View Full Version : Capello suspect Stevie G skiving?
Litmuss
17-11-2008, 04:36 PM
Liverpool captain Steven Gerrard has reported for England duty, even though his club had already ruled him out of the midweek friendly with Germany.
The Reds announced that Gerrard had suffered a groin injury during the weekend clash with Bolton which would rule him out of the trip to Berlin on Wednesday.
However, Fabio Capello has instructed Gerrard to report with the rest of the squad so he can be assessed by England's own medical team.
Gerrard has now linked up with the party but he appears highly unlikely to make the trip.
Skipper John Terry is also a major doubt with a foot injury although after a scan it was decided he should link-up with the squad.
The Football Association confirmed that a decision on both players would be made on Monday.
Manchester City keeper Joe Hart was ruled out of the squad on Sunday and was replaced by Paul Robinson.
http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528,11095_4508853,00.html
Knn can play 90 min for Liverpool match against Bolten but cannot report for duty.:s27:
daylight
17-11-2008, 04:48 PM
its only a friendly. not world cup qualifier match.
SAF always encourage his man yoo players to report sick for friendly matches.
lyfeforce
17-11-2008, 04:52 PM
Gerrard would fight tooth and nail for his country and Capello thinks of him this way? Kinda disappointing.
Litmuss
17-11-2008, 05:04 PM
That time Liverpool withdrew Gerrard from the World Cup qualifiers against Andorra and Croatia to have an operation on a groin injury have already upset Capello. It's more like Benitez decision. He's selfish and want to keep all his players during international games. I remembered he questioned spain why Torres always come back with injuries after these games? :s22:
Litmuss
17-11-2008, 05:05 PM
This one pretty obvious. SAF alway does these sort of things.
lyfeforce
17-11-2008, 05:13 PM
That time Liverpool withdrew Gerrard from the World Cup qualifiers against Andorra and Croatia to have an operation on a groin injury have already upset Capello. It's more like Benitez decision. He's selfish and want to keep all his players during international games. I remembered he questioned spain why Torres always come back with injuries after these games? :s22:
To be honest, any manager would do that. For them, they are protecting their rice bowl. Benitez is being selfish, true enough. We have always seen club vs country rows quite too often.
Litmuss
17-11-2008, 05:28 PM
To be honest, any manager would do that. For them, they are protecting their rice bowl. Benitez is being selfish, true enough. We have always seen club vs country rows quite too often.
But do until so often like a bit overboard.:o
Asakura
17-11-2008, 08:57 PM
Just look at Messi's contract agreement with Argentina.
Jackson Ng Ghim Pheng
17-11-2008, 09:11 PM
John Terry and Steven Gerrard should rest and nurse their injury properly.
But JT as usual is going to rush back from injury to play really admire his passion for football club and country.
Friendly there is no need really if those 2 are carrying even slight injury no reason to risk them at all.
while you are right there is no need for the names call. :s22:
ahgohgoh
17-11-2008, 09:54 PM
lampard also skiving ah?
Rappelz
17-11-2008, 11:44 PM
big 4 all skiving leh....
cybertech
18-11-2008, 12:01 AM
All clubs chew pattern liao when International Friendly coming ....:s13:
Interesting to see this coming weekend league games those claim to be injured
will they play the full 90 mins - very sure Capello will be looking at them also :s8:
Jackson Ng Ghim Pheng
18-11-2008, 01:03 AM
lampard also skiving ah?
Rib injury
faruk55
18-11-2008, 09:09 AM
The International games is only getting loaned of the Club's players...
Do you like to loan your items to someone and get it back with some scratches here and there or with worst.. faulty..?? Imagining you lend your handphone or PS3 to your friend and get it back with some problems.. will you be happy? :D
I think this is what Rafa is trying to do.. protect his assets.. when loan them to the country, he should get back with the same condition..
RadEoNic
18-11-2008, 11:11 AM
All clubs chew pattern liao when International Friendly coming ....:s13:
Interesting to see this coming weekend league games those claim to be injured
will they play the full 90 mins - very sure Capello will be looking at them also :s8:
was it scholes that chut this pattern some time ago?
_dXter
18-11-2008, 11:21 AM
@Stevie, just announce retirement to England already.
othniel80
18-11-2008, 11:25 AM
lets be honest, everyone is selfish to a certain extent. If its you who is relinquishing your star asset and jeopardising your own interest, you are likely not to complain about chut pattern. Its just human nature.
spykid
18-11-2008, 12:29 PM
Sir Alex was probably the one who started this. Then and now subsequent managers start to follow the legendary one :s13:
eddygames
18-11-2008, 02:36 PM
O'SHEA: NO PRESSURE FROM FERGIE
Manchester United defender John O'Shea insists manager Sir Alex Ferguson would never prevent his players from representing their countries.
United trio Rio Ferdinand, Wayne Rooney and Darren Fletcher will miss this week's friendlies for their respective national teams.
Ferdinand and Rooney both sat out the Premier League champions' 5-0 win over Stoke City on Saturday and will not be involved in England's game with Germany on Wednesday.
Fletcher was forced off in the Stoke game with a knee problem and has been forced to pull out of Scotland's glamour friendly against Argentina.
The situation has led to suggestions that Ferguson wants his players to put the club first, but O'Shea is adamant that would never be the case.
"He never does," said O'Shea, who is preparing for Republic of Ireland's game with Poland, when asked if Ferguson asks players to choose.
"Obviously there's lots of pressure on club managers, but the manager always likes his players to play international football because it helps them and improves their game
true or not oshea? dont por the boss leh hehe
cybertech
18-11-2008, 07:10 PM
I also agree with many that these International Friendly were basically useless and
pointless - for nothing gain but players get the risk of being injured and worst still
out for long period because of these friendly matches :(
stanlfc
19-11-2008, 06:26 AM
in the end who pay the huge wages after the player injure it still the club while the country FA and manager just don do a damm thing
Asakura
19-11-2008, 09:17 AM
I also agree with many that these International Friendly were basically useless and
pointless - for nothing gain but players get the risk of being injured and worst still
out for long period because of these friendly matches :(
not exactly nothing gained.
you must take into acc. that the players are from all over the country. they seldom play tgt.
even players from the same club needs time to adapt and adjust to each other, wads more to say abt international call ups.
kopfowler
19-11-2008, 09:32 AM
Under Capello, SG's England carreer is “destructed” by Capello…first play SG out of position and SG do not perform well.
2ndly now want to play him despite his injury scare.
This is only friendly, I hope SG will retire from England team like Carragher
Asakura
19-11-2008, 09:40 AM
early international retirement?
CanIsayNo
19-11-2008, 09:04 PM
none of the experienced england players seem interested to play for england in international friendlies anymore
kopitian
20-11-2008, 12:09 AM
Capello is a f**ctard.
The liverpool physio is physio for England under 21s. Capello dont trust his own staff?
now u tell me this.. gerrard travelled 400 miles.. england main doctor checked.. england doctor said.."Oh u really got injury...K you go travel back 400 miles"
You tell me..if i was steven gerrard i pissed off or not?
You all talk about england is so great... when was the last time they won something?
U ask any scouser.. Liverpool > England
kopitian
20-11-2008, 12:10 AM
And u know why this england germany friendly was created in the first place?
Football Politics.
England wanna host world cup.. germany wanna support england..so germany say..come make friendly.. showcase ur best..impress fifa. For what fak?
Englands next competitive match is in april? What purpose to play friendly now?
Asakura
20-11-2008, 08:57 AM
And u know why this england germany friendly was created in the first place?
Football Politics.
England wanna host world cup.. germany wanna support england..so germany say..come make friendly.. showcase ur best..impress fifa. For what fak?
Englands next competitive match is in april? What purpose to play friendly now?
Quite logical..haha
1920_me
20-11-2008, 09:04 AM
Capello is a f**ctard.
The liverpool physio is physio for England under 21s. Capello dont trust his own staff?
now u tell me this.. gerrard travelled 400 miles.. england main doctor checked.. england doctor said.."Oh u really got injury...K you go travel back 400 miles"
You all talk about england is so great... when was the last time they won something?
You ask any fan, Their club > England.
They should just have get togethers, and maybe play a simply friendly among themselves. Just look at walcott, dislocated his shoulder, out for three months and who has to suffer the consequences...
skrw105
20-11-2008, 10:15 AM
Capello is a f**ctard.
most scousers would be able to tell u it is 200 miles to london.
othniel80
20-11-2008, 01:04 PM
I believe Capello is simply making a statement to the club managers that he wants to assess fitness levels and injuries of players on his own basis. I think there is no malice toward lfc and stevie G, just suay they are being use to make his statement, imo.
xavier4
20-11-2008, 01:09 PM
make capello compensate gerrard's travelling cost ! LOL !
and time he wasted travelling rather being able to spend to heal his injury or spend time with his wife..
i demand compensate !
jk..
poring24
20-11-2008, 01:11 PM
nvm, england midfield got enough talent to cover for injuries
xavier4
20-11-2008, 01:15 PM
ya lor they won 2-1..
that terry carson mix-up is frustrating but funny sia.. lol..
humanc0w
20-11-2008, 11:27 PM
But Terry won it for the team in the end. No thanks to Rooney, Rio, Walcott, Brown, Gerrard & Owen!
Asakura
21-11-2008, 07:07 AM
But Terry won it for the team in the end. No thanks to Rooney, Rio, Walcott, Brown, Gerrard & Owen!
as usual loh. nothing good comes out from you.
Jackson Ng Ghim Pheng
21-11-2008, 01:26 PM
2 - 1 win case close
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.