PDA

View Full Version : Rapidshare Networks

EddyVlad
19-11-2008, 02:46 AM
Hi, any rapidshare users know what's the best network to use e.g (Cogent, GlobalCrossing, Level 3, TeliaSonera...)

I am using Singnet FTTH 100mbps. The other day I was doing a research on the STIX (Singtel Internet Exchange) network, finding out if it connects to any tier 1 network or any network that is used by rapidshare and found some form of network map (i forgot where I found it) and it shows STIX is connected directly to GlobalCrossing and also Level 3 while it is connected to Cogent via a minor network. I did a trace route to verify and yes the map is correct.

Somehow, GlobalCrossing seems very slow to me. How I know its GlobalCrossing?
By the RS prefix in the download url in the form of (rs225gc, rs47cg, rs4l32...).
gc = GlobalCrossing, cg = Cogent, L32 = Level 3 #2.

So I change back to Cogent, knowing it does not connect to STIX directly and in theory, might be slower. But I was wrong. So far I've been using Cogent and using FDM (Free Download Manager) I'm able to download 6 file with 20 sections each simultaneously resulting in a total download speed of app. 2715KB/s = 2.65MB/s = 21.72mbps. I only get half that speed when using GlobalCrossing and sometimes I get "maximum connection to the server has reached" when at 10th section.

I didn't want to change the network again to find out the best one because its too troublesome and consuming my daily data transfer limit.

Conclusion
Doesn't mean your backbone is connected directly to another backbone results in better bandwidth and latency when connected to that backbone.

I want to know if any other Rapidshare users in Singapore feels other network may be faster. Share with me your thoughts and findings.

ohmygod1986
19-11-2008, 01:13 PM
FTTH so shiok ...

Free or how much u paying ?? :s12::s12:

Trendnet18
19-11-2008, 01:53 PM
well i just use IDM to download i get speeds over 1.0MBPs

liangtam
19-11-2008, 07:10 PM
a underused small pipe is better than a fat pipe that is choked mah

negativzero
19-11-2008, 07:50 PM
Mmm, shouldn't Global Crossing be fastest? Since its owned by Temasek?

BTW, pls post on your experience using FTTH :D

Trendnet18
19-11-2008, 08:28 PM
well i didnt set any preference just set my simultanious connections to 16 so it downloads quite fast

dk2000
19-11-2008, 08:29 PM
wow nice speed how'd u get that?

etegration
19-11-2008, 11:30 PM
FTTH! lucky guy!

goenitz33
19-11-2008, 11:50 PM
FTTH? o.o is it availble?

liangtam
20-11-2008, 12:42 AM
Ya, one of the condo in SG on the earlier trial

goenitz33
20-11-2008, 01:18 PM
Ya, one of the condo in SG on the earlier trial

ahh found it.

but the trail ended le. so now its not available anymore hor?

Cococokie
20-11-2008, 07:18 PM
a underused small pipe is better than a fat pipe that is choked mah

small pipe easier to get choked. :P

chunlianghere
20-11-2008, 08:51 PM
no no...

the fact tat small pipe don choke, but fat pipe choke becos it is stuck wit alot of cholesterol tat is unhealthy. once get heart attack, LIAO...! :s13::s13::s13:

liangtam
20-11-2008, 09:49 PM

Like this? :D
0SWaM2D0MaY

Oh, and huai cococokie ish rike to post funny post huan...

commonjunk
20-11-2008, 09:54 PM
no no...

the fact tat small pipe don choke, but fat pipe choke becos it is stuck wit alot of cholesterol tat is unhealthy. once get heart attack, LIAO...! :s13::s13::s13:
small pipe is giving me problem from last few days, some time it reach to 1MB/s and some time only 100KB/s. Not sure about fat pipe, given up on it quite a long time ago ;).

EddyVlad
20-11-2008, 09:55 PM
For those who are asking, my FTTH is free, comes with mio TV and ip phone. My dad is working in Singtel so he was chosen for the trial. You can't sign up for the trial. I'm just lucky. I still hate the fact that I have to rely on the unreliable 2wire router. :s27:

Regarding the backbone issue, does anyone have STIX latest backbone map or atleast have an idea how to test for the best network?

liangtam
20-11-2008, 10:13 PM
Peekture of ur ONT/FTTx modem pls :D

U can change the router actually

dk2000
21-11-2008, 11:19 AM
maybe u would like to check out this site http://tools.ix.singtel.com/traceroute/

EddyVlad
21-11-2008, 11:26 AM
Peekture of ur ONT/FTTx modem pls :D

U can change the router actually

I have to get a router that can support ip phone right.
Btw, here's the images of my ONT http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showpost.php?p=33849665&postcount=14

dk2000
21-11-2008, 11:49 AM
does ur dad knw when they are rolling out ftth?

EddyVlad
23-11-2008, 03:44 AM
does ur dad knw when they are rolling out ftth?

No. There are still possibilities of FTTH not being establish. It is still on trial and users have to report feedbacks and such. Who knows they might go for other solutions. It depends on the results.

FroztSpectre
05-12-2008, 01:10 PM
Currently using Level(3)#1.

Able to download at a speed of 400kb/sec(1 file),
2 files i can get up to 800kb/sec
3 files and i can get up to 1200kb/sec
That's the max i can go.

GlobalCrossing and Cogent is slow like snail for me....

albertchng
05-12-2008, 01:26 PM
No. There are still possibilities of FTTH not being establish. It is still on trial and users have to report feedbacks and such. Who knows they might go for other solutions. It depends on the results.

Those lucky people in that 2 condo.

FTTH coming to us soon, be more patient about it.

EddyVlad
06-12-2008, 01:40 AM
Currently using Level(3)#1.

Able to download at a speed of 400kb/sec(1 file),
2 files i can get up to 800kb/sec
3 files and i can get up to 1200kb/sec
That's the max i can go.

GlobalCrossing and Cogent is slow like snail for me....

Are you on Singnet Broadband? Did you use proxy?

FroztSpectre
08-12-2008, 09:19 PM
Yep.

Singnet Broadband.

As for proxy, nope.

Flashget using Direct Connection. Both Internet Explorer as well as FireFox using direct connection too.

largeresource
08-12-2008, 11:08 PM
FTTH and MOL ultimate is the same within singapore

if you download from a site within the singapore network or cache network. every download is at very high speed.
any connection made outside singapore network or cache network, the download is slow and could not reach the stated maximum speed.

both network are almost the same.