View Full Version : Test whether wi-fi is secured
leogeo
21-11-2008, 09:21 AM
How do i check/test whether my wi-fi at home is secured?
phuque99
21-11-2008, 10:53 AM
Bring an external notebook from someone and try to view adult website from the corridor of your home using your wi-fi.
megalarijuana
21-11-2008, 11:00 AM
Bring an external notebook from someone and try to view adult website from the corridor of your home using your wi-fi.
this.
pruss wan!
legions
21-11-2008, 01:06 PM
need pw den is secure lo
ab_cat
21-11-2008, 10:12 PM
maybe u can tell us wats ur current security settings?
Perhaps @ least a WPA-AES/TKIP passphrase and some additional protection like SSID hiding, mac address filtering etc...
liangtam
21-11-2008, 10:14 PM
if u opt for WPA with a strong, non-sensical, non-dictionary based key, can liao, no need test even.
anything else can ignore
leogeo
22-11-2008, 10:22 AM
all these technical terms, i very noob leh...
but i know if i want to connect manually, need password. like that safe already?
DarthBart
22-11-2008, 01:09 PM
For security testing, you need formal mathematical proofs.
But if you secure your WIFI using WPA(AES) with a long random key, it is sufficient for wifi security (ie, not computational feasible to brute force your key)
Trying using the random characters generated here (https://www.grc.com/passwords.htm) as your key.
phuque99
22-11-2008, 01:11 PM
Like I said earlier, if too chim to understand, that means you're not capable of testing anything complicated. Just ask a friend or neighbour sit outside your house, try to use your wireless to surf adult site. If cannot, that means secure enough bah.
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.