PDA

View Full Version : SNBB dsl issue

thechariot
21-11-2008, 12:57 AM
alright.. after nearly 2 hrs of testing (and the slowness of this darn white 2wire) i think my line has problems.

Down Up
Rate: 7286 kbs 465 kbs
Max Rate: 5277 kbs 536 kbs
Noise Margin: 6.2 dB 2.5 dB
Attenuation: 27.9 dB 23.1 dB
Output Power: 20.4 dBm 8.3 dBm

i'm actually on 10mbps. i tried all, with MF and w/o MF.
used another tel cable, still the same results..
haiya.... heart pain.. i was so excited coz today is the activation..

so my concern is.. IF its actually an internal line prob from the DP outside to my house, does singtel would lay a line for me? chargable or free?

hope you butties can help me liao.. today's just not my day... i got slapped with a fine from NEA:(:(.. tried to cheer myself up coz the activation of 10mbps today.. only to find this..

help?:(:(

Carova.
21-11-2008, 01:09 AM
white color mio modem usually got prob.. technician told me also....

alanchia67
21-11-2008, 01:14 AM
ts, when you connect a phone handset to the telephone wall socket directly, do you hear any line noise?

to me, attenuation seems high. below is mine.

Current Noise Margin: 8.6 dB (Downstream) 7.5 dB (Upstream)
Current Attenuation: 9.7 dB (Downstream) 2.3 dB (Upstream)
Current Output Power: 17.7 dBm (Downstream) 11.5 dBm (Upstream)

Francis85
21-11-2008, 06:47 AM
alright.. after nearly 2 hrs of testing (and the slowness of this darn white 2wire) i think my line has problems.

Down Up
Rate: 7286 kbs 465 kbs
Max Rate: 5277 kbs 536 kbs
Noise Margin: 6.2 dB 2.5 dB
Attenuation: 27.9 dB 23.1 dB
Output Power: 20.4 dBm 8.3 dBm

i'm actually on 10mbps. i tried all, with MF and w/o MF.
used another tel cable, still the same results..
haiya.... heart pain.. i was so excited coz today is the activation..

so my concern is.. IF its actually an internal line prob from the DP outside to my house, does singtel would lay a line for me? chargable or free?

hope you butties can help me liao.. today's just not my day... i got slapped with a fine from NEA:(:(.. tried to cheer myself up coz the activation of 10mbps today.. only to find this..

help?:(:(

Back to basic, have TS plus in correctly..... modem into modem at microfilter phone into phone at microfilter also dun forget that every other phone points using the phone, also must put microfilter...........

ohmygod1986
21-11-2008, 08:03 AM
Current Noise Margin: 26.3 dB (Downstream) 7.8 dB (Upstream) Current

Attenuation: 4.7 dB (Downstream) 0.0 dB (Upstream) Current Output

Power: 14.3 dBm (Downstream) 10.9 dBm (Upstream)

albertchng
21-11-2008, 08:05 AM
thechariot, do this...

Remove all phones from all wall sockets (Temp)
2wire connect directly to wall socket without microfilter
Computer to 2wire using wired connection
Go http://192.168.1.254/mdc (PASSWORD is 2wire)
Copy DSL in Statistics under Broadband Link here.

i tried to login whenever i can... my dog is dying. :sad:

thechariot
21-11-2008, 10:06 AM
ok guys.. i only have 1 phone socket at home.. i tried direct connection with no MF.. still the same..

to bro albertchng,
i've already tried to go to that page 192.168.1.254/mdc.. nothing come out le.. seems this 2wire is a diff one leh.. i remembered it should have a SINGTEL logo at the main page.. but this one dun have.. its shows a 2wire logo.. and the whole interface is new.. and also, any modifications done, they will prompt you the admin password for verification(something like vista, OSX)..

now currently at work.. but will update again tonight..

liangtam
21-11-2008, 11:19 AM
i prefer the newer mio Box actually

Got picture?

chunlianghere
21-11-2008, 01:07 PM
ts, when you connect a phone handset to the telephone wall socket directly, do you hear any line noise?

to me, attenuation seems high. below is mine.

Current Noise Margin: 8.6 dB (Downstream) 7.5 dB (Upstream)
Current Attenuation: 9.7 dB (Downstream) 2.3 dB (Upstream)
Current Output Power: 17.7 dBm (Downstream) 11.5 dBm (Upstream)

the attenuation shows the distance from the exchange to your house. under 27.9dB, he is stil able to achieve the max speed of 10Mbps. but the main problem is his snr margin is way too low. best if it is 13dB n above. looks like yours is not on a safe number. =:p

ohmygod1986
21-11-2008, 04:01 PM
thechariot, do this...

Remove all phones from all wall sockets (Temp)
2wire connect directly to wall socket without microfilter
Computer to 2wire using wired connection
Go http://192.168.1.254/mdc (PASSWORD is 2wire)
Copy DSL in Statistics under Broadband Link here.
i tried to login whenever i can... my dog is dying. :sad:

Take it easy :(

thechariot
22-11-2008, 02:19 PM
i think my line is ok now

Down Up
Rate: 13999 kbs 1022 kbs
Max Rate: 20829 kbs 1132 kbs
Noise Margin: 18.5 dB 8.5 dB
Attenuation: 14.3 dB 5.2 dB
Output Power: 17.7 dBm 8.3 dBm

DL speed: 11674kbps