View Full Version : Singnet BB new user need technical help
Numbskull
16-11-2008, 02:21 PM
I very very sorry I know these questions have been asked again and again and I should be asking Singnet instead but I tried and their CSO don't give any answers to my question...
DSL Connection Details
DSL Line (Wire Pair): Line 1 (inner pair)
Protocol: G.DMT2+ Annex A
Downstream Rate: 13999 kbps
Upstream Rate: 1021 kbps
Channel: Interleaved
Current Noise Margin: 25.2 dB (Downstream) 8.1 dB (Upstream)
Current Attenuation: 12.3 dB (Downstream) 4.7 dB (Upstream)
Current Output Power: 16.6 dBm (Downstream) 11.9 dBm (Upstream)
DSLAM Vendor Information: Country: {0xB5} Vendor: {BDCM} Specific: {0x8462}
PVC Info: 0/100
Got 2 questions, hope some experts here can help, what is the optimal current noise margin and current attenuation? Is mine considered lousy?
Another thing is my ping seem to be 10-20 ms higher than my Starhub connection previously for anything. I read through forums that it is due to Interleaved mode setting. How do I change it to Fast mode? Can't find the options under the modem.
Also suggest perhaps someone write a guide on the margins etc so we all know when our signal is bad or what and can call Singnet to make a report.
liangtam
16-11-2008, 02:49 PM
Q1: It isn't. Guide is already written, its in the xDSL subforum. PS: it is not updated for ADSL2/+, refer solely to ADSL one
Q2: If you wan to change over, you will have to provide your error count/statistics as well. Besides, why do you not see a reply regarding the channel/path mode? Because this option is not available to us in the first place.
albertchng
16-11-2008, 02:52 PM
Your line stats is good. Your line circuit cannot handle fast dsl mode, that is why they put you on interleaved dsl mode. If they die die put you on fast mode, your line will be unstable and DC wil be frequent. A lot of conditions can affect line stats & those conditions cannot be controlled by a single party.
The reason on Singnet CSO not giving you the answer is they dont know, especially the level 1 helpdesk agent, their job is to clear as much calls as possible, often following a knowledge base for troubleshooting.
Numbskull
16-11-2008, 08:18 PM
http://www.gamepath.net/images/stats.jpg
My stats are here. Does this mean I have no hope for fast mode? My download speeds on Singnet BB are fantastic but the ping is noticeably higher than my Starhub connection.
Sigh feel a bit cheated if cannot change to fast mode.
liangtam
16-11-2008, 08:34 PM
http://www.gamepath.net/images/stats.jpg
My stats are here. Does this mean I have no hope for fast mode? My download speeds on Singnet BB are fantastic but the ping is noticeably higher than my Starhub connection.
Sigh feel a bit cheated if cannot change to fast mode.
Your line is extreme good.
Call them more often bah
Numbskull
16-11-2008, 09:11 PM
Thanks man! Like this I call them ask them change to fast mode for me. Hope can!
RITS_SOLUTION
16-11-2008, 09:18 PM
Your line is extreme good.
Call them more often bah
Hi, can I check do we have any guide on how to do a DIY check on our own lines? So that we can know what to look out for the statistics and etc to intepret what might be affecting our connection. Just wondering cause if there are not, may I sugggest some good angels help create... so that newbies like me can check them on their own first. Thanks
liangtam
16-11-2008, 09:20 PM
Thanks man! Like this I call them ask them change to fast mode for me. Hope can!
You may have to call each n everyday tho. Moi notch successful :o
Numbskull
16-11-2008, 09:44 PM
I emailed their helpdesk with request liao, tomorrow going to call since today Sunday all the higher level techs won't be in.
albertchng
16-11-2008, 09:48 PM
Numbskull...
Depend on where you stay, likely no fast dsl mode for your line. From where i see, if put you to fast mode, all your errors will amplify many folds. If tied you to exchange, your noise & attenuation will suffer a lot.
Maybe you can share with us on where in SG you stay, what type of housing & how old is your house...
liangtam
16-11-2008, 09:53 PM
i emailed before le, no reply, haha...
liangtam
16-11-2008, 09:57 PM
Numbskull...
Depend on where you stay, likely no fast dsl mode for your line. From where i see, if put you to fast mode, all your errors will amplify many folds. If tied you to exchange, your noise & attenuation will suffer a lot.
Maybe you can share with us on where in SG you stay, what type of housing & how old is your house...
no la
u see the screenshot again
If you're in fast path, all the error blocks will be listed as uncorrected(current corrected + uncorrected), because interleave uses a method of checksum which has correction algorithm.
albertchng
16-11-2008, 10:15 PM
no la
u see the screenshot again
If you're in fast path, all the error blocks will be listed as uncorrected(current corrected + uncorrected), because interleave uses a method of checksum which has correction algorithm.
There maybe other reasons why he is not on fast mode. Quite pointless hounding singnet helpdesk on this, should talk him out of it. :(
Numbskull
16-11-2008, 10:18 PM
Hmm I stay at Marine Parade. I always thought getting Singnet Broadband would give me better ping turns out the turn from my other Starhub line is better because of this interleaved thing.
There maybe other reasons why he is not on fast mode. Quite pointless hounding singnet helpdesk on this, should talk him out of it. :(
albertchng
16-11-2008, 10:27 PM
hmm... marine parade area, Starhub line is better for now but fault will start to surface sooner or later. That area not as pack as bedok so more bandwidth thus ping & trace are better.
liangtam
17-11-2008, 12:06 AM
I guess its more of the technical team who opt for and blanket apply everyone interleave so they get less calls of complaint from those who dunno.
But too bad, its not what consumer wants, especially when ADSL in Fast path mode is suppose to give people the advantage in latency, of cos, useful when gaming.
chunlianghere
17-11-2008, 12:47 AM
haiz...if they able to giv ppl an option to change to FAST mode, than it would be best liao. but when talk to them, their higher tech like knw nth lo.. hopefully there is 1 person who is able to in charge of this. :D
albertchng
17-11-2008, 01:53 AM
mai haiz here, haiz there lah. see open abit, life easier to pass. :D
ohmygod1986
17-11-2008, 08:02 AM
Anyone is having fast mode ???
Mine also Interleaved :s12:
albertchng
17-11-2008, 09:46 AM
READ here (http://bbs.adslguide.org.uk/showthreaded.php?Cat=&Board=nildram&Number=2319136&page=0&view=expanded&sb=5&o=&fpart) for better understanding of Interleaved.
Numbskull
17-11-2008, 10:25 AM
The thing is I expected better latency due to being a gamer and hearing all the fantastic story about Singnet broadband. I didn't expect them to do this just so I can get connected, if they tell me I cannot get fast mode I simply will not sign up and stick with Starhub.
Kind of defeats the purpose for me to even sign up since my Starhub is faster for local and international by a good 20-30ms.
liangtam
17-11-2008, 10:53 AM
The latency shld still be better than starfug ba. Since you don't rly get spikes. Of course, its not desired. So call them often :)
ps: the msian CS may not be able do anything, so don't scream at them
albertchng
17-11-2008, 11:56 AM
Since you find Starhub ping latency good by 20-30ms, then subscribe to them lor. :)
chunlianghere
17-11-2008, 12:10 PM
mai haiz here, haiz there lah. see open abit, life easier to pass. :D
yeah...i c open liao. :s13:
anyway abit more latency doesnt matter! but as long as speed is there, no dc...
ohmygod1986
17-11-2008, 12:36 PM
Starhub for gaming ...
:s13::s13::s13: Sure bo
liangtam
17-11-2008, 01:43 PM
moi ish more interested in latency n upload than dl
Numbskull
17-11-2008, 10:13 PM
O.o so far no response, guess I shouldn't keep my hope up.
albertchng
18-11-2008, 01:44 PM
But too bad, its not what consumer wants...
Depend on whether your backside is red red, if not then too bad lor. ~jkjk=:p~
Numbskull
06-12-2008, 05:11 PM
Just thought I'd update after so many days of calling up, they say it's now pending their Level 2 department, whatever that means.
Kiddream
06-12-2008, 05:19 PM
mine is Fast mode...but seriously what's the difference? However im on a 8mbps plan...but my speedtest only show 2900kps....singnet is sending someone to help me check...
chunlianghere
06-12-2008, 05:27 PM
mine is Fast mode...but seriously what's the difference? However im on a 8mbps plan...but my speedtest only show 2900kps....singnet is sending someone to help me check...
mayb if u wanna post your line stats n c?
Numbskull
16-12-2008, 01:42 PM
I've finally managed to obtain fast mode. No problems so far, yay!
chunlianghere
16-12-2008, 03:53 PM
I've finally managed to obtain fast mode. No problems so far, yay!
wow...how? mind share? wonder how is your line stats liao.
Numbskull
17-12-2008, 12:37 AM
So far so good, I will update in a few days the stats as I just reseted and need a few days to populate.
BTW any clue how I can access the home portal from bridged mode through my Dlink modem? I have been asking here but so far no hope... Need to plug wire in and out to see line stat.
My post here: http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showthread.php?p=34434205&posted=1#post34434205
Anyone who knows, your input is much appreciated!
liangtam
17-12-2008, 12:45 AM
It is possible to see UI, but this will get complicated in setup n as such, not advicable.
The above step requires you to disconnect the PPPoE session also, which is probably what you don't wan either.
So use 2 NIC instead.
Anyway, u have a traceroute to show us? :)
Numbskull
17-12-2008, 01:05 PM
Sure, where you want me to trace to?
liangtam
17-12-2008, 01:38 PM
Sure, where you want me to trace to?
Any site lor, singnet oso can
Numbskull
17-12-2008, 05:53 PM
Tracing route to www.singnet.com.sg [165.21.74.59]
over a maximum of 30 hops:
1 8 ms 9 ms 9 ms
2 9 ms 9 ms 9 ms 202.166.121.181
3 * * * Request timed out.
4 9 ms 9 ms 9 ms ge-2-0-0-3600.sapporo.singnet.com.sg [202.166.12
4.149]
5 9 ms 9 ms 9 ms xe-10-0-0.budwesier.singnet.com.sg [202.166.126.
1]
6 9 ms 9 ms 8 ms ae2-0.takju.singnet.com.sg [202.166.126.77]
7 9 ms 9 ms 8 ms 202.166.126.82
8 7 ms 9 ms 9 ms GE-5-1.marina.singnet.com.sg [165.21.12.110]
9 9 ms 9 ms 9 ms www.singnet.com.sg [165.21.74.59]
Trace complete.
I used to get like 25-30 ms.
liangtam
17-12-2008, 06:18 PM
oh, ok.
not as low as what albertchng gets.
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.