'll get them to call me back on Monday (I call on Saturday 5pm). I told her, it's definitely NOT acceptable. I'm paying a PREMIUM price for a PREMIUM service.
So she took down my phone number, and I got a tech support person call me back within 30 minutes. :) CSO's name is Sandra. (I think it's acceptable to mention her name as she is helpful and patient. ;) )
Too bad, the connection's still bad...sigh...Anyway, I'm at work today, so it's ok. cool down. cool down.
hitme
16-11-2008, 04:58 PM
same here.
sufffering from damn slow speed last few days.
called them, they said they dun know when this problem will solve. ask me change my APN to "shinternet".
seem slike worst than before. what was the old one?
we want answer!!!
kresna84
16-11-2008, 05:03 PM
same here.
sufffering from damn slow speed last few days.
called them, they said they dun know when this problem will solve. ask me change my APN to "shinternet".
seem slike worst than before. what was the old one?
we want answer!!!
err.. my APN is shinternet since the beginning leh.. how come yours was not?
liangtam
16-11-2008, 05:05 PM
err.. my APN is shinternet since the beginning leh.. how come yours was not?
e170 set to new APN ma, earlier sub get the older APN.
hitme
16-11-2008, 05:07 PM
not sure man
but both also not working for sure
blacklotus
16-11-2008, 05:08 PM
ok at least now i know that it's not the modem fault lol..
btw, i just find out that they have new firmware for the huawei 170 modem, it's version 11.311.05.01.00.
i checked mine is 11.304.xxxxx do you guys upgrade your firmware ?
Mine's 11.306 or 11.307. Not too sure now as I'm not home. Cannot surf, so go library and read books instead. :s13:
Doubt it helps. After all, your modem with the old firmware was working properly before this week, right? And mine's a different firmware and was also working properly until this week. So any changes/problems are due to Starhub, not their PAYING customers.
kresna84
16-11-2008, 05:17 PM
Mine's 11.306 or 11.307. Not too sure now as I'm not home. Cannot surf, so go library and read books instead. :s13:
Doubt it helps. After all, your modem with the old firmware was working properly before this week, right? And mine's a different firmware and was also working properly until this week. So any changes/problems are due to Starhub, not their PAYING customers.
yup you're right.. haiz, can only wait tomorrow and see how..
hitme
16-11-2008, 05:17 PM
i think the technician went home liao. (5pm)
is working again
can stream video again
blacklotus
16-11-2008, 05:25 PM
I'm saying I'm at my office library now reading books. I'm not asking you kresna84 to go to the library to read books. Sorry if I sound rude. Too much sms texting nowadays. My grammar's gone to hell. And so's my vocabulary and even my speaking skills...sigh...:o:(
blacklotus
16-11-2008, 05:27 PM
i think the technician went home liao. (5pm)
is working again
can stream video again
Glad to hear that. Guess I will try it when I get home later tonight. Thanks for the feedback. I will update on this thread too on the service quality on my end. :)
p.s. I noted that streaming videos from some <SELF-CENSORED> pawn sites is fast. However, gaming (on battlenet) is laggy. Sigh...Too bad I've gone off pawn after reaching 30...Too addicted to battlenet (which is also VERY unhealthy) Actually, more so. WOW's not free. And being obsessed with getting that perfect annihilus small charm from Uber-Diablo on hardcore ladder is very very unhealthy.
kresna84
16-11-2008, 05:35 PM
I'm saying I'm at my office library now reading books. I'm not asking you kresna84 to go to the library to read books. Sorry if I sound rude. Too much sms texting nowadays. My grammar's gone to hell. And so's my vocabulary and even my speaking skills...sigh...:o:(
hahaha, i got what you meant correctly lah.. damn, does that mean my grammar's gone to hell also? :(
kivine
16-11-2008, 05:41 PM
1 thing for sure, google/starhub.com loads pretty fast
blacklotus
16-11-2008, 05:47 PM
1 thing for sure, google/starhub.com loads pretty fast
HAH. I did complain specifically to the Starhub CSO that I cannot even reach www.starhub.com. Hmm...I wonder...:s13:
MikeChan_
16-11-2008, 05:59 PM
I'm getting very weak connections every night and most of the time, its not connected at all (meaning no activity).
Signed a contract for 2 years and cannot even use properly. I am wondering is there any avenue for us to ask for recourse since the service is not reasonable, on the basis that - This service is purchased for the purpose of a reasonable internet usage but the actual service is not reasonable. I wonder if there is an organisation that could mediate such a case for termination since the service is not acceptable to reasonable usage standard.
hitme
16-11-2008, 06:04 PM
look at my connection speed
comes in burst. (likse ****ting)
http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3275/3034550856_9a3db50bff.jpg?v=0
kivine
16-11-2008, 06:37 PM
wah...u dl so much?!
ironman4672
16-11-2008, 07:50 PM
Not happy to know I'm not alone. Yeah, the speed went from bad to worse, especially since this week. I cannot even go to www.starhub.com (http://www.starhub.com). And my modem switched back to 2g grps mode after 5 minutes of connection. And no, my modem is not faulty. I have 2 of them, 1 of them brand new. Both got disconnected after 5 min.
wah wah....$72!!! god damn ex.... haha can apply 10mbps plan singnet bb with macbook for free liao haha....
;););)
i'm on 2mbps the surflite plan... paying $19.xx only, contract 2 years... speed is excellent....
think it is either becos ur area too many users liao...which area u are at?
ironman4672
16-11-2008, 07:52 PM
look at my connection speed
comes in burst. (likse ****ting)
http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3275/3034550856_9a3db50bff.jpg?v=0
from ur usage, every mth u can hit 10GB average for download usage only... seems like ur connection is not very good....:D:D:D:D:D:D:D
kivine
16-11-2008, 07:55 PM
ok, speed back to normal for me...
Paladium
16-11-2008, 08:57 PM
Anyone in Jurong East area experiencing slow speed with normal surfing?? I don't even want to mention bt, that one's horrible..
ironman4672
16-11-2008, 10:17 PM
Anyone in Jurong East area experiencing slow speed with normal surfing?? I don't even want to mention bt, that one's horrible..
i think west side the maxmobile speed is terrible... last time when i'm at bukit batok, i cannot surf at all 99% of the time...:s7::s7::s7::s7::s7:
hitme
17-11-2008, 07:54 AM
i think west side the maxmobile speed is terrible... last time when i'm at bukit batok, i cannot surf at all 99% of the time...:s7::s7::s7::s7::s7:
near mindef mah
both my starhub and m1 also useless at home.
i stay bukit panjang
waiwaisan
17-11-2008, 12:38 PM
HAIZ mine 1 from friday to sunday nite totally cannot suft net.
sunday nite around 10pm become ok abit. today i donnoe cos Now i working,
later back home wan try again
super bore waste our money!! with a lousy service
btw i stay toapayoh area
hitme
17-11-2008, 12:44 PM
everything was good this morning until 12pm.
now the bottleneck is back.
guess it wont be back till 6
ironman4672
17-11-2008, 01:06 PM
near mindef mah
both my starhub and m1 also useless at home.
i stay bukit panjang
either the 3G signal at ur area is weak or ur side the network congested liao... as simple as that....
what u can do now is either to make noise to starhub to request to cancel the contract without penalty or ask for waiver etc....:yawn::yawn::yawn::yawn::yawn:
waiwaisan
17-11-2008, 01:44 PM
either the 3G signal at ur area is weak or ur side the network congested liao... as simple as that....
what u can do now is either to make noise to starhub to request to cancel the contract without penalty or ask for waiver etc....:yawn::yawn::yawn::yawn::yawn:
keep make noise n complain will work?
hitme
17-11-2008, 02:55 PM
nvm
i am moving anyway. ha
rockmanxx87
17-11-2008, 04:53 PM
Hi guys,
i also experience this problem...
soon i found out something that goes thru alot of problem know the reason.
Remember this?
http://www.hardwarezone.com.sg/news/view.php?id=11942&cid=8
This is roughly the time it starts to do down... and still going on
WCDMA :yawn: -> HSPA :s11: -> HSDPA :eek:
after their "help" from their help desk. they told me that there were actually upgrading the network but causing more problems.
ironman4672
17-11-2008, 05:08 PM
keep make noise n complain will work?
definitely will work, as long as u are firmed enough.....:s7::s7::s7::s7: just keep to the point that u have subscribed to the service, paying fee every mth, what the **** if u cannot surf at all or use the service most of the time....:s22::s22::s22:must make noise until as deep as possible, they will definitely do something one... best is u can cancel it without penalty...
becos since ur area is congested, unless they increase bandwidth, or upgrade their network, else u will stick to this kind of prob forever....
Humster
17-11-2008, 05:53 PM
Guys its the coming SiTEX la.
Starhub always like that one. Before one of the 4 shows, will lag like crazy.
hitme
18-11-2008, 09:47 AM
they have sms me and promised that everything is back to normal.
so far so good.
kivine
18-11-2008, 11:10 AM
they have sms me and promised that everything is back to normal.
so far so good.
yeah, same here
rockmanxx87
18-11-2008, 04:23 PM
hmmm me three.... only about less than a few hours when i posted my comment... weird....
waiwaisan
18-11-2008, 05:12 PM
may i know wad sms they send to ur guy? and now back to normal oredi?
where to post comment?
hitme
18-11-2008, 05:17 PM
yup back to normal.
but afternoon is still too slow for streaming video.
buffering and more buffering
liangtam
18-11-2008, 05:25 PM
may i know wad sms they send to ur guy? and now back to normal oredi?
where to post comment?
" Dear valued customer, the maxmobile/hspa issue " blah blah
chase79
19-11-2008, 08:20 AM
Actually speed is not bad already
waiwaisan
19-11-2008, 08:46 AM
mine 1 still sux
keep dc
haiz
ironman4672
19-11-2008, 11:50 AM
mine 1 still sux
keep dc
haiz
which location u are at? :D:D:D:D:D:D
waiwaisan
19-11-2008, 01:38 PM
which location u are at? :D:D:D:D:D:D
toa payoh -_-
even early morning like 6am
oso will dc
ironman4672
19-11-2008, 04:23 PM
toa payoh -_-
even early morning like 6am
oso will dc
i think it's party due to the fact that army camp etc is there? that's why the signal cannot interfere there and so the signal is not bad.. someone has mentioned something abt this in another thread, i think it is quite true, especially when u tell me that the toa payoh is like that.. even last time when i'm at bukit batok also the speed sucks big time...
so it's the area prob, dun think anything can solve this....
either u change it to fixed line bb or so....
waiwaisan
19-11-2008, 04:35 PM
i think it's party due to the fact that army camp etc is there? that's why the signal cannot interfere there and so the signal is not bad.. someone has mentioned something abt this in another thread, i think it is quite true, especially when u tell me that the toa payoh is like that.. even last time when i'm at bukit batok also the speed sucks big time...
so it's the area prob, dun think anything can solve this....
either u change it to fixed line bb or so....
haiz, really sick about it. mayb will change to singnet 10mb line, cos now got 3 days promotion free mac notebook
hitme
19-11-2008, 05:06 PM
in gerneral
i am happy with my starhun maxmobile compares to my M1.
m1 mobile bb is hopeless. even their cs acknowledge it.
worst they dun even let me change my dingy to the usb thumb drive.
blacklotus
20-11-2008, 12:52 AM
Hi guys,
i also experience this problem...
soon i found out something that goes thru alot of problem know the reason.
Remember this?
http://www.hardwarezone.com.sg/news/view.php?id=11942&cid=8
This is roughly the time it starts to do down... and still going on
WCDMA :yawn: -> HSPA :s11: -> HSDPA :eek:
after their "help" from their help desk. they told me that there were actually upgrading the network but causing more problems.
HAHAHA :s13:
Thanks. That explains the recent outage. I'm in this IT line long enough to know that when there's an upgrade, service is always downgraded for the interim period. :s13:
Still, I dislike the fact that they like to resort to their official 'There's no problem on our network' excuse.
If there's no problem, I won't be calling the customer service line in the 1st place. You think I have too much free time to call CSOs to chat them up? :s8:
Anyway, my line connection is pretty constant now. At least it doesn't disconnect every 5 minutes. That means I can go back to playing with my D2 hardcore barbie.
cheers. :D
GamerZ
20-11-2008, 01:03 AM
anyone can access http://validator.w3.org? For the past few days I can't access it!
blacklotus
20-11-2008, 01:18 AM
anyone can access http://validator.w3.org? For the past few days I can't access it!
Works fine for me. Loads pretty fast too. Starhub maxmobile unlimited user here.
hesperus
29-11-2008, 11:21 AM
so far is it getting better for u guys?
ironman4672
30-11-2008, 03:24 AM
my maxmobile works great, perfect speed.....consistently haha....:s13::s13::s13::s13::s13:
kivine
01-12-2008, 03:13 PM
Using ultimate:
http://www.speedtest.net/result/365063149.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
Y am i only getting half the speed advertised ?? :(
liangtam
01-12-2008, 04:56 PM
cos its onli theory mah
phuque99
01-12-2008, 04:58 PM
I think the advertised speed is "up to XX Mbps", it doesn't say bau jiak :D
albertchng
01-12-2008, 05:01 PM
I think the advertised speed is "up to XX Mbps", it doesn't say bau jiak :D
They are telling you in another word, you bau tio jiak...!
kivine
01-12-2008, 06:46 PM
cos its onli theory mah
i know its theoretical. but half?!
now i know why starhub doesnt offer 3.6/1mbps.
only 2mb/512kbs or 7.2/2mbps.
all would downgrade to 3.6/1mbps since the ultimate plan would get this speeds anyway...
liangtam
01-12-2008, 08:18 PM
i know its theoretical. but half?!
now i know why starhub doesnt offer 3.6/1mbps.
only 2mb/512kbs or 7.2/2mbps.
all would downgrade to 3.6/1mbps since the ultimate plan would get this speeds anyway...
You really another fat carrot, chop chop :D
boucyfirebal
01-12-2008, 10:51 PM
i dun believe in blaming user
they are only using what they pay
instead blame starhub! anyway im suggested in startin a mass petition as in the other thread lets join it!
kivine
02-12-2008, 01:27 AM
You really another fat carrot, chop chop :D
they really oversubscribe their users man...
I used to be able to upload up to 140kb/s before, now is like abysmal.
liangtam
02-12-2008, 02:15 AM
they really oversubscribe their users man...
I used to be able to upload up to 140kb/s before, now is like abysmal.
140*8 = 1.12mbit/s leh
shared medium is like tis de
MyNameIsNas
02-12-2008, 10:23 AM
HAHAHA :s13:
Thanks. That explains the recent outage. I'm in this IT line long enough to know that when there's an upgrade, service is always downgraded for the interim period. :s13:
Still, I dislike the fact that they like to resort to their official 'There's no problem on our network' excuse.
If there's no problem, I won't be calling the customer service line in the 1st place. You think I have too much free time to call CSOs to chat them up? :s8:
Anyway, my line connection is pretty constant now. At least it doesn't disconnect every 5 minutes. That means I can go back to playing with my D2 hardcore barbie.
cheers. :D
The connection breakdown is not due to Starhub. It's the stick itself...
krazyman
02-12-2008, 10:27 AM
MaxMobile doesn't goes thru transparent proxy. So it's good for RapidShare leechers.:D
MyNameIsNas
02-12-2008, 11:04 AM
MaxMobile doesn't goes thru transparent proxy. So it's good for RapidShare leechers.:D
Agree.. i reached 200-300kbps in the morning. Ok, it's not as expected with a 7.2mbps speed:s22: yet i'm pretty happy
berryeclaire
08-12-2008, 01:53 AM
Hi all..
Need some advice here..I've signed up for Maxmobile Surf lite plan last Sept 2008.Till now always had a lot of problems with the connection.Called Starhub to complain a lot of times already till they offered me 3 mths free and they told me that after this 3 mths,i have an option to terminate without the ETC charge.So far still have a lot of problems with the connection Dun talk abt the max 2mbps speed I'm lucky if i can connect at all..(I'm using ZTE modem and living around AMK).I'm wondering shld i go ahead and terminate it?I'm actually staying in a rental that's why i got a usb modem instead of a cable modem.Shld i switch to M1 mobile internet plan instead?
ironman4672
08-12-2008, 02:39 AM
Agree.. i reached 200-300kbps in the morning. Ok, it's not as expected with a 7.2mbps speed:s22: yet i'm pretty happy
i'm on maxmobile surflite, can hit 200k no prob....:D:D:D:D:D:D
ironman4672
08-12-2008, 02:54 AM
Hi all..
Need some advice here..I've signed up for Maxmobile Surf lite plan last Sept 2008.Till now always had a lot of problems with the connection.Called Starhub to complain a lot of times already till they offered me 3 mths free and they told me that after this 3 mths,i have an option to terminate without the ETC charge.So far still have a lot of problems with the connection Dun talk abt the max 2mbps speed I'm lucky if i can connect at all..(I'm using ZTE modem and living around AMK).I'm wondering shld i go ahead and terminate it?I'm actually staying in a rental that's why i got a usb modem instead of a cable modem.Shld i switch to M1 mobile internet plan instead?
go ahead and cancel la.... since u cannot access... no pt paying money for nothing... and u cannot get waiver forever also.....
most likely ur area the starhub 3G network is congested with users... change to other telco mobile bb instead....;););););)
juan1205
08-12-2008, 09:25 AM
<SPAM Removal>
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.