View Full Version : Starhub upgrade Ultimate plan to 10mbps upstream
misato
18-11-2008, 10:15 PM
Don't know if i'm WOLS a not, but i notice that Starhub has officially upgrade their plans upstream speed. Those on ultimate will get a speed bump to 10mbps and those on the lower plans will get a 1mbps upstream.
Official link:
http://www.starhub.com/portal/site/Online/menuitem.f2b59af84f3db376da055b608324a5a0/?vgnextoid=4ce653a58baeb010VgnVCM10000038425a0aRCRD
liangtam
18-11-2008, 10:23 PM
chiu ish wolswolswols :D
cant rly hit 10mbps(atm)
NWT1978
19-11-2008, 08:54 AM
wow that nice of them :D
if only pacnet will do it too but also on their download :s34:
since complaining to them speed have stable again :s34:
albertchng
19-11-2008, 08:59 AM
Good luck to Starhub... :s8:
Take care hor, subscribers of Starhub... :s13:
richneo
19-11-2008, 09:01 AM
chiu ish wolswolswols :D
cant rly hit 10mbps(atm)
yar lor
i oni got a max of around 8mbps
kivine
19-11-2008, 09:56 AM
yar lor
global upload?
my max was 3mbps, global upload.
my local upload - 8mbps though.
n95crazy
19-11-2008, 01:56 PM
actually technically you'll never get 10mbps upload becos of how tcp/ip works and the way acknowledge flags are sent... thus the higher the speed, the more the ack flags and seq flags therefore a lower thruput...
that is, if you be testing 56k, you'll be getting maybe 54k max - difference of 2k
but if you tested 560k, difference is 20k
if you tested 56000, difference is 2000k
which will seem more significant overall
misato
19-11-2008, 03:57 PM
8mbps effective is nearly good enough for streaming 720p HD video to 1 local user.
kenloonglow
19-11-2008, 05:15 PM
wow...the rusty green pipe want to lure more "water-fish" to jammed the traffic? :D
liangtam
19-11-2008, 06:53 PM
actually technically you'll never get 10mbps upload becos of how tcp/ip works and the way acknowledge flags are sent... thus the higher the speed, the more the ack flags and seq flags therefore a lower thruput...
that is, if you be testing 56k, you'll be getting maybe 54k max - difference of 2k
but if you tested 560k, difference is 20k
if you tested 56000, difference is 2000k
which will seem more significant overall
practically, exceeding 100Mbps on the Fat green pipe is possible and someone in this forum have done it.
Setting a limit cap of higher than 100mbps - accounting of inclusion of overhead will allowing customer to see its not fake as unlike what you've described.
You work for the Green you should know mah. Oops, I forgot to realize you(or are told to) lie thru ur teeth.
liangtam
19-11-2008, 06:54 PM
wow that nice of them :D
if only pacnet will do it too but also on their download :s34:
since complaining to them speed have stable again :s34:
Try ur upload again? :)
It might increase
Computron
20-11-2008, 12:23 AM
yar lor
I can't get more than 2mbps... power off on oledi .....:look:
http://www.speedtest.net/result/358676996.png
liangtam
20-11-2008, 12:38 AM
remove ur router
Sendoh82
20-11-2008, 05:32 AM
no use de la. only on local sending.
sianz the only prog i use to send fren is msn. and the speed slow.... sianz
Computron
20-11-2008, 07:51 AM
I can't get more than 2mbps... power off on oledi .....:look:
http://www.speedtest.net/result/358676996.png
Thanks liangtam.!
Reset QOS engine in router.
now still dont really get 10mpbs.... but better.
http://www.speedtest.net/result/358919825.png
NWT1978
20-11-2008, 08:11 AM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/358925244.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
there morning one speed :s34:
not much increase in speed :s34:
n95crazy
20-11-2008, 10:07 AM
practically, exceeding 100Mbps on the Fat green pipe is possible and someone in this forum have done it.
Setting a limit cap of higher than 100mbps - accounting of inclusion of overhead will allowing customer to see its not fake as unlike what you've described.
You work for the Green you should know mah. Oops, I forgot to realize you(or are told to) lie thru ur teeth.
it is common sense that if you where to imply that you are offering 10mbps upload speed, you'll offer 10mbps upload speed...
where is the logic to offer 12mbps upload speed and then advertise 10mbps instead!?!
i think this is common sense that somehow eludes you
misato
20-11-2008, 10:53 AM
I think you should better define the term 10mbps upload speed.
To a end user common sense, the term simply means one can upload at up to 10mbps speed (ie 1280kbytes/s).
From your explanation, your referring to 10mbps upstream link speed. Meaning it is has a physical link speed of 10mbps, and that max transmission speed of data including all overheads over this link is 10mbps.
richneo
20-11-2008, 11:04 AM
Thanks liangtam.!
Reset QOS engine in router.
now still dont really get 10mpbs.... but better.
http://www.speedtest.net/result/358919825.png
set ur qos upstream speed manually to 10mbps and above.
do not let it auto detect speed
bykte
20-11-2008, 04:54 PM
Is this already in effect? For those with the Ultimate plan, can you actually achieve 10Mbps upload speed to another local user?
Thanks in advance.
Computron
20-11-2008, 05:32 PM
Hi richneo,
I had tried (1)to set to 20480kpbs. & also (2)disable QOS totally.
both scenario the upload test using speednet is still the same.
Will later try direct conn.
--
Direct Conn still the same upload speed....
wildcat
20-11-2008, 10:29 PM
When my contract end, I am going to drop Starhub already. Keep bumping up speed, yet in actual usage seems like everything so much slower than back in the good ole days of 1.5Mbps. Or better, back in the days when still trial.
:s16: :s16: :s16:
richneo
20-11-2008, 11:34 PM
Hi richneo,
I had tried (1)to set to 20480kpbs. & also (2)disable QOS totally.
both scenario the upload test using speednet is still the same.
Will later try direct conn.
--
Direct Conn still the same upload speed....
if direct connection also same speed, only thing that can help u is to contact starhub liaoz
LemonT
21-11-2008, 09:24 AM
Wah evil leh u..:s13:
Anyway 10mbps is reachable, but not for all conditions. so your mileage may vary.
Most of the time the upstream server are the limiting factor.
I used a SNBB 10mbps plan to ftp download from a MOL-U with 10mbps upload. I can get 8+mbps, good enough already lar. =:p
it is common sense that if you where to imply that you are offering 10mbps upload speed, you'll offer 10mbps upload speed...
where is the logic to offer 12mbps upload speed and then advertise 10mbps instead!?!
i think this is common sense that somehow eludes you
Under Promise and Over Deliver?
liangtam
21-11-2008, 11:17 AM
Cannot reach leh, i oso onli saw 8mbps oso.
unless the dl cap has extra assigned for overhead while ul does not
phuque99
21-11-2008, 11:39 AM
Possible your test flawed? Should ask 1633 or starhub marketing what's their test tool. One use centimeter, the other use inches, like chicken and duck talk :D
Sendoh82
21-11-2008, 12:08 PM
eh using dir 655. need to set also?
http://www.speedtest.net/result/359584791.png
n95crazy
21-11-2008, 01:49 PM
Under Promise and Over Deliver?
precisely!
some people talk until like during the days of 56k modem, they were actually getting 89k bandwidth to support their 56k activities...
somehow common sense eludes them that this is what ALL ISPs have been providing all along...
n95crazy
21-11-2008, 01:54 PM
Cannot reach leh, i oso onli saw 8mbps oso.
unless the dl cap has extra assigned for overhead while ul does not
for your info there's almost no download cap becos of the very large bandwith that you have been offered...
infact it is already very surprising that people can reach 8mbps from test sites...
imagine if you are the network administrator of the test site,
given that at any 1 time there'll be an estimated 10 people testing their connection speeds, the bandwidth that your must allocate to support these 10 people is 10mbps x 10 = 100mbps for upload AND download therefore total combined bandwith is 200mbps
allowance for overheads + extra factors, you'll need around 300mbps to be efficient and effective...
couple bandwidth costs with server, maintenance, software, data warehouse costs... from a practical point of view, which test server would be rich enough to constantly allocate 300mbps for testing!?
if you can hit 8mbps upstream it's already clap hand for you...
for a more practical test case, use icq and perform file transfer to a friend within singapore...
liangtam
21-11-2008, 06:39 PM
if you can hit 8mbps upstream it's already clap hand for you...
for a more practical test case, use icq and perform file transfer to a friend within singapore...
clap hands for me for what? im not interested in fat green pipe cos latency high :)
if i told u the practical test is done based on what you've described, what say u? :yawn:
n95crazy
21-11-2008, 11:12 PM
clap hands for me for what? im not interested in fat green pipe cos latency high :)
if i told u the practical test is done based on what you've described, what say u? :yawn:
then 2 thumbs up for starhub
this is a new era in singapore where we REALLY have broadband now!
wtf is 1mbps upload!?
as i've said before, i have used 56k modem to frag in cs and i was able to maintain 3:1 and above frag ratio... but when i play dota and i get backstabbed too often, i always blame the lag...
we all know that latency is only an excuse for unskilled losers...
but some people prefer to blame latency more than anything... :s22:
btw, i was [Elm]Godfather and [FragX]ponent later [;(]aRch@ng3L during those cs days...
on 56k i managed to hit top 3 weekly on sgwargamers.com...
if you could find the records, i'm sure you'll know i'm telling the truth :)
ry0suk1
22-11-2008, 02:11 AM
they give from 2mbps to 10mbps but everyone getting 8mbps.. 8mbps is more then enuff to play local game lag free..
i can run BT and play game yet still lagless..
even play US server game i did get a good ping..
dont complain so much la.. must learn to be satisfied.
unless they give u half the speed of what u pay..
http://www.speedtest.net/result/359892140.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
http://www.speedtest.net/result/359892974.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
http://www.speedtest.net/result/359893367.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
http://www.speedtest.net/result/359893896.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
the speedtest website not that true one..
hengweychuan
22-11-2008, 02:26 AM
Some of my tests for references :)
http://www.speedtest.net/result/359902745.png
http://www.speedtest.net/result/359899591.png
http://www.speedtest.net/result/359895375.png
http://www.speedtest.net/result/359900166.png
liangtam
22-11-2008, 01:51 PM
then 2 thumbs up for starhub
this is a new era in singapore where we REALLY have broadband now!
wtf is 1mbps upload!?
as i've said before, i have used 56k modem to frag in cs and i was able to maintain 3:1 and above frag ratio... but when i play dota and i get backstabbed too often, i always blame the lag...
we all know that latency is only an excuse for unskilled losers...
but some people prefer to blame latency more than anything... :s22:
btw, i was [Elm]Godfather and [FragX]ponent later [;(]aRch@ng3L during those cs days...
on 56k i managed to hit top 3 weekly on sgwargamers.com...
if you could find the records, i'm sure you'll know i'm telling the truth :)
yar, and during those days every tom dick and harry oso on par, cos using 56K also. :s22:
glacieraze
22-11-2008, 04:16 PM
they give from 2mbps to 10mbps but everyone getting 8mbps.. 8mbps is more then enuff to play local game lag free..
i can run BT and play game yet still lagless..
even play US server game i did get a good ping..
dont complain so much la.. must learn to be satisfied.
unless they give u half the speed of what u pay..
http://www.speedtest.net/result/359892140.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
http://www.speedtest.net/result/359892974.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
http://www.speedtest.net/result/359893367.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
http://www.speedtest.net/result/359893896.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
the speedtest website not that true one..
A comparison between my Singnet 10Mbps. Look at the Ping.
http://www.speedtest.net/result/360206339.png
http://www.speedtest.net/result/360206997.png
http://www.speedtest.net/result/360207429.png
ry0suk1
22-11-2008, 10:18 PM
as ppl always says.. wan good ping move to singnet..
but seriously, how many really play alot of oversea game?
n95crazy
23-11-2008, 04:11 PM
yar, and during those days every tom dick and harry oso on par, cos using 56K also. :s22:
empty vessels make the most noise
i refuse to talk to fools.
MarineX
23-11-2008, 08:29 PM
thumbs up, i agree on that.
richneo
23-11-2008, 08:43 PM
this is the best example from u
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.