View Full Version : BPL : Chelsea v Arsenal (30th Nov 2008)
dreamer75
23-11-2008, 10:41 AM
Chelsea v Arsenal
Singapore time : 30 Nov 2008 2359hrs
Big match coming up!
Can the gunners re-group and play a gd match against Chelsea or will the current Gallas ROW continue to affect their performance?
AndreFLo
23-11-2008, 10:46 AM
I just can't see us gettin anything from stamford bridge judging by our recent performances :(
daylight
23-11-2008, 10:52 AM
gunners were gunned down by man city.
cant see them doing well against chelski.
1920_me
23-11-2008, 11:00 AM
With fabregas and adebayor, they will be a different team.
RSKeisuke
23-11-2008, 11:00 AM
can try AOS?
Carnage
23-11-2008, 11:24 AM
can try AOS?
Me think so too.
Will it be the 3rd consecutive loss and the 6th loss this season for Gunners?
Litmuss
23-11-2008, 11:40 AM
Derby match everything can throw out of the window. So dun write off Arsenal yet.
lyfeforce
23-11-2008, 12:03 PM
If they played like they did against Man U, I don't see why not. It's a test of character and championship mettle.
Whatever the case, I hope it's a good match.
Wryer
23-11-2008, 12:22 PM
You can throw away the Man Utd game out of the window. Not everyday is Sunday, and this time round, Arsenal will be soundly beaten.
Sky_High
23-11-2008, 12:31 PM
You can throw away the Man Utd game out of the window. Not everyday is Sunday, and this time round, Arsenal will be soundly beaten.
You predicted your team would be soundly beaten by Man Utd though, don't you? ;)
dreamer75
23-11-2008, 12:32 PM
can try to get a draw? ;)
we did it against Chelsea yest, dun write off Arsenal yet. hehe.
Wryer
23-11-2008, 12:38 PM
You predicted your team would be soundly beaten by Man Utd though, don't you? ;)
Yeah. I did - But with a little bit of fantasy still at the back of my head, because it was the first game that Arsenal is playing against a big team.
Now I see nothing but pitch black.
1920_me
23-11-2008, 02:10 PM
Yeah. I did - But with a little bit of fantasy still at the back of my head, because it was the first game that Arsenal is playing against a big team.
Now I see nothing but pitch black.
It's been all downhill since they won man utd. But, i never seen Arsenal play as bad as they did ,against a team from outside a top four, as they did vs man city last night.
They were struggling to make an impact on the game, and whom did they bring in..a 17 yr old and 18 yr old...I think he needs to get a few cheapos like silvestre in jan.
Anyway, where is your Croatian striker, still injured?
Wryer
23-11-2008, 02:13 PM
The ironic thing was the 17 year old was the best player last night. Ramsey has so far grabbed his chances with both hands.
Eduardo will be back soon.
Wryer
23-11-2008, 02:23 PM
Anyway the Croatian striker will take time to get back into the game. We cannot count on him to save us, yet.
Kiwi8
23-11-2008, 02:25 PM
I think Arsenal might just win this game, but lose the next game to a minnow yet again.
Wryer
23-11-2008, 02:29 PM
The Man Utd game was different, because they had the mentality to prove everyone wrong, and the best stage is against the European Champions. Okay, they did it. For ONE game.
After which, things went south again. Now, its going to be real difficult to raise themselves up to that level. The devil in their minds will be saying, "It's not going to happen this time round."
YouYongku
23-11-2008, 03:11 PM
well tough game for my arsenal :(
Jackson Ng Ghim Pheng
23-11-2008, 08:17 PM
1 - 0 to Chelsea
anfielder
24-11-2008, 09:42 AM
Going to be tough for Arsenal... draw at best I think
United_Treble
25-11-2008, 01:11 AM
Chelsea 100% win
(yes yes yes wenger)
xavier4
25-11-2008, 01:40 AM
all i can say is.. ball is round
anfielder
25-11-2008, 09:15 AM
the arsenal fans would be glad that you're not jinxing them
look what happened to Man U last weekend when you predicted a 100% win :D
othniel80
25-11-2008, 09:22 AM
Tough but i go with the underdogs to surprise again.
25-11-2008, 10:03 AM
LOL at this
bwaysaibi
25-11-2008, 10:31 AM
i'll take arsenal to win
see what they did to man utd
when they raise their game they are very very hard to play
donut33
25-11-2008, 10:41 AM
Both team not playing well at the moment. Chelsea didn't create much when they play Newscastle in their last match. Arsenal got beaten by Man City....I will go for a draw...1-1.
1920_me
25-11-2008, 06:15 PM
Its GP's 1st team vs his 2nd fav team. I think he will happy if either wins, i think arsenal will nick a draw.
ahgohgoh
25-11-2008, 07:52 PM
you might as well make a thread called unitedtreble claypot thread...
there's already a thread on the match but you die die must seek attention one lol
nottibeans
25-11-2008, 08:22 PM
wonder what's the SG odds for Arsenal win again.. if more than 4 i sure bet...
Man Utd one odds 3.6 so song...:D
lyfeforce
25-11-2008, 08:46 PM
you might as well make a thread called unitedtreble claypot thread...
there's already a thread on the match but you die die must seek attention one lol
It's called blind faith. He seems to lack any analytical skills.
spykid
25-11-2008, 09:22 PM
UT is a class poster. You all don't chase him away hor :s13:
TitanSmall
25-11-2008, 09:24 PM
i BID 10 dollars.........
donut33
26-11-2008, 09:01 AM
1 - 0 to Chelsea
It has been quite sometimes since Chelsea steal a 1-0 win. I think i will go for a 1-0 win to Chelsea......:s12:
lyfeforce
26-11-2008, 09:08 AM
Let's not get ahead of ourselves. Let's wait till matchday for news of injuries before making a prediction.
spykid
26-11-2008, 11:43 AM
Why, you mean people cannot make predictions now? People song can already what.... Or mod want to issue infraction points for people who do that :s13:
Asakura
26-11-2008, 01:07 PM
aww dun so hostile
lyfeforce
26-11-2008, 01:25 PM
Why, you mean people cannot make predictions now? People song can already what.... Or mod want to issue infraction points for people who do that :s13:
I said don't get so excited. Why are you taking it as warning? Are you that sensitive? The mods make logical and fair decisions when giving infraction points. Making a prediction is not an offence. Anyone with sense would know that and wouldn't even suggest as such.
If there are serious injuries to key players, would you still be confident n your prediction?
spykid
26-11-2008, 01:46 PM
Insensitive? It's only a bloody forum, what's there to be insensitive about? Fyi, i didn't even make any sort of prediction. If pple wanna make theirs even before finding out any injuries on matchday, so be it. Because your post suggests otherwise. Not happy? Ban me.
faruk55
26-11-2008, 01:52 PM
new mod here..
stick to topic... LOL :D
hehe
Jackson Ng Ghim Pheng
26-11-2008, 02:28 PM
Its GP's 1st team vs his 2nd fav team. I think he will happy if either wins, i think arsenal will nick a draw.
When did Arsenal become my 2nd Favourite Team ?
You forgot Inter Milan is my 2nd Favourite Team Afterall The Special One Jose Mourinho Is There
lyfeforce
26-11-2008, 02:50 PM
Insensitive? It's only a bloody forum, what's there to be insensitive about? Fyi, i didn't even make any sort of prediction. If pple wanna make theirs even before finding out any injuries on matchday, so be it. Because your post suggests otherwise. Not happy? Ban me.
My apologies. I meant to say "sensitive". You seem to insinuate as if I'm unhappy about others making predictions. I was merely stating not too get excited and make predictions without knowing who's playing. You read too much into my comments. And chill. No one is going to ban you unless you're trolling. Even if I could, I wouldn't.
If you're offended by what I said earlier, I apologise. I'm a little defensive sometimes.
new mod here..
stick to topic... LOL :D
hehe
No new mod. Mod count still the same. Apologies if I led the topic astray.
Frankly, Chelsea and Arsenal have had quite entertaining clashes. Even thus far, all the clashes among the top 4 were not boring. That's something to consider. What I don't want is a one-sided contest though.
poring24
26-11-2008, 03:25 PM
Chelsea 100% win
(yes yes yes wenger)
YA!!!!!!!! Time to hoot AOS!!!!!!!!
United_Treble is never wrong dude. :o:o:o
Remember to buy for the gunners not for the blues
1920_me
26-11-2008, 04:20 PM
When did Arsenal become my 2nd Favourite Team ?
You forgot Inter Milan is my 2nd Favourite Team Afterall The Special One Jose Mourinho Is There
In BPL dah, you are always w**king over them....
United_Treble
28-11-2008, 01:09 AM
oh when i say tottenhaM WIN OVER LIV IN CARLING CIP WITH ATTRACTIVE ODDS 2.77 WHERE WERE U, DIDNT SEE U POST LEH
Asakura
28-11-2008, 07:04 AM
FIGHT LA FIGHT LA CHILDISH
your comments are needless
Jackson Ng Ghim Pheng
28-11-2008, 07:45 AM
In BPL dah, you are always w**king over them....
What nonsense you talking about ?
nottibeans
28-11-2008, 01:14 PM
wonder what's the SG odds for Arsenal win again.. if more than 4 i sure bet...
Man Utd one odds 3.6 so song...:D
Arsenal win odds 4.55 from Sgpools... can buy! :D
dreamer75
30-11-2008, 08:27 PM
match telecasting soon.
Wryer
30-11-2008, 08:31 PM
Its 11:55pm isn't it?
YouYongku
30-11-2008, 08:47 PM
1155pm kick off :(
so long
TiOnGSquare
30-11-2008, 08:47 PM
watch the mans match first loh
dreamer75
30-11-2008, 08:51 PM
Its 11:55pm isn't it?
yes bro....:)
Wryer
30-11-2008, 08:52 PM
yes bro....:)
match telecasting soon.
'soon' very misleading. :o
dreamer75
30-11-2008, 08:59 PM
'soon' very misleading. :o
orh...haha...but i alr put the timing in page 1 liao mah :o
YouYongku
30-11-2008, 09:05 PM
i watching the manchester derby match man!
dreamer75
30-11-2008, 09:33 PM
Chelsea v Arsenal (16:00)
Striker Didier Drogba is unavailable for Chelsea due to his three-match ban for throwing a coin into the crowd against Burnley, so the in-form Nicolas Anelka will keep his place. Joe Cole injured his ankle during the Champions League match against Bordeaux, so Deco is set to replace him. Defender Alex has been passed fit and may come in at the expense of Branislav Ivanovic.
Arsenal expect to see striker Emanuel Adebayor return from injury, as well as right-back Bacary Sagna. However Theo Walcott (shoulder), Kolo Toure (calf) and Abou Diaby (abdominal strain) are all out of action.
dreamer75
30-11-2008, 09:35 PM
Mikel, 4 4 1 1 and the full backs the key to beating Chelsea
By 1970’s Gooner
There are a lot of things that need to work for you if you are going to win a game. First and foremost is to really want to come out on top. To want it more than the other team, to fight for every ball and for every little battle that will crop up all over the pitch.
This was so evident against Manchester United but so lacking against Villa and Manchester City.
Why this inconsistency will be a subject for another posting on this site. For now and today it is Chelsea in front of us and the above pathos needs to be exhibited in abundance if we are to hurt Chelsea and get back in the title race.
Beyond this however Arsenal need to address the opponent’s weaknesses and try and exploit them to the full.
Stifle Mikel
The first is that Chelsea’s play is mostly channeled through Jon Obi Mikel.
He is their Makalele who sits in front of their defence, protects their area, picks up the ball after it is won and organizes their play by bringing the ball out of their half of the pitch.
Put a man there in front of him to close down the space and shake him out of his way and you succeed in disturbing Chelsea’s flow and organisation.
That is why it is important that Arsene opts for a 4 4 1 1 or 4 5 1 formation today with Adebayor the lone striker but whoever plays behind him to drop back in the Mikel area and close down the space.
Press high up
It is also important that Arsenal’s midfield and forward minded players press high up the pitch thus forcing Chelsea’s distribution to be carried out as much as is possible by their defenders.
In this way mistakes will be made and balls will be won in their half of the pitch.
Exploit their full backs
The other significant aspect of Chelsea’s play that Arsenal need to exploit is the fact that Scolari instructs his full backs to go forward and support their forwards.
This creates opportunities for Arsenal because by playing a more conservative formation in midfield, stifling Chelsea’s full backs and more importantly hitting them on the counter attack in the spaces vacated will bring dividends.
Prediction: Clichy and Nasri combine for the winner
http://arsenalanalysis.blogspot.com/2008/11/mikel-4-4-1-1-and-full-backs-key-to.html
Jackson Ng Ghim Pheng
01-12-2008, 12:19 AM
This game is really end to end stuffs even better than the man u vs arsenal game.
soldado
01-12-2008, 01:27 AM
This game is really end to end stuffs even better than the man u vs arsenal game.
what are u trying to say?
Jackson Ng Ghim Pheng
01-12-2008, 01:28 AM
Assistant Ref kelong that first robin van persi goal should have been disallow !
hiei02
01-12-2008, 01:30 AM
omg RVP with 2 goals.
1920_me
01-12-2008, 01:35 AM
As usual chelsea and scolari choke up in big games...still 15 mins to go.
soldado
01-12-2008, 01:51 AM
http://img152.imageshack.us/img152/781/loserlr8.png
:s13::s13:
In fact, the whole team are. :s13:
soldado
01-12-2008, 02:00 AM
Lousy Chekski cannot beat Arsenal, Liverpool, Man Utd and Tottenham at home. :s13:
Wryer
01-12-2008, 02:07 AM
First goal is a offside. No doubt.
d4r3d3vil
01-12-2008, 02:10 AM
no more a fortress. the race is getting interesting.
skweam
01-12-2008, 02:16 AM
well played Arsenal :D just goes to show, noone is unbeatable
tt32003
01-12-2008, 02:19 AM
To be fair the first goal was offside.
But then Terry's two footed challange is also a definite red card and 3 match suspension and it was not given as well.
Wryer
01-12-2008, 02:24 AM
Very seething interview from Scolari. He is furious.
And he has every reason to be, I thought.
xgwei
01-12-2008, 02:28 AM
any1 here think the 1st goal is referee got it wrong or the ball really hit a chelsea player b4 reaching van persie?
Wryer
01-12-2008, 02:39 AM
Non match related posts deleted.
Stay on topic please.
Thank you.
Wryer
01-12-2008, 02:40 AM
any1 here think the 1st goal is referee got it wrong or the ball really hit a chelsea player b4 reaching van persie?
99% sure referee got it wrong. Unless the ref disputes that a Chelsea player had a deflection. If there were, its a very minor touch that only the players and the referee can spot.
xgwei
01-12-2008, 03:47 AM
tat was what the commentary said too, saying it was deflected off chelsea player so no offside. but during the review show, those guys watched the replay again n again, n said its 100% offside. haiz
guess arsenal was jus lucky there!
nottibeans
01-12-2008, 03:55 AM
Must thank linesman... Thank you beri much..:D
Football is 50% luck at least..
But then the goal beri nice mans.. hit with power & swerve to the top right.. so nice goal so must give...lol
Navigator
01-12-2008, 04:07 AM
What a match!!! Arsenal scores all 3 goals...
Chelsea should just defend and let opponents score on their behalf... ;-)
nottibeans
01-12-2008, 04:14 AM
Forgot that Kalou is also onside in the 1st half... thank u linesman again :D
SCOLARI DEMANDS APOLOGY FROM REF
Chelsea manager Luiz Felipe Scolari called for referee Mike Dean and his assistant to make an apology for allowing Robin van Persie's offside goal which turned Sunday's Premier League clash against Arsenal at Stamford Bridge.
An own goal from Johan Djourou had given the home side a first-half lead, before the Gunners fought back.
Van Persie was clearly in an offside position as he collected a pass from Denilson on the edge of the penalty area, before smashing the ball past Petr Cech.
There was, though, nothing controversial about what proved to be the winning goal, when the Dutchman spun in the box to drill a low shot into the far corner.
However, the fact his team were "killed" by such a crucial decision did not sit well with the Brazilian coach.
He said: "Have you ever heard me speak about referees any time in the games I have been here? Never, in 15 in the Premier League, four in the Champions League, the Carling Cup, I have not said anything, but today is different.
"I do not want the referee to make something different - I want only after tomorrow that he looks at the television, that the referee and the linesman see they are wrong, and they say 'sorry'.
"That is all I want, no more, because they were not good and made a mistake, which I understand.
"I do not want three points, all I want is them to say sorry it was a mistake, because in the first half, the same linesman made a mistake against us with [Salomon] Kalou.
"He is human and he can make a mistake, but the offside has killed my team. I just want them to say they are wrong, because I am wrong when I put some players in, or the players are wrong when they make a mistake in front of goal or are not covering.
"These are all wrong, but the referee is never wrong.
"I do not think they came here to deliberately make a mistake against us.
"It is difficult to play for my team after this, because they lost their concentration. The offside killed my team.
"We lost today because one goal was not a goal, and it was a goal which changed the result.
"If we won, Arsenal would have been 13 points behind us and their championship would have been finished."
While Scolari's men remain top on goal difference from Liverpool on Sunday night, the Merseysiders will replace Chelsea if they get at least a point from their clash with West Ham at Anfield on Monday.
"We have now lost three points and in the last five games we have not played well, but that is my mistake and the players' mistake," said the Chelsea boss.
"The players are very angry about the first goal, but the players understand they have not played well.
"Now, I need to say, okay, this game is finished and I have a week to work with the players and try to make it better than before to get started again, to get in a good position."
Scolari added: "Now when we play away against our title rivals, we need to win.
"The gap will sometimes be six points, sometimes three and in the last two or three games of the season, that will decide who is the champion."
ahgohgoh
01-12-2008, 06:29 AM
99% sure referee got it wrong. Unless the ref disputes that a Chelsea player had a deflection. If there were, its a very minor touch that only the players and the referee can spot.
even if deflection... still offside i think..
lyfeforce
01-12-2008, 07:13 AM
even if deflection... still offside i think..
If it's deflection (off a field player, not the goalkeeper), the offside rule is moot. But it did seem like offside to me.
Oh well, some you win some you lose. Chelsea have had some lucky decisions go their way and Arsenal have had a few go against them. Today the roles were reversed. Actually, to the neutrals this makes the league all the more exciting.
eddygames
01-12-2008, 08:55 AM
hmm chelsea was definitely on top till arsenal scored the offside goal.
maybe the ref tot it took a deflection off a chelsea player.
othniel80
01-12-2008, 09:00 AM
aiya offside decision often buay zhun one. Arsenal really got back into the game, I tot after the own goal, they chiu liao. Kudos to the gunners
Asakura
01-12-2008, 09:13 AM
from the replay i dun really see any deflection.
the ref and linesman mus be really smth to spot such a deflection.
anyway, such mistakes are part of the game. its about how you are going to bounce back from such a decision.
faruk55
01-12-2008, 09:18 AM
you win some.. you lose some..
that's football... even if that happens to Liverpool that is challengin for the title.. we have to accept that..
no one can change the result at the end of the day..
Asakura
01-12-2008, 09:25 AM
indeed. its also abt the attitude towards the game. arsenal players looked more hungry for the win.
i dun watch chelsea games, so im not sure if this is their approach to the game.
cuz it seems like they are just waiting for arsenal to crack and try to take advantage of it to score a winner, rather then searching for one..
Techadd
01-12-2008, 10:20 AM
Assistant Ref kelong that first robin van persi goal should have been disallow !
u have to find a reason and let others take blame instead of your own teams' lack of creativity and drive..coupled with the fact you were a home team, the arsenal away fans outvoiced you..maybe you should blame the home fans as well..:s13::s13:
FLiNcHY
01-12-2008, 10:48 AM
totally deserved win by Arsenal
Chelsea totally sucks. Zero shots on target
Arsenal's defence owns chelsea. Gallas OWNS YOUUUUUUU
Karma karma. 2 yrs ago RVP scored an onside goal but was ruled offside and chelsea won. Today the favor has been :s13::s13::s13::s13::s13::s13:.
urban_closet
01-12-2008, 10:49 AM
ty arsenal for making the race more sexciting :D:D
spykid
01-12-2008, 12:18 PM
Is Avram Grant a better manager than Scolari? At least he kept their unbeaten home record intact :s13:
notsoluckyguy
01-12-2008, 12:28 PM
Chelsea dun seems to koe how to defend like their time under Jose.
But i really notice Arsenal going for the kill when their every player challenge Chelsea players wif two foot tackles & wif every foul U can tink of. Not that the Referee is bother though...
Chelsea is throughly cheated.
hydeist_
01-12-2008, 03:55 PM
But i really notice Arsenal going for the kill when their every player challenge Chelsea players wif two foot tackles & wif every foul U can tink of. Not that the Referee is bother though...
totally blinded .. terry was lucky to stay on the pitch .. and ivanovic was also delayed a yellow card .. arsenal players did foul chelsea players but not to the extend of "two footed tackles" and "every foul u can think of" ..
notsoluckyguy
01-12-2008, 04:33 PM
totally blinded .. terry was lucky to stay on the pitch .. and ivanovic was also delayed a yellow card .. arsenal players did foul chelsea players but not to the extend of "two footed tackles" and "every foul u can think of" ..
Yes they did, most of the time. And by your logic, more than half of the Gunners would be sent off after the half if not for the referee.
But one thing is ,Chelsea is definitely in trouble after the last 4 poor outings. One wonders whats going behind the scenes.
Jackson Ng Ghim Pheng
01-12-2008, 05:44 PM
u have to find a reason and let others take blame instead of your own teams' lack of creativity and drive..coupled with the fact you were a home team, the arsenal away fans outvoiced you..maybe you should blame the home fans as well..:s13::s13:
If Arsenal had not score the offside goal it is likely that Chelsea would have won the match or at the very least a draw.
Deflected off chelsea player or not is the same the moment the player pass the ball towards the offside player it is offside and RVP was obviously offside but the assistant ref choose to close one eye While Kalou was clearly onside he choose to rule him offside.
What Scolari said is right he didn't blame the players but it is the assistant ref that change the whole match
hydeist_
01-12-2008, 05:53 PM
Yes they did, most of the time. And by your logic, more than half of the Gunners would be sent off after the half if not for the referee.
But one thing is ,Chelsea is definitely in trouble after the last 4 poor outings. One wonders whats going behind the scenes.
with all due respect, and im not trying to lock horns with you or start a forum debate or anything lidat .. just expressing my views .. i dont understand why u would say more than half of the gunners would be sent off after the half bcos watching the whole game .. i definitely did not see many malicious tackles from the gunners (pls point out the ones that u deem malicious) ..
hydeist_
01-12-2008, 05:56 PM
If Arsenal had not score the offside goal it is likely that Chelsea would have won the match or at the very least a draw.
Deflected off chelsea player or not is the same the moment the player pass the ball towards the offside player it is offside and RVP was obviously offside but the assistant ref choose to close one eye While Kalou was clearly onside he choose to rule him offside.
What Scolari said is right he didn't blame the players but it is the assistant ref that change the whole match
u keep talking about arsenal scoring the offside goal that changed the complexion of the game .. what about the goal drogba scored in the corresponding fixture last season where it was deemed offside too ? such things happen in football ... and that is why we need video technology .. til then .. we just haf to accept things as they are
Epish`
01-12-2008, 06:58 PM
2 footed tackle? please dun luan kong wei hor,u think referee is blind ah
anfielder
01-12-2008, 07:41 PM
i didn't think kalou wasn't "clearly" onside. it was a 50/50 call. could have gone either way.
the rvp call did change the complexion of the game. but still, you can't blame the asst ref wholly for the loss. even scolari admitted that his side lacked a goal threat.
tt32003
01-12-2008, 07:50 PM
Chelski is the king of two footed tackes.
So many of their players had been sent off for such offence before.
ahgohgoh
01-12-2008, 08:15 PM
correct me if i'm wrong...
a deflection by defender to opposition player is still offside... a backpass isn't... unless (i think) the direction of the ball changes alot... i.e. the ball wasn't intended for the offside player...
not trying to open another offside topic here though LOL
good win by arsenal... a result that will benefit man utd...
Wryer
01-12-2008, 08:22 PM
I doubt. Intentional or not, a touch by the defender will play the attacker onside - unless I'm not updated on any changes on the rules.
But it seems that Dean let the game go because he thought Bosingwa played RVP onside, not because of a touch. That is a glaring and serious error. RVP was at least 1.5m offside.
I'll take it though. :D
Michael Shoemaker
01-12-2008, 08:24 PM
each team got their own fair share of luck.
chelsea got to know this fact.
just happens that chelsea's luck is not very good lately.
suck thumb and accept it.
spykid
01-12-2008, 08:33 PM
You're kidding. Van Persie was 25 miles offside :s13:
I think any touch intentional or not from the defender to the offside player will be deem as onside. Think the rule has always been that.
Wryer
01-12-2008, 08:56 PM
Do not use personal abusive language.
tt32003
01-12-2008, 10:43 PM
So RVP was offside.
He admitted it
http://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/football/leagues/premierleague/arsenal/3538213/Arsenals-Robin-van-Persie-admits-he-was-a-little-bit-offside-against-Chelsea-Football.html
So what ?
The goal still counts.
We got the points.
What can Chelsea do about it ?
They have so much luck in the previous encounters.
What goes around comes around.
At least RVP is honest about it.
Not like some legend turn national coach who till now still doesn't want to talk about the hand of god.
Asakura
01-12-2008, 11:26 PM
offside goal. period.
stop blaming the ref for the lost.
even when it was 1-1, chelsea nv really looked like they wanna attack arsenal to find another goal.
watch the FULL match again without your chelsea eyemask.
Jackson Ng Ghim Pheng
01-12-2008, 11:42 PM
offside goal. period.
stop blaming the ref for the lost.
even when it was 1-1, chelsea nv really looked like they wanna attack arsenal to find another goal.
watch the FULL match again without your chelsea eyemask.
haha next time when your side lost by a ref decision I shall see whether you all will blame the ref or not.
If Chelsea had won because of an offside goal I am sure Arsenal fans will be blaming the ref. Or any fans of any club that lost the match by a ref decision.
And Robin Van Persie was clearly offside and yet the assistant ref didn't raise his flag.
If the ref had not allow the goal the complexion of the game wouldn't have change and the confidence of the Arsenal players will not be on the rise with chelsea players confidence going the opposite
Some of the manu fans also blame the ref for sending CR7 Off when he clearly deserve to be not a wrong deicision at all
even a correct decision some of the manu fans already complaint let alone if it is a major wrong decision Mr Asakura
Asakura
02-12-2008, 07:07 AM
no, you totally missed my point.
chelsea wasn't playing the football they usually played. even without the offside goal. they never looked like winning.
even after the goal at 1-1, did chelsea looked like they gonna search for the 2nd goal to win the game? certainly not from what i see. they were still seating back. which then lead to the 2nd goal for arsenal. at 2-1, chelsea nv showed the urgency to make it 2-2.
of cuz when a decision goes against your own team. you'll make urself known. even more when its a injustice judgment by the ref.
i say u need to take off your chelsea eyemask becuz of such comments you would make.
yes the game is interesting. only valid for arsenal's play. if fans were to say JM's 1-0 tactic were boring, i'll tell u, the chelsea in this match was even more boring. nth against the club or the fans.
it tickled me this morning when i flip over the pages of MyPaper.
"Chelsea replace Arsenal as latest title-challenging club in crisis"
huh? i don't see how are they in crisis yet..
hydeist_
02-12-2008, 09:37 AM
honestly speaking jackson ... to be fair to others (and yourself) .. you gotta admit chelsea have got so many decisions gone their way even though some should not have been .. 2005 RVP scored an onside goal against chelsea .. but deemed offside .. did chelsea players say "bad refereeing" ? answer is no. yes of course when decisions don go your way u will complain about the bad refereeing .. no one noes that better than arsenal fans who have been cheated by poor refereeing time n time again (even the CL final in 2006) .. getting a result robbed in only 1 game and you're complaining how incompetent the ref is .. this is football and what comes around goes around .. sometimes u get the decision .. sometimes u dont ..
Captain_Planet
02-12-2008, 09:39 AM
haha next time when your side lost by a ref decision I shall see whether you all will blame the ref or not.
If Chelsea had won because of an offside goal I am sure Arsenal fans will be blaming the ref. Or any fans of any club that lost the match by a ref decision.
And Robin Van Persie was clearly offside and yet the assistant ref didn't raise his flag.
If the ref had not allow the goal the complexion of the game wouldn't have change and the confidence of the Arsenal players will not be on the rise with chelsea players confidence going the opposite
Some of the manu fans also blame the ref for sending CR7 Off when he clearly deserve to be not a wrong deicision at all
even a correct decision some of the manu fans already complaint let alone if it is a major wrong decision Mr Asakura
i remember clearly in 2005 when rvp scored a perfectly legal goal when chelsea were leading 1-0 but was ruled offside
karma's a bitch
Asakura
02-12-2008, 10:44 AM
you see, jngp
its not that the whole forum is against you or anything towards chelsea.
smtimes u need to eat the humble pie.
its becuz u've alwis been "ah. becuz of this tats why we lost, injustice! we cld haf won if this this this"
what made you said that? arsenal's 2nd half performance was totally diff. they probably up-ed 2-3gears
this match aside. smtimes u need to admit tat chelsea din play well. okay tat rarely happens but chelsea is not totally invincible. so...yea. humble pie pls.
hydeist_
02-12-2008, 10:54 AM
you see, jngp
its becuz u've alwis been "ah. becuz of this tats why we lost, injustice! we cld haf won if this this this"
what made you said that? arsenal's 2nd half performance was totally diff. they probably up-ed 2-3gears
this match aside. smtimes u need to admit tat chelsea din play well. okay tat rarely happens but chelsea is not totally invincible. so...yea. humble pie pls.
totally agreed ..
MrWeiWei
02-12-2008, 11:33 AM
he will argue that chelsea played under a lousy manager. :D
soldado
02-12-2008, 11:55 AM
you see, jngp
totally agreed ..
Agree, but don't think he'll change. :s13::s8:
1920_me
02-12-2008, 11:59 AM
I rather would be worried about how badly chelsea collapsed after conceding the first and subsequently failed to put arsenal on any pressure.
Blame the ref all you want, but Chelsea were not good enough to win.
hydeist_
02-12-2008, 12:36 PM
Agree, but don't think he'll change. :s13::s8:
i dont mean to offend him or any other chelsea fans reading this forum .. but i really dont think chelsea deserved to win the game .. yes they might have dominated the midfield battle up til the offside goal .. but i just dont see them having any purposeful attacks .. the only clear sight of goal they had in the 2nd half might be frank lampard's left footed attempt .. chelsea werent at their best so i dont think they shd be berating the ref's decision and make the ref the scapegoat for their loss .. had they took their chances or attack with intent .. im sure they are more than capable of putting the game beyond arsenal ..
after losing the lead (not the game) through an offside goal .. i'm also quite sure chelsea's (multi-millionaire) players are more than capable of responding strongly and rebound back (just like hull city v arsenal earlier) .. instead, they were fluttered and confused .. thus allowing themselves to concede arsenal's winner ..
i also noticed that when chelsea loses points (draw / lose) through controversial decisions .. they would be screaming at referees, claiming about a phantom conspiracy against chelsea becos they are successful and 'the team to beat' .. but little did they noe that chelsea players have been let off the hook so many times i could not count with 2 hands .... whenever chelsea gets a yellow / red card .. their players would crowd around the ref, scowling and shouting (captain terry included) .. personally, i find it very appaling and unprofessional that these professional players crowding a ref when the ref's doing his job .. besides, chelsea do get alota decisions gone their way (penalty @ anfield last season, countless handballs by drogba deemed not etc) .. so i really do not comprehend why jackson is being so agitated .. part n parcel of football ..
Wryer
02-12-2008, 01:24 PM
Stay on the match people.
hydeist_
02-12-2008, 01:28 PM
anyway guys .. even if you an arsenal fan or chelsea fan .. i think you should look at this piece of write-up .. even tho it's an arsenal fan site .. i don think it is so biased .. n it contains alota facts for those who thinks about the controversial decisions between arsenal v chelsea games, latest being the one played 30nov..
http://arsenal-mania.com/articles/3106061/Bridge-of-highs.html
Asakura
02-12-2008, 01:37 PM
Andy Gray said early on in commentary that he had a funny feeling that if there was no tackling involved in the game, Arsenal would win "But there is tackling". Yes, there was and we tackled the life out of Chelsea and restricted them to one shot on target.
One shot. They had no response to our goals and that, Luis Felipe Scolari, is what killed your team.
Spot on, isn't it?
hydeist_
02-12-2008, 01:45 PM
Spot on, isn't it?
i guess so .. i think the comparisons of decisions going / not going arsenal's way is also a perfect sum-up .. what comes around does go around ..
lyfeforce
02-12-2008, 04:22 PM
It's really quite difficult to judge if the ball was touched on by a Chelsea defender. If it was, it's not offside. Nevertheless, Arsenal definitely deserved to win because they had the passion and hunger that Chelsea sorely lacked.
Chelsea was complacent and slow on the break. They greatly underestimated Arsenal and paid the cost for it. To say otherwise would be blind ignorance. Chelsea lost because Arsenal was by far the better team on that day. One has to live with that fact.
Let's not dwell too much on this matter, leaves a sour taste in all of our mouths.
Jackson Ng Ghim Pheng
02-12-2008, 05:39 PM
Chelsea did enough to win if not for the offside decision.
and lyfeforce the moment the player pass the ball whether it is deflected off chelsea player or not it is still consider as offside.
And yes Chelsea didn't play well that day but still we control the game and hold on to possession of the ball though we didn't create much chances before the 1st offside goal was allow but it doesn't change the fact that the ref decision changed the whole game
MrWeiWei
02-12-2008, 06:08 PM
and lyfeforce the moment the player pass the ball whether it is deflected off chelsea player or not it is still consider as offside.
And yes Chelsea didn't play well that day but still we control the game and hold on to possession of the ball though we didn't create much chances before the 1st offside goal was allow but it doesn't change the fact that the ref decision changed the whole game
so u mean if chelsea play well... no 1 can stop them la. give credit when its due la.
chelsea is not invincible .
lyfeforce
02-12-2008, 06:34 PM
yChelsea did enough to win if not for the offside decision.
Okay, that was an offside goal. But to say that Chelsea solely because of that decision is downright plain disrespecting Arsenal's performance. Chelsea played bad, possession or otherwise. It's not about whether you hold the ball, it's about what you do with it.
hydeist_
02-12-2008, 08:19 PM
jackson ... pls do not be so blinded ... if chelsea controlled the game as u said .. they would have won with or without the offside goal .. becos if the goal was against the run of play .. chelsea can always come back and score another ... last season arsenal took the lead .. but still chelsea won the game 2-1 (albeit with an offside goal + another goal scored via some very unsporting behaviour) ... so wat do have to say about that ? sometimes u just have to admit your team did not do enuff
ahgohgoh
02-12-2008, 08:20 PM
it really sucks when there is a wrong decision that results in a goal in a potential title winning match...
mistakes like that should never happen...
it sucks even more when your team is on the receiving end... so cut him some loose...
but i think if your team is playing really badly (i didn't watch the match though), then you'd probably think "we deserved nothing..."
but on the flip side... to say that a team doesn't deserve to win because of bad performance is not really valid but we all know football is not about playing well... the ball still need to be put in the net...
so... i will agree with jngp... that the game was somewhat changed by the equalizer that was offside...
however, i think if chelsea has any problems, the offside goal is definitely not one of them... so don't need to harp over it already..
hydeist_
02-12-2008, 08:21 PM
Chelsea played bad, possession or otherwise. It's not about whether you hold the ball, it's about what you do with it.
totally spot on .. arsenal fans can only know too well about holding majority of the posession, but not making it count
hydeist_
02-12-2008, 08:25 PM
it really sucks when there is a wrong decision that results in a goal in a potential title winning match...
mistakes like that should never happen...
it sucks even more when your team is on the receiving end... so cut him some loose...
but i think if your team is playing really badly (i didn't watch the match though), then you'd probably think "we deserved nothing..."
but on the flip side... to say that a team doesn't deserve to win because of bad performance is not really valid but we all know football is not about playing well... the ball still need to be put in the net...
so... i will agree with jngp... that the game was somewhat changed by the equalizer that was offside...
however, i think if chelsea has any problems, the offside goal is definitely not one of them... so don't need to harp over it already..
yes the game was changed by that offside goal no doubt ... but it was the equaliser .. not the winner .. as petr cech himself said it ... coming from the 'keeper himself .. anw who's to bet that arsenal was gonna win it even when they equalised ? im not saying this can take the ref's decision away but still the old cliche, what comes around goes around ! not only to chelsea arsenal manutd liverpool but to all football clubs ... you get some decisions and u lose some decisions ..
anyway the match is done .. so it should all be water under the bridge
nottibeans
02-12-2008, 08:37 PM
Chelsea is GG riaos.. compare the benches...lol no wonder Scolari has no choice but to bring on Stoch...
They still say dun need to buy players..:D
19 Paulo Ferreira (SUB)
43 Miroslav Stoch (SUB)
18 Wayne Bridge (SUB)
40 Henrique Hilario (SUB)
15 Florent Malouda (SUB)
33 Alex (SUB)
27 Mineiro (SUB)
18 Mikael Silvestre (SUB)
40 Kieran Gibbs (SUB)
16 Aaron Ramsey (SUB)
26 Nicklas Bendtner (SUB)
12 Carlos Vela (SUB)
21 Lukasz Fabianski (SUB)
19 Jack Wilshere (SUB)
hydeist_
02-12-2008, 08:47 PM
Chelsea is GG riaos.. compare the benches...lol no wonder Scolari has no choice but to bring on Stoch...
They still say dun need to buy players..:D
19 Paulo Ferreira (SUB)
43 Miroslav Stoch (SUB)
18 Wayne Bridge (SUB)
40 Henrique Hilario (SUB)
15 Florent Malouda (SUB)
33 Alex (SUB)
27 Mineiro (SUB)
18 Mikael Silvestre (SUB)
40 Kieran Gibbs (SUB)
16 Aaron Ramsey (SUB)
26 Nicklas Bendtner (SUB)
12 Carlos Vela (SUB)
21 Lukasz Fabianski (SUB)
19 Jack Wilshere (SUB)
chelsea's bench has much much much more experience
nottibeans
02-12-2008, 08:52 PM
But look at the kind of players.. 3 defenders, 1 old defensive mid, only 2 attacking mids Malouda & Stoch.. & I dun even see Stoch play b4.. Chelsea got play him b4 meh? U expect Malouda & an unknown youngster to come on & change the game?
hydeist_
02-12-2008, 09:11 PM
But look at the kind of players.. 3 defenders, 1 old defensive mid, only 2 attacking mids Malouda & Stoch.. & I dun even see Stoch play b4.. Chelsea got play him b4 meh? U expect Malouda & an unknown youngster to come on & change the game?
dont think the arsenal's bench could really change the game either tbh ..
Asakura
02-12-2008, 11:42 PM
i cant believe you said chelsea was in control of the game and hold on to possession. did you actually watch the full match or just some highlights from some streaming websites?
stop the "arsenal scored a complete fluke offside goal and it dampen our players morale, causing us to lose the game"
it makes Chelsea looks weak. because it means Chelsea can't even up their tempo after a bad decision gone against them and they just sit down and cry and whine? waiting for the decision to be lifted?
Chelsea did enough to win? oh please. watch the match again and again, seriously.
Asakura
02-12-2008, 11:46 PM
i dun uds why malouda is benched...
Carova.
02-12-2008, 11:47 PM
he sure side chelsea one mahs... blue font leh.. i watch the match... chelsea looked very nua
Asakura
02-12-2008, 11:55 PM
Are you kidding? Of cuz if the ref made a wrong decision, i will blame the ref.
But if United can't even show it to the people that after the bad call, they gonna fight all they can to try win things back, den they deserve to lose it for all i care.
quote my words man! i'll repeat them again should that day comes :D
Wryer
03-12-2008, 12:01 AM
Chelsea was all over Arsenal in the first half. In all honesty, from the first half, it looked like its going to be real nightmare for Arsenal.
The referee's mistake changed the complexity of the game. Arsenal's players' head all went up and began to play their football. We started to win the 50-50s, and there was an extra spring in the steps. I've no doubt that the decision changed the game at that point.
I was very surprised at Chelsea's collapse though. The second goal looked like a soft goal conceded, given Chelsea's defensive strength - 4 goals conceded all season, NONE in the second half. Adebayor outfought the defence and nodded it to RVP, who made a casual swivel shot that was more opportunistic than measured. The Chelsea defence was lax. Even after the goal, Chelsea didn't look like scoring. Djourou and Gallas marshalled Anelka very well. The only danger was Lampard who looked like he was going all out. Chelsea missed Carvalho, Essien, Drogba's power, as well as Joe Cole's invention. The team looked flat and unimaginative in the second half.
"It all evens out" - I do believe in this statement. It won't be long before Arsenal becomes victim to a similar scenario. The authorities has to do something. Physiologically, can any bio students or professionals shed some light if it is possible to look at 2 things at the same time? That is, looking intently at when the ball was passed, and where the receiver is?
Oh by the way, I tried at home, kinda difficult. The officials badly needs help, quick.
lyfeforce
03-12-2008, 07:12 AM
If Chelsea can lose their tempo and heads after one "unfair" goal, then their Championship mentality comes into question.
hydeist_
03-12-2008, 09:32 AM
If Chelsea can lose their tempo and heads after one "unfair" goal, then their Championship mentality comes into question.
absolutely correct
lyfeforce
03-12-2008, 10:35 AM
It's the same with Arsenal, Man Utd and Liverpool.
Even John Terry was tackling rashly. But I'm sure Chelsea has the capability to pick up from here. This is but a minor setback.
Jackson Ng Ghim Pheng
03-12-2008, 06:10 PM
http://i.dailymail.co.uk/i/pix/2008/12/02/article-0-02A6269E000005DC-853_468x286.jpg
'Killer' linesman axed after allowing offside van Persie to score against Chelsea
The linesman who allowed Robin van Persie’s offside goal against Chelsea to stand has been left off the list for the next round of matches.
John Stokes, who failed to raise his flag against Van Persie for Arsenal’s equaliser in
their 2-1 win at Stamford Bridge on Sunday, will not be on duty at a Premier League or
Football League game at the weekend.
Luiz Felipe Scolari was furious and demanded an apology from the officials after watching Chelsea’s defeat, claiming Stokes’s mistake had 'killed' his team.
Van Persie looked a yard offside when the ball was played to him on the edge of the Chelsea box, but he was allowed to continue and score.
The Dutchman struck the winner three minutes later, leaving an angry Scolari to question the judgement of the officials.
Persie
Hammering home the point: Van Persie equalises for Arsenal
The Brazilian manager also appeared to suggest that there was a conspiracy to keep Arsenal in the title race, but later admitted the errors were 'not deliberate', and he has escaped punishment from the Football Association for his remarks.
The Professional Game Match Officials, the body responsible for referees and their assistants, meet on Mondays to determine the appointments of officials for each round of matches.
The Premier League, who speak on behalf of the PGMO, declined to comment on whether Stokes’ omission is as a result of the Arsenal game but their silence will lead to speculation that Stokes has paid the price for his error.
Mike Dean, who refereed the match at Stamford Bridge, will take charge of Newcastle’s home game with Stoke on Saturday. The other linesman, Simon Beck, will be on duty at Norwich’s Championship fixture with Ipswich the following day.
http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-1091260/Killer-linesman-axed-allowing-offside-van-Persie-score-Chelsea.html?ITO=1490
Asakura
03-12-2008, 11:27 PM
the powers of the all and mighty. he actually escape the 'conspiracy' bs that he mouthed. how was tat possible? lol
and yes we all know it was offside. don't have to stress the point alr. lol
yourmother
04-12-2008, 01:59 AM
http://i.dailymail.co.uk/i/pix/2008/12/02/article-0-02A6269E000005DC-853_468x286.jpg
'Killer' linesman axed after allowing offside van Persie to score against Chelsea
http://i38.photobucket.com/albums/e145/bg_freak/Chelsea-Arsenal.jpg
2007/2008 - 3 (THREE !!) offside Chelsea players
http://i38.photobucket.com/albums/e145/bg_freak/bscap034.jpg
2005/2006 - van Persie disallowed goal
http://img139.imageshack.us/img139/5777/arsenalchelseaccqh8.jpg
2006/2007 Carling Cup final
soldado
04-12-2008, 04:58 AM
Result still stood and Ah Peng FC still lost. Thats all that matters. :s7:
hydeist_
04-12-2008, 10:00 AM
jackson just cant stop innit .. 1 offside decision and he's making sucha fuss
Pyro77
04-12-2008, 05:47 PM
jackson just cant stop innit .. 1 offside decision and he's making sucha fuss
Anything against his team is injustice and should be put up in bright lights to show the whole world the atrocity!
If it's other teams, well, it's just luck :s7:
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.