PDA

View Full Version : Samsung T240 VS Samsung 2493HM

derrickgoh
22-11-2008, 09:32 PM
I read the specs and both are about the same. Price also the same. Have not had a chance to view the 2493HM but anyone here have any comments on either?

GegeV2
23-11-2008, 12:50 AM
T240 ftw....

A great buy IMO

derrickgoh
23-11-2008, 09:19 AM
T240 ftw....

A great buy IMO
Care to explain why? I mean I've heard differing opinions and obviously everyone has their reasons.

Raytrace
23-11-2008, 10:53 AM
I've seen the 2493HM and it's really really nice! I'm also in the market for a 24" LCD and i've actually decided on the 2493HM. I like the design better(with the thinner bezels) and i'm not a fan of the lcdtv look of the t240.

Peace_X
23-11-2008, 03:29 PM
The diff is that T240 has higher DC contrast. But i personally will try not to on DC as it makes images looks unnatural. Both have 1000:1 static contrast ratio, so its about the same.

One of the main diff between the two is the mounting. 2493HM has better mounting stand that support height adjustment. The mounting is also VESA complaint, meaning u can install 3rd party mount or wall mounts. T240 mount has no height adjustment and is not VESA compliant. It is fixed and no changing of mount allowed.

But i guess T240 will still be more popular to due to the exterior looks, marketing and also it is a 'newer' model.

SOLL_P
23-11-2008, 05:07 PM
Check out the input lag if you are into gaming. T240 is much higher.

pcie2005
24-11-2008, 08:22 PM
Very Happy user of 2493hm here.

jus one thing for u to take note, the touch-sensitive buttons. :)

derrickgoh
25-11-2008, 08:36 PM
Saw both models at Challenger. T240 doesn't look like you can tilt the screen leh. That's sad 'cos when you're seated so near, sometimes you wanna tilt a little. Anyone can confirm if T240 screen can tilt up/down?

ascdf13
25-11-2008, 10:38 PM
ya cant tilt...

longdjon
26-11-2008, 10:55 AM
feel like hooting T240 this coming SITEX leh..does anyone know whats the market selling price of T240 now?

My cuz bought his T240 during WCG for S$509 with free bluetooth headset..gianz.. =P

derrickgoh
26-11-2008, 08:05 PM
ya cant tilt...
Then its officially out for me. 2493HM here I come. :s13:

TrueBeliever_jh
27-11-2008, 08:20 AM
T240 for 499SGD in Sitex.. comes with a DVI cable..

anyone got idea if there is any other free gifts?

2493HM is for 549SGD..

longdjon
27-11-2008, 08:34 AM
T240 for 499SGD in Sitex.. comes with a DVI cable..

anyone got idea if there is any other free gifts?

2493HM is for 549SGD..

Woah! S$499 for T240 seems like quite a good price..hmm..duno should wait out or hoot liao..

I still have to offload my current LG 22" monitor to raise some funds leh.. =P

How about 2493HM compare to T240 in terms of specs?But it seems like its a little way over my budget...

TrueBeliever_jh
27-11-2008, 08:41 AM
http://www.overclock.net/monitors-displays/380086-one-samsung-t240-2493hm.html

from another forum.. seems like most says 2493HM is betta..

oh yah. to add..
http://asia.cnet.com/sitex/08/lcdmonitors.htm
this is where i get the price from

longdjon
27-11-2008, 08:53 AM
http://www.overclock.net/monitors-displays/380086-one-samsung-t240-2493hm.html

from another forum.. seems like most says 2493HM is betta..

oh yah. to add..
http://asia.cnet.com/sitex/08/lcdmonitors.htm
this is where i get the price from

thanks for the heads up man!Yeah seems that 2493HM is better..but duno leh..budget $$ constraints..haha..just bought a PS3 this wk..pok kai liao..

Hmm..T240 or 2493HM??Should i burst the bank? =P

longdjon
27-11-2008, 08:55 AM
what about LG LG W2452V-PF??

Seems like it is quite a good monitor up for consideration as well..

longdjon
27-11-2008, 09:02 AM
not forgetting the part on power consumption..

heard that T240 is the best power saving 24" LCD monitor..hmm..a hard decision to make indeed..just a saving of S$50??

TrueBeliever_jh
27-11-2008, 10:12 AM
i think hor.. 2493HM got speakers with it.. so if you wanna plug in your PS3 with the HDMI cables... you can get the sound out from the speaker..

but with T240.. you will need to wire your sound output to your own speakers..

longdjon
27-11-2008, 10:27 AM
yeah..currently i'm using external Creative speakers..think external speakers will always be better than inbuilt speakers

I'm getting the monitor cos of the 1080p and HDMI support for the best graphics possible

I'm only playing PS3 on 720p now..and its like a restraint on the PS3's potential

ting
27-11-2008, 10:36 AM
another new model 2433 going for $399!

ryan_khoo
27-11-2008, 05:58 PM
read in today paper, booth 6C50 selling 24" samsung 2433BW at only $399. Wat's the catch ? Is this a good model ? Tks

raylite
27-11-2008, 06:33 PM
its a new model that just came out this month i think... but its 16:9.. mayb thats why its cheaper??

_Gaara_
27-11-2008, 07:13 PM
i just bought the t240 at expo for 499. mine got screen flickering issue and if cant resolve by today, i need go down for a change liao :(

the guy told me if buy at it fair got any dead pixel just go down for an exchange. after that will be 7 pixel then can change.

RachLL
27-11-2008, 07:18 PM
I just bought the Samsung 2493HM ($549) and the touch sensitive buttons do not work! sian... must bring back to expo to exchange... why always like that.. maybe I should go buy a lottery ticket too!

raylite
27-11-2008, 07:25 PM
where did u guys buy ur samsung monitors? from global it mart or from the main samsung stalls?

GegeV2
27-11-2008, 07:30 PM
OMG T240 for $499?

That was the price of the T220 2months back

_Gaara_
27-11-2008, 07:30 PM
i buy from global it. they got a samsung booth with samsung promoter there.

sgstab
27-11-2008, 07:39 PM
I just bought the Samsung 2493HM ($549) and the touch sensitive buttons do not work! sian... must bring back to expo to exchange... why always like that.. maybe I should go buy a lottery ticket too!

why u all bought samsung, lousiest LCD monitor in this word, after I bought 2232GW and they keep saying BB is normal thing and can not come out any solution, sucks samsung, thumbs down!!!!!!!!!!!!!

raylite
27-11-2008, 07:41 PM
man.. after seeing all these samsung monitor problems i guess i'll stick with LG..

_Gaara_
27-11-2008, 07:45 PM

u bought at global it? if yes then i can meet u tomorrow liao. sibeh sianz sia, think i taking cab tomorrow lazy to carry that stupid thing take mrt

RachLL
27-11-2008, 07:51 PM
u bought at global it? if yes then i can meet u tomorrow liao. sibeh sianz sia, think i taking cab tomorrow lazy to carry that stupid thing take mrt

Yup I bought from Global IT... I'm also taking cab tomorrow, lucky I live nearby (upper east coast).

_Gaara_
27-11-2008, 07:56 PM
Yup I bought from Global IT... I'm also taking cab tomorrow, lucky I live nearby (upper east coast).

kaoz i leave at jurong lor.....

TrueBeliever_jh
27-11-2008, 08:08 PM
why u all bought samsung, lousiest LCD monitor in this word, after I bought 2232GW and they keep saying BB is normal thing and can not come out any solution, sucks samsung, thumbs down!!!!!!!!!!!!!
so wat do you recommend?

derrickgoh
27-11-2008, 08:15 PM
Had bad experience with Philips so its out for me. I guess I'll go either Samsung or LG. Suppose the best is to go & take a look 'cos different ppl have different opinions. I actually prefer the old iMac's screen but some ppl prefer the new aluminium iMac's so there you go, different tastes.

sgstab
27-11-2008, 08:26 PM
so wat do you recommend?

now happy with LG L227WTG since May of this year after lousiest 2232GW.
Now sitex only 369, star buy.
I bout it at 448 6 mth ago.

ryan_khoo
27-11-2008, 08:45 PM
its a new model that just came out this month i think... but its 16:9.. mayb thats why its cheaper??
So the T240 and 2493 are 16:10 ?

RachLL
27-11-2008, 09:19 PM
So the T240 and 2493 are 16:10 ?

You are correct. They are 16:10. Their native resolution is 1920x1200.

16:9 monitors have 1920x1080 res.

bigbadber
28-11-2008, 06:45 AM

can i ask what is this 'BB is normal thing' that u mention?

im actually one of the happy users of 2232GW. bought it for $548 fron Fuwell abt 13 months ago. sad to see tat price can get a good 24" model now

so far 2232GW works well for me. i like the glossy screen cos when i compared it alongside with other screens, the glossy screen gives a more radiant picture/color

the only gripe i hv is tat it uses a non conventional stand. it can tilt but cant adjust it vertically. i think the base may be the same as the 240T model

hvg said tat, samsung's product quality hv much room for improvement

they only score in their asthetics dept, and tats the main reason why some of their stuff like lcd tv is no1 seller in sg.

if LG's design were to be better than samsung's, i'll buy LG

longdjon
28-11-2008, 08:22 AM
hmm..so given a choice right now to really hoot for a brand new 24" LCD monitor..would you guys prefer LG or Samsung??Think thats the big question.

I'm actually a big fan of both brands.I consider them to be solid LCD brands and would recommend anytime.But it seems that Samsung LCD prices are like higher then LCD for the given specs and quality.Then now since i'm preparing to sell away my 22" LG LCD monitor (anyone interested?haha)

I duno whether i should get T240 or a LG 24" equivalent with HDMI direct input..haiz..dilemma now..

drazic
28-11-2008, 08:31 AM
hows the 2433bw on offer at 399?

longdjon
28-11-2008, 08:35 AM
yeah the 2433BW is one of the cheapest 24" LCD monitors on sale there..

I would say its any entry level monitor for normal users..since there's only DVI and VGA input (HDMI compliant i believe?)

I mean to really future-proof your LCD monitor and get the most out of it..probably a monitor with HDMI input would be great.Then u can hook up ur future Blu-Ray player to it or something?

But well..electronics as you all know la..prices will always depreciate..and its not like gold or some valuable stuff which you can pawn it away and get some good cash back.Hmm..there's still HWZ here for us fellow forummers to offload our sutff though.Cheers!

Raytrace
28-11-2008, 03:08 PM
I just got the 2493HM from Sitex. Tested everything works! no dead/bright/stuck pixels. The monitor is really beautiful. It's BIG! Default very bright though. But so far I'm really loving it.

drazic
28-11-2008, 03:44 PM
how much u paid? under 499?

Raytrace
28-11-2008, 04:56 PM
how much u paid? under 499?
nope... $549.

fadeout
29-11-2008, 12:42 PM
I just got the T240 last night. Fantastic monitor! No dead pixels, everything works perfect. The LCD is huge. I can easily put 2 web pages side by side with no problems. Quality is great and the monitor itself looks great with the rose tinted black bezel.

Only complaint, fixed tilt and height. Can't adjust and you can't replace the base. But for normal uses, it's perfect! I pair it with my MB Pro and the extra real estate is to die for.

grandrake
08-12-2008, 10:36 PM
I'm thinking of using one of these monitors to double up as a TV. So quick questions:

For the 2493HM:
Has anybody hooked this up to a Starhub HD Digital set top box via HDMI and can confirm both audio and video works?

For the T240:
Since there are no speakers, that means I need to hook the set top box to the monitor via HDMI and connect the set top box to external speakers (e.g. via stereo RCA -> 3.5mm connectors)? Has anyone tried such a config?

Thanks...

b3ck5_07
09-12-2008, 12:59 AM
2493HM works dun worry, PS3, Starhub all will work

RachLL
09-12-2008, 04:48 PM
I'm thinking of using one of these monitors to double up as a TV. So quick questions:

For the 2493HM:
Has anybody hooked this up to a Starhub HD Digital set top box via HDMI and can confirm both audio and video works?

I can confirm that it works. I am hooking it up via HDMI and both audio and video works.

grandrake
09-12-2008, 06:41 PM
Thanks for your replies folks! Appreciate it. :D

dylanyeo
24-12-2008, 11:55 PM
Hi guys, I got lobang for samsung 2493hm at $500 and T240 at $490. Pm me fast for more details. Hurry limited stock. Dun miss this.

jtjt00
25-12-2008, 06:08 PM
Very Happy user of 2493hm here.

jus one thing for u to take note, the touch-sensitive buttons. :)
Using the same monitor too....................:)

percivale
13-03-2009, 12:04 PM
Got mine yesterday (T240). Haven't got a chance to test it extensively yet but to share with you YES - it can tilt. Going to try later this evening.

See http://www.flickr.com/photos/theleggett/3054188229/

The description @ Samsung website also says the base is Swivel & Tilt.
Stand Function -Swivel, Tilt.

I just got the T240 last night. Fantastic monitor! No dead pixels, everything works perfect. The LCD is huge. I can easily put 2 web pages side by side with no problems. Quality is great and the monitor itself looks great with the rose tinted black bezel.

Only complaint, fixed tilt and height. Can't adjust and you can't replace the base. But for normal uses, it's perfect! I pair it with my MB Pro and the extra real estate is to die for.

oceanboi21
28-03-2009, 11:06 AM
anyone got lobang for T240?

pker88
30-03-2009, 11:35 AM
btw what is this BB u all is saying?
I just got a 2433bw overall i happy just too large for my taste as i switch from 19inch wide lcd hehe..

I was going to consider t240 too but too exp so i settle for 2433bw since is appox 100 cheaper also its 24inch too.

Kiasuman
30-03-2009, 11:53 AM
The 2493HM no more $549? See all the price lists like $599.

cyano75
30-03-2009, 02:29 PM
Yep...bought my 2493hm few days ago at $595. Not many shops got stock.